Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About The Bottle

The Bottle is a non-smoking restaurant that specializes in preparing entrees with classic French techniques using fresh, local ingredients.

***Please contact the restaurant directly if reserving for parties larger than 6.
***If a special or specific table or server request are needed please contact the restaurant directly. Call 256.704.5555

101 Washington St.
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Clinton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 704-5555

Website:
http://www.thebottledowntown.com/

Parking Details:
The Bottle offers complimentary Valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andy Howery and Chef Chris McDonald

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Non-Smoking, Private Room

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Bottle is available for private parties of many sizes. We specialize in providing a dining experience for small intimate dinners or business meetings to larger gatherings and parties.

The Bottle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Romantic (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Cozy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Fun (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Best place in Huntsville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My mother and I had a 6:15 reservation and arrived a bit early. No offer to wait at the bar for a delightful cocktail, we were escorted to the elevator. I guess they put the "not so in" crowd in the desolate upstairs dining area. All alone. At least we had a window seat so there was something to look at. The atmosphere was dated, dull and quiet, make that silent, unlike the lively first level dining room that was not full. The server was good, the food was good but the ambience left much to be desired. Not to mention the descrimination based on appearance could not have been more obvious. I won't be going back anytime soon if ever.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food and the service on a Saturday night were outstanding as usual. Some substitutions for picky eaters in our group were accommodated and that was appreciated. Chef made an appearance at tables also, which was nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Underwhelming.
Food came out cold. Had to send it back for reheat.
And that's all they did. Nuked it up.
Service was ok - they were nice but not always around so to speak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We arrived early and elected to sit at the bar for a cocktail before dinner. The bar is small, only 6 seats, but the bartender was talented and educated on the inventory. We received a delicious watermelon appetizer from the chef that went well with the Grey Goose we were drinking. We moved onto dinner at 8:30 and had a nice table where we could see the other dinner guest. There was a large group behind us that was rather loud, but oh well. The crab cake appetizer was good, nothing super special. The NY Strip and Salmon on the other hand were amazing! Cooked to order and served hot, we loved both dishes. For dessert we shared the Triple Chocolate Dome which as over the top decadent and delicious. My only complaint was the service; it started out great but faltered at the end. The restaurant had mostly cleared out as my date and I were enjoyed a leisurely dinner (ie eating and talking and taking our time) and at one point we were both out of water and cocktails. We waited and waited and just about the time I was ready to go to the bar myself, she appeared. No apology, no mention of her absence, just "what can I get you next". I get that we were her last table and she was probably tired after a long shift, but at a place like this I expect attentive service no matter what. I will go back for sure, and maybe this was a one of incident, but the food well compensated for the service issues.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was a nice evening. The staff was great and the food was wonderful. It was worth the price. It was a good nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

First experience here! Bar specialties were great as well as the local beer selection. Chef started every table with a taste of seasoned watermelon. Fresh. Juicy. Flavorful. I think it was garlic salt and pepper.

We had Spicy Confetti Shrimp and Burgandy Escargot to start. Both were great but the escargot was the winner! Our group of 4 tried the classic, wilted slaw and wedge salads. All were enjoyable and fresh! Entrees of grouper, salmon, rack of lamb and duck breast were well prepared. The duck was the winner! So flavorful and the raspberry sauce was very complimentary. Lamb is not my fav, but my husband raved about it! Grouper was a little over done on the outside but it did not lose moist and tender inside. I didn't think the salsa verde particularly added much to the grouper dish - and it did not even have a kick. Service was excellent and was very relaxed and unhurried. Tables are kind of close and the music was a little louder than I expected lending to louder conversations around us. We will go again for business or special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We love the Bottle. Scott is an amazing server and always goes out of his way to make it an enjoyable experience. My husband and I both got the pasta with cremini mushrooms and lobster. It was so good. Enjoying the leftovers for lunch!

We will continue to be regular diners here because it is one of the best restaurants in Huntsville. We also appreciate the chef bringing out the food and stopping to chat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food was fantastic! I had the cucumber tomato lobster gazpacho, the wilted cabbage salad and the scallops. The only thing I wasn't a huge fan of was the risotto. It had a bit of a floral taste that I didn't care for. They also had this watermelon with a curry seasoning (very light flavor) that they served before the entree. I never would have thought to put those two flavors together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

My husband and I just moved here and this was our first date night! It was a great choice!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The restaurant is awesome! Food is great. We were there for our anniversary and the could not complain about the service or the food. My one issue is with sitting at a table where the table next to be was constantly bumping their chair into my arm. . .some of the seating leaves little to be desired when trying to enjoy a meal at this price point.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We dined at the bottle and enjoyed the creativity of the dishes and the really light batter used to fry some of the foods.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Dined early at 5:30. We were escorted by premium tables and seated in the rear by the kitchen door. Our request for a different table was not accommodated. Premium tables were still unfilled when we finished our meal. The Martini was not made per my instructions. Ordered very dry and it was more dirty than dry. The blue cheese olives were tasty. The wine list was snobby and lacking. Treble and quadruple market prices for a bottle. Ouch! The fried Okra salad was unique and quite good. The salmon was perfectly prepared and proved to be the highlight of the evening. The scallops were tasty but were cool and firm when served. Four scallops left me wanting more. Our server was attentive and pleasant. She provided us a wine taste or two as we were making our wine bottle selection.
All in all it was an enjoyable date night out with my wife. Glad we tried it once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

A downtown Huntsville gem. Parking is the only issue and valet is available. Food is excellent and not anything one would find on a normal everyday eatery. Good for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The Bottle is a great find in downtown Huntsville. The food is fresh, flavorful, and creative. The wait staff is second to none -- attentive, prompt, and delightful. Chefs Chris and Andy put a special touch on simple foods. The okra and heirloom tomato salad is addicting. I can't wait for the menu to change so we can go back and try something new.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was a great change of pace for a wonderful meal. Was a bit pricey but definitely worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food and service are always great. We had the Grouper and it was fantastic. The Wait Staff are very friendly and attentive. We highly recommend The Bottle. It is our favorite for a special date or occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Just heard about this place last week as I don't live in the Huntsville area, but about an hour away. My wife and I came here for our anniversary and would absolutely make the trip again and recommend to friends! I thought the pork chop was great, then I tried the rack of lamb that my wife ordered...both were superb! The waiter was knowledgeable, food was appropriate temperature, ambience was just perfect for an anniversary, and the tables had enough room between them so that I didn't feel like I was sitting with strangers. 5 out of 5 stars...you NEED to try this place!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Steak was good, mahi mahi was terrible. As a whole when you spend good money for food you expect the food and service to be on point. The bottle missed the beat for us. Service was just average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food was cooked well and tasted delicious too. We ended up a window seat which was perfect. The first table was wobbly and we requested to be moved and they were more than courteous to do so. I like that there wasn't a lot of loud obnoxious music! Just quiet and great food!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Nice and quiet on a Tuesday night. Be prepared for an expensive check.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at The Bottle to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. We enjoyed the Scallops and the Red Snapper. The service was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We always enjoy The Bottle, but this last visit seemed a little flat. We were quite early in the dinner cycle. No visit from the chef, a very quick check-in by a manager. The steaks were done as we ordered. The broccoli servings ranged from one floret to five over three plates. Potatoes were perfect. The server was professional and helpful. Overall, I think the restaurant has slipped a notch or two since our previous visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Reservations were easy and well set up, service was good on a very busy night and the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wonderful experience! The food and cocktails were stellar, it was well worth the drive from The Shoals, for our date night...we will definitely be returning!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent as always! Creative menu items, wonderful service, and valet parking. The only negative thing I can ever say about The Bottle is that the valet did not have an umbrella to help us from the car to the door and it poured down rain. Fortunately, that is a very unusual situation. Everything else was great as usual!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I found the environment to be pleasant. I found the food to be decent but overpriced. My scallops were very good. My wife's steak wasn't a very good steak. No flavor! I grill a better steak on my green egg! I expect perfect food when I pay that much for dinner. My wife's mixed drink was too expensive! $28 dollars for 2 drinks. Overall, a little disappointed. $150 bucks for a poor steak and decent scallops (4 of them)!!! Probably could have had a better steak at Logan's, Longhorns, or somewhere like that. The quiet environment was the only nice thing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Ate here a couple times in the past month. Each time the staff has been great and the food could not be better. Great restaurant in Huntsville.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Our Waiter was Great. Party of 2, noted in our reservation as an Anniversary Dinner, seated in a cramped space with 4 other tables with multiple tables in another section available. Funny that the patrons of the table next to our's pointed this out to us. The Daily printed menu was wrong but... The Chef Personally came out to tables to apologize and make sure the change was okay. The chef also brought out our meal.
A bit pricey but the portions are good sized.
I would suggest you have a Corporate Account to Dine here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Continues to be a favorite spot for date night - earlier for us is better - less diner traffic, more opportunity for conversation. Always a great filet and often paired with exceptional scallops. Looking forward to a repeat/return visit in mid- summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The bottle is a nice destination for special occasions. It's quiet enough to have a conversation with the people at your table. Service is attentive but we never feel hurried. Okra and heirloom tomato salad is a must. Fish, chicken mushroom pasta, and scallops were very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great server and prompt service. Ambience was quiet, inviting white table cloth. Presentation was first class. Entre venison was exotic, but temp was below optimum. Pork chop was gorgeous to look at, but carried significant hidden fat. Side item veggies excellent. Key Lime tart dessert was truly outstanding. After dinner coffee excellent. Server was consistently attentive and obviously well trained.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Wonderful meal, etc. I wish I could attend more often, but at $80 per person I can only attend once every couple of years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Very pleased with the service and the food was outstanding!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This is not our first visit to The Bottle. We keep coming back because it is so great. The chef comes out quite often and takes time to talk to you. I had a question about my meal and he was all too happy to spend some time explaining things to me. Our server, Scott, is simply the best. He always makes it a wonderful experience. We will be back soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 15, 2017

14th Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food was outstanding and I would not hesitate to go back for a special occasion. It is a nice touch to see chef Andy come out to greet diners. Our server also suggested a very nice petite syrah to go with my lamb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The service was good and the food came to the table quickly but I was disappointed in the food...... when you spend $49.00 on a steak you expect it to pretty damn good....... it was cooked well but had no flavor...... so much so I only ate half of it. My wife on the other hand enjoyed her steak. The bread pudding was dry and it was a tiny portion...... a really tiny portion considering what it cost. It was our anniversary dinner and I can't see going back for future special occasions.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

we don't eat out much to be fair, but most of the food was too salty, even vegis

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We celebrated two birthdays, an anniversary & Father's Day at The Bottle last weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed the occasion. As always, Chef Andy stopped by multiple times to check on us. The food was superb, the ambiance excellent, and made our celebration terrific! Highly recommend The Bottle!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.