About The Bistro at Just Baked

602 B Roland Ave
Surf City, NC 28445
View Larger Map

Award Winning Farm to Plate restaurant on Topsail Island.
Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Winner 2015


MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu


Sorry but due to the limited size of our dining room we are unable to accommodate groups larger than 10 people

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday @ 5:30 pm
MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu

Cross Street:
High Point Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 328-2000

Website:
http://www.topsailbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lots in front of restaurant

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Bud Taylor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We will gladly book your special event on location.

Restaurant Photos

The Bistro at Just Baked
Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon
Manhattan Crab Chowder
Kona Brewing Longboard Lager
Ribeye
Grilled Mahi Mahi And Shrimp
Blue Crab Stuffed Flounder
Drinkin' Mussels And Clams
Blue Crab And Artichoke Dip
Ahi Tuna Steak With Shrimps

The Bistro at Just Baked Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
6 More
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Surf City ›

scenic view (103)
fit for foodies (84)
special occasion (75)
See All
neighborhood gem (62)
romantic (53)
notable wine list (48)
great for outdoor dining (34)
good for groups (20)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
747 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Personally, I prefer the menu from their ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Personally, I prefer the menu from their prior location.

There were no daily specials and a very limited number of items on the Sunday Evening menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow, took over 1 hour ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was very slow, took over 1 hour to have the entrees served. Entree quality was good, side dishes, poor at best. Tried to substitute scallops for shrimp and were told no.

Would not recommend and do not plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

This is a great place for a special occa ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is a great place for a special occasion. The atmosphere is classy and welcoming. The view of the water would be a big draw for most people. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The food is excellent. We came here for dinner for our 5th anniversary and had the ribeye sandwich with chips, grits, collard greens, and bread which came with an amazing chutney. The sauce with the grits made that dish just a little too spicy for my wife's taste, but otherwise everything was great. The service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is mine and my hubs favorite restau ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is mine and my hubs favorite restaurant on the island. We come here any chance we get a night out without kids. The food is phenomenal!!!! Highly recommend the low country egg roll appetizer

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good meal, location is super, service fr ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good meal, location is super, service from kitchen was a problem. Everyone was not served at same time and the wait was uncomfortably long.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for our anniversary, have dined ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went for our anniversary, have dined there before and it was spectacular all the way around. This time was disastrous. Waitress training had never poured a beer in her life and dumped a Sam Adams upside down into a glass which proceeded to cover the table, running down underneath soaking my maxi skirt, leg, and new shoes. Ok, she's new and nervous, we shake it off. Then the food arrives and is clearly wrong as my food has mustard on it which I clearly stated to omit. This becomes a debate as they claim when it leaves the kitchen its seat 1 seat 2 etcetera, and I am seat 1 so it must be mine!. I am told that YES, this is my food multiple times. At this point just leave me alone because you have already brought attention to our table twice with the spilled beer, and the reminder that I am seat 1. Now they come back to clear plates, and ask about dessert. I missed it, but my husband tells me she mumbles "Smile, cheer up" before she walks away. Are you kidding me? The icing on the cake was when I walked back from the ladies room, and I see ice cubes on the floor below our table, and in the aisle. Yup, the water person went to refill, and whoosh, the ice water bucket shifting mid pour hits the table. My husband is now also wearing a drink. Not once did we ever make a stink, raise our voices, or our tone, but we were clearly treated as if WE were the problem. The food might be fantastic, but the service needs work. And as long as I'm on a rant, a suggestion would also be to TAKE DOWN yesterday's menu, (in the today's menu), section of their website at the END of the current day. Leaving it up till mid day of the next creates confusion. Yes, a farm to table menu changes daily, but don't leave the old one up the following day until you change it. Reservations made that day based on your posted menu may be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Very good food, beautiful view of the so ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food, beautiful view of the sound. Limited menu (only 7 entrees). Not for kids.

Not cheap--most entrees were $24-29, and that didn't include a salad. Everything was delicious.

Good service. Lots of servers--most appeared to have only 2 tables. Note that the restaurant has relocated to Roland Ave.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant and gorgeous view w ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and gorgeous view with cuisine to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Dined with friends on a Saturday and our ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dined with friends on a Saturday and our table was ready at the appointed time. One of the friends is gluten and dairy free and the staff accommodated her requests in addition to the menu offering of several GF dishes. Appetizers were great, service was outstanding and the food was excellent. We've dined here numerous times and the consistency is awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I ate there at our las ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My girlfriend and I ate there at our last night in top sail NC and out of all the places we ate at each night, it was by far and away the best. Great food and lots of it. The waitresses were great and it was a perfect evening. Would have eaten there multiple nights, regardless of the prices, if we had know about it sooner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant on Topsail Island. Hands ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best restaurant on Topsail Island. Hands down. Would eat there every night. This ain't your run-of-the-mill local fried fish joint. Fresh, locally sourced, chef-inspired cuisine that changes daily. I love this place. I love the new location. I love the bar. And yes, it's refreshing to dress nicely, even though it's Topsail.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bartenders were very slow. The food was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Bartenders were very slow. The food was fabulous but sit inside as the back deck was inundated with black flies.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious! Make a reservation! We tried ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Delicious! Make a reservation! We tried two apps, wine, drinks, entreas, dessert and coffee. All was absolutely amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We both had fishing dishes and both were ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We both had fishing dishes and both were cooked to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best place to eat on Topsail - we had a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Best place to eat on Topsail - we had a very nice dinner there, the food was very good and the wine list was a very pleasant surprise for a vacation spot. The service was a little slow, but Hey! we were on vacation, so it was good. All of the food items are locally sourced and very well prepared - the shrimp and grits were very good, fresh shrimp in a spicy tomato sauce, with medallions of the grits and wonderful bits of country ham.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was great and the views where a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was great and the views where awesome. However the wait to get seated with a reservation was not acceptable. Had to wait about 30 minutes to get seated. Will try again, but if they can't get their act together on wait time, it will be my last time.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a very nice meal at Bistro. The ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had a very nice meal at Bistro. The cocktails were good, albeit on the small side. The entrées were both quite good. The dish I ordered was a little heavy handed on the cracked black pepper. Luckily, I happen to really love pepper. The pasta and shrimp were perfection, however. And the vegetables were perfect. My wife's grit cakes were incredible! We had a dessert that was very good with fresh berries soaked in wine and puff pastry. Our waitress was great. She made good wine suggestions and checked on us without hovering. All in all we had a nice time and would return for the food. There aren't but so many restaurants in this area, so it's nice to have the Bistro as one of the options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Farm to table dining is worth every penn ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Farm to table dining is worth every penny. Fresh cooked chicken on crispy greens was more than enough. Love the drink menu and can't beat the water view!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table for 4 that was not at the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a table for 4 that was not at the front window. Next time we know when we make the reservation to ask. The view is beautiful. The metal chairs were terribly uncomfortable if you were the least bit heavy. They also have padded chairs but we weren't lucky enough to get those. The sun stayed in my brother in laws eyes, they need more than one shade on the side where the sun goes down. Our table was squished up against the wall. Not very comfortable where I was sitting. I understand the need to maximize seating but...our waitress was nice but harried, not real prompt with drinks. She might have been new! The food was excellent! The menu changes weekly and everything is farm to table from right around NC. They tell you where it s all from on a big sign. Not a real extensive menu. The beniets were to die for!! I would recommend this place but it's a bit pricey for a family at the beach. Great date night dining!

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We love the Bistro!!!!! Always on our li ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love the Bistro!!!!! Always on our list for dining at Topsail Island. The noise was a little more than usual and our poor waitress got three things wrong. I was speaking as loud as I was comfortable . They corrected it each time . Summer's are hectic with all the vacationers. I still love it. The most amazing shrimp and grits! Homemade bread and a salad to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful dinner and great service as us ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful dinner and great service as usual. Very noisy at first, but quieted down later. High back chairs were much more comfortable than the metal chairs. Great view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Top shelf drinks were undrinkable, the b ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Top shelf drinks were undrinkable, the bartender heavy handed on bad sour mix. sour mix does NOT belong in a mojito, small waiting area in bar left us getting elbowed. The bar used to be small, but the bartender used to know how to mix great drinks, NOT SO NOW. The waiter clearly did not want to wait on us, when questioned about menu, short curt response did Not answer our questions. The menu has changed from their previous location, and choices severely limited. We used to enjoy the bistro even with their pretentiousness, but now all you get is pretentiousness, shrimp was dry and noticeably was frozen, crab dip was passable but nothing to write home about. Salad size and quality has noticeably shrunk from their previous location. As this was a birthday night out, extremely disappointed. We will not return, nor will we recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was excellent, especially the e ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was excellent, especially the egg roll appetizer. Beautiful view, and wonderful service. My only suggestion is to get more comfortable chairs. After sitting on the metal chairs for 1 1/2 hours, they get annoying.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was disappointed in the bar service and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Was disappointed in the bar service and the food in general just ok. Appetizer was good. I found that they need to be more prepared?

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

New location. Still working out changes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

New location. Still working out changes and new croud. Foo was outstanding and the view is stunning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The atmosphere is extremely loud. As man ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The atmosphere is extremely loud. As many tables as possible packed into the dining area, too many people for the room. I couldn't share one intimate moment with my family or have a conversation due to the unusually loud volume of the room. The chairs were so cheap and uncomfortable it made leaving the restaurant the best part of the night. The old bistro was much better. Good quality has been sacrificed for quantity of people served. The food was not up to par for The Bistro, all of our favorites were downright awful this time around. Big deal, you are on Wine Spectators list. I take my family out to eat, not drink. A glass of wine is a side to my meal, not the main event. Who cares about your wine list when the pairing food is terrible! After 10 years of vacationing at Topsail and always planning The Bistro as our one definite dinner night, we will not be returning. Drive to Wilmington and try Port & Land, leave the bistro for the locals who have no palate for fine food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

This was a terrific dining experience. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This was a terrific dining experience. We were glad to have had a reservation, however. Thank you, Open Table. Our crab dip appetizer with baguette slices was fabulous. Good salads and soup. Our catfish dishes were exquisitely flavored in complex and interesting ways. The lobster pappardelle was delicious. Only the steak was too undercooked, not the medium rare requested. At home the leftovers in a microwave took care of the under doneness. That should not be. This was, however, a great dining experience with a lovely view of the sound. The service was fine if a bit haphazard. Apologies were made that there was only one person making deliveries to tables for the whole dining room. That seems fixable, doesn't it? This was a fine dining relief from the beach. We recommend it.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My family and I have been fans of Bistro ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

My family and I have been fans of Bistro for many years and have enjoyed many delicious meals in the former location. The new location is just as appealing and the food is, as always, delicious. They have taken the former Cheri's spot and given it a delightful upgrade in decor. The outdoor space is lovely and the view is one of the best in Topsail / Surf City. We will look forward to another wonderful meal next summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything is always fantastic here. The ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Everything is always fantastic here. The one and only reason it is not a 5 star is the cheap metal chairs! It just takes so much away from the place and are so very uncomfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We've been going to the Bistro for the p ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We've been going to the Bistro for the past 4 years now and have always had great experiences. We went to the new location this year for the 4th of July. The food was still up to par and very delicious but was somewhat disappointed with the service this year. (Entree's came out before we were done with our salads, didn't replace butter knives with steak knives, took a long time to find waitress to order more wine.) We assume it was due to the holiday weekend (it wasn't that busy inside though), next time we will go on a less busy night. The new view / location is insanely beautiful though! Still the best restaurant on the island.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The flatiron steak was very good. The fi ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The flatiron steak was very good. The fingerling potatoes and collard greens were nothing special. The menu seems even more limited than our visit last year which is disappointing as we really like to support local restaurants. The new location is great but I will only return to pay these prices if they vary and increase their menu. It would be nice if they would offer bread! Our appetizer of homemade potato chips was another disappointment as about half were undercooked. We have patronized this restaurant since its opening, including New Years Eve, but I think it's just not worth the prices being charged. I hope the owner makes changes before word of mouth makes it another casualty in Surf City.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The appetizers were really good. We had ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The appetizers were really good. We had the egg rolls and crab dip. The drink were not good, we had their special. The main course salad was really good. The hamburgers were over spiced and not cooked to order. The potato chips that were served with these were chewy and should have remained in the kitchen. The 14 spiced steak was good with the greens the potatoes were over spiced. We were greatly disappointed and probably will not return. The view was great but the chairs were terrible. The staff was really friendly though just wished the food was worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

If you like Farm to table, creative cook ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

If you like Farm to table, creative cooking, this should not be missed while at the beach. a great surprise in Surf City! Very good, a bit of a splurge but a wonderful surprise!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great ...hamburger and beans we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was great ...hamburger and beans were too salty....regardless of this we enjoyed the dining experience

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful new location and the food is s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Beautiful new location and the food is still fabulous. It's worth every penny!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a fine dining farm-to-table rest ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is a fine dining farm-to-table restaurant in Topsail, NC with a view that is breathtaking. We would definitely dine again next time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant on the island! I've had ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Best restaurant on the island! I've had a beach house at N. Topsail for 2 years, and wish I'd known about it sooner. I've been there 4 times in the last month, and will continue to go every chance I get!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Crab dip and service as well as view was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Crab dip and service as well as view was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Our family has been going to the Bistro ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our family has been going to the Bistro at Just Baked for 7 years. Quality is always superb. However, the last visit was irritating.

The maitre'd told us our order was misplaced in the kitchen, and our food would be late. We were so hungry by the time the food arrived that we did not enjoy our meal. Since our prior experiences at the Bistro were positive, we did not worry about scheduling a 3 hour drive after our dinner. It was a mistake.

In similar situations, other restaurants offered us free desserts or a discount. No one even said "sorry".

Our family is taking break from the Bistro. Normally it is highlight to our Topsail Island visits. Next time on the island we will make or bring our food, at most, go out for pizza or Chinese.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was amazing. Love the fact that ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was amazing. Love the fact that's it's organic and local. Great view of the water and pleasant ambiance. Wait staff was super helpful. Definitely coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.