About The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant

653 Washington St.
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a beautifully restored B&B and fine dining establishment. Our experienced on-site chef, Michael Keating, has developed a delicious, exquisite menu of mouthwatering appetizers and flavorful main courses. Enjoy our unique menu in an eloquent, sophisticated atmosphere that is the perfect backdrop to enjoy a formal dinner to celebrate a special evening with a loved one or close friend. We have two dining rooms, the larger of which may remind you of a state dining room on a luxury cruise liner. We hope you appreciate the care we've taken with every detail, from the cobalt blue candle holders to the blue rose stained glass.Our kitchen is completely from scratch, and we make all of our dishes with fresh ingredients with love, every single day. The Blue Rose is family owned and run, and when you visit us, you're part of the family.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open for Dinner Daily:
From 5pm

Cross Street:
Franklin St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 435-5468

Website:
http://www.blueroseinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Keating

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
For New Year's Eve, at the time of your reservation there will be a $50/person deposit that will be applied to your final bill. You have until noon on December 31, 2015 to cancel your reservation and get your deposit back.

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
9 More
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Contemporary American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

special occasion (56)
fit for foodies (51)
romantic (43)
See All
neighborhood gem (38)
great for outdoor dining (19)
good for groups (11)
great for brunch (10)
notable wine list (4)
scenic view (4)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were wonderful! Sat out ...

Dined a day ago

Food and service were wonderful! Sat outside on the porch which was lovely. Had the burrata and steak tartar for first course. Both delicious! Had scallops and cocoa crusted beef for main course. Absolutely amazing! Finished with a trio of sorbet/ice cream. Perfect ending to a perfect meal! Highly recommend! Server John was very knowledgable about the menu and very attentive!

food5
ambience5
service5

We first tried the Blue Rose last fall a ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We first tried the Blue Rose last fall as a result of the reviews I read on Open Table. It was an enjoyable lunch and so when we decided on the spur of the moment to drive down to Cape May this morning we made a return visit. It was a beautiful day to eat on their porch and the food was even better than I remembered. On Sunday they serve a fixed price 3 course brunch for $24. It's a bargain considering the interesting variety of choices for each course and the exceptional quality of the preparation. My wife had a brilliant gazpacho with pieces of watermelon in it for the first course while I had a delicious steak tartare. She had French toast and I had an omelet for the second round. Both quite good and creative. Neither of us had room for the third course (desert) and asked if we could take it with us. They boxed two lemon tarts with toasted meringue topping. Both made the trip home in good condition, one of the best lemon tarts I've ever had. I don't usually like a fixed price brunch because it's always more food than I want and is usually over priced, but the Blue Rose was better than a good value. It was a memorable experience thanks to our competent, friendly and attentive waitress and a fabulous kitchen.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was absolutely delicious. Portion siz ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was absolutely delicious. Portion sizes were perfect. Not too large that you get bored of the food but definitely enough that makes it worth it. Their garlic bread they start with is addictive!! We had the gnocchi to start which was good and unique. My boyfriend got the teres major which was out of those world. The cocoa and coffee run gave such a great flavor. I got the scallops over risotto. Scallops were cooked perfectly!! Overall great date night or special occasion. You can bring your own wine and the service is really great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous! Delightful! Delectable! Def ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous! Delightful! Delectable! Definitely going back. Service and meal outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Saturday, I had the special which w ...

Dined 5 days ago

This Saturday, I had the special which was mushroom tortellis with shaved, aged beef. It might have been one of the best dishes I have even eaten. Amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third time dining at The Bl ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was our third time dining at The Blue Rose. This time we brought our NYC family. Everyone was impressed from start to finish! I love that I can book online.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was a gem. Excellent attentio ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter was a gem. Excellent attention to details. We loved celebrating our 56th Anniversary at the Blue Rose.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything I ordered was delicious with ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Everything I ordered was delicious with the exception of my calamari appetizer which was very tender and would have been delicious if it had not been over salted. My scallop entree was excellent as was the bread. I did feel that everything was very favorable and almost needs to be balanced with less flavorful food. As good as the garlic, cheese bread was in its own, I would have preferred a high quality crusty plain roll or bread that did not clash with the flavors of the appetizer and entree. I do recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The ambiance ,decor and menu are great. ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The ambiance ,decor and menu are great. What lacks is the service . We were told that our table would be ready in 15 minutes but when we went into the dining area,there was only one other table there!! Not busy but service was slow. The place has great potential but needs to smooth out the small details. We ate there many years ago when it first opened and welcomed the opportunity to revisit. We hope the family smoothes out the small details and wish them success. The restaurant competition in Cape May is rather competitive so we wish them luck.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A lovely brunch ! Things on the menu ar ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

A lovely brunch ! Things on the menu are a bit different and even when they arrive, might not be what you were expecting, but they are delicious ! Give it a try and don't miss the doughnut for dessert !

food5
ambience4
service5

From start to finish, everything was ver ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

From start to finish, everything was very well done. We sat outside for a 5pm table. Service was great, food was even better! Will be back again some time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fit For Foodies This fit for foodies fi ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Fit For Foodies This fit for foodies five star fine dining restaurant is the perfect place to find the meals of your dreams. This multiple award winning gourmet restaurant is one of the state’s top rated restaurants year after year. The New York Times calls Cape May, “The restaurant capitol of New Jersey” and the “Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant” is consistently the best of them all. Their multiple awards winning Chef Michael Keating along with his Cracker Jack kitchen staff including Chef Angela and Chef Aaron who produces some of the best dishes found anywhere. The masterpieces we had in this beautifully restored Victorian well appointed Manson on this trip made our entire stay worth it. We started with appetizers of the soft creamy burrata and the soft shelled crab, my favorite. For main courses we had the sea fresh salmon and succulent day boat scallops with delicious and scrumptious risotto, yum. Dessert was a lemon meringue tart and strawberry Riesling sorbet, each very tasty. Along with our meal we had their elegant French press coffee, a real treat indeed. Our waitperson was Linsey who was the best, she was just terrific. She took care of our every need and made sure our wine glasses as well as our water glasses were always filled. The Inn manager Justin came by to make sure we were enjoying our evening with them, he is very special. When you visit, don’t forget to look at their brand new beautiful expansive full wall mural that just adds to the restaurants over the top ambiance and wonderful atmosphere. Their round cheesy bread they serve before your meal is totally addictive. They have a spectacular wrap round porch around the mansion where you may dine alfresco while watching the horse drawn carriages slowly trot by. They also have one of the best brunches on Sundays that you will ever partake of locally. I highly recommend that you try “The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant” if you want the best of the best meal around at the tip of New Jersey, Cape May.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect as always! Have dined several ti ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Perfect as always! Have dined several times here and always enjoy the entire meal ( appetizers, dinner, dessert, French press) as well as the beautiful presentation :)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely dinner. We took advantage of thei ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Lovely dinner. We took advantage of their early seating menu. Excellent value, delicious choices from the regular menu, full portions. Great service. Great food. Great ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Blue Rose didn't live up to the hype ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The Blue Rose didn't live up to the hype as the number 1 restaurant in Cape May. Although the food was good, but the menu was limited and off beat and not in an exceptional way. The server professed the steak to be tender but it was somewhat chewy.

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

my wife loved her steak, i appreciated t ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

my wife loved her steak, i appreciated the vegetarian option. though byob, we were able to purchase a bottle of wine from a local vineyard which we enjoyed. beautiful setting in victorian mansion. our server did "disappear" for a while, but otherwise, a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Not aware before we were seated that thi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Not aware before we were seated that this is a BYOB restaurant, like many in cape may. They do sell full bottles of wine from a local winery but not wine by the glass. Otherwise loved this restaurant and would return

food4
ambience5
service2
value4

An inefficient kitchen keeps this restau ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

An inefficient kitchen keeps this restaurant from being recommended, particularly considering the multiple restaurants in Cape May that do things right. It's a shame. The food is very good, the atmosphere lovely, and our server was very pleasant and attempted to accommodate. But for the second time in a row, the service was not good. The last time, it took forever. This time there also was a delay between courses (and the place was not crowded at all). Coffee was served lukewarm, although they did replace it with one that was hot. One couple got served, and the other couple was not served for another five minutes. This is just not acceptable in a high end restaurant where a lot of other restaurants nearby do have their act together.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

always good

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

This is our third year going to Blue Rose on our annual visit to Cape May. The food is still very good, and the place is quiet and serene. Surprisingly, the selection on the menu is pretty much the same as during our first visit three years ago. While consistency is important, we were hoping for a bit more variety this time around. Still, one of the best options in the historic section of Cape May.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming restaurant in a Victorian mansi ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Charming restaurant in a Victorian mansion in Cape May. Gourmet food, beautifully presented. Prices were very reasonable. BYOB.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Good food, dull atmosphere

Dined on June 5, 2016

Mike was our waiter and he was very knowledgeable and friendly. We just wish the dining room was updated and had more ambiance.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cape May Gem

Dined on May 30, 2016

Went here with the hubster during Memorial day weekend. This place is so close to all the quaint little shops on Washington Street Mall in Cape May. We were greeted warmly by the staff upon entering the inn. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and took great care of us. The food was absolutely exquisite! First off the bread they give you prior to your meal was ABSOLUTELY divine! It was warm, cheesy and flavorful. (I almost wanted to ask for seconds, but then I wouldn't have been able to finish off my main course.) Then we had the duck ravioli which was great. And for main course I had the Pan Seared Scallops over risotto. Words cannot describe how delicious it was. Everything was cooked to perfection!! I would definitely come back and refer my friends and family to this location. I hear they use local ingredients and they had an extensive local wine list as well. Definitely a beautiful gem in Cape May worth visiting!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Cape May Dining

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Over the Memorial Day weekend, my wife and I had dinner at the Blue Rose on a rainy night. The Restaurant/Inn is lovely and the server, Vince, was quite nice. My wife had the Calamari prepared GF which was a real treat and her Salmon was wonderful. My dinner included the Soft Shell appetizer with the Roast Pork Pappardelle which I enjoyed immensely. The service was very, very leisurely.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is a gem! I cannot say ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

This restaurant is a gem! I cannot say enough good things. The ambiance is wonderful it is beautifully decorated and we felt it was a relaxed yet elegant atmosphere. The service was impeccable. The food is fabulous. They use all local vendors so everything is fresh and jus amazingly tasty. We will definitely go back as soon as we can. Thank you for a wonderful experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Dinner for my wife's birthday in Cape May was meant to be special. And it was. Attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable staff; excellent menu selections, with everything made "from scratch"; pleasant ambiance; although a full house on a Saturday night, staggered scheduling of patrons at tables that were not on top of each other. The scallops, done to perfection (fresh from Barnegat!) and the mussels (from Narragansett) the best I've had since Prince Edward Island; the lemon tart, as light as can be. I have dined at several different locations in Cape May, and this was truly "the best" overall experience I have had over many years.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server, John, was very knowledgeable ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The server, John, was very knowledgeable and fun and provided excellent service. The ambience was warm, lovely and charming right down to the blue water glasses, martini glasses & beautiful chandeliers. The hostess was very engaging, friendly, welcoming and gracious. The owner visited our table to our delight sharing fun local stories and history . The food was superb and the fresh mint chocolate chip ice cream was over-the-top delicious. We returned the next night after a mediocre dinner elsewhere requesting a "never-been-done before" ice cream in the parlor--the staff delightedly and graciously indulged us!! A very special dining memory. . .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and delicious food. It ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food. It's a great byob near the Washington Street Mall. Had both brunch and dinner there. It's terrific.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

My daughter and I ate dinner here Saturd ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My daughter and I ate dinner here Saturday night. We were looking forward to our meal as the reviews here were so positive. I've never written a review before but we were both entirely disappointed with our meals so I felt I must. The setting is fine and our waiter was attentive. We we unable to eat our burrata appetizers. The texture was not right, like tough bread dough, and the taste was skunky as if the cheese was spoiled. The waiter offered us something else but we happily said we'd just enjoy our entrees. Maybe it was just us but the entrees just didn't taste good. I had scallops with risotto. The scallops were okay but the risotto was clumpy and had an odd taste. Same with my daughters agnolotti. Nothing distinguished either of the dishes except that they tasted horrible! We would try another bite and wonder just what was it we had in our mouths! It almost seemed we were served leftovers. We passed on dessert but ordered coffee. Again, the French press, which the waiter insisted on pressing and pouring, was cold and weak and see through. $5 for dishwater! Same for the cappuccino. I'm truly sorry to write such a bad review but 'locally sourced ingredients' doesn't mean anything if the food isn't well prepared. Perhaps we were there on a bad night but I could not recommend this restaurant to fellow foodies.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on May 12, 2016

My wife and I both like sea food. I had the tuna and my wife had the salmon. Both dishes were excellent. The appetizer and bread that was served before the meal were both delicious. Not only was the food good, the service was attentive and made us feel welcome. Even though it was a bit pricey, as it was fine dining, we would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual the pulled pork pappardelle was ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

As usual the pulled pork pappardelle was awesome. The donuts for dessert are well worth waiting the whole meal for. As always, service was impeccable.

food5
ambience5
service3

Dinning at The Blue Rose was an excellen ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dinning at The Blue Rose was an excellent experience. Great atmosphere and quiet dinning. Food was excellent, we would not hesitate and go back again.

food5
ambience4
service5

This was the second time we've been and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was the second time we've been and will return again. The food and service were wonderful. A nice inventive menu that changes with the seasons. While not inexpensive the BYO helps to keep the bill focused on food.

food5
ambience5
service5

We were amazed at the flavor of everyth ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were amazed at the flavor of everything we ordered. From the bread to the first course and then the second course. The scallop dish was by far the best I have ever had. I highly recommend this restaurant . You will not be disappointed! The service was also amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very satisfied customer

Dined on May 7, 2016

The experience, the food and service were outstanding. Once again the Blue Rose exceeded our expectations and made the evening a very memorable night. Our server Vinnie was knowledgeable with the menu and dinner specials and his recommendations were right on. The bread was outstanding. From our reception upon arrival until we exited the place we couldn't have asked for more. Thank You Blue Rose for an exceptional anniversary dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Food spectacular. Service outstanding. Cape May has many wonderful restaurants. The Blue Rose tops them all. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Rose Inn is Fantastic

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great personal service. A fun, eclectic menu and great tasting food. What's not to like? It's obvious that everyone at the Blue Rose Inn puts their all into seeing that you have a great dining experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Makes your tastebuds sing!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Had dinner here with friend the weekend of the Jazz Festival. The food really makes your tastebuds sing! We had the burrata and calamari as appetizers and both had the Teres Major as a main course. All were excellent! The composition and combination of spices and ingredients were unique. The atmosphere is romantic and the waitstaff was excellent. It's a BYOB, but they have a very nice selection of wines from the local Hawks Cay Winery available. We had the Merlot and it was very good. Cape May is a very expensive place to dine but the Blue Rose Inn was definitely worth it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best! a new favorite

Dined on April 23, 2016

Always, always, always an excellent experience all the way around. Creative dishes, prepared perfectly. wonderful environment, friendly and engaging staff and service. such a fantastic meal. The chicken dish was outstanding, as were the scallops, beef, all the appetizers and deserts.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 16, 2016

We came to stay at The Blue Rose Inn for a short weekend away. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, there is nothing negative we can say about the restaurant or the inn. Justin and Sara were very accommodating as well as other staff. The food was unique and different and very good. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice once again

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

This was our third time dining at the Blue Rose in the past year and it was lovely yet again. Nice and quiet on a Friday night in April. Salmon entree was delicious, as was the burratta appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.