Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.79mi
  2. Distance: 2.35mi
  3. Distance: 2.42mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi
  1. Distance: 1.79mi
  2. Distance: 2.35mi
  3. Distance: 2.42mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.79mi
  2. Distance: 2.35mi
  3. Distance: 2.42mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi
  1. Distance: 1.79mi
  2. Distance: 2.35mi
  3. Distance: 2.42mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi

About The Bistro at Gervasi Vineyard

Gervasi Vineyard & Italian Bistro offers Northeast Ohio a memorable destination for wine lovers, diners, families, businesses and tourists. Gervasi is one of the few special places where beauty, tradition, comfort and appreciation for wine and fresh food connect. Wine varieties are among the best in Ohio. The Gervasi Italian Bistro dinner menu ingredients are seasonally hand-selected and grown by local farmers. The property, vineyard, historic farmhouse, bistro, lake, landscapes, and the new villa project for overnight accommodations are picturesque from every view. Highlights include a marketplace specialty store, event pavilion, walking paths, outdoor dining and yard game activities for relaxation and fun. We do have a community table and upstairs lounge area available for walk-ins as well, with the full menu.

1700 55th St NE
Canton, OH 44721
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm with our Wine Bar open until 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 7:30pm

Cross Street:
Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 497-1000 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.gervasivineyard.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment on the Piazza, Tuesday through Sunday evenings, weather permitting. May thru September.

Parking Details:
We have parking accommodations for up to 325 cars. During Friday and Saturday evenings June - September there is a shuttle available from further lots as well as complimentary valet for Bistro diners.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Risner

Private Party Facilities:
Corporate functions, receptions, showers, family reunions, birthday parties, and anniversaries are just some of the special occasions perfect in the Gervasi atmosphere. We have accommodations for any of our guest needs along with over night venues. Also ideal for select small intimate weddings.

Private Party Contact:
Sales at Gervasi Vineyard: (330) 497-1000 ext. 122

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Bistro at Gervasi Vineyard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (117)
Special Occasion (116)
Romantic (110)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (97)
Notable Wine List (87)
Scenic View (81)
Worth the Drive (80)
Cozy (72)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Fireplace (63)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Quiet Conversation (51)
Good for Groups (46)
Fun (43)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Authentic (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Seasonal (31)
Business Meals (30)
Comfort Food (29)
Casual (29)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Tasting Menu (26)
Waterfront (26)
Historic (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Outstanding Value (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Healthy (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Wood Oven (19)
Family Style (19)
Great for Brunch (14)
Private Room (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
People Watching (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Tapas (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great Beer (5)
Live Music (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3090 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

It is with great disappointment that I share my dining experience at the Bistro, March 25th. Dan our server was obviously overwhelmed and inexperienced as a waiter...not faulting him but rather the management staff.. We were seated at 8pm and our meal finally arrived approximately an hour and half later! No explanation of the meal delay by anyone, no complimentary appetizer or apology...in fact I even had to ask our waiter if we could have some bread at least! Fortunately we brought wine from the Crush House to enjoy with dinner so a drink order wasn't even needed.
Finally I requested to talk to the manager (Nick)to please explain the meal delay and Nick said he was sorry and he would give us free dessert for the inconvenience....it was already 9:30pm at this point and we hadn't even had our dinner entrees so the dessert offer wasn't appealing at all. I then requested at least 25%be dectucted from our bill and it was.
Sadly my previous dining experience at the Bistro was exactly why I returned with my friends hoping to enjoy another wonderful evening of fine cuisine...so very disappointing :(
When I return to Gervasi Villas again please know that my restaurant of choice will be The Crush House, not The Bistro under its current management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

It is with great disappointment that I share my dining experience at the Bistro, March 25th. Dan our server was obviously overwhelmed and inexperienced as a waiter...not faulting him but rather the management staff.. We were seated at 8pm and our meal finally arrived approximately an hour and half later! No explanation of the meal delay by anyone, no complimentary appetizer or apology...in fact I even had to ask our waiter if we could have some bread at least! Fortunately we brought wine from the Crush House to enjoy with dinner so a drink order wasn't even needed.
Finally I requested to talk to the manager (Nick)to please explain the meal delay and Nick said he was sorry and he would give us free dessert for the inconvenience....it was already 9:30pm at this point and we hadn't even had our dinner entrees so the dessert offer wasn't appealing at all. I then requested at least 25%be dectucted from our bill and it was.
Sadly my previous dining experience at the Bistro was exactly why I returned with my friends hoping to enjoy another wonderful evening of fine cuisine...so very disappointing :(
When I return to Gervasi Villas again please know that my restaurant of choice will be The Crush House, not The Bistro under its current management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing scenery, excellent food, impeccable service and perfect ambiance.
Multiple restaurants all excellent. The wine was as good as I read in reviews and better.

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Historic, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great Beer, Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

We ate here 2 nights in a row while staying at Gervasi, we enjoyed the atmosphere, food and the service was impeccable! Great for fancy meals or just a lite pizza fare.

Tags: Scenic View, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

This was the first time my wife and I have been here. We had the most amazing time. The wait staff was superb, food was delicious, and the wine was fabulous!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

As always beautiful location and pleasant dining. Took friends from out of town they asked to go there from a previous visit that they remembered.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service! Wine was excellent as well! Will definitely return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Visited on a Sunday late afternoon for special birthday. Appetizers very small portions and pricey. Decided to try Sunday Family Style special. Lasagna was below average, brick oven pizza burnt. Wine and beer costs are extremely overpriced. Restaurant was pretty dark. Asked server twice to light candle on table, never happened. $300 bill for 6 guests - expected better.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Been there on a couple of occasions and it's never disappointing. Food and service are excellent. Let's not forget it is a vineyard, great wine.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Gervasi is one of our favorites......It always has been amazing. It doesn't matter which venue you visit it is always exquisite .

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Birthday celebration! Nicki was our server did a wonderful job!!
Loved our experience
Lisa Mudd

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing Glutrrn Free menu including apps and deserts

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Enjoyed the experience at the Bistro. Wonderful meal and service. We will be going back on any special event.

Open Table should look at how the reservations are booked at the restaurant. Bistro actually had the time listed later . Appears to be a communication issue between Open Table and the Bistro.

Tags: Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service was great! Our Waiter, Sam was very good, food was a great value and very tasty!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always such a delightful experience. Food is always wonderful and the service could not be better. A nice relaxing evening. Have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My husband said it was the best steak he has ever had. The gnocchi was great too. The waiter was extremely personable and made our night out enjoyable. :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The atmosphere is open, Tuscanesque, relaxing and invites good conversation. We had the short ribs as an entree which took comfort food to a whole new level, the beef was slow cooked for 24 hours and almost melted in your mouth, it was excellent. One of us is 100% gluten-free and the server could not have been more helpful in accommodating it for every course of the meal. We will definitely return soon and try something else on the menu. The seafood choices looked great too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Me and my wife had a great time. We plan to visit more frequently.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

As always, Gervasi and Chef Rocko do not disappoint. We went with out of town guests and they were suitably impressed. We enjoyed the cheese and meat appetizer, which was very good and just enough to keep us going until the entrees arrived. I had the special, a filet mignon with crab cake on top, accompanied by veggies and fingerling potatoes. The crab cake was wonderful - tender, delicious, and definitely house-made. The filet was cooked exactly as I ordered it and was so tasty. The balsamic reduction was wonderful with the filet, and the house-made hollandaise sauce on the crab cake was amazing. Who cares what anybody else ate, I was happy! Seriously, though, you cannot go wrong at Gervasi. Every one of us raved about their dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Second visit , never disappoints!! Love ❤️ it here!! Food , service ambiance are all fantastic! Great wine!! Fun night

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Going to the Theater, and got great service no very timely to make the show.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Never been here before so I was very impressed. Food was excellent, atmosphere was romantic, cozy, and scenic looking out the window at the pond and the exceptional villas. Very nice wine selection by the glass if you choose. Prices are comparable to any upscale restaurant however Gervasi also has atmosphere and a beautiful view. The feel of the entire property from the grape fields to the villas gave me a feeling of, "I really want to go back soon", and also a future plan of a getaway to one the the villas. Service and food were excellent. Thank you.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I heard from friends how nice it was there so we went for our 39 th wedding anniversary and as soon as we walked in and gave them my name they wished us a Happy Anniversary, I requested a scenic table and they seated us in front of the window facing the lake. Robin our server went over the menu with us and gave us some recommendations. She was excellent and when we were done with our dinner she brought us out complimentary desserts for our Anniversary. A very good experience we will be back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

EVERYTHING was excellent starting with the warm and moist buttered garlic bread to the wine and then 2 excellent entrees topped off with cappuccino's decorated with a heart!!! Service was above and beyond. Cannot recommend this highly enough!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went there with my wife and two kids to celebrate my daughter's team win. Had a great meal, we had Vegi dishes for lent. Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our server was outstanding! Very knowledgeable, pleasant, not pushy. Very good meals, reasonable size portions, reasonable prices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding experience! Sunday supper is a great value.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Bistro at Gervasi Vineyard is the best restaurant in the area Great food and staff had a wonderful time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a great meal for our first visit! Drove 45 min to celebrate a friends birthday
The waitress, Holly, was wonderful!
The food was outstanding! They even gave our birthday guest a special birthday dessert!
The atmosphere was wonderful, but I would request a table be the fireplace next time. If you like wine this is the place, but if you are into cocktails forget it! My husband is a Manhattan man and they didn't have oranges, cherries, Vermouth, or bitters to make a drink. He ended up with Whiskey on the rocks. Surprised since they have a bar....

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing! 9 out of 10! Almost perfect! We are both vegetarian and our server was able to accommodate all of our dietary needs! They were able to customize both of our meals! We had amazing service, could not ask for a better more informed waiter! Highly recommended! Always great service and great food! Wine is amazing! Not too pricey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very knowledgeable and friendly wait staff, amazing food and huge portions (great for leftovers)! If you tell them you're celebrating a special occasion, they bring you an after-meal treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food is average, but the wine is overpriced for the quality. It's a place to go to visit, but not a spot to make a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Celebrated my daughter's engagement. Kristy G, our server was GREAT!!! Steaks were done perfectly! Another great meal and time at one of Gervasi's restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were celebrating my boyfriend's birthday and asked for seating near the fireplace. We were seated directly in front which was the perfect romantic atmosphere. Our server was very attentive and friendly. Wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Outstanding food as always, wine is also improving every year. Birthday celebration and our table was in the wine cellar part of the Bistro, very quiet and out of the way but comfortable, warm and inviting

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great restaurant and experience overall! Initially our reserved table was very cold and drafty and we asked to switch tables as some of guests could not take off their coat. We were told there were no available tables for 5 but after second inquiry the "air" was turned down and it became warmer . Thank you !!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was my wife birthday and we really like your restaurant, we had our daughters wedding there and just like the service, and food and just the atmosphere and the décor. if you want to celebrate and just enjoy your self Gervasi is the place to do that. I feel your restaurant is number one in the Akron Canton area.
Thanks for a great weekend and helping us celebrate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Gervasi never disappoints. The quality of food and service is anything but exceptional.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Brought a few out of towers to experience the great ambiance and the food. Talked about the area and expressed interest in the villa experience. They were all thrilled with the knowledge of the staff. We will return! Also was my friends bday and was treated to a great experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Happy Hour, Fun, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Absolutely had an amazing experience from beginning to end. On line reservations were easy, reminders were appreciated, the atmosphere was warm and inviting. Your staff was extremely kind and knowledgeable, the wine was excellent, the food divine, the dessert delicious, the coffee perfect! Nick gave us an awesome wine "tour" and our waiter Dan McLaughlin (SP?) was very patient (our first visit), very kind, and gave great recommendations and superb descriptions! Each of us had something different Steak, Pork Chop, and Short Ribs. All were prepared with perfection and the sides with each meal were great compliments to the proteins. We shared a Pork Belly Pizza for an appetizer and the mixture of ingredients and flavors we knew were the precursor to a mouth watering meal! The worst part was the end of a perfect experience and the best part is the planning of our return in the near future! Thank you for making our celebration a memory for a lifetime.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.