About The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing

4708 E Main Street
Richmond, VA 23231
View Larger Map

Our Rocketts Landing location occupies the top floor of the restored Power Plant building, which sits on the James River and once provided electricity for Richmond’s trolley cars. We specialize in seafood, wood-stone oven pizza, and locally-sourced signature entrees. And we can't forget the incredible view!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm
Friday Service Begins at 3:00 pm
Saturday Service Begins at 12:00noon
Sunday Brunch 10 am - 2:30 pm, Dinner Service beginning at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 622-2628

Website:
http://boathouserva.com/

Executive Chef:
Cory Sheldon

Private Party Facilities:
With private rooms for 16 to 200, panoramic views of the Richmond skyline and James River, The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing is a unique location for a special event. Antique brick, industrial steel, and a modern decor give your guests a glimpse of Richmond's rich history and vibrant future.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Ball: 8046222628x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Breast
  • Fischfilet Champignon
  • fruit parfait
  • Seared Tuna Nicoise
  • Seared Salmon
  • Shrimp and Grits
Chicken Breast
Fischfilet Champignon
fruit parfait
Seared Tuna Nicoise
Seared Salmon
Shrimp and Grits

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 11:45AM 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Most Booked
Virginia
3 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Outdoor Dining
Richmond
Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

scenic view (199)
special occasion (161)
great for outdoor dining (146)
See All
romantic (100)
good for groups (93)
fit for foodies (77)
great for brunch (69)
hot spot (56)
vibrant bar scene (49)
neighborhood gem (44)
great for lunch (43)
notable wine list (33)
late-night find (24)
kid-friendly (19)
Sort By:
Newest
1779 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our dining experience. Food and ...

Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed our dining experience. Food and service was fantastic! Highly reccommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent ..the atmosphe ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent ..the atmosphere was relaxing and romantic

food3
ambience1
service4
value2

The food was pretty good but I felt we ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was pretty good but I felt we did not get our money worth. The booth that we were seated at the sun was so bright we could not enjoy the food. Shades at the door would have prevented the sun shinning in our faces. The waitress only offered to move us when we were done with our food. I requested a window veiw when I placed my reservation on line but qe did not get it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Usually the food is excellent but it was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Usually the food is excellent but it was a bit disappointing this time. Biscuits weren't fully cooked and poached eggs were cold. Manager gave us a coupon for next visit. Still a nice restaurant with a great view. Service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Strawberry salad was wonderful--service ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Strawberry salad was wonderful--service slow on Father's day

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the last dinner together for th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the last dinner together for the parents and girls of our high school travel lacrosse team from Pennsylvania. We booked online, none of us has been here and it was amazing! Fabulous food even for those who didn't like seafood, great local fair (loved the hush puppies with Siracha sauce) , friendly attentive servers, great atmosphere right on the river. The girls loved it almost as much as the parents! Thank you for a truly memorable evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Overrated and WAY overpriced. No bread. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Overrated and WAY overpriced. No bread. Menu stated JUMBO shrimp; mine were medium, at best. Shrimp were overcooked and dry. No drawn butter. Side portions small. Exorbitant pricing on food and drinks. Three people with one drink each = $150, minus tip. Only thing really good was the view and our waiter. Due to complaints, we were given a free dessert card each. Probably won't get used.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot! Great service & food. Fun ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great spot! Great service & food. Fun for a casual dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed food as well as the ambiance! ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed food as well as the ambiance! The restaurant has a beautiful view of the river as well as a gorgeous interior. Garrett was a fabulous server as well! All in all, our 5 year anniversary dinner was amazing!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is my daughter's favorit ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

This restaurant is my daughter's favorite place to go. The menu is primarily seafood, with limited other options. The food is well prepared. They have a grill menu that is very basic preparation - salmon, steak, etc that have optional sauces. Go for the optional sauces as these dishes are otherwise a bit bland.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Our night at the boathouse was enjoyable ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our night at the boathouse was enjoyable. We had the calamari and the artichoke and crab dip for apps. Both were great, good for sharing (we were a table of 6). Entrees did not take too long to get out, for a party without a steak order it could have come a little faster. The fried platters were plentiful, naturally, and the crab cakes were tasteful. I had the stuff shrimp, which left a lot to be desired unfortunately; they were basically 5 small broiled shrimp (U20/30) with mini crab cakes on top and mashed potatoes and asparagus cooked tough. Who knows, maybe they ran out of bigger shrimp, but it barely filled the plate. Everything else was great, just seemed like for all the hype the food would have been a little bit more special. The service was great, she was timely and aware of drink refills. We were celebrating multiple birthdays and she made sure to put a candle in each of our deserts, although one of the deserts was a cocktail; she made it work! Would come back to try different entrees; the view is definitely worth the trip. You sit overlooking the James and going on a warm, breezy evening would be best. Overall, enjoyable dinner!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All staff members were certainly on thei ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

All staff members were certainly on their game. I have told friends that we had the best breakfast (brunch) I have ever had out. It was absolutely delicious and deserving of the knowledgeable and friendly staff at Rocketts Landing. Many thanks for a fine morning.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very enjoyable experience. My wife and ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary with the Boathouse and they made it very special for us. Our server was very attentive and the food was excellent. We're looking forward to coming back for more special occasions!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nestled on the James River, the views ar ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Nestled on the James River, the views are beautiful from any seat in the restaurant. Reservations are encouraged, however outdoor seating is first come-first serve.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great table and service for our re ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Had a great table and service for our retirement party! Great time and great experience all around.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great bacon cheeseburger sitting a ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Had a great bacon cheeseburger sitting at a window seat with a beautiful view of the James River.

food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Great food and views, poor service.

Dined on June 8, 2016

The Boathouse has so much going for it and is a family favorite for special occasions. The view can't be beat and the food is great...unfortunately, on this visit, our service left much to be desired. Timing and knowledge of the menu is everything in a well-served meal ..our server had neither - perhaps he was new? But his efforts resulted in an awkward meal - interrupting conversations mid-sentence, abruptly taking plates and handing us our plates vs placing them down in front of us, etc. etc. ... Overall, the meal was very good, but it could have been great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great location and service

Dined on June 8, 2016

I enjoyed the atmosphere and the location. Wonderful view of the river! The food could have been better. I ordered the fried seafood dinner, and it was a little under-seasoned. Last time I went there, I ordered the fish tacos, and they were amazing! I probably should have gotten those again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not disappoint

Dined on June 8, 2016

The drinks and food were great, and the service was professional and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Need spectacular meal with spectacular view

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great place for a unique meal--The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing. Enjoyed the fried seafood dinner. Was a bit challenging for a companion with mobility issues, but overall a great experience. Celebrated two birthdays at this dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on June 6, 2016

Food was cooked to perfection! Server was excellent and very attendative.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

Sunday evening is a wonderful time to en ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Sunday evening is a wonderful time to enjoy the fantastic restaurant. The noise level is low and the food outstanding. The exciting view of the James river and the city on the horizon with take your breath. A+.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious steaks, seafood, pressed coffee too!

Dined on June 4, 2016

The only issue we have is the high volume of noise coming from the bar. This could be the ceiling structure and openness of the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Time @ Boat House

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Great place and food was very good. I had the chicken Chesapeake and it was a great combination of flavors. The others had Oysters and a variety of fish dishes. The views of the James River are awesome at sunset. We took visitors and they raved about it for several days.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a find!

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Was staying in Richmond for one-day. I found The Boathouse on OpenTable. It was great!. Right on the river, good views, EXCELLENT food, great service. I work in Manhattan and would recommend this place if was in NYC let alone VA.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time diners

Dined on May 30, 2016

It was a lovely first time dining experience. We will definitely return for special occasions and for dining with friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing dinner, amazing restaurant. The ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Amazing dinner, amazing restaurant. The roasted oyster sampler was incredible. Blueberry arugula salad was probably the best salad I have ever had. Swordfish was perfectly cooked and with the blackeyed peas and sweet peas was a great flavor combination. Hubby had the broiled seafood platter which was not a large amount but tasted delicious. Pizookie was the perfect finish. Worth the price.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food.

Dined on May 29, 2016

We went to dinner at The Boathouse with friends. There was a decent crowd, but no one waiting to be seated. Our table was right in front of the kitchen doorway. Would have liked a closer view to the the river, even though it was raining. We ordered two appetizers, only one came and they removed it from the bill. Food was excellent. I would return and ask for a better table in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

Fantastic location. Great room. Average ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Fantastic location. Great room. Average service. Mediocre food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Boathouse at Rocketts Landing.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food. Shrimp and grits are awesome. Waffle and omelet bar are over the top good. Service and attention to detail are the best. Wonderful view. It's the perfect place for brunch. Prices are reasonable and serving size was more than adequate. We'll be going back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lunch

Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything was very good but would appreciate a few more options for those of us with shellfish allergies. The salmon BLT was great .....could use more of the aioli spread.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

It was good . It was really loud, hard ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

It was good . It was really loud, hard to hear people at the table . Two entries were supposed to have lump crab on filet and it was left off .

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food ok, view is awesome

Dined on May 26, 2016

I was warned that the price of the food was over priced for the quality. Some of our food was good some not so great. The view is awesome, the server was great. When we shared our disappointment with the server, she sent the manager over. He offered us a free dessert BUT one dessert for 3 people ( keep in mind that each person was spending $60-$75). I almost laughed but I ordered 2 desserts. So although he seemed very interested in our complaints his actions didn't portray the sentiment. I used to work in restaurant management & bought many dinners so I think they are really cheap. Don't order the chilled mussels. They were awful! I don't live in the area so I'm not sure if I'll return. I highly doubt the 2 that joined me & live in RVA will be back unless it's for a cocktail in the deck.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed it all especially our waitress. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Enjoyed it all especially our waitress. She was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our initial service was less than wonder ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our initial service was less than wonderful, but the manager promptly corrected the problem and compensated my wife and I. The service could not have been better.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was delicious. We 3 different ome ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Brunch was delicious. We 3 different omelettes which came with open Buffett of bacon, sausage, potatoes, fruit and some of the best biscuits I've had in Richmond.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us dined at the Boathouse Restau ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Four of us dined at the Boathouse Restaurant at Rocketts Landing last Saturday evening. As always the atmosphere was great as was the food. Service was fantastic, attentive, but not "in your face" pushy. The food was the best that it's ever been and that's saying something since it is always terrific. The view is excellent overlooking the James River and the dining room is spacious. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have been to The Boathouse at Rockett' ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I have been to The Boathouse at Rockett's Landing twice. I made reservations both times and requested a window seat/booth for my party. Both times we did not get a window seat.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The oysters were great!! Unfortunately t ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The oysters were great!! Unfortunately the crab cakes were lacking crab. My swordfish, while tasty served with black eyed peas, was cleverly smashed into a pile of potatoes to hide its thinness. What happened to the portion size?? Also miss the sushi option that has been removed from the menu. Our server Bre did a great job the entire night.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent wait staff! We were 3 friends ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent wait staff! We were 3 friends who hadn't been at the same table sharing wine & so much laughter & the waitress was truly outstanding even when she showed us how to brew the French pressed coffee! Would definitely go back & recommend it highly

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.