About The Blue Pig Tavern

200 Congress Place
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant!

In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Mon-Thu: 7:30am-11am
Fri: 7:30am-12pm
Sat/Sun: 7:30am-3pm

Lunch:
Fri-Sun: 11am-3pm

Dinner:
Sun-Thu: 5pm-9pm
Fri/Sat: 5pm-10pm

Hours, specials and menus are subject to change. Contact us for details.

Cross Street:
Perry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-8422

Website:
http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/bluepigtavern

Entertainment:
Live Music takes place at the Brown Room (adjacent to the Blue Pig Tavern). See website for live performances: http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/brownroom/entertainment

Parking Details:
Valet parking available. Meter parking also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Einhorn

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Pig Tavern offers private facilities for groups up to 250 guests. See more: http://www.caperesorts.com/capemay/weddingsevents/

Private Party Contact:
Judy Platt: (609) 884-6594

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special dinners and fun events throughout the year: http://www.caperesorts.com/concierge/capemay/

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Turkey Burger - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Caesar Salad - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Cheeseburger - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Calamari - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Parppardelle - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Deviled Eggs - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
turkey club - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Cocktails - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Cesar Salad - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Pappardelle With Bolognese Sauce - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Corned Beef Hash - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Filet Mignon - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Clam Chowder - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Apple Pie - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Chicken Salad & Fried Oysters - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
French Onion Soup - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Jersey Peaches - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Grilled Peach with Burrata and Prosciutto - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Baked Macaroni and Cheese - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ

The Blue Pig Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (38)
Fireplace (35)
Cozy (34)
See All
Local Ingredients (31)
Special Occasion (28)
Casual (28)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Authentic (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Seasonal (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Romantic (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fun (8)
Family Style (7)
Live Music (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Scenic View (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Organic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great Beer (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Waterfront (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic menu and food but the service ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic menu and food but the service could have been a little better. Water glasses should be refilled without needing to be asked. A little noisy too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Matt our waiter was outstanding and very ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

Matt our waiter was outstanding and very personable. Love the main dining room in the Blue Pig.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Love the blue pig. It's always great fo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the blue pig. It's always great food and service. The hummus platter is always a hit with my kids and this time I had the fish special which was excellent! Highly recommend The Blue Pig!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorites !!! And Flossie is t ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

One of my favorites !!! And Flossie is the best server !!! One special girl!!! Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and good service. The only dr ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food and good service. The only drawback was one entree was slightly cold when served but they were quick to remedy the situation.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We like to come to the Blue Pig for comf ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We like to come to the Blue Pig for comfort food on a cold winter's night. The roaring fire and rustic setting make it a relaxed and easy-going spot. Last evening, however, we ordered the 16oz. prime rib and were surprised by just how good it was. The best cut of prime rib we have had in a long, long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very tasty burger and a delicious vegeta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very tasty burger and a delicious vegetable beef with barley soup made up for an inattentive server.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was excellent! Food was the best ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Service was excellent! Food was the best we had all week in Cape May! Love the fact the it is farm to table...very fresh and tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always make a point to eat at the Blu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We always make a point to eat at the Blue Pig every time we visit Cape May.

It is always been good for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Highly recommend anyone going to Cape May to eat at the Blue PIg.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the ambiance and food. We were s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance and food. We were seated right away and the wait staff was attentive. Overall an enjoyable experience that I would repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent breakfast, as always. Service ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent breakfast, as always. Service was great. Nicely decorated for the holidays. Look forward to going there again this summer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing brunch. Great ambiance. We alway ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing brunch. Great ambiance. We always make sure to stop here when we are in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Breakfast was excellent. We had the Eggs ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Breakfast was excellent. We had the Eggs Blackstone and the Beach Plum Farm Benedict - both were delicious! Service was great and the restaurant was very nicely decorated for the holidays. Great place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a perfect New Year's Eve dinner w ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a perfect New Year's Eve dinner with friends and family. Extremely tasty food and very creative dishes

Family with kids friendly

Just perfect place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good as always. Service was a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good as always. Service was a bit slow and lacking...maybe due to new years eve. Overall we would still go back 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Fabulous New Years Eve.. everything was ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fabulous New Years Eve.. everything was outstanding! Best scallops ever!! Sarah, our server was by far the best in all of our restaurant experiences.. she was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This dining experience was very good. W ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This dining experience was very good. We were early on Dec 31, seated promptly and served by Sarah. She was attentive and understood our dining needs and what we may enjoy. She was even kind enough to provide additional veggies that I prefer in the seasonal mix.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, People Watching, Historic, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine out frequently and the meals and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We dine out frequently and the meals and the price were awful. The scallops were not fresh (actually bad) and the steak was extremely tough. Service was fine but other than that I would never recommend this restaurant to anybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Brunch food was unique and excellent. To ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Brunch food was unique and excellent. Took a while for wait staff to approach us but otherwise service was very good. Would go back again anytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was my first experience at the Blue ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was my first experience at the Blue Pig Tavern, and I will definitely go back. The food, service, and atmosphere all made for an enjoyable night. Capped off the night with drinks in the Boiler Room downstairs, and it was a great night. Make sure you make reservations, we've tried to go before, and without reservations its hard to get a table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything is always great here. Hostes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Everything is always great here. Hostess was miserable, rolling eyes, not professional at all. Rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to the Blue Pig for breakfast/br ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went to the Blue Pig for breakfast/brunch. The blueberry pancakes were outstanding, and never had better grits. Egg dishes were also good. Plan on going back to try dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I have been there several times now, hav ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I have been there several times now, have not been disappointed yet

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a cozy evening with a beautiful f ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always a cozy evening with a beautiful fire roaring!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The ambiance, service and food were firs ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The ambiance, service and food were first class. Hope to return soon, there were a few choices on the menu I wanted to try

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Congress Hall is one of our favorite pla ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Congress Hall is one of our favorite places in Cape May any time of year but they really know how to do Christmas right! Great ambiance everywhere....from the lobby to the Brown Room to the Blue Pig with those warm & cozy fireplaces! This was our second Christmas dinner at the Blue Pig and both have been extraordinary holiday dining experiences!

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed dinner here Christmas day at ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We enjoyed dinner here Christmas day at 7 pm. We were seated in the middle of the main dining room which was beautifully decorated and filled to capacity with a cheerful crowd celebrating Christmas. Because of the crowds and the holiday, a restricted menu was offered and the cost was high, about $40 for a three-course meal with hot bread, plus the cost of drinks. The food was very good, especially the duck and kale entrée we both had. The server was pleasant and reasonably attentive most of the time, given the crowded circumstances. We came here because the B&B where we were staying recommended it as one of the few good restaurants open Christmas Day. Overall we had a good experience for a special day, although the cost was higher than we prefer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Christmas dinner was very festive, with ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner was very festive, with no rushing and very friendly wait staff. Good was different and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas at The Blue Pig Restaurant in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas at The Blue Pig Restaurant in Congress Hall was magical. They had a fixed price menu with many delicious choices. The cauliflower soup with Brussel sprouts and bacon was the best soup I've ever eaten. My daughter ordered the duck, and I had duck envy all night. The sunchoke puree and sautéed kale were even better than the duck. Kudos to server Iulia for making the night seamless and wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

josh our waiter was excellent and the st ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

josh our waiter was excellent and the staff and experience was great for Christmas meal. wish the shops were open a little longer....great experience...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, service, and ambience at Blue ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food, service, and ambience at Blue Pig is great. It is especially nice to have a drink in the adjoining Brown Room first, with it's cozy, friendly atmosphere before dinner. There's no better place for a Christmas Eve outing than Congress Hall!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here a few times but this ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have eaten here a few times but this was the worst meal ever. I realize it was Christmas Eve but that should have made the food better. My Fried Flounder was doughy almost not cooked enough, the fries were reheated or nuked, awful. My husbands Strip steak was rare and he ordered medium. It was tough and grisily. The ice cream chairs were uncomfortable and our table creaked and groaned every time we moved. All in all a bad night!!

Don't think we will return any time soon.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

A nice Christmas Eve brunch tradition wi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A nice Christmas Eve brunch tradition with friends......the service is friendly & energetic,attentive without being overbearing. Although I enjoy the beautiful serving carafes for coffee....I am always found wanting of a hotter cup of java. Menu is creative and yet not limited. The option of having reservations on open table is a big plus for me.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was great but the appetizer ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The service was great but the appetizer s were skimpy and food quality was not worthy of the high prices. Steak was poor quality. Crabcakes were OK. The rest of our meal was similar to Cracker Barrel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This was my guest's first visit to Cape ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This was my guest's first visit to Cape May where dining choices on a Tuesday evening in December are limited. She was very pleased with my choice and was impressed with the ambiance and the locally-sourced food. She praised her crab cake entree. I had one of the Tuesday Blue Plate specials, beef stew, which was very good. Service was prompt and efficient. We were seated at a corner of the room which made conversation easier in the relatively noisy room. It was a pleasant, successful meeting.

The Brown Room bar/lounge is a separate area of Congress Hall, keeping the noise level comfortable in the Blue Pig Tavern. I think that the Blue Pig has a separate service bar.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Historic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We're always happy with the food here! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We're always happy with the food here!

Service was a bit slow and the room was extremely hot! I'm always cold and I had to basically strip down to the bottom layer of my outfit. My husband was extremely uncomfortable. I felt bad for the servers who are running around in long sleeves in a room that was probably 80 degrees.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We went to the blue pig tavern our first ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went to the blue pig tavern our first day upon arrival on a Friday and they had stopped serving breakfast at about 12:30 which I was a little disappointed about. However, we went for breakfast the next day and is was so good. We shared a plate of stuffed French toast which was so good! Definitely recommend the stuffed French toast and the brookstone Benedict?? (Can't remember the name of it but it had bacon and wilted greens) very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love the eggs Blackstone, the bacon and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Love the eggs Blackstone, the bacon and ham omelette with peppers and onions is delicious!

Great burger, soup, and a really good steak dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Disappointed. Have been dining here for ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Disappointed. Have been dining here for several years, including an annual tradition this time of year for my son's birthday. Had a reservation and was SO DISAPPOINTED to see they planned to seat us on the porch which is drafty and lacks ambiance. Expressed my desire to sit in the main dining room where the fireplace and cozy ambiance are located - for my son's birthday - and was told the two tables that could accommodate our party of 3 were reserved (but WE had a reservation?). The 4-person booth was unavailable, we were told, because it was reserved for a party of 6. We were told we would have to wait until something else came available if we wanted the interior dining room. So we took the drafty table - I literally had to dine in my winter coat because a cold draft was blowing up my back the entire time.

Portions were much smaller than last year and I thought the accompaniments to my scallop entree were skimpy and lacking in substance. In the end, the 4-person booth did not have a party of 6, but rather a party of 4, and there were two empty 6-tops and an empty 4-top on the drafty porch where we were seated. I skipped dessert and went elsewhere, and won't be going back to the Blue Pig - a shame as I have lived-in Cape May over 20 years and been in the hospitality industry over 40 years. We often brought and recommended friends to Congress Hall and the Blue Pig. Time to move on to the many other better options in this area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The setting is beautiful and the roaring ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The setting is beautiful and the roaring fireplace keeps you warm on a chilly night. Our server was pleasant and efficient. It should have been a great evening but the food was blah! There was nothing exciting nor memorable about it. We went for the special priced menu which included three courses. The first course we both had tomato soup which is one of our favorites. We both found it inedible with something very spicy added to it. I substituted a Caesar salad which was OK and my husband tried the chicken noodle soup. Again this had a weird spice in it which ruined the taste. For dinner my husband had the jambalaya. The serving was meager and the rice under cooked. I had chicken saturated in a barbecue sauce that tasted like it came from a jar. Dessert was the highlight which was very good - a blueberry crumble. We love Congress Hall and the Brown Room and will be back as there is no place prettier in Cape May at Christmas time. We ate breakfast at Blue Pig the next day and it was very good. We will just eat somewhere else for dinner next time.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.