About The American Restaurant

200 East 25th Street, Suite 400
Mailing address: 200 East 25th Street, Suite 400
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Voted #1 by the Kansas City public many times over, The American Restaurant is known for it's award winning contemporary cuisine. The extensive award winning wine list is one of the best in the city. The restaurant favors 3 story windows which give way to a spectacular view of the Kansas City Skyline.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Wednesday through Saturday
Lounge and Main Dining Room open at 5:30PM

Cross Street:
25th and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 545-8001

Website:
http://www.theamericankc.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Singer & Piano most Wednesday and Saturday Nights.

Catering:
Limited to size & certain dates.

Parking Details:
$6 Valet parking available. Self parking is validated for three hours.

Executive Chef:
Michael Corvino

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a wedding anniversary or lucrative business deal, entertaining clients with an upscale reception or a five course dinner, The American Restaurant offers the perfect setting for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Meade Eastman: 8165458006

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The American Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Duck Breast - The American Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • French Silk Pie - The American Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
The American Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Duck Breast - The American Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
French Silk Pie - The American Restaurant, Kansas City, MO

The American Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Food
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Service
Kansas City / Kansas
11 More
Best Ambiance
Kansas City / Kansas
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City / Kansas
Romantic
Kansas City / Kansas
Special Occasion
Kansas City / Kansas
American
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
American
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Scenic View (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Historic (6)
Live Music (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was Excellent, service was ROYALTY ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was Excellent, service was ROYALTY Class, everything, the Valet knew when we were checking out and had the car warmed up on the cold night - we truly felt like Royalty -

Please do not close this place

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a wonderful experience, so sorry it ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Was a wonderful experience, so sorry it is closing Christmas Eve. Robert our waiter was fantastic!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are losing a gem. The food, the wine, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We are losing a gem. The food, the wine, the service, the live music, the view, the architecture, it is all great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly the best night of my life. The st ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Truly the best night of my life. The staff was amazing! They helped arrange every detail of my marriage proposal - right down to the valet. . The food, drinks, and atmosphere were perfect. Many thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to your restaurant after our wed ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We came to your restaurant after our wedding and your staff was incredible! As always, the food was perfect (Chef's Tasting menu) and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegantly prepared and presented. Very ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Elegantly prepared and presented. Very knowledgeable staff made the dining experience very special. Get there before they close at the end of the year.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening celebrating a birthday ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful evening celebrating a birthday. KC tradition!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience. One of best ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent dining experience. One of best ever. View is out of this world! Had the tasting menu with wine pairings! Superb! But hurray sad day as restaurant is closing 1st of 2017.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, atmosphere and service ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Outstanding food, atmosphere and service. The food was exquisite, but the service was even more so. Attentive accommodating and professional. At first glance, it might seem a bit pricey, but for what you receive and how you are treated, it's a great value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most wonderful meal and service. We each ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Most wonderful meal and service. We each have the tasting menu by Chef Andy McCormick I would love to come back before they close

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone must experience The American Re ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Everyone must experience The American Restaurant at least once in their life.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have returned to KC after 12 years be ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We have returned to KC after 12 years being on the East Coast. We anticipated dining at the American Restaurant. We were sad to hear that things were changing because it was such a great place. However, we found the venue with fixed price menu with tasting option quite fun. The food was fabulous, the staff was attentive, knowledgeable, and quite sociable. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and wines. I am so sorry to hear that the American Restaurant will be changing to a new venue in January. I hope it will not be disappointing because it would be a shame to lose such a great place for dining.......

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wanted to visit this restaurant before ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I wanted to visit this restaurant before they closed. Now I know why they are closing. The menu has very few options, pre fix only. If you wanted a Filet or grilled salmon, forget it! You eat what they tell you to eat. Way over priced for what you get. I also had to wait over 15 minutes to ask for another glass of wine. I got the feeling that if you didn't order a $1,000 bottle of wine, you were basically ignored. The time has passed for this restaurant that looks and feels like they really never got out of the 80's.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The American is really in a class by its ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The American is really in a class by itself. The food, service, ambiance, and view are phenomenal. Pricey but worth it for a special occasion. We had the three-course dinner and all loved their choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food in Fabulous ambience. The ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fabulous food in Fabulous ambience. The service is superb and the experience A+

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So sad they are closing at the end of th ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2016

So sad they are closing at the end of this year. I've enjoyed dining here for over 30 years!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was superb. We hope to come at ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was superb. We hope to come at least one more time before the end of the year.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great evening, wine, food, view, service ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great evening, wine, food, view, service everything was awesome. We watched a lightning storm and an amazing bird display over the great view of KC through the walls of windows. The tasting menu was amazing. We were so satisfied, we still talk about all the different coarses we liked and why.

Tags: Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu at The American was the ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The tasting menu at The American was the best meal of my life, and not to mention the stunning panoramic view of the Kansas City skyline that is spread across the walls before you. Incredible and delectable and all the other good foodie words. So so sad that this place is closing and so lucky to have experienced it before it does.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the American! We are from Linco ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love the American! We are from Lincoln, NE however we've been traveling to KC for about 5 years each year around any of the following special occasions: father or mother's day, our birthdays or our anniversary. We visit the American almost every time. We are so sad to hear it is closing permanently at the end of 2016. :-(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inventive, creative cuisine superbly pre ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Inventive, creative cuisine superbly prepared. Our server, Robert, was fantastic. Great music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazingly delicious food and gorgeous pr ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2016

amazingly delicious food and gorgeous presentations!! we appreciated that the wait staff were very knowledgeable about the details of the chefs preparations, and very relaxed- not "stuffy". Thank you for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Complex food but well done and good flav ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Complex food but well done and good flavor. Wine was also great. The American Restaurant lived up to its reputation. It is sad that such a landmark restaurant will be closing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Going to miss this place! So sad that af ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Going to miss this place! So sad that after 40 years as a capstone in the KC dining scene The American will be closing it's doors for good at the end of the year.

Food ahs always been phenomenal, whether a la carte or (and especially) the tasting menus. The wine pairings likewise are always enjoyable and interesting, always with a pleasant surprise or two amongst the selections.

The service would have rated five stars were it not for the one server who seemed to have his nose in the air all evening and brought the personality and warmth of a tombstone to the table - all other servers ranged from good to truly excellent, with the young lady sommelier being especially wonderful - great passion for what she does and a ton of personality to boot.

Ambiance is of course somewhat dated but then for us it is part of the charm of tradition that enhances the experience and everything is always in tip top condition and cleanliness.

Value is of course subjective - I always feel that it costs more than it really should. The food, wine and service are usually excellent - but that much more so than other fine dining options in the area? Probably not. And yet it does remain a family favorite and we do keep going back, so I guess even value can't be too much off base!

If you haven't experienced The American (or even if you have and it's been a while) make sure to visit before it closes December 31st. It is an iconic and rich part of the fabric of fine dining in the KC area and will be sorely missed. The only consolation being that Chef Andy McCormick will be opening a new restaurant of some sort locally some time next year - hopefully he will continue to delight with his culinary prowess - and hopefully he will take some of the rest of the excellent staff from The American with him when he does.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This place is great, sin that it is clo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 11, 2016

This place is great, sin that it is closing. You want more , it is the hidden restaurant in k.c.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but music was way too loud t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food, but music was way too loud to allow comfortable conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Our experience was great. Unfortunately ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our experience was great. Unfortunately the chef was not happy with the octopus dish but our waiter made a great alternate recommendation. My salmon was a little over salted but the steak my girlfriend received was perfectly cooked and the best steak I've tasted and will be getting that next time. Dessert was amazing and even the pallet cleanse treat was excellent. I would have eaten a dish of that rhubarb custard as a whole dessert. Wine pairings were spot on for every dish. I recommend the pairing of you enjoy wine. The chardonnay paired with my first course was fantastic. The service and experience was exceptional. I went for an anniversary and the menu was made with "happy anniversary" at the bottom, waiter addressed us by name and it was an overall special night with a great view.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Without a doubt, the most expensive dinn ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Without a doubt, the most expensive dinner for two I've ever experienced. That said, my return to the American after several years was a triumph. A three-hour tasting menu with exceptional wine pairings might have delivered my best 3 hours at a table ever. If I had to find a blemish, it would have been pace. That many courses could have been enjoyed over 3.5 - 4 hours. Regardless, a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful space, exquisite service, incr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Beautiful space, exquisite service, incredible service. What a spectacular experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a very splendid time at The Americ ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2016

I had a very splendid time at The American Restaurant. The menu was very clearly explained, each course was adequately described, and the atmosphere left nothing wanting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We came to this restaurant for our anniversary after I had seen pictures of the view online, then we were sat in a corner so we couldn't even see out the windows and the music was too loud. Our waiter was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

A fantastic, imaginative tasting menu. T ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on June 8, 2016

A fantastic, imaginative tasting menu. They went out of the way to adapt the menu to accommodate my dietary restrictions. Excellent wines & helpful, enthusiastic wine direct

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had dinner at The American Restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had dinner at The American Restaurant on the first night of a recent five night stay in Kansas City. Although it was a Friday night, the restaurant wasn’t particularly busy. We arrived a bit early for our reservation and were seated in the bar until the appointed time – we’re not quite sure why, since the restaurant wasn’t particularly busy. When finally seated, we had a lovely window seat looking over Kansas City. The décor is elegant and it’s quite expensive. The three course prix fixe menu offers four selections for each course. The soft shell crab with the fermented jalapeno was the strangest soft shell crab we’d ever seen while the cavatelli with English peas and sheep’s cheese was wonderful. The bavette was entirely too chewy, in contrast to the striploin with morels and beef fat fries (and a $10 supplement charge.) Desserts were concoctions of various ingredients; we went for the coconut-black cocoa-ligonberry-chocolate and the yusu-vanilla-bitter orange-white chocolate. Portions are small – you won’t leave stuffed. The wine list had some excellent, if expensive choices. All in all, we were somewhat disappointed. We left thinking the view of the night lights coming on in Kansas City was the best part of the meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Corvino, Staff Make The American Sparkle.

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Since taking over The American in 2013, Chef Michael Corvino has simply continually improved the food and service this timeless treasure provides. After years of a genteel decline, The American consistently delivers great food under Corvino that seems to get better with each outing, and it does so while also adding some new surprising delight to the menu at the same time. In the restaurant, the stuffiness is gone. And the folks at the bar are creating a new style and approach that can stand next to Willie Grandison (even if no one can ever truly replace him).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 4th anniversary, it was great! The food is very good the staff was amazing and the view is wonderful. The atmosphere is very inviting and was quiet. We would highly recommend The American for a wonderful romantic night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great to the excellence Keith Goldman br ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great to the excellence Keith Goldman brings to the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The main course and desserts were good. Staff was nice and attentive. Not sure we need to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

A perfect dinner

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Not only was the food exceptional and the service impeccable but one of us has food allergies to gluten and dairy which was asked for when the reservation was made. The diner was astounded how delicious everything was prepared for her and how knowledgeable our server was about all the contents on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food Superb service Great ambi ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent food

Superb service

Great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

AWESOME

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2016

This had to be the best dining experience we have had in a long time!!! the staff and the food were over the top!!! Look forward to returning to KC.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.