About The 9th Door - Beauvallon

925 Lincoln Street
Denver, CO 80203
View Larger Map

On Spain's Costa del Sol, located between Malaga and Marbella, sits a quiet little mountain village called Mijas. During the summer of 1969, after having been made famous by James Michener's novel The Drifters, Mijas had become an expatriate community of writers and poets. On lazy afternoons, these expats would gather at their favorite bar - one without a name, recognizable only by the number nine that was carved into the door. Behind the 9th door, they would imbibe on the local wine and brandy and share the tapas of the house, trading stories and reciting poetry to the local women until the early hours of the morning.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:00pm-9pm
Tuesday: 4:00pm-10pm
Wednesday: 4:00pm-10pm
Thursday:4:00 pm-10pm
Friday: 4:00pm-11pm
Saturday: 5:30pm-11pm
Sunday: 10:30am-1:30pm 5:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
9th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 832-7027

Website:
http://www.the9thdoor.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in the garage. Street parking available also.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

50% Off Select Beer, Cocktails, and Wines

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

50% Off Select Beer, Cocktails, and Wines

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Beer, Cocktails, and Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Cannot be combined with any other offers or promotions. Special valid Jul 7, 2016 - Nov 7, 2016 on Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

The 9th Door - Beauvallon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
104 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went there for our reservation and th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went there for our reservation and the place wasn't even open. They literally let us make a reservation but failed to tell us that they were closed. Very inconsiderate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great tapas and a very nice wine list to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great tapas and a very nice wine list to complement the food. Servers are very pleasant and knowledgeable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Really good food and our server was grea ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Really good food and our server was great. John, the manage, took exceptional care of us after the restaurant owner canceled an existing reservation and closed the restaurant without much of a notice. Thanks, John!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I have been going to 9th Door for years. ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I have been going to 9th Door for years. I think i would like to see some new things on the menu, as well as better wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Introduced to 9th door by a friend and t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Introduced to 9th door by a friend and the food is fantastic. Solid service and rotating specials keep things interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed!! Came here for some after ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Disappointed!! Came here for some after work happy hour. We did some research to find a place with good food and drink specials on open table and Yelp and we decided on this place. As we were sat, we were notified that they no longer offer food specials. We pulled up the open table menu that said otherwise and the server said she would talk to her manager. The server comes back to tell us that the manager and owner will NOT honor the prices listed on the open table menu, despite the fact that that is what brought us in to the restaurant. I was pretty surprised that the manager himself did not come back to deliver this information and to apologize for any inconvenience this caused. The food was average, nothing special. I definitely will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Delightful to have such knowledgeable st ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delightful to have such knowledgeable staff. We learned a lot about a couple of different wines. Wonderful spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was good. Service was a little ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was good. Service was a little lax. The lemon flan was amazing...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

the paella was outstanding. other dish w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

the paella was outstanding. other dish was great as well but portion size could be improved. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very much enjoyed our first visit. Each ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very much enjoyed our first visit. Each item we tried was good and we look forward to returning and trying more menu items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great happy hour!! Delish!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great happy hour!! Delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nioce Outside

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Had an early Father's day dinner. Delicious food and excellent spot.

Service outside was slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but they were out of shellfis ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great food but they were out of shellfish - clams and mussels. Service was slow due to short staffing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We whet to the 9th door for the unlimite ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We whet to the 9th door for the unlimited tapas brunch. The choices were very limited and did not reflect the menu online. Service was poor and quite slow. Some of the choices were slightly good but too many contained eggs. Least authentic tapas we have ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The waiter and service was great however ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The waiter and service was great however the food took an extremely long time to come out. We waited 40 minutes to get our first tapas dish (which was only some potatoes,) and after 2.5 hours still did not receive everything we ordered. The bottomless white sangria was delicious however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

We came for brunch with two other couple ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We came for brunch with two other couples. Service was quite poor. Slow and the waitress seemed confused by simple questions about portion size and requests for water refills. We didn't even get all the food we ordered. Food was just ok. Menu was limited, and not really authentic tapas by any means.

Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Too Loud

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I admit that we were the oldest people in the place, but the music was so loud that the other diners had to shout to hear each other and we had to have the waiter (who was very good) repeat what he said...we couldn't hear him. The room is nice looking, but it doesn't have any sound absorbing materials in the design. Don't plan to have a conversation while there. Do go for the food, it is unique, flavorful, priced right and fun non-traditional foods.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Great place for a group dinner

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a party of 8 people for a work dinner, and everyone really enjoyed it. The service was great, as was the selection of tapas. There were several vegetarian options. I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food but a little pricey

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and service was terrific. But some of the small plates were very small in comparison to the price (artichoke dish comes to mind). So it adds up pretty quickly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

5th time dining at 9th door and all expe ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

5th time dining at 9th door and all experiences were good. Unfortunately, the service was absolutely terrible in 4/29. We waited so long between getting dishes (small plates so they are served as ready) and our waiter rarely came to check on us. He told us at the end that the kitchen was slammed but he did not even ask us about coffee and dessert. My group of 6 was very disappointed and it showed in our tip. We normally tip very well but just could not bring ourselves to give a good tip. That said, WHEN we did get the food, it was good. I have very mixed feelings about going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was fantastic, and the food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The service was fantastic, and the food matched. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Went for my birthday - highly recommend the queso de cabra.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed this restaurant and their happy ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Enjoyed this restaurant and their happy hour menu and prices. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent meal!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Second visit here. The food is delicious and the presentation is impressive. Prices are very reasonable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Lots of discoveries

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Two couples went to 9th Door Beauvallon after eating at the LoDo location during restaurant week. Skip the sangria as it was watered down and not worth the $18.50 for a caraffe. Tapas are all splendid and wonderful. The mushroom croquette is the bomb and save room for the figs for desert. The flan is not really lemony or rosemary. Great spot for either a romantic outing or dinner with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Easter brunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a wonderful Easter Brunch at the 9th door. I really like the other location better but this one is nice. Our food was phenomenally delicious and well presented by the kitchen. Our server was pretty average. Not overly friendly, not talkative, pretty uninterested in his tables. I will say the FOH at this location needs some work compared to downtown. Will be back downtown for sure; most likely not at this location again. The food did not disappoint; just ehhhh service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We tried quite a variety of tapas/pintxos. Everything was cooked just right and very tasty. Some portions were larger than expected. The Cava Rose special was perfect for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was wonderful except the host ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Everything was wonderful except the hostess, who was a man, was speaking very loudly and talking very belligerently. We were the last ones there but thought it was very unprofessional to speak like he was while we were still in the restaurant. But overall great food and our waiter was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

So glad they are willing to accommodate ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

So glad they are willing to accommodate weird food allergies of my friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing food and great Service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

I can only recommend this amazing restaurant.

The food is amazing and very authentic. The service and the atmosphere is great allowing for an amazing experience again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meh.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

I had two friends highly recommend 9th door. What we ate was good. But not good enough to tell all my friends about. And if I spend $30 on dinner, I don't want the urge to swing by Wendy's on the way home to creep up. We just weren't full after 3 tapas each. And we're normal sized people. All in all, it was fine. The tapas were better than most, but I was underwhelmed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Brunch was not a good experience. Took 2 ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Brunch was not a good experience. Took 20 minutes till we saw a drink and 35 minutes till we saw our first Tapas. Waited forever for everything. Second round of tapas didn't come until 2 hours in. Food was mediocre. Potatoes were overly spiced. Poached eggs were hard and over cooked. Ambiance was fine but the music playing was deafening, it eventually was lowered to a more acceptable level. Overall, not good. If I want Tapas I'll go to Zengo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Quality tapas (esp. The stuffed peppers ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Quality tapas (esp. The stuffed peppers and fried goat cheese). A little pricy for the overall experience (service was super slow)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Overpriced and not really authentic.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Overpriced and not really authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great, Quaint Neighborhood restaurant/bar!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Love this charming restaurant! It's walking distance from my home, with great appetizers , wine, and cocktails! Reasonable prices too! I will indeed go here again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Really enjoyable authentic tapas, and good wine selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food Review

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The Paella was made with a much more tomato flavor than safran flavor. Also, the artichoke tapa did not taste good.

Otherwise good service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Terrific Valentines dinner

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great selection of choices for dinner. We started with thew point noir wine which was 20% off. excellent. The goat cheese in peppers is to die for. I loved the paella. Rylie , our server was a lot of fun. overall fantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

can't tell it is gluten free!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

SO nice to dine with friends and share food that is gluten free but no one complains! Server helpful with choices and making sure we had the right number of skewers for our party. wine flights were great and the parking was perfect. parked there, walked to art museum and then had delightful dinner. we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

A surprising find

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

We selected this restaurant because they were offering 1,000-point tables, but it was well worth it even without that incentive. We arrived at 6 pm (when the parking meters become free), which left an hour of Happy Hour. The two of us ordered some Happy Hour wine and four Happy Hour tapas. The portions are small, but there's enough for two to share and taste the excellently prepared items. So we ordered a couple more HH plates and a couple off the full menu (and more HH wine). That turned out to be enough to make a very good and varied meal. The calimari were among the best we've ever had, with three great dipping sauces, and a HH portion of mussels is plenty for two. The service was excellent -- attentive but not intrusive, and the food arrived promptly. Our only regrets were that we didn't get a chance to try more of the small plates on the menu, and that we didn't have enough room for dessert and a glass of sherry afterwards. That means we'll have to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.