Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant

A voyage through our culinary history, offering the best of Canadian produce—both wild and farmed.

Devoted to the celebration of nature, Executive Chef Arron Carley and his team are present-day pioneers, intertwining modern and ancient culinary techniques and philosophies. They forage native plants and novel ingredients in their constant quest to feature the unique natural aromas and essences of these uncultivated ingredients. Foods that cannot be found in the wild are sourced by local suppliers and farmers with whom the Chef has fostered strong, mutually beneficial partnerships, to ensure superior quality and privileged choice of produce.

Executive Chef Arron Carley
Chef de Cuisine Gilad Rozenberg
Sous Chef Sam Santandrea
Forager Phil Phillips

89 Parkview Drive
Stratford, ON N5A 4R5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:30am - 11am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 4:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11am - 2pm
Dining Room Menu is served Tuesday to Saturday, 5pm - 10pm
Lounge open daily 11:30 am until 10 pm
Late Night Menu available Thursday, Friday & Saturday nights - 10pm to Midnight.

Cross Street:
Ontario St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 708-7100

Website:
http://www.thebruce.ca/

Parking Details:
All hotel guests include private covered lot. Restaurant guests may park on site during their dining experience.

Executive Chef:
Arron Carley

Private Party Facilities:
Two private rooms: one seating up to 45 people; the second, an intimate private room with its own entrance seating up to fifteen people.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Parson cparson@thebruce.ca: (519) 508-7100

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Local Ingredients (21)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Scenic View (9)
Seasonal (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (8)
Casual (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Organic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was impeccable and the food was perfect. We only had breakfast here and were not staying at the hotel, but if you want a fine dining option you will be treated very well here. Ritz-Carlton service and ambience in Stratford.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The staff was friendly, attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu and ingredients. The food was outstanding and unique. All of the individuals in out party enjoyed themselves completely. We would definitely return for another meal.
Thank you

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Incredible culinary creations! Perfect service. The menu is creative. Local ingredients shine. We will be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Sometimes on vacation we are pleasantly surprised. The Bruce Hotel in Stratford is not in the old town section and seemed somewhat austere from the outside. The interior however revealed an impeccably designed lobby and restaurant with gourmet cuisine that was totally unexpected. The restaurant was superior in it's creativity, presentation, local sourcing and rich flavors. Chef Arron Carley's outstanding tasting menu with it's wine pairing and impeccable service far exceeded my experiences at many Michelin Guide restaurants. Michelin make a bee line to restaurant as soon as possible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Not our first time and very happy to see it thriving and well maintained and offering the same classy dining ...thoroughly enjoyable and will return many times.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Tasting menu was fun -- many innovative dishes such as the rabbit tenderloin and the brie ice cream with lavender. Wine pairings were exceptional. Staff could be warmer ... they tried too hard to be "perfect." Lighten up. Enjoy the experience with people who know their food and wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had an exquisite tasting menu and wine pairing. Congratulations to the chef, the sommelier and the waitstaff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Stratfords premier Hotel with outstanding service and accomadation has made dining at
their restaurant a pleasure .
Recomended as the best of charcuterie made in house in North America for lunch.
Dinner has very fresh ingredients and use of forage from the grounds and local area produce. Unusual and well prepared lamb tartare , All entrees are to be savory . Dinner staff are very knowledgeable and gracious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Wonderful lunch. Had the Ruben and the house made pastrami was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 29, 2017

A lovely place to dine before going to the Festival Theater. Good food, good service, good prices!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Exquisite food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had an excellent pre-theatre dinner here. The wait staff was very pleasant and well trained and ensured our meals were served in a timely way with our theatre performance in mind. All three courses were superlative from an imaginative twist on a Ceasar salad, perfectly cooked steak and fish to house made cheesecake and carrot cake and ice cream. The wine list was nicely designed as was the well chosen selection of gourmet teas. We travel extensively and this meal was on par with some of the best we have had internationally. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Extraordinary ambiance, service and just everything anyone could ask for.
The menu could be expanded, but selections, Bison and Beef were excellent.

Bill and Barb

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Very interesting and innovative presentation of appetizers and entrees. Decent wines by the glass. Salmon was exceptional and duck breast was OK. Service was excellent in a very calm environment. Surprising find in Stratford, Ontario. Apparently the chef won a National TV cooking contest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Organic, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Fabulous service! So thrilled a restaurant was able to accommodate my food restrictions (and mean it). Beautifully appointed! It's worth the price

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 19, 2017

A great place to come if you are going to the Stratford Festival. It is a five minute walk to the main theatre. Lunch was lovely. The food is interesting with some nice twists on things. The Northern Caesar Salad was very nice. The service was just a bit slow but relaxing but as we had a theatre performance to go to timing was everything. The service staff were very friendly and nice. We would definitely go back and would also probably stay at The Bruce. The patio is small but there is a lovely lounge and dining room.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I visited for brunch on Sunday. Service was tremendous. The Cod was lightly crusted on one side and cooked perfectly. It was served in a flavourful light broth with beans and roasted tomatoes. The tea selection was a welcome addition. The only slight miss for me was the carrot cake dessert. I will definitely be returning again, especially as the atmosphere was so lovely and quiet which is certainly rare these days.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Dining Room Menu is not always available on every evening. Depends upon theater schedule.

You could be sitting 2 feet away from the next table ... none too intimate !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful lunch on the patio with my wife prior to seeing a Stratford production. The asparagus vichyssoise was excellent as was the mushroom pasta. My wife enjoyed her Reuben sandwich and we finished lunch with a latte. Service was friendly and very attentive. The food was well prepared and very tasty. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 28, 2017

A really terrific restaurant, attentive service, great food with mostly local and some made on premise items (honey butter and baked rolls). Really worth a trip, ideal before or after a Stratford performance.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Service was both thoughtful and well planned. The pickerel we had was a good sized serving .Thanks for a nice evening.

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and chose The Bruce for our dinner. We had checked it out in the afternoon and both decided we loved the ambiance of the setting. Our server was Chris, who was outstanding. He gave us privacy when needed, but had an uncanny ability to be there when we needed him. The sablefish was so tasty and my husband had the prime rib, which was beautifully presented and prepared. I also need to mention the head bartender Joshua. My husband doesn't drink, and he created an absolutely amazing non-alcoholic beverage to compliment his beef entree. Over-the-top delicious and very unusual. Lastly, I ordered the butter tart cheese cake, and my husband ordered the rhubarb dessert. My husband had a "pretty woman" moment cutting his rhubarb, and within minutes a server was at our table with more rhubarb. We didn't realize anyone noticed, so it was such a beautiful surprise. We loved our special occasion and would absolutely dine at The Bruce again.
All in all a fabulous evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had an incredible dinner. My dear friend treated me to dinner for my birthday, and it was a memorable occasion, including the awesome wait staff, the delicious food, the beautiful happy birthday blueberry tart, and even the loan of your umbrella on such a rainy night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Good choice on a Monday evening in Stratford Ontario when most restaurants in Stratford are closed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

On the occasion of our wedding anniversary, as well as the approaching Canada day, we chose the Bruce restaurant in Stratford, Ontario, to sample Chef Arron Carley's "New Canadian Cuisine". We were very impressed with the culinary artistry, not only in presentation, but in the care- and skillful choice of ingredients. The fact that everything served was truly Canadian and largely from the wild, was wonderful. The balance in the taste of each course was very good and much appreciated. Two members of our party chose the "Flora" tasting menu, the other two the "Fauna". We omitted wine paring as we were driving. Regrettably there is no provision for photographs in this review - too bad. I will give a short description, pictures are available on my facebook page, as well as on TripAdvisor.
Fresh strawberries w. lemon verbena. Blanched asparagus brown butter sponge, edible flowers, egg yolk emulsion Acadian caviar. Elk tartare, wild berry dressing, pickled ramps, ox eye daisies, currants and sunchoke crisps. Ontario rabbit ballontine w. torched brie, lingon berry compote and smoked carrot purée. BC rockfish w. wild rice, morels and peas. House made spruce cheese, with apple dye and roasted apple purée.
The crowning glory of this innovative menu was, without a doubt, the wonderful dessert aptly called "The woods". Spiced birch cake with juniper and wild ginger, chocolate maple ganache, spruce creme fraiche, cedar jelly, juniper and Ungava gin ice cream.
There were two little flies in the ointment. The noise level, due to the design of the premises, was, as I have experienced in a lot of modern facilities, quite high. The second item could, I'm sure, be remedied quite easily. Our young waiter was excellent, however his support personnel was inadequately trained and omitted to place flatware on occasion and at one point the Maitre d' pulled out the chair for one of us, the napkin fell and he picked it up and placed it back on the table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My wife and I took our 15 year old granddaughter for lunch prior to a matinee at the Festival Theatre which is five minutes walk away. My wife and I had pickerel beautifully done while our granddaughter had mushroom tagliolini which she enjoyed. As we were leaving it started to rain so the hotel (the Bruce) lent us umbrellas telling us to leave them at the box office.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Enjoyed an excellent meal prior to attending the Stratford Festival. Healthy food, unique dishes and exceptional service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent service and food. So glad I trusted the other reviews.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. I like that it is generally locally sourced. We were originally booked for the lounge but decided on outside and staff were accommodating for us. Nice change from other high end restaurants where they have mediocre food at expensive prices.
Only criticism I have is the chairs outside are a bit awkward for eating. I'm on the shorter side so I felt too low and not supported enough for my back. However for lounging and having a drink, the chairs are comfortable.
I will definitely come back and recommend The Bruce to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 14, 2017

always yummy and a dining pleasure. Attention to detail is appreciated

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food, very nice venue. Would recommend tasting menu to a anyone going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Amazing Atmosphere ! Accommodating to my two baby boys gave us lots of room for their car seats on the floor!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was a special occasion to celebrate three different birthdays with my children and grandchildren, after seeing Treasure Island at the Avon.
The food was absolutely fabulous, very creative with local Canadian products and while the adults had the Tasting menu, they kindly obliged the four children in the group with the Lounge menu and dinner selections. Everyone completely polished off their dinners, which with children can be quite unusual. (ages 5-12) We sampled each others dishes, compared notes, and we all thought that we each had made the best possible menu choices!!
Highly recommended, but likely better with just adults. It was a lovely evening for everyone and the children happily played in their beautiful gardens while waiting for dinner to arrive

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

All around amazing! We had dinner and breakfast. Highly recommend for all occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A wonderful dining experience - atmosphere, food and service were all at a very superior level. Thank you!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

You are simply missing out if you do not eat at The Bruce Restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The Caesar salad was sort of deconstructed with whole lettuce leaves in a relatively narrow bowl. Hard to cut up. Because of your service protocol, you held the mains until my dad finished the salad which he didn't. As a result, the pastrami of my mom's Reuben was overdone.
Arkona cocktail was lovely. Asparagus soup delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food, service and atmosphere was great. We Ste in the lounge, quite busy, noisy, hard to hear each other talk, but once a lot if people had left, much quieter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent food, extremely well presented. Staff and service very attentive and professional. Just enough chatter.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Typically well done creative Stratford cuisine. Moderately priced and moderate servings. Highly recommend.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.