About The Boathouse on the Bay

190 N. Marina Drive
Long Beach, CA 90803
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Boathouse on the Bay, a Long Beach restaurant offering spectacular water views and an amazing Long Beach fine dining experience.

The Boathouse on the Bay is a seafood restaurant situated on Long Beach Alamitos Bay and serves an array of fresh seafood, sushi, sashimi and oysters. As one would expect from one of Long Beach’s best restaurants, we also offer natural organic steaks if seafood is not your preference.

Join us in Long Beach for happy hour, live entertainment and intrigue your senses with service and cuisine that is unsurpassed.

Plenty of parking or rideshare with your friends via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am; Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 493-1100

Website:
http://www.boathouseonthebay.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Parking lot available.
Additional public transportation:
Rideshare via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Public Transit:
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Executive Chef:
Katsuo Nagasawa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

The Boathouse on the Bay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (41)
Scenic View (30)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (15)
Fun (15)
Live Music (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Business Meals (11)
Private Room (10)
Cozy (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Dancing (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice setting with the marina. The f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice setting with the marina. The food can definitely be better. Overall, I would go back again and try something different on the menu.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The Boathouse on the Bay is a family fav ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

The Boathouse on the Bay is a family favorite. The food is always exceptional, the service is always friendly and efficient, and the atmosphere is always pleasant. We met friends there Saturday Night who live in Pasadena. They said the trip was well worth while!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Stacey, our server was outstanding. She ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Stacey, our server was outstanding. She made the evening special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Old school seafood steak restaurant. 3 l ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Old school seafood steak restaurant. 3 large parties the night wed were there, service was challenged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The Boathouse never disappoints. Always ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The Boathouse never disappoints. Always enjoyable and relaxing. Great food. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time being there and I'm glad we t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

First time being there and I'm glad we took the opportunity to try it out. We had the lobster tail well worth the price and ribeye steak cooked to perfection. Definitely a place you want to try if you're picky like me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect dining experience, seated us as ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Perfect dining experience, seated us as soon as we arrived, service was great and the food was even better!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to the Boathouse on the Bay for ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to the Boathouse on the Bay for New Years Eve 2016 with friends, food was excellent service was great, the band Emperors was a lot of fun we all had a great time would recommend this restaurant and will go back this year for NYE 2017.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great views! Service is excellent. Foo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great views! Service is excellent. Food prepared perfectly. A definite place to come back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just had some apps and wine for lunch (h ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Just had some apps and wine for lunch (half off wines on wednesday!) with friends. Enjoyed sitting outside on the patio with the gorgeous view of Long Beach surrounding us!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

They must have been understaffed. It to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

They must have been understaffed. It took 10 + minutes to greet us and the server also took a long time to take our drink, food and follow-up orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

We love Boathouse and usually sit in the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We love Boathouse and usually sit in the bar and outside patio. We decided to try Christmas Eve dinner in the dining room. Upon ordering, the food was served so quickly that it had obviously been prepared ahead. Sushi appetizer and seafood cioppino were good. However, my husband ordered the lamb shank. It arrived dry, and the meat had an odd odor and taste. Dessert was not good either. Too much money for a very mediocre meal. The server did remove the lamb dinner from our bill.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Great service....we had a late lunch res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great service....we had a late lunch reservation and our server allowed us to linger checking in just enough to be sure we had what we wanted. The extra bread, direct from the oven didn't hurt either 😉!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with my cousins. One is trying diff ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went with my cousins. One is trying different restaurants for her wedding reception. We all agree this restaurant is perfect. The food was delicious. The service was friendly and professional. I ordered the seafood stew and it was absolutely fantastic. Would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. Can't complain. Gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Everything was great. Can't complain. Great evening.

Tags: Tapas, , Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance with a beautiful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food and ambiance with a beautiful view of the water.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, great service, a little ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Excellent food, great service, a little pricey, but well worth it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great, a must, order the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was great, a must, order the HEART ATTACK. Our waiter Adam is the best.....

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I normally go for the music on weekends ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I normally go for the music on weekends but it's great for date night too!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups, Dancing, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch omelet was small and the seafood ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Brunch omelet was small and the seafood was hard to find. Half plate of potatoes. My friend whose birthday we were celebrating, hardly touched her food. No garnish on the plates. I expected more. The service was slow, waitress was pleasant, I just expected more

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Overall good evening. Dinner entrees a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Overall good evening. Dinner entrees are a bit pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Laid-back patio with top service. Sassy ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Laid-back patio with top service. Sassy drinks and perfect surf n' turfs. The drawn brown butter is everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Think twice before heading to this resta ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Think twice before heading to this restaurant. During our ordering process we gave our server (who happened to be the manager for the night) the information that one of our guests had a severe nut allergy. During our order this was repeated no less than three times.

Our daughter was served a short rib with pecans in the side dish. Ruined our night, hours later we are monitoring her health. Abysmal management and no accountability.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A very enjoyable evening while dining on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A very enjoyable evening while dining on the heated outdoor patio.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was really overwhelmed for a good dat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was really overwhelmed for a good date night. Too loud and generally slow service.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great food, excellent service and a view ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food, excellent service and a view! Perfect for my Mom's B-Day.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Boathouse has yet to disappoint me a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The Boathouse has yet to disappoint me and my business colleagues. Great Service, Great Drinks, Great Food, Great Music. Always look forward to going to the Boathouse on our visits to SoCal.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed the Boathouse for a delicious ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We enjoyed the Boathouse for a delicious dinner in a lovely waterfront setting. Particularly loved the halibut and scallop entrees, though the calamari appetizer was a little overcooked. Very professional and attentive service. Will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location with complimentary valet ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great location with complimentary valet parking which is a plus on the weekends! Nice wine list and creative cocktails. Fresh seafood, aged meats and wonderful menu selections. Our server Matthew was FABULOUS and ATTENTIVE we were well taken care of all evening. He offered suggestions that were terrific and helpful. Wonderful spot with an ocean view , always have had a great experience here for many years. Will be back for more !

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stephanie the server / patio manager is ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Stephanie the server / patio manager is incredible . The food is always amazing and there isn't a better view in Long Beach . Get a sushi roll and the seafood tower! Their sourdough bread is note worthy .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Live Music, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Stacy our waitress was wonderful. Very a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Stacy our waitress was wonderful. Very attentive and informative on the menu selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was wonderful. Our server, J ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The service was wonderful. Our server, Janine, was absolutely wonderful. She was friendly and personable. Able to attend to everyone in her section fully and with a smile. The food, was mediocre and I ended up getting food poisoning. Wasn't a pleasant experience that night sleeping or the following day as I was working at a conference... Not getting the mussels and clams there ever again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

From a friendly greeting at the door to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

From a friendly greeting at the door to the last bite of desert, our first visit was a wonderful experience. Food was delicious, view was spectacular, service was top notch without any hovering. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our servers was fabulous. The food was a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our servers was fabulous. The food was amazing and it was a perfectly located restaurant for a walk afterwards and beers at the brewery next door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice meal at the Boathouse ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had a very nice meal at the Boathouse. The only downside was that we had booked for a party of four, arrived 10 minutes early and when we were ready to be seated they told us that "sorry, someone had taken our table and do we mind sitting at this other table sized for 6-8?" Truly, it was hard to converse with the noise level and being so spread out. It was maddening to have made a reservation several days in advance and then not having the table set-up we had requested and needed. But other tha. That it was quite nice.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Was looking for a nice romantic restaura ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Was looking for a nice romantic restaurant on the water. Place was crowded and noisy with only marginal waterfront views. The outside crowd from the other two restaurants in the center were part of a younger millennial crowd that liked to smoke and to be seen.

We left after our mediocre drinks and did not eat. Where are the simple, good, classy quiet, quaint restaurants anymore? This place is kind of like a BJ Pizza only more pricy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Sunday brunch is awesome. Make sure to g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Sunday brunch is awesome. Make sure to get patio table if you enjoy live band and sun although some may find a bit too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT SERVICE LOVE THE MENU GOOD LOCATIO ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2016

GREAT SERVICE LOVE THE MENU GOOD LOCATION PEACEFUL MEAL LUNCH AND SATURDAY MENU

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to this restaurant. The s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our first time to this restaurant. The swordfish was excellent and my wife had the sea bass and it was delicious. Definitely going back to try their brunch

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful waterfront restaurant. whethe ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Wonderful waterfront restaurant. whether you want quiet and conversation outside sun, air and people watching and ,music- they have it all...

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Waterfront, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.