About The Brasserie - Grand Cayman

P.O. Box 10370 APO
George Town, Grand Cayman KY1 - 1103
View Larger Map

The Brasserie restaurant has been a culinary fixture in Georgetown for over thirteen years. In the past six years, with the culinary marriage of Chef Dean Max and owners Clarence and Lisa Flowers, the Brasserie has evolved into an even more spectacular jewel of the island.
Through these years of research, training, and planning this evolution, the Brasserie was proud to re-open its doors in the beginning of 2010 with a brand new organic garden, state of the art exhibition kitchen, a walk-in wine room with over 300 selections kept at the perfect temperature and their own fishing boat which ensures they always have fresh catch from the sea.
The Brasserie restaurant is a boutique 65 seat restaurant with bar that warms the soul with its British colonial charm. The restaurant is a hidden gem known by locals for its incredible fresh and interesting modern Caribbean cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elgin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(345) 945-1815

Website:
http://www.brasseriecayman.com/

Entertainment:
On select Thursday evenings, enjoy live music in the bar/lounge area as island bands create their lounge - Caribbean jazz mix. 1/2 off bottle wine, Island soft shell tacos and $4.00 margaritas.

Catering:
Select from our interesting and delicious platter catering menu. Perfect for your next cocktail party or casual event. Presented on your own platters or The Brasserie’s biodegradable take out platters.

Parking Details:
The Brasserie is located in the heart of the Capital of the Cayman Islands, George Town, within the financial district. There is ample - free parking in the private parking lot surrounding The Brasserie with 24 hour security.

Public Transit:
The closest Public Transit stop to The Brasserie is the central bus stop by the Public Library in the Capital of the Cayman Islands, George Town. From there, it is a short five - ten minute cab ride or an approximate 15 - 20 minute walk.

Executive Chef:
Dean James Max

Private Party Facilities:
Book the beautiful Colonial Plantation Patio Room for your next private event. Seats 18 at the custom made mahogany table for a wonderful sit down dinner or separate the table into 3 smaller tables for a sit down dinner for up to 28 people. Our Patio Room can also accommodate 60 people for the perfect stand up cocktail party with hand passed canapes and/or canape buffet. Various bar service options are available.

Private Party Contact:
Kyle Kennedy: (345) 945-1815

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Brasserie - Grand Cayman Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Romantic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Organic (4)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing as always, just wish we didn't ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing as always, just wish we didn't have to share this restaurant with anyone else! Returning next week, maybe we will save room for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had heard about this great place in G ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had heard about this great place in George Town that was known for using their own gardens and fisherman for fresh to the table meals so we booked a reservation for our wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The staff was friendly and the food was fresh and delicious. For an appetizer, we decided to try the pumpkin & coconut soup and were amazed at the giant bowl of soup served and it was so unique. For my entree, I decided to go big and get the lobster and it was so fresh and soft. It was served with roasted pumpkin, kale, peppers and 'brasserie' hot saurce beurre blanc. It was so huge that I gladly shared it with my husband. He ordered the Roasted red snapper and was also delighted in his choice. We were so full after dinner but decided to go for dessert as well. I had ordered the cannoli with a honey sauce and ice cream and my husband ordered a brownie with the Barrington Espresso ice cream. We were blown away when our waitress remembered it was our anniversary and had it drizzled on our dessert plates complete with a candle. This place is not highly advertised in Grand Cayman but it doesn't need to. The experience and flavors sell themselves.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was an incredible experience. We ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was an incredible experience. We had the tasting menu because the menu had so many good choices we could not decide. Each course was beautiful and delicious. Most of the produce is grown on site in their organic garden. The service was fabulous. They had pizza that night, which we did not eat, but it looked and smelled great in the next table. The desserts were outstanding, and I rarely partake in dessert. Don't miss this restaurant, away from the Seven Mile beach crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Brasserie is most definitely one of ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Brasserie is most definitely one of my favorite restaurants in Grand Cayman. The food, ambiance, service is consistently excellent. It is truly farm to table and we enjoy looking at the garden where much of the vegetables and fresh herbs are grown. The fish is so fresh, and the menu selections are changed seasonally. No matter how large or small a group, The Brasserie is the best!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had three appetizers and dinner that ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had three appetizers and dinner that included the 3 fresh catches of the day! All of these were fresh, melt in your mouth fantastic. Tuna tartar, Wahoo ceviche and conch salad. Even the bread sticks with cumin humus was outstanding. For dinner we had the seasonal Caribbean whole lobster and the Red Snapper.

Service was excellent, prompt and informative. After dinner we had a tour of the backyard garden and various trees they use for their meals! Amazing, highly recommended, will go back 1-2 times before we leave Cayman!!

Tags: Organic, Casual, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hand crafted cocktails, nice wine ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great hand crafted cocktails, nice wine menu with many style and price options, excellent fresh seafood. Service was great - attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. The snapper was a bit dry and overcooked. The seafood pasta was perfect - light sauce, lots of fresh seafood, fresh herbs and tomatoes, al dente pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing fresh food and outstanding servi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Amazing fresh food and outstanding service....We love the beautiful outside area and as always....Perfect meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are on Grand Cayman several times a y ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We are on Grand Cayman several times a year and always include a dinner at the brasserie. The cuisine is always local, always delicious. This time we visited for Monday's Secret Pleasure which is an extremely good value. Prompt attentive service. Very polished. IMHO this is a must for anyone who appreciates farm/sea-to-table cuisine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was recommended to us by ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to us by a couple we met while visiting Grand Cayman. It is away from the 7 mile beach, and close to the government offices so I assume this is a regular hangout for people doing work with the government. It was recommended to us for its fresh fish and vegetables. I had the swordfish which had been caught that day and I have to say it was the best swordfish I ever ate. I also had the local papaya salad which was good but I found to be a little overwhelmed with cilantro and mint, I think the salad would have been improved with about half of those two herbs, and by chopping them more finally and incorporating into the salad. My husband had conch fritters which were very good and the jerk chicken. Overall a good meal but not on a level with the other places we ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

As a true foodie, this restaurant was fa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

As a true foodie, this restaurant was fabulous! Every bite was amazing; it won't disappoint even the most discerning palette.

The atmosphere was wonderful and service impeccable. We will go back before we leave. I rhought that the prices were very reasonable. I would definitely recommend this restaurant!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food- interesting menu desser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food- interesting menu dessert was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Xmas eve dinner. Loved the cev ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful Xmas eve dinner. Loved the ceviche, wahoo and desserts. Excellent and friendly service. Xmas crackers were a nice touch. Staff were happy to adapt food for my picky daughter, which was much appreciated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Private Room, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cannot say enough good things about the ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Cannot say enough good things about the Brasserie - just sorry it's taken 4 trips to GC before we discovered it. Ate dinner in the peaceful greenhouse, with exceptional service by Jessica. Every dish was delicious - great fresh flavors, exquisitely prepared and beautifully plated. Definitely leave room for dessert :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow - we read some great reviews so book ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wow - we read some great reviews so booked The Brasserie for my birthday dinner and it really lived up to the hype. The food and service was outstanding!

The melted cheese and tuna tartare starters were great. The yellow fin tuna and roasted wahoo main courses were even better and the deserts were better still. We don't normally have deserts but we read such good reviews that we decided to try them and they were sensational- the Baileys creme brûlée was wonderful and the sticky toffee date pudding was one of the best deserts I have ever had. Overall it was a bit pricey, but compared to other restaurants we went to in the area this was still by far the best value. A truly great meal !

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been there several times and it ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have been there several times and it is our favorite restaurant on the island.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GASTROPUB NIGHT - GASTRONOMIC DELIGHT Pe ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

GASTROPUB NIGHT - GASTRONOMIC DELIGHT

Perfect in every way, thank you.

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Authentic, Organic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite of ours for years now, some r ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A favorite of ours for years now, some reviewers say this restaurant is a little on the pricey side but we're firm believers in you get what you pay for and The Brasserie never lets you down. Consistently delicious fresh food with excellent service. What more could you wish for when visiting Cayman?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love the brassiere . We visit every t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We love the brassiere . We visit every two weeks and always we go for lunch. Service and food are outstanding. Every time with new options on the menu. Great wine list. We will keep coming back! :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The level of waters is going down, I,m a ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The level of waters is going down, I,m a customer of this restaurant for ten years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Went on Tuesday for Gastro Pub night. T ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Went on Tuesday for Gastro Pub night. The Wellingtons were amazing! As was the Tuna appetizer. Drinks were also very good. Everything was fresh and it was the best meal I have had in a long time!! Can't wait to go again. Terrific service as well!

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful surprise. Outstanding ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 12, 2016

What a wonderful surprise. Outstanding quality, creative dishes from the chefs tasting menu and truly impeccable service from our waiter Ryan. Visiting Grand Cayman? Seek this restaurant out for a truly memorable evening, and if you are a George Town resident, I envy you having this gem at your back door, be sure to partake.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a terrific dining experience. I ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 27, 2016

This was a terrific dining experience. I'm a bit of a foodie but my teenage sons are not - Wednesday burger night was perfect for all of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even in a business area, this restaurant ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Even in a business area, this restaurant is very charming. The tropical theme and low lighting inside is very romantic.

The servers were delightful and the food was wonderful. We fish and so we know all the seafood we had was ver fresh and well prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True farm to table dining. We ate here ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2016

True farm to table dining. We ate here near the end of our vacation to Grand Cayman and wish we could have eaten at this restaurant again. Jessica took us on a tour of the fruit trees and garden and explained the process of true farm to table dining, while she pointed out the special plants that are native to the island. Julia was our server and she pointed out all the preparation and special touches to the menu. This has to be one of our best meals on the island as well as the best drinks. The margaritas are mojitos are worth a trip alone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations here based on previous ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Made reservations here based on previous reviews. Though we went down to the Grand Cayman during a slower period, Brasserie was the only restaurant we went into that was fully packed. We unfortunately had to leave shortly after arriving due to an emergency, but the restaurant did an amazing job at packaging the food (which was AMAZING even later after having it to go) and taking care of us, including comping our drinks. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent-fresh with interestin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was excellent-fresh with interesting combinations and fresh ingredients. Service was excellent. Was surprised by location (office park?) but inside was gorgeous. Great cocktails and homemade gelato was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Never disappoints.

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Recently discovered Thursday nights at The Brasserie. Best Margaritas I have ever had and the tacos are outstanding! This will definitely be a regular addition to my Thursday evening plans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

25th Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 25, 2016

This restaurant is by far our favorite. Excellent staff and the food by far the best we have had on the Island. If you are looking for a fantastic meal with average high end cost, reserve a table. We got the special on Monday with free bottle of red wine that was superb!! Our waitress was Jessica and she was terrific!! You do want to get dessert here. It does come with the special on Mondays. We had the Black Sapote Sorbet (cacao nib meringue, local raspberry cream). This was the best dessert we have had on the Island and we have been to several fine dining restaurants. We will definitely be back! Many many thanks to the chef. Many thanks also to the staff and waitresses.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable lunch!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Amazing food and very friendly service! Thanks to our server Andy! We will be back for another experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make sure you don't miss this restaurant.

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2016

We were able to sit and eat right in the middle of the organic garden that serves the restaurant. You won't find this type of place anywhere else. The restaurant operates 2 fishing boats that serve the restaurants patrons. You won't find anywhere like this anywhere else. No wonder they won best restaurant in the Cayman Islands.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of our top three best dinin ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 22, 2016

This was one of our top three best dining experiences ever. We ordered the chef's dinner with wine pairing. Food was amazing! We especially liked the smoked duck over carrot purée. We could have licked the bowl! The sommelier's choices were excellent and he presented each one with wonderful information. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is amazing - fresh and veggies ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2016

The food is amazing - fresh and veggies picked right out of their garden outside -

A must for any foodie who loves great seafood while in Grand Cayman Islands

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2016

Love it! We are always pleased with our meal and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot for an informal or formal date

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 10, 2016

The food and service was excellent, along with a responsible business plan, growing most of their fruits, herbs, greens, raising laying chickens, and supporting this with eco friendly methods.

Make sure you ask for a tour of the garden after you finish dining.

Well done !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience. Great service.

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent farm to table. You can sit in the organic garden. The wait staff are totally committed to a great dining experience. Food is beautifully prepared and the menu is interesting. The red snapper was terrific. It is a beautiful restaurant. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 3, 2016

We were extremely happy with our evening at The Brasserie. My husband and I went with our 10 year old daughter in tow and it was a lovely evening. The food was absolutely amazing. We both had a fish dish (caught fresh from their own boats) and we shared a salad (the Greek) which was outstanding. We are not foodies by any means but the salad, alone, was worth going back for. We were also pleasantly surprised with the total cost for the meal. Very reasonable indeed considering we had three main courses, one starter, 4 beers and a soft drink and came out at $160 cayman dollars. The beer menu was also great... many beers from craft breweries around the globe. Enjoyable! We'll be back next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing meal every time.

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 19, 2016

We come to Grand Cayman every year. The Brasserie has earned a spot on our 'must visit' restaurant lists. A classy but tranquil setting with outstanding food and top notch service. Especially known for their fish which comes in daily from their own fishing boats. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best experience so far

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 19, 2016

They changed my table and put me in a great wonderful spot, love the food. Great cigar collection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for dinner 2/15/2016

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2016

The breat was delicious. I ordered the tuna entree and it arrived cold. Not ice cold but not warm enough for a served cooked entree. The dessert was good. It was a lava cake with mint ice cream. It was described like an after eight mint. Perhpas it was an off night but I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Amazing farm to table food. Great servic ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Amazing farm to table food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.