About The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant

653 Washington St.
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a beautifully restored B&B and fine dining establishment. Our experienced on-site chef, Michael Keating, has developed a delicious, exquisite menu of mouthwatering appetizers and flavorful main courses. Enjoy our unique menu in an eloquent, sophisticated atmosphere that is the perfect backdrop to enjoy a formal dinner to celebrate a special evening with a loved one or close friend. We have two dining rooms, the larger of which may remind you of a state dining room on a luxury cruise liner. We hope you appreciate the care we've taken with every detail, from the cobalt blue candle holders to the blue rose stained glass.Our kitchen is completely from scratch, and we make all of our dishes with fresh ingredients with love, every single day. The Blue Rose is family owned and run, and when you visit us, you're part of the family.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open for Dinner Daily:
From 5pm

Cross Street:
Franklin St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 435-5468

Website:
http://www.blueroseinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Keating

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
For New Year's Eve, at the time of your reservation there will be a $50/person deposit that will be applied to your final bill. You have until noon on December 31, 2015 to cancel your reservation and get your deposit back.

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Romantic
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
11 More
Special Occasion
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Best Value
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Neighborhood Gem
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

special occasion (39)
fit for foodies (30)
romantic (28)
See All
neighborhood gem (24)
good for groups (8)
great for brunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (3)
notable wine list (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and delicious food. It ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and delicious food. It's a great byob near the Washington Street Mall. Had both brunch and dinner there. It's terrific.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

My daughter and I ate dinner here Saturd ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My daughter and I ate dinner here Saturday night. We were looking forward to our meal as the reviews here were so positive. I've never written a review before but we were both entirely disappointed with our meals so I felt I must. The setting is fine and our waiter was attentive. We we unable to eat our burrata appetizers. The texture was not right, like tough bread dough, and the taste was skunky as if the cheese was spoiled. The waiter offered us something else but we happily said we'd just enjoy our entrees. Maybe it was just us but the entrees just didn't taste good. I had scallops with risotto. The scallops were okay but the risotto was clumpy and had an odd taste. Same with my daughters agnolotti. Nothing distinguished either of the dishes except that they tasted horrible! We would try another bite and wonder just what was it we had in our mouths! It almost seemed we were served leftovers. We passed on dessert but ordered coffee. Again, the French press, which the waiter insisted on pressing and pouring, was cold and weak and see through. $5 for dishwater! Same for the cappuccino. I'm truly sorry to write such a bad review but 'locally sourced ingredients' doesn't mean anything if the food isn't well prepared. Perhaps we were there on a bad night but I could not recommend this restaurant to fellow foodies.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on May 12, 2016

My wife and I both like sea food. I had the tuna and my wife had the salmon. Both dishes were excellent. The appetizer and bread that was served before the meal were both delicious. Not only was the food good, the service was attentive and made us feel welcome. Even though it was a bit pricey, as it was fine dining, we would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual the pulled pork pappardelle was ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

As usual the pulled pork pappardelle was awesome. The donuts for dessert are well worth waiting the whole meal for. As always, service was impeccable.

food5
ambience5
service3

Dinning at The Blue Rose was an excellen ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dinning at The Blue Rose was an excellent experience. Great atmosphere and quiet dinning. Food was excellent, we would not hesitate and go back again.

food5
ambience5
service5

We were amazed at the flavor of everyth ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were amazed at the flavor of everything we ordered. From the bread to the first course and then the second course. The scallop dish was by far the best I have ever had. I highly recommend this restaurant . You will not be disappointed! The service was also amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very satisfied customer

Dined on May 7, 2016

The experience, the food and service were outstanding. Once again the Blue Rose exceeded our expectations and made the evening a very memorable night. Our server Vinnie was knowledgeable with the menu and dinner specials and his recommendations were right on. The bread was outstanding. From our reception upon arrival until we exited the place we couldn't have asked for more. Thank You Blue Rose for an exceptional anniversary dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Food spectacular. Service outstanding. Cape May has many wonderful restaurants. The Blue Rose tops them all. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Rose Inn is Fantastic

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great personal service. A fun, eclectic menu and great tasting food. What's not to like? It's obvious that everyone at the Blue Rose Inn puts their all into seeing that you have a great dining experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Makes your tastebuds sing!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Had dinner here with friend the weekend of the Jazz Festival. The food really makes your tastebuds sing! We had the burrata and calamari as appetizers and both had the Teres Major as a main course. All were excellent! The composition and combination of spices and ingredients were unique. The atmosphere is romantic and the waitstaff was excellent. It's a BYOB, but they have a very nice selection of wines from the local Hawks Cay Winery available. We had the Merlot and it was very good. Cape May is a very expensive place to dine but the Blue Rose Inn was definitely worth it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best! a new favorite

Dined on April 23, 2016

Always, always, always an excellent experience all the way around. Creative dishes, prepared perfectly. wonderful environment, friendly and engaging staff and service. such a fantastic meal. The chicken dish was outstanding, as were the scallops, beef, all the appetizers and deserts.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 16, 2016

We came to stay at The Blue Rose Inn for a short weekend away. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, there is nothing negative we can say about the restaurant or the inn. Justin and Sara were very accommodating as well as other staff. The food was unique and different and very good. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice once again

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

This was our third time dining at the Blue Rose in the past year and it was lovely yet again. Nice and quiet on a Friday night in April. Salmon entree was delicious, as was the burratta appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Excellent Food, Lacking in Ambiance

Dined on April 2, 2016

I can't argue with anyone about the food. It was wonderful. Our server was well informed about every dish we asked about. However, the lighting was too bright and the décor was sorely lacking. There was no music that might have buffered the sound of the boisterous foursome seated next to us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cape May wonder

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was great. BYOB was perfect. wait staff extremely well informed of menu and in sync with chef. interesting and delicious choices

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We drove from Wilmington DE to the Blue Rose Inn for Easter Brunch. The menu was outstanding, the food was excellent and the service and ambience were incredible. I would definitely dine here again and would recommend this restaurant to anyone spending time in Cape May!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant - good food.

Dined on March 25, 2016

The restaurant was very historic and the staff was extremely pleasant. Food was very good and a nice selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

Dined on March 19, 2016

We have dined at theBlue Rose numerous times and have never been disappointed. From the time you walk in the door to the end of your meal you are treated as if you are a guest in someone's home. I highly recommend The Blue Rose Inn if you are in Cape May. It's not to be missed. FYI, it is a BYOB.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Gluten Free Options

Dined on March 19, 2016

My husband and I ate dinner here and had a WONDERFUL meal! I am gluten free and was surprised to find that the chef will make gluten free bread for you if they're given at least 24-hour notice. (Just make sure you tell them that when you make the reservation) My husband ordered the scallops and LOVED them. Up until eating here, there was only one restaurant that serves scallops to my husband's standard (in Harrisburg, PA) - now there are two! I had the chicken - rather benign choice, I know, but it's what I wanted. It was SO tasty! Juicy & flavorful. Both meals were absolutely delicious! The service was attentive without being intrusive. Our every want was promptly attended to - often before we realized it. (i.e. water glass always full..) Note- as w/many restaurants in Cape May, this is a BYOB restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Truly excellent food in a charming Victorian venue

Dined on March 12, 2016

All dishes were well prepared, creatively presented and delicious. Extra props for care with vegetables and side items - often overlooked even by high priced restaurants. Service very good, attentive without hovering or undue familiarity. BYOB a plus.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food has been excellent on all 4 vis ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food has been excellent on all 4 visits! This past weekend the scallops and risotto were out of this world! The limoncello donuts were a perfect ending! My husband said his salmon was also terrific. Comfortable and friendly! Great neighbors to have!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place

Dined on March 6, 2016

This was a great new find. Food was good and ambiance was nice. The only complaint I would have is the portions were very small for the money. Other than that everything else was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was great. Highly recommend the ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The meal was great. Highly recommend the steak and the scallops. The staff was attentive without being overbearing. My wife and I had a wonderful evening. One note: Blue Rose is BYOB. They offer some wines from a local winery, but only by the bottle.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tops on our list.

Dined on February 20, 2016

WE loved it. Everything was great. The food was superb. My wife is already asking, 'When can you make another reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner-again!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went to Cape May for Valentine's weekend and decided to go back to the Blue Rose Inn for dinner Valentine's Day evening. (We were disappointed we could not stay at the inn, but the rooms were booked early in the year we were told). Once again, this restaurant was fabulous! There was a limited menu, but the choices all were mouth-watering so we had no trouble finding something delicious! Everyone around us had similar compliments! We had excellent, well-timed, professional service. This restaurant is an absolute gem! There are many great restaurants in Cape May, and this one stands out among them all!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

A diverse 5-course prix fixe menum which was all good and a great value. I've got to say that the Wagyu coffee and cocoa crusted teres major (a main course) and the ginger stout cake stood out as knock-your-socks-off good... spectacular. There was no rush for dinner and the staff were very attentive. A very pleasant, relaxed place for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very happy. The sever was friendly and ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Very happy. The sever was friendly and told us his story. He made some great food suggestions. We live in town and this was my first visit. I was impressed. The tar tar was insane and the other dishes were very good as well. We chose the fixed menu on Valentine's Day. All in all it was a total home run. I have been to nearly all of cape mays finest restaurants and I would definitely put this one at the top of my list. I look forward to going back to try the regular menu, I'm sure it will be great! Make sure you pick up a nice bottle of wine and plan on taking your time. It's a beautiful property and the owner (and operator) is very interested in running his property the right way. You won't be disappointed!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An instant favorite

Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I dined here for our anniversary and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We had to return for Valentine's Day. The outstanding food, service and ambience make for a lovely and special evening. We look forward to our next dinner at The Blue Rose!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1

Solid meal. Valentine meal. Great deal ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Solid meal. Valentine meal. Great deal five courses. First three courses were stronger than mains and dessert Service was spotty.

food4
ambience5
service3

Liked that the owner's father stopped by ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Liked that the owner's father stopped by and spoke with us and shared some of the history of the house.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb dinner.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for our 3rd dinner here this past Valentine's Day and we couldn't have been happier. The food was excellent on our previous 2 visits, but it was absolutely phenomenal this past visit. Everything was cooked perfectly, the flavor combinations were always spot-on, and the service was excellent as always. While I was impressed with this restaurant from the start, it has now become my favorite in Cape May and I can't wait to dine here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic Victorian setting. Tables are c ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Romantic Victorian setting. Tables are close, intimacy is a bit marred by this. Food is very good. This is our second visit here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Way to end the year

Dined on December 31, 2015

My girlfriend and I came here for their New Year's Eve 5 course meal and it was outstanding. The portions were perfect, and each of them delicious. Lots of creativity in all of the dishes and beautiful presentation. Definitely a pricey meal but it did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

superb menu

Dined on December 30, 2015

The chef turns out fabulous food and the waitstaff is knowledgeable which helps "sell" the great offerings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food perfectly prepared

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Awesome, unique farm to table. The signature pulled pork pappardelle is a meal not to be missed. The bread/cheese basket is irresistible and the feather light donuts are the most unusual dessert ever. A winner in every way.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date

Dined on December 28, 2015

My girlfriend and I went there for dinner on 12/28. We chose to do the early bird seating menu and bring our own bottle. The overall service was exceptional, the hostess was extremely friendly, the waiter was attentive and most importantly, the food was phenomenal! I already have recommended the Blue Rose Inn to several friends and family members to check it out. The food is worth every penny and we will be back on our next visit to Cape May.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on December 25, 2015

Thanks to great reviews we had our Christmas Eve dinner at this gem! Delicious prixe fix menu for Christmas Eve and superb service. This is a BYOB, which we love because we'd rather spend money on good food and not overpriced alcohol. Will definitely return. Oh ... and the place was BEAUTIFULLY decorated for the holidays.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve at the Blue Rose Inn

Dined on December 25, 2015

Christmas Eve dining can be problematic with the wait staff in a hurry to "get home" and huredly cooked food. NOT SO at the Blue Rose Inn. In fact, our Christmas Eve dinner this 12/24 was one of the top two in our memory. The food was great; the staff was attentive and well trained; the host was cordial. Its a BYO, so you are on your own regarding the libations. Fresh tasting from beginning to end, local ingredients as much as possible, home-made obviously-these are some descriptive phrases which define the Blue Rose Inn. If you are looking for a special meal for a special occasion, look no further than the Blue Rose inn in Cape May, NJ. A friend, Christine, wrote a review which influenced our visit; how right she was.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

great restarant. 2nd time here. great f ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

great restarant. 2nd time here. great food, service, ambience. at the top of our list of restaurants- not just in cape may.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

A hidden gem in Cape May

Dined on November 26, 2015

Excellent! First class products skillfully prepared by a creative chef.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.