About The Bistro at Childress Vineyards

1000 Childress Vineyards Rd.
Lexington, NC 27295
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards promotes the celebration of food and wine. We take great pride in our ability to hand-pick the best ingredients locally and abroad. Our goal is to create the ultimate culinary experience for our guests, providing the finest food and wine in an extraordinary setting.

Our menu changes seasonally and can be viewed online at www.childressvineyards.com.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 52 & Hwy 64

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 236-9463

Website:
http://www.childressvineyards.com/

Executive Chef:
Spencer Wright

Additional:
Banquet, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Trifecta - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Lemon Pavlova - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Arugula Salad - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Grilled Salmon - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Lump Crab Cake - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Dessert Special:  Cinnamon-Apple Profiterole, Ancho Chile-Chocolate Sauce - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
WineMakersDinner:  pan seared red snapper w/ spinach, radicchio, grapefruit vinaigrette, spiced pistachios - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
WineMakersDinner:  herb crusted beef filet & scallop w/ grilled summer veg & yellow pepper puree - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
WineMakersDinner:  beer steamed mussels w/ grilled corn, arugula, pork rinds - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
App Special: Marinated Flank Steak, Yellow Pepper Puree, Avocado-Corn Salad - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
WineMakersDinner:  Grilled Romaine Salad w/ stilton, house cured bacon, truffle buttermilk dressing - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
WineMakersDinner:  melon carpaccio w/ watercress & aged balsamic - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Entree Special: Fish Taco w/ Mahi-Mahi, Chipotle Sour Cream, Fresh Salsa, Queso Fresco - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC
Grilled Tuna - The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, Lexington, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
4 More
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Great for Lunch (68)
Scenic View (66)
Special Occasion (51)
See All
Notable Wine List (38)
Good for a Date (34)
Worth the Drive (34)
Romantic (29)
Great for Brunch (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Casual (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Fun (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Cozy (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Authentic (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Healthy (10)
Seasonal (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Live Music (7)
People Watching (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Private Room (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Family Style (4)
Fireplace (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Vegan (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Waterfront (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great as usual, but the heating ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined a day ago

Food was great as usual, but the heating systems were not operating. With an outside temperature at 36 degrees the meal was very unpleasant.

No offer was made to re-seat us in another dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

It was too cool in the bistro and my wif ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

It was too cool in the bistro and my wife's pizza was cold. But overall it was great as usual.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly/ Effective Service and excellen ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Friendly/ Effective Service and excellent foods appropriate for all different times of day. If you could not find an excellent wine to compliment your meal choice it is not the Bistro's fault. The beautiful grounds make every seat a wonderful place for conversation and good foods for ayour gathering of great friends!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The loaded potato soup was cold.

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The loaded potato soup was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

another great evening and experience , ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

another great evening and experience , waitress did a good job

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome!! The service was wonderful and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Awesome!! The service was wonderful and the food was great. It is an extraordinary place to visit with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were married at Childress so it is al ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were married at Childress so it is always a treat to visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Casual, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Live Music, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Family Style, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at the bistro is always a treat! ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Dining at the bistro is always a treat! We walked right in with no wait, table already prepared and speedy service. Food came out in great timing from appetizers, to meal, to dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We arrived early but still had to wait 2 ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We arrived early but still had to wait 20 minutes for our table with a reservation. They did give us a free glass of wine which was very nice. We ordered the pimento crab dip which we just love but when it arrived we realized right away it was not the same. The dip was runny and the pita chips were stale.. Go back to using flat bread please!! We sent it back and said do not charge us for it. Which they didn't.

Overall this is a nice place to eat and the wine is good but this time it seemed they were overbooked and under staffed. We ask and they said every Saturday is like this. If so maybe they need to evaluate how they are doing things.??

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We ordered their "Trifecta" lunch specia ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We ordered their "Trifecta" lunch special, which included a soup (butternut squash), an entree (ribeye steak), and a dessert (apple tart). The soup was good, but the steak was a nightmare. My girlfriend and I both ordered our steaks medium rare, and both came out well done. On top of that, the steaks were only 1/8 of an inch thick, if that. We had to send them back. Luckily, our waitress made it right and we ordered completely new entrees on the house. We weren't willing to take a chance on the steak again, as it was cafeteria quality, not upscale dinning quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

One of the nicest places that I have hav ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 11, 2016

One of the nicest places that I have have ever been for lunch. The atmosphere was the best.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent lunch and great service, as al ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent lunch and great service, as always! It is a treat to visit with friends during holiday season, enjoy delicious lunch, wine tasting and shopping.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very scenic and great ambiance. Meals w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very scenic and great ambiance. Meals were very good, waitress attentive and friendly. Food delivery quite slow. Nice wines! Great girlfriend trip from Charlotte for lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time this year that ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This was the second time this year that I've been disappointed. Food is not as good as previous years.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Wonderful first experience at Childress ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful first experience at Childress Winery. The setting was gorgeous and food delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Average wine, good lunch spot, good view ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Average wine, good lunch spot, good view, quick service, nice view

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed returning to Childress for Sunda ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Enjoyed returning to Childress for Sunday brunch.

Superb! Will return again soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I had a delightful lunch ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My husband and I had a delightful lunch date that was not planned until the day before. It was easy reserving a time slot and the food was delicious. We will return. The gift shop was a bonus. My husband's only regret was that there wasn't a racing museum on site.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress warned me for a well done h ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The waitress warned me for a well done hamburger it could take 15 minutes. I was fine with that. It took 30-45 minutes and when the food came it was warm not hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I have been here a few times. I have al ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I have been here a few times. I have always had a great experience. The food, staff and ambience are second to none.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful vineyard and winery to visit ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

A beautiful vineyard and winery to visit. I would definitely tell others about it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I live in Charlotte & this is my favorit ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I live in Charlotte & this is my favorite place to go when I visit my grandparents who live in Lexington! Food is high quality & menu has a good selection. The decor is beautiful & the scenery is gorgeous as well. I would recommend to anybody!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It had been several years since my last ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It had been several years since my last visit but the 45 mile drive was worth it and I will be back more often. Comfortable seating overlooking the vineyards with above average food and service.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very Unique winery for Central NC..... B ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Very Unique winery for Central NC..... Beautiful property and buildings.... could have been in Napa . Food is very very good with very good wine selections.... Lots of fun for a 1.5 hr drive from Raleigh / Durham/ Chapel Hill area. Tour is only 30-40 min and their facility is very compact ....make a reservation in advance to be sure you can get one

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent, excellent place with good foo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent, excellent place with good food, view and casual dining. No rush. Drink in the beautiful landscape. The exterior, the interior lobby, all leading to the bistro. The atmosphere is rich. The wine with a late lunch was superb.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had family come to visit and wanted t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had family come to visit and wanted to get them to have the food, wine and get a great experience! Amazing food, wine and service as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful light luncheon menu, crisp loc ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Wonderful light luncheon menu, crisp local light white wine, view over vineyards, attentive service, great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the best black bean sup ever plus a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Had the best black bean sup ever plus a perfectly balanced salad facing the gorgeous vineyards.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was disappointing after d ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Our experience was disappointing after driving from Durham. We were seated at 1:10 and food service was soooo slow even though the restaurant was not crowded. Our server provided poor service. And The guest next to us came to our table and said: "I don't mind the food being late because it's fresh but I don't want them to have to grow it". Food arrived on the table at 2:00. They forgot the side of spinach and the meatloaf was a large meatball. I would never eat here again!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Beautiful scenery. Great food. Great ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Beautiful scenery. Great food. Great service. Only complaint is table full of small children sitting right next to us, no adult at table. Kids loud, up and down, in and out, bumping my husbands chair while he was trying to eat. Not a good place for children anyway.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the best lunch experience I ever ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

It was the best lunch experience I ever had. Amazing food, great service and excellent time with friends. Such great hospitality and food that i ever received. I can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, the server had very l ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The food was good, the server had very little knowledge of any thing on menu , for example I believe the sign said seasonal butternut squash , she said it was tomato something. However we will come back next year for race weekend.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Very noisy. Ordered 3 Trifectas & waitre ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Very noisy. Ordered 3 Trifectas & waitress came back that they only had 2 left. A couple that came in after us rec'd 2 Trifectas. Noticed dessert from the Trifectas at one table was over the top of the bowl, and 1/3 of that at other tables and our table. Waitress was somewhat aloof and not present enough. I ordered seared scallops & pasta. Pasta not fully cooked. Peach crème brulee was runny. Just pointing out the bad points. Love the atmosphere and the view, and the gift shop. A great place to take company from out of town.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Excellent service, wonderful food, pheno ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent service, wonderful food, phenomenal atmosphere. We will be going back to the bistro.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Live Music, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was great and the customer serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

the food was great and the customer service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting with very good food. H ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Beautiful setting with very good food. Highly recommend!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food in the bistro was not edible ex ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food in the bistro was not edible except for one dish - bowl of chili. There were 3 of us - all main dishes could not finished even though we all were hungry and were looking forward to that visit to celebrate the birthday. The service - the hostess - had to wait for her to come, when she was there she said - I will go and check if your waitress is ready to have you - what? we've made a reservation and that actually sounded very rude. Our first negative experience in the US - food is terrible, decided not stay for tasting; expected music as per announcements - saw the musicians, but did not hear them play. People were changing baby diapers on the loan right in front of the terrace. Overall not an inviting place. Visited a lot of wineries in the area - all were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very pretty setting. The food was OK but ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very pretty setting. The food was OK but nothing great. The service was slow. There was a distinct order when we first arrived which smelled like horses but I do not think they have them on property. The tasting and wine tour were great. Would do the outdoor food area instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food. Service was terrible. The vi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food. Service was terrible. The view was amazing but it was very hot inside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

We drove 60 miles each way to enjoy lunc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We drove 60 miles each way to enjoy lunch at the Bistro. Always worth the drive!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.