About The Boathouse at Sunday Park

4602 Millridge Parkway
Midlothian, VA 23112
View Larger Map

The Boathouse restaurant and event spaces wed the town’s impeccable waterfront views with authentic, locally-sourced cuisine. From the classically Southern shrimp and grits featuring sausage from Surry, VA to pizza made with authentic Italian recipe dough, the menu is distinctive and, most importantly, delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm, Friday Bar Service Begins at 3:00 pm, Sunday Brunch from 10 am - 3 pm, Dinner Service begins at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 744-2545

Website:
http://www.boathouserva.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Colin and Caroline every Thursday night in the summer, Ban Caribe every Friday night, and Folk Musician George Turman every Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Ample outside parking is available.

Executive Chef:
TJ Borawski

Private Party Facilities:
The Boathouse at Sunday Park offers a choice of either lunch or dinner private party menus. Private rooms and private party menus are available for groups of 16 to 150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joanne Bogese: 8047442545x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday is Wine Night - A rotating list of five or six bottles, available for half price, selected from our Wine Spectator award winning wine list.

End of Work Week Celebration - Every Friday... 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Sunday Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
4 More
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Outdoor Dining
Richmond
Most Booked
Richmond
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Midlothian ›

Scenic View (145)
Great for Outdoor Dining (140)
Special Occasion (120)
See All
Romantic (80)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Great for Brunch (60)
Good for Groups (59)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Hot Spot (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
Notable Wine List (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Sort By:
Newest
1134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great experience! I took my mother for ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience! I took my mother for her birthday and from the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. The staff did a great job of making us feel welcome and acknowledging my mother's special day. The food was incredible and everything was seasoned, hot, and well presented. The location is absolutely beautiful and service was efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an early dinner there on Sunday, and ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had an early dinner there on Sunday, and the indoor/outdoor space is incredible. Watching the sun set as we sipped wine and talked was perfect. The food was excellent (we had the rock fish and the artichoke crab dip). We will be returning!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! Food was great! Waite ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service! Food was great! Waiter was very helpful in his recommendations. For us, it is not an everyday dining establishment. This based on cost alone. The food was well worth it though. The location is great for a pre or post meal walk along the lake. It really adds to the experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered crab Benedict. When it came th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 5 days ago

I ordered crab Benedict. When it came the egg was raw. Not just over easy, the white was not cooked. When I told the waiter he said a poached egg was supposed to be that way. I love to cook and I know better. They took it back and redid it(after my husband finished his meal). The second time it was perfectly cooked. I would think for the money, they would have offered to comp me something but not even an offer! In general everything else was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Boathouse at Sunday Park is a friend ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Boathouse at Sunday Park is a friends and family favorite - especially when the weather is warm. Sitting outside to watch the sun set, and enjoy a good meal, is always great! The steak special was a favorite for most of our table. The crab cakes, the organic spinach salad and also the wedge salad, are always delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor ambiance, cold food, so-so service ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Poor ambiance, cold food, so-so service, loud....a casual hang out with high prices. The food was fair, at best. Poorly made cocktails. This is NOT fine dining. This is "chain-restaurant" fare. Hire a chef!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The Boathouse at Sunday Park was beautif ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Boathouse at Sunday Park was beautiful. However my service was absolutely horrible; and the food was subpar compared to Rockets Landing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

This was our first time back after a not ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was our first time back after a not very good experience about 2 years ago. And we are very glad that we came back! Excellent food, outstanding wait staff. We had crab cakes and Norwegian salmon and both were excellent. Beautiful view, excellent staff and excellent food. Great time.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Place was pricey and the food wasn't wor ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Place was pricey and the food wasn't worth the price but loved the view from our table.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was excellent. Nikki our server ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was excellent. Nikki our server was very knowledgable on the menu and wines. The calamari was delicious and both sauces that come with it were excellent they both had the right amount of spice. My husband used the aioli from the calamari on his salmon. We had the salmon simply grilled and blackened with jalapeno aioli. It was delicious. We are looking forward to our next trip to the boat house!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find on Swift Creek Reservoir. Be ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great find on Swift Creek Reservoir. Beautiful setting with a great atmosphere. Expansive menu, wine list, and a lot of tasty beers. Divided nicely to allow intimate dining or large groups. Indoor and outdoor bar areas had plenty going on! Food was awesome, highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

the manager was awesome - he opened up t ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

the manager was awesome - he opened up the patio for us, once I convinced him the storm was holding off - he spent extra time with us

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. A tad bit loud b ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and service. A tad bit loud but not too bad. Only complaint was the dining area was very warm. I just think it was so hot outside the AC just couldn't keep up. We'll definitely be back on a cooler day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Wonderful dinner, great service. Always ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful dinner, great service. Always find this restaurant to be very accommodating to our gluten free dietary needs!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Boathouse at Sunday Park ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went to the Boathouse at Sunday Park for my birthday and, admittedly, reserved our spot a bit late. I was hesitant about eating late, but the view of the lake changed all of that. We arrived a bit early and they sat us outside before our reserved time - just in time to watch the sunset over the lake! It was perfect.

Food was delicious, as was the wine. Pizookie dessert is rich and indulgent, but ohhh so worth it. The band was great - I always love a steel drum! It was a bit hot that night, especially as the deck started to fill up, and there were some flies keeping us company until the sun went down but overall, it was a really great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great wait staff and hostess staff. Quic ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great wait staff and hostess staff. Quick ordering turn around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great location for lakeside dining. PrIc ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great location for lakeside dining. PrIcey but good food. Waitress was excellent..

.friendly and.efficient

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Incredible scenery, excellent food! I re ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Incredible scenery, excellent food! I recommend the rockfish and creme brûlée! Went to the boathouse for my first date with my husband and returned for our first wedding anniversary. Staff was attentive and pleasant and the manager even stopped by the table a few times to welcome us and treated us to a free dessert for our special evening! Thanks for two great and memorable evenings, Boathouse at Sunday Park. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely location, outside seating overloo ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lovely location, outside seating overlooking reservoir was perfect, grapefruit appetizer was a bit skimpy and burnt, 1/2 carafe of mimosa was 1/2 ice...not a good combo...but entrees were delicious (shrimp and grits, omelette)

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food Great Service Great atmospher ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food Great Service Great atmosphere. This is our favorite place to go for special occasions birthdays, anniversaries, etc.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really good, crab dip appetizer ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was really good, crab dip appetizer, swordfish special, and informative waiter. Reservation was on time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The outdoor section couldn't be more lov ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The outdoor section couldn't be more lovely; it's on a lake. Typically, food at such a picturesque setting is lame but that is not the situation here. It's worth visiting here just for the seafood. Also, there is a terrific band that knows how to play at the correct volume--loud enough so that it's not confused with background music, but not so loud as to interfere with conversation.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service from Ross. Lobster sli ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent service from Ross. Lobster sliders were delicious as were the rva blossoms the crab cakes and the salmon. Terrific dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable view particularly at sunset ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unbelievable view particularly at sunset. Food and service very good. Great neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The boathouse is beautiful, but we were ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The boathouse is beautiful, but we were very disappointed in our service. Our initial waitress was great but was cut loose because it was slow.Our second server was nice as well but failed to come back to our table after we placed our food order. Our food was delivered by a runner and we were never asked how things were or offered to have another round of drinks. I actually mentioned to the server that I thought he had forgotten us and he said he was getting drinks for another area? It was at least a half hour before we were even greeted again. At that point we were ready to leave. Not the hospitality I was expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We had a wonderful time. The service was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The service was great and the food was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had dinner to celebrate ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My husband and I had dinner to celebrate our 49th wedding anniversary. Our meals were very good. The service and ambiance was great! We're poking forward to celebrating number 50 at the Boat House.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an awesome birthday celebration w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had an awesome birthday celebration with friends. I would have given a higher rating, but we weren't thrilled about eating upstairs.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The restaurant was nice and the food was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The restaurant was nice and the food was good, however parking was limited and it was very hard to find. I drove past the location 5 times before I was able to successfully locate it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time dining here...I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our first time dining here...I loved being able to book a table online. The restaurant was great! The view was very pleasant and unexpected (we have not lived in the Richmond area very long). Our friends will be visiting soon and we wanted to check the place out before we took them there....the brunch was fabulous and since our friends are a little more on the "picky" side I am positive they will find dining here as enjoyable as we did! The brunch menu I thought was very broad - something for everyone. We will definitely be returning....and when our friends visit from Wisconsin....this will definitely be a part of our itinerary for them.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at the Boathouse for our annive ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We dined at the Boathouse for our anniversary. Everything was right on point. The service, the food, the entire experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought a group of teenagers who were be ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Brought a group of teenagers who were being rewarded for being a hard working volunteer group. Service was slow but food was good. Advertised dessert which was pushed hard by waiter turned out to be not available. Good but not outstanding restaurant. Still would recommend to friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was great as usual. Which is w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was great as usual. Which is why we were there two days prior to this visit. The service was exceptional! The manager, Katie went above and beyond our expectations. The waitress was awesome also. I can't think of her name. We will be back soon! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, had the cab and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was very good, had the cab and artichoke appetizer a couple of entrees and a dessert. The scallops that came with my dinner were probably the best scallops I have ever had. Highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for our birthday. Everyone was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Went here for our birthday. Everyone was friendly and welcomed us to the Boathouse and thanked us for choosing them for our special occasion. Food was very good and service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My girlfriend and I were celebrating our ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My girlfriend and I were celebrating our one year anniversary of being together. I knew I wanted to marry her since the moment I saw her and wanted the perfect place to do it. I made a reservation time to coincide with the sunset which was absolutely breathtaking. Our server was wonderful and very helpful describing the menu. The food was amazing and the drinks were delicious. I couldn't imagine a better place to ask her to marry me. And she said yes!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best view in Richmond area. Service is a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best view in Richmond area. Service is always good. Food is good. Prices are higher than average.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I attended this restaurant for the fire ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I attended this restaurant for the fireworks. Seats reserved as promised. Fireworks over the water was amazing !! Excellent customer service !! Great experience will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love the place. This is a grea ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love love love the place. This is a great place to bring friends and just sit and enjoy good friends, food, and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love dining here....so much atmos ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always love dining here....so much atmosphere! The food is always so good and so many wonderful choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.