Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About The A&P Social

The A&P Social: comfortable, fine Southern dining in a welcoming, neighborhood space.

The A&P Social takes inspiration from Montgomery’s history, updating classics like pimento cheese, deviled eggs, fried chicken, and collard greens. The A&P Social looked to our Gulf Coast - to Alabama fishermen - to find shrimp, oysters, snapper, tuna, grouper, and crab. The A&P Social looked to the Black Belt - to our region’s farmers - for the freshest, highest-quality meats and produce. It’s a place where you can celebrate a special occasion or grab a beer on a Tuesday with friends. It's a Southern kitchen with quality, seasonal food and a Southern charm. Pull up a seat.

503 Cloverdale Road
Montgomery, AL 36106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, European

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Tuesday - Friday (Bar Open Only) 4:30 - 6:30
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 11:00 am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Cloverdale Road and Graham Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 356-3814

Website:
http://www.theapsocial.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Randal Gresham, Jr.

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s a party for 10 or 150, we excel at hosting private events with special attention to our guests wishes. With a lively front bar area, large areas of the main dining room which can be sectioned off, private events room, or reservation of the full restaurant, we can accommodate the event of your choosing. From weddings and large events in The A&P Courtyard to a special evening with friends, we look forward to serving you.

To book your next private event please contact us at 334.356.3814.

Private Party Contact:
Taylor Hardy: (334) 356-3814

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Birthday Parties, Showers, Corporate Events and much more.

The A&P Social Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Romantic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Casual (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A&P Social has excellent food. My wife and I split the broiled oysters (6). OUTSTANDING!!!
For entreés, Both, of us, ordered the snapper dish... We cleaned our plates
The only reason, I rated it 4 stars is; that, A&P had, virtually, no premium vodka. There was enough, for just one drink. We DO like our martinis. :)
We will, most definitely, dine at A&P Social, again... and, again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Sometimes the food is good but not consistently. It's nice to have a varying seasonal menu but sometimes it's better to stick with what you know works. During this visit the food was decent but not great and our service was not good at all. I'm fairly confident our waiter was high. He was absent minded, unavailable and voice was very was slurred. The other waiters in the vicinity spent more time serving our needs than our own waiter. Ours was not ever around. Overall experience was just okay at best. For the price, I can go to a different restaurant, with better food and better quality that what I received here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We came for social hour specials and had no complaints whatsoever! Erik was an amazing server! So attentive and pleasant to talk to. Will definitely come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A&P Social is a little overrated. Our service wasnt great the day we went, and it wasnt crowded (no refills on our coffee/water, slow service). It was brunch, and I ordered the fried oyster eggs benedict option. When it came out, the whole dish was cold (unappetizing when eating oysters and poached eggs), and the potatoes were served without any sauce or dressing. It was just a side of roasted potatoes (I could do that at home). This is the second time we've gone and gotten bad service and a sub-par meal. Probably wont go back.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very good food and very extensive wine list. Sometimes, the waiter forgot about me, even though the place was not crowded and I was in plain sight.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It's been a while since we dined at A&P Social, and it was pleasant to find it remains a great choice in Old Cloverdale. Our fettucine with shrimp, with a side of roasted brussel sprouts, was particularly good. Our server, Brian, was excellent. We will return soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love a & p the vibe is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I had a really good time. Everything was excellent from the food to the atmosphere. The price was reasonable as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Loved the grilled chicken dish!! Excellent wine list!! Best in Montgomery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Missed the mark in a big way tonight. Since none of the main courses looked particularly interesting, we decided to go with appetizers instead. One was supposed to be a seafood cerviche. When presented, there were very limp sliced shrimp and an avocado concoction on a plate. The avocado was brown. The crab cakes came out way over cooked almost appearing as though they had been cooked earlier and then dropped in grease again to warm them. They were chewy and over worked. For the cost of the tab, was sorely disappointed in the quality of the food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience!!! Loved the crab cakes and fought with my husband for the last garlic green bean. I liked how they used local sources!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely amazing food and wine pairing for Valentine's Day. The service is exceptional and our waiter did a great job. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great Valentin's menu. Wine parings were perfect. Food cooked to perfection! Chef and Waite staff were on the game!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Perfect dining experience. Fabulous menu and wine pairings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We went for our anniversary and it was wonderful. They had their 4-course prix fixe Valentines menu already in place which was a little more than we expected to spend, but we decided to go for it anyway. Very pleased overall. Steak could have used a bit more salt and there was none on the table. Wasn't sure if it would be insulting to ask for some. Other than that everything was great. Can't want to go back to try their regular menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went there for my birthday, got there at 645 they were out of the Fish and the Prokchop. So since they have limited menu we had very few choices. Service staff was overwhelmed and they were short handed across the boards. However the drinks were good. I really enjoyed it the first time we went but very disappointed this time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This is the second time I have eaten at A&P Social and had the Red Snapper both times. The food was excellent. Would recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great meal. Fresh ingredients and creative menu. Went to brunch with my 11 year old daughter who loved it as well. Do not miss the deviled eggs!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The waitress had a very negative attitude towards us from start to finish. Even my 16 year old noted it. If the service was better, I would recommend the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Not a good value for the price. Service was poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great brunch! Always a great experience at the A&P Social!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was delicious, and I will go again. That said, our server was unprofessional and socially inappropriate to an extraordinary degree. I didn't catch his name because he didn't introduce himself, but he did extensively trash talk Randy Gresham, the chef who just left, and who happens to be a personal friend of everyone at my table. (None of us mentioned this because it was too awkward after he detailed his many reasons for detesting Randy.) He also mocked the wife of a previous owner or manager, Ms. True, and insulted Central, one of A & P's competitors where he apparently worked briefly after Randy let him go. After that, he offered his opinions about Donald Trump. In between, he failed to clear our plates after we finished our appetizers and also declined to refill water for half the table. His chatter took up a lot of time during a special occasion dinner. It was unwelcome and inappropriate. He did not make up for it by providing good service. I will return, but I sincerely hope to get a different server (or see him gone) in the future, as this was the second A&P meal he disrupted with his bizarre behavior. I have young children and almost never get to go out, so service like this is extremely unwelcome on the rare occasions when I do.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great find. Service, food and ambiance was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent New Year dinner. We did the pris fixe menu and everything was perfect including the wine pairings. You can't go wrong with dinner at A & P Social!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere! Server was extremely knowledgeable on food and beverage. This restaurant has a cozy, friendly feel with very creative yet recognizable cuisine that caters to everyone's palate. Highly recommend the side dishes. They are not to be overlooked in the least. Sides are served in very large serving dishes with enough to share!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food and service. They also had an impressive wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Coming unto town on business looked up restaurants and found the social club based on reviews. We were so delighted with the neighborhood and ambiance. The food and wine were fabulous. Just the best.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our waiter needs training not you serve women first not men and you make eye contact with all guest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great place for a family brunch. Wait staff was very knowledgeable and willing to share their love of food while helping us explore the great seasonal offerings!!!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice cocktails, good wine options, food was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was good. The desserts were however underwhelming.
Our waiter was nice but not really knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Overall, our most recent A&P Social experience was quite pleasant. Our charred okra appetizer was spectacularly good, a "platonic" dish, as renowned New Orleans restaurant critic Richard Collin would have said. The artisanal-greens salad was also excellent. My shrimp spaghetti was good, but not knock-you-over. The oysters on an oyster poboy were nicely fried and tasty, but the sandwich came with its top bun cold — not just unwarm, but refrigerator-cold. Our server was lovely, and she handled her job with aplomb.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Tasty, creative food and outstanding service. The chicken mole served with mustard greens is typical of their innovative approach to food. It was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Throughout its various incarnations, this restaurant's dining space has remained a favorite, and I always look forward to being there. Its food has had its ups and downs since the doors opened. As A&P Social under Randal Gresham, it is mostly good, though rarely excellent, and sometimes simply mediocre. The seafood court-bouillon served recently was an improvement over a version served there some months ago but still not as good as Jubilee's seafood stew. While it tasted fresh and its seafood was nicely cooked, it had a bit of unsavory fishy aroma. The inclusion of sweet potatoes and greens was a plus. The Caesar salad served at this sitting lacked flavor. Service was friendly and prompt. I'll definitely keep returning in hopes the food keeps improving.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Took three customers and had a good evening. Only opportunity, one of our party did not get food with rest of us. Waiter said it would be right out, took several minutes. Had to ask hostess to look into it, finally got the meal.

Ordered our meals, we wanted some changes to the side dishes, waiter came back to table, interrupted conversation to tell us there would be a slight us charge for the meal. Not a problem, should point that out when we ordered.

Food was good, desserts were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our dinner was outstanding I had the beef short ribs which were perfect and my husband had the fish special of the night and it was superb! We sat outside as it was perfect weather and our server was Jerry and I highly recommend asking for him as he was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great restaurant for delicious seasonal food - unique and comfortable at the same time. Fish specials (snapper and oysters) and local produce are standouts. Friendly service with helpful recommendations. Wine list is extensive. Neighborhood location that is beautiful - worth the time to explore this area. Try to get an outside table - great sidewalk dining.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Took several customers to dinner, it went really well! Server was attentive, food was really good. We ate family style, shared entrees all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I think their A/C was out, it was hot, they had a couple of fans blowing, but it did not help much. They did not offer to discount the >$100 bill, which I thought would have been a nice gesture considering my wife and I were both sweating.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful dinner and atmosphere! A great find for us who came from a city of hip new restaurants! Service was attentive and we never felt rushed. A date night to remember, we can't wait to return! Definitely worth the drive from Prattville!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.