About The Bull and Beggar

37 Paynes Way #007
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

RAW BAR HAPPY HOUR 5-6 DAILY - HALF OFF OYSTERS SHRIMP AND CLAMS. Classic French cuisine, cocktail bar and raw bar set in a warm warehouse revamp in the River Arts District.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm Sunday Brunch 10:30-2:30

Cross Street:
Lyman

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9443

Website:
http://www.thebullandbeggar.com/

Parking Details:
Our restaurant is located on the back side of The Wedge Studios building next to The Wedge Brewery. Parking anywhere on Paynes Way is acceptable.

Public Transit:
ART W1 and W2 to Roberts street.

Executive Chef:
Matt Dawes

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Bull and Beggar
The Bull and Beggar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bull and Beggar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (108)
Special Occasion (68)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
See All
Romantic (44)
Hot Spot (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Notable Wine List (27)
Great for Brunch (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Late-night Find (17)
Great for Lunch (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bull and Beggar is exceptional. It is co ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Bull and Beggar is exceptional. It is consistent, high quality and the attention to detail is marvelous.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Cozy, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the best accessible food done ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

As always the best accessible food done incredibly well one of the must-dos in Ashville

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, cocktails and service was fantasti ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food, cocktails and service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and ambiance. My daughter ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great service and ambiance. My daughter loved her crab/seafood dish. My burger was fine but nothing outstanding. I was a little disconcerted by the heads on the shrimp--a lot of work. Great selection of beers. All in all a good experience and one I would repeat.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

An extraordinary place! A meal at TB&B i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

An extraordinary place! A meal at TB&B is a true joy to experience, beginning to end..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Bull and Beggar has wonderful French ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Bull and Beggar has wonderful French cuisine that is prepared beautifully and served efficiently. Found this spot two years ago and simply had to come back to properly celebrate an anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started at the bar with craft cocktails ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Started at the bar with craft cocktails that were fantastic. Ordered grilled octopus and plough mans platter. Both were exquisite. Service was amazing. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A nice 1st time surprise. I will be back ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A nice 1st time surprise. I will be back for the octopus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service - understaffed. Very loud. Very ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service - understaffed. Very loud. Very very under-cooked steak. Stairs to upper level dining extremely steep.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Amazing attention to detail on cocktails ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing attention to detail on cocktails and food. Delicious; can't say enough good things!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always...Solid Food, Great Serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great as always...Solid Food, Great Service, Great atmosphere, Don't feel like your in Asheville.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Please note that my bill was over $50 fo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Please note that my bill was over $50 for a dozen shrimp (at 1/2 price), two draft beers, and a glass of rose. We got there early for my mother's birthday dinner and were able to get the 1/2-price raw bar. We each ordered 1/4# of shrimp. I guess i was surprised when this was just 4-5 medium shrimp. The menu was a strange mish-mash of very expensive veggie sides and "small plates" (will this trend PLEASE go away) of things like lamb's brains and octopus (which I'm sure is delicious). Four entrees on the menu, ranging from $30-75. Honestly don't know what to make of this place. I imagined ordering a bunch of random stuff and then still wanting a burrito on the way home. Too hipster, not enough thought given to the actual diner's experience. We left after the shrimp. Such a disappointment. Good service, though.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Great seafood! Quality service, nice amb ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great seafood! Quality service, nice ambiance. The lobster roll was the best I've had outside of Maine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have previously eaten at Bull and Beg ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We have previously eaten at Bull and Beggar and loved it, but as the saying goes "you're only as good as your last performance." The food this time was ok, but not OMG, as it has been in the past and the service just kind of sucked. Slow, and even when something simple (like getting bread to the table) that had taken a REALLY long time was pointed out, they were equally slow to rectify the problem. I'm going to have a hard time recommending B and B to someone, or coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

It may be western North Carolina, and it ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It may be western North Carolina, and it may be Asheville, but this is a world class restaurant. Service, food, drink, space all surprising, all a delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I found the Bull and Begg ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My husband and I found the Bull and Beggar on a recommendation from a friend of ours. We ordered the Cote de Bouef, a 34 oz. dry-aged, bone-in ribeye. It was, without a doubt, the greatest steak meal of my life. The meat was so flavorful and perfectly cooked, and the sides (we had the potatoes it came with and broccoli) were equally good. My husband had an amazing drink as well (The Far East). Highly recommend, we can not stop talking about how amazing this meal was. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Burger in Town! Perfectly coupled w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Best Burger in Town! Perfectly coupled with a Bourbon and house made ginger beer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to visit Asheville for a few day ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We came to visit Asheville for a few days and happened to get a recommendation to come to the Bull & Beggar from an old friend from Richmond who now works there, Sarah. This dinner far outshined any of the other places we ate (practically everywhere we were told about.) The thoughtfulness of the food was complimented by the very attentive and pleasant waitstaff. Even on a busy burger night. We regret that we only had one meal there, and would definitely make a point to return on another trip to Adheville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch here is incredible. We ordered S ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Brunch here is incredible. We ordered Scotch Eggs which were truly remarkable. The yolk was still runny while the outer sausage was crisp. And the English Breakfast was great. It's a sampling of great English favorites -- bubble and squeak, blood pudding, beans, eggs. This is a great place not only for brunch but for anytime. And the cocktails are great too. For brunch, they serve a new take on classic hair-of-the-dog drinks. Just watch out for that Bloody Caesar...it has quite a kick! I intend to go back to this place as much as humanly possible when in Asheville. As I'm from Charleston (but not a Southern native), I can't understand why any restaurant here is not able to make food this good for an affordable price. Please, Bull and Beggar, expand to Charleston!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The English Breakfast is FANTASTIC!! We ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The English Breakfast is FANTASTIC!! We have been looking for a place that makes a good English breakfast since we returned from our UK trip a couple of years ago. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit, and we return ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our second visit, and we returned because we believe this be one of the better dining choices in the area. There are a lot of options on the menu, and it makes for a great experience. It has an awesome atmosphere followed by very good food. If you're not a foodie, you'll at least seem like one by bringing your guests here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

The B&B makes itself out to be an elect ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The B&B makes itself out to be an electic dining lodge experience, but falls short in only one cruticial way. Set inside the River Arts District, the building sets the tone for a magnificent meal. The menu is widly imaginative and begs the newcomer to induldge in it's horrific a la carte options. Simply stated, so much like a begger might advise, the flavor isn't good. The palate is dull and while it may seem like a neighborhood farm to table restaurant, the unique food items seemed prescribed. I have no issue paying upwards of $30-$40 for a steak, and will gladly pay $15 for a proper cocktail. The Bull and Begger glamorizes itself as an upscale local hangout. Please folks, don't waste your time at this akwardly pretentious over priced restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

The menu was very interesting in that mo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The menu was very interesting in that most dishes either had a non-standard interpretation of standard items or were not-so-standard items. All were presented beautifully and those that we sampled were well prepared and very tasty. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and efficient making for a very enjoyable experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What an amazing dinner. Champagne and ca ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

What an amazing dinner. Champagne and caviar! Our server was lovely. I'm just sad I don't live in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there for the Monday night hamburge ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Went there for the Monday night hamburger. I don't know what they do, but the hamburger is like no other. Soft, yummy, perfect. They also have my favorite cocktail, the High Five. You better make reservations on Monday nights. Great atmosphere with fast, professional service. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it! Food was delicious!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Love it!

Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and nice ambiance. Will certa ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food and nice ambiance. Will certainly eat there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I guess you guys are going for a fine di ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I guess you guys are going for a fine dining type of vibe but I ended up paying over $100 for a very minute serving of food for two. The food was pretty good but not $100 good. I think that's the first time in my life I have paid that much for dinner. I'm just a simple working man so I guess I'm not in your demographic. The point is, I would like to see larger servings for that kind of money.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

A gem of a restaurant. Great craft cockt ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A gem of a restaurant. Great craft cocktails as well as an interesting wine and beer selection. Food was epic. If we lived in Asheville, this would be a regular spot for us. If you want to experience what the Asheville food scene is about, this is the spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super spot. We reserved a table for din ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Super spot. We reserved a table for dinner on a Monday night which we did not realize was the special hamburger night. Almost everyone dining was having the burger which we ordered along with a lobster roll. The burger and fries were awesome. The lobster roll had an abundance of lobster and was served with super (but salty) home made potato chips. Recommend a visit. It was a little hard to find. Service was perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We always really enjoy the Bull and Begg ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We always really enjoy the Bull and Beggar. The food is excellent and very artfully prepared. Our one complaint is that the liquor and wine in overpriced and under poured as compared to just about everywhere else in the Asheville area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Adored this place and to top off an incr ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Adored this place and to top off an incredible experience the owner stopped by to chat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THEY FORGOT MY CHEESE PLATE!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

THEY FORGOT MY CHEESE PLATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great birthday celebration with the fami ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great birthday celebration with the family. They always deliver, as drinks and food are always top notch. Palmer behind the bar makes the best cocktails in the city!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Food was miraculous, just so lovely ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wow! Food was miraculous, just so lovely in every detail. The menu may seem intimidating, but never fear, you will find the food to be familiar and comfortable and absolutely fresh and thoughtful; we all wanted to take our time to taste everything slowly, the flavors and presentation were just so luxurious. The service was perfect, too--just present enough when you needed something; knowledgable, passionate about the food, but not at all obtrusive.

The wine list is stunning. I think one should dine there every night to try something new on the food menu and work one's way through the wines. Could be a great way to spend the summer months!

Atmosphere, service, wine, everything--even down to the lighting and the spacing of the tables--was perfect. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Monday night burger special is aweso ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The Monday night burger special is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Burgers were good, oysters, too. Servic ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Burgers were good, oysters, too. Service was really excellent! Thanks!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Love it! Great food!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Love it! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great burger special on Monday evenings! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great burger special on Monday evenings! Super tasty. Extensive wine list and creative cocktails. Fun place to eat and drink!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our brunch at The Bull and Beggar was ex ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our brunch at The Bull and Beggar was excellent from start to finish. Our server was very knowledgeable and was always prompt refilling our coffee cups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.