About The 9th Door - Downtown

1808 Blake Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

The 9th Door is the premier Spanish tapas bar and restaurant located in LoDo, the heart of Denver, Colorado.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday 4:30pm-11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, and Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm.
Bar remains open until 1:30am Friday and Saturday.

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 292-2229

Website:
http://www.the9thdoor.com/index_downtown.html

Parking Details:
18th and Blake Street. We are located a few blocks from the Union Train Station.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • The 9th Door - Downtown
The 9th Door - Downtown

Promotions

Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Sunday Fundays Buy 1 Get 1 Free Drinks

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Sunday Fundays Buy 1 Get 1 Free Drinks

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

The 9th Door - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (35)
romantic (26)
special occasion (24)
See All
good for groups (20)
neighborhood gem (14)
hot spot (13)
notable wine list (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While visiting Denver, we dined at the r ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

While visiting Denver, we dined at the recommendation of a friend from home. Our friend grew up in the Denver area. It is her favorite restaurant. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere, food, and service were outstanding.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great tapas - choices were abundant - se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great tapas - choices were abundant - service was great . . . decent wine list and good advice on our choices - will definitely head there again when we are in town

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Tapas! Would go back anytime - eve ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great Tapas! Would go back anytime - everything was tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The 9th Door is an excellent tapas resta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

The 9th Door is an excellent tapas restaurant with very tasty and unique plates. Everything we ordered was well prepared and flavorful. We will be going back because we were not able to get everything we anted on the menu. Our service was excellent and made sure we were on time to our concert that evening. The risotto & mushroom crouchette and ribs were spectacular. Save room for the lava cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent, lamb skewers not ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was excellent, lamb skewers not so good, the rest of the tapas was very good eg. Paella.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Nice variety of options

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Nice variety of options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This was a fantastic experience. We love ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was a fantastic experience. We loved the decor, the sangria and the Margarita were excellent. The small plates were wonderful, each one more wonderfully flavored than the next.We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was fantastic, but the service ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was fantastic, but the service fell short. The hostess seemed inconvenienced the entire night. The young food runner had his phone out going back and forth to the pass, and when he presented the dishes, he was mumbling, so we couldn't understand what dishes were what. The drinks and food were worth going back for, but I hope the service improves.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Everything was amazing. The food, the se ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was amazing. The food, the service, the drinks, literally everything. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got together with some friends here f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We got together with some friends here for dinner. As is prone to happen at any tapas place we lost track of how many small plates (and drinks) we were ordering so there was a little sticker shock when we got our check. Overall though it was worth it for a nice dinner out. Everything was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Our waitress, Jessica, took exceptional ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our waitress, Jessica, took exceptional care of our group- as we were celebrating my fiance's 40th birthday. The restaurant was very understanding of our ever moving reservation time due to being held up by weather and our previous activity of bar crawling on a group pedal bike. The food was delicious and with 6 "foodies" - exceeded all of our expectations. Thank you for making it a wonderful and memorable night for all of us!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! We had a big family d ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent service! We had a big family dinner here and it was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting tapas

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was a good find on Open Table. Good location in lower downtown Denver. The selection of tapas on the menu was interesting. The goat cheese stuffed pequin peppers were excellent as was the flash fried avocado. The service was great and the food came out very quickly.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and good tapas. The best d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great service and good tapas. The best dish is the paella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

food is great, skip the sangria

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was wonderful and there were no misses. The sangria was a big disappointing, it tasted like watered down fruit juice - for the price we should have sent it back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Worst paella and tapas I've ever had.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I have had some good tapas in Atlanta (Gypsy Kitchen), New York, and Chicago, I'm afraid 9th Door is the worst tapas I've ever had. There was absolutely no substance to the paella and other food. The paella was greasy and barely eatable unless if you want to succumb to a cholesterol shock. Service was not good. I'm not going back!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Perfect for special occasion or dare night

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great ambiance, better for smaller groups or dates. Great small plates, good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good dinner. Lots of excellent dish ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very good dinner. Lots of excellent dishes, and none that were bad. Total bill was not cheap but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great!!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I came here to celebrate our anniversary and had a very enjoyable experience. The Tapas selection was great and very diverse. The only down-side is that our server did not explain how many we should order for the table (where as other Tapas places will normally give you a recommendation). Overall the food was great and the atmosphere was fun and vibrant, will definitely visit again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We waited a very long time and we receiv ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We waited a very long time and we received one of the 8 things we ordered. It wasn't very good. The people on both sides of us were getting served though they came in after us. Wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Was Okay

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was decent to good but portions are very small. Very nice ambiance for an intimate experience, and a good location. Service was poor. Hope it will improve.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Hip & romantic

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Hip vibe, fun and flavorful tapas, and the best Sangria in the city!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Meal in Denver

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

As a meat lover on a low-carb meal plan, this place was perfect in every way! They had delicious food! The portions were on the smaller side so I was able to sample many different foods. Would definitely come here every time I'm in Denver.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is delicious, with an excellent ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is delicious, with an excellent selection of wine and spirits

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great date night.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Fun date night. 6:45 reservation on a Friday night. The music was really loud it seemed for how early in the night it was, but it was good music so that's ok. Server was awesome, I don't remember his name. Food was really good. We started with a pitcher of the white sangria, which I wouldn't recommend. I love sangria, but this was more of a white wine spritzer. Scallop dish was amazing, as was Paella (sp?).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing Food!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The 9th Door has such yummy food, and a great wine selection! It's one of my favorite restaurants to eat at!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love 9th Door!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We're eaten here a couple times before and loved it. Decided to go back for our anniversary and were not disappointed in the least. The food, drink, ambience, and service were as good as ever! Would definitely recommend and have recommended 9th Door to friends! Thanks for helping to make our special day special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A new favorite!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Took the hubby out for date night and was semi-worried, as he is a very picky eater! (We're talking cheese pizza and chicken nuggets as dietary staples...) He loved it! Tried almost everything on the menu and had a great time. Service was quick and wonderful, even during the dinner rush. Plating was beautiful, food was wonderful, and atmosphere was great for date night. If you're looking for an easy, delicious, adventure for dinner, look no further!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We had reservations at 7:30pm on a Saturday night and didn't have nay problems getting this reservation. However, we arrived a little before 7pm not sure if they would let us sit down or not. They accomodated us right away. The service was fast! I think we were done eating by 7:30pm. We were trying to catch a movie so we didn't hang out very long, but you very well could have. Nice atmosphere... and the food was great! I'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good for groups

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

With the small plates it is more social than the average dinner, which I suppose would make it a good date spot as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great date spot!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My girlfriend and I had a great date night here. The wine selection was great and the food was amazing. The service was just as pleasant as the food and the atmosphere is perfect for an intimate date as well as a good night out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Inventive tapas with ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent service. Inventive tapas with layered , well balanced flavors. Lovely wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upscale Spanish Experience

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I lived in Spain and rarely can find good Spanish food in the states. The 9th Door hits the mark. It's a dark, romantic atmosphere and the food is very authentic, if not more upscale than the standard restaurant in Spain. The jamon serrano was fantastic, as were the gambas. Loved the variety and hope to be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Mixed feelings

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

A group of seven of us went here for 5280 for my son's birthday. We sat down in one of the large booths in the back - as soon as we got settled we noticed the music was VERY loud and the speaker was above our booth. It was too late to move so we asked for the music to be turned down. They did - but only a little bit - still too loud which made visiting very difficult. Food was good but hard to do sharing with the 5280 menu we thought. Good service for the most part. Just not over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent selection for restaurant week. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Excellent selection for restaurant week. Loved the ease of gluten free options. Thanks so much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

This was my 1st visit to 9th Door, and I was delighted, especially since I had talked 5 of my friends into trying it for Restaurant Week. The food was excellent and the service superb. Allison, our server, was very accommodating to our group of 6, and friendly to boot. I liked being able to order a flight of dry sherry. The house Tempranillo was surprisingly good. We were fortunate to get a booth that was cozy and quiet. The ambience was very pleasing-low lighting, quiet, we could all hear the conversation-imagine that!

Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, ambiance and service!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Great food, ambiance and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Great food and Happy Hour ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Great service. Great food and Happy Hour White Sangria was not good at all but everything else was great! Awesome Almonds, Lamb and Spaghetti Squash

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

lovely evening with friends

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Lovely evening with friends! We love this restaurant! My only criticism is that we made our reservation for 8 people, and when we arrived the restaurant was quite empty, yet the still squeezed our group into an almost too small booth in the back, this was disappointing considering the larger table available toward the front that was still free when we left 2 hours later.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Sharing tapas with a friend is always fun but when the food and service are this good, it is memorable. The woman taking care of us helped us pace ourselves and made excellent recommendations for what and how much to order. Everything I tried was something I would order again and I found it easy to work around everyone's food restrictions. The restaurant wasn't too loud (a rare find) so we were able to have a conversation! I can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.