About The Bistro at Just Baked

602 B Roland Ave
Surf City, NC 28445
View Larger Map

Award Winning Farm to Plate restaurant on Topsail Island.
Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Winner 2015


MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu


Sorry but due to the limited size of our dining room we are unable to accommodate groups larger than 10 people

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday @ 5:30 pm
MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu

Cross Street:
High Point Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 328-2000

Website:
http://www.topsailbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lots in front of restaurant

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Bud Taylor

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will gladly book your special event on location.

Restaurant Photos

The Bistro at Just Baked
Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon
Manhattan Crab Chowder
Kona Brewing Longboard Lager
Ribeye
Grilled Mahi Mahi And Shrimp
Blue Crab Stuffed Flounder
Drinkin' Mussels And Clams
Ahi Tuna Steak With Shrimps
Blue Crab And Artichoke Dip

The Bistro at Just Baked Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
5 More
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Surf City ›

Scenic View (98)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Special Occasion (74)
See All
Romantic (55)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Notable Wine List (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Good for Groups (20)
Hot Spot (14)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
772 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Farm to table choices were so delicious! ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 5 days ago

Farm to table choices were so delicious! Waitress was knowledgeable and had many good recommendations! Shrimp were so good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Once again we were very pleased with our ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Once again we were very pleased with our dining experience. Varying menu keeps us coming back and our server was courteous, attentive and professional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Extremely overpriced. No flexibility as ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Extremely overpriced. No flexibility as far as substitutions (side dishes).

Would not return

Over $150 for two women

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Food was fantastic. Best bourbon select ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was fantastic. Best bourbon selection I've ever found.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent food and service, nice view of ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

excellent food and service, nice view of the marsh and water way at Topsail Beach, NC

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Bistro is one of our favorite places ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Bistro is one of our favorite places on the island and we were thrilled when we heard they changed locations. We have since been twice. Even with the new, beautiful view, the outside seating leaves much to be desired. Our food and wine were covered in flies, making them almost not enjoyable. The view of the water is gorgeous, but that of the trailer park beside it is terrible. Fans are MUCH needed outside. Both to cool it off a bit and help keep flies away. I also feel like a shutter or something of the sort needs to be added to somewhat hide the trailers. Needless to say, despite the view, I highly suggest sitting inside the restaurant.

The inside seating is very nice and seems to be more spacious than the old location. The bar area isn't great (both very small and stuffy), but does the trick to grab a drink while you wait. Our food was wonderful, as is the case most times we dine here. The service was also quite nice. We enjoyed are visits this summer.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

A pleasant experience. A slow start with ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

A pleasant experience. A slow start with initial drink order but everything fine after that. Had a very pleasant waitress. Food was good. Best spot in Surf City. You can dress sporty casual here, it has an appropriate touch of class.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I felt the restaurant was totally not fl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I felt the restaurant was totally not flexible in their menu choices. Did not like the combinations of vegetables and side dishes associated with the meals that were available.

Felt the restaurant prices were much higher than the value of the food that you received. Again totally dissatisfied with the under flexible choices offered by the restaurant. Not able to exchange choices I did not like with choices that I would have preferred with my meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

It was a great experience - relaxed and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a great experience - relaxed and comfortable. It was our 45th Wedding Anniversary and we both thoroughly enjoyed the evening from great service, view of the waterway and wild grasses and of course the wonderful food. We enjoyed the properly seasoned, tender rib-eye cooked to perfection, as were the grilled sea scallops and the snapper. This is not to say the collard greens weren't great, they were; as well as the superb organic peach cobbler with bourbon ice cream. French pressed coffee - a nice touch to finish a wonderful evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was delicious. Love the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The restaurant was delicious. Love the farm to table concept. It's southern style farm to table so be mindful if you have a Upstate palate. ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The Bistro was fantastic when we went. A ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Bistro was fantastic when we went. A small menu focused on using local products to their full potential. I had one of the best burgers I have ever had and my girlfriend had a phenomenal salad that was gigantic. The view out of the window was fantastic as was the service. I definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a romantic getaway

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Absolutely beautiful setting, ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing! Absolutely beautiful setting, great view, awesome/attentive service (Tamara), fantastic menu, awesome wine list .... and everything we ate was spectacular! That dinner made my whole vacation!

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their new location is marvelous, with vi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Their new location is marvelous, with views of marsh grasses and the Intracoastal Waterway. And the food is inventive, local, and delicious, especially the fish options. Don't miss the fried okra starter!

Great cocktails, too, and an exhaust and well priced wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Katie our waitress was great. There was ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Katie our waitress was great. There was 5 of us. Apps and everyone else's meals were excellent. My pork chop was cooked just as I ordered, just didn't have any flavor. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious. Decorations bea ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was delicious. Decorations beautiful but the tables were entirely too close to each other, to the point we could not push our chair in. The crowded space added to the noise level. They need to take 2-3 tables out of main dining room. We ordered mojitos and the soda water was flat:( so stuck to beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

plenty of tables and staff ready but sti ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

plenty of tables and staff ready but still got put into bar area ( to push drinks prior to dinner) reservation far in advance rest of visit enjoyable. Should make tables on deck available for more than 4.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My most favorite go to with incredible f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My most favorite go to with incredible food and service, especially by Jordan! Know to ask for table 1,3, or 5 for future times. Absolutely love everything about The Bistro, every meal is the "wow" factor.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was quite good and probably best in ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was quite good and probably best in Surf City. Ordeal about a threat of $25pp charge for changed reservations is offensive, pretentious and unnecessary. Have never heard of such. But food was good and that's hard to find in Surf/Topsail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Started off with a great view, right by ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Started off with a great view, right by the window. Our drinks were delivered shortly after we ordered, and they were mixed to perfection. I had an old fashion and my wife had a cucumber ginger martini.

Great food, the appetizer was a delicious low country egg roll, the salad and main courses we're perfect.

More than enough food. Didn't save room for desert, but will next time!

Our waitress couldn't have been better.

Will definitely return with some friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The great service staff saved our evenin ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The great service staff saved our evening. We asked to be outside, the flies were unforgiving.

They were able to move us (4) inside so that we could eat in peace. Please screen in porch when in your budget. it is a nice setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband ordered the Mako. It was goo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband ordered the Mako. It was good, but a bit over overcooked However, that night about 2:00 am he became very ill with a terrible stomach issue. So either, the fish was not properly handled or he is allergic to Mako . We had been to the previous location, to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was amazing. It seemed there was more attention paid to the preparation and presentation of the food. We are willing to try it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The new location is great. This is the ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The new location is great. This is the only restaurant we go to for local dinner. Great seafood and well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The Bistros new location on the sound is ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The Bistros new location on the sound is beautiful! The food is very much farm to table -- incredibly fresh and vibrant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Bistro was amazing! Our server, Kati ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Bistro was amazing! Our server, Katie, was sweet, professional and thorough. We will be back. Beautiful view! And so nice to see this beautiful spot as a fine dining venue again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is outstanding!!!!!!! Great service ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food is outstanding!!!!!!! Great service and the views from the restaurant are breathtaking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Personally, I prefer the menu from their ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Personally, I prefer the menu from their prior location.

There were no daily specials and a very limited number of items on the Sunday Evening menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow, took over 1 hour ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was very slow, took over 1 hour to have the entrees served. Entree quality was good, side dishes, poor at best. Tried to substitute scallops for shrimp and were told no.

Would not recommend and do not plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

This is a great place for a special occa ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a great place for a special occasion. The atmosphere is classy and welcoming. The view of the water would be a big draw for most people. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The food is excellent. We came here for dinner for our 5th anniversary and had the ribeye sandwich with chips, grits, collard greens, and bread which came with an amazing chutney. The sauce with the grits made that dish just a little too spicy for my wife's taste, but otherwise everything was great. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is mine and my hubs favorite restau ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is mine and my hubs favorite restaurant on the island. We come here any chance we get a night out without kids. The food is phenomenal!!!! Highly recommend the low country egg roll appetizer

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good meal, location is super, service fr ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Good meal, location is super, service from kitchen was a problem. Everyone was not served at same time and the wait was uncomfortably long.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for our anniversary, have dined ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We went for our anniversary, have dined there before and it was spectacular all the way around. This time was disastrous. Waitress training had never poured a beer in her life and dumped a Sam Adams upside down into a glass which proceeded to cover the table, running down underneath soaking my maxi skirt, leg, and new shoes. Ok, she's new and nervous, we shake it off. Then the food arrives and is clearly wrong as my food has mustard on it which I clearly stated to omit. This becomes a debate as they claim when it leaves the kitchen its seat 1 seat 2 etcetera, and I am seat 1 so it must be mine!. I am told that YES, this is my food multiple times. At this point just leave me alone because you have already brought attention to our table twice with the spilled beer, and the reminder that I am seat 1. Now they come back to clear plates, and ask about dessert. I missed it, but my husband tells me she mumbles "Smile, cheer up" before she walks away. Are you kidding me? The icing on the cake was when I walked back from the ladies room, and I see ice cubes on the floor below our table, and in the aisle. Yup, the water person went to refill, and whoosh, the ice water bucket shifting mid pour hits the table. My husband is now also wearing a drink. Not once did we ever make a stink, raise our voices, or our tone, but we were clearly treated as if WE were the problem. The food might be fantastic, but the service needs work. And as long as I'm on a rant, a suggestion would also be to TAKE DOWN yesterday's menu, (in the today's menu), section of their website at the END of the current day. Leaving it up till mid day of the next creates confusion. Yes, a farm to table menu changes daily, but don't leave the old one up the following day until you change it. Reservations made that day based on your posted menu may be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Very good food, beautiful view of the so ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very good food, beautiful view of the sound. Limited menu (only 7 entrees). Not for kids.

Not cheap--most entrees were $24-29, and that didn't include a salad. Everything was delicious.

Good service. Lots of servers--most appeared to have only 2 tables. Note that the restaurant has relocated to Roland Ave.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant and gorgeous view w ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and gorgeous view with cuisine to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Dined with friends on a Saturday and our ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dined with friends on a Saturday and our table was ready at the appointed time. One of the friends is gluten and dairy free and the staff accommodated her requests in addition to the menu offering of several GF dishes. Appetizers were great, service was outstanding and the food was excellent. We've dined here numerous times and the consistency is awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I ate there at our las ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My girlfriend and I ate there at our last night in top sail NC and out of all the places we ate at each night, it was by far and away the best. Great food and lots of it. The waitresses were great and it was a perfect evening. Would have eaten there multiple nights, regardless of the prices, if we had know about it sooner.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant on Topsail Island. Hands ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best restaurant on Topsail Island. Hands down. Would eat there every night. This ain't your run-of-the-mill local fried fish joint. Fresh, locally sourced, chef-inspired cuisine that changes daily. I love this place. I love the new location. I love the bar. And yes, it's refreshing to dress nicely, even though it's Topsail.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bartenders were very slow. The food was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Bartenders were very slow. The food was fabulous but sit inside as the back deck was inundated with black flies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious! Make a reservation! We tried ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Delicious! Make a reservation! We tried two apps, wine, drinks, entreas, dessert and coffee. All was absolutely amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We both had fishing dishes and both were ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We both had fishing dishes and both were cooked to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best place to eat on Topsail - we had a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Best place to eat on Topsail - we had a very nice dinner there, the food was very good and the wine list was a very pleasant surprise for a vacation spot. The service was a little slow, but Hey! we were on vacation, so it was good. All of the food items are locally sourced and very well prepared - the shrimp and grits were very good, fresh shrimp in a spicy tomato sauce, with medallions of the grits and wonderful bits of country ham.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.