About The Blue Point

1240 Duck Road / PO Box 8399
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

A fresh approach to regional, coastal cuisine & southern hospitality alongside spectacular views of the Currituck Sound.
Inspired dinner & lunch menus served in a warm and inviting atmosphere by a professional and natural staff. Exceptional and friendly Wine Menu + Full Bar.

There are very limited reservations for groups larger than 5 and must be made by phone. Reservations can be made to have dinner at the bar by phone.
We do have some seating available on a first come - first served basis so it is always worth checking to see if you can get a table. In season we have a large outdoor bar area on the sound where you can enjoy a cocktail while you wait.

No better place for good food, good wine, good friends and spectacular sunsets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:00pm -9:30pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Live Music
BackBar: Every Day at 5PM
Live Music at the BackBar: Tues., Wed., Sat., Sun.

Cross Street:
Cook Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8090

Website:
http://www.thebluepoint.com/

Entertainment:
Sunday Brunch, 11:30-2:30, in the Main Bar.
The Back Bar In The Yard: In Season Only

Parking Details:
Large Lot for Waterfront Shops. Handicap Ramp located in center of shops.

Executive Chef:
Sam McGann

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Blue Point Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
3 More
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Duck ›

scenic view (172)
fit for foodies (139)
special occasion (139)
See All
romantic (100)
neighborhood gem (75)
notable wine list (70)
hot spot (55)
great for lunch (55)
vibrant bar scene (41)
good for groups (36)
great for outdoor dining (33)
great for brunch (26)
late-night find (13)
kid-friendly (11)
Sort By:
Newest
1356 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

For the last several years, friends in D ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

For the last several years, friends in Duck have invited me to visit them. As a "thank you" and to end the visit, I treat them to dinner at the Blue Point. It is always a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meals were creative but fell short. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The meals were creative but fell short. Great views and location are the best part. Overall the flavors were missing from these interesting menu items. The service felt rushed and not overly helpful. Just average at above average prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The back bar area was gorgeous, and the ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 7 days ago

The back bar area was gorgeous, and the food was wonderful! However, our service was subpar at best. I wanted to order a glass of wine after a young man brought our dish; however, we never saw our waiter again. By that time, we were just ready to go. Too bad, from a business standpoint, they lost a lot of money from us.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

The BEST food in the Outer Banks. Lunch ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 7 days ago

The BEST food in the Outer Banks. Lunch is spectacular!!!! The fried chicken sandwich is the best I've ever had in my life. Dinner is lovely. Our Bruce!!!! Incredible server. Perfect attention. After to many years to count...it's always home....with a beautiful meal. Thank you to all the staff. You have give us great memories....and amazing food ❤️❤️❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my 8th year in a row. Hands dow ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was my 8th year in a row. Hands down best meal every time!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here was very good. We had the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food here was very good. We had the bone in pork chop which was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great experience. Food was amazing. No o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great experience. Food was amazing. No outdoor seating for dinner but can see the sunsets from inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been going to the Blue Point sin ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have been going to the Blue Point since its beginnings. Love it still and our #1 spot when we are in The Outer Banks of NC. Great food and a very fun vibe.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday dinner for my husband and every ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Birthday dinner for my husband and everything was perfect! Seated right away (reservations) at a booth with a window looking out at the sound. We were fortunate to have our favorite waitress, Allison, and the salads & dinner were delicious as always! Arugula, plum, jicama & goat cheese salad special was one of the best ever. Both our entrees were great choices! Berry cobbler - yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here with my wife during our vacati ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Went here with my wife during our vacation to Outer Banks. Real good service. Quick and pleasant. Tasty food. Nice presentation. A bit expensive, at the higher end of food prices at already high OBX prices. Located in nice area with little shops on the water. Definitely recommend, especially if you're in the Duck area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistently the best upscale restaurant ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Consistently the best upscale restaurant on the Northern OBX. The food is creative and very tasty. Service excellent, and sunset views over the Currituck sound are wonderful. Very nice outdoor deck area for drinks or later in the evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the new outdoor area for drinks ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We love the new outdoor area for drinks and sunset watching! The catfish and the crab cakes were both outstanding, as was the key lime pie. Elaine provided superb service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the atmosphere and ambience! Wish ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and ambience! Wish we would have come earlier to spend more time outside for a drink.

Great service. Efficient and not over done.

Great food. Highly recommended by 2 people working in the area shops which I took seriously!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service. Not cheap but not too pric ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good service. Not cheap but not too pricey. Good date spot. Not a lot of options on the menu, but what we got was good.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I just love Blue Point wh ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My husband and I just love Blue Point when we are here in vacation in OBX. We have never had a bad experience ever. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

local foods are its best preparation; an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

local foods are its best preparation; and try the dessert cobbler

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been going to Ocean Blvd. each ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We have been going to Ocean Blvd. each summer since 2006. It is one of the places (out of two) that we go to each time we are on OBX. Usually stay in Southern Shores but this year we were in Corolla and still made it to Ocean Blvd. Always a treat and an interesting menu with very different specials. Keep it up and see you next year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrating my husband's 70th birthday w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Celebrating my husband's 70th birthday we stopped for lunch and we had a nice table at window with view of sound. Food was awesome and he got a special dessert in honor of his birthday.

Not our first visit to Blue Point nor will it be our last.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We make it a point every summer while we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We make it a point every summer while we are on the Outer banks to have dinner at the Blue Point. We started over 30 years ago when it was just a few tables and some seats at the bar. It is still our favorite dining option on OBX. Thanks for keeping a great restaurant great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the crab cakes. Only thing on m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Ordered the crab cakes. Only thing on menu I thought I would like. Hubby ordered the she crab soup. Which I believe was more like a crab bisque. Crab cakes were fried. Don't recall seeing that on menu. Great view. But don't believe we will return. U less it's got drinks and desert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Good place to try while at the beach. F ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good place to try while at the beach. Food is good and service is great.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first visit to Blue Point G ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was our first visit to Blue Point Grill and it was wonderful! We celebrated my husband's birthday and everything was excellent. In some restaurants the daily special is ok, but my tuna was divine! We would love to return on our next visit to the outer banks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Blue Point started as a farm to table ev ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Blue Point started as a farm to table even before it was trendy. This place always has fresh and local seafood and vegetables. I recommend this to anyone going to the Outer Banks.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding as always. Our ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was outstanding as always. Our table was not ideal. It was also a more limited menu than usual. The servers are always excellent and this was no exception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful outdoor bar area with live mus ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Beautiful outdoor bar area with live music with gorgeous sunsets on the Sound.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a nice dining experience, and foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always a nice dining experience, and food was great! Make sure you make reservations well in advance.... you won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. Our only complaint was the air conditioning couldn't keep up. Our waiter told us it was 84 degrees inside the restaurant and the dining room was hot and stuffy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Remembered how great this restaurant was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Remembered how great this restaurant was after shopping 2 years ago. Had lunch here after ter 2 1/2 hr kayak trip, and food was fantastic. No one seemed to care that we didn't look our best!

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blue Point did not disappoint! Had the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Blue Point did not disappoint! Had the hoisan glazed ribs appetizer which was yummy. For meals I had the bone-in pork chop and my husband got the special which was a seared tuna over fried rice. The pork chop was flavorful and moist and cooked to a perfect medium. It was served with a delicious creamy, smokey mac n cheese and a fennel, onion, cabbage salad which was a perfect crisp, tangy accompaniment. My husband really enjoyed the tuna as well.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Always fantastic!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impeccable thanks to Felisha ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was impeccable thanks to Felisha. Drinks before dinner watching the sun go down over the sound was amazing. Our meal was fresh and well prepared. On our list as a favorite when staying at Duck.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Blue Point is a mainstay of our OBX ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Blue Point is a mainstay of our OBX vacations for at least 10 years. Food is always fantastic, friendly service, great drinks, and the sunset view can't be beat. By far the best upscale dining in Duck/Corolla.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not enough local seafood options on the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Not enough local seafood options on the menu. Expensive for what we ordered.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Have dined here many times and never dis ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Have dined here many times and never disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The trout and the tuna were both outstan ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The trout and the tuna were both outstanding, as were the wedge and kale salads. Nick at the outdoor bar and Allison at our table were both fantastic, and provided perfect service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Blue Point! Being that I'm g ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I love the Blue Point! Being that I'm gluten intolerant, eating out is difficult. They have options for you here, I had the sauté of lump crab that has spoon bread on the bottom, it's crazy good! Simon makes amazing drinks, I recommend the corps reviver! You won't be sorry you tried it here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent excellent excellent ! It is ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent excellent excellent ! It is our first vacation night's dinner and we go back one or two more time during our two week vacation every year

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A relaxed unhurried atmosphere that invi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A relaxed unhurried atmosphere that invites for return visits. A new outside bar with great sunset views just opened. One of the best places in Duck

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambience. Nice ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food, service and ambience. Nice bar and beautiful view of the sound.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We love the Blue Point as our special "g ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We love the Blue Point as our special "go to" place for our night out beach dinner with family. We had 6 adults and 4 teens. Although we were not about to sit together ~ we knew this ahead of time... our waiter was great. ... personable, friendly, and professional. The food was great. Fresh, local... truly perfect. The bill was what you'd expect from a high end restaurant. No surprises. It's a special time, special meal and we will return next year! Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.