About The Bottle

101 Washington St.
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

The Bottle is a non-smoking restaurant that specializes in preparing entrees with classic French techniques using fresh, local ingredients.

***Please contact the restaurant directly if reserving for parties larger than 6.
***If a special or specific table or server request are needed please contact the restaurant directly. Call 256.704.5555

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Clinton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 704-5555

Website:
http://www.thebottledowntown.com/

Parking Details:
The Bottle offers complimentary Valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andy Howery and Chef Chris McDonald

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

The Bottle is available for private parties of many sizes. We specialize in providing a dining experience for small intimate dinners or business meetings to larger gatherings and parties.

The Bottle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Huntsville
Best Food
Huntsville
Best Service
Huntsville
5 More
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Romantic
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

special occasion (42)
fit for foodies (28)
romantic (26)
See All
notable wine list (18)
neighborhood gem (6)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The Bottle is, without a doubt, the fine ...

Dined 3 days ago

The Bottle is, without a doubt, the finest eating establishment in downtown Huntsville. The menu is unique and everything we ordered was memorable. Service was impeccable and personal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The best restaurant by far in Huntsville ...

Dined 5 days ago

The best restaurant by far in Huntsville and beyond. Pricey but wekl worth it. Service is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business Dinner

Dined on May 13, 2016

Staff was great and the food fantastic...one in our party had the Cowboy Ribeye – Best steak he ever had!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch...Winner!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful Mother's Day brunch. Our reservation was early in the day and allowed us to eat leisurely and have great discussions with our server who was awesome. The food was excellent as usual. We will always consider The Bottle for a special event meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good service and a neat atmosphere.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very good service and a neat atmosphere.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The Bottle

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great spot for a quiet, romantic dinner. It took a couple of attempts to get the apps and filet cooked properly, but in the end the food was delicious. Service was great. I will definitely spend my next special occasion at the Bottle.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night

Dined on April 29, 2016

I brought my folks here when they were in town visiting . We had the thai blue crab salad, which was new to the menu for this night. Everyone agreed it had great flavor and balance. My parents, self proclaimed foodies with extremely critical palettes, loved everything (we got the Filet, Scallops, Chicken Pasta, and Scamp (seasonal fish dish of the night)). Thanks Chef Andy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

It was really cold in there, and I was u ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was really cold in there, and I was unable to completely enjoy my food.

food5
ambience5
service5

As always this trip to The Bottle did no ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

As always this trip to The Bottle did not disappoint! From the cocktails, to the main course, to dessert, our service and food were impeccable. Thank you again for another wonderful night!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bottle never disappoints on quality.

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our sixth trip to The Bottle and it remains our favorite Huntsville restaurant. They have an extensive wine list but we tend to take advantage of the corking fee and bring our own. We both ordered the veal chop, our favorite, and the chef only had one remaining so he personally came out and explained before taking our alternate order. He even offered us complimentary dessert and coffee for the trouble. The food came out reasonably quickly and was delicious as always. Our server was new to the area, but obviously not new to taking care of diners. Everything was perfect, especially the fried okra and heirloom salad, crab cake, and veal chop. They really got the lighting, atmosphere, and menu right when the Bottle was created. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Good, but not excellent

Dined on March 25, 2016

When you go out to a restaurant and spend a good amount of money, you expect the food to be really amazing. It was good, but it wasn't excellent. My husband had the snapper and I had the filet mignon. My steak was much better than his fish, but was served with mashed potato and steamed broccoli, neither of which were prepared in a special manner. We selected the crab cake for our appetizer, which was good, and had the triple chocolate desert, which was ok. The chocolate aspects were tasty, but for some reason they tossed plain popcorn on top which did not remotely fit the atmosphere or meal. It was like an after thought. "I know, toss some popcorn on top!". We ate around it. Again, the food was good, but it wasn't the level of Connors or even Grill 29.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best in Town

Dined on March 25, 2016

The Bottle is consistently the best dining experience in Huntsville. You will pay for the pleasure, but the food, service, drinks, and overall atmosphere are superior to all other options.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a very, very good restaurant exp ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

This is a very, very good restaurant experience. We had six for a business dinner. So lots of food selections, yet everything came out on time and tasted great. One colleague is a vegan and she had a delightful and tasty meal also. The chef stopped by and actually talked with us, not just a quick "drive by" greeting. Pretty rooms, but not opulent. Thus while the menu is pricey, you don't have to bust your budget.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and fabulous service!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Delicious food and fabulous service!

food5
ambience5
service5

I had the duck breast and duck sausage, ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

I had the duck breast and duck sausage, while my wife had the prime rib. The duck breast was a bit gamey, but that is to be expected. The sausage was divine! So tender and juicy! My wife's prime rib was unparalleled. It melted in one's mouth like butter. The experience was pricey compared to our typical outing, but you certainly get what you pay for. We shall return!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best in Huntsville for the catagory

Dined on February 27, 2016

This is not a cheap place, but you get what you pay for. I've had steak here as well as fish. Both were some of the best I've ever eaten anywhere. My only complaint was being seated at one of the high tables in the bar. These are not the best seats. There is a round booth in the bar that is pretty cool! Request that if it is available.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointing.....

Dined on February 27, 2016

We went to The Bottle for a preview for a large group event that would have been about 50 people. First, we reserved the table for 4 at midday for that evening. I love reserving a table through open table it is so easy. We arrived about 25-30 minutes early and said we could wait or be seated whichever was best for them since our friends had not arrived. The hostess went ahead and seated us...in the very back against a wall where the servers were doing something that kept hitting the wall behind where we were sitting throughout the entire meal. I asked about a seat at one of the many tables that were open nearer to the front when we were seated and we were told they were all reserved specifically by the table location. I did not see that option on the open table reservation. After being seated we order some wine. When our friends arrived we ordered more wine and then ordered our meal. After our main course, we requested coffee and Andy's Mom's Pecan Pie, The Bottle's Bread Pudding and Cream Brule. The server never offered additional wine or coffee or for that matter even water. The restaurant was basically empty but was not even close to closing time and we were totally ignored. Our meal was $400. between 4 people and we were so disappointed with the service and the way we were treated. We will never go there again and will discourage everyone we know. I expected so much better from this supposedly fine dining location. Next time, we will go to Outback, the food, the price and the service are so much better. What a huge disappointment!

food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Horrible Valentine’s Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

The table, where we were seated, was in close proximity to other guests and tables (8-10 inches from the tables to the left and right). I had to turn sideways just to get to the seat in the back and could not find space to remove my coat. We noticed the table was in disarray (silverware out of place, water glasses partially filled and the napkins were balled up). It took 10 minutes to get the table cleared after repeatedly asking for a clean napkins and silverware. While waiting for the table to be cleared, we noticed a cold draft blowing through the dining room. After 5 minutes of artic wind, I asked the hostess if we could be moved. We were rudely informed we could not be moved and that the cold draft would stop in 15-20 minutes. Considering how cold the draft was, I was amazed at this answer. The draft persisted throughout our dining experience. When the waitress arrived to take our drink and appetizer orders, we had not received water or bread. The waitress was blatantly rude throughout the night and failed to even keep our water glasses filled. Our salads were delivered to the table next to us. We informed the wait staff that they had the wrong table and our salads were dumped on our table without an apology. We choose to split an entrée (this seemed to upset the waitress) and service continued to decline. When our meal was delivered it was nothing like the description on the menu and extremely disappointing. Throughout our meal, our drinks were almost knocked over three times, when the wait staff attempted to squeeze between tables to deliver food to other customers. The repeated highlight of the night was having someone’s backside less than 8 inches from my food and face. Overall, the wait staff seemed to be disjointed and grumpy. Based on the overall cost of the night, my money would have been better spent at a fast food chain. The food quality would have been comparable and the service would have been better.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Service was very disappointing.

Dined on February 14, 2016

This is the 4th time we have eaten at The Bottle and the 2nd time we've been for Valentines. This year we were seated upstairs. We could not have been more upset/disappointed with our experience. The service was awful. The service at Applebee's is better than what we recieved. If we wanted a refill we had to ask for it, but only when we could flag down a passing waitress or waiter. If we needed bread we had to ask 4 different people to get it. We had to wait 20-30 minutes for a glass of wine. Because our experiences were so great in the past we were shocked at how bad it was. Food was great as always but part of what you are paying for is also the service. Very disappointing. They seemed to be under staffed for the occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice place downtown for special occasions

Dined on February 13, 2016

I had the NY Strip and it was cooked to perfection but the flavoring was lacking a little. We sat in the bar area so it was a little louder but wasn't awful. Server was very attentive and helped make sense of everything on the menu. Very knowledgable about all of their dishes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great for Foodies, but not for service sticklers

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was awesome. I really appreciated how he offers what appears to be a changing menu. Also quite an excellent menu. Courteous staff. Bottleneck at the host station, elevator, and sometimes long waits between courses will tick off the service sticklers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Good food, poor service

Dined on February 12, 2016

We visited on a weeknight and were disappointed with the service. Long waits for drinks and between courses that came out of order. We were served our salads, then bread (after asking several times), then the amuse bouche right before our entrees. The food was delicious but the haphazard service made it unlikely we will return.

food3
ambience3
service4

The standout dish of the meal was the cr ...

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

The standout dish of the meal was the cranberry walnut bread pudding; their pastry chef is firing on all cylinders!

food5
ambience5
service5

a great experience from start to finish

Dined on February 11, 2016

a great experience from start to finish

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent

Dined on January 29, 2016

A creative cooking, attentive service, excellent wine. Couldn't have been a better evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Mmmmmmm. And excellent ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Excellent food. Mmmmmmm. And excellent service!

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, giant price tag

Dined on January 16, 2016

I saw that the bottle was ranked one of the top ten places to eat in Alabama, so my wife and I went for date night. My food was excellent (rack of lamb & pheasant sausage), but my wife got an underwhelming (and undercooked) filet mignon. For the price tag, your dining experience should be legendary, and ours was "fine". We spend less at our other favorite eateries in town and enjoy them more. It is highly unlikely we will be back at the bottle.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a Hubs so cool he's DD on his own bday

Dined on January 15, 2016

The oysters were amazing---the shallot-balsamic mixture was a pleasant surprise. The character limit is too small to explain how wonderful the okra-tomato salad was. I knew I wanted wine with my cowboy steak, but am useless at choosing one. Our server suggested one that was a perfect compliment to the meal. Chef Andy made suggestions for the leftover steak, and while that sounded great, I couldn't bring myself to reheat it and instead sliced it very thin and served it with a homemade grilled corn and salsa verde salad that weekend---my leftover steak fed both Husband and me. Any food that is good cold the next day is a tribute to how amazing it was when it was hot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on January 12, 2016

My wife and I chose The Bottle for our silver anniversary dinner. It is not particularly convenient to our home but we wanted to go somewhere different and special for such an important occasion. The staff was as professional as anywhere we have ever dined and the food was outstanding and plenty of it. We shared and appetizer and shared a salad but still had to take half of our respective entrees home in a doggy bag. Very very pleased with the quantity and the quality of the meals. The wines we selected were outstanding and the wait staff was integral in us making good selections. Although out of our way a bit, we will definitely be going back very soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

DIsappointing

Dined on January 10, 2016

We showed up less than 10 minutes after our reservation time and were not seated in the main dining room, instead in the bar area at a high top table by the door. The area was cramped, cold, could hear everyone's conversation around us. It wasn't intimate date setting at all. The server wasn't very attentive - he mixed up our drink order, brought water out late and completely forgot to bring out our bread. The food was good but I expected MUCH better quality for the price. Our food came out suspiciously fast which also took away from the intimate experience we were going for. We were in the car and headed home in less than an hour. Really a disappointing experience overall - we won't be back and won't be recommending to our friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant for a date night!

Dined on January 7, 2016

This restaurant is great for a date night! The food is fabulous and the ambiance is perfect for a couple or even a group! The sommelier was very knowledgeable and gave us some great suggestions! The location in downtown Huntsville is easy to find and is in the entertainment district of the city. We love this restaurant and will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Much needed in HSV!

Dined on January 3, 2016

Awesome addition to the downtown scene! I have a no dairy restriction and the waitress and chef were amazing about it as was the food. We will absolutely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent. I wish the chees ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

The food was excellent. I wish the cheese plate had contained more cheese and less salad and garnish. The duck and quail were excellent. Very helpful staff that allowed us to customize the selections. Wish there had been a fruit-oriented option on the dessert menu. Overall very good, but not quite worth the price. Have paid less for better meals.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food in town.

Dined on December 18, 2015

Everything was amazing. The food is delicious and the employees are very professional. They make sure that everyone is happy and that everything is taken care of. The Chef (Andy) is incredible and very friendly. I believe that this is the best restaurant in town and would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Experience

Dined on December 16, 2015

My wife and I went to The Bottle for our anniversary dinner. It was a perfect experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Brought my company's CEO based on a reco ...

Dined on December 8, 2015

Brought my company's CEO based on a recommendation from someone who just dined at Bottle and it was a GREAT experience. The food was amazing and Chef Andy nailed it!!!!

food5
ambience4
service5

The Bottle

Dined on December 8, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the food, cocktails, and wine. Valet parking was nice. American French food--excellent chef. Expect to pay for what you get.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

I thought the food and the waitress was great!

Dined on December 8, 2015

I was very disappoint by the owner coming out to asked everyone if they were enjoying themselves. However, it appeared to be a little racism because she never approached our table.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal at The Bottle

Dined on December 3, 2015

As always, Chef Andy served up another fabulous meal for us! The service here is impeccable, extensive wine list, and the food is amazing! If you haven't visited The Bottle, make it your next stop. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a hit, no matter the occasion.

Dined on November 29, 2015

The Bottle is our go to place for special occasions, or to take out of town friends. It hits the right balance of casual/elegance. We think the food and service is the best in Huntsville.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.