About The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant

653 Washington St.
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a beautifully restored B&B and fine dining establishment. Our experienced on-site chef, Michael Keating, has developed a delicious, exquisite menu of mouthwatering appetizers and flavorful main courses. Enjoy our unique menu in an eloquent, sophisticated atmosphere that is the perfect backdrop to enjoy a formal dinner to celebrate a special evening with a loved one or close friend. We have two dining rooms, the larger of which may remind you of a state dining room on a luxury cruise liner. We hope you appreciate the care we've taken with every detail, from the cobalt blue candle holders to the blue rose stained glass.Our kitchen is completely from scratch, and we make all of our dishes with fresh ingredients with love, every single day. The Blue Rose is family owned and run, and when you visit us, you're part of the family.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open for Dinner Daily:
From 5pm

Cross Street:
Franklin St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 435-5468

Website:
http://www.blueroseinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Keating

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
For New Year's Eve, at the time of your reservation there will be a $50/person deposit that will be applied to your final bill. You have until noon on December 31, 2015 to cancel your reservation and get your deposit back.

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Contemporary American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
3 More
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
Contemporary American
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

Fit for Foodies (85)
Special Occasion (85)
Romantic (76)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Historic (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Scenic View (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ilovethisplace, everything was exceptio ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Ilovethisplace, everything was exceptional. Thefoodwasamazing, the service was wonderful. I Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food is remarkable overall, but they ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

the food is remarkable overall, but they make the best ice cream I have ever eaten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed, we had gone the ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was very disappointed, we had gone there last year and had an ok meal, but after reading the reviews, we gave it another try, again very disappointed in the food, salmon over cooked no flavor, the duck appetizers pasta way to undercooked and like our pasta eldante. Only good thing was our waiter, he was great. With all the great restaurants in Cape May, I'm shock this one gets such good reviews

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Lovely restaurant in beautiful, historic ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Lovely restaurant in beautiful, historic Cape May. Excellent food and very good service.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious! Every bite was so fl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was delicious! Every bite was so flavorful! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding dinner and overall ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had an outstanding dinner and overall experience. The setting is romantic and low key , the service stellar in every way and the food was excellent. Whenever we have visitors In town we always take them here as it is such a great experience every time.

We especially enjoy the calamari salad the salmon and the pork dish but every thing is terrific. The desserts are also extraordinary. They have retained their wait staff for a number of years which is unusual in a very positive way and they always remember us and give great advice on the menu items.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first course and entree were pretty g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My first course and entree were pretty good; my wife's somewhat less so. A good restaurant but not a great one.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It happened to be an incredibly hot and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

It happened to be an incredibly hot and humid night so even the AC dining area was warm. That was the only issue. The bread was great. My husband and I enjoyed the rest of our dinner: mussels, monk fish, pork pappardelle. No room for dessert other than cappuccino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurant was described by the wait ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The restaurant was described by the waiter as a "scratch kitchen". Everything was prepared on the premises including the pasta. Our meals were fine but not wonderful. My husband was very disappointed with the homemade burata.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This place needs to be redone - very dat ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This place needs to be redone - very dated and I don't mean vintage - vintage would have been wonderful, but it feels like the last time this place was updated was in the 70's. Stained carpeting - not inviting. Food was OK, and they tried very hard to let you know how everything is made from scratch, etc., etc., however, despite things being made to order this place just didn't pull it off. Not a place we would return to or recommend unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The food was good, not excellent. The a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food was good, not excellent. The appetizers were nothing but average. I had the calamari grilled, and it tasted burnt. My husband had the soft shell crab, and it was deep fried as if it would be in any other Jersey shore restaurant. As our main mead, we both ordered the sea scallops, which was very good. Not excellent, but very good. I don't feel they should be rated #1 in Cape May on Trip Advisor at all. Maybe we hit a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent service, great food and wonder ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent service, great food and wonderful ambience. A definitely must go if you are in Cape May!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I vacationed in Cape May ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

My husband and I vacationed in Cape May two years ago and went to this place and immediately had this on our list to return once we went back to Cape May. The food is creative and delicious and beautifully prepared. Great atmosphere. Excellent wait staff.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second time here. Food and service ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Our second time here. Food and service just as outstanding as the first visit. Pricey - just like the other high quality places in Cape May - but IMO a bit more special. Check out the menu. There's not a bad dish there. This time around I had the pork pappardelle; just enough spice. My wife's Scottish salmon was perfectly cooked. Chocolate Gelato was chocolatey with a capital C, and I recommend the goat cheese cheesecake.

Take the best bottle(s) of wine you can. This food deserves it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although pricey, we loved the food and p ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Although pricey, we loved the food and presentation here. Everything we ordered, from the appetizers to desert was tastey.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I love the Blue Rose Inn. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

My husband and I love the Blue Rose Inn. The food is outstanding and the service is impeccable.

They take great care to make everyone feel very welcome and at home, including my 1 year old daughter. The porch is beautiful and we really enjoy it there. Michael has been our server the last 3 times we have dined at the Blue Rose and he is really wonderful. He has a passion for food and his job and is great at making recommendations. The food is outstanding. Every dish that I've had has been delicious and the specials are very creative. I really don't have a bad thing to say about this restaurant. Side note- It's BYOB.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While everything we ordered was deliciou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

While everything we ordered was delicious, the scallops were a standout. So sweet and cooked perfectly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was spectacular - the food wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Everything was spectacular - the food was delicious, the ambience, the service. Loved it. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful dinner! Well-prepare ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

What a wonderful dinner! Well-prepared and creative dishes, plus the service was superb. I don't want to rave about any one appetizer or entree, because the menu changes, but know that if you go you will have an outstanding dining experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat on porch which was lovely. Servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We sat on porch which was lovely. Service and food exceptional. Highly recommend. Keep in mind it is a BYOB.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A new gem for me in Cape May.. Excellent ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

A new gem for me in Cape May..

Excellent service and creative food. Will be back next year for sure.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were pleasantly surprised by our meal ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by our meal . Staff was very friendly and professional. Porch dining was nice as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal- cannot wait to return!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Wonderful meal- cannot wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was very attentive & professional. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Staff was very attentive & professional. Food was outstanding. Everything we ordered was as described. We stayed at the inn, as well. Breakfast was included in our stay. Delicious. The dining on the porch just completed the experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Haven't had a dining experience this goo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Haven't had a dining experience this good in a long time! My best friend and our husbands went last Friday night. Our waiter Michael set the tone for our Blue Rose experience...he described each dish with such detail and left us wanting to try them all!. We each had something different and every dish was a winner! I had the softshell crab appetizer and the scallops- two of the most creative dishes I've ever tried. The crab was on a crumpet with an amazing tomato jam. The scallops were perfectly grilled on a bed of creamy rissoto. All our delicious were equally succulent. A standout was the lemony ricotta donuts...oh my!!!!! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Blue Rose Inn has become a must visi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The Blue Rose Inn has become a must visit each time my wife and I come to Cape May. From the food to the service to the beautifully decorated Victorian architecture, the attention to detail is present everywhere here. While the menu may be limited with only a few items in each the first and second courses, they are prepared beautifully and deliciously using fresh local ingredients that are also seasonal.

The wait staff are all highly knowledgable of the dishes and how they are prepared as well as happy to answer any questions you may have.

The last time we dined at Blue Rose my wife had the softshell crab with pork belly appetizer that was simply amazing. For an entree she had the Bell and Evans chicken. I didn't try the chicken but was told it was terrific.

I had the mussels appetizer which just might be the best mussels I've ever had in my life. I know I know they're just mussels but once you've had them at Blue Rose you'll never want to order them anyplace else as they will never live up to BRI's. Trust me.

For my entree I had the pork shoulder pappardelle. The pasta was cooked with the most delicious smoked pork perfectly mixed with just the right amount of marscapone sauce. It was surprisingly light considering its pasta with a sauce containing cheese. Thinking of it now makes my mouth water.

For dessert we shared the donuts. Just delicious. They're light and warm and sprinkled with cinamon sugar. The lemon in the donut mixed with the coffee ice cream make it the perfect dessert. It's one indulgent that won't make you feel guilty.

Overall, I'd highly recommend dining at the Blue Rose Inn. Just the perfect Cape May restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful accommodation for food allergi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Wonderful accommodation for food allergies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great unique food! Outside seating. Frie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great unique food! Outside seating. Friendly staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here twice now and loved it bo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Have been here twice now and loved it both times. It's in a beautiful house, very comfortable and welcoming. The service was friendly,vefficient and helpful. They seem to take pride in their restaurant and their work. The food was creative (but not too unusual), fresh and absolutely delicious. Even the bread is creative, with oil, cheers, and herbs in the center. Their homemade ice cream had creative delicious flavored, like honey thyme, strawberry basil sorbet, and best of all ginger peach sorbet. It is a BYO, so that helps keep the price reasonable. (I think they do sell bottles of a local wine, so if you forget wine, you are not out of luck).

Loved our dinners at the Blue Rose, can't wait to go back to Cape May and return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal. Love that the menu ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Always a great meal. Love that the menu changes and has specials. Top restaurant on the cape.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Blue Rose for Sunday brunch with ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went to Blue Rose for Sunday brunch with a family of 4. Sat out on their side porch, which was lovely. The food was very good and creative overall and they clearly take love and care with the menu. My only complaint is that the french toast very dense and heavy. Please don't go here if you have less than a few hours to pass! We were there for over 2 hours and while the servers were very attentive, this just felt like too drawn out. I would also say that it's not a place for young kids (which I should have researched in advance). While everyone was friendly and welcoming to our 6 and 8 year old, it wasn't a family kind of place. The waiter filled the very tall and delicate wine glasses very full of water for my kids (a disaster waiting to happen!) and the sorbet, which they both ordered, was flavored with a very strong Riesling. I may return, but without the kids, and maybe for a long leisurely lunch with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent eclectic menu with great servi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent eclectic menu with great service. Sat on the side porch and enjoyed an lovely evening.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at The Blue Rose ranks among th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food at The Blue Rose ranks among the best in Cape May. It does not get the attention this restaurant deserves. The appetizer of duck confit and sunchoke ravioli is worth getting a double order of for dinner. The décor is very Victorian but the food is very creative and modern.

Bring good wine it is worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was innovative, original and delici ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was innovative, original and delicious. Presentation was beautiful. One of the best fine dining experiences in Cape May. They only serve wine from a local vineyard - which is very good. You can bring your own bottle if you want and they will open it for you. Well worth checking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Visited for dinner on a Thursday evening ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Visited for dinner on a Thursday evening to celebrate a wedding anniversary while on vacation. We decided to try this place based on reviews. We had tried many of the other Cape May fine dinning places so based on reviews and online - we were expecting a similar experience as to the other places in the area. While Blue Rose is good it just doesn't compare to the other fine dinning places in Cape May. There is no valet parking so it took us over 15 minutes to fine a spot. This is a BYOB so we brought wine and while our wives were waiting for us to fine a spot they asked if they would take the wine and bring it to our table; which is something many of the fine dinning places in the area (and most areas) will do - but they said "no". The appetizers were ok with half the party liking them and the other half not liking their choices at all. The food is good and nicely prepared. The service and overall experience is what it lacks. If you never visiting the other top places in Cape May I would say this was a good place but I don't see the reason to visit this restaurant again - especially when Washington Inn is just right down the street and consistently hits high on all marks.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome from start to finish. The summer ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Awesome from start to finish. The summer gazpacho was a unique surprise of flavors and was tremendous. The scallops were fantastic especially because of the bed of risotto they were served on. The ricotta donuts for dessert as usual were fabulous. To top it all off, our server, Michael, was his usual cut above excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service (John); excellent food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent service (John); excellent food. Hidden gem in Cape May!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We make it a point to eat at this restau ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We make it a point to eat at this restaurant every time we are in Cape May. The food is consistently excellent as is the service.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for Sunday Brunch and it was not yo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went for Sunday Brunch and it was not your usual buffet style. You ordered off a menu for a first, second and desert courses. I say each was wonderful and overall a great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything was wonderful however the air ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was wonderful however the air conditioning was not sufficient which detracted from the evening a bit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.