About The Blue Pig Tavern

200 Congress Place
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant!

In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday-Friday 7:30am-12pm
Saturday and Sunday 7:30am-3pm

Lunch:
Open Daily: 11am-3pm

Dinner:
Open Daily: 5pm-10pm

Hours, specials and menus are subject to change. Contact us for details.

Cross Street:
Perry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-8422

Website:
http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/bluepigtavern

Entertainment:
Live Music takes place at the Brown Room (adjacent to the Blue Pig Tavern). See website for live performances: http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/brownroom/entertainment

Parking Details:
Valet parking available. Meter parking also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Einhorn

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Pig Tavern offers private facilities for groups up to 250 guests. See more: http://www.caperesorts.com/capemay/weddingsevents/

Private Party Contact:
Judy Platt: 6098846594x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special dinners and fun events throughout the year: http://www.caperesorts.com/concierge/capemay/

Restaurant Photos

Turkey Burger
Caesar Salad
Cheeseburger
Calamari
Parppardelle
Deviled Eggs
turkey club
Cocktails
Cesar Salad
Pappardelle With Bolognese Sauce
Corned Beef Hash
Filet Mignon
Clam Chowder
Apple Pie
Chicken Salad & Fried Oysters
French Onion Soup
Jersey Peaches
Grilled Peach with Burrata and Prosciutto
Baked Macaroni and Cheese

The Blue Pig Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (109)
Special Occasion (64)
Kid-friendly (62)
See All
Fit for Foodies (56)
Great for Lunch (53)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Good for Groups (49)
Great for Brunch (42)
Romantic (42)
Hot Spot (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Scenic View (15)
Late-night Find (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was gross- almost inedible. Not wor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was gross- almost inedible. Not worth the money or hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

The atmosphere as you enter the lobby is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

The atmosphere as you enter the lobby is chaotic, as people from surrounding areas of the hotel are bustling about. The teenage hostesses seem overwhelmed.

We had an 8:45 reservation and about seven items on the menu had sold out.

The drink I ordered was not to my liking, but was told 'that was the way they made it', no offer to just fix it it the way I wanted.

The food was expensive, but just average.

Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

They ran out of a bunch of appetizers an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

They ran out of a bunch of appetizers and entrees. Wasn't the best dining experience we ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Went formybirthday. HadadrinkinBrownroom ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went formybirthday. HadadrinkinBrownroomfirst. Great atmosphere great staff!! Tavern mealwasgreat. Crab risotto was great. Calimari best I have had!! Blue pig tavern ale was very good. Would go back next vacation!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Business Meals, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here for the first t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I dined here for the first time on our last Cape May trip. This was our second choice for the evening but we were both pleasantly surprised. We ate inside and had a great experience. The decor is beautiful. The menu is varied and excellent. I had the pork shank and could not been more pleased. Will definately put this on our return list.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food in a historic setting. If yo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food in a historic setting. If you are in Cape May or the Wildwoods, definitely worth the trip.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The scallops were excellent. Although th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The scallops were excellent. Although the rest of the food was mediocre at best, the manager Marc was excellent and totally made up for it. This is the first time in three visits where we had issues with the food. Because of Marc, we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

One of my favorite spots at the shore - ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of my favorite spots at the shore - we go all the time for brunch and love it for dinner too

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Organic, Scenic View, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Crab cakes were fried little balls, pref ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Crab cakes were fried little balls, prefer a broiled lump crab meat cake. Husband had the meatloaf and loved it. Service was ok, but there are much better restaurants if you are only there a couple days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was good but service slow. We weren ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was good but service slow. We weren't even offered dessert. Felt like we were being pushed out for the next reservation even though we had made a reservation.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

6 old friends got together We had a gre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

6 old friends got together We had a great time. Good food, service, atmosphere

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

lunch with a special friend was a huge d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

lunch with a special friend was a huge disappointment - the food was not edible. will not go back again and will not recommend. what a disappointment !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was good as always, room temperatur ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food was good as always, room temperature was extremely hot, however, the outside temperature was almost 100, but understandable. Service was extremely slow, waiting a long time for everything. We've been here before and had much better service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We used to love BP Tavern, but the quali ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We used to love BP Tavern, but the quality of the food has seriously eroded. Broken sauces, crunchy pasta, watered down drinks. Won't be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great farm to table restaurant and knowl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great farm to table restaurant and knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been visiting the blue pig tavern ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been visiting the blue pig tavern for years now. The service is getting worse with cold food, delay in service. The noise level was very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I have been here several times before an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been here several times before and always had a great experience. This time, we waited 20 minutes for a server...it was 40 minutes total from the time I was seated until I got a diet coke. My wife and I went to Cape May for the weekend and were excited to go back to the restaurant but were disappointed. The food, however, was fantastic as always. So, we will be back again and just hope for better service next time around!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

We came here on our vacation. We sat on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We came here on our vacation. We sat on the porch. It was quaint and sweet. Service and food were excellent. Farm to table. True Cape May experience.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten here several times. Its a Cap ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Have eaten here several times. Its a Cape May landmark and has that going for it. Food is ok, not bad, not great. Mac and Cheese was really good. Food from time of order to table is slow, always has been. Its a busy place and it was a Friday night in the summer so unreasonable to expect anything less.

Waiter was outstanding!!! Service often is an individual thing and certainly hit a home run with our server this night. He as great about refills, updates, just everything. Well done.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best Reuben in Cape May. Wonderful tomat ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Best Reuben in Cape May. Wonderful tomato sandwich featuring ingredients grown at their own Beach Plum Farm. Enjoyed a reasonably-priced, hearty Beefeater and Tonic indicative of a bygone era, one which Congress Hall and The Blue Pig Tavern clearly embrace. Superb service highlighted by an attentive, knowledgeable waitress and welcoming hostess staff enhanced our afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lovely, if a little on the pricey side, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Lovely, if a little on the pricey side, spot with a big dollop of history and an extra helping of charm. The menu offers classic options with enough fresh twists and/or fresh farm ingredients to satisfy a diversity of palettes and cravings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The chicken was amazing! Everyone loved ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The chicken was amazing! Everyone loved all they ordered. The dressing for the super fresh salad was sublime. The Creme Brûlée was perfect. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Service was very good, we were seated at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service was very good, we were seated at our reservation time, we ordered Ceviche which was so fresh and delicious! Beets and goat cheese were good in the salad, not crazy about the sugared pecans. My hubby loved the Bolognese, I should have ordered the Scallops which were the special, but I tried the Salmon. It was served on a hash which was overcooked and the Salmon cooked at their recommendation, was dry and not appetizing. If you stick to the specials you should be OK. The Ceviche and the great Service saved the day!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent salad and scallop appetizer. M ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent salad and scallop appetizer. Meal marred by a very bad piece of salmon. Smelled and tasted fishy. I never send food back but did this time. I was assured it was fresh but did not seem that way.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was mid range, server did her best ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was mid range, server did her best to keep up with water and bread. A/C wasn't working and restaurant was very hot. Wouldn't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Lunch was horrible. I had Mako sandwich ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Lunch was horrible. I had Mako sandwich snd it was over cook and dry. Waste of money.

Dinner Service not very good. Asked for water 3 times. Hanger steak was not very good.

Would never recommend eating there . Fourth year at Cape May and there are better places to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food. Extremely slow service a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Delicious food. Extremely slow service and long wait time for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The food exceeded expectations. The seaf ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food exceeded expectations. The seafood specials (crab risotto and scallops) were outstanding. The produce from the local farm added to all the dishes including the tomato mozzarella and watermelon salad appetizers. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good was good. Prices were about what yo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Good was good. Prices were about what you'd expect for a tourist area. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We spend a lot of time in Cape May and h ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We spend a lot of time in Cape May and had never had dinner at The Blue Pig. On a recommendation, we tried the restaurant. Found the food to be just okay, not at all what we expected for those prices. Lettuce in salads was soggy, and we should have returned the salads. Two of us had steak, and the meat was tough & chewy. Have no intention of ever returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

a yearly must during our visit to cape m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

a yearly must during our visit to cape may. the outdoor dining area is lovely and the bar in the brown room is always hopping!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best cheeseburgers that I eve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One of the best cheeseburgers that I ever had.

This place is a favorite of mine every time we are in Cape May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

a forgettable and expensive crab cake en ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

a forgettable and expensive crab cake entree that was breaded fried and had little crabmeat. Description on menu didn't say it was breaed and fried. Disappointing and $32.00 for the entree. I will not be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Best meal I have had in a very long time ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best meal I have had in a very long time. Staff was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The worst service in all Cape May! If yo ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The worst service in all Cape May! If you don,t mind the service, the food is good which make it sad that the service is so bad. They bring you your main course when you are still eating the first one....the waiter didn't communicate at all with his busboy, we had our wine about 10 minutes after the appetizer... But if you don't mind that, go the food is good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

First time here. Loved it. Arrived 11: ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

First time here. Loved it. Arrived 11:30 and elected the breakfast menu. My wife was thrilled. Exactly what she wanted. Stuffed French Toast. I had eggs and grits. Great location and atmosphere in this 200 year old facility. Combined with a spectacular spa experience for her, then a day around town for shopping. Definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Attentive service, great calamari appet ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Attentive service, great calamari appetizer, lively but not too loud.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Seemed to be issues with the service sta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Seemed to be issues with the service staff. Our Waiter was really working hard, but had no support with getting water refills, table cleared, etc. Staff was not supporting each other which was detrimental to the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Our reservation time was kept with no wa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our reservation time was kept with no wating. The food is really good with a wooden country ambience inside. It is a bit noisy.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Definitely our favorite place to dine, w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Definitely our favorite place to dine, with our 2 1/2 year old son,in CapeMay. Food is always good,Service is on point. We love Congress Hall. We will back again next year for shore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.