About The Boathouse at Sunday Park

4602 Millridge Parkway
Midlothian, VA 23112
View Larger Map

The Boathouse restaurant and event spaces wed the town’s impeccable waterfront views with authentic, locally-sourced cuisine. From the classically Southern shrimp and grits featuring sausage from Surry, VA to pizza made with authentic Italian recipe dough, the menu is distinctive and, most importantly, delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm, Friday Bar Service Begins at 3:00 pm, Sunday Brunch from 10 am - 3 pm, Dinner Service available all day

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 744-2545

Website:
http://www.boathouserva.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Colin and Caroline every Thursday night in the summer, Ban Caribe every Friday night, and Folk Musician George Turman every Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Ample outside parking is available.

Executive Chef:
TJ Borawski

Private Party Facilities:
The Boathouse at Sunday Park offers a choice of either lunch or dinner private party menus. Private rooms and private party menus are available for groups of 16 to 150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joanne Bogese: 8047442545x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday is Wine Night - A rotating list of five or six bottles, available for half price, selected from our Wine Spectator award winning wine list.

End of Work Week Celebration - Every Friday... 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Sunday Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Most Booked
Virginia
3 More
Outdoor Dining
Richmond
Most Booked
Richmond
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Midlothian ›

scenic view (142)
great for outdoor dining (136)
special occasion (113)
See All
romantic (80)
neighborhood gem (68)
good for groups (56)
great for brunch (52)
fit for foodies (34)
vibrant bar scene (28)
hot spot (22)
great for lunch (22)
kid-friendly (20)
notable wine list (13)
late-night find (11)
Sort By:
Newest
1106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an awesome birthday celebration w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had an awesome birthday celebration with friends. I would have given a higher rating, but we weren't thrilled about eating upstairs.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The restaurant was nice and the food was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant was nice and the food was good, however parking was limited and it was very hard to find. I drove past the location 5 times before I was able to successfully locate it.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time dining here...I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our first time dining here...I loved being able to book a table online. The restaurant was great! The view was very pleasant and unexpected (we have not lived in the Richmond area very long). Our friends will be visiting soon and we wanted to check the place out before we took them there....the brunch was fabulous and since our friends are a little more on the "picky" side I am positive they will find dining here as enjoyable as we did! The brunch menu I thought was very broad - something for everyone. We will definitely be returning....and when our friends visit from Wisconsin....this will definitely be a part of our itinerary for them.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at the Boathouse for our annive ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We dined at the Boathouse for our anniversary. Everything was right on point. The service, the food, the entire experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought a group of teenagers who were be ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Brought a group of teenagers who were being rewarded for being a hard working volunteer group. Service was slow but food was good. Advertised dessert which was pushed hard by waiter turned out to be not available. Good but not outstanding restaurant. Still would recommend to friends.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was great as usual. Which is w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was great as usual. Which is why we were there two days prior to this visit. The service was exceptional! The manager, Katie went above and beyond our expectations. The waitress was awesome also. I can't think of her name. We will be back soon! :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, had the cab and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was very good, had the cab and artichoke appetizer a couple of entrees and a dessert. The scallops that came with my dinner were probably the best scallops I have ever had. Highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for our birthday. Everyone was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Went here for our birthday. Everyone was friendly and welcomed us to the Boathouse and thanked us for choosing them for our special occasion. Food was very good and service was great.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My girlfriend and I were celebrating our ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My girlfriend and I were celebrating our one year anniversary of being together. I knew I wanted to marry her since the moment I saw her and wanted the perfect place to do it. I made a reservation time to coincide with the sunset which was absolutely breathtaking. Our server was wonderful and very helpful describing the menu. The food was amazing and the drinks were delicious. I couldn't imagine a better place to ask her to marry me. And she said yes!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best view in Richmond area. Service is a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best view in Richmond area. Service is always good. Food is good. Prices are higher than average.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I attended this restaurant for the fire ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I attended this restaurant for the fireworks. Seats reserved as promised. Fireworks over the water was amazing !! Excellent customer service !! Great experience will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love the place. This is a grea ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love love love the place. This is a great place to bring friends and just sit and enjoy good friends, food, and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love dining here....so much atmos ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always love dining here....so much atmosphere! The food is always so good and so many wonderful choices.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

problems: a lot of noise - it was hard t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

problems: a lot of noise - it was hard to converse. Also, it took a LONG time to be served but 2 managers apologized for the delay and 1 of the 6 of us did not get served till 20 minutes after every one else got served so she did not eat with us. I guess the biggest problem was not getting served at the same time -

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

I decided to go to the boathouse with my ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I decided to go to the boathouse with my sister and brother in law while visiting friends and family in Midlothian. We had a late brunch and decided to stay for deserts as well as a few extra beers. The place is excellent and overlooks woodlake beautifully. I would definitely go again the service was fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful brunch. Our waiter wa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch. Our waiter was great and patient with us to order. We were dining with friends we hadn't seen in 20 years.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We always appreciate time spent at the B ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We always appreciate time spent at the Boathouse overlooking Swift Creek. The meal this past Saturday was one of the best we have had. That says a lot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very overpriced- Ceasar salad w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was very overpriced- Ceasar salad was awful and cost 8 dollars-the dressing was like water and stale croutons.

The fish Tacos were fried shrimp and served only two of them - the filler was a little corn and barely nothing else.

Very overpriced - best to eat their pizzas and burgers for value

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

We sat outside. The view is great. The ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We sat outside. The view is great. They only do happy hour at the bar which we didn't love. Service was good. Food is pretty good, but a little pricey.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This was our first time at the Boathouse ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This was our first time at the Boathouse and we enjoyed everything about our meal. Grace was an excellent server and all three of us enjoyed our food. We will definitely be going back soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Boathouse at Sunday Park is a perfec ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The Boathouse at Sunday Park is a perfect dining experience for those who enjoy seafood and a lovely sunset over the water. Great food and service!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I went to dinner for our ann ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My wife and I went to dinner for our anniversary. Arrived with a bottle of wine chilling at our table. When we asked who it was from, the waitress said she didn't know, and was ready to take it off of the table. We said we would like the bottle, since it was the type that we drink, and enjoyed it with dinner. Found out after we had left, that my daughter had ordered it for us!! Very disappointed that we were not told this...or that some kind of note was not with it. We would have enjoyed the bottle a little more of we had known.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Very nice to sit on the edge of outdoor ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very nice to sit on the edge of outdoor and indoor seating and the seafood was delicious. I must go again soon I prefer lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service and a beautifu ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food, great service and a beautiful view to boot. Our go to place for summer celebrations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My dad's food was lukewarm, we waited a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My dad's food was lukewarm, we waited a bit for food, so he did not send it back.

Shrimp were steamed to perfection

My daughters pizza was given to another table and she had to wait, not long, but most were about halfway done with brunch,

ice tea refilled, but without ice

New waitress was VERY good

Manager was all over getting us the updated food

should have given us the pizza free, or something (maybe my dad's drink)

Reservations, phone reminder and email were excellent

Probably won't choose or recommend this for our type of occasion (my new husband meeting my dad and mom for first time).

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

View outside was amazing. Made a reserva ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

View outside was amazing. Made a reservation still had to wait over 30 minutes to be seated and was told twice people checked in before me for same 8 pm reservation even though they asked about there's after me.

Wife loved her food said it was delicious I tried the pizza and I know that is probable not a specialty for that place and should have gone different route. It was poorly made and prepared and was presented as such.

Waitress was very friendly and helpful. Outside of your control, there were a few drunk people being very loud in the table right next to us. That was disappointing as this was supposed to be a 10 year anniversary dinner for me and the wife.

I saw a lot of potential in the place but don't know if I will go back after a bad first visit

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value3

Loved the ambiance..........wonderful fo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Loved the ambiance..........wonderful for an anniversary date!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite the downpour and gloomy weather, ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Despite the downpour and gloomy weather, our Boathouse dining experience was quite the opposite. Hostesses were friendly and accommodating, the waitress was casual yet attentive, and the food was delicious. The ambiance of The Boathouse was a wonderful way for my husband and I to celebrate my birthday. Can't wait to go back and enjoy the outdoor dining experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined indoors due to rain. The dining ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We dined indoors due to rain. The dining room was loud , and the tables were too close together. The NY Strip was very good and my client said the couscous dish was excellent. I had the stuffed shrimp and was disappointed. The shimp were small and were not stuffed. They just put a ball scoop of crab dip on top. The side of mashed potatoes and asparagus was bland.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had an awesome time at the boathouse as ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Had an awesome time at the boathouse as usual.The food,view, and our server were great!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was very helpful and attent ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waitress was very helpful and attentive. She was also very knowledgeable of the wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and drinks were great. Service was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food and drinks were great. Service was good but it took a little time to get drinks and they werent even busy. May need more staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Should have some type of shade provided ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Should have some type of shade provided for tables when hot and fans would be good too.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I took my mom to the Boathouse during he ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I took my mom to the Boathouse during her first visit to Richmond. She agreed that the food and service were excellent, as was the fellow playing guitar during brunch on Sunday.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall brunch was very good and service ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall brunch was very good and service was excellent. It was a hot and sunny day and the lake views are beautiful, but it would have been nicer if there had been more shade.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband's daughters don't live close ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband's daughters don't live close by, so they couldn't join him for Father's Day. So, I treated him with a very nice brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting on the Swift Creek Reserv ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Lovely setting on the Swift Creek Reservoir. Views were stunning. It was a very sunny morning for brunch with tempetures around 80. We had no shade, so it was quit uncomfortable. Because it was Father's Day the restaurant was full. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We would definitely go again, but would ask for shaded or indoor seating.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service very sloooow. I know it was a bu ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service very sloooow. I know it was a busy weekend but this should have been anticipated. Food was excellent

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Great place to dine for a date, with fri ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place to dine for a date, with friends or, just to hang out at the bar on the deck

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We waited 45 minutes for a table, even t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We waited 45 minutes for a table, even though we made a reservation. Our party had to check back at the host stand regarding the table's availability. Luckily my guests were laidback and one was running late. I won't return for a business meal but will definitely be back for sundowners.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.