About The A&P Social

503 Cloverdale Road
Montgomery, AL 36106
View Larger Map

The A&P Social: comfortable, fine Southern dining in a welcoming, neighborhood space.

The A&P Social takes inspiration from Montgomery’s history, updating classics like pimento cheese, deviled eggs, fried chicken, and collard greens. The A&P Social looked to our Gulf Coast - to Alabama fishermen - to find shrimp, oysters, snapper, tuna, grouper, and crab. The A&P Social looked to the Black Belt - to our region’s farmers - for the freshest, highest-quality meats and produce. It’s a place where you can celebrate a special occasion or grab a beer on a Tuesday with friends. It's a Southern kitchen with quality, seasonal food and a Southern charm. Pull up a seat.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, European

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Tuesday - Friday (Bar Open Only) 4:30 - 6:00
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 11:00 am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Cloverdale Road and Graham Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 356-3814

Website:
http://www.theapsocial.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Randal Gresham, Jr.

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s a party for 10 or 150, we excel at hosting private events with special attention to our guests wishes. With a lively front bar area, large areas of the main dining room which can be sectioned off, private events room, or reservation of the full restaurant, we can accommodate the event of your choosing. From weddings and large events in The A&P Courtyard to a special evening with friends, we look forward to serving you.

To book your next private event please contact us at 334.356.3814.

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Wilkins: 334-356-3814 x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Birthday Parties, Showers, Corporate Events and much more.

The A&P Social Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Alabama
Fit for Foodies
Alabama
Neighborhood Gem
Alabama
2 More
Contemporary American
Alabama
Most Booked
Montgomery
Best Restaurants in Montgomery ›

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Good for Groups (9)
Romantic (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I think their A/C was out, it was hot, t ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I think their A/C was out, it was hot, they had a couple of fans blowing, but it did not help much. They did not offer to discount the >$100 bill, which I thought would have been a nice gesture considering my wife and I were both sweating.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The service was very prompt and friendly ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The service was very prompt and friendly. The food was excellent and well prepared. The appetizer was amazing. But it's the location and ambiance that sets it apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for pasta night and absolutely l ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We went for pasta night and absolutely loved the spinach spaghetti with crab, shrimp, and lobster! Such a great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here, it was for ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was our first time here, it was for my daughters birthday and she loves a classy brunch and it was perfect. We all enjoyed our selections and will definitely return

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great meal and the service was fri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Had a great meal and the service was friendly and helpful. We sat outside, which was nice since the weather was pretty pleasant in the evening. Can't vouch for inside, but outside was a great option. Apps were a little on pricey side, but oysters were absolutely delicious, as were okra and croquettes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eric was an amazing server! Absolutely l ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Eric was an amazing server! Absolutely love brunch at A&P!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I will admit that we have not always had ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I will admit that we have not always had the best experience with the food here and it is not generally our first pick. We were too late to get a reservation anywhere else so we went to A&P. I'm glad we did. I had the poached shrimp in tomato sauce and my husband had a salad and pork chop. Both were very good. I fact it was the best meal we have eaten at A&P. Service has always been good-glad to see that the food is keeping pace.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love everything about this place!!

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love everything about this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely loved my dining experience! ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I absolutely loved my dining experience! I went to A&P with 4 other coworkers from New York City, and they said A&P was one of the absolute best places they had tried in Montgomery. Great service, food, and atmosphere! Josie was an amazing server! She was knowledgeable and polite. Would love to sit with her again! Also loved the manager, Taylor. He was attentive to our needs and helped in some wine selections! Definitely want to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great find,, The food was exc ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was a great find,, The food was excellent, the chargrilled oysters were a delight to say the least. It was one of the few times were we literally cleaned the plates. Loved it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our farm green salad and "The Garden" we ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Our farm green salad and "The Garden" were excellent starters. I was especially pleased with the quality of my salad, very young salad greens with a perfect vinaigrette. The amberjack, fish of the day, was excellent, served with a very good Bavarian potato salad. The eggplant puree underneath was not a plus: little flavor and an unappetizing color accompaniment. A puree of fresh peas would have provided a fresh, green accent. But no complaints: I was happy with our meal and look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Chef Randal cooked an amazing meal. It w ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Chef Randal cooked an amazing meal. It was honestly the best I've had in a long time. The wine list was extensive and apparently changes frequently. They have so much more than wine to drink and all the appetizers, main course meals, and desserts were not only unique but made with local ingredients so it was fresh and delicious. Our waiter, Tyler I believe, was a blessing to have. He and everyone else working there worked together to bring food out together and drinks replenished right on time. Simply awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The A&P Social Club is a little out of t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The A&P Social Club is a little out of the way but well worth the trip! It's in an upscale area called Cloverdale and there are other shops and restaurants in the area. The restaurant is beautiful and the food is excellent. They also have a very, very nice wine list. Everyone loved their meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter took a long time to get to our ta ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Waiter took a long time to get to our table after we were seated, but after that, the service was prompt. The brunch meal was wonderful, but the Lane cake didn't resemble any Lane cake I had ever seen. It was disappointing.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I have dined at A&P Social several times ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I have dined at A&P Social several times. It seems the portion size is getting smaller and the prices are going up. After my $50 meal I was tempted to go someplace else and get another dinner, as were the people I was with. The food and the service were absolutely fantastic, but you should not still be that hungry after an appetizer and a main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were greeted warmly and promptly seat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were greeted warmly and promptly seated. The server was not knowledgeable about the menu, or wine selection. When I asked for a bottle of Pelligrino, he didn't know they didn't have it. The food was mediocre. Its appearance was good, but the risotto and bouillabaisse were both bland leaving us wanting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

The food here is always good to excellen ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food here is always good to excellent. Our server Travis was the icing on the cake. Thanks for a lovely evening.

Deb & Jim

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We always enjoy dining at A&P Social but ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We always enjoy dining at A&P Social but thought its newest incarnation of the farm greens salad (ordered with oysters) was a bit too minimalist. It was good, but just not quite enough. And I'd like to see a lemon or some other vinaigrette in place of the sweet tea one currently in use. Otherwise, it was a most pleasant brunch, with perfect service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved A&P! I live in the foodie city of ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Loved A&P! I live in the foodie city of Bham now, but add former NYC resident to the mix and understand when I say 'amazing!' to what it is that I compare it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best Restaurant in Montgomery by far!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was so impressed with this place. The food was absolutely amazing! The chef even came out and said hello to the guests at one point. The entire staff was friendly and helpful to each other. The space is beautiful and open feeling with great southern chic décor. The food came out quickly and everything was just as we asked it to be. My 3 year old daughter enjoyed it as well and they made her feel very comfortable. The service was awesome and our waitress, Josie was the best! Delicious cocktails and superb brunch. Can't wait to go back for dinner one day. Best restaurant in Montgomery by far!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Great Discovery

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I had an early dinner en route to the Alabama Shakespeare Festival. We were so happy with A&P Social. My wife had salmon and I the filet. Both were delicious. Perhaps our server wan't the most fluent about the menu, but she was friendly and attentive. We dined outside and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Underwhelming

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overpriced is the word that comes to mind the most. The yellow snapper was good but the effort of eating it while digging for bites without bones in them detracts from the enjoyment. The bouillabaisse was delicious but not very filling. The beignets were good but the buttermilk ice cream (read: sour ice cream) was not a good combination. Not remotely sweet enough as a whole to be considered a dessert. We left underwhelmed. Maybe there are better entrees that we did not order but based on our first experience, it wasn't really worth the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Terrific dining

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

My husband and I dined a few evenings ago and loved everything. A god friend had told us this was their new favorite dining spot. We'd had Sunday brunch several weeks ago and it was fabulous and fun (maybe ? only brunch available downtown). While brunch was a great social event with excellent food to boot, nighttime ambiance was romantic and easy. It's a very pretty dining space, chic, rustically modern. The outdoor dining is already luring us back soon. Try marinated olives with smoked pecans-they are addicting. We also tried the Swedish meatballs-so yummy. The filet and snapper were both perfectly prepared. Recommended wine pairing was spot on. Service was terrific-not too little, not too much. We highly recommend A&P equally to locals and out of towners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

I found it when I Googled "fine dining". I went to dinner with collegue. The menu was impressive.

Scott our waiter was great and the Mixologist on staff was awesome.

Food is delish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best burger I may have ever eaten! W ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The best burger I may have ever eaten! Wow! You gotta try it!

Great brunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Awesome in the Gump!!...Finally

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

OK, its been a while since we had CUISINE in Montgomery. City Grill, Garrets, LaJolla, etc are ok, but "pseudocuisine". This is the real deal. Very thoughtful, crative, delicious, well executed menu. Let's see if this town will support it. Ham and High qas great. Featured in Food and Wine. It folded. If A&P social doesn't last there is no hope, from a food standpoint, for this town. It was PHENOMENAL!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were visiting from out of town, great, unique location for Easter Brunch. Food and service were great. The experience was very enjoyable for all in our party.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greg was very good, being the son of a o ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Greg was very good, being the son of a of a mother who was in food service for 51 years I am very well aware of what it takes to being excellent in food service, Greg had all the bases covered. The hardest being able to walk the line of being friendly and knowing when not to be to much of a conversationalist. we really enjoyed himG

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was again delicious! Fish dishes ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Dinner was again delicious! Fish dishes were wonderful and the appetizer and drink selections were great. We had another delightful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful dinner. Good wine. Good food. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Wonderful dinner. Good wine. Good food. Great ambiance. Good service. Smoked oysters were delicious. Fried oysters we perfectly cooked. Fish was fresh. Someone ordered the capellini shrimp dish at our table and raved about it. Another raved about the burger. The bread pudding and brûlée were fantastic. Very nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Favorite neighborhood eatery

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The A & P Social remains my all-around favorite Montgomery restaurant for a number of reasons. It's in my neighborhood and offers an attractive ambiance. Its menu offers a variety of choices but is not overwhelming, and its dishes are easy on the sauce front. The food is always dependably delicious. Service is mostly always good, but we had a bit of unhappiness on the most recent visit when all of our food — salads, soup, appetizer and entrees — were delivered to the table in one fell swoop. Our server was apparently new on the job and didn't understand that ordering the entire meal in one conversation doesn't mean that all of it is wanted at once.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Disapointed

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

On line menu was not available. Called but no one answered or returned my call. Very bad waiter. Ordered a drink during the meal and it arrived after asking about it twice. Then got charged for it twice. They have changed chiefs and they have crashed into the ground. Will not be spending my money there anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

It seemed they overbooked brunch reserva ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

It seemed they overbooked brunch reservations due to a few large groups taking up most of the dining room, so our party of 3 was told it would be a "while." Brunch menu has nice variety, flavor of food was good but portions were on the small side for the price. Server was just okay. We had to track her down several times after waiting several minutes with empty glasses, she would acknowledge we asked for something but still walked by without assistance. Overall

Experience: just Okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Glad we arrived early

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We made a reservation for Sunday brunch and arrived a little early for our reservation. We waited at the bar until our table was ready. The bar area is TOO crowded. We had to pull out the stool to be able to squeeze in to sit down. When the bartender realized that we were not going to dine at the bar he went to another customer. He did not offer a beverage list. We were not offered a menu when we arrived.

The food was great. I would recommend the restaurant for the food but the atmosphere is somewhat pretentious. The service was only ok. We had to ask for a dessert menu. The waiter was surprised that we wanted dessert. My husband ordered a white zinfandel. The order was placed but the waiter came back to let him know that it was not available by the glass. This is a pretty common wine so we were surprised that we couldn't get just a glass.

It was very busy and they were short staffed. We had eaten here in August and chose to come back because of the menu but the brunch menu was not as wonderful as we expected. Again, it was OK. However, the food was delicious so we probably will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Understand there was a menu change and it was limited and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

The crew at A&P are amazing and go well ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The crew at A&P are amazing and go well over the top with their customer service. The restaurant atmosphere is great and the food is always excellent. A&P is hands down my favorite restaurant in Montgomery!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good choice for Valentine's day.

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We chose to visit Montgomery for Valentine's weekend, and likewise chose A&P Social for dinner. The set menu included wine flight, and several different stages of the menu. I had the Lamb, and thought it was incredible. Great atmosphere, good for the foodie or hipster. I was also rather impressed by their beer list. Quality typically beats quantity, and a smaller list of incredible beers did the trick. I loved that they included Grand Rapid's Founders on the beer menu. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointing Sunday brunch

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food did not live up to my expectations at all. I ordered the chicken and waffles. The one tiny waffle was the size of an eggo waffle, and the chicken breast was very small and KFC caliber. The side was "watermelon" which consisted of 3 bite-sized portions. It was not worth the money. I left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Big disappointment!

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

For a special valentine date, the food for the price was a terrible value. Also, for an upscale establishment, the wait staff needs some basic training.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Food was very bland. Very loud. Server ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Food was very bland. Very loud. Server was not knowledgable about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.