About The A&P Social

503 Cloverdale Road
Montgomery, AL 36106
View Larger Map

The A&P Social: comfortable, fine Southern dining in a welcoming, neighborhood space.

The A&P Social takes inspiration from Montgomery’s history, updating classics like pimento cheese, deviled eggs, fried chicken, and collard greens. The A&P Social looked to our Gulf Coast - to Alabama fishermen - to find shrimp, oysters, snapper, tuna, grouper, and crab. The A&P Social looked to the Black Belt - to our region’s farmers - for the freshest, highest-quality meats and produce. It’s a place where you can celebrate a special occasion or grab a beer on a Tuesday with friends. It's a Southern kitchen with quality, seasonal food and a Southern charm. Pull up a seat.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, European

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Tuesday - Friday (Bar Open Only) 4:30 - 6:30
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 11:00 am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Cloverdale Road and Graham Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 356-3814

Website:
http://www.theapsocial.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Randal Gresham, Jr.

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s a party for 10 or 150, we excel at hosting private events with special attention to our guests wishes. With a lively front bar area, large areas of the main dining room which can be sectioned off, private events room, or reservation of the full restaurant, we can accommodate the event of your choosing. From weddings and large events in The A&P Courtyard to a special evening with friends, we look forward to serving you.

To book your next private event please contact us at 334.356.3814.

Private Party Contact:
Taylor Hardy: 334-356-3814 x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Birthday Parties, Showers, Corporate Events and much more.

Restaurant Photos

  • The A&P Social, Montgomery, AL
The A&P Social, Montgomery, AL

The A&P Social Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Alabama
Best Restaurants in Montgomery ›

Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Romantic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (4)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter needs training not you serve ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

Our waiter needs training not you serve women first not men and you make eye contact with all guest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great place for a family brunch. Wait st ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great place for a family brunch. Wait staff was very knowledgeable and willing to share their love of food while helping us explore the great seasonal offerings!!!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice cocktails, good wine options, food ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice cocktails, good wine options, food was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good. The desserts were how ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was good. The desserts were however underwhelming.

Our waiter was nice but not really knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall, our most recent A&P Social expe ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Overall, our most recent A&P Social experience was quite pleasant. Our charred okra appetizer was spectacularly good, a "platonic" dish, as renowned New Orleans restaurant critic Richard Collin would have said. The artisanal-greens salad was also excellent. My shrimp spaghetti was good, but not knock-you-over. The oysters on an oyster poboy were nicely fried and tasty, but the sandwich came with its top bun cold — not just unwarm, but refrigerator-cold. Our server was lovely, and she handled her job with aplomb.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Tasty, creative food and outstanding ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Tasty, creative food and outstanding service. The chicken mole served with mustard greens is typical of their innovative approach to food. It was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Throughout its various incarnations, thi ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Throughout its various incarnations, this restaurant's dining space has remained a favorite, and I always look forward to being there. Its food has had its ups and downs since the doors opened. As A&P Social under Randal Gresham, it is mostly good, though rarely excellent, and sometimes simply mediocre. The seafood court-bouillon served recently was an improvement over a version served there some months ago but still not as good as Jubilee's seafood stew. While it tasted fresh and its seafood was nicely cooked, it had a bit of unsavory fishy aroma. The inclusion of sweet potatoes and greens was a plus. The Caesar salad served at this sitting lacked flavor. Service was friendly and prompt. I'll definitely keep returning in hopes the food keeps improving.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Took three customers and had a good even ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Took three customers and had a good evening. Only opportunity, one of our party did not get food with rest of us. Waiter said it would be right out, took several minutes. Had to ask hostess to look into it, finally got the meal.

Ordered our meals, we wanted some changes to the side dishes, waiter came back to table, interrupted conversation to tell us there would be a slight us charge for the meal. Not a problem, should point that out when we ordered.

Food was good, desserts were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Our dinner was outstanding I had the be ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our dinner was outstanding I had the beef short ribs which were perfect and my husband had the fish special of the night and it was superb! We sat outside as it was perfect weather and our server was Jerry and I highly recommend asking for him as he was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant for delicious seasonal ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great restaurant for delicious seasonal food - unique and comfortable at the same time. Fish specials (snapper and oysters) and local produce are standouts. Friendly service with helpful recommendations. Wine list is extensive. Neighborhood location that is beautiful - worth the time to explore this area. Try to get an outside table - great sidewalk dining.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took several customers to dinner, it wen ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Took several customers to dinner, it went really well! Server was attentive, food was really good. We ate family style, shared entrees all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I think their A/C was out, it was hot, t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I think their A/C was out, it was hot, they had a couple of fans blowing, but it did not help much. They did not offer to discount the >$100 bill, which I thought would have been a nice gesture considering my wife and I were both sweating.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Wonderful dinner and atmosphere! A great ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful dinner and atmosphere! A great find for us who came from a city of hip new restaurants! Service was attentive and we never felt rushed. A date night to remember, we can't wait to return! Definitely worth the drive from Prattville!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very prompt and friendly ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The service was very prompt and friendly. The food was excellent and well prepared. The appetizer was amazing. But it's the location and ambiance that sets it apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for pasta night and absolutely l ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We went for pasta night and absolutely loved the spinach spaghetti with crab, shrimp, and lobster! Such a great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here, it was for ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was our first time here, it was for my daughters birthday and she loves a classy brunch and it was perfect. We all enjoyed our selections and will definitely return

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great meal and the service was fri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Had a great meal and the service was friendly and helpful. We sat outside, which was nice since the weather was pretty pleasant in the evening. Can't vouch for inside, but outside was a great option. Apps were a little on pricey side, but oysters were absolutely delicious, as were okra and croquettes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eric was an amazing server! Absolutely l ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Eric was an amazing server! Absolutely love brunch at A&P!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I will admit that we have not always had ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I will admit that we have not always had the best experience with the food here and it is not generally our first pick. We were too late to get a reservation anywhere else so we went to A&P. I'm glad we did. I had the poached shrimp in tomato sauce and my husband had a salad and pork chop. Both were very good. I fact it was the best meal we have eaten at A&P. Service has always been good-glad to see that the food is keeping pace.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love everything about this place!!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love everything about this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely loved my dining experience! ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 4, 2016

I absolutely loved my dining experience! I went to A&P with 4 other coworkers from New York City, and they said A&P was one of the absolute best places they had tried in Montgomery. Great service, food, and atmosphere! Josie was an amazing server! She was knowledgeable and polite. Would love to sit with her again! Also loved the manager, Taylor. He was attentive to our needs and helped in some wine selections! Definitely want to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great find,, The food was exc ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was a great find,, The food was excellent, the chargrilled oysters were a delight to say the least. It was one of the few times were we literally cleaned the plates. Loved it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our farm green salad and "The Garden" we ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Our farm green salad and "The Garden" were excellent starters. I was especially pleased with the quality of my salad, very young salad greens with a perfect vinaigrette. The amberjack, fish of the day, was excellent, served with a very good Bavarian potato salad. The eggplant puree underneath was not a plus: little flavor and an unappetizing color accompaniment. A puree of fresh peas would have provided a fresh, green accent. But no complaints: I was happy with our meal and look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Chef Randal cooked an amazing meal. It w ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Chef Randal cooked an amazing meal. It was honestly the best I've had in a long time. The wine list was extensive and apparently changes frequently. They have so much more than wine to drink and all the appetizers, main course meals, and desserts were not only unique but made with local ingredients so it was fresh and delicious. Our waiter, Tyler I believe, was a blessing to have. He and everyone else working there worked together to bring food out together and drinks replenished right on time. Simply awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The A&P Social Club is a little out of t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The A&P Social Club is a little out of the way but well worth the trip! It's in an upscale area called Cloverdale and there are other shops and restaurants in the area. The restaurant is beautiful and the food is excellent. They also have a very, very nice wine list. Everyone loved their meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter took a long time to get to our ta ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Waiter took a long time to get to our table after we were seated, but after that, the service was prompt. The brunch meal was wonderful, but the Lane cake didn't resemble any Lane cake I had ever seen. It was disappointing.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I have dined at A&P Social several times ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 13, 2016

I have dined at A&P Social several times. It seems the portion size is getting smaller and the prices are going up. After my $50 meal I was tempted to go someplace else and get another dinner, as were the people I was with. The food and the service were absolutely fantastic, but you should not still be that hungry after an appetizer and a main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were greeted warmly and promptly seat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were greeted warmly and promptly seated. The server was not knowledgeable about the menu, or wine selection. When I asked for a bottle of Pelligrino, he didn't know they didn't have it. The food was mediocre. Its appearance was good, but the risotto and bouillabaisse were both bland leaving us wanting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

The food here is always good to excellen ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food here is always good to excellent. Our server Travis was the icing on the cake. Thanks for a lovely evening.

Deb & Jim

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We always enjoy dining at A&P Social but ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We always enjoy dining at A&P Social but thought its newest incarnation of the farm greens salad (ordered with oysters) was a bit too minimalist. It was good, but just not quite enough. And I'd like to see a lemon or some other vinaigrette in place of the sweet tea one currently in use. Otherwise, it was a most pleasant brunch, with perfect service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved A&P! I live in the foodie city of ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Loved A&P! I live in the foodie city of Bham now, but add former NYC resident to the mix and understand when I say 'amazing!' to what it is that I compare it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best Restaurant in Montgomery by far!

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was so impressed with this place. The food was absolutely amazing! The chef even came out and said hello to the guests at one point. The entire staff was friendly and helpful to each other. The space is beautiful and open feeling with great southern chic décor. The food came out quickly and everything was just as we asked it to be. My 3 year old daughter enjoyed it as well and they made her feel very comfortable. The service was awesome and our waitress, Josie was the best! Delicious cocktails and superb brunch. Can't wait to go back for dinner one day. Best restaurant in Montgomery by far!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Great Discovery

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I had an early dinner en route to the Alabama Shakespeare Festival. We were so happy with A&P Social. My wife had salmon and I the filet. Both were delicious. Perhaps our server wan't the most fluent about the menu, but she was friendly and attentive. We dined outside and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Underwhelming

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overpriced is the word that comes to mind the most. The yellow snapper was good but the effort of eating it while digging for bites without bones in them detracts from the enjoyment. The bouillabaisse was delicious but not very filling. The beignets were good but the buttermilk ice cream (read: sour ice cream) was not a good combination. Not remotely sweet enough as a whole to be considered a dessert. We left underwhelmed. Maybe there are better entrees that we did not order but based on our first experience, it wasn't really worth the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Terrific dining

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 4, 2016

My husband and I dined a few evenings ago and loved everything. A god friend had told us this was their new favorite dining spot. We'd had Sunday brunch several weeks ago and it was fabulous and fun (maybe ? only brunch available downtown). While brunch was a great social event with excellent food to boot, nighttime ambiance was romantic and easy. It's a very pretty dining space, chic, rustically modern. The outdoor dining is already luring us back soon. Try marinated olives with smoked pecans-they are addicting. We also tried the Swedish meatballs-so yummy. The filet and snapper were both perfectly prepared. Recommended wine pairing was spot on. Service was terrific-not too little, not too much. We highly recommend A&P equally to locals and out of towners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2016

I found it when I Googled "fine dining". I went to dinner with collegue. The menu was impressive.

Scott our waiter was great and the Mixologist on staff was awesome.

Food is delish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best burger I may have ever eaten! W ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2016

The best burger I may have ever eaten! Wow! You gotta try it!

Great brunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Awesome in the Gump!!...Finally

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 15, 2016

OK, its been a while since we had CUISINE in Montgomery. City Grill, Garrets, LaJolla, etc are ok, but "pseudocuisine". This is the real deal. Very thoughtful, crative, delicious, well executed menu. Let's see if this town will support it. Ham and High qas great. Featured in Food and Wine. It folded. If A&P social doesn't last there is no hope, from a food standpoint, for this town. It was PHENOMENAL!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were visiting from out of town, great, unique location for Easter Brunch. Food and service were great. The experience was very enjoyable for all in our party.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greg was very good, being the son of a o ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Greg was very good, being the son of a of a mother who was in food service for 51 years I am very well aware of what it takes to being excellent in food service, Greg had all the bases covered. The hardest being able to walk the line of being friendly and knowing when not to be to much of a conversationalist. we really enjoyed himG

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.