Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About The Barrel

The Barrel offers a wide variety of pub-fusion cuisine and an extensive selection of craft beers, wines & spirits. Our warm and welcoming atmosphere is sure to please on any occasion, whether it be for an intimate date night, well-deserved after work cocktails, relaxing weekend brunch or a group special event.

4308 N Western Ave
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Open for Lunch Daily
Monday 11:00 to 12:00am
Tuesday-Friday 11:00am to 2:00am

Open for Brunch & Lunch
Saturday 11:00am to 2:00am
Sunday 10:00am to 10:00pm

Cross Street:
NW 42nd & N Western Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 525-6682

Website:
http://www.barrelokc.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Barrel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (3)
See All
Great Beer (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great deep dish pizza and a nice brunch menu. Mimosas - Sunday brunch only $1.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 23, 2017

This was a great spot for a casual dinner with friends. Very relaxed ambiance with good food.
Many offered plenty of options for beer & liquor..not so much for wine. Overall a great happy hour or casual meet up place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Reminiscent of an English Pub, but with a rustic Oklahoma decor - great Fish & Chips! Delicious food and great service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food is great! Everything is always so consistent and great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Very over priced, the food was decent but for what you get, it's expensive. They are a sports bar with higher end restaurant prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Had the brunch and it was delicious and was available even after 12pm on Saturday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Nice rustic decor. Very attentive staff. We had Fish & Chips and Barrel Burger & fries; everything was delicious! Bree, our server was great! Lots of interesting beers to choose from and mixed drinks. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The Barrel is a must when in okc! Everything from half price pizza on wednesdays to $1 mimosas on sundays, the Barrel never disappoints!
We are regulars and continue to come back here because they are consistent and always make sure we are cared for! Anyone and everyone needs to head to the Barrel for great food, great service, and an even better time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Pizza is incredible and well worth the wait. Drinks were delicious but a tad overpriced. Overall, we really enjoy this place and will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

It wasn't open for brunch as advertised. Bad OpenTable info or bad Barrel info. Somebody blew it. Probably won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food and excellent service. The fish and chips were awesome. Highly recommend the Brussel sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Went specifically for the Friday Fish & Chips special. It was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We absolutely love the barrel! We come here almost weekly. The stuffed avocado is my favorite item on the menu. The wait staff and service is impeccable. We will continue coming back every week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

They took very good care of us during our business meeting, the waitress was observant of how our meeting was taking place and timed the delivery of appetizer and entrees perfectly without interrupting. Great place for business meetings. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went for brunch to celebrate our graduate. The meal and service were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing brunch at an amazing price! Great service 10/10!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Live Music, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went for Mother's Day, we opted to each inside although it was gorgeous outside and the tables were full. The staff was great we are off the brunch menu . The omelette was fabulous.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was excellent and service was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Cold food, didn't have many of the things my out-of-state guests requested (such as any steak sauce for her steak), half of our meals were missing things that they said were listed with the menu OR we received things that weren't listed (such as potato hash) after ordering a side of it under the impression it didn't come with the meal. Just wasn't impressed, and was embarrassed that this last minute brunch place was such a bust for my guests.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nicely progressive, not crowded. Nice dinner and superb pizza!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is one of my favorite places to eat. The staff is very friendly and the food is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My visit to The Barrel started off on the wrong foot. When I arrived, the host didn't show my reservation in his computer. When I pulled it up in my app, he said, "It's fine, I can seat you because we're not busy. But if we were busy it would be a problem." Well sir, that would be YOUR problem because I have a reservation.

Then, our waitress took at least 5 minutes to come to our table and greet us. She never smiled. When we asked for specials, she told us to look at our menus. My water was warm and never refilled. My friend asked for clarification on an item on the menu and she acted like she was dumb. At the end of our visit, I had to ask the host to find her. When she appeared, she smelled strongly of smoke. She was wearing leggings and a sweatshirt and was incredibly rude the entire meal.

Our food was also lackluster. I ordered the shrimp and grits. There was no flavor to the meal. The cheese was dull and over used. The grits were tasteless. The actual shrimp was fine, but buried under "sauce" that also had no flavor. I had to dig it out to take the tails off which is a pet peeve. My friend's meal was burned and also didn't taste great.

I get very little time alone and away from my kids. I was looking forward to a meal with girlfriends that was fun and delicious. This was none of that. I will not be returning.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was good. Service poor. Timing ok but waitress less than excited to be there.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We met our friends for dinner and had never been here. Its a nice relaxed place and would be a good place to meet people for drinks. Everyone had pizza and I had chicken breast with brussel sprouts. My food was good although my brussel sprouts were barely cooked and kinda hard. I didn't taste the pizza but everyone said they liked it. I would recommend this place for a casual dinner or drinks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went there for brunch and was totally blown away. The food was amazing and very affordable. Would like to try it for dinner and/or drinks the next time we go. Highly recommend this place for all.

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good pub style food. Fish and chips were pretty tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were sat down and the wait staff literally forgot ab us. Took 20 minutes for someone to notice and then find someone to take our order. After thirty minutes with no drinks we left and went next door. The sushi and drinks were fabulous. The Barrel needs some work on the menu and wine. Only two choices. Thumbs down in my book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I really enjoy using Open Table! Like all of us, I read the reviews and make my decisions accordingly!! So on this occasion of my weekly lunch with my sister, I used OT. Well, I have never read so many poor reviews on The Barrel. I manager a restaurant and picked up on these nasty, more time than since reviews. No restaurant can be this poor. So I called my sister and said "wanna go to the worst restaurant in OKC? Sure! Always up for an adventure! Well, let me tell you, we were slapped in the face with a great greeting, fantastic service, smiles, and damn the food was spectacular, served pub style!! OMG, and when we ordered dessert that wasn't on the menu... the server made it happen!! Great, teamwork by the entire staff was obvious! Our lunch went over 2 hours, and yes we walked out just fine!! I am writing this a week after the fact as i am difficult to impress! The only thing missing was the fruition of all those negative, reviews. So to all you review writers, are you really reviewing the restaurant or was your day/life so bad you need to release steam on a restaurant that cannot respond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

My Rubin sandwich was grilled at too low a temperature. The bread was oily and soggy. The potato chips were also oily. The brussel sprouts were under cooked.

My wife's chop was nearly burned on one side. Her side salad was good.

We were seated indoors but were shooing away flies and knats - really!

We live in the neighborhood and keep coming back hoping for improvement. Unfortunately the Barrel is a better bar than a restaurant. I should have had the burger. They have been good in the past.

The waiter Bryant was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Quaint, clean, classy and rustic decor. Delicious food, I had the shrimp and grits. Yum!! The Bloody Mary was spicey in a fun way.
We did have to ask for for coffee refills. But other than that, waitstaff was very attentative.
Our corner booth was intimate but didn't feel crowded.
The manager approached our table to check on us. Nice touch!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The food was fantastic. There were 9 of us and we all had different entrees. Everyone was in agreement that the food was delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We went for brunch! The food was just ok the prices were ok however everything was higher than their on line menu! I pointed out my mimosa pint was only a tall highball glass! They said I was correct but still charged me a dollar more than the online price of a pint! It wasn't awful but I probably will not return! The $16 filet and eggs online is a $22 sirloin and eggs on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This locale is probably best viewed as a sports bar rather than a gastro pub. The food was nothing more than OK -- husband had the pork chop which was overdone and I had the turkey melt was ok but something I could have easily duplicated at home. So, that being said, price point was higher than what seems reasonable. Because of this, and the other really great restaurants in the area, we will not be returning here for dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were surprised by the extremely casual and exceedingly noisy atmosphere. The noise level was listed as moderate but it was uncomfortably loud. The fish and chips were mushy and lacked flavor. Overall it was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Chicken salad wrap was 80% lettuce, as was the 'big' salad. Drink was served in a dirty smelly glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Service was great. Food was good and served hot. Atmosphere was nice. Way too much salt was added to French fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Did not have table for 5 Had to sit across from each other at a bar table. Not real comfortable for a senior

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Excellent food and service during lunch time. Mia was an excellent server and very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We were very disappointed in this restaurant. Based on the description of the restaurant and the menu, our expectation was much higher. The waitress was quite friendly and personable though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food as usual!!! Kids went before Prom and loved their waiter too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.