About The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant

653 Washington St.
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a beautifully restored B&B and fine dining establishment. Our experienced on-site chef, Michael Keating, has developed a delicious, exquisite menu of mouthwatering appetizers and flavorful main courses. Enjoy our unique menu in an eloquent, sophisticated atmosphere that is the perfect backdrop to enjoy a formal dinner to celebrate a special evening with a loved one or close friend. We have two dining rooms, the larger of which may remind you of a state dining room on a luxury cruise liner. We hope you appreciate the care we've taken with every detail, from the cobalt blue candle holders to the blue rose stained glass.Our kitchen is completely from scratch, and we make all of our dishes with fresh ingredients with love, every single day. The Blue Rose is family owned and run, and when you visit us, you're part of the family.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open for Dinner Daily:
From 5pm

Cross Street:
Franklin St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 435-5468

Website:
http://www.blueroseinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Keating

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
For New Year's Eve, at the time of your reservation there will be a $50/person deposit that will be applied to your final bill. You have until noon on December 31, 2015 to cancel your reservation and get your deposit back.

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Contemporary American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
3 More
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
Contemporary American
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

Fit for Foodies (85)
Special Occasion (82)
Romantic (73)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Brunch (15)
Scenic View (8)
Great for Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful accommodation for food allergi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful accommodation for food allergies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great unique food! Outside seating. Frie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great unique food! Outside seating. Friendly staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here twice now and loved it bo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Have been here twice now and loved it both times. It's in a beautiful house, very comfortable and welcoming. The service was friendly,vefficient and helpful. They seem to take pride in their restaurant and their work. The food was creative (but not too unusual), fresh and absolutely delicious. Even the bread is creative, with oil, cheers, and herbs in the center. Their homemade ice cream had creative delicious flavored, like honey thyme, strawberry basil sorbet, and best of all ginger peach sorbet. It is a BYO, so that helps keep the price reasonable. (I think they do sell bottles of a local wine, so if you forget wine, you are not out of luck).

Loved our dinners at the Blue Rose, can't wait to go back to Cape May and return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Blue Rose for Sunday brunch with ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went to Blue Rose for Sunday brunch with a family of 4. Sat out on their side porch, which was lovely. The food was very good and creative overall and they clearly take love and care with the menu. My only complaint is that the french toast very dense and heavy. Please don't go here if you have less than a few hours to pass! We were there for over 2 hours and while the servers were very attentive, this just felt like too drawn out. I would also say that it's not a place for young kids (which I should have researched in advance). While everyone was friendly and welcoming to our 6 and 8 year old, it wasn't a family kind of place. The waiter filled the very tall and delicate wine glasses very full of water for my kids (a disaster waiting to happen!) and the sorbet, which they both ordered, was flavored with a very strong Riesling. I may return, but without the kids, and maybe for a long leisurely lunch with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent eclectic menu with great servi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent eclectic menu with great service. Sat on the side porch and enjoyed an lovely evening.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at The Blue Rose ranks among th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food at The Blue Rose ranks among the best in Cape May. It does not get the attention this restaurant deserves. The appetizer of duck confit and sunchoke ravioli is worth getting a double order of for dinner. The décor is very Victorian but the food is very creative and modern.

Bring good wine it is worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was innovative, original and delici ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was innovative, original and delicious. Presentation was beautiful. One of the best fine dining experiences in Cape May. They only serve wine from a local vineyard - which is very good. You can bring your own bottle if you want and they will open it for you. Well worth checking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Visited for dinner on a Thursday evening ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Visited for dinner on a Thursday evening to celebrate a wedding anniversary while on vacation. We decided to try this place based on reviews. We had tried many of the other Cape May fine dinning places so based on reviews and online - we were expecting a similar experience as to the other places in the area. While Blue Rose is good it just doesn't compare to the other fine dinning places in Cape May. There is no valet parking so it took us over 15 minutes to fine a spot. This is a BYOB so we brought wine and while our wives were waiting for us to fine a spot they asked if they would take the wine and bring it to our table; which is something many of the fine dinning places in the area (and most areas) will do - but they said "no". The appetizers were ok with half the party liking them and the other half not liking their choices at all. The food is good and nicely prepared. The service and overall experience is what it lacks. If you never visiting the other top places in Cape May I would say this was a good place but I don't see the reason to visit this restaurant again - especially when Washington Inn is just right down the street and consistently hits high on all marks.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome from start to finish. The summer ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Awesome from start to finish. The summer gazpacho was a unique surprise of flavors and was tremendous. The scallops were fantastic especially because of the bed of risotto they were served on. The ricotta donuts for dessert as usual were fabulous. To top it all off, our server, Michael, was his usual cut above excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service (John); excellent food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent service (John); excellent food. Hidden gem in Cape May!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We make it a point to eat at this restau ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We make it a point to eat at this restaurant every time we are in Cape May. The food is consistently excellent as is the service.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for Sunday Brunch and it was not yo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went for Sunday Brunch and it was not your usual buffet style. You ordered off a menu for a first, second and desert courses. I say each was wonderful and overall a great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything was wonderful however the air ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was wonderful however the air conditioning was not sufficient which detracted from the evening a bit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We love the Blue Rose and it is so elega ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We love the Blue Rose and it is so elegant and the food is delicious. We try to go once a month when we are down here for the summer.We recommended this place to our friends and they loved it too. So it is a special place for us and we love going and the service is outstanding too. Keep up the good work Blue Rose!!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Blue Rose Inn is truly spect ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food at Blue Rose Inn is truly spectacular. Every dish was a delight. Our waiter John was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The only disappointment was that there was simply no ventilation in the dining room. It was a nice night in Cape May with a strong sea breeze. But they did not open the windows. As the room got hotter and stuffier, all I wanted to do was escape to get some air. Otherwise, a perfect restaurant experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I specifically told staff it was our 35t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I specifically told staff it was our 35th Anniversary and they seated us in a corner and although they had empty tables they put another family of four sitting very close to us. Kind of ruined the Romantic dinner we were hoping for. Food was ok. Staff seemed nice. I would have liked to have a salad with my meal none was offered on the menu. My husband did love the scallops though. Feeling Blue At The Blue Rose.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

The appetizers were excellent, but the e ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The appetizers were excellent, but the entrees were not as good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious and visually appealing offerin ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Delicious and visually appealing offerings, using both locally sourced and imported ingredients. Fabulous service. Our reigning favorite in all of South Jersey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food and great service. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding food and great service. The ambiance was perfect for a relaxing, enjoyable meal. My wife had the pork pappardelle which was delectable, great texture and flavor. I had the scallops (cooked to perfection) over an incredible pea risotto. The lemon ricotta doughnuts are not to be missed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food, service and ambience. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Outstanding food, service and ambience. It is equal, if not superior, to any five star restaurant you would find anywhere. If you are in Cape May, you MUST eat here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As with past meals, this was great. One ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

As with past meals, this was great. One of the great outdoor dining spots in Cape May.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Almost everything we had to eat was very ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Almost everything we had to eat was very good. The scallops were superb! Maybe the best I have ever had! None of us really cared for the rub on the steak but I suppose that is a matter of personal preference and it was cooked just right. (Rare equals rare, etc). And they did give us the option to have the steak without the rub. The service was attentive and the room we were in was very pretty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The meal was good but my mussels could h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The meal was good but my mussels could have been cleaned better. Still had sand in them despite being out of the shell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent service, wonderful atmosphere, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent service, wonderful atmosphere, and, yes, the food is the best in Cape May!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was not very interested in our ta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Waiter was not very interested in our table. We had wine that we had to pour ourselves. Didn't really check on us with any consistency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The best restaurant in Cape May. Unlike ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The best restaurant in Cape May. Unlike the Red Store which push in too many people so that meals are served cold, staff is rushed...the Blue Rose limits people per given time so that each meal is prepared separately and served just right. Staff has time to be attentive. The entire experience is worth it. Be back next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An excellent meal in every respect. We'l ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

An excellent meal in every respect. We'll certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our third year in a row that we d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

It was our third year in a row that we dined at the Blue Rose. What a great place and John our waiter what a fantastic , knowledgeable person to have as your waiter. You can tell he loves what he's doing. The way he describes the menu is very impressive. The chef at the Blue Rose is a very creative and innovative person. For the appetizer I had the Duck Confit Raviolis. What and awesome appetizer. Presentation was beautiful. Someone else ad the Burrata and tomatoes, which was so lite and refreshing. For dinner two people had the Thai Bouillabaisse, which was off the charts. So much complexity in this meal with so many flavors. What a wonderful entree. Desserts were so good! The Semi-Fredo as the bomb and the doughnut dessert was to die for. Cappuccino was great and again John our waiter is the best! I would definitely recommend the Blue Rose to anyone who wants a great time with both food and service. The price per-person was $64 which included a 20 percent tip.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Returning to have dinner at the Blue Ros ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Returning to have dinner at the Blue Rose Inn Restaurant is a highlight of our stay in Cape May. The hostesses, waiters, and waitresses are so kind and caring. The food presentation is wonderful and the taste of any foods that we have had is truly amazing from the appetizers, salads to the main course and desserts. We thoroughly enjoy our dining experience at the Blue Rose Inn Restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of all the fine dinning restaurants ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Out of all the fine dinning restaurants we went to, The BlueRose had the most skilled, knowledgeable and attentive wait staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. Very interesting and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was great. Very interesting and fabulous presentation and most importantly all tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

outstanding food, great atmosphere, outs ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

outstanding food, great atmosphere, outstanding service...all foods and coffee are made from their own supplies. specialize in different entrees, and their deserts are outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere in the heart of downtow ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great atmosphere in the heart of downtown Cape May. Relaxing brunch on the wrap around porch made for a memorable experience. Nice place to watch the local people flow and run into a townie or two.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Service was great and so was the food.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was great and so was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful outdoor dinner with husband an ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful outdoor dinner with husband and my sister visiting from out of town. We eat here fairly regularly, and the menu has some tasty standards and seasonal additions- I had soft shell crabs for the second time this season. They are usually an appetizer but I got a double portion entree, as I love the pork belly and homemade jam accompaniments. The porch is a wonderful place to people-watch and usually has a nice breeze even in hot weather. The victorian ambience is great and we also love watching the decorated horse and buggy teams riding by. Service was excellent as always! Definitely worth visiting if you come to Cape May!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My date's dinner was excellent but my se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My date's dinner was excellent but my selection was extremely disappointing. The waiter saw that I didn't eat my meal & asked 'if I enjoyed it'. I said I was disappointed & his only response was that ... He would give the feedback to the chef. I left & was still hungry!!!

I will not go back. The chef should have come out to talk to me. It was not busy for a Friday nite. Only four tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

One of the best meals I have had in a ve ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

One of the best meals I have had in a very long time. My friends agreed! The meals were so unique and flavorful. An unexpected pleasure for sure. I can not wait to come back and share this delicious experience with family and friends! We forgot our byob and ordered the Hawk Valley Chardonnay. We were also pleasantly surprised by the wine selection. The Chardonnay was quite good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome service and food, however loud!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Awesome service and food, however loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been eating in Cape May for many ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have been eating in Cape May for many years and have a list of restaurants that we look forward to returning to regularly. The Blue Rose will now be added to that list. This was our first meal there and it was excellent. My wife had the Mussels as an appetizer, large and very tender,

and the soft shell crab for her main course. She said it was the most interesting presentation of soft shell she has ever had, and this from a woman who loves them. They were delicious. I had the house made burrata for an appetizer and the coffee and cocoa crusted teres major for an entrée. It was very tender beef served with excellent creamed spinach and chimichurri. We will definitely be going back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for our anniversary. The food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went for our anniversary. The food was outstanding. Local ingredients lovingly prepared.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.