About The Blue Pig Tavern

200 Congress Place
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant!

In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday-Friday 7:30am-12pm
Saturday and Sunday 7:30am-3pm

Lunch:
Open Daily: 11am-3pm

Dinner:
Open Daily: 5pm-10pm

Hours, specials and menus are subject to change. Contact us for details.

Cross Street:
Perry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-8422

Website:
http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/bluepigtavern

Entertainment:
Live Music takes place at the Brown Room (adjacent to the Blue Pig Tavern). See website for live performances: http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/brownroom/entertainment

Parking Details:
Valet parking available. Meter parking also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Einhorn

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Pig Tavern offers private facilities for groups up to 250 guests. See more: http://www.caperesorts.com/capemay/weddingsevents/

Private Party Contact:
Judy Platt: 6098846594x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special dinners and fun events throughout the year: http://www.caperesorts.com/concierge/capemay/

Restaurant Photos

Turkey Burger
Caesar Salad
Cheeseburger
Calamari
Parppardelle
Deviled Eggs
turkey club
Cocktails
Cesar Salad
Pappardelle With Bolognese Sauce
Corned Beef Hash
Filet Mignon
Clam Chowder
Apple Pie
Chicken Salad & Fried Oysters
French Onion Soup
Jersey Peaches
Grilled Peach with Burrata and Prosciutto
Baked Macaroni and Cheese

The Blue Pig Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

great for outdoor dining (75)
fit for foodies (50)
special occasion (49)
See All
kid-friendly (49)
great for lunch (47)
neighborhood gem (42)
good for groups (37)
romantic (33)
great for brunch (32)
hot spot (21)
vibrant bar scene (21)
scenic view (13)
notable wine list (8)
late-night find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful dinner! Loved the outdoor pati ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful dinner! Loved the outdoor patio and great selection of fresh, farm to table food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We typically love the Blue Pig, but the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

We typically love the Blue Pig, but the service was significantly lacking this time. Would have to think about returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We plan a dinner at the Blue Pig every t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We plan a dinner at the Blue Pig every trip to Cape May. The ambience and food are fantastic, comfortable but festive. The menu is interesting and the food is farm-fresh, and the kids are well taken care of too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good. The noise level was ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was good. The noise level was very loud with children crying and running around the tables. Parents need better control of children epecially after 8pm.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome service and farm fresh food. The ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome service and farm fresh food. The outside seating area is gorgeous and seashore-y, but we probably should have asked to be seated under the shade. Our mistake. The mimosa and Bellini carafes were perfect and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good with exception of sitting in a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good with exception of sitting in a tiny table that seemed to be in the way of the servers and everyone walking by.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great service and food. A little too l ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and food. A little too loud times.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect spot to relax in quaint garden a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect spot to relax in quaint garden atmosphere. We brought our two kids and it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate at the Blue Pig while visiting Ca ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

We ate at the Blue Pig while visiting Cape May for a short mid-week vacation. We were there near the Christmas holiday this past year for breakfast, and wanted to try it for dinner. Having had a less than stellar dining experience the night before the charms of the Blue Pig were very welcome. The outdoor dining area was delightful, adequately shaded by large umbrellas. Our server, John, was very personable, and the rest of the service was excellent. Finally, and most importantly, the food was great. Not pretentious, but just delicious, "real" food. I had the fish and chips (a large portion of fish, with the lightest of batters), and my wife had the meat loaf. A nice selection of beers and wines is available. I would heartily recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Cape May.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined here for breakfast, lunch, and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We dined here for breakfast, lunch, and dinner when visiting Cape May. Always an excellent experience, outstanding service, and delicious food. Pleasant outdoor dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were great. They o ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food and service were great. They only had tables available indoor. The lighting was bad we needed to use the flashlight on our phones to read the menus. Also hard to see what you are eating.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Our waiter Nick was full of energy and a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our waiter Nick was full of energy and at our beck-and-call. Very attentive and always smiling. Felt like we were his number one priority. I wasn't expecting the decor of the restaurant to be as eclectic as it was especially having walked in through the bar area and it being more on the modern side. We did however enjoy the room and the decor. Very relaxing yet festive! Food was wonderful, as were the cocktails we chose from their list! Highly recommended.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to the blue pig tavern 3 times ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I've been to the blue pig tavern 3 times now, and each time the experience has been wonderful!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the atmosphere. Outdoor patio was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Loved the atmosphere. Outdoor patio was lovely. Farm to table aspect of menu was great. However, it took us an hour just to receive our two entrees while other tables around us received their food even though they ordered after us.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I decided on Blue Pig Tavern for my Birt ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I decided on Blue Pig Tavern for my Birthday Dinner on Saturday night and was not disappointed. The atmosphere was lively but with a moderate noise level and the food was fantastic. My only complaint was that it was very warm and even when we asked if they could adjust the air conditioner - the indoor temperature was not cool enough as everyone in the restaurant was using the menus to fan themselves. Overall i'd visit again but will probably wait for cooler temperatures.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was noise, not well organ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant was noise, not well organized and not worth what we paid. The waitress was friendly but not above average overall. Our courses were placed down over utensils without care or apologizes. The food was ok but nothing that would make you want to return. The fresh vegetables and soup were the best out of our meal. This restaurant should have a 2.7 rating at best. We were sorry to say disappointed. Go to Union Park in Cape May and enjoy a good meal for less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

All of the food was very tasty, cooked t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

All of the food was very tasty, cooked to our liking and well worth the price. Our server, Ashley was attentive, but not over bearing. The bread was delicious, and Ashley even brought us seconds! Ashley was very knowledgeable in regards to not only the food menu, but also the beer and wine lists. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Experience was good, but I expected more ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Experience was good, but I expected more from everything I read. Food was tasty, but have had better farm-to-table experiences. Fairly pricey - scallop appetizer was $17 for 2 scallops :( I don't know if I would rush back but it's helpful that they accept kids for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The Blue Pig was a great rustic atmosph ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Blue Pig was a great rustic atmosphere of the 1800s. The service was helpful and polite. The hamburgers were fresh and delicious. I would go again!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us went for dinner and all were ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Four of us went for dinner and all were disappointed. I had sautéed snapper that was more like frozen breaded flounder. The PEI mussels had a pungent odor and tasted very bad. They did take them off the bill. The service was disappointing - had to ask for things several times. There are much better places to eat in Cape May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We've been dining at the Blue Pig for se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We've been dining at the Blue Pig for several years and have noticed a progressive decline in food quality over the last few years. I won't go back after this time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We were seated in the indoor dining room ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were seated in the indoor dining room right next to the fireplace--there was no fire going since it was a warm summer day, but there was a very strong smoky smell coming from the fireplace. If I had realized it before we were seated, I would have made sure not to sit near the fireplace (and my husband refused to let me ask to move). All of us enjoyed what we ordered--but it was very overpriced, like most of the places in Cape May. Some of our dishes: beet salad, scallop appetizer, cheeseburger, mac and cheese, hanger steak, spaghetti bolognese. We had eaten at this restaurant several years ago and it was better than we remembered.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

We were very disappointed with our dinin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were very disappointed with our dining experience at The Blue Pig Tavern. It was very dimly lit and extremely noisy. My husband and I had to lean forward across the table and raise our voices to be heard over the din. Our reservation was later in the evening (8:30) so it wasn't even fully occupied. I cannot imagine how much louder it would be if it was crowded. Our waiter, while very nice, was barely present. The food was good but this is Cape May - there are so many very good restaurants that it is not necessary to put up with a dark, ridiculously loud environment. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

One of our favorite places for brunch wh ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of our favorite places for brunch when we're in town. Good menu with lots of local produce, eggs, etc., and imaginative without being crazy. Service is always excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our lunchtime reservation was made to ce ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our lunchtime reservation was made to celebrate a friend's 60th birthday, and it could not have been one bit better! Staff recognized the special occasion from the beginning & a round of complimentary drinks was offered for our group of 4. The tavern is simply charming, and being located inside Congress Hall adds to the ambiance. Our server was pleasant, attentive and prompt, yet never overbearing. Our menu selections were quite varied; including the Rueben, Clam Chowder and Beet Salad, Pork BBQ and a Burger... Every member of our party was delighted with the food! Our group of 4 rides the ferry to Cape May to kick off a fun weekend/week around this friend's birthday each year, and we will certainly book a table at the Blue Pig Tavern again next July. Oh! The Blue Pig linen napkins so captured the fancy of the birthday girl, we were tickled to find them ( along with Blue Pig tea towels, place mats, and salt & pepper shakers) for sale in the shop in Congress Hall. Her kitchen now has a permanent reminder of our wonderful lunch at the Blue Pig Tavern.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The deviled egg appetizer was unique and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The deviled egg appetizer was unique and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service! Wobbly, sloping ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food and service! Wobbly, sloping table was the only detracting feature.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The first time I was ever in a restauran ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The first time I was ever in a restaurant when they brought the main course out with the appetizer. This is in a tourist area and I think all they are concentrated in is turning the table .

We had a similar rush job the night before in a nearby restaurant although we were almost finished w our appetizer.

Won't be returning anytime soon

Note - it was not even busy and they still could not wait to get us out!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

One of our favorites! We love everythin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

One of our favorites! We love everything about The Blue Pig. Not to mention it is connected to one of our favorite bars in town..The Brown Room in Congress Hall. We would say this is casual fine dining at its best! Casual atmosphere with fine dining food. The outside area for dining is romantic and charming. One block from the ocean. You feel like you've stepped back in time when visiting here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had outdoor lunch with family after retu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Had outdoor lunch with family after returning from a trip. It was a hot sunny day but we like outdoor dining, and with several umbrellas we had a fun time! Our favorite menus at Blue Pig are the breakfast and lunch, so often dine here with houseguests. Pets are allowed too outside, which is a huge plus for our family and friends, all doggie-lovers. We had a variety of dishes, and everyone was pleased with their choices. The restaurant uses a local farm for fresh produce, so everything is fresh. The drinks from the bar are always wonderful, and the Brown Room in the hotel is one of our favorite year-round spots!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, nice service, decent prices. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good food, nice service, decent prices. Great dinner experience but brunch the next day was even better!! Amazing Bloody Mary! Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Staff is very friendly and make for a gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Staff is very friendly and make for a great experience. Food is always delicious and worth the price. Julie was our waitress for our most recent visit and she was amazing. Very friendly, helpful and on top of her game. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance on the patio was great, on busy ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Ambiance on the patio was great, on busy weekends definitely get an early reservation because the patio filled up quickly and did become a little noisy

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fresh blend of flavors, making the simpl ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fresh blend of flavors, making the simple divine! Our waiter was attentive and enjoyable. Will definitely come again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location. Sat in outside area. Ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great location. Sat in outside area. Serve brunch until 3 on weekends. Kid friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was fine, except for these tw ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything was fine, except for these two (2) items: the Beet Salad had only ONE PECAN - really skimping on pecans?, and one of two fish and chips dinners had about 40% less fish than the other meal. Details gain higher ratings.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent food. Excellent service. Table ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service.

Tables a little close together.

Ambiance seemed a little chaotic, as it was very busy. Have to give a lot of credit to the wait staff for navigating crowded doorways while carrying large trays, as well as being on seagull patrol on the outdoor patio.

Would definitely go back to The Blue Pig.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We've been here a number of times over t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We've been here a number of times over the years and always enjoyed the experience, but it was only okay this time. Although our meals were decent, the atmosphere has become more Disney-ish . If you sit outside, expect screaming seagulls to stalk your food and dive at your table.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good and they were very accommo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was good and they were very accommodating to our kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This is our third visit to The Blue Pig ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is our third visit to The Blue Pig in Cape May. The food is fresh and delicious! Excellent service! We've eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner at The Blue Pig and we've never had a disappointing meal. We've eaten in the lovely outdoor space, the porch and the main dining room. Love this restaurant and can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.