Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Belotti Ristorante e Bottega
27 reviews
Italian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Wood Tavern
1528 reviews
Gastro Pub | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Enoteca Molinari
98 reviews
Italian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Hog's Apothecary
122 reviews
Contemporary American | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Bourbon & Beef
420 reviews
Steak | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
A16 Rockridge
834 reviews
Italian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Soi4 Bangkok Eatery
68 reviews
Thai | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
A Cote
1576 reviews
Mediterranean | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Pizzaiolo - Oakland
174 reviews
Italian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Juhu Beach Club
100 reviews
Contemporary Indian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
OVO Tavern
1 review
Comfort Food | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Osmanthus
249 reviews
Asian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Millennium Oakland
207 reviews
Vegan | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Homestead
128 reviews
Californian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Pucquio
180 reviews
Peruvian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now

About The Barrel Room

5330 College Ave
Suite 110
Oakland, CA 94618
View Larger Map

The Barrel Room Rockridge is a restaurant with a twist: we build a complementary dinner menu around our regional wine list. Our menu pairs rustic, traditional regional dishes with our rotating wine list to offer a unique dining experience upon every visit.

Our flights and comparisons offer guests an opportunity to explore the world of wine while relaxing in a comfortable, intimate environment. We pour 50+ wines by the glass offering something for everyone from wine novice to the die-hard oenophiles.

We accept reservations for dinner service. For wine tastings only, please contact us.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm-10:30pm
Monday CLOSED

Cross Street:
College and Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 655-1700

Website:
http://barrelroomoak.com/

Parking Details:
We are approximately 5 minutes walking from the Rockridge BART stop.

Executive Chef:
Manuel Hewitt and Abraham Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
The Barrel Room is a wine bar and restaurant specializing in unique wines and farm-to-table cuisine. We customize our menus for any party and provide bottle service if requested. We also cater throughout the Bay Area.

Our Rockridge location is perfect for holiday parties. Book yours now!

Private Party Contact:
Sarah Trubnick: 5106551700x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

The Barrel Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

63% would recommend it to a friend

notable wine list (6)
fit for foodies (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
See All
romantic (4)
special occasion (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
61 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Had been there once before and enjoyed e ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Had been there once before and enjoyed everything so retuned and brought friends. A little disappointed as what was listed on- line for menu choices wasn't the same; half had changed. Nice service and waiter, but should have warned us that the entree with scallops really only came with one scallop, and waiter knew two were planning to share the dish as a main course.

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Valentine's Day dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

We did the Valentine's Day prix fixe menu. While the food and service we good, the restaurant was very small and we didn't like being quite so crowded together. Given that, I feel like the value wasn't as good as it could've been. That said, if you don't mind getting cozy with your neighbors on a special occasion dinner, this is still a great place to eat.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

I did not have a bad experience at the B ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

I did not have a bad experience at the Barrel Room. The service was great, and the restaurant is very comfortable overall. The wine was also fantastic. My only gripe is the price vs. food quality. I do not mind paying top dollar for a great meal, but I paid 400$ for something quite forgettable. There was an oyster dish that was tasty, but the oyster was warm; There was a pasta and scallop dish that was all over cooked and under seasoned; And a bone marrow dish that was served, confusingly, without some sort of a vessel to carry the marrow(i.e. Crustini or cracker...etc.). Again, the wine was great, but I went to Barrel Room for the food, and unfortunately I left disappointed with my meal. My suggestion is that the kitchen staff raise the expectation around the food quality so that it matches the price they are asking customers to pay. I still maintain that it was a good overall experience, and I will return for the atmosphere and wine selection.

food2
ambience4
service2

We went there on Valentine's Day, so per ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We went there on Valentine's Day, so perhaps they were under a lot of pressure? When a restaurant doesn't post its menu for the special event & doesn't post the price, even on the menu after you are seated, there is a reason! We felt it was over rated & overpriced. We had the 5 course dinner with wine pairings. We were shocked by the price. 2 of the courses were foods I don't like & the entree was a dry Cornish game hen that I would never order, given a choice. However, the dessert was delicious!

food3
ambience3
service2

Sloppy, sloppy, sloppy. They called hard ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Sloppy, sloppy, sloppy. They called hardly two weeks ahead of time to change the time of my valentines day reservation. This was not a request they gave me no other option. They also failed to post a fixed price menu even the week of. Changed to Saturday because of this and they were out of one of their four entrées at 6 pm on a holiday weekend which is inexcusable. Our waitress couldn't even be bothered to tell us that when we were seated which should be standard procedure. Very sloppy inconsiderate management for such a price. I get better service at run of the mill family places. Clean up your act!

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Great but overpriced food & wine; poor service

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I went to The Barrel Room for our fourth dinner; the prior three times, we have been pleased with the small plates and the atmosphere. However, we tend to limit our wine to just one glass, and order beer (reasonably priced and a good selection) to supplement the wine, because the wine prices seem so high. Most wines by the glass are in the $15 - $20 or more range. The food is excellent, generally speaking. However, on our fourth visit there, we were very disappointed by the service provided by the main wait person, who seems to be the manager or owner. He has always been the one to wait on us, and he has seemed in the past more reserved than friendly. On this night, his attitude was off putting. First, he presented the menu, and it had only four large-plate selections: a pasta, a sea scallop dish, a baby back rib dish, and a shortrib entree. Since I don't eat beef, and am trying to limit my pasta, I was eager to order the scallops. He informed us, even though it was early in the evening (5:30!), "we are out of the scallops." So I asked, "You only have three main dishes to choose from?" He said in a condescending, defensive way without a hint of apology: "We had four, and four minus one is three, so yes." Then, as the hour went on, it was clear that the kitchen was experiencing significant delays; we had to wait excessively between the cheese plate and the small plates that followed. He never apologized or acknowledged that there was a delay. We were finished with our drinks by the time the food finally arrived but did not want to order another round. At the end of the night, we had a $140+ bill for a stuffed fig appetizer, a cheese plate, a small salad, a small-plate roast quail, and the baby back rib dish my husband ordered; three beers, one glass of wine, two bottles of sparkling water. It did not seem worth it, and we will not go back.

food5
ambience4
service4

Food was quite tasty, though portions we ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was quite tasty, though portions were a bit in the small size. Good variety of wines by the glass, but they were pricey. A nice dining experience that we will do again, but the prices make it more of an occasional than a regular spot for us.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Went for the pri fix menu

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

T his is our favorite local restaurant . We really like the wine flights . We can discover new wines paired with very interesting small plates .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice choice wines but lousy pour. Date a ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

Nice choice wines but lousy pour. Date appetizer tasted medicinal. Side of cole slaw had weird tasted but rib portion ok though the BBQ tasted store bought. Only 3 scallops came with pasta scallop dish. House salad tasty though.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mixed review of 4 dinners

Dined on January 18, 2016

The California Syrah was very nice and fruity. The cabernet flight was mixed, best was the Corison. The short ribs special was delicious but the cauliflower appetizer was meager. The pasta special was very nice but the baby back ribs were mediocre

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Terrific wine pairings!

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Terrific wine pairings!

food4
ambience3
service4

The smoked burrata small plate was delic ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

The smoked burrata small plate was delicious. Wine flights were great as was the service!

food3
ambience4
service3

I went during restaurant week so I only ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

I went during restaurant week so I only ordered off the prix fixe menu. I was not impressed. There was a long wait between dishes and only small portions were given. The food selection from the actual menu was actually quite large. I am sure I would have had a more enjoyable experience had I ordered their regular dishes instead. Extensive wine collection.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Better than SF

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

I love this place and am always happy with the Oakland location. Like be the flights, good beer selection and plenty of delicious food to taste with.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the NYE special 5 course with win ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had the NYE special 5 course with wine pairing (two wines per dish). Really great

food4
ambience5
service2
value2

NYE fixed price shouldn't have been so difficult

Dined on January 1, 2016

Outrageous pricing for mediocre service. Timed seating and fixed price shouldn't have been so difficult to coordinate. There were nice touches, don't get me wrong. But not a $320 experience after all was said and done.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was fantastic. Great selection ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

The food was fantastic. Great selection of wine. They were out of a lot of things but the waitress substituted well. This is a great date location but not if you are looking to have a private conversation.

food4
ambience4
service4

Yummy food and interesting wine flights.

Dined on December 30, 2015

Yummy food and interesting wine flights.

food2
ambience3
service3

Don't roll the barrel

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

To start, we were taken aback by the $30 corkage charge at a small local restaurant, even for bottles they sold. This is a $10 increase over any other local. Our starters were tasty but our main was a disaster. Our ribs were cold a stringy. They did offer to replace them but we refused and just left half of them. They did deduct $8 from the price, though we didn't ask. We did ask for bread and got what tasted like croutons. Not a happy experience.

food4
ambience3
service3

I went with my girlfriend at 7:30 in the ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

I went with my girlfriend at 7:30 in the evening. This place is small and therefore has only one server, one bartender, and one manager on staff at any given time. Our server was very cordial and knowledgeable. She was running around all night trying to fulfill orders and describe wines to the dozen or so two-person tables at the restaurant. This significantly slowed the pace of the dinner, and we were often sitting with nothing in front of us, having completed the food and wine we ordered. Don't come hungry. This is a great place for a long evening of conversation and some excellent wines.

food3
ambience4
service4

Ciao Italy

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

We arrived on the last day of their Italian menu. It was pretty good. The house made pastas were excellent, as were the selections of charcuterie. I was less impressed with my raw tuna dish and the squash gnocchi were a bit more like square blocks of fried paneer (very cheesy and dense). Flavor was good but the texture was not what I expected. I look forward to their new menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Highly Recommend

Dined on November 22, 2015

Finally ......a restaurant in the East Bay where my wife and I can actually hold a conversation without having to fight over overly "hip" music with horrible loud acoustics, which robs the experience of however good the food may be...Of course the food is the main reason to go, the pasta with Scallops was top notch and a good portion, the salad was also very good. If you enjoy wine, this is also great as they have themed flights as well as a retail shop where you can buy a nice selection then have it opened at your table for a corkage fee. Looking forward to returning to try some other dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Waiter was knowledgeable about the wine. ...

vip
Dined on November 9, 2015

Waiter was knowledgeable about the wine. Unfortunately they had a big party so we didn't get any food for over 30 min from ordering We got our flight of wines. Apologies and one free glass of sparkling wine only slightly placated. Some bread or olives would have gone further than more wine. When food came it was good but I would think twice about going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2

Overpriced for what it is.

Dined on November 7, 2015

I noticed the tables around mine were turning over VERY quickly for a Fri. Then I realized folks probably didn't want to stick around after finding out the glass of wine, which the waitress kindly offered you a taste of, ended up being $22 each, which you don't find out until after they've poured you a glass. Adding insult to injury, the waitress finished a bottle when pouring my BF a glass. I guess he got more than the standard pour because they billed him for 1.5 glasses. Tacky. But whatever. I think people will pay top prices in the right place, with the right service. They could hire more sophisticated staff than the kids they currently have there and step the place up to a more elegant experience. That might help to increase the perceived value needed to charge $22 for a glass of wine. The staff they have there now seem like they should be working in a pub with artisan beer.

food5
ambience5
service5

We love this restaurant , especially ...

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

We love this restaurant , especially the wine flights . The menu is constantly changing so we always look forward to new things .

food4
ambience5
service3

Good Food, Calm Atmosphere

Dined on October 11, 2015

We return to the Barrel Room because it's a peaceful place to have a conversation and enjoy the good food and excellent wine. Service is a bit sketchy and unattentive. Beware the prices on some of the single glasses of wine. $20! Oucheee!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was very good and the wines out ...

Dined on September 13, 2015

The food was very good and the wines outstanding. The service had its moments. When we arrived the restaurant was full and it was clear the waiter could not wait even a second to hear the order. Then it took a long time for the food to be served and one plate was left out. When it was brought to the attention of another waiter who came to pick something up, it was handled very well and it arrived much faster. The restaurant was not that full anymore. I would go back knowing that one may have to wait a while and that plates come out one at a time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service!

Dined on September 2, 2015

I enjoyed a couple of flights of white wines here (this month, Italian-themed) with my date. We tried two different wine personalities ("volcanic" and "crispy" flights) and the sommelier was very informative, gracious and attentive. Lots of fun if you're into tasting varieties of wines -- I love their unusual format. It's a cozy, easily manageable place, though weirdly the table was shaped such that my date and I were rather far away from each other. I will certainly come back and try more flights as their monthly theme changes. We shared yummy olives and a nice salad -- would need to really dine here to rate the food.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

notable

Dined on August 28, 2015

Great wine, good food, knowledgable servers who care. Will do again.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic from start to finish

vip
Dined on August 24, 2015

The wine selection was varied and well explained. The various wine "flights" were very well constructed. The food offerings are designed to pair with the wines and the food is interesting and excellent--both taste and presentation. Definitely recommend this spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This place rocks! Food and service are top-notch.

Dined on August 23, 2015

The service was impeccable -- attentive but not overbearing. The wine selection was fantastic. The food was memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Great Food. Good Wine

Dined on July 26, 2015

Since they don't tell you the producer you will be served on the flights menu, we found the wine ordering a bit confusing. We asked for suggestions based on likes and dislikes and were served two flights but we found them to be just good, not great, so we switched to just ordering by the glass. The food, on the other hand, was fantastic! Our compliments to the chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great rotating menus; superb wine flights

vip
Dined on July 25, 2015

We regret that TBR has dropped the entree section; they did such a superb job on them. But admittedly most people come for the wine, whereas we come for the food! This is the Italian menu (we have also had the French, Spanish, and Latin American menus here), and all small plates. The potted smoked pig was tasty, a little salty but fine with the perfect crostini and caramelized shallots. Tuna crudo was fresh and flawless, goat cheese gnocchi w/pancetta won raves from all 4 diners. Other winners were the burrata salad, tri-tip, pasta w/cauliflower, scallops, and eggplant Parmesan w/marinara. The aranchini were a little too solid, no melty cheese in the middle, and it lacked sufficient salt altho the smoked mozzarella was tasty. Ice cream sandwiches are excellent, as is the XOX dark chocolate truffle trio. Try one of their 20-odd wine flights and expand your horizons, too! Golden State hard cider on tap as well, great with food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in every way

vip
Dined on July 4, 2015

Everything about our night out at the Barrel Room was excellent: The food was outstanding -- every course of it, the service was excellent, and of course the wine was exceptional. We particularly enjoyed their variety of wine flights - all with a different theme and all wonderful. The only down side here is that the tables are a bit too close together. It's an intimate space.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Love the Wine Flights

vip
Dined on May 17, 2015

This is a fun addition to College Avenue. Casual and comfortable. We had very attentive service (the waitress was fantastic about my husband's allergy, thoughtful about suggestions, and knowledgeable about the wine). The food was interesting and well presented. There are a lot of wine flight options and they offered a fun way to explore the region. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Sitting with wine bottles all around

vip
Dined on April 21, 2015

Amazing selection of wines. Food changes. We went during South America flavors and wine Well done to the staff and owner

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant in Oakland, hands-down!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2015

The Barrel Room has an ambitious program: the wine AND food change every four months. This review is for the French menu, which ended around April 15 (it's now featuring Latin America, which is SUPERB). The French menu offered a number of good dishes, including a great charcuterie platter and excellent cheese plate. The lamb entree had been tweaked from a single porterhouse to a rack of lamb with roasted baby potatoes and a mix of cauliflowers. My spouse was very pleased and said everything was perfect. I had one of the small plates as my entree, the sweet potato-mushroom croquettes which were wonderful with a lively mustard aioli. Service is excellent here but do be patient; the waitstaff spends time with each table to find out what kinds of wines they enjoy so they can make the best suggestions. TBR is UNMATCHED for wine lovers: they have more sets of flights to try than any other wine bar in the East Bay. Make a reservation (this isn't a big place) and go now!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Simple good wine+good food

Dined on March 28, 2015

Barrel Room's Oakland location is a cozy, simple affair, with a significant wine list paired with a small number of entrees that compliment and enhance. French garlic sausage was our choice; it had the right amount of crispness and flavor, and went quite well with a red from Burgundy that was recommended. Service was efficient without being obtrusive. It's not a fine dining, elegant type of place, but pick a couple of small plates, an appetizer and a glass or two (or bottle) of wine and you should be quite content.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Oolaalaa

Dined on March 28, 2015

My friends and I came for a girls' night dinner. We generally like sharing several plates in order to try a variety of dishes and still have room for dessert. The focus was on French cuisine. We took a few of the waiter's recommendations and were not disappointed. Two of us enjoyed a wine flight each, from which they had several to choose. Everything the waiter recommended was delicious. We all agreed we would definitely return when they changed up the menu to focus on a different cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Attentive helpful staff with speedy serv ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2015

Attentive helpful staff with speedy service and wonderful flavorful food. What else could you ask for?

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.