About The Boathouse at Sunday Park

4602 Millridge Parkway
Midlothian, VA 23112
View Larger Map

The Boathouse restaurant and event spaces wed the town’s impeccable waterfront views with authentic, locally-sourced cuisine. From the classically Southern shrimp and grits featuring sausage from Surry, VA to pizza made with authentic Italian recipe dough, the menu is distinctive and, most importantly, delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm, Friday Bar Service Begins at 3:00 pm, Sunday Brunch from 10 am - 3 pm, Dinner Service begins at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 744-2545

Website:
http://www.boathouserva.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Colin and Caroline every Thursday night in the summer, Ban Caribe every Friday night, and Folk Musician George Turman every Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Ample outside parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Bennett Flowers

Private Party Facilities:
The Boathouse at Sunday Park offers a choice of either lunch or dinner private party menus. Private rooms and private party menus are available for groups of 16 to 150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joanne Bogese: 8047442545x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday is Wine Night - A rotating list of five or six bottles, available for half price, selected from our Wine Spectator award winning wine list.

End of Work Week Celebration - Every Friday... 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We will be serving a special holiday menu as well as our regular dinner menu. Reservations are available from 5pm-8:30pm. A credit card guarantee is required for parties of 6 or more. Happy Holidays!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Dinner reservations are available from 5pm-10:30pm. We will be serving a special holiday menu as well as our regular dinner menu. Reservations of 6 or more guests will be guaranteed with a credit card.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Sunday Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Virginia
Romantic
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Midlothian ›

Scenic View (77)
Great for Outdoor Dining (65)
Special Occasion (63)
See All
Waterfront (55)
Romantic (50)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Worth the Drive (26)
Casual (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Fun (17)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Seasonal (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Business Meals (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
People Watching (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Fireplace (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Live Music (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Family Style (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Healthy (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Horrible experience!! I told them it was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Horrible experience!! I told them it was a special occasion and we got a crummy booth in the back. Waited 15 minutes to be greeted by a waitress that I flagged downed ..she Kept on apoligizing but I had to interupt and give our drink and apps order. Told her the wine we wanted. Apps were cold.. Dinner came it was cold half way through dinner we finally got our wine. By the way I use to work here.. Will never come back and will let people know. Of my horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Dinner with Santa is always a wonderful ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner with Santa is always a wonderful time and a great family tradition. Santa is amazing with the kids and the food and service was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant has changed the ingredien ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant has changed the ingredients in the crab cake and the shrimp and grits. There was a hot spice included that was not there last visit. My family would not order them again. Also, the cocktail sauce was not good - same reason as above.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed a delightful brunch in pleasa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed a delightful brunch in pleasant surroundings. Our made-to-order omelettes were very good, and the lake view on a cold, cloudy day was just as striking as on a summer afternoon.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our second time there and first ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our second time there and first with a reservation (even though I do not think we actually needed it). We were quickly seated and our server was right there to explain everything we needed to know. We ordered appetizers, the mussels, and they were phenomenal. Our entree' and after dinner coffee's were spot on and the very delicious. Although this place is a little pricey, it is well worth it with the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thanksgiving buffet dinner left a lot to ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet dinner left a lot to be desired, from a skimpy food selection & poor seating, our overall experience was disappointing. We will not be dining at the Boathouse again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

My family and I went there for Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family and I went there for Thanksgiving. The first time I didn't cook a traditional Thanksgiving in decades. The food was mouthwatering! They must have staggered the reservations because the buffet never had a line. The waitress aware of the special request I had made when I made the reservation and was always on point. I will do this again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding holiday experience. Our meal ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding holiday experience. Our meal was excellent with very friendly and prompt service. We will book again for next year.

Tags: Waterfront, Happy Hour, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Boathouse at Sunday Park has grown t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Boathouse at Sunday Park has grown to be a "go to" spot for us for high quality food and an overall enjoyable experience. While not inexpensive, it is quite unique and is able to justify some of the additional expense. Our new waitress, Heather, was a super nice person and we enjoyed a nice Christian exchange. That is a true blessing these days. She was professional and classy.

Look forward to the next experience.

Thanks.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful brunch- food was excellent and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful brunch- food was excellent and service was great.

We had our daughter's wedding at the Rockett's Landing location and they were fantastic!

High recommendation for both locations that we visit- dining out or planning a special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The shellfish platter was amazing and we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The shellfish platter was amazing and we have had them from coast to coast. Very good quality and generous for the price!

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great location and creat ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food, great location and creative menu...wonderful place for seafood!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our visits to the differ ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We always enjoy our visits to the different Boathouse restaurants in the area and Sunday Park with the beautiful views is no exception.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at the Boathouse ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was our first time at the Boathouse. Excellent service and a wonderful view of the lake!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location; picturesque views, nice ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great location; picturesque views, nice interior. The food is very good; lots of menu options. The staff was friendly, wait service was very good, very responsive to special needs (non-gluten in this case). Highly recommended

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience. Loved the view and com ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great experience. Loved the view and comfortable seats. Was annoyed with lighting. The dimming lights upstairs by large porch kept fading in and out.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Spent a very warm November evening enter ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Spent a very warm November evening entertaining some clients - Ate outside and watched the sunset. The food was fantastic and our server, Aaron, was amazing. From appetizers to dessert, the perfect business dinner if you are looking to impress without going overboard.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. However, the pri ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was very good. However, the price was through the roof for the amount you get. Would go again for a special occasion only.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I just had a beautiful Sunda ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My wife and I just had a beautiful Sunday brunch here and enjoyed the scenery as well as the food. The service was excellent and the price was very good.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view by the lake. Food great & we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great view by the lake. Food great & well presented!

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great! Expected a little mo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The food was great! Expected a little more as far as service based on the expectations of the boathouse brand. Otherwise though really good place to have a night out.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Absolutely splendid. The food was excell ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Absolutely splendid. The food was excellent the music was phenomenal. Geared towards the over 40 crowd.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've nothing negative to say about our e ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I've nothing negative to say about our experience. The waitstaff, food, management, view, decor and overall atmosphere of the restaurant was commendable. We especially enjoyed the Motown playlist and the servers ability to introduce us to tastes we hadn't experienced before.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this restaurant! Has become my new ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Loved this restaurant! Has become my new favorite! Great outdoor dining! The only downfall was for my husband-mostly seafood pasta dishes, but I thought it was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Live Music, Scenic View, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, attentive staff, unbeatable ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food, attentive staff, unbeatable scenery from the outdoor dining area. Nice local spot!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager made a point to walk around ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The manager made a point to walk around and make sure each customer was happy and taken care of, often going the extra mile to ensure repeat customers. This was our first of many times dining at The Boathouse in Sunday Park!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for our anniversary with our 2 ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Came here for our anniversary with our 2 year old son & it was the perfect atmosphere for him. He loved the water & lobster tank. Only complaint was the special was the rockfish & it was a little dry but other than that everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going for over thirty years ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We have been going for over thirty years. It continues to get better!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is becoming one of our favorite res ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 10, 2016

This is becoming one of our favorite restaurants in Chesterfield County. On the waterfront (Swift Creek Reservoir) with beautiful views especially at sunset. Varied menu with lots of good choices. The seafood selections are our favorites including the crab cakes and rockfish. Limited but creative deserts. The wait staff is very courteous and knowledgeable.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Kerry was an outstanding waiter. Very in ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Kerry was an outstanding waiter. Very informative and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing, as usual, steak or ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was amazing, as usual, steak or seafood, all is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the crab cakes! The shrim ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Really enjoyed the crab cakes! The shrimp and grits were great as well. Went there for our anniversary and the staff treated us exceptionally well. They gave us a free desert to share! We chose the creme brûlée--very tasty. Beautiful setting. Fantastic place for dates/special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was fantastic. Crab and artichok ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Service was fantastic. Crab and artichoke dip was delicious! Crab cake sandwich was just ok. So glad the $32 crab cakes were not ordered assuming it is the same crab cake as the sandwich. Shrimp and fish were good. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I've had some good meals here but this o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I've had some good meals here but this one wasn't up to par. Shrimp dishes were overcooked.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Relaxing outdoor seating to enjoy good f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Relaxing outdoor seating to enjoy good food and company

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great weather. Great food. Saw a wedding ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great weather. Great food. Saw a wedding. Not a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful experience! I cannot sa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

What a wonderful experience! I cannot say enough great things about The Boathouse. We had a awesome meal, great service, and beautiful view. We got a table on the deck right on the water. I let them know ahead of time that it was a special occasion. The manager came out and spoke to us personally. I have recommendedThe Boathouse to all my friends and family. I will definitely be going back there again!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! The phenomenal waterfront a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Outstanding! The phenomenal waterfront ambiance is matched equally by professional service and exceptional food. Gorgeous waterside seating with live music. Friendly and timely servers. Sincere and caring front of house management. Not to mention the mouth watering and beautiful appetizers and entrees. This is now our "Go To" Midlothian Restaurant! - Robert W. Dodge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One meal was given with raw shrimp on th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

One meal was given with raw shrimp on the plate and steak was just seared. By the time the meal was presented the second time everyone else at our table had finished their meal. This meal was eaten quickly and I'm sure it was not enjoyed. Patron was charged for the meal. Shame on the Boathouse.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value3

I was a little disappointed. We arrived ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was a little disappointed. We arrived at 6 and it was great at first because we had made reservations and were seated immediately. Waitress was excellent took orders got our appetizer right out. Then nothing...we watched everyone around us eat salads and entrees and we got Nothing. We did not get our main course served to us until after 7:00 and no one really did anything. Also after our appetizer we were never offered bread while waiting. Also no compensation was given to our $150 check that I paid and the $30 tip I left.

I was disappointed to say the least.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.