About The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden

312 Pearl Pkwy., Bldg. 3
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Boiler House Texas Grill & Wine Garden is a true Texas original. Situated in the historic Pearl Brewery complex on the San Antonio River Walk, this wine-centric restaurant occupies the former “boiler house” which powered the adjacent brewery. The menu focuses on grilled items from local farms and markets, with a focus on “Texas ranch-style” cuisine. These delicacies are paired with extraordinary wines from around the world (all available by the glass, bottle and “to-go”), full bar, live music and a casual yet energetic atmosphere. The unique list of wines boasts some of the lowest prices in the area.

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco. Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 10am-10pm
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-Midnight
Saturday 10am-Midnight

Cross Street:
Karnes St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 354-4644

Website:
http://www.boilerhousesa.com/

Entertainment:
Live music

Catering:
Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Jeff White

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 7:45PM - 8:45PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 1:30PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco.

The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (45)
special occasion (36)
good for groups (30)
See All
great for brunch (27)
hot spot (26)
notable wine list (24)
great for lunch (18)
neighborhood gem (17)
great for outdoor dining (15)
vibrant bar scene (15)
romantic (12)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

All I can say is amazing. One very unfor ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

All I can say is amazing. One very unforgettable night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, we started with th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing, we started with the seared Oysters and then moved onto the Cod and Duck entrees. Everything was great and the service was wonderful. The place was busy and we were placed in the bar area, so the noise was a little bit of a nuisance. But overall it was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything we had to eat was excellent. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything we had to eat was excellent. This is definitely one of our new favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is nice, but very busy. Ordere ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

The place is nice, but very busy. Ordered a wine, was told they couldn't any carafes. .really? Service was slow, food not up to par with my last few visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

I had a business dinner that I scheduled ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I had a business dinner that I scheduled here, they sat us in a corner near a restroom, and also surrounded by their beverage stock which was sitting on shelves, waiting to be used. The atmosphere, was more like a place you would go if you were going out bar hopping for the evening, and the food was mediocre at best. Not really the atmosphere or food I was going for. They did have a nice wine menu however.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Great menu, great service, great scenery ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great menu, great service, great scenery. We will definitely be making a return visit!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great drinks and menu

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great drinks and menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was attentive and personable. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our server was attentive and personable. He did a great job!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have dined at the Boiler House many time ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Have dined at the Boiler House many times before events or just to have a special meal in one of the restaurants in the old Brewery, so the decor is appropriately "a Boiler House" along with those acoustics. It still provides an enjoyable meal and hands down the best poached eggs at brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was lacking on our visit. We ord ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was lacking on our visit. We ordered cocktails that didn't arrive before our lunch and even then we had to ask. We were seated with no cutlery or napkins and again had to ask for those once our lunch was served. The manager did make things right by picking up our drinks and offering us a dessert on the house. We would give them a second chance. Their burger saved the day, as it was one of the best I've ever had!!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food and service were outstanding! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food and service were outstanding! Our waiter, Nick, made sure we had a wonderful time while celebrating my birthday. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The low score on service was do to it be ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The low score on service was do to it being Father's Day, but knowing the reservation level more help should have been scheduled.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We had brunch at the Boiler House this p ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had brunch at the Boiler House this past Fathers Day. We got to sit on the 2nd floor and had an awesome waitress. She was friendly, attentive and helped us make wonderful choices for brunch, mimosa and dessert. The food was delicious, atmosphere great, they had good options for kids too and that's always a win. Only feedback we had was that my egg Benedict was hard and not runny. But, would def go back, really enjoyed our experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food and service. This ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

As always great food and service. This is our 3rd time in a month to go to the Boiler House.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My fiancé and I can't stop talking about ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My fiancé and I can't stop talking about this restaurant. The food, drinks, service, and environment were incredible. The char-grilled octopus with watermelon and smoked yogurt absolutely blew us away. We ate there late on a Saturday night so the kitchen was a bit behind getting our food out, but our server gave us a round of drinks and dessert on the house. If you love whiskey, definitely get their Old Fashioned. We can't wait to eat here again the next time we're in San Antonio.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a reservation and wanted a table but ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Had a reservation and wanted a table but got a bar table with uncomfortable chairs. Not kid friendly as it pertains to food. Server was great! Needs more televisions or none at all.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Impressive atmosphere, extremely unimpressive food

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My fiancé and I went there for a date night expecting delicious food since it is located in the pearl. He got the Kobe burger, which had pretty good flavor, but it came with pork rinds that were awful. I got a salad and pork belly and I couldn't even finish the pork belly because the taste was awful and was 3/4 fat. We did love the atmosphere and maybe suggest going there for a drink (we got Moscow mules and they were great!) and maybe an appetizer, but the food was not worth the price at all and we left disappointed.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Definitely one of the top brunches in Sa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Definitely one of the top brunches in San Antonio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow, Jeff White can really cook! We sta ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Wow, Jeff White can really cook! We started with the clams casino and the bone marrow. My wife had the lobster & shrimp roll and I had the double patty burger & fresh cut fries... all wonderful! Huge beer selection and the décor and atmosphere were great. The menu changes often so you can and should go often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious and attractive food presentati ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Delicious and attractive food presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A bit overrated

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I found the food good, but not nearly as amazing as others had bragged about. The atmosphere was great and so was the service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Went on a business dinner and ordered th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Went on a business dinner and ordered the small plates to share. Everything was excellent. Favorites were the bison meatballs, tuna ceviche, and brussel sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Not overwhelmed.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was decent, but not exceptional. Bar and wait service was ok. Biggest issue was with hostess/seating. Arrived at 1:45 on Mothers Day for a 2:00 reservation. When I arrived, advised the hostess of this and her response was a not overly-friendly 'We'll be more than happy to seat your at your reservation time". Well, when I went back to the hostess stand from the bar right at 2pm, guess what?: my table wasn't ready... had to wait another 15min's. Would certainly give them another chance - as this wasn't a huge deal - but will go back at dinner to sample their regular menu.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Restaurant!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Boiler House has unique, well crafted eats. Hearty, delicious, and generous. We've been there twice and it's been great both times. It was super busy, as it was Mother's Day and they handled the crowd in stride.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for Brunch

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

As always the food was great and the variety was amazing. Service staff was outstanding even though it was Mother's Day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Mother's Day meal! We were gr ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Delicious Mother's Day meal! We were greeted warmly by the ladies up front and given a variety of choices in seating. We opted to eat inside since it looked like it was going to rain. Our reservation was for 10 am and the place filled up quickly. Our server, Matt did a fantastic job explaining all the different brunch items. Husband and I started with the Boiler House Bloody Mary's, they had just the right amount of spice. We opted for the chicken liver and focus gras mousse with red onion marmalade and grilled bread. Very tasty and rich! Husband ordered the Lobster Pot Pie, very rich with a wonderful puffed pastry. It was like a deconstructed pot pie. I ordered the Jumbo Shrimp and grits. Nice and spicy and the boudin sausage added a nice layer. Would definitely recommend this place. PS Happy hour menu an prices looked good too, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was so fun, food was EXCELLEN ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Atmosphere was so fun, food was EXCELLENT! Staff and as super helpful and waitress was excited and educated on the food selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was very slow. It took almost 5 min for the server to come to our table. Then an additional 10 min to get 2 juices. The server was frequently hanging out at the bar and when he would walk by he wouldn't even acknowledge our table. I love the food at this place but they really need to work at their service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Amazing as always!!!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had Sunday brunch with my in-laws and the food was amazing again, the service was great, tried new plates and they were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was perfectly prepared and excellent in taste. The service provided by JR was most excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great drinks! One of my f ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food and great drinks! One of my fav places at Pearl!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love not like

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

WE will definitely be going back to the Boiler House. Loved the industrial look, loooong bar and our server was amazing! His recommendations were on point and we were very pleased with how everything came out of the kitchen! Cocktails and wine list did not disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Krispy Kreme burger was amazing. All the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Krispy Kreme burger was amazing. All the food for that matter was tasty. Our server was awesome. Will come again for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great sunday evening!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was amazing, great ambience, great service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant at Historic Pearl Brewery

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

This was our first visit to the Boiler House and it was thoroughly enjoyable. Everything about it was great -- food, presentation, wait staff, atmosphere. We highly recommend it and will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great First Experience!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Reunited with great friends over brunch. Could not have been more pleased with the experience! Our server was phenomenal, as was the food and overall ambience. Will be back many times in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, the food was even bet ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent service, the food was even better than what we expected. Definitely recommend it looking forward to eat there again and try more dishes from the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great atmosphere; completely chill and c ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great atmosphere; completely chill and casual-jeans & T shirt kind of place which make it even better. Fantastic food quality with attentive and prompt service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for lunch and ate outside so much q ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Went for lunch and ate outside so much quieter than usual. $5 happy hour drinks were a nice surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always Special

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

The Bolier House is the perfect place for that special moment with that special someone. Whether it is a drink with a significant other or a meal with a long lost friend, the Boiler House's food and drink menu will help you make the memory perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.