Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant

A voyage through our culinary history, offering the best of Canadian produce—both wild and farmed.

Devoted to the celebration of nature, Executive Chef Arron Carley and his team are present-day pioneers, intertwining modern and ancient culinary techniques and philosophies. They forage native plants and novel ingredients in their constant quest to feature the unique natural aromas and essences of these uncultivated ingredients. Foods that cannot be found in the wild are sourced by local suppliers and farmers with whom the Chef has fostered strong, mutually beneficial partnerships, to ensure superior quality and privileged choice of produce.

Executive Chef Arron Carley
Chef de Cuisine Gilad Rozenberg
Sous Chef Sam Santandrea
Forager Phil Phillips

89 Parkview Drive
Stratford, ON N5A 4R5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:30am - 11am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 4:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11am - 2pm
Dining Room Menu is served Tuesday to Saturday, 5pm - 10pm
Lounge open daily 11:30 am until 10 pm
Late Night Menu available Thursday, Friday & Saturday nights - 10pm to Midnight.

Cross Street:
Ontario St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 708-7100

Website:
http://www.thebruce.ca/

Parking Details:
All hotel guests include private covered lot. Restaurant guests may park on site during their dining experience.

Executive Chef:
Arron Carley

Private Party Facilities:
Two private rooms: one seating up to 45 people; the second, an intimate private room with its own entrance seating up to fifteen people.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Parson cparson@thebruce.ca: (519) 508-7100

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Enjoy our Christmas Eve and Christmas Day menu's on our Elegant Dining Room

The Bruce Hotel and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Local Ingredients (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Romantic (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Seasonal (9)
Scenic View (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Organic (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (6)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (4)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Virtually empty - 0ne other table when we arrived, two when we left. Food good but not superb. Service haphazard, at one point very good, at another, a vacuum.

But then the pricing- out of this world. Wine pricing in particular was outrageous; my wife ordered a glass of Pinot which came from a screw stoppered bottle (at $C 14 per glass) and which may have been opened some years earlier. 9When i pointed this out it was quickly replaced.

Wonderful location, steps from the Festival Theatre, but requires new management

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My husband and I made a reservation on open table minutes before arriving for an early dinner. Though we don't often spend this kind of money at restaurants, or choose this level of fine dining, we were welcomed warmly. Staff members were very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. Space did seem a bit limited as we were seated fairly close to another couple. Food was very good. My dish (the duck) was exceptional. We would highly recommend The Bruce Hotel to friends and family, and especially for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Love this place it is quite the gem situated in Stratford walking distance to festival theater you can always count on a quiet , clean and superb food and service when you arrive. The restaurant is elegant but not pretentious. Great drinks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Best choice for prix fixe before theatre . It is only a 5minutes walk. Perfect wine pairing . We recommande the chocolat dessert !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2017

having heard this restaurant was supposed to be outstanding, we were very disappointed. while the server was positive, she neglected to bring several basic items we asked for, including salt and pepper.
Great location for the Festival theatre but i doubt i'd return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Excellent experience overall. Food level up there with some of the best restaurants we have visited. Service was good, but pretty much standard for this price point. Ambiance, noise level and overall feel was excellent.
Special occasion and table reflected the occasion and staff aware and complimented event very well, along with a signature dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Le menu dégustation Faune était bien présenté , très goûteux et équilibré. Le choix des vins accompagnant chaque met excellent . Nous y retournons ce soir avant le théâtre pour un menu différent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food. Great service. The atmosphere and décor are outstanding. Very upscale. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Great spot for dinner before a show at the Festival Theater. Very good quality food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Enjoyed the Lounge this time instead of the regular dining room. Nice relaxing atmosphere. Great service. Will return. Highly recommend. Wonderful venue.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 14, 2017

the food was excellent and the service was discreet. Our server was also knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Fantastic. A restaurant that I compare all other restaurants against. I don't travel to Stratford without reservations at the Bruce.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent food, service and elegant ambiance in a very up scale hotel.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The menu is too limited. Two burgers out of four lunch sandwiches seemed limiting if you didn't want burger. More diverse choice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Pre matinee lunch. Shared the charcuterie board for starter. Huge ,waitress put rest in fridge and we picked it up after theatre-we had it in the evening. My wife had the Fogo island cod and I had the mushroom tagliolini. All fantastic.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

What a nice surprise to find this gem of a restaurant so close to Stratford Festival Theater. Beautiful setting, gorgeous dining area, beautiful outdoor patio seating and the menu was innovative and the food delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Extraordinary food with native Canadian ingredients and a new Nordic spirit; bison was delicious and salmon a plate straight from sea

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Superb food and service. Great spot for pre/post show at the Stratford Festival.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We booked online. When we were seated and had a look at the menu, we realised the selections were different and didn't include the appetisers that had been a big factor in choosing this restaurant. There were actually two places to eat in The Bruce Hotel: The Restaurant, which is where we were booked and The Lounge, which is where they served the things I was asking about. I asked if it would be a problem if we moved to The Lounge. I wondered if I might get some attitude. Not at all. The wait staff whisked us over to the Lounge and in seconds we were seated and our waiter was taking our drink orders.
The service throughout the meal remained excellent. Each course came out in good order, but we were never rushed. The cocktails were delicious. My husband's beloved Caesar salad came with some sort of weird black lettuce. My husband is not adventurous when it comes to food. I feared he wouldn't eat it. Not only did he eat it, he pronounced it really, really tasty. According to our trusty waiter, the produce in the restaurant comes from a locally renowned truck gardener and he sends along whatever he thinks is best and the chef uses it. This was a success.
My squash soup was beautifully presented and very tasty as well. I hadn't realised this was a chilled soup. My personal preference would have been for it to be served hot, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.
I had the mushroom taglietelle. The pasta was perfectly done. My husband's steak frites had a good Bearnaise sauce. But the highlight was the 'frites'. These were the most delicious fries ever. Crispy, thin and salted to perfection. I stole a bunch from his plate. If I lived in Stratford, I'd come to this restaurant just for the fries.
We split a chocolate brownie with a side of ice cream for dessert. Yummy.
The bill with three courses, one cocktail each, three soft drinks and coffee came to $152, including an 18% tip. We thought it was extremely reasonable.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This was a pre Matinee lunch for Myself, my wife and our 15 year old granddaughter. The food was interesting, well made and creatively presented. My wife had the Fogo Island cod, our granddaughter the mushroom tagliatelle and I had the Burger. The Burger was a little bit dry but overall the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is a high end upscale hotel with a foodie type chef who prepares each meal with love and thought. Food portions are adequate and the price is upper but good value for the quality.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Lovely place....a more varied lunch menu please....wonderful salads....disappointing charcuterie board....loaded with meats ....where were pickles,olives...breads...nothing to spread the pâté type spreads on...grilled peppers....very different from charcuteriesI have experienced....disappointed....however, wonderful service with the exchange for cheese board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I have nothing but praise for the quality of the food at the Bruce restaurant and the service, I must say, was exceptional. House wines were very good. I did have an issue with the room, which acted as an echo chamber. I could barely hear from across the table and most of the time I felt I was being bathed in layers of noise. I would presume that overhead at the restaurant is high, which would explain the prices, which are, indeed, very high. I would not have minded that, except for the noise, which definitely lowered the quality of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We had a great meal. I found the service throughout the building to be exemplary. We were in the fine dining room, but it appears that they had more casual venues as well. We enjoyed the variety on the menu and the presentation was fantastic. Our server was very attentive and extremely polite. The building itself is lovely. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service was impeccable and the food was perfect. We only had breakfast here and were not staying at the hotel, but if you want a fine dining option you will be treated very well here. Ritz-Carlton service and ambience in Stratford.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The staff was friendly, attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu and ingredients. The food was outstanding and unique. All of the individuals in out party enjoyed themselves completely. We would definitely return for another meal.
Thank you

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Incredible culinary creations! Perfect service. The menu is creative. Local ingredients shine. We will be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Sometimes on vacation we are pleasantly surprised. The Bruce Hotel in Stratford is not in the old town section and seemed somewhat austere from the outside. The interior however revealed an impeccably designed lobby and restaurant with gourmet cuisine that was totally unexpected. The restaurant was superior in it's creativity, presentation, local sourcing and rich flavors. Chef Arron Carley's outstanding tasting menu with it's wine pairing and impeccable service far exceeded my experiences at many Michelin Guide restaurants. Michelin make a bee line to restaurant as soon as possible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Not our first time and very happy to see it thriving and well maintained and offering the same classy dining ...thoroughly enjoyable and will return many times.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Tasting menu was fun -- many innovative dishes such as the rabbit tenderloin and the brie ice cream with lavender. Wine pairings were exceptional. Staff could be warmer ... they tried too hard to be "perfect." Lighten up. Enjoy the experience with people who know their food and wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had an exquisite tasting menu and wine pairing. Congratulations to the chef, the sommelier and the waitstaff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Stratfords premier Hotel with outstanding service and accomadation has made dining at
their restaurant a pleasure .
Recomended as the best of charcuterie made in house in North America for lunch.
Dinner has very fresh ingredients and use of forage from the grounds and local area produce. Unusual and well prepared lamb tartare , All entrees are to be savory . Dinner staff are very knowledgeable and gracious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Wonderful lunch. Had the Ruben and the house made pastrami was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 29, 2017

A lovely place to dine before going to the Festival Theater. Good food, good service, good prices!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Exquisite food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had an excellent pre-theatre dinner here. The wait staff was very pleasant and well trained and ensured our meals were served in a timely way with our theatre performance in mind. All three courses were superlative from an imaginative twist on a Ceasar salad, perfectly cooked steak and fish to house made cheesecake and carrot cake and ice cream. The wine list was nicely designed as was the well chosen selection of gourmet teas. We travel extensively and this meal was on par with some of the best we have had internationally. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Extraordinary ambiance, service and just everything anyone could ask for.
The menu could be expanded, but selections, Bison and Beef were excellent.

Bill and Barb

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Very interesting and innovative presentation of appetizers and entrees. Decent wines by the glass. Salmon was exceptional and duck breast was OK. Service was excellent in a very calm environment. Surprising find in Stratford, Ontario. Apparently the chef won a National TV cooking contest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Organic, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Fabulous service! So thrilled a restaurant was able to accommodate my food restrictions (and mean it). Beautifully appointed! It's worth the price

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 19, 2017

A great place to come if you are going to the Stratford Festival. It is a five minute walk to the main theatre. Lunch was lovely. The food is interesting with some nice twists on things. The Northern Caesar Salad was very nice. The service was just a bit slow but relaxing but as we had a theatre performance to go to timing was everything. The service staff were very friendly and nice. We would definitely go back and would also probably stay at The Bruce. The patio is small but there is a lovely lounge and dining room.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.