About The 9th Door - Downtown

1808 Blake Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

The 9th Door is the premier Spanish tapas bar and restaurant located in LoDo, the heart of Denver, Colorado.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 9:30pm, Friday and Saturday 5-11:00pm, and Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm.
Bar remains open until 1:30am Friday and Saturday.

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 292-2229

Website:
http://www.the9thdoor.com/index_downtown.html

Parking Details:
18th and Blake Street. We are located a few blocks from the Union Train Station.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The 9th Door - Downtown
The 9th Door - Downtown

Specials

50% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Sunday Fundays Buy 1 Get 1 Free Drinks

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Cocktails and Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 5, 2016 - Dec 5, 2016 on Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. VIP Wine Club membership is $9 to join, then ALL wines are half off!. Special valid Aug 1, 2016 - Dec 1, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Sunday Fundays Buy 1 Get 1 Free Drinks

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Must be seated at the bar for this promo. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 24, 2016 - Jan 24, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. VIP Wine Club Membership required-one time fee of $9. Special valid Sep 24, 2016 - Jan 24, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

The 9th Door would be delighted to host your Holiday Party. We have many options for most group sizes. Call today to reserve your party while prime dates are still available.

The 9th Door - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (36)
Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (28)
See All
Good for Groups (21)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Tapas (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere, - little dark at first ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, - little dark at first but I ended up enjoying that. Food was great, drinks were good. Waitor Matthew was pretty good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

ambiance, romantic, good food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

ambiance, romantic, good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food is delicious and service was gr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is delicious and service was great. I did find the noise level quite loud and at times made conversing with our friends (only 4 in our party) difficult. Both the music and sound level from other patrons made it hard to hear. The cost per plate was also somewhat high for what you got, but I enjoyed the food/tapas so much that Inwould return and would recommend the restaurant to others.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

My wife and I celebrated our 17th weddin ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary here. It had good food and a nice feel to it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Tapas! Love the wine selection. Go ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great Tapas! Love the wine selection. Go for happy hour and enjoy the 1/2 price drinks and Tapas.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love going to the 9th door and always ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We love going to the 9th door and always enjoy the food and service. This time was no different. We brought friends to thank them for a favor they did for us. We tend to always order the same thing, so it was nice to try things our friends wanted to order. We were not disappointed, so now we have even more favorites. Part of the reason we like to go to 9th door is it is great for conversation, as the plates come out as they are prepared. You never end up with too many plates littering the table. A suggestion given by our server was perfect. She said to order about 4 small plates (there were 4 of us) to share with our first glasses of wine, then order when we were done with those and ready to order the additional plates. The servers are really good at suggesting number of plates per table, and offering suggestions. There is a wide variety so there is something for everyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and the ambiance was perfec ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Amazing food and the ambiance was perfect for a date night. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was amazing, the server was extreme ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was amazing, the server was extremely helpful in recommending dishes.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was delicious. Othe ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

As always, the food was delicious. Other than what seemed like long time for initial contact by our server, the service was spot on - just the right level of checking in without becoming bothersome. The music playing was loud but that did not inhibit conversation at our table. The cocktails we ordered tasted great and were not shorted alcohol. We left full and happy customers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A solid tapas restaurant. Some of the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

A solid tapas restaurant. Some of the dishes were very, very good. Some were just good, which is too be expected. Nothing was bad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

tasty variety of small bites. Good valu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

tasty variety of small bites. Good value for the money.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

we have been there many times , always v ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

we have been there many times , always very good . A great way to try lots of sifferent types of food , Great bar too, vibrant !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic first experience! Loved every ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fantastic first experience! Loved every tapas plate and we ordered plenty! Jessica took great care of us. The music and ambiance created a perfect date night and we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Food is always great (c ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Love this place. Food is always great (caipirohna perhaps a little less so). Server was so attentive he even got the too-cool vent temperature lowered over our heads.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was excellent except the scal ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Everything was excellent except the scallops were way over done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We decided to go for an early dinner- wh ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We decided to go for an early dinner- which I don't think is the appropriate time to go to this restaurant. It was awkwardly empty with club dubbed 80's music blasting through the place. The overall ambiance was just conflicting, but our waiter was quite attentive, and the food was good. I think all in all, maybe it just wasn't the kind of scene we were looking for that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Incredible food with really unique flavo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Incredible food with really unique flavors and a great ambiance, always love going to the 9th door!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

They've got a great happy hour with many ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

They've got a great happy hour with many tasty, but inexpensive, tapas. Also, they have both red and white sangria. The white sangria was my favorite. Also some excellent specials of the day. We had a really good paella.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

9th Door at Blake Street is always a gre ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

9th Door at Blake Street is always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. Went here for o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was delicious. Went here for our anniversary and notified the restaurant prior but no acknowledgement. Kind of a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Good was amazing!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While other reviewers found the prices t ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

While other reviewers found the prices to be decent, for two people, wine, appetizers, and dinner came out to about $40-$50 per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

My friends and I all loved this place! T ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My friends and I all loved this place! The service was outstanding, we all loved the food and all loved the wine. We like the Spanish decor and the noise level was low enough for us to have a lively conversation without having to SHOUT at each other. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to my friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

While visiting Denver, we dined at the r ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

While visiting Denver, we dined at the recommendation of a friend from home. Our friend grew up in the Denver area. It is her favorite restaurant. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere, food, and service were outstanding.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great tapas - choices were abundant - se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great tapas - choices were abundant - service was great . . . decent wine list and good advice on our choices - will definitely head there again when we are in town

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Tapas! Would go back anytime - eve ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great Tapas! Would go back anytime - everything was tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The 9th Door is an excellent tapas resta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The 9th Door is an excellent tapas restaurant with very tasty and unique plates. Everything we ordered was well prepared and flavorful. We will be going back because we were not able to get everything we anted on the menu. Our service was excellent and made sure we were on time to our concert that evening. The risotto & mushroom crouchette and ribs were spectacular. Save room for the lava cake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent, lamb skewers not ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was excellent, lamb skewers not so good, the rest of the tapas was very good eg. Paella.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Nice variety of options

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Nice variety of options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This was a fantastic experience. We love ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was a fantastic experience. We loved the decor, the sangria and the Margarita were excellent. The small plates were wonderful, each one more wonderfully flavored than the next.We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was fantastic, but the service ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was fantastic, but the service fell short. The hostess seemed inconvenienced the entire night. The young food runner had his phone out going back and forth to the pass, and when he presented the dishes, he was mumbling, so we couldn't understand what dishes were what. The drinks and food were worth going back for, but I hope the service improves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Everything was amazing. The food, the se ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was amazing. The food, the service, the drinks, literally everything. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got together with some friends here f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We got together with some friends here for dinner. As is prone to happen at any tapas place we lost track of how many small plates (and drinks) we were ordering so there was a little sticker shock when we got our check. Overall though it was worth it for a nice dinner out. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Our waitress, Jessica, took exceptional ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our waitress, Jessica, took exceptional care of our group- as we were celebrating my fiance's 40th birthday. The restaurant was very understanding of our ever moving reservation time due to being held up by weather and our previous activity of bar crawling on a group pedal bike. The food was delicious and with 6 "foodies" - exceeded all of our expectations. Thank you for making it a wonderful and memorable night for all of us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! We had a big family d ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent service! We had a big family dinner here and it was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting tapas

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was a good find on Open Table. Good location in lower downtown Denver. The selection of tapas on the menu was interesting. The goat cheese stuffed pequin peppers were excellent as was the flash fried avocado. The service was great and the food came out very quickly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and good tapas. The best d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great service and good tapas. The best dish is the paella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

food is great, skip the sangria

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was wonderful and there were no misses. The sangria was a big disappointing, it tasted like watered down fruit juice - for the price we should have sent it back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Worst paella and tapas I've ever had.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I have had some good tapas in Atlanta (Gypsy Kitchen), New York, and Chicago, I'm afraid 9th Door is the worst tapas I've ever had. There was absolutely no substance to the paella and other food. The paella was greasy and barely eatable unless if you want to succumb to a cholesterol shock. Service was not good. I'm not going back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Neat place. Had a business dinner hear ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Neat place. Had a business dinner hear and it was good with a casual atmosphere. Would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.