About The Boathouse on the Bay

190 N. Marina Drive
Long Beach, CA 90803
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Boathouse on the Bay, a Long Beach restaurant offering spectacular water views and an amazing Long Beach fine dining experience.

The Boathouse on the Bay is a seafood restaurant situated on Long Beach Alamitos Bay and serves an array of fresh seafood, sushi, sashimi and oysters. As one would expect from one of Long Beach’s best restaurants, we also offer natural organic steaks if seafood is not your preference.

Join us in Long Beach for happy hour, live entertainment and intrigue your senses with service and cuisine that is unsurpassed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am; Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 493-1100

Website:
http://www.boathouseonthebay.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Parking lot available.
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Public Transit:
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Executive Chef:
Katsuo Nagasawa

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

The Boathouse on the Bay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Long Beach / Catalina
Outdoor Dining
Long Beach / Catalina
Scenic View
Long Beach / Catalina
1 More
Most Booked
Long Beach / Catalina
Best Restaurants in Long Beach ›

scenic view (68)
special occasion (47)
great for outdoor dining (46)
See All
good for groups (35)
great for lunch (31)
romantic (28)
fit for foodies (26)
great for brunch (24)
neighborhood gem (21)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (10)
notable wine list (8)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4

The view was spectacular! Good was good ...

Dined 3 days ago

The view was spectacular! Good was good but not exceptional. Service was great.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to the Boathouse for a "date" ( ...

Dined 5 days ago

We went to the Boathouse for a "date" ( need to do that after almost 27 years of marriage once in a while). We were seated immediately at a window table with an amazing view of the bay. There were a lot of interesting choices and specials on the menu, but we wanted to eat light. We ordered two salads, and two appetizers- prawns and poke . They apparently ran out of bread that night..which would have been nice with the meal. Pete had a cocktail and a glass of wine. The food was delicious. It was a bit pricey for what we had, but i was looking for a nice experience. My only complaint was that ithe dining room was very noisy. A scratchy speaker was playing over the loud talking of the customers and the squealing of several children playing tag around a table of eight moms. After dinner, we headed out to the patio for a chance to talk, but the band and noise was pretty loud out there, too. All in all, it was a nice evening.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Boathouse on the Bay could have been so ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Boathouse on the Bay could have been so much better if only the food would have been good. Would not have even needed to be great given the setting. Everything after the bread (which was hot and deliciously crusty) went downhill. Swordfish was overcooked and dry, sea bass was in a tasteless and watery broth, crab cakes had no crab, Brussel sprouts were way over done and had a sweet cloying flavor. The setting was lovely. Maybe okay for lunch and lighter fair but skip dinner.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

My husband's swordfish was great. My din ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My husband's swordfish was great. My dinner, the chicken was dry and tasteless. Waiter was inattentive. Overall I was hoping for a really nice birthday dinner for my husband and was very disappointed.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious fresh excellently prepared fis ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious fresh excellently prepared fish and seafood. Really enjoyed our second waiter who took over after the first waiter finished his shift. Wish I remembered his name . Lovely perfect time the only exception is that the temperature in the restaurant was very cold for my husband and I.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Always a fun place to eat! The view is a ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a fun place to eat! The view is amazing. The food is generally quite good and the atmosphere is excellent. Inside and outside eating, music with some regularity, a very good bar and pretty nice staff. Hot place!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant dining at an affordable price!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Any time you can enjoy a meal while watching the boats float by, it's a beautiful experience. We found the service amazing, the views awesome, and the food fantastic! Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite dining spot

Dined on June 5, 2016

Outstanding in every way. Great food, wide selection (something for everyone), friendly and helpful staff. GREAT water and sunset view. All in all a perfect venue to have a perfect meal with family and friends.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The Boathouse has been our "go to"' rest ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

The Boathouse has been our "go to"' restaurant, both for bringing clients (our reason tonight) as well as other special occasions with family and friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great way to start your Sunday!

Dined on May 29, 2016

What a great way to start your Sunday morning, brunch, on the Bay with a great view, and live steel drum musicians. We had a GREAT time. Can hardly wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The service was bad.

Dined on May 28, 2016

We were rushed to make a decision, then rushed to finish our dinner, then rushed to pay the bill. We won't be going back for a meal again. Maybe just have a drink at the bar. The meals are way overpriced for what we received.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect local location. Good service , g ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Perfect local location. Good service , good food good value.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there many times. Always a good ch ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Been there many times. Always a good choice. Love the view.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to try a new restaurant. The fo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I wanted to try a new restaurant. The food was great, the drinks were amazing. I order The Boathouse roll with was well worthy he price. The service was excellent. I will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

great location, decent food but overpric ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

great location, decent food but overpriced - nice for special occasion splurge but would have liked to go more but not at $150/for dinner for 2 without appetizer or dessert

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Priceless

Dined on May 14, 2016

I took my wife here for dinner and it blew us both away. The service was amazing and the food was the absolute tastiest dishes I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Okay, but a little disappointed

Dined on May 13, 2016

I usually always enjoy the Boathouse, however this time our service wasn't the best. Our waiter forgot one entree, forgot to bring water……she seemed a little distracted. Nothing really bad, just not the usual good service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Over crowded

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

We came here for Mother's Day. We were greeted promptly and they told me that unfortunately they were running a little behind on their reservations. It's Mother's Day, that is to be expected, our reservations were at 630 but were seated 650 (not to bad). Our waitress was great, very attentive. We were told that unfortunately the kitchen was extremely backed up and it would take awhile for us to receive our food. Once again, that is to be expected it was Mother's Day. We put in our appetizer order right away. After 45 minutes it was served. It was good, came out warm. After waiting another 45minutes minutes we were given our dinner entrees. Everything was presented nice but then we tasted our food. ALL of our food was cold! I did talk to the manager and explained it to him, he did take my entree and my mom's entree off the bill. What I did not realize is that everyone in my party food was cold. I feel overall this restaurant should not be accepting this quality of reservations that they obviously cannot handle. I do regret that they rest of my group did not say anything so that it could be remedied but at that point we just wanted to leave. We wanted to have a nice dinner and it ended up being a disaster.

food3
ambience4
service2

My whole family went for Mother's Day an ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

My whole family went for Mother's Day and I get its a busy day. We made reservations and didn't get seated until after 20 minutes of waiting. Upon being seated, we weren't offered water or bread for another 20 minutes. We had to actually wave someone down to serve us. We all decided to try a different fish entree and boy were we all disappointed ( not just because it took over 1 hour to get our food.....) but for $ 35+, I would expect better cooked fish. My fish was dry and bland and tasted like bad cooking from frozen fillets. The food was very standard, and a bit pricey for what they were serving. On the bright side, the ambience is amazing!

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Seated 30 min after reservation time. Recieved drinks promptly then waited 30 min for waiter to take our orders. Two wait staff taking care of 10 large parties. Food came 1 hour later and was cold. Food preparation was adequate but not worth the $35.00 - $40.00 prices. Not creative enough to be a foodies place but food was good. Would not return for anothe meal even though the restuarant seemed understaffed for the occasion. The culinary efforts do not support the prices. Ambiance is good with beautiful views. Wine list is generic.

food3
ambience3
service3

Good food. Pretty view.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food. Pretty view.

food3
ambience2
service3

It was just ok. We went on Mother's Day ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was just ok. We went on Mother's Day which is always a tough day to try somewhere new. The steak was $51 & honestly just wasn't interesting, tender or overall good. The Chilean sea bass was good but very expensive at nearly $40. My 6 year old ordered Mac-n-cheese off the kids menu & it was too spicy for her to eat. We probably will not return.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mother's Day, they we're swamped, but they got us seated fairly close the reservation time. The food was great! The service was better! The manager went out of his way to make my Mother's Day Special as it was also her birthday and anniversary.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Cold chowder

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was good, but if it had been served warm it probably would have been much better.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Bert was absolutely amazing !

Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing service and great food ! As we all know service in it self can ruin any restaurant no matter how fantastic the food. But let me tell you our service was exceptional ! Bert showed a kindness and attentiveness that was superb ! It was my husband and i's first dining experience at this particular restaurant and after the suggestions and recommendations from the server we were not disappointed .. We Highly recommend this restaurant !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far one of the best restaurants I have attended

Dined on April 29, 2016

BoatHouse On The Bay was great. Not only was the staff great but so was the food. They were very pleasant and helpful and catered to my fiance and I.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great location!

Dined on April 25, 2016

The staff of BotB are always friendly and take pride in their work. The food is dependably good. It is my go to restaurant for client meetings and out of town guests. They never disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Occasion

Dined on April 22, 2016

We were celebrating my husbands 28th birthday and it was absolutely perfect. The indoor dining area was quiet and we had a very attentive waiter. We throughly enjoyed our food and felt the price correlated appropriately. We noticed the outdoor dining area was more casual and promised ourselves we'd come out for drinks another night. It was a beautiful view over the bay!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our "go to" restaurant! Food and servic ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Our "go to" restaurant! Food and service never disappoint us. Great view day or night.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the good. Service,atmosphere😍😍

Dined on March 27, 2016

Love the good. Service,atmosphere😍😍

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boathouse on the Bay - Seal Beach

Dined on March 20, 2016

I have always like this place for the easy parking, easy access, great food, a little music and dancing for romantic dates. We always walk around the boats after dinner and experience life next to the water.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

love the boathouse been going for years. best view

Dined on March 18, 2016

average to good food, amazing scenery, pleasant staff but service last time was so slow!! took an hour to get food and had to constantly call for service outside on patio on a Friday lunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Treat

Dined on March 17, 2016

Absolutely wonderful. Expected quality and was not disappointed. The appetizer and our meal we're not only beautifully plated, they were delicious. Our Server, Bert, was outstanding and enhanced our experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing ambiance!! Great service!!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Definitely going again!! My date and I had a great time with the waiter making it an awesome experience to set by the fire pit right on the water!! Excellent service!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Table was ready when we arrived. Staff w ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Table was ready when we arrived. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was great. Left well satisfied

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding evening catching up with an old friend

Dined on March 13, 2016

As always, outstanding food... service was great and the pace was relaxed. We weren't rushed out and there was lots to take in.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Poor Customer Service

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a reservation for Wednesday, March 23rd to celebrate with a friend who was in town. We made the reservation on line through Open Table for 7:30. When we arrivwed a few minutes early, we were told they were back up and it would be 30-45 mintes. Perhaps that wasn't so bad, but the hostess was unapologetic and cold (wish I had gotten her name) and really couldn't care any less the inconvenience it caused. After leaving we found a suitable alternative in Walt's Wharf in Seal Beach, but the way the restaurant handled it was poor. As a courtesy, I think the restaurant should contact us if it was that long of a delay. They had my number and esily could have done so. They certainly expect you to call if you're late. How about the same courtesy in exchange. This last experience was unfortunate as my wife and I have had some good meals there. I think this experience underscores the importantvce of having good staff who care about the customer experience.

food3
ambience4
service3

Nice but mediocre food

Dined on March 6, 2016

Nice but mediocre food

food5
ambience5
service5

Superior food and service!

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Superior food and service!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I love coming to the Boathouse

Dined on February 29, 2016

I dine with friend and colleagues about every two months. Great faire and wines

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.