About The 9th Door - Beauvallon

925 Lincoln Street
Denver, CO 80203
View Larger Map

On Spain's Costa del Sol, located between Malaga and Marbella, sits a quiet little mountain village called Mijas. During the summer of 1969, after having been made famous by James Michener's novel The Drifters, Mijas had become an expatriate community of writers and poets. On lazy afternoons, these expats would gather at their favorite bar - one without a name, recognizable only by the number nine that was carved into the door. Behind the 9th door, they would imbibe on the local wine and brandy and share the tapas of the house, trading stories and reciting poetry to the local women until the early hours of the morning.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:30pm-9pm
Tuesday: 4:30pm-10pm
Wednesday: 4:30pm-10pm
Thursday:4:30 pm-10pm
Friday: 4:30pm-11pm
Saturday: 5pm-11pm
Sunday: 10:30am-2pm 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
9th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 832-7027

Website:
http://www.the9thdoor.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in the garage. Street parking available also.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

The 9th Door - Beauvallon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (36)
special occasion (29)
romantic (25)
See All
neighborhood gem (19)
good for groups (18)
notable wine list (12)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
91 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We whet to the 9th door for the unlimite ...

Dined 2 days ago

We whet to the 9th door for the unlimited tapas brunch. The choices were very limited and did not reflect the menu online. Service was poor and quite slow. Some of the choices were slightly good but too many contained eggs. Least authentic tapas we have ever experienced.

food4
ambience1
service1

The waiter and service was great however ...

Dined 2 days ago

The waiter and service was great however the food took an extremely long time to come out. We waited 40 minutes to get our first tapas dish (which was only some potatoes,) and after 2.5 hours still did not receive everything we ordered. The bottomless white sangria was delicious however.

food2
ambience2
service1

We came for brunch with two other couple ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

We came for brunch with two other couples. Service was quite poor. Slow and the waitress seemed confused by simple questions about portion size and requests for water refills. We didn't even get all the food we ordered. Food was just ok. Menu was limited, and not really authentic tapas by any means. Disappointed.

food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Too Loud

Dined 5 days ago

I admit that we were the oldest people in the place, but the music was so loud that the other diners had to shout to hear each other and we had to have the waiter (who was very good) repeat what he said...we couldn't hear him. The room is nice looking, but it doesn't have any sound absorbing materials in the design. Don't plan to have a conversation while there. Do go for the food, it is unique, flavorful, priced right and fun non-traditional foods.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a group dinner

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We had a party of 8 people for a work dinner, and everyone really enjoyed it. The service was great, as was the selection of tapas. There were several vegetarian options. I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food but a little pricey

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and service was terrific. But some of the small plates were very small in comparison to the price (artichoke dish comes to mind). So it adds up pretty quickly!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

5th time dining at 9th door and all expe ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

5th time dining at 9th door and all experiences were good. Unfortunately, the service was absolutely terrible in 4/29. We waited so long between getting dishes (small plates so they are served as ready) and our waiter rarely came to check on us. He told us at the end that the kitchen was slammed but he did not even ask us about coffee and dessert. My group of 6 was very disappointed and it showed in our tip. We normally tip very well but just could not bring ourselves to give a good tip. That said, WHEN we did get the food, it was good. I have very mixed feelings about going back again.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic, and the food ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The service was fantastic, and the food matched. Would definitely go back!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Went for my birthday - highly recommend the queso de cabra.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed this restaurant and their happy ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Enjoyed this restaurant and their happy hour menu and prices. Would definitely go back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent meal!

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Second visit here. The food is delicious and the presentation is impressive. Prices are very reasonable.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Lots of discoveries

Dined on March 28, 2016

Two couples went to 9th Door Beauvallon after eating at the LoDo location during restaurant week. Skip the sangria as it was watered down and not worth the $18.50 for a caraffe. Tapas are all splendid and wonderful. The mushroom croquette is the bomb and save room for the figs for desert. The flan is not really lemony or rosemary. Great spot for either a romantic outing or dinner with friends.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a wonderful Easter Brunch at the 9th door. I really like the other location better but this one is nice. Our food was phenomenally delicious and well presented by the kitchen. Our server was pretty average. Not overly friendly, not talkative, pretty uninterested in his tables. I will say the FOH at this location needs some work compared to downtown. Will be back downtown for sure; most likely not at this location again. The food did not disappoint; just ehhhh service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious!

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

We tried quite a variety of tapas/pintxos. Everything was cooked just right and very tasty. Some portions were larger than expected. The Cava Rose special was perfect for us.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service4

Everything was wonderful except the host ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Everything was wonderful except the hostess, who was a man, was speaking very loudly and talking very belligerently. We were the last ones there but thought it was very unprofessional to speak like he was while we were still in the restaurant. But overall great food and our waiter was terrific!

food4
ambience4
service4

So glad they are willing to accommodate ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

So glad they are willing to accommodate weird food allergies of my friends!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great Service

Dined on March 1, 2016

I can only recommend this amazing restaurant. The food is amazing and very authentic. The service and the atmosphere is great allowing for an amazing experience again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Meh.

Dined on March 1, 2016

I had two friends highly recommend 9th door. What we ate was good. But not good enough to tell all my friends about. And if I spend $30 on dinner, I don't want the urge to swing by Wendy's on the way home to creep up. We just weren't full after 3 tapas each. And we're normal sized people. All in all, it was fine. The tapas were better than most, but I was underwhelmed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service1

Brunch was not a good experience. Took 2 ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Brunch was not a good experience. Took 20 minutes till we saw a drink and 35 minutes till we saw our first Tapas. Waited forever for everything. Second round of tapas didn't come until 2 hours in. Food was mediocre. Potatoes were overly spiced. Poached eggs were hard and over cooked. Ambiance was fine but the music playing was deafening, it eventually was lowered to a more acceptable level. Overall, not good. If I want Tapas I'll go to Zengo.

food4
ambience3
service3

Quality tapas (esp. The stuffed peppers ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Quality tapas (esp. The stuffed peppers and fried goat cheese). A little pricy for the overall experience (service was super slow)

food2
ambience3
service4

Overpriced and not really authentic.

Dined on February 20, 2016

Overpriced and not really authentic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, Quaint Neighborhood restaurant/bar!

Dined on February 17, 2016

Love this charming restaurant! It's walking distance from my home, with great appetizers , wine, and cocktails! Reasonable prices too! I will indeed go here again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Love the food!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Really enjoyable authentic tapas, and good wine selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food Review

Dined on February 15, 2016

The Paella was made with a much more tomato flavor than safran flavor. Also, the artichoke tapa did not taste good. Otherwise good service and food.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Terrific Valentines dinner

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Great selection of choices for dinner. We started with thew point noir wine which was 20% off. excellent. The goat cheese in peppers is to die for. I loved the paella. Rylie , our server was a lot of fun. overall fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

can't tell it is gluten free!

Dined on January 30, 2016

SO nice to dine with friends and share food that is gluten free but no one complains! Server helpful with choices and making sure we had the right number of skewers for our party. wine flights were great and the parking was perfect. parked there, walked to art museum and then had delightful dinner. we'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A surprising find

Dined on January 20, 2016

We selected this restaurant because they were offering 1,000-point tables, but it was well worth it even without that incentive. We arrived at 6 pm (when the parking meters become free), which left an hour of Happy Hour. The two of us ordered some Happy Hour wine and four Happy Hour tapas. The portions are small, but there's enough for two to share and taste the excellently prepared items. So we ordered a couple more HH plates and a couple off the full menu (and more HH wine). That turned out to be enough to make a very good and varied meal. The calimari were among the best we've ever had, with three great dipping sauces, and a HH portion of mussels is plenty for two. The service was excellent -- attentive but not intrusive, and the food arrived promptly. Our only regrets were that we didn't get a chance to try more of the small plates on the menu, and that we didn't have enough room for dessert and a glass of sherry afterwards. That means we'll have to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on January 16, 2016

We had a great time! Thank you for the service and great small plates/tapas.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Great Happy Hour!

vip
Dined on January 7, 2016

I highly recommend the 9th Door at the Beauvallon! The staff is really nice, great ambiance, and the happy hour doesn't get any better! If you live in the neighborhood, make it your new 'spot'!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The menu for New Year's Eve was advertis ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The menu for New Year's Eve was advertised at $45.00 per person. It was quite disappointing to see the check for $75.00 per person at the very end of the dinner. When we addressed the server regarding our concerns she said she heard that from another table as well. We asked for the manager and he dismissed our concerns then after we wouldn't back down, since it was advertised this way, he finally said he would take care of it, because he can't control what other sites do. When we got our bill back he had only given an "employee discount" which only took off 25% which was absolutely insulting. Instead of taking the full $25.00 off since yet again it was advertised like this it. I only recommend this restaurant on a regular night without a special menu.

food5
ambience5
service4

As always, the food choices were amazing ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

As always, the food choices were amazing and delicious. One of our favorites for New Year's celebrations.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and ambience

Dined on December 31, 2015

Our first visit, but definitely not our last. The range of small plates was extensive and the server was extremely helpful with recommendations. Their happy hour small plates were quite good too and very reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Expected more.

Dined on December 30, 2015

I had been to the 9th Door at their other location several times. I always found the food tasty, the ambience nice, and the service excellent. Unfortunately, when we were at 9th Door Beauvallon for my birthday, the food was not as great as I recalled and our server was disinterested at best. I asked for a refill on my soda and never got it, and each time she stopped by the table, the vibe was one of disdain/disinterest. If the food had been as excellent as I recalled, it could've been overlooked, but overall our whole party was left rather dissatisfied. I feel like perhaps their menu changed or was downsized since the last time I was there. The tortilla espanola was good, as were the patatas bravas, but the datiles were a bit burnt-tasting, and I wasn't able to have the croquettes that had been on the menu previously -- looks like they'd been replaced with something approximating arrancini.

food5
ambience3
service5

rJean

Dined on December 12, 2015

The food was fabulous! The service was outstanding. The restaurant space isn't that big, so with the tall ceilings, it's loud. Be ready. The bar looked lively, but it's a small space also. We had the beef filet, the meat and cheese plate, the spicy shrimp and the pear salad. The salad was alittle overdressed. I should have asked for dressing on the side. Caution, it all adds up to a nice big tab when you are done! But worth it for a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Another fandastic meal

Dined on November 28, 2015

We dined here the day after thanksgiving, saving our previous night's leftovers for another time. There were 5 of us this time around so we got to have some of our favorite dishes and try several new ones. Everything was fantastic. Our Server, Riley, was perfect. Very attentive. We have had Riley before and we now request her, when we make our reservations. Between the great food and Riley's outstanding service, it was a perfect meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is always great though a little pri ...

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Food is always great though a little pricey for the portion size.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service - Quaint place

Dined on October 27, 2015

Service was great! 1/2 price wine specials and the food was small plates as to be expected but really good food.

food4
ambience4
service4

beautiful and delicious

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Excellent tappas, especially the artichokes. The chef is inspired and skilled. Service was prompt and friendly. Very comfortable inside, with reds and cushions.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for foodies

Dined on October 10, 2015

My wife is Spanish so coming here was a treat. The paella was arguably the best paella we've ever had outside of Barcelona. Seriously. And very affordable. $15 for large, single service portion was a bargain especially for the quality. You could taste the saffron, the muscles and clams were delicious and the rice was perfectly cooked. We had a delicious rioja that was only $40 for the bottle. We'll be back on our next Denver visit for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service4

Yum! Good restaurant to celebrate someth ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Yum! Good restaurant to celebrate something at or just have a night out with friends. Everything was absolutely delicious!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.