Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a beautifully restored B&B and fine dining establishment. Our experienced on-site chef, Michael Keating, has developed a delicious, exquisite menu of mouthwatering appetizers and flavorful main courses. Enjoy our unique menu in an eloquent, sophisticated atmosphere that is the perfect backdrop to enjoy a formal dinner to celebrate a special evening with a loved one or close friend. We have two dining rooms, the larger of which may remind you of a state dining room on a luxury cruise liner. We hope you appreciate the care we've taken with every detail, from the cobalt blue candle holders to the blue rose stained glass.Our kitchen is completely from scratch, and we make all of our dishes with fresh ingredients with love, every single day. The Blue Rose is family owned and run, and when you visit us, you're part of the family.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

653 Washington St.
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours:
Daily, from 5pm

Sunday Brunch:
10am - 1pm

Cross Street:
Franklin St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 435-5468

Website:
http://www.blueroseinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Keating

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For New Year's Eve, at the time of your reservation there will be a $50/person deposit that will be applied to your final bill. You have until noon on December 31, 2015 to cancel your reservation and get your deposit back.

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Romantic (52)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Creative Cuisine (49)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Cozy (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Worth the Drive (26)
Local Ingredients (25)
Authentic (16)
Seasonal (13)
Healthy (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (5)
Organic (5)
Scenic View (5)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vegan (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
·Dined 2 days ago

Although the food was very well prepared both my wife and I found that the selection of flavors the chief choose to marry together were at times off putting. The Duck Confit Ravioli was tasty, but mixing the beet reduction with the brown butter was not successful. The Cod fillet was cooked perfectly but the saffron lemon risotto was a little too tart for my taste. The Chocolate Soufflé was fine but suffered from the addition of the lemony sorbet. The cream angles would have been all that was needed, but having the two of them took away from the dish.
The inn is very charming, the service was very good and the room is quiet and refined.
The food would have been a home run, I think the chief is very talents but is trying to hard to be unique...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Celebrating a birthday at this Victorian Marvel. There were other rooms than the porch that were more attractive rooms to eat, but other than that we had a delicious, hearty, healthy dinner. The service was excellent and attentive. I loved the rocking chairs on the deck.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had an excellent dinner. The food was wonderful with lots of local ingredients. Service was top notch and just a lovely night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was not up to it's usual excellence. The signature steak entree was prepared well but I received mostly end cuts. The service from Stephanie was outstanding. We will return again and will hope that the entrees next time are back to their usual past excellence.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

I was disappointed with the overall experience. Overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

The dining room is lovely! At a loss at what to order and our waitress made no recommendations; yet, we listened to the waiter serving in the same room who made recommendations to all his guests. When leaving, the hostesses actually told us what they liked best - more than our waitress. May give it another shot because my husband loved his short ribs.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Beautiful Victorian ambience. Unique delicious menu. BYOB

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Brooke was fab, food was amazing, love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was FABULOUS!! Exquisitely tasty and complex flavors! And our server was absolutely wonderful- she gave us detailed, elaborate descriptions of the dishes and the combinations of ingredients, with competence and pizzazz!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Once again phenominal meal!!!Food is always fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Will definately go back. Fantastic meal and a real gem amongst some wonderful dining in Cape May

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We go to Cape May every September, and when we dine we try one restaurant we've never been to before. This year, it was The Blue Rose. I don't know how we've always missed it. Although tucked away from the usual bustle of the mall area, it is on Washington Street.

The service was excellent, and our waitress was well versed in both the history as well as the menu. We like that the add items to the menu, and that it's varied as opposed to some of the other places we've frequented that always have the same thing. We were very happy with what we ordered, the food was delicious! The prices, however were more than what we believe the food was worth. Come down on the prices and this would be five stars!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The Blue Rose Inn Restaurant was just wonderful! The chef definitely cares about his guests and what he is serving. The menu the night we dined consisted of a number of unique dishes that were so well prepared, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The service was very attentive without being over-bearing. Our meal began with a basket of warm, scrumptious rolls. So yummy! My husband and I chose the creamy parsnip soup to start. What a taste sensation. For our main course, we had the short ribs, which were the leanest we've ever had. They were served with a delicious sauce and a side of au gratin potatoes. Although everything on the dessert menu was to die for, I had to pass. Hubby had the mint chocolate chip ice cream, which was a homemade wonder.

My husband and I visit Cape May every September and can't wait to visit The Blue Rose Inn the next time we're in town!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The burrata appetizer was excellent. The cobia entree was perfect temperature but it was so over salted that it masked the delicate flavor of the fish. The pecan tart was delicious. The server and the manager both apologized and comped the dessert. We have dined at the Blue Rose multiple times. This was the first time we had an issue. I'll chalk it up to a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Great experience. Our selections were delicious and well portioned. Staff was excellent. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Loved this place, amazing food, great service! Would highly recommend and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Way overpriced and underwhelming. One entree was completely overcooked. The soft shell crab appetizer was an odd combination for a dinner. The bread, which they mentioned they are famous for, was like everything else-too complicated. A fresh piece of fish, cooked correctly with a simple sauce is better than a complicated dish with flavors that overpower the main ingredient. If I'm going to spend that much money, I'd rather go to Peter Shields where the view and food is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Amazing from start to finish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Best restaurant in Cape May!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Hands down, the best restaurant in Cape May County, including the Wildwoods. Thoughtful and distinct food. And byob makes this great restaurant a bargain. Don't miss this gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We went to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. The atmosphere was incredible and made me feel like we were dining in someone's home. The food was prepared perfectly from the first course to the last. The attention to detail in the dishes was remarkable and the pairing of flavors was delicious. I will most certainly dine here again on my next trip to Cape May.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful freshly prepared food. Inventive without trying too hard to be different. The service was excellent from the moment we were greeted on the porch until we were done dining. You have to get the soufflé for desert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

This was an outstanding meal. The steak I had was exceptional. Great service. We ate outside on the porch. Terrific ambiance. It's a byob restaurant. Will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great restaurant. Love the outside porch. Excellent service, food and atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Just go! Good friend who's place we are staying at in CM recommended. Food & service were excellent. Cozy and beautiful inside. It's a BYOB so you save on the alcohol and can spend it on the delicious and interesting food.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Loved everything about our dinner. Great atmosphere, great service and great food! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wonderful food. Great atmosphere. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Some of the food creations are quite original and tasty. The service was very good. Enjoyed the cobia and seared tuna.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always love this restaurant only reason for not giving five stars is because of a mosquito issue both inside and out on porch but fresh delicious food and great service

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Lovely location with unique food preparation. Liked the fact we could BYOB but a classy bar would be a nice addition to the restaurant and B & B. Would be great to take a break from Cape May shopping and an afternoon cocktail on the porch while relaxing in one of the huge rocking chairs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Black truffle risotto was outstanding! One of the best entrees I have had in a long time. Smoked burrata missed the mark but I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Best of the best. Scratch kitchen. Service is impeccable. Very romantic atmosphere. The Blue Rose is our #1 favorite restaurant in Cape May. We love that it is a BYOB. We have been here several times and every time the entire experience is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Everything is perfect from food to service to atmosphere. Inventive flavorful dishes. TheBYOB feature makes it a bargain

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Outstanding. Can’t say enough about food and service. Waitstaff explains all of the entrees... preparation, ingredients etc. Everything was delicious. I had the chicken the first Tim there and this last time the char, both were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent watermelon gazpacho. Wonderful piece of albacore tuna slightly over-done. Very substantial beef dish. Great donuts for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great staff and menu. Everything is made from scratch. If you're gluten free, let them know in advance and they'll make you bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant is exceptional in every way. The food is magnificent and the staff is splendid. Justin ensures you feel at home. We truly love our time there and are sad to leave.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant with great food and wonderful service. It is fairly expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We enjoyed our first dining experience at the Blue Rose. The menu was creative, which is important to us (why dine out only to choose from the same old dishes you can easily make at home? We want the Chef to show some style and flair, and were not disappointed). We are one carnivore and one vegetarian, and were pleased to find one of the few restaurants in Cape May that knows how to cook for vegetarians (an entree, not a salad! Yay!). The food was very rich, with decadent sauces (reminiscent of French cuisine), for us a bit more suited to a winter meal than summer dining. But all was delicious, and Destiny provided top notch service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Delicious meal, great staff, wonderful experience
We will definitely be back again !

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.