About The Blue Point

1240 Duck Road / PO Box 8399
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

A fresh approach to regional, coastal cuisine & southern hospitality alongside spectacular views of the Currituck Sound.
Inspired dinner & lunch menus served in a warm and inviting atmosphere by a professional and natural staff. Exceptional and friendly Wine Menu + Full Bar.

There are very limited reservations for groups larger than 6. Reservations can be made to have dinner at the bar.
We do have some seating available on a first come - first served basis so it is always worth checking to see if you can get a table. In season we have a large outdoor bar area on the sound where you can enjoy a cocktail while you wait.

No better place for good food, good wine, good friends and spectacular sunsets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday 5:00pm -9:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Live Music
Bar Menu: 5:00--9:00 pm in the Bar, Tuesday--Thursday
CLOSED MONDAYS OFF SEASON

Cross Street:
Cook Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8090

Website:
http://www.thebluepoint.com/

Entertainment:
Sunday Brunch, 11:30-2:30, in the Main Bar.
The Back Bar In The Yard: In Season Only

Parking Details:
Large Lot for Waterfront Shops. Handicap Ramp located in center of shops.

Executive Chef:
Sam McGann

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Blue Point Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
7 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Duck ›

scenic view (120)
fit for foodies (108)
special occasion (95)
See All
neighborhood gem (66)
notable wine list (64)
romantic (60)
great for lunch (52)
hot spot (35)
great for brunch (31)
good for groups (29)
vibrant bar scene (25)
great for outdoor dining (22)
late-night find (11)
kid-friendly (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, great service, beautiful view

Dined 3 days ago

The Blue Point is in a class by itself-- - for dining anywhere. Eating there--for a family dinner or to celebrate a special anniversary--has become a special highlight in our annual trip to the Outer Banks. The food is consistently excellent, the service impeccable, and the atmosphere at once relaxed, comfortable, and elegant. Simply the best.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

Soup of the day (potato) was not good, a ...

Dined 4 days ago

Soup of the day (potato) was not good, and $30 is expensive for 4 scallops. Disappointing for the first time in 30 years of eating there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, as usual, but so much more

Dined 4 days ago

I've been to the Blue Point at least 5 times before the meal on Sat. 5/21/16, and they each surpassed my expectations. We got there at the perfect time to be offered Soft Shell Crab appetizers, and they were perfectly prepared and enticingly presented. Get 'em while you can! We ate them and then had dessert, never to be missed at The Blue Point. I had the Pecan Pie, which is actually a large tart-sized pie. Served with Bourbon Ice Cream, it was a guilty pleasure from first bite to last. I appreciated the advice of our server regarding the relative difficulty in removing the spine of the local rockfish, served whole. I'm glad I opted for the Soft Shell Crab. It's excellent food and honest answers by servers that make The Blue Point stand out for my taste. After all, when you spend the money for an upscale place like The Blue Point, you want and expect to be wowed. And we were.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Picturesque and delicious!

Dined 6 days ago

The food is consistently excellent, as is the staff, and management.. Every dish that comes outa that kitchen is picture perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently great

Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is the best of Duck! The scallops with quinoa were delicious-fresh and flavorful. The mahi was delicious as well. Don't get too full for dessert-the pecan pie with bourbon ice cream is wonderful-and so was crème brulee.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than we remembered

Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I had a kid-free night while we were in Duck for vacation. We took advantage of it and went to Blue Point and we were not disappointed! It was better than we remembered the last time we were there. Our server was fantastic, the drinks were amazing -- especially the dessert one (chocolate kiss) -- and the food was delicious!!! We each had the she crab soup for a starter, I had the Guinea hen and gnocchi for my main course while my husband had the beef tenderloin. We saved room for dessert and had the chocolate brownie and the creme brûlée. Also, the view of the sound is really nice and you can see it from most of the tables. If you are thinking about trying Blue Point, I highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining on the Outer Banks

Dined 6 days ago

We stumbled upon the Blue Point our first night in Outer Banks. We were tired and cranky after two days of travel. It was wonderful and put us in the right frame of mind for holiday! We ended up eating there again for our last night, saddened it's not in our neighborhood. Later, we read about it in one of the guidebooks and it was over and above the information given. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 18, 2016

Everything was great! Food options, food, service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening as always

Dined on May 17, 2016

Always enjoy in the "off season". Lunch is always delicious as was our dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Superb service. The best location for a ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Superb service. The best location for a quiet dinner on the Outer Banks.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect Anniversary Dinner!

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner with perfect service, fabulous food, and amazing sunset! We loved the Mahi special , Crabcakes and strawberry/rhubarb cobbler with honeysuckle ice cream. Thank you Blue Point for a perfect anniversary celebration.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Point sets the standard for exc ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Blue Point sets the standard for excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoyed

Dined on May 14, 2016

We been Blue Point numerous. The service food are always top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food, with the seafood of part ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent food, with the seafood of particular note. The local crab and mahi were excellent. Service was attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The place was very nice. Great views. Fo ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The place was very nice. Great views. Food was presented well. Waiter could have been better.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch for Mothers Day was very special.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service and soft shelled Benedict was off the chart . Bloody Maria's were A++, not to mention superb cauliflower soup. A place like no other for a super special mother and a view too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but red eye gravy needed ham STEAKS ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good but red eye gravy needed ham STEAKS and crab benedict should have used crab meat, not crab cakes!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellent!

Dined on May 7, 2016

One of the BEST restaurants in the Northern Outer Banks....by a mile. The food is always good...my personal favorite is the beef tenderloin. Top it off with the Pecan Pie and Bourboun Ice Cream, the food coma is with every bite! I am a mojito fan, and have to say they make tasty mojitos! The wine is is also quite extensive. If you are visiting the Outer Banks, this is one of the few places you can actually make reservations. Hint...make the reservations in advance of traveling, that way you will be sure to experience this fabulous place!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Can't go wrong with anything you order. ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Can't go wrong with anything you order. Have never had a bad meal here. Sunsets are also beautifully seen from one of the many window seats or even out on the lawn.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best

Dined on May 6, 2016

We have gone to Blue Point many, many times. No, every visit hasn't been perfect but it hasn't been far off. This last weekend we had a wonderful visit. The server was friendly but not intrusive, the food was excellent. The dessert -- well, I was ready for my usual crème brulee until the server told me that they had strawberry-rhubarb cobbler with buttermilk ice cream. Did I change my mind fast and was I glad I did! It was a lovely evening, enjoying the sunset, enjoying the location and most of all enjoying the food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Just fabulous! What a wonderful place.

Dined on May 6, 2016

We have been coming for a week in the spring for twenty-five years. It is our all-time favorite restaurant. The food is consistently great, the view of the Sound (and sunset) are just the best. We usually sit at the bar and are treated to terrific service, smiling local regulars, and an unbeatable wait staff. We live in a tourist town on the ocean up north, but this is by far, the best all -around experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not up to expectations

Dined on May 5, 2016

After reading reviews, we decided that this was a must dine location for our weekend trip to Duck. The locale and interior were great as was the service. The food was good but not great. Both of our entrees were rather bland although the desert was very good. bland. Certainly not worth the money

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Friends and I go to the Blue Point every year for a special dinner. The food is always outstanding, and the service is excellent. Our waitress Bobbi was great. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes good food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not impressive.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Service was extremely slow, and the food was just OK. We should have known, sign at the road says "Chef Wanted" But no discount for lack of service if this was the cause.

food1
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been to the Blue Point a half do ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We have been to the Blue Point a half dozen times over the past 8 years on our weekly vacations. We were disappointed this time. I left a note on the tab: "The service was great! The fish was overcooked and the short rib looked and tasted like pot roast. Sorry." The fish was flounder, the local catch of the day. It was mushy. The short rib was dry and tasteless and cut like pot roast. It had no rib and was badly in need of a burgundy based sauce or similar sauce for moisture and flavor. The restaurant is pricey for the Outer Banks. So, I expect it to be a great experience every time. The hostess and servers were all friendly and accommodating. We had a great booth by the window overlooking the Sound. But the entrees weren't as good as what we could have eaten at Taco Bell.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our blue point experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

the blue point has always been our go-to place for special occasions or just one we make special by going there. i also love open table for making reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on April 27, 2016

This was my second visit. My first was in 2009. The service and quality hasn't changed one bit. The food is always amazing. We both agreed that the calamari is the best we've ever had. My steak was perfect and my boyfriend's catfish was incredibly tasty. We couldn't have asked for a better dinner out while in OBX. I can't remember our server's name but she was also amazing. Thank you Blue Point!!! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Choice

Dined on April 27, 2016

Traveling to the Outer Banks for the first time we weren't really sure where we should have dinner. Chose the Blue Point and it was a terrific choice. We showed up about an hour earlier than our reservation taking a chance for an early seating. Worse case we would have had drinks at their bar. Luckily we were able to ge immediate seating with a wonderful view of the water. Service was amazingly great! Meals were perfect and we chose a bottle of Bialle's Black Chicken wine. All in all the dinner was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Glenn and Evelyn Wilson

Dined on April 27, 2016

We love the Blue Point and try to visit each time we visit the Outer Banks. We love the food and the atmosphere. Service was superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful!!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Had the extreme delight to enjoy a date night with my husband at the Blue Point in Duck, NC. Our table overlooked the sound and was absolutely beautiful! Our server was so helpful and friendly and she went out of her way to make us and every one she served feel very special! The food was AMAZING! We started off with roasted Calamari with tomatoes, garlic and capers which was so different from the usual fried fare! It was out of this world. I had the flounder special that was also amazing and my husband had the crabcakes! Price was a little higher than most restaurants but it is so well worth it! Can't wait for our next visit

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bluepoint - Awesome as always.

Dined on April 24, 2016

We always love going to The Bluepoint in Duck. Each and every item on the menu is fabulously prepared and locally sourced when possible. The owners, chefs, and staff are all always really friendly and welcoming. This is hands down the best restaurant in the northern beaches of the Outer Banks! We would recommend it to anyone! Book early in the summer as reservations fill up really quickly!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great for seafood lovers and nonseafood lovers. The emphasis on local food is excellent,the fresh catch selection is always interesting and unique. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fabulous dinner! I love taking f ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Another fabulous dinner! I love taking friends to The Blue Point. The food and cocktails are fresh and imaginative. Crab cakes are so good and so were the scallops. My friend thought the mini-wedge, which we shared, was the best wedge salad she'd had. And they made two plates for us - yet another nice touch from a classy place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Definitive Gem of Duck

Dined on April 20, 2016

Blue Point has become our go-to now for our annual vacation to Duck. We ate at the bar, by choice. Amazing meal, wonderful service and a friendly bar crowd. Table seating seemed perfect for a quiet romantic meal but for us, we were in the mood to bar it. The meal was AMAZING. Only problem is you can't eat at Blue Point without having the oyster chowder, which is the best oyster soup I've ever had anywhere. Once you have that, try to leave room for something else from the restaurant's incredible menu. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Good!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Good food, good service, always busy, reservations for dinner seem a must even in the off season.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great find. I can see why it is a ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

What a great find. I can see why it is a local favorite. The food the service and the drinks are exceptional and very innovative. We had to go back the next evening to eat dessert and try the after dinner drinks menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried and true

Dined on April 13, 2016

One of our favorites for almost 20 years. The crab cakes are excellent. Desserts are great!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Blue Point is GREAT!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Delicious dinner at sunset! Couldn't be much better!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food, beautiful view

Dined on April 7, 2016

We've been to Blue Point several times and have enjoyed this restaurant, particularly for the water view. The food is good, though pricey but the wait staff is very attentive and want to make sure you have a good dining experience. Blue Point is good for a special occasion. It also offers a nice lunch for less cost.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun again at the Blue Point bar

Dined on April 3, 2016

My husband and I love to sit at the bar for drinks and supper, not only because we can sit close to each other and chat, have a great sunset view, see the people coming and going, but because the staff at the bar is always entertaining and engaging. This past visit, Bob appreciated the presentation of the (delicious) whole rockfish and we both enjoyed the fiddlehead fern and asparagus salad. I count on clever salad creations at the BP and am never disappointed. Whether it's John, Simon, Chris, or Erin, we're always entertained. Hands down, our favorite choice for dining on the OBX!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.