About The Barrel Room at City Winery

155 Varick Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

The Barrel Room, housed within our space, not part of concert seating, is a tasting room and 30-seat café that features 11 wines by the tap made on our premises by our wine maker David Lecomte. The innovative tap system permits us to pour wines straight from the barrel to the glass with no preservatives or added sulfates making it the freshest, eco friendly wine in NYC. Join us daily for our guided wine flights, house-made retail wines to go and 400 bottle Wine Spectator Award winning wine list to go with Executive Chef, Michael Jeanty's wine inspired dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday - 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tue - Sat: 5:00pm - 11:00pm / Sun & Mon 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour Mon - Fri: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Vandam Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 608-0555 ext. 476

Website:
http://www.citywinery.com/barrel-room

Public Transit:
E, C subway line to Spring Street
1 subway to Houston St

Executive Chef:
Michael Jeanty

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room or corporate presentations for 20; winery available for parties, dinners or presentations up to 74 guests. The main room has a capacity of 300 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Len : 2126080555x477

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Black Kale Caesar - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Butcher's Table Meatballs - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Roasted Octopus - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Braised Duck Taco - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Brussle Sprouts - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Buffalo Mozzarella Flatbread - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Tuna Carparccio - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Fried Tofu With Citrus Chili Sauce - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Arancini - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Crispy Tofu "Hot Pot" - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
caramelized brussels sprouts - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Branzino - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Smashed Red Beets - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Seasonal Wild Mushroom Flatbread - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Malbec Wine - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Murrays Charcuterie - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Hummus - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Murray's Caved Aged Local Cheese Tour - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Sparkling Rose - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Artisanal Salame Tour - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Prosecco - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Pan Fried Chicken - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
olive oil gelato - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Lamb Sausage On Chic Pea Fritter - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Pan Seared Tofu With Forbidden Rice - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Falafel Wrap - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Scallops - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Mushroom Tart - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Pumpkin Stuffed Tortelloni - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Sopresatta Salame Flatbread - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Cheese Tour - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Burger - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Crispy Risotto Balls: Chorizo-Manchego - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Maplebrook Farms Burrata With Pea Sized Tomatoes And Fresh Basil - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Cabernet Sauvignon - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Caipirinha - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
City Winery Pinot Noir - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Foie Gras Mushroom Tortellini - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY
Osso Buco - The Barrel Room at City Winery, New York, NY

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 9:00PM

The Barrel Room at City Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in SoHo ›

Notable Wine List (11)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (5)
See All
Fit for Foodies (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Special Occasion (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
300 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was unable to get a ticket to a show a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I was unable to get a ticket to a show at the City Winery that I took my daughter to(she had a ticket already) and the concierge suggested dinner and drinks in the Barrel Room during the show. The staff was very pleasant and attentive. The food and wine was very good. The atmosphere is very comfortable but it is a small room. I would recommend it and will definitely go again, hopefully with a show ticket next time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant has very cool decor. Howe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant has very cool decor. However, when my boyfriend and I went for date night, they overbooked the tables. We ended up waiting 45 minutes past our reservation time to get a table. Wine was ok, not great. The food was nothing special. The smores dessert was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I've been here previously and always had ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I've been here previously and always had a great experience. This past visit was not enjoyable. The waiter had a party of about 10 people at the table next to us, and as a result we had terrible service. The host took our drink order. The waiter showed up about 10-15 minutes later and took our order. Waited a reasonable amount of time for the food, but NEVER SAW THE WAITER AGAIN. Had to ask the food runner to refill our wine glasses, and the host eventually came over to give us the bill. Not pleased.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Service needs a lot of improvement!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Service needs a lot of improvement!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Second time hear and enjoyed it again. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Second time hear and enjoyed it again. I think the waitress could have studied up on the new menu a bit more, but she was friendly and attentive. The menu is limited, but it's really about tasting the wines made on site with grapes brought in from various high-quality wineries. We enjoyed the meals and the flight of wines. If you take the subway, it's not far from the theater district (20 minutes?), but far from the tourist and high prices!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Seasonal, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

What a wonderful surprise to find this r ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

What a wonderful surprise to find this really great place on Open Table. The open windows to the winery on premises is fun, and the wine was delicious! I look forward to returning.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing ambiance. Noisy, not what ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Disappointing ambiance. Noisy, not what I imagined when I booked the barrel room. Dessert was also disappointing (s'mores with chocolate ice cream just didn't do it for us, and pumpkin doughnuts were over cooked/hard).

At least the service was flawless and good wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5

Eat bad, drink good

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Eat bad, drink good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great time! Will definitely be back! M ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great time! Will definitely be back! Met with friends from out of town before the theatre. Everything was perfect...food, wine and ambiance. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We flew 738 miles to see our daughters a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We flew 738 miles to see our daughters and their friends. City Winery set us up in the wine room with good music and an excellent waiter. We enjoyed the majority of what was on the menu and nothing was disappointing. Appreciated the preemptive comps for one incorrect meal and an extended wait for the desserts. Tried three different wines from the tap and all were clean and easy. Definitely a highlight in the weekend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super cute spot for happy hour! Good spe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Super cute spot for happy hour! Good specials and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The server was lovely and the wine was g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The server was lovely and the wine was great but my tuna was inedible it was so over cooked and the creme brûlée obviously wasn't fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Did not like it all. We had a saturday 8 ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Did not like it all. We had a saturday 8 pm reservation, they did not seat us right away, we had to wait at the bar. Food was not the greatest either. Service was poor, our waitress was not knowledgeable or friendly.

Overall it was not a good experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We went early for some wine and stayed f ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We went early for some wine and stayed for dinner. Food and wine were great, as was the atmosphere. And the desserts are phenomenal! The s'mores dish was amazing!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the food and wine pairing ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and wine pairings here. Very cool rustic decor with some nice street-side seating. Great wine selection with some good local wines as well. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was the perfect place and meal befo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was the perfect place and meal before a play at the Soho Theatre. Although, there was a private party in the main room, so I was directed to the Barrel Room, an older wooden, basic room with windows facing the stainless steel vats and the street. Certainly real New Yorkish. Food & drink was excellent. Service was satisfactory

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice venue. Good food and with the wine ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice venue. Good food and with the wine pairing is was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice find: my wife was dubous given the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nice find: my wife was dubous given the smallish menu, but it was close to where we needed to go. THEN, the food came. Excellent stuff: flavorful, well executed, thought through. The crispy porkbelly with salsafy ap was a particular standout. And, what set the tone for the rest of the meal. Outstanding wine list by the glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The wine list is great, the food selecti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The wine list is great, the food selection is however limited. Service was prompt but food presentation and delivery was very messy. Stuff tasted bland.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Very cool local winery with their own wi ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very cool local winery with their own wines (made onsite and quite good) makes for fun experience.

Service was very good and fun cool vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The wine was excellent

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The wine was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

City Winery offered the perfect location ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2016

City Winery offered the perfect location for a quiet business lunch, with a good menu and great service to match. I've walked by in the evening and it looks much more lively during that time, so would love to go back for evening drinks! Would recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We went there for a concert. We knew the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went there for a concert. We knew they had food, so we planned on eating there. Two of us had fried chicken that was not really fried. The appetizers were pretty good. Service was good while it was empty, and then it really tailed off. It's a great place for a concert.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

thought there would be standard tables f ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 16, 2016

thought there would be standard tables for dining.Menu very limited and a little bit on higher end of pricing for what you are getting

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Restaurant just opened. Great music and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Restaurant just opened. Great music and venue. We ate upstairs before the show. Our server was clearly new, lots of mistakes, but we will view it as they are just working out the kinks. Food was very good and wonderful flavor. Wine on Tap is awesome. We will be going again soon and I hope the servers are more comfortable with menu and operation. Seemed also to be a bit inexperienced on what is appropriate as a server- speaking as someone did this to pay for college.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We were there shortly after its opening. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2016

We were there shortly after its opening. They have some kinks to work out in food and service but the concept and wine are great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place to go when you're meeting fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great place to go when you're meeting folks from all around the City. Specials add nice variety. Wine and dessert are a must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband here for his birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday and was very disappointed. The food was very underwhelming and the wines were so-so. I would probably be fine as a non-special occasion place but for a birthday I was extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Kitchen timing

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2016

All of our food came out individually rather than as courses. My boyfriend and I have a veggie/omnivore dichotomy (and I had ordered in a meat-y mood), so we couldn't share; this led to an evening of one person watching the other eat. Fortunately, this watching also involved drinking the very nice wine, and since we like talking to each other, the evening was a lot of fun.

N.B., it is also quite loud. 'Tis not normally a problem for me, even in NYC's proverbially loud restaurants (or at least it would be proverbially, if anyone could hear proverbs over the din . . .), but we could not hear the maitre d' to know if we could go to a table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Come for the music stay for the food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a lovely evening on a recent Saturday night. Our kale salad, caprese salad, and special fish entrée were all done to perfection. The wine was super so much so we overindulged. There were some people having a little too much fun in one corner which kind of created more additional noise then we bargained for. Otherwise a great evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Diana: Simply the Best

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our server, Diana, was absolutely wonderful. Knowledgable, personable, and fun, she answered any questions we could come up with about the menu and wines, and helped steer us towards a fantastic meal and experience. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice for a drink

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2016

The food wasn't exceptional but it was a nice & cozy place to grab a drink and have a couple of snacks.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Not bad. Give it a try.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was pretty good. I got a Gilt deal for two for brunch which was a great value. The steak and eggs that I had didn't look that apetizing when it was served but it was actually quite tasty. The mushroom flatbread was excellent. Being that we were only one of three groups there, I felt our dishes could have been served a bit faster but , Chris our server was friendly and responded quickly to all our request.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The chef at city winery is superb!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 29, 2016

The ambiance at this neighborhood gem is cool and classic which you collect not only from the locals at the spot but the really genuine staff. Will definitely go back often. This is a must try if you live in the neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT VENUE - FAIR FOOD

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 28, 2016

THIS PLACE IS A GRAT NIGHT OUT PLACE- FOOD WAS FAIR AT BEST

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Nice light fare

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Nice for a light dinner with wine before the theater. There is a friendly feeling and a warm atmosphere. Prices are right and wine is very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ah-maz-ing

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2016

The Barrel Room was awesome. We took a winery tour, tasted different wines with their in-house flights, and ate a delicious dinner. We want to go back for their dinner/entertainment option. So good! Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Menu is very limited. The food I had w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Menu is very limited. The food I had was delicious but wish there was more variety. Convenient to eat here before the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not bad

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2016

The food was excellent. Atmosphere just ok. Brunch for 4 with 1 drink each and 4 coffees was $122 with tax. Service was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Date spot in great location

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2016

The Barrel Room is a great spot to meet and enjoy the company of someone special, with great wine, good food, and wonderful atmosphere. Wine flights are a great way to sample the wares and get acquainted with what they have to offer. The staff has always been great but make sure you check for closures due to special events.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.