About The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden

312 Pearl Pkwy., Bldg. 3
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Boiler House Texas Grill & Wine Garden is a true Texas original. Situated in the historic Pearl Brewery complex on the San Antonio River Walk, this wine-centric restaurant occupies the former “boiler house” which powered the adjacent brewery. The menu focuses on grilled items from local farms and markets, with a focus on “Texas ranch-style” cuisine. These delicacies are paired with extraordinary wines from around the world (all available by the glass, bottle and “to-go”), full bar, live music and a casual yet energetic atmosphere. The unique list of wines boasts some of the lowest prices in the area.

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco. Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 10am-10pm
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-Midnight
Saturday 10am-Midnight

Cross Street:
Karnes St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 354-4644

Website:
http://www.boilerhousesa.com/

Entertainment:
Live music

Catering:
Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Jeff White

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 7:45PM - 8:45PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 1:30PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco.

The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (41)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Groups (29)
See All
Hot Spot (25)
Great for Brunch (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Great for Lunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Romantic (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fourth time is the charm for this restau ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined a day ago

Fourth time is the charm for this restaurant. Brunch is by far my favorite meal here. Mimosa heaven. And that burger on a Krispy Kreme donut was amazing. Score.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All was great except the short rib plate ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 3 days ago

All was great except the short rib plate was salty but edible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Family Style, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week menu was delicious. Foo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant Week menu was delicious. Food was great, but it's SOOOO noisy. And the placement of the lunch tables by the bathroom door is not very appealing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Messed up drink order. Ordered appetize ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Messed up drink order. Ordered appetizers and took over 1.5hours from time of order placement to the time we ate. Server only checked on us 1-2 times. Manager did comp us 1 round of drinks and a free appetizer to help make up for it.

Tags: Quick Bite, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

Quail poppers were out of this world, bu ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Quail poppers were out of this world, buffalo meatballs could have been better. Date had the scallops and they were amazing. They were out of my first choice, pork shanks, so I ended up getting the short rib gnocchi, and the gnocchi was a massive disappointment. The gnocchi themselves were perfect, airy, with a soft texture and just the right "snap" when you bit through. Disappointment came from the sauce. Not very well seasoned and only a few scraps of meat to be found. Lets just say the pasta to protein ration was way off. This leads to my greatest complaint against Boiler House: no salt and pepper on the table.

I get it, the chef thinks his dishes are perfectly seasoned so they do not place salt and pepper on the table and you have to ask for it. Everyone has a different palate, so the belief that the chef's palate is somehow better than mine starts with a flawed premise. Frustration is further complicated when you can't get the waitress's attention and it takes several minutes to get the necessary seasons to make the dish palatable, creating the choice of just waiting it out or eating poorly seasoned food. This practice is further problematic with dishes like gnocchi that really benefit from proper seasoning during cooking so that the little gnocchi pillows absorb the right amount of seasoning while cooking.

This is my second experience with poorly seasoned food at one of their establishments (other time was at Max's Wine Dive in the Quarry). Great restaurants with creative menus and exquisite bars (great atmosphere with diverse wine, beer, and liquor selections) but either learn to properly season your dishes or place salt and pepper on the table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time here. Went to celebrate a bi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

First time here. Went to celebrate a birthday. The food was amazing. I will say that if you haven't been here before and don't want to sit by a bathroom which they have on both sides that you need to tell them when making the reservations. They sat us right by the bathroom door. We asked to be moved which seemed like a hassle to start but only took 5 minutes. They moved is to the other side of the restaurant. The music is played pretty loudly on speakers that line the entire restaurant. Maybe it is to cover up the chatter from everyone. Our waiter was superb. Two of the group originally ordered the cod which we were looking forward to since our waiter said that it was brought over from the previous menu because it was so popular. We found out after we ordered that they were sold out. I had the octopus for an appetizer and it was wonderful. It had great flavor and was very tender. Since I couldn't get the cod I ordered the pork shank. This was also very good but not the same when you had something else in mind. Our waiter even brought over a dessert for the birthday girl without any prompting. I would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Boiler House has really changed into ser ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Boiler House has really changed into serving delicious food but I have to say that Restaurant week at lunch time, the selection of the 2 entrees and dessert could have been better. I won't give up going due this one time! Keep up being the best, Boiler House! You can do it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Amazing food and service!!! Our waiter w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing food and service!!! Our waiter was very knowledgeable on ingredients and how the meal was prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, ambience and atmosphere. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great location, ambience and atmosphere.

Soft shell crab melt and meatloaf were good.

The macadamia nut ice cream sandwiches with nutter butter and maple bacon ice cream were outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Although the cocktails were good, the fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Although the cocktails were good, the food seemed very rushed. The two $47 fillets ordered came to the table cold, the quail plate only had one tiny bird on it, the meatball appetizer was barley warm, the bone marrow and mashed potatoes were the best part...Our server was slow and lacking in checking in on us. I would understand if they were slammed but that was not the case. We had higher hopes, maybe we will try again one day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Main course chicken was over cooked and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Main course chicken was over cooked and bistro chairs were uncomfortable

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We loved our experience at The Boiler Ho ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We loved our experience at The Boiler House! Lucky for us it was Restaurant Week, and the menu reflected it (elevated...but not weird...and at a very reasonable price)! Wine and Texas brews were also on point. Our server was polite, informative and attentive. The atmosphere was a conversation in itself. Thanks for a lovely evening!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boiler house menu online did not match m ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Boiler house menu online did not match menu in restaurant. Sirloin was not as juicy and flavorful as before. Jumbo bacon shrimp apps were delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Friendly staff. Anamzing food and select ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Friendly staff. Anamzing food and selection. Very accomodating for our 8 person party.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting wine list followed by an in ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Interesting wine list followed by an interesting menu. Great service. Pretty loud.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall the food was great, but pricey. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Overall the food was great, but pricey. We originally ordered the tuna steak but after giving the waitress our order she came back and told us that we couldn't order it because there was a party of 100 or more people were having it for dinner. So we had to change our order. It's also confusing because we ordered a side of lobster Mac and cheese thinking that it came with our entrée. It was an extra $15.00.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was excellent. I was disappo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was excellent.

I was disappointed to see all of the red wine selections just sitting out on open shelving. I wanted a special bottle of wine for my anniversary celebration. I was willing to pay for a nice bottle. I would suggest if they want to be a wine garden they need to properly store and serve their red wines at the proper temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The waiter we had was awesome, and the f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The waiter we had was awesome, and the food was incredible. Will be going back next time we are in San Antonio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All I can say is amazing. One very unfor ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

All I can say is amazing. One very unforgettable night.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, we started with th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was amazing, we started with the seared Oysters and then moved onto the Cod and Duck entrees. Everything was great and the service was wonderful. The place was busy and we were placed in the bar area, so the noise was a little bit of a nuisance. But overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything we had to eat was excellent. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything we had to eat was excellent. This is definitely one of our new favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is nice, but very busy. Ordere ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The place is nice, but very busy. Ordered a wine, was told they couldn't any carafes. .really? Service was slow, food not up to par with my last few visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

I had a business dinner that I scheduled ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I had a business dinner that I scheduled here, they sat us in a corner near a restroom, and also surrounded by their beverage stock which was sitting on shelves, waiting to be used. The atmosphere, was more like a place you would go if you were going out bar hopping for the evening, and the food was mediocre at best. Not really the atmosphere or food I was going for. They did have a nice wine menu however.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Great menu, great service, great scenery ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great menu, great service, great scenery. We will definitely be making a return visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great drinks and menu

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great drinks and menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was attentive and personable. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our server was attentive and personable. He did a great job!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have dined at the Boiler House many time ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Have dined at the Boiler House many times before events or just to have a special meal in one of the restaurants in the old Brewery, so the decor is appropriately "a Boiler House" along with those acoustics. It still provides an enjoyable meal and hands down the best poached eggs at brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was lacking on our visit. We ord ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was lacking on our visit. We ordered cocktails that didn't arrive before our lunch and even then we had to ask. We were seated with no cutlery or napkins and again had to ask for those once our lunch was served. The manager did make things right by picking up our drinks and offering us a dessert on the house. We would give them a second chance. Their burger saved the day, as it was one of the best I've ever had!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food and service were outstanding! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food and service were outstanding! Our waiter, Nick, made sure we had a wonderful time while celebrating my birthday. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The low score on service was do to it be ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The low score on service was do to it being Father's Day, but knowing the reservation level more help should have been scheduled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We had brunch at the Boiler House this p ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had brunch at the Boiler House this past Fathers Day. We got to sit on the 2nd floor and had an awesome waitress. She was friendly, attentive and helped us make wonderful choices for brunch, mimosa and dessert. The food was delicious, atmosphere great, they had good options for kids too and that's always a win. Only feedback we had was that my egg Benedict was hard and not runny. But, would def go back, really enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Kind of loud. Tables very c ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food. Kind of loud. Tables very close together. Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

As always great food and service. This ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

As always great food and service. This is our 3rd time in a month to go to the Boiler House.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My fiancé and I can't stop talking about ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My fiancé and I can't stop talking about this restaurant. The food, drinks, service, and environment were incredible. The char-grilled octopus with watermelon and smoked yogurt absolutely blew us away. We ate there late on a Saturday night so the kitchen was a bit behind getting our food out, but our server gave us a round of drinks and dessert on the house. If you love whiskey, definitely get their Old Fashioned. We can't wait to eat here again the next time we're in San Antonio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a reservation and wanted a table but ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Had a reservation and wanted a table but got a bar table with uncomfortable chairs. Not kid friendly as it pertains to food. Server was great! Needs more televisions or none at all.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Impressive atmosphere, extremely unimpressive food

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My fiancé and I went there for a date night expecting delicious food since it is located in the pearl. He got the Kobe burger, which had pretty good flavor, but it came with pork rinds that were awful. I got a salad and pork belly and I couldn't even finish the pork belly because the taste was awful and was 3/4 fat. We did love the atmosphere and maybe suggest going there for a drink (we got Moscow mules and they were great!) and maybe an appetizer, but the food was not worth the price at all and we left disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Definitely one of the top brunches in Sa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Definitely one of the top brunches in San Antonio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow, Jeff White can really cook! We sta ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Wow, Jeff White can really cook! We started with the clams casino and the bone marrow. My wife had the lobster & shrimp roll and I had the double patty burger & fresh cut fries... all wonderful! Huge beer selection and the décor and atmosphere were great. The menu changes often so you can and should go often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious and attractive food presentati ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Delicious and attractive food presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A bit overrated

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I found the food good, but not nearly as amazing as others had bragged about. The atmosphere was great and so was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.