About The Blind Rabbit - Jax Beach

311 North 3rd Street
Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
View Larger Map

The Blind Rabbit - A Burger & Whiskey Bar is a full service restaurant that does handcrafted burgers and whiskey cocktails. Locally sourced ingredients, quality, craft cocktails, craft beer, artisan burgers!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Daily hours: 11:30am - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 595-5915

Website:
http://theblindrabbitwhiskeybar.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

The Blind Rabbit - Jax Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Jacksonville Beach
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville Beach ›

Good for Groups (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
See All
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere. We got our food very q ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great atmosphere. We got our food very quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined for the first time at Blind Rabbit ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Dined for the first time at Blind Rabbit for weekend brunch. Food was fair. Kid's strawberry milkshake was good, but sandwiches on "Texas toast" tasted of overdone regular toast. Sandwiches otherwise not constructed well and fairly uninspired. Egg dishes are limted to traditional breakfast plates or the occasional egg found on a sandwich or burger. No benedicts or other typically creative brunch presentations.

We were seated at a booth with a toddler requiring a high chair. Unfortunately, the high chair was situated right up against a long table of a very large party so that servers and passerby were stumbling over my daughter. The ambiance is otherwise quite poor. I occasionally enjoy restaurants and bars with energetic noise levels, but the noise here was truly out of control. Bare walls and exposed metal ceiling elements create a horrible echo chamber. That the restaurant is in the middle of a strip with no windows on three sides makes the atmosphere feel particularly dark, noisy, and confining.

Our server was pleasant but spread far too thin. Our Open Table reservation was registered as not being honored though I stated our reservation information upon arrival. Street and rooftop parking is extremely limited. The small rooftop lot is small and there is no warning of it being full before arriving to the top with other cars trying to orchestate a difficult 12-point turn out of an aisle with no turnaround. I prefer not having to valet my car when dining out, but a valet option is truly needed at least during peak restaurant hours.

Overall, the atmosphere and logistics problems left me pretty disappointed. I am not sure whether the food justifies a return trip on a less busy day or meal time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Food was delicious & menu was varied - t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was delicious & menu was varied - the waitress we had was outstanding...helpful/knowledgeable, but not pushy or fake (recommended a beer to replace my standard, it was spot-on). My wife & I had some chips, a cup of the corn/crab chowder each, & when we relayed that we would be splitting a sandwich for the meal - each of us got 1/2 a sandwich with our own side on our own plate...it's a small thing, but spoke to the customer-centered focus of the establishment. Definitely going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing whiskey drinks and burgers to di ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing whiskey drinks and burgers to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Food was horrible.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

I didn't leave room for the Bacon Infuse ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I didn't leave room for the Bacon Infused Maple Milkshake but ordered it and enjoyed every drop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Waitress was sometimes hard to catch. Re ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Waitress was sometimes hard to catch. Returned the salad after two bites as the dressing was too strong, no one offered another or any comp, salad wasn't taken off the bill either. Other than that, burgers were alright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Burgers FTW

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I was in Atlantic Beach for a weekend getaway and found The Blind Rabbit because of Open Table. My husband had been craving a burger and since we were on the coast, I wanted seafood. This place was the perfect balance. His BBQ Bacon Burger (Applewood Bacon, Provolone Cheese, Sweet BBQ Sauce, Crispy Tobacco Onions, Bourbon Spiked Creole Mustard, Brioche Bun) was fantastic, perfectly cooked and he chose mac and cheese as his side. He was highly satisfied. I got the fish tacos (Blackened Daily Catch, Shredded Cabbage, Tomatoes, Lime-Cilantro Chimichurri, Corn, Avocado, Lemon Aioli) - it was a big piece of fish in each taco. I also got the mac and cheese as my side, and even though it probably wasn't the most coordinating side dish, I was very happy with the Five Cheese Sauce and Herb Parmesan Crust. They had a decent beer selection and a cool, laid back atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good burgers and nice selection of beers

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Good burgers and nice selection of beers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Less than ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a burger, which I'd heard were great - mine was way undercooked and just average. Person I was with had fish tacos and was not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Burgers were excellent but it is really ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Burgers were excellent but it is really really loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Is it THAT difficult to take care of you ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Is it THAT difficult to take care of your tables when it's not even busy?!?! Never in my life have I ever left a dollar tip. If you have an hour and half to kill go ahead and enjoy. Idk is she was strung out or just didn't care but Casey needs to go. Going to Riverside from here on out. Way to ruin Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Great burger options. The gorgonzola shi ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Great burger options.

The gorgonzola ships were phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would love to have a better service expe ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Would love to have a better service experience because this place has got all the makings for a great place to hang out and eat with your friends. Last few times, service was slow (we ended up getting up and grabbing our own appetizer plates off another table) and the server was polite, but you could tell it was forced and he really was not happy we walked in there. Not sure why because the place was practically empty. I would have been happy to work the tips from whoever walked in! This was our third trip and the service is just not quite up to par. The food, however, is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

A great Bourbon, Scotch, Irish, Whiskey ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

A great Bourbon, Scotch, Irish, Whiskey list. Custom made burgers exactly how you want, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hit and miss this time around

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We've dined at The Blind Rabbit (Jax Beach location) a number of times and this was the first time we've had some 'off' dishes. Initially, we ordered poutine, but the gravy was cold and congealed, and cheese curds were cold. We exchanged it for the fried green tomatoes - which I still maintain are the best in the South.

It was a busy house that evening, so the kitchen could have been having a bad night, it happens. Interestingly enough I read in the Jacksonville Times Union the restaurant received numerous strikes the following day, including for having food below the appropriate temperature. That might explain the poutine being a bit odd.

Stuff happens, we were healthy after the meal so it won't deter me from dining here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I frequent here because the burgers are ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I frequent here because the burgers are amazing. However, I have not had good service yet. If I didn't crave their burgers, I wouldn't come back due to the service but I try to overlook the service to feed my craving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

The noise level at dinner is crazy loud. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The noise level at dinner is crazy loud. Can't hear anyone you are sitting with. Everyone is shouting to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Their hamburgers are tremendous.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Their menu is diverse and includes some very nice cocktails.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great for the entire family to enjoy and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great for the entire family to enjoy and kids love the poutine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Noisy, but delicious

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Get the Gorgonzola chips!!! We keep going back because of these delicious treats! Kettle chips with Gouda sauce, Gorgonzola crumbles and balsamic. They are slap your momma good...and I really like my mom!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Good took 40 minutes to come out.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Good took 40 minutes to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

This was a great place out with 2 of my ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

This was a great place out with 2 of my best friends while I was in town visiting. We were sent here on a recommendation that did not disappoint. We were all very impressed with the food.

Hands down, one of the best burgers I have ever eaten by all three of us. We couldn't stop talking about how good it tasted. I got the Southern, and can highly recommend then with a side of goat cheese grits. The home fries and home chips I tried were excellent as well.

Can't wait to come back and enjoy more of the menu as well as a milkshake in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Gorgonzola chips are a must!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Gorgonzola chips are a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Server jeff great food good

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Toned down the volume difficult to converse at dinner

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Mmmmmm. Meat.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

As pretty much any review of the Blind Rabbit will tell you, the place is loud. It's essentially a concrete box with lots of TVs, music and a popular bar. Sounds bounce all over the sucker. But you're not there for the music, you're there for the high quality meat. Burgers were prepared precisely as ordered. Unfortunately, sides for the four of us ran from luke warm (sweet potatoes) to downright chilly (fries and tobacco onions.) My companies were happy with their basic cheeseburgers, although added bacon, requested crispy, was limp and flabby. My whiskey smoke burger had neith whiskey or smoke flavor. I think they were out of the described 5-pepper jelly and instead sautéed some diced bell pepper and poured on a large helping of simple syrup. The bun was soaked in sweet goo. Five stars for service, though. Our waitress was sweet, helpful and efficient. I'll give them a second chance before I cross them off my list simply because it was January 1 and I'm guessing the benchwarmers were on duty in the kitchen.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Burgers, Whiskey and Much More

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

A few friends joined for a mid-evening dinner and drinks on New Year's Eve here knowing what we'd get. The Blind Rabbit is one of our regular stops. We weren't disappointed. The always exceptional cocktails were perfect - but we missed not having the bacon infused bourbon this trip. Hopefully it will be back soon with its candied bacon "swizzle stick." The appetizers - Gorgonzola chips and fried green tomatoes, along with the crab and corn chowder - were a great start. The burgers , BBQ bacon, whiskey smoked, and a special that night - were big, and well balanced with layers of tastes, and cooked to our order. Our sides were as always large - from the shoestring onions to the cheese grits, and offset the burgers well. The only sour note was one extremely loud partier, out of control in the dining room, which eventually drove many of the patrons away early. That aside, we'll be back - often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love the food, bourbon, whiskey. Howe ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

We love the food, bourbon, whiskey. However the noise level is AWEFUL!!! Not energetic, impossible to talk, and couple that with a few kids running around. This was a Sunday night and they only had a few tables. You leave with a headache and it's not from the drinks.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

This Location Lives Up To It's Name - "Blind"

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Made a reservation for 7 and indicated we were celebrating an occasion. We checked in and were seated at a booth for 6. I had to go back to the hostess stand and ask for a larger table. She moved us to a table for 6. We just added a chair on the end. Strike 1

There were a combination of servers covering our table, none of which coordinated with each other. We placed our order with one server and ordered an appetizer. Someone else delivered it to the table. I asked for plates so we could eat it since there were none on the table. They said they would be right back but never returned. We had to go over to the server station and ask a server that was on their cell texting for plates. Strike 2

I ordered my burger medium and it came out well done. In addition, at no time did anyone ever acknowledge our special occasion. Why even ask for the information on OT if you aren't going to use the information? Strike 3

I do not recommend this location. Not sure if it is any better at their other location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great service and coupled with the food ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Great service and coupled with the food you can't beat it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Glad we tried it

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Tried the Blind Rabbit at Jax Beach about 6:30 on a Saturday night. This night it was only about 50% full upon our arrival, but by time we left, the place was filling up. The service was prompt and the drinks were excellent. All of us ordered the hamburgers and were not disappointed. The burgers are large and tasty and we had enough to take some home for leftovers, so bring your appetite. All of the sides ordered were probably enough for 2-3 to share comfortably. However, the unanimous favorite of the night were the Gorgonzola chips. Be prepared for the noise level though - this is not a place to hold quiet conversation. Our group of 4 found it quite difficult to hear each other.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

52 Weeks 52 New Restaurants .... Blind Rabbit

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2015

It was a good meal...the hamburger was excellent and my wife had the pork chops. Even though the menu called for the port chops to be smothered...it shocked her how smothered they were...she felt it detracted from the mild flavor of the pork...my bite was excellent...I don't mind smothered anything. The French fries that came with the burger would have fed 6-8 so there was plenty of food. Great appraiser.... pork belly and fries covered in sauce...see I like sauce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The Holick burger was the best burger I ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

The Holick burger was the best burger I have EVER eaten!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Unique food and drinks, always great tas ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Unique food and drinks, always great taste and quality. The brunch menu is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our go to places

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

My husband and I have been to The Blind Rabbit on several occasions. The food has been awesome from the day they opened. Our first visit to The Blind Rabbit, the service wasn't great but we decided to give it another chance and I am glad we did. Ever since the first visit the service has been great. Knowledgeable of the menus and very attentive. I am glad we gave it another shot. The Blind Rabbit has become one of our go to places

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

I met some friends at BR for Sunday Brunch. The hostess and server were so sweet and helpful. Our food was delicious and our cocktails we terrific. It is definitely more of a party atmosphere so if you are looking for something relaxing it might not be the place for you. The music was a little intense and loud but that is just my opinion. My former 23 year old self would have really loved it!! Over all it was a good meal and I would go back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Good atmosphere, good service, yummy foo ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 20, 2015

Good atmosphere, good service, yummy food. Will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and atmosphere

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

Good food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

IT WAS LOUD, THE FOOD WAS COLD AND SEND ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

IT WAS LOUD, THE FOOD WAS COLD AND SENDING BACK THE SOUP DIDN'T HELP. WE GOT COLD SOUP A SECOND TIME. THE SERVER KEPT MAKING EXCUSES FOR THE KITCHEN. THE MAIN CORSE WAS SERVED COLD - IT HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE KITCHEN FOR SOME TIME. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. THERE WON'T BE A THIRD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Love the blind rabbit. Their burgers & f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2015

Love the blind rabbit. Their burgers & fish tacos are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.