About The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing

4708 E Main Street
Richmond, VA 23231
View Larger Map

Our Rocketts Landing location occupies the top floor of the restored Power Plant building, which sits on the James River and once provided electricity for Richmond’s trolley cars. We specialize in seafood, wood-stone oven pizza, and locally-sourced signature entrees. And we can't forget the incredible view!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm
Friday Service Begins at 3:00 pm
Saturday Service Begins at 12:00noon
Sunday Brunch 10 am - 2:30 pm, Dinner Service beginning at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 622-2628

Website:
http://boathouserva.com/

Executive Chef:
Cory Sheldon

Private Party Facilities:
With private rooms for 16 to 200, panoramic views of the Richmond skyline and James River, The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing is a unique location for a special event. Antique brick, industrial steel, and a modern decor give your guests a glimpse of Richmond's rich history and vibrant future.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Ball: 8046222628x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Breast - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
  • Fischfilet Champignon - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
  • fruit parfait - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
  • Seared Tuna Nicoise - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
  • Seared Salmon - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
  • Shrimp and Grits - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
Chicken Breast - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
Fischfilet Champignon - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
fruit parfait - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
Seared Tuna Nicoise - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
Seared Salmon - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA
Shrimp and Grits - The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We will be serving a special holiday menu as well as our regular dinner menu. Reservations are available from 5pm-8:30pm, and there will be live jazz 6pm-9pm. A credit card guarantee is required for parties of 6 or more. Happy Holidays!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We open on New Year's Eve at 11:30am. Dinner reservations are available from 5pm-10:30pm. We will be serving a special holiday menu as well as our regular dinner menu. Reservations of 6 or more guests will be guaranteed with a credit card. Enjoy live jazz from 6pm-10pm.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 11:45AM 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Virginia
Most Booked
Virginia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
1 More
Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Scenic View (127)
Waterfront (102)
Special Occasion (99)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (71)
Good for a Date (70)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Romantic (56)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Good for Groups (35)
Modern Decor (35)
Great for Brunch (32)
Fun (28)
Happy Hour (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Business Meals (25)
Casual (25)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
People Watching (13)
Seasonal (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Historic (13)
Cozy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Healthy (9)
Great Beer (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Family Style (7)
Authentic (6)
Live Sports (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fireplace (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoy the Boathouse for its location. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoy the Boathouse for its location. convenience and predictability for the occasional meal at the end of a long day. The menu lacks the "exotic cullinary flair" usually associated with upscale dining but familar dishes are high quality, well-prepared and served in pleasing surroundings that are warm, even "cozy", in winter and bright with possible river views in summer. It is quite expensive (our broiled seafood entrees were each $37 but very good). The check for two, with shared appetizer (tasty lobster sliders, $18), a bottle of vinho verde ($30), two entrees, and tax was $133. A bit if an "ouch" if you are not expecting it but "hits the spot" once in a while. We will, of course, return.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service received from server, Dont ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service received from server, Dontue.

Wonderful atmosphere and very very nice menu. Will revisit again soon.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well I was excited about eating at The B ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Well I was excited about eating at The Boathouse. We made reservations thru Open Table. Got sat right away. They were busy but everybody was enjoying the atmosphere. Our waiter was nice. Service was really slow. We ordered soup a cup a Cesar salad in place of the veg of the day. Oh and lobster sliders. It took close to 35 min. But everyone around us were receiving their food. The food arrived and it was delicious. Then the main course took anther 35/45 min. Wait for it. My food was cold. No even warm. Which at that point I was sad. Crab cake on top of cold mashed potatoes. And the Cesar salad I got to replaced for my veg of the day I got charged.

So my experience at The Boathouse was average. They did take care of my meal for me. But I didn't go out to eat dinner to have my meal paid for. I wanted a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The food was delicious and our waiter wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious and our waiter was attentive without hovering. We enjoyed the fabulous view while we ate and the noise level was perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant was ver ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything about this restaurant was very enjoyable. Good location, good food, good wine list and a very pleasant waitress. We will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great location and service. The baked oy ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great location and service. The baked oysters are divine!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

our Sunday brunch was outstanding! We ha ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

our Sunday brunch was outstanding! We had a number of dietary restrictions in our group and the kitchen was more than accomodating . In fact the chef came to our table and asked my vegan daughter what she was craving and prepared the most beautiful and tasty food that she could have imagined. Over the top!! Thank you.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food choices all sounded delicious. Our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food choices all sounded delicious. Our brunch was all good and everyone had variety from omelet bar, waffle bar, to menu items of shrimp & grits to eggs benedicts. Good bloody mary to start. Great view of the city and river. Servers were personable and capable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific location and beautiful setting. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Terrific location and beautiful setting. Not a great variety of food choices, but the items served are delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I simply love this place!! The location ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I simply love this place!! The location and ambiance of the entire venue is just great. great food and service. Will definitely come here again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Family Style, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Thanksgiving buffet was unorganized ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving buffet was unorganized and the food was lackluster in presentation and in flavor. I wouldn't recommend The Boathouse for their holiday menu. However, I've heard good things about their Happy Hour scene.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The food at the Thanksgiving brunch was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food at the Thanksgiving brunch was excellent! The turkey was moist, tenderloin was cooked perfectly and the salmon and shrimp and grits were excellent as well. The accompanying side dishes were very good too, especially the squash medley! I would love to get the recipe from the chef!!

The service was just OK; it seemed that we had to hunt for our waiter, he could have been more attentive. The wine selections (by the bottle) were too limited; it seems that the restaurant could have offered more bottled wines! I believe the Boathouse lost a substantial revenue stream by NOT offering more bottled wine choices.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Visited the Boat House on Thanksgiving a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Visited the Boat House on Thanksgiving and had an excellent lunch. There were several buffet options and everything was delicious. Our server was prompt and courteous as well. Looking forward to visiting again for brunch. Highly recommended!

Tags: Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Many thanks to Aly and her staff for bei ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Many thanks to Aly and her staff for being so accommodating with the table my wife and I had requested! You were all sensational! Thanks also to the chefs for preparing one of the best Thanksgiving dinners I have enjoyed in a very long time. There was not a single item I could think of that was left off of the menu at the Boathouse's buffet style feast. Outside of a home-cooked meal at your grandmother’s, I really could not recommend a finer place than the Boathouse for a holiday dinner. Christmas and New Year's Eve anyone?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for Thanksgiving dinner! Foo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great place for Thanksgiving dinner! Food and service were both good and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attended the Thanksgiving Dinner Buffet. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Attended the Thanksgiving Dinner Buffet. Staff was very friendly, cheerful, and helpful, no complaints. Server was friendly and courteous, but could have been a little more attentive. Deserts were excellent, especially the pumpkin cheese cake, however for a buffet on Thanksgiving selection should have been broader. For the available variety of very good dishes we felt the price was a bit on the excessive side.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We have celebrated Thanksgiving at The B ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have celebrated Thanksgiving at The Boathouse for the past 3 years. There is a great selection of food from traditional turkey to various seafood items including shrimp and salmon. The waitstaff are knowledgeable about wine parings that complement the meal and the view of the river adds to the ambiance. We love going here for special celebrations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience at the Boathouse was fant ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The experience at the Boathouse was fantastic. It was our first visit there and we will certainly go again in the spring so that we can admire the views.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. The waiter ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food and great service. The waiter was beey engaging. He gave us time to make our selection and continued toncheck on us all night. He made us feel like a priority wven though the place was pretty packed. The food was good and there was a variety of options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time there and was our 38th annive ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First time there and was our 38th anniversary dinner. Great service, good food. Probably would be assume dining during the summer when you could eat outdoors and enjoy the views. Will go back again.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I could not have asked ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My girlfriend and I could not have asked for a better date getaway after a stress-filled week. Boathouse at Rockett's Landing NEVER fails

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating my husbands return f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We were celebrating my husbands return from deployment. The hostess and manager both welcomed him home. It was a lovely, special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow start, good finish. We have dined h ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Slow start, good finish.

We have dined here quite a few time and like it a lot. This time was with friends from out of the area. For some reason after being seated we were orphaned for well over ten minutes with no acknowledgement what so ever. The restaurant was about 60-75% full. I went to ask for some attention and a nice young lady came promptly to take our drink orders, etc. From here on it was our usual pleasurable experience. Don't know how long we might have waited otherwise.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was overcooked and very salty. Tas ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was overcooked and very salty. Taste wasn't that great. Service was very good. Ambience is great. Very overpriced for the low quality of food. Would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Excellent experience all around! We had ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent experience all around! We had the Chesapeake Omelet and it was amazing!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered shrimp and grits and although ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I ordered shrimp and grits and although it was delicious the serving was very small for $24.00.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We arrived early to say we wanted to be ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We arrived early to say we wanted to be waterside. The hostess said they could not guarantee a table by the window if we waited for our 5:30 reservation. So we omitted our stroll by the river and agreed to be seated at 4:45 because we wanted a view of the river. It was a special occasion for 3 of us. The martini, margarita and the cranberry/ginger cocktail were outstanding. We shared a crab and artichoke dip. Each enjoyed our choice for entree... Wild Caught Rockfish, Boathouse Crab Cakes, Crab Stuffed Shrimp. Thank heavens we shared one S'mores Cheesecake dessert... decadent! The French Press Coffee was a great finish. A special evening all 'round.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My bother and sister-in-law were visitin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My bother and sister-in-law were visiting form West Virginia and are seafood lovers. We made our reservation through Opentable, even requesting a specific table and our request was honored. We had different entrees, from steak to seafood and the meals were delicious. Our server, Brian, did a great job in getting our varied orders correct, keeping glasses filled and responding quickly for additional items. All in all, a great night, thoroughly enjoyed by the four of us.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing seafood and beautiful sunset ove ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Amazing seafood and beautiful sunset over the river!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal for my wife's birthday. Took ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great meal for my wife's birthday. Took the kids too (ages 11 and 17). Great location, good view, wonderful food, overall very pleased.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience , ordered whole lobster ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great experience , ordered whole lobster and burger, lobster was ok nothing special but burger, omg that was so delicious !

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Boathouse was recommended by a work coll ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Boathouse was recommended by a work colleague for business meetings and she was right, it was perfect for a meeting! Even on a busy Thursday night, the noise level was quiet enough to have an important conversation. The view was stunning, the inside of the restaurant was beautiful, and the food/drinks were classy and delicious. I will be returning to the Boathouse the next time that I am in town in Richmond for work!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fun, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very inviting

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Very inviting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Watching sunsets on the Janes is spectac ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Watching sunsets on the Janes is spectacular! They cannot make reservations for outside so sat at the outdoor bar area. Service was a little slow but the ambiance and food...superb! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

As always, great view, service, and food ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As always, great view, service, and food. We had a variety of steak, seafood, and shellfish.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a great experience. Good foo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As always, a great experience. Good food, attentive service and great view of the river!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, People Watching, Historic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great waffles and Omlets from Sunday Bru ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great waffles and Omlets from Sunday Brunch Bar! The potatoes were outstanding. The service was excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here with my boyfriend during a w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I went here with my boyfriend during a weekend away in Richmond and we LOVED it! Their crab cakes and seafood are delicious, and the service was fantastic. I'm also big on ambiance in a restaurant, and this place is great. Definitely makes you want to go back. Our waiter, Rachael, was wonderful!

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a very pleasant dining experience. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I had a very pleasant dining experience. The waitress (Laura) was very attentive, and helpful with our menu choices. I would recommend this experience to anyone. I will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for outside dining especiall ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great place for outside dining especially when the weather is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.