Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About The Blue Pig Tavern

The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant!

In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.

200 Congress Place
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Open daily for breakfast, lunch & dinner

Cross Street:
Perry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-8422

Website:
http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/bluepigtavern

Entertainment:
Live Music takes place at the Brown Room (adjacent to the Blue Pig Tavern). See website for live performances: http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/brownroom/entertainment

Parking Details:
Valet parking available. Meter parking also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Einhorn

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Pig Tavern offers private facilities for groups up to 250 guests. See more: http://www.caperesorts.com/capemay/weddingsevents/

Private Party Contact:
Judy Platt: (609) 884-6594

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special dinners and fun events throughout the year: http://www.caperesorts.com/concierge/capemay/

The Blue Pig Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

LocalIngredients (41)
Casual (41)
OutdoorDining (38)
See All
GoodForDates (37)
Cozy (33)
ComfortFood (32)
Lunch (32)
Historic (31)
Foodies (27)
SundayLunch (25)
NeighborhoodGem (22)
Brunch (22)
ChildFriendly (21)
Romance (20)
SpecialOccasions (20)
Fun (20)
CreativeCuisine (19)
Fireplace (19)
WorthTheDrive (17)
Birthdays (16)
Healthy (16)
Groups (15)
HandcraftedCocktails (15)
Anniversaries (13)
Seasonal (13)
PeopleWatching (12)
QuietConversation (12)
Authentic (11)
VibrantBarScene (11)
ScenicView (9)
GreatBeer (9)
PrePostTheatre (8)
HotSpot (8)
VegetarianOptions (8)
BusinessMeals (7)
Organic (7)
NotableWineList (5)
BarSeating (5)
LateNightFind (4)
AfternoonCoffee (4)
FamilyStyle (4)
HappyHour (3)
LiveMusic (3)
DisabledAccess (3)
GlutenFree (2)
PaleoFriendly (2)
TastingMenu (2)
QuickBite (1)
AfternoonTea (1)
Tapas (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

ate outside very enjoyable
food was good /service was good
would go back

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We eat at the Blue Pig every year while vacationing in Cape May. The food is always fresh and delicious. The service is great too. The kids menu is nice because it includes dessert for the kids. We keep going back, it has yet to disappoint.

Tags: Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for dinner. Have been to Cape May several times but first time here to eat. Food was great. Our waitress was attentive and nice . Would highly recommend. A little pricey so would not be an everyday stop.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Flossie was an excellent server, everything arrived in a timely manner, and our waters were filled and our table was cleared quickly. The tuna tartar appetizer is always great, and the fish and chips were delicious. The apple pie for dessert is a must.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I love Congress Hall and love dogs. However I really wish they would not allow pets on the patio. There was a dog growling at people while we were eating . The staff heard and saw it happening but seemed to be uncomfortable to say anything to the dog owner. This is the second time we have a negative experience with a dog on the patio at the Blue Pig. Otherwise Congress Hall is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Loved the stuffed French Toast amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went to the Blue Pig for brunch on Father's day. We had a reservation and we were seated right on time. Our server's name was Julie and she was FABULOUS. We had a 2 year old and an infant with us and she was so accommodating. We'll be back often. Thanks for making it such a pleasant experience Julie....and oh, by the way, the food was great!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent service. Cozy warm atmosphere. Good beer and cocktail selection. Most importantly the food is always great. It's the only restaurant where I've ever ordered meatloaf after tuna ceviche.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Blue Pig Tavern is a very nice place to eat, the staff is exceptionally courteous and helpful. The ambience is great, me and my boyfriend enjoyed eating at a table outside

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Had not been here in quite awhile but must say it exceeded our expectations this time. We dined outside --The music / ambiance was terrific , table decor beautiful, & Flossie our server was a gem. Her recommendations & clam chowder description were spot on. Thanks for such a wonderful experience for our family of gals having a fun night out together at the Blue Pig!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was poor and unacceptable! The food was very good but would never recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We have eaten at The Blue Pig many times and have always been satisfied. We are local residents in CM. This was restaurant week and Congress Hall Blue Pig had a poor menu in comparison to other good restaurants in the area. We ate in four different high end restaurants during restaurant week. The Shepard pie was swimming in oil and definitely nothing special. The salmon was tasty. I am gluten free and had a reaction after this meal. Our server was harried and not into giving us good service. We sat outside and this location was very pleasant. The music was too loud. I would expect more from Congress Hall. All together disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our server Flossie was awesome. Very attentive, kind, helpful and overall experience was great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had an ok dinner; it was restaurant week so 3 courses for $35. The restaurant was very noisy, lots of kids, which I should have expected because we have brunch at The Blue Pig often.
I was somewhat disappointed in the food and the service, however my husband and our friends were pleased. I dined at several other restaurants that participated and had better experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Dined during restaurant week and were impressed by the selections. There were 3 of us and a baby. Deviled eggs were yummy. Salad and soup tasty. My companions enjoyed their tilefish and salmon dinners. I had the pulled pork shepherds pie-- a tasty version. Only complaint was the veggies inside were very underdone for my taste. The dessert selections were huge and did not disappoint. The strawberry shortcake and pear cake were delicious. We dined out on the inner patio which was a little noisy in terms of conversing. But it nicely accommodated us since the weather was not nice enough to dine outside. All in all we had a great time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great food and excellent service!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 4, 2017

Historical, beautiful. Great food. Our waiter, Mike, was wonderful, very experienced. Reservations definitely needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Pan seared scallops were excellent! Servers are very friendly and accommodating. We were sitting inside and I found it a little too noisy. However they have a big terrace too that looked very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 1, 2017

food was good. service was really slow, great burgers

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The Restaurant is not good enough for the resort it's in. It is one of the most Beautiful resorts on the island and should have a better choice of places to eat! Service was not good, and food was average.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Ok, but steak ordered rare was over-cooked to medium rare and marinated with garlic and herbs, not flavorful from high quality cut of juicy meat.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Breakfast with the Hubbie

Beach plum farm veggie omelette with a side of beautiful fresh fruit! And nice strong coffee made s great breakfast but top it iff with a side of the best bacon in Cape May! Yum

Hubbie had a Mediterranean omelette and a side of grits! Plus he shared the bacon!

The Coffee keeps coming! Hubbie was happy!

Julie was our server. She is excellent! and friendly too! Nice morning so we sat out on the porch. Chance of rain kept us inside!

Great farm to table options including veggies like asparagus, chard, eggplant in addition to a nice crab omelette option. Nice marble rye and a 7 grain toast too!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My one and only criticism is that the indoor dining room is just a little dark. Otherwise, the service has always been good, the food always reliably tasty and the atmosphere is lively. The Boiler Room downstairs was really cool, with live entertainment and just about every table full of anyone from families to older couples having fun. We went down there for a drink before dinner since the upstairs bar, also with live music, was just too darn crowded.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Really nice dinner to cap off holiday weekend. Took very good care of kids and is!o

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Always a wonderful experience! Service and food are spectacular, worth going! Everything is priced reasonably and quality is worth it!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We tried to think of a better meal we've had in our lives, but could not think of one. Everything was as good as it could have been. Perfectly cooked, seasoned, and presented, and the quality of ingredients carried through all of the dishes. We had clams (halfshell), scallops, meatloaf, seafood pasta (shrimp, mussels, calamari with angel hair), and creme brulee (the lightest and best in our experience). All were outstanding, and even the kids chicken fingers, fries, and ice cream sundae were just somehow incredible. For a variety of reasons, we never ended up eating here before, but we will be coming back...every time we come to Cape May going forward. What a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The crab cakes, salmon and drinks were wonderful. The waitstaff and service exemplary. Always a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Service was prompt and waitstaff friendly. Food was nothing special. I had fish & chips. I expected the thick steak fries but got fast food type 🍟 instead. My wife had crabcakes which were tasty enough but lacked chunks of crab 🦀. She did enjoy the sides of slaw and mustard potatoes.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Excellent service. Intimate table near the fireplace was wonderful on a rainy cool evening. The most delicious sweetest sea scallops I have ever experienced. Great place!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great food terrific service ( Flossy)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Went for breakfast. Food was mediocre at best. Husband ordered a Bloody Mary which is said was watered down and flavorless. Everything was blah but expensive. Breakfast for two, ordering only one cocktail was almost $50 before the tip. The place is loud the tables are crowded together. Only bright spot was our waitress was nice. Next time we are sticking to Uncle Bills!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was excellent!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Waited until appetizers came for first drink. Atmosphere was loud and kid friendly....not date worthy. Service was fast....too fast and pushy. In and out in under 40 minutes. Never offered a second drink and steak was overcooked.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very charming. Friendly staff and excellent comfort food.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This place never changes

Been here several years ago & it was wonderful then.

Food & service terrific.

Had salads that were delicious..& the waitress very helpful

I now have a placemat framed on my kitchen wall of THE BLUE PIG

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We were warmly greeted, well served, and well fed. At the end of each course, the plates were so clean that it was impossible to tell what they contained.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Myself & my sistrr had a leisurely breakfast/lunch with my Mom on Mothers Day. Both the service and the food were excellent. This is the 2nd time we've spent Mothers Day at The Blue Pig - i think we justed started a tradition!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Great Mother's Day breakfast. The Beach Plum Farm Benedict and the Blackstone Benedict were both outstanding! Can't wait to go back on our next vacation in Cape May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 7, 2017

A fun lunch! Food was yummy...Waldorf chicken salad my choice. Sat next to the fireplace on a recent cold afternoon and enjoyed the ambiance. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food but long wait for it. Arrived about 40 minutes after we ordered. Otherwise fun place.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.