About The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing

4708 E Main Street
Richmond, VA 23231
View Larger Map

Our Rocketts Landing location occupies the top floor of the restored Power Plant building, which sits on the James River and once provided electricity for Richmond’s trolley cars. We specialize in seafood, wood-stone oven pizza, and locally-sourced signature entrees. And we can't forget the incredible view!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm
Friday Service Begins at 3:00 pm
Saturday Service Begins at 12:00noon
Sunday Brunch 10 am - 2:30 pm, Dinner Service beginning at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 622-2628

Website:
http://boathouserva.com/

Executive Chef:
Cory Sheldon

Private Party Facilities:
With private rooms for 16 to 200, panoramic views of the Richmond skyline and James River, The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing is a unique location for a special event. Antique brick, industrial steel, and a modern decor give your guests a glimpse of Richmond's rich history and vibrant future.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Ball: 8046222628x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Breast
  • Fischfilet Champignon
  • fruit parfait
  • Seared Tuna Nicoise
  • Seared Salmon
  • Shrimp and Grits
Chicken Breast
Fischfilet Champignon
fruit parfait
Seared Tuna Nicoise
Seared Salmon
Shrimp and Grits

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 11:45AM 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Most Booked
Virginia
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Outdoor Dining
Richmond
Most Booked
Richmond
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

scenic view (194)
special occasion (155)
great for outdoor dining (137)
See All
romantic (91)
good for groups (86)
fit for foodies (80)
great for brunch (68)
hot spot (49)
vibrant bar scene (45)
neighborhood gem (41)
great for lunch (40)
notable wine list (33)
late-night find (24)
kid-friendly (13)
Sort By:
Newest
1812 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

enjoyed the food and the water view serv ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

enjoyed the food and the water view service was good and it was a perfect day to sit outside

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had such a wonderful brunch. Firs thi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had such a wonderful brunch. Firs things first: it. Is. Pricey. But it was well worth it.

The food: my boyfriend and I split the fried green tomatoes. They were absolutely incredible, and id never had them before! For our entrees, he had the Crab Cakes Benedict and I had the French Toast. Both came out with hardly any wait time after the tomatoes were taken, and they were astounding!

The service: Our waitress Brie (sp?) was attentive and extremely sweet. She even helped us figure out what else to do in Richmond with the rest of our day trip!

As for the restaurant itself, the ambiance is lovely, and I really appreciated that the hostess sat my boyfriend and I right at the window with a lovely view of the river.

All in all, definitely worth it :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A party of 8 went out and had an amazing ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 7 days ago

A party of 8 went out and had an amazing dinner experience. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meal and drinks. Everyone found the Boathouse to be a new favorite spot to dine. My wife and I had been there before and suggested to the three other couples that this is where we should go. It is tough to find a night that a large group can find babysitters and enjoy the company of family and friends. The Boathouse will be on my short list of where to eat when the opportunity presents itself in the future. Thanks for the great night.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

My date was very impressed. The food was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 7 days ago

My date was very impressed. The food was very good we enjoyed the view.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh seafood and great service - the oy ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fresh seafood and great service - the oysters and lobster sliders just delectable .sword fish special just scrumptious. I'd skip desert - had the gf biscuit and was too soggy by the time they bought it out and hubby though the parfait was way too sweet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and delicious food. W ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food. We really enjoyed our visit and would definitely return The Boathouse if come back to Richmond!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience and the waitress ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great dining experience and the waitress even helped accommodate a special dining request for my dad who has particular taste. Will recommend and will be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

When we arrived, there were a major even ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

When we arrived, there were a major event taking place (in addition to the bar scene) so the noise level was very high. We asked to move to the deck overlooking the river, and the nice breeze plus much less noisy setting, made for a delightful evening. The waiter was very professional and was patient when we were not yet ready to order. Sharing a good bottle of wine, delicious food and good friends, we watched the sun set over the Richmond skyline. The lights came up, and the paddleboat arrived at its dock before we left. A wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal and birthday cel ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and birthday celebration for my daughter, who turned 21 on the night we were there. Our waiter was excellent and went above and beyond by bringing out the birthday cake, candles and all. The food was very good. It was quite noisy, due to a wine tasting event, which would have been nice to have known about or at least seated farther away from it (we backed up to the wine table.)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fantastic. Booked at the last minute an ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fantastic. Booked at the last minute and did not know what to expect since just flew in to Richmond. Great food, service and beautiful location on the James River.

Go and enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner was exceptionally good, but disap ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Dinner was exceptionally good, but disappointed in changes to the menu. I miss the catfish and the crab puppies. Since these changes, I don't think I will be returning as there isn't a lot on the menu that I crave now.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch overlooking the river is just won ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Brunch overlooking the river is just wonderful! Food was tremendous, service was great! We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was ready exactly when p ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our reservation was ready exactly when promised and a special table request was honored. From the hostess to the waitress service was prompt and friendly. Some restaurants have an attitude of "you're lucky to be here," but there was none of that here. The food was nothing crazy, just good staple dishes executed perfectly. The fried green tomatoes were crispy but not oily. The lobster was perfectly done, as were the shrimp and scallops. The crabcake had little "filler" and was well seasoned without being "old bay salty". The drinks were inventive and we balanced. My personal favorite was the blood orange whiskey sour. The dessert (medium-rare cookie with ice cream) was very good, without being overly dense or cavity ensuring sweet. Appetizer, two entrees, three drinks and a dessert was ~$150 with tip, and well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent seafood and dining atmosphere. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent seafood and dining atmosphere. Would recommend restaurant to anyone

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My go-to restaurant!

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My go-to restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always we had a wonderful dinner and ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

As always we had a wonderful dinner and were looked after very attentively by staff. I had the Hoydro Local Lettuces and Strawberry Salad and the rockfish from the "Simply" Grilled menu, blackened with smoked jalepeno aioli. Both were very delicious. The house-made mashed potatoes are soooo good. All-in-all a very pleasant outing for us.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was ease making a reservation onli ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

There was ease making a reservation online. Confirmation and special request for seating was acknowledged. Our dining experience at Rocket's Landing location was certainly one of the best my husband and I have enjoyed. The food was outstanding, service impeccable and presentation unsurpassable. My only regret was the acoustics (noise) level within the restaurant which prohibited good conversation with our guests. Would I recommend The Boathouse to others, MOST ASSUREDLY!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Laura was a fantastic server and thanks ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Laura was a fantastic server and thanks for taking care of 8 crazy ladies !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was date night for my wife and I and ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was date night for my wife and I and we had never been to the Boathouse before so we tried it out and I am happy to say that we had an amazing time!! The food is awesome if you love seafood this is definitely the place to go. Our waiter Kenny was the best very friendly, easy to talk to, very knowledgeable about the menu my wife and I loved him! I would definitely recommend the boathouse and I will definitely be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bri as our server was terrific. The roc ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Bri as our server was terrific. The rockfish was outstanding. We like this restaurant at between 3-5 so one can talk with/o yelling and hear a conversation . When crowded there is nothing to buffer any of the noise...very unfortunate.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very mediocre food. Seafood fresh, but ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very mediocre food. Seafood fresh, but would recommend staying away from "specialty" dishes and go with grilled or broiled. Manager effective in dealing with problems.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I came for my 4 years of being cancer fr ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I came for my 4 years of being cancer free celebration and was given a nice table in the corner of the restaurant. The food was excellent. I have never liked any crab cake I've ever tried, and I would order these as a meal. Server was lovely. Thank you for making my night special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great meal. Was going to have a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always a great meal. Was going to have a small wait for outside table but opted for outside patio off the bar area. Same difference. Ate there. Very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was poor. We had to flag dow ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The service was poor. We had to flag down our manager just to get a server. The manager offered us a free appetizer to compensate but when we got the check they had charged us for it. We were there for 2 long hours. At a Buffett!!!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

I enjoyed the crab cakes and my husband ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I enjoyed the crab cakes and my husband enjoyed the lobster! Nice anniversary dinner.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our experience at the Boathouse was grea ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our experience at the Boathouse was great! Except for a brief seating outside (the sun is extremely warm before sundown) and then re-seated inside, all was well. Our server was amazing and she was supported by great and supportive management. The food was great, dessert even better. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A beautiful view of the city with good f ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A beautiful view of the city with good food in a relaxed atmosphere. Very open and spacious. The staff was extremely friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was but the service was not. We ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was but the service was not. We had to keep looking for our server.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

FOOD FUN AND SENIC OUTSTANDING ALL IN ON ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

FOOD FUN AND SENIC OUTSTANDING ALL IN ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my husbands birthday ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were celebrating my husbands birthday. The outdoor seating, view and food was good, however the service of the waiters was very poor. Once came to take the order and that's about it. Did not follow up with want we want or how the food was. Had to ask another waiter for hot sauce and had to wait long before I got another glass of water.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Outstanding in every category! Exceeded ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding in every category! Exceeded every expectation I had going in for a special dinner with my wife. I will be returning many times in the future, and will recommend to everyone that I know.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our dining experience. Food and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Enjoyed our dining experience. Food and service was fantastic! Highly reccommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent ..the atmosphe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent ..the atmosphere was relaxing and romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was pretty good but I felt we ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was pretty good but I felt we did not get our money worth. The booth that we were seated at the sun was so bright we could not enjoy the food. Shades at the door would have prevented the sun shinning in our faces. The waitress only offered to move us when we were done with our food. I requested a window veiw when I placed my reservation on line but qe did not get it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Usually the food is excellent but it was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Usually the food is excellent but it was a bit disappointing this time. Biscuits weren't fully cooked and poached eggs were cold. Manager gave us a coupon for next visit. Still a nice restaurant with a great view. Service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Strawberry salad was wonderful--service ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Strawberry salad was wonderful--service slow on Father's day

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

My best friend and I celebrated my birth ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My best friend and I celebrated my birthday and it couldn't have been more perfect! The cocktails hit the spot and the food was amazing! We shared the rockfish and filet mignon. Both were prepared perfectly. We sat outside and enjoyed the gorgeous view of the river and city skyline. I would definitely recommend The Boat House to all.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the last dinner together for th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the last dinner together for the parents and girls of our high school travel lacrosse team from Pennsylvania. We booked online, none of us has been here and it was amazing! Fabulous food even for those who didn't like seafood, great local fair (loved the hush puppies with Siracha sauce) , friendly attentive servers, great atmosphere right on the river. The girls loved it almost as much as the parents! Thank you for a truly memorable evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overrated and WAY overpriced. No bread. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Overrated and WAY overpriced. No bread. Menu stated JUMBO shrimp; mine were medium, at best. Shrimp were overcooked and dry. No drawn butter. Side portions small. Exorbitant pricing on food and drinks. Three people with one drink each = $150, minus tip. Only thing really good was the view and our waiter. Due to complaints, we were given a free dessert card each. Probably won't get used.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Great spot! Great service & food. Fun ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great spot! Great service & food. Fun for a casual dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.