About The Bull and Beggar

37 Paynes Way #007
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

RAW BAR HAPPY HOUR 5-6 DAILY - HALF OFF OYSTERS SHRIMP AND CLAMS. Classic French cuisine, cocktail bar and raw bar set in a warm warehouse revamp in the River Arts District.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm Sunday Brunch 10:30-2:30

Cross Street:
Lyman

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9443

Website:
http://www.thebullandbeggar.com/

Parking Details:
Our restaurant is located on the back side of The Wedge Studios building next to The Wedge Brewery. Parking anywhere on Paynes Way is acceptable.

Public Transit:
ART W1 and W2 to Roberts street.

Executive Chef:
Matt Dawes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bull and Beggar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville
Best Food
Asheville
Best Ambiance
Asheville
1 More
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (95)
special occasion (59)
neighborhood gem (46)
See All
romantic (43)
hot spot (42)
vibrant bar scene (28)
good for groups (21)
notable wine list (21)
late-night find (19)
great for brunch (15)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had the filet mignon, sauteed spinach ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had the filet mignon, sauteed spinach and I had an assortment of oysters on the half shell. All were superb!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints - always a great selec ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Never disappoints - always a great selection of oysters plus interesting yet approachable options for every size appetite. Menu changes frequently enough to make each visit a treat. Favorite date nite spot .

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It had been a while since we had been at ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

It had been a while since we had been at Bull and Beggar. The menu was fresh, the rest remained the same. This is on the top of our Asheville list. Service was great. We tried new and favorite small plates and entrees, all was prepared to perfection. It won't be as long before we are back. Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bull and Beggar is just consistently exc ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Bull and Beggar is just consistently excellent. Medium sized plates to split are a great way to try the variety of unusual dishes they put together. But...that being said, their steaks are beyond great. Thanks to all the staff, they are excellent at what they do and so friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

That beef tartar! The filet! The cocktai ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

That beef tartar! The filet! The cocktails! Best Negroni I've ever had, hands down. The croutons in the leaf lettuce salad were made to order and were surprisingly amazing, highlight of the salad. My only regret was not having a few more stomachs so we could've tried the charred octopus, the pork rinds, or dessert...

food5
ambience3
service5

Best steak in Asheville.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Best steak in Asheville.

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Overall disappointed, I'd give it a 2 out of 5

Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything was so salty I could hardly eat it. Had the filet mignon and it was overcooked and a tad on the tough side. This restaurant is owned and operated by the same people that run the Admiral here in Asheville so my expectations were high and needless to say I was let down. There was three of us dining and the bill including tip was $180 I doubt we will return to this establishment.

food3
ambience5
service2
value3

It was ok but did not live up to the hyp ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

It was ok but did not live up to the hype. I ordered the burger plain and got one fully loaded. Not cool.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointed!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Always good, great service, great food, great experience. Love their Monday night Burgers and happy hour everyday for seafood! Great selection of oysters!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience was incredible. We had c ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The experience was incredible. We had charred octopus, swordfish and filet. All delicious and cooked to perfection. Neat location in the River Arts District. Already telling our friends they have to try it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing.

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Thank you for taking care of us. The food and service was amazing. Such a great night with friends visiting .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food, great atmosphere, friend ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent food, great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff. Our only objection was that we showed up for a 7:30 reservation, but weren't seated until a little after 8. Not a big deal, but a little frustrating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Not Worth the Money

Dined on May 28, 2016

4 person dinner (2 younger teenagers). Nothing on menu for younger folk. Too many "chef's choices" (waiter had no idea what could be included). Highly overpriced. Waiter seemed put out whenever a request was made. Would not recommend, and certainly would not recommend for anyone younger than 20. 4 people, 1 appetizer, 2 glasses of wine: $200

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An exceptional experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

Went on date night with my wife. Got lucky and had a reservation. Customer service was top notch. The waitress was very helpful and attentive. The food was exceptional. A great evening

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service2

The food is a bit pretentious for the pr ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food is a bit pretentious for the prices they ask guests to pay. And many dishes are way too salty!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent flavor and atmosphere

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent variations of food options . Listed as romantic if able to get loft seating. Would be nice to have a little more specific food descriptions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Annual trip to Asheville

Dined on May 27, 2016

We get together with friends once a year in Asheville & we are always looking for new & exciting dining experiences. This was our first visit to the Bull & Beggar. The menu has many options for those with small or big appetites. The appetizers were unique & creative. We loved the charred octopus. I am a vegetarian and found satisfying options. My meat eating friends were equally pleased. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was excellent, the filet mignon off ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was excellent, the filet mignon off the chart! Our sever was inadequate, only addressing me, not my wife, and replenishing my glass, not my wife glass. She also took my plate away while I was still working on it! Hopefully she was new at the job and will get better. If, not she may need to fing something she is good at.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Difficult to find, no signs from the roa ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Difficult to find, no signs from the road, hidden along a gravel track called Paynes Way. Noisy, converted warehouse building. Limited selection of entrees but wide range of appetizers including excellent tartiflette. Bad choice of pigeon & peas if you were hungry.

food4
ambience4
service4

We dined there tonight 5/23/16. It was " ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

We dined there tonight 5/23/16. It was "Burger Monday" and jammed at 5:00 PM. Three deep at the bar when we arrived. Very creative Chef's and Owner. Excellent and very French inspired menu. BEST and most meticulously created burgers that Asheville has to offer. We highly recommend Bull and Beggar!!

food5
ambience4
service4

Best burger in Asheville. We been searc ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Best burger in Asheville. We been searching for 'the burger'. Farm Burger, BugerWorx, Rankin Vault, Cedric's, etc, etc, etc...all good, but the burger at Bull & Beggar beats them all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely beautiful meal from start to ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Absolutely beautiful meal from start to finish! One I'll always remember.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time a Bull & Beggar a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was my third time a Bull & Beggar and they never disappoint. We had a fantastic selection of oysters, plus several items off the menu including my most favorite food, the Octopus. We were enjoying an leisurely anniversary dinner and at no point did I feel rushed by the server to turn over the table or order more food. Everything was fantastic. The cocktails were some of the best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the most delicious brunch I'v ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Absolutely the most delicious brunch I've had in a while!! Menu is incredible, oysters were so fresh And shucked perfectly. The soft egg and Caviar with fresh homemade toast points was so good I felt like I was living a life of pure decadence. The filet my husband said melted in his mouth . My son had the local trout which he ate every last bite accompanied with a lite spring pea shoot garnish and roasted potatoes that were seasoned perfectly. He is a picky eater so it takes a lot to impress his 12 yr. old palette. My daughter and I had the double cheeseburgers and hand cut fries. Juicy. Cheesy, full of flavor . The cheese burgers were fabulous. I heard there is half off the cheeseburgers on Monday's . We are so going! Fries were cooked as fries were meant to be cooked . Salty crispy potato perfection!! Don't miss this culinary concept made of incredible talent and knowledge of what real food should taste like. So good. S.G Of Asheville

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and great service every t ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and great service every time!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bunch in Asheville

Dined on May 8, 2016

We booked this reservation looking for a brunch in Asheville, then we figured out it was also Mothers Day. The food was over the top, unique and tasty. It is one of the places that we will surely visit on our next trip to Asheville. The only complaint is that the State of NC has archaic laws regarding Alcohol. It's not the fault of the restaurant, but the next time we will make a later reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, cool location

Dined on May 8, 2016

This time we went for Mothers day and the Brunch was great. I have been in the past for dinner and they cook a great hunk of meat. One of the best cooked steaks in town in my opinion.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find! The food was fabulous . . . ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great find! The food was fabulous . . . especially the Ploughman's Platter . . . a delightful combination of tastes and textures. Great service too. The location is a bit hard to find. Better signage would definitely help.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Experience!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Recommended by a friend who visited Asheville last week. Came for the oysters, stayed for the cocktails! Very knowledgeable bartender and foodie-friendly environment. Will have to come back for brunch sometime!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Casual setting but great for date night. ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Casual setting but great for date night. Talented bar tender. Fresh, mostly local food with a southern flair. My husband doesn't usually enjoy hush puppies but raved about B & B's, served with whipped maple butter.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food, Couldn't Ask For More

Dined on April 29, 2016

Me and my husband are both pretty picky foodies. We LOVED this place! The cocktails were amazing, I love making my own, so I was super excited and impressed. The food was amazing we had an excellent date night and wanted to visit the River Arts District in Asheville, so this was an excellent find! We love the atmosphere it was nice but not fancy, casual and comfortable with excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find!

Dined on April 28, 2016

It was actually very hard to find but once we got there, thanks to the restaurant's guidance, it was marvelous! Great food, great ambiance. Funky and amazing food! I cannot wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Amazing dinner, from start to end just fantastic! Service was great, food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Very tasty food, great location, and ser ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Very tasty food, great location, and service is always the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, great (and best burger in town)

Dined on April 25, 2016

Still the best double patty cheeseburger in Asheville, and the Monday night special (cheeseburger and fries with a drink of any kind, $6) is the bet deal in the Southeast. Our waitperson, Julie B., was FANTASTIC. My only wish is that B&B would get better buns. Bocado in Atlanta (the best double patty cheeseburger in Atlanta) orders their buns from competitor Holeman & Finch, and I bet H&F would ship them to Asheville. That would make the Bull & Beggar burger the best ever. Two cocktails, a half dozen oysters on the half shell (half price), two cheeseburgers and fries, one Wicked Weed Pernicious, $50 plus tip. Can't beat it with stick!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Usually a great dining experience.

Dined on April 20, 2016

We have been to The Bull and Beggar before and the food has been excellent. This visit, however, the Octopus was tough, to the point that a steak knife was requested. The Morels , peas and sweatbreads were good and the service was excellent as always. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Great

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

One of our favorite local restaurants to enjoy on date night or to bring friends to. The food is consistently great and the service is the best in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great burgers, better atmopshere

Dined on April 12, 2016

Great little spot tucked away at the end of the Wedge building, really cool decor. Service was fantastic, very attentive but not annoyingly so. Went for $6 burger night, very tasty, fries were amazing. Only complaint would be to get larger water glasses, they are only maybe 6oz.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Don't bother.

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The steak was outstanding, but nothing else was (and I don't like fries or potatoes swimming in cream). The server was smug and impatient. I won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food, service, bar all topnotch

Dined on April 7, 2016

inventive, gourmet dinner options cooked to perfection. server knew the menu well and had great recommendations. bartender/owner mixes a great drink.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.