Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About The Blue Pig Tavern

The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant!

In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.

200 Congress Place
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Open daily for breakfast, lunch & dinner

Cross Street:
Perry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-8422

Website:
http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/bluepigtavern

Entertainment:
Live Music takes place at the Brown Room (adjacent to the Blue Pig Tavern). See website for live performances: http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/brownroom/entertainment

Parking Details:
Valet parking available. Meter parking also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Einhorn

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Pig Tavern offers private facilities for groups up to 250 guests. See more: http://www.caperesorts.com/capemay/weddingsevents/

Private Party Contact:
Judy Platt: (609) 884-6594

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special dinners and fun events throughout the year: http://www.caperesorts.com/concierge/capemay/

The Blue Pig Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (60)
Casual (56)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Local Ingredients (53)
Comfort Food (37)
Special Occasion (36)
Great for Lunch (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Cozy (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Brunch (27)
Seasonal (26)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Romantic (25)
Authentic (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Fun (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Scenic View (16)
Hot Spot (13)
People Watching (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Organic (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Historic (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great Beer (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Business Meals (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fireplace (4)
Live Music (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food that never disappoints. It's a place I go back to again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful birthday celebration at The Blue Pig at Congress Hall! Outstanding service and delicious food! Made our birthday get together one to remember. Thank you!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent as well as the service. Steak and crab cake was delicious. The service staff accommodated our last minute request to increase our party from 4 to 11 after we met friends at the beach. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was excellent and so was the service.Both my wife and I had a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Love the Blue Pig! Been dining there for years. Always a great meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Reservation was for 5 @ 8:45PM. Our apps took very long. When the meals came 2 of them were incorrect. We had one sent back and took about another forever 25 minutes to get back. Just simple requests for condiments, steak knifes and drinks seemed to take a long time getting to us. Not going back for sure due to this poor service. Meals were just okay. My NY Strip Steak was tough. Definitely not worth the extra money you pay for the location. One and done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Awesome all around a favorite to return to every year on holiday! Great job all including Matt our server. See you next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Another wonderful meal at the Blue Pig. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Delicious farm to table restaurant inside the historic Congress Hall. Everything we had was tasty, each time we ate there. Live music around every corner & beautiful grounds!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent all around!!!
Great patio table
Delicious breakfast & mimosa
Great place w a lot oif history
Attentive & polite waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent brunch, fabulous service. Everyone at the table thoroughly enjoyed their food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had Saturday brunch -- I am generally ambivalent abut this restaurant, but during the summer, they have a great tomato menu as well as weekend brunch (basically both a lunch and breakfast menu until 3. The location, in the Congress Hotel is wonderful. The hotel has great ambiance and history.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Must do in cape may right in the heart of the action. Food is decent something for everyone. Friendly skilled service and congress hall is a great place to visit and linger for an after dinner drink

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

This farm-to-table restaurant in an historic hotel (since 1816) has good food, a great beer selection, is bright and airy with a nice patio, and a nice historic ambiance. The salads are great as is the house ale. I'd recommend it to anyone who like farm-fresh food or who appreciates history. At least 3 US Presidents visited the hotel (Pierce, Buchanan and Grant!)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Menu selection was okay. Service a little slow but was given a free app for the delay. 2 of the orders came out wrong but quickly corrected. Will give this place a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Historic hotel. Quaint dining room with farm fresh food. Some of the hostesses need to work on their people skills as they come off brusque and rude.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Organic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

It was a nice lunch. Drinks were good and the sandwiches were also very good. Service was a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The Blue Pig was a wonderful experience. Cocktails, appetizers & entrees were all excellent. Highly recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We enjoyed our annual visit to the Blue Pig during our summer vacation in Cape May. This year our daughter asked to celebrate her 22nd birthday at your restaurant. It was a great time to reflect on special summer memories. Great food and drinks!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The portions are ample.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We eat here regularly and typically the food and service is great. While the service was consistent as always, the food was not. I got the crab cake dinner and their crab cakes are very good in my opinion. They changed the mustard glazed potatoes that come with this dinner to some sort of sliced red potatoes which were not fully cooked and tasted awful. I asked to replace this with a side of mashed potatoes and they tasted like they had a pound of. Uttermuxed in. I didn't like that all. Also, this meal comes with cabbage slaw which surprisingly was really bland and they provided so little, you couldn't consider it a side.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful, historic hotel that has tons of charm. Service and meal (try the grilled Octopus) was top shelf. We'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was our 3rd visit to The Blue Pig restaurant. It was a meal while on vacation. The vegetables mostly grown on their own farm are delicious and I'm sure highly nutritious. The steaks were perfectly cooked and highly prime cuts. The bar service was also worth noting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 28, 2017

All of the food was very salty. All of the main entrees were etable but not good. Would not recommend this place. I was very surprised at the quality since the boiler room was so delicious and it's in the same hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

My husband and I have been coming here for many years. The food is consistent and wonderful. My first time having a hamburger and I can tell you I've never had anything like it. The beef is so fresh and this place has their own farm, so you know the meat is sensational. Highly recommend next time you're in Cape May.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food is always very good. The bar is outstanding for a pre meal drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food but for the second time in a row bring here we had the worst service . Literally saw our waitress once . Whole heartedly believe she forgot about us, but since this is the second time this has happened at this restaurant I believe that it's not the individual server but the restaurant asking too much of their servers and giving them too many tables. Sad though, great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Lovely cozy space for dining indoors or outside. Outstanding variety of menu selections. We ate late evening, so food was cooked quickly and expertly. Calamari was best we ever had. Vegetables were very flavorful with their own garden's home grown selections. Would definitely visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Always a favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our first visit to the Blue Pig was during Cape May Restaurant Week. Sometimes restaurants struggle during those special weeks but the Blue Pig did such an amazing job that I brought my aunt and sister for a girls lunch. Again, the food was exceptional. The service wasn't as good as our first visit but still very nice. Looking forward to another visit

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Congress Hall and its property are gorgeous, as is Blue Pig Tavern. But meal was just good, not great. Bread a bit stale, oysters on the smallish side, service kinda slow. For the price I expected more.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Lovely setting, excellent service, but would definitely go in the off season.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Server was attentive. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I visited here after a day at the beach. The cape may IPA on draft was very good. She ordered a salad and calamari while I ordered steak and cake. Everything was cooked perfectly and we had a nice time. They even moved us indoors when it started to rain.

Always make sure to reserve. They are always booked.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service was excellent. Food is farm to plate fresh which made all the difference in the seafood. We had fried calamari, grilled octopus, mussel scampi and scallop chef special dinner portion.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was great. Our server was very attending to the fact that we were there with a 3-year-old and brought his food out super fast to keep him busy (at our request). The kids meal includes dessert, so that kept the kid busier even longer. Noise level was perfect to cover th occasional whining. Seafood pasta dish was well balanced and not heavy (which sometimes is at other places).

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Can't go wrong here. Good food - friendly service. I know they have a piano bar inside which is a little "stuffy". Moving it outside for the dinner hours would be great.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, great food, loved that they are a farm to table restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Good food, good service and good atmosphere. Definitely check this place it if in Cape May.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.