About The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing

4708 E Main Street
Richmond, VA 23231
View Larger Map

Our Rocketts Landing location occupies the top floor of the restored Power Plant building, which sits on the James River and once provided electricity for Richmond’s trolley cars. We specialize in seafood, wood-stone oven pizza, and locally-sourced signature entrees. And we can't forget the incredible view!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm
Friday Service Begins at 3:00 pm
Saturday Service Begins at 12:00noon
Sunday Brunch 10 am - 2:30 pm, Dinner Service beginning at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 622-2628

Website:
http://boathouserva.com/

Executive Chef:
Cory Sheldon

Private Party Facilities:
With private rooms for 16 to 200, panoramic views of the Richmond skyline and James River, The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing is a unique location for a special event. Antique brick, industrial steel, and a modern decor give your guests a glimpse of Richmond's rich history and vibrant future.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Ball: 8046222628x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 11:45AM 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Most Booked
Virginia
3 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Special Occasion
Richmond
Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

scenic view (212)
special occasion (178)
great for outdoor dining (129)
See All
romantic (121)
good for groups (101)
fit for foodies (81)
great for brunch (74)
hot spot (62)
vibrant bar scene (56)
neighborhood gem (52)
great for lunch (48)
notable wine list (35)
late-night find (30)
kid-friendly (16)
Sort By:
Newest
1742 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed it all especially our waitress. ...

Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed it all especially our waitress. She was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our initial service was less than wonder ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our initial service was less than wonderful, but the manager promptly corrected the problem and compensated my wife and I. The service could not have been better.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us dined at the Boathouse Restau ...

Dined 5 days ago

Four of us dined at the Boathouse Restaurant at Rocketts Landing last Saturday evening. As always the atmosphere was great as was the food. Service was fantastic, attentive, but not "in your face" pushy. The food was the best that it's ever been and that's saying something since it is always terrific. The view is excellent overlooking the James River and the dining room is spacious. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The oysters were great!! Unfortunately t ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The oysters were great!! Unfortunately the crab cakes were lacking crab. My swordfish, while tasty served with black eyed peas, was cleverly smashed into a pile of potatoes to hide its thinness. What happened to the portion size?? Also miss the sushi option that has been removed from the menu. Our server Bre did a great job the entire night.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great views, ambiance and service. The ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great views, ambiance and service. The fried oyster appetizer was great. I ordered the special, which was a strip steak and blackened scallops. My wife had a filet, which she enjoyed very much. My steak had a bit of gristle. The scallops were good, but needed something with them as they didn't really go with the mashed potato and asparagus. We had a late night dinner (9pm) and the lighting was very dark. I had to use my phone to see the menu and I couldn't tell if my steak was rare or medium because of the lighting.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner was good but the prices were high

Dined 7 days ago

Dinner for five cost us $192.00 which was much higher than I anticipated.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always had a nice time. I like on t ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always had a nice time. I like on the patio. The food was great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on May 17, 2016

All my friends in Richmond highly recommended this restaurant. It definitely lived up to their claims. I was able to dine with a long time friend. The food was wonderful as was the wine and drinks. Service was excellent as well. I would highly recommend this restaurant near downtown Richmond, VA.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our table was near the patio door, it wa ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our table was near the patio door, it was very cold that night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service. Food was good, but they ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service. Food was good, but they need a better way to handle the omelet and waffle bar-way too many people just standing waiting for their omelet, which made it difficult if you were just getting a waffle. Very noisy-unable to carry on a conversation it was so loud.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The boathouse had great brunch, with a v ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The boathouse had great brunch, with a very good omelette and waffle bar and exceptional biscuits. The service was very good and the ambiance was lovely. Try to sit outside if you can because of the great views of the river and the city of Richmond.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service3

We went to the Boathouse to celebrate ou ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to the Boathouse to celebrate our daughter graduating from VCU. It was a special venue with a beautiful view. The cocktails were lovely. I wish however the food was a bit more memorable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

colleagues from Phoenix AZ and Finland ( ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

colleagues from Phoenix AZ and Finland (yes the country!) were very happy with the restaurant, the food, service and view

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I've been to this restaurant many times ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

I've been to this restaurant many times and almost always order the crakcakes which were full of crab and really delicious. But on this last visit the crabcakes were not the delicious morsels I had come to expect and were so full of bread that they were no longer something I would ever order again. The free wine tasting was a nice addition, but those bready crabcakes make it doubtful that I will ever return...they are definitely no longer worth the $32 price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had never dined here before. What a pleasant surprise for Mother's Day! Everything was perfect from the location(right on the James) to our table(inside open air but great view of the river) to the wonderful food(seafood and steak were hits!). We were celebrating Mother's Day and it was the perfect place. The only complaint was that the music being played through the speakers was way too loud but it was turned down after several diners complained. Overall, this is the perfect place to go.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Overpriced Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

At $39.95 per adult, the Mother's Day brunch was overpriced. A lot of the food had been sitting for awhile and had gotten dried out and lukewarm. Selection of food wasn't that great. The desserts were obviously not homemade. Wouldn't recommend a brunch menu.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointing

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had 4 in our party but we were sat at a huge table. We asked to move so we could hear each other but they refused although there were several open tables. The food was bland at best and I was surprised by the poor quality especially for the price. The macaroni was so dried out that I literally could not get a scoop out of the pan. The deserts we're definitely not made in house. My chocolate cake was still frozen in the middle. The only fresh item was the made to order omelettes. I asked my family to bring me here for Mother's Day and I felt incredibly guilty because the quantity was nowhere close to the cost.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

We went for the Mother's Day brunch. Wa ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for the Mother's Day brunch. Wait and bar staff were friendly and attentive. Food was good, although (not surprisingly) the Mahi-Mahi and crab cakes were rather dry after sitting out on a steam table.

food3
ambience2
service1
value5

Mother's Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was extremely disappointed with the Mother's Day brunch. A $40 price with nothing to drink but a tiny glass of water. $4 oj $5 coffee really??? Will not ever go back!!

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Very Disappointing Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bad service, food not kept at proper temperature, some items were barely warm and some were cold. I did not think the brunch was worth the money at all. I have had better dining experiences for dinner. Will stick with menu items as they are at least served hot.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was amazing! Service was very slow, ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was amazing! Service was very slow, but friendly, and you have to request bread rather than them giving it to you. Recommend the blueberry arugula salad for starter.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely special occasion dining spot

Dined on May 6, 2016

My husband and I just celebrated our fourth anniversary and we went for an early dinner last Friday. We've gone for three other celebration dinners and in every case we felt it was an evening well spent. Exceptional service, great food and good wine and a lovely venue. Will definitely go there in future for other special days. My filet mignonette was very tender, flavorful and cooked nicely. My husband's Norwegian salmon was exquisite! Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

An unforgettable dining experience. I wi ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

An unforgettable dining experience. I will not hesitate to return.

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

A birthday celebration

Dined on May 3, 2016

Good food, but slow to get drinks. Appetizers came quickly and were much appreciated. Crispy calamari were tender and had a great sauce. Crab cakes were delicious, but could use a smaller plate or better presentation. The view is marvelous.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Sunday Evening

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were lucky enough to get a seat at the window (outdoor not available due to weather). The service was superb, the food was excellent and the noise level wasn't too high. This was a Sunday night and it wasn't very crowded. I imagine the noise level would be a bigger issue when it's full. Hopefully, the food and service would still be as good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another good meal at the Boathouse...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Went to the Boathouse for brunch and we weren't disappointed. Food is consistent, and shockingly quick this time around, and we had a good brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate dinner here before seeing The Lio ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We ate dinner here before seeing The Lion King. We would definitely recommend it to others looking for a place to eat before or after a show. Parking could be a problem especially if you are in a hurry so you should allow extra time for that.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Requests

Dined on April 29, 2016

I booked this reservation for my boyfriends birthday and for the occasion that his mom was in town for the first time since we moved here. It was a first time for all of us dining. In the open table request I asked if we could be sat next to the window not only for the great view but because it was a special occasion and I wanted a great impression for both him and his mother. Not only did they accommodate my request, they gave us the best seat in the house looking out over the Richmond Skyline. Our server was fantastic, he was great at small talk and very knowledgable about the menu and drink list. Something that we really appreciated was when he brought out the desert that we all ordered to share, he simply put one candle and lit it and said everyone should have a candle on their birthday, a nice subtle gesture instead of the big hoopla.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Food is always consistently delicious. ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food is always consistently delicious. Steamed mussels were some of the best I've ever tasted along with the char grilled bread. I love the fried shrimp appetizers for my main. Strawberry salad, awesome. My husbands ribeye was prepared exactly as ordered!

food4
ambience5
service5

Salmon was a little dry on 1 order & asp ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Salmon was a little dry on 1 order & asparagus looked & tasted like they were sitting for awhile before being served on the other order.

food5
ambience5
service5

The view and food were amazing! Perfect ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The view and food were amazing! Perfect place to have date nite outside!

food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Sunday brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

There were 8 of us with a reservation. Service was very slow, even to get silverware. The restaurant is loud so i think next time i would come earlier in the day. Food was ok but the most fun was seeing our friends again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

They place is huge! The food is great! And champagne was waiting for me at the table. Wait-staff were great. Never really had to wait for anything, even though the place was packed. And the view..... awesome. 6 out of 5 stars you guys. Thanks for the great meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

GREAT VIEW AND COCKTAILS...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

the menu is good....I love that they do gourmet sushi and it was great...the overall ambiance is great and the staff is young but present and cordial. There should be more of a care towards the temperature and the sun coming into the restaurant...couldn't see when I first sat down, the sun was so bright...and over the course of the dinner it got freezing with the doors open...before we left they did close them.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Lovely view

Dined on April 17, 2016

Loved the view, food was all good. Between the music and so many hard surfaces the noise level makes it hard to converse across the table. We were there for Sunday Brunch which was good, it was busy but they seem to handle it well. From order time to food arrival time is quite long. So many good options in Richmond I would return for the great view but otherwise will try something new next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was new and overwhelmed. The ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our waiter was new and overwhelmed. The management and other staff stepped in and helped right away. It was a special occasion and they helped make it a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great personal service

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went to Sunday brunch for my daughters 21st birthday and had a wonderfull time! Service was prompt, food was great and our pizzookie came with a birthday candle. Even the manager wished my daughter a happy birthday. The best part was the vegetable eggs benedict for my vegetarian daughter!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The boathouse

Dined on April 15, 2016

The restaurant is very modern looking, the river is beautiful. The service is pretty good. Very pricey, so if you aren't looking to spend money, go somewhere else. All around nice place to eat.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated inside, we asked our wait ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

We were seated inside, we asked our waitress if we could be moved to the outdoor deck. They accommodated us with no problem. ... The view of the city was spectacular. ...

food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Heartburn

Dined on April 13, 2016

The apple cobbler and ice cream was great. The calamarie isn't the best in Richmond. It's one of the worst. Can't believe mayo was one of the sauces and the marinara sauce was not prepared properly It wasn't even crispy. It was soggy. The sword fish by itself was TV dinner quality. The mashed potatoes and spinach were very good. This is the first restaurant that doesn't serve bread unless you ask for it. The margarita tasted like salt wAtter with a hint of lime. The draft beer on the other hand was excellent.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.