About The Bull and Beggar

37 Paynes Way #007
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

RAW BAR HAPPY HOUR 5-6 DAILY - HALF OFF OYSTERS SHRIMP AND CLAMS. Classic French cuisine, cocktail bar and raw bar set in a warm warehouse revamp in the River Arts District.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm Sunday Brunch 10:30-2:30

Cross Street:
Lyman

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9443

Website:
http://www.thebullandbeggar.com/

Parking Details:
Our restaurant is located on the back side of The Wedge Studios building next to The Wedge Brewery. Parking anywhere on Paynes Way is acceptable.

Public Transit:
ART W1 and W2 to Roberts street.

Executive Chef:
Matt Dawes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Bull and Beggar
The Bull and Beggar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bull and Beggar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (92)
Special Occasion (60)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
See All
Romantic (37)
Hot Spot (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Late-night Find (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (8)
Casual (7)
Tapas (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I absolutely loved every bit of the food ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 7 days ago

I absolutely loved every bit of the food. Our server was sweet, knowledgeable, and very patient. We never felt rushed and felt very cared for.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bull and Beggar is on the top of our lis ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Bull and Beggar is on the top of our list for any special occasions!!! We Cocktails with every course!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has to be one of the best (if not T ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This has to be one of the best (if not THE best) brunches in AVL! The Dutch baby pancake was life changing!! I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had enjoyed the restaurant before and ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had enjoyed the restaurant before and had friends from out of town coming so we made reservations.... it was Saturday night after all. Everything we had/shared was amazing, the Sheepshead Porgy was phenomenal, as was the filet with marrow, and my go to lobster roll was as wonderful as ever! We had some shrimp and pate' as appetizers and they were great as well. Great food, ambiance and service! Highly recommend!

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was super nice, food excellent and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Staff was super nice, food excellent and ambiance perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Hard to find with a GPS, get directions. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Hard to find with a GPS, get directions.

Old warehouse reclamation project, rustic, yet well decorated inside.

Though Beef is the main feature they do offer other items and should have something almost anyone can enjoy. Slightly pricey, but food is well prepared. Definitely a hot spot for people, as reservations are a must during peak hours (6 to 8:30)

Service was good, food served within a reasonable time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had the octopus and beef tartare for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had the octopus and beef tartare for starters and they were both amazing. The octopus was cooked perfectly. There were four of us and we decided to get the two tiered seafood tower and some sides. The seafood tower was "meh" the seafood was fresh but there was little to no seasoning. Just a sprinkling of salt may have helped. The broccoli was our favorite, covered in brown butter and garlic. The wine list was VERY reasonable, we had an Italian Barbera for $40. The service was exceptional and our waitress was kind enough to provide us with some restaurant recommendations for the rest of our trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best staff. They were able to accommodat ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Best staff. They were able to accommodate one extra person on short notice and put us in a corner so we could hear each other. Knowledgable wait person who guided our dinner options to help us order just enough.

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The filet was to die for, the seafood wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The filet was to die for, the seafood was the same. The oysters were smallish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Got there in time for 1/2 price oysters. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Got there in time for 1/2 price oysters. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food...we will be back

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food...we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellant service and food! Enjoyed the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellant service and food! Enjoyed the small plates

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, nice crowd, and bartender wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food, nice crowd, and bartender was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations for monday burger ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We made reservations for monday burger night. The burgers were delicious and the hush puppies were the best I have ever tasted. I particularly enjoyed the sparkling Lambrusco to accompany my burger as recommended- fabulous! Great atmosphere, cool location -can"t wait to visit again!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was tasty. The service was bel ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was tasty. The service was below mediocre. We were seated on the second floor balcony. When we ordered, the waitress had to run downstairs to enter the items. Then run back up 15 mins later with foods, drinks, etc. It seemed like a very inefficient method. The waitress also forgot our drink order and after 30 min, came back, apologized, replaced our order. Only 10 minutes later, she told us that they were out of the beverages we desired. Not sure I would go back, but if I did, I would sit at the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Bull and Beggar has the best brunch in t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Bull and Beggar has the best brunch in town. The beignets are fantastic, and the English breakfast is spot on. And you can wander over to the Wedge for a post brunch beer, if you're so inclined.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Full English Breakfast on the brunch ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Full English Breakfast on the brunch menu featured a wonderful marrow bone. The sausage, while tasty enough, was nothing like an English breakfast sausage which always has it's meat in a puree texture before casing and includes lots of mace in the seasoning. Similarly, the black pudding was okay but rather tasteless and lacking in texture and wasn't representative of a traditional English black pudding at all in that it was formed as a slab product and not as a dense ring sausage to be sliced and fried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Very good restaurant, but I got the stea ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very good restaurant, but I got the steak medium well and it was well done and then some. Otherwise a fantastic restaurant. Highly recommend the rabbit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great spot. Took Uber from hotel in As ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great spot. Took Uber from hotel in Asheville....a dirt road that quickly created a great atmosphere and a brewery next door added to the ambiance ( and definitely have a beer at the "Wedge"). The octopus and oysters to start where fab....filet with bone marrow to die for. One of the few places I've ever seen with Lambrusco (true dry Lambrusco, not your mothers version). 5 people with diverse taste without having a big menu .... fit everyone's needs.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped in with 2 friends on our way int ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Stopped in with 2 friends on our way into Asheville after driving from Charlotte and just loved it! It's in a very hip building and right next to a separate beer garden. It's not really walking distance to the city center but it's just far enough to drive. The building looks converted from a warehouse or a factory and has exposed brick on the inside and cool art and murals outside. Food is excellent and offers a good variety of options. Everyone just loved their meals and it doesn't break the bank.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is located in the art dis ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The restaurant is located in the art district q Asheville. As we drove up, I was a little worried. The inside of the building was really cool with exposed brick and pipes. I can't say enough about the food. For starters we had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for a casual meal with very g ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great spot for a casual meal with very good food. My husband loved his wonderful assortment of oysters on the half shell and his lobster roll. I really enjoyed the Butter Lettuce Salad and the house pate. Nice selection of wine and friendly wait staff.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Well, burger night has become too popula ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Well, burger night has become too popular. Noisy, crowded restaurant. Almost impossible to take advantage of their bar happy hour specials.

I think they need to reevaluate who they want their clientele to be: A loud crowd interested in cheap burgers or those interested in a nice ambiance, with fine dining and good wine?

Our past ratings have been 5 star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Creative, tasteful foods in an unusual e ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Creative, tasteful foods in an unusual environment.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our evening at The Bull & Beggar was mar ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our evening at The Bull & Beggar was marvelous from beginning to delicious end. The crackling pork rinds with vinegar and sea salt are a mouthful of joy! Everyone at the table got to experiment with foods not usually available elsewhere. Preparation and presentation was creative and delicious. Wines and on-tap beers suited all of us. The seasonal foods prepared as "French-inspired" were amazing. Thanks for a grand evening!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best dining experience I've had in y ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The best dining experience I've had in years. Exceptional quality and amazing service at unbelievable prices.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't had a 5-star meal in a long ti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I haven't had a 5-star meal in a long time!!! This was one. I was so glad to have brought my dear friend here. Every single thing we ordered was special and prepared to perfection. Oysters on the half shell w/mignonette, roasted octopus, hush puppies with maple butter, amongst. Flavors that really worked together in each dish, instead of being just a nod to creativity. The most extraordinary, though, was a crab-tomato bisque with a deeply flavored base that was apparently new on the menu. As a New Orleanian, hard to impress that way. Wow. I'd go back in a hot minute!

To top it off, the service was perfect, just perfect. Not too much, or too little.

Thanks for the truly memorable meal, Bull & Beggar

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Great menu with the French -Eu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Loved it! Great menu with the French -European influence - delish!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was dining alone as on travel and though ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Was dining alone as on travel and thought the concept looked inviting. Food very good but as the dining room filled up the service deteriorated pretty dramatically so much so that after ordering coffee and desert / finishing the coffee with no checkin by server or desert for another ~20 min when she finally came I asked for the check and cancelled desert. Was told sorry but a big seafood order went in front of your desert . Ok maybe some adjustments need to be made in service approach and kitchen logistics. Overall I would try it again if I'm back in the area perhaps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Fabulous food & service. Had Filet beef ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Fabulous food & service. Had Filet beef with fries & 12 hour suckling pig. Both were out of sight delicious. The salad greens with blue cheese very nice. Highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bull and Beggar is exceptional. It is co ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Bull and Beggar is exceptional. It is consistent, high quality and the attention to detail is marvelous.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Cozy, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the best accessible food done ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

As always the best accessible food done incredibly well one of the must-dos in Ashville

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, cocktails and service was fantasti ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food, cocktails and service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and ambiance. My daughter ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great service and ambiance. My daughter loved her crab/seafood dish. My burger was fine but nothing outstanding. I was a little disconcerted by the heads on the shrimp--a lot of work. Great selection of beers. All in all a good experience and one I would repeat.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

An extraordinary place! A meal at TB&B i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

An extraordinary place! A meal at TB&B is a true joy to experience, beginning to end..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Bull and Beggar has wonderful French ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Bull and Beggar has wonderful French cuisine that is prepared beautifully and served efficiently. Found this spot two years ago and simply had to come back to properly celebrate an anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started at the bar with craft cocktails ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Started at the bar with craft cocktails that were fantastic. Ordered grilled octopus and plough mans platter. Both were exquisite. Service was amazing. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A nice 1st time surprise. I will be back ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A nice 1st time surprise. I will be back for the octopus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service - understaffed. Very loud. Very ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service - understaffed. Very loud. Very very under-cooked steak. Stairs to upper level dining extremely steep.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Amazing attention to detail on cocktails ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing attention to detail on cocktails and food. Delicious; can't say enough good things!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.