About The A&P Social

503 Cloverdale Road
Montgomery, AL 36106
View Larger Map

The A&P Social: comfortable, fine Southern dining in a welcoming, neighborhood space.

The A&P Social takes inspiration from Montgomery’s history, updating classics like pimento cheese, deviled eggs, fried chicken, and collard greens. The A&P Social looked to our Gulf Coast - to Alabama fishermen - to find shrimp, oysters, snapper, tuna, grouper, and crab. The A&P Social looked to the Black Belt - to our region’s farmers - for the freshest, highest-quality meats and produce. It’s a place where you can celebrate a special occasion or grab a beer on a Tuesday with friends. It's a Southern kitchen with quality, seasonal food and a Southern charm. Pull up a seat.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, European

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Tuesday - Friday (Bar Open Only) 4:30 - 6:30
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 11:00 am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Cloverdale Road and Graham Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 356-3814

Website:
http://www.theapsocial.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Randal Gresham, Jr.

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s a party for 10 or 150, we excel at hosting private events with special attention to our guests wishes. With a lively front bar area, large areas of the main dining room which can be sectioned off, private events room, or reservation of the full restaurant, we can accommodate the event of your choosing. From weddings and large events in The A&P Courtyard to a special evening with friends, we look forward to serving you.

To book your next private event please contact us at 334.356.3814.

Private Party Contact:
Taylor Hardy: (334) 356-3814

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Birthday Parties, Showers, Corporate Events and much more.

Restaurant Photos

  • The A&P Social, Montgomery, AL

Report a photo problem

The A&P Social Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Cozy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Romantic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great brunch! Always a great ex ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great brunch! Always a great experience at the A&P Social!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, and I will go ag ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was delicious, and I will go again. That said, our server was unprofessional and socially inappropriate to an extraordinary degree. I didn't catch his name because he didn't introduce himself, but he did extensively trash talk Randy Gresham, the chef who just left, and who happens to be a personal friend of everyone at my table. (None of us mentioned this because it was too awkward after he detailed his many reasons for detesting Randy.) He also mocked the wife of a previous owner or manager, Ms. True, and insulted Central, one of A & P's competitors where he apparently worked briefly after Randy let him go. After that, he offered his opinions about Donald Trump. In between, he failed to clear our plates after we finished our appetizers and also declined to refill water for half the table. His chatter took up a lot of time during a special occasion dinner. It was unwelcome and inappropriate. He did not make up for it by providing good service. I will return, but I sincerely hope to get a different server (or see him gone) in the future, as this was the second A&P meal he disrupted with his bizarre behavior. I have young children and almost never get to go out, so service like this is extremely unwelcome on the rare occasions when I do.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Great find. Service, food and ambian ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great find. Service, food and ambiance was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent New Year dinner. We did the pr ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent New Year dinner. We did the pris fixe menu and everything was perfect including the wine pairings. You can't go wrong with dinner at A & P Social!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food and atmosphere! Server w ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere! Server was extremely knowledgeable on food and beverage. This restaurant has a cozy, friendly feel with very creative yet recognizable cuisine that caters to everyone's palate. Highly recommend the side dishes. They are not to be overlooked in the least. Sides are served in very large serving dishes with enough to share!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. They also had an ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food and service. They also had an impressive wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Coming unto town on business looked up r ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Coming unto town on business looked up restaurants and found the social club based on reviews. We were so delighted with the neighborhood and ambiance. The food and wine were fabulous. Just the best.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter needs training not you serve ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our waiter needs training not you serve women first not men and you make eye contact with all guest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great place for a family brunch. Wait st ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great place for a family brunch. Wait staff was very knowledgeable and willing to share their love of food while helping us explore the great seasonal offerings!!!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice cocktails, good wine options, food ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice cocktails, good wine options, food was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good. The desserts were how ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was good. The desserts were however underwhelming.

Our waiter was nice but not really knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall, our most recent A&P Social expe ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Overall, our most recent A&P Social experience was quite pleasant. Our charred okra appetizer was spectacularly good, a "platonic" dish, as renowned New Orleans restaurant critic Richard Collin would have said. The artisanal-greens salad was also excellent. My shrimp spaghetti was good, but not knock-you-over. The oysters on an oyster poboy were nicely fried and tasty, but the sandwich came with its top bun cold — not just unwarm, but refrigerator-cold. Our server was lovely, and she handled her job with aplomb.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Tasty, creative food and outstanding ser ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Tasty, creative food and outstanding service. The chicken mole served with mustard greens is typical of their innovative approach to food. It was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Throughout its various incarnations, thi ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Throughout its various incarnations, this restaurant's dining space has remained a favorite, and I always look forward to being there. Its food has had its ups and downs since the doors opened. As A&P Social under Randal Gresham, it is mostly good, though rarely excellent, and sometimes simply mediocre. The seafood court-bouillon served recently was an improvement over a version served there some months ago but still not as good as Jubilee's seafood stew. While it tasted fresh and its seafood was nicely cooked, it had a bit of unsavory fishy aroma. The inclusion of sweet potatoes and greens was a plus. The Caesar salad served at this sitting lacked flavor. Service was friendly and prompt. I'll definitely keep returning in hopes the food keeps improving.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Took three customers and had a good even ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

Took three customers and had a good evening. Only opportunity, one of our party did not get food with rest of us. Waiter said it would be right out, took several minutes. Had to ask hostess to look into it, finally got the meal.

Ordered our meals, we wanted some changes to the side dishes, waiter came back to table, interrupted conversation to tell us there would be a slight us charge for the meal. Not a problem, should point that out when we ordered.

Food was good, desserts were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Our dinner was outstanding I had the be ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our dinner was outstanding I had the beef short ribs which were perfect and my husband had the fish special of the night and it was superb! We sat outside as it was perfect weather and our server was Jerry and I highly recommend asking for him as he was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant for delicious seasonal ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great restaurant for delicious seasonal food - unique and comfortable at the same time. Fish specials (snapper and oysters) and local produce are standouts. Friendly service with helpful recommendations. Wine list is extensive. Neighborhood location that is beautiful - worth the time to explore this area. Try to get an outside table - great sidewalk dining.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took several customers to dinner, it wen ...

 
·Dined on September 27, 2016

Took several customers to dinner, it went really well! Server was attentive, food was really good. We ate family style, shared entrees all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I think their A/C was out, it was hot, t ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I think their A/C was out, it was hot, they had a couple of fans blowing, but it did not help much. They did not offer to discount the >$100 bill, which I thought would have been a nice gesture considering my wife and I were both sweating.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Wonderful dinner and atmosphere! A great ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful dinner and atmosphere! A great find for us who came from a city of hip new restaurants! Service was attentive and we never felt rushed. A date night to remember, we can't wait to return! Definitely worth the drive from Prattville!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very prompt and friendly ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The service was very prompt and friendly. The food was excellent and well prepared. The appetizer was amazing. But it's the location and ambiance that sets it apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for pasta night and absolutely l ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We went for pasta night and absolutely loved the spinach spaghetti with crab, shrimp, and lobster! Such a great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here, it was for ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was our first time here, it was for my daughters birthday and she loves a classy brunch and it was perfect. We all enjoyed our selections and will definitely return

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great meal and the service was fri ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Had a great meal and the service was friendly and helpful. We sat outside, which was nice since the weather was pretty pleasant in the evening. Can't vouch for inside, but outside was a great option. Apps were a little on pricey side, but oysters were absolutely delicious, as were okra and croquettes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eric was an amazing server! Absolutely l ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Eric was an amazing server! Absolutely love brunch at A&P!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I will admit that we have not always had ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I will admit that we have not always had the best experience with the food here and it is not generally our first pick. We were too late to get a reservation anywhere else so we went to A&P. I'm glad we did. I had the poached shrimp in tomato sauce and my husband had a salad and pork chop. Both were very good. I fact it was the best meal we have eaten at A&P. Service has always been good-glad to see that the food is keeping pace.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love everything about this place!!

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love everything about this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely loved my dining experience! ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I absolutely loved my dining experience! I went to A&P with 4 other coworkers from New York City, and they said A&P was one of the absolute best places they had tried in Montgomery. Great service, food, and atmosphere! Josie was an amazing server! She was knowledgeable and polite. Would love to sit with her again! Also loved the manager, Taylor. He was attentive to our needs and helped in some wine selections! Definitely want to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great find,, The food was exc ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was a great find,, The food was excellent, the chargrilled oysters were a delight to say the least. It was one of the few times were we literally cleaned the plates. Loved it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our farm green salad and "The Garden" we ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Our farm green salad and "The Garden" were excellent starters. I was especially pleased with the quality of my salad, very young salad greens with a perfect vinaigrette. The amberjack, fish of the day, was excellent, served with a very good Bavarian potato salad. The eggplant puree underneath was not a plus: little flavor and an unappetizing color accompaniment. A puree of fresh peas would have provided a fresh, green accent. But no complaints: I was happy with our meal and look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Chef Randal cooked an amazing meal. It w ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Chef Randal cooked an amazing meal. It was honestly the best I've had in a long time. The wine list was extensive and apparently changes frequently. They have so much more than wine to drink and all the appetizers, main course meals, and desserts were not only unique but made with local ingredients so it was fresh and delicious. Our waiter, Tyler I believe, was a blessing to have. He and everyone else working there worked together to bring food out together and drinks replenished right on time. Simply awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The A&P Social Club is a little out of t ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The A&P Social Club is a little out of the way but well worth the trip! It's in an upscale area called Cloverdale and there are other shops and restaurants in the area. The restaurant is beautiful and the food is excellent. They also have a very, very nice wine list. Everyone loved their meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter took a long time to get to our ta ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Waiter took a long time to get to our table after we were seated, but after that, the service was prompt. The brunch meal was wonderful, but the Lane cake didn't resemble any Lane cake I had ever seen. It was disappointing.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I have dined at A&P Social several times ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I have dined at A&P Social several times. It seems the portion size is getting smaller and the prices are going up. After my $50 meal I was tempted to go someplace else and get another dinner, as were the people I was with. The food and the service were absolutely fantastic, but you should not still be that hungry after an appetizer and a main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were greeted warmly and promptly seat ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were greeted warmly and promptly seated. The server was not knowledgeable about the menu, or wine selection. When I asked for a bottle of Pelligrino, he didn't know they didn't have it. The food was mediocre. Its appearance was good, but the risotto and bouillabaisse were both bland leaving us wanting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

The food here is always good to excellen ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food here is always good to excellent. Our server Travis was the icing on the cake. Thanks for a lovely evening.

Deb & Jim

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We always enjoy dining at A&P Social but ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We always enjoy dining at A&P Social but thought its newest incarnation of the farm greens salad (ordered with oysters) was a bit too minimalist. It was good, but just not quite enough. And I'd like to see a lemon or some other vinaigrette in place of the sweet tea one currently in use. Otherwise, it was a most pleasant brunch, with perfect service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved A&P! I live in the foodie city of ...

 
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Loved A&P! I live in the foodie city of Bham now, but add former NYC resident to the mix and understand when I say 'amazing!' to what it is that I compare it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best Restaurant in Montgomery by far!

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was so impressed with this place. The food was absolutely amazing! The chef even came out and said hello to the guests at one point. The entire staff was friendly and helpful to each other. The space is beautiful and open feeling with great southern chic décor. The food came out quickly and everything was just as we asked it to be. My 3 year old daughter enjoyed it as well and they made her feel very comfortable. The service was awesome and our waitress, Josie was the best! Delicious cocktails and superb brunch. Can't wait to go back for dinner one day. Best restaurant in Montgomery by far!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Great Discovery

 
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I had an early dinner en route to the Alabama Shakespeare Festival. We were so happy with A&P Social. My wife had salmon and I the filet. Both were delicious. Perhaps our server wan't the most fluent about the menu, but she was friendly and attentive. We dined outside and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.