About The Boathouse at Sunday Park

The Boathouse restaurant and event spaces wed the town’s impeccable waterfront views with authentic, locally-sourced cuisine. From the classically Southern shrimp and grits featuring sausage from Surry, VA to pizza made with authentic Italian recipe dough, the menu is distinctive and, most importantly, delicious.

4602 Millridge Parkway
Midlothian, VA 23112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm, Friday Bar Service Begins at 3:00 pm, Sunday Brunch from 10 am - 3 pm, Dinner Service begins at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 744-2545

Website:
http://www.boathouserva.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Colin and Caroline every Thursday night in the summer, Ban Caribe every Friday night, and Folk Musician George Turman every Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Ample outside parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Bennett Flowers

Private Party Facilities:
The Boathouse at Sunday Park offers a choice of either lunch or dinner private party menus. Private rooms and private party menus are available for groups of 16 to 150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joanne Bogese: (804) 744-2545

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday is Wine Night - A rotating list of five or six bottles, available for half price, selected from our Wine Spectator award winning wine list.

End of Work Week Celebration - Every Friday... 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Day with us and enjoy a special dinner menu with featured wine pairings, available Friday, 2/10 - Sunday, 2/12 and Tuesday, 2/14. Dinner reservations must be guaranteed with a credit card.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Sunday Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (42)
Waterfront (40)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Romantic (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Casual (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Cozy (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fireplace (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Seasonal (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Fun (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Family Style (6)
Live Music (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Authentic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have eaten there a few times food alw ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

We have eaten there a few times food always very good and atmosphere is Good..

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Diner was very good, service, Jeremy, wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Diner was very good, service, Jeremy, was excellent

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! Took our tim ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent food and service! Took our time didn't feel rushed. Nice atmosphere!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but as much as I hat ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food was great, but as much as I hate to say it, our server was not. He was great at first, but then disappeared. We would have ordered more wine and possibly dessert, but by the time we waited over 20 minutes after finishing, we were done.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

My clam chowder was served to the wrong ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My clam chowder was served to the wrong table. The server removed it from that table and served it to me. I asked if he had served it to someone else and he stated yes, sorry, I don't know where my head is tonight. Without me having to say anything, the manager came a moment later and apologized and brought me another cup of chowder. I really appreciate how the manager handled the situation. All the food we ordered was delicious and plentiful, I couldn't eat it all. Would recommend to everyone!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Casual, Cozy, Scenic View, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Oysters on half shell were great; whole ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Oysters on half shell were great; whole lobster very good but crab cakes mediocre (believe the recipe has changed: no jumbo lumps, too much spice, burned on one side). "seasonal" vegetable was asparagus (NOT seasonal in winter!). Stick with lobster, scallops or fish

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

First visit to the Boathouse. It was ex ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First visit to the Boathouse. It was excellent in all respects...atmosphere, service and food. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing overlooking the wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place is amazing overlooking the water. Food service and view are great! I am so glad that we discovered their Sunday Brunch. The made to order omelet bar was a wonderful touch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fight started out great with awesome ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The fight started out great with awesome service from our server. For the most part the food was good. Ordered the rack of lamb with augrtin potatoes with Brussels sprouts special. The lamb was done perfectly however the potatoes were ice cold. One manager came over and apologized for the less than adequate standards. Offered something else in the mean time while they replated my food. Stated did not want anything else just the food. A little miscommunication had just occurred. Server came over to put the order in of the creme brûlée and my friend asked if my food was going to come out before the desert. At this time second manager Tyler came over and totally apologized for the miscommunication and offered to make the meal for me to take home. Said that would be fine. Was so happy that they made it right. I have eaten there several times before and had a great experience. This was my friends first time eating there and she stated that she was a little disappointed seeing that it was New Year's Eve and the standards were not up to par for the price of the food. Until they manager Tyler made it right. The evening was not a total loss. Thank you to the server and manger for making things right and turning the experience around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

JUST WONDERFUL - ACCOMODATING MENU AS WE ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

JUST WONDERFUL - ACCOMODATING MENU AS WELL. CRAB CAKE WAS GREAT EVEN THOUGH I AM FROM MARYLAND, THEY DID A GREAT JOB ON

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time as always. Our serv ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a wonderful time as always. Our server, Heather, was outstanding. The food was great, atmosphere perfect. Flemings can't hold a candle to The Boathouse. I miss the Mussels with beer, but the red curry was fine. The grilled bread served with the mussels is, in itself, worth making the 50 minute trip to eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great selection of seafood and non-sea ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A great selection of seafood and non-seafood to choose from. Something for everyone. The food was delicious. The service was outstanding. We can't wait to go back when the weather is warmer to enjoy the outside space as well. The setting is fabulous - right on the water. Even in the winter the atmosphere was beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We pre ordered appetizers and as we were ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We pre ordered appetizers and as we were being seated the appetizers were on the way to the table 👍.Haley was our waitress she was EXCELLENT! We had 6 adults & 3 kids no one complained about anything!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an early dinner. The sunset was p ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had an early dinner. The sunset was phenomenal and watching the birds on the reservoir was fantastic. The only negative was we were not originally seated where we could see the sunset although that had been requested. We were immediately accommodated when we requested a change in seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We did not get what we ordered. Our side ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We did not get what we ordered. Our sides were not as ordered and they were out of one menu option. We also received a round of drinks that we did not order but we paid for them.

The dishes were very good and we will go to the Boat House again. This was the first time we had the uneven service and will hope for a better experience next time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic service, food cooked as we req ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantastic service, food cooked as we requested. They were organized and ready to seat us when we arrived. Manager stopped over to insure everything was good. Very impressed.

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, impeccable!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

As usual, impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a gem this place is! We were travel ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

What a gem this place is! We were traveling to Richmond for business but decided to stay overnight and have a date night. We could not have picked a better spot! The food was delicious, fresh, and gorgeous. The staff was very friendly and the service was outstanding. The manager visited us twice just to thank us for coming and our server was very attentive. I got the shrimp tacos and my husband had the oysters rock... amazing! We also shared a soup and salad. The fire pit outside was lovely and the decor inside was romantic, modern, and cozy... altogether! We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we go here a lot the food is usually ver ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

we go here a lot the food is usually very good. we order the oyster flights every time. we were wondering why you do not serve crackers and hot sauce with the oysters like everyone else does.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Horrible experience!! I told them it was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Horrible experience!! I told them it was a special occasion and we got a crummy booth in the back. Waited 15 minutes to be greeted by a waitress that I flagged downed ..she Kept on apoligizing but I had to interupt and give our drink and apps order. Told her the wine we wanted. Apps were cold.. Dinner came it was cold half way through dinner we finally got our wine. By the way I use to work here.. Will never come back and will let people know. Of my horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Dinner with Santa is always a wonderful ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Dinner with Santa is always a wonderful time and a great family tradition. Santa is amazing with the kids and the food and service was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant has changed the ingredien ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The restaurant has changed the ingredients in the crab cake and the shrimp and grits. There was a hot spice included that was not there last visit. My family would not order them again. Also, the cocktail sauce was not good - same reason as above.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed a delightful brunch in pleasa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We enjoyed a delightful brunch in pleasant surroundings. Our made-to-order omelettes were very good, and the lake view on a cold, cloudy day was just as striking as on a summer afternoon.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our second time there and first ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was our second time there and first with a reservation (even though I do not think we actually needed it). We were quickly seated and our server was right there to explain everything we needed to know. We ordered appetizers, the mussels, and they were phenomenal. Our entree' and after dinner coffee's were spot on and the very delicious. Although this place is a little pricey, it is well worth it with the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thanksgiving buffet dinner left a lot to ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet dinner left a lot to be desired, from a skimpy food selection & poor seating, our overall experience was disappointing. We will not be dining at the Boathouse again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

My family and I went there for Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family and I went there for Thanksgiving. The first time I didn't cook a traditional Thanksgiving in decades. The food was mouthwatering! They must have staggered the reservations because the buffet never had a line. The waitress aware of the special request I had made when I made the reservation and was always on point. I will do this again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding holiday experience. Our meal ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding holiday experience. Our meal was excellent with very friendly and prompt service. We will book again for next year.

Tags: Waterfront, Happy Hour, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Boathouse at Sunday Park has grown t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Boathouse at Sunday Park has grown to be a "go to" spot for us for high quality food and an overall enjoyable experience. While not inexpensive, it is quite unique and is able to justify some of the additional expense. Our new waitress, Heather, was a super nice person and we enjoyed a nice Christian exchange. That is a true blessing these days. She was professional and classy.

Look forward to the next experience.

Thanks.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful brunch- food was excellent and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful brunch- food was excellent and service was great.

We had our daughter's wedding at the Rockett's Landing location and they were fantastic!

High recommendation for both locations that we visit- dining out or planning a special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The shellfish platter was amazing and we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The shellfish platter was amazing and we have had them from coast to coast. Very good quality and generous for the price!

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great location and creat ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food, great location and creative menu...wonderful place for seafood!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our visits to the differ ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We always enjoy our visits to the different Boathouse restaurants in the area and Sunday Park with the beautiful views is no exception.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at the Boathouse ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was our first time at the Boathouse. Excellent service and a wonderful view of the lake!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location; picturesque views, nice ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great location; picturesque views, nice interior. The food is very good; lots of menu options. The staff was friendly, wait service was very good, very responsive to special needs (non-gluten in this case). Highly recommended

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience. Loved the view and com ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great experience. Loved the view and comfortable seats. Was annoyed with lighting. The dimming lights upstairs by large porch kept fading in and out.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Spent a very warm November evening enter ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Spent a very warm November evening entertaining some clients - Ate outside and watched the sunset. The food was fantastic and our server, Aaron, was amazing. From appetizers to dessert, the perfect business dinner if you are looking to impress without going overboard.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. However, the pri ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was very good. However, the price was through the roof for the amount you get. Would go again for a special occasion only.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I just had a beautiful Sunda ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My wife and I just had a beautiful Sunday brunch here and enjoyed the scenery as well as the food. The service was excellent and the price was very good.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view by the lake. Food great & we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great view by the lake. Food great & well presented!

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great! Expected a little mo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The food was great! Expected a little more as far as service based on the expectations of the boathouse brand. Otherwise though really good place to have a night out.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.