About The Back Room at One57

153 W 57th Street
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

The Back Room is undergoing renovations. We will reopen with an exciting new space and menu October 21st. During this time we are serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner in The Living Room. We are more than happy to accommodate you on a first come, first served basis.

A Contemporary American Restaurant located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, The Back Room offers a sophisticated, intimate atmosphere and views of Carnegie Hall. Personable and experienced staff will take you through the menu of simple yet refined creations prepared by the expert hand of Executive Chef Sebastien Archambault.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am - 2:30pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm- 2:30pm


Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm


Saturday & Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
7th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 897-2188

Website:
http://www.thebackroomone57.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $45 for four hours.

Public Transit:
Subway: N,Q,R-57th st. & 7th ave.
F - 57th street
A,B,C,D,1-Columbus circle

Executive Chef:
Sebastien Archambault

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fried Brussel Sprouts, Chili-Lemon, Cranberry
Belgian Waffles
Fried Brussels Sprouts
Maine Lobster Egg White Scramble
Chicken Pot Pie With Sunny Side Up Egg And Frise
Chocolate Ombre Mousse W Hazelnut Ice Cream
Burrata
38Oz Dry Aged Rib Eye For Two
Brown Butter Blueberry Cake
Mashed Potatoes
Tbr Platter
Lemon Roasted Chicken, Charred Baby Lettuce, Cippolini, Pan-Jus
Seared Rainbow Trout, Asparagus, Green Almond, Sorrel Cream
Seafood Tower One Tier
suckling pig
Wagyu Beef
Panna Cotto
Crispy Skinned Wild Salmon
Lobster Pot Pie
Label Rouge Chicken
Petite Filet

The Back Room at One57 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown West ›

Special Occasion (41)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Romantic (18)
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The most memorable thing about our meal ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The most memorable thing about our meal was the service and ambiance. The food was OK but not memorable. OK, thinking about now, the warm bread was the most memorable part of the meal. Yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We are here while visiting NYC. The food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We are here while visiting NYC. The food was delicious and service was perfect!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Business lunch with the President of my ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Business lunch with the President of my company. Great food. Amazeballs waitstaff. Will go back again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience was more memorable than the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The ambience was more memorable than the food. The menu selection was quite limited on entrées choices. Vegetables and side dishes selection was also limited. The steak and asparagus were not memorable. I was needed steak sauce but the waitress was busy with the over high volume of customers. The sound inside was very noisy it seems more like a sporting event than a restaurant. The dessert was just terrible the presentation was just unappealing and unexpected. Sorry, just my first visit. Perhaps, I assumed to much that with all the posh ambience, regardless of the food selection it was just going to be memorable, my MISTAKE, just don't repeat it....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Wonderful food and presentation! Everyt ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful food and presentation! Everything was spot on and the bartender makes a wonderful Old Fashion. Lobster was done to perfection and my wife had the Scallops which were moist and had a wonderful chargrilled sear on them. Definitely a repeat place on my list when in New York.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always perfect

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After you go out to a restaurant such as ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

After you go out to a restaurant such as this, you shouldn't have to go to the nearby diner to have a sundae. The only thing great about this experience was the location and ambiance. The portions were so small that you would think they were "kid sized". I ordered the grilled octopus (flavorful & classically portioned for an appetizer) and he had the salad (again, classically portioned for an appetizer). Great first round - we were hopeful. For entrees I ordered the scallops, he ordered the trout. I received THREE scallops (count them 1.2.3.) with side of charred rapini large enough to feed a family of 6. So I paid $57 for a literally a whole heaping of rapini. His trout fillet was so thinly sliced, one would think the fish was initially anorexic! Since it was his birthday, I had them bring him a zabaglione and not even that was worth it. At the end of the evening we had a $190 bill and were just as hungry as when we came in. It was just a disappointing evening, and it particularly sucked since it was his birthday and he wasn't fed!!! Totally not worth it. We will never go back there. I will end as I began - after you go to a restaurant with a pricing point such as this, you should have to go to the Brooklyn Diner a block away for a sundae!

**Reviewed by an OpenTable VIP member who has frequented almost every noteworthy restaurant in NYC. Nobu, Del Friscos, Capital Grille, Bar Americain, Peter Lugers all cost more more than this place yet we had great experiences there. **

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Ambience and service was amazing. Good t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Ambience and service was amazing. Good too salty and over cooked my guest did not eat her food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Beautiful space in a fantastic new build ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Beautiful space in a fantastic new building. Exceptional service, very attentive staff. The food was good. I ordered a off the menu tuna tartar which I thought was rather bland. No real flavor which had me concerned but the rest of the meal was really good. very well prepared chicken breast as my entrée and the mushroom side was phenomenal. All said, I would recommend and return for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Not an extensive menu but the food was g ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Not an extensive menu but the food was good and the service excellent. A bit pricey for a place with no view and no entertainment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Wonderful brunch in a very classy settin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful brunch in a very classy setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all around meal at a reasonabl ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent all around meal at a reasonable price for NYC. The food was well prepared and presented. We enjoyed the octopus starter and had rack of lamb and the steak (which was an enormous portion.) They were both delicious and appropriately cooked. Our waiter seemed a bit aloof to us, but that was the only drawback. WE were very pleasantly surprised.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The whole grilled lobster - as described ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The whole grilled lobster - as described on the menu - was delicious, but missing all claws. When this was brought to the waiter's attention, he said "I'll tell the chef."

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was quiet even with multiple groups. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was quiet even with multiple groups. The service staff was top notch and very responsive to our dietary needs. They brought over delicious gluten free bread for our crew. The food was excellent and the price was reasonable for the food and service. Unique menu with delicious food pairings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you staff at The Back Room at One5 ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Thank you staff at The Back Room at One57!

My boyfriend and I ate here for the first time on our one year anniversary. We both agree it is the best meal we have had all year. We did the pre fixe with the wine pairing and we thought it was worth every penny. Kudos to the staff and kitchen. I worked in restaurants for 17 years and you hit every point of service and provided DELICIOUS food of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive service and great food are a w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Attentive service and great food are a winning combination for lunch in The Back Room. Whether meeting a friend for lunch or business lunch, this is a great spot for conversation over a meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place and I loved that they ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Wonderful place and I loved that they had Louis Xiii in a fabulous display in the front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Superb service. Impeccable food.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Superb service. Impeccable food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A friend and I decided to try this resta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A friend and I decided to try this restaurant on a recent trip to NYC based on location and reviews. We were not disappointed. It's an elegant restaurant in the lobby of a hotel, which we did not realize, but it was quiet, we had great service and great food. We split and appetizer and an entree and each had a cocktail and a glass of wine, which is why at $180, I thought it was a bit pricey, at least it would be if you were hungrier than we were.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

AMAZING. A 5-star experience on all leve ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

AMAZING. A 5-star experience on all levels - cocktails, wine, food and especially SERVICE. The service team were all so passionate. I don't know why this place isn't packed, but I hope I can get in the next time I'm in NYC!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, exceptional food and servic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great place, exceptional food and service. So good, my next trip I am staying at that hotel.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service started off fine for our group o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Service started off fine for our group of five, but we were in the north window, and they soon seemed to forget about us.

The last several times we needed plates cleared or glasses filled or whatever, it only happened by me making obvious eye contact with one of the wait staff.

It's so annoying when you're paying so much for a meal, and you get co-dependent on your companions' enjoyment because you're not being attended to properly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

a find, typically I don't look at hotel ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

a find, typically I don't look at hotel restaurants for dining, this place proved that thinking wrong

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As the other reviews say, this place is ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

As the other reviews say, this place is great! The food, the service, the ambiance, a total package. I can't wait to go back it was worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although pricey it is worth every penny.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

You'll receive a true dining experience at this location. Waiters quietly refilling your water to instantly refilling the bread if they know you like it. Take the hotel lobby elevator to the dinning floor and you'll enter a beautiful bar. Try and grab a seat by the window for pre dinner drinks. They set the bar up so you no longer feel like you're in new york. Simple, classy and sophisticated. The bar staff is attentive and the bar will easily transfer your bar tab to the table. They bring your half finished drinks on a silver tray. The menu is modern american. Simple but well executed. The dining area is dark but sultry. Great space for groups and for special occasions. I just love that it's in midtown but you dont have the after work midtown crowd or the stumbling tourist. Service is phenomenal. They do have a Prix fix which makes it more affordable but other items are worth the try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little known gem

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I cannot remember such wonderful, attentive and personal service.

Our friend was a little difficult and they handled him perfectly.

There were allergies and the server was extremely knowledgeable.

Two of us had price fixe and two a la carte. The value on both were more than acceptable.

When we left, the bar was jumping. It is beautiful and inviting.

Will certainly be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding. They made t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was outstanding. They made the dining experience for my out of town visitors such a memorable one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

From the moment we entered the restauran ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

From the moment we entered the restaurant we were treated with much care. The staff were extremely attentive. We ordered the Rib-Eye and the Lamb and both were cooked to perfection. Thank you for a lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delightful Prix Fixe Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My husband and I were looking for a nice dinner close to Central Park, and we found it at The Back Room. We both chose the Prix Fixe dinners with the wine pairings. The smoked trout and the desserts were the most special. We were seated at a wonderful corner/window booth and were well taken care of by Amanda. The restaurant was pretty empty between 6:30 and 8:00. Seems like a hidden gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, the food was excellent. Howev ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

As always, the food was excellent. However this time the services was not as good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Very Hot Bar scene

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The service was great. I would have to say I had one of the best drinks in NYC at the bar while waiting for my client.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Normally, when you arrive before your re ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Normally, when you arrive before your reservation and are told "your reservation is 8:30 would it be OK if you just had a drink at the bar and we will seat you at your time?" this is not a problem. BUT, when they make you wait a half hour, and when you you are seated the restaurant it is 3/4 empty, that just makes them pretentious. There is nothing special about this restaurant, the menu is very limited, but the do have a very big "Attitude". If you have tickets at Carnegie Hall, this is convenient, don't go out of your way to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I usually do not review, but this deserv ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I usually do not review, but this deserves an exception. The menu is small but every item was delicious and meticulously presented. The wine list by the glass is good and fairly priced. It's in a hotel. Don't let that keep you away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, but not a lot of depth/variet ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Good food, but not a lot of depth/variety to the menu. Dishes were prepared to my special requests and were great. Wonderful service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Ivan was vey good, knowledge ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Our server Ivan was vey good, knowledgeable and quite helpful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to dinner spot before a concert a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Our go to dinner spot before a concert at Carnegie Hall. Food and service are always outstanding. The menu changes seasonally and the wine list is impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good ambiance, bad food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I booked this for colleagues taking important clients out, the general consensus was that the ambiance was great, but the food was terrible. The restaurant was nearly empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Very nice! Service was flawless. Wine ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Very nice! Service was flawless. Wine steward steered me to a lower price point then where I started. The pace was adjusted to our somewhat slower than normal pace. I would like to see more sustainable choices on the menu, especially in the seafood area. And dessert was a bit of a low point.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing service, fabulous food!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing service, fabulous food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service. The oysters were so ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Outstanding service. The oysters were so fabulous. Seared scallops were delicious. Totally recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.