About The Brasserie - Grand Cayman

P.O. Box 10370 APO
George Town, Grand Cayman KY1 - 1103
View Larger Map

The Brasserie restaurant has been a culinary fixture in Georgetown for over thirteen years. In the past six years, with the culinary marriage of Chef Dean Max and owners Clarence and Lisa Flowers, the Brasserie has evolved into an even more spectacular jewel of the island.
Through these years of research, training, and planning this evolution, the Brasserie was proud to re-open its doors in the beginning of 2010 with a brand new organic garden, state of the art exhibition kitchen, a walk-in wine room with over 300 selections kept at the perfect temperature and their own fishing boat which ensures they always have fresh catch from the sea.
The Brasserie restaurant is a boutique 65 seat restaurant with bar that warms the soul with its British colonial charm. The restaurant is a hidden gem known by locals for its incredible fresh and interesting modern Caribbean cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elgin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(345) 945-1815

Website:
http://www.brasseriecayman.com/

Entertainment:
On select Thursday evenings, enjoy live music in the bar/lounge area as island bands create their lounge - Caribbean jazz mix. 1/2 off bottle wine, Island soft shell tacos and $4.00 margaritas.

Catering:
Select from our interesting and delicious platter catering menu. Perfect for your next cocktail party or casual event. Presented on your own platters or The Brasserie’s biodegradable take out platters.

Parking Details:
The Brasserie is located in the heart of the Capital of the Cayman Islands, George Town, within the financial district. There is ample - free parking in the private parking lot surrounding The Brasserie with 24 hour security.

Public Transit:
The closest Public Transit stop to The Brasserie is the central bus stop by the Public Library in the Capital of the Cayman Islands, George Town. From there, it is a short five - ten minute cab ride or an approximate 15 - 20 minute walk.

Executive Chef:
Dean James Max

Private Party Facilities:
Book the beautiful Colonial Plantation Patio Room for your next private event. Seats 18 at the custom made mahogany table for a wonderful sit down dinner or separate the table into 3 smaller tables for a sit down dinner for up to 28 people. Our Patio Room can also accommodate 60 people for the perfect stand up cocktail party with hand passed canapes and/or canape buffet. Various bar service options are available.

Private Party Contact:
Kyle Kennedy: 3459451815

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Brasserie - Grand Cayman Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

5.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Caribbean
Best Food
Caribbean
Best Service
Caribbean
2 More
Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Most Booked
Cayman Islands
Best Restaurants in Grand Cayman ›

Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Romantic (4)
See All
Special Occasion (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a terrific dining experience. I ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

This was a terrific dining experience. I'm a bit of a foodie but my teenage sons are not - Wednesday burger night was perfect for all of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even in a business area, this restaurant ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Even in a business area, this restaurant is very charming. The tropical theme and low lighting inside is very romantic.

The servers were delightful and the food was wonderful. We fish and so we know all the seafood we had was ver fresh and well prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True farm to table dining. We ate here ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

True farm to table dining. We ate here near the end of our vacation to Grand Cayman and wish we could have eaten at this restaurant again. Jessica took us on a tour of the fruit trees and garden and explained the process of true farm to table dining, while she pointed out the special plants that are native to the island. Julia was our server and she pointed out all the preparation and special touches to the menu. This has to be one of our best meals on the island as well as the best drinks. The margaritas are mojitos are worth a trip alone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations here based on previous ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Made reservations here based on previous reviews. Though we went down to the Grand Cayman during a slower period, Brasserie was the only restaurant we went into that was fully packed. We unfortunately had to leave shortly after arriving due to an emergency, but the restaurant did an amazing job at packaging the food (which was AMAZING even later after having it to go) and taking care of us, including comping our drinks. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent-fresh with interestin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was excellent-fresh with interesting combinations and fresh ingredients. Service was excellent. Was surprised by location (office park?) but inside was gorgeous. Great cocktails and homemade gelato was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Never disappoints.

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Recently discovered Thursday nights at The Brasserie. Best Margaritas I have ever had and the tacos are outstanding! This will definitely be a regular addition to my Thursday evening plans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

25th Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

This restaurant is by far our favorite. Excellent staff and the food by far the best we have had on the Island. If you are looking for a fantastic meal with average high end cost, reserve a table. We got the special on Monday with free bottle of red wine that was superb!! Our waitress was Jessica and she was terrific!! You do want to get dessert here. It does come with the special on Mondays. We had the Black Sapote Sorbet (cacao nib meringue, local raspberry cream). This was the best dessert we have had on the Island and we have been to several fine dining restaurants. We will definitely be back! Many many thanks to the chef. Many thanks also to the staff and waitresses.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable lunch!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Amazing food and very friendly service! Thanks to our server Andy! We will be back for another experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make sure you don't miss this restaurant.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We were able to sit and eat right in the middle of the organic garden that serves the restaurant. You won't find this type of place anywhere else. The restaurant operates 2 fishing boats that serve the restaurants patrons. You won't find anywhere like this anywhere else. No wonder they won best restaurant in the Cayman Islands.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of our top three best dinin ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

This was one of our top three best dining experiences ever. We ordered the chef's dinner with wine pairing. Food was amazing! We especially liked the smoked duck over carrot purée. We could have licked the bowl! The sommelier's choices were excellent and he presented each one with wonderful information. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is amazing - fresh and veggies ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The food is amazing - fresh and veggies picked right out of their garden outside -

A must for any foodie who loves great seafood while in Grand Cayman Islands

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Love it! We are always pleased with our meal and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot for an informal or formal date

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The food and service was excellent, along with a responsible business plan, growing most of their fruits, herbs, greens, raising laying chickens, and supporting this with eco friendly methods.

Make sure you ask for a tour of the garden after you finish dining.

Well done !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience. Great service.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent farm to table. You can sit in the organic garden. The wait staff are totally committed to a great dining experience. Food is beautifully prepared and the menu is interesting. The red snapper was terrific. It is a beautiful restaurant. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

We were extremely happy with our evening at The Brasserie. My husband and I went with our 10 year old daughter in tow and it was a lovely evening. The food was absolutely amazing. We both had a fish dish (caught fresh from their own boats) and we shared a salad (the Greek) which was outstanding. We are not foodies by any means but the salad, alone, was worth going back for. We were also pleasantly surprised with the total cost for the meal. Very reasonable indeed considering we had three main courses, one starter, 4 beers and a soft drink and came out at $160 cayman dollars. The beer menu was also great... many beers from craft breweries around the globe. Enjoyable! We'll be back next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing meal every time.

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

We come to Grand Cayman every year. The Brasserie has earned a spot on our 'must visit' restaurant lists. A classy but tranquil setting with outstanding food and top notch service. Especially known for their fish which comes in daily from their own fishing boats. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best experience so far

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

They changed my table and put me in a great wonderful spot, love the food. Great cigar collection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for dinner 2/15/2016

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

The breat was delicious. I ordered the tuna entree and it arrived cold. Not ice cold but not warm enough for a served cooked entree. The dessert was good. It was a lava cake with mint ice cream. It was described like an after eight mint. Perhpas it was an off night but I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Amazing farm to table food. Great servic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Amazing farm to table food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very unique restaurant. We loved every b ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Very unique restaurant. We loved every bit of it. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An island standard still going strong

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

NYE dinner was great, nice touch with the goodie bag! Food was fantastic. 'Brasserie' Grilled Cheese $8 (soft brie, white truffle, seasonal marmalade) was devoured by the group in seconds. My fresh catch was perfectly cooked. Friendly service and a great classy room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and the presentation was excell ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The food and the presentation was excellent. Good idea to make reservations as i saw numerous people being turned away. Noise level was high and somewhat distracting at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wahoo!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Seated with friends on time, our OT reservation was a bit later and we came about 20 minutes ahead and got a table. Nice wine list but natural for Cayman it's over the top in cost, so we brought our own (small corkage fee well worth it). Started with tuna ceviche which was excellent, and it was decorated with fresh avocados. Tasty. Main was Wahoo! chef's recommendation which was medium rare, was excellent. Too full for dessert - make sure you get the bread basket and it's worth having another one if you are hungry. Would recommend going again, but if you've been to other high end Cayman restaurants you should compare. The best part is their organic garden right outside the restaurant, where they have all sorts of fruits, veggies and herbs growing, even in trees planted in the parking lot (no kidding). Would come back when in Cayman next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding and romantic!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

The best food in Cayman island! Every single ingredients were so fresh and every single dishes that we ordered were masterpiece! Thank you, Chef for the amazing food. You really inspired me.

Thank you for giving my family such a great memory and amazing dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Meal

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Brasserie was, by far, the best meal we ate during our week long trip to Cayman. We put together a charcuterie board to start (that smoked fish!!) and everything was awesome. The daily fish crudo and a ceviche were among the best we've ever had- unique, delightful, and oh so fresh. And that s'mores dessert: so much better than any take on a s'mores dessert I've ever seen.

Claudia was a fantastic server, and even gave us a tour of the garden after the meal. And a female bartender (name is escaping me) was also wonderful and fun to talk to. Both were clearly invested in the restaurant, which speaks volumes about the ownership and management.

Another restaurant is typically named the premier dining spot on the island because of a famous name that is attached, but Brasserie rose above that other meal in so many ways. If we find ourselves in Cayman again, we'll certainly be back, and probably more than once.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Other than us being tired from traveling ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Other than us being tired from traveling, he restaurant was as advertised. You have to be open to a flexible menu - there were 2 changes that affected our meals - but the changes made for excellent dinners.

The ambience is island manor -ish with a great wine list and very nice servers/staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Restaurant on the Island

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

We have been to just about every restaurant on Grand Cayman. Most are "ok" but over priced and the food is not of the highest quality.

This place is different. It is a beautiful place and the service was great (if not a bit slow). The food is fresh and they apparently have their own sources for fish and a garden in the back for herbs.

The meal was correctly priced, and I can't say enough good things about it. My family is borderline on fish dishes, but the mahi was the best they had ever eaten (anywhere). Go here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Everything about the experience was wond ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

Everything about the experience was wonderful! We would come back in a heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Booked My Reaervation Online, Got my res ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Booked My Reaervation Online, Got my reservation confirmation for Me and My wife. Later, we got ready and enjoyed the rest of our night. Upon arriving we got greeted by The Hostess,Kim, who was very friendly and made us felt very welcomed from the start. The waiters were very friendly and on point and so was the other servers who would assist in our drinks. All and all if u want a nice place with a romantic setting and quality food, I would definettly recommend here. 5/5 from me and my wife. Will definettly go back and encourage strongly to anyone that has ever thought about going.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb service and high quality from sea2table.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 27, 2015

Brasserie was excellent! I now know why it is rated number 1 on the island. I'd highly recommend dining at this restaurant if you're visiting the Cayman Islands. This is not a place to bring your kids as it's classy, refined, professional, and the clientele is obviously there to enjoy the peace and quiet of a sophisticated evening. Bringing young kids along would likely ruin the evening for you and everyone around you. We were delighted to have a break from the Cayman scene and transport ourselves into a world of exquisite taste. It makes very little sense to order a beef related dish when you have access to incredibly fresh seafood apparently caught daily by the restaurant's own fishermen. I had the grouper and my wife had the red snapper - the preparation was incredible and the accouterments impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Love Loved it!!!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2015

Can't remember how I heard about place or why I made the reservation because I made reservations a month in advance, but so glad I did!!! It was the best meal we had on our vacation and could have gone there every night!! Everything was unique from the cocktails, to the appetizers to the main course. Loved it all!!! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2015

We have been to Cayman numerous times yet this was our first visit to The Brasserie for dinner. We were very impressed with the West Indies decor. A perfect table for two in the center (upholstered seating w/pillows) and yet a private romantic evening! Service was friendly, timely and very knowledgeable about restaurant and dishes. The menu is printed daily based on the local fresh catch of the day from their 2 boats! The farm to table approach is unique and you can tell the difference in your meal. We had a the special gorilla soup and seasonal salad with watermelon/cucumber feta, etc - very nice start! We both opted for seafood, red snapper and grouper which is the Best anywhere! You have to save room for dessert. We shared a coconut crime brûlée that included a chocolate macaroon! Absolutely delicious! A perfect 10!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing appetizers and food overall! Of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

Amazing appetizers and food overall! Of all the places we went to, this was our favorite. Had delicious raw fish. A must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

loved it

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2015

great find. we have been going to GC for 10+ years and just found this place last year. sorry we missed it in the past. a must go when staying on the island.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem in George Town!

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

We were looking for a quiet romantic spot on the island for an anniversary dinner. We read some reviews and went to the Brasserie. Wow were we impressed. The food, the service, the atmosphere were all amazing. There is not a water view but once you get there you will not care. It is tucked away in Cricket Square and the minute you walk in you feel like, "well that was a great choice!" We will be back for every visit to Cayman going forward. Run, don't walk to go to this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Brasserie's great for lunch!

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 11, 2015

If you are looking for an elegant atmosphere to entertain someone for lunch in the heart of George Town

then you should consider The Brasserie.

The service was friendly and efficient, the food is fresh and tasty, and the prices reasonable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Evening

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 7, 2015

Once you find this place (be sure to get directions) you'll enjoy a great staff, romantic ambiance, and an innovative menu. Apparently it changes often so don't depend on the one posted on OT.

If you're close to George Town this is an excellent choice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2015

Food was great. We got the charcuterie plate guacamole mahi mahi fish tacos the wahoo ceviche and snapper entree and it was all delicious. Even better was the dessert. Strawberry sorbet and the milk and cookies were to die for. Cookies came out warm and gooey inside. Milkshake was tasty and light overall great meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best meal in Grand Cayman

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 8, 2015

Expensive but well worth it! The reviews I read prior to trip were accurate and led me to The Brasserie -so glad we made it there, if it hadn't been our last night we probably would have returned- we were seated in our own private dining room which was beautiful and intimate for our group of 6 including teens--our server from Michigan was personable and attentive -notably the vegetables were so fresh and perfectly seasoned- the wahoo sashimi and vinaigrette was excellent complement- most of us had snapper which was perfectly cooked- -extensive wine list, tiramisu rich and creamy- best meal, whole trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 7, 2015

Absolutely - hands down - the BEST restaurant on the Island.

Don't miss this one!

Get the chef's tasting menu so you can have access to their talented chef.

Ask for a tour of their gardens too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.