HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

The Barrel Room

4.1
61 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

The focus and specialty at The Barrel Room is wine. The restaurant offers more than 50 types that are carefully selected for their quality, interest and rarity. According to the wine list and the regional ingredients available, Executive Chef Manuel Hewitt creates a masterful menu of food that will focus on the traditional cuisine of a particular region. The Barrel Room changes its menu quarterly, so you can stop by around the year to experience new flavors and options.

The Barrel Room features a bistro-style menu that changes throughout the year. The level of cooking you can expect to find here is presented through sophisticated dishes like bruschetta with heirloom tomato, basil, pine nuts and goat cheese, roasted stuffed dates and duck liver mousse. You can always order an artisan cheese board or charcuterie platter to enjoy with your wine as well.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm-10:30pm
Monday CLOSED
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(510) 655-1700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Manuel Hewitt and Abraham Ibarra
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
College and Broadway
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We are approximately 5 minutes walking from the Rockridge BART stop.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine
What 61 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1  based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.1
service
4.1
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on March 8, 2016

Had been there once before and enjoyed everything so retuned and brought friends. A little disappointed as what was listed on- line for menu choices wasn't the same; half had changed. Nice service and waiter, but should have warned us that the entree with scallops really only came with one scallop, and waiter knew two were planning to share the dish as a main course.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

We did the Valentine's Day prix fixe menu. While the food and service we good, the restaurant was very small and we didn't like being quite so crowded together. Given that, I feel like the value wasn't as good as it could've been. That said, if you don't mind getting cozy with your neighbors on a special occasion dinner, this is still a great place to eat.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

I did not have a bad experience at the Barrel Room. The service was great, and the restaurant is very comfortable overall. The wine was also fantastic. My only gripe is the price vs. food quality. I do not mind paying top dollar for a great meal, but I paid 400$ for something quite forgettable. There was an oyster dish that was tasty, but the oyster was warm; There was a pasta and scallop dish that was all over cooked and under seasoned; And a bone marrow dish that was served, confusingly, without some sort of a vessel to carry the marrow(i.e. Crustini or cracker...etc.). Again, the wine was great, but I went to Barrel Room for the food, and unfortunately I left disappointed with my meal. My suggestion is that the kitchen staff raise the expectation around the food quality so that it matches the price they are asking customers to pay.

I still maintain that it was a good overall experience, and I will return for the atmosphere and wine selection.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
2.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

We went there on Valentine's Day, so perhaps they were under a lot of pressure?
When a restaurant doesn't post its menu for the special event & doesn't post the price, even on the menu after you are seated, there is a reason! We felt it was over rated & overpriced. We had the 5 course dinner with wine pairings. We were shocked by the price. 2 of the courses were foods I don't like & the entree was a dry Cornish game hen that I would never order, given a choice. However, the dessert was delicious!

Report
Helpful
vipskillzthatkillz (San Francisco)
2.0  Dined on February 13, 2016

Sloppy, sloppy, sloppy.
They called hardly two weeks ahead of time to change the time of my valentines day reservation. This was not a request they gave me no other option. They also failed to post a fixed price menu even the week of. Changed to Saturday because of this and they were out of one of their four entrées at 6 pm on a holiday weekend which is inexcusable. Our waitress couldn't even be bothered to tell us that when we were seated which should be standard procedure. Very sloppy inconsiderate management for such a price. I get better service at run of the mill family places. Clean up your act!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I went to The Barrel Room for our fourth dinner; the prior three times, we have been pleased with the small plates and the atmosphere. However, we tend to limit our wine to just one glass, and order beer (reasonably priced and a good selection) to supplement the wine, because the wine prices seem so high. Most wines by the glass are in the $15 - $20 or more range. The food is excellent, generally speaking. However, on our fourth visit there, we were very disappointed by the service provided by the main wait person, who seems to be the manager or owner. He has always been the one to wait on us, and he has seemed in the past more reserved than friendly. On this night, his attitude was off putting. First, he presented the menu, and it had only four large-plate selections: a pasta, a sea scallop dish, a baby back rib dish, and a shortrib entree. Since I don't eat beef, and am trying to limit my pasta, I was eager to order the scallops. He informed us, even though it was early in the evening (5:30!), "we are out of the scallops." So I asked, "You only have three main dishes to choose from?" He said in a condescending, defensive way without a hint of apology: "We had four, and four minus one is three, so yes." Then, as the hour went on, it was clear that the kitchen was experiencing significant delays; we had to wait excessively between the cheese plate and the small plates that followed. He never apologized or acknowledged that there was a delay. We were finished with our drinks by the time the food finally arrived but did not want to order another round. At the end of the night, we had a $140+ bill for a stuffed fig appetizer, a cheese plate, a small salad, a small-plate roast quail, and the baby back rib dish my husband ordered; three beers, one glass of wine, two bottles of sparkling water. It did not seem worth it, and we will not go back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on February 12, 2016

Food was quite tasty, though portions were a bit in the small size. Good variety of wines by the glass, but they were pricey. A nice dining experience that we will do again, but the prices make it more of an occasional than a regular spot for us.

Report
Helpful
viphied (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on January 20, 2016

T his is our favorite local restaurant . We really like the wine flights . We can discover new wines paired with very interesting small plates .

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
2.0  Dined on January 20, 2016

Nice choice wines but lousy pour. Date appetizer tasted medicinal. Side of cole slaw had weird tasted but rib portion ok though the BBQ tasted store bought. Only 3 scallops came with pasta scallop dish. House salad tasty though.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on January 17, 2016

The California Syrah was very nice and fruity. The cabernet flight was mixed, best was the Corison. The short ribs special was delicious but the cauliflower appetizer was meager. The pasta special was very nice but the baby back ribs were mediocre

Report
Helpful
vipCatherineL (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on January 16, 2016

Terrific wine pairings!

Report
Helpful
vipsrenfro (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on January 16, 2016

The smoked burrata small plate was delicious. Wine flights were great as was the service!

Report
Helpful
Anonymous (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on January 15, 2016

I went during restaurant week so I only ordered off the prix fixe menu. I was not impressed. There was a long wait between dishes and only small portions were given. The food selection from the actual menu was actually quite large. I am sure I would have had a more enjoyable experience had I ordered their regular dishes instead. Extensive wine collection.

Report
Helpful
vipSusby (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 8, 2016

I love this place and am always happy with the Oakland location. Like be the flights, good beer selection and plenty of delicious food to taste with.

Report
Helpful
MotoDestination (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2015

Outrageous pricing for mediocre service. Timed seating and fixed price shouldn't have been so difficult to coordinate. There were nice touches, don't get me wrong. But not a $320 experience after all was said and done.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5