Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a beautifully restored B&B and fine dining establishment. Our experienced on-site chef, Michael Keating, has developed a delicious, exquisite menu of mouthwatering appetizers and flavorful main courses. Enjoy our unique menu in an eloquent, sophisticated atmosphere that is the perfect backdrop to enjoy a formal dinner to celebrate a special evening with a loved one or close friend. We have two dining rooms, the larger of which may remind you of a state dining room on a luxury cruise liner. We hope you appreciate the care we've taken with every detail, from the cobalt blue candle holders to the blue rose stained glass.Our kitchen is completely from scratch, and we make all of our dishes with fresh ingredients with love, every single day. The Blue Rose is family owned and run, and when you visit us, you're part of the family.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

653 Washington St.
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours:
Thursday - Sunday, from 5pm

Cross Street:
Franklin St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 435-5468

Website:
http://www.blueroseinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Keating

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For New Year's Eve, at the time of your reservation there will be a $50/person deposit that will be applied to your final bill. You have until noon on December 31, 2015 to cancel your reservation and get your deposit back.

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (15)
See All
Quiet Conversation (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (13)
Historic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Cozy (4)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
551 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was creative and delicious and the service was attentive. We will definitely go back again to The Blue Rose Inn.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Read the reviews of The Blue Rose Inn and decided that it would be a special place for our anniversary dinner during our Cape May long weekend. The meal was exquisite, the service was excellent, Victorian Inn ambience with leather and oak in the center of town, and a BYOB ! I do not think you will be disappointed plus the desserts were great also,

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The Blue Rose Inn was a first time experience for my wife and I. We've never had the opportunity of dining at an upscale restaurant like this. The atmosphere is quiet, calm, and intimate. The service is very friendly and informative on all their menu items. The quality, freshness, and taste of the food was phenomenal! It was a wonderful first time experience of high quality food and wait staff. I would highly recommend this restaurant, as well as their Bed and Breakfast experience to anyone looking for a nice getaway in the beautiful town of Cape May, NJ. It made for a wonderful 5 year anniversary celebration for my wife and I.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Interesting food. Great ambiance. Decent price

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I found the chef Arron's food out standing and the wait staff, well organized and personable. The pork butt was outstanding and Seem all the dishes on the menu are a can't miss.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

One of our go to places in Cape May! Great food, excellent service, and reasonably priced. Great atmosphere in a Victorian B&B.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Blue Rose is always a good experience. The food and service are outstanding.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Expensive, good service, food is different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

There were six of us having dinner, so we got to sample several menu items. The duck and sunchoke ravioli was outstanding as always. Two other's in our party ordered it and both wished it was a dinner selection and not an appetizer . The special of filet and scallops was a big hit at the table as well . The chocolate soufflé was one of the best we ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I had heard very good reviews about this place. However the experience was much more than I expected. The food was outstanding. Presentation was beautiful. I highly recommend the duck ravioli, steak tartare, and most any other entrée. We were very impressed with the waitstaff, cleanliness, and professionalism. I would never question booking a reservation for any occasion.
This is definitely jumped to the top of my list for favorite Cape May restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent experience, a bit pricey ($160 for 2 including tip) considering it is BYO. We would go back. Definitely one of the top spots in Cape May!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I like this restaurant, The food is made from scratch. They grow their own herbs and used local products for ingredients. Service is excellent.There are only a few menu selections because they want to make excellent food. Comfortable setting in a Victorian atmosphere. Definitely we will be back again when we are in Cape May!!

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I love this place. Great food awesome service. I bring clients to dine here every throughout the year. A nice, quiet enjoyable dinner each and every time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was good and well presented. The menu is small so this is not a good place for the picky eater. Portions were fine for our party of 4 but they may not be enough for a hearty eater. The dining rooms are very attractive and the service was good.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

the food is superb, carefully prepared from excellent quality ingredients, beautiful presentation. Cannot say enough good things about the place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food here is amazing. The service impeccable and everyone is so friendly and go out of their way to make your experience the best it can be.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

WOW and OMG are the only way to describe such an incredible dinner Feb. 17, 2017! The service was incredible and the food was so good it is indescribable. Maybe we lucked out as it is the off season and it wasn't a crowded night, or maybe this place is a hidden gem and I should keep it a secret! BYOB so bring a bottle of nice wine from any of the local wineries. (anything from Hawk Haven is my favorite) For beer, try Cape May Brewery and pick up a few bottles. I started with sea scallops as a first course and they were so tender and cooked to perfection. Seared Char for a main course and the fish was fresh and delicious. My wife started with poached pear salad and then had the main course chicken. By far the best fine dining meal we have had in Cape May. Pear tarts for dessert for both of us with nice pressed coffee and hot tea selections. My personal thanks to our server, the kitchen and the entire team. You are doing a great job. Thank you so much for creating such a memorable night for my wife and I!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Perfection
Early searing dinner offerings included full-size portions of bread basket, mussels in tasty broth (appetizer), roasted pork pappardelle (entree), and pear tart (dessert). Lots more to choose from. Be sure to get the French press coffee, featuring coffee from the local roaster. Even decaf, the flavor was bold and divine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

On entering restaurant we were seated near a beautiful stain glass window. We were at a table for 4 and it was just the 2 of us. Plenty of room. The pear salad with endive and walnuts was fresh and light. Thoroughly enjoyable. My main course was pasta Agnolotti which was cooked aldente and contained a sweet potato filling that was perfect. We ordered a Chardonnay that was from a local Cape May winery which was superb. We ended with a tasty trio of donuts with a small ball of coffee ice cream and 2 espressos. Service was excellent and everyone was very attentive. The owner came over and asked how everything was and showed a sincere interest in what we had to say. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious Valentine days dinner. They had just reopened for the season. Very romantic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Lovely quiet atmosphere. Food is always amazing and the service was perfect! Excellent spot for a special occasion with you significant other. One of our favorite cozy spots in Cape May!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful dinner for Valentines Day and definitely worth a trip back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Hands down one of the best restaurants in Cape May. BYOB! John is a great server and really knows how to make sure the customer is happy with their choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding food and a very polite and inviting staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was delicious and it's presentation beautiful. The soft music playing added that special ambience to the overall experience. Bring your favorite bottle of wine and enjoy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything here is made in house and fabulous. The food knocks us out at each visit. It's a great quiet, romantic spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Caught them for their last night before closing till mid February. The fixed price 5 course fare was a real deal. One might have thought we'd be served leftovers. Au contraire, the scallops were fabulous as an appetizer, the beef was impeccable, and the service was splendid. We've tried almost all the restaurants in Cape May, but had somehow overlooked this. We certainly won't this spring and summer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ambience, food, service, value--all was stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve . Perfect way to start the new year. Exceptional food and service!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our go-to restaurant in Cape may for special occasions, and fine dining. Creative foodie menu, small plates, attentive staff, in a Victorian B & B. Can get a little loud at peak times, which means the atmosphere works best for a small group of 2-4, so you can hear each other. BYO, except they do sell local Hawks Haven wines, which are fairly good. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was outstanding. The service was excellent. That experience has been consistent each of the several times we have dined here. We have enjoyed dinner at several of the fine dinning restaurants in Cape May and would rank this one among the top few. Don't be fooled by is understated ambience it is a must when visiting Cape May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our second visit to the Blue Rose did not disappoint. Intriguing menu, cozy atmosphere warm and friendly service fantastic food. Since our first visit I had been planning my wine selection with the menu selections I remembered from our first visit. I settled on a Casanova Di Neri 2004
and it was perfect, one of my best bottles for one terrific meal, we had a great Time. See you on our next visit to Cape May

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great ambiance and service, but the food was bland and not worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve dining was lovely. The professionalism and attitude of the staff made the meal smooth and effortless. The food was beautifully presented and gloriously delicious. So thank you to all for a memorable evening.

Tags: Organic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We went for my mother's birthday to experience high end cuisine and were not disappointed. Everything from the moment we arrived to when we left was wonderful. The wait staff were kind, very helpful, able to answer our questions completely and provided us with excellent recommendations. I put into the reservations that it was my mother's birthday and the staff all wished her a good birthday and even brought out her dessert with a candle in it. They didn't sing (thankfully! not a huge fan of restaurant singing for birthdays as it is) but even the host who sat us wished her well. In addition to the excellent food, she had a wonderful time. We will be going back for my 30th birthday next year!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Over-priced. Service was awkward. Not sure why they were so "focused" on removing bread from the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Another jewel in the Cape May crown. Food is fabulous as are surroundings and staff. Most impressive

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Blue Rose Inn was a delightful dining experience. The waitstaff was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The menu was interesting, varied, and the food was high-quality and delicious. It seemed that a lot of care was put into the ingredients and preparation. There were many enticing options, which made it difficult to choose. The duck ravioli appetizer was wonderful and my husband's chicken with root vegetables was one of the most moist and tender he's ever had. The restaurant itself lives up to it's name; many "blue" touches, from lighting to artwork to water glasses. Dimmer lighting, however, would enhance the overall ambience, which is nice. It is a restaurant that we would eagerly return to.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have eaten at the Blue Rose Inn Restaurant several times and have enjoyed each and every time. The food is fabulous as is the environment and everyone who works at the Blue Rose Inn. We always make sure we come here for a dinner every time we travel to Cape May.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.