Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.58mi
  2. Distance: 6.30mi
  3. Distance: 7.03mi
  4. Distance: 10.62mi
  1. Distance: 4.58mi
  2. Distance: 6.30mi
  3. Distance: 7.03mi
  4. Distance: 10.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.58mi
  2. Distance: 6.30mi
  3. Distance: 7.03mi
  4. Distance: 10.62mi
  1. Distance: 4.58mi
  2. Distance: 6.30mi
  3. Distance: 7.03mi
  4. Distance: 10.62mi

About The Ashby Inn

The Ashby Inn & Restaurant is fully committed to supporting the farmers and artisans that live and work in this region. Our menus represent the freshest, seasonal products that can be sourced locally from sustainable operations. The offerings will change daily in concert with what our local farmers and nature provide. Our pledge to you is to provide a quality dining experience founded on food and drink from sources we know and trust.

692 Federal Street
Paris, VA 20130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday 5:30pm - 9:00pm; The restaurant is closed on Monday and Tuesday. Please note on holidays our hours change.

Cross Street:
Route 50 & Route 17

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 592-3900

Website:
http://www.ashbyinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday evenings during special summer hours on the terrace. Please check our website for details. www.ashbyinn.com

Parking Details:
Parking is private and located just a few steps from the inn.

Executive Chef:
Tom Whitaker

Private Party Facilities:
The Inn has gained wide reputation for its weddings and wedding receptions. An ample covered patio, landscaped gardens and spectacular views offer one of the most beautiful settings in Northern Virginia. Our kitchen staff is both talented and imaginative, & will make your private event special.

Private Party Contact:
Liz Olson: (540) 592-3900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Delaplane Wine Dinner

Thursday Aug 24, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

An Evening with Williamsburg Winery

Thursday Sep 28, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Delaplane Wine Dinner

Thursday Aug 24, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Delaplane Wine Dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. 5 course and reception $95.00 per person Stay the night and receive 10% off. Special valid on Thursday Aug 24, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

An Evening with Williamsburg Winery

Thursday Sep 28, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join Winemaker Matthew Meyer for a special Williamsburg Winery wine dinner at The Ashby Inn and Restaurant in Paris, VA. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Thursday Sep 28, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 8:00PM - 8:45PM

The Ashby Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (55)
Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (45)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Notable Wine List (40)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Local Ingredients (36)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Scenic View (33)
Good for a Date (33)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Cozy (23)
Seasonal (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Authentic (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Organic (11)
Healthy (10)
Historic (8)
Casual (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a most innovative restaurant.
Each of the courses combined ingredients that one would not necessarily think would go together worked magically
A great experience with a view of the Blue Ridge that is Spectacular.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Each visit to The Ashby Inn gets more impressive! The staff (especially the sommelier, Stuart, and our young waitress) welcomed us warmly, took time to chat without ignoring their other tables, etc. This chef is very good (if only he'd serve the Sticky Toffee Pudding w/ English custard & more caramel sauce!) Loved the individual bottles of Hillinger sparkling rose from Austria. My Gazpacho was gorgeous & delicious. Barry's chicken liver pate was amazing. His Ashby burger was great but messy (a coating of butter on the bun would prevent sogginess from the pesto). I had expected delicate Swedish pancakes when the menu said "Lemon & ricotta". I received 3 big, dense pancakes topped with a yummy blueberry compote. The lemon curd was merely a drizzle around the plate. So I had to ask for another small pitcher of syrup (which would be better served warm). I wish the lemon curd had been a layer between the pancakes (2 would be sufficient). It was outstanding nonetheless. My dessert was the Sable Breton, a beautiful presentation & very good. Barry was disappointed that the menu had no dark chocolate dish but liked his Sticky Toffee Pudding. Always lovely to sit on the patio overlooking the wonderful garden. The weather cooperated, too!

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

A truly wonder meal at the Ashby Inn. A simply excellent meal superbly created and presented, combined with the comfortable ambiance of this country inn. 2 or 3 courses with four or five choices for each course. The waitress explained the extensive list of ingredients some in very exotic combinations. The accompanying selection or should I say an exhaustive list of US and international wines make this a meal to be savored and remembered. Try it and you will not be disappointed. The British Chef has much to be proud of as he and his team have worked very hard to create this experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious with perfect portions. Service was terrific and friendly. Will definitely be going back and would recommend to anyone looking for an upscale dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service!

Great selection of wines, including a lot from Virginia too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I visited the Ashby Inn with two neighbors who have long followed the restaurant scene in the Washington, D.C. area, and are discriminating in their tastes. It was a picture-perfect day to lunch out on the courtyard patio and drink in the background scenery of flowering gardens, rolling green meadows, and mountains. The staff was professional, knowledgeable, and courteous. The food was heavenly— a combination of flavors that were pleasingly complex while others were soothingly familiar. A vegetable medley with a variety of colors and spices perfectly complemented our shrimp and grits. Following lunch, both friends said they were eager to return here with other friends and family. It is the ideal place to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was a lovely, creative meal in the middle of beautiful, rustic scenery. Everything was great, except for the steak, which was a little tough and not very flavorful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We celebrated a very special anniversary here. It was perfect. First, the weather couldn't have been finer, no humidity, dining outside at a table for two facing the lovely yard and flowers. We chose the 3 course tasting menu. The food was perfection. We've recently dined at the Inn at LW, and this was every bit as good. The difference is that ILW has the elegant "swooping in" service. This service was quiet which is exactly what we wanted on a beautiful summer night. There was not anything we did not love. The menu is changed often depending on the freshest and best ingredients available. I'll specifically mention just a few of the memorable dishes - both Mains - seared scallops, corn, truffle, peach, sunflower seed & chard; beef ribeye, fig, garlic, tomato, ricotta gnudi. And the duck fat brioche rolls filled with the world's most delicious bechamel sauce!! In addition to the expected amuse bouche (several), there were little wine gells, truffles, and tiny bags of homemade granola presented at the end of the meal, which were enjoyed the next day. Wonderful, wonderful place to go for a special occasion!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I have lost count as to how many times we've dined at the Ashby Inn over the years. We initially chose to be on the patio, but the wind was brisk, so we moved to the porch which we loved. The Inn is beautiful, as are the grounds.
My mother had the Fried Green Tomatoes on goat cheese and I had the prosciutto and fig appetizer--both were delicious. Beautifully plated and seasoned perfectly.
The sweet corn risotto was done perfectly and the fish and chips were delicious as well.

I was disappointed, however, that they no longer offer a gluten free menu. Last time we ate there, they had a menu that specified what menu items were gluten free, and they even made fish and chips gluten free for me. I ordered it right off the special menu. The waitstaff must be new..they didn't know very much about any dietary restrictions. I don't expect every person on staff to memorize food allergy ingredients, but a basic working knowledge of the main ones would be helpful. I didn't have the heart to tell them I am have other restrictions--they seemed put off by my gluten questions, so I just sucked it up and kept quiet!
The manager (I've never seen him before) pointed out a few things on the menu, and when I asked another question, he pointed and said, "I've already mentioned these to you." They seemed annoyed by the questions. I have been dining here for years, and never once had any trouble finding something to eat--I realize I am not the run of the mill diner..but I am courteous, knowledgeable and a foodie. Nothing was noted as vegan, vegetarian or gluten free as most farm to table and organic restaurants are. I felt like they have taken a step backward as far as catering to folks who know good ingredients, as I do.
I'm hoping it's a hiccup--the chef did a great job, but the new staff (except the sommelier-I've seen him before)need to up their game if they want knowledgeable diners to return. I confess I was bummed...we love it there so much.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The Ashby Inn never fails to deliver. If you have been before you understand. If you have not had the pleasure of a meal there, go. We had a rare summer day in DC, low temps and no humidity. We sat on the patio enjoying the view of the beautiful gardens. The food is absolutely delicious. The ingredients are first quality and it shows. It is the whole package. Afterwards drop into a winery or two thT are close by

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The location is wonderful; beautiful venue, and we were especially lucky as the weather was perfect for dining al fresco. The food was delicious; portions fair; attentive staff. The only criticism, and it is more an observation, is when I reserved the time, I indicated that both diners were celebrating birthdays. There was no acknowledgment or a small dessert to commemorate the occasion. I found that a bit odd, since so many restaurants of that caliber always do something nice for the patrons when they are celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We have been to the Ashby Inn a number of times and although it was good this time we were underwhelmed with the service. They have a new tasting menu and the sommelier totally forgot about us. We had to flag him down to get a bottle of wine right before our appetizers showed up. I don't know if he was overwhelmed with having to do a wine pairing and tend to actual tables ordering off the regular menu at the same time but it was very disappointing. In addition the waitress I just left something to be desired in terms of her knowledge of the food, presence and personality. We will be back but may give it some time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had never been to the Ashby Inn and we were so happy with our lunch there. I would recommend lunch for a quite affair. The food was very very good....Every bite was yummy. The view sitting outside was wonderful with the gardens in bloom. It was a hot day but with the ceiling fans , we were very comfortable. Great value for the lovely Chef inspired food.Thank you a lovely experience Donna and Allan

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Amazing food and service. We sat outside on the patio where views, noise level and temperature were all spectacular. We did the fixed price instead of chefs tasting. Pork tenderloin with octopus and the salmon cooked in hot pepper oil were superb. Each plate was perfectly cooked with outstanding presentation. Very attentive staff. A truly enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food was outstanding as was the service. We enjoyed the reasonable sized portions and the imaginative, tasteful servings. Happily, their excellent sommelier knows wine. We'll be back and we'll recommend the restaurant to our family and friends.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Really enjoyed the patio dining. Would highly recommend this for any occasion .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I think this was our 6th trip to the Ashby Inn restaurant in the past 12 years. We have stayed at the Inn as well which is great but this time, we just went for an Anniversary lunch. We go for special occassions although I wish we could go more often.

The food is consistently amazing with great service and a romantic setting as well. I would and do recommend it to everybody.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent service provided in this beautiful Inn in Paris, VA. The pork belly appetizer and seared sea scallops were delicious. Extensive wine list and wonderful cocktails. Highly recommend for a special occasion, romantic dinner or evening with good friends. We will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Tasting menu was awesome. Chef is outstanding and the wine selection unbeatable! Definitely a go to destination for a getaway weekend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The Ashby Inn is a lovely building on beautiful grounds. My waiter was very professional and attentive and the food was outstanding. I ate on the charming porch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Have had dinner twice at the Ashby Inn over the past few months and was thrilled both times! Excellent cuisine - fresh and imaginative, with great service. Worth the drive from anywhere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Except for the neighbor mowing & weed whacking, we loved the serenity of enjoying brunch on the patio. We got our favorite table overlooking the gardens. Stuart brought a half bottle of Gruet sparkling wine. We had discovered this lovely, affordable champagne in New Mexico. 100 year old French vines transplanted in the perfect terroir of Albuquerque. Warm bread served with sweetened butter sprinkled w/ sea salt flakes was the perfect accompaniment. My first courses was Fried Green Tomatoes which I adored. Hubby loved his choice, too. He had the Ashby burger while I chose Pork jowl Benedict. Both were delicious. My Sticky Toffee Pudding was so hot that it melted the ice cream. I think the chef needs to switch to the more authentic custard & serve more caramel sauce. Otherwise, it was wonderful! Our young server was very attentive & well-mannered. We are considering a weekend getaway if we can find time to schedule one!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent food and service. The patio is great place to enjoy the countryside!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was the best meal I've had in a long time. We did the chef's tasting menu with wine pairings, which could not have been more spot on. The only dish I didn't like was a wedge of Camembert topped with gingerbread. I thought it should have been paired with something a little more savory rather than sweet. Both the server and the sommelier did a great job of being attentive without spending too much time at our table. It was very pricey ($100 for the tasting menu, $79 for the wine pairing), but definitely worth it if you go in expecting to spend some money. I will without a doubt be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Gorgeous views from the back patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fantastic! Best service, knowledge, value in a 5-star establishment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We love the people and the food and the beautiful surroundings of The Ashby Inn!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

When you choose the chef's tasting menu with wine pairings, you're expecting the restaurant's best food and service across a range of dishes with a bit of a showmanship thrown in as the preparation and wine pairings for each course are explained. So with expectations high a couple of early welcome treats were a harbinger of many such enjoyable nibbles. Our waitress was welcoming and attentive. The first two courses of coconut soup and blue crab were delightful and we enjoyed discussing the food and wine pairings with the sommelier and our server...and then the music changed. Suddenly the waitress was off to other tables and a new server was bringing our food with minimal explanation of what was served. The new server did not appear to be particularly knowledgeable about the food. We were fortunate to hear the waitress's explanations given to the adjacent table as they were eating from the same testing menu as us. The restaurant did not appear to be that busy, so it definately gave the impression of the restaurant prioritizing clientele (a change from our prior visit when were made to feel like we were the only couple in the restaurant). With respect to the food, it was mostly upper shelf with particular nods to beef striploin and blue crab mentioned earlier. Disappointing was the yellowfin tuna and fois gras; bland, boring and not at all helped by the Virginia Pinot Noir pairing. As a devotee of Virginia wines I applaud the restaurant for featuring local wines, but some of the night's choices were forced. Praise for the Petit Verdot and Cab Franc offerings. What encouraged us to make the long drive again was the recent WaPo review which in the end mirrored our own experience. Some excellent food courses, delightful and abundent "treats" with a dud or two that you have to wade through...and service that seems to run hot and cold. That those issues are still not resolved gives one pause before filling up the gas tank for a long drive into the country.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal and evening. The guitarist was a nice touch. The only negative was the wine por by the sommelier - very skimpy, and not worth the price to be sure. However, this was the only negative, so though while significant, it didn't mar the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

There is a new chef at the Ashby, who unfortunately has moved the menu from delicious, seasonal but largely uncomplicated fare to fairly tasty, but overly complicated cuisine. The haddock was definitely over-salted, but overall the food from the tasting menu tasted nice. My companion and I definitely preferred the old menu.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Dined at the Ashby Inn to celebrate my husband's birthday. We started with delicious seasonal cocktails. The server and sommelier were very knowledgeable and on their recommendation we selected the Chef's tasting menu with wine pairings (one Sommelier Select and one Global). The food was beautifully presented and some of the veggies were from their own garden. Most importantly, the food was delectable. Loved the wine gummies! We would definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great food, lovely setting, a wonderful way to celebrate a special occasion !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Had an outstanding meal on the terrace at Ashby Inn with a friend from California. The location was perfect, after a day of wine tasting at various Virginia vineyards. The experience continued at Ashby Inn where they have a selection of estate produced Virginia wine or other choices from around the world. There is a nice pairing menu or the option for two, three or four courses with recommended wines.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

36 Anniv dinner. Great 3 course epicurean experience. If only wait staff were on it. Guess an 8PM reserv is stretching it
Nonetheless it was a great value and we will go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Amazing experience. The staff was exceptional. The food was divine. It was our first time. We have been to many other "signature" places such as the Inn at Little Washington. The Ashby Inn was absolutely at the top of them all. I look forward to making this a go-to place for special occassions.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We love everything about Ashby
Inn! The food, the people, the experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Never a bad experience
Food service, Nolan and Chef great
People are wonderful

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I took a friend there for her birthday dinner. Both of us enjoyed the experience. The atmosphere was very pleasant, and the service was excellent. Our only complaints: My friend's halibut was oversalted slightly, and my beef, while nicely prepared, didn't have the "beefy " taste that I was hoping for. Both our salads were delicious, and my dessert (goat cheese parfait) was one of the best desserts I've had in a long time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Another great meal at the Ashby Inn.
Service can be a little intrusive and there were occasions when it felt like we had an extra guest at the table. However, it's not a deal breaker and we will continue to go back whenever we are in the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Well worth the trip out RT 66 to the country for the wonderful food and ambiance. This place is a gem nestled in scenic surrounds and the food (all sourced from local farms) is incredible.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.