About The Blue Point

1240 Duck Road / PO Box 8399
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

A fresh approach to regional, coastal cuisine & southern hospitality alongside spectacular views of the Currituck Sound.
Inspired dinner & lunch menus served in a warm and inviting atmosphere by a professional and natural staff. Exceptional and friendly Wine Menu + Full Bar.

There are very limited reservations for groups larger than 5 and must be made by phone. Reservations can be made to have dinner at the bar by phone.
We do have some seating available on a first come - first served basis so it is always worth checking to see if you can get a table. In season we have a large outdoor bar area on the sound where you can enjoy a cocktail while you wait.

No better place for good food, good wine, good friends and spectacular sunsets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:00pm -9:30pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Live Music
BackBar: Every Day at 5PM
Live Music at the BackBar: Tues., Wed., Sat., Sun.

Cross Street:
Cook Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8090

Website:
http://www.thebluepoint.com/

Entertainment:
Sunday Brunch, 11:30-2:30, in the Main Bar.
The Back Bar In The Yard: In Season Only

Parking Details:
Large Lot for Waterfront Shops. Handicap Ramp located in center of shops.

Executive Chef:
Sam McGann

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Blue Point Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
5 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Outer Banks
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Duck ›

Scenic View (204)
Special Occasion (165)
Fit for Foodies (153)
See All
Romantic (115)
Neighborhood Gem (85)
Notable Wine List (80)
Great for Lunch (55)
Hot Spot (53)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Good for Groups (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Great for Brunch (27)
Late-night Find (19)
Kid-friendly (15)
Waterfront (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food, drinks and food were excellent as ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food, drinks and food were excellent as always. Nice scenic view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great Beer, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my very favorite restaurants! At ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of my very favorite restaurants! Ate at The Blue Point on our honeymoon and returned for our 25th anniversary (plus have been a few times in between).

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but not great, overpriced. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good but not great, overpriced. Pretty location, great water views.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I dine here several times a year. Seems ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 5 days ago

I dine here several times a year. Seems the prices have been raised.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was great, so was the service. Woul ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great, so was the service. Would go back again

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great spot for a date! Our server ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

What a great spot for a date! Our server, Bobbi was a pro, very pleasant and knew the wine list quite well. If they have fried green tomatoes on the menu, try them! Crab cakes were great, too, and our pecan pie for dessert with bourbon ice cream hit the spot. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming here since their ope ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We have been coming here since their opening in '96/'97(?).

Never disappoints!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every detail beautiful - from the cockta ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Every detail beautiful - from the cocktails to the fried green tomato app to the wine to the seared tuna! Lovely atmosphere, great service, amazing view of the sound with storm clouds coming in. We had been to the Blue Point over 15 years ago when it was smaller, but the quality was still above par. Can't wait to visit the next time we are in the OBX!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband & I had not been back to Blu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My husband & I had not been back to Blue Point in a very long time. We were so pleasantly surprised & experienced a wonderful dinner in a lovely restaurant. We will definitely be returning in the very near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited the Outer Banks for the first ti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Visited the Outer Banks for the first time this summer and used advice from Open Table and Trip Advisor to select The Blue Point. Best decision we made all week! Our server was an absolute pro and the food was outstanding. I ordered the crispy fried wild blue Virginia catfish and my wife chose the jumbo lump crab w/ smoked salmon. I don't usually order fried food but wow, was this a perfectly prepared meal! I have already recommended Blue Point to all friends and work colleagues that vacation on the Outer Banks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good food, prepared and ser ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Consistently good food, prepared and served well. Great atmosphere. New outside bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have had some terrific meals at Blue P ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I have had some terrific meals at Blue Point in the past, but this past experience was awful. Our waitress got just about everything wrong- removed beverages while still half full, "over-ruled" cooking temp. requests, forgot drink orders and Forgot us completely in the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

For the last 25 years we have been enjoy ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

For the last 25 years we have been enjoying Blue Point for it's friendly service and fantastic food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Point consistently delivers a w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The Blue Point consistently delivers a wonderful experience. Great food and service in a friendly atmosphere with incredible views. fantastic wine list! The outdoor bar is a fabulous addition.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One member of our group had specific die ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One member of our group had specific dietary concerns, and our server Ellen worked hard to make sure they were satisfied. The catfish and the mahi mahi were outstanding, as was the trout, which was ordered by two of our party. The chocolate chip brownie with banana ice cream was simply incredible. We also appreciate the staff accommodating a last minute change in our party size from 4 to 5.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good but kitchen was slowe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was very good but kitchen was slower than it should have been. Sunset view was nice. Tables were too close together and people behind us were quite loud. Menu has good variety and specials were interesting.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful food and atmosphere. Service ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful food and atmosphere. Service was outstanding and the food was fabulous. A great "date night" spot.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is some of the best on the Outer Ba ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food is some of the best on the Outer Banks - know that also comes with difficult-to-get reservations and some interesting seating. We, fortunately, weren't seated at the bar (that IS a possibility), but we 60+ folks were seated at a high booth in the bar, leaving my feet dangling for our dinner. That's hard on those with bad hips. Love LOVE that they do take reservations - so many Outer Banks places just feel you should wait for the privilege of their food, Blue Point treats your right with the reservations. Reserve more than a week in advance if you want a time before 9 PM. Very good value doesn't mean inexpensive, but comparable to vacation prices and the food lives up to the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are regulars at this restaurant and h ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We are regulars at this restaurant and have always enjoyed the experience. The food on the visit was not up to the Blue Point standards. The service was exceptional but the five of us all agreed that the meals were at best average.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We always make it a point to spend a nig ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We always make it a point to spend a night out at The Blue Point when we are in OBX. It is the best restaurant in OBX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over the years while vacationing in the ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Over the years while vacationing in the Outer Banks, we have always made time to eat at the Blue Point. This was probably our 12th time there and it never disappoints! We will be back again next year.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From start to finish this restaurant got ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

From start to finish this restaurant got it right. Server was attentive and knowledgeable without pressing. Apps, entree, and dessert all top notch. The place is not cheap but if you have one night to spoil yourself/family/friends this is the place in Duck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food v. good, service good. Our 4th vi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food v. good, service good. Our 4th visit. Unfortunately dinner was ruined by a woman 2 tables away who thought cackling & shrieking at the top of her lung capacity was appropriate fine dining behaviour. She went on and on and her 3 companions didn’t shut her up. We felt sorry for the couple sitting in the booth behind this rabble. We should have asked to move but we kept thinking her screeching would end. Awful experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food always superb--creative and in seas ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food always superb--creative and in season. Friendly servers we have gotten to know. Great view of the Sound, and the sunset a little later. Can be a little noisy at times.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We love Blue Point! One of our favorite ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love Blue Point! One of our favorite places in the OBX..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been going to the Blue Point for ov ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Have been going to the Blue Point for over 20 years.....always fantastic!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

While vacationing in Duck, I took my dau ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

While vacationing in Duck, I took my daughters there for a girls night out. We enjoyed the atmosphere and food. They particularly liked the cocktail and dessert selection. However the dinner was superb. We had the blueberry and peach cobbler. Always a favorite Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had both lunch and dinner at Blue Point. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had both lunch and dinner at Blue Point. Lunch was delicious and so fresh. Crab cake and Caesar salad were excellent. Good ambience - great sound side views. Dinner was also good, but over-priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Have been going to the Blue Point for ma ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Have been going to the Blue Point for many years, and it has always had great food. This time my wife had the fried catfish, which she ended up ordering the next day again, and I had a tuna special. Doesn't matter, its all good. Nice bar. They lost the original iconic decor, but small loss.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Blue Point is one of our favorite restau ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Blue Point is one of our favorite restaurants, not just in Duck. We always make a point to visit at least once during our OBX vacation. The servers are personable, knowledgable and professional. We've always enjoyed the atmosphere, especially the outdoor area where we see beautiful sunsets. Be sure to come prior to your reservation so you don't miss the outdoor space. They have a new outdoor bar that is truly lovely. The food is upscale, the ingredients are creative and always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff is always fabulous at the Blue ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The staff is always fabulous at the Blue Point! Food is amazing to along with the beautiful view of the sound!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thought that the food was expensive f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We thought that the food was expensive for the amount you received. We went to a few other dinners where we spent less, got more food, the food was better and we still sat with a view of the water.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband and I ate at the Blue Point w ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My husband and I ate at the Blue Point while vacationing in the Outer Banks. It also happened to be our anniversary. The food was SUPERB. We had southern dishes--fried green tomatoes, catfish and peach cobbler. As a southerner, I was impressed that the dishes captured the flavors I appreciated with flourishes I didn't expect. The buttermilk ice cream atop the peach cobbler was a refreshing surprise.

I reserved our table a month in advance. We tried to eat at Blue Point again during our stay but couldn't get a table. It is definitely worth a return visit.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The country and ham and biscuits were a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The country and ham and biscuits were a great start to the meal. We enjoyed a superb omelette and you can't beat $5 Bloody Marys!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was very comfortable, qui ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The restaurant was very comfortable, quiet, the service was excellent (friendly and sought to take care of our requests) and the food (we both had the trout) was excellent and was well presented. Cudos to the chef. The view of the sound and the boardwalk was excellent. We had an enjoyable evening there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go here every year at the conclusion ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We go here every year at the conclusion of our two week beach vacation at the Outer Banks. The Blue Point features a smaller menu with a few specials that highlight a lot of the chef's translations of local favorites.

You can expect that the food will deliver without fail. Zero complaints about the food.

The service was great, though a few times they were slow to retrieve spent dishes from the table. This may have been an artifact of a new busboy who was clearly green and overwhelmed - but didn't affect our evening too much.

I understand that when dining out at a venue of this caliber that the bar picks up revenue and drinks are more expensive. However, our cocktails seemed a little pricey even when considering that fact. The missus and I wanted to splurge on nicer bottle of wine from their excellent selection, so we backed off our cocktail regulars a bit and settled on well or rail drinks ... which ended up costing just as much as some of the specialty cocktails we skimped on.

That's partially on us for not doing our homework on the price, but I'd expect basics with well liquors to be less expensive than specialty cocktails. That's up to you as a reader of this review to see if I'm off base.

All in all: we'll be back, every year, for as long as we continue to vacation at the Outer Banks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great night every year OBX !! ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Always a great night every year OBX !! Love the Blue Point! Food is always spot on and the ambiance and out door views are the best in DUCK NC!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BP is always our first place for din ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The BP is always our first place for dinner in the OBX. can't match the service food and atmosphere anywhere in OBX. There are good restaurants in OBX but none that score perfect marks in all categories. Make reservations early to get preferred seating time. But drinks outside before dinner complete the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, food was delicious! The menu ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

As always, food was delicious! The menu wraps imaginative without going overboard. Fresh fish , fresh veggies - all good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.