About The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant

653 Washington St.
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a beautifully restored B&B and fine dining establishment. Our experienced on-site chef, Michael Keating, has developed a delicious, exquisite menu of mouthwatering appetizers and flavorful main courses. Enjoy our unique menu in an eloquent, sophisticated atmosphere that is the perfect backdrop to enjoy a formal dinner to celebrate a special evening with a loved one or close friend. We have two dining rooms, the larger of which may remind you of a state dining room on a luxury cruise liner. We hope you appreciate the care we've taken with every detail, from the cobalt blue candle holders to the blue rose stained glass.Our kitchen is completely from scratch, and we make all of our dishes with fresh ingredients with love, every single day. The Blue Rose is family owned and run, and when you visit us, you're part of the family.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open for Dinner Daily:
From 5pm

Cross Street:
Franklin St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 435-5468

Website:
http://www.blueroseinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Keating

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
For New Year's Eve, at the time of your reservation there will be a $50/person deposit that will be applied to your final bill. You have until noon on December 31, 2015 to cancel your reservation and get your deposit back.

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Contemporary American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
5 More
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Neighborhood Gem
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
Contemporary American
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

fit for foodies (76)
special occasion (75)
romantic (64)
See All
neighborhood gem (49)
great for outdoor dining (36)
good for groups (17)
great for brunch (12)
scenic view (6)
great for lunch (5)
notable wine list (4)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great. Very interesting and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great. Very interesting and fabulous presentation and most importantly all tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

outstanding food, great atmosphere, outs ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

outstanding food, great atmosphere, outstanding service...all foods and coffee are made from their own supplies. specialize in different entrees, and their deserts are outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere in the heart of downtow ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere in the heart of downtown Cape May. Relaxing brunch on the wrap around porch made for a memorable experience. Nice place to watch the local people flow and run into a townie or two.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Service was great and so was the food.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was great and so was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My date's dinner was excellent but my se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

My date's dinner was excellent but my selection was extremely disappointing. The waiter saw that I didn't eat my meal & asked 'if I enjoyed it'. I said I was disappointed & his only response was that ... He would give the feedback to the chef. I left & was still hungry!!!

I will not go back. The chef should have come out to talk to me. It was not busy for a Friday nite. Only four tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

One of the best meals I have had in a ve ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

One of the best meals I have had in a very long time. My friends agreed! The meals were so unique and flavorful. An unexpected pleasure for sure. I can not wait to come back and share this delicious experience with family and friends! We forgot our byob and ordered the Hawk Valley Chardonnay. We were also pleasantly surprised by the wine selection. The Chardonnay was quite good!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome service and food, however loud!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Awesome service and food, however loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been eating in Cape May for many ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have been eating in Cape May for many years and have a list of restaurants that we look forward to returning to regularly. The Blue Rose will now be added to that list. This was our first meal there and it was excellent. My wife had the Mussels as an appetizer, large and very tender,

and the soft shell crab for her main course. She said it was the most interesting presentation of soft shell she has ever had, and this from a woman who loves them. They were delicious. I had the house made burrata for an appetizer and the coffee and cocoa crusted teres major for an entrée. It was very tender beef served with excellent creamed spinach and chimichurri. We will definitely be going back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ready to return! What an amazing combin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Ready to return! What an amazing combination of flavors from beginning to end!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was very good explaining just ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The waiter was very good explaining just about everything on the menu, bring the dishes to life. The appetizers were excellent while the main courses were good to very good. The desert stuffed doughnuts were excellent to end the dinner. We had two tables next to us with some super nice people that made the experience better. It's worth going to dinner here but be prepared for a very limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice atmosphere. We sat in the rock ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. We sat in the rockers on the front porch for awhile waiting for the rest of our party to come. Very friendly staff and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Rose restaurant was average. I ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Blue Rose restaurant was average. I was very disappointed with my calamari appetizer because it was called a calamari SALAD and it came fried. My scallops, on the other hand, were very good. Will try other restaurants before we go back to Blue Rose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Wonderful service and very good entrees. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful service and very good entrees. Presentation gets an A+. All dishes were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant is all ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant is all around fabulous from the ambiance to service and food. We had dinner on the porch- wonderful. I highly recommend to anyone. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding! Truly delicious. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was outstanding! Truly delicious. The wine was not very good--we could have, and should have, brought our own.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

What a beautiful Inn with a talented and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

What a beautiful Inn with a talented and creative Chef! Every dish was unique, complex and perfectly balanced. As active diners my husband and I have become increasingly more difficult to impress but the Blue Rose Inn stood out as one of our most notable dining experiences at the Shore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic as well as the se ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was fantastic as well as the service! I highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are in the Cape May area, The Blu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

If you are in the Cape May area, The Blue Rose Inn is not to be missed! They support local businesses with their seasonal menu's, everything is fresh and made to order. They have a great location being one block from the Washington Street mall. This place is a true gem! It was so good, before we left we made a reservation to come back before the end of the week. The sea scallops were the best I have ever had and the pork, smoked in house with the homemade pasta was amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend dinner at the Blue Rose ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Highly recommend dinner at the Blue Rose Inn! Charming restaurant and great wait staff. The food was phenomenal. The lemon ricotta donuts are a must have! The teres major entree was one of the best steaks I ever tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Failed to measure up. Simply, the food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Failed to measure up. Simply, the food was not what we expected. Nothing was "bad", but I was disappointed. The waiter recommended the burrata appetizer. This was bland and disappointing.

The coffee and coco crusted teres major had a lot of bold flavor. However bold does not equal great.

The scallops were cooked very well. However the risotto underneath was too al dente and lacked sufficient flavor.

This place is expensive for the quality of food provided. I would have a hard time recommending this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We dine here every time we visit Cape Ma ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We dine here every time we visit Cape May and our meals at the Blue Rose are always the culinary highlights of our vacation. Although the dining choices in Cape May are abundant, the food at this lovely Cape May gem is exceptional. The flavor and texture of the beef and the chicken dishes are truly delicious and unforgettable! We highly recommend the tres major and the chicken roulade dishes. Each selection is accompanied by perfect side dishes in just the right proportions. The most recent presentation of their mussels in a beer broth, featured the mussels out of their shells, which was a welcomed surprise. The dessert selections are also always amazing with various assortments of home made gelato and sorbets. If you are fortunate enough to dine here on a night when they offer chocolate chip mint gelato or chocolate sorbet, do not pass them up- both are incredible!

The decor of the restaurant is elegant but welcoming and the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and always eager to please. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place in Cape May. Well ex ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our favorite place in Cape May. Well executed and interesting dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I have ever had. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had. It was delicious.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting B&B with upscale restaurant. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Interesting B&B with upscale restaurant. Value for money questionable. Food was good but in very small quantities. Service was fair as our server had too many tables to cover.

Sorry to say it was disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A bit on the stuffy side inside, should ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

A bit on the stuffy side inside, should have eaten on the outdoor porch. Nonetheless, the meal was very good. Calamari appetizer one of the best we have ever eaten.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We can't wait to go back!!! Loved every ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We can't wait to go back!!! Loved every moment! Thank you! Excellent server and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were two couples with a babysitter at ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were two couples with a babysitter at home with the kids. The food was delicious! We really enjoyed the décor and ambiance. People around us were so friendly and giving advice on what to order. We had the burrata, the duck confit with sunchoke ravioli, the seared sea scallops (this was outstanding!) and my husband got the Piedmontese Teres Major. This is a BYOB place so bring some nice wine and get there early to have a drink on the porch. My only gripe about the restaurant is that they seemed to be pushing us to sit down immediately and there was at least one table that was available the whole night. So why the rush?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We all agreed that this was one of the b ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We all agreed that this was one of the best meals we have EVER had, and all six of us are world travelers. The menu was inventive and different, broad enough for everyone's tastes, with attention to what is fresh, local, and prepared with a bit of a different approach than the usual, from soft shell crabs to Thai "bouillabaise" to duck ravioli to gazapacho with watermelon to ... oh, everything! The service was of "European" quality. The owner came by to check on us and entertained us with the story of the development of the business. We plan to return every year when we go to Cape May to celebrate the 4th with good friends. Bring your own high quality wines, though. FrankZ

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We found this restaurant to be everythin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We found this restaurant to be everything we hoped for. Look forward to returning on our nest visit to Cape May

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic dinner. Piedmontese steak tru ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fantastic dinner. Piedmontese steak truly special and the scallops too. One of the best in Cape May. A must try. John is the man for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was perfect! We started with calamar ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was perfect! We started with calamari salad & gazpacho, which were both amazing. My husband said it was the best gazpacho he has ever had! Our second course was the Scallops & Thai bouillabaisse. The Scallops were cooked perfectly served on top of delicious risotto. The Bouillabaisse was perfectly cooked sushi tuna on top of calamari pasta with sauce that was rich in Thai flavor. Although guide full we had to try dessert, which were both wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our mea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. The food was top notch and the waitress was excellent. We love the atmosphere of the Inn. We ate inside but there are also tables on the porch. We'll be back for brunch on the porch some Sunday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food, service and ambiance m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Outstanding food, service and ambiance makes this a memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely place to have a great meal and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

A lovely place to have a great meal and good service ... Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were wonderful! Sat out ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food and service were wonderful! Sat outside on the porch which was lovely. Had the burrata and steak tartar for first course. Both delicious! Had scallops and cocoa crusted beef for main course. Absolutely amazing! Finished with a trio of sorbet/ice cream. Perfect ending to a perfect meal! Highly recommend! Server John was very knowledgable about the menu and very attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special night out during a long weekend ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Special night out during a long weekend in Cape May. All of the food was excellent and the chicken dish was particularly tasty. Service was also very good. Will definitely dine at The Blue Rose again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went to the blue rose on a date with a l ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Went to the blue rose on a date with a lady friend, the hostess set us upon arrival with a smile on her face. Kim was our server, she did an excellent job explaining the menu and getting us set for dining experience. We started with the steak tartare in the softshell crab for appetizers. They were both absolutely delicious, both plates were cleared. For a midcourse we had the smoked chanterelle tortelli, the plate looked amazing, its exotic components made it unique and one of a kind in flavor/presentation. My lady friend had the salmon for entrée, and I had the Teres major med-rare. Both of our proteins were cooked perfectly, and once again both plates are cleared. For dessert we had a sorbet trio with watermelon/orange sorbet, berry basil sorbet, and a strawberry reisling sorbet. Each of these were extraordinary and made for a great way to end our meal. I will definitely be back to the blue rose inn very soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal and service were great, as was the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Meal and service were great, as was the ambiance! However, the cappuccino was very disappointing! It was served in a tall glass cup which is inappropriate to begin with, but it was also tepid in temperature and very weak in flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Blue Rose Inn is set on a quiet stre ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The Blue Rose Inn is set on a quiet street in Cape May. They have a creative chef who makes good use of local produce and the Inn's own herb garden. Everything we ordered was delicious and beautifully plated. Be prepared to try something new rather than the usual shore standbys. The staff was amazing. BYOB but they do have a limited selection of wines by the bottle. I do not know if they serve lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

At The Blue Rose, the food is not only d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

At The Blue Rose, the food is not only delicious, it's beautifully presented. They always try new things on their menu that you won't find somewhere else, but the old standards are delicious too. The staff is always so polite and accommodating .

We've also stayed here as a B&B and it was wonderful. I loved having breakfast out on the wrap-around porch. You can also have dinner outside, weather permitting, of course. The manager, whose name is Justin, I believe, is a gem. We loved it here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.