About The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing

4708 E Main Street
Richmond, VA 23231
View Larger Map

Our Rocketts Landing location occupies the top floor of the restored Power Plant building, which sits on the James River and once provided electricity for Richmond’s trolley cars. We specialize in seafood, wood-stone oven pizza, and locally-sourced signature entrees. And we can't forget the incredible view!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm
Friday Service Begins at 3:00 pm
Saturday Service Begins at 12:00noon
Sunday Brunch 10 am - 2:30 pm, Dinner Service beginning at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 622-2628

Website:
http://boathouserva.com/

Executive Chef:
Cory Sheldon

Private Party Facilities:
With private rooms for 16 to 200, panoramic views of the Richmond skyline and James River, The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing is a unique location for a special event. Antique brick, industrial steel, and a modern decor give your guests a glimpse of Richmond's rich history and vibrant future.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Ball: 8046222628x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Breast
  • Fischfilet Champignon
  • fruit parfait
  • Seared Tuna Nicoise
  • Seared Salmon
  • Shrimp and Grits
Chicken Breast
Fischfilet Champignon
fruit parfait
Seared Tuna Nicoise
Seared Salmon
Shrimp and Grits

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

We'll be serving a buffet dinner, including Thanksgiving classics as well as a variety of chef creations. // Adults: $44 per person Children ages 6-12: $19 Children under 6: no charge // Reservations are available from 1:00pm-6:00pm. Reservations must be guaranteed with a credit card.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 11:45AM 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Seafood
Virginia
4 More
Most Booked
Virginia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Outdoor Dining
Richmond
Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Scenic View (213)
Special Occasion (169)
Great for Outdoor Dining (156)
See All
Romantic (108)
Good for Groups (82)
Fit for Foodies (75)
Great for Brunch (58)
Hot Spot (50)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Waterfront (39)
Great for Lunch (36)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for a Date (28)
Late-night Find (23)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Modern Decor (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Fun (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Casual (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Seasonal (8)
Business Meals (8)
Historic (7)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (2)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1907 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Just fabulous - food, ambiance, waiters ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Just fabulous - food, ambiance, waiters - just perfect.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodwas tastey,parkingcoolpaid7 dollars ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Foodwas tastey,parkingcoolpaid7 dollars for vallet.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an amazing time from the moment w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had an amazing time from the moment we walked into the door. Everything was beautiful and dinner was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Live Music, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit, we had a wonder meal in ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our first visit, we had a wonder meal in a beautiful setting. Loved setting out by the river. Seeing the boats, swimmers & all the activity. Parking was a bit of an issue.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was friendly. Calamari was good. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Service was friendly. Calamari was good. Grilled Rockfish tasted very 'off,' and was also dry. It was pretty expensive for what you got I thought. Was more of an in and out dining than an experience. Honestly, felt bad I went there when I was done. Outside seating looked nice though and we took a long walk after dinner which was really nice.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The entire dinner was made exceptional b ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The entire dinner was made exceptional by our wonderful waitress, Elaine, who was the absolute BEST!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was over all very happy with my experi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I was over all very happy with my experience at The Boathouse. However, my bill was only $72 and some change and the waiter charged my card for $250. The money took a few days to pend and was a very big inconvenience. I understand that people make honest mistakes and this will by no means discourage me from coming back to eat here, but I wanted to make it aware that it was a large inconvenience. Overall would most definitely recommend this place to others.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Sunday Brunch. Lots of interesti ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had Sunday Brunch. Lots of interesting choices of breakfast and other meal creations. There is no buffet, just an omelette or waffle station as your entrée. Service was attentive, but a little deliberate if you're in a hurry.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I'd been to the Boatrhouse on several oc ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I'd been to the Boatrhouse on several occasions and enkjoyed it. The menu used to be better but they decided to make each of the locations have signature food; Oysters at Rockett's, pizza at Sunday Park, and Sushi at Short Pump. They should have a lmited offering of each at each location. We sat at a table where the sun was sirectly in the face of three of the six of us. Either have all windows have the ability to be shaded or turn the tables. It became much better after the sun went down but was brutal until then. The waiter went missing on several occasions but it was busy. He just needed to check in more and get our drink orders to us ina more timely manner. It, again, may have been a function of the crowd. As always the food was great. They just need to offer more specials (I wasn't aware of any being offered that evening). I'll be back and hope that the small things have improved.

Tags: Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was awesome but I feel that the ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was awesome but I feel that the quantity of food for the price are not equivalent.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Rachel our waiter was perfect and made g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Rachel our waiter was perfect and made great suggestions - the people at the front desk could be a little more friendly and engaging as they just blankly stared at my mom and I when we walked in - but the ambiance is relaxing and the view is a 10!!!!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great view of Richmond. Very noisy insid ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great view of Richmond. Very noisy inside dining. Beautiful view at sunset. To watch boaters people.

Food was very good. Drinks were excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time at The Boathouse ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was my first time at The Boathouse to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. He got lobster and added a crabcake and I got crabcakes. Both meals were delicious but we were both still hungry afterwards. I would return but only for the view. Service was a bit slow being that not many people were there but overall our was nice and our waitress, Bri, was very sweet and knowledgeable.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was very nice for the price of two pe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

It was very nice for the price of two people. The view was absolutely amazing, great date night!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good seafood with a vie and excellent se ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Good seafood with a vie and excellent service. The Boathouse is a nice spot for a special occasion or date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful, contemporary space overlookin ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Beautiful, contemporary space overlooking the James River. At first we were seated at a table with terrible sun glare. When we immediately asked to be moved the young man seating us seemed to be put off about it-we had to sit there and wait while he went to check while there were several tables open. Initially that was very off putting. We then were seated at a booth near the kitchen doors-whatever-at least the sun wasn't blinding us. However, our waiter made up for it all-he was fabulous, offering suggestions, pleasant, accommodating without being obtrusive. The food was delicious-however my son's strawberry salad was missing the fried feta that was supposed to be on it. When the waiter noted this before we even said anything, he ran back to the kitchen and brought extra. I wish I could remember his name! The sunset off the deck was beautiful. Was lovely to sit out and have an after dinner cocktail. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is one of our favorite places to go ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to go for Sunday Brunch. The omelette and waffle bars are great! However, we experienced less than desirable results during this visit. The omelette and waffle lines were ridiculously long and there was utter confusion as some people just walked up and placed orders cutting in front of about 5 people that were waiting patiently to place their orders. We also waited for nearly 30 minutes for bacon and by the time we finally made it back to our table, the alcoholic drinks we ordered were watered down. Our server was nice though. He was friendly and energetic which helped ease the nightmare at the omelette and waffle stations. Our hope is that this was an isolated experience and they were just short staffed. We'll likely return within the next month to find out!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Once seated, we were ignored. I got a w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Once seated, we were ignored. I got a wait staff's attention to take our order and she

explained the menu adequately. the noise level was so high it was difficult to carry on

a conversation.

That being said, the view is great and food good.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

my siblings and their spouses came to to ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

my siblings and their spouses came to town for a relatives birthday party and i suggested brunch at the boathouse beforehand. all 8 of us were delighted with our meals and cocktails. the food is great, the ambience wonderful (we requested outside seating) and our server rachel, with her knowledge, efficiency and sense of humor was the best server i can remember having.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very disappointed with our service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I was very disappointed with our service. Our reservation was for 7:00, by 8:22 we had not received our food. I asked a waiter who brought a drink over if we could get some bread for the table. Our waitress had too many tables & her service was slow all night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

We enjoy the atmosphere and there is bea ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We enjoy the atmosphere and there is beautiful scenery , the staff is always very friendly and does excellent job! We had ordered a bottle of Prosecco wine, it was awesome. Three of us ordered the seafood combination with scallops, shrimp, crab cake, mashed potatoes and asparagus. The meal was totally delicious! We had a great evening! We enjoyed the background music. A little noisy, but still able to carry on a conversation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the dining and oysters. G ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Really enjoyed the dining and oysters. Good wine selection and drinks including many I'd never heard of. Guess I don't get out enough.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire dining experience was excepti ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The entire dining experience was exceptional. Our server, Garrett knew the menu, had great suggestions, was very attentive and had a wonderful personality. Dinner, drinks and dessert were delicious. We would highly recommend The Boathouse Rocketts Landing!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elizabeth our server truly was amazing. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Elizabeth our server truly was amazing. That how I expect to be treated. Nice job.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting and great food. Our s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Beautiful setting and great food. Our server was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view of the James River, delic ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Beautiful view of the James River, delicious food and excellent service. Our family of four enjoyed our dinner!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An attractive and unusual location overl ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

An attractive and unusual location overlooking theJames river below Richmond. Plenty of space, a relaxed and upscale décor with excellent menu choices (a bit pricy) and friendly, attentive service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific view. Great food and a wonderf ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Terrific view. Great food and a wonderful waiter. Well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter staff was friendly and knowle ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The waiter staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The food was amazing. It was a memorable evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been there more than a few times bu ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Have been there more than a few times but this proved the best. Seated at the reservation time, service was impeccable, food presentation lovely but the kitchen not so focused on that as to take away from the taste, new items on menu which always makes the restaurant "fresh". Only complaint, we actually think one of the 3 cocktails got two shots of alcohol and one seemed to have no alcohol in it. Oh well, so it goes!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience. Sat outs ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. Sat outside. It was beautiful. Great service and yummy food. We'll go back!! Loved it!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wait staff need training. not well coor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

wait staff need training. not well coordinated. restaurant had AC issues, noisy wedding in lower level. food good, not creative. will recommend to the 20-30 something crowd for happy hour and waterfront dining.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The only drawbacks of the Boat House wer ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The only drawbacks of the Boat House were high noise level and lack of cooling. I was sweating about mid-way through the meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Really enjoyed the atmosphere and food a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Really enjoyed the atmosphere and food and service were great. We have eaten at this location twice now and both times we were pleased.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I am glad I chose to celebrate my birthd ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I am glad I chose to celebrate my birthday at the Boathouse. I certainly appreciated the complimentary dessert. Our server, Chris was receptive to our needs. We were seated by the door and the hot air from outside was entering in every time the door was opened and uncomfortable. We were moved to another table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

While our overall experience was good I ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

While our overall experience was good I was somewhat disappointed that I made a reservation for 7:00 p.m. and we were not seated until 7:30. Additionally, when I made my reservation I asked for a window table and they had none available. Our waiter was very pleasant and attentive. The food was above average. I would go back and I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was excellent but the seating w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was excellent but the seating was terible. We were seated at a table in the middle of the resturant. Three of us were facing the glass wall. The afternoon sun was shining in so bright that it was hard to see the food on the plate. The waiter was asked to pull down the shades and we were told that they could not come down. The food was very good but our experience with the bright sun was very unpleasent. The manager offered a pair of sun glasses (just one) and his appology. We were celibrating two birthdays which were acknowledge by the waiter but that is all !!!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

For a first time experience, I was extre ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

For a first time experience, I was extremely satisfied!! and then some!!! Laura (my server) was very knowledgeable and knew what she was talking about when I had a question. Even let me sample the champagne before my birthday lady arrived! She was happy about my choice. Overall the experience was great. Next time I want to sit outside, (too hot on Friday) I definitely will be coming back!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was absolutely wonderful. H ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our waitress was absolutely wonderful. Her name was Bionca I believe. It was our first time at the restaurant and she gave us many suggestions. I ordered the crab cakes, mashed and asparagus. It was delicious. My wife ordered the fried seafood platter. Consisted of hush puppies, oysters, shrimp and fish. Seemed that all the breaking had no flavor. If they would just season their breeding I think it would be a lot better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely excellent dinner with great d ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Absolutely excellent dinner with great drink choices and a fun waterfront ambience. Great views of the city.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.