About The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden

312 Pearl Pkwy., Bldg. 3
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Boiler House Texas Grill & Wine Garden is a true Texas original. Situated in the historic Pearl Brewery complex on the San Antonio River Walk, this wine-centric restaurant occupies the former “boiler house” which powered the adjacent brewery. The menu focuses on grilled items from local farms and markets, with a focus on “Texas ranch-style” cuisine. These delicacies are paired with extraordinary wines from around the world (all available by the glass, bottle and “to-go”), full bar, live music and a casual yet energetic atmosphere. The unique list of wines boasts some of the lowest prices in the area.

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco. Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 10am-10pm
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-Midnight
Saturday 10am-Midnight

Cross Street:
Karnes St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 354-4644

Website:
http://www.boilerhousesa.com/

Entertainment:
Live music

Catering:
Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Jeff White

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco.

The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Hot Spot (14)
See All
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Historic (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Casual (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Romantic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Tapas (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second trip to the Boiler H ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our second trip to the Boiler House. The menu is varied enough that it can accommodate our distinctive need for humanely raised meat. My wife and I shared the 22 oz cowboy cut bison steak. It was seasoned and cooked perfectly ... melt in your mouth! The popcorn grits were delightful - creamy and tasty. For dessert we had the lemon cake with goat cheese ice cream and pistachios - very creative and delicious.

Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Overall a great visit!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience. Really good food. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent experience. Really good food. We would go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only thing good was the lobster Mac/ ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The only thing good was the lobster Mac/cheese! Whenever I go out to dinner and pay for a $50 steak, I expect table clothes on a table with wine glasses. Usually my server has on a suit and is accompanied by an assistant. The steak was seasoned, but this is a one and done experience. Please work on your servers and house staff etiquette. I hope this doesn't go upon a deaf ear. Thank you, a concerned patron.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Actually, I feel that this restaurant is ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Actually, I feel that this restaurant is overrated possibly because it is at the Pearl. Very expensive and portions of the appetizers were small. We all left still hungry!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had wonderful service! Our waiter too ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had wonderful service! Our waiter took his time with us and answered all our questions with patience and enthusiasm! We will definitely be going back! Actually, all the staff we interacted with were very personable. Everyone had a smile on their face. Loved everything about this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for our 33rd Anniversary celeb ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went here for our 33rd Anniversary celebration dinner and the food was AMAZiNG, not so much the atmosphere. We were seated near the very loud bar area and it wasn't really romantic but the food and wine helped!! Also I didn't care for the unisex bathrooms! Both bathrooms were occupied for quite some time! :(

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was great except the wine gla ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was great except the wine glasses were dirty. I brought the matter to the attention of the waitress and she brought fresh glasses immediately.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was unique and yummy... great optio ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food was unique and yummy... great options for sharing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Boiler House had a lovely atmosphere ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The Boiler House had a lovely atmosphere and the food was phenomenal! We thoroughly enjoyed our waiter's wit and charm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Didn't even get a chance to eat here. I ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Didn't even get a chance to eat here. I made reservations for 9:15. It wasn't too busy. Waited 15 mins for a waitress to come and finally take our drink order and offer water. Waited another 20 mins after with no additional service or take our food order, so then we pulled the waitress over and told her to cancel out the drink after waiting for so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I had heard about this place but never v ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I had heard about this place but never ventured in.

A date brought me here, and the food was excellent, better than Bohannons!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This used to be one of our Pearl favorit ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This used to be one of our Pearl favorites. But, with all of the new restaurants opening at Pearl and throughout San Antonio, it had been awhile since we paid a visit. I guess the Universe knew better than we did, because it was a noted decline in the the restaurant, and most importantly, the food. I order my ribeye steak medium, and it was one of the most horrendous cuts of meat I've ever been served at a restaurant. For a ~$50 steak (al la carte), I would expect my steak not to crunch. The cut was so bad, that I had to fight through gristle nearly the entire time. This used to be a favorite, and hopefully they get back on track, but for this kind of money, I'll go to Ruth's Chris... Where they steaks are consistently top notch, every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

We had a great time with great food but ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had a great time with great food but we were all disappointed that they were out of 2 wines that we were interested in.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was good. The service was ok. S ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was good. The service was ok. Slightly over priced. I understand the reasoning because of the location however, when the tourist leave in the fall and the novelty wears off then you only have your locals to take care of you. Drink prices where extremely high for what we ordered. Over all a good experience just over priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Parking was a bit of a challenge, other ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Parking was a bit of a challenge, other than that great food and service.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very greasy and underwhelming. ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was very greasy and underwhelming. Almost everything was bland and greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Another awesome meal! Matt is the best!

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Another awesome meal! Matt is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My filet was cooked perfect! Just how I ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My filet was cooked perfect! Just how I like it, medium rare with char on the outside. They accommodate to food preferences as well!!

Tags: Fun, Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Boiler House was a mixed bag. Long time ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Boiler House was a mixed bag. Long time to receive service, some issues with choices, food was good though.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

All of the wonderful food, great service ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 5, 2016

All of the wonderful food, great service and awesome location was diminished ever so slightly by a few pesky flies. Understanding that part of the ambiance is leaving he doors open, maybe some slow moving ceiling fans or reflective material (have seen this work in other restaurants!) would ease the issue. However, it is important to note that this issue will NOT deter us from returning! Thanks for a great (but not perfect) meal experience!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My wife and I loved our dinner date!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My wife and I loved our dinner date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I really enjoyed the vari ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the variety of the Tasters and Spreads! Our waiter recommended this and it was perfect. We have visited many of the restaurants at the Pearl, and this was one of the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Food was amazing. The service was ok ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The Food was amazing. The service was ok ish. Our sides came out before our entree so we had to sit and wait for a couple minutes. No app plates with apps until it had been a little bit after the food was delivered. The place is big and we were in the back so I kinda understand. The lobster mac and cheese was amazing. Wine selection was good. Service was just not that prompt for $150 tab and $30 tip. The food was amazing though, so we will be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We recently went to boiler house to cele ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We recently went to boiler house to celebrate a friend's birthday. The waitstaff was friendly and the food was delicious!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and ambience were terrific. Onl ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food and ambience were terrific. Only recommendations would be 1) a little less salt on the potatoes, 2)food could have been warmer, and 3) the meal took long to get to us.

Tags: Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have always enjoyed my visits to The ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I have always enjoyed my visits to The Boiler House. The menu is creative, smart and well presented but not too out in left field. It fits perfectly into the Pearl atmosphere.

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I agreed to get the special assuming tha ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I agreed to get the special assuming that when our waiter said it was "big enough for two" he did not mean a steak dinner for two. But instead of it being a large steak for one person it was for two and therefor there was a change in price. I had know idea it would cost $160. I was on a date and didn't really want to make a scene but I believe that if you suggest a special to a couple then you may want to let them know that they are going to be spending more than $100 on it. It was just a nasty surprise for a meal that in my opinion was definitely not worth the total amount paid.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

We took my parents to the Boiler House ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We took my parents to the Boiler House on a night out for their 49th annianniversary. After we were seated, the server surprised us with of champagne for a toast. The food was DELICIOUS!! And a special dessert topped off the evening. The Boiler House is definitely a new favorite!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place with wonderful food and at ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 28, 2016

A great place with wonderful food and atmosphere. A favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fourth time is the charm for this restau ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fourth time is the charm for this restaurant. Brunch is by far my favorite meal here. Mimosa heaven. And that burger on a Krispy Kreme donut was amazing. Score.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tried the Boiler House about a half doze ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Tried the Boiler House about a half dozen time, each time hoping it would be better but always leaving wondering why we gave it another chance. Drinks and ambiance are great, the food however could use some refining. From the numerous courses we've had here, I believe the chef believes richer the food i.e. more butter or cheese people will have to like it. The last few meals, one being the Cracklin' Chicken was drowning in butter and was also served on top of two huge pierogis filled with pimento cheese also swimming in the same butter. I could feel my arteries clogging. This place lack simplicity allowing the ingredients to speak for them selves. It's know. For their steaks and they aren't too bad, but for the cost I would still go somewhere else, it's Texas after all. If you are looking to leave feeling heavy after a meal, then you may like the food, for me I am through giving the Boiler House any more money and chances, would rather spend my meals at any of the more refined restaurants neighboring the Boiler House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

All was great except the short rib plate ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 25, 2016

All was great except the short rib plate was salty but edible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Family Style, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week menu was delicious. Foo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Restaurant Week menu was delicious. Food was great, but it's SOOOO noisy. And the placement of the lunch tables by the bathroom door is not very appealing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Krispy Kreme donut burger, need I say mo ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Krispy Kreme donut burger, need I say more? Flavored mimosas, great service which recommend food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Messed up drink order. Ordered appetize ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Messed up drink order. Ordered appetizers and took over 1.5hours from time of order placement to the time we ate. Server only checked on us 1-2 times. Manager did comp us 1 round of drinks and a free appetizer to help make up for it.

Tags: Quick Bite, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

Quail poppers were out of this world, bu ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Quail poppers were out of this world, buffalo meatballs could have been better. Date had the scallops and they were amazing. They were out of my first choice, pork shanks, so I ended up getting the short rib gnocchi, and the gnocchi was a massive disappointment. The gnocchi themselves were perfect, airy, with a soft texture and just the right "snap" when you bit through. Disappointment came from the sauce. Not very well seasoned and only a few scraps of meat to be found. Lets just say the pasta to protein ration was way off. This leads to my greatest complaint against Boiler House: no salt and pepper on the table.

I get it, the chef thinks his dishes are perfectly seasoned so they do not place salt and pepper on the table and you have to ask for it. Everyone has a different palate, so the belief that the chef's palate is somehow better than mine starts with a flawed premise. Frustration is further complicated when you can't get the waitress's attention and it takes several minutes to get the necessary seasons to make the dish palatable, creating the choice of just waiting it out or eating poorly seasoned food. This practice is further problematic with dishes like gnocchi that really benefit from proper seasoning during cooking so that the little gnocchi pillows absorb the right amount of seasoning while cooking.

This is my second experience with poorly seasoned food at one of their establishments (other time was at Max's Wine Dive in the Quarry). Great restaurants with creative menus and exquisite bars (great atmosphere with diverse wine, beer, and liquor selections) but either learn to properly season your dishes or place salt and pepper on the table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time here. Went to celebrate a bi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 20, 2016

First time here. Went to celebrate a birthday. The food was amazing. I will say that if you haven't been here before and don't want to sit by a bathroom which they have on both sides that you need to tell them when making the reservations. They sat us right by the bathroom door. We asked to be moved which seemed like a hassle to start but only took 5 minutes. They moved is to the other side of the restaurant. The music is played pretty loudly on speakers that line the entire restaurant. Maybe it is to cover up the chatter from everyone. Our waiter was superb. Two of the group originally ordered the cod which we were looking forward to since our waiter said that it was brought over from the previous menu because it was so popular. We found out after we ordered that they were sold out. I had the octopus for an appetizer and it was wonderful. It had great flavor and was very tender. Since I couldn't get the cod I ordered the pork shank. This was also very good but not the same when you had something else in mind. Our waiter even brought over a dessert for the birthday girl without any prompting. I would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Boiler House has really changed into ser ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Boiler House has really changed into serving delicious food but I have to say that Restaurant week at lunch time, the selection of the 2 entrees and dessert could have been better. I won't give up going due this one time! Keep up being the best, Boiler House! You can do it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Amazing food and service!!! Our waiter w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing food and service!!! Our waiter was very knowledgeable on ingredients and how the meal was prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.