About The Bull and Beggar

RAW BAR HAPPY HOUR 5-6 DAILY - HALF OFF OYSTERS SHRIMP AND CLAMS. Classic French cuisine, cocktail bar and raw bar set in a warm warehouse revamp in the River Arts District.

37 Paynes Way #007
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm Sunday Brunch 10:30-2:30

Cross Street:
Lyman

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9443

Website:
http://www.thebullandbeggar.com/

Parking Details:
Our restaurant is located on the back side of The Wedge Studios building next to The Wedge Brewery. Parking anywhere on Paynes Way is acceptable.

Public Transit:
ART W1 and W2 to Roberts street.

Executive Chef:
Matt Dawes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Bull and Beggar, Asheville, NC

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bull and Beggar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (52)
Good for a Date (50)
Creative Cuisine (49)
See All
Local Ingredients (41)
Special Occasion (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Authentic (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Cozy (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Fun (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Hot Spot (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Casual (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Seasonal (10)
Great Beer (10)
Business Meals (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
People Watching (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Organic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Historic (6)
Tapas (6)
Healthy (4)
Waterfront (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful service and ambiance. Nice men ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined a day ago

Wonderful service and ambiance. Nice menu with a variety of choices. Excellent cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went during Asheville's Restaurant We ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

We went during Asheville's Restaurant Week and too advantage of the specials, but we will be back! Loved the food and the decor. Great staff and great place.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited during restaurant week. Three ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Visited during restaurant week. Three of us had the hanger steak with potatoes. The steaks were cooked to perfection and very tasty. We also ordered hush puppies, shrimp, and lobster roll from the regular menu. All three appetizers were fabulous. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone who loves good food❣

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Bull and Beggar was a bit disappoint ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

The Bull and Beggar was a bit disappointing this time. Food was below par and frankly, cold by the time it arrived. The hanger steak I had was nearly raw and virtually tasteless.

My friend had the trout however and said it was good.

Not up to par with other restaurants in Asheville.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Enjoyed our evening. The Onion Soup with ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed our evening. The Onion Soup with brisket was the best. The Hanger Steak was a hit with out whole party. Our only disagreement was whether the Chocolate or Apple tart was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to this restaurant during Restau ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to this restaurant during Restaurant week with friends and the open table website said they had a dinner for 2 for $30 so we thought we would try it. When we got to the restaurant, they didn't know anything about this and gave us a menu for 35.00/person. This was a disappointment given the advertising we had seen so needless to say it gave us not a favorable feeling about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Your food is very good. Your service is ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Your food is very good. Your service is terrible. I've tried really hard to love your restaurant, and have been there twice. The first time, a year ago Christmas Eve, we had a table of 5. The server was outright rude. The other night, the server spilled a glass of wine and bottle of water into my lap. We asked several times for a wine list. Please try to pull it together! We eat out a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Overall it would have been a great exper ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall it would have been a great experience if the service (slow-1hr to get entrees) and cocktails (poor excuse of a Bloody Mary) weren't so bad. Great atmosphere, the staff were very nice just very slow service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Perfect date night. We had the suckling ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Perfect date night. We had the suckling pig, oysters, shrimp, French onion soup and the cod fritters. All were very good. If there was one tiny gripe it's that there is no sweet tea and the water was warm. The only options were dinks that didn't appeal to us or alcoholic beverages. Other than that..... An amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great atmosphere

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This place was delicious! Great drinks a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This place was delicious! Great drinks and delightful dishes!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service., wonderful selec ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food and service., wonderful selection, tasty desserts, and very helpful service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you love good drinks, best charcuteri ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

If you love good drinks, best charcuterie board in town and wonderful creative food. You will love the bull and beggar. Just a all around amazing place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always great service, top notch cocktail ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Always great service, top notch cocktails, and delicious food at Bull and Beggar. Amazing menu of food and drink that is fun, interesting, and delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Casual, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most recently went for their "burger nig ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Most recently went for their "burger night" and it was easily the best burger I've ever had. Just goes to show how even a simple burger can be incredible with the right ingredients, prepared perfectly.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the restaurant and the staff were very attentive to our needs. We sample different dishes with the suckling pig as our favorite. The oysters set the tone for the evening and everyone had a great time. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall it was an awesome place to dine. ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Overall it was an awesome place to dine. Found it googling unique restaurants in Asheville. Very very pleased.

Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had delicious lobster r ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My husband and I had delicious lobster roll small plates and the wine selection was very good, but both of our entrees were so overly salted and tasted bad as a result, it ruined our experience. We should have spoken up and returned our meals to the kitchen. We did tell our server at then end so the chef would know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Tasty and stylish. We appreciated the fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Tasty and stylish. We appreciated the foam under the tables to dull the noise—it definitely helped my dad stay in the conversation.

The wine list is bigger and deeper than we expected. Our server smartly had a colleague come over to provide more in depth discussion of the wines when the questions were out of her expertise.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a 9:15p reservation and were seat ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had a 9:15p reservation and were seated immediately. Our service from that point on was sub-par. Waiting tables is a largely thankless and difficult job, but I was displeased with the attention my table was given. I don't know if it was because it was late or if they were understaffed or if this is a norm at B&B, but it sullied the experience.

The food was very good and presented well, though I think the menu was a bit pricey. It also took quite a while to get our initial drink order and "Ploghman's Platter". It was Monday night, so I took advantage of the double cheeseburger being on the menu, and I'm glad I did. It was outstanding but maybe a bit greasy. I'd like to give B&B another try to see if I can get a better wait staff experience, but I'll need to save up first.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The best dining experience in Asheville! ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The best dining experience in Asheville! A hidden gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Amazing service! Went fo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing food! Amazing service! Went for new years eve and we were not disappointed in any way.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Organic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went here for our anniv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. The menu features European and traditional fare, with a regional flair. We both had the steak, which was tender and perfectly cooked. The sides were very 'homey. ' I had the scalloped potatoes - good, but the smoked flavor was a little over powering (they were cooked with what appeared to be bits of ham). The restaurant is located in a former industrial area with warehouses and abandoned buildings, and can be difficult to find for people not familiar with the area. I would suggest if you're not familiar with the area you drive to the restaurant during daylight.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our favorite restaurant in Ashev ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Asheville, it never disappoints. Hands down best steak the Cote de Boeuf anywhere - easily shareable and recommend doing so...oysters were great, tartiflette is awesome and enjoy the wine list. Filet with bone marrow and the duck are also fantastic. Only complaint was the over done bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried a series of small plates. All w ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We tried a series of small plates. All were excellent. As it was a cold night, we began with the best French onion soup ever,. Things just kept to that high standard throughout the meal. Do not skip dessert. You will be amazed at the quince and prune crumble and of course anything chocolate is to die for...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Bull and Beggar every chance we ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We go to Bull and Beggar every chance we get and LOVE IT! The servers/bar staff are friendly and helpful, the drinks are awesome and the food is ever better.

Lobster rolls are a must, even if you don't like lobster rolls. Absolutely amazing. The filet is excellent as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The portions were e ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was great. The portions were extremely generous. With only two of us, we made it through some seafood, the rillettes, the pheasant terrine, and the octopus. We were stuffed, but it was all excellent. The portions on the entrees that we saw also looked very generous. We somehow found room for a quince and plum crumble. The noise level was nice - lively but you could cary on a conversation without a problem. Very friendly service.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I chose the Bull and Beggar ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My wife and I chose the Bull and Beggar for our anniversary dinner. It was a recommendation from a family member who is a chef, and we were definitely impressed! The food, service, and atmosphere were all outstanding as a result of their attention to detail. For example, the main dining room is roomy and pretty much all hard surfaces. One would expect it to be noisy but they have put sound dampening panels in the rafters and under tables so the room is much quieter than it looks. The food is the best that I had in Asheville, which is saying a lot. If you are a steak person, you must get the filet. For $30, you can have a filet that you couldn't get at other places that you might pay twice as much for! Absolutely fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The difficulty with our last visit to Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The difficulty with our last visit to The Bull and Beggar is that the outstanding quality of the dishes was almost destroyed by the service. The waitress seemed to be permanently rushed, and thus rushed us. Considering that The Bull and Beggar defines itself as a dining location, rushing patrons is really not an option. Great food, service leaves very much room for improvement.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

WE LOVE Bull and Beggar - always a great ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

WE LOVE Bull and Beggar - always a great choice! Exceptional raw oysters, chacuterie, and definitely try the pork rinds!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought my mom to the Bull and Beggar ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We brought my mom to the Bull and Beggar to have her try some of the best Asheville has to offer, and it lived up to the expectations. We love dining in Asheville, and this is one of the best. Mom especially liked the filet - she says she'll never get a filet anywhere else after this one, because it won't compare. My wife and I loved the grilled octopus and the halibut I had for dinner was fantastic - not Alaska, but for the NC mountains, it exceeded expectations. The atmosphere was relaxed, cozy, and quiet, with dark colors. Wood, exposed brick, and ceiling gave this place a solid feel. We sat upstairs. We'll be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Tapas, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful service! We split the 34oz Rib ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful service! We split the 34oz Rib Eye and it was wonderful. The sides are all fresh and prepared perfectly. The drinks are great too. Tuesdays from 5-6 is the seafood special. Try the peel and eat shrimp as well as the oysters! Will definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over rated. Food was overly salted, serv ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Over rated. Food was overly salted, service was non existent, and drinks were very underwhelming. Maybe we went on an off day since the reviews are generally positive but with all Asheville has to offer, I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Unassuming location in a dirt lot leaves ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Unassuming location in a dirt lot leaves you wondering when you arrive, but the food and service are amazing. Several regional dishes and near farm to table menu is amazing. Every dish we had was excellent and I would not hesitate to go again. The veal meatball was amazing, as were the selection of oysters on the shell. I fair selection of wines add to the menu and the staff is friendly and helpful

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love this place! Service was great and i ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Love this place! Service was great and informative. Tried the skate with tarragon bread sauce (something new to me). It was delicious as was the carmel chocolate tart:)thanks

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was great.

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is fantastically and creatively ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food is fantastically and creatively presented with taste suprassing all of our expactations. The service was very helpful with descriptions of menu items. And the drinks we're phenomenal. The Brick is off the charts, as well as their Dark and Stormy's. We will definitely be back as well as recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monday Burger night with a handcrafted c ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Monday Burger night with a handcrafted cocktail to die for... awesome first impression. Looking forward to trying the full menu out next time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Supper was fabulous. Alexis was our ser ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Supper was fabulous. Alexis was our server and was also fabulous. No complaints. Beautiful decor, down to the lampshades. A great place. Thank you very much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in Ashev ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Asheville. The best filet mignon we've ever had, we always get the extraordinary chicken liver mousse and crostini... amazing

They could switch up the menu a little more, but this is dining at its best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.