About The Bistro at Childress Vineyards

1000 Childress Vineyards Rd.
Lexington, NC 27295
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards promotes the celebration of food and wine. We take great pride in our ability to hand-pick the best ingredients locally and abroad. Our goal is to create the ultimate culinary experience for our guests, providing the finest food and wine in an extraordinary setting.

Our menu changes seasonally and can be viewed online at www.childressvineyards.com.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 52 & Hwy 64

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 236-9463

Website:
http://www.childressvineyards.com/

Executive Chef:
Spencer Wright

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Trifecta
Arugula Salad
Grilled Salmon
Lemon Pavlova
Lump Crab Cake
Dessert Special:  Cinnamon-Apple Profiterole, Ancho Chile-Chocolate Sauce
WineMakersDinner:  pan seared red snapper w/ spinach, radicchio, grapefruit vinaigrette, spiced pistachios
App Special: Marinated Flank Steak, Yellow Pepper Puree, Avocado-Corn Salad
Entree Special: Fish Taco w/ Mahi-Mahi, Chipotle Sour Cream, Fresh Salsa, Queso Fresco
WineMakersDinner:  beer steamed mussels w/ grilled corn, arugula, pork rinds
WineMakersDinner:  herb crusted beef filet & scallop w/ grilled summer veg & yellow pepper puree
WineMakersDinner:  melon carpaccio w/ watercress & aged balsamic
WineMakersDinner:  Grilled Romaine Salad w/ stilton, house cured bacon, truffle buttermilk dressing
Grilled Tuna

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
11 More
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Romantic
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

great for lunch (122)
scenic view (108)
special occasion (88)
See All
notable wine list (74)
great for brunch (70)
romantic (56)
good for groups (55)
great for outdoor dining (55)
fit for foodies (37)
neighborhood gem (24)
hot spot (11)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to enjoy a relaxing lunch. S ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great place to enjoy a relaxing lunch. Service is great and the food is very tasty. Great wine list and music was great

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I believe if you offerred the flight of ...

Dined 5 days ago

I believe if you offerred the flight of three wines as a separate libration we might have tried more wine at our dining, instead only two had a glass of wine. we would of been more inclined to try something different and possibly have a second.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to visit Childre ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time to visit Childress Vineyards and the Bistro. They have an excellent menu and the food was great. We could not have asked for any better service and will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Bistro was great! The food was deli ...

Dined 6 days ago

The Bistro was great! The food was delicious and the dessert to die for! Such a great place for lunch with friends and relaxing in a serene setting.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

was not their , was a Wife and her frie ...

Dined 6 days ago

was not their , was a Wife and her friends ( heard no complaints )

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Beautiful setting & great views overlook ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Beautiful setting & great views overlooking the vineyards. The fried green tomato appetizer was great but 2 of the 3 main courses were void of simple seasoning such as salt & pepper. We ordered the cheesecake & creme brulee for dessert & the creme brulee was awful due to the custard breaking during the preparation and/or the cooking process. Overall the quality of the food was subpar for the menu pricing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I always enjoy The Bistro ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I always enjoy The Bistro at Childress Vineyards. Their regular menu is excellent. We ate there for Father's Day lunch which was buffet style. Great selection of foods, well prepared. Of course, we enjoyed a glass of the Childress wine with our meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fathers Day Brunch. Excellent variety an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Fathers Day Brunch. Excellent variety and quality food. Seats by the back window offer beautiful scenery. Winery grounds are beautiful. Also go for the Friday night music. Would love to sit outside in nice weather. Will go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bistro is wonderful! The setting an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The Bistro is wonderful! The setting and ambiance are delightful and the service and Chloe were wonderful as well! Can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Childress is usually a great place to ea ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Childress is usually a great place to eat in the Bistro. This day was a buffet and was not to their standards it seems.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Father's Day buffet, family of three adu ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day buffet, family of three adults, was expecting a more sophisticated setting since it was at a winery. My husband was disappointed with the seating arrangements, I wasn't given an option to choose main restaurant with view of vineyards when booking, and we ended up in an open ballroom area surrounded by tables with little children who were loud. We asked to switch, would even have waited if necessary for availability, but we were told "the computer" assigns the seating and no changes could be made. Food was good but not great, for the price would have expected another carving station or other meat (no chicken on the menu) and better selection of vegetables. Overall the experience was "ok." Our server was the high point - friendly, prompt, accommodated our needs within her ability to do so; I wish I could recall her name!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and great food. Childre ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Awesome service and great food. Childress Vineyards is a true diamond in the rough!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Childress Vineyards!! It is the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I love Childress Vineyards!! It is the perfect spot to have a delicious lunch and then enjoy the beautiful grounds!! The music on the weekends is fantastic-perfect for a date, lunch with family or a girl's weekend!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the Bistro numerous times ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been to the Bistro numerous times from Mother's Day brunch to lunches meeting friends or for the concerts in the summer. My daughter has been attending a wedding once or twice. It is a very lovely place for any occasion. I met up with a college roommate of mine this past Sat from ASU having not seen each other in person in over 28 years. We were given an outside table on the balcony and allowed all the time we needed to catch up and talk. Food, wine and conversation was fabulous. Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The only downside this time was the nois ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The only downside this time was the noise level which was probably because it was Father's Day weekend and also,,, I think they were set up for a wedding the next day. The tables were all occupied and conversations were lively. However we still had an enjoyable lunch and will go back again for sure!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed lunch with my husband and daught ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed lunch with my husband and daughter. My daughter and I do weekly excursions in the summer and this was,our first for this season. We had a great lunch over looking the vineyards. It is,a very relaxing atmosphere and was,a beautiful day.We have eaten there several times previously including a superb dinner in April. Will definitely go back soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great get together with friends for lunc ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great get together with friends for lunch. Very nice view of the vineyards and grounds.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is a beautiful venue and we love go ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

this is a beautiful venue and we love going here whenever we are in the area

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We arrived 45 minutes early for our rese ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We arrived 45 minutes early for our reservation and were seated immediately. Great wait person who was knowledgeable about the menu and wine selections. Perfect view of the vinyards. Will definitely come back. Band was also great with music that the older generation likes !

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Execllent find!

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food is wonderful, and the service is great, and very friendly. Highly recommend this place, but on weekend you will need a reservation, enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always look forward to visiting The Bist ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Always look forward to visiting The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, the food is always great, and the service is always quick and excellent. Love the atmosphere and scenery, its so relaxing, the pavilion is beautiful, and makes a nice gathering spot to be outside, yet in the shade. You must go back often, as they add new items to the menu, which makes visiting even more enjoyable as you wonder what will be new! And of course the wine selection is top notch!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love the window tables nice to look out ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

love the window tables nice to look out while eating over the beautiful vineyard

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure! The service was fabu ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Always a pleasure! The service was fabulous and the watermelon salad was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The total dinning experience! Been twice ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

The total dinning experience! Been twice and everything was superb both times.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Date!!!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice view, great food and good wine...all the makings of a GREAT Date!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

walk in the clouds

Dined on May 21, 2016

Love the vineyards. Enjoyable to just look over the landscape. Chicken salad delicious and fresh fruit; pineapple amazing. Try a wine slushy. Muscadine sweet wines are my choices. Grounds and building is nice.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 18, 2016

Outstanding food and service! I always enjoy having lunch or dinner at the Bistro.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Review on the Food

Dined on May 16, 2016

We all loved this place. It is beautiful, not too far from home, and their prices are affordable. My daughter, who just graduated from the university (we were celebrating), was a little disappointed with her food. She and one of her friends ordered some type of thin pizza. The flavor was good but it was very small considering the price. They were still hungry so they had to order a side of french fries. The rest of the guests were satisfied with their food. And the service was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Special Lady Friend

Dined on May 16, 2016

My lady friend had never been to the Bistro, & I wanted a different, romantic place , just for the two of us, a glass of wine, much conversation, holding hands in between & a delicious lunch. All this was accomplished plus a warm heart! Thank You.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed this dining experience very much ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyed this dining experience very much. Good food, good wine , and great friends made this a memorable day

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Serverwas with a large group and never c ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Serverwas with a large group and never came back to even refill water glasses. But food was great and I would give them another chance.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, service was great, scener ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was good, service was great, scenery was beautiful, staff was friendly. Highly recommend Childress for lunch groups.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a word - outrageous. Food, ambiance, ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

In a word - outrageous. Food, ambiance, service, scenery, hospitality all excellent. Of course, the wine was superb, that's why we joined the Childress wine club and why we went to their Mother's Day buffet. To be honest, it was a bit pricey but when you consider all the positives, it was a value and well worth every dollar. I took my wife, two sons and their wives, and our two grandchildren - all raved and remarked how good it was all the way home. Hats off to Mr. Childress !

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great way to spend Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on Mother's Day, the buffet was excellent, food selections were great and staff kept the serving area clean, and refilling the food items when they became low. Our server was always available for refreshing our drinks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The buffet was amazing. The green beans ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The buffet was amazing. The green beans tasted like my grandmother's!!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delight!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been coming to the vineyard since it was only having sandwiches in a little space. The whole vineyard is so beautiful, it is one of our favorite day trips. We come from Lake Wylie, SC and have been recommending you to all our friends! Mother's day buffet is always outstanding! I can tell that we are not alone in loving your place - last year I called for reservations 2 weeks before Mother's day and you were already booked! I reserved a month in advance this time! Another wonderful day and awesome dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No place like Childress

Dined on May 3, 2016

I live in Greensboro but a trip to Childress is definitely worth the drive. I absolutely love to visit & always look forward to dining at the Bistro. It's one of my Favorite places to dine. I've been several times and never been a disappointment. Love it & highly recommend you give it a try!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

WAS GOOD BUT NOT GOOD AS OTHER TIMES

Dined on May 1, 2016

Was disappointed we did not get our normal waitress ( Chasity) . The other waitress was ok . We did have to get someone else to get our dishes off table . kitchen was real slow this day and we had new people with us and wanted this to be a good time . Over all was good but not like the other times . Past times I would say were 9 out of 10 . ( I never give 10") This would be 7 out of 10 . But still better than most places . Not sure why management could not let us have our normal waitress when we set reservations 2 weeks in advance GOOD TIME AND WINE

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on April 27, 2016

We came to the Bistro last year for Administrative Professionals day---we had such a great time, all of us opted to return this year and make it an annual event . The food, the people and the grounds are outstanding. Very friendly environment with a marvelous view of the vineyard while eating a fantastic meal. I would recommend this place for ANY event! Hats off to Amy and her crew for handling this special event for us!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 17, 2016

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards was simply amazing. It was the most awesome dinning experience that me and my girlfriend have experience. We really loved the atmosphere and the cozy dinning room experience, would definitely recommend it to any and everyone. Thanks for making our Sunday a very memorable experience. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.