About The Boathouse on the Bay

190 N. Marina Drive
Long Beach, CA 90803
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Boathouse on the Bay, a Long Beach restaurant offering spectacular water views and an amazing Long Beach fine dining experience.

The Boathouse on the Bay is a seafood restaurant situated on Long Beach Alamitos Bay and serves an array of fresh seafood, sushi, sashimi and oysters. As one would expect from one of Long Beach’s best restaurants, we also offer natural organic steaks if seafood is not your preference.

Join us in Long Beach for happy hour, live entertainment and intrigue your senses with service and cuisine that is unsurpassed.

Plenty of parking or rideshare with your friends via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am; Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 493-1100

Website:
http://www.boathouseonthebay.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Parking lot available.
Additional public transportation:
Rideshare via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Public Transit:
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Executive Chef:
Katsuo Nagasawa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

The Boathouse on the Bay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Long Beach / Catalina
Outdoor Dining
Long Beach / Catalina
Scenic View
Long Beach / Catalina
1 More
Most Booked
Long Beach / Catalina
Best Restaurants in Long Beach ›

Scenic View (60)
Special Occasion (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
See All
Romantic (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Great for Brunch (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Waterfront (13)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for a Date (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Live Music (3)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really enjoy the outside entertainment. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Really enjoy the outside entertainment. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, People Watching, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Unfortunately, my daughter ordered somet ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Unfortunately, my daughter ordered something, I cant recall what it was exactly. A meat dish (shredded, I believe). It was extremely dry and got caught in her throat. We had to return it and it was taken off of our bill. The rest of the meal was. fine.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Found this place online because I needed ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Found this place online because I needed a place to meet friends who live in Huntington Beach and we live in Los Angeles. I had worked in Long Beach for many years and had driven by but never knew anything about this restaurant.

Upon arrival, The restaurant and bar were very crowded, but not overwhelmingly so, with mostly a younger crowd. We were able to get seats at the bar right away, which was our plan as we arrived half hour before our reservation. We arrived just around sunset and the view from the deck, the bar and the restaurant is spectacular. You can see the entire marina and watch the sunset and the afterglow for quite a long time.

We had a couple of excellent martinis and then were seated right on time in a booth at the window overlooking the bay. One of our group is a vegetarian and she was able to find a beet salad and a couple of other options that she enjoyed. We also had some of the sashimi and the seafood tower as well as some fresh oysters. I'm very picky about oysters, and they certainly were fresh, but the variety we had which I think was the Kumamoto, were not very plump and had not been separated from the Shell on bottom so they had to be scraped out. The sauces that came with the oysters and the seafood tower were fine. The seafood tower had more oysters, some shrimp, and a few crab legs. The portions seemed a little small for the $48 price. But it was quite tasty. We also shared some salads that were nicely prepared and fresh.

Overall, the experience was very good and I would definitely recommend this place for a drink with friends, dinner, or a date. Both the restaurant seating and the outdoor seating seem very comfortable and afford beautiful views of the bay. Will definitely return to try some of the main dishes and perhaps brunch. The waiter was very nice and sociable, but occasionally a little difficult to find. Still overall, the service from the bartenders and waiter salads and seafood, this is a nice spot to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food, tried the special for the da ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food, tried the special for the day the yellow tail fish with mash and veggies and it was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

You can't beat this place for ambiance. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

You can't beat this place for ambiance. Dining on the patio during the summer is the best! They have a large menu and food is well prepared, although a bit bland for my taste. I like their lunch special with soup, salad and sandwich.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

View is spectacular ocean harbor (great ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

View is spectacular ocean harbor (great sunset)...fusion foods. Fantastic tastes! Great Services! Very accommodating! Love the atmosphere! Love it!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Live Music, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Healthy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I gave 1 star for service because the as ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I gave 1 star for service because the associate who seated us told us that we could have the requested a window table to celebrate our anniversary, but for one hour because another party would be seated at that time. She failed to determine if we had reservations and could not clearly explain her statement.

We requested the manager who determined that we had reservations. He gave us a lovely table with dessert on the house. Our waitress was fantastic.

This sloppy customer service happens too often in too many places.

Please ask the right questions and listen.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Had out of town guests..very accommodati ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Had out of town guests..very accommodating staff..great service...great food..great view...great music 👍👍👍👍

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started to go outside but it was too war ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Started to go outside but it was too warm and the music was too loud for talk. We sat next to the window and watched the sunset and enjoyed a delicious meal. There was a good variety from fish to meat dishes. We had a nice appetizer of calamari, shrimp and a artichoke/spinach dip. The parking is hard to find with several restaurants in the area and one lot. That is the only drawback

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was delicious, location was great, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food was delicious, location was great, sitting outside worth the wait. Hosts were very accommodating but the bartenders and wait staff were totally rude and full of themselves.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

My dining experience at the Boathouse ha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

My dining experience at the Boathouse has always been exemplary, however they have all been lunches, not dinners. The food and service were very good but the noise level was intolerable. We were furthest away from the bar and the music was so loud we were literally shouting to hear each other. I will attend in future for lunch but not dinner, nor will i recommend friends attend for we appreciate conversation with our meals.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always dining at the Boathouse on the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We always dining at the Boathouse on the Bay. However, I do not recommend being there after 12 noon on a summer Sunday as the parking is a nightmare. Valet stopped parking cars due to the Marina Police issuing tickets.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I had been watching their posts on FB an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I had been watching their posts on FB and finally made it. Atmosphere was wonderful. The outdoor patio fantastic. Weather could not have been better. Great service. Food was wonderful and all the different drinks -- bloody marys, mimosas, Mai Tai's were delicious. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Hour there has always been enjoyab ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Happy Hour there has always been enjoyable. We went there for brunch and the service was very slow. Our food came out cold. Disappointing experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

We were seated quickly upon arrival and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were seated quickly upon arrival and overall service was quick without being rushed and friendly. The chilean sea bass was buttery and melted in my mouth and the steak was tender and cooked to perfection. The side dishes were also delicious and appropriately took a back seat to the stars of the two entrees.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This place passes itself off as an upsca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place passes itself off as an upscale restaurant, but the staff lacks upscale, sanitary training. While sitting at the bar waiting for our table I witnessed inexcusable unsanitary behavior. Without ever washing their hands I witnessed several staff members touch the bread with their hands either to cut the bread or to place it on a plate. I watched a staff member without gloves shred some type of vegetable then, when he dropped some on the counter he just scooped it up and put it in a bowl for a customer. Someone shucking oysters wore gloves that he never changed either before or after shucking the oysters. When we arrived it was happy hour, and while I stood at the bar to order a drink, one young bar tender or bar back not sure which because he was helping "some" customers as well as cleaning up and washing glasses, nonetheless he made eye-contact with me and ignored me then promptly moved down the counter to take someone else's order. Thank Goodness for the female bartender that did notice me and provided great customer service. If this was not a special occasion/celebration I would have just left!

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We had some outstanding dishes and a cou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had some outstanding dishes and a couple of disappointments. The smoked fish appetizer was not truly smoked, but used chemical smoke, immediately picked up by my husband and confirmed by our wait person. Should be indicated on the menu as we would never have ordered it had we known. The cobbler dessert was cold and the peach slices were too large for one bite and we were only given a spoon to try and cut them into bit size pieces. On the other hand the oysters were perfect, fresh briny and delicious. The wedge salad with candied bacon, crispy shallots and perfect blue cheese dressing was amazing. The blue crab cakes were some of the best we have ever eaten and the wild mushroom ravioli with sage and brown butter was great. We will be going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I absolutely love this place! I made res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I absolutely love this place! I made reservations for a friend's birthday gathering and had wanted to sit outdoors, however the steel drums made it too difficult to have a conversation. We were accommodated inside at a fantastic table. It was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. The ciopino was awesome.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food. The ciopino was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful Sunday brunch! I need t ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

What a wonderful Sunday brunch! I need to go back and explore happy hour and dinner menus but it was a beautiful day in Alamitos bay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we arrived the noise level from the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

When we arrived the noise level from the band singing offkey outdoors was very annoying. The restaurant was packed with families with kids running all over. There were no seats at the bar to wait for our table so were forced to wait on the terrace. The hostess did not properly log us in so when we decided to stay on the terrace and we told her we were listed as a no show. The only saving grace was the server who was pleasant but inexperienced and the outdoor terrace host who found us a table to sit while we waited for our inside reservation. There is no coordination between the terrace and the inside dining room so we had to play go between. Staff were pleasant but the rest of the experience left something to be desired. Like a Cheesecake Factory by the sea. Food was OK but not great. We ordered the seafood tower thinking it would feed for two, but it was small for the price and not a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

My sister and I have a beautiful view wh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My sister and I have a beautiful view while dining on delicious and interesting meals. The wine and the service was excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the outdoor music Food and bar ser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Love the outdoor music

Food and bar service can be slow

Pricey menu

Great ambiance

Not much for veggies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was delicious, the service exce ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was delicious, the service excellent, and the view was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was great - we requested a q ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Our service was great - we requested a quiet spot, and were accomidated. The wait staff were helpful. The food and wine were delicious!! The view of the bay was gorgeous. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for sitting outdoors and enjo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great spot for sitting outdoors and enjoying the view. On a hot day, more/bigger umbrellas would be nice. The kale and quinoa salad was good even though the greens were a bit yellowed. As a vegan I would always like to see more vegan choices, but for lunch it was fine. The fresh bread was divine.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

It is a very favorable location. I espe ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

It is a very favorable location. I especially enjoyed the outside dining both for breakfast and dinner... yes the food was great also

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Too noisy. I make better eggs Benedict m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Too noisy. I make better eggs Benedict myself at home. The omelette was OK and the shrimp was expensive for only four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We reserved an 8:30 slot did not get sea ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We reserved an 8:30 slot did not get seated til 8:42

Sat at table til 9:05 before we got water and bread from busboy that I flagged down

Finally got our waiter and ordered at 9:15 RECEIVED our food at 9:45!

at 10:15 I had enough and flagged the hostess to get our bill PAID the bill and was just about to leave when our waiter said he spoke to Mgr and because of the SLOW SERVICE they would not charge us

I told the waiter it's not ur fault but it did not make the dining experience pleasant I slipped him a 20.00 and we left at 10:30

Ugggggh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Takes too long to get the dish. Very noi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Takes too long to get the dish. Very noisy, unable to have any conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

I specifically went here to see a friend ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I specifically went here to see a friends band play. I requested a table near the band with an umbrella. They sat us inside. When I asked if we could sit outside, they told us it would be about a 30 to 40 minute wait. Could NOT hear the band at all. We got outside just in time for them to take a break. They informed me that a wedding party was taking place.

Our server was nice, but service was a little slow. I felt like it was not her fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

music was loud at first, then they toned ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

music was loud at first, then they toned it down. Reviews said service was bad but ours was great. Food was good. Views were awesome. Steel drum Sunday brunch would probably be fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome place. The Boathouse is one of t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Awesome place. The Boathouse is one of the few restaurants is this area to offer quality dining after 9:00 PM. The clam chowder is very good and they have an excellent craft cocktail menu. Next time I am int he area I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great table, great food, great service. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great table, great food, great service. The Boathouse is a terrific special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is your go to for a good brun ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This place is your go to for a good brunch with a great view! $18 bottle of champagne on Saturdays and Sunday's! You can't beat that!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food isnt all that. Staff isnt too kind ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food isnt all that. Staff isnt too kind still had to wait an hr with reservations.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

Boathouse on the Bay is a nice restauran ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Boathouse on the Bay is a nice restaurant, but rather expensive for what you get. We ordered the Coconut Shrimp for an appetizer. The shrimp were very large and very tasty. I ordered the salmon, which was very good. My husband ordered a filet, medium well. Our dinners came out and his steak was medium rare. I am not sure why chefs can't get this right. We have had this happen to us so many times, we joke about it being done correctly when we order. They had to take it back to correct it. It is very upsetting because we end up not being able to eat our meal together. I was done before his steak even came back. The waiter does not deliver any of the food and when the steak was returned he never came by to apologize. They did bring a new piece of meat, which was appreciated. The steak comes with nothing on the side. For $39 for a 6 ounce steak, it should come with a side. They have very limited menu of wine by the glass. The bill was almost $200. I would have wanted a bit better experience to support the cost. They do have a nice outdoor area that seemed to be very popular. I think in the future, we would go outside and have a cocktail and an appetizer.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Got there at 6:45 for a 7:00 res. Had a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Got there at 6:45 for a 7:00 res. Had a handicapped person in our party of 4 who had a tough time standing and sitting for a long time because of recent knee surgery. Not seated 'til past 7:30, after mis-info about the wait and "a lot of lip" from the hostess. Dinner took so long that after a while the handicapper went to the car to wait for the other three to finish dinner. Not good....

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Waiter was not interested. Missed one ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Waiter was not interested. Missed one of the side dishes we ordered. Good quality not as good as McKennas used to be. Great location but won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Great view, good service, nice menu sele ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great view, good service, nice menu selection. Parking can be a real problem on the week-ends. Easy access to the $5 ferry that takes you across the bay.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.