About The 220 Café

220 S. Center St
Statesville, NC 28677
View Larger Map

The 220 Café is a Contemporary American Cuisine restaurant, located in the historic district of downtown Statesville, NC. The 220 Café provides a fine dining experience and atmosphere for all of our guests. With a combination of class and elegance, the 220 Café also exudes a “stop by anytime” welcome to the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm.
Sunday Brunch (Every 3rd Sunday of the month): 11:00am - 2:30pm.

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 873-7779

Website:
http://www.220cafestatesville.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music every Friday night!!!

Catering:
We cater!!! Reaching out to our community and building a reputation outside the 4 walls of our boutique dining room. Our expertise in events include: management, execution & creativity. Allow us to exhibit our passion for food, the people we meet and the relationships we continue to build.

Parking Details:
We have a public parking lot behind the restaurant, we also have street parking.

Executive Chef:
Courtney Setterington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

The 220 Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
3 More
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte

fit for foodies (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
romantic (6)
See All
special occasion (6)
great for lunch (6)
notable wine list (5)
good for groups (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
39 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were traveling with our two young gra ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We were traveling with our two young grandsons. Although there wasn't a children's menu, our server helped us identify an appetizer and a side dish that composed a perfect dinner for them.

Our meals were excellent, as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stopped in during a Friday music even ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We stopped in during a Friday music event so the place was hopping. It was a bit loud inside but we were still able to carry on a conversation. The Thai beef salad was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a great find in the heart of downto ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

What a great find in the heart of downtown Statesville! The food was delicious, the waitress was attentive and friendly, our food arrived quickly and we were comfortable chatting and lingering over dessert without feeling pressured to leave. The decor in the restaurant is elegantly eclectic with a fun vibe. I would definitely come here again if in the area.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my ultimate favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is my ultimate favorite restaurant in the Statesville area. The chief and service is top notch. The quaint atmosphere gives a feel of homestyle with romantic class. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town staying at the Clichy In ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We were in town staying at the Clichy Inn Bed and Breakfast as a surprise birthday present. My wife and I were at 220 Cafe celebrating her birthday. The music was excellent, although difficult to hear at times because of noise from two large tables oblivious of the entertainment. The food was very good, but a little pricey. We would definitely recommend 220 Cafe to anyone spending an evening in downtown Statesville!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Karen's review

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The 220 cafe atmosphere was quaint and lively . Nice lighting for evening dinning & live music that was good & could still conversate and hear one another. The server was very pleasant & was consciences to keep a item we left behind for a few days ! Wine selection good & good prices .

Our party had salmon , beef, chicken entrees - they were all tasty . The appetizer was a little pricy for the size but overall good. We live 1 hour away and routinely meet son in college at Charlotte at a halfway point . Will return to this restaurant !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait staff was great! The food was e ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The wait staff was great! The food was excellent! I highly recommend the steaks at 220.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

One of the BEST in Statesville!!!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

We love 220 Cafe. We try to bring frends for lunch or dinner as much as we can. And they cater as well with the same quality of food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaint little gem

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Cafe 220 is a hidden gem in downtown Statesville! My neighbor were looking for a great place to have a girl's night out. We thought we would give Cafe 220 a try and we've been going back ever since. Wednesday night is half off bottle of wine. The ambulance is fun. The hostess and wait staff are friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend, but please don't take my table! Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Third time a disappointment

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had great experience during restaurant week.....so much so that we returned again during that week. Made reservations to celebrate Valentines day for 3Rd visit in a month. It was not made clear this menu was a la cart on this weekend. Previously, there would be some thing acompany ingredients the main entree. It was a "special menu" just for the weekend. The regular menu was not available. No pasta or vegetarian options. The food was cold. The server rarely seen. 34.00 for a steak.....that's it....a steak.....we enjoy eating out and have enjoyed 220 previously. However the value was not there.... musician was playing but no clue what she was singing.....loud. very disappointing experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Love the new menu! The Flamenco guitaris ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Love the new menu! The Flamenco guitarist is an amazing addition.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Much needed in Statesville

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

We are new to Statesville and were very glad to find the 220 Cafe. The food and service were very good. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

The service and food were fantastic. The singer that came in was way too loud and ruined conversation. Our waitress, who was wonderful, tried to ask her to turn the amp down, but she didn't. Our only disappointment for the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eat well, but don't talk

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

I met my son and his girlfriend for dinner on a Friday night after the Art Crawl. There was live music inside, which was louder than necessary. We struggled to have a conversation, except during the breaks. The food was great, though. We shared the portabella mushrooms stuffed with sausage as an appetizer, and they were delicious. I got the Wagyu beef burger and loved it. My son ordered the bone-in ribeye, and his girlfriend ordered the seafood pasta. Both were hits. I might go back, but only when there wasn't live music.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Saturday Lunch at 220

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Met my girlfriend at 220 because it is located half way between Clemmons, NC for her, and Charlotte, NC for me. First time dining here, and we couldn't have been happier. The weather was great. We sat outside under an umbrella next to planters with beautifully kept flowers. The music was a bit loud but when we requested it be adjusted softer the waitress gladly accommodated. I had the crab cake and slaw, and both were superb. Great ice tea. My friend enjoyed her entree as much as I did mine. I would definitely recommend 220 Cafe, and will return. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

pricey small amounts of food

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

After a 45 min ride to Statesville, NC we arrived to a small town with what appeared to be the only restaurant. In the window we could see more of a senior crowd. Listed as a casual restaurant we arrived in jeans & shirt. The more senior crowd was more smart casual. It s a very small place with many open tables but were for some reason sat close to the kitchen. In the end was good so I could keep an eye because while we were reviewing the menu a server yelled, I ate a french fry off a plate. Really?!? The kitchen was extremely slow-not a huge menu nor was it that crowded. I ordered lamb chops($22) w/asparagus(+$2), guest ordered half rack of ribs w/ffs. So it was my job to make sure no one was eating off our plate before it arrived. Considering I received only 2 small chops with the asparagus U'd think someone ate some of my food. Everything was swimming in mustard sauce. TG, the sauce was good. I was still hungry so I ate some of my guest's food. Very expensive entree for so little food. If u happen to be in Statesville, keep driving till u get to somewhere else to dine. Certainly don't do the distance for this place. Only good thing was the live musician playing. Her beautiful voice calmed me as I as waiting so long for the small amount of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

I really wanted to love this place

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

I was really hoping to love this place having just moved to the area and needing a nice go-to place with an interesting menu and a interesting downtown location. It had all the right characteristics, but really fell short due to service. We ordered the 'beef and beets' appetizer (and told "good choice") and 2 entrees. After waiting a (long) while the entrees came, no appetizer or anything prior. The waitress then said she didn't hear us order an appetizer. It's one thing to forget and apologize, but another thing to make an excuse and not admit a mistake. The cod entree special seared but was rare and not warm - I like tuna like that but not so sure about cod. All in all I'm not sure I'll go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

meh...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Food was average at best. Spinach Artichoke Dip was good. The filets were lacking flavor. I've had much better filets for less than the $30 I paid on Saturday (Valentine's Day). Salads seemed fresh. If you're looking to spend money. Go elsewhere.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

A Gem!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 12, 2015

What a wonderful restaurant. Took my wife there for a romantic dinner and we were delighted. Every item of food was prepared with care, cooked to perfection and plated with flare. The dinning room is very cozy. I would have rated the service higher based on friendliness and attentiveness , but she was only handicapped by her lack of experience - which is not her fault. She was wonderful.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Delicious food every time

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

I've often eaten at 220 for lunch and dinner and never been dissatisfied. I normally get steak for dinner because they do it so well. Their Mac & cheese side is my favorite. Their desserts are amazing. I always look forward to their creme brûlée. They always have a different flavor. Root beer, lavender, peanut butter, the list goes on.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Has Potential But...........

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 23, 2015

Went on a Friday night during Queens Feast to try it out as we had not been there before. Had read the recent reviews and debated whether to go or cancel. Decided to try it out and service far exceeded the food. We both ordered off the regualr menu and were early with the restautrant pretty empty. Appetizers descriptions looked wonderful and had potentital but arrive luke warm. Place was pretty empty, so its not cleart why food was not hot. Entrees were fine, but it appears it has a very small kitchen that maybe struggles to keep up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great Statesville Find

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 22, 2015

Located in downtown Statesville, 220 Café is a wonderful dining experience. Our server was delightfuland quite attentive. She was kind offer some suggestions on the menu, to make sure that we experience the best they had to offer. The ambience was great for a working lunch, but it would make for a wonderful social lunch, too.

In our party of 5, diners enjoyed the grilled chicken sandwich, the Waldorf chicken salad, the Waldorf chicken wrap, and the Swiss and mushroom hamburger. All were equally delicious we decided after comparing meal -- we would all happily return for lunch anytime.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Tough on to rate

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 21, 2015

I'd like to say that I had a great experience @ Café 220. I was there for Queen's Feast, so I ordered off the set menu: Wedge Salad (kind of small), Ribeye w/ side of BAKED mac & cheese (it was NOT baked - penne and cheese sauce) and a TINY piece of cheesecake. The gem was the one hot piece of bread that I got before the meal.

Service that night - not just @ my table seemed lacking. I sat close to the kitchen, so I was able to hear chatter of food sitting in the window; overcooked and forgot to ring in conversations. My server @ one point was on her phone texting I assume.

I was a solo diner and I felt like I got little to no extra attention. Despite the service, the food was good (even thought the mac/cheese was not baked as described in the menu).

I love the idea of Queen's Feast - being able to go to restaurants and try new things. Café 220 has a great atmosphere - but my Queen's Feast meal / experience was hardly worth $30.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

10 year anniversary Gone wrong

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 21, 2015

We went for our ten year anniversary and were very disappointed. Our three year old daughter joined us. Service at first was polite and quick. But that was sure to change. Our waters were quick but then it took about ten minutes for the bread to get to our table. We had looked at the menu prior to arriving and ordered our food as soon as we received our waters. We ordered our daughter a side of Mac and cheese along with our orders. Apps were great!Spin dip and stuffed mushrooms. Then our food came, Very disappointing.Our ribeye steaks were half an inch thick! I would call it a steak and eggs size steak, the Mac and cheese that came with it was in a tiny side bowl. I didn't get to have any of it because my daughters Mac never came out I had to give it to her. Once we were able to get the waitresses attention she explained she had forgot to enter it. Took 15 mins to get the Mac out. Another waitress stopped by the table and asked if we like some more water and we said sure. No less then a min later our watress came to the table and asked us what did my coworker ask you. Seriously?! Dumbfounded I looked at her and told her she asked if we would like some more water. She looked at us and asked you don't do you? What really? We just rolled our eyes and said no we are good. Desert was next... Once we were told the queen fest specials, we ordered. When they arrived we were once again surprised. The slice was tiny! More like a sliver. They were precut frozen deserts. We actually Laughted about it. Once we recieved the check we noticed that there was no charge for the Mac and cheese. We didn't plan on it being on there since we didn't receive it till after our meal. As the waitress returned with the card and bill she couldn't help but let us know that the Mac and cheese was not on our bill. Quote" you know I didn't charge you for the Mac and cheese"!Seriously how much more rude could you be. We will never be coming back and have made sure are friends know of our experience.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Hard to tell (Restaurant Week review)

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

We had heard good things about 220 Cafe but just hadn't made the trip to Statesville. When Restaurant Week rolled around & they were on the list, that was the excuse to finally go. I think 220 Cafe has potential, but I wasn't super impressed… my date's ribeye had a ridiculous amount of fat and the sides/appetizers were small. I'm hoping this is due to Restaurant Week and not their usual menu- I saw other items go past that seemed larger. My wedge salad was really fantastic and the server was attentive, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Small portions of unremarkable food

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

Understandably limited menu because of QueensFeast, but compared to other participating restaurants, the portions were ridiculously pared down--more like a tasting than a full meal. At least one-third of my ribeye was fat and gristle, so it was left on the plate. The sides and entrees (steak and chicken) were unremarkable, even bland. The desserts were not made in house, and tasted like a mass-produced item. We ordered wedge salads, which were quite good--but again, served in incredibly small portions. This is the first time we have visited a higher-end restaurant and had to stop at a drive-through on the way home! Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Excellent place!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

Cute little place that is nice to just sit back and relax and enjoy great food and great people! Service was excellent and top notch! Food is always fantastic! I love looking at all the different art work on the walls and the little tea lights on the tables give the whole place a nice little romantic touch!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice cafe

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

Limited menu entrees but enough for everyone. Good variety of appetizers. The food was good and portions were good size everything was cooked just right. Minor complaint is the very small wine pour 4oz? Wine by the glass. Service was very good. I would dine here again for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Statesville's Best Kept Secret

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 27, 2014

Great setting surrounded by art with excellent service and food. booked thru Open Table which for some reason has this placed in the wrong town of Mooresville? Alerted the staff and they said would let OT know. This is the best eatery in Statesville for my money.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Date Night Dinner

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2014

My husband and I travel 45 minutes to enjoy The 220 Cafe' for special date nights. We like to go on Fridays when they have live music. The ambience is very quaint and lovely. And the food and service is Extremely good! And a must have, even if you have to get it to go, is their cheesecake...WOW!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2014

Had reservations during Queens Feast but obviously did not need them. The food was fine but just average. The service was almost laughable. They initially walked us to a back table next to the kitchen and bathroom pathway even though the room was less than a third full. They did accommodate our request for a change. Had 2 wait staff introduce themselves as our server within 3 minutes of each other. Bread was never brought to the table and the wrong desert was brought. Overall the service lacked the thoughtfulness one would expect to make a dining experience pleasant. We love to support local businesses but there are too many other options in downtown Statesville to keep giving this place chances to shine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Excellent apps

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 19, 2014

Calamari, crab app, and spinach dip all were excellent. Entrees were good. Blueberry cheesecake was amazing. Very nice interior, and the new downtown is beautiful. Worth a mile and a half drive off of interstate.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious food, beautiful ambiance

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2014

From the music playing right outside the door of the restaurant to the fabulous decor inside, the restaurant sets quite an inviting scene. Add to that fresh ingredients you taste in every bite of your meal and superb service, and you can't ask for more in a fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 13, 2014

I am gluten free so I'm always concerned when I try a new restaurant. However, the staff at 220 Cafe was knowledgeable and very willing to take care of my allergies. And the food was delicious!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

220 Cafe has an eclectic feel with a nic ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 10, 2014

220 Cafe has an eclectic feel with a nice spot downtown, and outdoor dining. The service was outstanding (Josh)! Food was ok with the celery augratin and cheesecake the standouts. We were there on a Saturday night meeting friends we hadn't seen in a while. They had live music which would have been great except we were interested in conversation. So if you go on a weekend, and want to talk, ask for an outside table.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Hidden Gem

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 29, 2014

This restaurant was an outstanding find while traveling for business. The honey lemon chicken was simple, but cooked to perfection. The garden vegetable risotto was cooked perfectly. The only thing I felt about was the restaurant wasn't crowded when it should've been based on the quality of the food! Definitely eat here the next time you are passing through Statesville!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Just OK

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 5, 2014

The actual restaurant was really cute, and the wait staff was great, but the food was slow to come out despite not having a full restaurant. My steak was just OK and my wife's stuffed chicken and sauce was a quite salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 4, 2014

Went for a lunch with out of town fiends so it was the first time there. Server very friendly and helpful with menu. Food was great and tastefully presented. Coffee delicious! As was the desert. Statesville has needed a nice cafe like this for a long time. I usually meet friends out of town for lunch so now they can meet me here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Terrific storefront location!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 2, 2014

Great service, friendly staff and owner……good food….makes for a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.