About The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden

312 Pearl Pkwy., Bldg. 3
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Boiler House Texas Grill & Wine Garden is a true Texas original. Situated in the historic Pearl Brewery complex on the San Antonio River Walk, this wine-centric restaurant occupies the former “boiler house” which powered the adjacent brewery. The menu focuses on grilled items from local farms and markets, with a focus on “Texas ranch-style” cuisine. These delicacies are paired with extraordinary wines from around the world (all available by the glass, bottle and “to-go”), full bar, live music and a casual yet energetic atmosphere. The unique list of wines boasts some of the lowest prices in the area.

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco. Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 10am-10pm
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-Midnight
Saturday 10am-Midnight

Cross Street:
Karnes St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 354-4644

Website:
http://www.boilerhousesa.com/

Entertainment:
Live music

Catering:
Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Jeff White

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 7:45PM - 8:45PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 1:30PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco.

The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (34)
Special Occasion (33)
Hot Spot (26)
See All
Good for Groups (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Romantic (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (5)
Historic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Live Sports (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We recently went to boiler house to cele ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

We recently went to boiler house to celebrate a friend's birthday. The waitstaff was friendly and the food was delicious!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and ambience were terrific. Onl ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and ambience were terrific. Only recommendations would be 1) a little less salt on the potatoes, 2)food could have been warmer, and 3) the meal took long to get to us.

Tags: Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have always enjoyed my visits to The ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I have always enjoyed my visits to The Boiler House. The menu is creative, smart and well presented but not too out in left field. It fits perfectly into the Pearl atmosphere.

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I agreed to get the special assuming tha ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I agreed to get the special assuming that when our waiter said it was "big enough for two" he did not mean a steak dinner for two. But instead of it being a large steak for one person it was for two and therefor there was a change in price. I had know idea it would cost $160. I was on a date and didn't really want to make a scene but I believe that if you suggest a special to a couple then you may want to let them know that they are going to be spending more than $100 on it. It was just a nasty surprise for a meal that in my opinion was definitely not worth the total amount paid.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

We took my parents to the Boiler House ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We took my parents to the Boiler House on a night out for their 49th annianniversary. After we were seated, the server surprised us with of champagne for a toast. The food was DELICIOUS!! And a special dessert topped off the evening. The Boiler House is definitely a new favorite!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place with wonderful food and at ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

A great place with wonderful food and atmosphere. A favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fourth time is the charm for this restau ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fourth time is the charm for this restaurant. Brunch is by far my favorite meal here. Mimosa heaven. And that burger on a Krispy Kreme donut was amazing. Score.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tried the Boiler House about a half doze ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Tried the Boiler House about a half dozen time, each time hoping it would be better but always leaving wondering why we gave it another chance. Drinks and ambiance are great, the food however could use some refining. From the numerous courses we've had here, I believe the chef believes richer the food i.e. more butter or cheese people will have to like it. The last few meals, one being the Cracklin' Chicken was drowning in butter and was also served on top of two huge pierogis filled with pimento cheese also swimming in the same butter. I could feel my arteries clogging. This place lack simplicity allowing the ingredients to speak for them selves. It's know. For their steaks and they aren't too bad, but for the cost I would still go somewhere else, it's Texas after all. If you are looking to leave feeling heavy after a meal, then you may like the food, for me I am through giving the Boiler House any more money and chances, would rather spend my meals at any of the more refined restaurants neighboring the Boiler House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

All was great except the short rib plate ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

All was great except the short rib plate was salty but edible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Family Style, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week menu was delicious. Foo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Restaurant Week menu was delicious. Food was great, but it's SOOOO noisy. And the placement of the lunch tables by the bathroom door is not very appealing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Krispy Kreme donut burger, need I say mo ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Krispy Kreme donut burger, need I say more? Flavored mimosas, great service which recommend food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Messed up drink order. Ordered appetize ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Messed up drink order. Ordered appetizers and took over 1.5hours from time of order placement to the time we ate. Server only checked on us 1-2 times. Manager did comp us 1 round of drinks and a free appetizer to help make up for it.

Tags: Quick Bite, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

Quail poppers were out of this world, bu ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Quail poppers were out of this world, buffalo meatballs could have been better. Date had the scallops and they were amazing. They were out of my first choice, pork shanks, so I ended up getting the short rib gnocchi, and the gnocchi was a massive disappointment. The gnocchi themselves were perfect, airy, with a soft texture and just the right "snap" when you bit through. Disappointment came from the sauce. Not very well seasoned and only a few scraps of meat to be found. Lets just say the pasta to protein ration was way off. This leads to my greatest complaint against Boiler House: no salt and pepper on the table.

I get it, the chef thinks his dishes are perfectly seasoned so they do not place salt and pepper on the table and you have to ask for it. Everyone has a different palate, so the belief that the chef's palate is somehow better than mine starts with a flawed premise. Frustration is further complicated when you can't get the waitress's attention and it takes several minutes to get the necessary seasons to make the dish palatable, creating the choice of just waiting it out or eating poorly seasoned food. This practice is further problematic with dishes like gnocchi that really benefit from proper seasoning during cooking so that the little gnocchi pillows absorb the right amount of seasoning while cooking.

This is my second experience with poorly seasoned food at one of their establishments (other time was at Max's Wine Dive in the Quarry). Great restaurants with creative menus and exquisite bars (great atmosphere with diverse wine, beer, and liquor selections) but either learn to properly season your dishes or place salt and pepper on the table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time here. Went to celebrate a bi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

First time here. Went to celebrate a birthday. The food was amazing. I will say that if you haven't been here before and don't want to sit by a bathroom which they have on both sides that you need to tell them when making the reservations. They sat us right by the bathroom door. We asked to be moved which seemed like a hassle to start but only took 5 minutes. They moved is to the other side of the restaurant. The music is played pretty loudly on speakers that line the entire restaurant. Maybe it is to cover up the chatter from everyone. Our waiter was superb. Two of the group originally ordered the cod which we were looking forward to since our waiter said that it was brought over from the previous menu because it was so popular. We found out after we ordered that they were sold out. I had the octopus for an appetizer and it was wonderful. It had great flavor and was very tender. Since I couldn't get the cod I ordered the pork shank. This was also very good but not the same when you had something else in mind. Our waiter even brought over a dessert for the birthday girl without any prompting. I would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Boiler House has really changed into ser ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Boiler House has really changed into serving delicious food but I have to say that Restaurant week at lunch time, the selection of the 2 entrees and dessert could have been better. I won't give up going due this one time! Keep up being the best, Boiler House! You can do it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Amazing food and service!!! Our waiter w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing food and service!!! Our waiter was very knowledgeable on ingredients and how the meal was prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, ambience and atmosphere. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great location, ambience and atmosphere.

Soft shell crab melt and meatloaf were good.

The macadamia nut ice cream sandwiches with nutter butter and maple bacon ice cream were outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Although the cocktails were good, the fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Although the cocktails were good, the food seemed very rushed. The two $47 fillets ordered came to the table cold, the quail plate only had one tiny bird on it, the meatball appetizer was barley warm, the bone marrow and mashed potatoes were the best part...Our server was slow and lacking in checking in on us. I would understand if they were slammed but that was not the case. We had higher hopes, maybe we will try again one day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Main course chicken was over cooked and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Main course chicken was over cooked and bistro chairs were uncomfortable

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We loved our experience at The Boiler Ho ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We loved our experience at The Boiler House! Lucky for us it was Restaurant Week, and the menu reflected it (elevated...but not weird...and at a very reasonable price)! Wine and Texas brews were also on point. Our server was polite, informative and attentive. The atmosphere was a conversation in itself. Thanks for a lovely evening!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boiler house menu online did not match m ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Boiler house menu online did not match menu in restaurant. Sirloin was not as juicy and flavorful as before. Jumbo bacon shrimp apps were delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Friendly staff. Anamzing food and select ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Friendly staff. Anamzing food and selection. Very accomodating for our 8 person party.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting wine list followed by an in ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Interesting wine list followed by an interesting menu. Great service. Pretty loud.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall the food was great, but pricey. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Overall the food was great, but pricey. We originally ordered the tuna steak but after giving the waitress our order she came back and told us that we couldn't order it because there was a party of 100 or more people were having it for dinner. So we had to change our order. It's also confusing because we ordered a side of lobster Mac and cheese thinking that it came with our entrée. It was an extra $15.00.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was excellent. I was disappo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was excellent.

I was disappointed to see all of the red wine selections just sitting out on open shelving. I wanted a special bottle of wine for my anniversary celebration. I was willing to pay for a nice bottle. I would suggest if they want to be a wine garden they need to properly store and serve their red wines at the proper temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The waiter we had was awesome, and the f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The waiter we had was awesome, and the food was incredible. Will be going back next time we are in San Antonio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All I can say is amazing. One very unfor ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

All I can say is amazing. One very unforgettable night.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, we started with th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was amazing, we started with the seared Oysters and then moved onto the Cod and Duck entrees. Everything was great and the service was wonderful. The place was busy and we were placed in the bar area, so the noise was a little bit of a nuisance. But overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything we had to eat was excellent. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything we had to eat was excellent. This is definitely one of our new favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is nice, but very busy. Ordere ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The place is nice, but very busy. Ordered a wine, was told they couldn't any carafes. .really? Service was slow, food not up to par with my last few visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

I had a business dinner that I scheduled ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I had a business dinner that I scheduled here, they sat us in a corner near a restroom, and also surrounded by their beverage stock which was sitting on shelves, waiting to be used. The atmosphere, was more like a place you would go if you were going out bar hopping for the evening, and the food was mediocre at best. Not really the atmosphere or food I was going for. They did have a nice wine menu however.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Great menu, great service, great scenery ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great menu, great service, great scenery. We will definitely be making a return visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great drinks and menu

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great drinks and menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was attentive and personable. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our server was attentive and personable. He did a great job!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have dined at the Boiler House many time ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Have dined at the Boiler House many times before events or just to have a special meal in one of the restaurants in the old Brewery, so the decor is appropriately "a Boiler House" along with those acoustics. It still provides an enjoyable meal and hands down the best poached eggs at brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was lacking on our visit. We ord ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was lacking on our visit. We ordered cocktails that didn't arrive before our lunch and even then we had to ask. We were seated with no cutlery or napkins and again had to ask for those once our lunch was served. The manager did make things right by picking up our drinks and offering us a dessert on the house. We would give them a second chance. Their burger saved the day, as it was one of the best I've ever had!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food and service were outstanding! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food and service were outstanding! Our waiter, Nick, made sure we had a wonderful time while celebrating my birthday. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The low score on service was do to it be ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The low score on service was do to it being Father's Day, but knowing the reservation level more help should have been scheduled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We had brunch at the Boiler House this p ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had brunch at the Boiler House this past Fathers Day. We got to sit on the 2nd floor and had an awesome waitress. She was friendly, attentive and helped us make wonderful choices for brunch, mimosa and dessert. The food was delicious, atmosphere great, they had good options for kids too and that's always a win. Only feedback we had was that my egg Benedict was hard and not runny. But, would def go back, really enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Kind of loud. Tables very c ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food. Kind of loud. Tables very close together. Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.