About The Bottle

101 Washington St.
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

The Bottle is a non-smoking restaurant that specializes in preparing entrees with classic French techniques using fresh, local ingredients.

***Please contact the restaurant directly if reserving for parties larger than 6.
***If a special or specific table or server request are needed please contact the restaurant directly. Call 256.704.5555

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Clinton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 704-5555

Website:
http://www.thebottledowntown.com/

Parking Details:
The Bottle offers complimentary Valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andy Howery and Chef Chris McDonald

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Non-Smoking, Private Room

Restaurant Photos

  • Tuna - The Bottle, Huntsville, AL
  • Veal Chop - The Bottle, Huntsville, AL
  • Bibb Wedge - The Bottle, Huntsville, AL

Report a photo problem

Tuna - The Bottle, Huntsville, AL
Veal Chop - The Bottle, Huntsville, AL
Bibb Wedge - The Bottle, Huntsville, AL

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

The Bottle is available for private parties of many sizes. We specialize in providing a dining experience for small intimate dinners or business meetings to larger gatherings and parties.

The Bottle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Private Room (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Disappointed. Ambiance - Excellent. Se ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Disappointed. Ambiance - Excellent. Service - Excellent. Appetizers/salad - excellent. House Mae Old Fashioned - excellent. Main Course, Mediocre at best. Scallops cooked nicely but served with a glob of cous-cous and too much over cooked asparagus thrown on top to camouflage the mound of course-cous. Chicken over cooked and dried out spread on top of too muc pasta. Terrible looking presentation. We expected a lot better for the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I took my wife here for her Birthday and ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

I took my wife here for her Birthday and she loved it. She had the Duck which was awesome and I had the lamb which was great. We had a nice bottle of Charles Krug which made the meal over the top. Will be back soon. I found a great place my wife loves. Thanks to the chef whom came out and checked on our meal and even topped off our wine glass.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were 4 of us and all the meals wer ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

There were 4 of us and all the meals were great. I had the Sous Vide Lamb Chops and it's by far the best lamb chops I've ever had.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. Meals had outstanding f ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was great. Meals had outstanding flavor and creative pairings. Service was very good. Our table was towards the back and our waitress turned down the overhead music for us. Chef was courteous and proud in his menu. Dessert was amazing. Definitely worth the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, great atmosphere, and ve ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food, great atmosphere, and very good service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

sat looking at the restrooms and the hal ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

sat looking at the restrooms and the hall to the kitchen.

Every wait staff had to come right by us.

I ordered Veal that was tough and fatty.

Didn't know that was possible.

Wife ordered pork chops. Pretty tough also. Side item was not what she ordered.

Waiter said we had the wrong menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

My husband and I went on New Years Eve a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I went on New Years Eve and it was very busy. Our waiter offered us dessert menus before our entrees arrived and seemed just a bit flighty - every table around us was given vouchers for champagne at the adjoining property but he didn't even offer to us. Food was very good though my filet came out rare, not the medium I had requested. We'll go back on a quieter night.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and servi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and service. The only thing I didn't understand is that there were only two of us and we were sat at a table for four. When we arrived at 5, there were two tables available for two at the window (which I had requested ) and we were sat at a table for 4 anyway. A waste of space to me and it looks like my request could have been accommodated. We made the most of it though and enjoyed our meal and time together.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The Bottle never disappoints. Chef Andy ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Bottle never disappoints. Chef Andy does a fabulous job. Everyone is always friendly and very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would have given a five star for food bu ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Would have given a five star for food but food was not hot just warm when served.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, staff, and location! Could n ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food, staff, and location! Could not have enjoyed the meal more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to The Bottle a few times ove ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We've been to The Bottle a few times over the past months and have never been disappointed with the quality and innovation of the choices of meals for dinner. This visit was another great experience! The oysters were excellent and the New Zealand venison was prepared in a unique style which was so tasty. This was our first visit with a younger child (8 years old) which I wouldn't recommend simply because the food is built for a more mature palate. I continue to believe this is one of the best places to dine in the Huntsville area and will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The $80 32-oz. Cowboy Ribeye is the best ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The $80 32-oz. Cowboy Ribeye is the best steak in Huntsville (by far) and among the best I've had in the U.S. It's even ahead of places like Keen's, Sparks, and Minetta Tavern in NYC, and it beats any Vegas steak I've had (Craftsteak and Del Frisco's being my two most recent).

A word of warning: get the sauce (and butter) on the side. The sauces at The Bottle frankly ruin the high-quality meats with harsh flavors and too much salt. The sides are boring. Very good service.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was by far one of the best meals th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This was by far one of the best meals that we've been served in a while. We are a regular at several of the upscale restaurants in downtown Huntsville but The Bottle just took over as our favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to the Bottle for my birthday. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went to the Bottle for my birthday. Having been there before, we were pleased to be able to get reservations relatively close to Christmas. The food was, as expected, excellent; my wife had the pan seared scallops, I had the pan fried grouper with crawfish Etoufe. Both were prepared perfectly.

We don't go out frequently, so we try to pick a restaurant that is special. The Bottle fits that category well. Valet parking is almost a must, but that was also seamless. All in all, a wonderful experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

chef came by table often to chat and see ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 16, 2016

chef came by table often to chat and see how dinner was going and he brought us a special salad of the day on the house. food was excellent

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, , Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and wine suggestion from o ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great service and wine suggestion from our waiter - the lamb chops were fantastic with a generous portion. We sat close to the door and it was a little chilly but that didn't distract from the dining experience. Returning for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great, good place for romantic ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was great, good place for romantic date night but bring your wallet

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have lived in Huntsville for two years ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I have lived in Huntsville for two years and this is my first time at The Bottle. The atmosphere is great for a date night or out with friends.

I had the pork chop, which is locally sourced in Athens, Alabama. It was very good. I usually get beef but I would over the pork chop again. Overall, the wine, appetizer (cheese plate) and meal did not disappoint.

The service was great as well. Our waiter Scott was attentive and gave great recommendations for wine.

I will definitely go back and would recommend to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to The Bottle to celebrate our 3 ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We went to The Bottle to celebrate our 33rd anniversary and really enjoyed the evening. The food was exceptional as always and the service was outstanding! We will return soon and highly recommend The Bottle!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Waited 15 minutes for a waiter to com ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We Waited 15 minutes for a waiter to come to table. We had to go find someone to wait on us.

Two out of four plates were very good. The pork chops were not grilled. They were covered in a white gravy that disguised the look of the meat. They were tough. There was barely any grits on the plate and six small cubes of vegtables mixed into the gravy. It looked like a dish out of a low end southern restaurant.

For the price we paid, the service and the food level was unexceptable. We have been three times before and everything was excellent. We will give it one more shot and then we will find another place to celebrate special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The Bottle was a great choice for entert ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Bottle was a great choice for entertaining our business guest from Chicago. The food was great. The in-bone ribeye was perfect. My dining companions had the pork chops, which they reported to be outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great little on expensive side. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Food was great little on expensive side. We wanted glass of champagne to celebrate our anniversary but they did not sell by glass. Our waitress was outstanding & she checked with bartender about individual bottles which they had & we decided to have. We should have asked how much they were because when we got the bill they were $25 each!! Wow!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food prep and presentation very good. S ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food prep and presentation very good. Service outstanding. Will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy our trips to The Bottle every t ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We enjoy our trips to The Bottle every time. We are never disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience at The Bottle. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a great experience at The Bottle. The food and service were both great. Portion size was solid, but not huge. We will be making many return visits.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Great Beer, Private Room, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special night out, the food and service ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Special night out, the food and service were great. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu is not vegan friendly. The chef ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The menu is not vegan friendly. The chef did make a pasta though. But there was cheese on the salad. Overall, a nice restaurant but not really vegan friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got seated by the bar area of the dinin ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Got seated by the bar area of the dining area. It was very noisy and extremely dark. Had to use a flashlight to the menu. Service and food were delicious, but the people in the bar area had too to drink and were loud and obnoxious spoiled the ambience. Too much to pay for that type of atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our first visit to The Bottle. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our first visit to The Bottle. We had a reservation on what appeared to.be not-so-busy night. We were immediately taken to a table that shared a bench with another few tables, right next to another couple and with a lovely view of the restrooms. We said something to the host and another host came back and said we were "mistakenly" placed at that table and moved us to one just across from it (thankfully, neither with the feeling of sharing our meal with another couple nor the front-row view of the restrooms.). Once the seating was settled, we had a lovely evening--the food, service and wine were excellent. Glad we stayed --it was an enjoyable evening overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We recently dined at The Bottle for the ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We recently dined at The Bottle for the first time, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was perfect, the food was amazing, and the service was impeccable. Poshan was our server, and he was top-notch. So good in fact , that we will request him as our server next time. So- we will be back! and we have already recommended The Bottle to our friends too :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great; the Chef was outstanding ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was great; the Chef was outstanding, he came out and dialogued with the customers in very friendly, family, and business matter. The ambiance is second to none!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great night with friends, great ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We had a great night with friends, great food, great wine and attentive knowledgeable service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our favorite restaurant in Huntsville. W ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Huntsville. When we really wish to step out, this is where we dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent have eaten there before will b ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent have eaten there before will be going back. They sat us at a great table where we were not on top of other guests. Food excellent best scallops I have had in a long time wife had the salmon excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We visited The Bottle on a Girls Night O ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We visited The Bottle on a Girls Night Out to celebrate my daughter's 30th birthday. We had a wonderful evening and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, the mood is good, the server' ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2016

As always, the mood is good, the server's attitude is great, and the taste is amazing. Grilled New York strip was the best one in what I've ever had. I really appreciate for your all excellent services.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never had a bad meal at The Bottle! Gr ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Never had a bad meal at The Bottle! Great food and great staff!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Seated as soon as we arrived per reserva ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Seated as soon as we arrived per reservations... A lot of tables in a small amount of space for my liking... Very pleasant staff and service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.