About The Bull and Beggar

37 Paynes Way #007
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

RAW BAR HAPPY HOUR 5-6 DAILY - HALF OFF OYSTERS SHRIMP AND CLAMS. Classic French cuisine, cocktail bar and raw bar set in a warm warehouse revamp in the River Arts District.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm Sunday Brunch 10:30-2:30

Cross Street:
Lyman

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9443

Website:
http://www.thebullandbeggar.com/

Parking Details:
Our restaurant is located on the back side of The Wedge Studios building next to The Wedge Brewery. Parking anywhere on Paynes Way is acceptable.

Public Transit:
ART W1 and W2 to Roberts street.

Executive Chef:
Matt Dawes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Bull and Beggar
The Bull and Beggar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bull and Beggar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Overall
Asheville
Best Food
Asheville
1 More
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (102)
special occasion (62)
neighborhood gem (46)
See All
romantic (39)
hot spot (36)
vibrant bar scene (28)
notable wine list (23)
great for brunch (19)
good for groups (19)
late-night find (16)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The B&B makes itself out to be an elect ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

The B&B makes itself out to be an electic dining lodge experience, but falls short in only one cruticial way. Set inside the River Arts District, the building sets the tone for a magnificent meal. The menu is widly imaginative and begs the newcomer to induldge in it's horrific a la carte options. Simply stated, so much like a begger might advise, the flavor isn't good. The palate is dull and while it may seem like a neighborhood farm to table restaurant, the unique food items seemed prescribed. I have no issue paying upwards of $30-$40 for a steak, and will gladly pay $15 for a proper cocktail. The Bull and Begger glamorizes itself as an upscale local hangout. Please folks, don't waste your time at this akwardly pretentious over priced restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

The menu was very interesting in that mo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

The menu was very interesting in that most dishes either had a non-standard interpretation of standard items or were not-so-standard items. All were presented beautifully and those that we sampled were well prepared and very tasty. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and efficient making for a very enjoyable experience overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there for the Monday night hamburge ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went there for the Monday night hamburger. I don't know what they do, but the hamburger is like no other. Soft, yummy, perfect. They also have my favorite cocktail, the High Five. You better make reservations on Monday nights. Great atmosphere with fast, professional service. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it! Food was delicious!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love it!

Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and nice ambiance. Will certa ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and nice ambiance. Will certainly eat there again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I guess you guys are going for a fine di ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I guess you guys are going for a fine dining type of vibe but I ended up paying over $100 for a very minute serving of food for two. The food was pretty good but not $100 good. I think that's the first time in my life I have paid that much for dinner. I'm just a simple working man so I guess I'm not in your demographic. The point is, I would like to see larger servings for that kind of money.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

A gem of a restaurant. Great craft cockt ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A gem of a restaurant. Great craft cocktails as well as an interesting wine and beer selection. Food was epic. If we lived in Asheville, this would be a regular spot for us. If you want to experience what the Asheville food scene is about, this is the spot.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super spot. We reserved a table for din ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Super spot. We reserved a table for dinner on a Monday night which we did not realize was the special hamburger night. Almost everyone dining was having the burger which we ordered along with a lobster roll. The burger and fries were awesome. The lobster roll had an abundance of lobster and was served with super (but salty) home made potato chips. Recommend a visit. It was a little hard to find. Service was perfect.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We always really enjoy the Bull and Begg ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We always really enjoy the Bull and Beggar. The food is excellent and very artfully prepared. Our one complaint is that the liquor and wine in overpriced and under poured as compared to just about everywhere else in the Asheville area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Adored this place and to top off an incr ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Adored this place and to top off an incredible experience the owner stopped by to chat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THEY FORGOT MY CHEESE PLATE!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

THEY FORGOT MY CHEESE PLATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great birthday celebration with the fami ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great birthday celebration with the family. They always deliver, as drinks and food are always top notch. Palmer behind the bar makes the best cocktails in the city!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Food was miraculous, just so lovely ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wow! Food was miraculous, just so lovely in every detail. The menu may seem intimidating, but never fear, you will find the food to be familiar and comfortable and absolutely fresh and thoughtful; we all wanted to take our time to taste everything slowly, the flavors and presentation were just so luxurious. The service was perfect, too--just present enough when you needed something; knowledgable, passionate about the food, but not at all obtrusive.

The wine list is stunning. I think one should dine there every night to try something new on the food menu and work one's way through the wines. Could be a great way to spend the summer months!

Atmosphere, service, wine, everything--even down to the lighting and the spacing of the tables--was perfect. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Monday night burger special is aweso ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The Monday night burger special is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Burgers were good, oysters, too. Servic ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Burgers were good, oysters, too. Service was really excellent! Thanks!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Love it! Great food!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Love it! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great burger special on Monday evenings! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great burger special on Monday evenings! Super tasty. Extensive wine list and creative cocktails. Fun place to eat and drink!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our brunch at The Bull and Beggar was ex ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our brunch at The Bull and Beggar was excellent from start to finish. Our server was very knowledgeable and was always prompt refilling our coffee cups.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Unique menu but then again, I haven't ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Unique menu but then again, I haven't had much French cuisine. My wife and I tried several different small bites, salads so we could try a lot. As a result, we didn't order an entrée which all looked wonderful on nearby tables. Treat yourself. Give this restaurant a try. You'll be glad you did.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Bloody Marys! An industrial-lookin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great Bloody Marys! An industrial-looking setting, hidden in the back of the River Arts district.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The food & service were both outstanding ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food & service were both outstanding!!!! Highly recommend B&B

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal, from appetizer to salad to mai ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our meal, from appetizer to salad to main entree.....was WAY over salted. The filet, while done to requested temperature, was so salted it was close to non-edible.

I would not recommend this venue. We are Asheville residents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Relatively small bistro with excellent f ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Relatively small bistro with excellent food. Good location. Limited menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Delightful as usual...from seating to se ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Delightful as usual...from seating to service , drinks amazing...topped off by the food. If you can WOW my former chef/restaurant owner b-in-law, that's saying a lot. Loved everything about it and recommend highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is high quality, very tasty, an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food is high quality, very tasty, and in good portions. My only regret is that most of the food is very salty!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the filet mignon, sauteed spinach ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had the filet mignon, sauteed spinach and I had an assortment of oysters on the half shell. All were superb!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never disappoints - always a great selec ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Never disappoints - always a great selection of oysters plus interesting yet approachable options for every size appetite. Menu changes frequently enough to make each visit a treat. Favorite date nite spot .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It had been a while since we had been at ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It had been a while since we had been at Bull and Beggar. The menu was fresh, the rest remained the same. This is on the top of our Asheville list. Service was great. We tried new and favorite small plates and entrees, all was prepared to perfection.

It won't be as long before we are back. Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bull and Beggar is just consistently exc ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Bull and Beggar is just consistently excellent. Medium sized plates to split are a great way to try the variety of unusual dishes they put together. But...that being said, their steaks are beyond great. Thanks to all the staff, they are excellent at what they do and so friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant is fabu ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is fabulous. Awesome experience. Would we go again ? In a heart beat.thank you bull and begger for a very wonderful dinning experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

That beef tartar! The filet! The cocktai ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

That beef tartar! The filet! The cocktails! Best Negroni I've ever had, hands down. The croutons in the leaf lettuce salad were made to order and were surprisingly amazing, highlight of the salad. My only regret was not having a few more stomachs so we could've tried the charred octopus, the pork rinds, or dessert...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak in Asheville.

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Best steak in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Overall disappointed, I'd give it a 2 out of 5

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything was so salty I could hardly eat it. Had the filet mignon and it was overcooked and a tad on the tough side. This restaurant is owned and operated by the same people that run the Admiral here in Asheville so my expectations were high and needless to say I was let down. There was three of us dining and the bill including tip was $180 I doubt we will return to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

It was ok but did not live up to the hyp ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

It was ok but did not live up to the hype. I ordered the burger plain and got one fully loaded. Not cool.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Never disappointed!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Always good, great service, great food, great experience. Love their Monday night Burgers and happy hour everyday for seafood! Great selection of oysters!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The experience was incredible. We had c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The experience was incredible. We had charred octopus, swordfish and filet. All delicious and cooked to perfection. Neat location in the River Arts District. Already telling our friends they have to try it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Thank you for taking care of us.

The food and service was amazing. Such a great night with friends visiting .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great atmosphere, friend ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent food, great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff. Our only objection was that we showed up for a 7:30 reservation, but weren't seated until a little after 8. Not a big deal, but a little frustrating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Not Worth the Money

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

4 person dinner (2 younger teenagers). Nothing on menu for younger folk. Too many "chef's choices" (waiter had no idea what could be included). Highly overpriced. Waiter seemed put out whenever a request was made. Would not recommend, and certainly would not recommend for anyone younger than 20. 4 people, 1 appetizer, 2 glasses of wine: $200

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.