Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About The Boathouse on the Bay

Welcome to The Boathouse on the Bay, a Long Beach restaurant offering spectacular water views and an amazing Long Beach fine dining experience.

The Boathouse on the Bay is a seafood restaurant situated on Long Beach Alamitos Bay and serves an array of fresh seafood, sushi, sashimi and oysters. As one would expect from one of Long Beach’s best restaurants, we also offer natural organic steaks if seafood is not your preference.

Join us in Long Beach for happy hour, live entertainment and intrigue your senses with service and cuisine that is unsurpassed.

Plenty of parking or rideshare with your friends via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber.

190 N. Marina Drive
Long Beach, CA 90803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am; Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 493-1100

Website:
http://www.boathouseonthebay.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Parking lot available.
Complimentary Valet on Weekends.
Additional public transportation:
Rideshare via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Alamitos Bay Free Shuttle
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Public Transit:
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Executive Chef:
Katsuo Nagasawa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

$2 Oysters

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

50% Off Select Sushi, Sashimi, and Sushi Rolls

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM. Available on the Deck, Bar and Lounge only. Not available in the Main Dining Room. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

$10 Select Starters, $8 Margaritas, $5 Beers, $7 Wine & Wells. Available Monday through Friday 2pm- 6pm. Only available on the Deck, Bar and Lounge. Not valid in the Main Dining Room or on Holidays. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us for Easter Sunday omelets, steaks, salads, seafood and sushi on the bay!

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Bring Mom to The Boathouse on the Bay for a phenomenal buffet. Special Buffet from 9 am- 2 pm. $59.95 per person. Buffet includes an omelet station, salads, croissants, prime rib, sushi, fresh oysters and more!

Regular Dinner Menu starts at 4pm.

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

$2 Oysters

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

$2 Oysters available all day Monday. Our selection varies to include the freshest options possible. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on the Deck, in the Bar and Lounge. Not Valid in Main Dining Room. Special valid Feb 6, 2017 - Jun 5, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

50% Off Select Sushi, Sashimi, and Sushi Rolls

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM. Available on the Deck, Bar and Lounge only. Not available in the Main Dining Room. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Sushi, Sashimi, and Sushi Rolls. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM. Available on the Deck, Bar and Lounge only. Not available in the Main Dining Room. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

The Boathouse on the Bay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (32)
Scenic View (28)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Live Music (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Romantic (14)
Fun (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Casual (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
People Watching (9)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Private Room (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Family Style (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fireplace (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 15 hours ago

The service here starts since the minute you arrived they are so polite and nice best restaurant in Long Beach! Oh and the view is a killer

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great ambience. Great service. The food was less than great. The ribeye was full of gristle. The ahi tuna was less than perfect. We'll be back in spite of the Quality of the food.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Modern Decor, People Watching, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service was horrible and the food wasn't great. The lunch for two people was $100 but food and service didn't justify the prices we paid. We were extremely disappointed. The view is gorgeous and that is why I have the overall two stars.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was great and the music was exceptional. We sat outside so that we could enjoy the music and he was fantastic. Great food, a water front table, and fantastic music are a perfect combination.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Gin and tonic had no gin, food was way too salty, table seating in back room, not much atmosphere; hostess had trouble finding our party; waiter was good, replaced my drink with a glass of wine at my request. Overall, food prices were way too steep for the poor quality of the food. No one in our party of 6 plans to return. Hope you can work out the obvious lack of skill in your kitchen and bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The fish was dry (left under heat lamp too long)
The cocktails were not good

Tags: Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The boathouse was excellent as always. All the staff were very friendly and happy to manage our request for a window seat with a smile.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great as always. Always good to be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2017

a perfect choice to show the best that Long Beach has to offer. Ideal location, great seating, a fun day for all.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very noisy! Food was average and high oriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food is good if you get it before it COLD! The service is VERY slow ! other wise clean and nice views .

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food wasn't good at all .. coconut shrimp where burnt .. my fish was too dry . Etc .. way too expensive for the food ..

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Mixed experience. If you want a waterfront view, relatively good food but willing to have mediocre service then go for it. We had several servers and perhaps they were very inexperienced - it showed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Waitress was kind and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We loved the place and wanted to come for a long time . Glad we finally did .. we will be back most defiantly!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been going here for Valentine's Day for the last six or seven years. It is our "go to" place for special occasions i.e. birthdays, anniversaries, bringing out of town clients for a nice meal.

The view is beautiful. It's a great place to meet for cocktails at sunset.

Our server, Stacey, was the best. She has served us for several years. She's got a great attitude and enhances the whole experience.

We have yet to be disappointed in our many years of going here

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We loved our experience at The Boathouse! Bert, our waiter, was really awesome! Will definitely be back :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner complete with sunset.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Waterfront, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Open table says you can choose outdoor seating or indoor. Not the case. They won't take reservations for outdoors and the indoor menu is very different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Boathouse on the Bay is a family favorite! Whatever the special occasion or just getting together with friends The Boathouse is always a hit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice sunny day at the patio with great singer..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Disappointing really. Went for my birthday (Feb 12th) but since it was Sunday before Valentine's the place was packed. It was noisy, a little grubby, and the food was disappointing. We ordered calamari for the table to share - it was over-fried and rubbery. I ordered a Crab Louie salad - the crab was just sad. Very little taste to it or even the greens it came on. The Louie dressing, which should be robust and have a little kick to it, tasted like tartar sauce with a squirt of ketchup. My hubby ordered the Fish and Chips. The fish was cold by the time it was put in front of him, so the batter was soft, not crisp, and the fish had very little flavor. Our waitress was rushed off her feet and we had to ask for several things more than once because she was so busy she kept forgetting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I went on weekend before Valentine's Day. I'm hoping that was the reason for the slow service and very crowded seating. Great food and great ambience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The seafood, particularly the scallops and the New England clam chowder, were excellent. Great service and also an unsurpassed view.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Incredible views of Alametos bay marina to Catalina, good food, good service and a great local spot .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had an wonderful experience dining at The Boathouse! We successfully celebrated a special friend's Birthday for Dinner, Thanks to the excellent service of our server Bert! We will definitely be back and will be recommending everyone to come and enjoy this place.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic food, really great staff, will come back to try more menu items, and check out the happy hour.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very disappointing. Food was super average and not worth what they charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Another wonderful lunch. Great service and view. Suggestion : please don't use "fake" Crab and indicate that is not "real " Crab on you menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very nice setting with the marina. The food can definitely be better. Overall, I would go back again and try something different on the menu.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Boathouse on the Bay is a family favorite. The food is always exceptional, the service is always friendly and efficient, and the atmosphere is always pleasant. We met friends there Saturday Night who live in Pasadena. They said the trip was well worth while!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Stacey, our server was outstanding. She made the evening special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Old school seafood steak restaurant. 3 large parties the night wed were there, service was challenged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The Boathouse never disappoints. Always enjoyable and relaxing. Great food. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

First time being there and I'm glad we took the opportunity to try it out. We had the lobster tail well worth the price and ribeye steak cooked to perfection. Definitely a place you want to try if you're picky like me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Perfect dining experience, seated us as soon as we arrived, service was great and the food was even better!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to the Boathouse on the Bay for New Years Eve 2016 with friends, food was excellent service was great, the band Emperors was a lot of fun we all had a great time would recommend this restaurant and will go back this year for NYE 2017.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great views! Service is excellent. Food prepared perfectly. A definite place to come back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Just had some apps and wine for lunch (half off wines on wednesday!) with friends. Enjoyed sitting outside on the patio with the gorgeous view of Long Beach surrounding us!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

They must have been understaffed. It took 10 + minutes to greet us and the server also took a long time to take our drink, food and follow-up orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.