Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Reds
581 reviews
American | Rockford, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
BRAVO Cucina Italiana - Grand Rapids - Knapp’s Crossing
111 reviews
Italian | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
Green Restaurant
11 reviews
American | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
457 reviews
Fondue | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
Terra GR
108 reviews
Contemporary American | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
Mangiamo! Grand Rapids
775 reviews
Italian | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
Grove - Grand Rapids
1113 reviews
American | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
The Chop House - Grand Rapids
1107 reviews
Steakhouse | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
The Heritage Restaurant
286 reviews
Global, International | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
Gray Skies Distillery
Reviews Coming Soon
American | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids
348 reviews
Steakhouse | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
Reserve Wine & Food
464 reviews
Contemporary American | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
Cygnus 27
760 reviews
Global, International | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
The Kitchen by Wolfgang Puck
135 reviews
Global, International | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now
Tre Cugini
523 reviews
Italian | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Reserve Now

About The Acorn Grille - Thousand Oaks Golf Club

4100 Thousand Oaks NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
View Larger Map

The Acorn Grille at Thousand Oaks Golf Club is the perfect complement to its award-winning golf course.Executive Chef David Dalton and his culinary team offer the finest in casual dining. The Acorn Grille’s reputation for sophistication, creative cuisine, fine wines, and outstanding service make it the ideal choice for any occasion … relaxing after a round of golf, a business lunch, romantic dinner or anything in between.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
5 Mile Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 447-7750 ext. 2

Website:
http://thousandoaksgolf.com/acorn-grille/

Entertainment:
The Acorn Grille at Thousand Oaks Golf Club provides live music during the summer months on the deck. Entertainment is on Wednesdays and Saturdays from 6PM to 9PM.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered after 5PM on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays.

Executive Chef:
David Dalton

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for more information on our private dining facilities.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Shellenbarger: 6164477750x111

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve

Dined on December 31, 2015

Valet parking (was very chilly night), easy access cloak room, great reception at hostess stand, wait staff acknowledged us immediately, meal served promptly & professionally, good value, Acorn Grill s being remodeled, renamed & will reopen b April as part of the RedriverWatermark group.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Good Quality for a simple meal

Dined on December 30, 2015

This restaurant provided good food, even if it was a little pricey. The staff were friendly and service was decent. I didn't love my most current meal, but I have enjoyed other ones greatly in the past.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5

Very nice meals. Good selection of seaf ...

Dined on December 18, 2015

Very nice meals. Good selection of seafood. Beef tips were under cooked, but very flavorful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great as always. Delicio ...

Dined on November 5, 2015

Everything was great as always. Delicious food, great service, nice ambiance. We always enjoy ourselves at the Acorn Grille.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was good--- nice atmosphere .

Dined on October 24, 2015

Food was good--- nice atmosphere .

food3
ambience3
service2

Too loud in there and service was slow t ...

Dined on October 23, 2015

Too loud in there and service was slow this time. Can't hear people at your table talk.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4

We were half the age of everyone in ther ...

Dined on October 23, 2015

We were half the age of everyone in there. Great food, but felt very out of place

food5
ambience4
service4

Used a BOGO coupon through GR Magazine. ...

Dined on October 20, 2015

Used a BOGO coupon through GR Magazine. Well worth the visit!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

Special dinner, not up to expectation

Dined on October 16, 2015

As a Foodie, I have high expectations for a dinner. We had a table to 5 (2 kids). The service was a little slow (e.g. waiting 10-15 minutes for wine to be brought). The appetizer was great, bacon wrapped jalapeno peppers. The meals were OK. The adult entrees were lukewarm at best. The stuffed chicken was dry and needed more sauce. The flavor pairing was good. My fiance's fish was also lukewarm and not seasoned. The creme brulee was really good. The price was reasonable. I don't think we would attend again.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Fine Foods for Financially Minded Friends

Dined on October 12, 2015

My husband and I had a great dining experience at The Acorn Grille this week. I ordered the salmon and wild rice. My husband had the prime rib. He is extremely particular about the quality of food and service, and he was very pleased with his steak. I only gave them three stars instead of five for these reasons: We ordered a Caesar's salad to start the meal, but several pieces of romaine were brown. My husband ordered coffee and it came cold. Otherwise, our meal was delicious and the restaurant was busy.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service3

Busy and noisy

Dined on October 8, 2015

We've been here many times and it always seems to be quite loud. However on this occasion we had to wait 15-20 minutes just to get water. They did come to us and apologized and the food was very good, but on this night it just seemed more loud and slow of service.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly

Dined on September 17, 2015

Great location, easy access, pleasant, great bar and happy friendly service. Very accommodating. Enjoy comming back and sharing my experence with my friends. Food has a lot to offer including daily specials. Happy hour is a bonus. The service brings us back. Dining service we had was exceptional. We were never rushed, offered advise when asked, very attentive to our need. Enjoyable experience. Hats off to your staff, especially to our server! She' a keeper!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a nice place to have dinner with friends!!!

Dined on September 4, 2015

Our waitress, Sarah, a nursing student at Aquinas, was very personable, knowlegeable and efficient.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Favorite!

Dined on September 4, 2015

We have eaten at Acorn Grill in the past and have never been disappointed. This time we were there to celebrate our anniversary. My husband had the filet and I had the shrimp and artichoke and mushroom pesto fettuccine with asparagus. Topped it off with the creme brûlée. Yum! Both dinners were great. Our server was gracious and attentive. We will be back!! We highly recommend the Acorn Grill!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent service and variety of offerin ...

Dined on August 29, 2015

Excellent service and variety of offerings. Walleye was done perfectly, and the veggies while a bit limp were also good. Will certainly return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

A Rare Find

Dined on August 29, 2015

We love Acorn Grille. It is a wonderful location to enjoy good food and amazing views. Service is good and is a perfect spot to converse and enjoy the overall experience. We love to meet friends for dinner or and afternoon on the deck. It is a rare find. We frequent fir special occasions and just an impromptu night out. I wouldn't change a thing.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Enchanted evening

Dined on August 21, 2015

Our first time dining there for our anniversary. Food was delicious. Atmosphere was great. View was beautiful! We rented a golf cart and cruised the course which was very scenic. A wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Gram me

Dined on August 19, 2015

Quiet atmosphere. Great for private conversation. Attentive & informed servers. Food presentation was attractive, flavor even better. Enjoyed the evening.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our go-to special occasion restaurant.

Dined on August 8, 2015

We have eaten here several times now and we have never been disappointed. The wait staff is excellent and our food is always delicious. The ambiance is nice and the view is great from the deck-side dining area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

When I sent in the reservation I request ...

Dined on August 8, 2015

When I sent in the reservation I requested a booth since my 92 year old mother finds them much easier to get in and out of. The hostess seated us at a table, I reminded her of my request for a booth. I was told none were available. Interesting since the restaurant was empty (the bar was busy). She checked my reservation and said she could not honor it because I had not made it directly with them but through Open Table. After much fussing we did get the booth with the understanding we had to complete our meal in under two hours. REALLY! They were holding the booth for two hours until the seven o'clock reservation arrived. Not the first time we have had a problem with the hostess at Thousand Oaks. We love the atmosphere and food and will definitely return. Cannnot wait to see what happens then.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A great casual and upscale restaurant.

Dined on July 24, 2015

The Acorn Grille at Thousand Oaks is a great upscale casual dining experience. Nice club atmosphere with a great well rounded menu. The dishes are well executed by their great chef. Enjoy the outside dining overlooking the golf course or eat inside by the fire. A favorite spot of ours!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Best Golf Course Views

Dined on July 24, 2015

Acorn Grille is a favorite of ours! The menu has just enough variety without being overwhelming, the view is amazing and staff is exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

An enjoyable dinner

vip
Dined on July 24, 2015

When we are visiting a new city, we depend on Open Table to suggest good restaurants. It was a perfect summer evening with a slight breeze and we chose to eat outside. The view of the golf course was beautiful. The server recommended the meatloaf. I have experienced really bad to horrible meatloaf and asked the server if my Mom would like it. She replied that even my Grandmother would like it. When I got it, I automatically asked for ketchup (like Mom made it). To my surprise, the tomato sauce was already on the top of it. It was moist but slice-able. It WAS as good Mom's. If I visit Grand Rapids again, I will bring a cooler so I can take the leftovers home.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4

Great dinner

Dined on July 16, 2015

We expected a great dinner and we got just that. My only complaint was how noisy the table was next to us. Otherwise the food and service was great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3

quiet night

Dined on July 4, 2015

went on July 4, not crowded but only one server on, and some helpers, took a while to order, food was great and everything overall is good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1

Waited one hour for burgers. Had 7:00 re ...

Dined on June 29, 2015

Waited one hour for burgers. Had 7:00 reservation food arrived right at 8:00. Very unusual for acorn room.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Had to wait for bill and it got a bit no ...

Dined on June 29, 2015

Had to wait for bill and it got a bit noisy for conversation. Gave our guests your card so they could remember your name when they came back into town again.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Our dining experience was excellent. Ou ...

Dined on June 27, 2015

Our dining experience was excellent. Our server was professional, attentive and unintrusive, and our meals -- steak salad (2), salmon salad, and pork chop dinner, were wonderful. It was Saturday night, we were with friends we hadn't seen in a while, and were not made to feel at all rushed. We stayed at the restaurant for 3 hours, lingered over coffee after dinner, and greatly appreciated not feeling pressured to leave. Outstanding restaurant, and we'll be back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Consistently Good

Dined on June 10, 2015

I have had many lunch meetings with clients at The Acorn Griile over the years and I am never disappointed. The food and the service are always very good. The tables are separated enough to be able to talk easily with everyone at the table. The menu selections provide something for every appetite. The wait staff is very friendly and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating a 67th Anniversary

Dined on May 16, 2015

We were a group of 8 out to celebrate our parents' 67th wedding anniversary. We were seated at the round table near the windows. We could easily converse among ourselves and our reservations were ready upon arrival. There is a great choice of items on the menu and all at reasonable prices. The finishing touch was the creme brulee. Delicious! Our server was very efficient and gracious. We definitely would recommend a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoy the friendly atmosphere

Dined on April 27, 2015

I enjoy the food and customer service. The waitress is always excellent. The outdoor experience is great when weather permits and as always the view is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4

Festive noise

Dined on April 25, 2015

Saturday evening main room hoping for a romantic dinner. Found large noisy parties, crying babies. We eat and left quickly. Walking out the quiet was huge A good place for gatherings. Wished we had brought our loud enebriated friends.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, ambiance and excellent service.

Dined on April 8, 2015

If you enjoy lake perch, you are in for a treat. Server was friendly and attentive to our dining needs..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Always good

Dined on March 28, 2015

We have eaten here dozens of times and the food is consistently excellent!! Cannot miss with anything on the menu. Last visit was very busy and very loud. Cannot be helped really.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Regulars

Dined on March 19, 2015

It's a great spot for a group of us girls to meet on a regular basis great food great drinks and great prices

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Acorn Grille is our favorite restaurant.

Dined on March 17, 2015

My wife and I love AG. The food is plentiful and delicious. The creative menu offers something good for everyone. The mushroom crostini is the best. Our server, Beth, was knowledgeable and honest with her recommendations. She knows her stuff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!!

vip
Dined on March 14, 2015

Love this place. Excellent service, food and atmosphere. The entree comes hot on a warm plate, the salad comes cold on a chilled plate. I don't think I have ever had a bad experience here.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

Dined on February 27, 2015

The food was tasty and well prepared. The menu is nicely diverse with many varied selections.

food4
ambience5
service4

Gang's All Here!

Dined on February 23, 2015

Our group of six were comfortable and chatted easily in a quiet corner overlooking the lovely course grounds. Food selections were varied, and no one had any negative comments when the food appeared. Looked good, tasted very good. Loved the budget offers, ease of making changes to the menu offerings, and we each thought the tiny creme brulee was a perfect end to a delicious meal

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2

Ok for amateurs

Dined on February 14, 2015

Was unimpressed. Started out great with a delicious appetizer (Bacon and Gargonzola Dip), salad was less than exciting (Ceasar, special thanks to the waitress who asked if I would like anchovy and then delivered the salad without!), main entree was simply ok (prime rib, I ordered medium rare, my wife ordered medium well. Again, special thanks to the unattentive waitress who slapped our respective entrees oppostite of where they belong - even after referencing her order tab.) Nothing over the top. I've had better food and experiences elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.