About The Barrel Room at City Winery

155 Varick Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Join us for a very special Valentine's Day Dinner! 2/13 - 2/15, enjoy a prixe fixe menu and special wine pairings.

The Barrel Room, our elegant restaurant and tasting room at City Winery, provides a relaxing and candlelit ambiance where diners can enjoy wine on tap made just next door. City Winery is the only fully functioning winery in New York City, but we also offer a fine dining menu with options for a full dinner or small plates to accompany a few glasses of our house made wine. In the Barrel Room our wine is poured straight from the barrel into your glass with no added preservatives or extra sulfates, giving it a taste that cannot be replicated. Join us for drinks and cheese, a full romantic dinner, or lunch with friends; whatever your plans The Barrel Room has something to offer. You can even take home a bottle of our wine to enjoy later!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday - 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Vandam Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 608-0555

Website:
http://www.citywinery.com/barrel-room

Public Transit:
E/C subway line to Spring Street stop
1 subway line to Houston Street stop

Executive Chef:
Michael Jeanty

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room or corporate presentations for 20; winery available for parties, dinners or presentations up to 74 guests. The main room has a capacity of 300 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Emily Izakowitz: (212) 608-6022

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Black Kale Caesar - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Butcher's Table Meatballs - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Roasted Octopus - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Braised Duck Taco - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Brussle Sprouts - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Buffalo Mozzarella Flatbread - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Tuna Carparccio - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Fried Tofu With Citrus Chili Sauce - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Arancini - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Crispy Tofu "Hot Pot" - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
caramelized brussels sprouts - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Branzino - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Smashed Red Beets - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Seasonal Wild Mushroom Flatbread - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Malbec Wine - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Murrays Charcuterie - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Hummus - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Murray's Caved Aged Local Cheese Tour - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Sparkling Rose - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Artisanal Salame Tour - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Prosecco - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Pan Fried Chicken - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
olive oil gelato - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Lamb Sausage On Chic Pea Fritter - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Pan Seared Tofu With Forbidden Rice - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Falafel Wrap - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Scallops - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Mushroom Tart - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Pumpkin Stuffed Tortelloni - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Sopresatta Salame Flatbread - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Cheese Tour - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Burger - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Crispy Risotto Balls: Chorizo-Manchego - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Maplebrook Farms Burrata With Pea Sized Tomatoes And Fresh Basil - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Cabernet Sauvignon - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Caipirinha - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
City Winery Pinot Noir - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Foie Gras Mushroom Tortellini - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Osso Buco - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65.00

Mondays - Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65.00

Mondays - Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Add optional wine pairing: $100 per person. Special valid Feb 13, 2017 - Feb 15, 2017 on Mondays - Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate an extended Valentine's Day with a special prixe fixe menu at City Winery's Barrel Room. From 2/13 - 2/15, enjoy a special three course meal for $65 and with optional wine pairings for $100, served 5 PM - 10 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 9:00PM

The Barrel Room at City Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Live Music (5)
See All
Fit for Foodies (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fun (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Cozy (2)
People Watching (2)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good for Anniversaries (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful experience - food was deliciou ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wonderful experience - food was delicious - wine menu fabulous - can either order from a comprehensive top wine list , or order wines made at the wine making facility within the premises. We were fortunate to have been given a tour of the urban winery there which was very special. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. There was not any music that night but the venue looked great and the list of musicians they've lined up impressive. Definitely worth checking out !!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Private Room, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately we were very disappointed ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Unfortunately we were very disappointed with our experience. This was our second visit, and will be our last. The service was slow and our waiter, who was also the bartender was not attentive at all, we were constantly trying to flag him down. The food (mini tuna tacos, spinach & artichoke dip, mediteranean meatballs, tomato soup, salmon special, fried chicken) were all mediocre at best. Our bill was $250 with wine but no dessert and seemed outrageous at the time. Additionally, a non-food/service related point, there is only 1 restroom available for patrons of the Barrel Room. You are not permitted to use the restrooms for the main room, but those patrons can use the single one available for the restaurant. The result was a consistent 10-15 minute wait on line - very annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Attending the concert at City Winery mak ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Attending the concert at City Winery makes this a convenient place to eat. Have been here several times.. Can't understand why the offerings aren't the same in both venues. Wish they offered a broader selection of food that was priced moderately and have more generous portions... ex..the cheese board looked sparse...The soup was good, albeit cold, which was sent back to be made hot...but it really wasn't hot but didn't want to send back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Wine was great but food was disappointin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wine was great but food was disappointing. Oddly spicy spinach and artichoke appetizer and then over cooked scallops and pork belly. Was with a friend, who chose the place, so didn't complain to server. Service was very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

I especially like coming here for lunch. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I especially like coming here for lunch. Good food, moderate pricing...what's not to like?!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We came for dinner after a Wednesday eve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We came for dinner after a Wednesday evening performance at the nearby Soho Playhouse. It was a slow night, and ours was the last order taken. But the service was cordial, cocktails were good (and came quickly), and the food was really very good. The portions, however, were rather small. Though there were still about a dozen people at the bar, the noise level was low, which is a rare treat in New York restaurants. We go to the Soho Playhouse several times a year, and this will be our GO TO place for dinner from now on.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The ambiance is great- quiet and cozy.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The ambiance is great- quiet and cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Good food! Inflexible waitstaff.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good food! Inflexible waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

service was excellent. Menu is similar t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

service was excellent. Menu is similar to city winery next door. Good idea to eat 1st in Barrel room then head nx store. couldn't have been more satisfied. My adult children and wife enjoyed the wine flights with attentive service. Risotto balls were great ordered 2 !!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the whole experience - the meal wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Loved the whole experience - the meal was great, our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a great experience. Soup special ar ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Not a great experience. Soup special arrived barely lukewarm, gloppy (like concentrate out of a can) and not tasting anything remotely like butternut squash. Sent it back, asked for their basic tomato. That too arrived barely lukewarm and the consistency of glue. At that point, just moved on. Then... we went to order dessert and they were out of what we wanted! Our server was great and did all he could, even comped us our coffees, which was very nice of him. But the kitchen and potentially the way the expedite the food clearly needs help. I won't be going back soon.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

I was unable to get a ticket to a show a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I was unable to get a ticket to a show at the City Winery that I took my daughter to(she had a ticket already) and the concierge suggested dinner and drinks in the Barrel Room during the show. The staff was very pleasant and attentive. The food and wine was very good. The atmosphere is very comfortable but it is a small room. I would recommend it and will definitely go again, hopefully with a show ticket next time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant has very cool decor. Howe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant has very cool decor. However, when my boyfriend and I went for date night, they overbooked the tables. We ended up waiting 45 minutes past our reservation time to get a table. Wine was ok, not great. The food was nothing special. The smores dessert was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I've been here previously and always had ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I've been here previously and always had a great experience. This past visit was not enjoyable. The waiter had a party of about 10 people at the table next to us, and as a result we had terrible service. The host took our drink order. The waiter showed up about 10-15 minutes later and took our order. Waited a reasonable amount of time for the food, but NEVER SAW THE WAITER AGAIN. Had to ask the food runner to refill our wine glasses, and the host eventually came over to give us the bill. Not pleased.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Service needs a lot of improvement!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Service needs a lot of improvement!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Second time hear and enjoyed it again. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Second time hear and enjoyed it again. I think the waitress could have studied up on the new menu a bit more, but she was friendly and attentive. The menu is limited, but it's really about tasting the wines made on site with grapes brought in from various high-quality wineries. We enjoyed the meals and the flight of wines. If you take the subway, it's not far from the theater district (20 minutes?), but far from the tourist and high prices!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Seasonal, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

What a wonderful surprise to find this r ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

What a wonderful surprise to find this really great place on Open Table. The open windows to the winery on premises is fun, and the wine was delicious! I look forward to returning.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing ambiance. Noisy, not what ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Disappointing ambiance. Noisy, not what I imagined when I booked the barrel room. Dessert was also disappointing (s'mores with chocolate ice cream just didn't do it for us, and pumpkin doughnuts were over cooked/hard).

At least the service was flawless and good wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5

Eat bad, drink good

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Eat bad, drink good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great time! Will definitely be back! M ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great time! Will definitely be back! Met with friends from out of town before the theatre. Everything was perfect...food, wine and ambiance. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We flew 738 miles to see our daughters a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We flew 738 miles to see our daughters and their friends. City Winery set us up in the wine room with good music and an excellent waiter. We enjoyed the majority of what was on the menu and nothing was disappointing. Appreciated the preemptive comps for one incorrect meal and an extended wait for the desserts. Tried three different wines from the tap and all were clean and easy. Definitely a highlight in the weekend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super cute spot for happy hour! Good spe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Super cute spot for happy hour! Good specials and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The server was lovely and the wine was g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The server was lovely and the wine was great but my tuna was inedible it was so over cooked and the creme brûlée obviously wasn't fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Did not like it all. We had a saturday 8 ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Did not like it all. We had a saturday 8 pm reservation, they did not seat us right away, we had to wait at the bar. Food was not the greatest either. Service was poor, our waitress was not knowledgeable or friendly.

Overall it was not a good experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We went early for some wine and stayed f ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We went early for some wine and stayed for dinner. Food and wine were great, as was the atmosphere. And the desserts are phenomenal! The s'mores dish was amazing!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the food and wine pairing ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and wine pairings here. Very cool rustic decor with some nice street-side seating. Great wine selection with some good local wines as well. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was the perfect place and meal befo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was the perfect place and meal before a play at the Soho Theatre. Although, there was a private party in the main room, so I was directed to the Barrel Room, an older wooden, basic room with windows facing the stainless steel vats and the street. Certainly real New Yorkish. Food & drink was excellent. Service was satisfactory

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice venue. Good food and with the wine ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice venue. Good food and with the wine pairing is was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice find: my wife was dubous given the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nice find: my wife was dubous given the smallish menu, but it was close to where we needed to go. THEN, the food came. Excellent stuff: flavorful, well executed, thought through. The crispy porkbelly with salsafy ap was a particular standout. And, what set the tone for the rest of the meal. Outstanding wine list by the glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The wine list is great, the food selecti ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The wine list is great, the food selection is however limited. Service was prompt but food presentation and delivery was very messy. Stuff tasted bland.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Very cool local winery with their own wi ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very cool local winery with their own wines (made onsite and quite good) makes for fun experience.

Service was very good and fun cool vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The wine was excellent

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The wine was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

City Winery offered the perfect location ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2016

City Winery offered the perfect location for a quiet business lunch, with a good menu and great service to match. I've walked by in the evening and it looks much more lively during that time, so would love to go back for evening drinks! Would recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We went there for a concert. We knew the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went there for a concert. We knew they had food, so we planned on eating there. Two of us had fried chicken that was not really fried. The appetizers were pretty good. Service was good while it was empty, and then it really tailed off. It's a great place for a concert.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

thought there would be standard tables f ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 16, 2016

thought there would be standard tables for dining.Menu very limited and a little bit on higher end of pricing for what you are getting

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Restaurant just opened. Great music and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Restaurant just opened. Great music and venue. We ate upstairs before the show. Our server was clearly new, lots of mistakes, but we will view it as they are just working out the kinks. Food was very good and wonderful flavor. Wine on Tap is awesome. We will be going again soon and I hope the servers are more comfortable with menu and operation. Seemed also to be a bit inexperienced on what is appropriate as a server- speaking as someone did this to pay for college.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We were there shortly after its opening. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2016

We were there shortly after its opening. They have some kinks to work out in food and service but the concept and wine are great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place to go when you're meeting fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great place to go when you're meeting folks from all around the City. Specials add nice variety. Wine and dessert are a must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband here for his birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday and was very disappointed. The food was very underwhelming and the wines were so-so. I would probably be fine as a non-special occasion place but for a birthday I was extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Kitchen timing

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2016

All of our food came out individually rather than as courses. My boyfriend and I have a veggie/omnivore dichotomy (and I had ordered in a meat-y mood), so we couldn't share; this led to an evening of one person watching the other eat. Fortunately, this watching also involved drinking the very nice wine, and since we like talking to each other, the evening was a lot of fun.

N.B., it is also quite loud. 'Tis not normally a problem for me, even in NYC's proverbially loud restaurants (or at least it would be proverbially, if anyone could hear proverbs over the din . . .), but we could not hear the maitre d' to know if we could go to a table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.