About The Blue Marble Restaurant and Lounge

1979 Wellington Ave
Winnipeg, MB R3H 1H5
View Larger Map

Located in the lobby of The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel by Lakeview, the Blue Marble features a wonderful menu . contemporary small plates focusing on local ingredients in the restaurant and more traditional fare in the lounge, this menu utilizing locally grown and produced product from Manitoba is certain to impress.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-1967

Website:
http://www.lakeviewhotels.com/restaurants/blue-marble-restaurant-lounge/

Parking Details:
Airport main parkade, validation with purchase over $20

Public Transit:
City Bus Route 15 and 20

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Blue Marble Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Modern Decor (2)
See All
Tapas (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Family Style (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
27 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Six of us had a family (all adults) birt ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Six of us had a family (all adults) birthday celebration on a Friday night, not too many people in the restaurant which was a nice bonus for us. The variety and quality of the food we ordered was fantastic. We had a mix of entrees and small plates and everyone was impressed. Service was fabulous. Airport location is a little less than ideal for locals but worth the trip.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was pretty good.

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Dinner was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Disappointed in food quality but will give it a second try as may have been an off night

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our first visit to this restaurant was a ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Our first visit to this restaurant was amazing... The second time, they had replaced the chef and the food suffered. This time, our third experience was once again amazing due to yet another change in chefs. We were very pleased and will be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

new menu

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

we always find the some of the food are way too salty for us , especially the soup, two times in a row, we have to sent it back !

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

its a lobby restuarant...not spectacular

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

Dont rush, its just OK. Nothing special No need to rush to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

excellent food - well worth the trip dow ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 14, 2015

excellent food - well worth the trip down to the airport

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food and service

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on June 12, 2015

Peace our waitress was amazing. She timed the meal so tapas and entree would be delivered at the time we wanted. Food was exceptional . I asked questions about ingredients so I could try at home and she talked to the chef to get all the information. A relaxing evening with great food. It is challenging to find great help in the food industry and they are very lucky to have found such a gem. In Peace.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Friday nite

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on May 8, 2015

Quiet place on a Friday nite with attentive waiter and excellent food. We had tapas, plus some other lamb items as sampled wine and local beer. All good and worth going back

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Underwhelming, better in theory than practice

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on April 2, 2015

Tried this location on a recommendation, and wasn't very impressed. We will give it a shot again, because there were a variety of factors working against the restaurant - 1) it was pretty empty (granted, it was a Wednesday night). Because it was empty, the noise transfer from the lobby of the hotel was terrible - shriekey girls on vacation, etc. 2) The food took a really long time - longer than it ought to have, considering the fact that there were only 4 other people in the restaurant at the time. 3) Perhaps because it was empty, the service was pretty lame - the servers weren't very aware of their impact on the diners, and loudly cleared the tables for the breakfast service the next morning, clanking glasses and plates without regard to the fact that it was really impacting my ability to enjoy the food. 4) A TON of walk by traffic form guests, gawking through the windows to look at my date and I. 5) Chocolate creme brulee. It tasted like chocolate pudding and all the things that are delicious about creme brulee were gone due to the chocolate taste.

So, we'll give it a try on a busier night, hopefully the servers will be on their game, and the food will arrive more promptly. Or, possibly, we'll just go for breakfast. All in all, it was a pretty disappointing evening, we were definitely expecting something special and Blue Marble didn't deliver.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

although off the beaten path, and a bit ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on February 3, 2015

although off the beaten path, and a bit of a challenge figuring out where to park, Blue Marble was a very pleasant surprise especially for an airport hotel restaurant.

Food was very well done, excellent flavour combinations and an impressive wine list too

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Gaining momentum

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on January 3, 2015

Tried The Blue Marble after reading some reviews. This place has great potential if it can work through some of the kinks. The menu has tremendous variety. My dining companion and I began with the calamari, which was just delicious with two accompanying garnishes of very thinly sliced cucumber and cantaloupe. The portion was quite small for the price, however.

We ordered three dishes from the wonderful tapas menu - pork tenderloin medallions, pickerel and oxtail ravioli. All three were beautifully presented and very tasty, however only the pickerel arrived hot. The other two dishes tasted lovely but we're barely room temperature. When we mentioned this to our waiter, he stated that "some dishes aren't meant to be served hot". I clarified that I meant temperature, not spiciness, but he still appeared to disagree. Foods such as pork tenderloin aren't meant to be served lukewarm, plain and simple.

With more sophisticated, knowledgeable and attentive serving staff, this restaurant can shine. I hope it does so, as this chef creates some truly pleasing fare.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Hidden Gem

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

Discovered this restaurant on opentable and so glad I did. I love trying new places and this one will forusure be one I remommend. We ordered the calamari (very tender.... and the lemon type sauce it comes with was great). The duck on the tapas menu was cooked perfectly.....and the lentils that came with it was a perfect pairing. And last we had the beef tartare, which came out in a very generous serving size....could have been served with a little more chips but still a great dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

We ate here once before and the food both times was great. The service the first time we were here was not good but this time things have improved greatly. We were in on New Years Eve and thought it might be a couple of hours of delays again. Not So! Service was very speedy, our waiter Alex was very efficient, the food both times has been great ( we had 4 items off the Tapas menu) and I would highly recommend this place.

The only drawback is parking, you have to park at the airport and then try to find a way in to the restaurant, but they validate so go check it out.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful foodAfter the MTC matinee

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on November 30, 2014

Staff were excellent - Friendly, Helpful, There when needed

Food was Execelent - Lamb tapias wow, Chicken entree great, pork tenderloin tapais great, Tuna tapais , Beets tapais , chichen stew tapais , all great

Park in the parkade there are stairs at the west end. It is the next building west, they vaildate your ticket so don'g use a credit card to enter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Horrible location, amazing food

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on November 22, 2014

Thanks to the trouble we had getting to the restaurant, we were in a bad mood before we even walked in the door. It's at the airport, and we kept taking the wrong road and had to circle the place 4 times. We finally gave up, parked at a different hotel, and walked the rest of the way.

The ambiance of the restaurant was nothing special, and maybe even a little confusing. Don't expect the name of the restaurant to imply anything about its decor. I don't think the quality of the decor matched the quality of the food.

The waiting staff were genuinely friendly. The waiter was a surprise at first glance, as he had a disheveled look that did not seem in line with the hotel's ascetic, but his charm quickly won us over.

The food took a long time to arrive. Thankfully we weren't in a rush. The two of us shared 3 tapas plates and desert, and that took two and a half hours.

But... the food was amazing. We had the quail, Berkshire pork tenderloin, and venison carpaccio, and there was not a scrap left on our plates when we were done. The tenderloin was especially delicious, with juicy flavour all the way through. The dishes are served in a modernist way, with small portions and many different flavours strewn about the plate as dust, puree, dehydrated chips, etc. It allowed every morsel to be somewhat different from the last. For desert we had a plate of cheese, honeycomb and fruit that perfectly finished off the meal. For the two of us, with rather small appetites, this left us satisfied but not full.

The total bill came out to about $100 after tip, and we went home much happier than when we arrived.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Ryan our waiter was fabulous as was the ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

Ryan our waiter was fabulous as was the food...just a great place all around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Batter up! Another home run!!!

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

Once again the Blue Marble delivers a product and service well above expectations. This is the third time dining here and everything is out of this world. First, take your inhibitions from being scared to come down to the airport for a dining destination, second come with an empty stomach and thirsty palate, and third...well you know. 110% satisfaction here, start with one of their signature feature cocktails, with house made bitters and old fashion style recipes its a great way to begin. I have only ordered off the tapas menu and I'm sure the regular menu is just as good but with the selection they have there is something for everyone. Amazing, well represented, and well priced wine list. Thank you Blue Marble, i will be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Tapas & Wine

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 13, 2014

We shared a beet salad, the pickerel and cavena risotto from the Tapas menu, it was more than enough food for two people. I can't speak for the "hotel" menu as I assume it for people who want room service or are not very adventurous in their eating (pizza, burgers etc.). The whole reason to go to the Blue Marble is the tapas menu. We were warmly welcomed when presented ourselves to the host. The food was amazing. Our server was an older gentleman who was very attentive and very professional. Indeed, we found out he worked for many years in other successful restaurants (ie. Dubrovnik, Sand Piper). The restaurant has its own mini green house system against one wall where you can watch your food grow. They also have a roof garden. Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not worth the trouble. Service slow. ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on June 27, 2014

Not worth the trouble. Service slow. Special requests ignored. Artic char over cooked and when we complained we were ignored . Won't go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Waste of time!!

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on May 10, 2014

I never try to say anything bad about things but our dining experience was aweful. We waited over an hour and a half to only get our first plates, one was even the soup of the day. Which came out as a different soup then said. Within this time we were only asked once for drink refills. My father in law poured the wine. While our server was taking our first course plates away, he told us he will put in our second plates order now... An hour later we eat again. I left feeling very hungry, worn out, and not coming back. We were only there because my in laws were there before and said it was great. Not this time. We were the second table to arrive that night and our bill was well over $300.00. Money and time I can't get back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Excellent tapas

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on May 10, 2014

There are several varieties of tapas, each of which are excellent. The cheese plate for dessert is not to be missed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best Arugula Salad! I know right?

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 11, 2014

I never ever imagined I would rave about arugula salad, but it's divine! Interesting concept with small plates. Problem is dining alone, I had a hard time finding the right amount for dinner. Ended up ordering half salad (which I still kick myself for), and 2 small plates, plus a Duvel, which ended up being a little too much food. I would definitely visit again, this time with company. Definitely enjoyed the food, although as someone pointed out on Tripadvisor, the servers are definitely not trained in fine dining, although I don't really fault them, they are earnest and trying their best. Other thing is venue, it's situated in the Grand Hotel right across from the new Wpg airport, awfully deserted when I visited for dinner on a Thu night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

What A Gem

vip
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on April 6, 2014

Truly an amazing dinning experience. Will be going back real soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly Surprised

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on March 29, 2014

This restaurant could use one thing in particular...the windows on the South West side overlooking the overpass to the airport should be tinted. The view is that of a concrete jungle and takes away from what the restaurant offers. A fabulous tapas menu, one of the best I've seen offered in the city! The server we had was lovely but obviously inexperienced with fine dining. We did feel our patronage was appreciated from beginning to end. The bartender and maitre d' were top notch! Hope this restaurant does well. If the exterior windows were tinted you would think you were downtown or in the exchange. Worth the trip to the airport :-)

Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Not as generous as food reviewer

vip
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on March 22, 2014

Despite a mixed, but generally positive review by our local restaurant reviewer, I didn't feel nearly as positive. The location should be a clue. The lack of problems making a reservation would be another. The overemphasis on ambience that was too cold and harsh left little to be desired. I didn't feel listing a well-known chef's name did anything for his reputation. The concept of tapas mixed with regular entrees was interesting. The best of the evening as a small plate of pork medallions. They were tender and tasty. Too bad three pieces amounted to 3 oz. of food. The rest of the food was devoid of taste and moisture. The price vs quantity and quality was unfavourable. The service, however, was excellent (thanks Ksenia).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Fantastic!

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on March 9, 2014

Wife and I ordered the tapas and we were impressed! My favourite was the Tuna Carpaccio and the Oxtail Ravioli - just magnificent. Desert was superlative. Service was attentive and professional. Loved the décor.

We will be returning.....and with friends!

Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.