Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is a beautifully restored B&B and fine dining establishment. Our experienced on-site chef, Michael Keating, has developed a delicious, exquisite menu of mouthwatering appetizers and flavorful main courses. Enjoy our unique menu in an eloquent, sophisticated atmosphere that is the perfect backdrop to enjoy a formal dinner to celebrate a special evening with a loved one or close friend. We have two dining rooms, the larger of which may remind you of a state dining room on a luxury cruise liner. We hope you appreciate the care we've taken with every detail, from the cobalt blue candle holders to the blue rose stained glass.Our kitchen is completely from scratch, and we make all of our dishes with fresh ingredients with love, every single day. The Blue Rose is family owned and run, and when you visit us, you're part of the family.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

653 Washington St.
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours:
Daily, from 5pm

Sunday Brunch:
10am - 1pm

Cross Street:
Franklin St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 435-5468

Website:
http://www.blueroseinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Keating

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For New Year's Eve, at the time of your reservation there will be a $50/person deposit that will be applied to your final bill. You have until noon on December 31, 2015 to cancel your reservation and get your deposit back.

The Blue Rose Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Romantic (52)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for a Date (49)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Cozy (32)
Local Ingredients (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Authentic (16)
Seasonal (14)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 18 hours ago

Eclectic menu with good service. Food was excellent. BYOB unless you buy their wine (NJ law).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food as always! The cobia was one of the best I have ever had and the artic char was also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was phenomenal, and the setting was beautiful. The rooms can be loud, and because of seating you may overhear other diners. THERE IS NO PARKING, and the hostesses were unhelpful in offering information. Arrive early to find parking. Bring your own wine!!!

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

The entire dining experience was wonderful. The hostess, bus boy and our server, Michael were pleasant and professional. The cheff's ability to combine flavors, textures and fresh local ingredients was amazing. The soft shell crab appetizer was beautiful as the soft egg yolk broke to cover the rye scrapple. My entree was albacore tuna with squid ink ramen that was amazing. My husband had the sunchoke and duck confit ravioli followed by the cobia. We finished with the chocolate soufflé. BYOB was appreciated. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful service, very accommodating, delicious food, beautiful decor, kid friendly fine dining. Can't wait to come back next year!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I have had dinner at the Blue Rose everytime we come to Cape May for about four years. Love the ambience, decor, location, excellent service and many good dishes. The menu options seemed a bit different this year, and there was less on the menu of interest to me. My husband liked his choice, very well, but I would not recommend the Char - I didn't care for the taste, and although I ordered it to be served medium, it came to the table lukewarm and undercooked in my opinion. Had to be returned and reheated, but didn't improve the flavor. Our server was excellent, and they did give me a dessert for no charge, but I was dissapointed in the menu selection in general. Lovely atmosphere for indoors or outside on the porch for dinner!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

We love going to Blue Rose. The food is excellent and very good and the service is so great. We will be back since we go there once a month!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Good food. Good service. Byob great. portions a little small

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

A great find....delicious food, with every meal prepared and sent out by the chef himself. Michael is a WONDERFUL server....very informative and friendly but not intrusive. The bread is incredible!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant a BYOB is in an elegant old house in Cape May. The ambience is quiet and inviting. The wait staff is young and solicitous. The food was perfectly prepared and delicious. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

An awesome dining experience! My son and daughter-in-law had a fabulous meal in July with a group of friends. It was their top pick of the Cape May choices, so we had a very special night out. The service was superb! Everyone attentive and eager to please. The food, without question, is of the best at Cape May- which speaks for itself! Treat yourself to a special night out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Is it possible to combine elegance and fun - Yes - one answer is "The Blue Rose."
My wife is fond of the expression "a party in your mouth" - several of the dishes we enjoyed at The Blue Rose definitely deserve this accolade. The menu is creative and interesting and skirts being too much - too many flavors - but falls on the right side to the delight of one's palette.
I'm a vegetarian, which means no fish, and there is much on this menu that falls out of what I eat - but no matter, there is enough that does.
The service is another expression of their unique ability to combine true elegance with insouciant fun. What more could one ask in a beach town. Our second visit here - we first visited last year, was one of the highlights of our annual extended weekend in Cape May. The Blue Rose now emerges as our favorite restaurant in the best of all beach towns where excellent dining is not hard to find. Kudos Blue Rose - we look forward to next year!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Our meals were delicious and expertly prepared. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and very pleasant. The atmosphere and surroundings were soothing and quality. We wood be happy to return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great location on Washington Street just beyond the pedestrian mall. Located in a Classic Victorian Inn. Talented chef presents delicious dishes that will please your palette. Attentive, informative and courteous staff will take care of your every need while you are there. We can't wait to return. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The Blue Rose is a wonderful food experience. The chef is very passionate about presentation, taste and creativity. This is the best food I have eaten in any restaurant EVER! The wait staff is knowledgeable and able to speak on every dish. The atmosphere is pretty and takes you back in time. This is my favorite place in Cape May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fantastic experience! Great food and service. Very pleasant, un-rushed time outside on the porch. Innovative dishes cooked perfectly. Topped off with a great desert and espresso. A little pricey but well worth it for a special occasion

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very good Sunday brunch. Food was excellent and service was very good. Definitely would recommend for a romantic brunch. Leave kids with sitter if you can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I have spent many nights in Cape May and have dined everywhere that is worthwhile...more than once. Blue rose is my new number one. The flavors this chef coaxed out of his beautifully presented dishes were absolutely as good and better as I have had anywhere in the world I know that is a lot to say but seriously, you have to taste the multiple layers of flavors so wonderfully done to believe it. I would book another weekend in Cape May this year just to eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our bday celebration dinner was absolutely amazing!!! From the moment you walk in you realize it's going to be a special meal experience. We were fortunate enough to have John as our waiter. He goes above & beyond as a waiter. He explains each dish in such detail that we were mesmerized. The meal started out with delicious bread & just got better with each course. Highly recommend this restaurant you will not be disappointed!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Lovely dining room with Victorian touches, yet fresh. Adults enjoyed their meals thoroughly. . Unique take on traditional dishes not appreciated by two highschool offspring.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

mérite amplement son classement, expérience des plus satisfaisantes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Very unique and delicious food. Presentation was beautiful. Service was great, the waitress was very knowledgeable and explained the dishes and made excellent recommendations. This was our second time here and it was great the first time and it didn't disappoint the second time either. One of our favorite restaurants in Cape May!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food - scallop appetizer was awesome. Also enjoyed the pork shoulder parpadelle. My husband loved the steak (Teres something). He also got this at Peter Shields but enjoyed Blue Rose better. Definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Outstanding from start to finish. Quintessential Cape May. No need for more of a review, just go and try anything because it will be amazing. And sit outside in the summer, inside during cooler months. Everything is still perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Blue Rose is unique in its presentation and its service. The food was exquisite and the wait staff unbelievable. We have dined there twice, for special occasions and so enjoy every aspect of our visit. John the head waiter is a pearl unto himself. He knew the chef's way with the preparation as well as being a very colorful figure. We highly recommend the Blue Rose at any time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a great evening at the Blue Rose Inn!! The food was OUTSTANDING with great service!! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food and service in a charming setting. Highly recommended; remember to bring your own wine!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very unique dishes due the blending of flavors. We started with the duck confit ravioli,then the cobia and the char. Finished with a dessert that had my name on it....Coconut and white chocolate creme brûlée....best ever. Outstanding service by John completed one our best meals ever. We shall return!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

What a hidden gem!! The atmosphere!! The service, we had John!! The food!! Everything was perfect!! Looking forward to returning again. The bread was soooo unusually tasty!! My scallops for appetizer to die for!! Ahi tuna was scrumptious!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Beautiful building, excellent waitstaff (our server John was very knowledgeable about the dishes and how they were prepared), and some of the best tasting food we have had in awhile! Highly recommend this number one rated Cape May restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2017

This restaurant has all the charm Cape May has to offer. If you get there a little early you sit on some rocking chairs on the front porch which for my girlfriend and i was a relaxing and wonderful experience. The wait staff was knowledgeable, kind, and good at what they do. Everything we had to eat was amazing. My girlfriend is a vegetarian and she was also very pleased with her choices. Last but not least do not skip the dessert. Both the souffle and the donuts were just so darn delicious. Definitely not a wasted experience we will be going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Best food in Cape May. We have been to other recommended restaurants in Cape May, but none come close. Never disappoints. Creative eclectic menu. The grilled scallops over Gorgonzola grits was heaven. Very attentive, friendly staff. If weather permits, dine on the porch. It is on a quiet street, so noise is not an issue. The quiet jazz playing just adds to the ambiance. Can't wait to return. We stayed at the inn, so we had breakfast as well. Just as amazing. Chef Angela even came out to chat with the guests.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The Blue Rose did not disappoint. From the fresh baked bread to dessert, all made in-house, and entries made to order from the freshest ingredients.

Laid back porch dining, no rush atmosphere, knowledgeable staff all added to overall experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Not impressed with the food at all. Room was noisy. Read great reviews and was so looking forward, but would not return or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Service was too slow an hour wait between appetizer and entres

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Charming porch eating. Inside also available. Innovative food. Very accommodating to my friend, who requires gluten free. BYOB, which makes the bill a bit more palatable. A lovely dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Amazing, as Always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent meal and wonderful ambiance and service. A must try when visiting Cape May.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our 2nd visit to The Blue Rose Restaurant. Having had an exceptional meal and service last summer we were looking forward to a return visit this year. Unfortunately, it fell short of our expectations. The food was good as was the service. However, after dining at a few other restaurants of like caliper- The Blue Rose was over priced. It also did not help matters that we heard other tables being offered a special dessert that required a 25 minute lead time, and were never even asked if we were interested in this dessert. I am sure it was an oversight on the part of our waitress but a disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing. Soft shell crab appetizer was phenomenal as was we're the pork pappardelle, chicken roulade, and scallops with pork belly. Awesome service; thus restaurant can compete with Philly's finest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.