About The Blue Point

1240 Duck Road / PO Box 8399
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

A fresh approach to regional, coastal cuisine & southern hospitality alongside spectacular views of the Currituck Sound.
Inspired dinner & lunch menus served in a warm and inviting atmosphere by a professional and natural staff. Exceptional and friendly Wine Menu + Full Bar.

There are very limited reservations for groups larger than 5 and must be made by phone. Reservations can be made to have dinner at the bar by phone.
We do have some seating available on a first come - first served basis so it is always worth checking to see if you can get a table. In season we have a large outdoor bar area on the sound where you can enjoy a cocktail while you wait.

No better place for good food, good wine, good friends and spectacular sunsets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:00pm -9:30pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Live Music
BackBar: Every Day at 5PM

Cross Street:
Cook Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8090

Website:
http://www.thebluepoint.com/

Entertainment:
Sunday Brunch, 11:30-2:30, in the Main Bar.
The Back Bar In The Yard: In Season Only

Parking Details:
Large Lot for Waterfront Shops. Handicap Ramp located in center of shops.

Executive Chef:
Sam McGann

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Blue Point Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
11 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Outer Banks
Best Food
Outer Banks
Best Service
Outer Banks
Best Ambiance
Outer Banks
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Duck ›

Scenic View (184)
Special Occasion (146)
Fit for Foodies (134)
See All
Romantic (106)
Neighborhood Gem (77)
Notable Wine List (66)
Great for Lunch (50)
Waterfront (44)
Hot Spot (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Good for Groups (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Local Ingredients (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Great for Brunch (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Casual (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Fun (12)
Authentic (10)
Seasonal (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Live Music (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been coming to the Blue point fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

We have been coming to the Blue point for years and have never been disappointed. We had a wonderful dinner .....exceptional food and service.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

On recent trip through OBX, we were look ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

On recent trip through OBX, we were looking for non-chain, elevated dining options. Our entrees were creative and deliciously prepared. The location on the sound featured an breathtaking sunset. We enjoyed our evening at The Blue Point.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We always make a "point" to make reserva ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We always make a "point" to make reservations for Blue Point when in town at OBX. An outstanding dinner every time that never disappoints ! Great, friendly service as well. Be sure to make reservations and try the She Crab Soup !! Holy Toledo !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Ate at ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Ate at the bar and the bartender was so friendly and knowledgable about the menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal was OUTSTANDING!! We started wi ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Our meal was OUTSTANDING!! We started with she crab soup with a touch of sherry, fabulous. I had the saute of calamari with smoked sausage, tomatoes, roasted red pepper, olives and capers. That was unbelievably good. Our dinners were crab cakes and sauté d lump crab with smoked salmon and herb onion spoon bread. Both were outstanding. The best might have been desert. Ginger ice cream with ginger cookies and caramelized ginger over apple butter. We enjoyed an after dinner drink sitting at the sound and watched the sunset. That was a WOW. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fresh local seafood of high quality and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Fresh local seafood of high quality and well prepared in an otherwise touristy area with few authentic options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been going there for more than ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We have been going there for more than 20 years, and it is still outstanding food and service! It is especially lovely to see familiar faces of servers, and owners! Nice to be welcomed back! It is our favorite OBX restaurant :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Waterfront, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Spicy, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always! I had the salmon sp ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent as always! I had the salmon special over soba noodles and it was delish. Others had the beef, scallops and catfish. All were very good. Tried the calamari starter and it was a nice and lighter change of pace. A wonderful place for date night or out with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal, the chef really knows his bu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great meal, the chef really knows his business, really attentive staff and friendly, wish I had room for dessert.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

thought the food was pricey, but it was ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

thought the food was pricey, but it was prepared, served, and tasted excellent.

waitress was very good, and had a good view of the waterfront.

Tags: Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Dined at Blue Point three times in two w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Dined at Blue Point three times in two weeks. Each time was excellent. Had different fish preparations: tuna perfect, salmon the best ever. And I've eaten in many great restaurants around the world. All very creative, beautifully developed flavors and seasoning. Who would know there is superb dining in Duck!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant! A must if you are vac ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great restaurant! A must if you are vacationing on the Outer Banks. Food and service are excellent! Make reservations ahead of your trip, tables book up fast. Have the she crab soup, it's amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Point in Duck is our favorite r ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The Blue Point in Duck is our favorite restaurant in town. We go every year and it never disappoints. They now have a new outdoor bar, which just adds to the cool factor of this spot.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been here several years ago and t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had been here several years ago and thought we would try it again. The first problem occurred when we were seated In the dark restaurant the light above our table needed the bulb replaced. I had to use the flashlight on my phone to see the menu. When asked if we could move to another table we were moved to a table next to the original. They sat another couple at the unlit table.

Two appetizers were ordered. A chilled potato soup. Too much cream and too many chunks of something unidentifiable made this very unappetizing. The fried green tomatoes were what was expected. The problem was the crab meat topping. It was like cat food in looks and the taste was not much better.

A tuna entre was almost ruined by a sweet tomato jam on top of the tuna. The tuna was cooked perfectly and when the tomato scraped off was quite good. The catfish was cooked nicely but the slaw plus a sauce was too much. One or the other but not both.

I hope this was an off night and not common.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

We made reservations before going to the ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We made reservations before going to the Outer Banks because this was on Open Table's list of 100 Restaurants with Best Views. We had a good view from the boardwalk outside, but once we entered the restaurant, we couldn't see anything from where we were seated. The only people with a poorer view were the ones seated at the bar with their backs to the water. (I figured they weren't there for the view anyway.) We asked to be moved to a table by one of the many windows, but were told that wasn't possible, even though 3 window tables opened up while we were waiting for our food. The food was good but pricey, and certainly not the best we had while visiting the Outer Banks. If we should ever return to the Outer Banks, this won't be on my dining schedule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Restaraunt was not all that great, we've ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Restaraunt was not all that great, we've had better in the OBX. Honestly, it did not live up to the hype that others had commented.

Outside bar is awesome to go to when there is a sunset...absolutely gorgeous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

The Blue Point was strongly recommended ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The Blue Point was strongly recommended by a former colleague, and his enthusiasm was entirely justified. Everyone at our table loved the food they ordered. We'll definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great drinks. Ambience & ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent food, great drinks. Ambience & atmosphere were perfect. Service was INCREDIBLE!!! Will definitely be our go to spot next time we are in Duck!!! Perfect place to celebrate my mother's birthday while on vacation!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Point never disappoints. Delic ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The Blue Point never disappoints. Delicious food, creatively prepared and beautifully presented. The best on the Outer Banks.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot we've been going there since ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great spot we've been going there since 2001, never had a bad experience yet!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Server was knowledgable and pleasant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Server was knowledgable and pleasant. The ambiance was excellent. We came to the OBX to celebrate our 50-year friendship with another couple and the Blue Point is the perfect place for good conversation punctuated with delectable food, good drinks, and a gorgeous sunset.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food. Interesting food combination ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food. Interesting food combinations. Attentive staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place on the water with high quali ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great place on the water with high quality food and service. Waiter was excellent. Will be back on our next visit to Duck in November.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was fine. Food was good. View wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service was fine. Food was good. View was wonderful. Nothing outstanding that made us want to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Blue Point has become our must visit spo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Blue Point has become our must visit spot while on vacation from Kansas.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again my experience at the Blue Poi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Once again my experience at the Blue Point was wonderful. Great service, Great food and excellent outdoor bar to watch the sun set. This is a must do for anyone visiting the Outer Banks. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten here on two other occasions a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Have eaten here on two other occasions and am disappointed that the menu does not change. very basic . no originality and unimpressive taste. Soup was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was the highlight, but attentiv ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food was the highlight, but attentive service was greatly appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a fantastic dinner made all the b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner made all the better by our server Bruce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although we enjoyed the overall experien ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Although we enjoyed the overall experience, we actually liked sitting outside by the bar area (even in the rain) rather the over crowded restaurant. The fried green tomato appetizer special was a disappointment, practically flavorless. We both had entree specials. The tuna was done to perfection although the rice was a bit too busy. The short rib had a wonderful smokey taste, not like typical short ribs. It was a nice experience but we wouldn't rush to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We have been dining at The Blue Point fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We have been dining at The Blue Point for many years during our vacations to the Outer Banks. The food is always very good and service is top notch. The She Crab soup is our favorite appetizer and the crab cakes entree never disappoints. And the must have dessert is their warm pecan pie! Delicious!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food, great service and beauti ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful food, great service and beautiful view. Will definitely return as soon as possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been here a hundred times. Will return ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Been here a hundred times. Will return again and again. One if the great restaurants in the area and probably one of the reasons we bought a house in OBX.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was excellent at Bl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food and service was excellent at Blue Point. We dined at several places in OBX that weekend and Blue Point hands down had the best food. We also caught some of the live music in the back area and the band was great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Love this place! We have been going here ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love this place! We have been going here for years every time we vacation in the Outer Banks!

Their food is absolutely delicious! Their cocktails are wonderful!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're locals, so we have eaten at a lot ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We're locals, so we have eaten at a lot of restaurants in the area. The Blue Point is our favorite! We especially like the Sunday Brunch time since the view of the sound is available from every table, and the price range of the menu meets our financial situation. The people are always friendly and the service is top-notch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crab cake and catfish entrees were b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The crab cake and catfish entrees were both outstanding, as was the she crab soup appetizer. The brownie dessert with banana ice cream is worth the trip alone. Tim provided absolutely perfect service as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Something was off at The Blue Point the ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Something was off at The Blue Point the other night.

Oh yea, the food was good as usual. My wife and I have eaten there many times. We were there this time with family from Raleigh.

We had just pitifully poor service regarding the bar and drinks we ordered. Our first drink order was very delayed. and then our waitress returned, about 15 minutes later, to re-ask what the drinks were that we had ordered!

Later in the meal, after flagging down the water deliverer several times for refills, we flagged down our waitress to order some wine for dinner.

Regrettably,this wine never arrived.

The Blue Point lost out on the money from that lost transaction!

Hopefully the manager reads this, and corrects the matter for future guests!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent food. We were stuck in traff ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food. We were stuck in traffic and were more than 1/2 hrs late. They held our table for us!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, but pricey and too loud and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food, but pricey and too loud and not the best service we had in the Outer Banks this year

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.