Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.58mi
  2. Distance: 6.30mi
  3. Distance: 7.03mi
  4. Distance: 10.62mi
  1. Distance: 4.58mi
  2. Distance: 6.30mi
  3. Distance: 7.03mi
  4. Distance: 10.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.58mi
  2. Distance: 6.30mi
  3. Distance: 7.03mi
  4. Distance: 10.62mi
  1. Distance: 4.58mi
  2. Distance: 6.30mi
  3. Distance: 7.03mi
  4. Distance: 10.62mi

About The Ashby Inn

The Ashby Inn & Restaurant is fully committed to supporting the farmers and artisans that live and work in this region. Our menus represent the freshest, seasonal products that can be sourced locally from sustainable operations. The offerings will change daily in concert with what our local farmers and nature provide. Our pledge to you is to provide a quality dining experience founded on food and drink from sources we know and trust.

692 Federal Street
Paris, VA 20130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday 11:30am - 1:30pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 1:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday 5:30pm - 9:00pm; The restaurant is closed on Monday and Tuesday. Please note on holidays our hours change.

Cross Street:
Route 50 & Route 17

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 592-3900

Website:
http://www.ashbyinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday evenings during special summer hours on the terrace. Please check our website for details. www.ashbyinn.com

Parking Details:
Parking is private and located just a few steps from the inn.

Executive Chef:
Tom Whitaker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Austrian Wine Dinner

Thursday Oct 26, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Austrian Wine Dinner

Thursday Oct 26, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join Chef Tom for the Austrian Wine Dinner. Contact us for reservations. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Thursday Oct 26, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 8:00PM - 8:45PM

The Ashby Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (53)
Special Occasion (45)
Romantic (41)
See All
Creative Cuisine (39)
Notable Wine List (37)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Local Ingredients (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Scenic View (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Cozy (16)
Seasonal (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Authentic (8)
Organic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Healthy (5)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The setting is lovely. But that's about where it ended for us. We were seated and then given time to peruse the menu. My husband wanted the veg tasting menu, and I wanted to order from the main menu (totally different choices for both). But, we were told (as if it were big dummies), if one person wants the tasting menu, the entire table has to order it. We should've been told this when we were seated and it should be written in the menu.

The food was ok. My pumpkin soup was good, but the addition of some kind of chickpea thing threw it off. I got the pork tenderloin (unexceptional) with octopus (fishy). My husband got the ribeye--nice sauce, but flavorless meat. Now the desserts were different. I ordered the cheese plate, and the selections were outstanding. My husband said his chocolate mousse was maybe the best he's ever had. (If we were dessert people, maybe this would carry more weight.)

Overall, for the price, I'd expect much better food. And I've only one other time done a tasting menu where there was a rule that the whole table had to do it. It was annoying then, too, but they at least told us before we made our initial choices. So: Good service + only ok food + inflexibility = "fair", which = 2 stars.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Celebrated an anniversary with a 3 month old baby. All the staff was wonderful and the food was delicious. Would highly recommend to anyone considering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful setting with opportunity to walk in the garden before and after our meal. Excellent food overall with one dish introducing me to a new type of fish I'd never heard of before. The chicken (from a local farm) salad was the only course that wasn't outstanding, but still it was tasty. The chocolate mousse with hazlenut icecream was my favorite from the six courses the two of us ordered for our lunch. Loved the homemade butter that accompanied the french bread.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

I have been a devoted patron of the Ashby Inn for more than two decades, practically from the day that it opened. I am never, ever been disappointed. The menu regularly changes with new gastronomical masterpieces, beautifully presented. Very attentive service, and a real expert on wines. Try some of his picks for VA wines rather than the usual french or california wines. (There is also a relatively nearby distillery that makes a beautiful rye whiskey, 75% rye, 25% malted barely in the Scotch mode). The AI "mixologist" must have a Phd in chemistry. Each time there is a new variation on classic drinks. All delicious, including the 1900 variation of the Sazerac with absinthe and a sugar cube on a spoon to "mellow" the absinthe. Or an improved Manhattan .Time machine.
Only about an hour from DC. You can stay over if you wish. The AI sits at the base of the Blue Ridge mountains. Spectacular scenery, and the shenandoah river and valley 10 minutes away. Paris constantly changed hands in the War Between the States The ghost of Stonewall Jackson, on his way to the first battle of Manassas or Bull Run, depending upon your religious persuasion, spent the night in front of the AI with his troops. He stood guard so they could sleep. Marquis de Lafayette visited Paris on his victory tour of the revolutionary war. the house still stands sentinal to the Ashby Gap in the BR This is not all of thee historic, but I am out of space.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Authentic, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely lunch in the country. The service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the seasonal options. everything we had was delicious. Staff was very knowledgeable about ingredients and prep. Extensive wine list and knowledgeable staff to help make a choice. I highly recommend the Ashby Inn.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The regular and vegetarian tasting menus were very creative and delicious and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We were visiting the area and took a friend. I wanted to go back and just take photographs of all the nooks and crannies, the stairwells and multiple intimate rooms! The ambience was amazing!! The service was wonderful. It was pricier that we were expecting, but everything that went into our mouths just melted with deliciousness!! The combinations of flavors was not anything I have ever experienced!! If I were back in the area, I would want to go again!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We enjoyed an amazing brunch on the covered patio, with a light rain falling, a marvelous view of the hills. Service and food was outstanding. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

As always, the outside patio was lovely and the weather cooperated. The food was excellent, portions just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Thank you for making our anniversary one to remember!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Amazing service and excellent experience for tasting! Wine was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We love The Ashby Inn, the food, the people and the experience! We will be back again soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Always a joy to drive out to Paris for an outdoor brunch @ The Ashby Inn. They saved our favorite table with a view of their beautiful gardens. Stuart recommended a nice brut rose Grande Cru to enjoy with the warm bread & sweet butter sprinkled w/ sea salt. Barry had a pastrami dish to start & I had a deconstructed squash soup. They pour the liquid portion into the bowl at the table, so a show is included. We had a new waitress who was very friendly & informed. My entrée was a chicken salad w/ green goddess dressing. Barry had a pig jowl Benedict. We were disappointed that there was no chocolate dessert on the menu (again!!!) But they produced a special chocolate-ginger mousse in a dome surrounded by paper thin pear slices & toasted hazelnuts (ala mode). I ordered the cheese plate. 5 cheeses, tomato jam & micro-greens served with crackers. We both had cappuccinos served with rock candy stirrers. We highly recommend this slice of heaven for a Sunday afternoon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Unbelievable, a fantastic meal. Great food, great somolier and fantastic service. This is a special place in a beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Took longer than usual for our entrees to arrive otherwise service was excellent. Food was fabulous. Dined outside gorgeous scenery

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at the Ashby Inn and everything was exquisite.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The dinner was for our 1st Anniversary. Everything was wonderful. My wife and I enjoyed the food, the drinks and the atmosphere. The wine we chose was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Dinner was superb and the new Chef Tom prepared inventive and delicious food for us.

Will certainly dine again and bring other friends that enjoy great food.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Organic, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our visit was unfortunately pretty bad compared to our dining experience here about a year ago. We did the six course menu with wine pairings and were very underwhelmed with both the food and wine. We didn't ask if they are under new management or have a new chef, but after our fabulous visit a year ago we were really disappointed with our meals. So, sadly we won't be back to this otherwise very pretty & charming restaraunt.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Book a room at the Ashby Inn in Paris, Va., and make a reservation for dinner. It's definitely worth the trip. Every dish was delicious. The presentation was magnificent and the sommelier very helpful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

First rate evening. Food was very creative and locally sourced. Ambiance was very romantic, including a jazz guitarist. The wait staff were well-trained and friendly (but not too friendly). We cannot wait to go back for their Sunday brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The Inn is going for high quality Michelin star level of dining. The place is beautiful. It id the preset menu with or without wing pairing. I went with my Dad and two daughters. Two of us had the excellent dishes. The chicken and the steak were fantastic. My daughter had the salmon and felt it was not seasoned well and though good, not the best. My father had the scallops and thought they were simply ok. He tasted the salmon and agreed with my daughters assessment. My father has eaten all over the world and has a fairly good pallet. I believe the Inn can improve and I hope they do so the money spent os completely worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We always like the Ashby for lunch or dinner, really enjoyed chef Tom's food. He is The new chef at the Ashby.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We've been to the Ashby Inn several times and have never been disappointed. The atmosphere, menu, winelist and staff are terrific. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised. The service was excellent, our waiters, and waitresses were very pleasant/accomodating and the cuisine was delightful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Beautifully presented and delicious food; excellent service; a beautiful location.
Have enjoyed the dining experience at Ashby Inn a number of times and look forward to next visit. Well worth the drive from the DC area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The Ashby Inn was the perfect setting for our romantic 37th anniversary dinner. We sat outside and watched the sun set slowly, as the waiters served us our spectacular and delicious meal. Served, I might add, correctly -- from the left -- and the plates taken from the right. I can't recall the last time I saw table service like that, many many years. The sommelier was perfect -- we couldn't agree on a wine, so he sold us 2 half bottles and each was delightful. Especially at this time in history -- summer 2017 -- this was a much-needed time away from DC stressors and a memory to be cherished for the next 37 years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was one of the best meals I've had in years and we are foodies! Great setting, superior service and the creativity of the chef is incredible. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

One of the best meals we've ever had. The food was inventive and superbly cooked, and the wine pairings suggested by Stuart the sommelier were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Been visiting the Ashly Inn for 15 years. It's always had good chefs, but the latest may be the best yet. Locally sourced new American at it's finest, with a bit of a Southern touch, on a fairy tale terrace overlooking the Shenandoah foothills. We stayed over and the morning breakfast was just as good. A little gem!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Probably one of the bests views from a restaurant in any place in the DMV. However, that all didn't matter when you add terrible service. The story is the usual "we were seated first and 3 groups that came in after us were all served before us", or , "they poured our water then a 10 minute wait; they took our drink order, then a 10 minute wait, they finally took our main order and a 15 minute wait." And so forth. They never came over to ask if we wanted dessert and I finally had to get up and physically walk into the Inn to find someone to ask for the check. They were never apologetic and didn't seemed stress. It seemed they just didn't care. Food was very good and the view from the outside covered patio is stunning. What a shame they couldn't bring the service up to the level of the scenery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We first visited The Ashby to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We ordered the Chef's tasting menu, including wine pairings. The food was outstanding, reflective of extraordinary creativity, the wine pairings well chosen and the service impeccable. I would have given it five stars but for the fact that we thought the portions were too small. Small portions are to be expected in a tasting menu, but here some of the courses approached the size of the (excellent) amuse-bouche. Nevertheless, we will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We have been going to the Ashby Inn for over 25 years and have seen many chefs come and go. Our recent brunch was excellent and eating outside looking at the beautiful gardens was a lovely experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This is a most innovative restaurant.
Each of the courses combined ingredients that one would not necessarily think would go together worked magically
A great experience with a view of the Blue Ridge that is Spectacular.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Each visit to The Ashby Inn gets more impressive! The staff (especially the sommelier, Stuart, and our young waitress) welcomed us warmly, took time to chat without ignoring their other tables, etc. This chef is very good (if only he'd serve the Sticky Toffee Pudding w/ English custard & more caramel sauce!) Loved the individual bottles of Hillinger sparkling rose from Austria. My Gazpacho was gorgeous & delicious. Barry's chicken liver pate was amazing. His Ashby burger was great but messy (a coating of butter on the bun would prevent sogginess from the pesto). I had expected delicate Swedish pancakes when the menu said "Lemon & ricotta". I received 3 big, dense pancakes topped with a yummy blueberry compote. The lemon curd was merely a drizzle around the plate. So I had to ask for another small pitcher of syrup (which would be better served warm). I wish the lemon curd had been a layer between the pancakes (2 would be sufficient). It was outstanding nonetheless. My dessert was the Sable Breton, a beautiful presentation & very good. Barry was disappointed that the menu had no dark chocolate dish but liked his Sticky Toffee Pudding. Always lovely to sit on the patio overlooking the wonderful garden. The weather cooperated, too!

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

A truly wonder meal at the Ashby Inn. A simply excellent meal superbly created and presented, combined with the comfortable ambiance of this country inn. 2 or 3 courses with four or five choices for each course. The waitress explained the extensive list of ingredients some in very exotic combinations. The accompanying selection or should I say an exhaustive list of US and international wines make this a meal to be savored and remembered. Try it and you will not be disappointed. The British Chef has much to be proud of as he and his team have worked very hard to create this experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was delicious with perfect portions. Service was terrific and friendly. Will definitely be going back and would recommend to anyone looking for an upscale dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service!

Great selection of wines, including a lot from Virginia too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I visited the Ashby Inn with two neighbors who have long followed the restaurant scene in the Washington, D.C. area, and are discriminating in their tastes. It was a picture-perfect day to lunch out on the courtyard patio and drink in the background scenery of flowering gardens, rolling green meadows, and mountains. The staff was professional, knowledgeable, and courteous. The food was heavenly— a combination of flavors that were pleasingly complex while others were soothingly familiar. A vegetable medley with a variety of colors and spices perfectly complemented our shrimp and grits. Following lunch, both friends said they were eager to return here with other friends and family. It is the ideal place to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.