About The 9th Door - Downtown

1808 Blake Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

The 9th Door is the premier Spanish tapas bar and restaurant located in LoDo, the heart of Denver, Colorado.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 9:30pm, Friday and Saturday 5-11:00pm, and Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm.
Bar remains open until 1:30am Friday and Saturday.

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 292-2229

Website:
http://www.the9thdoor.com/index_downtown.html

Parking Details:
18th and Blake Street. We are located a few blocks from the Union Train Station.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The 9th Door - Downtown, Denver, CO
  • The 9th Door - Downtown, Denver, CO
The 9th Door - Downtown, Denver, CO
The 9th Door - Downtown, Denver, CO

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

In lieu of our tapas menu, the chef has prepared a special New Year's Eve social dinner. The menu selections will be served tapas style for everyone at the at the table to share. The holiday dinner is priced at $65 per person. There will be champagne and bottle specials for the later seatings.

Private Dining

The 9th Door would be delighted to host your Holiday Party. We have many options for most group sizes. Call today to reserve your party while prime dates are still available.

The 9th Door - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (34)
Romantic (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fun (14)
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Cozy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Business Meals (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Casual (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice and would recommend. Service w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice and would recommend. Service was spot on and the best part of the night . Ambiance very good but tables are quite close together for the most part, you better be comfortable around others at dinner. Food is good with some great sprinkled in. Like the small plates idea (again better be comfortable with sharing but was grand with us) and price was more than fair to me.

75/ per person with two bottles of wine for table is not that bad for a downtown restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and great service, a perfec ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and great service, a perfect date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find in downtown Denver. Nothing ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great find in downtown Denver. Nothing beats a good quality Spanish gin and tonic.

We had a variety of tapas and drinks, all were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, good service. Liked the veget ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good food, good service. Liked the vegetarian choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Food was also very g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent service. Food was also very good as there was a lot of variety. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The 9th Door is one of my favorite place ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The 9th Door is one of my favorite places to eat downtown Denver. The food is very flavorful and the presentations are divine. I tried the new trout dish and that was the best trout I have had! Definitely recommend that along with the meat and cheese plate, lamb chop lollipops, and the pears. All wonderful dishes and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Loved the spanish gin a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Delicious food. Loved the spanish gin and tonic. Overall a wonderful meal. Will be back

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love our time at 9th Door! It' ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We always love our time at 9th Door! It's a restaurant we come back to again and again, the happy hour is wonderful, the ambiance upbeat, and the servers are always knowledgable and point us in the right direction! Not to mention, their sangria is divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent creative and delicious tapas s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent creative and delicious tapas served by friendly and attentive staff! We loved the Spanish music and cozy ambiance. This place gets hopping so make a reservation so you don't miss out. A classy hot spot setting offers a menu of marvelous tapas, cocktails, wine and beer!! We enjoyed tasting the creative talents of the new menu and came back for more during our weekend stay! We had a birthday celebration for our second visit seated in one of the private booths. Cream brûlée to die for! The chef and sous chef pay particular attention to every detail and we enjoyed every bite. You will love this place - awesome to visit before heading over to catch an AVS or Broncos game. We can't wait to come back!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tapas, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites. Always a special t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 18, 2016

One of our favorites. Always a special time.The food and wine exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I went for dinner with my boyfriend and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I went for dinner with my boyfriend and we had an amazing time. The staff was nice and the food came quickly since it was tapas. The food reminded me of my trip to Spain so I definitely recommend it if you want a little taste of Spanish food. The wine list isn't big but the few they have are delicious. You have a few bars on the same street if You ever want to go for an after dinner drink. Larimer square is also not far ! Great place and ambiance!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Tapas, Late-night Find, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere and fun central loc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere and fun central location. Rating the value lower because portion sizes were skimpy. My friends left feeling hungry even though we spent about $40pp. The food was all good, and some dishes were really good. Wines by the glass were also a little expensive with pours slightly on the small side. Overall a lot of fun and nice service though.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The sangria and tapas were awesome. Our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The sangria and tapas were awesome. Our favorites were the fried goat cheese with honey, the lamb lollipops, and the beef filet. The lemon flan was amazing as well. Our server was great. Very knowledgeable and quick.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great- best tapas I have had in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food was great- best tapas I have had in a while and the server was very knowledgeable about Spanish cuisine. We came with a Spanish friend who did all the ordering and he approved! Everything we ate was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great variety of unusual tapas, all of w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great variety of unusual tapas, all of which are excellent. One of Denver' s best restaurants!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved this place. The food was creative ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Loved this place. The food was creative and delicious and the service was first rate. We met friends there and it was the perfect start to the evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was probably my most disappointing ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was probably my most disappointing experience here. I've been on several occasions in the past and this was by far the worst. Almost all the food we ordered hot came out lukewarm. One item was practically frozen in the center . It will probably be awhile before I consider coming back after this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Flavor was excellent. Great customer se ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Flavor was excellent. Great customer service. Enjoyed the ambiance for our double date. But, please. Why are they serving their tapas in THREES! It must be WAY more common to seat parties of 2 or 4. We increased our plates to 4, but it exponentially increased the price.

Still, so yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good Tapas variety, innovative, properly ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Good Tapas variety, innovative, properly spiced. Good service, view of street.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

great small plates. nice atmosphere but ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2016

great small plates. nice atmosphere but a little dark

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere, - little dark at first ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, - little dark at first but I ended up enjoying that. Food was great, drinks were good. Waitor Matthew was pretty good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

ambiance, romantic, good food

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 14, 2016

ambiance, romantic, good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food is delicious and service was gr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is delicious and service was great. I did find the noise level quite loud and at times made conversing with our friends (only 4 in our party) difficult. Both the music and sound level from other patrons made it hard to hear. The cost per plate was also somewhat high for what you got, but I enjoyed the food/tapas so much that Inwould return and would recommend the restaurant to others.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

My wife and I celebrated our 17th weddin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary here. It had good food and a nice feel to it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Tapas! Love the wine selection. Go ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great Tapas! Love the wine selection. Go for happy hour and enjoy the 1/2 price drinks and Tapas.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love going to the 9th door and always ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 29, 2016

We love going to the 9th door and always enjoy the food and service. This time was no different. We brought friends to thank them for a favor they did for us. We tend to always order the same thing, so it was nice to try things our friends wanted to order. We were not disappointed, so now we have even more favorites. Part of the reason we like to go to 9th door is it is great for conversation, as the plates come out as they are prepared. You never end up with too many plates littering the table. A suggestion given by our server was perfect. She said to order about 4 small plates (there were 4 of us) to share with our first glasses of wine, then order when we were done with those and ready to order the additional plates. The servers are really good at suggesting number of plates per table, and offering suggestions. There is a wide variety so there is something for everyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and the ambiance was perfec ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Amazing food and the ambiance was perfect for a date night. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was amazing, the server was extreme ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was amazing, the server was extremely helpful in recommending dishes.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was delicious. Othe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

As always, the food was delicious. Other than what seemed like long time for initial contact by our server, the service was spot on - just the right level of checking in without becoming bothersome. The music playing was loud but that did not inhibit conversation at our table. The cocktails we ordered tasted great and were not shorted alcohol. We left full and happy customers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A solid tapas restaurant. Some of the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2016

A solid tapas restaurant. Some of the dishes were very, very good. Some were just good, which is too be expected. Nothing was bad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

tasty variety of small bites. Good valu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2016

tasty variety of small bites. Good value for the money.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

we have been there many times , always v ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2016

we have been there many times , always very good . A great way to try lots of sifferent types of food , Great bar too, vibrant !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic first experience! Loved every ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fantastic first experience! Loved every tapas plate and we ordered plenty! Jessica took great care of us. The music and ambiance created a perfect date night and we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Food is always great (c ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Love this place. Food is always great (caipirohna perhaps a little less so). Server was so attentive he even got the too-cool vent temperature lowered over our heads.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was excellent except the scal ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Everything was excellent except the scallops were way over done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We decided to go for an early dinner- wh ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We decided to go for an early dinner- which I don't think is the appropriate time to go to this restaurant. It was awkwardly empty with club dubbed 80's music blasting through the place. The overall ambiance was just conflicting, but our waiter was quite attentive, and the food was good. I think all in all, maybe it just wasn't the kind of scene we were looking for that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Incredible food with really unique flavo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Incredible food with really unique flavors and a great ambiance, always love going to the 9th door!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service, delicious food, unique ta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great service, delicious food, unique tapas choices.

Tags: Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Lieu huppé, Une carte des vins remarquable
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They've got a great happy hour with many ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 27, 2016

They've got a great happy hour with many tasty, but inexpensive, tapas. Also, they have both red and white sangria. The white sangria was my favorite. Also some excellent specials of the day. We had a really good paella.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

9th Door at Blake Street is always a gre ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 26, 2016

9th Door at Blake Street is always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.