About The Blue Pig Tavern

200 Congress Place
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant!

In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room :
Sunday -Thursday 5pm-9:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm-10pm

Bar & Lounge :
4:00pm for cocktails
5:00pm for food

Hours of operation change seasonally

Cross Street:
Perry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-8422

Website:
http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/bluepigtavern

Entertainment:
Live Music takes place at the Brown Room (adjacent to the Blue Pig Tavern). See website for live performances: http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/brownroom/entertainment

Parking Details:
Valet parking available. Meter parking also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Einhorn

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Pig Tavern offers private facilities for groups up to 250 guests. See more: http://www.caperesorts.com/capemay/weddingsevents/

Private Party Contact:
Judy Platt: 6098846594x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special dinners and fun events throughout the year: http://www.caperesorts.com/concierge/capemay/

Restaurant Photos

The Blue Pig Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

special occasion (48)
fit for foodies (44)
neighborhood gem (41)
See All
romantic (38)
great for lunch (33)
great for outdoor dining (28)
good for groups (26)
great for brunch (26)
kid-friendly (22)
hot spot (17)
vibrant bar scene (15)
scenic view (11)
notable wine list (9)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1078 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Decent food, ehh service, food served h ...

Dined 5 days ago

Decent food, ehh service, food served hot but staff had little time to check on you, or offer suggestions. The restaurant is painfully loud, unable to hold a conversation over dinner. I would say ok for a quick breakfast or lunch, but many other options for dinner at their price point. Would not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE HAD A GREAT MEAL; THE SERVICE WAS EXCELLANT.

Dined on May 16, 2016

WAS STAYING AT THE HOTEL, COULD NOT ASK FOR A BETTER PLACE TO EAT. WE HAD A GREAT MEAL THE SERVER WENT OUT OF HIS WAY TO ACCOMMODATE US. WE DEFINITELY COME BACK. THE BROWN ROOM IS ALWAYS A NICE PLACE TO SIT AND RELAX BEFORE & AFTER DINING.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Decor was dated and seat covers stained ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Decor was dated and seat covers stained and had dried food particles. Grilled veggie wrap was tasteless and therefor returned. Wine choice was nice!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

bad steak

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and i both ordered the steak and cake. Which is always good. This time we were given a fatty steak instead of fillet. I was very disappointed. The steak was thin and had no flavor.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I had a small lunch with my fiancee and ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I had a small lunch with my fiancee and my parents. The service was terrible. It took forever until our server came over, and our small lunch orders didn't arrive at the table for 30 minutes. Our server was nowhere to be found in the meantime.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved the scallops

Dined on May 10, 2016

Totally enjoyed our experience at the Blue Pig. Friendly and well trained service. Great idea with the Blue plate specials. Had the Scallops appetizer and it was fantastic. Recommend as a must visit while in Cape May.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Blue Pig Tavern at Congress Hall never f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Blue Pig Tavern at Congress Hall never fails to deliver. In the past year, we have been there for Father's Day dinner while on vacation, my husband's 40th for breakfast while staying at Congress Hall, and last week for Mother's Day/my daughter's 4th birthday. This time my husband and I both got the trout for the Blue Plate special and it was delicious! Even the Ceasar salad we started with was tasty. The Sea Salt Carmel cheesecake for dessert was phenomenal and we are still talking about it a week later. The kids' chicken tenders were both tender and crispy and we enjoyed them as well!!! :) The waitress brought out an ice cream brownie with a candle for my daughter which she loved.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Not Quite what we were seeing

Dined on May 7, 2016

After reading many glowing on-line reviews we chose to eat here the night before Mother's Day. The restaurant is in an old hotel near the beach at Cape May. We were looking for an intimate upscale dining room-it was not that. It was full of families with kids and was reminiscent of a Friendly's. Our server Flossie was a total delight however and made us feel good about the place through her enthusiasm. The food was ok but nothing special. I had meat loaf that was a big blob on a sea of mashed potatoes. My wife's fish and chips was excellent. We had dressed up a bit but this was definitely come as you are. I think the main issue is that it functions as the hotel restaurant rather than a destination in itself.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4

Atmosphere is quaint. Porch is nicer th ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Atmosphere is quaint. Porch is nicer than inside. If weather is suitable, sit outside on patio. Menu could use s few additional entree chooses. Only one hot vegetable choice. I would return to dine here again, however, considering the Blue Pig is part of a 5 star hotel , the management should look to improve the dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were celebrating my mom's 70th birthday so I was very concerned about everything going smoothly. My mom was thrilled and Blue Pig Tavern made it a very special dinner for all of us. The food is excellent and the service was superb-- at one point a member of our party dropped his glasses case and the waitress had a flashlight aimed under the table before I even knew what was happening! She was just that good. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Poor Seating Arrangement

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were seated at a table with high transient foot traffic off the hotel lobby area. Have dined at the Blue Pig on a number of occasions and don't remember the wine list being so short. However the food was excellent as always.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

So glad the pulled pork is back so delic ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

So glad the pulled pork is back so delicious! Best Mac n cheese!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant is adjacent to Congress Hotel ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Restaurant is adjacent to Congress Hotel in Cape May, N.J. Sort of colonial vibe, dark furniture, etc. Very good food, service excellent. Was there for lunch and menu more than offered several choices - soups, salads, sandwiches. Most enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous, delicious, bset cocktail ever!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Nice place, great food, we brought the kid but probably wouldn't next time. Nice, dark, quiet ambiance. Staff excellent. Try the Pamplemousse cocktail.. best ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Sweet server, delicious dishes

Dined on April 25, 2016

Sweet server, delicious dishes

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointing

Dined on April 23, 2016

I've been to The Blue Pig for dinner several times and it's always hit or miss. The most recent visit was a miss. I had the pasta bolognese -- two of my friends had the meatloaf. All three of us felt that the beef was highly over-seasoned with nutmeg or cinnamon or something like that. It wasn't good at all. Also, the tomato sauce on my pasta was very thin and watery without much taste beyond the over-powering nutmeg or cinnamon in the meat. (I had the same pasta dish when I was there last Summer and it was very good!) My dinner this time did include a shrimp cocktail which was delicious -- it was the saving grace of the meal. We all had dessert (apple pie and the flour-less chocolate cake) and all of us were satisfied with it. Overall, the dining experience this time was very disappointing and I regretted suggesting that we go there to friends who are from out-of-state and are unfamiliar with Cape May. I would recommend The Blue Pig to a friend for outdoor dining in the Summer just because the ambience is so very nice, and I would caution them about the food. Also, I would highly recommend the Brown Room Bar -- but I would not recommend The Blue Pig Tavern for dinner because it is just too inconsistent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been twice and were impressed bo ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We have been twice and were impressed both times. They really treated us well and made my grandfather's 90th birthday a special memory. Delicious food, excellent service, fun decor.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed the Blue Pig at Lunch

Dined on April 23, 2016

We ordered salads and sandwiches from the lunch menu. All were large portions and everyone enjoyed their entrees very much! Had leftovers to take home.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The ahi tuna ceviche appetizer was fabul ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The ahi tuna ceviche appetizer was fabulous and quite large. The two of us split it. The fish (of the fish and chips) was cooked to perfection - light and flaky with nice batter. The fries were thin and crispy. Wait staff was excellent. I would love to return to Cape May for another dinner. We also had breakfast there. Eggs and oatmeal were perfect. Good coffee.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Had the fire places burning. Could smell ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Had the fire places burning. Could smell smoke everywhere. Inside, outside, on our clothes when we left. The Boiler Room lounge looked interesting. A charming venue if you don't mind the smoke aroma. Would consider an overnight in non-fire burning season.

food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Delicious but to close for comfort

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was outstanding, however, I felt like I could not fully enjoy my time here. There were many tables open but another couple was seated right next to my table and I felt like I could touch the person's shoulder sitting next to me, we were so close. My fiance and I felt like we could not have a conversation because of the others hearing it. You could tell both the other couple and ourselves were uncomfortable with the close distance between tables. To close for comfort and I wish I could have enjoyed my time at Blue Pig more.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Yet another great experience at the Blue ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Yet another great experience at the Blue Pig. Delicious food, friendly and professional service, and even got to see a celebrity! If you are in Cape May, definitely finish your day with dinner at the Blue Pig.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, their craft beer selecti ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Food was great, their craft beer selection is awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place

Dined on April 15, 2016

This is one of my all time favorite places to eat. Awesome, delicious food that is traditional but without being stuffy. The chef takes great care in preparing the food. Best ever creme brulee!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service and such a fun locatio ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Wonderful service and such a fun location. The salad was cold, fresh and crispy - mac and cheese appetizer was decedent- we enjoyed the different twist on the meat loaf and they plated everything for sharing which was so nice!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and atmosphere just need ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere just need to bring Merry Monks Beer back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disapointment

Dined on March 27, 2016

We book as buffet but front desk did not have reservation, our meal was finally served after the couple that was seated after finished their meal and left food was cold

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

historic pub

Dined on March 25, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner very much. It was a Friday in lent, so we were hoping for some fish entrees without meat- i think people forget bacon is meat, but we had the seafood platter for an appetizer and the shrimp were nice and firm-all the raw bar was delicious. A salad was split and they even sent it our on two plates which was a nice touch. I really likes the large portion of fish on the Fish and Chips and my husband had the cod special. I see why they wrap fish in newspaper for presentation because the fish has a tendency to hold some oil, that may be a good idea here. The loaf of bread was amazing! we enjoy cocktails and had the whiskey sours but agree with previous comments about consistency- I had 2 different drinks. Overall a great meal and the service was attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Weekend Delight

Dined on March 24, 2016

The Blue Pig has a new menu and had an introductory event. The menu is great and we had a very enjoyable dinner. We have gone there before, but it is apparently under new direction. It was a nice evening

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent value

Dined on March 17, 2016

We went to the Blue Pig Tavern last Thursday. I had the "Blue Plate Special" (a 3-course menu for $27) and my husband ordered off the a la carte menu. Food was very good, service was excellent, and wines came fresh and just as ordered (which does not always happen when wine is not poured at the table. It does, however, get a bit noisy as the room fills. The best part of going to the Blue Pig is the Brown Room across the hall where you can sit after your meal and enjoy dessert drinks. There is entertainment there nightly from 6 to 9. Overall, a nice place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Unfortunately, I'm not sure if we just f ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Unfortunately, I'm not sure if we just fell victim to the off-season at the shore but both our meals were disappointing. My pasta was completely undercooked and my partner's steak which she ordered medium was well done. Both dishes were lacking seasoning and flavor even though their descriptions on the menu sounded delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5

Sevierville was excellent as always!

Dined on March 7, 2016

Sevierville was excellent as always!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, greater service!

Dined on March 3, 2016

My steak was cooked perfectly and the local veggies were crisp and tasty. Lorraine had the Mahi Mahi which was delicious and the polenta was scrumptious! Our waitress, Patty, was very friendly and informative. We went a little early on a cold, damp evening. They sat us right by fire so we were warm and cozy in minutes. Can't wait to go when it's warmer and we can sit outside with the views of the beautiful Cape May Victorian houses.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good and an ok value

Dined on February 29, 2016

Let's face it-- Cape May eateries are grossly overpriced. Setting that aside- great food , good service and with candle light & fireplace- slightly romantic. Good pick

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

Dined on February 25, 2016

Just a quiet night out in Cape May. Fabulous meal, trout was perfect,excellent Caesar salad...great service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

High end food at moderate prices you cannot do better than that. Choices from vegetarian to meat lovers delights made the experience enjoyable for the four of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Waited 30 minutes for the check. The wai ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Waited 30 minutes for the check. The waiter disappeared the last half of our dinner. Tables were too close together. Heard the conversations at adjoining tables. Pricy too.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleased As Always!

Dined on February 14, 2016

The Blue Pig is a Cape May gem. The food continues to get better and is sourced so fresh. The scallops are a must have! Valentine's Day was very romantic by the fireplace and we will keep returning time and again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Trendy Dinning in historic, "Congres Hall"

Dined on February 14, 2016

The Blue Pig is located within historic "Congress Hall," in Cape May, NJ. I was able to book one of two slots remaining at 3PM on Valentine's Day '16, through "Open Table." When we arrived, we were immediately seated and the hosts were very friendly. We ordered from a limited breakfast/lunch menu, but the food was delicious. Congress Hall uses their own signature china collection which added to the high ceilings and Victorian décor. Service was also friendly and prompt; there was very little waiting between ordering and the first and second courses. Finally, I thought the pricing was fair and affordable. The restaurant closes between 3PM-5PM, with a full dinner menu selection, which was not part of our experience on this visit. Upon finishing lunch we then sat in the "Brown Room, a small but cozy cocktail bar, next door to the restaurant and within the hotel lobby. The hotel also has a full bar downstairs, in the hotel, called "The Boiler Room," that we didn't get to but is a second option for you before or, after your meal. Overall, it was great, from a restaurant perspective, with the added charm of historic hotel with a Victorian theme and ambiance of the "Titanic" movie era that makes you feel like you've gotten your money's worth from the experience.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

The Blue Pig was a disappointment.

Dined on February 14, 2016

This wasn't the first time we've eaten at the Blue Pig and sadly, we were once again under whelmed. I want to love it, the service is always good but the food is way too expensive for what you get. The raw bar sampler was tasty although also overpriced but the entrees were only mediocre. There are too many great places to eat in Cape May to waste a meal on the Blue Pig.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.