Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

The Ashby Inn

4.8
1264 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
  • Notable Wine List
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant is fully committed to supporting the farmers and artisans that live and work in this region. Our menus represent the freshest, seasonal products that can be sourced locally from sustainable operations. The offerings will change daily in concert with what our local farmers and nature provide. Our pledge to you is to provide a quality dining experience founded on food and drink from sources we know and trust.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Organic, Vegetarian / Vegan
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Fri–Sun 11:30 am–1:30 pm
Dinner
Wed–Sun 5:30 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(540) 592-3900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tom Whitaker
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Route 50 & Route 17
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is private and located just a few steps from the inn.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music on Friday evenings during special summer hours on the terrace. Please check our website for details. www.ashbyinn.com
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Dining on the patio you feel like you're living in "The Sound of Music". Beautiful hills dotted with horses and cows in the distance. Trees and foliage galore. Croquet set up on the lawn. Mouth-watering feast set up for Father's Day embellished with a cranberry mimosa. My absolute FAVORITE place to come for a Spring, Summer, or Fall brunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We have been several times to the Ashby Inn over the past 7 years and loved it each time. Great ‘outdoors’ scenery, intimate/ romantic setting, very good service (we also stayed there overnight 5 years ago), good food... Last Sunday, there was a special (Father’s Day) brunch with shrimps, oysters, very good ceviche, crab, a delicious shrimp/ corn soup, meat, veggies, cold cuts, excellent cheese and desserts. We didn’t care for the oysters and crab (rather tasteless) but the rest was good. Sitting on the covered porch outside is delighful and the weather was really good (not too hot, not humid). The garden is beautifully kept, a true attraction.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The outdoor patio is a wonderful setting for a spec gal meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We had not been to the Ashby Inn in quite some time because it is an hour+ drive for us. We are so happy we went there! The food conceptions and preparations were wonderful. The cantaloupe gazpacho was deliciously spiced and fresh. The fried chicken had a crispy skin and a firm juicy flesh, just what you want. The others in our group were thrilled with their meals, The only "complaint" I heard was that the shrimp and grits was "so rich"! And the plates were licked clean nevertheless. Dessert and the wines we enjoyed were beautifully paired. A beautiful day in a beautiful spot with outstanding food and service. It couldn't have been better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

This is at least the fourth time we have eaten at the Ashby Inn and it gets better and better. The service was impeccable and the food a work of art--also delicious! My wife is gluten-free and the dining staff catered to her every need. We'll be back, hopefully, sooner than the last time we ate there. The perfect spot to celebrate an anniversary or some other special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

My husband and I came here for brunch on his birthday and both loved every bit of the experience. We sat outside on the terrace, which has a really lovely view of the gardens and rolling hills beyond, and though we lucked out with the weather, the scene couldn't have been nicer even if it was raining. The food was delicious (perhaps too good, we were full for hours after the 3-course menu option!), a really nice wine list (they have an in-house sommelier to chat to), and the service was excellent. As we were there we were talking about the next time we could visit--at only an hour's drive from Alexandria, it is a very manageable distance that makes you feel like you're on a mini-vacation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Food and Service are a 10! We have dined there a number of times. It is moving up on the ratings and I think it should have a Michelin star! Wine selection is very good - (I am a collector) Quiet and accommodating in every way. Chief is tops . . . . Service is very nice, synchronized serving with some courses . . . . . . . Do the tasting menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Wonderful staff. We had some very strong intolerances and food sensitivities but the chef and the staff handled it better than I have ever seen in any restaurant. The chef had prepared some alternative treats ahead of time and they were great.
The good was different, ranging from innovative to esoteric and all of it very tasty. We didn’t order wine but they have a nice selection. The Margaritas were great.
Overall an excellent experience, we will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The Ashby Inn is a gem, we had brunch for our anniversary and it was flawless, they always deliver.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Although we'd hoped to sit on the patio (it rained) we enjoyed our Sunday Brunch inside. The staff is always welcoming. Stuart is a great sommelier & remembers our favorite libations. My Hillinger brut rose was a festive accompaniment to the fresh bread w/ butter & olive oil. Rory is a friendly, helpful waiter. I loved the inventive Cantaloupe Gazpacho while Barry enjoyed his Caesar salad w/ fried anchovies. I'd had the poached shrimp & grits so I ordered it again. I was not disappointed. Barry's entrée escapes me but he loved it! I had the decadent, English Sticky Toffee Pudding for dessert (and could not finish it). To our surprise (it was not on the menu) a wonderful chocolate dessert was available for my chocoholic hubby! Chocolate sauce was poured over the tower of cake & ice cream. Fun & rich. Can't wait to return on a drier day for a view of their beautiful garden.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Excellent service and a delicious meal. We will definitely be returning soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Best food in the world in a beautiful country setting

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Fabulous menu (although they have an odd rule that if you take the Chef's Tasting Menu EVERYONE at the table must also have it). Wonderful food, lovely staff, beautiful surroundings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Under the current chef (we've been going for 30 years, and this is by far the best iteration!), the Ashby Inn restaurant is nothing short of superb. Our dinner was fabulous in every respect -- food, ambiance, service. Each dish was fresh, inventive, and packed with interesting, yet well-balanced, flavors. And the kitchen kept surprising us with beautiful little unexpected treats between courses. Our wine choice was expertly recommended, as well. I love that the chef offers a vegetarian tasting menu (even though we didn't order it), and happily accommodates allergies and food preferences without sacrificing taste and innovation. This place is a gem -- and a much better value than most of the top restaurants in the city (D.C.) that we regularly frequent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Great experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Great staff great food great wine

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

We went there to celebrate our anniversary. Good friends accompanied us. Everything from the service, pace of presentation, quality of the food, varied textures of the food, the wine list and help of the sommelier, was spot on.
We had a lovely dinner and are looking forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Another predictably great experience at the Ashby this time for Mother's Day celebration. Surrounding area and the Inn itself are beautiful. Service was responsive and food was great. Atmosphere was good for conversation for two.

Food was outstanding from the scallop ceviche through lamb loin main course and on to dessert - a delicious cake (it's been a few weeks so I can't quite recall the exact name).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The Ashby Inn is always my go-to for a special occasion. The service is spot on and the food is amazing. Couple that with the charm of an home and B&B and you cant go wrong.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothersday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The Ashby Inn has returned to its glory days! Our last visit was disappointing, but they have upped their game once again! My mother and I had brunch and it was delicious! The service is good again- attentive without hovering- you can’t beat the patio for scenic dining. We had the white asparagus soup, fried mushrooms, eggs benedict, beer battered cod and the sticky toffee cake- all plated beautifully and delicious! The Chef hit a home run and we are thrilled one our favorite restaurants has returned to its roots- local ingredients, good service and innovative meals- Bravo!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

A visit to The Ashby Inn is like a warm hug! We are always welcomed as family & given our favorite patio table with a view of the garden. We settled in with a glass of Hillinger brut rose & warm bread w/ honey butter (sprinkled with sea salt). They had us sample the Italian smoked EVOO the last time so magically another taste appeared! We were very happy with the staff & chef who seems to improve each time we visit. My Asparagus w/ Black Forest Ham was perfect, as was Barry's Deviled eggs with smoked salmon. A feast for the eyes as well as the palette. I moved on to Shrimp & Grits w/ crispy chunks of pork belly. Barry had authentic Fish & Chips complete w/ mushy peas, malt vinegar & tartar sauce. While we had hoped for a chocolate dessert we settled for the Sticky Toffee Pudding & Strawberry Chantilly. My French press & Barry's Cappuccino were a wonderful way to end the early Mothers' Day treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

As always, the Ashby Inn provided an amazing experience filled with creative, delicious food and perfectly paired wine. We were celebrating the start to our honeymoon, and this was the perfect way to kick off the festivities. The Ashby provides impeccable service with awesome touches like an amuse-bouche, fresh baked bread, and a pallet cleanser before dessert. This continues to be one of my favorite restaurants, and is an experience that is tough to beat. We hope to come back next time we are in the area. A big thank you to sommelier Stuart Brennen, who once again helped create a very memorable night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Absolutely one of our favorite places. Wine list Food impeccable service. Very fortunate to live so close

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Dinner was excellent and the staff is always attentive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Everything about our visit was fantastic. The service, the food, and the views. The sommelier was the best we’ve ever had. His knowledge and assistance is very hard to beat. Couldn’t ask for a better day and celebration. Thank you Ashby Inn.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Dinner was very disappointing. Beef was tough, lamb loin over cooked and the fish dry. No salad(s) on the menu. In sum, this is the third time recently that we've eaten there and will not be going back until the menu becomes less "precious." The Inn needs to focus on "real food" well executed instead of something that the chef seems to think is glamorous and still not well-executed. For such a lovely spot to serve disappointing food is a travesty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Food was fabulous! Our waiter was very informative and polite. Atmosphere was nice and cozy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The staff were super friendly and helpful with choices, especially wine. I can't wait to come back and try other things on the menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Will return to the Ashby Inn on our next trip to Northern Virginia.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Beautiful place, amazing food, friendly staff. We enjoyed every moment

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

A great special occasion place with outstanding ambience, food and service. It is priced accordingly, so if value/cost is a concern, this may not be your cup of tea. But, if you're a real foodie, then take a trip to Paris. Either one ...... Paris, France or the Ashby Inn in Paris, Virginia.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

No need to go to Paris, France, when we can enjoy the ambiance and romance of The Ashby Inn and Restaurant in Paris, Virginia! What a gem of a find! We look forward to returning!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Superb experience, as always. The food is delicious and unique, the staff are friendly, knowledgeable and professional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Amazing food, perfect view of the countryside, and attentive service. Can’t recommend Ashby Inn enough!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Chef was amazing and Bonnie made the experience worth retuning for in the future - Excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Outstanding!! Our third time and we will be back soon. The soup was to die for!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

This was a top notch experience. Our party of four did the Chef’s tasting menu. Each bite was meticulously thought out and equally delicious. The service could not have been better. We had a wonderful dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch was wonderful. Only thing that would have made it perfect was better weather and table on patio. A favorite location. Stewart always has great wine suggestions and the service was attentive and friendly.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32

Tweets by The Ashby Inn