About The Boathouse on the Bay

190 N. Marina Drive
Long Beach, CA 90803
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Boathouse on the Bay, a Long Beach restaurant offering spectacular water views and an amazing Long Beach fine dining experience.

The Boathouse on the Bay is a seafood restaurant situated on Long Beach Alamitos Bay and serves an array of fresh seafood, sushi, sashimi and oysters. As one would expect from one of Long Beach’s best restaurants, we also offer natural organic steaks if seafood is not your preference.

Join us in Long Beach for happy hour, live entertainment and intrigue your senses with service and cuisine that is unsurpassed.

Plenty of parking or rideshare with your friends via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am; Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 493-1100

Website:
http://www.boathouseonthebay.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Parking lot available.
Complimentary Valet on Weekends.
Additional public transportation:
Rideshare via Long Beach Yellow, Lyft or Uber
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Alamitos Bay Free Shuttle
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Public Transit:
Additional public transportation:
Long Beach Passport
Aqua Taxi (weekends only)
Duffy Taxi - Shore Boat

Executive Chef:
Katsuo Nagasawa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

$2 Oysters

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

50% Off Select Sushi, Sashimi, and Sushi Rolls

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM. Available on the Deck, Bar and Lounge only. Not available in the Main Dining Room. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

$10 Select Starters, $8 Margaritas, $5 Beers, $7 Wine & Wells. Available Monday through Friday 2pm- 6pm. Only available on the Deck, Bar and Lounge. Not valid in the Main Dining Room or on Holidays. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

$2 Oysters

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

$2 Oysters available all day Monday. Our selection varies to include the freshest options possible. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on the Deck, in the Bar and Lounge. Not Valid in Main Dining Room. Special valid Feb 6, 2017 - Jun 5, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

50% Off Select Sushi, Sashimi, and Sushi Rolls

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM. Available on the Deck, Bar and Lounge only. Not available in the Main Dining Room. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Sushi, Sashimi, and Sushi Rolls. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM. Available on the Deck, Bar and Lounge only. Not available in the Main Dining Room. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

The Boathouse on the Bay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (39)
Scenic View (27)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Live Music (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Fun (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Cozy (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Bar Seating (9)
People Watching (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Private Room (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Dancing (2)
Authentic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waitress was kind and friendly

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Waitress was kind and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved the place and wanted to come fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

We loved the place and wanted to come for a long time . Glad we finally did .. we will be back most defiantly!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going here for Valentine's ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been going here for Valentine's Day for the last six or seven years. It is our "go to" place for special occasions i.e. birthdays, anniversaries, bringing out of town clients for a nice meal.

The view is beautiful. It's a great place to meet for cocktails at sunset.

Our server, Stacey, was the best. She has served us for several years. She's got a great attitude and enhances the whole experience.

We have yet to be disappointed in our many years of going here

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our experience at The Boathouse ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

We loved our experience at The Boathouse! Bert, our waiter, was really awesome! Will definitely be back :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Valentine's Day dinne ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner complete with sunset.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Waterfront, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Open table says you can choose outdoor s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Open table says you can choose outdoor seating or indoor. Not the case. They won't take reservations for outdoors and the indoor menu is very different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Boathouse on the Bay is a family favorit ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

Boathouse on the Bay is a family favorite! Whatever the special occasion or just getting together with friends The Boathouse is always a hit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice sunny day at the patio with great s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice sunny day at the patio with great singer..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing really. Went for my birth ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Disappointing really. Went for my birthday (Feb 12th) but since it was Sunday before Valentine's the place was packed. It was noisy, a little grubby, and the food was disappointing. We ordered calamari for the table to share - it was over-fried and rubbery. I ordered a Crab Louie salad - the crab was just sad. Very little taste to it or even the greens it came on. The Louie dressing, which should be robust and have a little kick to it, tasted like tartar sauce with a squirt of ketchup. My hubby ordered the Fish and Chips. The fish was cold by the time it was put in front of him, so the batter was soft, not crisp, and the fish had very little flavor. Our waitress was rushed off her feet and we had to ask for several things more than once because she was so busy she kept forgetting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I went on weekend before Valentine's Day ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I went on weekend before Valentine's Day. I'm hoping that was the reason for the slow service and very crowded seating. Great food and great ambience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The seafood, particularly the scallops a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The seafood, particularly the scallops and the New England clam chowder, were excellent. Great service and also an unsurpassed view.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible views of Alametos bay marina ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Incredible views of Alametos bay marina to Catalina, good food, good service and a great local spot .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Had an wonderful experience dining at Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had an wonderful experience dining at The Boathouse! We successfully celebrated a special friend's Birthday for Dinner, Thanks to the excellent service of our server Bert! We will definitely be back and will be recommending everyone to come and enjoy this place.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, really great staff, will ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic food, really great staff, will come back to try more menu items, and check out the happy hour.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointing. Food was super avera ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very disappointing. Food was super average and not worth what they charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Another wonderful lunch. Great service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Another wonderful lunch. Great service and view. Suggestion : please don't use "fake" Crab and indicate that is not "real " Crab on you menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice setting with the marina. The f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very nice setting with the marina. The food can definitely be better. Overall, I would go back again and try something different on the menu.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The Boathouse on the Bay is a family fav ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Boathouse on the Bay is a family favorite. The food is always exceptional, the service is always friendly and efficient, and the atmosphere is always pleasant. We met friends there Saturday Night who live in Pasadena. They said the trip was well worth while!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Stacey, our server was outstanding. She ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Stacey, our server was outstanding. She made the evening special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Old school seafood steak restaurant. 3 l ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Old school seafood steak restaurant. 3 large parties the night wed were there, service was challenged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The Boathouse never disappoints. Always ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The Boathouse never disappoints. Always enjoyable and relaxing. Great food. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time being there and I'm glad we t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

First time being there and I'm glad we took the opportunity to try it out. We had the lobster tail well worth the price and ribeye steak cooked to perfection. Definitely a place you want to try if you're picky like me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect dining experience, seated us as ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Perfect dining experience, seated us as soon as we arrived, service was great and the food was even better!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to the Boathouse on the Bay for ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to the Boathouse on the Bay for New Years Eve 2016 with friends, food was excellent service was great, the band Emperors was a lot of fun we all had a great time would recommend this restaurant and will go back this year for NYE 2017.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great views! Service is excellent. Foo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great views! Service is excellent. Food prepared perfectly. A definite place to come back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just had some apps and wine for lunch (h ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Just had some apps and wine for lunch (half off wines on wednesday!) with friends. Enjoyed sitting outside on the patio with the gorgeous view of Long Beach surrounding us!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

They must have been understaffed. It to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

They must have been understaffed. It took 10 + minutes to greet us and the server also took a long time to take our drink, food and follow-up orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

We love Boathouse and usually sit in the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We love Boathouse and usually sit in the bar and outside patio. We decided to try Christmas Eve dinner in the dining room. Upon ordering, the food was served so quickly that it had obviously been prepared ahead. Sushi appetizer and seafood cioppino were good. However, my husband ordered the lamb shank. It arrived dry, and the meat had an odd odor and taste. Dessert was not good either. Too much money for a very mediocre meal. The server did remove the lamb dinner from our bill.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Great service....we had a late lunch res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great service....we had a late lunch reservation and our server allowed us to linger checking in just enough to be sure we had what we wanted. The extra bread, direct from the oven didn't hurt either 😉!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with my cousins. One is trying diff ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went with my cousins. One is trying different restaurants for her wedding reception. We all agree this restaurant is perfect. The food was delicious. The service was friendly and professional. I ordered the seafood stew and it was absolutely fantastic. Would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. Can't complain. Gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Everything was great. Can't complain. Great evening.

Tags: Tapas, , Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance with a beautiful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food and ambiance with a beautiful view of the water.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, great service, a little ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Excellent food, great service, a little pricey, but well worth it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great, a must, order the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was great, a must, order the HEART ATTACK. Our waiter Adam is the best.....

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I normally go for the music on weekends ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I normally go for the music on weekends but it's great for date night too!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups, Dancing, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch omelet was small and the seafood ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Brunch omelet was small and the seafood was hard to find. Half plate of potatoes. My friend whose birthday we were celebrating, hardly touched her food. No garnish on the plates. I expected more. The service was slow, waitress was pleasant, I just expected more

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Overall good evening. Dinner entrees a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Overall good evening. Dinner entrees are a bit pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Laid-back patio with top service. Sassy ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Laid-back patio with top service. Sassy drinks and perfect surf n' turfs. The drawn brown butter is everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Think twice before heading to this resta ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Think twice before heading to this restaurant. During our ordering process we gave our server (who happened to be the manager for the night) the information that one of our guests had a severe nut allergy. During our order this was repeated no less than three times.

Our daughter was served a short rib with pecans in the side dish. Ruined our night, hours later we are monitoring her health. Abysmal management and no accountability.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A very enjoyable evening while dining on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A very enjoyable evening while dining on the heated outdoor patio.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.