About The American Restaurant

200 East 25th Street, Suite 400
Mailing address: 200 East 25th Street, Suite 400
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Voted #1 by the Kansas City public many times over, The American Restaurant is known for it's award winning contemporary cuisine. The extensive award winning wine list is one of the best in the city. The restaurant favors 3 story windows which give way to a spectacular view of the Kansas City Skyline.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Wednesday through Saturday
Lounge and Main Dining Room open at 5:30PM

Cross Street:
25th and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 545-8001

Website:
http://www.theamericankc.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Singer & Piano most Wednesday and Saturday Nights.

Catering:
Limited to size & certain dates.

Parking Details:
$6 Valet parking available. Self parking is validated for three hours.

Executive Chef:
Michael Corvino

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a wedding anniversary or lucrative business deal, entertaining clients with an upscale reception or a five course dinner, The American Restaurant offers the perfect setting for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Meade Eastman: 8165458006

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The American Restaurant
  • Duck Breast
  • French Silk Pie
The American Restaurant
Duck Breast
French Silk Pie

Promotions

First Friday Lunch - Half Off Bottles of Wine

Fridays from 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Promotions

First Friday Lunch - Half Off Bottles of Wine

Fridays from 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 1, 2016 - Nov 1, 2016 on Fridays from 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM.

The American Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Kansas City
Notable Wine List
Kansas City
American
Kansas City
6 More
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
American
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

Special Occasion (32)
Scenic View (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
See All
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (21)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
911 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Complex food but well done and good flav ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Complex food but well done and good flavor. Wine was also great. The American Restaurant lived up to its reputation. It is sad that such a landmark restaurant will be closing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Going to miss this place! So sad that af ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Going to miss this place! So sad that after 40 years as a capstone in the KC dining scene The American will be closing it's doors for good at the end of the year.

Food ahs always been phenomenal, whether a la carte or (and especially) the tasting menus. The wine pairings likewise are always enjoyable and interesting, always with a pleasant surprise or two amongst the selections.

The service would have rated five stars were it not for the one server who seemed to have his nose in the air all evening and brought the personality and warmth of a tombstone to the table - all other servers ranged from good to truly excellent, with the young lady sommelier being especially wonderful - great passion for what she does and a ton of personality to boot.

Ambiance is of course somewhat dated but then for us it is part of the charm of tradition that enhances the experience and everything is always in tip top condition and cleanliness.

Value is of course subjective - I always feel that it costs more than it really should. The food, wine and service are usually excellent - but that much more so than other fine dining options in the area? Probably not. And yet it does remain a family favorite and we do keep going back, so I guess even value can't be too much off base!

If you haven't experienced The American (or even if you have and it's been a while) make sure to visit before it closes December 31st. It is an iconic and rich part of the fabric of fine dining in the KC area and will be sorely missed. The only consolation being that Chef Andy McCormick will be opening a new restaurant of some sort locally some time next year - hopefully he will continue to delight with his culinary prowess - and hopefully he will take some of the rest of the excellent staff from The American with him when he does.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This place is great, sin that it is clo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This place is great, sin that it is closing. You want more , it is the hidden restaurant in k.c.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but music was way too loud t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food, but music was way too loud to allow comfortable conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Our experience was great. Unfortunately ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our experience was great. Unfortunately the chef was not happy with the octopus dish but our waiter made a great alternate recommendation. My salmon was a little over salted but the steak my girlfriend received was perfectly cooked and the best steak I've tasted and will be getting that next time. Dessert was amazing and even the pallet cleanse treat was excellent. I would have eaten a dish of that rhubarb custard as a whole dessert. Wine pairings were spot on for every dish. I recommend the pairing of you enjoy wine. The chardonnay paired with my first course was fantastic. The service and experience was exceptional. I went for an anniversary and the menu was made with "happy anniversary" at the bottom, waiter addressed us by name and it was an overall special night with a great view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Without a doubt, the most expensive dinn ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Without a doubt, the most expensive dinner for two I've ever experienced. That said, my return to the American after several years was a triumph. A three-hour tasting menu with exceptional wine pairings might have delivered my best 3 hours at a table ever. If I had to find a blemish, it would have been pace. That many courses could have been enjoyed over 3.5 - 4 hours. Regardless, a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful space, exquisite service, incr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Beautiful space, exquisite service, incredible service. What a spectacular experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a very splendid time at The Americ ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I had a very splendid time at The American Restaurant. The menu was very clearly explained, each course was adequately described, and the atmosphere left nothing wanting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We came to this restaurant for our anniversary after I had seen pictures of the view online, then we were sat in a corner so we couldn't even see out the windows and the music was too loud. Our waiter was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

A fantastic, imaginative tasting menu. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

A fantastic, imaginative tasting menu. They went out of the way to adapt the menu to accommodate my dietary restrictions. Excellent wines & helpful, enthusiastic wine direct

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had dinner at The American Restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had dinner at The American Restaurant on the first night of a recent five night stay in Kansas City. Although it was a Friday night, the restaurant wasn’t particularly busy. We arrived a bit early for our reservation and were seated in the bar until the appointed time – we’re not quite sure why, since the restaurant wasn’t particularly busy. When finally seated, we had a lovely window seat looking over Kansas City. The décor is elegant and it’s quite expensive. The three course prix fixe menu offers four selections for each course. The soft shell crab with the fermented jalapeno was the strangest soft shell crab we’d ever seen while the cavatelli with English peas and sheep’s cheese was wonderful. The bavette was entirely too chewy, in contrast to the striploin with morels and beef fat fries (and a $10 supplement charge.) Desserts were concoctions of various ingredients; we went for the coconut-black cocoa-ligonberry-chocolate and the yusu-vanilla-bitter orange-white chocolate. Portions are small – you won’t leave stuffed. The wine list had some excellent, if expensive choices. All in all, we were somewhat disappointed. We left thinking the view of the night lights coming on in Kansas City was the best part of the meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Corvino, Staff Make The American Sparkle.

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Since taking over The American in 2013, Chef Michael Corvino has simply continually improved the food and service this timeless treasure provides. After years of a genteel decline, The American consistently delivers great food under Corvino that seems to get better with each outing, and it does so while also adding some new surprising delight to the menu at the same time. In the restaurant, the stuffiness is gone. And the folks at the bar are creating a new style and approach that can stand next to Willie Grandison (even if no one can ever truly replace him).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 4th anniversary, it was great! The food is very good the staff was amazing and the view is wonderful. The atmosphere is very inviting and was quiet. We would highly recommend The American for a wonderful romantic night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great to the excellence Keith Goldman br ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great to the excellence Keith Goldman brings to the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The main course and desserts were good. Staff was nice and attentive. Not sure we need to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

A perfect dinner

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Not only was the food exceptional and the service impeccable but one of us has food allergies to gluten and dairy which was asked for when the reservation was made. The diner was astounded how delicious everything was prepared for her and how knowledgeable our server was about all the contents on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food Superb service Great ambi ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent food

Superb service

Great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

AWESOME

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

This had to be the best dining experience we have had in a long time!!! the staff and the food were over the top!!! Look forward to returning to KC.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Dining Experience

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Wait staff, wine list, food, view...all fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our waiter, Robert (and his crew), was so gracious and guided us through our dinner, which was fantastic. Many of our dishes contained something new (to us) and the word "umami" kept coming up as we tasted different items. Please convey our compliments to the chef. It was a marvelous dinner and we will be recommending it to our friends. Thank you for an exquisite experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal evening and Robert as your wa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Phenomenal evening and Robert as your waiter makes it the most special evening of all! Great service and the "Food by Corvino" is impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect night!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Had an amazing dining event! Food was perfect! View breath taking! Serve, spot on! Only complaint would be that the singer in the bar was a little too loud down in the dining area, but she was good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Food. Service. Ambiance. View. Wine list. Value (yes it is expensive but for what you get this is very reasonable). We went for the 3 course and picked our own wine. Can't comment on the 10 course and the wine pairing. But this was a PERFECT dining experience and worth every single penny. Best Restaurant in the Midwest!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection. We chose the three-course an ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Perfection. We chose the three-course and it did not disappoint. An adventure of flavor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Undersized and overpriced.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The portions were very small and extremely expensive. The wine pairings were expensive but the wine didn't live up to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Less than impressive

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Wait staff polite, and professional. Robert, very personable and friendly. Atmosphere, less than inviting. No need to return meal just average.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Good experience, but not the best

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband and I ate here to celebrate our anniversary. The view from the dining area of the restaurant is amazing and very romantic. We chose the 10 course tasting menu and while we enjoyed most of the courses, a few left more to be desired. We worked with the sommelier to choose a bottle of wine and it was delicious and matched perfectly with our meal. Looking back, I would have rather chosen to have the smaller course menu, where you could pick more of your items since that might have been more appealing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great experience with the food--it is definitely something everyone that has the means should do and a gem in Kansas City. We were a little disappointed with being told that there would be a 35 dollar corkage fee for our bottle of Dom--I thought that thing was implied when you bring a bottle of wine to the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Fantastic

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Such a great dinner experience. Food was so good that my wife and I were laughing at times. Can't say enough about the entire experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

We changed our dinner choices right after we ate half of our first selection from their menu. Yet, the manager was so gracious and didn't charge us for the first selection. Great customer service! We are definitely satisfied and will come back.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine Treat

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Arrived early for our reservation and spent a delightful time in the lounge area with great live music. Service there by Tessa was outstanding. Seated exactly per our reservation time. All the food was as described and delectable. We have greatly enjoyed every visit to this great night spot. Views are amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is one of the finest kan ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This restaurant is one of the finest kansas city has to offer. Dinner there was spectacular. The chef is a multiple time James Beard Award nominee and knows what he's doing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not live up to expectations !

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

A tasting menu should have enough of a taste to remember what you tasted.

A 10 pt tasting menu should not leave you hungry.

For the cost, it should have been memorable!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Transported.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Chef Michael Corvino constructs not just multi-textured, complex tastes, but conjures up visions -- of fertile farmland, fields of wheat grain, the scent of desert sage, of lush vineyards. That is what I taste. Although many of the ingredients are sourced from local farms, it is the Chef’s terroir, if you will, of the Walla Walla Valley of the Columbia River, that I envision in his food.

An amuse-bouche arouses the palate before the first course; seed, grain, and sunchoke blanketed in the rich yellow yolk of a poached egg.

Crisp-edged, roasted brussel sprout meld with the softness of a smoked potato, and tucked in are plump, perfect mussels. The Steelhead trout is prepared so seductively you linger over it, as your endorphins release.

Last, dessert is an artful tonal palette of vanilla and white chocolate tinged with citrus fruit from yuzu and bitter orange.

The waitstaff were perfectly synchronized to deliver at the right moment, gracious and articulate in describing the nuances of the various selections.

Every detail compliments the presentation of the food; the lovely, rustic china, the glasses for the well-paired wines, the small vase of bittersweet.

Wafting down from the upstairs lounge, are strains of jazz from Kansas City’s most talented musicians. Hearing Shay Estes sing Brazilian-inspired tunes in beautiful Portuguese is the perfect soundtrack to the dining experience. Bar wizard Seth Shavers summons demonic cocktails from his own house-made potions.

Sitting, in the stunning dining room with its broad windows overlooking Crown Center, you know there is just not another place like this in the city, or a better chef, and I hope it doesn’t change.

The warmth of the wood, the brass touches, and the imaginative wood-vaulted ceiling from the architect in whose Windows of the World I was once fortunate to dine, is still as elegant and comfortable as it was at The American’s opening in 1974.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Outstanding food and top notch service. Those looking for a fine dinning experience in KC will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent and the view i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The service was excellent and the view is terrific. The food was not as good as we expected.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We went during KC Restaurant Week and it was wonderful! Sometimes you get mediocre service during Restaurant Week, but not at The American! The food was perfect and the ambiance was delightful. Now that we know how wonderful it is, we would go back and pay for the full price menu. It's a true Kansas City gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MAGNIFICENT!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Chef Corvino left our palates in awe of his creations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a meal to celebrate a sp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Great place for a meal to celebrate a special occasion especially if you're into high end dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible dining experience

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

The food, service, and wine pairing are all out of this world at the American. I cannot recommend this place enough. Every sense will be absolutely delighted by the time you leave this place floating on cloud nine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.