Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About The Boathouse on the Bay

Welcome to The Boathouse on the Bay, a Long Beach restaurant offering spectacular water views and an amazing Long Beach fine dining experience.

The Boathouse on the Bay is a seafood restaurant situated on Long Beach Alamitos Bay and serves an array of fresh seafood, sushi, sashimi and oysters. As one would expect from one of Long Beach’s best restaurants, we also offer natural organic steaks if seafood is not your preference.

Join us in Long Beach for happy hour, live entertainment and intrigue your senses with service and cuisine that is unsurpassed.

Plenty of parking or rideshare with your friends via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber.

190 N. Marina Drive
Long Beach, CA 90803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am; Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 493-1100

Website:
http://www.boathouseonthebay.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Parking lot available.
Complimentary Valet on Weekends.
Additional public transportation:
Rideshare via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Alamitos Bay Free Shuttle
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Public Transit:
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Executive Chef:
Katsuo Nagasawa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Do you have a private event that you’d like us to host for you? Our Regatta Room is perfect for any private event.

The Boathouse on the Bay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (45)
Scenic View (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
See All
Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Business Meals (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Live Music (14)
Casual (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Fun (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Hot Spot (8)
People Watching (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Cozy (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tapas (6)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Live Sports (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sort by
S
657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was phenomenal. The crab cakes are nicely rich with a wonderful sauce that helps pull the appetizer together quiet pleasantly. I ordered the miso Chilean sea bass, literally the best piece of fish I’ve ate my entire life. A well flavored, buttery filet that melted in my mouth. The live entertainment was a huge plus for me as well. A magician came over to our table while we waited for our food & he made the experience that much more special. I might even try to hire him for an event. He was spectacular. Overall amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Came with my wife to celebrate Valentine’s Day. She’s very picky when it comes to seafood- however she devoured the Chilean Sea Bass! I too, enjoyed my Coffee-Rubbed Prime Beef! Our waitress was very attentive which made the experience even more pleasant! Our evening turned out great! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great Valentine’s Day!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely to look at but the food was less than average and extremely overpriced. Amazing that at a seafood restaurant the steak was actually better than the salmon. The fish was dry and tasteless. Brussel spouts were large, tough and chewy. Mashed potatoes were best thing on the plate. The location if fantastic but the food disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on February 12, 2018

Great atmosphere on the patio. Good live music, beautiful restarting, wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2018

They had a sweet 16 that day so our table was not ready. They ended up putting us outside in the bar area. If I’m going to get a babysitter and take july wife out for a nice dinner and even go as far asking a reservation I should be told of the risk of not getting a table because of a special event that is being hosted at your location. I felt like the hostess was trying to sell us on how great the bar area was hoping we would agree. If I’m spending $300 on dinner I don’t expect to be sitting next to a portable heater hoping that half my faces doesn’t melt off as the other half freezes. Service by both waitress was good and the food was as well. Disappointed overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 10, 2018

It was wonderful. The only thing was the patio booths aren’t comfortable for 4 plate settings.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Our family had an enjoyable afternoon while having a tasty lunch. Our server Stacey was very attentive, quite funny, and had a great personality! We will definitely return. The drinks and food had great presentation!!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2018

The weekend daytime menu is limited to breakfast until Noon. There is a limited lunch menu from Noon to 1PM and finally the lunch menu with salads at 1PM. This is a missed opportunity to let customers order what they want starting from the time the restaurant opens. Not sure I would go back except for the views of the bay.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Worst service ever. We were seated about 30 mins before anyone came to the table, the waitress took our drink order and again we didn't see her for about 30 mins.. she came back with the drinks and thought she had already taken our food order.. Not sure what her problem was , very scattered, she didn't have a clue. She finally got the order out to us after a long wait . We won't be returning ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 28, 2018

The service was not good. We repeatedly had asked for water. Items ordered were forgotten.
Twice we got up to get our own water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Post my mom’s Funeral dinner. Round table would of been better for conversation due to more than usual noise from large private party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2018

The Filet/Lobster was excellent. We arrived on-time and the table was ready. The hostess was very nice. The server was very nice and gave us the appropriate time to finish the appetizers before bringing the main course. All of the food was excellent. The location is great for viewing the harbor. Parking is ample and easy to get to.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2018

Had a great time ..
Food and Service was awesome ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2018

Absolutely amazing! Told all my friends and family about this place!!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2018

Great place, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on January 20, 2018

The service was wonderful but the food had a lot to be desired. Their special was prime rib, asked for it rare, server came back and said that they only had medium rare would that be ok? We said if it’s closer to rare then medium great, if not se’ll order something else. He came back told us on the rare side. We said fine. Long story short it was almost well done, poorly seasoned and the sides really were bad and tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2018

It started off nice. The service was slow but the place was busy. But there is where it went downhill. We ordered our food with an appetizer. It took a long time for the food to come out. Then they bought us the food and said the waitress did not put in our appetizer order. I can say the food was good. Then we ordered dessert. She was gone for some time. She bought out the wrong dessert. I was really disappointed because we were taking our friends out for their anniversary. It is a shame because the food is good. By the way she did comp our dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2018

This place has become a tradition for the family! Love it- good times always :)

Tags: Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 17, 2018

Our service was impeccable!!!!!
The beet salad with arugula, deliscious!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Live Music, Casual, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2018

My family celebrated my mom's 80th birthday at the Boathouse on the Bay. We had a window table with a fabulous view of the marina. The service was outstanding, and the waiter knew, due to my note in the reservation, that it was my mom's birthday; he didn't need any reminders. He brought a lovely, light dessert with a candle for her and extra utensils for us, for sharing. Overall, the lunch was excellent.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2018

We had a great dinner! Oysters and sashimi were excellent. . Always friendly attentive service and we come for the fish but the steaks are also wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Casual, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Our waitress was so very accommodating and sweet. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 13, 2018

The service was very good and friendly. The food was good, although both myself and guest did not care for stacking the protein atop the rest of the plates veges and potatoes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2018

We have been going to the Boathouse since before the name change and last night may be our last time there. The quality of food has declined significantly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Great food, great service, expensive. Excellent steak.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Awesome place to hang out with friends and family. Worth checking out for?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2018

My wife and I are from the Midwest and were here to celebrate our anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, the service, and the location. We will definitely eat here again next time we are in L.A.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Celebrated New Year's Eve with friends. The Emperors rock n roll band was playing all night long. Fun to dance to. Service was very good considering the crowd. Food selections great. Lamb, sea bass, lobster tail , filet were what people ordered at our table as their entree. Crab cakes were especially good as the starter as were the oysters on the half shell and lollipop sushi. I chose the flan for dessert and it was tasty. Good evening for all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2017

got a reservation for new years eve. food was great and so was the service. we were not notified that we would be charged 20% gratuity for the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2017

This was New Years Eve with entertainment and a set menu. We have already decided we are for sure going back next year. Food was fabulous, the band was great and the people watching even better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The only issue we have is in the advertising. It was News Years Eve and the Advertising stated:
Price Fixed 4pm -6pm $75; after 6 pm - $95.
Our reservation was for 3:45 pm and we arrived and were seated by 3:30 pm. The menu offered was the $75 price fixed. No arguments.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Fabulous sushi here-some of the best I've had! Love the steel drums on Sunday for brunch. Great location and beautiful scenery! Even though they were busy getting ready for NYE, the service was fantastic!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We had a lovely lunch, rough start though. Our wait staff was either new or was bummed for working today. Ordering seemed to be a challenge,. In that our wait staff would.tell us what kind d of oysters they had and then walk away immediately, then we had to request her back to your table so we could order something. This happened several times. After we finished ordering, we had a great time. Good food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2017

All I can say - Staff, Bert, Service, Food, Sushi! The Boathouse is one of my favorite spots!!!! Always Accommodating; Always Kind; Always a wonderful experience!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Live Music, Tapas, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2017

My husband and I throughly enjoyed our evening at this lovely restaurant. The food was outstanding and definitely worth the price. You won’t be disappointed with celebrating a special occasion here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Highly recommended for all age groups, the food is always fresh and amazing. This is my “go place” for visiting family & friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Groups, Organic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Great food and great service. I am vegan and the organic greens salad with the Marconi almonds was yummy without feta and added avocado.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Our server Kelsey was so sweet! She anticipated all our needs and went above and beyond! The sushi was so fresh and amazing! My favorite spot!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Healthy, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Fantastic service. Would have liked a bit more selection/variety in the special holiday menu, but food cooked to perfection.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.