About The Bistro at Just Baked

602 B Roland Ave
Surf City, NC 28445
View Larger Map

Award Winning Farm to Plate restaurant on Topsail Island.
Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Winner 2015


MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu


Sorry but due to the limited size of our dining room we are unable to accommodate groups larger than 10 people

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday @ 5:30 pm
MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu

Cross Street:
High Point Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 328-2000

Website:
http://www.topsailbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lots in front of restaurant

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Bud Taylor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will gladly book your special event on location.

Restaurant Photos

The Bistro at Just Baked
Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon
Manhattan Crab Chowder
Kona Brewing Longboard Lager
Ribeye
Grilled Mahi Mahi And Shrimp
Blue Crab Stuffed Flounder
Drinkin' Mussels And Clams
Ahi Tuna Steak With Shrimps
Blue Crab And Artichoke Dip

The Bistro at Just Baked Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Surf City ›

Scenic View (88)
Fit for Foodies (75)
Special Occasion (67)
See All
Notable Wine List (52)
Romantic (49)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Good for Groups (16)
Waterfront (16)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Healthy (11)
Good for a Date (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Organic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was phenomenal! My husband and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was phenomenal! My husband and I both felt it was our best meal ever!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Healthy, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view of the sound was awesome. The r ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The view of the sound was awesome. The restaurant facilities are excellent. We have dined there five times and the food and service is always first class. The staff are very attentive to your needs. Great menu that changes to offer new choices. Great mixed drinks. The portions are ample.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been going to the bistro since it h ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I've been going to the bistro since it has been open, this was one of the best dining experiences to date. They accommodated me with a beautiful vegetable platter, that was so excellent! The outdoor dining they have added this year, really makes it a special dining experience. Our server was the best server i've had at the bistro as well. The new bar area looks amazing as well, great job! I will always recommend this restaurant to others as the best place to eat on the island.

Beautiful job on the new spot!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was good, 1st two dishes that we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Steak was good, 1st two dishes that we ordered were sold out. Wife ordered the pork chop which was very dry. Wine selection was good. Great Craft beer selection. Will eat here again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

They have two types of chairs in the din ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

They have two types of chairs in the dining room - the soft, cushioned type and the hard metal type. My first time there we were seated in the metal chairs and it was most uncomfortable. I mentioned this to the receptionist on the way out. This last time we were seated in the softer chairs and it was excellent.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and service only complai ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

excellent food and service only complaint is when paying $30.00 for dinner and you would like a role or piece of bread it costs you $8.00 a little over charge

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We tried the Bistro in it's new location ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We tried the Bistro in it's new location and were very pleased. The food was wonderful and we enjoyed the view of the waterway from a table by the window,

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was fabulous. The chairs very u ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The food was fabulous. The chairs very uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Food was fabulous. Special cocktail, Sea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was fabulous. Special cocktail, Seaspray, was so-so. We started outside but got really chilly before the food came and were accommodated and allowed to move in. Portions are ample so order accordingly. Shrimp and grits were likely the most flavorful I have had. The vegetables included in the dish were fantastic. Boys had the rib eye and also gave rave reviews. So glad to see the focus on locally sourced food at Topsail and attention to bold flavors and seasoning . Well worth the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service seems to have deterioted the las ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Service seems to have deterioted the last two trips we have made. Don"t know if it's the kitchen or wait staff. Food as usual was excellent. Seated about 7 :15 finished at 9:30. That's a little too long.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a nice time, the staff was very h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We had a nice time, the staff was very helpful. However, they had next to none of the craft beers on their list, and one of us had catfish that wasn't fully cooked. They handled it well, but seems a strange misstep. The ingredients are all fresh and that's the real draw here, and with the exception of the catfish, everything was prepared well. But the dishes seem a little less imaginative than we had hoped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely setting. The fish dishes are typi ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Lovely setting. The fish dishes are typically well prepared. Our experience with several different meat entrees has been disappointing, given the price point. The Bistro Salad with the added topping of prime rib yielded a very ordinary salad with strips of overly seasoned (heavy Cajun from a jar?) mostly raw meat, which I had ordered medium rare. The meat was almost inedible and the cost of the salad was $27-$28. On a previous visit a meat entree needed to be returned due to it being raw and cold. Unfortunately, the unevenness of the cooking causes us to question whether we will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Farm to table choices were so delicious! ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Farm to table choices were so delicious! Waitress was knowledgeable and had many good recommendations! Shrimp were so good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Once again we were very pleased with our ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Once again we were very pleased with our dining experience. Varying menu keeps us coming back and our server was courteous, attentive and professional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Extremely overpriced. No flexibility as ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Extremely overpriced. No flexibility as far as substitutions (side dishes).

Would not return

Over $150 for two women

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Food was fantastic. Best bourbon select ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was fantastic. Best bourbon selection I've ever found.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent food and service, nice view of ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

excellent food and service, nice view of the marsh and water way at Topsail Beach, NC

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Bistro is one of our favorite places ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Bistro is one of our favorite places on the island and we were thrilled when we heard they changed locations. We have since been twice. Even with the new, beautiful view, the outside seating leaves much to be desired. Our food and wine were covered in flies, making them almost not enjoyable. The view of the water is gorgeous, but that of the trailer park beside it is terrible. Fans are MUCH needed outside. Both to cool it off a bit and help keep flies away. I also feel like a shutter or something of the sort needs to be added to somewhat hide the trailers. Needless to say, despite the view, I highly suggest sitting inside the restaurant.

The inside seating is very nice and seems to be more spacious than the old location. The bar area isn't great (both very small and stuffy), but does the trick to grab a drink while you wait. Our food was wonderful, as is the case most times we dine here. The service was also quite nice. We enjoyed are visits this summer.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

A pleasant experience. A slow start with ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

A pleasant experience. A slow start with initial drink order but everything fine after that. Had a very pleasant waitress. Food was good. Best spot in Surf City. You can dress sporty casual here, it has an appropriate touch of class.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I felt the restaurant was totally not fl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I felt the restaurant was totally not flexible in their menu choices. Did not like the combinations of vegetables and side dishes associated with the meals that were available.

Felt the restaurant prices were much higher than the value of the food that you received. Again totally dissatisfied with the under flexible choices offered by the restaurant. Not able to exchange choices I did not like with choices that I would have preferred with my meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

It was a great experience - relaxed and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a great experience - relaxed and comfortable. It was our 45th Wedding Anniversary and we both thoroughly enjoyed the evening from great service, view of the waterway and wild grasses and of course the wonderful food. We enjoyed the properly seasoned, tender rib-eye cooked to perfection, as were the grilled sea scallops and the snapper. This is not to say the collard greens weren't great, they were; as well as the superb organic peach cobbler with bourbon ice cream. French pressed coffee - a nice touch to finish a wonderful evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was delicious. Love the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The restaurant was delicious. Love the farm to table concept. It's southern style farm to table so be mindful if you have a Upstate palate. ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The Bistro was fantastic when we went. A ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Bistro was fantastic when we went. A small menu focused on using local products to their full potential. I had one of the best burgers I have ever had and my girlfriend had a phenomenal salad that was gigantic. The view out of the window was fantastic as was the service. I definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a romantic getaway

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Absolutely beautiful setting, ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing! Absolutely beautiful setting, great view, awesome/attentive service (Tamara), fantastic menu, awesome wine list .... and everything we ate was spectacular! That dinner made my whole vacation!

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their new location is marvelous, with vi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Their new location is marvelous, with views of marsh grasses and the Intracoastal Waterway. And the food is inventive, local, and delicious, especially the fish options. Don't miss the fried okra starter!

Great cocktails, too, and an exhaust and well priced wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Katie our waitress was great. There was ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Katie our waitress was great. There was 5 of us. Apps and everyone else's meals were excellent. My pork chop was cooked just as I ordered, just didn't have any flavor. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious. Decorations bea ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was delicious. Decorations beautiful but the tables were entirely too close to each other, to the point we could not push our chair in. The crowded space added to the noise level. They need to take 2-3 tables out of main dining room. We ordered mojitos and the soda water was flat:( so stuck to beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

plenty of tables and staff ready but sti ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

plenty of tables and staff ready but still got put into bar area ( to push drinks prior to dinner) reservation far in advance rest of visit enjoyable. Should make tables on deck available for more than 4.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My most favorite go to with incredible f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My most favorite go to with incredible food and service, especially by Jordan! Know to ask for table 1,3, or 5 for future times. Absolutely love everything about The Bistro, every meal is the "wow" factor.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was quite good and probably best in ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was quite good and probably best in Surf City. Ordeal about a threat of $25pp charge for changed reservations is offensive, pretentious and unnecessary. Have never heard of such. But food was good and that's hard to find in Surf/Topsail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Started off with a great view, right by ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Started off with a great view, right by the window. Our drinks were delivered shortly after we ordered, and they were mixed to perfection. I had an old fashion and my wife had a cucumber ginger martini.

Great food, the appetizer was a delicious low country egg roll, the salad and main courses we're perfect.

More than enough food. Didn't save room for desert, but will next time!

Our waitress couldn't have been better.

Will definitely return with some friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The great service staff saved our evenin ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The great service staff saved our evening. We asked to be outside, the flies were unforgiving.

They were able to move us (4) inside so that we could eat in peace. Please screen in porch when in your budget. it is a nice setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband ordered the Mako. It was goo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband ordered the Mako. It was good, but a bit over overcooked However, that night about 2:00 am he became very ill with a terrible stomach issue. So either, the fish was not properly handled or he is allergic to Mako . We had been to the previous location, to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was amazing. It seemed there was more attention paid to the preparation and presentation of the food. We are willing to try it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The new location is great. This is the ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The new location is great. This is the only restaurant we go to for local dinner. Great seafood and well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The Bistros new location on the sound is ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The Bistros new location on the sound is beautiful! The food is very much farm to table -- incredibly fresh and vibrant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Bistro was amazing! Our server, Kati ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Bistro was amazing! Our server, Katie, was sweet, professional and thorough. We will be back. Beautiful view! And so nice to see this beautiful spot as a fine dining venue again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is outstanding!!!!!!! Great service ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food is outstanding!!!!!!! Great service and the views from the restaurant are breathtaking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Personally, I prefer the menu from their ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Personally, I prefer the menu from their prior location.

There were no daily specials and a very limited number of items on the Sunday Evening menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow, took over 1 hour ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was very slow, took over 1 hour to have the entrees served. Entree quality was good, side dishes, poor at best. Tried to substitute scallops for shrimp and were told no.

Would not recommend and do not plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

This is a great place for a special occa ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a great place for a special occasion. The atmosphere is classy and welcoming. The view of the water would be a big draw for most people. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The food is excellent. We came here for dinner for our 5th anniversary and had the ribeye sandwich with chips, grits, collard greens, and bread which came with an amazing chutney. The sauce with the grits made that dish just a little too spicy for my wife's taste, but otherwise everything was great. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.