About The Bull and Beggar

37 Paynes Way #007
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

RAW BAR HAPPY HOUR 5-6 DAILY - HALF OFF OYSTERS SHRIMP AND CLAMS. Classic French cuisine, cocktail bar and raw bar set in a warm warehouse revamp in the River Arts District.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm Sunday Brunch 10:30-2:30

Cross Street:
Lyman

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9443

Website:
http://www.thebullandbeggar.com/

Parking Details:
Our restaurant is located on the back side of The Wedge Studios building next to The Wedge Brewery. Parking anywhere on Paynes Way is acceptable.

Public Transit:
ART W1 and W2 to Roberts street.

Executive Chef:
Matt Dawes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bull and Beggar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (92)
special occasion (54)
romantic (45)
See All
neighborhood gem (43)
hot spot (42)
vibrant bar scene (25)
notable wine list (23)
late-night find (18)
good for groups (18)
great for brunch (11)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

We dined there tonight 5/23/16. It was " ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

We dined there tonight 5/23/16. It was "Burger Monday" and jammed at 5:00 PM. Three deep at the bar when we arrived. Very creative Chef's and Owner. Excellent and very French inspired menu. BEST and most meticulously created burgers that Asheville has to offer. We highly recommend Bull and Beggar!!

food5
ambience4
service4

Best burger in Asheville. We been searc ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Best burger in Asheville. We been searching for 'the burger'. Farm Burger, BugerWorx, Rankin Vault, Cedric's, etc, etc, etc...all good, but the burger at Bull & Beggar beats them all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely beautiful meal from start to ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Absolutely beautiful meal from start to finish! One I'll always remember.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time a Bull & Beggar a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was my third time a Bull & Beggar and they never disappoint. We had a fantastic selection of oysters, plus several items off the menu including my most favorite food, the Octopus. We were enjoying an leisurely anniversary dinner and at no point did I feel rushed by the server to turn over the table or order more food. Everything was fantastic. The cocktails were some of the best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the most delicious brunch I'v ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Absolutely the most delicious brunch I've had in a while!! Menu is incredible, oysters were so fresh And shucked perfectly. The soft egg and Caviar with fresh homemade toast points was so good I felt like I was living a life of pure decadence. The filet my husband said melted in his mouth . My son had the local trout which he ate every last bite accompanied with a lite spring pea shoot garnish and roasted potatoes that were seasoned perfectly. He is a picky eater so it takes a lot to impress his 12 yr. old palette. My daughter and I had the double cheeseburgers and hand cut fries. Juicy. Cheesy, full of flavor . The cheese burgers were fabulous. I heard there is half off the cheeseburgers on Monday's . We are so going! Fries were cooked as fries were meant to be cooked . Salty crispy potato perfection!! Don't miss this culinary concept made of incredible talent and knowledge of what real food should taste like. So good. S.G Of Asheville

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and great service every t ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and great service every time!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bunch in Asheville

Dined on May 8, 2016

We booked this reservation looking for a brunch in Asheville, then we figured out it was also Mothers Day. The food was over the top, unique and tasty. It is one of the places that we will surely visit on our next trip to Asheville. The only complaint is that the State of NC has archaic laws regarding Alcohol. It's not the fault of the restaurant, but the next time we will make a later reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, cool location

Dined on May 8, 2016

This time we went for Mothers day and the Brunch was great. I have been in the past for dinner and they cook a great hunk of meat. One of the best cooked steaks in town in my opinion.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find! The food was fabulous . . . ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great find! The food was fabulous . . . especially the Ploughman's Platter . . . a delightful combination of tastes and textures. Great service too. The location is a bit hard to find. Better signage would definitely help.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Experience!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Recommended by a friend who visited Asheville last week. Came for the oysters, stayed for the cocktails! Very knowledgeable bartender and foodie-friendly environment. Will have to come back for brunch sometime!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Casual setting but great for date night. ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Casual setting but great for date night. Talented bar tender. Fresh, mostly local food with a southern flair. My husband doesn't usually enjoy hush puppies but raved about B & B's, served with whipped maple butter.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food, Couldn't Ask For More

Dined on April 29, 2016

Me and my husband are both pretty picky foodies. We LOVED this place! The cocktails were amazing, I love making my own, so I was super excited and impressed. The food was amazing we had an excellent date night and wanted to visit the River Arts District in Asheville, so this was an excellent find! We love the atmosphere it was nice but not fancy, casual and comfortable with excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find!

Dined on April 28, 2016

It was actually very hard to find but once we got there, thanks to the restaurant's guidance, it was marvelous! Great food, great ambiance. Funky and amazing food! I cannot wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Amazing dinner, from start to end just fantastic! Service was great, food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Very tasty food, great location, and ser ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Very tasty food, great location, and service is always the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, great (and best burger in town)

Dined on April 25, 2016

Still the best double patty cheeseburger in Asheville, and the Monday night special (cheeseburger and fries with a drink of any kind, $6) is the bet deal in the Southeast. Our waitperson, Julie B., was FANTASTIC. My only wish is that B&B would get better buns. Bocado in Atlanta (the best double patty cheeseburger in Atlanta) orders their buns from competitor Holeman & Finch, and I bet H&F would ship them to Asheville. That would make the Bull & Beggar burger the best ever. Two cocktails, a half dozen oysters on the half shell (half price), two cheeseburgers and fries, one Wicked Weed Pernicious, $50 plus tip. Can't beat it with stick!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Usually a great dining experience.

Dined on April 20, 2016

We have been to The Bull and Beggar before and the food has been excellent. This visit, however, the Octopus was tough, to the point that a steak knife was requested. The Morels , peas and sweatbreads were good and the service was excellent as always. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Great

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

One of our favorite local restaurants to enjoy on date night or to bring friends to. The food is consistently great and the service is the best in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great burgers, better atmopshere

Dined on April 12, 2016

Great little spot tucked away at the end of the Wedge building, really cool decor. Service was fantastic, very attentive but not annoyingly so. Went for $6 burger night, very tasty, fries were amazing. Only complaint would be to get larger water glasses, they are only maybe 6oz.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Don't bother.

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The steak was outstanding, but nothing else was (and I don't like fries or potatoes swimming in cream). The server was smug and impatient. I won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food, service, bar all topnotch

Dined on April 7, 2016

inventive, gourmet dinner options cooked to perfection. server knew the menu well and had great recommendations. bartender/owner mixes a great drink.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Asheville Hip

Dined on April 7, 2016

Drew, co-owner and the mixologist the evening we dined, was very gracious and clearly cared about his craft...our server was also extremely gracious and knowledgeable about the local food, checked back often...we left feeling as though we had a very "local" Asheville dining experience...a highlight of our visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite

Dined on April 5, 2016

Excellent menu, great preparation and friendly service. It is getting real popular and reservations are a must. However, they do not try to hurry you up. A beautiful evening can be had here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

quickly becoming one of my favorite AVL spots

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Best oysters in AVL, great steak, GREAT service- very friendly staff... we go often always good ! We love this place

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Great but pricey!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Three of us went to dinner and the bill totalled $240 including three alcoholic beverages. The oysters are terrific!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good but pricey!

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

I really enjoyed my meal at Bull and Beggar, but was floored when I got the bill for $250 for three people. We didn't eat that much and had a total of three drinks. I think it's a bit pricey.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Bull and Beggar is a great restaurant in the River Arts District. Great ambience, food and wine selection, and service. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any and all who are in Asheville!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried and True

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

i have spent thousand of dollars here and got my money's worth everytime.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Refined

Dined on March 26, 2016

This is a place to feel safe to push the limits on your culinary experience. I was there with my sons and enjoyed seeing them order their steak rare and love marrow and the best Charcuterie on the planet! Sorry, I did my best on the spelling and spellcheck was no help! Thanks for contributing to my children's sophisticated palate!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great happy hour treats and drinks!

Dined on March 24, 2016

This is our 2nd time going to the Bull and the Begger. This time, we decided to come for their 1/2 off raw oysters and shrimp happy hour, and we are sooo happy we did! They had 8 different types of oysters and we indulged in all of them. Very fresh tasting and we ended up ordering more of the oysters from PEI. We also ordered the peel and eat shrimp, which had alot of spices and went really well with their tasty homemade cocktail sauce. You only get 6 shrimps, but they are large, and for $4, its very fair. We also ordered cocktails, which were delicious, and sat by the windows so we could watch the trains go by. The bartender served us, and despite the crowd, was very attentive. Definitely a great place to go for dinner or happy hour snacks! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

First time for burger night - do not mis ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

First time for burger night - do not miss! Delicious - B & B never disappoints. Great night for families too. Come early & definitely make a resie!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Top Drawer

Dined on March 21, 2016

If you're looking for premium at a reasonable price, this is the place. The veal t-bone and the filet are excellent choices for your entree. Oysters out of this world follow these with murell musrooms and peas. Yum yum! Have the biegnets before leaving. On the drive back all you can think about is when will you be back!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Quirky and Cool

Dined on March 20, 2016

A close friend, originally from Asheville, recommended Bull & Beggar. She has an excellent palate so we decided to go for it. We thoroughly enjoyed the offerings and were very pleased with our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Helpful staff. Great Food.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food, and very helpful staff for adventurous customers who have not been exposed to a lot of fine dining. They were more than happy to explain what their more exotic food listings were. Our reservation was about 20 mins late, but staff accommodated us at the bar area while we waited. Our Food was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything we ordered was perfectly exec ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Everything we ordered was perfectly executed with rich, fully-developed flavors. The meal was one of the best we've had in Asheville. The wine list, although limited, is well suited to the menu and quite reasonably priced. Overall, The Bull and Beggar is an excellent choice for anyone who wants an outstanding meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bull and Beggar for 30th Birthday

Dined on March 8, 2016

Bull and Beggar is without a doubt top 3 restaurants in asheville. Service was great. Romantic & rustic atmosphere. The food is forward thinking and delicious. 5 stars in my book.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The service was ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was superb. My only complaint is that the menu is pretty limited in range of options.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on February 29, 2016

My husband and I have eaten here twice and both times were exceptional. It is our new favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Great burgers!

Dined on February 29, 2016

We enjoy coming for the burger and half price shrimp and oysters occasionally. Brought a friend from out of town. Food was good as expected, but service was very perfunctory and rushed.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Bourbon and Ginger! Great food every time!

Dined on February 29, 2016

Great Place to eat at the bar or just have a cocktail! Easy environment and great wine. Tartar yes please!

Tags: romantic, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.