The Blue Point

4.6
1572 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

A fresh approach to regional, coastal cuisine & southern hospitality alongside spectacular views of the Currituck Sound.
Inspired dinner & lunch menus served in a warm and inviting atmosphere by a professional and natural staff. Exceptional and friendly Wine Menu + Full Bar.

There are very limited reservations for groups larger than 5 and must be made by phone. Reservations can be made to have dinner at the bar by phone.
We do have some seating available on a first come - first served basis so it is always worth checking in by phone or in person to see if you can get a table. In season we have a large outdoor bar area on the sound where you can enjoy a cocktail while you wait.

No better place for good food, good wine, good friends and spectacular sunsets.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday 5:00pm -9:00pm;
Bar Menu: Tuesday - Thursday, in the bar, 5-9pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Live Music, $5 Bloodies and Mimosas
BackBar: Closed for the Season
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(252) 261-8090
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Sam McGann
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Cook Drive
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Large Lot for Waterfront Shops. Handicap Ramp located in center of shops.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Sunday Brunch, 11:30-2:30, in the Main Bar.
The Back Bar In The Yard: In Season Only
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1572 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Once again we had a fabulous dinner at Blue Point on Valentines day. The special menu was great, and the new salad addition was outstanding. Our server seemed less table focused than the usual service provided. It was very busy, but a little more warmth from our server would have been nice.

No need to quibble over that since the service was fine overall.

Still highly recommended.
Russ and Jan Watkins

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2017

Dined at Blue Point many times but this most recent time was outstanding. Everything was perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent as usual; our go-to place in the OBX. This place has been consistently stellar in the 2 decades that I have frequented the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2017

Food is hands down phenomenal! Owners are wonderful as is staff. All are knowledgeable about menu, wine, etc... Love coming here when visiting. Had lunch and dinner this visit over two days!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2017

Really great place. View, staff and food exceptional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2017

Staff excellent and friendly. Menu too classy and limited for me. Too many ingredients I don't care for so ended up getting burgers which were awesome. Great cocktails. Wonderful water view! Will come back when warmer and enjoy the sunset and beverages :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent from start to finish! Service, drinks, meal and dessert were exceptional!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2017

Make your reservation early! Popular restaurant fills up quickly, even in off-season. Excellent food. Fabulous waterfront views. Romantic sunsets. Couldn't get any better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant with great food and good service. We have been here many times and it's always a great experience. It's especially nice around sunset when it's warm enough to sit at a table outdoors, have a drink and relax before dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2017

The crab cakes and gnocchi were outstanding, and the wedge salad was a fabulous kickoff to a great meal. Thanks Felicia for excellent service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Great meal . Not cheap. Generally full.
This review is too long.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 15, 2017

This is a large establishment on the sound. It's very close to other stores but on the end of the row of shops. The inside was charming, seating wasn't that comfortable but we were happy to have picked this place to eat and could have seen a nice sunset had the weather cooperated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2017

We always enjoy eating there. Food was great, service was great and it is a beautiful location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2017

As always the food and service were great. Noise level was excellent but it was January in the Outer Banks so it was far from crowded. Wonderful selection of liquor and wine but a limited on beer options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2017

Great for 3 of our entrées, but, appetizer ribs were not up to taste. His soup was great, but, disappointing ribs. (This is a person who doesn't normally fuss.) Something was said to our server and item was deducted from the bill. Quickly and with an apology. Overall, our experience was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a delight. Years of special memories of Blue Point dining.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 30, 2016

Had a reservation, but still waited 25 minutes for a table and then got stuck in a table right by front door. We have always enjoyed Blue Point and have recommended it to others, but this was a little disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2016

We've been going to the Blue Point for a long time and love it. I get to travel the length and breadth of the US in my job. I eat in fine restaurants everywhere I go. The Blue Point can hold to the better restaurants I eat at in every city in the Country. A must if you have the time and can get in.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2016

Delicious as always. Blue Point never disappoints!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2016

Food is always consistently excellent. Service is excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2016

Our server, Elaine, was wonderful. She is extremely knowledgable, always cheerful and very attentive. One of our favorite restaurants

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2016

Love, love, love this place! Food is out of this world and atmosphere is like being in a big city hot spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2016

Blue Point was recommended by our airbnb hosts, and it was a perfect choice for the night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 27, 2016

If you want a true dining experience, Blue Point has never failed us. It's truly our special occasion restaurant when we're at the Outer Banks. Everything from front desk, wait staff and food presentations are first class. The hardest thing about Blue Point are the decisions presented on the menu and then the specials. Don't get too caught up in the menu items until you've heard the specials.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 26, 2016

We have dined at the Blue Point for decades and it remains as one of the best restaurants on the Outer Banks (OBX). It is important to remember that that many restaurants on the OBX are seasonal and close in the off season, usually between the end of October through Mid March and those which stay open often have reduced menus and staff. The Blue Point is an exception. It's open year round with a great menu and service. The menu remains creative but not trendy. The service is attentive but not overbearing. Although there is room for improving what sometimes is a stuffy and stiff atmosphere and recently a lack of traditional Martini glasses. For Martini purists like myself having a Martini served in a wine glass is sacrilegious. This lack of traditional Martini glasses at restaurants and bars is a recent millennial virus which is spreading across the county and needs to be addressed soon as possible. One more note. The Blue Point is on the Sound side of Duck and the sunset view (not seasonal) is in itself worth the visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2016

No better restaurant on the Outer Banks...superb service and yummy food...especially the she crab soup, baby back ribs, and the lump crabmeat sauté. If you still have room for dessert, you can't miss with the creme brûlée. We will definitely go again!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 25, 2016

While in the OBX for our 10 year anniversary, I googled fine dinning. Google came up with this restraint being comparable to L'Auberge Chez Francois in VA....it is NOT in any way other than the price tag. The focus on local food was appriciated and the meals were well prepared. The alcohol listings dominated the menu which left it feeling short on food selections. Although it was extensive, I would not consider it notable. We were sat next to the kitchen and had a hard time with typical dinner conversation.

Overall, I was disappointed I chose this location to celebrate such an important event. The food is very good but the price tag does not accurately reflect the entire dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2016

As we expected, the Blue Point was excellent. Went for our daughter in law's birthday and she was very happy. Great service from a caring, attentive server (had her a few times, excellent). We were glad to see a few new options on the menu, and hope that the chef keeps adding new additions periodically. Absolutely one of the best restaurants in NC. Well done.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2016

We dined at the cozy restaurant twice during our visit to Duck. Once we dined at a table with friends with an excellent server. Our entree choices of crab cakes, pork loin and desserts were outstanding. The wine selection was well matched with our choices.

On our second dinner, we opted to dine at the bar which was a different but completely enjoyable dining experience. We had the opportunity as a couple to meet others, engage with our very knowledgeable and friendly bartender. The additional bar menu was a nice compliment to the regular menu. The cozy atmosphere and styling make you feel right at home.

As always, we enjoy The Blue Point- it is our go to choice when dining out anytime of the year at the Outer Banks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 15, 2016

The parsnip soup and the romaine/kale salad were a great start to the meal, followed by the short ribs and the gnocchi with pheasant, which were both outstanding. But the best was saved for last-the apple cake with vanilla ice cram and bourbon toffee sauce was one of the very best deserts we have ever had anywhere. Connie was wonderful and took very good care of us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2016

Love Blue Point ❤️This place is a must when visiting Duck.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2016

Always a favorite - you can't go wrong eating here. Review the sunset times for the day you want to dine here and try and book to arrive before sunset. The views, weather permitting, are absolutely incredible at sunset. That paired with some of the best food on the OBX makes for a "must do" dining destination there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 10, 2016

Beautiful setting overlooking Currituck Sound. Great menu choices with daily specials at lower price point in smaller proportions. It would be good if they also came with a bit of a side dish (or noted to order them ala carte). Service was friendly and informative (except more info needed as mentioned above). Food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2016

Always a great dinner ... never disappoints !!!
Our favorite spot for dinner on the outer banks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2016

The meal was amazing. We couldn't of asked for a better way to spend a Saturday night in the Outer Banks. Cheers to a very talented team at Blue Point that executed every aspect of our meal flawlessly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent dinner at The Blue Point. We rarely drive to Duck for dinner from our house in Nags Head but will definitely go back to The Blue Point and will highly recommend it to others. The food was creative, the cocktail and wine list had a lot to offer and the setting on the sound was just lovely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2016

My husband and I are on special diets. Our waiter went out of his way to make sure our wishes were conveyed to the chef. Our meal was perfect and was excellent. My husband thought it was the best tuna he ever ate.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 29, 2016

Atmosphere and setting perfect, but food and service disappointing...not what it used to be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner. Watched the sunset. Great food and service. From the time we walked in the door to leaving it was very enjoyable evening. Would definitely go again and will recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2016

Our dinner at The Blue Point was delicious. I had scallops and my husband had the beef tenderloin. Both meals were cooked perfectly and our drinks were delicious as well. Service was very good. Only down side is that it was loud. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
40