About The Blue Point

1240 Duck Road / PO Box 8399
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

A fresh approach to regional, coastal cuisine & southern hospitality alongside spectacular views of the Currituck Sound.
Inspired dinner & lunch menus served in a warm and inviting atmosphere by a professional and natural staff. Exceptional and friendly Wine Menu + Full Bar.

There are very limited reservations for groups larger than 5 and must be made by phone. Reservations can be made to have dinner at the bar by phone.
We do have some seating available on a first come - first served basis so it is always worth checking to see if you can get a table. In season we have a large outdoor bar area on the sound where you can enjoy a cocktail while you wait.

No better place for good food, good wine, good friends and spectacular sunsets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday 5:00pm -9:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Live Music
BackBar: Closed for the Season

Cross Street:
Cook Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8090

Website:
http://www.thebluepoint.com/

Entertainment:
Sunday Brunch, 11:30-2:30, in the Main Bar.
The Back Bar In The Yard: In Season Only

Parking Details:
Large Lot for Waterfront Shops. Handicap Ramp located in center of shops.

Executive Chef:
Sam McGann

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Blue Point Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
6 More
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Outer Banks
Best Food
Outer Banks
Best Service
Outer Banks
Best Ambiance
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Duck ›

Scenic View (84)
Waterfront (76)
Special Occasion (73)
See All
Fit for Foodies (59)
Romantic (48)
Local Ingredients (48)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Good for a Date (43)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Notable Wine List (36)
Bar Seating (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Casual (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Hot Spot (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Authentic (19)
Fun (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Seasonal (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Live Music (10)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
People Watching (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you want a true dining experience, Bl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

If you want a true dining experience, Blue Point has never failed us. It's truly our special occasion restaurant when we're at the Outer Banks. Everything from front desk, wait staff and food presentations are first class. The hardest thing about Blue Point are the decisions presented on the menu and then the specials. Don't get too caught up in the menu items until you've heard the specials.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at the Blue Point for dec ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have dined at the Blue Point for decades and it remains as one of the best restaurants on the Outer Banks (OBX). It is important to remember that that many restaurants on the OBX are seasonal and close in the off season, usually between the end of October through Mid March and those which stay open often have reduced menus and staff. The Blue Point is an exception. It's open year round with a great menu and service. The menu remains creative but not trendy. The service is attentive but not overbearing. Although there is room for improving what sometimes is a stuffy and stiff atmosphere and recently a lack of traditional Martini glasses. For Martini purists like myself having a Martini served in a wine glass is sacrilegious. This lack of traditional Martini glasses at restaurants and bars is a recent millennial virus which is spreading across the county and needs to be addressed soon as possible. One more note. The Blue Point is on the Sound side of Duck and the sunset view (not seasonal) is in itself worth the visit.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

No better restaurant on the Outer Banks. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

No better restaurant on the Outer Banks...superb service and yummy food...especially the she crab soup, baby back ribs, and the lump crabmeat sauté. If you still have room for dessert, you can't miss with the creme brûlée. We will definitely go again!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While in the OBX for our 10 year anniver ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

While in the OBX for our 10 year anniversary, I googled fine dinning. Google came up with this restraint being comparable to L'Auberge Chez Francois in VA....it is NOT in any way other than the price tag. The focus on local food was appriciated and the meals were well prepared. The alcohol listings dominated the menu which left it feeling short on food selections. Although it was extensive, I would not consider it notable. We were sat next to the kitchen and had a hard time with typical dinner conversation.

Overall, I was disappointed I chose this location to celebrate such an important event. The food is very good but the price tag does not accurately reflect the entire dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

As we expected, the Blue Point was excel ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 22, 2016

As we expected, the Blue Point was excellent. Went for our daughter in law's birthday and she was very happy. Great service from a caring, attentive server (had her a few times, excellent). We were glad to see a few new options on the menu, and hope that the chef keeps adding new additions periodically. Absolutely one of the best restaurants in NC. Well done.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined at the cozy restaurant twice du ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We dined at the cozy restaurant twice during our visit to Duck. Once we dined at a table with friends with an excellent server. Our entree choices of crab cakes, pork loin and desserts were outstanding. The wine selection was well matched with our choices.

On our second dinner, we opted to dine at the bar which was a different but completely enjoyable dining experience. We had the opportunity as a couple to meet others, engage with our very knowledgeable and friendly bartender. The additional bar menu was a nice compliment to the regular menu. The cozy atmosphere and styling make you feel right at home.

As always, we enjoy The Blue Point- it is our go to choice when dining out anytime of the year at the Outer Banks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The parsnip soup and the romaine/kale sa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The parsnip soup and the romaine/kale salad were a great start to the meal, followed by the short ribs and the gnocchi with pheasant, which were both outstanding. But the best was saved for last-the apple cake with vanilla ice cram and bourbon toffee sauce was one of the very best deserts we have ever had anywhere. Connie was wonderful and took very good care of us.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Blue Point ❤️This place is a must w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love Blue Point ❤️This place is a must when visiting Duck.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting overlooking Currituck ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Beautiful setting overlooking Currituck Sound. Great menu choices with daily specials at lower price point in smaller proportions. It would be good if they also came with a bit of a side dish (or noted to order them ala carte). Service was friendly and informative (except more info needed as mentioned above). Food was delicious!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great dinner ... never disappoi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always a great dinner ... never disappoints !!!

Our favorite spot for dinner on the outer banks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was amazing. We couldn't of ask ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The meal was amazing. We couldn't of asked for a better way to spend a Saturday night in the Outer Banks. Cheers to a very talented team at Blue Point that executed every aspect of our meal flawlessly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent dinner at The Blue Point. We rarely drive to Duck for dinner from our house in Nags Head but will definitely go back to The Blue Point and will highly recommend it to others. The food was creative, the cocktail and wine list had a lot to offer and the setting on the sound was just lovely.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I are on special diets. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My husband and I are on special diets. Our waiter went out of his way to make sure our wishes were conveyed to the chef. Our meal was perfect and was excellent. My husband thought it was the best tuna he ever ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere and setting perfect, but food ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Atmosphere and setting perfect, but food and service disappointing...not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Had a wonderful dinner. Watched the suns ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner. Watched the sunset. Great food and service. From the time we walked in the door to leaving it was very enjoyable evening. Would definitely go again and will recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at The Blue Point was delicio ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our dinner at The Blue Point was delicious. I had scallops and my husband had the beef tenderloin. Both meals were cooked perfectly and our drinks were delicious as well. Service was very good. Only down side is that it was loud. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love the Blue Point. It is our go to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We love the Blue Point. It is our go to place whenever we are in the Outer Banks - -about every 6 weeks.

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Blue Point was a OK restaurant, nothing ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Blue Point was a OK restaurant, nothing special. Menu was a bit limited and a bit pricey. NY prices, is not what we expected.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Because our son had told them it was our ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Because our son had told them it was our anniversary, they were especially attentive - even surprising us with champagne before we left. The food was creative, delicious and plentiful. Blue Point is one of our favorites!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not my first trip to the Blue P ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This was not my first trip to the Blue Point. As always, we were warmly greeted, well served and the food is excellent. One of if not the best restaurants on the Outer Banks.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After having had an amazing dinner at Bl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

After having had an amazing dinner at Blue Point this summer - having not been here in years- we decided to spend a birthday celebration here recently. True to form, our dining experience was fantastic. Wonderful ambience, service, food, & scenery.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice view, creative menu,great place to ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Nice view, creative menu,great place to enjoy a good meal

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always wonderful.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Always wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was terrific and the service wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food was terrific and the service was even better. Mark did an outstanding job, his timing and attentiveness was perfect, and he was a pleasure to talk to. Looking forward to our next trip to OBX and another night at the Blue Point!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tim was our server...with a great memory ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Tim was our server...with a great memory and a good sense of humor. I thought the flounder on a bed of mushrooms, sausage, and apples was especially yummy, and our friend loved the classic crab sauté. We love coming to BP in all seasons, and the fall sunsets are very fine! See you soon. Thanks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the warm welcome to the truly atten ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 17, 2016

From the warm welcome to the truly attentive and superb service, to the brilliant food and wine, this is our totally top restaurant on the OBX! The bartender came over to chat about our wine selection, and his input was great. Our server was both knowledgeable and gracious. There was an issue with our reservation and the owner was wonderful in every way. We shall return, all the way from Houston, as much as we can! Best Crab soup ever, and it was a truly exceptional dining experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, and great vie ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food, great service, and great views of the sunset over the Sound! Sound level seemed to increase as more people arrived, but it was not distracting.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

terrific meal! Love the sound-side bar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

terrific meal! Love the sound-side bar area for pre-dinner cocktails. Disappointed no music last Sat eve...hopefully next time!!

Our food was great but 2 of 4 of us had to send back our meals once served for reheating...no biggie in the scheme of things!!

Great vibe!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The Blue Point never disappoints. We fre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The Blue Point never disappoints. We frequent the restaurant at least 2x-3x each year and we continue to be impressed by the attention to detail, knowledge of the staff, and the creative food options. The staff goes out of their way to ensure you have a great experience. Can't say enough good things and thank you for making my wedding anniversary such a wonderful event!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice scenery Food is over rated

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Nice scenery

Food is over rated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Dinner at The Blue Point is always fun a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Dinner at The Blue Point is always fun and very good food. I typically get the crab cakes and made the mistake of trying the crab/salmon entree which was just OK. Everyone else enjoyed their entries and the key lime pie was a hit. We have been going to Blue Point since it opened in 1989 and will always make it our #1 favorite spot in the Duck area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

With the service and food we received at ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 13, 2016

With the service and food we received at Blue Point, we know they'e still as great as ever. Glad to see some updates, and some mainstay's still on the menu. Great time had by all.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have great expectations whenever we v ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We have great expectations whenever we visit the Blue Point,and they are always met. It is hard to choose among great appetizers, terrific soups and salads, notable entrées, and delicious desserts. I almost anything you choose will be a winner. The Apple cobbler with lemon buttermilk ice cream was terrific.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had scallops and husbands had smoked ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We had scallops and husbands had smoked beef rib special. Food was good and server was great. My main gripe at all restaurants is why do I pay $9 for one glass of wine.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here twice in a week and could easi ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Went here twice in a week and could easily have gone more then that. We make it point to eat here every time we vacation on the Outer Banks. We've had the good fortune to invite family and friends here as well, always to rave reviews.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another wonderful visit. We have dinner ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Another wonderful visit. We have dinner each time we visit Duck (once or twice a year). Never had a less than satisfactory experience. We will see them again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I discovered Blue Point o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband and I discovered Blue Point on one of our trips to the OBX and continue to visit each year. This year we traveled from Southport, NC to the OBX for one night just so we could have dinner here! We always make a reservation to sit at the bar...the bartenders are the best. Blue Point never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good, always reliable. We trade b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Always good, always reliable. We trade between Ocean Boulevard and Blue Point each time we come to the beach. This year it was Blue Point. Had a great table, plenty of room around it so no nosy neighbors. It had a good vibe, abit loud for easy talking but not too bad. The food was excellent...I had the North Carolina crab saute...ate every bite. My husband had the biggest pork chop I've ever seen and apparently our neighboring table had ever seen! Impressive. Plus a generous wedge of mac and smoked cheese, and an interesting slaw. It meant plenty of leftovers for home! We shared a bottle of Prosecco but skipped dessert. The result of too generous entrees which can be a good thing. Love being able to see the water, as a bonus.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We recently spent a week at the Outer Ba ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We recently spent a week at the Outer Banks for our annual vacation. We had dinner at the Blue Point two times during out stay. It is our favorite restaurant in the northern Outer Banks. The food is always excellent, along with the service. Can hardly wait until our 2017 OBX vacation to eat at the Blue Point again!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Great food. Best restaurant ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great place. Great food. Best restaurant on the OBX. Menu is always new. We've been eating here for 10+ years and when we are on the OBX we eat 2-3 times during our stay.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.