About The Blind Rabbit - Riverside

901 King St
Jacksonville, FL 32204
View Larger Map

The Blind Rabbit is a southern gastropub offering an eclectic ambiance in a polished casual setting with great food and a big city bar promoting the best local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Daily: Hours: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm,
Sun: 10:00 am - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
College Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 337-0146

Website:
http://www.theblindfig.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeff Stanford

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Takeout

Sort By:
S
208 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Derrick our waiter was great! He was v ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Derrick our waiter was great! He was very accommodating and made great suggestions which enhances our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Parking was a tad tricky but once inside ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Parking was a tad tricky but once inside we had a nice dinner. Great staff, timely food presentation and laid back atmosphere. Highlights were the coconut shrimp and the amazing fried green tomatoes. Delicious burger but slightly disappointed in the Mac-n-Cheese as I had been told it was awesome and a signature side.....but I was way less than impressed. Definitely give it a try if you have not visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The burgers were pretty good. We tried a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The burgers were pretty good. We tried a few signature drinks. Nothing special for the price. Ordered the poutine appetizer and was disappointed. Would give them another go at brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Amazing!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 29, 2016

I had to change my reservation time at the last minute due to an emergency and the staff were incredibly accommodating! I will absolutely return in the future with my friends/family and will be recommending to everyone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and drinks

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Great food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated 4 birthdays for 60 years old ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Celebrated 4 birthdays for 60 years old kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food bad service

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Burgers are good. Drinks are good. Service not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great brunch!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 26, 2016

We went in for brunch for the first time and we loved it! The bottomless mimosas got us there, but we will definitely be back again soon. The food and selection was amazing. Great service from Jared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a great casual restaurant. The ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was a great casual restaurant. The food was really good especially the appetizers. The drinks were great also.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a favorite. The Whiskey burger an ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Always a favorite. The Whiskey burger and the Rocky road milkshake are always on point👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a date night for Valentines eveni ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a date night for Valentines evening and had a great time! From the hostess who sat us, the waitress who took great care of us, and the bartender who is a true expert on whiskeys and Bourbons… It was a wonderful experience! Highly recommend the bourbon flight for value and overall experience. Stephen, the bartender, won't steer you wrong if you tell him what you like and let him decide which Bourbons you should try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Time

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was cold when it got to us, otherwise tasted good. They were very busy and we didn't see our server a lot, but other times It's been very good so I won't ding them. Overall a great place.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is delicious! Service could be a l ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food is delicious! Service could be a little faster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

blind rabbit

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

food was simple but very good. things were a little slow - took a while to get drink order and food, but it was a busy night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great gluten free options

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I love the burgers but the shrimp and grits are out of this world!!! Have eaten here a number of times and have never been glutened!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and great drinks

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2016

My wife took me here with our family for my birthday. I was a little worried, because it was super bowl night and we had a 5 o'clock reservation. But the staff was great and the crowd was good. The food is pretty good and innovative. Drinks are great. Overall it was a great time. Prices are very reasonable. We will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We love blind rabbit, everything on the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 31, 2016

We love blind rabbit, everything on the menu is really good. Not a bad item at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Experience

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 24, 2016

I made a reservation for 13 people for a birthday and they accommodated us. They called me that day for a confirmation and when we got there the table was already set up and waters waiting for everyone. The server was great, very friendly and helpful and was patient with us. Food was great. I would recommend this one over the one located in Jacksonville beach.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great, I ordered the shr ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 20, 2016

The service was great, I ordered the shrimp and grits, and it was a quiet night with not a lot of noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for lunch. Haven't tried it ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 19, 2016

Great spot for lunch. Haven't tried it for dinner yet. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The burgers are really excellent. The a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 16, 2016

The burgers are really excellent. The area surrounding the restaurant is not ideal. The lighting on the streets near it is poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great service and great food

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 16, 2016

I have been to the Blind Rabbit four or five times now and have never been disappointed. The food that has been ordered by me, or the people I am with ,has always been quite good. I especially enjoy getting a great hamburger there. The service has always been good and friendly! I recommend you give this restaurant a try!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loud and Over Priced

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Food was good but over priced for the amount on the plate.

The music was loud which made it difficult to visit with the others are our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Outspend Head Chef

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 2, 2016

We have dined at The Blind Rabbit maybe 30-40 times now. We keep returning for one main reason. Executive Chef Jason Swank is that reason. His food has thought and heart behind it. His crew prepares it as well as he wants it to be prepared. The restaurant has been there for many years now and I have been eating here since the beginning. I have known the owner since he started in a truck the Salty Fig with his brother. Things in the beginning were really good then it went down hill and Jeff came in and shook things up. I almost gave up on the salty fig turned blind fig turned blind rabbit. Then came in Chef Jason. He has turned this place around and with that we started to return again and again. I will always sing the praise of Chef Jason. Jeff don't get rid of this man. The food is fabulous and his imagination keeps us returning. We haven't eaten off of the main menu in a while. I just walk in to see chef and his brigade and order off of the special cause we know it will be good and probably like nothing we have eaten before. Chef Jason Rocks.... Hands down

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food looked good-wish we had a chance to try it.

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2016

After waiting 45 minutes for our drink order which never came we decided to eat elsewhere. Reservation do not seem to matter as we had to wait 10 min for our table to be wiped off. We should have taken that as a sign that things would not get any better. Granted it was New Years Eve, but it did not seem overly crowded or a line of people waiting to get in. The ambiance of the place seemed decent and the food that was coming out looked pretty good. We won't know what it tastes like, nor will we ever be back to find out. The manager that we asked for after the first 30 minutes of waiting was never called to our table and to top it off a waiter dropped salad dressing as he walked by which splattered all over my seat and my shoes. We asked our waitress how much longer till we get our drinks yet alone our food and were given an "I don't know"- "maybe another 30 minutes"!! As we were leaving, we spoke to a manager that could not give two hoots about us not getting any service. Went down the road to another burger and shake restaurant and were treated like a valued customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Poor service, below average food and inconsistent.

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 27, 2015

We visited based on both an experience at the Beaches location and their ability to accommodate our party of 12 with a reservation through Open Table. Even though this was on a Sunday evening and they only had a handful of tables occupied throughout our entire visit, we would never return to this location. To start, even though they had our reservation the table was not set up. Once we were seated, our table was split in the middle so that "the server could have better access." Our menus were grimy and had food on them. These things were just the beginning of a wasted night at The Blind Rabbit. The macaroni and cheese was dry as a bone for the 4 people that ordered it as an appetizer. The Gorgonzola cheese chips were one of the few dishes we would choose to order again. Salads ordered at the beginning of the meal were served after the entrees came out. My medium rib-eye steak was done medium well and the person sitting next to me ordered the same exact thing and their steak was way beyond well done (my mom orders her steak "well done burnt" and that steak would have satisfied her completely). Needless to say I struggled through my steak and the other guest sent theirs back. The second time it came out rare/mid-rare, which they suffered through for fear of getting another way overdone steak. The water service was abysmal. My glass was empty for in excess of 10 minutes. When I requested a refill it took another 5 minutes and the server used water that had absolutely no chill. It took another 10 minutes to request a glass of ice and then another 10 minutes to receive it. Alcoholic beverage service was a little more attentive, but not on par with industry standard. The alcoholic beverages were good, so this might be a good place to come for just that. The feedback from other guests was that their burgers and fries were quite good, but other side items were a disappointment, especially in comparable portion size. See yelp for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Complained about an "object" found in my ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Complained about an "object" found in my milkshake .... Nothing was done about it except waiter said I'll give you a free one next time. There will be no next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

upscale, casual dining

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 16, 2015

A whiskey and burger restaurant that has full dinners. The gorgonzola chips on the app menu are incredible. Burgers are very large and perfectly cooked. Two dining areas with a quieter one in the back. Very cool bar area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I'll be back!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 11, 2015

Great brunch and food with a twist! I'm a true southern girl from GA and a brunch fanatic. The serve was great and the food was even better

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent burgers

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Really great burgers and drinks. Our server was great too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Blind Rabbit

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 4, 2015

We went to the Blind Rabbit for dinner on a Saturday night and had made reservations. We were running a little late and when I called to let them know, they had no problem with it. Parking was a little tight, but we were seated right away when we arrived. The service was prompt and even though our server was a little new, he still did a good job. The food was delicious and we didn't have to wait to long for it. We both ordered burgers and they were phenomenal. If you like fries, you won't be disappointed. We also had a glass of wine, which was nice as well. Overall, it was a nice experience and I would recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

As it says on the tin

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 27, 2015

Good for casual, beers burgers and whisky. Server was very friendly quick and accurate for a group of 10 with mixed checks. Good beer selection and quite a nice vibe. Food was all good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Worst Brunch Ever

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 13, 2015

We went to Blind Rabbit because of the positive reviews about the great brunch. We go to brunch every week, and this, by far, was the very worst. My family ordered biscuits and gravy. The biscuits were hard (stale) and cold, and the gravy tasted awful. It was also cold. I ordered a Belgian waffle. It was burned and cold. Clearly, they had pre-made some and froze them. It was worse than a regular frozen waffle. There was no excuse for the cold food, because at the time, there was only one other table being served.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Off Day

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 2, 2015

Every restaurant can have a bad day and today was the day. Three of four sides came out not very hot ( fries, chips and Mac n cheese). Server who was new did offer to bring fresh. We declined since our mains would either get cold or be eaten alone. Manager came over after we asked to speak to one. After some coaxing he did adjust the checks. No brunch or drink menus printed .

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Burger Foodies

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 18, 2015

DELICIOUS! Burgers, milkshakes, and so much more. The food was fab, and the service was too. The locale is great for the bar-hopping.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great burgers!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 19, 2015

Great burgers and amazing fries! Cool drink list (a bit pricey). Definitely going back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you love burgers this is the place for you!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 12, 2015

If you love burgers this is the place for you!! So many interesting and tasty choices! We had the chips with cheese appetizer and there was not a crumb left on the plate. My husband and I had burgers. Our friend had the portobello sandwich. A veggie burger was listed on the menu online but not on the menu when we got there. That would have been a good option in addition to the portobello for our friend who is vegetarian. The selection of whiskey is impressive and the specialty drinks we tried were all good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Love this place!!!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 9, 2015

Food was delicious and the waitress was excellent! I love this place and I will return and recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will try again

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 19, 2015

Had a few issues...burgers overdone, missing toppings on two orders, ice tea was not good. Although the burger was overdone a little it had great flavor. Will give it another try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Easter Brunch

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 5, 2015

Great brunch on Easter Sunday, great service but pretty quiet. would go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.