About The Bistro at Childress Vineyards

1000 Childress Vineyards Rd.
Lexington, NC 27295
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards promotes the celebration of food and wine. We take great pride in our ability to hand-pick the best ingredients locally and abroad. Our goal is to create the ultimate culinary experience for our guests, providing the finest food and wine in an extraordinary setting.

Our menu changes seasonally and can be viewed online at www.childressvineyards.com.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 52 & Hwy 64

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 236-9463

Website:
http://www.childressvineyards.com/

Executive Chef:
Spencer Wright

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Trifecta
Arugula Salad
Grilled Salmon
Lemon Pavlova
Lump Crab Cake
Dessert Special:  Cinnamon-Apple Profiterole, Ancho Chile-Chocolate Sauce
WineMakersDinner:  pan seared red snapper w/ spinach, radicchio, grapefruit vinaigrette, spiced pistachios
App Special: Marinated Flank Steak, Yellow Pepper Puree, Avocado-Corn Salad
Entree Special: Fish Taco w/ Mahi-Mahi, Chipotle Sour Cream, Fresh Salsa, Queso Fresco
WineMakersDinner:  beer steamed mussels w/ grilled corn, arugula, pork rinds
WineMakersDinner:  herb crusted beef filet & scallop w/ grilled summer veg & yellow pepper puree
WineMakersDinner:  melon carpaccio w/ watercress & aged balsamic
WineMakersDinner:  Grilled Romaine Salad w/ stilton, house cured bacon, truffle buttermilk dressing
Grilled Tuna

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
12 More
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Outdoor Dining
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

great for lunch (123)
scenic view (104)
special occasion (85)
See All
notable wine list (67)
great for brunch (64)
good for groups (59)
romantic (50)
great for outdoor dining (48)
fit for foodies (37)
neighborhood gem (24)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Childress is a great place to go for lun ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Childress is a great place to go for lunch and conversation with friends and family. Nice view, pleasant ambiance. I have had lunch with Childress at least a dozen times. The wine is always good. The food and service vary quite a bit. But I always have a great time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Bistro has a wonderful picturesque s ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The Bistro has a wonderful picturesque setting, overlooking the vineyards and an open air pavilion with it's Spanish tile roof. The Bistro itself consists of an indoor dining area, and a screened and semi-enclosed porch, where we were seated. My wife and I both had the trifecta, which is a three course lunch, each course served with a wine paring. We started out with a wedge salad, with tomatoes and blue cheese dressing with a red wine that I can't remember at this time. The main serving was Strip steak, served with a mushroom and onion reduction, roasted gold and purple baby potatoes and green beans, accompanied by Childress Pinnacle. The desert was a frozen shaved watermelon with mint leaves, paired with Victory Cuvee O. The sweet melon and Victory Cuvee O clashed, and did not go well together, which was the only bad note in the meal. I will certainly be dining here again when I am in the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food. Was super hot in the restaur ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good food. Was super hot in the restaurant. I was sweating the whole time. Waitress was just ok...forgot to bring items that we asked for. We sat in corner table and there was a huge spider web on the sliding glass door next to table. It was there the last time we sat at this table back to months ago...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

As always the food was excellent! Servi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always the food was excellent! Service was really great and despite it being overcast, the views we're exceptional. I'll be coming back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time. Will definitely return. My ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

First time. Will definitely return. My guest who is a picky eater and doesn't eat barbecue was delighted. Nice to look out to view of vineyards while dining. Chicken croissants delicious. The brownie dessert amazing! Service friendly and inviting.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Bistro, Food, Staff everywhere ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Loved the Bistro, Food, Staff everywhere and the Beautiful Vineyard, but.......

Vineyard Bistro and Band closed at 3 on a Saturday so definitely not a vibrant bar scene, or late night find or romantic . Would have liked it to be open for dinner and vineyard/music til 7 pm to enjoy the music. Very rushed to get a tour at 12 (first one on Saturday), lunch at 1 pm and then barely caught 3 or 4 songs with the band before they wrapped up at 3 pm. and then do tasting and shop til closing time at 5. Really nothing more to do around the vineyard or hotel after that, wished the band was better, we like rock n roll and old time music, but this band had no danceable music and didn't know any of the songs we made recommendations for. very popular ones too.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A few friends gathered here for a birthd ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A few friends gathered here for a birthday lunch and we were in awe! The views were absolutely amazing and the staff was wonderful! Our waitress, Paula, was the sweetest thing! The only disappointing thing was that the restaurant ran out of the special right when we sat down, which was 2 hours before closing. Other than that, we had a delicious lunch and enjoyed a scenic walk around the grounds afterward!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bistro is a terrific treasure in Lex ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Bistro is a terrific treasure in Lexington. The wines are fantastic, and the venue is truly lovely. The menu changes with the season, which is a good reason for return trips! I would suggest going more with an entree or salad versus the sandwiches. Enjoy!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice selection of entrees for Vineyard B ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nice selection of entrees for Vineyard Bistro. My personal favorite is the Cuban Sandwich which comes with 1 side. It is very difficult to chose between the Caesar salad and the sweet potato fries. I split the entree (very Large sandwich !) with my 92 year old mom, and our waitress kindly informed me on a non-published option to add the salad as a side item for $3.00 - which made that decision easy - Get both ! They serve all of the Childress wines (same price as at the tasting room) - my favorites are the Riesling (white) and Pinnacle (Red blend).

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always delicious. Ashlyn is ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is always delicious. Ashlyn is always wonderful and very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food, friendly people, good ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always good food, friendly people, good service and pretty views. What more could you ask for? Been there many times and will go back soon.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. My husband & I h ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was excellent. My husband & I had the fried green tomato caprese. I ordered the lobster BLT w/ a house salad accompanied by the house balsamic vinegrette, then finished w/ the daily gelato; strawberry. My husband had the Trifecta including grilled romane salad, petite sirloin w/ asparagus & mashed potatoes, then finished w/ strawberry shortcake. His sirloin was not medium rare, as ordered, but our waitress graciously took it back to the kitchen. The chef had another out after, which was perfect. My only complaint was a large party of adults that was boisterous at times preventing me from hearing my husband.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chastity was fabulous. Will ask for her ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Chastity was fabulous. Will ask for her each time we return.

She made our visit extra special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Childress Vineyards, one becaus ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We chose Childress Vineyards, one because we are both Nascar fans, two, it was our 1st wedding anniversary. First time visiting. It was beautiful, romantic, music, great service-we had an awesome lunch and the wine was great! We bought wine and gifts. I would recommend this to everyone! We will be back!

Matthews, NC

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a get together with our son and ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was a get together with our son and daughter along with our daughter in law We did bring our 3 year granddaughter we wanted to special for our daughter son daughter in law my husband and myself . And special it was cant wait till we return to Lexington

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and it was a great date. Music in the pavilion was amazing . Had a great time!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great gem close to home . Romantic lunc ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great gem close to home . Romantic lunch with my hubby! It was our first time. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable late afternoon meal. Grea ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very enjoyable late afternoon meal. Great waitress and food was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to enjoy a relaxing lunch. S ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great place to enjoy a relaxing lunch. Service is great and the food is very tasty. Great wine list and music was great

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They really need to make The Bistro much ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

They really need to make The Bistro much larger. We waited an hour and a half for our food. Some people just walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I believe if you offerred the flight of ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I believe if you offerred the flight of three wines as a separate libration we might have tried more wine at our dining, instead only two had a glass of wine. we would of been more inclined to try something different and possibly have a second.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This was our first time to visit Childre ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was our first time to visit Childress Vineyards and the Bistro. They have an excellent menu and the food was great. We could not have asked for any better service and will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bistro was great! The food was deli ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Bistro was great! The food was delicious and the dessert to die for! Such a great place for lunch with friends and relaxing in a serene setting.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

was not their , was a Wife and her frie ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

was not their , was a Wife and her friends ( heard no complaints )

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful setting & great views overlook ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Beautiful setting & great views overlooking the vineyards. The fried green tomato appetizer was great but 2 of the 3 main courses were void of simple seasoning such as salt & pepper. We ordered the cheesecake & creme brulee for dessert & the creme brulee was awful due to the custard breaking during the preparation and/or the cooking process. Overall the quality of the food was subpar for the menu pricing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

My husband and I always enjoy The Bistro ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I always enjoy The Bistro at Childress Vineyards. Their regular menu is excellent. We ate there for Father's Day lunch which was buffet style. Great selection of foods, well prepared. Of course, we enjoyed a glass of the Childress wine with our meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fathers Day Brunch. Excellent variety an ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fathers Day Brunch. Excellent variety and quality food. Seats by the back window offer beautiful scenery. Winery grounds are beautiful. Also go for the Friday night music. Would love to sit outside in nice weather. Will go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Bistro is wonderful! The setting an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Bistro is wonderful! The setting and ambiance are delightful and the service and Chloe were wonderful as well! Can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Childress is usually a great place to ea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Childress is usually a great place to eat in the Bistro. This day was a buffet and was not to their standards it seems.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Father's Day buffet, family of three adu ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day buffet, family of three adults, was expecting a more sophisticated setting since it was at a winery. My husband was disappointed with the seating arrangements, I wasn't given an option to choose main restaurant with view of vineyards when booking, and we ended up in an open ballroom area surrounded by tables with little children who were loud. We asked to switch, would even have waited if necessary for availability, but we were told "the computer" assigns the seating and no changes could be made. Food was good but not great, for the price would have expected another carving station or other meat (no chicken on the menu) and better selection of vegetables. Overall the experience was "ok." Our server was the high point - friendly, prompt, accommodated our needs within her ability to do so; I wish I could recall her name!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Awesome service and great food. Childre ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Awesome service and great food. Childress Vineyards is a true diamond in the rough!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Childress Vineyards!! It is the ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love Childress Vineyards!! It is the perfect spot to have a delicious lunch and then enjoy the beautiful grounds!! The music on the weekends is fantastic-perfect for a date, lunch with family or a girl's weekend!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the Bistro numerous times ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been to the Bistro numerous times from Mother's Day brunch to lunches meeting friends or for the concerts in the summer. My daughter has been attending a wedding once or twice. It is a very lovely place for any occasion. I met up with a college roommate of mine this past Sat from ASU having not seen each other in person in over 28 years. We were given an outside table on the balcony and allowed all the time we needed to catch up and talk. Food, wine and conversation was fabulous. Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only downside this time was the nois ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The only downside this time was the noise level which was probably because it was Father's Day weekend and also,,, I think they were set up for a wedding the next day. The tables were all occupied and conversations were lively. However we still had an enjoyable lunch and will go back again for sure!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Enjoyed lunch with my husband and daught ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed lunch with my husband and daughter. My daughter and I do weekly excursions in the summer and this was,our first for this season. We had a great lunch over looking the vineyards. It is,a very relaxing atmosphere and was,a beautiful day.We have eaten there several times previously including a superb dinner in April. Will definitely go back soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great get together with friends for lunc ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great get together with friends for lunch. Very nice view of the vineyards and grounds.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

this is a beautiful venue and we love go ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

this is a beautiful venue and we love going here whenever we are in the area

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived 45 minutes early for our rese ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We arrived 45 minutes early for our reservation and were seated immediately. Great wait person who was knowledgeable about the menu and wine selections. Perfect view of the vinyards. Will definitely come back. Band was also great with music that the older generation likes !

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Execllent find!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food is wonderful, and the service is great, and very friendly. Highly recommend this place, but on weekend you will need a reservation, enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always look forward to visiting The Bist ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Always look forward to visiting The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, the food is always great, and the service is always quick and excellent.

Love the atmosphere and scenery, its so relaxing, the pavilion is beautiful, and makes a nice gathering spot to be outside, yet in the shade.

You must go back often, as they add new items to the menu, which makes visiting even more enjoyable as you wonder what will be new!

And of course the wine selection is top notch!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.