Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 8.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 8.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 8.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 8.24mi

About The Brasserie - Grand Cayman

The Brasserie restaurant has been a culinary fixture in Georgetown for over thirteen years. In the past six years, with the culinary marriage of Chef Dean Max and owners Clarence and Lisa Flowers, the Brasserie has evolved into an even more spectacular jewel of the island.
Through these years of research, training, and planning this evolution, the Brasserie was proud to re-open its doors in the beginning of 2010 with a brand new organic garden, state of the art exhibition kitchen, a walk-in wine room with over 300 selections kept at the perfect temperature and their own fishing boat which ensures they always have fresh catch from the sea.
The Brasserie restaurant is a boutique 65 seat restaurant with bar that warms the soul with its British colonial charm. The restaurant is a hidden gem known by locals for its incredible fresh and interesting modern Caribbean cuisine.

P.O. Box 10370 APO
George Town, Grand Cayman KY1 - 1103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elgin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(345) 945-1815

Website:
http://www.brasseriecayman.com/

Entertainment:
On select Thursday evenings, enjoy live music in the bar/lounge area as island bands create their lounge - Caribbean jazz mix. 1/2 off bottle wine, Island soft shell tacos and $4.00 margaritas.

Catering:
Select from our interesting and delicious platter catering menu. Perfect for your next cocktail party or casual event. Presented on your own platters or The Brasserie’s biodegradable take out platters.

Parking Details:
The Brasserie is located in the heart of the Capital of the Cayman Islands, George Town, within the financial district. There is ample - free parking in the private parking lot surrounding The Brasserie with 24 hour security.

Public Transit:
The closest Public Transit stop to The Brasserie is the central bus stop by the Public Library in the Capital of the Cayman Islands, George Town. From there, it is a short five - ten minute cab ride or an approximate 15 - 20 minute walk.

Executive Chef:
Dean James Max

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Brasserie - Grand Cayman Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Creative Cuisine (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Seasonal (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful farm to table dining. One of the best salads I’ve ever had with pomegranate seeds And candied walnuts! Get it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 7 days ago

Messed up our drinks, but easily fixed. Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Chef tasting menu was out of this world. We travel and eat around the globe, this is a must stop if your in Cayman

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Delicious raw locally sourced fish dishes and small plates. Nice to eat in their garden where they grow some of their own produce. Also really good apple cider and mezcal cocktail and overall nice cocktail list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Amazing fresh food. Lovely service. Best fine Dino g experience in the Caribbean

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 27, 2017

The experience was spectacular and the food was excellent. The farm to table concept is particularly impressive and really inspires in an environment where sustainability is more and more vital.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Go on Wednesday for burger night; great value and super yummy!! Sangria was good, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2017

A little off the beaten path but we'll worth the 10 minute drive from 7 mile beach. Everything is super fresh and well prepared. By far the best lobster and fish on the island. Once tried you will be hooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 7, 2017

The food was medioca. The shrimp were nice size but salty, the homemade rolls tasted yeasty

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2017

My wife and I went to the Brasserie on a Monday night. We had a reservation and were a little bit early ( not recognizing that all downtown stores close at 5 pm). We were seated immediately at a nice table for two.
Our server was there immediately and explained the menu and the Monday night special in detail. We ended up picking the three course dinner with a bottle of wine for a couple.
The white wine was a little bit warm in the beginning, but it was nicely chilled after it was in the wine cooler for a little bit. Our food came out rather quickly and all courses tasted really nice. Our waitress stopped by quite often to check on us.
We really enjoyed our dinner and are sure to return during a future trip to Grand Cayman.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 27, 2017

Fabulous dinner!!! We especially loved the garden and kitchen tour given by the Chef -
he was very knowledgeable and friendly! Wonderful ambiance -" Casablanca" feel with friendly servers and excellent 3 course dinner for two with a bottle of nice wine! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

The restaurant accommodated our changing time needs. We ended up eating a late lunch instead of an early dinner. The Gilled Cheese appetizer is amazing. Steak frites was fantastic. Wife had her fish cooked to order and loved it. Would highly recommend eating here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Excellent lunch, as always! Best lunch on the island.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Amazing all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2017

We sat in the garden, which I had never done before. It was a great experience which I enjoyed even more than sitting inside the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 23, 2017

This is one of a few restaurants that I insist upon frequenting each trip we take to Grand Cayman. Interesting menu with excellent execution on both food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was very good
We were a bit disappointed with the chocolate moss cake. Was very average

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had the tasting menu wth wine pairings. A very delightful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great food with impressive fresh catches of the day and inventive menu items. Service was on point with a knowledgeable wait staff. Overall a very enjoyable meal with great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

My husband and I went for an amazing dinner on our last night on Cayman. Everything was wonderful. We don't eat seafood but still had plenty to choose from. We order the grilled cheese appi and a beet salad. I had the risotto and my husband had the steak. For dessert we shared the alcoholic version of a coke float. Wonderful experience! Even though the restaurant is not on the water it was one of our favorite meals on the island.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Absolutely amazing, we had an awesome server who recommended great tacos! The hot sauce was amazing! Overall best restaurant we went to on the island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was outstanding and service was friendly and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Chef Thomas is a genius! The tasting menu was absolutely phenomenal - so many flavors and unexpected combinations that worked brilliantly together. Cayman has some wonderful restaurants but this is by far the best because not only is the food exquisite, their produce is almost all locally grown, organic, sustainably farmed etc. so we felt very good about everything we ate, even the deserts! The wine was also amazing (can't go wrong with a Pinot Noir from Oregon) and the services was also excellent and to top it off, Chef Thomas even treated us to a garden tour after the meal, which was so interesting and informative - we simply couldn't ask for more. Everything was perfect and I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Tags: Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Amazing experience and very romantic. We highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our best meal of our trip by far!!!!Great wine list phenomenal food and unsurpassed service!You will not be disappointed!We will allocate 3 nights for Brassiere on our next trip.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great "farm to table" spot. Really creative tastes and presentations. Excellent service. Chef Thomas came to the table to speak with us. Outdoor seating and private dining available. My only rub is that it is NOT easy to find.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience at The Brasserie, the food was varied and good value. The portions were good sizes also. Very friendly and attentive staff, we found the service was particularly quick. Will definitely return there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Service and food exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Staff and food were both excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Our server, Julia, provided excellent service. The red snapper and ceviche were terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fantastic service, great food. Lights are waaay too low and they couldn't be made brighter. Couldn't read menu without the flashlight on our phones. Other customers complained about this.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Another amazing meal at Brasserie! This was our first "Gastropub Night" (Tuesdays). After an excellent Heirloom Tomato salad (Brasserie grows most if its own vegetables) my wife and I enjoyed perfectly prepared Beef Wellington while our son had a wonderful order of Fish & Chips. Add on the impressive wine list and excellent dessert menu, along with spot-on service, and it all comes down to a restaurant that deserves my highest rating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Exceptional food married with exquisite service. A real gem in the Caymans!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 3, 2017

When it is a special occasion , there are couple places comes in my mind and one is Brasserie. Delicious Food and Cocktails. Outstanding service. Highly recommended to anyone for any occasion. Atmosphere at Brasserie is just unique. Amazing job by Brasserie Team.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always wonderful, had grilled lobster, delicious! Service top-notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The food and service were superb!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing as always, just wish we didn't have to share this restaurant with anyone else! Returning next week, maybe we will save room for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had heard about this great place in George Town that was known for using their own gardens and fisherman for fresh to the table meals so we booked a reservation for our wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The staff was friendly and the food was fresh and delicious. For an appetizer, we decided to try the pumpkin & coconut soup and were amazed at the giant bowl of soup served and it was so unique. For my entree, I decided to go big and get the lobster and it was so fresh and soft. It was served with roasted pumpkin, kale, peppers and 'brasserie' hot saurce beurre blanc. It was so huge that I gladly shared it with my husband. He ordered the Roasted red snapper and was also delighted in his choice. We were so full after dinner but decided to go for dessert as well. I had ordered the cannoli with a honey sauce and ice cream and my husband ordered a brownie with the Barrington Espresso ice cream. We were blown away when our waitress remembered it was our anniversary and had it drizzled on our dessert plates complete with a candle. This place is not highly advertised in Grand Cayman but it doesn't need to. The experience and flavors sell themselves.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was an incredible experience. We had the tasting menu because the menu had so many good choices we could not decide. Each course was beautiful and delicious. Most of the produce is grown on site in their organic garden. The service was fabulous. They had pizza that night, which we did not eat, but it looked and smelled great in the next table. The desserts were outstanding, and I rarely partake in dessert. Don't miss this restaurant, away from the Seven Mile beach crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The Brasserie is most definitely one of my favorite restaurants in Grand Cayman. The food, ambiance, service is consistently excellent. It is truly farm to table and we enjoy looking at the garden where much of the vegetables and fresh herbs are grown. The fish is so fresh, and the menu selections are changed seasonally. No matter how large or small a group, The Brasserie is the best!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.