About The Boathouse on the Bay

190 N. Marina Drive
Long Beach, CA 90803
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Boathouse on the Bay, a Long Beach restaurant offering spectacular water views and an amazing Long Beach fine dining experience.

The Boathouse on the Bay is a seafood restaurant situated on Long Beach Alamitos Bay and serves an array of fresh seafood, sushi, sashimi and oysters. As one would expect from one of Long Beach’s best restaurants, we also offer natural organic steaks if seafood is not your preference.

Join us in Long Beach for happy hour, live entertainment and intrigue your senses with service and cuisine that is unsurpassed.

Plenty of parking or rideshare with your friends via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am; Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 493-1100

Website:
http://www.boathouseonthebay.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Parking lot available.
Additional public transportation:
Rideshare via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Public Transit:
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Executive Chef:
Katsuo Nagasawa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

The Boathouse on the Bay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Long Beach / Catalina
Scenic View
Long Beach / Catalina
Most Booked
Long Beach / Catalina
Best Restaurants in Long Beach ›

Scenic View (63)
Special Occasion (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
See All
Good for Groups (31)
Great for Lunch (29)
Romantic (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Kid-friendly (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Waterfront (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious, location was great, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was delicious, location was great, sitting outside worth the wait. Hosts were very accommodating but the bartenders and wait staff were totally rude and full of themselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

My dining experience at the Boathouse ha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

My dining experience at the Boathouse has always been exemplary, however they have all been lunches, not dinners. The food and service were very good but the noise level was intolerable. We were furthest away from the bar and the music was so loud we were literally shouting to hear each other. I will attend in future for lunch but not dinner, nor will i recommend friends attend for we appreciate conversation with our meals.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always dining at the Boathouse on the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We always dining at the Boathouse on the Bay. However, I do not recommend being there after 12 noon on a summer Sunday as the parking is a nightmare. Valet stopped parking cars due to the Marina Police issuing tickets.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I had been watching their posts on FB an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I had been watching their posts on FB and finally made it. Atmosphere was wonderful. The outdoor patio fantastic. Weather could not have been better. Great service. Food was wonderful and all the different drinks -- bloody marys, mimosas, Mai Tai's were delicious. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Hour there has always been enjoyab ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Happy Hour there has always been enjoyable. We went there for brunch and the service was very slow. Our food came out cold. Disappointing experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

We were seated quickly upon arrival and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were seated quickly upon arrival and overall service was quick without being rushed and friendly. The chilean sea bass was buttery and melted in my mouth and the steak was tender and cooked to perfection. The side dishes were also delicious and appropriately took a back seat to the stars of the two entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This place passes itself off as an upsca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place passes itself off as an upscale restaurant, but the staff lacks upscale, sanitary training. While sitting at the bar waiting for our table I witnessed inexcusable unsanitary behavior. Without ever washing their hands I witnessed several staff members touch the bread with their hands either to cut the bread or to place it on a plate. I watched a staff member without gloves shred some type of vegetable then, when he dropped some on the counter he just scooped it up and put it in a bowl for a customer. Someone shucking oysters wore gloves that he never changed either before or after shucking the oysters. When we arrived it was happy hour, and while I stood at the bar to order a drink, one young bar tender or bar back not sure which because he was helping "some" customers as well as cleaning up and washing glasses, nonetheless he made eye-contact with me and ignored me then promptly moved down the counter to take someone else's order. Thank Goodness for the female bartender that did notice me and provided great customer service. If this was not a special occasion/celebration I would have just left!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We had some outstanding dishes and a cou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had some outstanding dishes and a couple of disappointments. The smoked fish appetizer was not truly smoked, but used chemical smoke, immediately picked up by my husband and confirmed by our wait person. Should be indicated on the menu as we would never have ordered it had we known. The cobbler dessert was cold and the peach slices were too large for one bite and we were only given a spoon to try and cut them into bit size pieces. On the other hand the oysters were perfect, fresh briny and delicious. The wedge salad with candied bacon, crispy shallots and perfect blue cheese dressing was amazing. The blue crab cakes were some of the best we have ever eaten and the wild mushroom ravioli with sage and brown butter was great. We will be going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I absolutely love this place! I made res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I absolutely love this place! I made reservations for a friend's birthday gathering and had wanted to sit outdoors, however the steel drums made it too difficult to have a conversation. We were accommodated inside at a fantastic table. It was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. The ciopino was awesome.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food. The ciopino was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful Sunday brunch! I need t ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

What a wonderful Sunday brunch! I need to go back and explore happy hour and dinner menus but it was a beautiful day in Alamitos bay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we arrived the noise level from the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

When we arrived the noise level from the band singing offkey outdoors was very annoying. The restaurant was packed with families with kids running all over. There were no seats at the bar to wait for our table so were forced to wait on the terrace. The hostess did not properly log us in so when we decided to stay on the terrace and we told her we were listed as a no show. The only saving grace was the server who was pleasant but inexperienced and the outdoor terrace host who found us a table to sit while we waited for our inside reservation. There is no coordination between the terrace and the inside dining room so we had to play go between. Staff were pleasant but the rest of the experience left something to be desired. Like a Cheesecake Factory by the sea. Food was OK but not great. We ordered the seafood tower thinking it would feed for two, but it was small for the price and not a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

My sister and I have a beautiful view wh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My sister and I have a beautiful view while dining on delicious and interesting meals. The wine and the service was excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the outdoor music Food and bar ser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Love the outdoor music

Food and bar service can be slow

Pricey menu

Great ambiance

Not much for veggies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was delicious, the service exce ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was delicious, the service excellent, and the view was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was great - we requested a q ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Our service was great - we requested a quiet spot, and were accomidated. The wait staff were helpful. The food and wine were delicious!! The view of the bay was gorgeous. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for sitting outdoors and enjo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great spot for sitting outdoors and enjoying the view. On a hot day, more/bigger umbrellas would be nice. The kale and quinoa salad was good even though the greens were a bit yellowed. As a vegan I would always like to see more vegan choices, but for lunch it was fine. The fresh bread was divine.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

It is a very favorable location. I espe ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

It is a very favorable location. I especially enjoyed the outside dining both for breakfast and dinner... yes the food was great also

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Too noisy. I make better eggs Benedict m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Too noisy. I make better eggs Benedict myself at home. The omelette was OK and the shrimp was expensive for only four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We reserved an 8:30 slot did not get sea ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We reserved an 8:30 slot did not get seated til 8:42

Sat at table til 9:05 before we got water and bread from busboy that I flagged down

Finally got our waiter and ordered at 9:15 RECEIVED our food at 9:45!

at 10:15 I had enough and flagged the hostess to get our bill PAID the bill and was just about to leave when our waiter said he spoke to Mgr and because of the SLOW SERVICE they would not charge us

I told the waiter it's not ur fault but it did not make the dining experience pleasant I slipped him a 20.00 and we left at 10:30

Ugggggh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Takes too long to get the dish. Very noi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Takes too long to get the dish. Very noisy, unable to have any conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

I specifically went here to see a friend ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I specifically went here to see a friends band play. I requested a table near the band with an umbrella. They sat us inside. When I asked if we could sit outside, they told us it would be about a 30 to 40 minute wait. Could NOT hear the band at all. We got outside just in time for them to take a break. They informed me that a wedding party was taking place.

Our server was nice, but service was a little slow. I felt like it was not her fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

music was loud at first, then they toned ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

music was loud at first, then they toned it down. Reviews said service was bad but ours was great. Food was good. Views were awesome. Steel drum Sunday brunch would probably be fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome place. The Boathouse is one of t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Awesome place. The Boathouse is one of the few restaurants is this area to offer quality dining after 9:00 PM. The clam chowder is very good and they have an excellent craft cocktail menu. Next time I am int he area I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great table, great food, great service. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great table, great food, great service. The Boathouse is a terrific special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is your go to for a good brun ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This place is your go to for a good brunch with a great view! $18 bottle of champagne on Saturdays and Sunday's! You can't beat that!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food isnt all that. Staff isnt too kind ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food isnt all that. Staff isnt too kind still had to wait an hr with reservations.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

Boathouse on the Bay is a nice restauran ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Boathouse on the Bay is a nice restaurant, but rather expensive for what you get. We ordered the Coconut Shrimp for an appetizer. The shrimp were very large and very tasty. I ordered the salmon, which was very good. My husband ordered a filet, medium well. Our dinners came out and his steak was medium rare. I am not sure why chefs can't get this right. We have had this happen to us so many times, we joke about it being done correctly when we order. They had to take it back to correct it. It is very upsetting because we end up not being able to eat our meal together. I was done before his steak even came back. The waiter does not deliver any of the food and when the steak was returned he never came by to apologize. They did bring a new piece of meat, which was appreciated. The steak comes with nothing on the side. For $39 for a 6 ounce steak, it should come with a side. They have very limited menu of wine by the glass. The bill was almost $200. I would have wanted a bit better experience to support the cost. They do have a nice outdoor area that seemed to be very popular. I think in the future, we would go outside and have a cocktail and an appetizer.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Got there at 6:45 for a 7:00 res. Had a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Got there at 6:45 for a 7:00 res. Had a handicapped person in our party of 4 who had a tough time standing and sitting for a long time because of recent knee surgery. Not seated 'til past 7:30, after mis-info about the wait and "a lot of lip" from the hostess. Dinner took so long that after a while the handicapper went to the car to wait for the other three to finish dinner. Not good....

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Waiter was not interested. Missed one ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Waiter was not interested. Missed one of the side dishes we ordered. Good quality not as good as McKennas used to be. Great location but won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Great view, good service, nice menu sele ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great view, good service, nice menu selection. Parking can be a real problem on the week-ends. Easy access to the $5 ferry that takes you across the bay.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, outstanding service and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service and a spectacular view. What else could you want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful location on Alamitos Bay, ex ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beautiful location on Alamitos Bay, excellent food, great service. Tad pricey.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my wife's birthday. I ordered f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was my wife's birthday. I ordered flowers through online they came as promised. Our server was excellant. Thanks again!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the ambiance service food view. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I loved the ambiance service food view. the waiters and people who seeted you very good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a positive experience. We had ea ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was a positive experience. We had eaten there before and it is good for special occasions as well just a good meal out. It was a special occasion this time. It was our 56th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The view was spectacular! Good was good ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The view was spectacular! Good was good but not exceptional. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We went to the Boathouse for a "date" ( ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went to the Boathouse for a "date" ( need to do that after almost 27 years of marriage once in a while). We were seated immediately at a window table with an amazing view of the bay. There were a lot of interesting choices and specials on the menu, but we wanted to eat light. We ordered two salads, and two appetizers- prawns and poke . They apparently ran out of bread that night..which would have been nice with the meal. Pete had a cocktail and a glass of wine.

The food was delicious. It was a bit pricey for what we had, but i was looking for a nice experience. My only complaint was that ithe dining room was very noisy. A scratchy speaker was playing over the loud talking of the customers and the squealing of several children playing tag around a table of eight moms.

After dinner, we headed out to the patio for a chance to talk, but the band and noise was pretty loud out there, too.

All in all, it was a nice evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Boathouse on the Bay could have been so ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Boathouse on the Bay could have been so much better if only the food would have been good. Would not have even needed to be great given the setting. Everything after the bread (which was hot and deliciously crusty) went downhill. Swordfish was overcooked and dry, sea bass was in a tasteless and watery broth, crab cakes had no crab, Brussel sprouts were way over done and had a sweet cloying flavor. The setting was lovely. Maybe okay for lunch and lighter fair but skip dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

My husband's swordfish was great. My din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My husband's swordfish was great. My dinner, the chicken was dry and tasteless. Waiter was inattentive. Overall I was hoping for a really nice birthday dinner for my husband and was very disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.