About The 9th Door - Beauvallon

925 Lincoln Street
Denver, CO 80203
View Larger Map

On Spain's Costa del Sol, located between Malaga and Marbella, sits a quiet little mountain village called Mijas. During the summer of 1969, after having been made famous by James Michener's novel The Drifters, Mijas had become an expatriate community of writers and poets. On lazy afternoons, these expats would gather at their favorite bar - one without a name, recognizable only by the number nine that was carved into the door. Behind the 9th door, they would imbibe on the local wine and brandy and share the tapas of the house, trading stories and reciting poetry to the local women until the early hours of the morning.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5:00pm-9pm
Tuesday: 5:00pm-10pm
Wednesday: 5:00pm-10pm
Thursday:5:00 pm-10pm
Friday: 5:00pm-11pm
Saturday: 5:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
9th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 832-7027

Website:
http://www.the9thdoor.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in the garage. Street parking available also.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

The 9th Door - Beauvallon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Tapas (7)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Fit for Foodies (5)
Romantic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was fine. Table server was helpful. D ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was fine. Table server was helpful. Decor was odd. Artichokes were excellent. Mushroom ball was not wow. Almonds and olives were a nice spices. Goat cheese balls were excellent. Pepper was yummy. The tortilla spans was very good. Spiced potatoes were good but not special. Avocado was unusual surprise. Desserts were a great ending-we had one each.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The menu sounds interesting. But everyt ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The menu sounds interesting. But everything was bland and uninspiring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Enjoyed the tapas and drinks. Service wa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Enjoyed the tapas and drinks. Service was excellent. Kaitlin is as great a server as bartender. Only two suggestions. Music was quite loud making conversation difficult which is odd for an intimate layout. The other is quite a few items were not available due to delayed receipt of food supply's. This was a Saturday night so I thought there should have been more effort out into insuring menu item availability. Not a deterrent from returning, just disappointing not to share some favorite tapas with a friend who had never been before.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

always a great meal and great service. y ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

always a great meal and great service. you wont be disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although our experience at The 9th Door ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Although our experience at The 9th Door at Beauvallon was very enjoyable, the menu choices seemed much more limited when compared to The 9th Door in Lower Downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas were authentic and very tasty! Ver ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Tapas were authentic and very tasty! Very impressed with food, but disappointed with sangria. Ambience was great. Restaurant is small, would suggest a reservation for big parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of best tapas place I've ever been t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of best tapas place I've ever been to, and I'm counting the ones in Spain. The sangria not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, wonderful atmosphere and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious food, wonderful atmosphere and ambiance, and great service!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu has gotten very short. The food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The menu has gotten very short. The food was just ok. Service good but really, put some of the old favs back on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was great, service was excellent. W ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was great, service was excellent. With a party of 6 we were concerned but all concerns alleviated as soon as we got there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been to The 9th Door many times an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We've been to The 9th Door many times and it never disappoints. The service is always outstanding. The jamon iberico wrapped dates are crazy delicious! We also tried a daily special, salmon a la plancha that was perfectly prepared. This place has the best Spanish tapas in Denver.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here twice now and thoroughly ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I've been here twice now and thoroughly enjoyed both visits. Because it's tapas there is really something here for everyone. I'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First off, the service, food, and ambian ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 21, 2016

First off, the service, food, and ambiance are great in this place! The tapas came out quickly and the staff accommodated all of our needs. All of that being said, and fully understanding the tapas concept (I used to live in Spain), I think they are pretty stingy when it comes to portion size. For example, they have these delicious steak skewers for $14. I assumed 4 skewers would come on the plate, but they only served 2. When ordering for a group of 14, that meant that I had to spend just under $100 to give everyone one skewer. That just isn't worth it, especially considering the amount of additional tapas we needed to order just to get our guests full.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Fake Spanish tapas. Jamon iberico was in ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fake Spanish tapas. Jamon iberico was in fact a thicker slice of the jamon serrano and not the

pata negra jabugo !

We chose a marques de riscal that was so warm we asked the bar tender to chill it for 20 mn

So disappointing. Be aware

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Hosted a professional networking happy h ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Hosted a professional networking happy hour. Had a reservation for a table, but our group was having so much fun at the bar that we ended up staying in cocktail area. The manager, Jon, hostess, Brenda, and server, Matt, were very accommodating with our request and put on a great evening for my guests.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food...love the ambiance and exper ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food...love the ambiance and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Exceptional food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We went there for our reservation and th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We went there for our reservation and the place wasn't even open. They literally let us make a reservation but failed to tell us that they were closed. Very inconsiderate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The 9th Door is always a great spot base ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The 9th Door is always a great spot based on all of the times I've gone. They do need to bring back the happy hour menu they had several months ago, really great tapas for a great price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great tapas and a very nice wine list to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great tapas and a very nice wine list to complement the food. Servers are very pleasant and knowledgeable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Really good food and our server was grea ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Really good food and our server was great. John, the manage, took exceptional care of us after the restaurant owner canceled an existing reservation and closed the restaurant without much of a notice. Thanks, John!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I have been going to 9th Door for years. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I have been going to 9th Door for years. I think i would like to see some new things on the menu, as well as better wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Introduced to 9th door by a friend and t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Introduced to 9th door by a friend and the food is fantastic. Solid service and rotating specials keep things interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed!! Came here for some after ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Disappointed!! Came here for some after work happy hour. We did some research to find a place with good food and drink specials on open table and Yelp and we decided on this place. As we were sat, we were notified that they no longer offer food specials. We pulled up the open table menu that said otherwise and the server said she would talk to her manager. The server comes back to tell us that the manager and owner will NOT honor the prices listed on the open table menu, despite the fact that that is what brought us in to the restaurant. I was pretty surprised that the manager himself did not come back to deliver this information and to apologize for any inconvenience this caused. The food was average, nothing special. I definitely will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Delightful to have such knowledgeable st ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delightful to have such knowledgeable staff. We learned a lot about a couple of different wines. Wonderful spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was good. Service was a little ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was good. Service was a little lax. The lemon flan was amazing...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

the paella was outstanding. other dish w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 19, 2016

the paella was outstanding. other dish was great as well but portion size could be improved. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very much enjoyed our first visit. Each ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very much enjoyed our first visit. Each item we tried was good and we look forward to returning and trying more menu items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great happy hour!! Delish!

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great happy hour!! Delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nioce Outside

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Had an early Father's day dinner. Delicious food and excellent spot.

Service outside was slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but they were out of shellfis ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great food but they were out of shellfish - clams and mussels. Service was slow due to short staffing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We whet to the 9th door for the unlimite ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We whet to the 9th door for the unlimited tapas brunch. The choices were very limited and did not reflect the menu online. Service was poor and quite slow. Some of the choices were slightly good but too many contained eggs. Least authentic tapas we have ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The waiter and service was great however ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

The waiter and service was great however the food took an extremely long time to come out. We waited 40 minutes to get our first tapas dish (which was only some potatoes,) and after 2.5 hours still did not receive everything we ordered. The bottomless white sangria was delicious however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

We came for brunch with two other couple ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We came for brunch with two other couples. Service was quite poor. Slow and the waitress seemed confused by simple questions about portion size and requests for water refills. We didn't even get all the food we ordered. Food was just ok. Menu was limited, and not really authentic tapas by any means.

Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Too Loud

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2016

I admit that we were the oldest people in the place, but the music was so loud that the other diners had to shout to hear each other and we had to have the waiter (who was very good) repeat what he said...we couldn't hear him. The room is nice looking, but it doesn't have any sound absorbing materials in the design. Don't plan to have a conversation while there. Do go for the food, it is unique, flavorful, priced right and fun non-traditional foods.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Great place for a group dinner

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a party of 8 people for a work dinner, and everyone really enjoyed it. The service was great, as was the selection of tapas. There were several vegetarian options. I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food but a little pricey

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and service was terrific. But some of the small plates were very small in comparison to the price (artichoke dish comes to mind). So it adds up pretty quickly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

5th time dining at 9th door and all expe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2016

5th time dining at 9th door and all experiences were good. Unfortunately, the service was absolutely terrible in 4/29. We waited so long between getting dishes (small plates so they are served as ready) and our waiter rarely came to check on us. He told us at the end that the kitchen was slammed but he did not even ask us about coffee and dessert. My group of 6 was very disappointed and it showed in our tip. We normally tip very well but just could not bring ourselves to give a good tip. That said, WHEN we did get the food, it was good. I have very mixed feelings about going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was fantastic, and the food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2016

The service was fantastic, and the food matched. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Went for my birthday - highly recommend the queso de cabra.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.