Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About The Boathouse on the Bay

Welcome to The Boathouse on the Bay, a Long Beach restaurant offering spectacular water views and an amazing Long Beach fine dining experience.

The Boathouse on the Bay is a seafood restaurant situated on Long Beach Alamitos Bay and serves an array of fresh seafood, sushi, sashimi and oysters. As one would expect from one of Long Beach’s best restaurants, we also offer natural organic steaks if seafood is not your preference.

Join us in Long Beach for happy hour, live entertainment and intrigue your senses with service and cuisine that is unsurpassed.

Plenty of parking or rideshare with your friends via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber.

190 N. Marina Drive
Long Beach, CA 90803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am; Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 493-1100

Website:
http://www.boathouseonthebay.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Parking lot available.
Complimentary Valet on Weekends.
Additional public transportation:
Rideshare via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Alamitos Bay Free Shuttle
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Public Transit:
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Executive Chef:
Katsuo Nagasawa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Boathouse on the Bay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (62)
Waterfront (61)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
See All
Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (32)
Casual (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Live Music (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Fun (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
People Watching (18)
Romantic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Business Meals (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Sports (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Hard to say. Our only complaint was that our food was cold.

lobster tail @$75 was cold (cooked but cold)
Sea Bass Cold (cooked but cold)

No idea why. Service and everything else was great. I imagine, if the food was warm it would have been delicious. Brought the lobster tail home to cook it for breakfast. Sadly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Restaurant seemed to treat us differently with open table reservation

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great location at the waterfront, very well tasting food, excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our server Paige, was the worst from the get go until we left. Rude, never smiled until she handed us our check. Knowingly spilled beer on one of my guest and never apologized. Dropped another guests lunch on the ground, it was a mess around her chair, asked for an extra umbrella, we were a table of 10 outside, her response was only management can give us one, as the rule is 1 umbrella to a table, noting that a table of 6 had 3 umbrellas and so on...We love this place but Paige is the worst server we all agreed that we have had in a very long time.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

First of all, the view... On the water, very nice. If you can't get seated where you can enjoy the view, turn around, not worth it. There really is no other reason to come here, unless you love forking out way too much money for average food. The mixed drinks were strong, but I expect that for $15 a pop. The place is very loud on the patio, where the view is best, so intimate conversation can be a struggle. Best for large, fun groups and celebrations. There was live music on a Friday night, a girl and her acoustic guitar, and she was good, but not the reason the place is loud...that was the large amount of people packed in together, with barely room to move, trying to be heard over one another. We had to walk all around the outer edge of the patio just to find a path to get back inside the restaurant and exit without asking people to move their chairs in so we could squeeze by. Service was attentive, zero complaints there. For a place that prides itself on fish and sushi though, I wasn't very impressed with the ahi, not as fresh and firm as it should be, a tad mushy and slimy. I have a hard time dropping $150 for two drinks, an appetizer, three small tacos with no sides, and a sandwich, just to enjoy an ocean view. I wouldn't really recommend this restaurant to anyone other than people who care about view over anything else and are willing to pay for it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Absolutely loved the boathouse. The food and drinks was amazing. The views of the marina was very beautiful. Glad we got to sit outside. There was live music. We really had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great! Delicious! Phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Just so predictably enjoyable
Great sunset
I wouldn't have a problem bring anyone there
Nice clientele

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The service was horrible, II asked for a seat by the window, the hostess said there was no seats by the window available even though I requested a window seat when I made the reservation. It was real hot in there I was sweating and fanning myself with a menu. I was so mad the service was super slow. It was my birthday and I just was very disappointed and I will not go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wonderful time at the Boathouse on the Bay. It was a birthday celebration, beginning with a Duffy boat ride around the bay and then dinner at the Boathouse. Great food and wine, excellent service, nice waterfront ambiance! 10 out of 10!

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, People Watching, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were meeting our niece and her husband and two year old child. We received the booth facing the windows as requested. Our server, Christine was terrific. She even took time to play peek-a-boo with my grand niece. We all ordered something different and everything tasted great. We've been back several times and we've never been disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This place could be amazing but seems like poor mgmt or ownership. Unfortunate as views are great, food is really good but they need more servers or better help. Restaurant is always a bit dirty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Delicious lunch with a fantastic water view! With a confirmed reservation our party was seated immediately.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Birthday celebration. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great bay view. Good food and excellent service. I tried the sushi - and enjoyed it. They also had a fun creative drink menu.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food, excellent service, and shared it with wonderful friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I took my wife to Boathouse on the Bay for her birthaday. The view of the bay was nice, and the employees were polite. It was quite loud outside, because of the lounge visiters. My wife enjoyed her filet mignon. My halibut was sorely overcooked and dry. I found it a bit rude that, while we were still eating, a gentleman decided to wipe down our table. For the price, I expected much more. I cannot say that I'd return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had the best time celebrating my birthday. Arrived there right on time and we were seated as soon as we checked in. Sitting outside by the water was the best, although there wasn't a table available facing the water but still had a great view in the booth that was as close as we could get. We had a great waitress who paid attention to us. The food was amazing and had very little weight time before it arrived. A little pricey but well worth it. I would definitely recommend this place and will visit it again even though we live pretty far away.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very old. Very crowed. Seafood pasta not very tasty. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Waitress Hanna was the worst. Other than that, great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Most guests throughout the restaurant had an issue with intense sunset glare, please lower the shades to accommodate your guests.
Excellent service, wonderful sea bass, dry Halibut. Our waiter Jeff is a real gem!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Live Music, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Nice views of the bay, good food at reasonable prices

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Some staff was new, we had to change tables. One busser took my friend's drink before she was done. Maybe some additional training is needed

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Sunny day hangout with interesting crowd and marine views. Food is pretty good. Two in our party had sushi which seemed unusual but they enjoyed it. Should have a reservation for the patio on a weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Guests complained about parking and that it made them late to the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I'm always impressed with the food, the daily specials and the wine selections. Great view, yummy food and fantastic service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The Boathouse is a fun vibrant restaurant on the Long Beach Harbor front. Large indoor formal dining and outdoor informal patio dining areas. Music on patio frequently. Patio is not covered so finding an umbrella covered table is a must. Food is excellent and creative. Limited menu in some respects, but very innovative. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great ocean view location. Food and service are excellent and reasonably priced.
Parking can be a bit challenging.

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were disappointed in the restaurant service and food. Our bottle of wine was finished before we received our food. We drank water with our meal. Which we had to ask for. We also we also had to ask for salt/pepper and napkins. The food was marginal at best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I took my lovely grand daughter for a mid-lunch meal after having gone to MOLAA to see the photos of Frida Kahlo. This was her first visit and she was "thrilled" with the ambiance & the food. We will both go there again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I've gone here a number of times and love the location. It's comfortable ambiance and the food is pretty good. Server had a hard time keeping teas and waters filled but then again we lingered. Prices are a bit high but feel like I'm paying for the view. With tip 140. For light lunch for 3 pp. one beer and 2 teas.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Only issue is that we were not checked in for open table...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Ambience is good but finding a parking space bad. Had to park so far away we almost had to take a bus there.
Food was good except my husband ordered the special which was Cioppino and it was salty. He didn't finish it. It was so loud in there we had a hard time hearing each other. Almost felt like a relief to leave. For a nice intimate romantic dinner, this is not your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We love this place! Great patio on the water with great vibe & music. The restaurant has great food and a nice classy but not stuffy feeling.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 3, 2017

A little mishap with a lost ticket meant our entrees came out before the appetizer trio we ordered. Our server and kitchen immediately fixed the issue. It was half-price wine Wednesday and that was a great bargain and help with the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2017

What a beautiful place by the water. Live guitar playing which was not too loud or obnoxious but had good oldies to hum along to. food was EXCELLENT. highly recommend the scallops!! Marisa the server was such a sweetheart. Laughed with us, talked with us gave us menu suggestions . . . and the view at sunset was fantastic. Easy parking, prices more than fair and a great place to drown out the hectic day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service we poor at best. Host forgot that we were there and celebrating our anniversary. Server did the same. When our check came it included $32 in drink charges that we did not buy and the server had to be requested by another employee after some 20 minutes of waiting.
We love the food and the location but...apparently, due to the popularity...the service is lacking. They appear to think that no matter what they do the customers will come. Bad Idea for long term success.

Tony

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a short wait for the outside seating area. The weather and views were beautiful - watched the sun set from our table. Wait staff were knowledgeable and attentive. The restaurant was busy and loud but not in a bad way - great vibe. Food was delish! We had multiple plates of sushi and coconut shrimp. I recommend this restaurant and area.

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great place, just a bit loud. Hard to have i9ntimate conversations. Great food, and amazing service staff. We got exactlybhwat we asked for in our reservation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We had a dinner reservation for our anniversary and our server, Stacey, really made our evening special. She offered great suggestions for food and drink (Long Beach Roll, Champagne Punch, Swordfish and Halibut dinners). She brought us yummy garlic edamame with our sushi as her treat. The restaurant gave us cream puffs for dessert which were a sweet ending to our dining experience. The restaurant has great bay views and lovely ambiance.

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.