Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a beautifully restored B&B and fine dining establishment. Our experienced on-site chef, Michael Keating, has developed a delicious, exquisite menu of mouthwatering appetizers and flavorful main courses. Enjoy our unique menu in an eloquent, sophisticated atmosphere that is the perfect backdrop to enjoy a formal dinner to celebrate a special evening with a loved one or close friend. We have two dining rooms, the larger of which may remind you of a state dining room on a luxury cruise liner. We hope you appreciate the care we've taken with every detail, from the cobalt blue candle holders to the blue rose stained glass.Our kitchen is completely from scratch, and we make all of our dishes with fresh ingredients with love, every single day. The Blue Rose is family owned and run, and when you visit us, you're part of the family.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

653 Washington St.
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours:
Daily, from 5pm

Sunday Brunch:
10am - 1pm

Cross Street:
Franklin St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 435-5468

Website:
http://www.blueroseinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Keating

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For New Year's Eve, at the time of your reservation there will be a $50/person deposit that will be applied to your final bill. You have until noon on December 31, 2015 to cancel your reservation and get your deposit back.

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Creative Cuisine (32)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Romantic (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Local Ingredients (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Authentic (13)
Historic (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Seasonal (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Business Meals (4)
Organic (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 hours ago

Amazing dinner. We can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We had booked a room at The Blue Rose Inn before hearing of the restaurant's outstanding reputation, and became excited to reserve at least one dinner there. We saved the best for last - our last night in Cape May happened to be our wedding anniversary and The Blue Rose Inn was the perfect place to celebrate. The food is fresh, local and uniquely prepared - all delicious! The setting is comfortable but not too casual, and ideal for a special date or get-together with friends. The servers are knowledgable, attentive and friendly. Although a bit pricey, our dinner was so special and enjoyable, our memories will be of an outstanding evening, not the cost.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding in every way. We had dinner at the Blue rose to celebrate an anniversary and it lived up to my expectations. The Inn is classic Cape May and very attractive inside. The service was friendly, yet professional and very attentive but not overdone. However, the best part was the food, all of which was delicious and inventive. The appetizers were unique and varied; I had the soft shell crabs with dark rye scrapple and a delicious bernaise sauce (with poached egg) that was an explosion of flavors. My wife has the smoked barrata which was also great. My entree was the papparadella with a pulled pork that was perfectly spicy and I hated to take the last bite because it ended the wonderful taste experience. We did not have dessert, but they sounded wonderful as well. It is BYOB but that was fine with us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was fresh. Service very good. Setting/ambiance very tasteful. Food was too exotic for my taste and I suspect due to experimentation with various herbs and other items mixed in with food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Not our first visit and certainly won't be our last. Creative menu, beautiful presentation and good to the last drop. Our server Miley was exceptional. A must in Cape May.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Wonderful dining from beginning to end! Very unique food, beautifully presented. The service was beyond standard!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The food was spectacular! Great taste combinations. Service was wonderful. Restaurant is part of a B&B so it has that classic Cape May vibe. It seems like it is still a bit off season so it was rather quiet. Hopefully during the summer it will be more busy. I don't think this would be a good place for kids.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Ate outside on porch. Food was excellent and was very well presented. Service was also very good.

You should know that they have no valet parking or other space for restaurant guests and there are meters which expire at 10 PM. So bring quarters or make sure your cell phone has the parkmobile app.
The fact that it's a BYOB is a big plus.

We certainly would consider going back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

presentations were wonderful. the food exciting. the waiter John, extremely knowledgeable

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We had a lovely meal that was creative and delicious in a beautiful and comfortable room.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Another fabulous dinner at one of the best restaurants in Cape May! Never disappointed

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Wonderful staff, outstanding food. Enjoyed an excellent brunch outside on the porch on a pleasant day. Perfect all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The Blue Rose never disappoints!! One of the best restaurants in cape may!! The menu is very creative, along with a beautiful presentation. Always delicious and the service is top notch ! We always enjoy dining at the Blue Rose.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Loved the ambience very romantic evening food was beyond my expectations. Service on point. Looking foward to repeating the night soon! Well Done!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Staff is great, food much like the rest Cape May is dated and poorly executed. Chicken was dry and tough. Soft shell crabs were bad. Smelled like ammonia, tasted even worse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Been to Blue Rose numerous times. Always have an amazing meal. This was the first time we had brunch at Blue Rose. Everything was delicious. Pancakes and French toast were excellent. Pressed coffee made the meal. As always Justin is a wonderful host who makes you feel comfortable and makes sure you have a great experience. The staff is also friendly and knowledgeable. Shout out to Brittany who always provides great service. See you come fall.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

the overall experience was good but can be better. first of all the food was very yummy and tasty. good service for sure. however, the ambiance needed some upgrades. when we first walked in, the old house smell was overpowering to the point we almost left the place. After sat down for a little bit, we kind of get used to the smell but still the place itself is very dated. I know the manager said this place has been renovated but if you pay that kind of money, why can't you sit some place that's nice and smells good. tho the food was good, we would not come back here unless we know we will be seated outside. Just don't think it's worth to pay that kind of money to sit in a place that smells bad and looks like 1950's. The ambiance is part of dining experience and I would not discount that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had been to the Blue Rose a couple of years ago and had a wonderful time - John was our waiter - he's an expert - just the right amount of friendly but non-intrusive - and we ate out on the large porch, which is a beautiful spot - private and lovely garden view.

We were looking forward to returning - this time though, we were shown to an indoor table - the weather was not conducive to outdoor dining. While our food was ultimately very good, we were overwhelmed by our server Alyssa. Sooo chatty! She virtually read the entire menu to us - apparently we must have looked as though we couldn't read - and explained each dish in painful detail. Also used my least favorite usage - "what are we interested in"? "We" are not dining together. This really colored our meal - later on in the meal she faded into the background a bit - and that made things much better - other staff were not nearly so interested in talking . While I appreciate a friendly approach and conversation, the pre-school attitude of Alyssa was pretty unpleasant.

I probably would go back - but definitely felt less enthusiastic than our last visit. Overall, I would say that the restaurant feels that it's better than it actually is right now - they should be wary of coasting on reputation. They are BYOB - also sell a local wine.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Knowledgeable servers.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 31, 2017

This was such an amazing find. Food was amazing and so different...great for a foodie. Sat in a corner table near the porch which was perfect. Staff extremely knowledgeable about the entrees. BYOB which was great. Would come back again and again!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 31, 2017

out of this world, a must go to. souffle a must get dessert , but get two you will not want to share this. to die for.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Food was good but portions too small. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We dined here before it was The Blue Rose and what an improvement! The redo is so pretty and the food and service....exemplary! Will surely return on our next Cape May visit and have already told a bunch of friends that it is a must when they are in town!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Somewhat unusual and creative menu choices, very much dependent on home made items and locally supplied items. We had pork pappardelle (home made), which was excellent, and arctic char, which was quite good. Our waiter, John, made an instant connection with us and was very helpful in assisting with our selections. This restaurant is on the pricey side, but to be expected located in a quaint, converted house in historic Cape May, NJ.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Food was fabulous! We have not been disappointed yet with delicious food or the attentive staff!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Had dinner here after staying at the Inn for two nights over the holiday weekend and the food and overall service of the B&B was amazing! Breakfast both mornings was a treat- with French press coffee and several (including gluten free) options. Dinner had excellent, professional service and fresh ingredients. Will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

For us Blue Rose is the best restaurant on the island! The duck confit ravioli may be the best thing I have ever eaten!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We have been coming to Cape May for about 5 years and this is the first year that we came across the Blue Rose Inn. It was an amazing experience from the moment we stepped in the door. The food had creative spins on old favorites with everything, down to the bread, exceptional. Micheal was an amazing server with knowledge about every menu option, and the souffle is a must try!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Excellent service. We had the scallop, pork belly and gorgonzola grits appetizer. Amazing flavors. My husband tried the rye gnocchi. He enjoyed it. I had the pork pappardelle. I wanted to, but couldn't finish the plate. It was delicious. We ended the meal with the souffle. What a beautiful meal. Yes, it is pricey, but we believe it was worth it. We would dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Wonderful food, awesome service. The fish in both of our entrees was cooked perfectly. And the side dishes were creative and tasty. We were pleasantly surprised at the bill, which was completely reasonable. Would love to return in a few weeks to eat on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

First visit to Cape May and the Blue Rose, did not disappoint!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was excellent, great ambience but our server was passable, at best. Overheard other serve (Mike) giving detailed menu explanations - but not our server. Evening started by our server trying to deliver our BYO bag to another table. Had to ask another server for our bread. Our server's nonchalant approach might work in other establishments but should not be tolerated at Blue Rose. Put a damper on what should have been an exceptional evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Nice meal. I had the beef entree and it was just okay. My husband had the cobia and it was very good. I loved the bread. Split a salad, which was very good, but it would be nice if they'd split in the kitchen or give one appropriate plates to transfer it to. It was a good meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My son and I had a very nice dining experience at The Blue Rose during the Christmas holidays, so decided to return for a delayed Mother's Day dinner. We were welcomed warmly by the host, seated promptly and introduced to our waiter, John, who was low key and very knowledgeable about the ingredients and preparation of the menu items. We started with a small, round loaf of warm bread, with the added flavors of garlic and cheese - definitely a step above the usual bread basket. My appetizer was steak tartare, very good, and elevated by the croutons which were house made, according to John. Son had the scallop/pork belly, which he enjoyed. My entree was the pork pappardelle, which was melt in the mouth tender. I loved the smoky, delicious sauce. The dish was again elevated, this time by the house made noodles. I will have that again, for sure. Son had the teres major steak, cooked as requested. He had that last time, and enjoyed it again on this visit. For dessert, we both had the lemon ricotta donuts - heaven on a plate - and espresso. The decor was lovely, the old Victorian inn was charming, the service was first rate, and the food was outstanding. We will return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very good value. Food was very well done . BYOB is an advantage. We will go back with pleasure

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Cute place and good service but food was average, which was disappointing given the high ratings (and prices are in the pricier side of reasonable) . The food sounded great and was presented well but flavors were not impressive - we wouldn't come back

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Blue Rose never disappoints. Creative delicious menu and attentive service. Will truly satisfy.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was one of those rare meals that resulted in a "don't leave this resort area until you've eaten here" meals. The fish, the veggies, the desserts, and the appetizers were top shelf at an exceptionally reasonable price. This is a Cap May "hidden gem".........hiding in plain sight.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. Everything was seriously delicious! Staff was so knowledgeable about everything. we had a great night here!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I had the buratta and pork papparelle. Both delicious. Wait staff was very knowledgeable and attentive. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.