About The Boathouse at Sunday Park

4602 Millridge Parkway
Midlothian, VA 23112
View Larger Map

The Boathouse restaurant and event spaces wed the town’s impeccable waterfront views with authentic, locally-sourced cuisine. From the classically Southern shrimp and grits featuring sausage from Surry, VA to pizza made with authentic Italian recipe dough, the menu is distinctive and, most importantly, delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm, Friday Bar Service Begins at 3:00 pm, Sunday Brunch from 10 am - 3 pm, Dinner Service begins at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 744-2545

Website:
http://www.boathouserva.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Colin and Caroline every Thursday night in the summer, Ban Caribe every Friday night, and Folk Musician George Turman every Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Ample outside parking is available.

Executive Chef:
TJ Borawski

Private Party Facilities:
The Boathouse at Sunday Park offers a choice of either lunch or dinner private party menus. Private rooms and private party menus are available for groups of 16 to 150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joanne Bogese: 8047442545x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday is Wine Night - A rotating list of five or six bottles, available for half price, selected from our Wine Spectator award winning wine list.

End of Work Week Celebration - Every Friday... 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

We'll be serving a buffet dinner, including Thanksgiving classics as well as a variety of chef creations. // Adults: $44 per person Children ages 6-12: $19 Children under 6: no charge // Reservations are available from 1:00pm-6:00pm. Reservations must be guaranteed with a credit card.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Sunday Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Outdoor Dining
Richmond
1 More
Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Midlothian ›

Scenic View (155)
Great for Outdoor Dining (154)
Special Occasion (125)
See All
Romantic (85)
Neighborhood Gem (76)
Good for Groups (59)
Great for Brunch (53)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Great for Lunch (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Waterfront (22)
Good for a Date (18)
Kid-friendly (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Fun (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (8)
Seasonal (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great weather. Great food. Saw a wedding ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 16 hours ago

Great weather. Great food. Saw a wedding. Not a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was a little disappointed. We arrived ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 7 days ago

I was a little disappointed. We arrived at 6 and it was great at first because we had made reservations and were seated immediately. Waitress was excellent took orders got our appetizer right out. Then nothing...we watched everyone around us eat salads and entrees and we got Nothing. We did not get our main course served to us until after 7:00 and no one really did anything. Also after our appetizer we were never offered bread while waiting. Also no compensation was given to our $150 check that I paid and the $30 tip I left.

I was disappointed to say the least.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

My boyfriend and I enjoy ourselves :0) M ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My boyfriend and I enjoy ourselves

:0)

My birthday is 9/27 and we were celebrating

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It took over 30 minutes for our food. Th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

It took over 30 minutes for our food. The margaritas were awful.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We took some guests to Sunday Park for d ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We took some guests to Sunday Park for dinner on a Thursday night and we sat outside. The outside lighting, scenic view and band playing in the background created the perfect ambiance. The staff was attentive and the food was delicious. This is a neighborhood gem!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic! The gluten free crab, asparag ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Fantastic! The gluten free crab, asparagus, mozzarella pizza was something I will crave, and I don't even eat a gluten free diet! I can hardly wait to return with my husband. And the view is fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening, anniversary dinner! Dine ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great evening, anniversary dinner! Dined on the porch overlooking the reservoir, weather cooperated. Service superb, dinner delicious what more needs to be said. Price as expected, but worth every penny! Only one minor suggestion -- bowl of clam chowder could have been more -- just a little shy of expected amount. Taste was fantastic however. Good evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything I could've wanted; my girlfri ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Everything I could've wanted; my girlfriend and I absolutely loved it!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service. The manager even cam ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent service. The manager even came by to check on us. It was never intrusive but we always had everything we wanted and the waitress was friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good visit to "The Boathouse". I ha ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very good visit to "The Boathouse". I had the French Toast and it was great. It was pretty Noisey! Mimosas were good. Nice view of the lake on a beautiful sunny Sunday Brunch.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Location is stunning, food is great, ser ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Location is stunning, food is great, server was superb! BUT SLOW! This was our second visit, much faster than last time--but we will be back. Good really is good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Too expensive for us - luckily we had a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Too expensive for us - luckily we had a gift certificate, We were in a back corner of sorts so didn't have a scenic view. Food was good. Five scallops would have been better, esp for the price. Waitress was excellent. My bread pudding was very hard (burnt), so was brought another one, manager came over, and we weren't charged for it. That was nice.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The view is absolutely lovely, if you ar ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The view is absolutely lovely, if you are lucky enough to sit by a window, or sit upstairs, or the weather is cool enough to sit outside and enjoy the lake.

The food is delicious. I've been three times over the past two years and have never been disappointed in my meal selections. My first visit was for a Mother's Day Brunch (not the best time to critique service, food, and ambiance). My second visit I ordered from the appetizer menu and was very pleased. Sat lakeside and was very pleased. Service was excellent. Noise level was low. This recent visit, my sister and I were seated inside on the first level, in the middle of the room. We ordered from the entree selections (very pricey!). My sister ordered the rockfish entree and I ordered the Risotto Primavera. The server asked if I would like to add shrimp, or scallops, or another protein to my dish. I went with the scallops. The dish arrived with 2 scallops on top of the risotto. Both meals were delicious, as was dessert.

Then the check arrived. The original price of my entree was $18.00. Two scallops added an additional $12.00 to the cost!!!!! $6.00 per scallop. That's outrageous. I will never go back. Who does that without advising the customer what the upcharge will be?! So, instead of paying $18.00 for an entree, I had to pay $30.00 for my entree. Instead of paying with cash, I had to use a credit card.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

I ordered a filet steak that was cooked ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I ordered a filet steak that was cooked just the way asked for and tasted great. They don't serve baked potatos but I got mashed and they were good too. Came with mushrooms. We shared a Caesar salad and it was perfect for two. My wife got seafood and she also was pleased. It was a night for wine tasting so we tried some samples. Crème Brule finished the meal. Was a great night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and good menu but my R ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Wonderful service and good menu but my Rockfish was overlooked. Otherwise lively to be on the lake and have a waiter who was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Authentic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our First time at The Boathouse ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This was our

First time at The Boathouse at Sunday Park. Amanda our waitress was great just busy which caused her delays. However she had a good spirit and was always smiling, showing no signs of frustration. The food from our salad to the crab cakes, spinach and fries was all very delicious. The best crab cakes I've ever had. Thank you Amanda for a very

Good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful weather on the outside deck Gr ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful weather on the outside deck

Great brunch

Lovely setting and staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My husband and I enjoyed your establishm ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed your establishment very much. The waitress was very sweet and waited on us hand and foot. The only downside was our table was right beside the bar. When I called I told the girl we were celebrating our 33 wedding anniversary. I would have thought a little more forethought would have gone in to the seating arrangements. W cannot wait for The Boathouse to come to Hopewell!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

How can anyplace beat the sunset view? ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

How can anyplace beat the sunset view? Food was excellent as always, especially the oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and of course the ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was excellent and of course the view beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my girlfriend and out of town guest ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Took my girlfriend and out of town guest. Liked, that for a reasonable price you can order flowers and or champagne to have waiting at your table for you. Cozy, romantic spot on the water with great, friendly service. The hostess and our waitress wished my girlfriend a happy birthday upon seating us and the manager stopped by to wish her a happy birthday as well as treat her to the desert of her choice on the house. Will definitely return to the boathouse at Sunday park and will reccomend it to friends. Thank you boathouse staff for making her birthday special and memorable.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Scenic View, Live Music, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love taking out of town guests to thi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We love taking out of town guests to this great dining setting. Outdoor dining overlooking the lake & watching the sunset is terrific during cooler evenings.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ing tooutstanding experience all around- ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

ing tooutstanding experience all around- good food, setting perfect on a sunny su

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful spot on the water to enjoy d ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

A beautiful spot on the water to enjoy dinner and the sunset out on the patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Service was OK. Took quite a bit to get ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Service was OK. Took quite a bit to get the food, and longer to get drinks when ordered.

Food was good except for one filet that was a bad cut. Manager took it off the bill.

Nice evening to eat outside, especially if you can get a table with some shade when it is hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great experience! I took my mother for ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great experience! I took my mother for her birthday and from the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. The staff did a great job of making us feel welcome and acknowledging my mother's special day. The food was incredible and everything was seasoned, hot, and well presented. The location is absolutely beautiful and service was efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an early dinner there on Sunday, and ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Had an early dinner there on Sunday, and the indoor/outdoor space is incredible. Watching the sun set as we sipped wine and talked was perfect. The food was excellent (we had the rock fish and the artichoke crab dip). We will be returning!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! Food was great! Waite ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent service! Food was great! Waiter was very helpful in his recommendations. For us, it is not an everyday dining establishment. This based on cost alone. The food was well worth it though. The location is great for a pre or post meal walk along the lake. It really adds to the experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered crab Benedict. When it came th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I ordered crab Benedict. When it came the egg was raw. Not just over easy, the white was not cooked. When I told the waiter he said a poached egg was supposed to be that way. I love to cook and I know better. They took it back and redid it(after my husband finished his meal). The second time it was perfectly cooked. I would think for the money, they would have offered to comp me something but not even an offer! In general everything else was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fun place to go! The food is good but ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A fun place to go! The food is good but I have had better. Love the patio by the water!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The Boathouse at Sunday Park is a friend ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Boathouse at Sunday Park is a friends and family favorite - especially when the weather is warm. Sitting outside to watch the sun set, and enjoy a good meal, is always great! The steak special was a favorite for most of our table. The crab cakes, the organic spinach salad and also the wedge salad, are always delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor ambiance, cold food, so-so service ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Poor ambiance, cold food, so-so service, loud....a casual hang out with high prices. The food was fair, at best. Poorly made cocktails. This is NOT fine dining. This is "chain-restaurant" fare. Hire a chef!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The Boathouse at Sunday Park was beautif ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Boathouse at Sunday Park was beautiful. However my service was absolutely horrible; and the food was subpar compared to Rockets Landing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

This was our first time back after a not ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was our first time back after a not very good experience about 2 years ago. And we are very glad that we came back! Excellent food, outstanding wait staff. We had crab cakes and Norwegian salmon and both were excellent. Beautiful view, excellent staff and excellent food. Great time.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Place was pricey and the food wasn't wor ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Place was pricey and the food wasn't worth the price but loved the view from our table.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was excellent. Nikki our server ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was excellent. Nikki our server was very knowledgable on the menu and wines. The calamari was delicious and both sauces that come with it were excellent they both had the right amount of spice. My husband used the aioli from the calamari on his salmon. We had the salmon simply grilled and blackened with jalapeno aioli. It was delicious. We are looking forward to our next trip to the boat house!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find on Swift Creek Reservoir. Be ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great find on Swift Creek Reservoir. Beautiful setting with a great atmosphere. Expansive menu, wine list, and a lot of tasty beers. Divided nicely to allow intimate dining or large groups. Indoor and outdoor bar areas had plenty going on! Food was awesome, highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

the manager was awesome - he opened up t ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

the manager was awesome - he opened up the patio for us, once I convinced him the storm was holding off - he spent extra time with us

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. A tad bit loud b ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and service. A tad bit loud but not too bad. Only complaint was the dining area was very warm. I just think it was so hot outside the AC just couldn't keep up. We'll definitely be back on a cooler day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Wonderful dinner, great service. Always ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful dinner, great service. Always find this restaurant to be very accommodating to our gluten free dietary needs!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.