About The Boathouse on the Bay

190 N. Marina Drive
Long Beach, CA 90803
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Boathouse on the Bay, a Long Beach restaurant offering spectacular water views and an amazing Long Beach fine dining experience.

The Boathouse on the Bay is a seafood restaurant situated on Long Beach Alamitos Bay and serves an array of fresh seafood, sushi, sashimi and oysters. As one would expect from one of Long Beach’s best restaurants, we also offer natural organic steaks if seafood is not your preference.

Join us in Long Beach for happy hour, live entertainment and intrigue your senses with service and cuisine that is unsurpassed.

Plenty of parking or rideshare with your friends via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am; Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 493-1100

Website:
http://www.boathouseonthebay.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Parking lot available.
Additional public transportation:
Rideshare via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Public Transit:
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Executive Chef:
Katsuo Nagasawa

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

The Boathouse on the Bay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Long Beach / Catalina
Outdoor Dining
Long Beach / Catalina
Scenic View
Long Beach / Catalina
Best Restaurants in Long Beach ›

scenic view (54)
great for outdoor dining (35)
special occasion (35)
See All
good for groups (29)
great for lunch (23)
fit for foodies (20)
romantic (18)
great for brunch (18)
neighborhood gem (13)
vibrant bar scene (11)
notable wine list (7)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place is your go to for a good brun ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

This place is your go to for a good brunch with a great view! $18 bottle of champagne on Saturdays and Sunday's! You can't beat that!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food isnt all that. Staff isnt too kind ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food isnt all that. Staff isnt too kind still had to wait an hr with reservations.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

Boathouse on the Bay is a nice restauran ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

Boathouse on the Bay is a nice restaurant, but rather expensive for what you get. We ordered the Coconut Shrimp for an appetizer. The shrimp were very large and very tasty. I ordered the salmon, which was very good. My husband ordered a filet, medium well. Our dinners came out and his steak was medium rare. I am not sure why chefs can't get this right. We have had this happen to us so many times, we joke about it being done correctly when we order. They had to take it back to correct it. It is very upsetting because we end up not being able to eat our meal together. I was done before his steak even came back. The waiter does not deliver any of the food and when the steak was returned he never came by to apologize. They did bring a new piece of meat, which was appreciated. The steak comes with nothing on the side. For $39 for a 6 ounce steak, it should come with a side. They have very limited menu of wine by the glass. The bill was almost $200. I would have wanted a bit better experience to support the cost. They do have a nice outdoor area that seemed to be very popular. I think in the future, we would go outside and have a cocktail and an appetizer.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Got there at 6:45 for a 7:00 res. Had a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Got there at 6:45 for a 7:00 res. Had a handicapped person in our party of 4 who had a tough time standing and sitting for a long time because of recent knee surgery. Not seated 'til past 7:30, after mis-info about the wait and "a lot of lip" from the hostess. Dinner took so long that after a while the handicapper went to the car to wait for the other three to finish dinner. Not good....

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Waiter was not interested. Missed one ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter was not interested. Missed one of the side dishes we ordered. Good quality not as good as McKennas used to be. Great location but won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Excellent food, outstanding service and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service and a spectacular view. What else could you want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful location on Alamitos Bay, ex ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beautiful location on Alamitos Bay, excellent food, great service. Tad pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my wife's birthday. I ordered f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was my wife's birthday. I ordered flowers through online they came as promised. Our server was excellant. Thanks again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the ambiance service food view. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I loved the ambiance service food view. the waiters and people who seeted you very good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a positive experience. We had ea ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was a positive experience. We had eaten there before and it is good for special occasions as well just a good meal out. It was a special occasion this time. It was our 56th wedding anniversary.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The view was spectacular! Good was good ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The view was spectacular! Good was good but not exceptional. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We went to the Boathouse for a "date" ( ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went to the Boathouse for a "date" ( need to do that after almost 27 years of marriage once in a while). We were seated immediately at a window table with an amazing view of the bay. There were a lot of interesting choices and specials on the menu, but we wanted to eat light. We ordered two salads, and two appetizers- prawns and poke . They apparently ran out of bread that night..which would have been nice with the meal. Pete had a cocktail and a glass of wine.

The food was delicious. It was a bit pricey for what we had, but i was looking for a nice experience. My only complaint was that ithe dining room was very noisy. A scratchy speaker was playing over the loud talking of the customers and the squealing of several children playing tag around a table of eight moms.

After dinner, we headed out to the patio for a chance to talk, but the band and noise was pretty loud out there, too.

All in all, it was a nice evening.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Boathouse on the Bay could have been so ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Boathouse on the Bay could have been so much better if only the food would have been good. Would not have even needed to be great given the setting. Everything after the bread (which was hot and deliciously crusty) went downhill. Swordfish was overcooked and dry, sea bass was in a tasteless and watery broth, crab cakes had no crab, Brussel sprouts were way over done and had a sweet cloying flavor. The setting was lovely. Maybe okay for lunch and lighter fair but skip dinner.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

My husband's swordfish was great. My din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My husband's swordfish was great. My dinner, the chicken was dry and tasteless. Waiter was inattentive. Overall I was hoping for a really nice birthday dinner for my husband and was very disappointed.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Delicious fresh excellently prepared fis ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious fresh excellently prepared fish and seafood. Really enjoyed our second waiter who took over after the first waiter finished his shift. Wish I remembered his name . Lovely perfect time the only exception is that the temperature in the restaurant was very cold for my husband and I.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a fun place to eat! The view is a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a fun place to eat! The view is amazing. The food is generally quite good and the atmosphere is excellent. Inside and outside eating, music with some regularity, a very good bar and pretty nice staff. Hot place!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Elegant dining at an affordable price!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Any time you can enjoy a meal while watching the boats float by, it's a beautiful experience. We found the service amazing, the views awesome, and the food fantastic! Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite dining spot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Outstanding in every way. Great food, wide selection (something for everyone), friendly and helpful staff. GREAT water and sunset view. All in all a perfect venue to have a perfect meal with family and friends.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Boathouse has been our "go to"' rest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The Boathouse has been our "go to"' restaurant, both for bringing clients (our reason tonight) as well as other special occasions with family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great way to start your Sunday!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

What a great way to start your Sunday morning, brunch, on the Bay with a great view, and live steel drum musicians. We had a GREAT time. Can hardly wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was bad.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were rushed to make a decision, then rushed to finish our dinner, then rushed to pay the bill. We won't be going back for a meal again. Maybe just have a drink at the bar. The meals are way overpriced for what we received.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Perfect local location. Good service , g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Perfect local location. Good service , good food good value.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been there many times. Always a good ch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Been there many times. Always a good choice. Love the view.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to try a new restaurant. The fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I wanted to try a new restaurant. The food was great, the drinks were amazing. I order The Boathouse roll with was well worthy he price. The service was excellent. I will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great location, decent food but overpric ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

great location, decent food but overpriced - nice for special occasion splurge but would have liked to go more but not at $150/for dinner for 2 without appetizer or dessert

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Priceless

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I took my wife here for dinner and it blew us both away. The service was amazing and the food was the absolute tastiest dishes I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Okay, but a little disappointed

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I usually always enjoy the Boathouse, however this time our service wasn't the best. Our waiter forgot one entree, forgot to bring water……she seemed a little distracted. Nothing really bad, just not the usual good service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Over crowded

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We came here for Mother's Day. We were greeted promptly and they told me that unfortunately they were running a little behind on their reservations. It's Mother's Day, that is to be expected, our reservations were at 630 but were seated 650 (not to bad). Our waitress was great, very attentive. We were told that unfortunately the kitchen was extremely backed up and it would take awhile for us to receive our food. Once again, that is to be expected it was Mother's Day. We put in our appetizer order right away. After 45 minutes it was served. It was good, came out warm. After waiting another 45minutes minutes we were given our dinner entrees. Everything was presented nice but then we tasted our food. ALL of our food was cold! I did talk to the manager and explained it to him, he did take my entree and my mom's entree off the bill. What I did not realize is that everyone in my party food was cold. I feel overall this restaurant should not be accepting this quality of reservations that they obviously cannot handle. I do regret that they rest of my group did not say anything so that it could be remedied but at that point we just wanted to leave. We wanted to have a nice dinner and it ended up being a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

My whole family went for Mother's Day an ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

My whole family went for Mother's Day and I get its a busy day. We made reservations and didn't get seated until after 20 minutes of waiting. Upon being seated, we weren't offered water or bread for another 20 minutes. We had to actually wave someone down to serve us. We all decided to try a different fish entree and boy were we all disappointed ( not just because it took over 1 hour to get our food.....) but for $ 35+, I would expect better cooked fish. My fish was dry and bland and tasted like bad cooking from frozen fillets. The food was very standard, and a bit pricey for what they were serving.

On the bright side, the ambience is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Mother's Day

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Seated 30 min after reservation time. Recieved drinks promptly then waited 30 min for waiter to take our orders. Two wait staff taking care of 10 large parties. Food came 1 hour later and was cold. Food preparation was adequate but not worth the $35.00 - $40.00 prices. Not creative enough to be a foodies place but food was good. Would not return for anothe meal even though the restuarant seemed understaffed for the occasion. The culinary efforts do not support the prices. Ambiance is good with beautiful views. Wine list is generic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Good food. Pretty view.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food. Pretty view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

It was just ok. We went on Mother's Day ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was just ok. We went on Mother's Day which is always a tough day to try somewhere new. The steak was $51 & honestly just wasn't interesting, tender or overall good. The Chilean sea bass was good but very expensive at nearly $40. My 6 year old ordered Mac-n-cheese off the kids menu & it was too spicy for her to eat. We probably will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great Service

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mother's Day, they we're swamped, but they got us seated fairly close the reservation time. The food was great! The service was better! The manager went out of his way to make my Mother's Day Special as it was also her birthday and anniversary.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Cold chowder

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was good, but if it had been served warm it probably would have been much better.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Our server Bert was absolutely amazing !

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing service and great food ! As we all know service in it self can ruin any restaurant no matter how fantastic the food. But let me tell you our service was exceptional ! Bert showed a kindness and attentiveness that was superb ! It was my husband and i's first dining experience at this particular restaurant and after the suggestions and recommendations from the server we were not disappointed .. We Highly recommend this restaurant !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far one of the best restaurants I have attended

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

BoatHouse On The Bay was great. Not only was the staff great but so was the food. They were very pleasant and helpful and catered to my fiance and I.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great location!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

The staff of BotB are always friendly and take pride in their work. The food is dependably good. It is my go to restaurant for client meetings and out of town guests.

They never disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Occasion

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We were celebrating my husbands 28th birthday and it was absolutely perfect. The indoor dining area was quiet and we had a very attentive waiter. We throughly enjoyed our food and felt the price correlated appropriately. We noticed the outdoor dining area was more casual and promised ourselves we'd come out for drinks another night. It was a beautiful view over the bay!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "go to" restaurant! Food and servic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Our "go to" restaurant! Food and service never disappoint us. Great view day or night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the good. Service,atmosphere😍😍

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Love the good. Service,atmosphere😍😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.