About The Barrel Room at City Winery

155 Varick Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

The Barrel Room, housed within our space, not part of concert seating, is a tasting room and 30-seat café that features 11 wines by the tap made on our premises by our wine maker David Lecomte. The innovative tap system permits us to pour wines straight from the barrel to the glass with no preservatives or added sulfates making it the freshest, eco friendly wine in NYC. Join us daily for our guided wine flights, house-made retail wines to go and 400 bottle Wine Spectator Award winning wine list to go with Executive Chef, Michael Jeanty's wine inspired dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday - 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tue - Sat: 5:00pm - 11:00pm / Sun & Mon 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour Mon - Fri: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Vandam Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 608-0555 ext. 476

Website:
http://www.citywinery.com/barrel-room

Public Transit:
E, C subway line to Spring Street
1 subway to Houston St

Executive Chef:
Michael Jeanty

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room or corporate presentations for 20; winery available for parties, dinners or presentations up to 74 guests. The main room has a capacity of 300 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Len : 2126080555x477

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Black Kale Caesar - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Butcher's Table Meatballs - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Roasted Octopus - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Braised Duck Taco - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Brussle Sprouts - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Buffalo Mozzarella Flatbread - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Tuna Carparccio - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Fried Tofu With Citrus Chili Sauce - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Arancini - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Crispy Tofu "Hot Pot" - The Barrel Room at City Winery
caramelized brussels sprouts - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Branzino - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Smashed Red Beets - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Seasonal Wild Mushroom Flatbread - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Malbec Wine - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Murrays Charcuterie - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Hummus - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Murray's Caved Aged Local Cheese Tour - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Sparkling Rose - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Artisanal Salame Tour - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Prosecco - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Pan Fried Chicken - The Barrel Room at City Winery
olive oil gelato - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Lamb Sausage On Chic Pea Fritter - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Pan Seared Tofu With Forbidden Rice - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Falafel Wrap - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Scallops - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Mushroom Tart - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Pumpkin Stuffed Tortelloni - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Sopresatta Salame Flatbread - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Cheese Tour - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Burger - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Crispy Risotto Balls: Chorizo-Manchego - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Maplebrook Farms Burrata With Pea Sized Tomatoes And Fresh Basil - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Cabernet Sauvignon - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Caipirinha - The Barrel Room at City Winery
City Winery Pinot Noir - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Foie Gras Mushroom Tortellini - The Barrel Room at City Winery
Osso Buco - The Barrel Room at City Winery

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 9:00PM

The Barrel Room at City Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in SoHo ›

Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (5)
Special Occasion (4)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Cozy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The server was lovely and the wine was g ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The server was lovely and the wine was great but my tuna was inedible it was so over cooked and the creme brûlée obviously wasn't fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Did not like it all. We had a saturday 8 ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Did not like it all. We had a saturday 8 pm reservation, they did not seat us right away, we had to wait at the bar. Food was not the greatest either. Service was poor, our waitress was not knowledgeable or friendly.

Overall it was not a good experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We went early for some wine and stayed f ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We went early for some wine and stayed for dinner. Food and wine were great, as was the atmosphere. And the desserts are phenomenal! The s'mores dish was amazing!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect place and meal befo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was the perfect place and meal before a play at the Soho Theatre. Although, there was a private party in the main room, so I was directed to the Barrel Room, an older wooden, basic room with windows facing the stainless steel vats and the street. Certainly real New Yorkish. Food & drink was excellent. Service was satisfactory

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice venue. Good food and with the wine ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice venue. Good food and with the wine pairing is was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice find: my wife was dubous given the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nice find: my wife was dubous given the smallish menu, but it was close to where we needed to go. THEN, the food came. Excellent stuff: flavorful, well executed, thought through. The crispy porkbelly with salsafy ap was a particular standout. And, what set the tone for the rest of the meal. Outstanding wine list by the glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The wine list is great, the food selecti ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The wine list is great, the food selection is however limited. Service was prompt but food presentation and delivery was very messy. Stuff tasted bland.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Very cool local winery with their own wi ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very cool local winery with their own wines (made onsite and quite good) makes for fun experience.

Service was very good and fun cool vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The wine was excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The wine was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

City Winery offered the perfect location ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

City Winery offered the perfect location for a quiet business lunch, with a good menu and great service to match. I've walked by in the evening and it looks much more lively during that time, so would love to go back for evening drinks! Would recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We went there for a concert. We knew the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went there for a concert. We knew they had food, so we planned on eating there. Two of us had fried chicken that was not really fried. The appetizers were pretty good. Service was good while it was empty, and then it really tailed off. It's a great place for a concert.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

thought there would be standard tables f ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

thought there would be standard tables for dining.Menu very limited and a little bit on higher end of pricing for what you are getting

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Restaurant just opened. Great music and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Restaurant just opened. Great music and venue. We ate upstairs before the show. Our server was clearly new, lots of mistakes, but we will view it as they are just working out the kinks. Food was very good and wonderful flavor. Wine on Tap is awesome. We will be going again soon and I hope the servers are more comfortable with menu and operation. Seemed also to be a bit inexperienced on what is appropriate as a server- speaking as someone did this to pay for college.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We were there shortly after its opening. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We were there shortly after its opening. They have some kinks to work out in food and service but the concept and wine are great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place to go when you're meeting fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great place to go when you're meeting folks from all around the City. Specials add nice variety. Wine and dessert are a must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband here for his birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday and was very disappointed. The food was very underwhelming and the wines were so-so. I would probably be fine as a non-special occasion place but for a birthday I was extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Kitchen timing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

All of our food came out individually rather than as courses. My boyfriend and I have a veggie/omnivore dichotomy (and I had ordered in a meat-y mood), so we couldn't share; this led to an evening of one person watching the other eat. Fortunately, this watching also involved drinking the very nice wine, and since we like talking to each other, the evening was a lot of fun.

N.B., it is also quite loud. 'Tis not normally a problem for me, even in NYC's proverbially loud restaurants (or at least it would be proverbially, if anyone could hear proverbs over the din . . .), but we could not hear the maitre d' to know if we could go to a table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Come for the music stay for the food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a lovely evening on a recent Saturday night. Our kale salad, caprese salad, and special fish entrée were all done to perfection. The wine was super so much so we overindulged. There were some people having a little too much fun in one corner which kind of created more additional noise then we bargained for. Otherwise a great evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Diana: Simply the Best

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our server, Diana, was absolutely wonderful. Knowledgable, personable, and fun, she answered any questions we could come up with about the menu and wines, and helped steer us towards a fantastic meal and experience. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice for a drink

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

The food wasn't exceptional but it was a nice & cozy place to grab a drink and have a couple of snacks.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Not bad. Give it a try.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was pretty good. I got a Gilt deal for two for brunch which was a great value. The steak and eggs that I had didn't look that apetizing when it was served but it was actually quite tasty. The mushroom flatbread was excellent. Being that we were only one of three groups there, I felt our dishes could have been served a bit faster but , Chris our server was friendly and responded quickly to all our request.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The chef at city winery is superb!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

The ambiance at this neighborhood gem is cool and classic which you collect not only from the locals at the spot but the really genuine staff. Will definitely go back often. This is a must try if you live in the neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT VENUE - FAIR FOOD

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

THIS PLACE IS A GRAT NIGHT OUT PLACE- FOOD WAS FAIR AT BEST

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Nice light fare

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Nice for a light dinner with wine before the theater. There is a friendly feeling and a warm atmosphere. Prices are right and wine is very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ah-maz-ing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The Barrel Room was awesome. We took a winery tour, tasted different wines with their in-house flights, and ate a delicious dinner. We want to go back for their dinner/entertainment option. So good! Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Menu is very limited. The food I had w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Menu is very limited. The food I had was delicious but wish there was more variety. Convenient to eat here before the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not bad

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The food was excellent. Atmosphere just ok. Brunch for 4 with 1 drink each and 4 coffees was $122 with tax. Service was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Date spot in great location

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

The Barrel Room is a great spot to meet and enjoy the company of someone special, with great wine, good food, and wonderful atmosphere. Wine flights are a great way to sample the wares and get acquainted with what they have to offer. The staff has always been great but make sure you check for closures due to special events.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

show

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

greta mix of foks eating before melissa etheridge show. duck tacos ( use sauce) and rice balls were enjoyable. Burgers were GOOD but over priced

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Less than enthralled

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

I had two separate wines and also the burger. Being a Pat Lafrieda blend does not mean the burger is going to be amazing and apparently I should have known this. It was pretty disappointing overall and quite over-priced.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Birthday Brunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We secured a reservation about a month ago for a part of 8. Called a few days before to confirm. All was set. We arrived on time, got settled and the crowd began to gather. Try the flights of wine (white or red)!!! The Chicken Liver Mousse was delicious (needs more toast points) and the hummus was also tasty. The table was split down the middle between breakfast and brunch items. All were delicious. I recommended the Sand and Soup (grilled cheese and tomato soup).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Area hot spot

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

I have been passing by City Winery for a while now and since I work in the area I thought I should give it a try. The hanger steak was OK...I asked for medium well but felt that some pieces were a little too red for me. Luckily I had friends who didn't mind and helped out with those pieces. I felt it was a bit dark in there but had a nice time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Place!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Our waitress MADE the night!! I think her name was Debbie or Dana? I am horrible with names and the cocktails I had before didn't help. She was so great. Helpful, down to earth and made it a delightful dining experience. What I love is that we had a gilt voucher and most places treat you differently like you are cheap but I did not get that feel from this restaurant! Thank you for that!! It is hard to find that in the city. Which is why we will be coming back soon! Oh and the wine is DELISH. I highly recommend the pinot nior.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Unexpectedly Great Food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

I had expected good wines but the food was outstanding. The arancini delicious and the butternut squash soup was exemplary and extremely filling. Like a giant creamy and delicate puree of that sweet wonderful vegetable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing Food but kind of loud

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

We ate here on a Friday night and I must say the place was hopping a little too much for my taste. The food and our lovely waitress more than made up for the fact that it wasn't quite the quiet romantic dinner I planned. Our waitress was great and helpful with picking out food and brought great wines to pair with them. Food- AMAZING get the duck tacos they were so delicious, we also had a wonderful spread of Murray cheeses also great. For our mains we got the steak and the fried chicken both delicious and for dessert the sorbets and the chocolate mousse. The mousse was AMAZING so rich and delicious it sent shivers down your spine and it was impossible to finish your mouth was just so overloaded on real chocolate goodness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Roseann

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Very disappointed. Was not seated in Barrell Room (private party going on) and sat at table near bar. Should have been told this when they called to confirm reservation! Was led to believe this was a pairing/ tasting 3 course meal. However we were told to select 3 wines from "tap". Not the better quality wines we expected. Food was mediocre. Really was not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Had a double date at the barrel room. Th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Had a double date at the barrel room. The burrata and duck taco appetizers were tasty. The main course left a little more to be desired. Best thing about this place was definitely the wine, the NYC cab was my favorite and I would go back just to have another glass or two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Small space but good food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

My boyfriend and I decided on City Winery because we were looking for an interesting place to eat in a part of the city we don't usually travel to. The food was great (I am a huge Squid Ink pasta fan, and they did not disappoint). However, the service was a lacking something and the space is very very small. My boyfriend felt like he had to keep his elbows tucked in the whole time just so he wouldn't hit a server or the person next to us. It is definitely intimate (with the cozy close atmosphere and the dim lighting) but that can get a little uncomfortable after a while. Our server also seemed like she was a bit frazzled the entire night. All in all it was a good experience but there are some things that could be changed, especially since the check for two people ended up being over $200, I expected a little more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Ahh So So Experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

Cute place pretty good service. Now for the food....cold potatoes and steak ahhh NO.. And they don't have steak sauce...you will do good just getting the burger and the White wine I believe it was just called "white wine".

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Very disapponted!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

I came to the Barrel Room expecting so much and was let down. From the moment I was seated I felt invisible. I ordered wine and an appetizer and then sat for 25 minutes before anyone came over to take my dinner order. I ordered dinner and the waitress kept on repeating my order wrong. I told her to forget about dinner. I mentioned I was a Vinofile member with no reaction from staff. At this point, I paid my check and left.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.