About The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing

4708 E Main Street
Richmond, VA 23231
View Larger Map

Our Rocketts Landing location occupies the top floor of the restored Power Plant building, which sits on the James River and once provided electricity for Richmond’s trolley cars. We specialize in seafood, wood-stone oven pizza, and locally-sourced signature entrees. And we can't forget the incredible view!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm
Friday Service Begins at 3:00 pm
Saturday Service Begins at 12:00noon
Sunday Brunch 10 am - 2:30 pm, Dinner Service beginning at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 622-2628

Website:
http://boathouserva.com/

Executive Chef:
Cory Sheldon

Private Party Facilities:
With private rooms for 16 to 200, panoramic views of the Richmond skyline and James River, The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing is a unique location for a special event. Antique brick, industrial steel, and a modern decor give your guests a glimpse of Richmond's rich history and vibrant future.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Ball: (804) 622-2628

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Breast - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
  • Fischfilet Champignon - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
  • fruit parfait - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
  • Seared Tuna Nicoise - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
  • Seared Salmon - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
  • Shrimp and Grits - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA

Report a photo problem

Chicken Breast - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
Fischfilet Champignon - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
fruit parfait - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
Seared Tuna Nicoise - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
Seared Salmon - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
Shrimp and Grits - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Day with us and enjoy a special dinner menu with featured wine pairings, available Friday, 2/10 - Tuesday, 2/14. Dinner reservations must be guaranteed with a credit card.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:30AM - 11:45AM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (91)
Waterfront (80)
Special Occasion (78)
See All
Good for a Date (56)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Romantic (44)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Modern Decor (33)
Worth the Drive (30)
Great for Brunch (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Fun (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Business Meals (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Casual (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Cozy (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fireplace (12)
Family Style (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Seasonal (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Historic (10)
People Watching (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Authentic (8)
Open Kitchen (6)
Private Room (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Live Sports (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Healthy (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2098 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the modern facility built just off ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Love the modern facility built just off the river with great views of the Richmond Skyline. Would like a return visit in warmer weather to sit outside. Service was excellent; she and the kitchen made some requested modifications so that we could try a smaller version of an entre as an appetizer. Specialty drinks were very good. All foods we tried were excellent; crab cakes, shrimp/grits, hushpuppies, etc.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and fresh. Lighti ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious and fresh. Lighting and views were perfect.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful! Love it when I come here! B ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful! Love it when I come here! Beautiful setting!

Tags: Fireplace, Fun, Wood Oven, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will definitely return. Went to the S ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

We will definitely return. Went to the Sunday brunch for our anniversary and it was excellent. The staff worked with me in advance to make it special even arranging flowers for the table. Good food, good service and good location.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was nice for after church brunch. The ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

It was nice for after church brunch. The chef was very nice and when I requested my omelette be cooked hard he cooked in pan and then put it in the brick oven, perfection. The waitress was very nice and professional. We love to see young people working to assist in their educational goals/finance .

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Date night with the wifey was excellent ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Date night with the wifey was excellent as we were seated promptly per our reservation and the service was excellent. Shannen anticipated our needs and took care of things before we even had to ask. The environment is a large open room so can get noisy like most restaurants but it wasn't so loud you couldn't have a private conversation. We had the crab cakes, broiled seafood platter, hush puppies and creme brûlée and It was all delicious. I typically like the jumbo lump crab and these were the variety with finer chopped crab meat but were still very good. The only item of note was the valet smoking a cigarette when we left right beside the stand. I didn't really care but it is one of those things that doesn't happen at the better establishments.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Cozy, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Portions where small for the prices. Ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Portions where small for the prices. Service seemed rushed and infrequent. The ambiance is visually wonderful but has a cafeteria noise level. I would recommend visiting if loud doesn't bother you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Typically we have great service there.. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Typically we have great service there.. last night the food was great service was not

But we will still return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Vegan, Family Style, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

The Boathouse is a great place to take v ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The Boathouse is a great place to take visitors from out of town. The views are amazing and the food is pretty good, too. The service is usually top notch. This place makes me proud to live in Richmond.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Took a client here for dinner. Nice view ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Took a client here for dinner. Nice view of the skyline and river. Food was cooked and presented well. Staff was very friendly and willing to give input about house favorites. Good wine selection and cocktail menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had another great experience at the B ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We had another great experience at the Boat House! The restaurant and staff never disappoint, with great food, ambiance, and excellent service. We feel this is one of the best restaurants in Richmond. We look forward to another dining experience in the near future!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All things considered, a bit disappointe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

All things considered, a bit disappointed on my return visit to the Boathouse. I informed staff ahead of time this was a special occasion. Yet we were crammed into a booth in between two other tables, instead of a window seat, as several window seats remained unattended during the entirety of our visit. I was also a bit stunned to see other customers in extremely casual attire such as sweat pants. Considering the price in comparison to other fine dining establishments in the area, I expected a bit more class and hospitality from the Boathouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The view and location really make this r ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The view and location really make this restaurant special. The food is good but not spectacular and the ambiance reminds me a bit more of a chain restaurant than I was expecting, but overall great restaurant. Visit during a season other than winter and you'll probably be more impressed than I was!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Boathouse has a fun, exciting Sunday bru ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Boathouse has a fun, exciting Sunday brunch. And delicious, too.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Family Style, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service could not have been any better. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service could not have been any better. All four of us enjoyed the presentation and dialogue from our waitress. All four of us were also pleased with our menu selections. We'll be back again!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New Years Day brunch. Service was great. ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Day brunch. Service was great. Value was good with the exception of the high priced specialty cocktails. Breakfast omelet bar is a great value and made to order. The custard bread pudding French toast was to die for. Nice setting along the river with open-air feeling.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a terrific brunch on New Year's D ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a terrific brunch on New Year's Day. Because of the holiday, we were served complimentary collards and black-eyed peas. They were wonderful! My husband had the crab cake sandwich and fries, with New England clam chowder. He raved about his meal, especially the chowder. I got the shrimp tacos and fries. Both were delicious. The fries were hot and crispy---perfect.

Our only regret was we were too stuffed to get dessert!

This was our 1st trip to The Boathouse and look forward to trying it for dinner, or a warm spring day to enjoy the outside tables.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal, ambiance and service! ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding meal, ambiance and service! We will definitely dine again and recommend to others.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Richmond landmark tradition, at Rocket ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A Richmond landmark tradition, at Rocketts landing - Superb view of the james River and the Richmond city Skyline.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing, such a great way to kick of the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing, such a great way to kick of the new years! Went there for new years Eve and it was a awesome date night out!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, , Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we went for an early New Year's Eve dinn ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

we went for an early New Year's Eve dinner. Laura was our server and she was great. I would highly recommend food was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I booked an evening there with friends f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I booked an evening there with friends for dinner to celebrate my friend's birthday. Everyone commented on how great the food was and our personable and energetic or waiter Garrett was. He answered questions, customized a drink for one of my friends, was super attentive and had a great personality. We left there stuffed, satisfied, happy and laughing. The restaurant was spacious, there were other little groups around and some couples. It never felt crowded and we were probably the loudest group there since we were busy laughing and having fun. This was a great experience and we plan to come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, , Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come for the view but stay for the food. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Come for the view but stay for the food. Delicious Southern comfort food with an upscale twist. Great cocktails. We had crabcakes and steak and everyone left happy.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Several of us ordered the Rockfish. Jus ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Several of us ordered the Rockfish. Just ok and small portions. Service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great experience! Just a few issues, I o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great experience! Just a few issues, I ordered my steak medium rare and it was more medium. My wife's crab cake was a little overcooked on the bottom, and everything seemed a little heavy on the pepper. Overall very happy with our first experience, we will definitely be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The calamari was absolutely awesome and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The calamari was absolutely awesome and the sauce that went with it. The shrimp and oysters were also very good. But I didn't like the crab cake, seasoning not good and too much filler.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone enjoyed their evening for a gro ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Everyone enjoyed their evening for a group of 7....service was attentive and non-obtrusive...Crab dishes seemed to have changed ingredients from summer

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and our two families had a won ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My fiancé and our two families had a wonderful Christmas Eve Dinner at the Boathouse at Rocket's Landing this year. We arrived a little early and were able to get a pre-dinner cocktail at the bar. Our table was ready right on time. We were sat beside the fireplace by the window with a gorgeous view of the city all lit up for Christmas. I was impressed by the special Christmas Eve menu that was available à la cart in addition to regular menu items. The timing of the food was perfect, we were able to enjoy our oysters first, our salad was brought out soon after and the entrees arrived in a very timely fashion. We did not feel rushed at all, as is sometimes the case with reservations at popular restaurants on special occasions, but we also didn't feel like we had to wait a long time for our food, despite the packed house. Drinks did take a little longer than expected, but that was almost a good thing. Cocktails were very good (and strong)! Getting to the food, we all stuck to seafood items, and everyone was happy and impressed with the taste and presentation. The scallops were cooked perfectly, and my parents loved the crab cakes. It was a wonderful and memorable experience and a great place to bring our families together.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went fir a Christmas Eve. Ambience was t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went fir a Christmas Eve. Ambience was terrific and so was the food. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good experience from the food t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a good experience from the food to the service to the atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. Service was a bit slow a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful food. Service was a bit slow and I ordered a coffee cocktail 2 different times and it was never brought out. Oh well. We will be back for future special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server Laura was great! She was very ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our server Laura was great! She was very attentive, made suggestions and have a beautiful smile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Good and Great place. The Service ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great Good and Great place. The Service is Fast. They will go out of their way to make you what you want if you call ahead.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice time, no real complaints. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had a nice time, no real complaints. My meal was the fried seafood dinner and it was very good. Only suggestions I'd make would be to increase the portion of coleslaw from a thimble full to at least a half cup. Coleslaw is cheap so why not? I'd also add a small piece of fish as it's the only seafood that would have gone well with the tarter sauce on the plate (who uses tarter with a crab cake, shrimp, or oysters?) cocktail sauce should be automatic, had to ask for it. My wife got the baked rockfish dinner, she liked it ok but it was rather small for me and could use a boost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The professionalism and the attentivenes ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The professionalism and the attentiveness of the staff was great. We loved everything, the food, the table seating, the service. We found our favorite restaurant. My girlfriend came from out of town and she loved it. This is our new found favorite place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Historic, Family Style, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our 29th anniversary. The wh ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went for our 29th anniversary. The whole experience was great! Atmosphere is beautiful. The staff made us feel special. We will go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Boathouse is always a great place to ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The Boathouse is always a great place to get a good meal and the service is always good. Love that it is local fare but the selection of local beers on tap could be expanded. The atmosphere is very loud, dark and portions seem to have gotten smaller.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great view of the city, restaurant was v ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great view of the city, restaurant was very loud and dark, hard to hear the server and hard to read the menu in the dark.

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our second annual office Christ ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was our second annual office Christmas celebration. After last year's gathering it was a unanimous vote to come back this year!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Execellent as always, great service, gre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Execellent as always, great service, great food and deserts

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.