Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 22 times today

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant

4.6
778 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
  • Fit for Foodies
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a beautifully restored B&B and fine dining establishment. Our experienced on-site chef, Michael Keating, has developed a delicious, exquisite menu of mouthwatering appetizers and flavorful main courses. Enjoy our unique menu in an eloquent, sophisticated atmosphere that is the perfect backdrop to enjoy a formal dinner to celebrate a special evening with a loved one or close friend. We have two dining rooms, the larger of which may remind you of a state dining room on a luxury cruise liner. We hope you appreciate the care we've taken with every detail, from the cobalt blue candle holders to the blue rose stained glass.Our kitchen is completely from scratch, and we make all of our dishes with fresh ingredients with love, every single day. The Blue Rose is family owned and run, and when you visit us, you're part of the family.

We look forward to seeing you soon!
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon, Thu–Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(609) 435-5468
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Keating
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Franklin St
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For New Year's Eve, at the time of your reservation there will be a $50/person deposit that will be applied to your final bill. You have until noon on December 31, 2015 to cancel your reservation and get your deposit back.
Additional
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 778 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Nothing ordinary about the food at the Blue Rose. Always creative and and fresh, every dish is presented beautifully. The seared sea scallops were succulent, delicious and cooked to perfection. My husband enjoyed the ahi tuna. The desserts were off the charts, out of this world delectable!! The lemon ricotta donuts are a must, along with the French press coffee. Our server, Laura was wonderful, paying attention to detail and very pleasant. High quality food and service, the Blue Rose is a 5 star restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Delicious, well presented food. Good service. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The Blue Rose is the most underrated restaurant in Cape May! We have a lot of fine dining, but for some reason the Blue Rose doesn't get the attention that the others do. The service is always impeccable and if the weather is nice it is lovely to have the option of sitting on the porch. Always impressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The Blue Rose continues to be my favorite local restaurant. The food and service are always top notch, and we enjoy being welcomed so warmly by the owners and staff. The menu is pleasing not only pleasing to the palate but to the eye as each dish is being served.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I love this restaurant. Food and service are excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Absolutely wonderful restaurant, not only is the food superb the service is outstanding. I can’t say enough about our dining experience. Will definitely be going back. We love the restaurants in cape May & the blue rose is top of the list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The blue Rose never disappoints. The food and service were outstanding. we make it a point to eat here whenever we visit Cape May. The bread is excellent and the food is always prepared just the way you request it to be.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Duck confit ravioli was excellent. Very attentive staff. Nice Victorian atmosphere. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Amazing! We loved everything and left full and happy!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

WE had a Fabulous Anniversary dinner with our son and daughter-in-law and our good friends. the service was great and the food delicious. The tasting menu was enjoyed by a few of us as well. the chocolate soufflé and the donuts were decadent.

We were quite loud and the restaurant strategically placed us in a private room with another lively table.

Great time!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Limited menu, service great, would probably return

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

great meal and while it is still off season (and quiet) we were not given a good table (weird)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Our meal was delicious. From the cheesy bread brought to the table, the appetizer, main dish, and dessert... it was incredibly tasty! So happy we made the trip from Atlantic City to have dinner at The Blue Rose. It was worth it! We had the whole place to ourselves this night because it was definitely the off season in Cape May. That’s totally fine, though. It was peaceful and delicious and the Victorian ambiance couldn’t have been sweeter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

A quaint cozy feel. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food excellent. I’d recommend the pork pappardelle! Oh, and the soufflé!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

My college friend and I come to Cape May every year to 'catch up'. We always come here for dinner and will continue. The best restaurant in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food, made to order!! Our server was very knowledgeable about the dishes and preparations. We had late reservations, 7:45 pm, but had a wonderful dinner and were not rushed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The Blue Rose was an excellent experience. The service was outstanding and wish my wife and I a happy anniversary throughout the night. The food is very unique and delicious which is exactly what we were looking for in our weekend getaway. This place is a must-do while in Cape May.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Our meals were fabulous from start to finish!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Outstanding food and excellent service. It was ad the best meal we had in Cape May.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Delightful experience! Ambiance perfect!
Food extraordinary and delicious. Service was professional, informative and attentive to our needs. Very enjoyable Easter Dinner. Will definately return!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Always great food and service...........duck ravs are really good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We celebrated the second Passover seder at The Blue Rose. Everything was exquisite, from the servers, to the setting, to the owner, and most especially the delicious, creative, flavorful food.
10/10 would eat again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

What a wonderful gem of a restaurant in our favorite place Cape May. We enjoyed the exquisite food and everything!
Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable, the staff made us feel very welcome!
We will be back. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

This was our first time here. They start you off with a boule dressed with gruyere. Very good, but greasy. I would have liked a wet one or paper napkin while enjoying this. My husband had Seared Steak Tartare (16) with Pickled Cucumber Salad, Toasted Brioche, Shallot Confit, Cabernet Reduction as his appetizer. For dinner he ordered the Surf and turf special ( sea scallops and Teres Major).He enjoyed both dishes. I had the Spiced Parsnip Bisque (12)with Gougere, Toasted Almonds, Compressed Cortland Apples, Candied Orange and Butternut Squash Agnolotti (28) with Duck‎ Prosciutto, Toasted Hazelnuts, Hazelnut Froth, Gooseberries, Chanterelles . Both dishes were very good. Truthfully I would have preferred less garnish with the soup. By itself it was delicious. Just the gougere would have been enough for me as the garnish. We would recommend this restaurant and will go back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Food was great. I got the chefs tasting menu with the duck raviolis and sliced steak. My only complaint was it was a bit loud in there but other than that it was top notch. Try the cinnamon doughnuts for dessert

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We had a wonderful time re-connecting with friends. The atmosphere is great, cozy and comfortable. Service is attentive and very professional. The owner/host was gracious and welcoming.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Had a life changing dining experience at this beautiful establishment on our Honeymoon.
Chef’s Tasting is the way to go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

A diamond in the rough. We had a lovely meal here, everything was presented beautifully, food was exceptional for a beach town, remember it is BYOB.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Though the atmosphere is very Victorian the food is certainly not. We have been here many times, and the quality of the food is always outstanding. The service always match's the food .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Best meal I can remember having in a very long time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

I read reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. We went for my husband's birthday and found the food to be delicious and creative and the staff and owner very attentive. A real gem with a lovely calming atmosphere given the soothing blue decor. We will go back with friends over the summer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The food was superb, the ambiance delightful and the staff attentive and gracious. This is our favorite restaurant in Cape May. It is BYOB so bring your favorite wine to compliment your meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

I am not sure what was better, the food or our service. I have been to many Cape May restaurants and I have a great appreciation for the many amazing places to dine. This was my first time visiting The Blue Rose. I certainly can see why it was one of the top rated - We will definitely be returning for another beautiful dinner. I would definitely recommend the Blue Rose for elegant food and great ambiance. My husband and I really enjoyed a fine dinner without our children -- dessert was my favorite part (the Chocolate Souffle).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

My wife and I decided to dine at the Blue Rose largely based on the excellent reviews. Unfortunately, our experience did not meet our expectations. Our server was skilled in her detailed explanation of the creative menu, but the remainder of the service was inconsistent and very slow. Although the poached pear salad and smoked burrata appetizers were excellent, the excessive sweetness of the apple cider gastrique on the sea scallop entree with sausage risotto ruined an otherwise lovely dish. Similarly, a heavy hand with the ancho chiles overpowered an otherwise delicious roasted pork pappardelle entree. We enjoyed the lemon riccota donuts for dessert, however we would have ordered the signature chocolate souffle if we had been previously informed that it took 25 minutes to prepare. Overall, an inconsistent and disappointing experience considering all the hype.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Great food. Portions could be a tad bigger

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Been here several times and each time the food cannot be beaten. Phenomenal chef!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Very nice would definitely dine again.. Very friendly staff.. Unique dinner experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

We have eaten here many times and it has always been a delicious meal. We keep coming back. I always feels special when we eat there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

What an exceptional dining experience! Everything was outstanding from the ambiance, to the food, to the service (Alex is the best!) - we were there for 2.5 hours and could have stayed longer and just kept eating! :) The seasonal menu was extraordinary and everything is made from scratch. I also really appreciated the BYOB aspect, so we could put a little more of our $ towards enjoying dessert, which we absolutely did.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20