About The Blue Pig Tavern

200 Congress Place
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant!

In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room :
Sunday -Thursday 5pm-9:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm-10pm

Bar & Lounge :
4:00pm for cocktails
5:00pm for food

Hours of operation change seasonally

Cross Street:
Perry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-8422

Website:
http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/bluepigtavern

Entertainment:
Live Music takes place at the Brown Room (adjacent to the Blue Pig Tavern). See website for live performances: http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/brownroom/entertainment

Parking Details:
Valet parking available. Meter parking also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Einhorn

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Pig Tavern offers private facilities for groups up to 250 guests. See more: http://www.caperesorts.com/capemay/weddingsevents/

Private Party Contact:
Judy Platt: 6098846594x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special dinners and fun events throughout the year: http://www.caperesorts.com/concierge/capemay/

Restaurant Photos

Turkey Burger
Caesar Salad
Cheeseburger
Calamari
Parppardelle
Deviled Eggs
turkey club
Cocktails
Cesar Salad
Pappardelle With Bolognese Sauce
Corned Beef Hash
Filet Mignon
Clam Chowder
Apple Pie
Chicken Salad & Fried Oysters
French Onion Soup
Jersey Peaches
Grilled Peach with Burrata and Prosciutto
Baked Macaroni and Cheese

The Blue Pig Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

great for outdoor dining (44)
fit for foodies (40)
special occasion (39)
See All
neighborhood gem (36)
great for lunch (33)
great for brunch (29)
kid-friendly (28)
good for groups (28)
romantic (26)
vibrant bar scene (16)
hot spot (15)
scenic view (8)
late-night find (8)
notable wine list (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our third visit to The Blue Pig ...

Dined 3 days ago

This is our third visit to The Blue Pig in Cape May. The food is fresh and delicious! Excellent service! We've eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner at The Blue Pig and we've never had a disappointing meal. We've eaten in the lovely outdoor space, the porch and the main dining room. Love this restaurant and can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was not good??? Get a chef fro ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The food was not good??? Get a chef from Philly or New York????

food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was great..the service wa ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere was great..the service was great...the whole experience was wonderful.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Though our coffees and Baileys Irish cre ...

Dined 5 days ago

Though our coffees and Baileys Irish cream were very expensive the quality of the food was very good. My son said the Salmon dish was the best he had ever had. I had the Skate special. I gave it a 3.5. The outdoor dining is my favorite spot in the Cape May area. It's very lovely and very comfortable. My family and I ate there two nights in one week of our vacation. We ate outside once and inside the second time. The inside could be a bit loud. I actually wish we ate outside the second night as well..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Good Pub Fare -- Plus First time at the ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Good Pub Fare -- Plus First time at the Blue Pig. Service was first-rate, greens from their farm were very good, as was the burger and fish. Place is noisy, but they stick to their core mission well and offer up a good meal. A bit expensive for a pub atmosphere.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We asked for the quietest table possible ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We asked for the quietest table possible because two of the four of us had hearing issues and we were seated outside, which was pretty quiet. Everyone was happy with their meal and the evening was happy and animated. The apple pie was amazing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about the blue pig! Wil ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved everything about the blue pig! Will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a really good meal. We were celeb ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a really good meal. We were celebrating an anniversary and mentioned that in our comments. Our hope was that they would do something for us. But, we learned that if we wanted something, we needed to be specific and ask for exactly what we wanted.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An old historic inn with great charm. Wi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

An old historic inn with great charm. Wide floor boards, huge fireplace. Very attentive service and an excellent menu. We enjoyed the experience and will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Have been to the Blue Pig for breakfast. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Have been to the Blue Pig for breakfast. Much better at that than dinner. Disappointed in the meal. Lacked flavor. Not very impressed. Will not be back for dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good! Service was exc ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was very good! Service was excellent and the whole experience was really good.

food4
ambience5
service4

Very good food and ambiance.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Very good food and ambiance.

food3
ambience3
service2

We had high hopes for this farm to table ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

We had high hopes for this farm to table restaurant in Cape May, and we liked it fine, but it failed to dazzle. At 6:30 pm the restaurant had a number of families dining with small children, which made for a noisy jangled scene. Our waiter was friendly but rushed and overworked, and it took a while for him to get to us. The outdoor courtyard looked like it needed a little grooming. The food was good: a salad topped with grilled pineapple was an interesting dish, gazpacho was tasty if a trifle sweet, crab cake was good though not exceptional. I ordered a fruit cobbler dessert with the "Restaurant Week" promotion but was when it was time for dessert, I was informed it was all sold out. All in all, a fine evening but not quite up to our expectations.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best in Cape May

Dined on June 9, 2016

Granted, the Blue Pig can almost rest on its reputation as being the restaurant within Congress Hall. It's on the top of every first - time visitor's "must go to" list. Their Colonial pig logo is on the plates and napkins. But it's also actually a great place to eat with early American ambiance. We make a point to have dinner there whenever we're in Cape May. On Thursday night, for my appetizer, I had the Tuna Cerviche with Avocado. It was not only incredibly delicious but beautifully presented. I do feel their prices are a tad high for the quantity. But not quality) For my entree I had the 3 scallops over a corn salad. In both cases there could have been more tuna in the Cerviche and more scallops over the salad. Thus saying, it is always a great dining experience, and we will happily go again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit the Blue Pig every summer and l ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

We visit the Blue Pig every summer and look forward to eating breakfast as well as dinner here. We love Congress Hall in general and really love the food and atmosphere. The porch and outside dining are very nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was okay, but I thought is was a bi ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Food was okay, but I thought is was a bit overpriced. I also received the wrong salad as an appetizer, but that was corrected fairly quickly.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Favorite for outdoor breakfast

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Great garden seating and good American standard foods make this a favorite for breakfast

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

I always make sure to have at least one ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

I always make sure to have at least one meal at the Blue Pig Tavern whenever I visit Cape May. The food is delishious and the menu varied. A great wine, beer and cocktail list as well.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

After years of wondering ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

We finally went to the infamous Blue Pig at Congress Hall. Pleasantly surprised with the homestyle offerings of this iconic Jersey shore restaurant. We sampled from across the menu, and tried the special (Scallops). Old school meatloaf with mashed potatoes, carrots and peas, the pasta with the fruit of the sea (scallops, shrimp, clams and calamari). The deviled eggs were a unique treat too. Small but thoughtful wine list compliments this farm to table restaurant. Seasonal help can be a challenge, but the team was well trained and prepared for the early shore season crush.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

My family and I dined here during our fa ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

My family and I dined here during our family vacation in Cape May. My husband and I went with our 2 year old and 9 month old and the girls at the front desk went above and beyond to accommodate us! out stroller is huge double stroller and they even put it in the back for us. Our waiter was super friendly and gave us plenty of time to look at the menu and had a lot of patience with our daughter. The bread was AMAZING! This was our last stop during our vacation so we were all seafood out so we opted for burgers and they were OK. We will def. go back to try some of their seafood.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Wait issues

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our server was wonderful but the kitchen took forever. The manager stopped by to ask how things were to which I replyed great except we still are without food for an hour! She smiled and walked away. Food took about 75 min. to come. Great food once it came

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Wife's salad had some old mixed greens. ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Wife's salad had some old mixed greens. Entrees though were tasty and good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Although the food was good it was ruined ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Although the food was good it was ruined by the waitress we had. When we received the check we noticed we were charged for vodka instead of the margarita that was ordered. We waited for the waitress but since she did not reappear we asked the hostess. When the waitress saw me with her she said argued that vodka was in margaritas which is incorrect and I pointed that out. Then she tried to tell us that she did us a favor because the restaurant did not have a button to order margaritas with and therefore she would have had to charge us for tequila and margarita mix which I have never heard of and would have been more expensive. She then said she could gladly change the ticket to reflect the more expensive price. At this vacation my mother and I frequented this restaurant approximately 5 times, and have gone there multiple times on two previous vacations. We will not be returning.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Would not go back

Dined on May 21, 2016

Had to move to a second seat when we arrived. First was terrible. Small and next to the door. Food was ok. Very noisy. Gentleman at the front desk was very rude! Beowulf not go back.

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Decent food, ehh service, food served h ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Decent food, ehh service, food served hot but staff had little time to check on you, or offer suggestions. The restaurant is painfully loud, unable to hold a conversation over dinner. I would say ok for a quick breakfast or lunch, but many other options for dinner at their price point. Would not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE HAD A GREAT MEAL; THE SERVICE WAS EXCELLANT.

Dined on May 16, 2016

WAS STAYING AT THE HOTEL, COULD NOT ASK FOR A BETTER PLACE TO EAT. WE HAD A GREAT MEAL THE SERVER WENT OUT OF HIS WAY TO ACCOMMODATE US. WE DEFINITELY COME BACK. THE BROWN ROOM IS ALWAYS A NICE PLACE TO SIT AND RELAX BEFORE & AFTER DINING.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Decor was dated and seat covers stained ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Decor was dated and seat covers stained and had dried food particles. Grilled veggie wrap was tasteless and therefor returned. Wine choice was nice!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

bad steak

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and i both ordered the steak and cake. Which is always good. This time we were given a fatty steak instead of fillet. I was very disappointed. The steak was thin and had no flavor.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I had a small lunch with my fiancee and ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I had a small lunch with my fiancee and my parents. The service was terrible. It took forever until our server came over, and our small lunch orders didn't arrive at the table for 30 minutes. Our server was nowhere to be found in the meantime.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved the scallops

Dined on May 10, 2016

Totally enjoyed our experience at the Blue Pig. Friendly and well trained service. Great idea with the Blue plate specials. Had the Scallops appetizer and it was fantastic. Recommend as a must visit while in Cape May.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Blue Pig Tavern at Congress Hall never f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Blue Pig Tavern at Congress Hall never fails to deliver. In the past year, we have been there for Father's Day dinner while on vacation, my husband's 40th for breakfast while staying at Congress Hall, and last week for Mother's Day/my daughter's 4th birthday. This time my husband and I both got the trout for the Blue Plate special and it was delicious! Even the Ceasar salad we started with was tasty. The Sea Salt Carmel cheesecake for dessert was phenomenal and we are still talking about it a week later. The kids' chicken tenders were both tender and crispy and we enjoyed them as well!!! :) The waitress brought out an ice cream brownie with a candle for my daughter which she loved.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Not Quite what we were seeing

Dined on May 7, 2016

After reading many glowing on-line reviews we chose to eat here the night before Mother's Day. The restaurant is in an old hotel near the beach at Cape May. We were looking for an intimate upscale dining room-it was not that. It was full of families with kids and was reminiscent of a Friendly's. Our server Flossie was a total delight however and made us feel good about the place through her enthusiasm. The food was ok but nothing special. I had meat loaf that was a big blob on a sea of mashed potatoes. My wife's fish and chips was excellent. We had dressed up a bit but this was definitely come as you are. I think the main issue is that it functions as the hotel restaurant rather than a destination in itself.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4

Atmosphere is quaint. Porch is nicer th ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Atmosphere is quaint. Porch is nicer than inside. If weather is suitable, sit outside on patio. Menu could use s few additional entree chooses. Only one hot vegetable choice. I would return to dine here again, however, considering the Blue Pig is part of a 5 star hotel , the management should look to improve the dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were celebrating my mom's 70th birthday so I was very concerned about everything going smoothly. My mom was thrilled and Blue Pig Tavern made it a very special dinner for all of us. The food is excellent and the service was superb-- at one point a member of our party dropped his glasses case and the waitress had a flashlight aimed under the table before I even knew what was happening! She was just that good. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Poor Seating Arrangement

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were seated at a table with high transient foot traffic off the hotel lobby area. Have dined at the Blue Pig on a number of occasions and don't remember the wine list being so short. However the food was excellent as always.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

So glad the pulled pork is back so delic ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

So glad the pulled pork is back so delicious! Best Mac n cheese!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant is adjacent to Congress Hotel ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Restaurant is adjacent to Congress Hotel in Cape May, N.J. Sort of colonial vibe, dark furniture, etc. Very good food, service excellent. Was there for lunch and menu more than offered several choices - soups, salads, sandwiches. Most enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous, delicious, bset cocktail ever!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Nice place, great food, we brought the kid but probably wouldn't next time. Nice, dark, quiet ambiance. Staff excellent. Try the Pamplemousse cocktail.. best ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Sweet server, delicious dishes

Dined on April 25, 2016

Sweet server, delicious dishes

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointing

Dined on April 23, 2016

I've been to The Blue Pig for dinner several times and it's always hit or miss. The most recent visit was a miss. I had the pasta bolognese -- two of my friends had the meatloaf. All three of us felt that the beef was highly over-seasoned with nutmeg or cinnamon or something like that. It wasn't good at all. Also, the tomato sauce on my pasta was very thin and watery without much taste beyond the over-powering nutmeg or cinnamon in the meat. (I had the same pasta dish when I was there last Summer and it was very good!) My dinner this time did include a shrimp cocktail which was delicious -- it was the saving grace of the meal. We all had dessert (apple pie and the flour-less chocolate cake) and all of us were satisfied with it. Overall, the dining experience this time was very disappointing and I regretted suggesting that we go there to friends who are from out-of-state and are unfamiliar with Cape May. I would recommend The Blue Pig to a friend for outdoor dining in the Summer just because the ambience is so very nice, and I would caution them about the food. Also, I would highly recommend the Brown Room Bar -- but I would not recommend The Blue Pig Tavern for dinner because it is just too inconsistent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.