Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About The Barrel

The Barrel offers a wide variety of pub-fusion cuisine and an extensive selection of craft beers, wines & spirits. Our warm and welcoming atmosphere is sure to please on any occasion, whether it be for an intimate date night, well-deserved after work cocktails, relaxing weekend brunch or a group special event.

4308 N Western Ave
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Open for Lunch Daily
Monday 11:00 to 12:00am
Tuesday-Friday 11:00am to 2:00am

Open for Brunch & Lunch
Saturday 11:00am to 2:00am
Sunday 10:00am to 10:00pm

Cross Street:
NW 42nd & N Western Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 525-6682

Website:
http://www.barrelokc.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Barrel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
See All
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Live Sports (0)
Neighborhood Gem (0)
Business Meals (0)
Sort By:
S
100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My visit to The Barrel started off on the wrong foot. When I arrived, the host didn't show my reservation in his computer. When I pulled it up in my app, he said, "It's fine, I can seat you because we're not busy. But if we were busy it would be a problem." Well sir, that would be YOUR problem because I have a reservation.

Then, our waitress took at least 5 minutes to come to our table and greet us. She never smiled. When we asked for specials, she told us to look at our menus. My water was warm and never refilled. My friend asked for clarification on an item on the menu and she acted like she was dumb. At the end of our visit, I had to ask the host to find her. When she appeared, she smelled strongly of smoke. She was wearing leggings and a sweatshirt and was incredibly rude the entire meal.

Our food was also lackluster. I ordered the shrimp and grits. There was no flavor to the meal. The cheese was dull and over used. The grits were tasteless. The actual shrimp was fine, but buried under "sauce" that also had no flavor. I had to dig it out to take the tails off which is a pet peeve. My friend's meal was burned and also didn't taste great.

I get very little time alone and away from my kids. I was looking forward to a meal with girlfriends that was fun and delicious. This was none of that. I will not be returning.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was good. Service poor. Timing ok but waitress less than excited to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We met our friends for dinner and had never been here. Its a nice relaxed place and would be a good place to meet people for drinks. Everyone had pizza and I had chicken breast with brussel sprouts. My food was good although my brussel sprouts were barely cooked and kinda hard. I didn't taste the pizza but everyone said they liked it. I would recommend this place for a casual dinner or drinks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went there for brunch and was totally blown away. The food was amazing and very affordable. Would like to try it for dinner and/or drinks the next time we go. Highly recommend this place for all.

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were sat down and the wait staff literally forgot ab us. Took 20 minutes for someone to notice and then find someone to take our order. After thirty minutes with no drinks we left and went next door. The sushi and drinks were fabulous. The Barrel needs some work on the menu and wine. Only two choices. Thumbs down in my book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I really enjoy using Open Table! Like all of us, I read the reviews and make my decisions accordingly!! So on this occasion of my weekly lunch with my sister, I used OT. Well, I have never read so many poor reviews on The Barrel. I manager a restaurant and picked up on these nasty, more time than since reviews. No restaurant can be this poor. So I called my sister and said "wanna go to the worst restaurant in OKC? Sure! Always up for an adventure! Well, let me tell you, we were slapped in the face with a great greeting, fantastic service, smiles, and damn the food was spectacular, served pub style!! OMG, and when we ordered dessert that wasn't on the menu... the server made it happen!! Great, teamwork by the entire staff was obvious! Our lunch went over 2 hours, and yes we walked out just fine!! I am writing this a week after the fact as i am difficult to impress! The only thing missing was the fruition of all those negative, reviews. So to all you review writers, are you really reviewing the restaurant or was your day/life so bad you need to release steam on a restaurant that cannot respond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

My Rubin sandwich was grilled at too low a temperature. The bread was oily and soggy. The potato chips were also oily. The brussel sprouts were under cooked.

My wife's chop was nearly burned on one side. Her side salad was good.

We were seated indoors but were shooing away flies and knats - really!

We live in the neighborhood and keep coming back hoping for improvement. Unfortunately the Barrel is a better bar than a restaurant. I should have had the burger. They have been good in the past.

The waiter Bryant was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Quaint, clean, classy and rustic decor. Delicious food, I had the shrimp and grits. Yum!! The Bloody Mary was spicey in a fun way.
We did have to ask for for coffee refills. But other than that, waitstaff was very attentative.
Our corner booth was intimate but didn't feel crowded.
The manager approached our table to check on us. Nice touch!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The food was fantastic. There were 9 of us and we all had different entrees. Everyone was in agreement that the food was delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We went for brunch! The food was just ok the prices were ok however everything was higher than their on line menu! I pointed out my mimosa pint was only a tall highball glass! They said I was correct but still charged me a dollar more than the online price of a pint! It wasn't awful but I probably will not return! The $16 filet and eggs online is a $22 sirloin and eggs on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This locale is probably best viewed as a sports bar rather than a gastro pub. The food was nothing more than OK -- husband had the pork chop which was overdone and I had the turkey melt was ok but something I could have easily duplicated at home. So, that being said, price point was higher than what seems reasonable. Because of this, and the other really great restaurants in the area, we will not be returning here for dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were surprised by the extremely casual and exceedingly noisy atmosphere. The noise level was listed as moderate but it was uncomfortably loud. The fish and chips were mushy and lacked flavor. Overall it was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Chicken salad wrap was 80% lettuce, as was the 'big' salad. Drink was served in a dirty smelly glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Service was great. Food was good and served hot. Atmosphere was nice. Way too much salt was added to French fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Did not have table for 5 Had to sit across from each other at a bar table. Not real comfortable for a senior

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Excellent food and service during lunch time. Mia was an excellent server and very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We were very disappointed in this restaurant. Based on the description of the restaurant and the menu, our expectation was much higher. The waitress was quite friendly and personable though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food as usual!!! Kids went before Prom and loved their waiter too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Met family there for pre-theater dinner. We reserved a table in order to insure our large party could be accommodated using Open Table. Should have called the restaurant. The app wouldn't let us reserve a table at 5:30 or 6:00, so we had to eat at five which was too early. The service was good and food was awesome. Because of the early dining time, we did get there before it was too loud to talk

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had wanted to try The Barrel for many months. We were so disappointed. It was practically empty on a Friday night and yet we had very slow service. The food was just so-so. There was hardly any fish in the fish and chips--mainly bland tasting battered coating. Not worth the price. Caesar salad was delicious. And a good beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Laid back atmosphere for brunch. Service was great. Drinks were good and well priced. Food was typical brunch fare. My biscuits and gravy were cold, but I survived.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Very good food, beer selection and service. Will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 26, 2016

I love the location and general atmosphere. I have been here several times because both of those things, and will probably come again for drink but the food is not very good- mediocre at best and overpriced. Fun for a happy hour or late night drink, would not recommend for a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 25, 2016

The place was great other than guess being very loud and using obscene language that made it very non kid friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 21, 2016

The salmon plate portions were very small. Both of the guys finished their plates and were still hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The tomahawk schnitzel and bangers & mash were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The Barrel has the best pub food I've had in OKC. In fact, they give Kilkenny's in Tulsa a run for their money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Wanted to come here to watch the OU/Clemson game, made a reservation and asked to be seated close to a TV, apparently no one read that note because they tried to seat us in a tiny little corner crammed into a tiny little table with a poor view of a television... I should also mention there was NO ONE there. Food was a set menu with only 5 options, yet they market themselves as a pub. No appetizers or small plates available, just an over priced menu that may have worked for a more romantic place but again THIS IS A PUB!!! This place was awesome when they first opened, fun atmosphere, great service... and now they're trying really hard to be something they are not. Will not be returning any time soon unless they fix their identity issues. I don't see this place lasting unless they do.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Food was very good, staff was super friendly and the ambience was great! The only negative thing I can think of is that they didn't have any hot tea for one of the people in our party. Would definitely recommend trying this place.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 16, 2015

took long time for waiter to first show up. Very Very loud. Food good not great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 18, 2015

Good food, good for younger crowd, very loud in areas of the restaurant

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 14, 2015

The food was awesome!! Hand cut fries were yum.
The only issue is that the two bartenders were in charge of waiting tables too. This made for terrible service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 29, 2015

This was our first time to eat at The Barrel and the food was really good. The fish & chips were cooked perfectly with delicious, flaky fish and the fries are among the best in OKC. Barrel chips and side sauces are a very tasty appetizer. Great list of brews to choose from. We received the best service from our server, Mea. We have found another restaurant in OKC where we can enjoy excellent service, food, drinks and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 14, 2015

Really thought the food was good. Server was quick and attentive. Atmosphere was great. Wasn't crowded for a Friday night but we went early.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 12, 2015

First time there since changed to Barrel. Décor is as the name states and fits the place. Ordering a drink while waiting for friends took a little long due to server being new, but overall we had a fantastic dinner and service. Everyone's food looked good and no complaints. The hamburger was amazing and on one of the freshest buns I've had in a while. Dessert was tasty and server was accommodating for a birthday complete with candle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 6, 2015

Good beer list and we'll made cocktails paired with great, original food.
From what I can tell they had a horrible Mother's Day and have corrected those issues.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 14, 2015

I celebrated my 29th birthday here, and had a fantastic time. Our server was great and the food was delicious. The only downside was that the only large table was out on the patio where smoking is allowed. It was perfect until people started lighting up (my asthma was not appreciative).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 13, 2015

The complimentary valet is a nice start considering parking isn't too easy to find. You walk in and the ambience is immediate, low lighting, great art on the walls as well as a bottle build state of Oklahoma behind the bar; the bar's in the center of the room and the patio extends to the right. We dined on the patio because the noise level was already too much at 7 o'clock. There is an existing bar with a glass fire pit and 8 picnic tables for seating. The food was good, my husband and I split the pork schnitzel; it was more than enough food to share. Our friend got the turkey avocado wrap which was so much that she took half home. I'd come back for the overall experience. Although there wasn't anything on the menu that was outstanding as far as a foodie is concerned, the fare was a good selection and $$ priced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 4, 2015

Very noisy. Had shrimp that were tiny and few and grilled with over spice. Greasy fries. It was disappointing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 30, 2015

Everything about this place is pretty average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.