About The Bistro at Childress Vineyards

1000 Childress Vineyards Rd.
Lexington, NC 27295
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards promotes the celebration of food and wine. We take great pride in our ability to hand-pick the best ingredients locally and abroad. Our goal is to create the ultimate culinary experience for our guests, providing the finest food and wine in an extraordinary setting.

Our menu changes seasonally and can be viewed online at www.childressvineyards.com.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 52 & Hwy 64

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 236-9463

Website:
http://www.childressvineyards.com/

Executive Chef:
Spencer Wright

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Trifecta
Lemon Pavlova
Arugula Salad
Grilled Salmon
Lump Crab Cake
Dessert Special:  Cinnamon-Apple Profiterole, Ancho Chile-Chocolate Sauce
WineMakersDinner:  pan seared red snapper w/ spinach, radicchio, grapefruit vinaigrette, spiced pistachios
WineMakersDinner:  herb crusted beef filet & scallop w/ grilled summer veg & yellow pepper puree
WineMakersDinner:  beer steamed mussels w/ grilled corn, arugula, pork rinds
App Special: Marinated Flank Steak, Yellow Pepper Puree, Avocado-Corn Salad
WineMakersDinner:  Grilled Romaine Salad w/ stilton, house cured bacon, truffle buttermilk dressing
WineMakersDinner:  melon carpaccio w/ watercress & aged balsamic
Entree Special: Fish Taco w/ Mahi-Mahi, Chipotle Sour Cream, Fresh Salsa, Queso Fresco
Grilled Tuna

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
12 More
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Romantic
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Great for Lunch (133)
Scenic View (120)
Special Occasion (99)
See All
Notable Wine List (78)
Good for Groups (67)
Great for Brunch (64)
Romantic (60)
Great for Outdoor Dining (49)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Hot Spot (15)
Kid-friendly (12)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great. Service was extremely sl ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great. Service was extremely slow. Took almost an hour from the time we ordered to get our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The food is great and very solid service ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food is great and very solid service. the table we sat at is by the door yet it wasn't to much of a distraction. that is the table they put us at and we made the reservations by open table so no upgrade. Desert was so/so.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to a Vinyard and so glad ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our first visit to a Vinyard and so glad we chose this one! We had a great meal with generous portions. The service was amazing and prompt. Thank you for the once in a lifetime experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. The service was exc ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a great time. The service was excellent, the food very good, and reasonable priced.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the bistro, the view is excepti ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We loved the bistro, the view is exceptional as well as the food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best meals I've gott ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was one of the best meals I've gotten at Childress. From the amuse bouche offered at the beginning to dessert. Everything was perfectly done.

The only issue (being summer) was the heat and sun glare as sunset began.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were seated immediately, requested w ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were seated immediately, requested wine which took far to long to arrive. Ordered Prime Rib which came to us not as requested. However the replacement dish was very good. Requested a seat at the window - told it was reserved. No one was seated at that window seat during our entire stay.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Wow this place is so beautiful! We had t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wow this place is so beautiful! We had the charcuterie plate and it was delicious! Great value to split a bottle of wine, too! (Sells for the same as on the shelf)

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place for lunch in Lexington. Beaut ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Best place for lunch in Lexington. Beautiful and great menu!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A terrific find hidden away in the Ever ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

A terrific find hidden away in the Everything!

Greeter & wait staff were superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have great words to say about t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I always have great words to say about the Bistro but Sunday was a bad day for them. I ordered the Chicken flatbread and it was cold when it was delivered. My husband ordered the shrimp and grits and they were tasteless! The room was about 80 degrees. This was a once in a lifetime bad visit . We'll return because they were just really off their game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Great food and service. Dined here many, ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and service. Dined here many, many times and will continue to do so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy a bottle of cabernet sau ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We always enjoy a bottle of cabernet sauvignon with our meal.. The food was delicious. We had the sausage meatloaf and the Cuban sandwich.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Though we were late and arrived toward t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Though we were late and arrived toward the end of their business day, the hostess graciously accommodated us. As we had traveled 7 hours to get there, that made us extremely happy. Everything about this property is beautiful and well done. Restaurant overlooks the vineyards and has been set up so practically the entire floor gets a window view. Food is very good and, of course, revolves around wine pairings. We were disappointed that the prix fixe option was not available.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere. This is my t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. This is my third time at the restaurant and it is always too warm in the dining room.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the Trifecta lunch option, 3 cou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Enjoyed the Trifecta lunch option, 3 courses with wine pairing. Delicious!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic. Went for lunch while visiting ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fantastic. Went for lunch while visiting North Carolina, unbelievable food. MUST make a reservation or your going to wait a while. Great view of the vineyards and property. Everything fresh and cooked to perfection. Servers are friendly and courteous. Will definitely be going back next time we're in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While this is an OK restaurant, that's a ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

While this is an OK restaurant, that's as far as it goes. The wine was served without any bread or crackers, the noise level was just short of deafening resulting in having to yell across the table, and the food was average with the bun on the sandwich being slightly stale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great place for a tasty lunch and great ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great place for a tasty lunch and great view of the winery !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food is always great! Can't wait to try ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food is always great! Can't wait to try something new on my next visit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Childress is a great place to go for lun ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Childress is a great place to go for lunch and conversation with friends and family. Nice view, pleasant ambiance. I have had lunch with Childress at least a dozen times. The wine is always good. The food and service vary quite a bit. But I always have a great time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Bistro has a wonderful picturesque s ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The Bistro has a wonderful picturesque setting, overlooking the vineyards and an open air pavilion with it's Spanish tile roof. The Bistro itself consists of an indoor dining area, and a screened and semi-enclosed porch, where we were seated. My wife and I both had the trifecta, which is a three course lunch, each course served with a wine paring. We started out with a wedge salad, with tomatoes and blue cheese dressing with a red wine that I can't remember at this time. The main serving was Strip steak, served with a mushroom and onion reduction, roasted gold and purple baby potatoes and green beans, accompanied by Childress Pinnacle. The desert was a frozen shaved watermelon with mint leaves, paired with Victory Cuvee O. The sweet melon and Victory Cuvee O clashed, and did not go well together, which was the only bad note in the meal. I will certainly be dining here again when I am in the area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food. Was super hot in the restaur ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good food. Was super hot in the restaurant. I was sweating the whole time. Waitress was just ok...forgot to bring items that we asked for. We sat in corner table and there was a huge spider web on the sliding glass door next to table. It was there the last time we sat at this table back to months ago...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

As always the food was excellent! Servi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always the food was excellent! Service was really great and despite it being overcast, the views we're exceptional. I'll be coming back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time. Will definitely return. My ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

First time. Will definitely return. My guest who is a picky eater and doesn't eat barbecue was delighted. Nice to look out to view of vineyards while dining. Chicken croissants delicious. The brownie dessert amazing! Service friendly and inviting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Bistro, Food, Staff everywhere ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Loved the Bistro, Food, Staff everywhere and the Beautiful Vineyard, but.......

Vineyard Bistro and Band closed at 3 on a Saturday so definitely not a vibrant bar scene, or late night find or romantic . Would have liked it to be open for dinner and vineyard/music til 7 pm to enjoy the music. Very rushed to get a tour at 12 (first one on Saturday), lunch at 1 pm and then barely caught 3 or 4 songs with the band before they wrapped up at 3 pm. and then do tasting and shop til closing time at 5. Really nothing more to do around the vineyard or hotel after that, wished the band was better, we like rock n roll and old time music, but this band had no danceable music and didn't know any of the songs we made recommendations for. very popular ones too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A few friends gathered here for a birthd ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A few friends gathered here for a birthday lunch and we were in awe! The views were absolutely amazing and the staff was wonderful! Our waitress, Paula, was the sweetest thing! The only disappointing thing was that the restaurant ran out of the special right when we sat down, which was 2 hours before closing. Other than that, we had a delicious lunch and enjoyed a scenic walk around the grounds afterward!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bistro is a terrific treasure in Lex ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Bistro is a terrific treasure in Lexington. The wines are fantastic, and the venue is truly lovely. The menu changes with the season, which is a good reason for return trips! I would suggest going more with an entree or salad versus the sandwiches. Enjoy!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice selection of entrees for Vineyard B ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nice selection of entrees for Vineyard Bistro. My personal favorite is the Cuban Sandwich which comes with 1 side. It is very difficult to chose between the Caesar salad and the sweet potato fries. I split the entree (very Large sandwich !) with my 92 year old mom, and our waitress kindly informed me on a non-published option to add the salad as a side item for $3.00 - which made that decision easy - Get both ! They serve all of the Childress wines (same price as at the tasting room) - my favorites are the Riesling (white) and Pinnacle (Red blend).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always delicious. Ashlyn is ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is always delicious. Ashlyn is always wonderful and very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food, friendly people, good ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always good food, friendly people, good service and pretty views. What more could you ask for? Been there many times and will go back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. My husband & I h ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was excellent. My husband & I had the fried green tomato caprese. I ordered the lobster BLT w/ a house salad accompanied by the house balsamic vinegrette, then finished w/ the daily gelato; strawberry. My husband had the Trifecta including grilled romane salad, petite sirloin w/ asparagus & mashed potatoes, then finished w/ strawberry shortcake. His sirloin was not medium rare, as ordered, but our waitress graciously took it back to the kitchen. The chef had another out after, which was perfect. My only complaint was a large party of adults that was boisterous at times preventing me from hearing my husband.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chastity was fabulous. Will ask for her ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Chastity was fabulous. Will ask for her each time we return.

She made our visit extra special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Childress Vineyards, one becaus ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We chose Childress Vineyards, one because we are both Nascar fans, two, it was our 1st wedding anniversary. First time visiting. It was beautiful, romantic, music, great service-we had an awesome lunch and the wine was great! We bought wine and gifts. I would recommend this to everyone! We will be back!

Matthews, NC

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a get together with our son and ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was a get together with our son and daughter along with our daughter in law We did bring our 3 year granddaughter we wanted to special for our daughter son daughter in law my husband and myself . And special it was cant wait till we return to Lexington

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and it was a great date. Music in the pavilion was amazing . Had a great time!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great gem close to home . Romantic lunc ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great gem close to home . Romantic lunch with my hubby! It was our first time. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable late afternoon meal. Grea ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very enjoyable late afternoon meal. Great waitress and food was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to enjoy a relaxing lunch. S ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great place to enjoy a relaxing lunch. Service is great and the food is very tasty. Great wine list and music was great

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They really need to make The Bistro much ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

They really need to make The Bistro much larger. We waited an hour and a half for our food. Some people just walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.