Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Vintage YearVintage Year
(370)
$$$$
American | Montgomery, Montgomery
Booked 12 times today
CentralCentral
(1048)
$$$$
American | Montgomery, Montgomery
Booked 9 times today
Sa ZA Serious Italian Food  -MontgomerySa ZA Serious Italian Food -Montgomery
(142)
$$$$
Italian | Montgomery, Montgomery
Booked 3 times today
D'Road CafeD'Road Cafe
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Latin / Spanish | Montgomery, Montgomery
Firebirds Wood Fired Grill - MontgomeryFirebirds Wood Fired Grill - Montgomery
(22)
$$$$
American | Montgomery, Montgomery
Booked 4 times today
SpringHouseSpringHouse
(642)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Alexander City, Alexander City
Booked 10 times today
Itta Bena -MontgomeryItta Bena -Montgomery
(59)
$$$$
American | Montgomery, Montgomery
Booked 12 times today
B.B. Kings - MontgomeryB.B. Kings - Montgomery
(131)
$$$$
American | Montgomery, Montgomery
Booked 6 times today
FIRE Steak house - WetumpkaFIRE Steak house - Wetumpka
(137)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Montgomery, Montgomery
Booked 6 times today
Stinky’s Fish Camp - AuburnStinky’s Fish Camp - Auburn
(51)
$$$$
Seafood | Auburn, Auburn
Booked 10 times today
Bertolone Italian CafeBertolone Italian Cafe
(20)
$$$$
Italian | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 1 time today
167°F Korean BBQ167°F Korean BBQ
(5)
$$$$
Korean | Auburn, Auburn
Booked 1 time today
B GravesB Graves
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
American | Troy, Montgomery
Booked 1 time today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About The A&P Social

Permanently Closed - The A&P Social: comfortable, fine Southern dining in a welcoming, neighborhood space.

The A&P Social takes inspiration from Montgomery’s history, updating classics like pimento cheese, deviled eggs, fried chicken, and collard greens. The A&P Social looked to our Gulf Coast - to Alabama fishermen - to find shrimp, oysters, snapper, tuna, grouper, and crab. The A&P Social looked to the Black Belt - to our region’s farmers - for the freshest, highest-quality meats and produce. It’s a place where you can celebrate a special occasion or grab a beer on a Tuesday with friends. It's a Southern kitchen with quality, seasonal food and a Southern charm. Pull up a seat.

503 Cloverdale Road
Montgomery, AL 36106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, European

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Tuesday - Friday (Bar Open Only) 4:30 - 6:30
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 11:00 am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Cloverdale Road and Graham Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 356-3814

Website:
http://www.theapsocial.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Randal Gresham, Jr.

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s a party for 10 or 150, we excel at hosting private events with special attention to our guests wishes. With a lively front bar area, large areas of the main dining room which can be sectioned off, private events room, or reservation of the full restaurant, we can accommodate the event of your choosing. From weddings and large events in The A&P Courtyard to a special evening with friends, we look forward to serving you.

To book your next private event please contact us at 334.356.3814.

Private Party Contact:
Taylor Hardy: (334) 356-3814

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Birthday Parties, Showers, Corporate Events and much more.

The A&P Social - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

2.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.0

Noise

Quiet

0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
S
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The ambiance, service, and food was absolutely fantastic. What a great anniversary memory we'll have from this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We have visited The A&P quite a few times, And the food we ordered, the shrimp and scallops, were horrible! The sauce for the shrimp was a red sauce and there was no spices in it. VERY BLAND! We told our waitress who got the manager. We explained to the manager that the food had no taste and she was very apologetic and asked what else we wanted. So I reordered. The so called head chef came to our table and was very arrogant and did not take criticism well at all. He got angry and told us that he was not removing our meal from the bill. We were ok with that and did not expect anything for free. The chef was a total jerk and we will not ever step foot back in this place again! BEWARE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Last minute date night with the wife on Thursday night.

Seated immediately. Took several minutes before someone got us waters and took our drink orders though.

Drinks: Excellent selection of craft beers.

Appetizers:

Montgomery Plate: The pork belly and pimento cheese were fantastic. The pickles and deviled eggs were good. The rest was okay.

Fried green tomatoes: Just okay.

Entrees: I had the fried chicken. It was absolutely fantastic. Came with really good Brussels sprouts, although some were under seasoned for my taste.

Wife had the snapper, which she really enjoyed.

4.5 stars

Will be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love going to A&P for special occasions and the food was, until this trip, spot on.

I order a dish that came with "fried eggs." They were so under-cooked the egg whites hadn't even started to settle and still had a water like consistency. I let the waitress know and she was very attentive and prompt but I think I offended the chef. My eggs were returned to me, cooked in what look like a used steak pan, since it was speckled with blacks specks and tasted like steak and the yolks cooked solid.

The waitress was great and didn't charge me for the dish and one cocktail but this really changed my view of the experience as a hole.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great atmosphere. Did not feel rushed. Waiter was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My scallops were very good, but the grits underneath were cold... It was $25 for 4 scallops. Is that pricey? The service was terrific. Jerry is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

A&P really needs to step up their game if they intend on being a player in the restaurant scene in Montgomery. From the meals ordered by the 3 in our party, the only thing that was satisfactory were the appetizers. The entrees were over cooked, tough, over seasoned and dull. Even the French fries were cold and greasy as if they had been cooked earlier and the stuck under a poorly functioning heat lamp. Finally, if you're going to offer cocktails, get someone who at least knows how to pour 1.5 ozs. of liquor into a cocktail glass. We've given A&P several chances over the last several months. Sorry to say three strikes...you're out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Man, what a menu! Was very hard to narrow it down to just one thing, both for the starters and for the main course.

Great food, great service, great location.

Made a special occasion even better! A&P has gotten it right and just makes that section of Cloverdale even better.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The salads-plus-seafood offerings here are quite good. Both the bibb lettuce with grilled shrimp and Caesar with fried oysters hit the spot. The scallops entree was OK, but a bit too salty and its accompanying grits were a tad minimalist. Pre-dinner martini was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had drinks and appetizer outside! Nice area to sit!
Ordered dinner at reserved table inside! Food was delicious and had very good service!
Music was a little loud at first but requested it be tuned down slightly.
Great date night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had a group of 7. The service was a little slow because there was also a party of 30 there at the same time. The atmosphere was great so we didn't mind and the server was really courteous and attentive. I had the shrimp with gnocci, delicious. I would definitely take another group there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A&P Social has excellent food. My wife and I split the broiled oysters (6). OUTSTANDING!!!
For entreés, Both, of us, ordered the snapper dish... We cleaned our plates
The only reason, I rated it 4 stars is; that, A&P had, virtually, no premium vodka. There was enough, for just one drink. We DO like our martinis. :)
We will, most definitely, dine at A&P Social, again... and, again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Sometimes the food is good but not consistently. It's nice to have a varying seasonal menu but sometimes it's better to stick with what you know works. During this visit the food was decent but not great and our service was not good at all. I'm fairly confident our waiter was high. He was absent minded, unavailable and voice was very was slurred. The other waiters in the vicinity spent more time serving our needs than our own waiter. Ours was not ever around. Overall experience was just okay at best. For the price, I can go to a different restaurant, with better food and better quality that what I received here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We came for social hour specials and had no complaints whatsoever! Erik was an amazing server! So attentive and pleasant to talk to. Will definitely come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A&P Social is a little overrated. Our service wasnt great the day we went, and it wasnt crowded (no refills on our coffee/water, slow service). It was brunch, and I ordered the fried oyster eggs benedict option. When it came out, the whole dish was cold (unappetizing when eating oysters and poached eggs), and the potatoes were served without any sauce or dressing. It was just a side of roasted potatoes (I could do that at home). This is the second time we've gone and gotten bad service and a sub-par meal. Probably wont go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very good food and very extensive wine list. Sometimes, the waiter forgot about me, even though the place was not crowded and I was in plain sight.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It's been a while since we dined at A&P Social, and it was pleasant to find it remains a great choice in Old Cloverdale. Our fettucine with shrimp, with a side of roasted brussel sprouts, was particularly good. Our server, Brian, was excellent. We will return soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love a & p the vibe is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I had a really good time. Everything was excellent from the food to the atmosphere. The price was reasonable as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Loved the grilled chicken dish!! Excellent wine list!! Best in Montgomery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Missed the mark in a big way tonight. Since none of the main courses looked particularly interesting, we decided to go with appetizers instead. One was supposed to be a seafood cerviche. When presented, there were very limp sliced shrimp and an avocado concoction on a plate. The avocado was brown. The crab cakes came out way over cooked almost appearing as though they had been cooked earlier and then dropped in grease again to warm them. They were chewy and over worked. For the cost of the tab, was sorely disappointed in the quality of the food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience!!! Loved the crab cakes and fought with my husband for the last garlic green bean. I liked how they used local sources!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing food and wine pairing for Valentine's Day. The service is exceptional and our waiter did a great job. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great Valentin's menu. Wine parings were perfect. Food cooked to perfection! Chef and Waite staff were on the game!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Perfect dining experience. Fabulous menu and wine pairings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We went for our anniversary and it was wonderful. They had their 4-course prix fixe Valentines menu already in place which was a little more than we expected to spend, but we decided to go for it anyway. Very pleased overall. Steak could have used a bit more salt and there was none on the table. Wasn't sure if it would be insulting to ask for some. Other than that everything was great. Can't want to go back to try their regular menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went there for my birthday, got there at 645 they were out of the Fish and the Prokchop. So since they have limited menu we had very few choices. Service staff was overwhelmed and they were short handed across the boards. However the drinks were good. I really enjoyed it the first time we went but very disappointed this time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This is the second time I have eaten at A&P Social and had the Red Snapper both times. The food was excellent. Would recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great meal. Fresh ingredients and creative menu. Went to brunch with my 11 year old daughter who loved it as well. Do not miss the deviled eggs!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The waitress had a very negative attitude towards us from start to finish. Even my 16 year old noted it. If the service was better, I would recommend the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Not a good value for the price. Service was poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great brunch! Always a great experience at the A&P Social!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was delicious, and I will go again. That said, our server was unprofessional and socially inappropriate to an extraordinary degree. I didn't catch his name because he didn't introduce himself, but he did extensively trash talk Randy Gresham, the chef who just left, and who happens to be a personal friend of everyone at my table. (None of us mentioned this because it was too awkward after he detailed his many reasons for detesting Randy.) He also mocked the wife of a previous owner or manager, Ms. True, and insulted Central, one of A & P's competitors where he apparently worked briefly after Randy let him go. After that, he offered his opinions about Donald Trump. In between, he failed to clear our plates after we finished our appetizers and also declined to refill water for half the table. His chatter took up a lot of time during a special occasion dinner. It was unwelcome and inappropriate. He did not make up for it by providing good service. I will return, but I sincerely hope to get a different server (or see him gone) in the future, as this was the second A&P meal he disrupted with his bizarre behavior. I have young children and almost never get to go out, so service like this is extremely unwelcome on the rare occasions when I do.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great find. Service, food and ambiance was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent New Year dinner. We did the pris fixe menu and everything was perfect including the wine pairings. You can't go wrong with dinner at A & P Social!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere! Server was extremely knowledgeable on food and beverage. This restaurant has a cozy, friendly feel with very creative yet recognizable cuisine that caters to everyone's palate. Highly recommend the side dishes. They are not to be overlooked in the least. Sides are served in very large serving dishes with enough to share!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food and service. They also had an impressive wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Coming unto town on business looked up restaurants and found the social club based on reviews. We were so delighted with the neighborhood and ambiance. The food and wine were fabulous. Just the best.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our waiter needs training not you serve women first not men and you make eye contact with all guest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great place for a family brunch. Wait staff was very knowledgeable and willing to share their love of food while helping us explore the great seasonal offerings!!!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.