About The Boathouse at Sunday Park

4602 Millridge Parkway
Midlothian, VA 23112
View Larger Map

The Boathouse restaurant and event spaces wed the town’s impeccable waterfront views with authentic, locally-sourced cuisine. From the classically Southern shrimp and grits featuring sausage from Surry, VA to pizza made with authentic Italian recipe dough, the menu is distinctive and, most importantly, delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm, Friday Bar Service Begins at 3:00 pm, Sunday Brunch from 10 am - 3 pm, Dinner Service available all day

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 744-2545

Website:
http://www.boathouserva.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Colin and Caroline every Thursday night in the summer, Ban Caribe every Friday night, and Folk Musician George Turman every Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Ample outside parking is available.

Executive Chef:
TJ Borawski

Private Party Facilities:
The Boathouse at Sunday Park offers a choice of either lunch or dinner private party menus. Private rooms and private party menus are available for groups of 16 to 150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joanne Bogese: 8047442545x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday is Wine Night - A rotating list of five or six bottles, available for half price, selected from our Wine Spectator award winning wine list.

End of Work Week Celebration - Every Friday... 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Sunday Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
2 More
Outdoor Dining
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Midlothian ›

scenic view (119)
great for outdoor dining (114)
special occasion (88)
See All
romantic (70)
neighborhood gem (56)
good for groups (53)
great for brunch (50)
fit for foodies (33)
vibrant bar scene (23)
kid-friendly (20)
hot spot (19)
great for lunch (16)
notable wine list (14)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1077 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an awesome time at the boathouse as ...

Dined 5 days ago

Had an awesome time at the boathouse as usual.The food,view, and our server were great!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was very helpful and attent ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our waitress was very helpful and attentive. She was also very knowledgeable of the wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and drinks were great. Service was ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food and drinks were great. Service was good but it took a little time to get drinks and they werent even busy. May need more staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Should have some type of shade provided ...

Dined 7 days ago

Should have some type of shade provided for tables when hot and fans would be good too.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my mom to the Boathouse during he ...

Dined 7 days ago

I took my mom to the Boathouse during her first visit to Richmond. She agreed that the food and service were excellent, as was the fellow playing guitar during brunch on Sunday.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall brunch was very good and service ...

Dined 7 days ago

Overall brunch was very good and service was excellent. It was a hot and sunny day and the lake views are beautiful, but it would have been nicer if there had been more shade.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband's daughters don't live close ...

Dined 7 days ago

My husband's daughters don't live close by, so they couldn't join him for Father's Day. So, I treated him with a very nice brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lovely setting on the Swift Creek Reserv ...

Dined 7 days ago

Lovely setting on the Swift Creek Reservoir. Views were stunning. It was a very sunny morning for brunch with tempetures around 80. We had no shade, so it was quit uncomfortable. Because it was Father's Day the restaurant was full. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We would definitely go again, but would ask for shaded or indoor seating.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Service very sloooow. I know it was a bu ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Service very sloooow. I know it was a busy weekend but this should have been anticipated. Food was excellent

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to dine for a date, with fri ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place to dine for a date, with friends or, just to hang out at the bar on the deck

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We waited 45 minutes for a table, even t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We waited 45 minutes for a table, even though we made a reservation. Our party had to check back at the host stand regarding the table's availability. Luckily my guests were laidback and one was running late. I won't return for a business meal but will definitely be back for sundowners.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Verynice Wegotthereaboutanhourbeforeclos ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Verynice Wegotthereaboutanhourbeforeclose. Itwasmybirthday. The lake view was beautiful. Service was quick and friendly. Food was very good. My only issue is that waitress was a bit rushed. She forgot a couple of things... so we had to remind her but overall verynice.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was okay but expected better for th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was okay but expected better for the price. We ate inside because it was hot evening but we were seated next to the bar (so we could have a better water view) but it was just as hot inside as it was outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still as good as it ever was!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Hands down the best outdoor dinning location in Richmond.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Surprisingly Warm Temperature Inside

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Haven't been in a while but we were in the area and decided to eat here. Food, service and drink was good as expected. We were dining at around 3-ish, so it was very quiet and perhaps the inside temperature was higher than expected due to energy savings between busy times. If that's the case good for them. No one in our party was uncomfortable however and I'm sure that if we had mentioned it, they would have made the necessary adjustments. We had the Flight of Oysters for starters which was good. The other entries were very good. One of our party is not a seafood fan and had the hamburger dish, the burger was not cooked to spec., he had ordered med rare but got medium instead. I ordered the Caesars salad w/ salmon and specified no croutons... and got croutons. Perhaps the "B" team was in the kitchen. Please don't take this as a negative review, I still recommend the establishment and just wanted to point out some observations.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fabulous!

Dined on June 2, 2016

We have eaten here for many special occasions and have always been thrilled with the outstanding service and the fantastic food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Business dinner

Dined on June 1, 2016

The tables food order was incorrect multiple times. Service was slow as our waiter forgot to put our order in for 45 min. After the meal we waited 30-40 min just for the check. The manager Joey had a lack of concern for the disservice I experienced at the facility. I will not be returning.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Server, Joshua, was very polite and atte ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Server, Joshua, was very polite and attentive. Service was excellent. Never felt as tho he was hovering. We sat on the patio and although the sun was bright, there was a nice breeze so it wasn't hot. The 3 of us each ordered something different for our main course. All meals were excellent. Loved the apple cobbler which had both whipped cream and ice cream!

food2
ambience3
service1
value3

We waited over an hour for our entrée - ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We waited over an hour for our entrée - bread we waited about 15 minutes

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Service

Dined on May 29, 2016

The service was wonderful once you were seated, however I had a reservation and still waited 30 minutes to be seated. The point of having a reservation was lost due to the additional wait time that was equivalent to some who came in right after me and asked me a table.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Service

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our evening at the Boathouse would have been more memorable if it had not been for the service. We were seated 45 minutes after our reservation time. The waiters and staff were overwhelmed by the crowd that had turned out for a perfect Saturday evening. Our server focused her attention and effort on the tables with larger parties. We waited 20 minutes between when our server introduced herself and when she finally returned to take our order. We would have ordered coffee and dessert, but feared that it would take too long to receive. Our dissatisfaction was obvious in the tip we left. Hopefully, management can focus on improving the service before the summer crowds arrive.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting outdoors provided a spectacu ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The setting outdoors provided a spectacular sunset over the lake. Our server, Joshua, was outstanding and the Lobster Bake wonderful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Memorial Day Experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had 13 for dinner Saturday night of Memorial Day weekend, the second year in row we have brought this group to the boat house. We will not be extending this a third year. We were outside on the deck, at 6:30. Great sunset view of the lake. Unfortunately the entire dinner experience was just fair. We were there for 3 hours, way too long, without having dessert I may add. One of our diners had to ask for his appetizer well after everyone else had received there's as it was evident they forgot his. The entrees arrived with varying degrees of heat, from cold soft shell crabs to luke warm steak oscar, the most expensive item on the menu. The price of the menu is way too expensive for the quality of the food. One of the party spoke to the manager and the end of our experience, and while the reason to speak was not to receive any kind of benefit but to make him aware of our experience the response was, much like the food luke warm. Not going back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The have excellent seafood and the hush ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The have excellent seafood and the hush puppies are fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious. Get the cheese plate.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Delicious. Get the cheese plate.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Beautiful view, food not worth the $$$

Dined on May 20, 2016

Beautiful views and steel drum band created a nice ambiance, although loud at times and difficult to talk over it. We were a party of 2 celebrating our anniversary and we were seated at a large table designed for a party of 6-8. My husbands clam chowder didn't come with oyster crackers. When we asked about crackers we were give Saltines. What restaurant that serves seafood soups doesn't have oyster crackers? My filet was covered in a green butter sauce that didn't really add the right flavoring, just a lot of grease. The potatoes on the menu lead you to believe they are a nice potatoe dish of some sort to compliment the meat. They were seasoned steak fries! The French fries were a disappointment, not classy enough for a filet in my opinion, and were covered in a cheap velvetta cheese sauce. I had to ask for another plate so I could remove the Velveeta sauce. Disappointed especially for the price. My husband said the crab cakes were good, but definitely not quality enough for the price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good, but ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food and service were good. We were a little bit disappointed that in spite of the reservation, we have to wait for a while before we were seated and served.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

AMAZING food and atmosphere!! We request ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

AMAZING food and atmosphere!! We requested a specific table and The Boathouse had it reserved and waiting on us. This restaurant never disappoints..

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The "Special" was blackened Rock Fish th ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The "Special" was blackened Rock Fish that night. Wonderful, exceptional taste, fresh and well presented. Oh and Wednesday's are 1/2 price on selected wines. Great value and surprise. The sunset view out over the lake was, well almost reverent in its natural beauty. It was a memorable birthday celebration.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Little disappointing

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service & food little disappointing as compared to previous visits..

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely adore this special place.

Dined on May 8, 2016

If you live in the area. You have to go at least once. It's great for all occasions and the food is very good. The view from the deck is amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely patio. My 3 year old grandson had ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Lovely patio. My 3 year old grandson had lots of fun exploring and feeding the ducks.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

one of my favorites...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place; first time i took my kids (8&6) and they loved the brunch...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service2

We had a great seat to watch the sunset, ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a great seat to watch the sunset, wonderful location to eat and people watch. When we finally ordered, drinks were great as was our appetizer. Some time later we got our meal, it was nicely presented and tasted great---very small portions though for the price. Our server had a wonderful attitude BUT his service was totally lacking. Multiple times we went 10-15 minutes without seeing him, running out of water, long waits between courses and finally had to get our bill from someone else.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing

Dined on May 6, 2016

Had been to short pump location for brunch but first time at Sunday park. Parking was a bit of an issue but the service and view were amazing. Every bit of food brought to the table was delicious. Will definitely go back again

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sunday Brunch at the Boathouse Sunday Park

Dined on May 1, 2016

Always have a great time and great food at The Boathouse at Sunday Park.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

making a reservation was easy there was no wait getting a table the food and service was very good I would recommend this to any couple for a night out

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food - excellent. Ambiance perfect espec ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food - excellent. Ambiance perfect especially outdoors. Mixed drinks need attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Nice quiet night out.

Dined on April 24, 2016

There were very few customers, because of this I felt the food was extremely slow getting out to the table. The food was perfect temperature. We both ordered the fried seafood platter. Very heavy on the batter, We prefer a light batter as we have had in the past. Over all a good night out.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wish it was warm enough to sit outside, ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Wish it was warm enough to sit outside, but as always, Boathouse brunch is my favorite!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.