About The Bistro at Childress Vineyards

1000 Childress Vineyards Rd.
Lexington, NC 27295
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards promotes the celebration of food and wine. We take great pride in our ability to hand-pick the best ingredients locally and abroad. Our goal is to create the ultimate culinary experience for our guests, providing the finest food and wine in an extraordinary setting.

Our menu changes seasonally and can be viewed online at www.childressvineyards.com.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 52 & Hwy 64

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 236-9463

Website:
http://www.childressvineyards.com/

Executive Chef:
Spencer Wright

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Make plans to join us for our Father's Day Buffet that will feature over 20 items!
Please note our à la carte menu will not be available. Terrace seating is not guaranteed.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
9 More
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Romantic
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

great for lunch (117)
scenic view (103)
special occasion (92)
See All
notable wine list (81)
romantic (68)
great for brunch (61)
good for groups (59)
great for outdoor dining (51)
fit for foodies (42)
neighborhood gem (28)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (11)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

walk in the clouds

Dined 4 days ago

Love the vineyards. Enjoyable to just look over the landscape. Chicken salad delicious and fresh fruit; pineapple amazing. Try a wine slushy. Muscadine sweet wines are my choices. Grounds and building is nice.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 18, 2016

Outstanding food and service! I always enjoy having lunch or dinner at the Bistro.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Review on the Food

Dined on May 16, 2016

We all loved this place. It is beautiful, not too far from home, and their prices are affordable. My daughter, who just graduated from the university (we were celebrating), was a little disappointed with her food. She and one of her friends ordered some type of thin pizza. The flavor was good but it was very small considering the price. They were still hungry so they had to order a side of french fries. The rest of the guests were satisfied with their food. And the service was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Special Lady Friend

Dined on May 16, 2016

My lady friend had never been to the Bistro, & I wanted a different, romantic place , just for the two of us, a glass of wine, much conversation, holding hands in between & a delicious lunch. All this was accomplished plus a warm heart! Thank You.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed this dining experience very much ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyed this dining experience very much. Good food, good wine , and great friends made this a memorable day

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Serverwas with a large group and never c ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Serverwas with a large group and never came back to even refill water glasses. But food was great and I would give them another chance.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, service was great, scener ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was good, service was great, scenery was beautiful, staff was friendly. Highly recommend Childress for lunch groups.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a word - outrageous. Food, ambiance, ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

In a word - outrageous. Food, ambiance, service, scenery, hospitality all excellent. Of course, the wine was superb, that's why we joined the Childress wine club and why we went to their Mother's Day buffet. To be honest, it was a bit pricey but when you consider all the positives, it was a value and well worth every dollar. I took my wife, two sons and their wives, and our two grandchildren - all raved and remarked how good it was all the way home. Hats off to Mr. Childress !

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great way to spend Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on Mother's Day, the buffet was excellent, food selections were great and staff kept the serving area clean, and refilling the food items when they became low. Our server was always available for refreshing our drinks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The buffet was amazing. The green beans ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The buffet was amazing. The green beans tasted like my grandmother's!!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delight!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been coming to the vineyard since it was only having sandwiches in a little space. The whole vineyard is so beautiful, it is one of our favorite day trips. We come from Lake Wylie, SC and have been recommending you to all our friends! Mother's day buffet is always outstanding! I can tell that we are not alone in loving your place - last year I called for reservations 2 weeks before Mother's day and you were already booked! I reserved a month in advance this time! Another wonderful day and awesome dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No place like Childress

Dined on May 3, 2016

I live in Greensboro but a trip to Childress is definitely worth the drive. I absolutely love to visit & always look forward to dining at the Bistro. It's one of my Favorite places to dine. I've been several times and never been a disappointment. Love it & highly recommend you give it a try!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

WAS GOOD BUT NOT GOOD AS OTHER TIMES

Dined on May 1, 2016

Was disappointed we did not get our normal waitress ( Chasity) . The other waitress was ok . We did have to get someone else to get our dishes off table . kitchen was real slow this day and we had new people with us and wanted this to be a good time . Over all was good but not like the other times . Past times I would say were 9 out of 10 . ( I never give 10") This would be 7 out of 10 . But still better than most places . Not sure why management could not let us have our normal waitress when we set reservations 2 weeks in advance GOOD TIME AND WINE

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on April 27, 2016

We came to the Bistro last year for Administrative Professionals day---we had such a great time, all of us opted to return this year and make it an annual event . The food, the people and the grounds are outstanding. Very friendly environment with a marvelous view of the vineyard while eating a fantastic meal. I would recommend this place for ANY event! Hats off to Amy and her crew for handling this special event for us!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 17, 2016

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards was simply amazing. It was the most awesome dinning experience that me and my girlfriend have experience. We really loved the atmosphere and the cozy dinning room experience, would definitely recommend it to any and everyone. Thanks for making our Sunday a very memorable experience. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for a lunch

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great spot to take a friend to lunch. It's been a long time since we spent 3 hrs dining, talking, and enjoying a very good glass of wine

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food

Dined on April 8, 2016

The Bistro was a great place to visit. The food was great, best NY Reuben I've had. The views are great and it's atmosphere was very relaxed. I would definitely eat here again. The menu had different and interesting items on it. And of course, the wines were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant- dined there many t ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Excellent restaurant- dined there many times and will continue to do so. Food is great, varied menu items and generous servings. Service is always good.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food quality varied from red snapper ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food quality varied from red snapper very good, Mahi Mahi good and prime rib below average.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food, service absolutely love this ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Best food, service absolutely love this place

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Breathtaking View And Tranquil Surroundings

Dined on April 1, 2016

My Valentine's Day gift to my husband was a quick weekend getaway to Lexington with our first day activities to be Childress Vineyards for a tour, wine tasting and lunch at The Bistro. I would highly recommend this for anyone remotely interested in a relaxing morning or afternoon in very beautiful surroundings. The entire experience was so relaxing, food was good, service was excellent and the view we had for lunch was breathtaking. Perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to go to catch up with friends.

Dined on March 28, 2016

My friends and I love to get together at the Bistro for a yummy lunch, an excellent glass of wine and an atmosphere that is conducive for conversation.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We have eaten Valentine's dinner at the ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have eaten Valentine's dinner at the Bistro for two years and it exceeded our expectations. However, we were disappointed in the Easter brunch. The food was not at all comparable to the quality of the Valentine's dinner. While I don't generally expect as much from a buffet, it was still disappointing. I will go back to the Bistro for special events and I would like to try the regular lunch menu. I will not go back for Easter.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Enjoyed the Easter brunch good food and atmosphere/ambiance . The Buffet was arranged for easy access and presentation.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

While the Easter Brunch was enjoyable, the barbecue chicken was cold or not as warm as it should be. I think a few more selections on the salad bar would be good. Green peppers and garbanzo or kidney beans or both would be a nice complement. The ham was delicious as were the greens and mashed potatoes. Cheesecake was very good and a nice finish to on overall good brunch. Service by the wait staff was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter brunch buffet

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to The Bistro on several occasions and always find it to be a great experience. This time we took my wife's Mom to the Easter Brunch buffet as a holiday surprise. She was more than impressed. The entire staff was welcoming and professional. Food was outstanding and as usual, we hit the gift shop for a number of great, reasonably priced items. We were even lucky enough to get a glimpse of Mr. Childress who was there making sure all of his patrons were having a great experience. We will definitely go back...over and over again !

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining experience

Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I passed Childress's vineyard many times over the years when driving to Charlotte to see our daughter. I often mentioned that I would like to stop there one day and take a tour, and/or have lunch. Well we finally did it, and everyone had a great time. We celebrated our son's 50th birthday there. The ambiance was great, the food was good and, of course, the wine too! We definitely will be back! Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Childress Luncheon - 3/19/16

Dined on March 19, 2016

This was a luncheon with two of my very good friends, one local and one visiting from PA. I am a member of the Childress Fast Track Wine Club and enjoy taking friends to this venue. It is a wonderful bistro with great food, fantastic scenery and always friendly service staff. As always, our meal was very enjoyable and I will most definitely return as soon as another chance arises.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very relaxed atmosphere...perfect for go ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Very relaxed atmosphere...perfect for good conversation.. excellent food... perfect place to take your out of town guest

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful

Dined on March 13, 2016

We live out of state, but always make it a point to eat here when we're home. The atmosphere, food, service and wine are all outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place for a girls day out!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the view and the food was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Not impressed with crab cakes

Dined on March 12, 2016

I am a club member and go often, just happen to make a bad choice. I really enjoy this place in the afternoon and the folks are very helpful. We usually get a bottle of wine and go to the pavilion and play some jazz on our phones and enjoy the views.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on March 11, 2016

Ashley was great, food was outstanding. Loved the 3-pick meal course with optional wine for each course.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is exceptional, love the sweet ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food is exceptional, love the sweet potato fries. The service is great, love the fact that you have outdoor dining. Very relaxing, you don't feel rushed. Its a great place to have lunch and I have recommended your place to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING

Dined on March 11, 2016

GREAT FOOD - GREAT SERVICE - GREAT SCENERY. EVERYONE ENJOYED THE EXPERIENCE.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and a wonderful ambience! ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Delicious food and a wonderful ambience!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Childress Vinyards Bistro Cafe is ALWAYS EXCELLENT

Dined on February 28, 2016

We have eaten at The Bistro Café on several occasions over the last few years. There has NEVER been a disappointing meal. Recently I had the best Reuben sandwich there that I've had in the last two years, at least. The bacon cornbread skillet appetizer is also a tasty treat. We also has a 2yo in our party that day, and our waitress was very accommodating... as was the chef who sent out a small bowl of delicious creamy grits for her (in addition to nibbles off mom & dad's plats and some of the cornbread).

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent "trifecta" lunch offering!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Three course "trifecta" lunch, each course paired with (or without) wine. Excellent food, appropriate portions, and lovely wine pairings. Nice atmosphere with views overlooking vineyard. Would highly recommend!

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Luncheon!!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Our dining experience was exceptional!! Our food was beautiful, delicious and perfectly prepared! Our waitress was top notch and always at our table when we needed refills....and we love that!! We had a fine table by the window and enjoyed all the energy around us from the other diners! In a word, our luncheon was delightful!! Thank you to the Bistro for providing us with such a lovely meal out!! We are surely looking forward to another visit in the near future!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Good great but not the wait!

Dined on February 21, 2016

This is the third time (with reservations) that we have waited more than 45 minutes to be seated...this was the worse (over 70 minutes). Management needs to step in and help out. I really felt bad for the sweet hostess. If it wasn't for her, I would have left. Food was great but once seated and order taken, our waitress was basically non-existence. Wait time made the whole experience unpleasant. We joined the wine club in order to take friends there and enjoy Childress. With experiences like that, I do not think we will be taking anyone back there. I can see waiting a few minutes but not over an hour plus this is the third time we have had to wait for a length of time and with reservations.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.