About The Boathouse on the Bay

190 N. Marina Drive
Long Beach, CA 90803
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Boathouse on the Bay, a Long Beach restaurant offering spectacular water views and an amazing Long Beach fine dining experience.

The Boathouse on the Bay is a seafood restaurant situated on Long Beach Alamitos Bay and serves an array of fresh seafood, sushi, sashimi and oysters. As one would expect from one of Long Beach’s best restaurants, we also offer natural organic steaks if seafood is not your preference.

Join us in Long Beach for happy hour, live entertainment and intrigue your senses with service and cuisine that is unsurpassed.

Plenty of parking or rideshare with your friends via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am; Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 493-1100

Website:
http://www.boathouseonthebay.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Parking lot available.
Additional public transportation:
Rideshare via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Public Transit:
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Executive Chef:
Katsuo Nagasawa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

The Boathouse on the Bay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Long Beach / Catalina
Special Occasion
Long Beach / Catalina
Best Restaurants in Long Beach ›

Waterfront (46)
Scenic View (39)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Romantic (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Casual (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Live Music (15)
Business Meals (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fun (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Private Room (10)
Cozy (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Dancing (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, great service, a little ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, great service, a little pricey, but well worth it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great, a must, order the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was great, a must, order the HEART ATTACK. Our waiter Adam is the best.....

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I normally go for the music on weekends ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I normally go for the music on weekends but it's great for date night too!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups, Dancing, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch omelet was small and the seafood ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Brunch omelet was small and the seafood was hard to find. Half plate of potatoes. My friend whose birthday we were celebrating, hardly touched her food. No garnish on the plates. I expected more. The service was slow, waitress was pleasant, I just expected more

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Overall good evening. Dinner entrees a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Overall good evening. Dinner entrees are a bit pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Laid-back patio with top service. Sassy ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Laid-back patio with top service. Sassy drinks and perfect surf n' turfs. The drawn brown butter is everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Think twice before heading to this resta ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Think twice before heading to this restaurant. During our ordering process we gave our server (who happened to be the manager for the night) the information that one of our guests had a severe nut allergy. During our order this was repeated no less than three times.

Our daughter was served a short rib with pecans in the side dish. Ruined our night, hours later we are monitoring her health. Abysmal management and no accountability.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A very enjoyable evening while dining on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A very enjoyable evening while dining on the heated outdoor patio.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was really overwhelmed for a good dat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was really overwhelmed for a good date night. Too loud and generally slow service.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great food, excellent service and a view ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food, excellent service and a view! Perfect for my Mom's B-Day.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Boathouse has yet to disappoint me a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The Boathouse has yet to disappoint me and my business colleagues. Great Service, Great Drinks, Great Food, Great Music. Always look forward to going to the Boathouse on our visits to SoCal.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed the Boathouse for a delicious ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We enjoyed the Boathouse for a delicious dinner in a lovely waterfront setting. Particularly loved the halibut and scallop entrees, though the calamari appetizer was a little overcooked. Very professional and attentive service. Will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location with complimentary valet ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great location with complimentary valet parking which is a plus on the weekends! Nice wine list and creative cocktails. Fresh seafood, aged meats and wonderful menu selections. Our server Matthew was FABULOUS and ATTENTIVE we were well taken care of all evening. He offered suggestions that were terrific and helpful. Wonderful spot with an ocean view , always have had a great experience here for many years. Will be back for more !

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stephanie the server / patio manager is ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Stephanie the server / patio manager is incredible . The food is always amazing and there isn't a better view in Long Beach . Get a sushi roll and the seafood tower! Their sourdough bread is note worthy .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Live Music, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Stacy our waitress was wonderful. Very a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Stacy our waitress was wonderful. Very attentive and informative on the menu selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was wonderful. Our server, J ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The service was wonderful. Our server, Janine, was absolutely wonderful. She was friendly and personable. Able to attend to everyone in her section fully and with a smile. The food, was mediocre and I ended up getting food poisoning. Wasn't a pleasant experience that night sleeping or the following day as I was working at a conference... Not getting the mussels and clams there ever again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

From a friendly greeting at the door to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

From a friendly greeting at the door to the last bite of desert, our first visit was a wonderful experience. Food was delicious, view was spectacular, service was top notch without any hovering. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our servers was fabulous. The food was a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our servers was fabulous. The food was amazing and it was a perfectly located restaurant for a walk afterwards and beers at the brewery next door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice meal at the Boathouse ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had a very nice meal at the Boathouse. The only downside was that we had booked for a party of four, arrived 10 minutes early and when we were ready to be seated they told us that "sorry, someone had taken our table and do we mind sitting at this other table sized for 6-8?" Truly, it was hard to converse with the noise level and being so spread out. It was maddening to have made a reservation several days in advance and then not having the table set-up we had requested and needed. But other tha. That it was quite nice.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Was looking for a nice romantic restaura ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Was looking for a nice romantic restaurant on the water. Place was crowded and noisy with only marginal waterfront views. The outside crowd from the other two restaurants in the center were part of a younger millennial crowd that liked to smoke and to be seen.

We left after our mediocre drinks and did not eat. Where are the simple, good, classy quiet, quaint restaurants anymore? This place is kind of like a BJ Pizza only more pricy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Sunday brunch is awesome. Make sure to g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Sunday brunch is awesome. Make sure to get patio table if you enjoy live band and sun although some may find a bit too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT SERVICE LOVE THE MENU GOOD LOCATIO ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2016

GREAT SERVICE LOVE THE MENU GOOD LOCATION PEACEFUL MEAL LUNCH AND SATURDAY MENU

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to this restaurant. The s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our first time to this restaurant. The swordfish was excellent and my wife had the sea bass and it was delicious. Definitely going back to try their brunch

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful waterfront restaurant. whethe ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Wonderful waterfront restaurant. whether you want quiet and conversation outside sun, air and people watching and ,music- they have it all...

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Waterfront, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On a warm sunny day you can't beat patio ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 24, 2016

On a warm sunny day you can't beat patio dining at Boathouse. Inside looks ok but wouldn't be the same as on the water with boats going by is pretty cool. Food from a nice menu was good and our service was excellent. Lots of relatively young people enjoying themselves is a plus. We used complimentary valet because parking is a problem but I'm sure a tip is expected and I didn't disappoint. The valet drop is by the patio a long way from the front door so we walked in and were seated immediately although it was pretty busy. I didn't think to mention my Open Table reservation until on the way out which almost cost me a demerit. I like to be true to Open Table because they have served me well in many different cities.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoy the outside entertainment. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Really enjoy the outside entertainment. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, People Watching, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Unfortunately, my daughter ordered somet ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Unfortunately, my daughter ordered something, I cant recall what it was exactly. A meat dish (shredded, I believe). It was extremely dry and got caught in her throat. We had to return it and it was taken off of our bill. The rest of the meal was. fine.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Found this place online because I needed ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Found this place online because I needed a place to meet friends who live in Huntington Beach and we live in Los Angeles. I had worked in Long Beach for many years and had driven by but never knew anything about this restaurant.

Upon arrival, The restaurant and bar were very crowded, but not overwhelmingly so, with mostly a younger crowd. We were able to get seats at the bar right away, which was our plan as we arrived half hour before our reservation. We arrived just around sunset and the view from the deck, the bar and the restaurant is spectacular. You can see the entire marina and watch the sunset and the afterglow for quite a long time.

We had a couple of excellent martinis and then were seated right on time in a booth at the window overlooking the bay. One of our group is a vegetarian and she was able to find a beet salad and a couple of other options that she enjoyed. We also had some of the sashimi and the seafood tower as well as some fresh oysters. I'm very picky about oysters, and they certainly were fresh, but the variety we had which I think was the Kumamoto, were not very plump and had not been separated from the Shell on bottom so they had to be scraped out. The sauces that came with the oysters and the seafood tower were fine. The seafood tower had more oysters, some shrimp, and a few crab legs. The portions seemed a little small for the $48 price. But it was quite tasty. We also shared some salads that were nicely prepared and fresh.

Overall, the experience was very good and I would definitely recommend this place for a drink with friends, dinner, or a date. Both the restaurant seating and the outdoor seating seem very comfortable and afford beautiful views of the bay. Will definitely return to try some of the main dishes and perhaps brunch. The waiter was very nice and sociable, but occasionally a little difficult to find. Still overall, the service from the bartenders and waiter salads and seafood, this is a nice spot to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food, tried the special for the da ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food, tried the special for the day the yellow tail fish with mash and veggies and it was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

You can't beat this place for ambiance. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 9, 2016

You can't beat this place for ambiance. Dining on the patio during the summer is the best! They have a large menu and food is well prepared, although a bit bland for my taste. I like their lunch special with soup, salad and sandwich.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

View is spectacular ocean harbor (great ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 3, 2016

View is spectacular ocean harbor (great sunset)...fusion foods. Fantastic tastes! Great Services! Very accommodating! Love the atmosphere! Love it!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Live Music, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Healthy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I gave 1 star for service because the as ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I gave 1 star for service because the associate who seated us told us that we could have the requested a window table to celebrate our anniversary, but for one hour because another party would be seated at that time. She failed to determine if we had reservations and could not clearly explain her statement.

We requested the manager who determined that we had reservations. He gave us a lovely table with dessert on the house. Our waitress was fantastic.

This sloppy customer service happens too often in too many places.

Please ask the right questions and listen.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Had out of town guests..very accommodati ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Had out of town guests..very accommodating staff..great service...great food..great view...great music 👍👍👍👍

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started to go outside but it was too war ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Started to go outside but it was too warm and the music was too loud for talk. We sat next to the window and watched the sunset and enjoyed a delicious meal. There was a good variety from fish to meat dishes. We had a nice appetizer of calamari, shrimp and a artichoke/spinach dip. The parking is hard to find with several restaurants in the area and one lot. That is the only drawback

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was delicious, location was great, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food was delicious, location was great, sitting outside worth the wait. Hosts were very accommodating but the bartenders and wait staff were totally rude and full of themselves.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

My dining experience at the Boathouse ha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2016

My dining experience at the Boathouse has always been exemplary, however they have all been lunches, not dinners. The food and service were very good but the noise level was intolerable. We were furthest away from the bar and the music was so loud we were literally shouting to hear each other. I will attend in future for lunch but not dinner, nor will i recommend friends attend for we appreciate conversation with our meals.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always dining at the Boathouse on the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We always dining at the Boathouse on the Bay. However, I do not recommend being there after 12 noon on a summer Sunday as the parking is a nightmare. Valet stopped parking cars due to the Marina Police issuing tickets.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I had been watching their posts on FB an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I had been watching their posts on FB and finally made it. Atmosphere was wonderful. The outdoor patio fantastic. Weather could not have been better. Great service. Food was wonderful and all the different drinks -- bloody marys, mimosas, Mai Tai's were delicious. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Hour there has always been enjoyab ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Happy Hour there has always been enjoyable. We went there for brunch and the service was very slow. Our food came out cold. Disappointing experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

We were seated quickly upon arrival and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were seated quickly upon arrival and overall service was quick without being rushed and friendly. The chilean sea bass was buttery and melted in my mouth and the steak was tender and cooked to perfection. The side dishes were also delicious and appropriately took a back seat to the stars of the two entrees.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.