About The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden

312 Pearl Pkwy., Bldg. 3
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Boiler House Texas Grill & Wine Garden is a true Texas original. Situated in the historic Pearl Brewery complex on the San Antonio River Walk, this wine-centric restaurant occupies the former “boiler house” which powered the adjacent brewery. The menu focuses on grilled items from local farms and markets, with a focus on “Texas ranch-style” cuisine. These delicacies are paired with extraordinary wines from around the world (all available by the glass, bottle and “to-go”), full bar, live music and a casual yet energetic atmosphere. The unique list of wines boasts some of the lowest prices in the area.

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco. Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 10am-10pm
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-Midnight
Saturday 10am-Midnight

Cross Street:
Karnes St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 354-4644

Website:
http://www.boilerhousesa.com/

Entertainment:
Live music

Catering:
Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Jeff White

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco.

The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Casual (12)
Historic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great Beer (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Romantic (3)
Tapas (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Authentic (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fun brunch!

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

Fun brunch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shared the 32 oz. ribeye-a bit too fatty ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Shared the 32 oz. ribeye-a bit too fatty! Needed more carrots, potatoes, and mushrooms to justify big price tag. Lobster bits in mac and cheese were small and tough. Interesting experience. Didn't like dessert, but no one asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Party of 4 for brunch and we had slower ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Party of 4 for brunch and we had slower than normal service and all food served was less than the desired temperature. Shame because we have eaten here in the past and enjoyed the experience and we brought friends from Chicago. Even though the food was tasty it was not up to standard.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was tasty but over-priced even for ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was tasty but over-priced even for New Year's dining - $135 without wine. Ribeye steak was cooked well and flavorful. Salmon tasted fresh. However, the popcorn grits were disappointing - dry, lumpy and lacking flavor, and the cheese and charcuterie plate needed more than 2 ounces of meat.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Everything from the moment we walked in ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything from the moment we walked in was impeccable. Our waitress was great walking is through the highlights as this was our first time in. The reviews did not disappoint. Exceptional !

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time to the Boiler Hous ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was our first time to the Boiler House, and we loved it! Industrial but comfortable..... i would recommend dinner .. the lighting at night really added to the ambience. We had drinks and a couple of starters. The beef tenderloin was cooked to perfection and paired wonderfully with tomato jam. So good we ordered 2 of those! We follow it up with very plump and rich pan seared scallops.... The wine list was broad and offered a nice variety. The FOH staff was inviting and pleasant right from the front door. I highly recommend this experience and We will definitely be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool location in Pearl area, band playin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Cool location in Pearl area, band playing outside in courtyard. Web search indicated top 5 USDA prime steaks. Good steak served barely warm on a thin cold plate. Thus, Flemings is the call not hear. One of our guest had the Kobe burger and said was off-the-hook. Would go back for burger and beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Always great. Great drinks, great food - ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always great. Great drinks, great food - brunch, lunch, dinner. Everything on the menu is so delicious you can't to wrong. This time we did vanilla short ribs (to die for) and pulled pork

sandwich. If in doubt, this place will always please!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, great service and warm a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious food, great service and warm atmosphere!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our plate was very well prepared and was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our plate was very well prepared and was delicious! Service was quick and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went on a Monday night, and they weren't ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Went on a Monday night, and they weren't that busy. However our waiter apparently had every table or was hiding in the kitchen. We would have drank more and stayed longer if we could have gotten waited on. Appetizer of Oysters Casino was great, main course of salmon was sub-par, and quail was ok. Noise level was pathetic, they sat us in bar area and football game was on tv, so other guests were extremely loud. I go to the pearl for upscale dining, not the sports bar scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

The Open Table review format needs to pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The Open Table review format needs to provide more options for food/menu rating. I couldn't care less how good or big a Margherita is, I look for cuisine, creative menus, good ingredients, and this place has 'em. Terrific menu with hard to find items in this town. Kind of a bar setting, not super cheap, but worth it. Great food done well.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice new menu. Much better than it was b ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nice new menu. Much better than it was before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food, nice, attentive server. Luck ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food, nice, attentive server. Luckily, we didn't let the host's attitude get in the way of our evening. We were "scolded" because 2 more people joined our party at the last minute. If I could have notified them earlier, I certainly would have. We were basically accused of causing problems for other diners by needing more room. I found this to be unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food, wine and service!

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food, wine and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance and atmosphere! The servi ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great ambiance and atmosphere! The service was attentive and offered good food suggestions! Get any meat on the menu and you will not be disappointed! Highly recommend for a good date night spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was great and I'd have given ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything was great and I'd have given more stars but unfortunately my wife and daughter took ill (upset stomachs) after eating there...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

So, I'm of a coupe of minds about our fi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

So, I'm of a coupe of minds about our first trip to the Boiler House. It is a very cool space in a great location. The bar service was great and the cocktail selection was also very good.

Unfortunately, the food and service was a little uneven. My wife ordered the grilled octopus appetizer and the seared scallop entre (both were very good). I ordered the pork belly appetizer and the oxtail gnocchi. The pork belly was advertised at being three one ounce portions but was significantly larger (funny to complain about that), but arrived cool to the touch with very little of the fat rendered out. Additionally, the portions were so large it was hard to cut, but no steak knife was provided. I would have asked for one or asked for the dish to be re-heated, but the server never returned after delivering the plates. When I was about half way done with my appetizer a new server arrived with my main course, not asking if I was ready for it and did not offer to take my or my wife's appetizer plates. We then waited for ten minutes for my wife's main course to arrive.

My wife's scallops were great. My gnocchi was undercooked (soft balls of potato mush) with meat that I could not clearly identify as oxtail due to the exceptionally large pieces of meat.

So all in all, ok. Not great. An interesting space (as seen in other reviews the bathrooms continue to be a mess. I'm not sure I'd go back for food, but maybe drinks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Salmon Crepe Tacos

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Salmon Crepe Tacos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We came to the restaurant with out of to ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We came to the restaurant with out of town guests on 14 Dec 16 and were greeted by a less than friendly/ borderline rude greeter that treated us like we weren't welcome there. When we asked about a reserved table upstairs. We were told that is was a reserved seating area. But when we made reservations we were then told that it was a "contracted only area" which is it?? after being seated at what I think is the worst table in the restaurant near the stacked cases of beer past the bar we eventually seated ourselves at a bistro table near the bar. (There was plenty of seating near the coed bathrooms area in the front of the restaurant).

What an embarrassment for my wife and I while attempting to treat our guests to what we thought was a friendly place that we'd been to many times. A mistake we won't make again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

My steak was warm at best when served. T ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My steak was warm at best when served. Thought that it was disgusting that the unisex restroom was 3 feet from a dining table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Visited for brunch with my daughter who ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Visited for brunch with my daughter who graduated Air Force Basic Military Training that weekend. Of all the places we dined at this weekend, this was by far or favorite. Service was great. We were seated near the chef station, and it was amazing watching the su chef carefully examine each order before it left for the table.

The food was awesome. Try the popcorn grits. Bloody mary was perfectly seasoned.

When i return to San Antonio, i will be returning to the Boiler House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent. Loc ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Location is nice being in the Pearl district. Although we realize this "warehouse" type restaurant is a thing now, my husband and I prefer to be in a place with more ambiance and lower noise level when having a date night. We found it to be very noisy. If we come back, it would be more in a group setting.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were there for brunch. Delicious food ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We were there for brunch. Delicious food, super cool place and great staff! Kyle was our waiter and did a great job! We'll be back for sure!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very noisy due to a company party with a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

very noisy due to a company party with amplified speakers upstairs, otherwise good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

This was our second trip to the Boiler H ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 29, 2016

This was our second trip to the Boiler House. The menu is varied enough that it can accommodate our distinctive need for humanely raised meat. My wife and I shared the 22 oz cowboy cut bison steak. It was seasoned and cooked perfectly ... melt in your mouth! The popcorn grits were delightful - creamy and tasty. For dessert we had the lemon cake with goat cheese ice cream and pistachios - very creative and delicious.

Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Overall a great visit!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dishes. We love trying and sharin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great dishes. We love trying and sharing the small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience. Really good food. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent experience. Really good food. We would go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only thing good was the lobster Mac/ ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The only thing good was the lobster Mac/cheese! Whenever I go out to dinner and pay for a $50 steak, I expect table clothes on a table with wine glasses. Usually my server has on a suit and is accompanied by an assistant. The steak was seasoned, but this is a one and done experience. Please work on your servers and house staff etiquette. I hope this doesn't go upon a deaf ear. Thank you, a concerned patron.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Actually, I feel that this restaurant is ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Actually, I feel that this restaurant is overrated possibly because it is at the Pearl. Very expensive and portions of the appetizers were small. We all left still hungry!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had wonderful service! Our waiter too ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had wonderful service! Our waiter took his time with us and answered all our questions with patience and enthusiasm! We will definitely be going back! Actually, all the staff we interacted with were very personable. Everyone had a smile on their face. Loved everything about this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for our 33rd Anniversary celeb ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went here for our 33rd Anniversary celebration dinner and the food was AMAZiNG, not so much the atmosphere. We were seated near the very loud bar area and it wasn't really romantic but the food and wine helped!! Also I didn't care for the unisex bathrooms! Both bathrooms were occupied for quite some time! :(

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was great except the wine gla ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was great except the wine glasses were dirty. I brought the matter to the attention of the waitress and she brought fresh glasses immediately.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was unique and yummy... great optio ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food was unique and yummy... great options for sharing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Boiler House had a lovely atmosphere ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The Boiler House had a lovely atmosphere and the food was phenomenal! We thoroughly enjoyed our waiter's wit and charm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Didn't even get a chance to eat here. I ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Didn't even get a chance to eat here. I made reservations for 9:15. It wasn't too busy. Waited 15 mins for a waitress to come and finally take our drink order and offer water. Waited another 20 mins after with no additional service or take our food order, so then we pulled the waitress over and told her to cancel out the drink after waiting for so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I had heard about this place but never v ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I had heard about this place but never ventured in.

A date brought me here, and the food was excellent, better than Bohannons!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This used to be one of our Pearl favorit ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This used to be one of our Pearl favorites. But, with all of the new restaurants opening at Pearl and throughout San Antonio, it had been awhile since we paid a visit. I guess the Universe knew better than we did, because it was a noted decline in the the restaurant, and most importantly, the food. I order my ribeye steak medium, and it was one of the most horrendous cuts of meat I've ever been served at a restaurant. For a ~$50 steak (al la carte), I would expect my steak not to crunch. The cut was so bad, that I had to fight through gristle nearly the entire time. This used to be a favorite, and hopefully they get back on track, but for this kind of money, I'll go to Ruth's Chris... Where they steaks are consistently top notch, every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

We had a great time with great food but ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had a great time with great food but we were all disappointed that they were out of 2 wines that we were interested in.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.