About The Boarding House

720 N Wells
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Welcome! The Boarding House opened December 2012 and is led by Proprietor and Master Sommelier Alpana Singh. Our historic building, which dates back to 1872, features several distinct areas that a bustling bar area, two distinct private dining spaces, and a comfortable dining room located on the building’s third floor.

Enjoy a curated and thoughtful list of 500 wines from around the world that will expertly complement your dining experience. Guests will be immediately enveloped by our ambient dining room, which is designed for everyday dining with service that is detailed, hospitable and personal.

The wine bar is available without reservations and seating is per availability.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Boarding House!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar
Monday through Friday: 4:30 p.m. to CLOSE
Saturday: 4:30 p.m. to CLOSE
Closed Sunday

Dining Room
Monday: 5 p.m. to CLOSE
Tuesday through Saturday: 5 p.m. to CLOSE.
Closed Sunday




Cross Street:
Superior

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 280-0720

Website:
http://www.boardinghousechicago.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at Events@bhchicago.com

Parking Details:
The Boarding House offers valet parking on Wells Street.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located one block east of the Franklin Brown Line stop.

Executive Chef:
Tanya Baker

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Boarding House offers catering options from 4 to 500 people. Please email Amy Ermatinger at Events@BHChicago.com

The Boarding House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (66)
Special Occasion (62)
Notable Wine List (46)
See All
Romantic (46)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Groups (35)
Hot Spot (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Scenic View (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my favorite restaurant on my re ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was my favorite restaurant on my recent first visit to Chicago. I definitely look forward to visiting the next time I'm back in Chicago! Great vegetarian choices as well!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our meal. The server was wonde ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We loved our meal. The server was wonderful, food was great, and the space was cool!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One waitress, excruciating wait between ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

One waitress, excruciating wait between courses. Sent a note to Alpana, no response. Restaurant is on it's way out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We recently had a terrible experience. O ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We recently had a terrible experience. Our server was inattentive, the octopus and calamari appetizers were quite nice, the wine that we selected was unavailable and after a very long wait our main courses were either cold or over cooked. We were embarrassed as we were hosting friends...not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We were planning to eat in the dining ro ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were planning to eat in the dining room, but at 6:00 on Friday, not one other table was filled. The room was beautiful but silent. We opted to eat in the bar on the first floor - much more fun. Wish they had lights around their outdoor dining area, it would be more fun to sit out there.

Food and wine were great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Normally very good food, service and amb ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Normally very good food, service and ambience. But, restaurant was nearly empty, one dinner was bad (and was comped). Something appears to have dropped its desirability, perhaps just that it's not a hot newbie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Loved the venue, Old Chicago at its fine ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Loved the venue, Old Chicago at its finest! Food was excellent, highly recommend the stuffed calamari appetizer - just the right kick of spice and cooked perfectly. Flat iron steak was tasty, but slightly overlooked. My wife's salmon was delicious and cooked perfectly. Wine list is good, not extensive, but reasonably priced. Great decor and perfect spot for a dinner with that special person.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had the scallops and venison and both we ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had the scallops and venison and both were incredible. The food and drinks are great, but what made our experience outstanding was the service. The timing was perfect and the wine recommendations were a perfect pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Shocking how bad this experience was. Th ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Shocking how bad this experience was. The booking was so strict as to number of people with the insistence on holding with a credit card. When we were seated, the dining room was half full so why the stress about limiting the number? The server was scattered almost as if she'd been working a few shifts in a row or as if she knew she could phone it in because of the 18% charge that was slapped onto our bill because we were a group of 10. We waited too long for drinks, had to remind her of ordered drinks, waited too long for appetizers and way too long for the main course. After we finished our appetizers, the dining room was mostly empty so it was hard for us to understand the long wait for the main course. The server explained that they started our mains in the kitchen when they served our appetizers. All of us at the table have had fine dining experiences so had the wait not been so interminably long for the main, it would be believable. While finishing up dessert, they started rearranging tables around us to prepare for a wedding ceremony the next day. I would have loved to have been out of their way earlier had the service not been so wretchedly indifferent. Instead, we were shown how much they wanted us gone by setting up chairs around our table. I wanted us gone too at that point. The tragedy: the food was good. But I'm never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Interesting menu, great tasting and well ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Interesting menu, great tasting and well presented food. Service was terrific. This was our third time to the restaurant and they never disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience.

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful interior, but the place just l ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Beautiful interior, but the place just lacks any real energy. Entrees were very good. I ordered the soup and the server reached across the table and all parties to pour into the bowl rather than coming around to where I was seated. A couple drinks seemed to take longer than reasonable, but the server was apologetic. I would probably go back for drinks and some bites in the bar, but dinner was overall underwhelming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Our first time and I would go back! Love ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our first time and I would go back! Love the decor with the wine glasses on ceiling and wine bottles upstairs. Our server Colin was excellent. Flank steak was amazing as were the brussel sprouts

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Beautiful place and serv ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Delicious food. Beautiful place and service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the Venison loin and it was marvel ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I had the Venison loin and it was marvelous. Highly recommended. My friend had the steak and it was mediocre. We ordered appetizers as well and they were all very tasty. All in all, very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Delicious food and helpful staff. I love ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Delicious food and helpful staff. I loved that it had a special vegetarian menu. The selection was great, and I could tell these specialty dished were carefully thought out and were well executed. I selected this place for a business meetup and everyone was very impressed, especially the the other vegetarian in the group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Super evening, food and place. This pla ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Super evening, food and place. This place is a great find. Cocktail place great. Upstairs restaurant fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a 90th bday here and every ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We celebrated a 90th bday here and everything was absolutely Perfect! Excellent food, wine, service, etc. We were blown away by the whole experience and attention. Highly recommend the Boarding House!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, especially the octopus a ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very good food, especially the octopus and very high-quality New Zealand venison. Large wine list, with many unusual wines. Some good wines by the glass at reasonable to high prices. Service is prompt, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The large, open, high-ceiling room with a unique huge chandelier creates a pleasant ambiance, but large groups generate a lot of noise in a room that is quite noisy to begin with. Best to avoid the restaurant on weekends if you're noise-sensitive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This was our second visit and we choose ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our second visit and we choose it to celebrate a special occasion. It is a very impressive restaurant with food to match. There were several large groups and so the noise level was a bit higher. We did have a table in the corner of the dinning room which helped. It will definitely remain on our list of special dinners out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious meal with friends on a Monday ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Delicious meal with friends on a Monday night. For starters we shared the hen egg & polenta fries and Boarding House salad. For entrees, we opted for the Amish chicken, venison loin, and striped bass dishes. Everything was superb -- we all literally cleaned our plates. As one of the owners is Alpana Singh, the wine list did not disappoint. Very much recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As new residents of Chicago, we were exc ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As new residents of Chicago, we were excited to see a contestant on Chopped who said he worked for the Boarding House in Chicago. Eager to explore new restaurants, we looked it up and looked forward to their iconic bar and restaurant ceiling decor - the thousands of wine glasses and beer bottles hanging above were truly breathtaking and served the Chicago bar and dining scene well. The drinks were surprisingly pleasing as are the venison and the flat iron steak, which are delectable. It was an amazing dining experience and we would definitely return!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't really need a reservation for a T ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Didn't really need a reservation for a Tuesday evening as the restaurant wasn't overwhelmingly busy, but I like my points. Decor is pretty neat. Noticed a lot of people complaining about the wait time which, to be fair, was fairly accurate, but not something my date and I noticed since we were so caught up in our conversation. The food made up for it as it was all delicious. We ordered he polenta fries w/ fried egg (yum), halibut (also yum) and the scallops (knew I wanted these before I came, and they definitely hit the spot). For what I paid, I feel like the portions could have been bigger as I can't say I left the meal fully satisfied, but we enjoyed the meal nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My boyfriend and i came here to celebrat ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My boyfriend and i came here to celebrate our anniversary, we had a wonderful dinner ! I had called a day earlier to mention the occasion and had the manager Matthew call me to provide me with several dining options they had for special occasions. We were greeted by not only our server but also the hostess on our anniversary and given complimentary glasses of champagne to celebrate. Mathew was nice enough to check on our table towards the end of the night and i could not thank him enough for the attention to detail from the greeting the moment we stepped in the door to the happy anniversary writing on our delicious carrot cake platter. I will definitely be returning based on the great food and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but rich. Small portions ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was good but rich. Small portions so make sure you have another place in mind to eat at later if going out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Loved the food but our service was horri ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved the food but our service was horrific. Took over 30 minutes to get our wine. 50 minutes for our salad. 45 minutes for bread. Unacceptable when the restaurant is 50% full. Our server was nice, but no sense of urgency. Even the tables around us were complaining about the poor service. What a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

The food was good, but the service was a ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was good, but the service was a bit snooty. Ambiance / decor is always great there though!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and ambiance. Did not give i ...

 
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food and ambiance. Did not give it 5 stars because our dinner took FOREVER. However, the staff gave us complimentary drinks to make up for it, so we left with an overall great experience. The octopus appetizer is the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We have been to Boardinghouse twice and ...

 
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We have been to Boardinghouse twice and have had excellent food and service! The bar area is really nice and the dining room is great. We sat up the staircase and it was wonderful to have a view of the main area and have an intimate space in which to have conversation. Loved the stuffed calamari appetizer and the scallops entree. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Venison was amazing. Excellent service

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Venison was amazing. Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, but not blow off your socks amazing

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My 5 girlfriends and I had an early dinner at The Boarding House over Memorial Day weekend. We went super early (5:30pm) because that was when we could get a reservation, and because we were going to continue drinking after at a variety of rooftop lounges. We had the baby octopus as a starter, and then ordered two of the eggplant and two of the scallops, as well as the flat iron steak. Everything was very good, but not absolutely amazing. The eggplant had good flavor, but was a bit al dente for my taste. The brussel sprouts that came with the scallops were amazing, and the portion sizes were good. I would give this a solid 4.5 starts out of 5. So nice ambiance, okay serving staff (a bit slow to get to us and a bit slow to refill drinks), and good food, but not the very best I have ever had. A solid pick for a good evening though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The baby octopus, venison, steak with bl ...

 
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The baby octopus, venison, steak with blue cheese butter and lemon blueberry ricotta fritters were all FABULOUS. The ambience was lovely and the wait staff did an outstanding job. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so excited to finally try this pla ...

 
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I was so excited to finally try this place but left disappointed. The food was fine but the service truly marred the experience. Our waitress seemed more interested in taking care of other big, expense check tables on this Wednesday night instead of us on our anniversary. I love the ambiance but we will not hurry back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

From Poor to Great and Back to Poor

 
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I dined at The Boarding House 3 times in 2015, and each time I was impressed with the food, the service and the atmosphere. The good news in 2016 is that the atmosphere is fairly similar (though the crowd seems a little older than it was last year). But the food and service have fallen off a cliff. The server hardly ever came around except when being signaled, and there was a long delay between courses and between drinks. My first martini was as watered down as I've ever had ... so much so that it had to be mistake. Or so I thought until the next one came the same way. And the food was highly disappointing. The hen egg and polenta fries appetizer is great, as it's been in the past. But the carrots appetizer is just weird, the sturgeon entre was severely overcooked, and the duck entre was so chewy that my partner gave up on it half way through. Overall, a surprisingly bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Rave reviews all around and loved the de ...

 
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Rave reviews all around and loved the deal on 1L Caymus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner for the Night

 
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was amazing. You have many to chose from on the menu. We sat on the second floor which was very nice. Love looking around. Service not the best had better. Ask for bread if you want any.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

OK food and very expensive

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was there for Mother's Day lunch and unfortunately the wasn't serving the full menu that I heard it was very good . As I got there there wasn't many things that attracted me to order . I ended up getting a short rib which was good but very pricy for what it was . Deserts weren't any good . It looked like an ice cream shop cause everything had it .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Boardinghouse

 
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant was a great Chicago find. The decor and atmosphere are great. Wait staff most helpful and attentive food was fab. Highly recommend lamb shank.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious dinner and dessert, and great ...

 
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Delicious dinner and dessert, and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Recommend all the veggie sid ...

 
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food! Recommend all the veggie sides.

Ate too much for desert. Wdef going back so we can try desert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.