Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About The Bottle

The Bottle is a non-smoking restaurant that specializes in preparing entrees with classic French techniques using fresh, local ingredients.

***Please contact the restaurant directly if reserving for parties larger than 6.
***If a special or specific table or server request are needed please contact the restaurant directly. Call 256.704.5555

101 Washington St.
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Clinton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 704-5555

Website:
http://www.thebottledowntown.com/

Parking Details:
The Bottle offers complimentary Valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andy Howery and Chef Chris McDonald

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Non-Smoking, Private Room

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

The Bottle is available for private parties of many sizes. We specialize in providing a dining experience for small intimate dinners or business meetings to larger gatherings and parties.

The Bottle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (34)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (6)
Private Room (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (5)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I thought the food was excellent. The owner also brought out his special jambalaya that he made for a local charity. The shrimp my wife had was very tasty and my filet mignonette was cooked to perfection. I would definitely recommend this dining establishment for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The table setting, dinner, drinks were everything that we expected. I have been them several times without any issues. I would recommend this restaruant to all of my friends. An excellent place for anything.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food and atmosphere but a little overpriced. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was truly incredible and the service was really awesome!!!!! Would definitely recommend this restaurant if you have not had a chance to try it.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Wonderful food. Good service. Atmosphere great for dining. Filet was top notch piece of meat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary. The restaurant was very good, food was superb. The wait time was a little slow but still came out before too long. We certainly would recommend the restaurant to anyone wanting a nice dinner. The food was on the expensive side, but worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

A little "tricky" to find (location) but the food was outstanding and the menu offerings
were quite large for a fairly small eatery. They have Valet parking available but we went on
a Monday night so public parking was plentiful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great place for special occasions with incredible food and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Good service, good food, but portions of every serving: cheese platter, salad & filet mignon were small especially for the hefty prices. I usually have left overs, but did not after this dining experience. Will probably not return except for lunch option.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We love coming to the Bottle. Scott is an extraordinary server and always makes sure we have everything we need. He makes it an experience. This time we brought our sister and brother-in-law and they were very impressed and asked that we always take them to the Bottle when they come visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Drove from Birmingham to Huntsville, again, to eat dinner here! In from Miami visiting family in B'ham. She used to live in Huntsville and dinner at The Bottle is always on the itinerary!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Very enjoyable. Food and service great. Recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I was served by a couple of people at the Bottle. Most noteworthy was Shannon. She suggested perfect pairings for the tastes I was after. The cocktail and appetizer she suggested were phenomenal. Everything was fresh and you could taste the skill in every menu item that I tried. I was also very impressed with the pastry chef's dessert. It was an excellent experience and I will definitely spread the word and be returning to the Bottle as soon as possible.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great team meal while in town for conference. Terrific service. Good wine list, great entrees. Fresh fish. Clever entrees with a good southern spin. Excellent dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

What a lovely restaurant! The atmosphere was relaxing, the food was delicious, the wine was perfect! The Sweet Jesus Oysters may have been the best oysters I have ever had the pleasure of tasting. My daughter and I almost fought over who was going to eat the last one! Our waiter, Carey, was friendly and professional. We appreciate the time he took to describe the dishes we had questions about --- he was extremely knowledgeable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Enjoyed very much the time between courses. Was able to complete one course before starting another. We were not rushed and the food was cooked to perfection. We enjoyed the chef coming to the table and visiting with us.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I've eaten here a few times and hope to return as soon as I can. The food is amazing. The drinks came out very quickly and tasted great. The service is superb as you should expect from a fine dining restaurant. The food is prepared in a French style, the dressings are homemade. The salads are amazing. The meat is succulent and tender. I recommend to anyone for a special occasion or if you can afford to be a regular.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Went for birthday dinner with wife and mom. One of the cooks came out and talked to us. Gave us recommendations. Asked what we liked and head different recommendations for each of us. I had the lamb. Awesome! Huge serving. Took some home. Wife and mom had scallops. Cooked correctly - good flavor, firm but not hard. Could have used a touch more spice.

Overall, service was amazing. Food was excellent. Value for what you got was tops. This is maybe the best restaurant for fine dining in Huntsville right now. Great value. We will be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

excellent food and service
great atmosphere *

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food is always excellent. Scott is the best waiter in Huntsville.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Waiter was excellent. Food was excellent. And the experience was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Ordered special bone in ribeye. Nice big steak . But the the Steak was awful. Greasy to taste and consistency. Have not ever had a steak that bad it was worse than a poor pot roast. Let Waitress know . Was offered a free desert. Business dinner of four people. Clearly something wrong with meat. Staff indifferent.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service. No for groups bigger than 6

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

As always, an excellent experience. Kudos to kitchen and wait staff. Food was superb and service was exemplary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Chef Andy always pleases! My husband had the veal chop and it was incredible. The scallops are huge, tender, and always just perfect. The Bottle is consistent in always having great food and great service; even when they are very busy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife and I went for our anniversary. Had a wonderful time. Food and service was great. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Visited The Bottle for Valentine's Day. Reservation was for 7PM. Couples that had reservations between 6PM & 6:30 PM were still waiting when we arrived. Waiting area was very small. Waitress was very nice. Ordered a Pork chop medium well and received it medium rare. Meal was replaced but was VERY bland. None of the food was flavorful. Wasted a glass of water cutting my meat because the table was so raggedy. Chef gave complimentary chocolate strawberries which were the best part of the meal other than the bread and herb butter which was also complimentary. Wouldn't go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food quality and quantity were outstanding although the consistency was marginal; potatoes were both over and undercooked on the same plate. Server was affable yet less than attentive. Worth a return visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food here is always good. Definitely not a restaurant chain. Service is always good. Some of the tables are a little close together. Little pricey but worth it for a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service!
Atmosphere is classy.
$158 for two is on pricey side!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at The Bottle. The steak was perfect. I recommend the Cowboy for a great meal. The Crab cake for an appetizer was great also. We will return like we always do.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine's dinner before a show! Wonderful meal!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We ate at The Bottle for an early Valentine' dinner. We were seated on the 2nd floor, pretty far away from the kitchen. Our waiter was good, but there were temperature issues with my food. The steak was warm, but the mashed potatoes were lukewarm at best, and the broccoli was flat out cold. The waiter offered to take it back to reheat, but we were so far away from the kitchen, I was afraid my husband would have already finished his meal before it came back, so I just ate it cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very good, but expensive.

Didn't like being an 8:00 reservation two top that was clearly sat after an 8:15 reservation two top after 8:15.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Another delicious meal. Early Valentine's date with my love. First time to dine upstairs and really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was good but when you are paying $150 for a meal I expect to it to be some of the best food I've ever had. As far as upscale restaurants in Huntsville I'd recommend 1892 East or Commerce Kitchen ahead of The Bottle.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went to The Bottle for our wedding anniversary. It was Valentine's weekend, so they were packed. They maintained their high level of service and food quality, despite the rush. Always my favorite fine dining spot.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My girlfriend and I decided to visit the bottle for our 5th year anniversary. To keep the review short and sweet, I'll just say it really wasn't anything super special. The pastrami cured tuna appetizer was phenomenal, and the chocolate caramel desert was also great. The main courses on the other hand were fairly average. I had veal chop, with cheese grits and asparagus. My girlfriend had the rack of lamb with mashed potatoes and brussel sprouts. It basically boiled down to everything on the entree menu consisting of a protein, a starch, and vegetables. I think for spending 150+ for drinks, apps, and 2 entrees there should be more variety in whats provided to you. It wasn't terrible, it wasn't amazing. Maybe I had it too talked up by others, but it just didn't do much for me (outside of the app and the desert)

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our group of six had a great meal before a concert at Von Braun. We were seated upstairs which slowed service a bit, but I felt our waiter worked hard to minimize this. Would recommend the Bottle to anyone.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good spot. Decor is lacking. Dining Room is stuffy and out of date. Katy our Server was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.