About The Bottle

101 Washington St.
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

The Bottle is a non-smoking restaurant that specializes in preparing entrees with classic French techniques using fresh, local ingredients.

***Please contact the restaurant directly if reserving for parties larger than 6.
***If a special or specific table or server request are needed please contact the restaurant directly. Call 256.704.5555

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Clinton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 704-5555

Website:
http://www.thebottledowntown.com/

Parking Details:
The Bottle offers complimentary Valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andy Howery and Chef Chris McDonald

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Non-Smoking, Private Room

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

The Bottle is available for private parties of many sizes. We specialize in providing a dining experience for small intimate dinners or business meetings to larger gatherings and parties.

The Bottle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Romantic (26)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Business Meals (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Private Room (5)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
397 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I went for our anniversary. Had a wonderful time. Food and service was great. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Visited The Bottle for Valentine's Day. Reservation was for 7PM. Couples that had reservations between 6PM & 6:30 PM were still waiting when we arrived. Waiting area was very small. Waitress was very nice. Ordered a Pork chop medium well and received it medium rare. Meal was replaced but was VERY bland. None of the food was flavorful. Wasted a glass of water cutting my meat because the table was so raggedy. Chef gave complimentary chocolate strawberries which were the best part of the meal other than the bread and herb butter which was also complimentary. Wouldn't go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food quality and quantity were outstanding although the consistency was marginal; potatoes were both over and undercooked on the same plate. Server was affable yet less than attentive. Worth a return visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food here is always good. Definitely not a restaurant chain. Service is always good. Some of the tables are a little close together. Little pricey but worth it for a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service!

Atmosphere is classy.

$158 for two is on pricey side!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at The Bottle. The steak was perfect. I recommend the Cowboy for a great meal. The Crab cake for an appetizer was great also. We will return like we always do.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine's dinner before a show! Wonderful meal!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We ate at The Bottle for an early Valentine' dinner. We were seated on the 2nd floor, pretty far away from the kitchen. Our waiter was good, but there were temperature issues with my food. The steak was warm, but the mashed potatoes were lukewarm at best, and the broccoli was flat out cold. The waiter offered to take it back to reheat, but we were so far away from the kitchen, I was afraid my husband would have already finished his meal before it came back, so I just ate it cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very good, but expensive.

Didn't like being an 8:00 reservation two top that was clearly sat after an 8:15 reservation two top after 8:15.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Another delicious meal. Early Valentine's date with my love. First time to dine upstairs and really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was good but when you are paying $150 for a meal I expect to it to be some of the best food I've ever had. As far as upscale restaurants in Huntsville I'd recommend 1892 East or Commerce Kitchen ahead of The Bottle.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went to The Bottle for our wedding anniversary. It was Valentine's weekend, so they were packed. They maintained their high level of service and food quality, despite the rush. Always my favorite fine dining spot.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My girlfriend and I decided to visit the bottle for our 5th year anniversary. To keep the review short and sweet, I'll just say it really wasn't anything super special. The pastrami cured tuna appetizer was phenomenal, and the chocolate caramel desert was also great. The main courses on the other hand were fairly average. I had veal chop, with cheese grits and asparagus. My girlfriend had the rack of lamb with mashed potatoes and brussel sprouts. It basically boiled down to everything on the entree menu consisting of a protein, a starch, and vegetables. I think for spending 150+ for drinks, apps, and 2 entrees there should be more variety in whats provided to you. It wasn't terrible, it wasn't amazing. Maybe I had it too talked up by others, but it just didn't do much for me (outside of the app and the desert)

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our group of six had a great meal before a concert at Von Braun. We were seated upstairs which slowed service a bit, but I felt our waiter worked hard to minimize this. Would recommend the Bottle to anyone.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good spot. Decor is lacking. Dining Room is stuffy and out of date. Katy our Server was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This was our 3rd time going to The Bottle and we have never been disappointed. Definitely in our top 2 restaurants in Huntsville. Scott is an amazing server and he always makes us feel special. Thank you Chef Andy for bringing out our appetizers. We will be back soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Outstanding service, food and ambiance. First time customer based on recommendations from friends. Wife and I celebrating our anniversary. We will definitely return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

great service, great food, very nice night! We sat at a table for two with a street view.

Nice for conversation and scenery. My wife started with the Shrimp Martini that had 6 or so very large shrimp with an avocado salsa sauce. It was incredible. Next we had the fried okra and tomato salad. Interesting salad concept but it worked like it was meant to be. The Okra was sliced lengthwise and fried, the heirloom tomatoes were sliced in half and placed over lettuce. The salad was sprinkled with balsamic vinaigrette. The next course was a grilled pork chop on cheese grits and summer vegetables for my wife and I had the rack of lamb. Both dishes were large portions and were cooked to perfection. Could not have asked for any better main dishes. We closed the night off with the chocolate dome. White Chocolate cake resting in caramel and then a hot chocolate sauce poured over it. Great ending to a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

First trip to the Bottle. We've wanted to go for awhile, but finally made time. We were seated quickly, and our drink orders were prompt. Both meals were delicious. I got the scallops and they let me sub the parm grits. Wife got the filet and it was cooked perfectly. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 26, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Huntsville, hands down. You definitely pay a premium, but the food is fantastic, and the service is impeccable. The chef ventured into the dining room multiple times to check on everyone's meals.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Wonderful evening. Server was knowledgeable, not overly present. Prices too high for the food, seriously, but when combined with the ambience, it was fine. I had the New York...very large, perfectly cooked. Mashed potatoes were just mashed potatoes. My wife had the scallops, which were well prepared but for whatever reason tasted noticeably salty. Wine list is robust enough to suit most tastes. This was our first visit and it will stay on our list but we hope the next visit is a little better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great experience! The food and service were absolutely amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 17, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 38th Anniversary at the Bottle, we had the Lamb, and the chef did an amazing job with our meal. Poshan was our waiter, he was so very nice and very knowledgeable about the menu, if we asked him a question, he didn't just blurt out anything, if he didn't know the answer, he went and found us the answers. we really enjoyed our conversation with him and our night at the Bottle. We would definitely come back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Disappointed. Ambiance - Excellent. Service - Excellent. Appetizers/salad - excellent. House Mae Old Fashioned - excellent. Main Course, Mediocre at best. Scallops cooked nicely but served with a glob of cous-cous and too much over cooked asparagus thrown on top to camouflage the mound of course-cous. Chicken over cooked and dried out spread on top of too muc pasta. Terrible looking presentation. We expected a lot better for the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I took my wife here for her Birthday and she loved it. She had the Duck which was awesome and I had the lamb which was great. We had a nice bottle of Charles Krug which made the meal over the top. Will be back soon. I found a great place my wife loves. Thanks to the chef whom came out and checked on our meal and even topped off our wine glass.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

There were 4 of us and all the meals were great. I had the Sous Vide Lamb Chops and it's by far the best lamb chops I've ever had.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was great. Meals had outstanding flavor and creative pairings. Service was very good. Our table was towards the back and our waitress turned down the overhead music for us. Chef was courteous and proud in his menu. Dessert was amazing. Definitely worth the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food, great atmosphere, and very good service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

sat looking at the restrooms and the hall to the kitchen.

Every wait staff had to come right by us.

I ordered Veal that was tough and fatty.

Didn't know that was possible.

Wife ordered pork chops. Pretty tough also. Side item was not what she ordered.

Waiter said we had the wrong menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I went on New Years Eve and it was very busy. Our waiter offered us dessert menus before our entrees arrived and seemed just a bit flighty - every table around us was given vouchers for champagne at the adjoining property but he didn't even offer to us. Food was very good though my filet came out rare, not the medium I had requested. We'll go back on a quieter night.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and service. The only thing I didn't understand is that there were only two of us and we were sat at a table for four. When we arrived at 5, there were two tables available for two at the window (which I had requested ) and we were sat at a table for 4 anyway. A waste of space to me and it looks like my request could have been accommodated. We made the most of it though and enjoyed our meal and time together.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Bottle never disappoints. Chef Andy does a fabulous job. Everyone is always friendly and very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Would have given a five star for food but food was not hot just warm when served.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food, staff, and location! Could not have enjoyed the meal more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We've been to The Bottle a few times over the past months and have never been disappointed with the quality and innovation of the choices of meals for dinner. This visit was another great experience! The oysters were excellent and the New Zealand venison was prepared in a unique style which was so tasty. This was our first visit with a younger child (8 years old) which I wouldn't recommend simply because the food is built for a more mature palate. I continue to believe this is one of the best places to dine in the Huntsville area and will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The $80 32-oz. Cowboy Ribeye is the best steak in Huntsville (by far) and among the best I've had in the U.S. It's even ahead of places like Keen's, Sparks, and Minetta Tavern in NYC, and it beats any Vegas steak I've had (Craftsteak and Del Frisco's being my two most recent).

A word of warning: get the sauce (and butter) on the side. The sauces at The Bottle frankly ruin the high-quality meats with harsh flavors and too much salt. The sides are boring. Very good service.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This was by far one of the best meals that we've been served in a while. We are a regular at several of the upscale restaurants in downtown Huntsville but The Bottle just took over as our favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went to the Bottle for my birthday. Having been there before, we were pleased to be able to get reservations relatively close to Christmas. The food was, as expected, excellent; my wife had the pan seared scallops, I had the pan fried grouper with crawfish Etoufe. Both were prepared perfectly.

We don't go out frequently, so we try to pick a restaurant that is special. The Bottle fits that category well. Valet parking is almost a must, but that was also seamless. All in all, a wonderful experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 16, 2016

chef came by table often to chat and see how dinner was going and he brought us a special salad of the day on the house. food was excellent

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great service and wine suggestion from our waiter - the lamb chops were fantastic with a generous portion. We sat close to the door and it was a little chilly but that didn't distract from the dining experience. Returning for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was great, good place for romantic date night but bring your wallet

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I have lived in Huntsville for two years and this is my first time at The Bottle. The atmosphere is great for a date night or out with friends.

I had the pork chop, which is locally sourced in Athens, Alabama. It was very good. I usually get beef but I would over the pork chop again. Overall, the wine, appetizer (cheese plate) and meal did not disappoint.

The service was great as well. Our waiter Scott was attentive and gave great recommendations for wine.

I will definitely go back and would recommend to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We went to The Bottle to celebrate our 33rd anniversary and really enjoyed the evening. The food was exceptional as always and the service was outstanding! We will return soon and highly recommend The Bottle!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We Waited 15 minutes for a waiter to come to table. We had to go find someone to wait on us.

Two out of four plates were very good. The pork chops were not grilled. They were covered in a white gravy that disguised the look of the meat. They were tough. There was barely any grits on the plate and six small cubes of vegtables mixed into the gravy. It looked like a dish out of a low end southern restaurant.

For the price we paid, the service and the food level was unexceptable. We have been three times before and everything was excellent. We will give it one more shot and then we will find another place to celebrate special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Bottle was a great choice for entertaining our business guest from Chicago. The food was great. The in-bone ribeye was perfect. My dining companions had the pork chops, which they reported to be outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Food was great little on expensive side. We wanted glass of champagne to celebrate our anniversary but they did not sell by glass. Our waitress was outstanding & she checked with bartender about individual bottles which they had & we decided to have. We should have asked how much they were because when we got the bill they were $25 each!! Wow!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food prep and presentation very good. Service outstanding. Will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We enjoy our trips to The Bottle every time. We are never disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a great experience at The Bottle. The food and service were both great. Portion size was solid, but not huge. We will be making many return visits.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Great Beer, Private Room, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.