About The Bistro at Just Baked

602 B Roland Ave
Surf City, NC 28445
View Larger Map

Award Winning Farm to Plate restaurant on Topsail Island.
Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Winner 2015


MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu


Sorry but due to the limited size of our dining room we are unable to accommodate groups larger than 10 people

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday @ 5:30 pm
MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu

Cross Street:
High Point Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 328-2000

Website:
http://www.topsailbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lots in front of restaurant

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Bud Taylor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We will gladly book your special event on location.

Restaurant Photos

The Bistro at Just Baked
Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon
Manhattan Crab Chowder
Kona Brewing Longboard Lager
Ribeye
Grilled Mahi Mahi And Shrimp
Blue Crab Stuffed Flounder
Drinkin' Mussels And Clams
Blue Crab And Artichoke Dip
Ahi Tuna Steak With Shrimps

The Bistro at Just Baked Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
9 More
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Surf City ›

scenic view (74)
fit for foodies (58)
special occasion (57)
See All
neighborhood gem (46)
romantic (41)
notable wine list (37)
hot spot (15)
great for outdoor dining (15)
good for groups (13)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5

Crab dip and service as well as view was ...

Dined 5 days ago

Crab dip and service as well as view was excellent

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Our family has been going to the Bistro ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our family has been going to the Bistro at Just Baked for 7 years. Quality is always superb. However, the last visit was irritating. The maitre'd told us our order was misplaced in the kitchen, and our food would be late. We were so hungry by the time the food arrived that we did not enjoy our meal. Since our prior experiences at the Bistro were positive, we did not worry about scheduling a 3 hour drive after our dinner. It was a mistake. In similar situations, other restaurants offered us free desserts or a discount. No one even said "sorry". Our family is taking break from the Bistro. Normally it is highlight to our Topsail Island visits. Next time on the island we will make or bring our food, at most, go out for pizza or Chinese.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. Love the fact that ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was amazing. Love the fact that's it's organic and local. Great view of the water and pleasant ambiance. Wait staff was super helpful. Definitely coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meet expectations in every way! Food pre ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Meet expectations in every way! Food presentaion beautiful, server extremely friendly and helpful, our reservation honored in a timely and excellent way.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular food and service! Truly happ ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Spectacular food and service! Truly happy neither was lost in the move!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food. The service was great, the ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Amazing food. The service was great, the food was phenomenal, the view was nice. The drink list was extensive with something for everyone. The cocktails are hand crafted to perfection. The food is made of fresh quality ingredients with an ever changing menu to accommodate this standard. Well worth the visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good menu. The meals have locally s ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Very good menu. The meals have locally sourced ingredients. I will certainly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, beautiful space, fun cocktai ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food, beautiful space, fun cocktails, and extensive wine list!!!! A fun night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5

Love the local sourcing, swordfish was f ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Love the local sourcing, swordfish was fabulous!

food3
ambience2
service4
value1

After eating at the previous location we ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

After eating at the previous location we were very excited to try out the Bistro in its new more scenic home. While our food was fine it was nowhere near as good as before. Nothing wrong with it but just not imaginative. My daughter ordered the blueberry salad with goat cheese for almost $15. This consisted of a small plate with some micro greens with some blueberries sprinkled over it. Tiny specks of goat cheese were present. This is what really bothered us. You can get way better salads at Panera for 1/3 the price. It was listed as a dinner salad. If you wanted to add some scallops it was an additional $14!!! Also if you wanted bread with your meal it was $7 for a tiny french loaf with some pickles and butter. This was hardly enough for two people let alone three. It was considered an appetizer. When bread is an appetizer you know the rest of the meal is not going to live up to your expectations.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service, great location

Dined on June 10, 2016

Awesome Service, great Bourbon selection on the bar and the food was fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New favorite place

Dined on June 10, 2016

We made a reservation for 6pm. When we arrived we were told our table wasn't ready, despite the restaurant being half filled. Had drinks at the bar to pass time, drinks were pricey for what we had. Our table was on the patio. Service was excellent and the food exceeding my expectations. Menu is all local ingredients. Highly recommend for a nice dinner out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Very creative menu using locally sourced ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Very creative menu using locally sourced food. Attentive and well informed wait staff. Be sure to save room for dessert - best Key Lime pie ever !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bistro

Dined on June 7, 2016

This place was great, a nice elegant menu with a great view. Not to mention an exceptional drink menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was good, not great. Drinks were te ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was good, not great. Drinks were terrible.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dined at the bistro many times before bu ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Dined at the bistro many times before but this time disappointed in the size of the fish portion. Had NC black bass (which sells for 5.99/lb) maybe it was 3 oz. portion, the plate was full of wilted greens. Ordered a bottle of wine, we still had 1/2 a bottle left when the server asked about dessert, we declined dessert and our glasses were empty, instead of asking us if we wanted another glass she brought us a paper bag to take it home! Will think twice about going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose to share the home baked bread.. ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

We chose to share the home baked bread... For a table of five so happy that is all the appetizers we got!! Because our meals were amazing! The rib eyes were cooked to perfection. Goat cheese mash potatoes were seasoned just right. And the ahi tuna was perfect!!! The portions are so generous we all left with to go bags!! We had to save some room for there scrumptious deserts!! Service was awesome! I really have nothing but great things to say about this place!!! A bit pricey but well worth it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Date Night

Dined on May 31, 2016

We decided to dine at the bistro after finding out their food values. We were very impressed that they list the farms where foods came from. The appetizer, salad, meal, and dessert were amazing. Definitely the best steak and strawberry shortcake I have every had. Amazing date night can't wait until we're in town again to go back!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Very disappointed!! Nice venue, new loca ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Very disappointed!! Nice venue, new location, friendly waitress, but the food was just so-so. Ordered a 14 oz steak and the chicken. Will not return.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this spot

Dined on May 28, 2016

Been to The Bistro 3x - 2x at the new location. Love coming here. Have been so impressed with the dishes ordered (low country rolls, crab dip, southern garden salad 2x, pappardelle with scallops). Two of my friends got the catfish but said the rub was a bit salty, though the fish tasted great. Slaw was tasty. Ribeye sandwich was also a hit for another foodie friend. We took Uber last time - could enjoy more cocktails!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD & SERVICE WERE EXCELLENT. Also, th ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

FOOD & SERVICE WERE EXCELLENT. Also, the food came out in a very timely manner. I recommend both appetizers that we had-southern egg rolls & crab dip. I had the game hen and my husband had fish. Both dishes were exceptional. We also had the T.I. tea and I highly recommend this-just not too many!! Bud has done an excellent job of upgrading the interior of the restaurant. Before, it looked like a saloon in an old western and now it looks like something out of a decorating magazine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time dining at The B ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

This was our second time dining at The Bistro. We loved it the first time and we were just as satisfied the second time. Went with a different couple each time and they each enjoyed the experience as much as my wife and I did.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

44th anniversary dinner

Dined on May 27, 2016

Due to the special occasion of our anniversary, i requested a more private seating area to dine.... In my opinion, this did not occur but looking at the overall layout of the facility, no private to semi private area exists! Although other factors affected our overall rating, the food was actually exceptional! The staff did make you feel welcome when we arrived and continued throughout the dining experience.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Its by far, hands down, no discussion th ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Its by far, hands down, no discussion the best place on Topsail Island and the best restaurant in Surf City!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

wonderful food in beautiful new building

Dined on May 21, 2016

Went out to dinner for old friends. Had a wonderful meal and excellent service. Food was delicious and restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The new location ROCKS!!! Great view for ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The new location ROCKS!!! Great view for anyone in the main dining area. We have been to Bistro twice in the last month and the space is really cold!!! So take a jacket or shawl or you will freeze. The food is great, maybe a teeny bit expensive for what you get - we live in Chapel Hill and can get a similar meal for about 20% less - but I get that they have seasonal times and have to take the customers when they come. We will go back - be sure and make a reservation way in advance if you want a seat in the dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was great, except they were o ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Everything was great, except they were out of the flat iron steak by 7p.m.! As someone who doesn't eat seafood or duck, it left only a burger as an option. The burger was delicious, but I was hoping for a little something more. A chicken option would have been nice too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everytime we come visit the in-laws, i e ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Everytime we come visit the in-laws, i end up trek-ing everyone down to Wilmington cuz i didnt think it possible to get high caliber food .... I can safely say i was wrong!!!! The staff knowledgable The food very well prepared They really left a mark on this foodie... Jordan knew her menu, wine list well thought out... farm to table, ocean catch to table fit for discerning tastes!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was extraordinary, but it was t ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was extraordinary, but it was the service that took the overall dining experience over the top.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our third time dining here. We ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our third time dining here. We love this restaurant. The menu changes constantly, they use local seafood, they have their own garden and use local farmers. Every meal we have had has been perfectly seasoned and prepared. For this occasion I chose the crab and shrimp risotto which was delicious. It was a very large portion that I could not finish. My friend ordered the hamburger. It was amazing on a pretzel roll and grilled to perfection with homemade chips. My husband had the rib eye which he loved and our other friend had the roasted duck which was melt in your mouth amazing. We ordered the crab dip for an appetizer and it was piping hot with baked feta on top. Yum ! For dessert we had the beignets. Really good. But we saw the strawberry shortcake go by and wish we had also ordered that ! This restaurant is not your normal tourist island fare. It is hip, innovative, great wine list, and the most gorgeous view of the sound. If you are near Topsail Island and love fine dining, you must try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always fabulous here. We enjoy i ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food is always fabulous here. We enjoy it every time we eat there!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Bar was disappointment...seemed like we ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Bar was disappointment...seemed like we were in a closet & bartender seemed extremely stressed - although only 6 people in the bar! The food was good but salad greens & sautéed greens served with entree were gritty - should have been washed prior to preparation! A good suggestion would be to add some dividers in various locations in dining area to add some privacy/ambiance to dining experience - more like cafe dining in its current state!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Absolutely delicious food! I have been t ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Absolutely delicious food! I have been twice now and both times I have loved what I ordered. Service was only okay. We waited 10 minutes for a server to come over. She was knowledgeable but seemed unprepared. Overall it was the best restaurant I eaten at since I moved here from atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is excellent, a little pricy, but y ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food is excellent, a little pricy, but you get what you pay for. Temperature is way too cold, just like it was in the old location...at least 10 degrees too cold so take a sweater. Some dining chairs are nice and some are uncomfortable metal chairs. I hope the metal chairs are just temporary, otherwise ask for the cushioned chairs. We will definitely be a regular customer.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Organic, Farm to Table

Dined on May 10, 2016

All 3 dishes at our table were excellent in taste and presentation. And we shared the in-house-made flourless chocolate torte...so rich in flavor!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bud is the BEST! !

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I have dined here many times. The food has always been great!! There was a couple of times my wife tried something new that I would talk her into and she might not of liked. She just don't have the palate for new things like I do. If the server noticed my wife's plate of food half eaten, they would ask is everything good. If not, they always take it off the bill. We have also been treated to free desserts which were absolutely delicious!! We love the Bistro and tell everybody we know that they should try them out!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Food and Service

Dined on May 6, 2016

We have really enjoyed the Bistro over the past few years. The food is wonderful and always a great dining experience. The noise level at the new location is quite loud. A few drapes or rugs might help absorb the noise. Not a restaurant for young children.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Chef, Local Food, & Stupendous Views

Dined on May 6, 2016

Six of us ate at The Bistro on a beautiful Friday evening. Everything was fantastic. Our wait person knew the food items and had tasted them so they were knowledgeable and informative. The service was attentive and perfect, not in your face, but serving when they observed our needs. We all ate different things and everyone loved what they ordered. I had NC grilled swordfish on a delicious Risotto. We love the 'new' location.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic menu, great staff

Dined on May 6, 2016

Fantastic menu, great staff

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great New Location

Dined on May 5, 2016

The new location on the water adds to the already great food!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.