About The Bistro at Just Baked

602 B Roland Ave
Surf City, NC 28445
View Larger Map

Award Winning Farm to Plate restaurant on Topsail Island.
Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Winner 2015


MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu


Sorry but due to the limited size of our dining room we are unable to accommodate groups larger than 10 people

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday @ 5:30 pm
MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu

Cross Street:
High Point Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 328-2000

Website:
http://www.topsailbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lots in front of restaurant

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Bud Taylor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We will gladly book your special event on location.

Restaurant Photos

The Bistro at Just Baked Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
11 More
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Surf City ›

scenic view (46)
special occasion (39)
fit for foodies (37)
See All
neighborhood gem (31)
romantic (26)
notable wine list (21)
hot spot (12)
good for groups (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Its by far, hands down, no discussion th ...

Dined 5 days ago

Its by far, hands down, no discussion the best place on Topsail Island and the best restaurant in Surf City!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

wonderful food in beautiful new building

Dined on May 21, 2016

Went out to dinner for old friends. Had a wonderful meal and excellent service. Food was delicious and restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The new location ROCKS!!! Great view for ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The new location ROCKS!!! Great view for anyone in the main dining area. We have been to Bistro twice in the last month and the space is really cold!!! So take a jacket or shawl or you will freeze. The food is great, maybe a teeny bit expensive for what you get - we live in Chapel Hill and can get a similar meal for about 20% less - but I get that they have seasonal times and have to take the customers when they come. We will go back - be sure and make a reservation way in advance if you want a seat in the dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was great, except they were o ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Everything was great, except they were out of the flat iron steak by 7p.m.! As someone who doesn't eat seafood or duck, it left only a burger as an option. The burger was delicious, but I was hoping for a little something more. A chicken option would have been nice too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everytime we come visit the in-laws, i e ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Everytime we come visit the in-laws, i end up trek-ing everyone down to Wilmington cuz i didnt think it possible to get high caliber food .... I can safely say i was wrong!!!! The staff knowledgable The food very well prepared They really left a mark on this foodie... Jordan knew her menu, wine list well thought out... farm to table, ocean catch to table fit for discerning tastes!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was extraordinary, but it was t ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was extraordinary, but it was the service that took the overall dining experience over the top.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our third time dining here. We ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our third time dining here. We love this restaurant. The menu changes constantly, they use local seafood, they have their own garden and use local farmers. Every meal we have had has been perfectly seasoned and prepared. For this occasion I chose the crab and shrimp risotto which was delicious. It was a very large portion that I could not finish. My friend ordered the hamburger. It was amazing on a pretzel roll and grilled to perfection with homemade chips. My husband had the rib eye which he loved and our other friend had the roasted duck which was melt in your mouth amazing. We ordered the crab dip for an appetizer and it was piping hot with baked feta on top. Yum ! For dessert we had the beignets. Really good. But we saw the strawberry shortcake go by and wish we had also ordered that ! This restaurant is not your normal tourist island fare. It is hip, innovative, great wine list, and the most gorgeous view of the sound. If you are near Topsail Island and love fine dining, you must try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always fabulous here. We enjoy i ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food is always fabulous here. We enjoy it every time we eat there!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Bar was disappointment...seemed like we ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Bar was disappointment...seemed like we were in a closet & bartender seemed extremely stressed - although only 6 people in the bar! The food was good but salad greens & sautéed greens served with entree were gritty - should have been washed prior to preparation! A good suggestion would be to add some dividers in various locations in dining area to add some privacy/ambiance to dining experience - more like cafe dining in its current state!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Absolutely delicious food! I have been t ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Absolutely delicious food! I have been twice now and both times I have loved what I ordered. Service was only okay. We waited 10 minutes for a server to come over. She was knowledgeable but seemed unprepared. Overall it was the best restaurant I eaten at since I moved here from atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is excellent, a little pricy, but y ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food is excellent, a little pricy, but you get what you pay for. Temperature is way too cold, just like it was in the old location...at least 10 degrees too cold so take a sweater. Some dining chairs are nice and some are uncomfortable metal chairs. I hope the metal chairs are just temporary, otherwise ask for the cushioned chairs. We will definitely be a regular customer.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Organic, Farm to Table

Dined on May 10, 2016

All 3 dishes at our table were excellent in taste and presentation. And we shared the in-house-made flourless chocolate torte...so rich in flavor!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bud is the BEST! !

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I have dined here many times. The food has always been great!! There was a couple of times my wife tried something new that I would talk her into and she might not of liked. She just don't have the palate for new things like I do. If the server noticed my wife's plate of food half eaten, they would ask is everything good. If not, they always take it off the bill. We have also been treated to free desserts which were absolutely delicious!! We love the Bistro and tell everybody we know that they should try them out!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Food and Service

Dined on May 6, 2016

We have really enjoyed the Bistro over the past few years. The food is wonderful and always a great dining experience. The noise level at the new location is quite loud. A few drapes or rugs might help absorb the noise. Not a restaurant for young children.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Chef, Local Food, & Stupendous Views

Dined on May 6, 2016

Six of us ate at The Bistro on a beautiful Friday evening. Everything was fantastic. Our wait person knew the food items and had tasted them so they were knowledgeable and informative. The service was attentive and perfect, not in your face, but serving when they observed our needs. We all ate different things and everyone loved what they ordered. I had NC grilled swordfish on a delicious Risotto. We love the 'new' location.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic menu, great staff

Dined on May 6, 2016

Fantastic menu, great staff

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great New Location

Dined on May 5, 2016

The new location on the water adds to the already great food!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 22, 2016

Expensive. Stingy wine pour (1/3 glass); salad all arugula; limited menu; no soup or specials; décor too much grey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chairs

Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything regarding the food and service was excellent. My only discomfort was the metal chairs. They were very uncomfortable to sit on. Next time I will request the padded chairs.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands down the best restaurant on the island.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Hands down the best restaurant on the island. When we go out, we always choose this restaurant because we know we won't be disappointed. Low country egg rolls for appetizer and then my favorite hamburger in the state! I couldn't recommend it more!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & excellent service

Dined on April 17, 2016

Been there once, but will return. I love that it's so close to Hampstead. Reservations are a must. Their bread is outrageously delicious. The flat iron steak cooked to perfection. And the red snapper with pappardelle noodles smothered in a silky corn sauce was delicious. Getting hungry again just thinking about it. Our server was very sweet and attentive. Sorry, I've forgotten her name.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

First time at new location

Dined on April 16, 2016

The Bistro has moved locations and thankfully is still a great place to eat. This is truly the best place to go around the island for top notch gourmet dishes. The menu changes regularly but typically incorporates a lot of local seafood. This evening we had the duck, shrimp & scallop risotto, snapper, and burger. Had the new grit cakes appetizer. All great as usual. Wine list is large and still reasonably priced. The new main dining room was quite loud when we were there as it was peak dining hours and every table was busy, but the waterway views make up for it. Looking forward to dining outside on the next visit. FIVE STARS!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DELICIOUS.

Dined on April 14, 2016

Dean had the duck. I had the snapper. Mac and cheese as an appetite. We had a window seat looking over the ICWW at sunset. Who could ask for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The New Improved Bistro

Dined on April 14, 2016

This is the first time we've visited The Bistro at its new location and we were more than pleased. The decor with it's gray floors, gray weathered wood walls, is warm and lovely. The view of the sound can't be beat. We'd stopped going to the old Bistro because it was so cramped and lacked atmosphere, so this is a great change. Fortunately, the food was just as outstanding. The three of us had the crab dip appetizer, excellent shrimp and grits, delicious farfalle topped with shrimp and scallops and a main dish salad which our friend declared was "amazing." For dessert, we shared beignets which were a little lackluster for my taste, but still good. The prices at more modest restaurants on the island have gone up (Daddy Mac's and Sears Landing) and the food is nowhere near this quality, which makes us feel better about paying the slightly higher price. Our friend paid for herself, so the total for our appetizer, one glass of wine, and iced tea, our two seafood entrees and the beignets with a generous tip for excellent service came to a bit over $100. Well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always wonderful!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We don't splurge often, but when we do it is always at The Bistro!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

1st visit at the new location

Dined on April 1, 2016

I have been to The Bistro 4-5 times over the past 2 years in their previous location. What I loved about it was the small town, warm and cozy feeling it had when you dined there. The servers would always take a moment to get to know the customer. Maybe by asking where they were from or what brought them in. Making us always feel like we were home. Although the food was great at the new location it seemed to lose the cozy small town feeling. It felt more like a larger chain where you just become a number instead of a neighbor or friend. The great thing about Surf City is how nice all the local people are. When you go in their shops or restaurants everyone greets you like they have known you forever. The Bistro didn't have that feel the other night. I hope they find it again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant and the view is the ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and the view is the best on the island. Innovative menu !

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great New Location

Dined on March 31, 2016

Same great food and good service with the added benefit of a new location with a beautiful dining room and a wonderful view of the water!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

On Topsail Island there are few restaura ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

On Topsail Island there are few restaurants, and even fewer good ones. Several market themselves as" fine dining" and charge as such. For 30 years I have never had a GREAT meal on the island. ... Until this weekend. The Bistro was awesome. The atmosphere was a little loud, but the waitstaff was welcoming and professional, and the food was really, really good!! I am so happy to have found them and will be back a lot!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always

Dined on March 19, 2016

We always enjoy The Bistro. I really like the exclusiveness of the restaurant. Never over crowded, and it a meal you can really take slow and enjoy. Speciality drinks are always great and there is always some form of steak which I love and always a scallop/crab/shrimp dish which my wife loves. It is amazing what they did with the new location. It was always dark and dim now it is so bright and refreshing. It just feels clean and crisp.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

This is definitely the best fine dining ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

This is definitely the best fine dining experience on Topsail Island. The food, presentation and service are outstanding. Excellent selection of wine & beer with a full bar. The new location is perfect. More parking, more seating and the view of the marsh is spectacular! I highly recommend. I have been 3 times over the past year and I have never been disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always.

Dined on January 30, 2016

Looking forward to the new location on the waterfront. The only thing missing from the old location was a view and now we will have it. Bud is an excellent chef.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant on (or near) the island!!

Dined on January 30, 2016

This IS the best burger in the state, and is DEFINITELY the best restaurant on this 27 mile long island! When we go out to eat, it is almost always at the Bistro because we KNOW we will get impeccable food quality and great service. This is a triple thumbs up!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent!

Dined on January 29, 2016

The food is always excellent! It is nice to have such a great restaurant on Topsail Island. This is not your typical fried seafood joint. (Not saying there is anything wrong with good ole fried seafood.) This is high end, high quality food and creative dishes. The bartender , Kate , is excellent and fun to chat with while you are waiting or eating at the bar. I had the trigger fish this past weekend and it was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Average

Dined on January 22, 2016

Usually enjoy the experience at The Bistro and recommend it to new residences in the area. Everything I have ordered there has been delicious, with the exception of the steak-which is too salty and was not tender on both occasions.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Some Inconsistency for the First Time

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

We've dined at Bistro several times over the past year and found it both unique and enjoyable. The dishes are creative and fresh ingredients abound. The wine selection is more than adequate, and drinks are well prepared. This time, however, we did suffer some inconsistency. While my dinner guest's shrimp and scallop winter risotto was superb, my flat iron steak was far from tender. While I asked for medium/rare, it was served seared, and even when it came back medium most of the serving was still very difficult to cut. As I noted, this is the first time we've had a less than wonderful food experience, so I'll trust this was just an unfortunate oversight. We're looking forward to dining the their new location this Spring! I would note that while the various servers were quite attentive and pleasant, our waitress seemed distracted and less than pleased when I asked that my steak receive additional attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite Restaurant on the Island

Dined on January 2, 2016

The bistro is easily our favorite restaurant on the island. Great service and incredible food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Slow with seating

Dined on December 31, 2015

Had a reservation, but still had to wait 25 minutes....other than that, food was excellent and service was great. They will only hold a reservation for 10 minutes if you are not there, so I should not expect more that a 10 minute wait... The whole 25 minutes we were the only couple waiting for our seat so it was not super busy... Hopefully their new location this spring will have much more room.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

Island Dining, Food to Crave

Dined on December 13, 2015

Once again we were treated to a delicious dinner at the Bistro. We had the always outstanding Low Country Eggrolls for an app and proceeded to our burgers cooked Bud's way. My craving has been satisfied for the time being. Can't wait to dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Parking

Dined on December 12, 2015

Everything about The Bistro was excellent except for the parking. Can't wait for you to move to your new location.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.