About The Bull and Beggar

37 Paynes Way #007
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

RAW BAR HAPPY HOUR 5-6 DAILY - HALF OFF OYSTERS SHRIMP AND CLAMS. Classic French cuisine, cocktail bar and raw bar set in a warm warehouse revamp in the River Arts District.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm Sunday Brunch 10:30-2:30

Cross Street:
Lyman

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9443

Website:
http://www.thebullandbeggar.com/

Parking Details:
Our restaurant is located on the back side of The Wedge Studios building next to The Wedge Brewery. Parking anywhere on Paynes Way is acceptable.

Public Transit:
ART W1 and W2 to Roberts street.

Executive Chef:
Matt Dawes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Bull and Beggar, Asheville, NC

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bull and Beggar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (53)
Good for a Date (51)
Creative Cuisine (49)
See All
Special Occasion (40)
Local Ingredients (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Authentic (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Cozy (25)
Fun (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Casual (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Comfort Food (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Seasonal (10)
Great Beer (10)
Business Meals (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good for Groups (8)
People Watching (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Tapas (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Organic (7)
Historic (6)
Healthy (4)
Waterfront (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This place was delicious! Great drinks a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

This place was delicious! Great drinks and delightful dishes!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service., wonderful selec ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service., wonderful selection, tasty desserts, and very helpful service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you love good drinks, best charcuteri ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

If you love good drinks, best charcuterie board in town and wonderful creative food. You will love the bull and beggar. Just a all around amazing place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always great service, top notch cocktail ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Always great service, top notch cocktails, and delicious food at Bull and Beggar. Amazing menu of food and drink that is fun, interesting, and delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Casual, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most recently went for their "burger nig ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 7 days ago

Most recently went for their "burger night" and it was easily the best burger I've ever had. Just goes to show how even a simple burger can be incredible with the right ingredients, prepared perfectly.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the restaurant and the staff were very attentive to our needs. We sample different dishes with the suckling pig as our favorite. The oysters set the tone for the evening and everyone had a great time. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall it was an awesome place to dine. ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Overall it was an awesome place to dine. Found it googling unique restaurants in Asheville. Very very pleased.

Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had delicious lobster r ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My husband and I had delicious lobster roll small plates and the wine selection was very good, but both of our entrees were so overly salted and tasted bad as a result, it ruined our experience. We should have spoken up and returned our meals to the kitchen. We did tell our server at then end so the chef would know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Tasty and stylish. We appreciated the fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Tasty and stylish. We appreciated the foam under the tables to dull the noise—it definitely helped my dad stay in the conversation.

The wine list is bigger and deeper than we expected. Our server smartly had a colleague come over to provide more in depth discussion of the wines when the questions were out of her expertise.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a 9:15p reservation and were seat ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had a 9:15p reservation and were seated immediately. Our service from that point on was sub-par. Waiting tables is a largely thankless and difficult job, but I was displeased with the attention my table was given. I don't know if it was because it was late or if they were understaffed or if this is a norm at B&B, but it sullied the experience.

The food was very good and presented well, though I think the menu was a bit pricey. It also took quite a while to get our initial drink order and "Ploghman's Platter". It was Monday night, so I took advantage of the double cheeseburger being on the menu, and I'm glad I did. It was outstanding but maybe a bit greasy. I'd like to give B&B another try to see if I can get a better wait staff experience, but I'll need to save up first.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The best dining experience in Asheville! ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The best dining experience in Asheville! A hidden gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Amazing service! Went fo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing food! Amazing service! Went for new years eve and we were not disappointed in any way.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Organic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went here for our anniv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. The menu features European and traditional fare, with a regional flair. We both had the steak, which was tender and perfectly cooked. The sides were very 'homey. ' I had the scalloped potatoes - good, but the smoked flavor was a little over powering (they were cooked with what appeared to be bits of ham). The restaurant is located in a former industrial area with warehouses and abandoned buildings, and can be difficult to find for people not familiar with the area. I would suggest if you're not familiar with the area you drive to the restaurant during daylight.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our favorite restaurant in Ashev ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Asheville, it never disappoints. Hands down best steak the Cote de Boeuf anywhere - easily shareable and recommend doing so...oysters were great, tartiflette is awesome and enjoy the wine list. Filet with bone marrow and the duck are also fantastic. Only complaint was the over done bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried a series of small plates. All w ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We tried a series of small plates. All were excellent. As it was a cold night, we began with the best French onion soup ever,. Things just kept to that high standard throughout the meal. Do not skip dessert. You will be amazed at the quince and prune crumble and of course anything chocolate is to die for...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Bull and Beggar every chance we ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We go to Bull and Beggar every chance we get and LOVE IT! The servers/bar staff are friendly and helpful, the drinks are awesome and the food is ever better.

Lobster rolls are a must, even if you don't like lobster rolls. Absolutely amazing. The filet is excellent as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The portions were e ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was great. The portions were extremely generous. With only two of us, we made it through some seafood, the rillettes, the pheasant terrine, and the octopus. We were stuffed, but it was all excellent. The portions on the entrees that we saw also looked very generous. We somehow found room for a quince and plum crumble. The noise level was nice - lively but you could cary on a conversation without a problem. Very friendly service.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I chose the Bull and Beggar ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My wife and I chose the Bull and Beggar for our anniversary dinner. It was a recommendation from a family member who is a chef, and we were definitely impressed! The food, service, and atmosphere were all outstanding as a result of their attention to detail. For example, the main dining room is roomy and pretty much all hard surfaces. One would expect it to be noisy but they have put sound dampening panels in the rafters and under tables so the room is much quieter than it looks. The food is the best that I had in Asheville, which is saying a lot. If you are a steak person, you must get the filet. For $30, you can have a filet that you couldn't get at other places that you might pay twice as much for! Absolutely fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The difficulty with our last visit to Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The difficulty with our last visit to The Bull and Beggar is that the outstanding quality of the dishes was almost destroyed by the service. The waitress seemed to be permanently rushed, and thus rushed us. Considering that The Bull and Beggar defines itself as a dining location, rushing patrons is really not an option. Great food, service leaves very much room for improvement.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

WE LOVE Bull and Beggar - always a great ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

WE LOVE Bull and Beggar - always a great choice! Exceptional raw oysters, chacuterie, and definitely try the pork rinds!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought my mom to the Bull and Beggar ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We brought my mom to the Bull and Beggar to have her try some of the best Asheville has to offer, and it lived up to the expectations. We love dining in Asheville, and this is one of the best. Mom especially liked the filet - she says she'll never get a filet anywhere else after this one, because it won't compare. My wife and I loved the grilled octopus and the halibut I had for dinner was fantastic - not Alaska, but for the NC mountains, it exceeded expectations. The atmosphere was relaxed, cozy, and quiet, with dark colors. Wood, exposed brick, and ceiling gave this place a solid feel. We sat upstairs. We'll be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Tapas, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful service! We split the 34oz Rib ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful service! We split the 34oz Rib Eye and it was wonderful. The sides are all fresh and prepared perfectly. The drinks are great too. Tuesdays from 5-6 is the seafood special. Try the peel and eat shrimp as well as the oysters! Will definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unassuming location in a dirt lot leaves ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Unassuming location in a dirt lot leaves you wondering when you arrive, but the food and service are amazing. Several regional dishes and near farm to table menu is amazing. Every dish we had was excellent and I would not hesitate to go again. The veal meatball was amazing, as were the selection of oysters on the shell. I fair selection of wines add to the menu and the staff is friendly and helpful

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love this place! Service was great and i ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Love this place! Service was great and informative. Tried the skate with tarragon bread sauce (something new to me). It was delicious as was the carmel chocolate tart:)thanks

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was great.

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is fantastically and creatively ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food is fantastically and creatively presented with taste suprassing all of our expactations. The service was very helpful with descriptions of menu items. And the drinks we're phenomenal. The Brick is off the charts, as well as their Dark and Stormy's. We will definitely be back as well as recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Supper was fabulous. Alexis was our ser ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Supper was fabulous. Alexis was our server and was also fabulous. No complaints. Beautiful decor, down to the lampshades. A great place. Thank you very much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in Ashev ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Asheville. The best filet mignon we've ever had, we always get the extraordinary chicken liver mousse and crostini... amazing

They could switch up the menu a little more, but this is dining at its best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about our experience here was ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Everything about our experience here was incredible. Cannot recommend enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was phenomenal! We shared the l ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was phenomenal! We shared the lamb chops and mushroom soup. Yum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food offerings in an unexpec ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Outstanding food offerings in an unexpected location, enjoyably refurbished space is surrounded by art studios and galleries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a fabulous, creative meal...Th ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

As always a fabulous, creative meal...The sweetbreads were delicious, my favorite the tartare was wonderful, & add to that rabbit rillette & charred octopus that were perfect...And all thins in the funky river arts district!...Another reason to LOVE Asheville...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to introduce friends to and ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great place to introduce friends to and have them enjoy a wonderful meal.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really wonderful visit to The Bull & Beg ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Really wonderful visit to The Bull & Beggar! The meal and dessert were delicious, our server was friendly and took care care of us, and our mixed drinks were great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love brunch here, but I was a bit disa ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I love brunch here, but I was a bit disappointed in the service this time. We were seated on the ground floor level and we felt forgotten or ignored for most of the time. Our server was very friendly, just very slow to come by. We sat for about 10 minutes before she came by to get our drink order. Then, we asked for extra plates because we were sharing some items and they never came. It wasn't that busy and there seemed to be plenty of staff, so it didn't make sense. At any rate, that Dutch Baby Pancake is too amazing to resist, so I'll be back. I'm just hoping for better service next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

A disappointment. Although listed as a F ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

A disappointment. Although listed as a French restaurant, I find it hard it truly call this restaurant French. A Bistro is the closest French term you could use. There were only 3 entrees on the menu (unless you consider a 34 oz. steak a viable option). We expected there would be daily specials when we viewed the menu on Open Table and there were none. There were lots of drink options and our server was full of drink suggestions. The filet mignon was excellent as were the pomme frites. The charcuterie plate was not!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Food was very good. Must have: sticky to ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was very good. Must have: sticky toffee pudding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Lobster roll was small but excellent, pa ...

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Lobster roll was small but excellent, paired with hot peppers. Butter lettuce salad was good but the dressing note no resemblance to any buttermilk dressing I have ever had, as it was not creamy but oily with a bit too much dill. Edible, however. The oysters, reported by the server as the largest Massachusetts offerings, were extremely small--and I mean TINY-- and already dressed with a mignonette that totally eclipsed any flavour the oysters might have had. I complained but was not compensated and told by the server that that was how they were served in small quantities. So, for all the supposed oyster varieties available there--7, I believe the server said-- I could not recommend the oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Halibut with creamed spinach was excepti ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Halibut with creamed spinach was exceptional. Ordered side of pomme frittes - nice and crisp.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.