Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About The Bottle

The Bottle is a non-smoking restaurant that specializes in preparing entrees with classic French techniques using fresh, local ingredients.

***Please contact the restaurant directly if reserving for parties larger than 6.
***If a special or specific table or server request are needed please contact the restaurant directly. Call 256.704.5555

101 Washington St.
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Clinton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 704-5555

Website:
http://www.thebottledowntown.com/

Parking Details:
The Bottle offers complimentary Valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andy Howery and Chef Chris McDonald

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Non-Smoking, Private Room

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Bottle is available for private parties of many sizes. We specialize in providing a dining experience for small intimate dinners or business meetings to larger gatherings and parties.

The Bottle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Romantic (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Business Meals (17)
Cozy (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary at The Bottle. Our server, Conner, was very attentive. Dinner was delicious and the ambiance was great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated our five year anniversary here! We can't say enough about how great it was! Service was amazing and food was phenomenal! Pricy but well worth every penny we spent! I highly recommend this place! :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2017

My husband's rack of lamb dish was outstanding. I enjoyed the okra salad, and everything else was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

We were seated immediately. Which was good. My niece was the last to arrive and when she tried to sit down, the table was in such a position that she had a difficult time getting into her seat.
The waiter was not at his best. He was in a rush the entire time and there was no personal interaction with him. He gave some in the party the wrong check and didn't come back so we could correct it.

There were 6 of us at the table. Five either had fish or scallops and one had filet. Everyone agreed their fish, scallops and filet were good. The brussel sprouts were terrible. They were burned and had too much salt.

I am new to Huntsville and want to experience new restaurants. I have heard nothing but good reviews of The Bottle and I have to say we were disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 11, 2017

We always enjoy going to the Bottle. Scott usually takes care of us, but this time he was working a party upstairs. However, much to our surprise, he worked it out so he could take care of us. Thank you Scott! I had the grouper which was delicious and it had perfect side dishes (etouffe, grits, and fried brussels sprouts). Delish! My husband got the lamb and, as usual, it was prepared perfectly. We will be back soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The restaurant, food and chef were a huge disappointed. Our server was the best part of our visit, but couldn't make up for the tasteless food. There were four of us dining, we ordered two appetizers, one salad, four different entrees in addition to wine, beer and cocktails. The two appetizers, shrimp and tuna, were good but nothing more impressive than you could get at a nationwide chain. The salad was a tiny wedge of iceberg lettuce, the homemade dressing was good but there was barely enough lettuce for the dressing and other toppings. I had the scallop entree, the scallops themselves were great quality and they were not overcooked, the sear was very light but they were good. The scallops came with a mushroom risotto that was gummy and tasted like wallpaper paste. The men in our group ordered steaks, one filet and one ribeye, they had very little to complain about the meat but the pastry bag piped mashed potatoes had become hard on the outside and lacked salt, pepper, butter, cream or any flavor at all. It's says a lot if you can mess up mashed potatoes. The other person in our party order a fish dish, her main reason for ordering was that it was served with a crawfish étouffée, unfortunately she was unable to find a single piece of crawfish in the étouffée. The beer and wine were expensive but good, the cocktails for $14 could have been better and more inventive. We had originally planned to have dessert, we were celebrating a birthday, but decided at this point to cut our losses. Each couple spent $200 after tip, I have had many nice meals but I have never felt I had gotten so little for the money spent before. Also to claim the menu is French inspired, I find that quite a stretch. I have been to France and have dined at many fine French restaurants, and this restaurant left me confused. The chef did visit our table, I only wish we had been served our entrees before he arrived. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone, very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 3, 2017

No question, outstanding, sevice exceptional, attention to detail was first rate.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

The food and service was fabulous! Great way to celebrate my Dad's retirement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

All in all a great meal, I would like to see a better appetizer menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had a group of 16 that went and were accommodated for a special occasion. Madison helped get everything setup and the food and service were exceptional. Not one compliant from anyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We love The Bottle. Elegant atmosphere, great food, excellent service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 18, 2017

The venue, service and everything else was wonderful. The missing link was the quality of the strip steak. It was nice that there was very little gristle and the meat was flavored nicely but the meat itself was a little tough and chewy for the price paid. My wife's filet was fine. She had to send it back once but the response was fast and correct. There are two many other venues in the Huntsville Area that serve a better piece of meat for a lessor price.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We had a lovely dinner and Scott served us. Very enjoyable and the rack of lamb was terrific!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food and service would highly recommend this restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Due to a party down stairs, we were seated upstairs. All the normal Friday night crowd was confined to the small upstairs room. Seating was cramped, as my wife continually elbowed me as she cut her steak. Noise level was loud.

I would recommend asking about seating options prior to making your reservations.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Plan to dine here at least once per month. Finally, found a restaurant I really want to return to regularly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Superb food, service and ambiance. Kudos to the staff.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Had reservations for 6 pm, and we were seated upon arrival. Food was wonderful and portions were generous. Our party had grouper, lamb, pork chop, and chicken and all were delicious. Presentation was super and staff was very attentive. Thanks Chef Andy for making an eight year old feel special on her birthday!!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Service was very attentive and the food was excellent. I started with tomato soup followed by a really creative and delicious berry salad. My entree consisted of scallops over risotto and asparagus, all beautifully cooked. There could have been more dessert choices, but the molten cake I had was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Chef Andy just gets better and better. The black grouper was perfectly prepared and the gazpacho was fantastic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Good food. Stuffy fuddy dud ambiance. Too quiet. Too stuffy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

I took my Wife for our anniversary. Her risotto was crunchy and not completely done. My lamb chops were excellent. Noise carries in the main dining room so it isn't the best place for a quiet dinner. For the money I would have expected perfection with the food.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Though I was dining alone, I thoroughly enjoyed the meal at The Bottle. The wait staff were friendly, informed and attentive but not intrusive. The Pan Seared Georges Bank Scallops were delicious--as fresh tasting as ones we had just-off-the-boat in Nova Scotia--and complemented by the minted pea puree and al dente asparagus. I never waited for service, never felt rushed to leave, even after a second cup of coffee with dessert. A post-dinner concert at Von Braun Center was near enough for a quick shuttle (or an easy half-mile walk).

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Best place in Huntsville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My mother and I had a 6:15 reservation and arrived a bit early. No offer to wait at the bar for a delightful cocktail, we were escorted to the elevator. I guess they put the "not so in" crowd in the desolate upstairs dining area. All alone. At least we had a window seat so there was something to look at. The atmosphere was dated, dull and quiet, make that silent, unlike the lively first level dining room that was not full. The server was good, the food was good but the ambience left much to be desired. Not to mention the descrimination based on appearance could not have been more obvious. I won't be going back anytime soon if ever.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food and the service on a Saturday night were outstanding as usual. Some substitutions for picky eaters in our group were accommodated and that was appreciated. Chef made an appearance at tables also, which was nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Underwhelming.
Food came out cold. Had to send it back for reheat.
And that's all they did. Nuked it up.
Service was ok - they were nice but not always around so to speak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We arrived early and elected to sit at the bar for a cocktail before dinner. The bar is small, only 6 seats, but the bartender was talented and educated on the inventory. We received a delicious watermelon appetizer from the chef that went well with the Grey Goose we were drinking. We moved onto dinner at 8:30 and had a nice table where we could see the other dinner guest. There was a large group behind us that was rather loud, but oh well. The crab cake appetizer was good, nothing super special. The NY Strip and Salmon on the other hand were amazing! Cooked to order and served hot, we loved both dishes. For dessert we shared the Triple Chocolate Dome which as over the top decadent and delicious. My only complaint was the service; it started out great but faltered at the end. The restaurant had mostly cleared out as my date and I were enjoyed a leisurely dinner (ie eating and talking and taking our time) and at one point we were both out of water and cocktails. We waited and waited and just about the time I was ready to go to the bar myself, she appeared. No apology, no mention of her absence, just "what can I get you next". I get that we were her last table and she was probably tired after a long shift, but at a place like this I expect attentive service no matter what. I will go back for sure, and maybe this was a one of incident, but the food well compensated for the service issues.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was a nice evening. The staff was great and the food was wonderful. It was worth the price. It was a good nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

First experience here! Bar specialties were great as well as the local beer selection. Chef started every table with a taste of seasoned watermelon. Fresh. Juicy. Flavorful. I think it was garlic salt and pepper.

We had Spicy Confetti Shrimp and Burgandy Escargot to start. Both were great but the escargot was the winner! Our group of 4 tried the classic, wilted slaw and wedge salads. All were enjoyable and fresh! Entrees of grouper, salmon, rack of lamb and duck breast were well prepared. The duck was the winner! So flavorful and the raspberry sauce was very complimentary. Lamb is not my fav, but my husband raved about it! Grouper was a little over done on the outside but it did not lose moist and tender inside. I didn't think the salsa verde particularly added much to the grouper dish - and it did not even have a kick. Service was excellent and was very relaxed and unhurried. Tables are kind of close and the music was a little louder than I expected lending to louder conversations around us. We will go again for business or special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We love the Bottle. Scott is an amazing server and always goes out of his way to make it an enjoyable experience. My husband and I both got the pasta with cremini mushrooms and lobster. It was so good. Enjoying the leftovers for lunch!

We will continue to be regular diners here because it is one of the best restaurants in Huntsville. We also appreciate the chef bringing out the food and stopping to chat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food was fantastic! I had the cucumber tomato lobster gazpacho, the wilted cabbage salad and the scallops. The only thing I wasn't a huge fan of was the risotto. It had a bit of a floral taste that I didn't care for. They also had this watermelon with a curry seasoning (very light flavor) that they served before the entree. I never would have thought to put those two flavors together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

My husband and I just moved here and this was our first date night! It was a great choice!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The restaurant is awesome! Food is great. We were there for our anniversary and the could not complain about the service or the food. My one issue is with sitting at a table where the table next to be was constantly bumping their chair into my arm. . .some of the seating leaves little to be desired when trying to enjoy a meal at this price point.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We dined at the bottle and enjoyed the creativity of the dishes and the really light batter used to fry some of the foods.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Dined early at 5:30. We were escorted by premium tables and seated in the rear by the kitchen door. Our request for a different table was not accommodated. Premium tables were still unfilled when we finished our meal. The Martini was not made per my instructions. Ordered very dry and it was more dirty than dry. The blue cheese olives were tasty. The wine list was snobby and lacking. Treble and quadruple market prices for a bottle. Ouch! The fried Okra salad was unique and quite good. The salmon was perfectly prepared and proved to be the highlight of the evening. The scallops were tasty but were cool and firm when served. Four scallops left me wanting more. Our server was attentive and pleasant. She provided us a wine taste or two as we were making our wine bottle selection.
All in all it was an enjoyable date night out with my wife. Glad we tried it once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

A downtown Huntsville gem. Parking is the only issue and valet is available. Food is excellent and not anything one would find on a normal everyday eatery. Good for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The Bottle is a great find in downtown Huntsville. The food is fresh, flavorful, and creative. The wait staff is second to none -- attentive, prompt, and delightful. Chefs Chris and Andy put a special touch on simple foods. The okra and heirloom tomato salad is addicting. I can't wait for the menu to change so we can go back and try something new.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was a great change of pace for a wonderful meal. Was a bit pricey but definitely worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food and service are always great. We had the Grouper and it was fantastic. The Wait Staff are very friendly and attentive. We highly recommend The Bottle. It is our favorite for a special date or occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.