About The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing

4708 E Main Street
Richmond, VA 23231
View Larger Map

Our Rocketts Landing location occupies the top floor of the restored Power Plant building, which sits on the James River and once provided electricity for Richmond’s trolley cars. We specialize in seafood, wood-stone oven pizza, and locally-sourced signature entrees. And we can't forget the incredible view!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm
Friday Service Begins at 3:00 pm
Saturday Service Begins at 12:00noon
Sunday Brunch 10 am - 2:30 pm, Dinner Service beginning at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 622-2628

Website:
http://boathouserva.com/

Executive Chef:
Cory Sheldon

Private Party Facilities:
With private rooms for 16 to 200, panoramic views of the Richmond skyline and James River, The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing is a unique location for a special event. Antique brick, industrial steel, and a modern decor give your guests a glimpse of Richmond's rich history and vibrant future.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Ball: 8046222628x

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Breast
  • Fischfilet Champignon
  • fruit parfait
  • Seared Tuna Nicoise
  • Seared Salmon
  • Shrimp and Grits
Chicken Breast
Fischfilet Champignon
fruit parfait
Seared Tuna Nicoise
Seared Salmon
Shrimp and Grits

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 11:45AM 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Seafood
Virginia
6 More
Most Booked
Virginia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Outdoor Dining
Richmond
Most Booked
Richmond
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Scenic View (224)
Special Occasion (177)
Great for Outdoor Dining (160)
See All
Romantic (105)
Good for Groups (92)
Fit for Foodies (91)
Great for Brunch (69)
Hot Spot (49)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Great for Lunch (37)
Notable Wine List (33)
Late-night Find (22)
Kid-friendly (11)
Sort By:
Newest
1865 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food quality greatly improved since our ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food quality greatly improved since our last visit. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive but it took over 45 minutes for the food to arrive. Also it seemed a bit of a wait to receive our cocktails. Nice at atmosphere though - both inside and on the veranda.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was mediocre, the waiter didn't ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Service was mediocre, the waiter didn't seem to understand what vegan meant despite being in Richmond, a very vegan-friendly city. A single mimosa was pricey $10, the carafe is a much better bang for your buck. Nice atmosphere, although could have been better if they added some music outdoors. Obviously any dining by the water is great and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Friendly and knowledgeable server, nice ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Friendly and knowledgeable server, nice atmosphere, and great meal. Couldn't have asked for more. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed this restaurant. We made an Op ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I enjoyed this restaurant. We made an Open table reservation while leaving another restaurant where we had a bad experience. And The Boathouse was a refreshing change. The room is open like a cafeteria but, felt comfortable. I could enjoy a conversation with my fiancé, without having to yell. The food was great, and the drinks were very nice. I'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food and the service were excellent. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food and the service were excellent. Highly recommend the roasted oysters. While the shrimp and grits was very delicious, the grilled scallops might be the best we have eaten anywhere, including the GCO in New York, Legal Seafood in Boston and the Commander's Palace in New Orleans. The creme brulee had the perfect consistency. Would love to have the bread pudding recipe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious! The service was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was delicious! The service was prompt. The waiter, Garrett was very friendly, knowledgeable about the menu and attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found it to be extremely loud. The m ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We found it to be extremely loud. The music was too high. And just the general noise of people talking was very distracting. We could hardly hear the waitress. It appears the space was not built to muffle noise.

The food was excellent and the service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A group of five enjoyed dinner at the Bo ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A group of five enjoyed dinner at the Boathouse at Rocketts Landing. We had a great table in a corner with a panoramic view of the river. Service was good if a little disoriented. Our primary complaint across all entrees as well as the soup is that the food was lukewarm at best. Also note that parking is a problem in the area if there's something going on in the restaurant's event venue or at the adjacent restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Really enjoyed the food and experience a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and experience at the Boathouse. We look forward to having the Boathouse in Hopewell!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Norwegian salmon was fantastic, and ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The Norwegian salmon was fantastic, and the flight of oysters was a nice appetizer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Way to pricey for what you get. I can g ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Way to pricey for what you get. I can give you any number of restaurants in the area that have as good of food that are not as pricey. We also did not get the seating we asked for for my wife's birthday dinner. We requested well enough in advance for a table with a river view and were seated at a booth in the middle of the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We went for our anniversary. Good food, ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went for our anniversary. Good food, service and setting. We will go again for our next special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for brunch. Don't understand all th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went for brunch. Don't understand all the hype. Food and service were good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was our first brunch at The Boathou ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our first brunch at The Boathouse, but had dinner there before. Brunch was excellent! There was a bit of a wait at the breakfast bar to order my omelette, but well worth it. The bill came and we were very impressed with how reasonable it was.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my mom and dad to dinner this pas ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I took my mom and dad to dinner this past Saturday night on their first ever visit to Richmond (myself, I just moved here a little over a week ago). We were seated outside upon request next to the James River, and the view was perfect. Although the meals felt a bit pricey for the servings given, dinner was fantastic. My parents and I had a wonderful time, and we will be back again. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Boathouse provided an exceptional ev ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The Boathouse provided an exceptional evening for my husband and I. Service and food were great. I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a beautiful evening dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This evenings date was inspired by a wed ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This evenings date was inspired by a wedding present, a gift card. While the food was delicious and the service superb its cost was beyond my budget. I expected it to cost more than the generous $50 gift but I cannot afford Bosthouse on any sort of frequent basis.6

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special birthday dinner. When ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was a special birthday dinner. When making the reservation we asked for a good table with a view. The staff absolutely delivered. They had a GREAT table with a beautiful view of the river waiting for us. The food was excellent. Our waiter Areef (sp) was friendly, very accommodating and genuine. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elaine, our Waitress on 08/09/2016, 7 PM ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Elaine, our Waitress on 08/09/2016, 7 PM Reservation, helped us celebrate our 47th Anniversary by helping to select our Wine to go with our excellent seafood dinners.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Heard wonderful things but didn't live u ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Heard wonderful things but didn't live up to the hype. Nice view, great space but rather noisy. Main complaint was the FOOD. Rice was the dried out clumps from bottom of pot. Fish dishes were well cooked but all the rest was tasteless. Portions mighty skimpy but good bread. Overall mixed review. I'll go back for drinks and ambience but not to eat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and I had let the reservation person know this before we arrived. They told all of the wait staff and we were greeted by all staff, congratulating us. The service was great and the evening was very special. We had lobsters, which were done to perfection. As an appetizer, we had raw oysters, which were incredible. I highly recommend this restaurant. Nice view too!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I went to the Boathouse for my birthday. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I went to the Boathouse for my birthday. It was an extremely enjoyable event. Our waitress was very attentive and their creme brûlée is to die for!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I always have a wonderful experience din ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I always have a wonderful experience dining at The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing. I always find out when sunset is and make my reservation about 30 min before so we can take in the view of the river. Your staff was top notch as expected. This visit we were actually early so we found a spot at your bar and introduced our self to a couple sitting at the large table. We had small talk and enjoyed our app's and drinks and then your staff helped us move to our table. I had asked for a view of the river and was not disappointed. We never feel rushed during our dining experience and I am always amazed how your large room always filled with people never seems to have a noise level impacting our discuss. Thank you once again for helping my family make memories! Should be your slogan "making memories".

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I decided to take my mother and her frie ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I decided to take my mother and her friend here since they were visiting from out of town. I heard so many great reviews about The Boat House, so I decided to give them a try. We had a reservation but arrived a few minutes early, and they sat us very quickly. Our waiter was very helpful and also knew a lot about the menu. Answering any question we had, they started us off with water which was tap water but the water was really good! When we sat down the noise level was at about medium, but the views were beautiful so I did not worry about the noise. We started off the night with the Crab dip which was very good, but the bread was a bit too well done. When we told our waiter, within five minutes the general manager came to the table to apologize and gave us fresh bread ( fantastic customer service). AS far as drinks I got the blueberry lemonade which is served in a very large cup and supplied a lot of liquor for only $13. It was certainly worth the money, as far as my entree I got the Chesapeake chicken. Which was chicken breast with crab meat, a green vegetable, grits, and a sauce to top it off. When I first saw the dish I thought it was not going to be enough food to fill me up but it was way more then enough. I was very happy, the only complaint I would have is that they season there food way too lightly. If my dish did not have the sauce one would not have been able to taste anything. Which in turn is a good thing because you do not want the food to be to salty. Boathouse gets five stars in my book.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently good, and service w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food is consistently good, and service was very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful food was outstanding

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Beautiful food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

With such a nice venue and captive clien ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

With such a nice venue and captive clientele, this restaurant should be serving its community with much better food. It's expensive for what you get, my stuffed shrimp dish could have been a frozen dinner, the oysters weren't much better, and I saw a grilled salmon that looked like beef jerky. Obviously, they aren't very concerned with the reputation of the food, so better just to go for drinks and snacks and enjoy the view.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Nice place. Beautiful view. Little price ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Nice place. Beautiful view. Little pricey. Service not so great, we were waiting 45 min for our food (we were 6 people) and the restaurant wasn't even full (it was Monday). It was my sister's birthday, the manager went to our table and promised her a free dessert, never came :( Even so, I'd recommend this place for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was great!!!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The service and food was outstanding!! I ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service and food was outstanding!! I certainly would recommend the brunch to my friends and I will certainly return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a birthday celebration for 3 me ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was a birthday celebration for 3 members of our family. The food was delicious, and the scenic view is awesome! However, those in our party who had ordered from the menu had to wait about an hour for their food. Some of our party had ordered from the buffet, so they got their food right away, and the others had to wait an hour. So that was not good at all! The manager did give us a discount off of our food price, which was good, but the wait time for half our party was terrible.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Our server Laura was very knowledgeable ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server Laura was very knowledgeable and a delight. She made our dinning experience what we had hoped it would be and more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was outstanding

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is gorgeous. Food is amazing. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The place is gorgeous.

Food is amazing.

Valet courteous

Amazing scenery and ambience

Bathrooms are even nice.

If you come be prepared to pay its not cheap but for the special occasions very well worth it

If you're trying to impress her... this is IT!!!

Dinner for 2 can be around $100 but go for it. Yolo

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a great dinner spot, with sunse ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was a great dinner spot, with sunset views of Richmond over the James River. Our server was great, very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply a little disappointed with the cr ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Simply a little disappointed with the crabcakes. The presentation was not as appetizing as expected. We were told that The Boathouse had the best crabcakes. Although the taste was fine, we are accustomed to "lump meat" crabcakes. Otherwise the evening was fine. Service was Great. Coffee was uniquely tasty.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We started at the bar because we were ea ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We started at the bar because we were early. Then sat outside rather than wait for the table we reserved that oddly wasn't ready. It was tranquil outside. We could hear background music playing. Inside was too noisy from everyone's conversations, like a sports bar. The food was enjoyable but sparse on the seafood for my dish; however, it was well seasoned. Our server was a delightful, intelligent young lady named Denacia.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were awesome as usual. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food and service were awesome as usual. The view is spectular.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best view in Richmond. Food was good but ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Best view in Richmond. Food was good but small portions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

My first time to dine at The Boathouse, ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

My first time to dine at The Boathouse, and I loved it! The view of Richmond city, the sun setting, sounding cicadas and river smells were awesome. Obviously, I ate on the deck and that was the perfect setting for me. ( Inside would perhaps have been more "vivacious" than my ears could appreciate.) Thank you for an awesome evening, calm and free, with an out-of-town guest, and definitely seafood to write home about.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.