About The Blue Pig Tavern

200 Congress Place
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant!

In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Mon-Thu: 7:30am-11am
Fri: 7:30am-12pm
Sat/Sun: 7:30am-3pm

Lunch:
Fri-Sun: 11am-3pm

Dinner:
Sun-Thu: 5pm-9pm
Fri/Sat: 5pm-10pm

Hours, specials and menus are subject to change. Contact us for details.

Cross Street:
Perry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-8422

Website:
http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/bluepigtavern

Entertainment:
Live Music takes place at the Brown Room (adjacent to the Blue Pig Tavern). See website for live performances: http://www.caperesorts.com/restaurants/capemay/brownroom/entertainment

Parking Details:
Valet parking available. Meter parking also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Einhorn

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Pig Tavern offers private facilities for groups up to 250 guests. See more: http://www.caperesorts.com/capemay/weddingsevents/

Private Party Contact:
Judy Platt: (609) 884-6594

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special dinners and fun events throughout the year: http://www.caperesorts.com/concierge/capemay/

The Blue Pig Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fireplace (44)
Cozy (40)
Historic (36)
See All
Local Ingredients (33)
Casual (30)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Authentic (15)
Seasonal (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Fun (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Live Music (9)
People Watching (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Family Style (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Organic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great Beer (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (4)
Waterfront (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We met friends for dinner. We requested a table by the large fireplace. It was very romantic and toasty!

Dinner was delicious!

Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Lovely place, great comfort food. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was great. Our server Mike was the best. He was friendly, knowledgeable and extremely efficient. It was really crowded when we arrived. But we were seated promptly. The only bad thing I can say is it was very noisy.

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a great lunch on a beautiful afternoon. The Waldorf Salad was excellent! What a lovely location in Cape May, perfect for a nice meal during a visit to this quaint town.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Warm, inviting ambience. Food & Service was wonderful!

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very dark and loud. Great for younger crowd. Food and service was good. Not as gluten free friendly as I thought they would be .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food is spectacular. Service also great. Hostess not as great. Had to ask twice to be seated at a different table due to noise level. Restaurant should be aware of these things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Couldn't have a had a better Valentine's Day experience, from the wonderful and accommodating hostess Victoria, to our server Iulia, and the delicious food, service and atmosphere. Will definitely be returning :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went for dinner on a Monday night - nice crowd - the restaurant is lovely - we were seated near the fireplace as I requested. Our server Flossie - made our night. She was so pleasant and efficient - our food was hot and our drinks were cold!! We hade a wonderful Valentine's Dinner, and look forward to returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Ambience was lovely...as was the service. We were a bit disappointed in the calamari appetizer. It was a bit gummy....breading not crisp enough. Butternut squash soup was very good. My husband ordered the meatloaf and was very disappointed - the flavors were not what was expected....tasted like it had chili seasoning in it. I had the beet salad and it was excellent. Loved the atmosphere in a cold February nite....our first time there so not sure if we would return. Our server was very nice and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice and cozy on a dreary February night. My roasted chicken was very good, though a bit too salty. Waitress was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and great service. Make sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Quick Bite, Organic, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Casual dining on weekend in which we were looking for a special Valentine's experience. Not exactly what we were looking for. Salmon was excellent and wait staff are friendly and helpful. Farm to table menu choices. Wine selection was good. Clam chowder was good but a little salty. Crab Cakes were OK. Porch was brightly lit and a little loud. Interior dining room appeared more intimate with better lighting.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food and service! Definitly planning my next visit.. soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was much better than reviews indicated. Clam chowder was great as well as steak and cake. Service was excellent. I believe waitresses name was Julie Ann.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I love The Blue Pig Tavern especially off-season. Cozy fireplace, great service, wonderful food. I highly recommend the scallops and meatloaf. Their burgers are good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Breakfast out! We ordered the Bacon and ham omelette with peppers, onions and cheddar! Served with homefries.

Also ordered the Blackstone hollandaise! Excellent with chopped tomatoes and wilted greens over bacon! My problem is i need eggs really poached ! When the runny whites are still clear - thats raw and i need a microwave!

I ordered the fresh fruit instead of potatoes with an up charge of $2. Nice, fresh and sweet!

Service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Comfortable dining room. The beet salad was delicious. Everyone enjoyed their crab cakes.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Unfortunately the food had to be sent back due an over use of salt.

Waitress was very helpful and nice.

Portions were small for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is consistent and we always have a good dinner. the wine list is good but not expansive. Love the fireplace room. Will go again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

It was a family get together - no young children. the booth was great and easily sat all five of us. Waitress was friendly and service was good. Four got a blue plate special which included a soup or salad and dessert. Value was good for Cape May. During the warm months, most of the food is locally sourced from their farm. Because the dining room is quite noisy it would be a place you could take well-behaved children.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Have been to Blue Pig many times and always very satisfied with food, staff and atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 24, 2017

As always, the Blue Pig is a great combination of locally sourced food, authentic historic ambiance, and great service. Reasonable prices for the quality.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This was my 4th time eating at the Blue Pig Tavern. It was a nice time of year to visit. My server was so friendly, my meal was incredible and the ambience is always amazing! Thank you, yet again, for another incredible experience....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Family Style, Late-night Find, Cozy, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Healthy, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Love the Blackstone breakfast! Cheddar biscuits with poached egg, tomato, wilted greens and the best bacon topped with a light and delicious hollandaise! They serve it with home fries but for $2. You can upgrade to fruit!

Great coffee, hubbie loved his crab and asparagus omelette! And the historic inn with the warm burning fireplace made breakfast cozy on this cold and wet Sunday!

Our server was Julie! She is Excellent. The best service we have ever had at this restaurant and we've been coming for 20 years!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, People Watching, Cozy, Historic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was acceptable but the service was bad awful. We could not leave a tip it was so bad!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We eat here several times a year. The service is always excellent. My husband had the beet salad which was excellent and the meat loaf which was good. I ordered the salmon which was prepared with a parm/herb crust. I thoroughly enjoyed the entree. The wood burning fireplace on a cold winter night also made he experience very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 17, 2017

FIreplace was warm. Crab cakes were very good. Bread pudding was pretty good, and I don't normally like bread pudding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Historic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fantastic menu and food but the service could have been a little better. Water glasses should be refilled without needing to be asked. A little noisy too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Matt our waiter was outstanding and very personable. Love the main dining room in the Blue Pig.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love the blue pig. It's always great food and service. The hummus platter is always a hit with my kids and this time I had the fish special which was excellent! Highly recommend The Blue Pig!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

One of my favorites !!! And Flossie is the best server !!! One special girl!!! Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food and good service. The only drawback was one entree was slightly cold when served but they were quick to remedy the situation.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We like to come to the Blue Pig for comfort food on a cold winter's night. The roaring fire and rustic setting make it a relaxed and easy-going spot. Last evening, however, we ordered the 16oz. prime rib and were surprised by just how good it was. The best cut of prime rib we have had in a long, long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very tasty burger and a delicious vegetable beef with barley soup made up for an inattentive server.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Service was excellent! Food was the best we had all week in Cape May! Love the fact the it is farm to table...very fresh and tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We always make a point to eat at the Blue Pig every time we visit Cape May.

It is always been good for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Highly recommend anyone going to Cape May to eat at the Blue PIg.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance and food. We were seated right away and the wait staff was attentive. Overall an enjoyable experience that I would repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent breakfast, as always. Service was great. Nicely decorated for the holidays. Look forward to going there again this summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing brunch. Great ambiance. We always make sure to stop here when we are in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Breakfast was excellent. We had the Eggs Blackstone and the Beach Plum Farm Benedict - both were delicious! Service was great and the restaurant was very nicely decorated for the holidays. Great place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a perfect New Year's Eve dinner with friends and family. Extremely tasty food and very creative dishes

Family with kids friendly

Just perfect place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good as always. Service was a bit slow and lacking...maybe due to new years eve. Overall we would still go back 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fabulous New Years Eve.. everything was outstanding! Best scallops ever!! Sarah, our server was by far the best in all of our restaurant experiences.. she was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This dining experience was very good. We were early on Dec 31, seated promptly and served by Sarah. She was attentive and understood our dining needs and what we may enjoy. She was even kind enough to provide additional veggies that I prefer in the seasonal mix.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, People Watching, Historic, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We dine out frequently and the meals and the price were awful. The scallops were not fresh (actually bad) and the steak was extremely tough. Service was fine but other than that I would never recommend this restaurant to anybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Brunch food was unique and excellent. Took a while for wait staff to approach us but otherwise service was very good. Would go back again anytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was my first experience at the Blue Pig Tavern, and I will definitely go back. The food, service, and atmosphere all made for an enjoyable night. Capped off the night with drinks in the Boiler Room downstairs, and it was a great night. Make sure you make reservations, we've tried to go before, and without reservations its hard to get a table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Everything is always great here. Hostess was miserable, rolling eyes, not professional at all. Rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.