Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 20 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Boathouse on the Bay

4.5
696 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
Welcome to The Boathouse on the Bay, a Long Beach restaurant offering spectacular water views and an amazing Long Beach fine dining experience.

The Boathouse on the Bay is a seafood restaurant situated on Long Beach Alamitos Bay and serves an array of fresh seafood, sushi, sashimi and oysters. As one would expect from one of Long Beach’s best restaurants, we also offer natural organic steaks if seafood is not your preference.

Join us in Long Beach for happy hour, live entertainment and intrigue your senses with service and cuisine that is unsurpassed.

Plenty of parking or rideshare with your friends via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am; Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(562) 493-1100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Katsuo Nagasawa
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking lot available.
Complimentary Valet on Weekends.
Additional public transportation:
Rideshare via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Alamitos Bay Free Shuttle
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Do you have a private event that you’d like us to host for you? Our Regatta Room is perfect for any private event.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Treat Mom to our unlimited Brunch Buffet! Featuring all your breakfast favorites, as well as a raw bar and carved to order Slow Roasted Prime Rib. Buffet starts at 9 am and lasts until 2:00 pm.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 696 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

The menu has something for everyone and the service is exceptional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Large group. It took a little while for our food to come out. Food was delicious. A tad pricey imo

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful meal and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Good food and atmosphere. Nice view. Very crowded, but had good service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Boathouse on the Bay sits on the water with commanding views of Alamitos Bay. While the main dining room will take reservations, unfortunately the patio is on a first type income, first-serve basis and on the evening my wife and I dined there, the wait was considerable, probably due to the Long Beach Grand Prix.

Nevertheless, the dining room is expensive and well appointed, and yet conversation was easy. Service was good, friendly and unobtrusive. While the wine list was not particularly extensive, the choices were good and the pricing reasonable. There is a full bar for cocktails.

The real star is the seafood. While there were the usual choices of meats, priced almost to encourage focusing on the seafood selection, the seafood options were considerable and very fairly priced. The halibut I chose was expertly prepared and delicious, grilled to perfection without the occasional dryness that halibut can suffer if cooked improperly. My wife enjoyed a filet of salmon that was equally well prepared.

We will definitely return to the sample more of the offerings, especially now that we are regulars in the Alamitos Bay Marina, a short waterfront walk away.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Family came to town and wanted to go out and celebrate mom’s birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I made arrangements for a Birthday get-together with college friends and we were treated like royalty -- the service was excellent; we had a great table with a view; the drinks were delicious and fun; the food was very good.
We sat for a few hours we were having such a good time celebrating. We could talk; it was not too noisy; we were comfortable in the booth; the temperature was comfortable; my friends loved it as it was their first time and they will recommend to their friends.
The price point value was superb. We will all be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Fabulous experience: Food, Service, Atmosphere was worth the extra $ of the lunch menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Very good restaurant. Excellent food, good service and nice location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The food and service are fantastic. They often play the music too loud. I’ve had to ask several times if they could lower the volume.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Went there for Easter brunch. We were seated right away and had an awesome cocktail. Personally, I did not like the seafood omelette and would not get it again. The service was great and so was the view.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Well what upset is that I tried to change my reservations from 4 to 5, and was told no without even looking. We get there at 10...they totally could have accommodated change there were only a few tables filled. Will probably not return because of this

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We were greeted and table of six seated right away actually given our choice of inside or patio we chose the patio fire pit. Our service was prompt to take our drink orders and offer good suggestion for champagne drinks. Food was quick to arrive and met our standard of delicious. We had a birthday in our good and a small dessert was brought over with candle. It was a good experience my second time eating here and I will been back for later entertainment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Great overall, but it is very expensive when compared to fine dining restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Beautiful location with great food and very good service! Looking forward to going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Good food and better view. Enjoyed the sunset while on a date night with my wife. Definitely plan to come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Loved our server, she was amazing!! Went to lunch 4 parents 50th wedding anniversary! Perfect!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The service was great and the food was very good. The view was great and the food was good for kids and adults. it was a nice Saturday Brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great food with great views! We haven’t had happy hour but seems like a great deal. Everything we ordered was delicious. Oysters, clam chowder, appetizer platter, tuna poke, clams in tomato sauce! All excellent!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The food is delicious---we a 3 had fish tacos and- we are fussy about fish. The mahi mahi tacos were scruptious. Karen was the perfect waitress let us visit a lot and seemed to appear at just the right time. Brought a lovely birthday dessert to our honoree. This is my favorite place for a special lunch,

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Good time just a little load and waiter WAY to busy!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

$20 burger and just made potato chips were well received by our guest, compared to $20 blackened halibut sandwich (nothing special tasting and fish came in multiple pieces making it hard to stay on bun) and $16 mahi tacos (mostly black beans and rice) were so so. Next time, going for the sushi rolls. Service was best thing on the menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Location and service were excellent. Nothing special about food: Salmon was over-cooked on quinoa salad, crab cobb salad only average. Noise level was higher than expected, and piped-in music louder than necessary for a midweek lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Dinner with my daughter on a long weekend. First of all, our server Bert was fantastic. Made us feel immediately comfortable, helped us when we ordered, and even kept me from ordering more food than we needed (appreciated the honesty). We had the appetizer combo, which was both large and terrific. Easily the best calamari I’ve ever had...so tender. And the coconut shrimp was colossal. Added the Red Dragon roll sushi and a place of steamed clams and mussels. Great view of the harbor, could definitely be a romantic place if that was your goal. Very happy with our choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Our group was greeted warmly by two people at the front desk, we requested a couple more chairs and the staff brought them quickly and with a smile. Our server was friendly and did a great job with our group. Looking forward to going again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

So we have eaten here Twice in 4 days!!
My husband is addicted to their bone in RibEye and the Sautéed Spinach. I’m addicted to their amazing, generous Lobster Sushi Roll, so delicious when paired with a crisp glass of Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay!
The service has been great both times as well and the view, even on a rare rainy day, can’t be beat👍🏻

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Overall great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Always enjoy Boathouse on the Bay. The patio is great for happy hour with a good selection of drinks & food. Inside for a cozy dinner is also nice. Service is good, food is consistent, ambiance is great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Delicious food as always ... friendly and attentive staff, beautiful sunset views, prompt food after ordering. Would have given 5 stars for Ambiance, but the tables were arranged a bit close together and we actually pushed ours ourselves a small measure so that wait staff were not bumping into one of us all the time. Not a big deal - and about the only thing I could pick at. Boathouse is a lovely restaurant and a good go-to for visitors you'd like to impress.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Disappointed in the food. It felt like a chain restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Boathouse was very good. it was lively, the view was great and the service was strong.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Wonderful, Amber made it so.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Nice views. Sweet server

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Service and view are their greatest assets. Really good variety of seating options, from booths, tables and pub tables inside, to outside tables and couch setting. A big thank you for the wait staff facilitating a festive b-day, during an incredibly busy Sunday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

We always love the Boathouse. The patio is a great spot to sit and enjoy a drink and some live music. The view is wonderful and the heaters make it enjoyable even when it's chilly out. The bar is lively and friendly. The restaurant has a great menu. We can always count on the oysters being fresh and the steaks being cooked just as ordered. The wine list is adequate with lots of good choices. This is one of our go-to places for dates or special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Excellent food, great atmosphere.. descent prices. Awesome Customer service, need I say more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I hosted my future sister-in-law's bridal brunch here this past Saturday, 2/17/18, and everything from beginning to end was absolutely perfect! We sat out on the patio and it was just beautiful. I was able to decorate our table and they allowed us to bring our own dessert for her. The service was on point and at the same time, we were allowed to enjoy our time together without constantly being disturbed. The food was amazing! All of our dishes were plated beautifully and tasted just as stellar. I couldn't have asked for a more spectacular time! Thank you, guys!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The food was phenomenal. The crab cakes are nicely rich with a wonderful sauce that helps pull the appetizer together quiet pleasantly. I ordered the miso Chilean sea bass, literally the best piece of fish I’ve ate my entire life. A well flavored, buttery filet that melted in my mouth. The live entertainment was a huge plus for me as well. A magician came over to our table while we waited for our food & he made the experience that much more special. I might even try to hire him for an event. He was spectacular. Overall amazing experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Came with my wife to celebrate Valentine’s Day. She’s very picky when it comes to seafood- however she devoured the Chilean Sea Bass! I too, enjoyed my Coffee-Rubbed Prime Beef! Our waitress was very attentive which made the experience even more pleasant! Our evening turned out great! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great Valentine’s Day!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18