About The Belvedere Room at The Padre Hotel

1702 18th St
Bakersfield, CA 93301
View Larger Map

Modern steakhouse by Chef Chris Sayre

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
18th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(661) 427-4900

Website:
www.thepadrehotel.com http://www.opentable.com/rest_profile.aspx?rid=95404&restref=95404

Entertainment:
Join us on our rooftop patio with a full bar and classic quick eats as we feature live local musicians nightly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet for all of our Belvedere Room Dining guests.

Executive Chef:
Blake Luecke

Private Party Facilities:
The Padre Hotel features multiple venues to accommodate your meeting or special occasion. To learn more about how we can assist your needs please contact our sales team!

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

The Belvedere Room at The Padre Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Romantic
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Bakersfield
Best Restaurants in Bakersfield ›

special occasion (34)
romantic (23)
fit for foodies (19)
See All
notable wine list (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for brunch (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for lunch (5)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner at Belvedere

Dined 3 days ago

We like this restaurant for special dinners. Service is good, food is good. I don't understand why food is served by women shirts and jeans in such a lovely place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

First experience was overall good.

Dined on May 10, 2016

The expensive beef was NOT worth it - too much gristle

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food were excellent! I h ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

The service and food were excellent! I highly recommend the duck and skirt steak! Perfection!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Experience

Dined on April 19, 2016

I live in Florida and wanted to surprise my mother who lives in California where this restaurant is located. Not only was I able to set up the dinner as a surprise from 3000 miles away but every person I spoke with was kind and considerate and really showed enthusiasm for my plan. George the manager greeted me with a smile and directed traffic so as to maximize the surprise. My servers were amazing!!! Although they had more tables than just ours I never felt as if I was an inconvenience to them. The food was impeccable and very reasonably priced!!! Needless to say my surprise birthday dinner went off without a hitch and if I am ever in the area again I will be sure to stop by!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal truly a 5 star !!! Visitin ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Fabulous meal truly a 5 star !!! Visiting from Orange County and was so pleasantly surprised by the incredible experience we had

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Gem in Bakersfield

Dined on April 3, 2016

We had dinner on a Saturday night in The Belvedere Room at the Padre Hotel in Bakersfield. The hotel and dining room are spectacular - built in 1928 and recently fully renovated/restored very tastefully and elegantly with some humorous touches here and there. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food - with many locally sourced items. For appetizers we enjoyed the mussels and the baby beets; for entrees we enjoyed the short ribs and the salmon; and for dessert we had the pistachio panna cotta with strawberries and rhubarb. Everything was superb - and reasonably priced for the quality, presentation and portion size. The service was attentive without being overbearing and the tables are spaced so that you can enjoy your private conversation. I would definitely eat here again next time I'm in Bakersfield.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

nice birthday dinner

Dined on April 3, 2016

ambiance and service excellent. salads v good. my ribeye was perfect but huge. wife's salmon was overcooked. veggie side good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Special occasion dining with an eclectic menu

Dined on March 13, 2016

This was our first visit to the Belvedere at the Padre and as such we did not know what to expect other than the menu online. However, we were lucky and received Kristen as our waitress. She was very helpful and gave us great service. We found the menu a little eclectic, but found the food well prepare. We started with salad my wife the Kale and I the Arugula, both very good. They served a lightly spiced bread I liked but was too spicy for my wife, so they brought her some rolls right from the oven "yum". For entrees we chose the roasted chicken and the Wagyu burger, w/o the bun. We chose the sides of Yukon Puree cheddar bacon potatoes, the Romesco sauce cauliflower, and Heirloom carrots. We both found the potatoes great and though I do not usually care for cauliflower we both liked them. The carrots were ok, but nothing special. It should also be noted that the sides are served family style and the portions are large enough for three or four individuals. As for the entrees my wife loved her roasted chicken. My Wagyu burger (actually ordered as a patty) was served with wild mushrooms and blue cheese. I had ordered it medium rare and it was done just right. My only complaint was it had a seasoning that was a little powdery (that was ok) but made it a little too salty. They also had a great selection of desserts. My wife chose the chocolate cheesecake, while I had a pineapple cake with a light pineapple sauce. We also took home a pear type tart that came topped with a vanilla bean ice cream. This was sent home with the scoops of ice cream so you could warm it at home and top it with the ice cream. I felt the food was good, but might not be for everyone's taste. Now the service can be appreciated and I have found in few places. I am not sure it is every server or just Kristen's personality and efforts.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Pamelack

Dined on March 7, 2016

Who would expect this in Bakersfield! Good menu, fresh food, good service, all with just a pinch of Bakersfield flair! A wonderful hotel and a special place to eat when you're in the area. We felt we'd been back in an elegant time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Very Pleasant Evening!

Dined on March 2, 2016

There was much to love about our dinner at The Belvedere. Service was very good. The staff was quite attentive, yet not overly so. I've always found the atmosphere to be very elegant, yet comfortable. So much of our meal was outstanding - there were really just a couple of hiccups. My wife and daughter's Caesar salad was delightful, although the dressing was a bit sweet for me - almost tasted more like 1,000 island than Caesar. I ordered the cheese appetizer, and that was fantastic! My wife and I both had the salmon, which was very good - although slightly over-cooked. Our daughter ordered the flat iron steak, and it was outstanding - Perfectly medium, tender, and great flavor. For sides we shared the Yukon Gold potato purée (deliciously creamy), the roasted Brussel sprouts (so good), and the mushroom risotto (earthy, cheesy, al-dente). We would order any of those again! The staff brought a chocolate torte after our meal, as a celebration of our daughter's birthday, and it was truly beautiful. Although the cake was pretty dry, the ice cream was amazing (some sort of amaretto/almond flavor), and the whipped cream was outstanding. Overall, we had a lovely, memorable evening, and we look forward to our next visit to The Belvedere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Gem in downtown Bakersfield

Dined on February 22, 2016

I really enjoyed the entire dining experience, classy/elegant with a small town comfort feel to it. The Beef Flat Iron Steak was amazing, will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Belvedere, great potential but needs work

Dined on February 21, 2016

Tried the Belvedere room with a party of 9 recently. The decor is beautiful, the hostess and server were nice, but unfortunately, I think our group overwhelmed them a bit. We waited a very long time to get our drinks (it was a full restaurant so I do understand they were probably busy). When we got our wine, the server started pouring it without having any of us taste it, a big no no. The food was fairly good and the prices were fair. I wish the pudding menu was a bit better as we all decided to skip dessert. I think with some more training of the staff, this restaurant can become one of the best places for fine dining in the Bakersfield area. My group is planning to stay at the Padre again in March and we may give it another shot. Take note, there is a lounge/club right next door, so the music can be overwhelmingly loud. We don't mind an active and loud restaurant so it didn't bother us too much.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Steak but Noise Control Needed

Dined on February 20, 2016

Enjoyed outstanding entrées of beef filet and pan seared scallops, but the sides were below par with the spinach being too salty and the mashed potatoes were so smooth they were uncomfortable. The room is open to the lobby of the hotel and the noise from the across the lobby bar was deafening, upsetting to mood of the fabulous surroundings. They really need to put up a glass wall to close off the room. Wait staff was good, but person who brought out the food was a novice. At these prices the service should be exceptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on February 14, 2016

The staff was very attentive and kept our champagne glasses full. Nice variety of food and included a gourmet hash, omelet station, chilled seafood, and a beautiful dessert table. A little noisy, but was Valentines Day, so they were busy. Pleasant overall experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Finally a great brunch in Bakersfield

Dined on February 14, 2016

Good brunches are hard to find in Bakersfield, and are mostly only available on holidays, but I found out that recently the Belvedere, in the Padre hotel has added a weekly Sunday brunch. What a brunch it is too! It made me go Wow, when I got to the salad/seafood table and not only was there shrimp, but it was peeled, and there were whole cooked lobsters for the taking! There was a variety of salami's and cheeses, and a couple of good looking salads. There were many hot selections, an omelet station, and PRIME RIB! There were hot and cold deserts, a variety of breads, and fruit. Not only, was this a great brunch, it is only $25 a person. Now that doesn't include campaign, but we had bottomless glasses of the bubbly, and the charge brought the total up to what you would expect for a brunch of this caliber. If you love a good Sunday brunch, run don't walk to the Padre hotel Sunday morning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything including the service was outstanding

Dined on February 12, 2016

If you are looking for a special treat, try the Belvedere Room at the Padre Hotel. The food is out of the ordinary. The service is excellent. The ambiance is wonderful. Good food, good service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2

Our latest experience at the Belvedere w ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Our latest experience at the Belvedere was disappointing. We sat for 10 minutes before our server acknowledged us, and while she opened our bottle of wine, she did not take drink orders for our underage guests. The steak was done to perfection, and the sides were very good with the exception of the carrots, which were barely past raw. No utensil in the carrots to serve with either. The Black Forest cake was not very good. Tea was requested after dinner, and we were brought a cup full of hot water with two tea bags on the saucer. At a restaurant that promotes itself as fine dining? The staff seemed surprised when I asked for a tea pot! The Belvedere is lacking a vegetarian entree option. Please consider adding one to the menu. Definitely not up to par with our previous dining experiences at the Belvedere, and we will be hesitant about returning.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

fine dining

Dined on January 26, 2016

everything about my dinner experience was superb and first class. one suggestion I give is to upgrade the presentation on the plate of the entree. it lacked interest. although delicious, it didn't show the pride of the kitchen. please give my appreciation to Orlando our server. his is delightfully professional!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing. Duck was pretty ordina ...

Dined on January 25, 2016

Food was amazing. Duck was pretty ordinary but the mushroom risotto was above par. Even shared dessert which we hardly ever do, but hard to pass up Kahlua cheesecake with homemade ice cream. We will be back

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Not Impressed At All

Dined on December 26, 2015

I took my partner and my niece there for Christmas dinner. The ambience was perfect. All 3 of our drinks were made incorrectly, the steak was cooked as requested. However, it was full of gristle and considerably tough. For spending $165 for 3 people I expected top-notch food. Wouldn't recommend it nor will I return.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food

Dined on December 23, 2015

The food is very good and presentation is excellent. Service was a bit slow, but the restaurant was extremely busy while we were there.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Good Experience

Dined on November 30, 2015

Our server, Justin, made our dining experience memorable. Very friendly, efficient & knowledgeable. The dining room is lovely as is their hotel, expansive & comfortable. We had the regular rib eye as they were out of the wagyu rib eye. It was a bit undercooked for my husband's taste, but not mine as we shared it. It was tender & very tasty. We had the cognac pepper sauce with it. Just wonderful. We ordered the dinner lobster tail. It was a bit chewy, not the best we have eaten. The tomato bisque soup was delicious & had a little "bite to it, which we enjoyed. They brought a pumpkin cheesecake complimentary for my birthday. I enjoyed a pinot from a central coast winery. All in all a very good dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service5

food is really bad

Dined on November 18, 2015

the waitress was the sweetest and best out of this dining experience the restaurant is not cozy you feel like in a concert hall the killings are to high the music is to loud ..if i want action i can go to the bar but for dining i want to talk to my partner the pork chop was the only thing that was good if they would keep it simple it might work better for them i ordered a steak tartar and to my surprise it had mayo in it it was horrible anyway i would never go back

food5
ambience4
service5

Anniversary Treat

Dined on November 15, 2015

Our 34th wedding anniversary was Nov. 14th. Decided to try The Belvedere Room at The Padre Hotel on recommendations from a number of friends. We had a lovely meal. Service was attentive but not overbearing. We took our time & enjoyed our meal and never felt rushed. Told the staff it was our anniversary and they had a free special dessert for us. Highly recommend this restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Yum

Dined on November 2, 2015

The food was incredible! My hubby and I felt like we were out do town. Honestly everything was perfection. I'd say the only thing was the waitress was great, just not a good fit for fine dining. That is honestly just being picky. Overall fabulous!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1

Second Chance

Dined on October 20, 2015

For business and clients coming into town, utilizing this Resturant located in the hotel is easier. However the main issue is the service. Its MEGA SLOW. I understand they are going for the service in a 4 star facility. However they miss the mark because they do not fill in the long long gaps between courses with drinks or coffee. I had two dinners there this past week. After the first one with such bad service where bread was never brought, the wine that was ordered could not be "found", and after waiting for 20 mins for coffee I finally canceled and left I emailed the hotel as I knew I had another reservation four days later. The second experience was just the same. Slow service and the resturant is not busy, I was not asked if I wanted another drink till 45 mins after I finished my first one, no serving utensils, wine not brought out for 30 mins etc. They really need to get their wait staff on point. My partner said NEVER AGAIN FIND ANOTHER PLACE.

food5
ambience5
service5

A Fabulous Birthday Experience

Dined on October 15, 2015

I took my boyfriend to the Belvedere for his birthday. The food was simply exquisite! I wanted something unique and exclusive for his special day, and this was perfect. Excellent customer service and a romantic ambience! He even received a little dessert treat at the end !;)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambience, meals and service

Dined on October 4, 2015

I celebrated my husband birthday last saturday at Belvedere Room and we both ordered Sirloin steak medium rare with mushroom combination... and we got the best steak ever with perfect crusty cooked outside and tender inside. And chef gave us some petit complimentary for each session and of course ginger bread with vanilla ice cream birthday cake for my husband included on the complimentary. Definitely will come back soon to this restaurant :-) happy customers -Dina & Niclas-

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable experience

Dined on October 4, 2015

Was a birthday dinner and first time here. Our server Kristen was excellent. The entrees were delicious and well prepared/presented. The Wagyu ribeye was" off the hook". The sides are enough for two people. The desserts were great especially the beignets. I would recommend this place and would return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly and great service

Dined on September 20, 2015

The waiter was very friendly and attentive. The food was great and had good presentation.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply Excellent!

Dined on September 13, 2015

We had a group of five ladies for an 8 o'clock dinner reservation, ages 50, 48, 19, 18 and 11. We were celebrating moving 2 of the ladies into their dorms to commence the school year, and our youngest group member's birthday. What can I say? Justin made these occasions extra special with his warm welcoming service and willingness to entertain all of our questions as well as direct our choices..... and we were never disappointed. Everything from wine to dessert! Steak was the most popular choice of the evening (four of us), rib-eyes and tenderloins. Padre Way is the THE way to go. The truffle oil rub was also delicious. The braised short rib dish proved to be a taste sensation served with a fantastic potato-leek tart....also amazing. Then came dessert! Everything was beautiful and delicious, but my favorite was the Chocolate Bliss! This place will be our go to every time we come to town! We were pleasantly surprised to find such elegance in Bakersfield. Sorry Bako..we just didn't know!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on September 13, 2015

We were greeted warmly upon arrival and seated immediately. The waiter was very quick to attend to our table and ask what drinks we would like. He brought us waters and upon learning (through open table notes) that it was our anniversary he offered us a bottle of champagne on the house. They were out of duck and out of clams but we weren't concerned about that. I ordered a steak cooked Padre style to medium. Also had the green beans and twice baked potato. My wife ordered the Cornish game hen. We both enjoyed our meals very much. the steak was cooked perfectly but I wouldn't have it done Padre style again because the flavor was just not very bold. The green beans however had very bold flavor and made a perfect compliment to the steak. The twice baked potato was just ok. My wife seemed to enjoy the Cornish game hen very much. The waiter then brought us dessert, also on the house which was very gracious. This is a great destination for a special occasion and we would highly recommend it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

Anniversary Celebration - No Acknowledgement

Dined on August 30, 2015

I made reservations at the Belvedere to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. Under comments for the reservation, this milestone event was noted. We also received a call verifying our reservation and anniversary celebration. Dinner was good. The clams for an appetizer were amazing but the steaks were just ok. Service was prompt. No complaints about as our waiter was attentive. However, there was no mention of "are you celebrating a special occasion...". But, since they had called to verify, I assumed after our meal we would receive a special dessert noting our anniversary - as is customary in upscale restaurants. Unfortunately, he had no idea. They did comp our desserts but it wasn't the same.

food3
ambience4
service4

First Time

vip
Dined on August 21, 2015

The Belvedere is a beautiful restaurant in the Padre Hotel. The hotel is really nice with unique rooms. Our small group enjoyed their meal of duck, rib eye, shrimp pasta, scallops and pork chop. It's alwasy dissapointing when they don't have what you want on the menu, which happen to be the steamed clams, so I ordered the shrimp cocktail. I did not enjoy it, but I was told it was not a traditional shrimp cocktail. Overall a fine celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply superb

Dined on August 10, 2015

We had a fussy 6 month old baby with us and the staff was lovely. When the baby dropped his toy on the floor they sanitized it for us. Our waiter also brought over a little bowl of ice for the baby's teeth. He was very friendly and provided outstanding service. The food was exquisite, the salmon cooked to perfection. Will definitely be going back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

dinner meeting

Dined on August 7, 2015

great meal quiet so we could talk and hear each other

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly surprised

Dined on August 5, 2015

Walked in to the Padre Hotel which is where the Belvedere is located, and was pleasantly surprised. Very upscale for Bakersfield. The Belvedere was a great experience. Ordered the tri- pepper rubbed rib eye. Great! Servers are very attentive as well. Definitely going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

New Favorite

Dined on August 2, 2015

This was our first visit to The Belvedere Room, and it couldn't have been better! We both had the Padre way ribeye- maybe best steak of my life. The roasted vegetables and wild mushrooms on the side were amazing. We shared the Chocolate Bliss dessert - perfect ending. Our service was just right: helpful, available, but not overly friendly or intrusive (pet peeve). My only complaint is that I didn't have room for more; all of the appetizers looked incredible, and I'm trying one for sure next time. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4

Celebrating 30 years.

Dined on July 28, 2015

Our 30th anniversary with my wife needed to be a quiet and meaningful quality time together with great food and the best wine list in Bakersfield. With the excellent service provided by our server, that night, and the suggestions for food choices and even a little anniversary dessert provided by our server, made our limited time together a very memorable evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Have Patience

Dined on July 27, 2015

Incredibly slow service. It took an hour and a half before our salad was served and our bill needed to be corrected three times before it was finalized. Disappointing experience. I have been here a half dozen times before and this is the first time I experienced this slow service. Our waiter seemed to be new on the job.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.