About The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant

89 Parkview Drive
Stratford, ON N5A 4R5
View Larger Map

A voyage through our culinary history, offering the best of Canadian produce—both wild and farmed.

Devoted to the celebration of nature, Executive Chef Arron Carley and his team are present-day pioneers, intertwining modern and ancient culinary techniques and philosophies. They forage native plants and novel ingredients in their constant quest to feature the unique natural aromas and essences of these uncultivated ingredients. Foods that cannot be found in the wild are sourced by local suppliers and farmers with whom the Chef has fostered strong, mutually beneficial partnerships, to ensure superior quality and privileged choice of produce.

Executive Chef Arron Carley
Sous Chef Sam Santandrea
Forager Phil Phillips

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:30am - 10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am -2:00pm
Dining Room Menu is served Tuesday to Saturday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Lounge open daily 11:30 am until 10:00 pm
Late Night Menu available Tuesday to Saturday until midnight.

Cross Street:
Ontario St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 708-7100

Website:
http://www.thebruce.ca/

Parking Details:
All hotel guests include private covered lot. Restaurant guests may park on site during their dining experience.

Executive Chef:
Arron Carley

Private Party Facilities:
Two private rooms: one seating up to 45 people; the second, an intimate private room with its own entrance seating up to fifteen people.

Private Party Contact:
Kevin Wallace: 5195087102x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pickled Green Strawberry In Strawberry Foam
  • Life And Death (Puffed Rice And Mushrooms)
  • Beef Tartare
  • Strawberry Sorbet
  • Squash Antipasta
  • Crispy Pickerel
  • Spuds In Dirt
  • Smoked Celeriac Soup
Pickled Green Strawberry In Strawberry Foam
Life And Death (Puffed Rice And Mushrooms)
Beef Tartare
Strawberry Sorbet
Squash Antipasta
Crispy Pickerel
Spuds In Dirt
Smoked Celeriac Soup

The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Southern Ontario
Canadian
Southern Ontario
Best Restaurants in Stratford ›

Special Occasion (54)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Romantic (33)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Great for Lunch (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (13)
Scenic View (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service Well designed menu Gre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service

Well designed menu

Great tastes

Convenient to Festival Theatre

Modern and clean ambience

Only negative eas staff forgetting to refill our wine glasses promptly!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was impeccable! The food was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was impeccable! The food was amazing! The ambiance deluxe. They were completely accommodating of our special dietary needs. Gine dining at its best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stopped here for brunch while attendi ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

We stopped here for brunch while attending the Stratford Festival. The food was wonderful. I had brisket hash with a fried duck egg and my husband had their take on Eggs Benedict. We sat outside in the lovely garden area. It was very quiet and a lovely setting for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We visited for a family dinner We sat ou ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 7 days ago

We visited for a family dinner We sat outside whichwas lovely. It was very nice the several times we have been there. It is also walking distance to the main theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Bruce did a great job looking after ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Bruce did a great job looking after us! I had messed up and booked a table for 4 instead of 5, and they accommodated us right away. We were in for a pre-theatre meal and they timed it perfectly. Menu featured local items, and they were delicious. The Prix Fixe menu is good value - we were a bit taken aback by the prices for the main plates, but in the Prix Fixe it made more sense. Very interesting wines too. A great choice for a delicious meal before a visit to the Festival Theatre!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a beautiful restaurant in a beau ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant in a beautiful hotel. The food was excellent, as was the service. Now I want to go and stay there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved dining at the Bruce - the outsta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I loved dining at the Bruce - the outstanding creativity of the menu and the excellent service made for a fabulous meal before theatre - our flight made us a bit late and the excellent maitre' d got us in and out in 75 minutes to make the curtain and we didn't feel rushed! Definitely will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was simply fantastic! My husba ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was simply fantastic! My husband and I went to celebrate our anniversary and it was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch was excellent! The dining ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Sunday brunch was excellent! The dining room is beautiful and elegant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday Bunch was excellent!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The Sunday Bunch was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful new luxury hotel in Stratford ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful new luxury hotel in Stratford with a restaurant that offers fine dining. Our family of 5 enjoyed an anniversary brunch on Sunday August 14th in their dining room which was aglow in natural light. We sampled their pancakes, eggs benedict and French toast. They were all very fresh and flavourful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu was overly written and a bit co ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The menu was overly written and a bit complicated. Food was just ok for the prices which were expensive. Cocktails were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

We had a lunch prior to a matinee perfor ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a lunch prior to a matinee performance at Stratford. My wife and I were joined by our 14 year old granddaughter. I had the burger which was excellent, my wife had the salmon and our granddaughter had a chicken done two ways. Everything was beautifully prepared and was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Proximity to Festival Theatre is #1 draw ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Proximity to Festival Theatre is #1 drawing point. It is a superb location! However, Bruce dining is too pretentious -- it has the elegant trappings, but there is 'no there there'. Staff is very cordial and welcoming. Food is nice but, with exception of Coho salmon on lounge menu, taste is average to inferior. They try hard but miss. Attractively plated, but flavor of various ingredients, in effort to be inventive, generally do not meld very well. We have had far better food and value for the dollar elsewhere. In more than one case, one of our guests commented on the 'stingy pour' of a simple scotch on the rocks. It was obvious to everyone at the table.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This restaurant is trying very hard to e ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This restaurant is trying very hard to establish a reputation as a top restaurant in Stratford. They are doing a good job generally with nice touches like an amuse bouche and very attentive staff. We were asked if we had alergies or dislikes to ensure we were happy.

The food was tasty and beautifully presented.

My companion asked for a mixed drink that was not in the bartender's reportoir. When it was not to her satisfaction the restaurant voluntarily removed the charges from the bill.

My only negative was the value for money; the price was high for value received. To justify the prices I would expect a bit more original and creative cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is an excellent restaurant which is ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is an excellent restaurant which is rare for a hotel dining room. But then the Bruce Hotel isn't an ordinary hotel - it is fabulous. It really equals any Relais et Chateaux we've stayed in.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is an excellent restaurant with an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

this is an excellent restaurant with an innovative menu, marked by local and foraged foods. The service has improved considerably over the past year, and was always polite and helpful. we dined in a lovely room, and we would encourage the management to buy the Tom Campbell paintings currently on display. Our one negative comment: the recorded music played in the main dining room is 1) a longish loop, so that one cannot help hearing the same excerpts over and over again, and 2) is as far as the selections are concerned, a bit like the restaurant equivalent of Elevator Music. Finding some other background should be easy to do, and would improve things.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. Unusual menu with high q ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food. Unusual menu with high quality local products. Everything our group of 4 ate was delicious and much appreciated. Nothing better in Stratford!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Outstanding, start to finish. Knowledgea ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding, start to finish. Knowledgeable wine staff, excellent server who knew what she was serving.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was beyond slow despite many rem ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was beyond slow despite many reminders that we had theater tickets. Menu is small and "precious." We got the feeling that the restaurant, which is quite small, is still getting its act together. Our waiter was very apologetic & nice but we won't be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent service and outstanding food. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent service and outstanding food. Prix fixe meal for $75 including an appetizer, entree and dessert. Well worth the visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Creative and over-the-top menu with tast ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Creative and over-the-top menu with taste combinations that really don't work. Imagine "Smokey" ice cream. One plate was garnished with "reindeer moss". Who needs it? I found one appetizer called "potatoes and dirt" not edible. When you add in the high prices, it was overall an unpleasant experience. I won'r return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I use Opentable quite often and hardly c ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I use Opentable quite often and hardly complain. The BRUCE , although pretentious ,is not a quality restaurant. No one (4) had a decent , tasty meal. I sent mine back because it was so bad, it was taken off my bill. Even the salads were fair and pricey!

There are many other quality restaurants in Stratford that are worthy of your recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We celebrated a friend's 50th wedding an ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We celebrated a friend's 50th wedding anniversary with a party total of 6. The service and food was outstanding. They also accommodated our schedule to get to a play at 8pm. Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our brunch at the Bruc ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We really enjoyed our brunch at the Bruce. Our server, Jessica, was lovely and our meal was delicious. Food was very reasonably priced, though I thought $5 for a cup of tea was a bit much and for $12, I'd expect the mimosa to be a bit larger.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A high-end restaurant with a very intere ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A high-end restaurant with a very interesting menu, but as usual, when the menu item lists 5-10 ingredients in a dish, it means there is probably a miniscule amount of each. Thus yummy slices of pickled radish that accompanied one dish (forgot which) would comprise barely 1/2 a medium-sized radish. The chef wants to use only ingredients grown/raised in Canada, but it seems unreasonable to make black pepper unavailable for that reason. The wines were not all Canadian wines. The chicken liver-foie gras mousse was dreamy. The dining room was attractive, and the service was outstanding--completely knowledgeable, joking when and only when we invited him to engage.

Luckily the US-Canadian dollar exchange rate was favorable for us, otherwise it would have been too expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We opted for the lounge rather than the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We opted for the lounge rather than the dining room. Lounge has excellent food with a little less ambiance but a correspondingly less expensive menu. The outdoor patio looked lovely, but was full when we arrived. The Bruce is an exceptionally convenient spot if you're taking in a show at the Festival Theatre since parking is taken care of and the walk is only about 5 minutes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Without doubt, this was the best dining ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Without doubt, this was the best dining experience we have ever had. The staff were very knowledgeable about the food and the service was outstanding. The food was incredible with locally grown ingredients used in highly creative ways. We went into the kitchen and personally thanked the chef for his menu planning and ingenious recipes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but the service is slow. Not ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food but the service is slow. Not a place t go if you are attending a show at the Festival Theater. Had to cut our visit short to make sure we got into the MacBeth show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

A tremendously delicious experience. The ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

A tremendously delicious experience. The smoke trout smorgasbord was especially excellent. Waitress was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food and unique local ingredients we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and unique local ingredients were wonderful. Honey made from on - property bees was just one of the unique elements. The indoor dining room was quiet and relaxing. Unfortunately so was our waiter...who may have had too many tables to properly take care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

We absolutely (5 of us) loved the food- ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We absolutely (5 of us) loved the food- so creative and delicious. The service was excellent. It was s real experience! We can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the brunch menu! We come here befo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love the brunch menu! We come here before our Sunday matinee plays at the Stratford Festival. Always a treat. It was beautiful on the patio, but have always enjoyed the elegant dining room also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time at this restauran ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant. It was excellent from start to finish. Good food, friendly staff and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bruce is a wonderful experience venu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The Bruce is a wonderful experience venue, service & chef.

It is truly a great fit with Festival Theatre for a complete package of fine dinning and quality entertainment !

We will be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food! Servers very attentive and p ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food! Servers very attentive and professional. Lovely patio for brunch.

Will definitely have this on my list to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was good to very good, depending on ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was good to very good, depending on the dish. Service was really terrific; friendly, very informative; attentive without being intrusive.

Lovely patio and gardens, but this time the weather required indoors. Dining room very attractive and quiet.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect. From the wonder ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Everything was perfect. From the wonderful patio to the lovely attention to detail. The staff made a notable effort to make our dinner a truly memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great lunch experience. My hus ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was a great lunch experience. My husband and I have different food likes. We were both pleased with out selections. I ordered the pickerel. Wish I would have taken a picture of the presentation on the plate. It was a work of art. My husband was happy with his steak and frites. We will definitely return. We'd like to stay at the hotel in the near future and agreed that it would be a great location for a business meeting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walking distance to the Festival Theater ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Walking distance to the Festival Theater (10 min), makes this a great pre theater dining vanue. Like all the high end restaurants in Stratford, the menu is limited. The menu is constrained by the insistence of the chef to use only ingredients produced in Canada.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.