Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant

A voyage through our culinary history, offering the best of Canadian produce—both wild and farmed.

Devoted to the celebration of nature, Executive Chef Arron Carley and his team are present-day pioneers, intertwining modern and ancient culinary techniques and philosophies. They forage native plants and novel ingredients in their constant quest to feature the unique natural aromas and essences of these uncultivated ingredients. Foods that cannot be found in the wild are sourced by local suppliers and farmers with whom the Chef has fostered strong, mutually beneficial partnerships, to ensure superior quality and privileged choice of produce.

Executive Chef Arron Carley
Chef de Cuisine Gilad Rozenberg
Sous Chef Sam Santandrea
Forager Phil Phillips

89 Parkview Drive
Stratford, ON N5A 4R5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:30am - 11am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 4:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11am - 2pm
Dining Room Menu is served Tuesday to Saturday, 5pm - 10pm
Lounge open daily 11:30 am until 10 pm
Late Night Menu available Thursday, Friday & Saturday nights - 10pm to Midnight.

Cross Street:
Ontario St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 708-7100

Website:
http://www.thebruce.ca/

Parking Details:
All hotel guests include private covered lot. Restaurant guests may park on site during their dining experience.

Executive Chef:
Arron Carley

Private Party Facilities:
Two private rooms: one seating up to 45 people; the second, an intimate private room with its own entrance seating up to fifteen people.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Parson cparson@thebruce.ca: (519) 508-7100

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Local Ingredients (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Romantic (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Cozy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Organic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Good choice on a Monday evening in Stratford Ontario when most restaurants in Stratford are closed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I took our 15 year old granddaughter for lunch prior to a matinee at the Festival Theatre which is five minutes walk away. My wife and I had pickerel beautifully done while our granddaughter had mushroom tagliolini which she enjoyed. As we were leaving it started to rain so the hotel (the Bruce) lent us umbrellas telling us to leave them at the box office.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed an excellent meal prior to attending the Stratford Festival. Healthy food, unique dishes and exceptional service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and food. So glad I trusted the other reviews.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, service and atmosphere. I like that it is generally locally sourced. We were originally booked for the lounge but decided on outside and staff were accommodating for us. Nice change from other high end restaurants where they have mediocre food at expensive prices.
Only criticism I have is the chairs outside are a bit awkward for eating. I'm on the shorter side so I felt too low and not supported enough for my back. However for lounging and having a drink, the chairs are comfortable.
I will definitely come back and recommend The Bruce to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 14, 2017

always yummy and a dining pleasure. Attention to detail is appreciated

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Amazing Atmosphere ! Accommodating to my two baby boys gave us lots of room for their car seats on the floor!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was a special occasion to celebrate three different birthdays with my children and grandchildren, after seeing Treasure Island at the Avon.
The food was absolutely fabulous, very creative with local Canadian products and while the adults had the Tasting menu, they kindly obliged the four children in the group with the Lounge menu and dinner selections. Everyone completely polished off their dinners, which with children can be quite unusual. (ages 5-12) We sampled each others dishes, compared notes, and we all thought that we each had made the best possible menu choices!!
Highly recommended, but likely better with just adults. It was a lovely evening for everyone and the children happily played in their beautiful gardens while waiting for dinner to arrive

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

All around amazing! We had dinner and breakfast. Highly recommend for all occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A wonderful dining experience - atmosphere, food and service were all at a very superior level. Thank you!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

You are simply missing out if you do not eat at The Bruce Restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The Caesar salad was sort of deconstructed with whole lettuce leaves in a relatively narrow bowl. Hard to cut up. Because of your service protocol, you held the mains until my dad finished the salad which he didn't. As a result, the pastrami of my mom's Reuben was overdone.
Arkona cocktail was lovely. Asparagus soup delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food, service and atmosphere was great. We Ste in the lounge, quite busy, noisy, hard to hear each other talk, but once a lot if people had left, much quieter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Typically well done creative Stratford cuisine. Moderately priced and moderate servings. Highly recommend.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The service we received from our server was very courteous, knowledgeable and efficient, in short, very professional. Dallas made sensible recommendations and we were not disappointed.

The Québec Venison was superb, the only suggestion we would have put forward would be to include a green vegetable on the entrée dish.

Overall, a wonderful way to quietly celebrate a 40+ anniversary. The quiet was greatly appreciated.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing East Coast Dinner! Incredible interpretations of classics. 10/10

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed a superb Easter Sunday Brunch - excellent service, innovative locally-sourced cuisine in a lovely relaxed but classy setting! We will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was very good but we had a gift certificate so otherwise we would have gone somewhere else. Just a little out of our price range

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had the tasting menu! It was great!! Service was also great. I am looking forward to trying their Sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

You can see my review on Trip Advisor. Hunter's Feast. Thanks for a lovely evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food selection for brunch. Fun energy with a nearly full dining room, saw a number of friends from Stratford enjoying a New Year's day feast.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love the dining room at the Bruce. The colour palette of white and sage green is so clean, fresh and upscale.

New Year's Day Brunch; scrambled eggs or omelette made to order, plentiful sausage & bacon, eggs Benedict, cold shrimps, fresh oysters on the half shell (I understand they ran out close to 1:30) quite a good variety of salads both pasta and greens (Caesar, Greek & tossed) and very nice rare rib roast with Yorkshire puddings (although the jus was a tad greasy). Desserts ranged from a fabulous chocolate brioche, strawberry muffins, macarons etc.
Mamosas or Bloody Mary cocktails offered as well as a selection of beers and ales. Lovely loose leaf tea blends available, ask your server.

No one offered to take my coat and just a small glitch with which table was reserved for me.

I would most definitely go again next year. Book weeks in advance and reserve for well before brunch ends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Weekend getaway. Food was very good, service attentive, knowledgeable and not overbearing. Charming and very pleasant.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was a girlfriend lunch. Totally perfect. We were met at the door, seated in a nice spot, served with dignity. Food was delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We attended the Bruce Christmas Meal on Christmas Eve...it did not disappoint...the meal was very tasty, the portions were generous...the tables are set with fine linens...wonderful wine selection...very very lovely...

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our group enjoyed the decor and ambience of the dining room. It was quiet and unhurried, we were quite comfortable visiting after we completed our lunch. I think everyone enjoyed their food, one of our party has celiacs disease and was quite happy with the menu choices. If there was one small criticism, it would be that some parts of the drink service were slow and disorganized. The dining room was not busy.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I had the pumpkin gnocchi and it was terrible. I did not enjoy it at all, as it was oily and obviously deep fried. I was expecting a boiled gnocchi like most gnocchi is. I guess it was partially my fault for ordering this without asking how it was prepared, but I never expected a gnocchi saturated through with oil. Everything else was good - the cocktails, the charcuterie platter, and the dessert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

A lovely evening, celebrating our anniversary, at The Bruce Restaurant. Excellent, attentive service; wonderful food that was well prepared, tasty and beautifully presented.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vegan, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

lovely ambiance. chef was great at creating child friendly meals for our 2 children, not listed on the menu. staff very responsive to our concerns about food allergies. food was excellent and service friendly, unobtrusive and timely.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The ambience was wonderfully peaceful and relaxing .The service was friendly,attentive and just right . We both had the pork which was flavorful ,beautifully presented but tough . The turnip?was uninspired and the cabbage had a large core .My octopus was interesting but again tough .I have had better .My husbands celery soup was very good . The wine list was extensive with lots of good choices reasonably priced.There was only one fish choice the day we were there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We came for lunch before seeing an afternoon play. This was a beautiful space, a sunlit room with big windows overlooking greenery outside. The food was very imaginative, and the service impeccable. There were only two other tables occupied so it was very quiet. Lots of space between the tables. Fresh flowers on the tables, and thick crisp napkins. The wait staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back next year.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Dinner was amazing! The staff was very knowledgeable about the dishes and the food was spectacular!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The main dishes were excellent although limited choices. I loved the use of local ingredients and that they have a forager to source some of their ingredients. The table were a bit too close and did not afford a private cozy feeling. The dessert was OK, I had a bavarois which is nothing like the fluffy texture consistency I love (I've had in Lima, Peru and is divine). Also the peach dessert was average.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

As a businesswoman who frequently dines alone, I tend to view new restaurants with a certain amount of trepidation. However, The Bruce Restaurant was recommended to me by a Stratford friend, so I gave it a try.
I was pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent and beautifully presented. Service was unobtrusive and attentive. This is not a place for a quick and casual bite, but a restaurant where the food IS the evening's entertainment.
I hope to dine there again soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our dinner was OK. It wasn't worth the ticket price. Have been to your establishment many times on patio and breakfast with good value. Fine dining wasn't good value for my money.
Thank you.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Front desk and dining room staff couldn't have been more attentive and friendly. Beautiful decor and so many windows to view the outdoor gardens.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a group of 12 for lunch before the theatre. We were warmly greeted and shown to our table. Our group filtered in slowly, but, the wait staff was patient and helpful. Our meal was delicious and hot. Everyone raved about the selection of The Bruce for lunch. We will definitely return next year. Thank you for a lovely afternoon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Very nice, 10 minute walk to the Festival Theatre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The entire experience was excellent with the exception of a couple of comments on the brunch itself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is our 3rd visit in three years. This year unfortunately is the first time that we were disappointed with the food. Chef definitely has the chops to do well but he overreaches when he tries to use wild ingredients from foraging to incorporate into his food. The result is that while the main ingredient is excellent, the accompanying sides are slightly off in terms of texture and taste. Sometimes quite jarring. We went back a second time and decided to stick to steak frites and salmon which were much better. Please get Aaron Linley back.

The service both times were excellent. We will definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.