Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About The Boathouse on the Bay

Welcome to The Boathouse on the Bay, a Long Beach restaurant offering spectacular water views and an amazing Long Beach fine dining experience.

The Boathouse on the Bay is a seafood restaurant situated on Long Beach Alamitos Bay and serves an array of fresh seafood, sushi, sashimi and oysters. As one would expect from one of Long Beach’s best restaurants, we also offer natural organic steaks if seafood is not your preference.

Join us in Long Beach for happy hour, live entertainment and intrigue your senses with service and cuisine that is unsurpassed.

Plenty of parking or rideshare with your friends via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber.

190 N. Marina Drive
Long Beach, CA 90803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am; Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 493-1100

Website:
http://www.boathouseonthebay.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Parking lot available.
Complimentary Valet on Weekends.
Additional public transportation:
Rideshare via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Alamitos Bay Free Shuttle
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Public Transit:
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Executive Chef:
Katsuo Nagasawa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Boathouse on the Bay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (60)
Waterfront (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (34)
Great for Lunch (26)
Great for Brunch (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Casual (25)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Live Music (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Romantic (17)
Fun (16)
People Watching (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Hot Spot (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Business Meals (12)
Healthy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Dancing (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant itself is very nice and the patio tables have an excellent view. The service was poor. Ordered appetizers and salads and they never came. Waiter brought the meal and when told the Apps and salads needed to be removed from the menu he was surprised we did not get them. Things happen and communication issues between staff happen but not at this price point. The braised short ribs were very tasty as were the sides but the portions were very small hence the comment about the price point. They had live entertainment on the patio which was nice and the volume was appropriate for listening and being able to have a conversation with your party. Parking is limited, lots of businesses share the same lot, but there are parking lots farther away from the restaurant (marina parking lots) so you can find a place and walk back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Great view of the bay and great location. Food was very good as well and the hot sourdough bread was wonderful. Only draw back, parking was very busy and $10 to valet is too high.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for Groups, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Awesome food & great environment. I went for brunch on my birthday and got a delicious complementary dessert. I will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Delightful. Whether it's a group of two or ten you are assured to have good service. The wait staff is extremely attentive, always greeting you with a smile. Very impressive in this day of rudeness. The Boathouse is a perfect destination. I enjoy it every time...

Tags: Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Dinner was great. I had sushi that was so fresh.
Our only negative was how the city took over the parking area and traffic was backed up!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was an Awesome find 👍Went with friends for there Anniversary and it was top notch Delicious, service excellent and attentive, friendly and fun. Would definitely recommend it for Special occasions! Was definitely pricey but worth it! Right on the water with beautiful views and able to take a walk after dinner with the ocean breeze! Loved everything about it 💕❤️👍

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had delicious food and drinks at Boathouse on our anniversary. We had a reservation and I understand that you cannot reserve the outside area. We were told it was a 1 hour wait for the patio and seated inside. There was at least 1 table available the entire time we were there. After we were seated and served drinks I did not ask again about outside. We were just disappointed. Why not reservations for outside? Our server was nice but 3 star for service bc of seating.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Service was horrible, difficult to find parking and the food was okay but not worth the price.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

It's a place with great views by the water, live music. Very enjoyable for the scenery not so great for the food and the drinks are way overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Seating available both in and outside. Live music outside while we were there. Variety of food. We did happy hour. Next time might have a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Good place, great view, a little steep. Richard Branson was there so I knew it wasn't going to be a bargin.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This is the third time I've been to this restaurant. Service prior to my visits have all been good. My daughter was in from Australia and we were having lunch with my grandchildren. The service started out good and slowly does diminished to poor. Our server Nicole came around a couple of times and then we didn't see her at all, except to bring our check. My daughter used to work for the owner at another location and I'm sure he would be very disappointed on the type of service that we received.
I would be hesitant to come back to this restaurant, if the service is going to be the same that I receive this past visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Very busy so slower service, no outdoor seating available, hamburgers very overcooked though ordered rare to medium rare. Better to get there earlier in the morning. Open table reservations need not seem to speed our seating, either.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Better known for dinner, the Sunday brunch is very good and reasonable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great! Loved this place. The waiter also seated us right away in a perfect location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I love this place. Great views, great food. If you live seafood, this is a great place to come.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Beautiful setting!!
Great patio!
Good place to get a glass of wine and enjoy the sunset.

Food was so-so
Service was poor and VERY slow.
Was there from 5-6:30 on Tuesday no excuses for such poor service. Prices are too high to provide poor service and marginal food.
20 minutes to get a check is too long!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It's Father's Day, so it was pretty busy, but we were able to get a reservation with fairly short notice. Great food, great view, but they were out of quite a few things.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

a very nice restaurant. it was a bit noisy probably due to father's day. otherwise a great restaurant for that special occasion

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had a wonderful seamless experience. Went online got a reservation within 2 hours. Walked across the street as we live nearby sat down and had a wonderful sunset dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great Outdoor Seating and Food. The view is super nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

made reservation and asked for outdoor seating. Arrived and was told it would be a 45 minute wait for outdoor table but indoor table was ready...can the reservation be for outdoor or not? Mixed message....

Tags: Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The view was divine; however, I did not know we would be forced to purchase brunch when we made reservations. Brunch was about 75 with no champagne and the built in 20 percent tip for help yourself buffet. Disappointed 😔

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Long wait to be seated even after reservation, but overall good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Loved the field greens and wedge salads, as well as the hot sourdough and oysters. Did NOT love the crab cake appetizer--they were bland, burnt, and tasted mostly of filler. The location is lovely. But the prices are a little too high for the type of atmosphere and the quality of food. I would probably eat here again, but I would not go out of my way to recommend it to friends.

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food arrived 75 min after ordering. Not good for lunch hour. Pretty sure they forgot our order as people next to us that arrived after we did were gone by the time we got our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very slow service and marginal food quality. Outside looks nice but interior is too noisy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent service in that we had a large party that became larger while at the restaurant - it was my friends birthday and they made it feel like a special time. The staff was friendly and the food good! Nice view if seating outside - close to Ballast Point and other areas of interest for after a meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant with a great selection of food for everyone. I did think the entrees that did not come with a salad or vegetable were pricey. We were not able to see the water from our table so request that if possible. The pear martini was excellent! The fish entrees were delicious and nicely prepared. Our server was attentive even though she was very busy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was very slow and refills on beverages took way too long. Party of ten with 20% tip included on the bill, service should have been a lot better and more attentive. Food was just ok. I have much better here in the past.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I was disappointed because, I couldn't sit by the window. Tje hostess was rude when I ask for a window seat. She said that mine was available without checking.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Perfect. Our server made the occasion wonderfully relaxed but excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Overall we had a great meal. The server was a bit odd and took forever to come back to the table but the food was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Sat on patio. Great service & food. Music incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

There is nothing I could add to a review not already expressed. The Boathouse on the Bay is one of my favorite spots. The staff is always warm and welcoming. The service is excellent and the food, always great. The menu is large but with a perfect variety of appetizers, seafood, meat and pasta dishes including sushi. The location is beautiful at dusk, the space can entertain a large group or a romantic date night in a private booth. One highlight is Wine Wednesday; 1/2 off any bottle! Their wine menu supports any palate at fair price points.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Fun, Scenic View, Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We went for an early dinner but found out we were too early - had a sailing at 5:30 so we ended up on the patio which was fine. A bit noisey and there was the lunch menu which was okay. A bit pricey but it was a birthday celebration.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great service. Although it was an overcast day we still enjoyed our window booth to watch the activity in Alamitos Bay. Our server was outgoing without being overbearing.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Go for the view, the pleasant patio. The food disappoints every time. Go for drinks and some inconsequential snack. I don't know if it's their chef or their budget, but the dishes are bland-to-bad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Awesome food and service. Reasonable prices and spectacular view

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.