Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

The Blue Marble Restaurant and Lounge

4.2
46 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Notable Wine List
  • Comfort Food
Located in the lobby of The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel by Lakeview, the Blue Marble features a wonderful menu . contemporary small plates focusing on local ingredients in the restaurant and more traditional fare in the lounge, this menu utilizing locally grown and produced product from Manitoba is certain to impress.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(204) 594-1967
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Airport main parkade, validation with purchase over $20
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
City Bus Route 15 and 20
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 46 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
3.9
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on February 25, 2018

So I felt as if this was a bit of a bait and switch. It is at the airport and attached to a hotel. So I didn't do my homework and that is on me. Not a fun warm place. It is a airport joint. My small plates I ordered were good but uninspiring. Same for my wife's meal. My kids liked theirs but they are kids. And finally not enough staff....slow slow slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great spot at the Winnipeg airport

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

I went there expecting to have wine with the course meal. like the last time we went for valentines. but there was no wine included at all. cheap skates

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

our meal was pretty good, the presentation was beautiful. the service was good except we felt rushed at dessert as when he brought us dessert he also brought the bill, with the credit card machine to process while we were still eating. usually the bill is left and server departs and comes back later for it, that was the only issue. overall besides the bill incident we thoughly enjoyed everything! thanks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

First time there. Food was great. Nice looking restaurant. A bit hard to find. Needs more advertising around the airport about this hidden gem. Would be a great place to eat pre or post flight but never knew about it tucked away.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 14, 2017

It was very quiet at lunch on a Tuesday. We had a very good lunch and a long chat in the comfortable booth.

Perhaps one problem is the lack of direct handicapped access. Both of us have handicapped passes for our cars, and we were able to get a spot in the airport parkade, and then use the elevator to get to the street. However, then we had to walk (yes, we both can still walk, altho with issues) to the hotel outside. I had called to see if there was any valet parking for the hotel or restaurant and was told there wasn't. This was a surprise, but we proceeded anyway, and it was doable, but not preferred.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 12, 2017

We went to have a family dinner as my sister had a flight out just after that. The location is good for business and travelers in between flights or staying at one of the hotels. Very clean and the serving personnel were very friendly and attentive; though we were the only people there at first. My only disappointment was that my soy was just tepid and not hot. Otherwise I would recommend to others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2017

A wonderful dinner. Rodrigo was a fabulous waiter and the food was very good and wonderfully presented. I cannot say enough wonderful adjectives. We will definitely come back and have already referred people to enjoy your great restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

We found this to be a surprisingly delightful spot. Will definitely dine here again. Quiet atmosphere which was relaxing. Superb service. Amazingly delicious menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2017

A great place for dinner with friends,
Our food & service was excellent with great atmosphere. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2017

I invited a group of work friends from other parts of the country based on a recommendation from a friend. We were all so happy with the meal, the beer, the wine and with Rodrigo our server. What a lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was awesome!! Our waiter Ricardo was great!! Will be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful experience!
We tried a few Small Plates (Tapas) and it was a great decision. Every dish so very carefully balanced and beautiful.
The Chef is very profesional and you can feel how much love he puts in the food.
Loved the tuna with avocado, the sushi pork, the beet salad, dumplings, lamb and deserts.
Don't think twice where to go, just book here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food and good for travelling out at Winnipeg International

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2017

Our first visit- Fabulous service, great food, wonderful wine list & a fun trip to the beauty custom made wine cellar. Would highly recommend coming here, we'll definitely be back soon!!! Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 8, 2017

Our fourth of fifth time here. Each time has been excellent. Interesting food, well prepared, very tasty. It is a quiet place at dinner time (often busier after 9 in the Lounge area). The wine list is very good a reasonably priced (I think they get their wine from De Nardi). Nice booths. We often stay at the Grand when some of us are taking the plane out the next morning and this makes the evening better every time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Enjoyable Christmas Eve dinner - great way to officially start the Holiday. Thank-you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2016

Great service and good food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2016

fantastic dining place

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2016

Six of us had a family (all adults) birthday celebration on a Friday night, not too many people in the restaurant which was a nice bonus for us. The variety and quality of the food we ordered was fantastic. We had a mix of entrees and small plates and everyone was impressed. Service was fabulous. Airport location is a little less than ideal for locals but worth the trip.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 19, 2016

Dinner was pretty good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2016

Disappointed in food quality but will give it a second try as may have been an off night

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2016

Our first visit to this restaurant was amazing... The second time, they had replaced the chef and the food suffered. This time, our third experience was once again amazing due to yet another change in chefs. We were very pleased and will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 5, 2016

we always find the some of the food are way too salty for us , especially the soup, two times in a row, we have to sent it back !

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 17, 2015

Dont rush, its just OK. Nothing special No need to rush to this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 14, 2015

excellent food - well worth the trip down to the airport

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2015

Peace our waitress was amazing. She timed the meal so tapas and entree would be delivered at the time we wanted. Food was exceptional . I asked questions about ingredients so I could try at home and she talked to the chef to get all the information. A relaxing evening with great food. It is challenging to find great help in the food industry and they are very lucky to have found such a gem. In Peace.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2015

Quiet place on a Friday nite with attentive waiter and excellent food. We had tapas, plus some other lamb items as sampled wine and local beer. All good and worth going back

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2015

Tried this location on a recommendation, and wasn't very impressed. We will give it a shot again, because there were a variety of factors working against the restaurant - 1) it was pretty empty (granted, it was a Wednesday night). Because it was empty, the noise transfer from the lobby of the hotel was terrible - shriekey girls on vacation, etc. 2) The food took a really long time - longer than it ought to have, considering the fact that there were only 4 other people in the restaurant at the time. 3) Perhaps because it was empty, the service was pretty lame - the servers weren't very aware of their impact on the diners, and loudly cleared the tables for the breakfast service the next morning, clanking glasses and plates without regard to the fact that it was really impacting my ability to enjoy the food. 4) A TON of walk by traffic form guests, gawking through the windows to look at my date and I. 5) Chocolate creme brulee. It tasted like chocolate pudding and all the things that are delicious about creme brulee were gone due to the chocolate taste.

So, we'll give it a try on a busier night, hopefully the servers will be on their game, and the food will arrive more promptly. Or, possibly, we'll just go for breakfast. All in all, it was a pretty disappointing evening, we were definitely expecting something special and Blue Marble didn't deliver.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2015

although off the beaten path, and a bit of a challenge figuring out where to park, Blue Marble was a very pleasant surprise especially for an airport hotel restaurant.

Food was very well done, excellent flavour combinations and an impressive wine list too

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 3, 2015

Tried The Blue Marble after reading some reviews. This place has great potential if it can work through some of the kinks. The menu has tremendous variety. My dining companion and I began with the calamari, which was just delicious with two accompanying garnishes of very thinly sliced cucumber and cantaloupe. The portion was quite small for the price, however.
We ordered three dishes from the wonderful tapas menu - pork tenderloin medallions, pickerel and oxtail ravioli. All three were beautifully presented and very tasty, however only the pickerel arrived hot. The other two dishes tasted lovely but we're barely room temperature. When we mentioned this to our waiter, he stated that "some dishes aren't meant to be served hot". I clarified that I meant temperature, not spiciness, but he still appeared to disagree. Foods such as pork tenderloin aren't meant to be served lukewarm, plain and simple.
With more sophisticated, knowledgeable and attentive serving staff, this restaurant can shine. I hope it does so, as this chef creates some truly pleasing fare.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2014

Discovered this restaurant on opentable and so glad I did. I love trying new places and this one will forusure be one I remommend. We ordered the calamari (very tender.... and the lemon type sauce it comes with was great). The duck on the tapas menu was cooked perfectly.....and the lentils that came with it was a perfect pairing. And last we had the beef tartare, which came out in a very generous serving size....could have been served with a little more chips but still a great dish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2014

We ate here once before and the food both times was great. The service the first time we were here was not good but this time things have improved greatly. We were in on New Years Eve and thought it might be a couple of hours of delays again. Not So! Service was very speedy, our waiter Alex was very efficient, the food both times has been great ( we had 4 items off the Tapas menu) and I would highly recommend this place.

The only drawback is parking, you have to park at the airport and then try to find a way in to the restaurant, but they validate so go check it out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 29, 2014

Staff were excellent - Friendly, Helpful, There when needed

Food was Execelent - Lamb tapias wow, Chicken entree great, pork tenderloin tapais great, Tuna tapais , Beets tapais , chichen stew tapais , all great

Park in the parkade there are stairs at the west end. It is the next building west, they vaildate your ticket so don'g use a credit card to enter.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 21, 2014

Thanks to the trouble we had getting to the restaurant, we were in a bad mood before we even walked in the door. It's at the airport, and we kept taking the wrong road and had to circle the place 4 times. We finally gave up, parked at a different hotel, and walked the rest of the way.

The ambiance of the restaurant was nothing special, and maybe even a little confusing. Don't expect the name of the restaurant to imply anything about its decor. I don't think the quality of the decor matched the quality of the food.

The waiting staff were genuinely friendly. The waiter was a surprise at first glance, as he had a disheveled look that did not seem in line with the hotel's ascetic, but his charm quickly won us over.

The food took a long time to arrive. Thankfully we weren't in a rush. The two of us shared 3 tapas plates and desert, and that took two and a half hours.

But... the food was amazing. We had the quail, Berkshire pork tenderloin, and venison carpaccio, and there was not a scrap left on our plates when we were done. The tenderloin was especially delicious, with juicy flavour all the way through. The dishes are served in a modernist way, with small portions and many different flavours strewn about the plate as dust, puree, dehydrated chips, etc. It allowed every morsel to be somewhat different from the last. For desert we had a plate of cheese, honeycomb and fruit that perfectly finished off the meal. For the two of us, with rather small appetites, this left us satisfied but not full.

The total bill came out to about $100 after tip, and we went home much happier than when we arrived.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2014

Ryan our waiter was fabulous as was the food...just a great place all around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 23, 2014

Once again the Blue Marble delivers a product and service well above expectations. This is the third time dining here and everything is out of this world. First, take your inhibitions from being scared to come down to the airport for a dining destination, second come with an empty stomach and thirsty palate, and third...well you know. 110% satisfaction here, start with one of their signature feature cocktails, with house made bitters and old fashion style recipes its a great way to begin. I have only ordered off the tapas menu and I'm sure the regular menu is just as good but with the selection they have there is something for everyone. Amazing, well represented, and well priced wine list. Thank you Blue Marble, i will be back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2014

We shared a beet salad, the pickerel and cavena risotto from the Tapas menu, it was more than enough food for two people. I can't speak for the "hotel" menu as I assume it for people who want room service or are not very adventurous in their eating (pizza, burgers etc.). The whole reason to go to the Blue Marble is the tapas menu. We were warmly welcomed when presented ourselves to the host. The food was amazing. Our server was an older gentleman who was very attentive and very professional. Indeed, we found out he worked for many years in other successful restaurants (ie. Dubrovnik, Sand Piper). The restaurant has its own mini green house system against one wall where you can watch your food grow. They also have a roof garden. Excellent!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 27, 2014

Not worth the trouble. Service slow. Special requests ignored. Artic char over cooked and when we complained we were ignored . Won't go again

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 10, 2014

I never try to say anything bad about things but our dining experience was aweful. We waited over an hour and a half to only get our first plates, one was even the soup of the day. Which came out as a different soup then said. Within this time we were only asked once for drink refills. My father in law poured the wine. While our server was taking our first course plates away, he told us he will put in our second plates order now... An hour later we eat again. I left feeling very hungry, worn out, and not coming back. We were only there because my in laws were there before and said it was great. Not this time. We were the second table to arrive that night and our bill was well over $300.00. Money and time I can't get back!!

Report
Helpful
1
2