About The Blue Pig Tavern

200 Congress Place
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant!

In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 12:00 pm
Saturday and Sunday 7:30 am - 3:00 pm

Lunch:
Monday -Thursday: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Friday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Hours, specials and menus are subject to change. Contact us for details.

Cross Street:
Perry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-8422

Website:
http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/bluepigtavern

Entertainment:
Live Music takes place at the Brown Room (adjacent to the Blue Pig Tavern). See website for live performances: http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/brownroom/entertainment

Parking Details:
Valet parking available. Meter parking also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Einhorn

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Pig Tavern offers private facilities for groups up to 250 guests. See more: http://www.caperesorts.com/capemay/weddingsevents/

Private Party Contact:
Judy Platt: 6098846594x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special dinners and fun events throughout the year: http://www.caperesorts.com/concierge/capemay/

Restaurant Photos

Turkey Burger - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Caesar Salad - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Cheeseburger - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Calamari - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Parppardelle - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Deviled Eggs - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
turkey club - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Cocktails - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Cesar Salad - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Pappardelle With Bolognese Sauce - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Corned Beef Hash - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Filet Mignon - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Clam Chowder - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Apple Pie - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Chicken Salad & Fried Oysters - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
French Onion Soup - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Jersey Peaches - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Grilled Peach with Burrata and Prosciutto - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ
Baked Macaroni and Cheese - The Blue Pig Tavern, Cape May, NJ

The Blue Pig Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Historic (45)
Special Occasion (41)
See All
Casual (36)
Comfort Food (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Local Ingredients (28)
Cozy (26)
Fireplace (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Kid-friendly (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Romantic (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (15)
Family Style (13)
Seasonal (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (9)
People Watching (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great Beer (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Scenic View (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (6)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Organic (4)
Live Music (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
 (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our meals were very good and the service ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Our meals were very good and the service was outstanding. Well paced, attentive service. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu was very limited and small, som ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

The menu was very limited and small, something called the Blue Pig Tavern should not have so many fish selections on the menu. The night was crowded and Christmas in the air but it lacked the happy atmosphere I was expecting.

The server had way to many tables for this kind of night

My daughter didn't touch her food and he never asked why?

Fish and chips were good but her turkey burger was not.

I will try it again only because in the past service and food was better but please change the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

We made reservations luckily, the entire ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We made reservations luckily, the entire area was packed on the weekend. Good menu for families, different take on traditional dishes. Food was very good and service was great. Don't let the entrance cause any concern. The restaurant is located in an historic hotel and getting through the lounge can be a challenge.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

HAd an very good dinner on Saturday nigh ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

HAd an very good dinner on Saturday night of the WCM Christmas parade. We were seated promptly, were a few mins late due to trouble parking/parade. I have never before been seated in the "banquet" room ( Harrison?), but I can understand adding that space onto normal BPT seating on such a busy night. However, the ambience was disappointing, and not festive.. While the BPT tavern was glowing with Xmas light s and garlands, the lighting in the Harrison room was extremely bright ( seriously is there no dimmer in there?) .I was waiting for someone to start a power- point on a drop down screen! There were large poinsettias on the windows, that hadn't been watered in days, and a single large candle on the table that we had to move , as it was overpowering on a 4 top. I did observe 2 other couples come in to be seated--looked around at the atmosphere-- and put their coats on and left. The food was well-prepared, fresh, enjoyable , and our server ' Lili" was very pleasant and efficient. I really wouldn't have minded being seated in this type of room-( large parties and small children abounded)-- if the ambience was in keeping with the rest of CH , and the many other Cape MAy restuarants that provide a lovely Holiday atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Late lunch before the Christmas parade. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Late lunch before the Christmas parade. Busy and crowded. However, service and food were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

So festive yet professional... we enjoy ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

So festive yet professional... we enjoyed so much we came back for a late dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful venue and very accommodating w ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

wonderful venue and very accommodating wait staff - our 4th annual Christmas get together !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Off season Tuesday allowed us to sit in ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Off season Tuesday allowed us to sit in front of the fireplace on a gloomy morning. Even though the dining room was empty the service was on point. Had the congressional and the breakfast sandwich, both yummy and eggs cooked perfectly. Latte was also steaming hot. The fruit side was big enough for two and it was full of ripe berries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent and excellent every time! Flo ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Consistent and excellent every time! Flossie I believe was our server and she was awesome and remembered us from last year. The scallops were the best I've had and the skate special was equally wonderful. The special arugula salad, I ate the entire portion, which I never do since I am not a salad person. Service was fantastic. Can't say enough good things about the Blue Pig.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here many times, and the food ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We've been here many times, and the food is always good.

The clam chowder was the best I've had in a long time.

Loaded with fresh clams.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a lovely Thanksgiving dinner. Our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a lovely Thanksgiving dinner. Our server was amazing. The food delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went to the tavern for ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I went to the tavern for thanksgiving dinner. The best part about the experience was our server Kim. She was excellent! The food was ok. Surely not worth the $45 per person we paid!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Great Thanksgiving menu ! Food and servi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Thanksgiving menu ! Food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Busy place! Steak and crab cake was del ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Busy place! Steak and crab cake was delish. So was the jambaliya

Cozy fire, nice place, great service from Flossie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great cocktail menu. Table was ready wh ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great cocktail menu. Table was ready when we got there. Nice variety of selections. Ceviche appetizer was awesome! Everything was delicious. The pianist in the bar area was great. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great option in Cape May - not the least ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great option in Cape May - not the least expensive, not the most expensive. Good menu, nice fireplace, and great service. Perfect place for friends to meet and enjoy a casual evening.

Tags: Fireplace, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A great dinner was a lovely end to a bea ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A great dinner was a lovely end to a beautiful day in Cape May!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner. Flossie our server was ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent dinner. Flossie our server was outstanding. Went out of her way to make our dining experience exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waited almost 45 minutes for breakfast a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Waited almost 45 minutes for breakfast and specific omelette order was wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

The Blue Pig is our go to spot for break ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Blue Pig is our go to spot for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is always very good and the menu is sure to please everyone. Drinks are creative and beers are cold. The fireplace is beautiful. The Blue Plate Specials are a great value.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Made reservation a week in advance. Got ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Made reservation a week in advance. Got worst table in the house. They moved us to bright, still loud place, but food was great

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a great experience!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Friendly, helpful staff. Great ambience!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Friendly, helpful staff. Great ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was very good as usual. Usually ca ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was very good as usual. Usually can't go wrong here. Some items are a bit pricey but we're always satisfied with the taste.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tables are VERY close together and the s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Tables are VERY close together and the space was noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

I have been coming down Cape May and sta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I have been coming down Cape May and staying at the Congress Hall for at least 8 years. Never disappointed with the stay or the food. Will continue coming. Have always told friends to stop in and have a drink and good food.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived on Sunday and just made it fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We arrived on Sunday and just made it for lunch. We Ended up eating every meal, breakfast, lunch and dinner, at the Blue Pig! I'm usually more adventurous than that, but a lot of places in town were closed for the season. I particularly enjoyed the zucchini fritters and the sword fish. The breakfast was also outstanding and served until noon. Highly recommend and intend to go back.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to the Blue Pig Tavern on 3 ot ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I've been to the Blue Pig Tavern on 3 other occasions. I do not plan on going back. We had a party of 6 and all of us were disappointed in the experience. Five of the six have been there before and said they will not return. The food was fine. The service was not. For starters we were put at a table near an outside door that was constantly being opened and then would take a long time to close. My husband complained about it being chilly but nothing was done. He eventually ended up eating his entire meal with his coat on. Also, patrons wishing to seek out the hostess were standing in a line which encroached on our dining area. It was truly a bad spot to put a table and we were the unfortunate party that was seated there. We were in Cape May celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and thought the Blue Pig Tavern would be the perfect dining spot to do so; however, we were wrong.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at The Blue Pig Tavern. The food was excellent, the atmosphere was warm and friendly - and the service was very good. We have been looking forward to trying this restaurant, and we will return soon!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On Tuesday 10/11/16 we ate at the Blue ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

On Tuesday 10/11/16 we ate at the Blue Pig. We had eaten there a few times before . Everything was fine except we think you overbooked. We were literally wedged in between two couples with a few inches to spare. It was uncomfortable to say the least. When the food came out it was cool instead of hot. Obviously our experience was not good. The other times we ate there it was entirely better. So sorry but this past visit was not good for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We had the steak & cake(crab cake). Cook ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We had the steak & cake(crab cake). Cooked exactly as ordered. Our server was attentive & pleasant. Would definitely go back to this restaurant. Prices are high but in line with other restaurants in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the blue plate special! Maybe you c ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Love the blue plate special! Maybe you could add three to the kids menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great spot for lunch

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Always a great spot for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable! We could stay in front of the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Memorable! We could stay in front of the fire for hours. Vegetables and quinoa was wonderful flavorful! Perfect parfait and yummy omelette

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our's was a party of four. We arrived ea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our's was a party of four. We arrived early and got a table near the open hearth. The staff was very attentive and the food was very good. Most of it is farm to table from the local Beach Plum Farm. I would highly recommend The Blue Pig.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Local Ingredients, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every year, we go to Cape May for our an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Every year, we go to Cape May for our anniversary and one of our favorite spots is The Blue Pig. This year, once again, the food was amazing. The service was fine, but not as attentive as in the past, but these are minor quibbles. It is a fantastic place and I already can't wait for next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We really enjoyed dinner on Saturday nig ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We really enjoyed dinner on Saturday night. The food was outstanding .it was a bit loud but everyone was having fun .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I went for our anniversar ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary. When we got there it was very loud, very dark and although the dining room was fairly empty sat right next to another couple. Our waiter was ok. My meal, meatloaf, was wonderful. My husband had the steak and cake and was not impressed with either. The drinks were good, but the noise level was what ultimately made it unbearable. We couldn't have a conversation, let alone a private moment, and got our check within 45 minutes of our arrival. It was not the anniversary Dinner we had anticipated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We love Blue Pig, and this last visit wa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We love Blue Pig, and this last visit was particularly fabulous. We got the macaroni and cheese starter -- an indulgence I never do -- and split it four ways and everyone was in heaven. Our guests were delighted with their entrees. Wonderful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service slooow. Godd ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was excellent. Service slooow. Godd if you're not in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.