Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About The Blue Pig Tavern

The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant!

In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.

200 Congress Place
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:30 am - 12:00 pm
Saturday & Sunday 7:30 am - 3:00 pm

Lunch:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Friday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Hours, specials and menus are subject to change. Contact us for details.

Cross Street:
Perry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-8422

Website:
http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/bluepigtavern

Entertainment:
Live Music takes place at the Brown Room (adjacent to the Blue Pig Tavern). See website for live performances: http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/brownroom/entertainment

Parking Details:
Valet parking available. Meter parking also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Einhorn

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Pig Tavern offers private facilities for groups up to 250 guests. See more: http://www.caperesorts.com/capemay/weddingsevents/

Private Party Contact:
Judy Platt: (609) 884-6594

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special dinners and fun events throughout the year: http://www.caperesorts.com/concierge/capemay/

The Blue Pig Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (43)
Fireplace (37)
Cozy (36)
See All
Local Ingredients (33)
Casual (33)
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Comfort Food (25)
Romantic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great for Brunch (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fun (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Authentic (13)
Healthy (13)
People Watching (12)
Seasonal (11)
Scenic View (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Live Music (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Organic (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great Beer (5)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (2)
Waterfront (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a good meal, fresh ingredients, good service, good value and food was served hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

I enjoyed myself here, the farm to table ingredients were wonderful. Our server was relaxed, pleasant and on his game. This was my first dining experience here and it will be added to our regular stops when we are in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I recommended The Blue Pig highly in the past. Now, however, I can not. The place and service was spectacular. Here is the whole problem: All the cooks have been changed. The filet mignon and vegetables were covered horribly in mustard sauce. The Turbot was small, thin pieces covering the skin in breadcrumbs. Virtually, no vegetables. Half had to be thrown away. The Management did not charge us for the meat. Till they straighten out their kitchen, I can not recommend them at this time. I have over 44,000 followers on Trip Advisor.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My brother and I brought my parents for lunch for their 68th wedding anniversary. It was their first time but not mine. It was perfect. We sat in front of the fireplace as I requested. Thank you again for making that happen and making our parents anniversary even more special.
Blessings to you all. We will be back.
Tee Scull

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Historic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was mediocre at best. Burger was tasteless and "grilled" chicken topped salad was bland, cold, and not grilled. Expected more based on past experience - thus the disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Stopped in for breakfast as we always do when visiting Cape May. Service was good. Decor is nice. The food is good traditional American fare. If you're a history buff, I would definitely stop in if you are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We were guests staying at the hotel for our anniversary and chose to have dinner at the Blue Pig. When we made the booking on Open Table, we mentioned it was our anniversary. The hostess wished us happy anniversary, as well as our server, they gave us a nice table next to the fireplace and a window which was very romantic. There were also glasses of champagne waiting at the table for us. Our server, Mike, was extremely friendly and attentive and able to explain all of the menu offerings in detail. We had the Cape May salts which were some of the best we've ever had, then we each had a salad that was fresh and local from their farm, our entrees were the seafood pasta and pumpkin risotto-both excellent and very good portions. We were too full for dessert, but the chef sent out a plate of chocolate covered strawberries and even wrote "Happy Anniversary" on the plate with chocolate! It was so sweet. We had a glass of rose and two blue pig tavern ales. Our total bill was just over $100 and it was WELL worth it for the quality of food and service we received. We were extremely pleased and impressed with the Blue Pig and can't wait to go back! Thank you!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I enjoyed my meal at the Blue PIg. Great atmosphere and setting for a pub style meal while visiting Cape May.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a nice lunch. So many very nice and interesting places to eat while at the shore and you would have to add the Blue Pig Tavern to the mix. We had a very nice lunch. The spicy bloody mary was really good and so was the guac. My wife and I split the burger which was average but we also split the Barley and Quinoa Salad which was outstanding... I would have been happy with just that. Really great flavor and really fresh.

We would go back of course there are also so many places but you can feel safe adding this place to your mix of great Cape May eateries.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had reservations for Easter morning. When we arrived our table was ready for us. Our server, Lilli, could not have been more pleasant and efficient. She was always there to ensure we had full coffee cups. Food was excellent and we were not rushed. Only complaint that I had was that I did not find the padded chairs to be very comfortable. Overall, a very good experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Lovely server, delicious food and a good experience - despite the family with the children running around and yelling. The staff apologized and comped everyone dessert and coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had dinner last night with our dog. They were very accommodating and the outdoor seating was great. The food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love The Blue Pig Tavern - cozy, friendly, good food, great venue

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Historic, Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The Food never disappoints at Blue Pig Tavern; our server "Josh" was great - truly professional and friendly and made sure we were pleased with the food and service. We were originally seated by the fireplace and it was brutally hot (weather was high 60's that day), we asked to be moved and were immediately accommodated. This is one of my 'go to' restaurants in Cape May.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

If I ever think of Brunch in Cape May, the Blue Pig is the going to be the first place that comes to mind. The food was great, service was good, and historic ambiance was charming. Would definitely come back for breakfast on my next trip back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Wow, what a fabulous meal and outstanding service as always! Never a disappointment. Looking forward to another lunch or dinner very soon!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Overpriced, very small portions, and not good quality food. Only thing to recommend is the convenient location right in Congress Hall and a pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Enjoyable lunch in an historic tavern setting inside a large historic sea-view hotel. Lunch menu had enough options to satisfy most diners. Worth checking out ambiance if you are in Cape May. was

Tags: Historic, Casual, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Celebrated finally the arrival of Spring here. Our other food ordered was quite good. The lite, loaf of bread was a lot accompanied w whipped butter so it was easy to spread on airy bread.However, we ordered a fav, Fried Calamari which came quite greasy. Kitchen didn't follow protocol and that staff needs thermo gauge to get oil at rite temp. Hungry and ate the larger pieces which we blotted.

No issue till ordered another fav, Apple Pie and assured it was fresh, " baked nite before." No, it wasn't. Probably baked bout a week ago, it was a very darkened colour and texture was nearly chunky to smooth applesauce. I picked my own apples from our back yard and enjoyed freshly bake apple pie & homemade crust w/i two hours of harvest. So it was B.S. that dessert was that fresh. This wasn't to The Blue Pig Tavern's past standards of serving freshly made to acceptable few days old pie We ate the mildly flavored apple sauce , yet yearned for their amazing Apple Pie w flaky C R U S T.

We've enjoyed dining here over holidays, in season and many other times thru-out the year.
We enjoyed our view, our waiter was terrific, but disappointed that kitchen staff dropped standards. They should eat their own mistakes, not dump on diners.
We paid our bill and it will be awhile before we order the appetizer and the dessert, both our favs.
As well the wait staff should be trained to look at food and reject what shouldn't be presented to diners, least that food be reviewed here, still, it's hard to believe that anyone can't tell when food isn't what it should be.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We found the Blue PIG to be an outstanding restaurant. Everything was excellent, we had a reservation and when we arrived we were promptly seated. The waitress was very nice and explained all the options and made some nice recommendations. Great place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a great time with friends

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Early breakfast and we ordered 2 fruit cups with 1 egg & grits and 1 eggs Benedict. Poached Eggs were cooked firm and nice rye toast with 3 jars of preserves. The cut fruit was perfect and the coffee kept coming. Breakfast for 2 was $35.00 but it was a leisurely comfortable breakfast and we were not rushed.

Great ! Day!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

People are very friendly there. My girlfriends and i stay at the congress hall every few months , so, dinner and breakfast is a must there. Very quaint and very accomadating . Lovely patio , glass Enclosed porch and charming fireplace . Great girls get away !!

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Historic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I have been coming here since it opened and have rarely been disappointed. Food is consistently good and choices are varied. It was very dark here that night, however, and almost impossible to read the menu. It will not prevent me from returning!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My wife and I have eaten here twice now. Excellent service and delicious meals. Will be returning when we visit cape may again. Friendly staff and talented chef.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was great, as was the service! Our server Joshua was fantastic.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We came down to Cape May for a 3 day weekend and this was one of the few places that was opened on a Wednesday night, but it did not disappoint. The food was very good and while my steak was a little more cooked than I had asked for the service and rest of the meal made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Good food and service, but much better for breakfast or lunch then dinner. Dinner does have enough choices and is way overpriced.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We had a delicious dinner and very good service. The room is lacking atmosphere, but nice for a friends get together!

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Went there for spring break and the server Wat fantastic. Helped us find a convince store afterwards. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The Blue Pig food and service never disappoints. They have a great menu and the atmosphere is great. From the napkins to dinnerware, there are so many little details that make this a fun and great place to dine.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Enjoyed our meal a lot. Will plan to return. Congress Hall is a treasure

Tags: Casual, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I had an unusual experience really - both good and very bad at the same time. Let's start with the good -
* Food was excellent and fairly priced for sure. I had the caesar salad with chicken and my daughter the meatloaf entree.
*My issue was with both service and environment - We made a reservation on Open Table and were seated promptly. However, the restaurant was wide open and we were given the darkest and smallest table in a corner. I would have complained but my daughter is 18 and would have been mortified.
*The server - a woman - was curt and rather rude. She only looked at me when she spoke - my daughter is 18 so deserved same respect - and only came back occasionally to check on us. She was condescending to my daughter who ordered a more upscale item than I did - asking her if she thought she would like the enhanced spices that the chef would use in the meatloaf. This is something you say to an 8 year old - not a young adult! ridiculous and rude...
I would go back as the hotel and ambiance is great - it was our server that I had the issue with.
* table was so dimly lit that I had to use my iphone flashlight to read it - again - ridiculous.
Thanks
AR Bell

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food and service were excellent!! We ordered the Sea Scallops and Crab Cakes. Would definitely recommend either one! We sat in room with fireplace which we perfect for a cold winter's night. The Blue Pig Tavern is one of our favorite places in Cape May!
I would highly recommend it to my friends and family!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Based on the menu we had seen online, we were a bit afraid that this restaurant was a sandwich/burger joint. Couldn't have been further from the truth. Lovely, relaxed ambiance paired with impeccible service. The house deviled eggs appetizer was delicious, topped with crab and veggies. We both ordered the salmon with barley and veggies, and aside from it being so dark we couldn't see what was actually in the dish, it was very good. I don't like salmon traditionally, but we both cleaned up every last bite. Would definitely dine here on our next visit to Cape May.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Nice cozy night by a fireplace. Scallop appetizer was a nice surprise, deliscious flavors and presentation. Service was prompt and attentive. We enjoyed our entrees as well as the pecan creme brûlée.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great server named Julie was very knowledgable! We ordered a bacon and ham omelette with home fries, a Blackstone: a type of benedict with bacon and wilted greens and a side of fruit (extra $2)

The omelette was huge and included yellow and red peppers! Delish! Our server said the fruit was beautiful that day! And it was! Blueberries the size of nickels! Wonderful
My Blackstone was made with scallion cheddar biscuits! Yummy! Ate every bit and a side of grits!

With the beautiful atmosphere and cozy fireplace, it was a great breakfast on a cold winter day

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We met friends for dinner. We requested a table by the large fireplace. It was very romantic and toasty!
Dinner was delicious!

Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Lovely place, great comfort food. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was great. Our server Mike was the best. He was friendly, knowledgeable and extremely efficient. It was really crowded when we arrived. But we were seated promptly. The only bad thing I can say is it was very noisy.

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.