About The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant

653 Washington St.
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a beautifully restored B&B and fine dining establishment. Our experienced on-site chef, Michael Keating, has developed a delicious, exquisite menu of mouthwatering appetizers and flavorful main courses. Enjoy our unique menu in an eloquent, sophisticated atmosphere that is the perfect backdrop to enjoy a formal dinner to celebrate a special evening with a loved one or close friend. We have two dining rooms, the larger of which may remind you of a state dining room on a luxury cruise liner. We hope you appreciate the care we've taken with every detail, from the cobalt blue candle holders to the blue rose stained glass.Our kitchen is completely from scratch, and we make all of our dishes with fresh ingredients with love, every single day. The Blue Rose is family owned and run, and when you visit us, you're part of the family.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Friday & Saturday:
From 5pm

Cross Street:
Franklin St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 435-5468

Website:
http://www.blueroseinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Keating

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For New Year's Eve, at the time of your reservation there will be a $50/person deposit that will be applied to your final bill. You have until noon on December 31, 2015 to cancel your reservation and get your deposit back.

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
2 More
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Contemporary American
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (39)
Creative Cuisine (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Local Ingredients (22)
Cozy (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Historic (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Authentic (11)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Over-priced. Service was awkward. Not s ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Over-priced. Service was awkward. Not sure why they were so "focused" on removing bread from the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Another jewel in the Cape May crown. Foo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Another jewel in the Cape May crown. Food is fabulous as are surroundings and staff. Most impressive

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Rose Inn was a delightful dinin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Blue Rose Inn was a delightful dining experience. The waitstaff was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The menu was interesting, varied, and the food was high-quality and delicious. It seemed that a lot of care was put into the ingredients and preparation. There were many enticing options, which made it difficult to choose. The duck ravioli appetizer was wonderful and my husband's chicken with root vegetables was one of the most moist and tender he's ever had. The restaurant itself lives up to it's name; many "blue" touches, from lighting to artwork to water glasses. Dimmer lighting, however, would enhance the overall ambience, which is nice. It is a restaurant that we would eagerly return to.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We have eaten at the Blue Rose Inn Resta ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have eaten at the Blue Rose Inn Restaurant several times and have enjoyed each and every time. The food is fabulous as is the environment and everyone who works at the Blue Rose Inn. We always make sure we come here for a dinner every time we travel to Cape May.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner and great service. An a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fabulous dinner and great service. An awesome value for your money! So good that my husband and I will be returning again next year!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food , friendly staff , relaxed and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food , friendly staff , relaxed and enjoyable evening. Food is local, farm to table, prepared fresh as ordered. Will definitely return

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice people in every job. Waitress ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Very nice people in every job. Waitress was very knowledgeable of each dish. The menu was a little confusing but waitress gave us very good explanations. Food: very good to excellent. The room is a nice quiet room as well. We will definitely keep it on our list for Cape May restaurants.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable dinner. Our evening at the Bl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Enjoyable dinner. Our evening at the Blue Rose was very nice. We each had two courses and dessert. The food was excellent and the service was good too. I would definitely go back and guests should know to bring their own wine.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual, very satisfied. Loved everyth ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

As usual, very satisfied. Loved everything. 5 of us each got a different entre and all loved it. Spot on. Only small complaint is our server did not make much suggestion or enlighten us on the menu choices but another came over and gave us a full description of how each was prepared, that was do helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Again this was a very delightful dinner. ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Again this was a very delightful dinner. We are always impressed with dinner and it was delicious too. The head chef comes out to greet and make sure everyone is ok and everything was delicious. Our waiter was very good and others came to greet us too because we have been back so many times. We love this place number one for us!!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. They have an ear ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was amazing. They have an early evening prefix, but we ordered from the menu. Some of the best we have had in Cape May. There are two small dining rooms (the restaurant is in the first floor of an old Victorian B & B), and we dinned in the smaller one right off the entry lobby. This room's decor is a little more contemporary, while the other dining room is more Victorian with lace curtains.

The restaurant can become noisy when at full capacity, but the food is well worth the minor annoyance.

This is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. BYO, but they serve Hawk Haven wines, a local winery.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fine in all aspects, especially with the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fine in all aspects, especially with the early-dining menu option and its being a BYOB.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal... staff was amazing and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful meal... staff was amazing and dining room was beautiful. Look forward to having dinner there again soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. Ordered Long Island ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was very good. Ordered Long Island Duck Confit & Sunchoke Ravioli; Roasted Pork Pappardelle Coffee & Cocoa Crusted Teres Major Steak; Scottish Salmon; Bell & Evans Chicken Roulade. Staff were extremely friendly, courteous, and attentive. Steak was a little tough but the experience overall was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, although it was off seaso ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service, although it was off season and lovely atmosphere. We enjoyed our meals and wine (BYOB) and never felt rushed. If you eat a lot of meat, there's lots to choose from. Their signature dish, scallops was delicious, but had sausage in the risotto. It was the only seafood dish. Not much for vegetarians, unfortunately. We may go back if they offer more seafood without meat included in the dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Every bite of our food was fresh and del ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Every bite of our food was fresh and delicious! You can tell the care the chef and staff take to make sure the meal is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our first Visit to the Blue Rose, it was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Our first Visit to the Blue Rose, it was fantastic. Quiet, relaxed and comfortable even with a full house. We wanted everything on the menu, and the dishes we decided on were out of this world good. Our server was knowledgeable, attentive, an professional. I already have some fantastic bottles picked for our next visit, this is certainly a BYOB deserving of the best in your cellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant and we had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

First time at this restaurant and we had an amazing experience. The décor is so pretty and the ambiance is romantic and cozy. . The lemon ricotta donuts are a must for dessert!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely! Food and service where outstand ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Lovely! Food and service where outstanding. The restaurant is housed in a historic Cape May feel type of home... The menu offered so many varied and tasty sounding dishes, we are already talking about going back. We have owned a summer home in CM for 18 years; the Blue Rose Inn Restuarant is now at the top of our list.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food with some really unique ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Really good food with some really unique items on the menu. The service was great... its Byob ..so pick up some wine on the way

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

What a wonderful place - the service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

What a wonderful place - the service was fantastic (Thanks, Justin!) and the food was interesting, different and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We picked the Blue Rose for our special ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We picked the Blue Rose for our special occasion and were not disappointed! The menu offerings were unique and our food was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I spent the weekend in Ca ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband and I spent the weekend in Cape May and wanted a special place for dinner. We found the reviews to be very helpful and the menu quite appealing. We were pleasantly surprised with the all around quality of service and food. We would highly recommend the Blue Rose to anyone wishing to have a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been walking past The Blue Rose ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We have been walking past The Blue Rose while in Cape May for many years and it would always smell delectable . We are so happy that we finally made dinner reservations, we waited far too long. Ambiance was fantastic, service was outstanding and food was fabulous. The scallops were best we have ever had. We will be back. Don't miss this gem when you are in Cape May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you come to Cape May you must eat her ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

If you come to Cape May you must eat here, no doubt about it. The New York Times calls this town “The Restaurant Capitol of New Jersey” for a good reason with all the excellent fine dining restaurants here. You must eat here at this beautifully restored Victorian Mansion\Inn if you want to have the best of the best at The Cape. We both have been coming here since we were young and still enjoy our stays here and in town just as we did way back then. We always come here for our anniversary and this year it was our 43rd. They also offer a three course brunch on Sundays that you order off an actual menu and that had become the talk of the town. They also provide an early bird, again a three course option that you pick from a menu at a low fixed price. Expect to have Fantastic Justin, Sarah, Joan or Tom help you while you are there, they are really great to talk to about the town, what to do, where to go and what’s going on in town at that time. If you are a foodie, you should not miss eating here, it’s a must. Go to enjoy everything as it will be an experience you will be glad you had while at the tip of New Jersey. They are also a BYO, but you can get local wines there from The Hawk Haven Winery that are available in the restaurant and are very good. The service here is pleasant, friendly, and knowledgeable as the wait-staff is top notch lead by Fantastic Justin, their wait staff stays and is basically the same every year adding to your enjoyment as you get to know them and they get to know you. Professional John waited on us this time and described everything in great detail as he always does. He brought us their addictive cheesy bread fresh made by their amazing pastry\bakery Chef Angela. Make a reservation just to be safe. Their award winning Chef Michael Keating and his Cracker Jack team put out outstanding meals from scratch using locally sourced ingredients, so expect to relax and have a leisurely meal of exquisite fine dining to remember for a long time.

Tags: Healthy, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second time dining at Blue R ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

This is our second time dining at Blue Rose and it is truly a lovely experience. The food is outstanding together with the service and ambiance. I am sure you will not be disappointed with this five star restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner! Worth every penny and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Wonderful dinner! Worth every penny and we still walked out feeling like we we should have paid so much more for the quality. Our server Michael was quite knowledgeable and lovely to talk to. The food is just amazing and we are already taking about coming back again. The duck confit ravioli appetizer and the scallops with apple gastric risotto for dinner were two parts worth mentioning, we couldn't stop talking about either

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last year was our first time at the blue ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Last year was our first time at the blue rose. We enjoyed it so much that we had to do it again while spending some time in cape may. It did not disappoint. Once again the service, food and ambience was on point. Loved it.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Truly delicious dinner. Highly recommend ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Truly delicious dinner. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blue Rose is a wonderful restaurant with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Blue Rose is a wonderful restaurant with great service & delicious food. Amazing gazpacho - don't miss it. Lemon ricotta donuts, fried chicken & grits = a brunch to remember.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had brunch at the Blue Rose to celebr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had brunch at the Blue Rose to celebrate our anniversary. We sat on the porch of this beautiful Victorian. There was plenty of room and a lovely view of Washington St.

Brunch consisted of three delicious courses and delightful french pressed coffee. We brought our own champagne. The service was excellent. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious! We had the beef and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was delicious! We had the beef and the scallops. They were both excellent. They serve a local wine which was OK but it would be better to bring you own wine!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the pleasure of dining here on Fr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We had the pleasure of dining here on Friday night, September 23. We sat outside on this beautiful night. John our server was fantastic and the food was absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a table on the porch and it was a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We had a table on the porch and it was a perfect night. The food was exquisite. The chef really knows how to make a plate look and taste delicious. From the appetizer to dessert, and including service, it was wonderful.

This was our first trip, but it won't be the last.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is a reason this is the top-rated ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

There is a reason this is the top-rated restaurant in Cape May. Food was excellent, service was attentive and friendly (the chef's father is the maitre'd). They have really done a great job with this, after just two years. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Ilovethisplace, everything was exceptio ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Ilovethisplace, everything was exceptional. Thefoodwasamazing, the service was wonderful. I Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant REALLY surprised my wife ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 20, 2016

This restaurant REALLY surprised my wife and I! We eat out at lot of nice restaurants all over the world. For ahn appetizer I could not resist the duck confit ravioli which really surprised me as it was cooked perfectly. For my entrée I had the Scottish salmon which had a lot of flavor and really impressed me. My wife had the short ribs which were perfectly cooked with great flavor and so nice and tender. For dessert we shared their homemade donuts with a coffee cardamom ice cream which was delicious! This is a BYOB restaurant and we had a wonderful bottle of Keenen reserve cabernet with this meal. I have been coming to the NJ shore for a long time but this is now my favorite restaurant in Cape May! I would also like to note our waiter did a fantastic job of describing the food on the menu and was very attentive to making this a very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

the food is remarkable overall, but they ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

the food is remarkable overall, but they make the best ice cream I have ever eaten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed, we had gone the ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was very disappointed, we had gone there last year and had an ok meal, but after reading the reviews, we gave it another try, again very disappointed in the food, salmon over cooked no flavor, the duck appetizers pasta way to undercooked and like our pasta eldante. Only good thing was our waiter, he was great. With all the great restaurants in Cape May, I'm shock this one gets such good reviews

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Lovely restaurant in beautiful, historic ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Lovely restaurant in beautiful, historic Cape May. Excellent food and very good service.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.