About The Bistro at Childress Vineyards

1000 Childress Vineyards Rd.
Lexington, NC 27295
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards promotes the celebration of food and wine. We take great pride in our ability to hand-pick the best ingredients locally and abroad. Our goal is to create the ultimate culinary experience for our guests, providing the finest food and wine in an extraordinary setting.

Our menu changes seasonally and can be viewed online at www.childressvineyards.com.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 52 & Hwy 64

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 236-9463

Website:
http://www.childressvineyards.com/

Executive Chef:
Spencer Wright

Additional:
Banquet, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Trifecta - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Lemon Pavlova - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Arugula Salad - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Grilled Salmon - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Lump Crab Cake - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Dessert Special:  Cinnamon-Apple Profiterole, Ancho Chile-Chocolate Sauce - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
WineMakersDinner:  pan seared red snapper w/ spinach, radicchio, grapefruit vinaigrette, spiced pistachios - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
WineMakersDinner:  herb crusted beef filet & scallop w/ grilled summer veg & yellow pepper puree - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
WineMakersDinner:  beer steamed mussels w/ grilled corn, arugula, pork rinds - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
App Special: Marinated Flank Steak, Yellow Pepper Puree, Avocado-Corn Salad - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
WineMakersDinner:  Grilled Romaine Salad w/ stilton, house cured bacon, truffle buttermilk dressing - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
WineMakersDinner:  melon carpaccio w/ watercress & aged balsamic - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Entree Special: Fish Taco w/ Mahi-Mahi, Chipotle Sour Cream, Fresh Salsa, Queso Fresco - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Grilled Tuna - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Valentine's Day from 5:30-9pm. Dinner will feature a special, prix fixe three-course menu. Guests may choose one of three appetizers; one of three entrées; and one of three desserts. Price is $55 per person and $49 per Wine Club member. Credit Card will be required for reservations.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (56)
Scenic View (46)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Worth the Drive (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Casual (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Fun (23)
Great for Brunch (23)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Cozy (20)
Romantic (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Business Meals (16)
Authentic (15)
Outstanding Value (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Seasonal (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Healthy (8)
Live Music (7)
People Watching (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Private Room (4)
Fireplace (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vegan (3)
Waterfront (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great experience visiting the v ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a great experience visiting the vineyard, touring the facility and eating a very delicious meal at The Bistro. The entrance welcomes you into the open entryway with warmth as a beautiful fountain in the entry provides soothing sounds of trickling water, and a wonderful aroma fills the air. Lee, our tour guide, was friendly and eager to offer his knowledge of the vineyard. We were seated early for our reservation by the gracious hostess and the friendly waitress shortly took our drink order. The wait was short and the food order followed shortly thereafter. We both had the Trifecta with romaine salad, fried chicken with snaps and cornbread, and chocolate pie with the suggested wines. Everything was cooked to perfection and we both thoroughly enjoyed our meal , the view, great service and the atmosphere. We will definitely return to The Bistro at Childress Vineyards to try additional items from the menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was simply amazing!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Everything was simply amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great, BUT the wait was very ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was great, BUT the wait was very long for our food once ordered. The bottle of white wine was not cold but was at room temperature plus.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and wine were good, but the service ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food and wine were good, but the service was subpar. There were 6 of us and the food took almost an hour to come out. I had the pimento cheese burger with sweet potato fries, which I really enjoyed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had another wonderful experience at T ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had another wonderful experience at The Bistro at Childress Vineyards! The entire staff and our waitress was extremely nice and attentive to our needs. The food was delicious as always! Can't wait to come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and setting were excellent. Unfort ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food and setting were excellent. Unfortunately the kitchen was EXTREMELY slow. However, our server Megan more than made up for the delay with her attention (and of course the glasses of wine made the wait acceptable).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had to wait more than hour for our fo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had to wait more than hour for our food. Waitress was nice and apolegetic.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

We loved our visit to Childress Vineyard ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We loved our visit to Childress Vineyard Bistro. The setting was gorgeous, the food was great and the wait staff excellent. We would definitely go back again and take other friends with us.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Special thanks to our server, Sarah! Sh ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Special thanks to our server, Sarah! She was very pleasant, efficient and accommodating. We were celebrating a birthday and this was a great venue!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellant! Flavors were like a party in ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellant! Flavors were like a party in our mouths. Have been here several times and it never disappoints.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first time at Childress Win ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was our first time at Childress Winery. It was so beautifully decorated for Christmas. We had a lovely lunch starting off with fried pickles and the brie appetizers. I had the pimento cheese burger and my hubby the pot pie. Our friends had the meatloaf. After we spent time in the shop and are always appreciative of places that honor our military by giving a discount. We will back...birthdays, Valentines, special occasions, even Groundhog Day :)

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the drive for food and wine. Grea ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Worth the drive for food and wine. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, , Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THwe Bistro at Childress Winery is alway ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2016

THwe Bistro at Childress Winery is always a delightful place to have a delicious meal with friends, either before or after wine tasting.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We love to visit the Bistro when picking ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We love to visit the Bistro when picking up our wine shipment or to enjoy the seasonal bands that play outdoors. It's nice and casual, a quick eat if you like. And you always have the option to pair with wine. Service was a tad off this past visit and it was even packed as I've seen it in the past.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

We enjoyed our visit so very much, the a ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We enjoyed our visit so very much, the atmosphere was breathtaking and the decorations for the Holiday Season were beautiful! Would love to visit again during the summer months coming up!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Childress has been one of my favorite lu ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Childress has been one of my favorite lunch spots for a few months now. I have had several gatherings there and invited friends to wine and dine but today my experience was different. I once again invited my male partner to experience what I have experienced so many times before, the great food the great ambiance and the great wine at Childress. Santa was there today and not only did he bring cheer to all the lunch tables but he skipped our table. I felt discriminated against and sad that this was now my new experience of Childress. I'm saddened by this and I did let my waiter know how disappointed we were and I even had a chance to speak with Santa but of course he didn't realize we were there. Kailey W was great and i hope she shared my concerns with the manager. I'm not sure when I will be returning to Childress but I do know my perception has changed. I hope that in time I am able to look beyond what happened but in this society and in this age it will be hard.

Sincerely a Victim of Santa Discrimination

Lisa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We stop there every Christmas while visi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We stop there every Christmas while visiting friends in that area and will continue to do so in the future, very nice overall experience from the facility to the food and the prices

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The pizza not so good. It was not hot. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The pizza not so good. It was not hot. The flank steak was just ok but not that great. Also, I was overcharged. My guest ordered the Trifecta without the wine but I was charged for the wine. This is my second visit and the first was wonder and couldn't wait to come back even though it is over an hour trip.

This visit not so good. Embarrassed because I brought my sister and her husband. Now I'm not planning on coming back anytime soon. Beautiful place though.

Thank for asking. Wished you could have asked my opinion the first time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We went for a Christmas lunch and it was ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We went for a Christmas lunch and it was wonderful. We sat in the ballroom as the weather was too cold to sit in the glassed-in room. It was decorated and very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the chicken pie and I really enjoy ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I had the chicken pie and I really enjoyed it. My compliments to the chef!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I had the salmon and it was exceptionall ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I had the salmon and it was exceptionally good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We always enjoy our visits to The Bistro ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We always enjoy our visits to The Bistro. The food is excellent and we can highly recommend The Sunday Trifecta. Three delicious courses with wines to pair.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a first class operation. The foo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is a first class operation. The food was wonderful. Love the wine. The gift shop is well organized, good prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During the colder months, the restaurant ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 10, 2016

During the colder months, the restaurant should pay attention to using space heaters so customers don't have to wear their coats to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

The area that we dined in was very cold! ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The area that we dined in was very cold!! Food was great along with service. It was a bit noisy for conversation. Very casual atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was great as usual, but the heating ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was great as usual, but the heating systems were not operating. With an outside temperature at 36 degrees the meal was very unpleasant.

No offer was made to re-seat us in another dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

The food was great, however the heat was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was great, however the heat was broken so all the patrons ate with coats on. This made for a miserable experience since we were all freezing! I was surprised the restaurant did not offer us a discount to make up for the poor experience. I drove an hour to eat at the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

It was too cool in the bistro and my wif ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 6, 2016

It was too cool in the bistro and my wife's pizza was cold. But overall it was great as usual.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly/ Effective Service and excellen ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Friendly/ Effective Service and excellent foods appropriate for all different times of day. If you could not find an excellent wine to compliment your meal choice it is not the Bistro's fault. The beautiful grounds make every seat a wonderful place for conversation and good foods for ayour gathering of great friends!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The loaded potato soup was cold.

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The loaded potato soup was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

another great evening and experience , ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

another great evening and experience , waitress did a good job

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome!! The service was wonderful and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Awesome!! The service was wonderful and the food was great. It is an extraordinary place to visit with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not have a good experience. We sat ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I did not have a good experience. We sat at the table for almost 20 before someone came to our table. The food took an exceptionally long time. The food was not the best. The waitress got confused with our order we wanted a crab cake on the side and she brought us a small condiment cup of crab for the same price. Would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

We were married at Childress so it is al ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were married at Childress so it is always a treat to visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, , Casual, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Live Music, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Family Style, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at the bistro is always a treat! ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Dining at the bistro is always a treat! We walked right in with no wait, table already prepared and speedy service. Food came out in great timing from appetizers, to meal, to dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We arrived early but still had to wait 2 ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We arrived early but still had to wait 20 minutes for our table with a reservation. They did give us a free glass of wine which was very nice. We ordered the pimento crab dip which we just love but when it arrived we realized right away it was not the same. The dip was runny and the pita chips were stale.. Go back to using flat bread please!! We sent it back and said do not charge us for it. Which they didn't.

Overall this is a nice place to eat and the wine is good but this time it seemed they were overbooked and under staffed. We ask and they said every Saturday is like this. If so maybe they need to evaluate how they are doing things.??

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We ordered their "Trifecta" lunch specia ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We ordered their "Trifecta" lunch special, which included a soup (butternut squash), an entree (ribeye steak), and a dessert (apple tart). The soup was good, but the steak was a nightmare. My girlfriend and I both ordered our steaks medium rare, and both came out well done. On top of that, the steaks were only 1/8 of an inch thick, if that. We had to send them back. Luckily, our waitress made it right and we ordered completely new entrees on the house. We weren't willing to take a chance on the steak again, as it was cafeteria quality, not upscale dinning quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

One of the nicest places that I have hav ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 11, 2016

One of the nicest places that I have have ever been for lunch. The atmosphere was the best.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, , Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent lunch and great service, as al ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent lunch and great service, as always! It is a treat to visit with friends during holiday season, enjoy delicious lunch, wine tasting and shopping.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very scenic and great ambiance. Meals w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very scenic and great ambiance. Meals were very good, waitress attentive and friendly. Food delivery quite slow. Nice wines! Great girlfriend trip from Charlotte for lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.