Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About The Bazaar by José Andrés South Beach

The Bazaar by James Beard Award Wining Chef José Andrés is a world-renowned restaurant combining vibrant sophisticated cuisine and playful indoor and outdoor lounge spaces.

Dining transcends into fête extraordinaire as guests enjoy a collection of imaginative culinary experiences that offer pioneering delicacies and delicious libations. A story in contrasts, The Bazaar menu blends tradition and ingenuity in true Spanish style and mixes them with influences from South Beach’s local Latin flavors and rich history.

Please note, dress code specifies 'casual elegance' - no open toed shoes or tank tops for men.

1701 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin / Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Mon–Thu, Sun 6:00 pm–11:00 pm
Fri, Sat 6:00 pm–12:00 am
Brunch
Sun 11:00 am–2:00 pm

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 455-2999

Website:
http://sbe.com/restaurants/locations/thebazaar-southbeach/

Entertainment:
Open Table names the Bazaar by José Andrés Beverly Hills & South Beach the best Hotel Restaurants in America!

Catering:
sbe Catering offers The Bazaar's award-winning Spanish cuisine by James Beard award-winning chef José Andrés at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit sbe.com/events or call 305.916.6111 to plan your event today.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the SLS Hotel.

Executive Chef:
José Andrés

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at The Bazaar. The Bazaar accommodates up to 175 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by James Beard award-winning chef José Andrés, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit sbe.com/events or call 305.916.6111 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at The Bazaar. The Bazaar South Beach accommodates up to 400 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by James Beard award-winning chef José Andrés, and premium mixology.

The Bazaar by José Andrés South Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (57)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Fit for Foodies (50)
See All
Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (43)
Tasting Menu (34)
Hot Spot (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Fun (24)
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Authentic (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
People Watching (14)
Business Meals (10)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Spicy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
2091 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

From the moment we walked in my family and friends were greeted by the pleasant smiles of two hostesses. Neither one fit the frazzled and elitist persona of the quintessential Miami “Gate Keeper.” One of the young women even wished my mother a happy birthday, obviously having had read the notes that I included in the reservation. The tone was set for the evening. Johnnie and his team were attentive, helpful, and a fount of knowledge. Our glasses were always full and our questions were always answered. The Manager stopped by the table not only once, but twice to offer more information regarding our tasting menu selections. The tasting menu was simply delightful, from the two caviar dishes, to the pork belly. Everything was unique and unlike anything any of us have ever had. The only downside was the ambience, or lack there of. Unfortunately the restaurant is juxtaposed right smack dab in the middle of the walk way of all the “Day Party” goers who were for the most part stumbling inside and past the tables of a more sober and sophisticated dining crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was mouth watering delicious. I will never forget the coconut rice. And the service was exceptional. A perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. Great vibe.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent experience & service. We tried the chef tasting menu and it was great! I ate foods I never tried- not wanted to try- and thought it was wonderful. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Simply divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, every time we’re in Miami we make an effort to dine here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tapas, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We love this place. We visit miami quiet often and we always make it a point to dine here. Very consistent and very different from any other restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 13, 2017

I don’t usually write reviews, though this is warranted. This dining experience truly missed the mark.
To make this brief, we decided as a table to partake in the Tasting menu. We were brought out the first amuse & was wonderful. Then immediately three more courses all at the same time. We felt rushed and didn’t really get to enjoy the food. All of us at the table are professional chefs at other establishments around the country, thus we always have questions on the specifics of different items on the plate. The waitstaff struggled to describe the dishes, nor had a clue about the location of the oysters we were served, (they were gritty) or several other questions. A restaurant of this caliber should have their waitstaff more up to speed on the food they are serving. Several of the courses were extremely underwhelming, with sloppy plating to not properly seasoned. I hate to use the word bland, though the ceviche and the coffee ground rubbed steak at the end were indeed. When the bill for a 4 top is just under 1000 without the tip, it should be an excellent meal. We will not be returning. No dish on this menu made me went to order it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Phenomenal tasting menu. The sommelier was exceptionally helpful in choosing the perfect wine, and our server was a true professional.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 10, 2017

This restaurant was really good fun. Great atmosphere, really attentive service and the food was incredibly inventive. I guarantee that you've never eaten anything like the frozen blue cheese sandwich before. The Chinese dumplings were excellent as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Tasting Menu provides a very good selection of José Andrés inventive dishes. Great ambience and cocktail list. Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Every dish we ordered had amazing flavors presented beautifully. The seared scallops and king crab were the favorites. Definitely get the s’mores dessert to end the meal. As always, the service was incredible... friendly, helpful, and extremely attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This is a top notch, fun restaurant. There's plenty of variety on the menu, so it suits all tastes. The chef is a mad scientist, and the food is excellent. Service is knowledge and help - not stuffy. I highly recommend this place, but it is pricey. It's worth it, though.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (México)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything was outstanding. ...food service attention to all details

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We went for an anniversary and birthday celebration and had an amazing time. The dining room is beautiful, the food outstanding and service second to none. It was a truly memorable dining experience. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food is fenomenal and very creative. Fun presentation and very tasty. Portions are gourmet. Small size but full of taste. Only negative thing is that is overpriced. I still recommend it just be prepared for fenomenal bill.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

I love the Bazaar! Tasting menu and accompanied wine flight was an amazing experience. Service was 100%, ambiance 100% and food/drink was 100%. The entire experience is definitely worth your time and money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Switzerland)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Alles ist perfekt - die einzige Einschränkung- es ist selbst für amerikanische Verhältnisse drinnen extrem kalt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I wanted to like this; I'm a fan of José Andrés & his cuisine. Sadly, I will not return.

I'm ok with expensive meals, and happy to pay a high price if the food & experience merits it. But if it's expensive but not incredible, it simply takes away from the fun.

The (latter) was the case here. On the plus side, the food is generally pretty creative and tasty, and lives up to the chef's general level. We had 7 plates, and all were very good.

Several specifics:
1) The Japanese Taco is fun. But it irritates me when a plate has three of an item. It's awkward to share when you're in a party of 2 or 4. Chefs: Make plates of 4. The incremental food cost is not as high as the reputational cost you pay by serving 3.
2) The Embutitos Platter is a spanish charcuterie platter, and was very average. I expected MUCH more; Spain has an incredible variety of cured meats. The iberico ham was good (not great), but the other two items could have come from packages at a grocery.
3) The Kueh Pai Ti were nice little packets of shrimp, peanuts and chili sauce. These were not the most creative item, but they were a good opening course.
4) The Ferrán Adriá Modern and Traditional Olive is fun. Classic Andrés dish, since it contrasts a liquid green olive with the real thing. The tastes are complementary & good.

BUT, the restaurant is using the (sadly) method of the moment - making you buy a lot of expensive small plates, and skewing the wine list towards wines over $100. In the end, we had a fine, but not amazing meal that cost $350 for two people, with a bottle of wine from the lower end of the list ($130). And it just wasn't that class of meal.

Compare it to Stubborn Seed at the other end of Miami Beach (1st & Washington). An $85/person fixed-fare, 9-course meal of incredible food, with a good bottle of wine for $80. Total bill well under $300 for a MUCH better meal.

All-in-all, The Bazaar ruins the experience with a too-high price for good, but not great food / experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food and service was excellent. Our server Javier was super attentive. We will definitely come back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our group of 8 recently dined here on a Friday night and we were not disappointed. With several out of towners in our group, the staff was able to accommodate everyones needs and wishes. Great food and presentation. Fantastic wine choice by the sommelier. Even with so many dishes ordered, the flow was seamless all night long. Pricing is not for the faint of heart, but I think most people know that going in. Great service, cool setting , and lots of eye candy make for a fun evening out on SoBe!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Great . The sommelier Marlon is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Amazingly creative dishes from the Miami Spice menu. The staff was outstanding. They were gracious and attentive. While in a room full of people we were made to feel as if we were the only ones there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing experience. Our waiter Johnny was so knowledgable he definitely impressed us but the food was outstanding! Nice experience in downtown Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Went for Miami Spice. Edgar our host was a wonderful guide. His suggestions were spot on. His understudies moved with ease. The Tatel crew should come here for dinner to learn how to make attentive service unintrusive. There was more than enough food with the combination of creativity & yummy on display that I have come to expect from any Andres restaurant. I prefered the menu a little and the dining venue more than a little better at Bar Mar on Brickell. A couple quibles with the Miami Beach restaurant - we were seated in the ante-restaurant. They called it the private area, but it was not as nice as the main dining room and was warm, I think because it's beside the main entrance to the hotel and the doors were open to the swealtering Florida heat regularly. They should have been able to seat us in the main restaurant since the reservation was made more than a month prior to arrival. Also, $25 valet parking for just dinner is a bit much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Unique flavors in every dish that were very well executed. The staff is top-notch with perfect timing of when each dish is brought out, with the right silverware, etc. Great dining experience on South Beach!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wow! Very different food experience, definitely worth trying. Others had told us not to go there hungry, because the portions are small, but, we left very satiated. Lots of young people dining there, & lots of "eye candy" walking through restaurant to outside bar & pool deck. Would definitely return next year, just not an everyday type of restaurant for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was an ok experience. Service was good. Some of the tapas were interesting others were ordinary and overpriced like the patatas bravas. Overall its a been there done that experience, will not return again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was our third time to this restaurant. We love it.
Unique dishes. All tapas. Pricey. Worth it. Great service & delicious wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Absolutely delicious food. Jose Andres is a virtuoso

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service was excellent and the dinner was delicious; however, we would like you offer Cuban or Colombian coffee. We appreciate your attention and service. Thank you.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent food! Outstanding service
My favorite by far!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Jose Andres is one of our favorite restaurant people on the planet, and The Bazaar is another fine jewel in his crown. There are lots of happy surprises with the preparations and flavors here...the clams, the coffee-rubbed beef, the foie gras in a cup, the tsu mai topped with gold leaf, the wild mushroom soup, etc. and so on. . . the hits just keep coming, and we are happier people because of this. Plus, the wine list is focused and straight-forward, and the staff are spot-on--though maybe a little too eager to grab things off of our table while we are enjoying a bite--slow down fellas and help us savor each bite...no need to rush. If you get Johnny Rosado as your waiter, you will be on course for a fabulous experience. Enjoy!

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Healthy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

What a wonderful experience my girl friends and I had while dining at the Bazaar. The food was to die for and the service was impeccable. Joshua took wonderful care of us. We told him "pick your favorite dishes and bring us those" and he did not disappoint. FABULOUS. An abosolute must if you are visiting Miami and don't mind spending a good amount of cash for an all around wonderful evening.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Wonderful food and great service. All 8 of us really enjoyed everything. It is a place to repeat. We did ask for the tasting menu and everything was delicious ( too much food but....).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Amazing meal on our honeymoon. Food and service was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This is an exceptional Tapas Restaurant.
Not only does did our waiter Nelson explained all the menu to the last detail but as the food is brought to the table the serves gives you a review of what you order and how to eat it.
We share like 7 different Tapas. New version of a Spaniard potato omelette in liquid form - delicious,
Ham croquettes, fried yuca with a peanut butter topping (sounds strange but very good), shrimp in a very spicy sauce, Japanese taco, Singapore street food, and the very best was the black paella. This is made with the squid ink, topped with shrimp and aioli. Instead of using rice Chef Andre's version is made with angel hair pasta - magnificent!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Their Miami Spice menu was among the best, if not, the best. Definitely worth it. Will eat in this restaurant again, and will check out Jose Andres's other restaurants.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service was great! The food was superb, each dish was so different and the flavors were incredible. Our waiter, Marty, was very good and gave us great suggestions. We were a party of 6 and all got the Miami Spice, plus the Black Paella. The portions were good ,since we all shared our dishes. With the Miami Spice we each got our own snack and dessert, and the table got to choose 18 tapas so there was more than enough food.
The only negative is that big parties are sat by the hall and there is pool traffic the entire time, so its a little annoying, but overall we enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great restaurant, food was superb, service was excellent, and a fun atmosphere. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Amazing tapas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.