About The Bistro at Gervasi Vineyard

1700 55th St NE
Canton, OH 44721
View Larger Map

Gervasi Vineyard & Italian Bistro offers Northeast Ohio a memorable destination for wine lovers, diners, families, businesses and tourists. Gervasi is one of the few special places where beauty, tradition, comfort and appreciation for wine and fresh food connect. Wine varieties are among the best in Ohio. The Gervasi Italian Bistro dinner menu ingredients are seasonally hand-selected and grown by local farmers. The property, vineyard, historic farmhouse, bistro, lake, landscapes, and the new villa project for overnight accommodations are picturesque from every view. Highlights include a marketplace specialty store, event pavilion, walking paths, outdoor dining and yard game activities for relaxation and fun. We do have a community table and upstairs lounge area available for walk-ins as well, with the full menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm with our Wine Bar open until 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 7:30pm

Cross Street:
Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 497-1000 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.gervasivineyard.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment on the Piazza, Tuesday through Sunday evenings, weather permitting. May thru September.

Parking Details:
We have parking accommodations for up to 325 cars. During Friday and Saturday evenings June - September there is a shuttle available from further lots as well as complimentary valet for Bistro diners.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Risner

Private Party Facilities:
Corporate functions, receptions, showers, family reunions, birthday parties, and anniversaries are just some of the special occasions perfect in the Gervasi atmosphere. We have accommodations for any of our guest needs along with over night venues. Also ideal for select small intimate weddings.

Private Party Contact:
Sales at Gervasi Vineyard: 3304971000x122

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Bistro at Gervasi Vineyard, Canton, OH
The Bistro at Gervasi Vineyard, Canton, OH

The Bistro at Gervasi Vineyard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Service
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
6 More
Romantic
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Scenic View
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Special Occasion
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Italian
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Canton
Best Restaurants in Canton ›

Special Occasion (164)
Romantic (135)
Good for Anniversaries (119)
See All
Good for a Date (111)
Scenic View (102)
Worth the Drive (99)
Notable Wine List (92)
Good for Birthdays (76)
Creative Cuisine (65)
Great for Outdoor Dining (65)
Good for Groups (63)
Cozy (59)
Quiet Conversation (59)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Fireplace (46)
Authentic (44)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Fun (43)
Casual (42)
Waterfront (34)
Great for Lunch (34)
Business Meals (33)
Tasting Menu (29)
Comfort Food (29)
Seasonal (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Family Style (24)
Wood Oven (24)
Historic (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Outstanding Value (17)
Private Room (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Healthy (13)
People Watching (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Live Music (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (3)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. Has become m ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service. Has become my favorite restaurant. Food is as phenomenal as are the wines. Worth every bit of any drive to get there as well as the price (which I think is quite fair).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My partner and I recently celebrated our ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

My partner and I recently celebrated our three year anniversary with dinner at the Bistro at Gervasi. It was truly an amazing experience, and our server, Abraham, did a phenomenal job at providing us with a memorable experience. The chef made it a point to come out and ask about our food, which was perfectly cooked and well presented. We both ordered the strip steak. We were treated with complimentary vanilla bean gelato, which reminded us of our trip to Italy a year ago. Overall, it was a truly unforgettable experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had a wonderful evening. I ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had a wonderful evening. It was festive, relaxed and delicious. We loved sampling some of GV's vast wine selections and the manicotti was excellent. We highly recommend GV!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was very enjoyabl ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The overall experience was very enjoyable. The ambiance was very seasonal and warm. Our service was perfect as our waitress informed us of all of our dining options but was not obtrusive throughout our meal. Speaking of meals, delicious is an understatement. I had the pork chop and my wife had the gnocchi. We both splurged for dessert and it did not disappoint. Great experience for a romantic night out or to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had family members in from out of tow ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had family members in from out of town for the holiday weekend and wanted to have an adults only dinner where no one responsible to cook. Nicky, our waitress, was knowledgeable about the menu and the property. We ate at the Bistro, which was beautifully decorated for the holiday. Our meals were excellent, the ambience perfect for a gathering. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I would recommend it--Absolutely!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a fantastic experience every singl ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It is a fantastic experience every single time we go to Gervasi. The food is amazingly good. Service is always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Makes celebrating a birthday very specia ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Makes celebrating a birthday very special, six years in a row

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I plan a mystery trip for my children ev ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I plan a mystery trip for my children every year. Heard great things about Gervasi. My children and their significant others loved it. What a special night we had.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gervasi was the perfect place for an aft ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Gervasi was the perfect place for an after-Thanksgiving dinner with our daughter and son-in-law. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming, the food was outstanding, and we were able to sit back and enjoy one another's company. The gift shop was such a fun treat and truly carries unique gifts. The price of dinner was reasonable when compared to many fancy restaurants. Overall, we had a memorable time at Gervasi.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, our server was outstandi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great ambiance, our server was outstanding, and the food was delicious. What more can we say? Can't wait to return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE LOVE LOVE the atmosphere. The wi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I LOVE LOVE LOVE the atmosphere. The wine list is amazing and our waitress (the second time we have had her) was WONDERFUL. I always say that the food does not match the environment. The food is good. It's just that the atmosphere is WONDERFUL and each time I have gone there I have been underwhelmed with my food. My husband had the ravioli and didn't finish it. (I tried it and agreed). I had the special Sea bass with cauliflower puree. Again, good...just good. I will say that the menu at The Crush House is better. I have enjoyed more items there. I always come back because of the wine list and the atmosphere. I always tell people YOU MUST GO THERE IT'S GORGEOUS... just don't go there for the food.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for an anniversary wknd stay end ev ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Went for an anniversary wknd stay end everything exceeded our expectations. Highly recommend

Tags: Seasonal, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to the Bistro and the Crush ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

First visit to the Bistro and the Crush House. Had a wonderful time. We will be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful rustic ambiance, excellent wi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Beautiful rustic ambiance, excellent wine and selections. It seemed as though every detail was perfected rom the service to the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food - great service - will defi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Awesome food - great service - will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere at Gervassi is always ver ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The atmosphere at Gervassi is always very pleasant, a nice getaway from noisy chain restaurants. I was a little disappointed with the food however. I ordered my standard short-ribs which I always love. The short ribs were served hot, however the mashed potatoes, gravy, and carrots were cold--not just cool, cold! I did not bring this to anyone's attention because I did not want to make a fuss and delay the meal for my dining partner. At one point, one of the staff came to our table to check on us. He was dressed like a busboy, not a manager, which might be ok at Applebees, but not a fine dining establishment. Then, a complimentary birthday dessert (ice cream with whipped topping) was served that was beautifully presented. However the whipped topping tasted strange. We asked our server about it and she indicated that sometimes the kitchen staff mistakenly mix up the buttermilk and whipped cream; she politely offered to replace the dessert. Overall, I still like Gervassi, but I think they are slipping.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

My husband and I celebrated our 12th wed ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary there on Saturday. We had a lovely time, the staff was excellent, the white wine flight was wonderful and the food was amazing. I had the Gnocchi and my husband had the Filet, both were wonderful and perfectly cooked.

We enjoyed dinner so much we are planning to head back with friends for lunch to walk the grounds, very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here. We celebra ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was our first time here. We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. Everything was excellent!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and decided to go to Gervasi Vineyards. The atmosphere was delightful and the food was excellent. We were seated downstairs which I liked because it was quiet and more personal. Our waitress was awesome and at the end of our meal she brought us a happy anniversary dessert plate which was a really nice surprise! We will definetly go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had great service while the four of u ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had great service while the four of us had a leisurely dinner seated in front of a fireplace. The ambiance and food were both excellent. I had a wonderful pasta dish with fresh tomatoes and scallops, and my husband had the short ribs, which he loved. The ice cream sampler was a great dessert. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was great. The wait staff ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The ambiance was great. The wait staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The good was amazing. And the wine was tasty.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of 5 was seated at our reserve ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our party of 5 was seated at our reserved table promptly. The venue is very welcoming and comfortable, but is a little too noisy. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable, and did an excellent job. The short ribs, gnocchi, meat and cheese platter, Sicilian salad and Tiramisu were all delicious. We enjoyed the wine and bread as well. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have tried almost everything on the me ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I have tried almost everything on the menu and liked it all! Their food is always delicious and consistent! Their wine is fantastic! The ambiance is superb!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will be back! Absolutely beautiful setti ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Will be back! Absolutely beautiful setting! One of the best filets I've ever eaten and service staff was perfectly attentive without being too intrusive.

I only wish I would have gone earlier so I could see the property during the daylight.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice birthday celebration

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very nice birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough about how perfect this ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Can't say enough about how perfect this restaurant is for not only a good meal out, but an experience. Beautiful atmosphere, great food, good wine and outstanding servers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

overall vibe was good , food was average ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

overall vibe was good , food was average at best. I had braised short ribs and it tasted like any old pot roast at my house. Waitress was side tracked most of the time . The grounds were beautiful and the crush house was a better place to hang out. They need to work on the food to bring it up to the same standard as the view

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Our server Ruby was awesome. The food wa ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our server Ruby was awesome. The food was very good but the two women said a little to spicy (on the salmon and chicken). The filet special was perfect and the seafood dish was great. Our guest said the salmon and chicken tasted great and really didn't need the spicy as it took away from the dish. Overall, a great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply wonderful! Great atmosphere, del ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Simply wonderful! Great atmosphere, delicious food and a phenominal server!

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Private Room, Historic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service with a friendly attentive ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great service with a friendly attentive staff. Food was superb as always. Met with floor manager and Chef to convey our compliments for the waitstaff and kitchen crew. Great people.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, great ambiance, beau ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was excellent, great ambiance, beautiful decor. Actually feels like you are on vacation in an exclusive area. Great place to celebrate. Dress was a lot more casual than i would have anticipated. Lots of people in jeans.

Tags: Late-night Find, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit there. Great tasting food ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

First visit there. Great tasting food , great service

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 1st visit to location. We we ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was our 1st visit to location. We were pleasantly surprised with overall atmosphere and attention-to-detail (building, furniture, etc). As well, we're "wine-snobs". With that said, your wine exceeds our expectations. Well done!

We will return 😀.

Greg & Fiorella

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

That was my second time there. I love it ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

That was my second time there. I love it. Food is amazing service is always good and the wine is a even better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall our experience was good. We cou ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Overall our experience was good. We couldn't get a reservation before 8:45 however, when we arrived there were several empty tables but we still had to wait almost 20 minutes for our table. The service was good, not memorable.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Beautiful restaurant with wonderful food ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with wonderful food and drink. Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere! Food and wine wer ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere! Food and wine were excellent! Will return :)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As expected, The Bistro delivers. Ambie ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As expected, The Bistro delivers. Ambience, Service, and Cuisine. This is the total package. I have been to the Bistro five times, and have never had a disappointing experience. The menu selections and food preparation are superb. You can't go wrong with a trip to this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canton has a gem. One of the best wineri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Canton has a gem. One of the best wineries I've been too in the U.S. Beautiful grounds, villas etc... The food was excellent and fantastic service. The only negative is I didn't receive dining points, but spent over $150 in food. Please reconsider this policy OpenTable and/or Gervasi's.

Thank you.

Tags: Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner with friends at Ge ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner with friends at Gervasi Vineyard Bistro restaurant. It's a beautiful place with stunning rustic/elegant architecture. We did have a hard time finding a red wine that we liked. We ordered a flight of 3 to help make the selection, with the intention of ordering a bottle. However we really weren't crazy about any of the 3, and ended up just ordering a glass of the least objectionable. The food was good but not anything really special, the waiter was excellent and helpful. Overall we enjoyed it, and thought it was a nice place to go for a special birthday with some friends who live nearby. One thing that I was surprised about was that virtually all of the other patrons on a Friday evening were wearing jeans. For the price and type of place this is, I didn't expect it to be so super casual.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.