Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 8.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 8.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 8.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 8.24mi

About The Brasserie - Grand Cayman

The Brasserie restaurant has been a culinary fixture in Georgetown for over thirteen years. In the past six years, with the culinary marriage of Chef Dean Max and owners Clarence and Lisa Flowers, the Brasserie has evolved into an even more spectacular jewel of the island.
Through these years of research, training, and planning this evolution, the Brasserie was proud to re-open its doors in the beginning of 2010 with a brand new organic garden, state of the art exhibition kitchen, a walk-in wine room with over 300 selections kept at the perfect temperature and their own fishing boat which ensures they always have fresh catch from the sea.
The Brasserie restaurant is a boutique 65 seat restaurant with bar that warms the soul with its British colonial charm. The restaurant is a hidden gem known by locals for its incredible fresh and interesting modern Caribbean cuisine.

P.O. Box 10370 APO
George Town, Grand Cayman KY1 - 1103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elgin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(345) 945-1815

Website:
http://www.brasseriecayman.com/

Entertainment:
On select Thursday evenings, enjoy live music in the bar/lounge area as island bands create their lounge - Caribbean jazz mix. 1/2 off bottle wine, Island soft shell tacos and $4.00 margaritas.

Catering:
Select from our interesting and delicious platter catering menu. Perfect for your next cocktail party or casual event. Presented on your own platters or The Brasserie’s biodegradable take out platters.

Parking Details:
The Brasserie is located in the heart of the Capital of the Cayman Islands, George Town, within the financial district. There is ample - free parking in the private parking lot surrounding The Brasserie with 24 hour security.

Public Transit:
The closest Public Transit stop to The Brasserie is the central bus stop by the Public Library in the Capital of the Cayman Islands, George Town. From there, it is a short five - ten minute cab ride or an approximate 15 - 20 minute walk.

Executive Chef:
Dean James Max

Private Party Facilities:
Book the beautiful Colonial Plantation Patio Room for your next private event. Seats 18 at the custom made mahogany table for a wonderful sit down dinner or separate the table into 3 smaller tables for a sit down dinner for up to 28 people. Our Patio Room can also accommodate 60 people for the perfect stand up cocktail party with hand passed canapes and/or canape buffet. Various bar service options are available.

Private Party Contact:
Kyle Kennedy: (345) 945-1815

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Brasserie - Grand Cayman Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

5.0

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Foodies (8)
GoodForDates (7)
Authentic (7)
See All
Healthy (7)
SpecialOccasions (6)
Cozy (6)
Anniversaries (6)
NotableWineList (6)
Romance (6)
Birthdays (5)
Groups (5)
WorthTheDrive (5)
LocalIngredients (5)
CreativeCuisine (5)
HandcraftedCocktails (4)
VegetarianOptions (3)
QuietConversation (3)
BusinessMeals (3)
NeighborhoodGem (3)
Organic (2)
Lunch (2)
TastingMenu (2)
Casual (2)
ComfortFood (2)
BarSeating (2)
Fun (2)
GreatBeer (2)
AfternoonTea (2)
LateNightFind (2)
OpenKitchen (1)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
Seasonal (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
Vegan (1)
Brunch (1)
SundayLunch (1)
VibrantBarScene (1)
Tapas (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
GlutenFree (1)
Sort By:
S
137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Great "farm to table" spot. Really creative tastes and presentations. Excellent service. Chef Thomas came to the table to speak with us. Outdoor seating and private dining available. My only rub is that it is NOT easy to find.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Service and food exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fantastic service, great food. Lights are waaay too low and they couldn't be made brighter. Couldn't read menu without the flashlight on our phones. Other customers complained about this.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Another amazing meal at Brasserie! This was our first "Gastropub Night" (Tuesdays). After an excellent Heirloom Tomato salad (Brasserie grows most if its own vegetables) my wife and I enjoyed perfectly prepared Beef Wellington while our son had a wonderful order of Fish & Chips. Add on the impressive wine list and excellent dessert menu, along with spot-on service, and it all comes down to a restaurant that deserves my highest rating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always wonderful, had grilled lobster, delicious! Service top-notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The food and service were superb!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing as always, just wish we didn't have to share this restaurant with anyone else! Returning next week, maybe we will save room for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Brasserie is most definitely one of my favorite restaurants in Grand Cayman. The food, ambiance, service is consistently excellent. It is truly farm to table and we enjoy looking at the garden where much of the vegetables and fresh herbs are grown. The fish is so fresh, and the menu selections are changed seasonally. No matter how large or small a group, The Brasserie is the best!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had three appetizers and dinner that included the 3 fresh catches of the day! All of these were fresh, melt in your mouth fantastic. Tuna tartar, Wahoo ceviche and conch salad. Even the bread sticks with cumin humus was outstanding. For dinner we had the seasonal Caribbean whole lobster and the Red Snapper.
Service was excellent, prompt and informative. After dinner we had a tour of the backyard garden and various trees they use for their meals! Amazing, highly recommended, will go back 1-2 times before we leave Cayman!!

Tags: Organic, Casual, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great hand crafted cocktails, nice wine menu with many style and price options, excellent fresh seafood. Service was great - attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. The snapper was a bit dry and overcooked. The seafood pasta was perfect - light sauce, lots of fresh seafood, fresh herbs and tomatoes, al dente pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Amazing fresh food and outstanding service....We love the beautiful outside area and as always....Perfect meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to us by a couple we met while visiting Grand Cayman. It is away from the 7 mile beach, and close to the government offices so I assume this is a regular hangout for people doing work with the government. It was recommended to us for its fresh fish and vegetables. I had the swordfish which had been caught that day and I have to say it was the best swordfish I ever ate. I also had the local papaya salad which was good but I found to be a little overwhelmed with cilantro and mint, I think the salad would have been improved with about half of those two herbs, and by chopping them more finally and incorporating into the salad. My husband had conch fritters which were very good and the jerk chicken. Overall a good meal but not on a level with the other places we ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food- interesting menu dessert was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Cannot say enough good things about the Brasserie - just sorry it's taken 4 trips to GC before we discovered it. Ate dinner in the peaceful greenhouse, with exceptional service by Jessica. Every dish was delicious - great fresh flavors, exquisitely prepared and beautifully plated. Definitely leave room for dessert :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wow - we read some great reviews so booked The Brasserie for my birthday dinner and it really lived up to the hype. The food and service was outstanding!
The melted cheese and tuna tartare starters were great. The yellow fin tuna and roasted wahoo main courses were even better and the deserts were better still. We don't normally have deserts but we read such good reviews that we decided to try them and they were sensational- the Baileys creme brûlée was wonderful and the sticky toffee date pudding was one of the best deserts I have ever had. Overall it was a bit pricey, but compared to other restaurants we went to in the area this was still by far the best value. A truly great meal !

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have been there several times and it is our favorite restaurant on the island.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The level of waters is going down, I,m a customer of this restaurant for ten years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Went on Tuesday for Gastro Pub night. The Wellingtons were amazing! As was the Tuna appetizer. Drinks were also very good. Everything was fresh and it was the best meal I have had in a long time!! Can't wait to go again. Terrific service as well!

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 27, 2016

This was a terrific dining experience. I'm a bit of a foodie but my teenage sons are not - Wednesday burger night was perfect for all of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Even in a business area, this restaurant is very charming. The tropical theme and low lighting inside is very romantic.
The servers were delightful and the food was wonderful. We fish and so we know all the seafood we had was ver fresh and well prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2016

True farm to table dining. We ate here near the end of our vacation to Grand Cayman and wish we could have eaten at this restaurant again. Jessica took us on a tour of the fruit trees and garden and explained the process of true farm to table dining, while she pointed out the special plants that are native to the island. Julia was our server and she pointed out all the preparation and special touches to the menu. This has to be one of our best meals on the island as well as the best drinks. The margaritas are mojitos are worth a trip alone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Made reservations here based on previous reviews. Though we went down to the Grand Cayman during a slower period, Brasserie was the only restaurant we went into that was fully packed. We unfortunately had to leave shortly after arriving due to an emergency, but the restaurant did an amazing job at packaging the food (which was AMAZING even later after having it to go) and taking care of us, including comping our drinks. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was excellent-fresh with interesting combinations and fresh ingredients. Service was excellent. Was surprised by location (office park?) but inside was gorgeous. Great cocktails and homemade gelato was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 26, 2016

I read the reviews on trip advisor and this restaurant did not disappoint. Tucked a few blocks away from downtown Georgetown, this is a great place for a romantic date, special occasion, or upscale meal while on vacation. We took the bus to a stop nearby and walked a few blocks. The food was wonderful(they have a private garden where everything is grown fresh). Great service and the staff arranged our taxi back to 7 mile promptly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Amazing food and very friendly service! Thanks to our server Andy! We will be back for another experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 22, 2016

This was one of our top three best dining experiences ever. We ordered the chef's dinner with wine pairing. Food was amazing! We especially liked the smoked duck over carrot purée. We could have licked the bowl! The sommelier's choices were excellent and he presented each one with wonderful information. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent farm to table. You can sit in the organic garden. The wait staff are totally committed to a great dining experience. Food is beautifully prepared and the menu is interesting. The red snapper was terrific. It is a beautiful restaurant. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 3, 2016

We were extremely happy with our evening at The Brasserie. My husband and I went with our 10 year old daughter in tow and it was a lovely evening. The food was absolutely amazing. We both had a fish dish (caught fresh from their own boats) and we shared a salad (the Greek) which was outstanding. We are not foodies by any means but the salad, alone, was worth going back for. We were also pleasantly surprised with the total cost for the meal. Very reasonable indeed considering we had three main courses, one starter, 4 beers and a soft drink and came out at $160 cayman dollars. The beer menu was also great... many beers from craft breweries around the globe. Enjoyable! We'll be back next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 19, 2016

They changed my table and put me in a great wonderful spot, love the food. Great cigar collection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2016

The breat was delicious. I ordered the tuna entree and it arrived cold. Not ice cold but not warm enough for a served cooked entree. The dessert was good. It was a lava cake with mint ice cream. It was described like an after eight mint. Perhpas it was an off night but I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2016

NYE dinner was great, nice touch with the goodie bag! Food was fantastic. 'Brasserie' Grilled Cheese $8 (soft brie, white truffle, seasonal marmalade) was devoured by the group in seconds. My fresh catch was perfectly cooked. Friendly service and a great classy room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2015

The food and the presentation was excellent. Good idea to make reservations as i saw numerous people being turned away. Noise level was high and somewhat distracting at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2015

Seated with friends on time, our OT reservation was a bit later and we came about 20 minutes ahead and got a table. Nice wine list but natural for Cayman it's over the top in cost, so we brought our own (small corkage fee well worth it). Started with tuna ceviche which was excellent, and it was decorated with fresh avocados. Tasty. Main was Wahoo! chef's recommendation which was medium rare, was excellent. Too full for dessert - make sure you get the bread basket and it's worth having another one if you are hungry. Would recommend going again, but if you've been to other high end Cayman restaurants you should compare. The best part is their organic garden right outside the restaurant, where they have all sorts of fruits, veggies and herbs growing, even in trees planted in the parking lot (no kidding). Would come back when in Cayman next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2015

The best food in Cayman island! Every single ingredients were so fresh and every single dishes that we ordered were masterpiece! Thank you, Chef for the amazing food. You really inspired me.
Thank you for giving my family such a great memory and amazing dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2015

Brasserie was, by far, the best meal we ate during our week long trip to Cayman. We put together a charcuterie board to start (that smoked fish!!) and everything was awesome. The daily fish crudo and a ceviche were among the best we've ever had- unique, delightful, and oh so fresh. And that s'mores dessert: so much better than any take on a s'mores dessert I've ever seen.

Claudia was a fantastic server, and even gave us a tour of the garden after the meal. And a female bartender (name is escaping me) was also wonderful and fun to talk to. Both were clearly invested in the restaurant, which speaks volumes about the ownership and management.

Another restaurant is typically named the premier dining spot on the island because of a famous name that is attached, but Brasserie rose above that other meal in so many ways. If we find ourselves in Cayman again, we'll certainly be back, and probably more than once.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 27, 2015

Other than us being tired from traveling, he restaurant was as advertised. You have to be open to a flexible menu - there were 2 changes that affected our meals - but the changes made for excellent dinners.

The ambience is island manor -ish with a great wine list and very nice servers/staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2015

We have been to just about every restaurant on Grand Cayman. Most are "ok" but over priced and the food is not of the highest quality.

This place is different. It is a beautiful place and the service was great (if not a bit slow). The food is fresh and they apparently have their own sources for fish and a garden in the back for herbs.

The meal was correctly priced, and I can't say enough good things about it. My family is borderline on fish dishes, but the mahi was the best they had ever eaten (anywhere). Go here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2015

Everything about the experience was wonderful! We would come back in a heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 5, 2015

Booked My Reaervation Online, Got my reservation confirmation for Me and My wife. Later, we got ready and enjoyed the rest of our night. Upon arriving we got greeted by The Hostess,Kim, who was very friendly and made us felt very welcomed from the start. The waiters were very friendly and on point and so was the other servers who would assist in our drinks. All and all if u want a nice place with a romantic setting and quality food, I would definettly recommend here. 5/5 from me and my wife. Will definettly go back and encourage strongly to anyone that has ever thought about going.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 27, 2015

Brasserie was excellent! I now know why it is rated number 1 on the island. I'd highly recommend dining at this restaurant if you're visiting the Cayman Islands. This is not a place to bring your kids as it's classy, refined, professional, and the clientele is obviously there to enjoy the peace and quiet of a sophisticated evening. Bringing young kids along would likely ruin the evening for you and everyone around you. We were delighted to have a break from the Cayman scene and transport ourselves into a world of exquisite taste. It makes very little sense to order a beef related dish when you have access to incredibly fresh seafood apparently caught daily by the restaurant's own fishermen. I had the grouper and my wife had the red snapper - the preparation was incredible and the accouterments impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.