About The Bistro at Gervasi Vineyard

1700 55th St NE
Canton, OH 44721
View Larger Map

Gervasi Vineyard & Italian Bistro offers Northeast Ohio a memorable destination for wine lovers, diners, families, businesses and tourists. Gervasi is one of the few special places where beauty, tradition, comfort and appreciation for wine and fresh food connect. Wine varieties are among the best in Ohio. The Gervasi Italian Bistro dinner menu ingredients are seasonally hand-selected and grown by local farmers. The property, vineyard, historic farmhouse, bistro, lake, landscapes, and the new villa project for overnight accommodations are picturesque from every view. Highlights include a marketplace specialty store, event pavilion, walking paths, outdoor dining and yard game activities for relaxation and fun. We do have a community table and upstairs lounge area available for walk-ins as well, with the full menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm with our Wine Bar open until 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 7:30pm

Cross Street:
Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 497-1000 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.gervasivineyard.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment on the Piazza, Tuesday through Sunday evenings, weather permitting. May thru September.

Parking Details:
We have parking accommodations for up to 325 cars. During Friday and Saturday evenings June - September there is a shuttle available from further lots as well as complimentary valet for Bistro diners.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Risner

Private Party Facilities:
Corporate functions, receptions, showers, family reunions, birthday parties, and anniversaries are just some of the special occasions perfect in the Gervasi atmosphere. We have accommodations for any of our guest needs along with over night venues. Also ideal for select small intimate weddings.

Private Party Contact:
Sales at Gervasi Vineyard: 3304971000x122

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

The Bistro at Gervasi Vineyard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Notable Wine List
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Romantic
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
5 More
Scenic View
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Special Occasion
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Italian
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Canton
Best Restaurants in Canton ›

special occasion (219)
romantic (189)
scenic view (177)
See All
notable wine list (142)
fit for foodies (106)
good for groups (102)
great for outdoor dining (86)
neighborhood gem (63)
great for lunch (47)
hot spot (42)
great for brunch (36)
late-night find (25)
vibrant bar scene (21)
kid-friendly (12)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! We have eaten here twic ...

Dined 7 days ago

Love this place! We have eaten here twice (once for our wedding and just recently again for a date night). We have always loved the atmosphere, staff, food and wine! We can't wait to go back again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best In Ohio

Dined on May 22, 2016

I have to do a lot of business travel, this is hands down the best experience in Ohio!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just awesome time with my family. Our se ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Just awesome time with my family. Our server was excellent with great knowledge of the wine list. His wine recommendations were excellent. Food was also excellent. Just beware it is pricey so be prepare to pay a little bit more for a great time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my brother's birthday. It was ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Celebrated my brother's birthday. It was the first time to Gervasi for both of us. Enjoyed it all. Good food. Good service. Excellent ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the first time my husband and I ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was the first time my husband and I dined here. Our server was so helpful with showing us around the menu and letting us know what were popular items which made our decision much easier. Everything was delicious and cooked spot on, the wine was great and they even saw the note that we were celebrating my husbands birthday I had made on the reservation and brought us gelato! We will definitely return again soon

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible food, reasonably priced, full ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Incredible food, reasonably priced, full bodied wines, superb service, incredible ambiance; a must for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to The Bistro a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was our first visit to The Bistro and I have to say it was a memorable experience. The ambiance was perfect. The decor was amazing and it was very clean. The wait staff was friendly and personable. The food was delicious and the wine was excellent. We were there celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary and were given a cup of free gelato for the occasion. Suffice it to say that will be be visiting the Bistro again! Great job staff!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sam our waiter was fantastic. The food w ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Sam our waiter was fantastic. The food was good. It is a great place to go and unwind. Definitely would recommend !!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always creative and delicious, b ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Food is always creative and delicious, beautifully presented. Setting is classic and elegant, yet casual. Grounds are beautiful, good for strolling before or after dinner. Like being transported to Tuscany!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of a kind

Dined on May 17, 2016

My boyfriend and I had an amazing dinner at this restaurant.. The ambience was absolutely perfect for the special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded My Expectations

Dined on May 15, 2016

I walked in the door of the bistro and immediately fell in love with the place. Our bar waitress, Tori, was very friendly and willing to tell us about the winery and wine choices for our tasting. The Sunday family style dinner, short ribs, were incredibly wonderful. I loved the mashed potato piping along the side of the dish. The wine was also very enjoyable. I work for a winery about two hours away and had heard of this place from our patrons. I'm so glad I took their advice for a visit. Will definitely return with friends and family.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience, great ambience and ver ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great experience, great ambience and very knowledgeable server.

food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive wait staff, out of this world ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Attentive wait staff, out of this world food, beautiful setting....perfect date night! My boyfriend ate the pasta bolognese and LOVED it. He is also Italian and a self-admitted food snob so you know it was really good...something about the meat being shredded...I'm vegetarian and went with the polenta side dish (yum!) since we also split the strawberry bibb salad (may be the best salad I've ever had and we both agreed!) and the bruschetta (goodness, PLEASE try this. It was AMAZING!). Not to be left out, I can tell you the dolce sera is always delicious if you like sweet wine and the cheesecake (caramel and chocolate sauce) was impressive. Not one thing could have been improved- great job!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was awesome! Steered us to a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Our waiter was awesome! Steered us to a great entree choice. The atmosphere is very enjoyable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gervasi Bistro

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food choices, preparation and quality is excellent. Service from Sam was first class.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our Visit

Dined on May 10, 2016

Unfortunately, our waitress fell and had to go to the hospital. I am very sorry she was hurt. But before we heard the crash it was a very long time (we were out of water) since she had been at our table. Maybe she was not feeling well before that but I wish she would have had someone take over the table if that was the case. This was a special occasion for my son from SC and his new wife who were visiting. I was very excited to bring them there and it was a bit of a mediocre experience. For the price, I did not experience anything all that special. The setting is very nice but the food was not really any better than an average priced restaurant. I would not tell anyone not to go here, but I probably not be quick to recommend it.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

night at Gervasi

Dined on May 8, 2016

Ok, Im a regulare customer to gervasi. I think they are one of the top 3 restaurants in the canton Area. The quality of the food is good, it is tasty and not "american greasy". As a regulare I would appreciate if they would change the menue from time to time as well as add more seafood options. The atmosphere is hard to beat, staff friendly and professional. Prices reasonable. If you are a into wine they have their own wine brand which is ok but far away from a great French or finer California bottle. I would have given them 5 star if it would not be for the wine selection and honestly the deserts are not as good as the rest on the menu, not a biggie for me since Im neither a wine or dessert fanatic but if you are well then Gervasi might not be your place. By the way their pizza's are small but almost as good as real Italians, dont miss out on them!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Entree portions were large enough to share. The Bolongese is superb. Always a chefs special of the day. Beautiful grounds to walk. Lovely window view of the lake.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was great. The atmosphere is beautiful and very inviting. Our sever was fantastic. The wine is good. You truly feel like you are in Napa Valley!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Foodielydia13. I really like everything ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Foodielydia13. I really like everything about the restaurant except for the food. I will explain. Second time there, both times the food is good, but not fantastic. I ordered the Lobster Pasta dish, it had less than 1/4 cup of Lobster in it, plenty of pasta though. TRUST ME, less than 1/4 th cup! The service was very good, thanks to Sam! The general manager came by and gave me a gift card, very nice but not nessary. I really do plan to go back! They also gave us free dessert. I have to say one thing for them, they do know how to treat people well. I'm still expecting fantastic! I'll BE BACK.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on May 3, 2016

What a wonderful meal. Hats off to the entire staff. The lamb shank was amazing. The service was top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good, but pretty expensive for what you get

Dined on April 30, 2016

The $8 Caesar Salad was 1 heart of romaine with some average dressing. My steak was perfectly cooked and delicious. The craft beers from Thirsty Dog are quite good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Date night

Dined on April 28, 2016

We had a wonderful date. We were tucked in a corner and it felt as if we were the only ones there. Romantic evening!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A place for all occasions

Dined on April 27, 2016

We were celebrating our 61 anniversary and my wife 's 81 birthday. We could not have chosen a better place. Food, service, ambitious were all a 10!!. Food, wine & drinks all 10's. This will be our special event go to place.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

wait staff

Dined on April 27, 2016

Teach your wait staff when serving a white wine an ice container should accompany the bottle. We had to ask the waiter to bring one.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, celebrated our anniversary and th ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great, celebrated our anniversary and the special dessert for the occasion was a surprise!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were running very late and they accom ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

We were running very late and they accommodated quite well and were understanding. Food and service were well done. Wine list was both exciting but also reasonably priced for all. Enjoyable evening for both of us.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, great service, great win ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Delicious food, great service, great wine

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Bistyro at Gervasi

Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent food, atmosphere, and service. We recently had dinner at the Bistro during an overnight stay at Gervasi. Great food and wine menu in a casual atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at the Gervasi Bistro three times and I have not had a meal that I would consider good. However, she has enjoyed it and would recommend it.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Our server was wonderful and the food was great.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our Server was wonderful and the food was great, My only complaint is that we were put in the bottom floor and it is dark with no view. Being that we explained it was our first time there we would like to have been up top to enjoy the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing way to celebrate a birthday

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was my first time to Gervasi and I have to say, I will be back! I made the reservation back in March because I know Gervasi is a busy place especially on a Saturday. My reservation was at 6pm and when I arrived with my group we were seated immediately. We sat downstairs in the wine cellar and it was breath-taking. We had a wonderful server who made our experience memorable. She made sure we were all comfortable with the wine and food selection and double checked to make sure if we had food allergies. The wine was amazing and the view, the walk after was even better. The great thing about Gervasi is you can also stay on site after dinner which makes it that more romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great date place

Dined on April 22, 2016

It a good atmosphere and romantic for a date night away from the kids!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

The only reason I made a reservation was ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The only reason I made a reservation was because when I went in to ask if there were any tables I was informed I needed a reservation and there would be a wait, instead of offering me a reservation they suggested I sit at a high top community bar table and a bartender would be over, this was not a comfortable option and we sat there 5 minutes and no one introduced themselves so I then went to open table and placed the reservation for 4:15 and was seated at that time. The hostess should have offered that in my opinion if an opening was available.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Great Place !

Dined on April 16, 2016

First time here. It was wonderful. Food was excellent as was the server. The beef short ribs were WONDERFUL !!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not what I thought it'd be

Dined on April 15, 2016

Ambiance is great, average service, decent food. I wish there was more to say, but there isn't. I mean, I really WISH there was. It's a beautiful scene and an amazing venue. But that's where the magic ends. I personally think the food at Cararabbas is better and their service is more friendly. The best part of my meal was the lemon sauce on my chicken. You are paying high prices for a great ambiance and the fact that it's a winery. While I can make no comment on the whine; as I did not have any; I do not believe their food was worth the $60 price tag. This restaurant is unfortunately a one trick ponie.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gervasi's is the Bomb

Dined on April 14, 2016

Every aspect of our experience at Gervasi's Bistro was Five Star all the way. The food was simply outstanding. It is a true delightful experience!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Usually much better than this time!

Dined on April 10, 2016

We were very disappointed for our guests as we usually have much better food and service. We will give it another try, but not for a while.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Gluten Free dining experience ever.

Dined on April 9, 2016

The atmosphere and dining experience was the best in a long time. The menu, service and gluten free accommodations were very comforting and enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely loved it!! Worth what you ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I absolutely loved it!! Worth what you pay! And the ambiance is great! Will return for special events and evenings out!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.