About The Blue Pig Tavern

200 Congress Place
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant!

In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 12:00 pm
Saturday and Sunday 7:30 am - 3:00 pm

Lunch:
Monday -Thursday: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Friday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Hours, specials and menus are subject to change. Contact us for details.

Cross Street:
Perry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-8422

Website:
http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/bluepigtavern

Entertainment:
Live Music takes place at the Brown Room (adjacent to the Blue Pig Tavern). See website for live performances: http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/brownroom/entertainment

Parking Details:
Valet parking available. Meter parking also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Einhorn

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Pig Tavern offers private facilities for groups up to 250 guests. See more: http://www.caperesorts.com/capemay/weddingsevents/

Private Party Contact:
Judy Platt: 6098846594x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special dinners and fun events throughout the year: http://www.caperesorts.com/concierge/capemay/

Restaurant Photos

Turkey Burger
Caesar Salad
Cheeseburger
Calamari
Parppardelle
Deviled Eggs
turkey club
Cocktails
Cesar Salad
Pappardelle With Bolognese Sauce
Corned Beef Hash
Filet Mignon
Clam Chowder
Apple Pie
Chicken Salad & Fried Oysters
French Onion Soup
Jersey Peaches
Grilled Peach with Burrata and Prosciutto
Baked Macaroni and Cheese

The Blue Pig Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Outdoor Dining
South Jersey Shore
1 More
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (115)
Special Occasion (66)
Kid-friendly (65)
See All
Fit for Foodies (54)
Good for Groups (52)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Great for Lunch (48)
Romantic (41)
Great for Brunch (37)
Hot Spot (21)
Historic (20)
Casual (18)
Scenic View (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Good for a Date (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Family Style (9)
Cozy (8)
People Watching (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fireplace (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great Beer (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our third visit to the Blue Pig ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our third visit to the Blue Pig. Our server Josh was great-friendly, attentive and welcoming. The food was mediocre at best. Nothing was great; ceviche was flavorless and was a bowl of chunky tuna and avocado with no seasoning or juices, my seafood pasta dish was overcooked seafood in a bland tomato sauce, the steak and cake was overcooked and very tough.

The ambiance is nice and I would recommend sitting outside in the nice weather. Very disappointed with the meal here and won't be going back anytime soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We have dined at The Blue Pig Tavern ove ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have dined at The Blue Pig Tavern over the years for many occasions from Birthday dinners to casual lunches and everything in between. This past weekend my husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary. We decided to celebrate at The Blue Pig Tavern because we have history here and the food and service has always been great. However, we were surprisingly disappointed in the food and overall experience. My husband's entree was not prepared the way he had asked, it went back and still came out wrong. The server was ok and "fixed" the mistake but did not follow up to make sure it was correct. My meal was "meh" with at least three undercooked mussels.

I feel terrible writing this review, always a fan of the Tavern and have even pointed friends to check it out. However after this visit, I am hesitant to suggest. I truly hope this was a one time occurrence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Very nice evening. Food and service was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice evening. Food and service was very very good. Very enjoyable .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Scallop special was very good.Didn't car ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Scallop special was very good.Didn't care for angel hair with seafood, mainly because I didn't realize it was a red sauce- shrimp was excellent. Nice dining out on patio- love the atmosphere. The only thing wrong was the drink service- we had our salads before we received a drink. I like to relax with a beverage before I get my food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had dinner outdoors. Was a little di ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We had dinner outdoors. Was a little disappointed in my meal (chicken). Wish I had ordered something else.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Big disappointment. Service was horrid. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Big disappointment. Service was horrid. Food just ok. Had such great meals here in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

This was the second time we ate dinner a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was the second time we ate dinner at the Blue Pig. Both times, the service was good and very friendly. However, both times the service also was quite slow -- due to the kitchen, I think, not the wait staff. It has had the effect of causing us to consider going elsewhere the next time we are in Cape May.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

recommended by family who gave us a gift ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

recommended by family who gave us a gift certificate, food excellent but some portions small.

Huge mistake made on check but corrected rapidly by our server Josh.

We dined on the porch but would not repeat as the noise level gave me a headache.

Best service we have had all summer.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food great atmosphere eating outsi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food great atmosphere eating outside. Service was outstanding and kudos to Ashley our server

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, great service, nice colo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food, great service, nice colonial historic ambiance. We've been here several times now, for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and have never been disappointed. Food selection suits our taste and needs, portion sizes are just right. The menu is locally sourced for the most part and farm to table. Hamburger is sirloin, so much better than the "black angus" which doesn't tell you anything about the cut of meat your getting (chuck, sirloin, tenderloin, whatever). Service is friendly and attentive and the servers work as a team so the help each other to make the guest experiences satisfying and sometimes memorable. The crab cakes are crab with very little binder and fillers, the half chicken is brined before cooking, so it cuts with a fork. Everything we've had here is excellent. We definitely recommend and will go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely and relaxed dinner on the outdoor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Lovely and relaxed dinner on the outdoor patio. Highly recommend you include this place while in Cape May. Lots of farm to table seasonal choices. Eat anything with tomatoes when they are at peak! Good for couples and families and even a few extremely well behaved pups. Only wish we knew earlier of their pre theater 3 course menu. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We'd dined at the BPR for lunch some yea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We'd dined at the BPR for lunch some years ago and were not real impressed. Decided to try it for dinner.

Excited that the salad was "farm to table", but the taste was really lacking and the greens were a bit wilted.

The fish of the "fish & chips" was awesome. Probably some of the best we've had. The fries were overly salty.

Not sure we will return.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Menu options and service were great ! We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Menu options and service were great ! We always fine at the Blue Pig when in the area.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Plesant and efficient service from our s ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Plesant and efficient service from our server Marija. Enjoyed our dinners and treated ourselves to dessert. Very pleased with our experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Vacationed in Cape May for first time. L ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Vacationed in Cape May for first time. Love the area. Was not aware that the Blue Pig was located in the hotel. Thought it was a little pub. I loved the Drum fish and though I never liked eggplant, was Leary to order this entree. It was puréed and seasoned perfectly and made a nice base for the fish and sweet potatoes. Compliments to the chef. Will be returning for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyed the lemon pancakes for the secon ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Enjoyed the lemon pancakes for the second time this summer. Always a fantastic meal at Blue Pig Tavern!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was a bit slow. We didn't get ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was a bit slow. We didn't get our drinks for about ten to fifteen minutes from the time we were seated but were good when they finally came. It was a little difficult to read the menu due to the lighting (we sat inside). If you sat on the porch area the lighting seemed better. Our food was very good and fresh (especially the caprese appetizer) but our french fries were a bit on the cold side when our fish and chips came but the haddock was very good. I would still recommend to friends if they asked but would also recommend some other destinations I think are better.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We were very disappointed in the Blue Pi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were very disappointed in the Blue Pig. Service was slow, the food was average and the noise level was uncomfortably loud.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Either server J. was overburdened or ju ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Either server J. was overburdened or just not adequate. My husband enjoyed his cerviche but my bbq rock octopus was slimy and weird tasting. J. just tried to convince me it was my palate and misunderstanding of the prep. We ran out of water halfway thru the meal with no refills. The meatloaf and crab crake dinners were good but definitely overshadowed by the overall exp.; couldn't wait to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Came for Saturday brunch while on a bach ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Came for Saturday brunch while on a bachelorette weekend and loved it. Unlike other popular Cape May brunch spots, I appreciated that 1) they offered brunch on Saturday not just Sunday, and 2) I could make a brunch reservation here! They sat our group on the lovely glass-enclosed porch, over looking the outdoor patio seating. Impressed how much the menu highlighted ingredients from the local Beech Plum Farm, especially fresh tomatoes & eggs. We most enjoyed the dishes that came with the famous cheddar scallion biscuits, a must-try. They also offer a wide variety of tasty brunch beverages: mimosas, bellnis, wine, bloody Marys, and non-alcoholic fresh fruit/vegetable juices and smoothies. The restaurant is housed within the impressive, historical building that is Congress Hall.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Farm to table food was delicious and cre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Farm to table food was delicious and creatively prepared. So fresh! Never miss dining here . Outdoor area very comfortable.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everytime my friend & I come to Cape May ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Everytime my friend & I come to Cape May we like to dine our first nite at the Blue Pig.

We love the warm atmosphere, good service, and the food is quite good also.

The menu is quite diverse but we have our old favorites too. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We go every year for our anniversary and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We go every year for our anniversary and this was the worst experience we have had there. Other times we went the food was good, service was great and so was the atmosphere. This year we were stuck outside with an uneven table (they have rocks not like a normal outside patio) and our waitress was rude and it took forever. There were also 2 hairs in my ice cream that came with the apple pie. Outside seating was very dirty and the birds kept coming and eating off the empty tables. Overall it was a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We always go to The Blue Pig when we're ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We always go to The Blue Pig when we're in Cape May. It has historical significance and we love the food!

Tags: People Watching, Vegan, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were staying at Congress Hall and ate ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We were staying at Congress Hall and ate here a few times during our stay. The food was consistently very good. While the servers were competent, their attitudes ranged from cordial at best to mostly indifferent. There were also long waits for food and water glasses were not refilled.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The outside area was nice but we were pu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The outside area was nice but we were put into a corner and we were forgotten, I had to ask another waiter when would we be served.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We have better options in Cape May for e ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have better options in Cape May for everyday dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Always good food although never at the r ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always good food although never at the right temperature. Service can be hit or miss. There is never much sense of urgency for the guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Service was great very attentive staff. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was great very attentive staff. Food was good love the farm to table .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

This place is more about the ambiance th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This place is more about the ambiance than the food. Not a ton of good restaurants in cape may and it's probably one of the better ones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive service very good food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Attentive service very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two friends and I had lunch at the Blue ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Two friends and I had lunch at the Blue Pig Tavern in late August and were extremely disappointed in our meal. The three of us ordered the Chicken Salad which had an inviting description on the menu. When our meal arrived it was slapped down in front of us with apparently no thought of gracious service. Obviously, neither was any thought given to presentation since the chicken salad (which was supposed to contain walnuts, grapes, etc.) was plopped on one scrawny piece of lettuce with no other garnish on the large plate and also was missing the grapes. Perhaps the chef was aiming for a "minimalist" plate. The only enjoyable thing about dining at the Blue Pig was the time my friends and I spent with each other. Cape May is a fun place to be but if we return in the future it will not be to the Blue Pig.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Had a reservation for 715. We got there ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had a reservation for 715. We got there at 705 and didn't get seated till 715. When we got seated there were plenty of seats available. It didn't seem like the girl at front desk knew what she was doing. Food was good. My monkfish special over risotto was small. I was still hungry after eating it. I expected for $29 that it would have been bigger. I had to eat some fries from others in my party who had the fish and chips. One of the fish and chips plates had 4 large pieces of fish and the other had 4 little pieces and she left hungry. My waitress Flosse was excellent. As for the room, kids running around with parents not watching them. Parents dressed like slobs. Overall, probably won't go back there for the price it is. This is the third year in a row we have come here and this will be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

Our first time back at Blu Pig this year ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our first time back at Blu Pig this year. Ate outside which we love but it was pretty noisy this time. Service was not great. Our young server seemed more interested in talking with young female server than caring for us. Ordered fish and chips. So dry and hard I sent it back. Manager responded right away and returned with nice fresh fish. That was good. They redeemed themselves! It's all just ok. No big hurry to go back. It used to be a lot better.

Tags: People Watching, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Zucchini frittata was delicious. Crab ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Zucchini frittata was delicious. Crab cakes not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Have been a guest at Congress Hall for s ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Have been a guest at Congress Hall for several years now and have always frequented the Blue Pig for dinner. The food has become somewhat mediocre and service not to the level we expected. While possibly an issue in the past but overlooked given the exceptional service and food in the past, the inside area is extremely hot and uncomfortable. Please correct these issues as we prefer not to reduce our admiration for the Blue Pig. Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic Roasted Beet Salad!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fantastic Roasted Beet Salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We loved it here! Food was great as well ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We loved it here! Food was great as well as atmosphere... However, our waiter was rude and did not check on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Long wait despite having a reservation b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Long wait despite having a reservation but once we were finally seated, we had a wonderful evening. The scallops appetizer was fantastic and the beet salad was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A favorite restaurant with farm-to-table ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

A favorite restaurant with farm-to-table cuisine. The specials are always too-notch. We've had amazing red snapper, scallops and grouper recently. The salads (I love the beet salad; others preferred the tomato) were so fresh and tasty. I enjoyed the summer twist on gazpacho-- watermelon gazpacho. A place not to miss when at the South Jersey shore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.