About The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden

312 Pearl Pkwy., Bldg. 3
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Boiler House Texas Grill & Wine Garden is a true Texas original. Situated in the historic Pearl Brewery complex on the San Antonio River Walk, this wine-centric restaurant occupies the former “boiler house” which powered the adjacent brewery. The menu focuses on grilled items from local farms and markets, with a focus on “Texas ranch-style” cuisine. These delicacies are paired with extraordinary wines from around the world (all available by the glass, bottle and “to-go”), full bar, live music and a casual yet energetic atmosphere. The unique list of wines boasts some of the lowest prices in the area.

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco. Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 10am-10pm
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-Midnight
Saturday 10am-Midnight

Cross Street:
Karnes St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 354-4644

Website:
http://www.boilerhousesa.com/

Entertainment:
Live music

Catering:
Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Jeff White

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Tue 12:00PM - 3:45PM 4:30PM - 11:00PM

Thu - Fri 12:00PM - 3:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco.

The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
1 More
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (48)
special occasion (34)
good for groups (31)
See All
notable wine list (26)
hot spot (23)
great for brunch (23)
vibrant bar scene (17)
romantic (17)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for lunch (15)
great for outdoor dining (13)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (4)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wow, Jeff White can really cook! We sta ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Wow, Jeff White can really cook! We started with the clams casino and the bone marrow. My wife had the lobster & shrimp roll and I had the double patty burger & fresh cut fries... all wonderful! Huge beer selection and the décor and atmosphere were great. The menu changes often so you can and should go often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious and attractive food presentati ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Delicious and attractive food presentation

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A bit overrated

Dined on May 21, 2016

I found the food good, but not nearly as amazing as others had bragged about. The atmosphere was great and so was the service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Went on a business dinner and ordered th ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Went on a business dinner and ordered the small plates to share. Everything was excellent. Favorites were the bison meatballs, tuna ceviche, and brussel sprouts.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Not overwhelmed.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was decent, but not exceptional. Bar and wait service was ok. Biggest issue was with hostess/seating. Arrived at 1:45 on Mothers Day for a 2:00 reservation. When I arrived, advised the hostess of this and her response was a not overly-friendly 'We'll be more than happy to seat your at your reservation time". Well, when I went back to the hostess stand from the bar right at 2pm, guess what?: my table wasn't ready... had to wait another 15min's. Would certainly give them another chance - as this wasn't a huge deal - but will go back at dinner to sample their regular menu.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Restaurant!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Boiler House has unique, well crafted eats. Hearty, delicious, and generous. We've been there twice and it's been great both times. It was super busy, as it was Mother's Day and they handled the crowd in stride.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

As always the food was great and the variety was amazing. Service staff was outstanding even though it was Mother's Day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Mother's Day meal! We were gr ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Delicious Mother's Day meal! We were greeted warmly by the ladies up front and given a variety of choices in seating. We opted to eat inside since it looked like it was going to rain. Our reservation was for 10 am and the place filled up quickly. Our server, Matt did a fantastic job explaining all the different brunch items. Husband and I started with the Boiler House Bloody Mary's, they had just the right amount of spice. We opted for the chicken liver and focus gras mousse with red onion marmalade and grilled bread. Very tasty and rich! Husband ordered the Lobster Pot Pie, very rich with a wonderful puffed pastry. It was like a deconstructed pot pie. I ordered the Jumbo Shrimp and grits. Nice and spicy and the boudin sausage added a nice layer. Would definitely recommend this place. PS Happy hour menu an prices looked good too, we will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was so fun, food was EXCELLEN ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Atmosphere was so fun, food was EXCELLENT! Staff and as super helpful and waitress was excited and educated on the food selections.

food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Sunday brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was very slow. It took almost 5 min for the server to come to our table. Then an additional 10 min to get 2 juices. The server was frequently hanging out at the bar and when he would walk by he wouldn't even acknowledge our table. I love the food at this place but they really need to work at their service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always!!!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had Sunday brunch with my in-laws and the food was amazing again, the service was great, tried new plates and they were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service.

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was perfectly prepared and excellent in taste. The service provided by JR was most excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great drinks! One of my f ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food and great drinks! One of my fav places at Pearl!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love not like

Dined on March 30, 2016

WE will definitely be going back to the Boiler House. Loved the industrial look, loooong bar and our server was amazing! His recommendations were on point and we were very pleased with how everything came out of the kitchen! Cocktails and wine list did not disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Krispy Kreme burger was amazing. All the ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Krispy Kreme burger was amazing. All the food for that matter was tasty. Our server was awesome. Will come again for brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great sunday evening!

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was amazing, great ambience, great service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant at Historic Pearl Brewery

Dined on March 16, 2016

This was our first visit to the Boiler House and it was thoroughly enjoyable. Everything about it was great -- food, presentation, wait staff, atmosphere. We highly recommend it and will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great First Experience!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Reunited with great friends over brunch. Could not have been more pleased with the experience! Our server was phenomenal, as was the food and overall ambience. Will be back many times in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service, the food was even bet ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent service, the food was even better than what we expected. Definitely recommend it looking forward to eat there again and try more dishes from the menu.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere; completely chill and c ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great atmosphere; completely chill and casual-jeans & T shirt kind of place which make it even better. Fantastic food quality with attentive and prompt service

food4
ambience5
service5

Went for lunch and ate outside so much q ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Went for lunch and ate outside so much quieter than usual. $5 happy hour drinks were a nice surprise.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always Special

Dined on March 1, 2016

The Bolier House is the perfect place for that special moment with that special someone. Whether it is a drink with a significant other or a meal with a long lost friend, the Boiler House's food and drink menu will help you make the memory perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant in the Pearl district

Dined on February 24, 2016

Came here with a colleague to check out the venue as our company plans to have a private event here. There are a few private dining areas and a full bar upstairs for events. We decided to have dinner and ordered off their expansive menu and got a bunch of shared plates. The food was delivered in a timely fashion and we received very good service. Our wait staff was knowledgeable and made recommendations. We ordered a variety of food including the meatballs, brussel sprouts, the quail jalapeno poppers, the burrata cheese spread and the wedge salad. Food was amazing. Not just good - AMAZING. We both live in the Bay Area and are food snobs with our direct access to San Francisco restaurants but this place was really really impressive. The Pearl district boasts a lot of cool restaurants and this one is a gem. A bit dark inside but the ambiance is great. Noise level is moderate but not too bad. Expansive wine list and mixed drinks as well. We decided to host the event here. Looking forward to heading back in a few weeks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative and delicious dishes! Mac and c ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Creative and delicious dishes! Mac and cheese blt is amazing!

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 21, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday dinner as she had heard good things. The meal started out with good service. The appetizers were nothing short of AMAZING! We got the charcuterie plate and the quail poppers. After the appetizer was served the service slacked waaaay off and we waited for the server to refill my wife's drink twice. Not she finished her drink then we waited for another one to be brought, the glass sat on the table empty for over 10 minutes with no recognition and no waiter to be found. She got the tuna steak for dinner and was very happy with her dish. Unfortunately I ordered the rib eye. It wasn't complaint worthy, but for $46 I would expect a better steak. They top each steak with some butter and the butter on top of my steak wouldn't melt. You go to any steakhouse worth it's salt and you know that would never happen at say Ruth's Chris. I think they pay too much attention to their "signature" dishes and the steaks are an after thought. Shame because for $46 you would expect a decent steak. We probably won't be going back. This place may be great for wine, beer or the "bar scene", not really sure because we didn't drink too much nor are we interested in the "bar scene". If you want to go someplace for appetizers I could definitely recommend this place, but avoid the steak. Nothing really manager complaint worthy just disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening

Dined on February 20, 2016

My wife and I decided upon this based on the interesting menu. The prices were higher then we usually pay, but the money was well worth it. Everything we ordered was excellent and fully delicious. Their drink menu is full and Includes cocktails, wine and spirits. Would visit again ASAP !

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Pretty good food but a bit steep

Dined on February 14, 2016

It's easy to spend a lot of money here, for food that is pretty good. The Cod I had was decent, though my wife's Pork Chops were quite good and plentiful. I'd still say that my overall experience was quite good because of the great customer service, great location, and generally good ambiance for romantic dinners. If you don't mind dropping some bucks, they have a very respectable wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Valentine's Night

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I had Boiler House for dinner on Valentines. It was not the most romantic spot in San Antonio but the venison was fantastic. They did a fantastic job. We would definitely return with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, followed our server's re ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was great, followed our server's recommendation.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's brunch was great!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Enjoyed walking thru the farmers market before our meal. The spinach salad and ultimate steak and eggs were also great ! best thing however were the prickly pear mimosas! Yummy!

Tags: great for brunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Brunch is a separate menu, but the options and combinations are interesting. Bar service is a bit slow, but worth trying it out to see if the venue suits you. Decor is authentically Texan.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Didn't stay for our reservation.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We sat at the bar before our reservation time,since we were an hour early. The bartender that was making drinks was very helpful, but her area seemed to be a gathering place for all the waiters and waitresses to complain about customers. There was a lot of cursing, and they all seemed to very disgruntled. Needless to say it was off putting, so we left.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Service was poor

Dined on February 14, 2016

Waited over an hour for our dinner. Not sure if kitchen was backed up. Had to ask random waiters for a wine list and refills on beer and wine. Food was superb though!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The brunch was delicious, most amazing c ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The brunch was delicious, most amazing combination of flavors I have ever had!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good SA spot to eat.

Dined on February 11, 2016

I really enjoyed the steak and the quail. But for the number of people in house, the service was extremely slow. My wife had the cod and said it was delicious.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic

Dined on February 10, 2016

Had a wonderful evening here and can't wait to go back. The grilled octopus was the best I have ever had in my entire life, the bison ribeye was cooked perfectly, and the drinks were absolutely smashing. It's a bit pricey to be a regular night out, but definitely the place to go for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect for foodies

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Menu features a variety of items for special occasion, romantic evening, and foodies. The atmosphere is one of my favorites at The Pearl Brewery.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great Food Lame Server

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food here was great and this is the second time my wife and I have been. They have a great drink menu and wine and beer selection. Last time we had a good server but this time our server was just outright bad. She had no interest in the food or explaining it or really even in being there. For such a nice building and people in the kitchen doing such a great job it really was a shame to have the primary person we interacted with be so lame.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Trendy with Great Food to Back it Up

Dined on February 2, 2016

What I loved most about the Boiler House was it's food. Often times your more trendy/hot spots tend to be a bit pretentious in my opinion when it comes to food. Food has become so "specialty" that you pay a hefty price for small portions and a whiff of taste. The entree sizes at the boiler house are legit and everything we ordered was prepared very well. We ordered their tuna ceviche and bone marrow as appetizers. The tuna ceviche is fantastic; their bone marrow is decent, but not the best I've had. For entrees we ordered the venison chop and foie gras kobe burger. WOW for both. The burger is pure decadence and it comes with housemade chicharrones - talk about a foodie's dream. The brussels sprouts and cauliflower au gratin were also noteworthy for side dishes. Excellent, and the sides are big enough to share. As for service, I have to rate them pretty high as well. We initially asked to swap tables and they accommodated us without hesitation. After ordering cocktails our waitress said they were on the house because she had felt it had taken too long for her to get to our table (we hadn't even noticed a long wait)...but free cocktails?...yes, please. Talk about above and beyond. The rest of the service went on very well and when exiting we had at least 3 servers thank us again and tell us goodbye. No complaints. Prices are a tad high, but again, this is a place you go for something a little special -- not just any given night for dinner. You pay a bit more, but when the food is worth it and the service makes you feel like you had a special night I think it's worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A MUST experience

Dined on February 1, 2016

Amazing food, impeccable service, great memories. Simple as that. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.