About The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant

89 Parkview Drive
Stratford, ON N5A 4R5
View Larger Map

A voyage through our culinary history, offering the best of Canadian produce—both wild and farmed.

Devoted to the celebration of nature, Executive Chef Arron Carley and his team are present-day pioneers, intertwining modern and ancient culinary techniques and philosophies. They forage native plants and novel ingredients in their constant quest to feature the unique natural aromas and essences of these uncultivated ingredients. Foods that cannot be found in the wild are sourced by local suppliers and farmers with whom the Chef has fostered strong, mutually beneficial partnerships, to ensure superior quality and privileged choice of produce.

Executive Chef Arron Carley
Sous Chef Sam Santandrea
Forager Phil Phillips

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:30am - 10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am -2:00pm
Dining Room Menu is served Tuesday to Saturday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Lounge open daily 11:30 am until 10:00 pm
Late Night Menu available Tuesday to Saturday until midnight.

Cross Street:
Ontario St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 708-7100

Website:
http://www.thebruce.ca/

Parking Details:
All hotel guests include private covered lot. Restaurant guests may park on site during their dining experience.

Executive Chef:
Arron Carley

Private Party Facilities:
Two private rooms: one seating up to 45 people; the second, an intimate private room with its own entrance seating up to fifteen people.

Private Party Contact:
Kevin Wallace: 5195087102x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pickled Green Strawberry In Strawberry Foam - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
  • Life And Death (Puffed Rice And Mushrooms) - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
  • Beef Tartare - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
  • Strawberry Sorbet - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
  • Squash Antipasta - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
  • Crispy Pickerel - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
  • Spuds In Dirt - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
  • Smoked Celeriac Soup - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
Pickled Green Strawberry In Strawberry Foam - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
Life And Death (Puffed Rice And Mushrooms) - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
Beef Tartare - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
Strawberry Sorbet - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
Squash Antipasta - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
Crispy Pickerel - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
Spuds In Dirt - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant
Smoked Celeriac Soup - The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant

The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Southern Ontario
Canadian
Southern Ontario
Best Restaurants in Stratford ›

Fit for Foodies (57)
Special Occasion (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
See All
Romantic (33)
Great for Lunch (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Scenic View (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took my friend for her birthday for brun ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Took my friend for her birthday for brunch. Absolutely loved it!! Will be going again in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Welcomed by pleasant Maitre 'd to nice s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Welcomed by pleasant Maitre 'd to nice spacious dining area in a quiet corner for my wife and I. Service outstanding and food delicious. Mitre' d came by near end of dinner to inquire about everything and was most interested in making sure everything was satisfactory. He ensured we had a nice desert and that we were happy.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at The Br ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at The Bruce Hotel in Stratford, Ontario. The cuisine was excellent, our wine steward knowledgeable, and we left feeling like we just had an experience! Loved this upscale restaurant!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was truly an amazing experience !! We ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

It was truly an amazing experience !! We came for dinner before we were to enjoy a play at the theatre. The service and surrounds of the dinning room was impeccable. Our servers were made aware of our theatre tickets and had us out in time but did not make us feel rushed, very classy!

Tags: Fun, Organic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a foodie and a good cook (some would ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I'm a foodie and a good cook (some would say great). Having unusual ingredients doesn't guarantee good food. My duck was tough (I had to spit out several bites). The flavor was good but the basic meat cooking was not. And my husband's pork was also tough. The braised lamb shank I had the night before at a different restaurant and at about one third the price was much better. Restaurant is also very noisy.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to go to in Stratford before ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great place to go to in Stratford before or after the theatre, creative cuisine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is truly excellent and it is a love ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food is truly excellent and it is a lovely space. It is very pricey but worth it for a special occasion splurge. The only issue we had was that although we arrived a few minutes early for our reservation and were seated promptly, it took over half an hour for our order to be taken. As we had the theater in, at that point, less than two hours, we were quite concerned about making the curtain. Although the server assured us that he had never had anyone miss a curtain yet, we did in fact have to bolt our dessert, rush to the theater (not so easy with a mobility issue) and just barely made it in time, which was not the relaxed end to a lovely meal that we had anticipated. We will certainly try it again the next time we are in Stratford, but of all the excellent meals we had in our 6 night stay, this was the only one were the time was an issue.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The main dining room was hosting a priva ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The main dining room was hosting a private party so we were seated in the Lounge area.

The waitress seemed in a hurry and wanted us to order our cocktail and dinner selection all at once. We did so, however waited about 15 minutes before our cocktails arrived. The scotch and gin pours over the rocks were scant. Once the cocktails were delivered, we did get a basket of bread and small corn fritter from the kitchen. We noted how small the pour was for the wine that was served at a neighboring table so we decided we would not order a glass with dinner. The food presentation was creative. The vegetables and polenta overpowered the meat in each dish. We declined dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Such a delicious meal!!! Beautiful hote ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Such a delicious meal!!! Beautiful hotel/restaurant with fantastic service. Jessica was great.

Try the lamb... Best lamb dish I think I've tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to include the Bruce w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Always a pleasure to include the Bruce with a visit to the Stratford Festival.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were extremely pleased and will retur ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We were extremely pleased and will return to the Bruce.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent, but the service ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was excellent, but the service was poor.

It was slow - It took over 25mins to get a cocktail despite knowing that we were attending a show after dinner.

It was inaccurate - they brought the wrong wine twice,

It lacked attention to detail - our dessert (which was supposed to be a 6 cheese platter) had only 5 and included all the cheeses we asked to avoid.

A shame really - since the food was so good. But at this price point, there is a certain expectation in regards to service and they underachieved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Excellent service Well designed menu Gre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent service

Well designed menu

Great tastes

Convenient to Festival Theatre

Modern and clean ambience

Only negative eas staff forgetting to refill our wine glasses promptly!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was impeccable! The food was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The service was impeccable! The food was amazing! The ambiance deluxe. They were completely accommodating of our special dietary needs. Gine dining at its best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stopped here for brunch while attendi ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We stopped here for brunch while attending the Stratford Festival. The food was wonderful. I had brisket hash with a fried duck egg and my husband had their take on Eggs Benedict. We sat outside in the lovely garden area. It was very quiet and a lovely setting for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We visited for a family dinner We sat ou ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We visited for a family dinner We sat outside whichwas lovely. It was very nice the several times we have been there. It is also walking distance to the main theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Bruce did a great job looking after ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Bruce did a great job looking after us! I had messed up and booked a table for 4 instead of 5, and they accommodated us right away. We were in for a pre-theatre meal and they timed it perfectly. Menu featured local items, and they were delicious. The Prix Fixe menu is good value - we were a bit taken aback by the prices for the main plates, but in the Prix Fixe it made more sense. Very interesting wines too. A great choice for a delicious meal before a visit to the Festival Theatre!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a beautiful restaurant in a beau ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant in a beautiful hotel. The food was excellent, as was the service. Now I want to go and stay there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved dining at the Bruce - the outsta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I loved dining at the Bruce - the outstanding creativity of the menu and the excellent service made for a fabulous meal before theatre - our flight made us a bit late and the excellent maitre' d got us in and out in 75 minutes to make the curtain and we didn't feel rushed! Definitely will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was simply fantastic! My husba ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was simply fantastic! My husband and I went to celebrate our anniversary and it was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch was excellent! The dining ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Sunday brunch was excellent! The dining room is beautiful and elegant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday Bunch was excellent!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The Sunday Bunch was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful new luxury hotel in Stratford ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful new luxury hotel in Stratford with a restaurant that offers fine dining. Our family of 5 enjoyed an anniversary brunch on Sunday August 14th in their dining room which was aglow in natural light. We sampled their pancakes, eggs benedict and French toast. They were all very fresh and flavourful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu was overly written and a bit co ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The menu was overly written and a bit complicated. Food was just ok for the prices which were expensive. Cocktails were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

We had a lunch prior to a matinee perfor ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a lunch prior to a matinee performance at Stratford. My wife and I were joined by our 14 year old granddaughter. I had the burger which was excellent, my wife had the salmon and our granddaughter had a chicken done two ways. Everything was beautifully prepared and was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Proximity to Festival Theatre is #1 draw ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Proximity to Festival Theatre is #1 drawing point. It is a superb location! However, Bruce dining is too pretentious -- it has the elegant trappings, but there is 'no there there'. Staff is very cordial and welcoming. Food is nice but, with exception of Coho salmon on lounge menu, taste is average to inferior. They try hard but miss. Attractively plated, but flavor of various ingredients, in effort to be inventive, generally do not meld very well. We have had far better food and value for the dollar elsewhere. In more than one case, one of our guests commented on the 'stingy pour' of a simple scotch on the rocks. It was obvious to everyone at the table.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This restaurant is trying very hard to e ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This restaurant is trying very hard to establish a reputation as a top restaurant in Stratford. They are doing a good job generally with nice touches like an amuse bouche and very attentive staff. We were asked if we had alergies or dislikes to ensure we were happy.

The food was tasty and beautifully presented.

My companion asked for a mixed drink that was not in the bartender's reportoir. When it was not to her satisfaction the restaurant voluntarily removed the charges from the bill.

My only negative was the value for money; the price was high for value received. To justify the prices I would expect a bit more original and creative cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is an excellent restaurant which is ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is an excellent restaurant which is rare for a hotel dining room. But then the Bruce Hotel isn't an ordinary hotel - it is fabulous. It really equals any Relais et Chateaux we've stayed in.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is an excellent restaurant with an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

this is an excellent restaurant with an innovative menu, marked by local and foraged foods. The service has improved considerably over the past year, and was always polite and helpful. we dined in a lovely room, and we would encourage the management to buy the Tom Campbell paintings currently on display. Our one negative comment: the recorded music played in the main dining room is 1) a longish loop, so that one cannot help hearing the same excerpts over and over again, and 2) is as far as the selections are concerned, a bit like the restaurant equivalent of Elevator Music. Finding some other background should be easy to do, and would improve things.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. Unusual menu with high q ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food. Unusual menu with high quality local products. Everything our group of 4 ate was delicious and much appreciated. Nothing better in Stratford!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Outstanding, start to finish. Knowledgea ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding, start to finish. Knowledgeable wine staff, excellent server who knew what she was serving.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was beyond slow despite many rem ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was beyond slow despite many reminders that we had theater tickets. Menu is small and "precious." We got the feeling that the restaurant, which is quite small, is still getting its act together. Our waiter was very apologetic & nice but we won't be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent service and outstanding food. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent service and outstanding food. Prix fixe meal for $75 including an appetizer, entree and dessert. Well worth the visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Creative and over-the-top menu with tast ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Creative and over-the-top menu with taste combinations that really don't work. Imagine "Smokey" ice cream. One plate was garnished with "reindeer moss". Who needs it? I found one appetizer called "potatoes and dirt" not edible. When you add in the high prices, it was overall an unpleasant experience. I won'r return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I use Opentable quite often and hardly c ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I use Opentable quite often and hardly complain. The BRUCE , although pretentious ,is not a quality restaurant. No one (4) had a decent , tasty meal. I sent mine back because it was so bad, it was taken off my bill. Even the salads were fair and pricey!

There are many other quality restaurants in Stratford that are worthy of your recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We celebrated a friend's 50th wedding an ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We celebrated a friend's 50th wedding anniversary with a party total of 6. The service and food was outstanding. They also accommodated our schedule to get to a play at 8pm. Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our brunch at the Bruc ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We really enjoyed our brunch at the Bruce. Our server, Jessica, was lovely and our meal was delicious. Food was very reasonably priced, though I thought $5 for a cup of tea was a bit much and for $12, I'd expect the mimosa to be a bit larger.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A high-end restaurant with a very intere ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A high-end restaurant with a very interesting menu, but as usual, when the menu item lists 5-10 ingredients in a dish, it means there is probably a miniscule amount of each. Thus yummy slices of pickled radish that accompanied one dish (forgot which) would comprise barely 1/2 a medium-sized radish. The chef wants to use only ingredients grown/raised in Canada, but it seems unreasonable to make black pepper unavailable for that reason. The wines were not all Canadian wines. The chicken liver-foie gras mousse was dreamy. The dining room was attractive, and the service was outstanding--completely knowledgeable, joking when and only when we invited him to engage.

Luckily the US-Canadian dollar exchange rate was favorable for us, otherwise it would have been too expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We opted for the lounge rather than the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We opted for the lounge rather than the dining room. Lounge has excellent food with a little less ambiance but a correspondingly less expensive menu. The outdoor patio looked lovely, but was full when we arrived. The Bruce is an exceptionally convenient spot if you're taking in a show at the Festival Theatre since parking is taken care of and the walk is only about 5 minutes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Without doubt, this was the best dining ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Without doubt, this was the best dining experience we have ever had. The staff were very knowledgeable about the food and the service was outstanding. The food was incredible with locally grown ingredients used in highly creative ways. We went into the kitchen and personally thanked the chef for his menu planning and ingenious recipes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.