Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About The Blue Pig Tavern

The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant!

In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.

200 Congress Place
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Open daily for breakfast, lunch & dinner

Cross Street:
Perry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-8422

Website:
http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/bluepigtavern

Entertainment:
Live Music takes place at the Brown Room (adjacent to the Blue Pig Tavern). See website for live performances: http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/brownroom/entertainment

Parking Details:
Valet parking available. Meter parking also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Einhorn

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special dinners and fun events throughout the year: http://www.caperesorts.com/concierge/capemay/

The Blue Pig Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (68)
Casual (53)
Local Ingredients (53)
See All
Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Seasonal (36)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Comfort Food (31)
Kid-friendly (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Great for Brunch (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Romantic (25)
Authentic (23)
Cozy (23)
Fun (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Healthy (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Scenic View (15)
People Watching (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Organic (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Great Beer (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Waterfront (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Live Music (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1661 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Good breakfast fresh eggs. $50 for two. Waitress scoffed at my need for gluten free. Not sure I would come back but it served our need.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We had the strip steak special and the scallops which were both very good. Prepared just right!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience. Had a reservation and did not get seated until 30 minutes later. My only complaint as all else was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Table way too small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for lunch. Super disappointed. Server was okay but food is fair at best. Fried fish sandwich is best of a bad lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had such a great experience at the blue pig tavern! Highly recommend dinning here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We had a great experience.
Breakfast and dinner were the meals we had and they were excellent every time

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Simply delicious highly recommend the breakfast menu service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Always a fantastic time at Blue Pig, well worth the trip to Cape May

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

SOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We love Blue Pig Tavern! We drove 2 1/2 hours just to eat dinner there with our family and decided to stay overnight. It was wonderful. Just incredible food and service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food, ambience and staff never disappoint. You cannot go wrong with the Blue Pig no matter the occasion. Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The Blue Pig is a great spot for casual dining in the heart of Cape May.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Went for breakfast. Very hard to get a spoon for the tea or the grits. The grits were watered down to the point it was ridiculous. The rest of breakfast was good and the place has terrific ambiance. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Every time I visit Cape May, I go to the Blue Pig. It is a treat to enjoy and very relaxing.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Very dog friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We sent a note with the reservation stating we were celebrating 2 birthdays and nothing was mentioned or done. This was the 2nd time this week, but at another place. You need to do something else to flag these!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Was an easy decision to eat at The Blue Pig after reading previous reviews and knowing that it was farm to table ingredients. I love the ambience of the outside but we should of sat inside the night we went. It was very breezy and as night fell we had minimal light to feel comfortable with. The candle at the table was just not enough and we sat near the building so there were not lights above us.
Our food was great. Scallops cooked to perfection. Side dishes fresh and tasty.
We had a very nice waitress and it did seem that all the waiters and waitresses were helping each other. We like to see that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Service was very slow, eggs were not cooked properly, bacon was inedible due to being so fatty, and pancakes were very overlooked and hard. Very disappointing! We had to move our table from the porch to outside because of screaming children. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

I struggled with this as the food was great and loved the ambiance but service was terrible. Had to hunt people down just to get some water. Was told there was a 45 min wait yet half the tables outside were open and yet had dirty dishes on them indicating they had been sitting free but hadn't been cleared. The kicker- went on OpenTable and got a reservation immediately and was seated even though they told me it would be 45 mins. So we got to skip in front of several people in front of us thanks to OpenTable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good food. Not cheap, but at least the waiter was fast and each course was properly timed out. We would go back and they had an awesome caesar salad that was worth the trip alone. Maybe again next year, but there are so many other great restaurants.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Made reservations for 6 people there were plenty of open tables and they stuck us at the front doorway where there was tons of people walking by. Tables were dirty felt like we were eating in a subway. Cafeteria. When I ask if we could be moved the girl at the front desk said no all tables where full. She wasn't too pleasent and couldn't be bothered. At the end of our meal those tables were empty. When I asked her why she could move us she said she miss understood. Didn't even say sorry. Food was just ok. Pita chips not fresh and rest of our food was Luke warm. Very disappointing experience. They take advantage as this is a tourist trap!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Enjoyed dinner here on the outside patio with a group of friends. Overall the food was good and the portions were decent. I ordered salmon. While the fish was good I didn't enjoy the accompanying vegetables. It included eggplant which didn't quite match the description. It was in a pesto sauce which was overpowering and oily.

The ambience was nice but the music from the speakers in the hedges was right behind us and was a bit too loud.

No complaints about the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

An ok experience. Crab cake and salads were fine but meatloaf was dry with a weird spice in the sauce and fish and chips rather bland.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We have always enjoyed dining here and took friends on Monday evening. 3 of the 4 people at the table said that the meal was just "ok." My husband and a friend were really disappointed in the meatloaf. I hope that the quality of the food is not going downhill, as the prices are not cheap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was a great meal and while I've been here before and the service has been hit or miss depending, I was very pleased that it was "hit" this time as I was bringing new friends. We started with the tuna tartare and the beet salad. One ordered the corn chowder which never came and we had to remind the server and it actually was delivered with the entrees but we chalked that up to the place being so loud maybe he hadn't heard her order it. Also had to ask for a spoon after that was delivered and a steak knife after my steak was delivered but they were brought quickly. The crab cake was very good and the scallops always a hit. The puree that the steak came with was very good too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My wife and I always stop at the Blue Pig Tavern at least once a year when in Cape May NJ.
Always have a good meal and service.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Nice dinner with my husband while we were on vacation.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

A great dining experience,our scallop dinner was delicious..The service was friendly and very accommodating.
Thank you...We are local and will return with family and friends...👍

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

My server Flossie was outstanding, pleasant and welcoming. The tuna ceviche was wonderful, the local scallops the best I have ever had, the Napa Chardonnay was perfection. Loved the decor and ambience, perfect experience from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Overall, good experience. My steak was overcooked and the side dishes were lukewarm. Its a bit pricey but great ambiance and drinks. Perfect for outdoor. brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Well prepared local food. It is a large restaurant with a certain noise level but worth the visit nonetheless. Thankfully they separate families with children from us more mature diners!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We always go to the Blue Pig when we're in Cape May. It's a great restaurant with a great wait staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Usually love the Blue Pig! Adore Congress Hall. Terrific ambiance indoor and outdoor. On the evening we were there we were seated by a couple who had a noisy yappy dog. It ruined our evening. I am confused as to why pets are encouraged at a nice restaurant. (I am an animal lover and dog owner) I hope this does not continue.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food was ok and nothing special. Definitely not a place to go if you are looking to be blown away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

My group had a wonderful time. The outdoor dining was fantastic and the service was right on point!! I will definitely return and tell friends about The Blue Pig! Thank you for a great experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had such a nice "girls" night. Early dinner then the concert on the lawn. Flossie our waitress was so sweet and helpful with her suggestions. We couldn't have had a better experience. The ceviche was amazing! Guacamole delicious. The mac and cheese was off the hook good. Service from start to finish was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Brunch was delicious! Fresh ingredients and good atmosphere. Service was slow but our waitress was generous and comp'd us some drinks in return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This restaurant's kitchen has maintained its consistently over the years we have dined her preparing tasty food at reasonable prices in a nice setting. It is not high-end dining, but it is a great value for a good meal with nice ambiance. The staff is consistently attentive and professional. We've dined here nearly 25 times and recommend it to those who are visiting Cape May and want something mid-price range. We especially recommend those plates that have ingredients from the restaurant's farm, which is about 2 miles away. With breakfast, get the free-range eggs. You can go to the farm and see the hens free ranging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great food, and ambiance. The attached hotel has a number of different spots to grab a drink, or a bite with different energies, so there is something for a while variety of people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.