About The Bistro at Just Baked

602 B Roland Ave
Surf City, NC 28445
View Larger Map

Award Winning Farm to Plate restaurant on Topsail Island.
Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Winner 2015


MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu


Sorry but due to the limited size of our dining room we are unable to accommodate groups larger than 10 people

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday @ 5:30 pm
MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu

Cross Street:
High Point Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 328-2000

Website:
http://www.topsailbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lots in front of restaurant

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Bud Taylor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will gladly book your special event on location.

Restaurant Photos

The Bistro at Just Baked, Surf City, NC
Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie - The Bistro at Just Baked, Surf City, NC
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon - The Bistro at Just Baked, Surf City, NC
Manhattan Crab Chowder - The Bistro at Just Baked, Surf City, NC
Kona Brewing Longboard Lager - The Bistro at Just Baked, Surf City, NC
Ribeye - The Bistro at Just Baked, Surf City, NC
Grilled Mahi Mahi And Shrimp - The Bistro at Just Baked, Surf City, NC
Blue Crab Stuffed Flounder - The Bistro at Just Baked, Surf City, NC
Drinkin' Mussels And Clams - The Bistro at Just Baked, Surf City, NC
Ahi Tuna Steak With Shrimps - The Bistro at Just Baked, Surf City, NC
Blue Crab And Artichoke Dip - The Bistro at Just Baked, Surf City, NC

The Bistro at Just Baked Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Surf City ›

Scenic View (27)
Waterfront (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Healthy (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Organic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Seasonal (6)
Romantic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Private Room (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
808 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

IT IS A GREAT PLACE TO EAT!!! THE FOOD I ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 26, 2016

IT IS A GREAT PLACE TO EAT!!! THE FOOD IS AWESOME AND THE STAFF MAKES YOU FEEL LIKE FAMILY!!! WISH WE WERE LOCAL SO WE COULD GO EVERYNIGHT!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Casual, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time visiting The Bistro. Everyth ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Second time visiting The Bistro. Everything is fresh and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered the duck dinner. Duck was good b ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ordered the duck dinner. Duck was good but whatever was served with it was overly salty and looked like it had just been brought in from the truck stop. Black, black, black. Overcooked and not good. The worst part was having the pleasure of sitting on what looked like outdoor metal chairs. Half the tables appeared to have padded thicker chairs and the others reminded me of the chairs I had in choir in high school 50 years ago. Chair behind be hit me on the back of the head all evening and there wasn't enough room for me to move away from it. This was our first trip to Bistro since your relocation. You went from our favorite high end restaurant to maybe 4th or 5th. Not impressed.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Wonderful food, interior fantastic. A li ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful food, interior fantastic. A little loud, but not so much to distruput the meal. Only issue was the Sauvignon Blanc list was mostly from California and we paid $30+ for a $16 bottle of Kim Crawford since it was the cheaper of the two New Zealand Sauvignon Blancs.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I have eaten at the Bistro twice in the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I have eaten at the Bistro twice in the last three weeks and both times the food and service were terrific. The farm to Island approach to the menu was interesting and executed with thoughtfulness. I would return with guests with confidence that the menu would be relevant to the season and the atmosphere appropriate for fine dining.

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Was turned off by charge to make reserva ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Was turned off by charge to make reservation initially. Was not charged on open table. Had read many complaints about pricing and they were so wrong. Best place to eat at surf city. Eating there twice this week. Will always return. Excellent food and presentation. 5 stars.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleasantly surprised. The ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised. The food is great and reasonably priced. We will definitely go there again and take friends and family.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hostess was not attentive or welcoming A ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Hostess was not attentive or welcoming

All of the food was VERY salty

Atmosphere was pleasing

Buying locally sourced food is appealing

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had heard about Burgers and Bourbon N ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We had heard about Burgers and Bourbon Night at the Bistro for a long time, but the words didn't measure up to how really great this is. Special bourbon drinks (wine or others if you want) and gourmet burgers to absolutely die for. Just perfect sitting and looking out at the water. The hostess and wait staff were more than kind and attending to our every need.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely meal with a great view of the riv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Lovely meal with a great view of the river. Interesting food. Enjoyed the patio.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our dining experience was fantastic. We ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our dining experience was fantastic. We plan to go every time we are at the beach.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Disabled Access, Cozy, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Enjoyable evenin ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food and service. Enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is one of our go-to places when we' ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is one of our go-to places when we're on Topsail Island. The food is delicious and the service is always outstanding!! They keep out-growing their locations and it's easy to see why!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great as usual. Dinner at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was great as usual. Dinner at the Bistro never disappoints, and the seasonal menu changes provide new dishes to try. The cocktails are amazing and beautifully hand crafter with fresh ingredients. We went with a group of 4 on a Saturday night, and the only negative aspect was that our delicious cocktails took about 20 minutes to reach the table. On a Saturday night, the restaurant is always packed, but for some reason there was only one bartender. She was swamped with drink orders, which caused our cocktails to arrive with our main courses even though we ordered them when we first sat down. We love the Bistro though and would recommend it to anyone. Its great for groups of friends or for a romantic date night.

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Pros: Great food~ Drinks~ outstanding se ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Pros: Great food~ Drinks~ outstanding service! We will definitely return!

Cons: Issues getting reservation on line for larger party- keep defaulting to 2 people; ran out of entrees 2 people were planning on getting; extremely cold inside!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are never disappointed with the food ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We are never disappointed with the food at The Bistro. We have been multiple times and really enjoy the outside seating when there are no flies. This particular time we were sitting inside and there was a very load table with intoxicated patrons disturbing the entire restaurant with their loud voices. I kindly asked the hostess to see what she could do and she addressed the issue best she could.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is very good and has absolutely ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food is very good and has absolutely fresh products. The seafood was especially delicious. The dessert of key lime tart was to die for and every last crumb was eaten. Wine selections are good. Service was attentive,but not pawing. Would absolutely recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted by a hostess that seemed ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were greeted by a hostess that seemed surprised to see us which was strange because we made a reservation that carried a hefty fee ($25/person) if we canceled. We were told our table wasn't ready - the other reservation rule was that we would forfeit if we were more than 10 minutes late - so I felt like this was just a ploy to get us into the bar to buy drinks. And this is why the 4 star rating.

Now for the good. Easily the best food we've ever had in Topsail. Upscale, freshest local ingredients, different choices. The menu changes everyday so this will only be a guide.

For appetizers we had the crab dip served with crostini. Yum. And the fresh homemade bread with Gorgonzola butter and a peach chutney. Amazing. Not a fan of paying for bread with a $$ meal but it was delicious. Snapper was served over a bed of greens on a cauliflower purée that was spicy/sweet. Incredible. Waitress named it as the favorite and she was right! Our group also had the duck and pork chop to rave reviews. We even had the hamburger which was cooked perfectly and stacked with cheese, tomatoes, and lettuce. Stacked.

Dessert was beignets - more like fried dough balls - with cinnamon and sugar. A good dessert to share.

All in all a great experience. A little more southern hospitality would make this place a 5.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Waterfront, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best restaurant around and we've bee ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The best restaurant around and we've been to all of them. It is certainly worth the price, as it is more expensive than most. The food is delicious, portions are large, served beautifully.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fine dining in a casual atmosphere ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great fine dining in a casual atmosphere at the beach! Fresh, perfectly prepared seafood, beef, pork and vegetarian dishes. What more could you want!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

as usual the food was delicious! This w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 6, 2016

as usual the food was delicious! This was our first visit to the new location. The ambiance is perfect. In spite of the pending Hurricane Matthew we had a great time and celebrated a wonderful anniversary!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Bar Seating, Private Room, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except we were the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything was great except we were the only 4 top where they say is and we had one seat that facing the entry into the bar and a wall what a let down. They should know better for a restaurant that is on the water considering every other table whether there were 2, 4, or 6 guests did not have that problem. Another experience like that and I will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not a good experience. Got a reservatio ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Not a good experience. Got a reservation for Sat night at 8:45......was the best we could get. Got there and it was almost 30 minutes till we were seated (note there were MANY tables open but uncleared) and when we went to order, they were OUT OF everything we wanted. We should have walked right then. Dinner came....,.not very good and spent $63 (only 1 beer) so we will not ever return. One of os had a salad with shrimp and the other a pork chop. Had to ask several times for our waitress to come by our table. We have choices, and this will NEVER again be one on the options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We are locals and have been patrons of t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We are locals and have been patrons of the Bistro for a couple years. We have always had excellent service, drinks and food. This time the service was subpar, food was average and prices had gone up. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was phenomenal! My husband and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was phenomenal! My husband and I both felt it was our best meal ever!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Healthy, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view of the sound was awesome. The r ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The view of the sound was awesome. The restaurant facilities are excellent. We have dined there five times and the food and service is always first class. The staff are very attentive to your needs. Great menu that changes to offer new choices. Great mixed drinks. The portions are ample.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been going to the bistro since it h ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 14, 2016

I've been going to the bistro since it has been open, this was one of the best dining experiences to date. They accommodated me with a beautiful vegetable platter, that was so excellent! The outdoor dining they have added this year, really makes it a special dining experience. Our server was the best server i've had at the bistro as well. The new bar area looks amazing as well, great job! I will always recommend this restaurant to others as the best place to eat on the island.

Beautiful job on the new spot!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was good, 1st two dishes that we ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Steak was good, 1st two dishes that we ordered were sold out. Wife ordered the pork chop which was very dry. Wine selection was good. Great Craft beer selection. Will eat here again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

They have two types of chairs in the din ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 9, 2016

They have two types of chairs in the dining room - the soft, cushioned type and the hard metal type. My first time there we were seated in the metal chairs and it was most uncomfortable. I mentioned this to the receptionist on the way out. This last time we were seated in the softer chairs and it was excellent.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and service only complai ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 8, 2016

excellent food and service only complaint is when paying $30.00 for dinner and you would like a role or piece of bread it costs you $8.00 a little over charge

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We tried the Bistro in it's new location ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We tried the Bistro in it's new location and were very pleased. The food was wonderful and we enjoyed the view of the waterway from a table by the window,

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was fabulous. The chairs very u ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The food was fabulous. The chairs very uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Food was fabulous. Special cocktail, Sea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was fabulous. Special cocktail, Seaspray, was so-so. We started outside but got really chilly before the food came and were accommodated and allowed to move in. Portions are ample so order accordingly. Shrimp and grits were likely the most flavorful I have had. The vegetables included in the dish were fantastic. Boys had the rib eye and also gave rave reviews. So glad to see the focus on locally sourced food at Topsail and attention to bold flavors and seasoning . Well worth the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service seems to have deterioted the las ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Service seems to have deterioted the last two trips we have made. Don"t know if it's the kitchen or wait staff. Food as usual was excellent. Seated about 7 :15 finished at 9:30. That's a little too long.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a nice time, the staff was very h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We had a nice time, the staff was very helpful. However, they had next to none of the craft beers on their list, and one of us had catfish that wasn't fully cooked. They handled it well, but seems a strange misstep. The ingredients are all fresh and that's the real draw here, and with the exception of the catfish, everything was prepared well. But the dishes seem a little less imaginative than we had hoped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely setting. The fish dishes are typi ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Lovely setting. The fish dishes are typically well prepared. Our experience with several different meat entrees has been disappointing, given the price point. The Bistro Salad with the added topping of prime rib yielded a very ordinary salad with strips of overly seasoned (heavy Cajun from a jar?) mostly raw meat, which I had ordered medium rare. The meat was almost inedible and the cost of the salad was $27-$28. On a previous visit a meat entree needed to be returned due to it being raw and cold. Unfortunately, the unevenness of the cooking causes us to question whether we will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Farm to table choices were so delicious! ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Farm to table choices were so delicious! Waitress was knowledgeable and had many good recommendations! Shrimp were so good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Once again we were very pleased with our ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Once again we were very pleased with our dining experience. Varying menu keeps us coming back and our server was courteous, attentive and professional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Extremely overpriced. No flexibility as ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Extremely overpriced. No flexibility as far as substitutions (side dishes).

Would not return

Over $150 for two women

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Food was fantastic. Best bourbon select ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was fantastic. Best bourbon selection I've ever found.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.