About The Bistro at Childress Vineyards

1000 Childress Vineyards Rd.
Lexington, NC 27295
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards promotes the celebration of food and wine. We take great pride in our ability to hand-pick the best ingredients locally and abroad. Our goal is to create the ultimate culinary experience for our guests, providing the finest food and wine in an extraordinary setting.

Our menu changes seasonally and can be viewed online at www.childressvineyards.com.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 52 & Hwy 64

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 236-9463

Website:
http://www.childressvineyards.com/

Executive Chef:
Spencer Wright

Additional:
Banquet, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Trifecta
Lemon Pavlova
Arugula Salad
Grilled Salmon
Lump Crab Cake
Dessert Special:  Cinnamon-Apple Profiterole, Ancho Chile-Chocolate Sauce
WineMakersDinner:  pan seared red snapper w/ spinach, radicchio, grapefruit vinaigrette, spiced pistachios
WineMakersDinner:  herb crusted beef filet & scallop w/ grilled summer veg & yellow pepper puree
WineMakersDinner:  beer steamed mussels w/ grilled corn, arugula, pork rinds
App Special: Marinated Flank Steak, Yellow Pepper Puree, Avocado-Corn Salad
WineMakersDinner:  Grilled Romaine Salad w/ stilton, house cured bacon, truffle buttermilk dressing
WineMakersDinner:  melon carpaccio w/ watercress & aged balsamic
Entree Special: Fish Taco w/ Mahi-Mahi, Chipotle Sour Cream, Fresh Salsa, Queso Fresco
Grilled Tuna

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
13 More
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Outdoor Dining
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Great for Lunch
Greensboro
Notable Wine List
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Great for Lunch (115)
Scenic View (109)
Special Occasion (89)
See All
Notable Wine List (71)
Good for Groups (51)
Great for Brunch (51)
Romantic (50)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Hot Spot (14)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Business Meals (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

the food was great and the customer serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 2 days ago

the food was great and the customer service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting with very good food. H ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful setting with very good food. Highly recommend!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food in the bistro was not edible ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food in the bistro was not edible except for one dish - bowl of chili. There were 3 of us - all main dishes could not finished even though we all were hungry and were looking forward to that visit to celebrate the birthday. The service - the hostess - had to wait for her to come, when she was there she said - I will go and check if your waitress is ready to have you - what? we've made a reservation and that actually sounded very rude. Our first negative experience in the US - food is terrible, decided not stay for tasting; expected music as per announcements - saw the musicians, but did not hear them play. People were changing baby diapers on the loan right in front of the terrace. Overall not an inviting place. Visited a lot of wineries in the area - all were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very pretty setting. The food was OK but ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very pretty setting. The food was OK but nothing great. The service was slow. There was a distinct order when we first arrived which smelled like horses but I do not think they have them on property. The tasting and wine tour were great. Would do the outdoor food area instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food. Service was terrible. The vi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food. Service was terrible. The view was amazing but it was very hot inside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

We drove 60 miles each way to enjoy lunc ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We drove 60 miles each way to enjoy lunch at the Bistro. Always worth the drive!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very hot, no air, very uncomforta ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was very hot, no air, very uncomfortable. The food, wine and service were great!! It was cooler outside

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Like dining at a Tuscan villa!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Like dining at a Tuscan villa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our third trip to Childress Vine ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is our third trip to Childress Vineyards, and we are already planning a fourth! Would highly recommend this venue for any special occasion or get away! Affordable, beautiful and oh so friendly!!! CHEERS!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor and it was very warm. Once to su ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Outdoor and it was very warm. Once to sun was gone the staff had the lighting too bright. Wait staff was very poor.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

It was extremely hot that evening and fa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

It was extremely hot that evening and fans were sparse. Very unorganized wait staff. It took a while for the wine to arrive. The salad came with the dinner so the dinner cooled while we enjoyed our salad. Overall not worth the price.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We arrived at 6:30 pm, our reservation t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We arrived at 6:30 pm, our reservation time. There were still several sunny tables, so we asked for a table out if the sun, which there were four. The two clowns at the podium took us to the sunniest table in the pavilion. We said we couldn't sit there, as I have an issue where I need to stay out of the sun. She went back to the podium, left is standing there for ten minutes, when a waitress came by, asked how she could help us, and seated us at one of the four empty tables out of the sun. The two clowns at the podium definitely need training.

Our server, Sarah, was fine. We ordered a arugula salad to split, and someone brought it out on one plate, sat it in front of me, and we had to ask for a second plate. My husband had the clam linguine, which was served lukewarm. I had the stuffed pork tenderloin, which was served lukewarm and dry as dust. Overall, a painful experience that won't be repeated on our part.

We have been to The Bistro many times for lunch, and it was fine. This was our first dinner experience. The food was of poor quality and preparation, and the pricepoint was too high for what we were served. All in all, it was a very disappointing evening, and we drove from Greensboro thinking we would have a lovely dinner, outside looking at the lovely vineyards.

Never again!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Beautiful facility, good food and servi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Beautiful facility, good food and service. It was really too hot to have the dinner in the Pavilion but we enjoyed it anyway. Excellent pricing in the dinner wine list!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great meal and excellent waitress. Also ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great meal and excellent waitress. Also the wine was excellent

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta and sea scallops were excellen ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The pasta and sea scallops were excellent. Disappointed that some of the entrees and desserts listed on the menu were not available.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Other than the fact that our food was sl ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Other than the fact that our food was slow coming, the meal was very pleasant in every way. Our waitress, Megan, was lovely.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

WINE CLUB MEMBERS AND THE FOOD IS GREAT ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

WINE CLUB MEMBERS AND THE FOOD IS GREAT AND WE HAVE THE BEST WAITRESS AROUND

( CHASTIDY) LOVE SITTING AT A WINDOW SEAT . WE HAVE NOT HAD A BAD EXPERIENCE , HAVE ALL BEEN GREAT

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Historic, Spicy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Private Room, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The wait service was excellent although ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The wait service was excellent although it took a long time to get our food and we only order sandwiches (as opposed to entrees). The chicken salad croissant is nothing special - I've had better and I've had worse, however the lobster BLT is great. The tomato goat cheese soup is worth ordering and the caramel praline cheesecake is scrumptious! This is a great place for special occasions. We received a complimentary desert since we were first time diners and my daughter received a lemon cup cake for her birthday!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I was here for the first time five years ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I was here for the first time five years ago. I was looking forward to a good meal again. Unfortunately, it was very disappointing.

Not overly impressed with appetizer (size and taste) and even less impressed with the entree.

Over cooked pasta in the strangest "marinara" sauce I've ever tasted, all covered by a blanket of melted cheese.

Overall, not my idea of a prime eating establishment.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The atmosphere and view were wonderful! ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The atmosphere and view were wonderful! The food was delicious! The service was not satisfactory. Our reservation was at 1:15pm. We were seated about 5-10 minutes before our reservation time. We did not get our food until a little before 2pm. My husband and I ordered a glass of wine and we never received it. Our drinks were empty more than they were filled and she failed to check on our table in a timely manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Nice, varied menu, well-prepared, tasty. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice, varied menu, well-prepared, tasty. Pleasant, attentive server.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the second time we have visited ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is the second time we have visited Childress and was just as good the 1st time. We really enjoyed lunch in the main dining room and had a bottle of wine under the outside covered area. The fans provided a nice breeze.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice lunch here. It did no ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had a very nice lunch here. It did not disappoint.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, quality of food, and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent service, quality of food, and ambiance. Will continue to dine here on a regular basis

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We make a special stop every time we tra ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We make a special stop every time we travel through to Hilton Head.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Requested a special table and it was pro ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Requested a special table and it was provided. We were so pleased and treated very well.

Thank you.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful venue - great view! Food was ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Beautiful venue - great view! Food was delicious and the wine was wonderful! We will go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Service was extremely sl ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was great. Service was extremely slow. Took almost an hour from the time we ordered to get our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The food is great and very solid service ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food is great and very solid service. the table we sat at is by the door yet it wasn't to much of a distraction. that is the table they put us at and we made the reservations by open table so no upgrade. Desert was so/so.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to a Vinyard and so glad ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our first visit to a Vinyard and so glad we chose this one! We had a great meal with generous portions. The service was amazing and prompt. Thank you for the once in a lifetime experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. The service was exc ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a great time. The service was excellent, the food very good, and reasonable priced.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the bistro, the view is excepti ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We loved the bistro, the view is exceptional as well as the food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best meals I've gott ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was one of the best meals I've gotten at Childress. From the amuse bouche offered at the beginning to dessert. Everything was perfectly done.

The only issue (being summer) was the heat and sun glare as sunset began.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were seated immediately, requested w ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were seated immediately, requested wine which took far to long to arrive. Ordered Prime Rib which came to us not as requested. However the replacement dish was very good. Requested a seat at the window - told it was reserved. No one was seated at that window seat during our entire stay.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Wow this place is so beautiful! We had t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wow this place is so beautiful! We had the charcuterie plate and it was delicious! Great value to split a bottle of wine, too! (Sells for the same as on the shelf)

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place for lunch in Lexington. Beaut ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Best place for lunch in Lexington. Beautiful and great menu!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A terrific find hidden away in the Ever ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

A terrific find hidden away in the Everything!

Greeter & wait staff were superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have great words to say about t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I always have great words to say about the Bistro but Sunday was a bad day for them. I ordered the Chicken flatbread and it was cold when it was delivered. My husband ordered the shrimp and grits and they were tasteless! The room was about 80 degrees. This was a once in a lifetime bad visit . We'll return because they were just really off their game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Great food and service. Dined here many, ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and service. Dined here many, many times and will continue to do so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy a bottle of cabernet sau ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We always enjoy a bottle of cabernet sauvignon with our meal.. The food was delicious. We had the sausage meatloaf and the Cuban sandwich.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.