About The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant

653 Washington St.
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a beautifully restored B&B and fine dining establishment. Our experienced on-site chef, Michael Keating, has developed a delicious, exquisite menu of mouthwatering appetizers and flavorful main courses. Enjoy our unique menu in an eloquent, sophisticated atmosphere that is the perfect backdrop to enjoy a formal dinner to celebrate a special evening with a loved one or close friend. We have two dining rooms, the larger of which may remind you of a state dining room on a luxury cruise liner. We hope you appreciate the care we've taken with every detail, from the cobalt blue candle holders to the blue rose stained glass.Our kitchen is completely from scratch, and we make all of our dishes with fresh ingredients with love, every single day. The Blue Rose is family owned and run, and when you visit us, you're part of the family.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours:
Friday & Saturday from 5pm

Cross Street:
Franklin St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 435-5468

Website:
http://www.blueroseinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Keating

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For New Year's Eve, at the time of your reservation there will be a $50/person deposit that will be applied to your final bill. You have until noon on December 31, 2015 to cancel your reservation and get your deposit back.

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Romantic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Historic (9)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

WOW and OMG are the only way to describe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

WOW and OMG are the only way to describe such an incredible dinner Feb. 17, 2017! The service was incredible and the food was so good it is indescribable. Maybe we lucked out as it is the off season and it wasn't a crowded night, or maybe this place is a hidden gem and I should keep it a secret! BYOB so bring a bottle of nice wine from any of the local wineries. (anything from Hawk Haven is my favorite) For beer, try Cape May Brewery and pick up a few bottles. I started with sea scallops as a first course and they were so tender and cooked to perfection. Seared Char for a main course and the fish was fresh and delicious. My wife started with poached pear salad and then had the main course chicken. By far the best fine dining meal we have had in Cape May. Pear tarts for dessert for both of us with nice pressed coffee and hot tea selections. My personal thanks to our server, the kitchen and the entire team. You are doing a great job. Thank you so much for creating such a memorable night for my wife and I!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection Early searing dinner offering ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfection

Early searing dinner offerings included full-size portions of bread basket, mussels in tasty broth (appetizer), roasted pork pappardelle (entree), and pear tart (dessert). Lots more to choose from. Be sure to get the French press coffee, featuring coffee from the local roaster. Even decaf, the flavor was bold and divine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On entering restaurant we were seated ne ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

On entering restaurant we were seated near a beautiful stain glass window. We were at a table for 4 and it was just the 2 of us. Plenty of room. The pear salad with endive and walnuts was fresh and light. Thoroughly enjoyable. My main course was pasta Agnolotti which was cooked aldente and contained a sweet potato filling that was perfect. We ordered a Chardonnay that was from a local Cape May winery which was superb. We ended with a tasty trio of donuts with a small ball of coffee ice cream and 2 espressos. Service was excellent and everyone was very attentive. The owner came over and asked how everything was and showed a sincere interest in what we had to say. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely quiet atmosphere. Food is always ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Lovely quiet atmosphere. Food is always amazing and the service was perfect! Excellent spot for a special occasion with you significant other. One of our favorite cozy spots in Cape May!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner for Valentines Day and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful dinner for Valentines Day and definitely worth a trip back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hands down one of the best restaurants i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Hands down one of the best restaurants in Cape May. BYOB! John is a great server and really knows how to make sure the customer is happy with their choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and a very polite and i ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding food and a very polite and inviting staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and it's presenta ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was delicious and it's presentation beautiful. The soft music playing added that special ambience to the overall experience. Bring your favorite bottle of wine and enjoy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything here is made in house and fab ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything here is made in house and fabulous. The food knocks us out at each visit. It's a great quiet, romantic spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Caught them for their last night before ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Caught them for their last night before closing till mid February. The fixed price 5 course fare was a real deal. One might have thought we'd be served leftovers. Au contraire, the scallops were fabulous as an appetizer, the beef was impeccable, and the service was splendid. We've tried almost all the restaurants in Cape May, but had somehow overlooked this. We certainly won't this spring and summer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ambience, food, service, value--all was ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ambience, food, service, value--all was stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve . Perfect way to start th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve . Perfect way to start the new year. Exceptional food and service!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go-to restaurant in Cape may for sp ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our go-to restaurant in Cape may for special occasions, and fine dining. Creative foodie menu, small plates, attentive staff, in a Victorian B & B. Can get a little loud at peak times, which means the atmosphere works best for a small group of 2-4, so you can hear each other. BYO, except they do sell local Hawks Haven wines, which are fairly good. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. The service w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was outstanding. The service was excellent. That experience has been consistent each of the several times we have dined here. We have enjoyed dinner at several of the fine dinning restaurants in Cape May and would rank this one among the top few. Don't be fooled by is understated ambience it is a must when visiting Cape May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our second visit to the Blue Rose did no ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our second visit to the Blue Rose did not disappoint. Intriguing menu, cozy atmosphere warm and friendly service fantastic food. Since our first visit I had been planning my wine selection with the menu selections I remembered from our first visit. I settled on a Casanova Di Neri 2004

and it was perfect, one of my best bottles for one terrific meal, we had a great Time. See you on our next visit to Cape May

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and service, but the food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great ambiance and service, but the food was bland and not worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Christmas Eve dining was lovely. The pro ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve dining was lovely. The professionalism and attitude of the staff made the meal smooth and effortless. The food was beautifully presented and gloriously delicious. So thank you to all for a memorable evening.

Tags: Organic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my mother's birthday to expe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We went for my mother's birthday to experience high end cuisine and were not disappointed. Everything from the moment we arrived to when we left was wonderful. The wait staff were kind, very helpful, able to answer our questions completely and provided us with excellent recommendations. I put into the reservations that it was my mother's birthday and the staff all wished her a good birthday and even brought out her dessert with a candle in it. They didn't sing (thankfully! not a huge fan of restaurant singing for birthdays as it is) but even the host who sat us wished her well. In addition to the excellent food, she had a wonderful time. We will be going back for my 30th birthday next year!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over-priced. Service was awkward. Not s ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Over-priced. Service was awkward. Not sure why they were so "focused" on removing bread from the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Another jewel in the Cape May crown. Foo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Another jewel in the Cape May crown. Food is fabulous as are surroundings and staff. Most impressive

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Rose Inn was a delightful dinin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Blue Rose Inn was a delightful dining experience. The waitstaff was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The menu was interesting, varied, and the food was high-quality and delicious. It seemed that a lot of care was put into the ingredients and preparation. There were many enticing options, which made it difficult to choose. The duck ravioli appetizer was wonderful and my husband's chicken with root vegetables was one of the most moist and tender he's ever had. The restaurant itself lives up to it's name; many "blue" touches, from lighting to artwork to water glasses. Dimmer lighting, however, would enhance the overall ambience, which is nice. It is a restaurant that we would eagerly return to.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We have eaten at the Blue Rose Inn Resta ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have eaten at the Blue Rose Inn Restaurant several times and have enjoyed each and every time. The food is fabulous as is the environment and everyone who works at the Blue Rose Inn. We always make sure we come here for a dinner every time we travel to Cape May.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner and great service. An a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fabulous dinner and great service. An awesome value for your money! So good that my husband and I will be returning again next year!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food , friendly staff , relaxed and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food , friendly staff , relaxed and enjoyable evening. Food is local, farm to table, prepared fresh as ordered. Will definitely return

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice people in every job. Waitress ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Very nice people in every job. Waitress was very knowledgeable of each dish. The menu was a little confusing but waitress gave us very good explanations. Food: very good to excellent. The room is a nice quiet room as well. We will definitely keep it on our list for Cape May restaurants.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable dinner. Our evening at the Bl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Enjoyable dinner. Our evening at the Blue Rose was very nice. We each had two courses and dessert. The food was excellent and the service was good too. I would definitely go back and guests should know to bring their own wine.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual, very satisfied. Loved everyth ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

As usual, very satisfied. Loved everything. 5 of us each got a different entre and all loved it. Spot on. Only small complaint is our server did not make much suggestion or enlighten us on the menu choices but another came over and gave us a full description of how each was prepared, that was do helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Again this was a very delightful dinner. ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Again this was a very delightful dinner. We are always impressed with dinner and it was delicious too. The head chef comes out to greet and make sure everyone is ok and everything was delicious. Our waiter was very good and others came to greet us too because we have been back so many times. We love this place number one for us!!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. They have an ear ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was amazing. They have an early evening prefix, but we ordered from the menu. Some of the best we have had in Cape May. There are two small dining rooms (the restaurant is in the first floor of an old Victorian B & B), and we dinned in the smaller one right off the entry lobby. This room's decor is a little more contemporary, while the other dining room is more Victorian with lace curtains.

The restaurant can become noisy when at full capacity, but the food is well worth the minor annoyance.

This is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. BYO, but they serve Hawk Haven wines, a local winery.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fine in all aspects, especially with the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fine in all aspects, especially with the early-dining menu option and its being a BYOB.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal... staff was amazing and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful meal... staff was amazing and dining room was beautiful. Look forward to having dinner there again soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. Ordered Long Island ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was very good. Ordered Long Island Duck Confit & Sunchoke Ravioli; Roasted Pork Pappardelle Coffee & Cocoa Crusted Teres Major Steak; Scottish Salmon; Bell & Evans Chicken Roulade. Staff were extremely friendly, courteous, and attentive. Steak was a little tough but the experience overall was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, although it was off seaso ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service, although it was off season and lovely atmosphere. We enjoyed our meals and wine (BYOB) and never felt rushed. If you eat a lot of meat, there's lots to choose from. Their signature dish, scallops was delicious, but had sausage in the risotto. It was the only seafood dish. Not much for vegetarians, unfortunately. We may go back if they offer more seafood without meat included in the dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Every bite of our food was fresh and del ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Every bite of our food was fresh and delicious! You can tell the care the chef and staff take to make sure the meal is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our first Visit to the Blue Rose, it was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Our first Visit to the Blue Rose, it was fantastic. Quiet, relaxed and comfortable even with a full house. We wanted everything on the menu, and the dishes we decided on were out of this world good. Our server was knowledgeable, attentive, an professional. I already have some fantastic bottles picked for our next visit, this is certainly a BYOB deserving of the best in your cellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant and we had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

First time at this restaurant and we had an amazing experience. The décor is so pretty and the ambiance is romantic and cozy. . The lemon ricotta donuts are a must for dessert!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely! Food and service where outstand ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Lovely! Food and service where outstanding. The restaurant is housed in a historic Cape May feel type of home... The menu offered so many varied and tasty sounding dishes, we are already talking about going back. We have owned a summer home in CM for 18 years; the Blue Rose Inn Restuarant is now at the top of our list.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food with some really unique ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Really good food with some really unique items on the menu. The service was great... its Byob ..so pick up some wine on the way

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

What a wonderful place - the service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

What a wonderful place - the service was fantastic (Thanks, Justin!) and the food was interesting, different and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.