About The Blue Point

1240 Duck Road / PO Box 8399
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

A fresh approach to regional, coastal cuisine & southern hospitality alongside spectacular views of the Currituck Sound.
Inspired dinner & lunch menus served in a warm and inviting atmosphere by a professional and natural staff. Exceptional and friendly Wine Menu + Full Bar.

There are very limited reservations for groups larger than 6. Reservations can be made to have dinner at the bar.
We do have some seating available on a first come - first served basis so it is always worth checking to see if you can get a table. In season we have a large outdoor bar area on the sound where you can enjoy a cocktail while you wait.

No better place for good food, good wine, good friends and spectacular sunsets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:00pm -9:30pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Live Music

Cross Street:
Cook Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8090

Website:
http://www.thebluepoint.com/

Entertainment:
Sunday Brunch, 11:30-2:30, in the Main Bar.
The Back Bar In The Yard: In Season Only

Parking Details:
Large Lot for Waterfront Shops. Handicap Ramp located in center of shops.

Executive Chef:
Sam McGann

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Blue Point Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
4 More
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Duck ›

scenic view (149)
fit for foodies (126)
special occasion (121)
See All
romantic (80)
neighborhood gem (77)
notable wine list (70)
great for lunch (55)
hot spot (50)
vibrant bar scene (36)
great for brunch (31)
good for groups (29)
great for outdoor dining (25)
late-night find (13)
kid-friendly (11)
Sort By:
Newest
1316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome location right on the water. Re ...

Dined 3 days ago

Awesome location right on the water. Restaurant is very nice but on a quiet sound front Boardwalk I would have expected the decor to be brighter and more welcoming. It's a bit dark and "city like" for the location. Food is very good. The fish is excellent. Any meat dish we had seemed to be a little too salty. I would attribute that to the sauces. Overall a 4 out of 5.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant at the Outer Ban ...

Dined 3 days ago

Our favorite restaurant at the Outer Banks! Something for everyone and all delicious. The sides were excellent; wild rice with sweet cherries, cauliflower and toasted pecans Yum! The desserts were to die for., Key Lime tart, pecan pie with bourbon ice cream and my favorite vanilla bean Creme Brûlée. Add to this the ambience of sunset over the sound! Ahh!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing FOOD scenery and service thank ...

Dined 5 days ago

Amazing FOOD scenery and service thanks Blue Point for making our 40th anniversary special

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, great service.

Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food, great service.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Overpriced, but that's to be expected on ...

Dined 6 days ago

Overpriced, but that's to be expected on the Outer Banks. The small basket of breads/butter at the beginning was good, especially the cornbread. My dinner was scallops, four, with quinoa. They were done nicely. $33. My wife's trout was undercooked. She ate what she could and did not raise a fuss. Bluepoint is an upscale restaurant if that's what you are looking for. They do have a nice wine selection, but we don't have wine frequently. We find better value at other venues.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was just outstanding as always ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our meal was just outstanding as always here: Soft shell crabs and crab saute.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have dined at the Blue Point a number ...

Dined 7 days ago

We have dined at the Blue Point a number of times over the past few years and they have admirably accommodated our request for special needs seating (wheel chair) at an out-of-the-way table. But this past Father's Day they missed the mark. The food was great as was the service, but the table we were seated at was right along the main travel route for patrons and wait staff and the wheel chair stuck out into that traffic. The next time we look for a restaurant to celebrate a special occasion at we'll think twice about our recent experience at the Blue Point.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blue Point was recommend to us. It was ...

Dined 7 days ago

Blue Point was recommend to us. It was truly as good as we were told. The next day we passed along the recommendation

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We have dinner at the Blue Point every y ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We have dinner at the Blue Point every year during our annual Outer Banks vacation. This year was not up to par. My short ribs were extremely fatty and I did not enjoy my meal. Some salads were overly dressed--we expect better quality control at these prices. Two people said their fish was satisfactory but not great. My son was the only one who said the pork he ordered was the best he's ever had. This is the first time we've been disappointed with food and somewhat with the service

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible view right on the water. The ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Incredible view right on the water. The restaurant has large windows with sights right on the ocean. The boardwalk and deck outside have chairs for a drink while you wait or after dinner. The food was fantastic. Best meal we had in the Outerbanks.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time guests

Dined on June 8, 2016

This was our first time at Blue Point, however this is one we will be coming back to each year on vacation! Great little spot!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service has been great every time we ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

The service has been great every time we've been there. The servers, Elaine, Bruce, and Chris have all been knowledgeable efficient, and friendly. The food is very good. As the spirits flow and the crowds grow, the noise level sometimes gets a bit much, but I'm sure we'll keep going back.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

Great dinner, knowledgeable staff, good ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Great dinner, knowledgeable staff, good food. One suggestion--warm the bread!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food - but be prepared

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was only our second time at the Blue Point. As before the food and service were excellent. Some of the entrees and starters were different offerings than can be found elsewhere in the Outer Banks - preparation and combinations of flavors were excellent. Both my wife and I had the Mahi Mahi special. The sauce and accompanying vegetables were excellent and you could tell the fish had been swimming less that 24 hours earlier. However, we had both forgotten the noise level in the Blue Point. Either that or we were there on a noisier than normal night. The level was such that we sometimes could not hear each other when speaking at a normal volume. True, our location was adjacent to the open kitchen, but most of the noise was from other tables. If you want an excellent, but nice quiet meal, I would recommend another restaurant. Reservations strongly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently great

Dined on June 4, 2016

The baby back ribs offered as an appetizer were fantastic and I'm not a meat eater generally. All 4 of us enjoyed our meal. The only negative was that the scallops were too salty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Perfect date night! We went early (5:30) to sit at the bar for supper-it was perfectly quiet and Simon was chatty and fun and we had time to visit. We had a great tuna sashimi app, soft shell app, then mahi w veggie mix for entree. Liberty School cab that they're pouring right now was also perfect. Crowd started coming in and it got lively right as we were leaving! Thanks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Don't Miss The Blue Point!

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We have dined here many times over the years, the most recent was twice last week. The food and service are very good. The wine list is good and the servers make good recommendations if needed. It is right in the sound, with shops there too, so you can get there early to browse the shops and enjoy the view. This is a lively fun, high quality dining destination.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Must-Dine In The Outer Banks!

Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband and I have been dining at this Duck gem for many years, and never let a beach trip go by without going to The Blue Point. The view can't be beat, viewed from the comfortable, diner-like interior. The food is always good, and I recommend the generous and fall-off-the-bone tender hoisin glazed ribs, the double cut pork chop (the mac and cheese is heavenly!) and any dessert. Treat yourself to a Loosey Goosey while you unwind and peruse the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very nice place to eat..

Dined on June 2, 2016

Good food, to many kids were sat around us for it to be a romantic date night. Portions of the seafood dishes were small for the price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Dining Experience

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

This restaurant is lively, not at all subdued. The food is great, the service is great, the view is great...it's a definite when visiting Duck on the Outer Banks. Our group had the filet, the crab cakes, the scallops...all were excellent. Note for those who ienjoy wine ...the wine list is very good and you can buy the wine glasses with the Blue Point logo on them...a great and useful souvenir! Reservations needed.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

28 years of the best food on the beach.

Dined on June 1, 2016

We've been coming here for all 28 years of this place's history, and have never had a bad meal. It's the highlight of our trips to Duck, and we rarely come without at least one fine meal here (Usually crab cakes for me). They're bigger now, the result of past floods and storms, and of good design for their creative expansions, and they haven't lost an iota of their personalized friendliness or the superb quality of their meals. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacation night out

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Brought our 3 adult children and had a wonderful evening. Fish was fresh, wine was complex and the desserts were scrumptious. Strawberry Rhubarb deliciousness.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Innovative, Expansive menu, much more than Seafood

Dined on May 30, 2016

We loved the food and ambiance at The Blue Point so much, we dined there two nights in a row. The setting is lovely, on the Duck Boardwalk, looking out over the Currituck Sound at the setting sun. My wife is not a lover of Seafood, and The Blue Point offers some truly imaginative and appetizing alternatives, in addition to their local catch. The Beef Spareribs were a huge hit with her (best she's ever had,) and I particularly loved the Soft-Shell Crab appetizer. Though The Blue Point has been in Duck for many years, they keep the menu fresh, with local ingredients, innovative cooking methods, and cutting-edge ideas. The restaurant itself is undergoing an update, as well, with a new Bar area on the waterfront side, soon to open.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Around

Dined on May 30, 2016

The Blue Point started out as my favorite restaurant to visit while in the Outer Banks. It has become my favorite restaurant. Period. The food is consistently tasty. The chef is very creative with flavor combinations. They do a great job of balancing the mainstays people love (like the delicious she-crab soup) with interesting and new set-ups and dishes that hit the mark every time! Add to that the amazing view, the friendly service and the extensive wine/drink options and it is a winner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Cuisine is outstanding, service is excel ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Cuisine is outstanding, service is excellent and the sunset venue lovely. We make it a point to spend an evening here each time we visit Duck.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous evening. The short ribs were fa ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Fabulous evening. The short ribs were fall-off-the-bone tender, and the trout was outstanding. Bruce was awesome and spoiled us as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

As always great food, service, and atmos ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

As always great food, service, and atmosphere. Love this place!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Hand-crafted, Local Fare

Dined on May 26, 2016

The Blue Point was a great find on our trip to Duck. We were looking for an excellent birthday meal for our good friend and found high quality, thoughtfully prepared cuisine. The cocktail menu was creative and accented our dinner excellently. I had the corneal gnocchi with Guinea hen and morel mushrooms - the gnocchi were perfectly light and the cornmeal gave the dish an excellent texture . The Guinea hen was tender and well-seasoned, and the mushrooms added a rich flavor. The service was attentive and the staff knowledgable. We had a gorgeous view of the sunset during our meal. I was blown away!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Over all good service. Overpriced. I en ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Over all good service. Overpriced. I enjoy a beer on tap Occasionally and the tap was out of order.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Great ambiance and view.

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Great ambiance and view.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to the Blue Point in about ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

I hadn't been to the Blue Point in about 6-7 years. I remembered it as the finest dining experience I had ever had - and it did not disappoint this time. It is beautifully expanded, with both indoor and outdoor opportunities to dine, and the renovation is modern and slick (but I do miss the old retro décor). The food was inventive and delicious - I can't think of any other restaurant that compares to this.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently fine dining!

Dined on May 24, 2016

Ellen was our fantastic server and she's always smiling! Two of us had the mahi with spring veggies and it was perfectly cooked and oh so delicious. The other two in the group had the soft shells and said they were terrific. Rhubarb cobbler was a HUGE hit. We're lucky to live here, to see our friends at The Blue Point, and to watch the sun set over the sound in Duck at your landmark restaurant! Thanks for a wonderful dinner...again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on May 22, 2016

Have been coming here for 25 years. Huge disappointment tonight. Forgotten and ignored by the wait staff for huge portions of the evening. Food cold. $32+ for four scallops and some dry quinoa - I was robbed. Two nights before the quinoa with snap peas was sublime. So angry I cancelled our final reservation for the week.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, great service, beautiful view

Dined on May 22, 2016

The Blue Point is in a class by itself-- - for dining anywhere. Eating there--for a family dinner or to celebrate a special anniversary--has become a special highlight in our annual trip to the Outer Banks. The food is consistently excellent, the service impeccable, and the atmosphere at once relaxed, comfortable, and elegant. Simply the best.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

Soup of the day (potato) was not good, a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Soup of the day (potato) was not good, and $30 is expensive for 4 scallops. Disappointing for the first time in 30 years of eating there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, as usual, but so much more

Dined on May 21, 2016

I've been to the Blue Point at least 5 times before the meal on Sat. 5/21/16, and they each surpassed my expectations. We got there at the perfect time to be offered Soft Shell Crab appetizers, and they were perfectly prepared and enticingly presented. Get 'em while you can! We ate them and then had dessert, never to be missed at The Blue Point. I had the Pecan Pie, which is actually a large tart-sized pie. Served with Bourbon Ice Cream, it was a guilty pleasure from first bite to last. I appreciated the advice of our server regarding the relative difficulty in removing the spine of the local rockfish, served whole. I'm glad I opted for the Soft Shell Crab. It's excellent food and honest answers by servers that make The Blue Point stand out for my taste. After all, when you spend the money for an upscale place like The Blue Point, you want and expect to be wowed. And we were.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Picturesque and delicious!

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is consistently excellent, as is the staff, and management.. Every dish that comes outa that kitchen is picture perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently great

Dined on May 19, 2016

This restaurant is the best of Duck! The scallops with quinoa were delicious-fresh and flavorful. The mahi was delicious as well. Don't get too full for dessert-the pecan pie with bourbon ice cream is wonderful-and so was crème brulee.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than we remembered

Dined on May 19, 2016

My husband and I had a kid-free night while we were in Duck for vacation. We took advantage of it and went to Blue Point and we were not disappointed! It was better than we remembered the last time we were there. Our server was fantastic, the drinks were amazing -- especially the dessert one (chocolate kiss) -- and the food was delicious!!! We each had the she crab soup for a starter, I had the Guinea hen and gnocchi for my main course while my husband had the beef tenderloin. We saved room for dessert and had the chocolate brownie and the creme brûlée. Also, the view of the sound is really nice and you can see it from most of the tables. If you are thinking about trying Blue Point, I highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining on the Outer Banks

Dined on May 19, 2016

We stumbled upon the Blue Point our first night in Outer Banks. We were tired and cranky after two days of travel. It was wonderful and put us in the right frame of mind for holiday! We ended up eating there again for our last night, saddened it's not in our neighborhood. Later, we read about it in one of the guidebooks and it was over and above the information given. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.