About The Bottle

101 Washington St.
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

The Bottle is a non-smoking restaurant that specializes in preparing entrees with classic French techniques using fresh, local ingredients.

***Please contact the restaurant directly if reserving for parties larger than 6.
***If a special or specific table or server request are needed please contact the restaurant directly. Call 256.704.5555

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Clinton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 704-5555

Website:
http://www.thebottledowntown.com/

Parking Details:
The Bottle offers complimentary Valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andy Howery and Chef Chris McDonald

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Non-Smoking, Private Room

Restaurant Photos

  • Tuna - The Bottle, Huntsville, AL
  • Veal Chop - The Bottle, Huntsville, AL
  • Bibb Wedge - The Bottle, Huntsville, AL
Tuna - The Bottle, Huntsville, AL
Veal Chop - The Bottle, Huntsville, AL
Bibb Wedge - The Bottle, Huntsville, AL

Private Dining

The Bottle is available for private parties of many sizes. We specialize in providing a dining experience for small intimate dinners or business meetings to larger gatherings and parties.

The Bottle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Alabama
Best Overall
Huntsville
Best Food
Huntsville
5 More
Best Service
Huntsville
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Romantic (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Private Room (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and wine suggestion from o ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service and wine suggestion from our waiter - the lamb chops were fantastic with a generous portion. We sat close to the door and it was a little chilly but that didn't distract from the dining experience. Returning for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great, good place for romantic ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was great, good place for romantic date night but bring your wallet

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have lived in Huntsville for two years ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I have lived in Huntsville for two years and this is my first time at The Bottle. The atmosphere is great for a date night or out with friends.

I had the pork chop, which is locally sourced in Athens, Alabama. It was very good. I usually get beef but I would over the pork chop again. Overall, the wine, appetizer (cheese plate) and meal did not disappoint.

The service was great as well. Our waiter Scott was attentive and gave great recommendations for wine.

I will definitely go back and would recommend to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to The Bottle to celebrate our 3 ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We went to The Bottle to celebrate our 33rd anniversary and really enjoyed the evening. The food was exceptional as always and the service was outstanding! We will return soon and highly recommend The Bottle!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Waited 15 minutes for a waiter to com ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We Waited 15 minutes for a waiter to come to table. We had to go find someone to wait on us.

Two out of four plates were very good. The pork chops were not grilled. They were covered in a white gravy that disguised the look of the meat. They were tough. There was barely any grits on the plate and six small cubes of vegtables mixed into the gravy. It looked like a dish out of a low end southern restaurant.

For the price we paid, the service and the food level was unexceptable. We have been three times before and everything was excellent. We will give it one more shot and then we will find another place to celebrate special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The Bottle was a great choice for entert ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Bottle was a great choice for entertaining our business guest from Chicago. The food was great. The in-bone ribeye was perfect. My dining companions had the pork chops, which they reported to be outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great little on expensive side. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Food was great little on expensive side. We wanted glass of champagne to celebrate our anniversary but they did not sell by glass. Our waitress was outstanding & she checked with bartender about individual bottles which they had & we decided to have. We should have asked how much they were because when we got the bill they were $25 each!! Wow!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food prep and presentation very good. S ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food prep and presentation very good. Service outstanding. Will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy our trips to The Bottle every t ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We enjoy our trips to The Bottle every time. We are never disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience at The Bottle. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a great experience at The Bottle. The food and service were both great. Portion size was solid, but not huge. We will be making many return visits.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Great Beer, Private Room, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special night out, the food and service ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Special night out, the food and service were great. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu is not vegan friendly. The chef ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The menu is not vegan friendly. The chef did make a pasta though. But there was cheese on the salad. Overall, a nice restaurant but not really vegan friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got seated by the bar area of the dinin ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Got seated by the bar area of the dining area. It was very noisy and extremely dark. Had to use a flashlight to the menu. Service and food were delicious, but the people in the bar area had too to drink and were loud and obnoxious spoiled the ambience. Too much to pay for that type of atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our first visit to The Bottle. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our first visit to The Bottle. We had a reservation on what appeared to.be not-so-busy night. We were immediately taken to a table that shared a bench with another few tables, right next to another couple and with a lovely view of the restrooms. We said something to the host and another host came back and said we were "mistakenly" placed at that table and moved us to one just across from it (thankfully, neither with the feeling of sharing our meal with another couple nor the front-row view of the restrooms.). Once the seating was settled, we had a lovely evening--the food, service and wine were excellent. Glad we stayed --it was an enjoyable evening overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We recently dined at The Bottle for the ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We recently dined at The Bottle for the first time, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was perfect, the food was amazing, and the service was impeccable. Poshan was our server, and he was top-notch. So good in fact , that we will request him as our server next time. So- we will be back! and we have already recommended The Bottle to our friends too :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great; the Chef was outstanding ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was great; the Chef was outstanding, he came out and dialogued with the customers in very friendly, family, and business matter. The ambiance is second to none!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great night with friends, great ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We had a great night with friends, great food, great wine and attentive knowledgeable service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our favorite restaurant in Huntsville. W ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Huntsville. When we really wish to step out, this is where we dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent have eaten there before will b ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent have eaten there before will be going back. They sat us at a great table where we were not on top of other guests. Food excellent best scallops I have had in a long time wife had the salmon excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We visited The Bottle on a Girls Night O ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We visited The Bottle on a Girls Night Out to celebrate my daughter's 30th birthday. We had a wonderful evening and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, the mood is good, the server' ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2016

As always, the mood is good, the server's attitude is great, and the taste is amazing. Grilled New York strip was the best one in what I've ever had. I really appreciate for your all excellent services.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated as soon as we arrived per reserva ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Seated as soon as we arrived per reservations... A lot of tables in a small amount of space for my liking... Very pleasant staff and service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never had a bad meal at The Bottle! Gr ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Never had a bad meal at The Bottle! Great food and great staff!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We received a gift card from my husband' ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We received a gift card from my husband's employer for our Anniversary. The Service was wonderful and the Food was Wonderful! We really liked the Crab cake for the appetizer! It was so yummy my husband would have actually liked it for his meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best meals we have enjoyed re ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 24, 2016

One of the best meals we have enjoyed recently. Food and service were superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Josh was the best waiter.......and offer ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Josh was the best waiter.......and offered us to taste between two bottles of wine before choosing. He was most attentive, as was the whole staff- loved The Bottle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

As always, Scott (our server) was awesom ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 30, 2016

As always, Scott (our server) was awesome. I tried the venison and was not disappointed. The smokes lemon whiskey sour was pretty amazing as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were great. Always enjo ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food and service were great. Always enjoy being there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding. My wife has ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything was outstanding. My wife has had some serious medical issues, so this was our first night out in awhile and it did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The only thing that bothered me and my p ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The only thing that bothered me and my party was when we asked for "to go" boxes, a guy different from our waiter took our plates and came back with 2 brown bags with nothing distinguishing who's was who's. This was a very difficult situation b/c I was experiencing allergy/cold symptoms, and my friend didn't want to eat after me, nor I her. We don't do that, and we ate about the same, therefore we couldn't eat our leftovers, which we know included 2 scallops on each plate. The made us very disappointed b/c we wanted to bag our own food for that very reason. So virtually half of our plates were thrown out. We will insist on bagging our own food from now on!!!

Still plan on returning and scheduling through Open Table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Salads are unique and very good. Filet ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Salads are unique and very good. Filet mignon was cooked medium rare, as requested and was very tender. Excellent mashed potatoes and gravy. Reminded me of my Mom's. Wife's scallops were excellent. She loved the couscous. Had creme brûlée' for dessert which was also excellent. Extensive wine list but pricier than other restaurants. Nice selection of craft beer and priced similar as other local restaurants. One negative is Seating is not conducive to having an intimate or romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food! We have been to the restaur ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food! We have been to the restaurant twice in the past month to celebrate birthdays. The Filet Mignon was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was pricey, but amazing! We had ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was pricey, but amazing! We had an early reservation so the chef took the time to go over the whole menu with us and then invited us to go back and see his kitchen. He brought out a couple of appetizers for us to taste while we waited for our order. Chef Andy came back to our table several times during our meal to see if we were satisfied and to answer any questions. The restaurant quietly filled up around us and by the time we left, the restaurant was full. Not an every day place to eat, but this tops the list for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious, good size portio ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was delicious, good size portions. Our waitress Jennifer was awesome and very attentive but not too much where you might feel uncomfortable. Even the chef came around to tables to check on his food. Very nice way to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food, loved the atmosphere. G ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Loved the food, loved the atmosphere. Great service. Nice surprise. Food cooked to perfection. Fried okra salad was delicate and fresh - absolutely wonderful. Could have made it a meal. Everything was prepared to perfection with great attention to detail. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My guest requested a vegan dinner and th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My guest requested a vegan dinner and the chef Andy concocted the most perfect vegan delight for her. Andy came by the table and checked on how she liked it and if there was anything else she needed. Kudos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as usual, free ange chicken past ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing as usual, free ange chicken pasta and he creme brulé were perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just moved to Huntsville and had no k ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We just moved to Huntsville and had no knowledge of the food scene. After doing an internet search and reading reviews, we decided to give the Bottle a try. Boy are we glad we did! The food was so delicious, the head chef came out and talked to us, and our server with 27 years experience (Scott) was fabulous. We will definitely be regular diners there for years to come.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was outstanding!! Food was ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service was outstanding!! Food was very good. Napa Cabbage was very good. Only down point was that two of my wife's scallops were over seared. Desert was very good also. Cost is a bit high for regular night out but good for special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it and Scott is excellent!!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love it and Scott is excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.