About The Bull and Beggar

37 Paynes Way #007
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

RAW BAR HAPPY HOUR 5-6 DAILY - HALF OFF OYSTERS SHRIMP AND CLAMS. Classic French cuisine, cocktail bar and raw bar set in a warm warehouse revamp in the River Arts District.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm Sunday Brunch 10:30-2:30

Cross Street:
Lyman

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9443

Website:
http://www.thebullandbeggar.com/

Parking Details:
Our restaurant is located on the back side of The Wedge Studios building next to The Wedge Brewery. Parking anywhere on Paynes Way is acceptable.

Public Transit:
ART W1 and W2 to Roberts street.

Executive Chef:
Matt Dawes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Bull and Beggar, Asheville, NC
The Bull and Beggar, Asheville, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bull and Beggar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Overall
Asheville
Best Food
Asheville
1 More
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (55)
Good for a Date (47)
Creative Cuisine (41)
See All
Special Occasion (41)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Romantic (30)
Local Ingredients (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Authentic (23)
Fun (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Cozy (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Casual (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Business Meals (10)
Great Beer (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Tapas (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Good for Groups (8)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Historic (5)
Healthy (5)
Organic (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Waterfront (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A disappointment. Although listed as a F ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

A disappointment. Although listed as a French restaurant, I find it hard it truly call this restaurant French. A Bistro is the closest French term you could use. There were only 3 entrees on the menu (unless you consider a 34 oz. steak a viable option). We expected there would be daily specials when we viewed the menu on Open Table and there were none. There were lots of drink options and our server was full of drink suggestions. The filet mignon was excellent as were the pomme frites. The charcuterie plate was not!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Food was very good. Must have: sticky to ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good. Must have: sticky toffee pudding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Lobster roll was small but excellent, pa ...

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 5 days ago

Lobster roll was small but excellent, paired with hot peppers. Butter lettuce salad was good but the dressing note no resemblance to any buttermilk dressing I have ever had, as it was not creamy but oily with a bit too much dill. Edible, however. The oysters, reported by the server as the largest Massachusetts offerings, were extremely small--and I mean TINY-- and already dressed with a mignonette that totally eclipsed any flavour the oysters might have had. I complained but was not compensated and told by the server that that was how they were served in small quantities. So, for all the supposed oyster varieties available there--7, I believe the server said-- I could not recommend the oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I've given Bull and Beggar two chances, ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I've given Bull and Beggar two chances, and I must say unfortunately I've been disappointed both times. My first visit was on 1/2 price burger night, and if I had paid full price I would have been really unhappy with my choice. The burger was sopping wet with grease and for me actually sub-par to any casual burger joint. I decided to give them another chance for oyster happy hour. I will say the oysters were delicious, albeit a bit slow in arriving. The rest of the food was really quite bland and unremarkable, given the impressive sounding names and innovative ingredients (not to mention the hefty price tag). Everything really sounded promising. We ordered a bacon and rabbit terrine, which let's be honest is a big ugly piece of cold congealed meat. It really needs the flavor to back up the fancy name, or it's just a big ugly piece of cold congealed meat. The side that it came with saved it fortunately. The charred octopus was average. The halibut with creamed spinach was honestly pretty tasteless on both counts. The hush puppies were actually quite tasty served with a maple butter. The tart dessert was about hard as a rock. The Turkish coffee and beignets was served as cold coffee flavored pots de crème (which actually was the best thing I ate besides the oysters, but unexpected given the menu description - I actually really wanted Turkish coffee), with beignets that were undercooked. The wait staff was quite friendly and attentive. The homemade ginger ale was excellent (and I assume made to order given the time it took to arrive). The ambiance is quite nice. Nothing was really bad, but for the price I really expected them to deliver something well above average. There are lots of really excellent restaurants in Asheville that give you better value for your money in my humble opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

My partner and I took his family for Fri ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My partner and I took his family for Friday evening. We started with the cheese plate and salt and vinegar pork rinds. Most of us ordered the cheese burger that is off the menu and only available after 9pm. They were great! As was the halibut and filet. The mixed drinks were fantastic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Really enjoyed the filet mignon which wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Really enjoyed the filet mignon which was done perfectly for me. It was a safe choice for me and I do feel somewhat guilty for not trying something I have never eaten before. The menu was more eclectic than I am used to so I would recommend the less adventurous diner check it out before making a reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

food was not what was expected... just s ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

food was not what was expected... just so-so. The service was just terrible! I waited 10 minutes for a glass of wine and when she brought it, I immediately ordered another because it took 10+ more minutes to get the next one. The food was slow too. the restaurant wasn't that busy, so we were quite disappointed with the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

A mainstay in the crowded Asheville rest ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

A mainstay in the crowded Asheville restaurant scene. Everything from the oysters to the filet was spot on. Service was impeccable. They went above and beyond to make our experience unforgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food.had an excellent steak ta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Very good food.had an excellent steak tartare and delicious lobster roll. Raclette was good . Good variety of beer

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved our experience from start to finis ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Loved our experience from start to finish and will definitely be back! Everyone from the host to our server was super sweet and accommodating (we were running late + brought our newborn), as well as knowledgeable about the menu. Drinks were excellent, as well as the beer and wine selections. Food was delicious! Fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting mix of tasty French and Brit ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Interesting mix of tasty French and British food. Beautiful industrial/rustic decor. The best service from Zoe. Note: No alcohol served til noon on Sunday, although the brunch starts at 10:30. We had a perfect time and will return another time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the ambiance of this place. The w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I love the ambiance of this place. The waitstaff was very gracious and knowlegdable. The menu is selective and unique but everything we had was delicious. I highly recommend the gineau fowl.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a good meal but the options are l ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It was a good meal but the options are limited and it is quite pricey for what one gets. Love the ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Monday is burger night-Great thick chees ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Monday is burger night-Great thick cheese burger with FRies. Nice to get on eonce in awhile!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really fun place with a diverse and well ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Really fun place with a diverse and well prepared menu.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time to go for brunch ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was our first time to go for brunch and, I am happy to say, the experience was just as good as what we have had several times at dinner. A BIG plus here is that they have raw oysters on the half shell. Yummy! You can tell the staff likes to work there, which says a lot for how it is managed. We definitely feel we can recommend them to anyone.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had a friend in town for the weekend a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I had a friend in town for the weekend and she really wanted to see the best of Asheville's foodie culture, so I decided to bring her to Bull and Beggar. I hadn't been myself, but I had always heard great things and we weren't disappointed. Our waitress was attentive, and all of our food was incredible. We decided to do small bites and split the charcuterie and fromage platter (the name escapes me) as well as some hush puppies and broccoli. It was all so good. I'll definitely be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Service was excellent. A ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was great. Service was excellent. Ambiance was very pleasant. Just off the beaten track. But worth finding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and service was g ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was excellent and service was great. The only negative is the menu is hard to decipher, even though we have traveled and eaten in France! Some items are very pricey. Our waitress was very helpful and suggested their most popular items which were all very good! Our favorites were the filet, the short rib, the snails, the salads and the beets. It was definitely a unique and delicious eating experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food has been better in the past. Th ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food has been better in the past. The food felt different than in the past but very subtle. Most likely newer different head chef

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Took my husband to Bull & Beggar for his ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Took my husband to Bull & Beggar for his birthday, was our first time there and we will definitely go back! Monday night burger special is awesome; enjoyed our evening very much.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Have loved every experience I've had her ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Have loved every experience I've had here. Food is phenomenal, servers are friendly, I felt welcome and attended to. Zero complaints. One of my top 5 places to eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My friend and I took advantage of the Mo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

My friend and I took advantage of the Monday Double Cheeseburger special. We were surprised at the lack of flexibility in cooking prep--either medium rare or well-done. We ordered well-done and received burgers that were part- medium rare, part well-done. We had the sense that the kitchen didn't really care--raising our concern that the much higher-priced dishes on the menu would also receive slap-dash treatment. Overall, there seemed to be little effort to respond to special dietary needs--gluten-free, etc. So, we won't return. In our view, this restaurant just doesn't hold a candle to the many great, customer-friendly restaurants in Asheville.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

No highchairs available but the staff wa ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

No highchairs available but the staff was very accommodating - going so far as to offer a cook book and pillow as a make-shift booster seat!

Brunch menu was limited but look forward to coming back to try the full dinner menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our meal and the servi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal and the service was excellent. Highly recommended!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with my daughters. One daughter lik ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went with my daughters. One daughter liked & 1 didn't. I really didn't like it. I knew when I saw the menu, not going to be good. Very few choices if you are mostly a vegetarian & what I did get, left a lot to be desired. Couldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Great french dining in a more casual atm ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great french dining in a more casual atmosphere. The appetizers are outstanding, good selection of cocktails and wines, entrees are top shelf. Offerings include a number of unique items. Ingredients were fresh and well prepared. Excellent service. Being down in the Wedge there are none of the downtown parking issues. Really is a local gem

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal! Service was excellent. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicious meal! Service was excellent. Steak tartare tasted like a yummy cheeseburger! I will be back, for certain!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

for the adventurous foodie! this place ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

for the adventurous foodie! this place was crazy! I didn't know what half of the items on the menu were but my waitress was awesome! very patient and helped me select the best dish. I tried sting ray! awesome atmosphere. prices were a little steep but worth it for the atmosphere and great staff. would definitely recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit, and it was a h ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This was our first visit, and it was a hit from the beginning. The host was kind , and the server was patient, helpful, and seemed genuinely pleased that we were there. The food was succulent, and the ambiance was everything we hoped for. It is difficult for us to afford evenings like this, but I am exceedingly pleased with both the experience as well as the memory of the experience, and I highly recommend it. and welcoming

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere cool. Food was good but over ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Atmosphere cool. Food was good but overpriced in my opinion. If I lived in the area, I would make it a happy hour hangout.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Shared the 34 oz. cote de boef with my h ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Shared the 34 oz. cote de boef with my husband and it was outstanding! Perfectly medium rare with almost a Pittsburgh-style char to the outside. The pommes parissiene it comes with are phenomenal and we also ordered a side of the beets with walnuts and those were great as well. I definitely recommend the place for this dish alone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been here before and always fel ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We have been here before and always felt it was good. Husband loves the seafood tower but you need at least 4 for the big one. Slightly pricey . Went there the other night after a function for a quick bite and it was perfect. We had the bibb lettecue salads and lobster rolls. The salad was hugh, big enough for two and the lobster roll had a lot of lobster in a light sauce and warm roll. Had a great server. In Nov. now that the tourist are gone, place was not full so noise level was fine. Good place to take a date. Funky in a good way. Thanks for putting cushions on the chairs.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing as always! I moved away in July ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Amazing as always! I moved away in July and was sure to make this a stop on my vIsit back to town. The burger is the best I've ever had, two thumbs up!

Tags: Disabled Access, Organic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed all of our dishes, cocktails and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Enjoyed all of our dishes, cocktails and dessert. Chef made me a great vegetarian alternative!! Awesome waitperson, Julie B.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic food and experience! Th ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Always fantastic food and experience! The Octopus is by far one of my favorite small plates on the menu. Service this time felt a little rushed, but overall The B&B is one of our favorite spots for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went for brunch with a group of 5. Exce ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went for brunch with a group of 5. Excellent Bloody Marys! Food was delicious. Service was slightly inconsistent as they forgot to place the order for one of our items. Service was a bit slow overall, particularly since they were not very busy during the time we were there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

A very special spot in the River Arts Di ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A very special spot in the River Arts District. Beautiful atmosphere, amazing service, and a romantic intimate yet casual spot. The food blew us away and the special classy touches in a rustic romantic setting had us melting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place to eat in Asheville !! ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My favorite place to eat in Asheville !! Food is always awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Attractive , ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. Attractive ,knowledgable , friendly waitress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.