About The Barrel Room at City Winery

155 Varick Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

The Barrel Room, housed within our space, not part of concert seating, is a tasting room and 30-seat café that features 11 wines by the tap made on our premises by our wine maker David Lecomte. The innovative tap system permits us to pour wines straight from the barrel to the glass with no preservatives or added sulfates making it the freshest, eco friendly wine in NYC. Join us daily for our guided wine flights, house-made retail wines to go and 400 bottle Wine Spectator Award winning wine list to go with Executive Chef, Michael Jeanty's wine inspired dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday - 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tue - Sat: 5:00pm - 11:00pm / Sun & Mon 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour Mon - Fri: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Vandam Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 608-0555 ext. 476

Website:
http://www.citywinery.com/barrel-room

Public Transit:
E, C subway line to Spring Street
1 subway to Houston St

Executive Chef:
Michael Jeanty

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room or corporate presentations for 20; winery available for parties, dinners or presentations up to 74 guests. The main room has a capacity of 300 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Len : 2126080555x477

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 12:00PM - 9:00PM 2:15PM - 9:00PM

The Barrel Room at City Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New York / Tri-State Area
Notable Wine List
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in SoHo ›

notable wine list (22)
neighborhood gem (12)
romantic (8)
See All
good for groups (8)
fit for foodies (8)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
special occasion (7)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Kitchen timing

Dined 6 days ago

All of our food came out individually rather than as courses. My boyfriend and I have a veggie/omnivore dichotomy (and I had ordered in a meat-y mood), so we couldn't share; this led to an evening of one person watching the other eat. Fortunately, this watching also involved drinking the very nice wine, and since we like talking to each other, the evening was a lot of fun. N.B., it is also quite loud. 'Tis not normally a problem for me, even in NYC's proverbially loud restaurants (or at least it would be proverbially, if anyone could hear proverbs over the din . . .), but we could not hear the maitre d' to know if we could go to a table.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Come for the music stay for the food

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a lovely evening on a recent Saturday night. Our kale salad, caprese salad, and special fish entrée were all done to perfection. The wine was super so much so we overindulged. There were some people having a little too much fun in one corner which kind of created more additional noise then we bargained for. Otherwise a great evening.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diana: Simply the Best

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our server, Diana, was absolutely wonderful. Knowledgable, personable, and fun, she answered any questions we could come up with about the menu and wines, and helped steer us towards a fantastic meal and experience. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice for a drink

Dined on March 30, 2016

The food wasn't exceptional but it was a nice & cozy place to grab a drink and have a couple of snacks.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Not bad. Give it a try.

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was pretty good. I got a Gilt deal for two for brunch which was a great value. The steak and eggs that I had didn't look that apetizing when it was served but it was actually quite tasty. The mushroom flatbread was excellent. Being that we were only one of three groups there, I felt our dishes could have been served a bit faster but , Chris our server was friendly and responded quickly to all our request.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef at city winery is superb!

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

The ambiance at this neighborhood gem is cool and classic which you collect not only from the locals at the spot but the really genuine staff. Will definitely go back often. This is a must try if you live in the neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

GREAT VENUE - FAIR FOOD

Dined on February 28, 2016

THIS PLACE IS A GRAT NIGHT OUT PLACE- FOOD WAS FAIR AT BEST

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice light fare

Dined on February 27, 2016

Nice for a light dinner with wine before the theater. There is a friendly feeling and a warm atmosphere. Prices are right and wine is very good.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ah-maz-ing

Dined on February 27, 2016

The Barrel Room was awesome. We took a winery tour, tasted different wines with their in-house flights, and ate a delicious dinner. We want to go back for their dinner/entertainment option. So good! Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Menu is very limited. The food I had w ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Menu is very limited. The food I had was delicious but wish there was more variety. Convenient to eat here before the show.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Not bad

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food was excellent. Atmosphere just ok. Brunch for 4 with 1 drink each and 4 coffees was $122 with tax. Service was good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date spot in great location

Dined on January 28, 2016

The Barrel Room is a great spot to meet and enjoy the company of someone special, with great wine, good food, and wonderful atmosphere. Wine flights are a great way to sample the wares and get acquainted with what they have to offer. The staff has always been great but make sure you check for closures due to special events.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

show

Dined on January 17, 2016

greta mix of foks eating before melissa etheridge show. duck tacos ( use sauce) and rice balls were enjoyable. Burgers were GOOD but over priced

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Less than enthralled

Dined on January 15, 2016

I had two separate wines and also the burger. Being a Pat Lafrieda blend does not mean the burger is going to be amazing and apparently I should have known this. It was pretty disappointing overall and quite over-priced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday Brunch

Dined on January 10, 2016

We secured a reservation about a month ago for a part of 8. Called a few days before to confirm. All was set. We arrived on time, got settled and the crowd began to gather. Try the flights of wine (white or red)!!! The Chicken Liver Mousse was delicious (needs more toast points) and the hummus was also tasty. The table was split down the middle between breakfast and brunch items. All were delicious. I recommended the Sand and Soup (grilled cheese and tomato soup).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Area hot spot

Dined on December 30, 2015

I have been passing by City Winery for a while now and since I work in the area I thought I should give it a try. The hanger steak was OK...I asked for medium well but felt that some pieces were a little too red for me. Luckily I had friends who didn't mind and helped out with those pieces. I felt it was a bit dark in there but had a nice time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Great Place!

Dined on December 13, 2015

Our waitress MADE the night!! I think her name was Debbie or Dana? I am horrible with names and the cocktails I had before didn't help. She was so great. Helpful, down to earth and made it a delightful dining experience. What I love is that we had a gilt voucher and most places treat you differently like you are cheap but I did not get that feel from this restaurant! Thank you for that!! It is hard to find that in the city. Which is why we will be coming back soon! Oh and the wine is DELISH. I highly recommend the pinot nior.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Unexpectedly Great Food

vip
Dined on December 8, 2015

I had expected good wines but the food was outstanding. The arancini delicious and the butternut squash soup was exemplary and extremely filling. Like a giant creamy and delicate puree of that sweet wonderful vegetable.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Amazing Food but kind of loud

Dined on December 5, 2015

We ate here on a Friday night and I must say the place was hopping a little too much for my taste. The food and our lovely waitress more than made up for the fact that it wasn't quite the quiet romantic dinner I planned. Our waitress was great and helpful with picking out food and brought great wines to pair with them. Food- AMAZING get the duck tacos they were so delicious, we also had a wonderful spread of Murray cheeses also great. For our mains we got the steak and the fried chicken both delicious and for dessert the sorbets and the chocolate mousse. The mousse was AMAZING so rich and delicious it sent shivers down your spine and it was impossible to finish your mouth was just so overloaded on real chocolate goodness.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service3

Roseann

Dined on November 22, 2015

Very disappointed. Was not seated in Barrell Room (private party going on) and sat at table near bar. Should have been told this when they called to confirm reservation! Was led to believe this was a pairing/ tasting 3 course meal. However we were told to select 3 wines from "tap". Not the better quality wines we expected. Food was mediocre. Really was not worth the money.

food4
ambience3
service3

Had a double date at the barrel room. Th ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

Had a double date at the barrel room. The burrata and duck taco appetizers were tasty. The main course left a little more to be desired. Best thing about this place was definitely the wine, the NYC cab was my favorite and I would go back just to have another glass or two.

food4
ambience2
service2

Small space but good food

Dined on November 11, 2015

My boyfriend and I decided on City Winery because we were looking for an interesting place to eat in a part of the city we don't usually travel to. The food was great (I am a huge Squid Ink pasta fan, and they did not disappoint). However, the service was a lacking something and the space is very very small. My boyfriend felt like he had to keep his elbows tucked in the whole time just so he wouldn't hit a server or the person next to us. It is definitely intimate (with the cozy close atmosphere and the dim lighting) but that can get a little uncomfortable after a while. Our server also seemed like she was a bit frazzled the entire night. All in all it was a good experience but there are some things that could be changed, especially since the check for two people ended up being over $200, I expected a little more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food2
ambience4
service4

Ahh So So Experience

Dined on November 11, 2015

Cute place pretty good service. Now for the food....cold potatoes and steak ahhh NO.. And they don't have steak sauce...you will do good just getting the burger and the White wine I believe it was just called "white wine".

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1

Very disapponted!

vip
Dined on November 2, 2015

I came to the Barrel Room expecting so much and was let down. From the moment I was seated I felt invisible. I ordered wine and an appetizer and then sat for 25 minutes before anyone came over to take my dinner order. I ordered dinner and the waitress kept on repeating my order wrong. I told her to forget about dinner. I mentioned I was a Vinofile member with no reaction from staff. At this point, I paid my check and left.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

b 4 show

Dined on November 1, 2015

went to eat here before show nx door... limited menu but the fried chicken (boneless) was good as well as the artichoke dip. decent glass of wine to go with it and attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The fried green tomato flatbread!!! Deli ...

Dined on October 30, 2015

The fried green tomato flatbread!!! Delicious!!

food4
ambience5
service4

Love that you basically get to see a sho ...

Dined on October 27, 2015

Love that you basically get to see a show at the same time if someone is playing as they broadcast it on the tv in the barrel room. Such a nice touch. Door staff and wait staff are all lovely.

food3
ambience3
service3

Had to send soup back as it was cold. ...

vip
Dined on October 6, 2015

Had to send soup back as it was cold. Took a while to get my check. Food is good but pricey. Wish the venue inside where I had tickets for concert would be on Open Table...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Client Lunch

vip
Dined on October 6, 2015

great atmosphere for a business lunch and great menu

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Brilliant Brunch

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

The setting of the barrel room really makes you feel like you are inside a working winery (which you are) and the wine is superb.

Tags: great for brunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

WHAT A GREAT FIND!!!

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

My friends and I meet for brunch every other week. I've never heard of this place but now that I have I will definitely frequent this spot. We came for brunch and the food was incredibly tasty. I especially love the hummus. Our waiter was extremely attentive and very friendly and catered to all of our requests; he went well above what was required of him to meet our needs. This will definitely be a recurrent brunch spot for my friends and I.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Fun dinner

Dined on September 9, 2015

Business dinner for small team of six. Fun atmosphere and good food. Great service from Diana. Enjoyable evening all around.

food5
ambience5
service2

Great food and ambience

vip
Dined on August 30, 2015

We all enjoyed the brunch- delicious good and good prices. The only drawback was the service. For some reason they couldn't get our order right. It took a few times before we got everything. But we might try it again and hope that was a one time glitch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1

Great food but unfortunately poor service

Dined on August 21, 2015

It is a shame that with all the positives that the service is so unprofessional. Food was great. Wine too. Enjoyed eating outside. But,our waiter frequently dissapeared,dishes were brought out unevenly,server had no idea who got what nor could explain what the dishes even were [where was the waiter ?] and,wrong dishes were brought to the table. Better management desperately needed. Two additional small things. You should have better bread,and fresher. I think the "wine on tap" carafes are too small for the price

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place

Dined on August 16, 2015

It is such a nice place. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3

Very, very nice venue! Family of four ca ...

Dined on August 16, 2015

Very, very nice venue! Family of four came for Sunday brunch here. Unfortunately our food was cold and poached eggs were overcooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff were all very nice and attentive. ...

vip
Dined on August 2, 2015

Staff were all very nice and attentive. We sat on the patio and it was very calm and romantic. Food was all amazing! Wine as well was quite good. Desserts were amazing as well! I definitely recommend the Saffron and Rrock Shrimp Arancini! So good!!

food5
ambience5
service5

tipsy

Dined on July 28, 2015

Our waitress Diana was very busy, but just a doll. Tuna tacos and hummus were great. Wine fleet was fun. Bought three bottles to bring home. Watching for a good concert for our next visit!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1

Did not stay wayyyyy too loud

vip
Dined on June 26, 2015

Did not stay wayyyyy too loud

food4
ambience2
service3

Good Food and Wine

Dined on June 24, 2015

The Barrel Room has good food. We tried several small plates, a salad and a soup and enjoyed it all. The house made wine was ok. It was just so noisy inside the restaurant that we could hardly have a conversation.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.