Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

About The 220 Café

The 220 Café is a Contemporary American Cuisine restaurant, located in the historic district of downtown Statesville, NC.

The 220 Café provides a fine dining experience and atmosphere for all of our guests. With a combination of class and elegance, the 220 Café also exudes a “stop by anytime” welcome to the restaurant.

220 S. Center St
Statesville, NC 28677
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 873-7779

Website:
http://www.the220cafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music every Friday night!!!

Catering:
We cater!!!

Reaching out to our community and building a reputation outside the 4 walls of our boutique dining room. Our expertise in events include: management, execution & creativity. Allow us to exhibit our passion for food, the people we meet and the relationships we continue to build.

Parking Details:
We have a public parking lot behind the restaurant, we also have street parking.

Executive Chef:
Courtney Setterington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The 220 Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Cozy (3)
See All
Live Music (3)
Romantic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 13, 2017

CAFe 220 is consistent and excellent. Service is timely and courteous.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent dinner. Very friendly staff. You'll love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had a lovely table by the window to celebrate Mom's birthday. Staff were attentive and friendly. We enjoyed the special salad and soup of the day. Both delicious! Mom lives in Statesville and had never been before and said she would definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We visit Winston Salem and meet friends from Valdese and Lenoir in Statesville. Cafe 220 is our favorite meeting spot! The food is always great, and the staff is always friendly and helpful. The menu is diverse, and everything from steaks to salmon to pork chop is perfectly prepared. We can't wait to go back there!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is the 4th time I have been to 220 Cafe and I have enjoyed every visit. Quaint downtown restaurant/bar with great food and drinks. They had good live music this past weekend. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Tapas, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had the privilege of eating at 220 Cafe for lunch yesterday with friends from out of town and Easter brunch today. You all never disappoint. Thank you Kelli, for opening on Easter Sunday!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We try to stop at Cafe 220 on our way South each year.

I had spectacular cauliflower- so good. I should have just had a bowl of that ! 😄

We will try to stop again next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Love this little eclectic place in downtown Statesville.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had the Small Plate filet tips and they were delicious. It is a very small setting but atmosphere is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We heard about this spot through Charlotte Restaurant week. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was very nice! The live singer was also great and the service was quick and friendly! Will definitely recommend to friends and hopefully go back soon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great cook great owner. A must stop for a nice evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The live music was great, food was mediocre, and service was definitely lacking.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I have been here several times before and really enjoyed it. This time it was during Queen's Feast and it seemed that they were overwhelmed. There was not enough wait staff for the crowd and the food was not quite up to their usual standard. The biggest issue was that one person in our party had the crab cakes and there was what seemed to be several pieces of cartilage or shell in them. She very nicely brought it to the servers attention but when the person I assume was the manager came to our table she said that it was not possible (basically called her a liar). She did ask if she wanted something else but there is no excuse for how that was handled.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We've eaten at 220 Cafe' every year for the past five years for Charlotte Restaurant Week and special occasions through the year. We travel 45 minutes and are always very happy to do so. The service is awesome. The food is outstanding and the atmosphere in this little welcoming cafe' is very quaint. We love everything about this place. I highly recommend.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We love this place! Shrimp cocktail, mussels, crab cakes, ribeye, asparagus, and cheesecake were so tasty and prepared perfectly. The live music duo was awesome. Once again, we noted the staff works together to ensure all patrons have what they need instead only one person covering a specific table (which meant I didn't wait to get a beer lol). If you've never been here, it's time to go!! So delish.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our meal was fresh and yummy. We sat at the bar and our service was excellent. We tried mussels, brussel sprouts, ribeye and stuffed chicken. Wine and beer selections are good. Great place!

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Another great evening at 220 Cafe. Our only "complaint" is that we had to sit next to a very large and noisy group (12 or so people) that made it very difficult to have a normal table conversation. This was not the restaurant's fault, but our "luck of the draw" this particular evening.

Overall, very good food; very attentive waitstaff; when one steak came out of the kitchen a bit cool, they quickly took it back to the kitchen and made it right, with apologies.

This is a "hidden gem" in the greater Charlotte area. For those of us living north of uptown (and who don't like the nightmare of I-77 South, trying to get to spots in uptown or further south) Statesville is a great alternative, and offers both this restaurant and several others. So, if you live north of Exit 28, head to Statesville for some great options for dining.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A nice restaurant in downtown Statesville. Convenient parking on the street. We had reservations and were seated immediately. They were busy due to participating in the Charlotte Restaurant Week. The food was very good, the choices for the special menu were excellent or you could order from regular menu. There was a classical guitarist that was really good. The staff was adequate, but with fine dining and the prices on the menu I would like exceptional. Little things like having to wait before being greeted at the table, but then when approached by the waiter he didn't even say hello. No one asked us how our food was - we just didn't feel welcome. The manager was in the restaurant but did not visit all tables nor did she speak or even nod in this little restaurant as she walked by, not just our table, but most of the others. We don't expect to be hugged and kissed, but would have like to have been acknowledged. One more little thing, hanging the spray bottles and rags to clean the tables on the hostess stand does not make a good impression.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great salads with good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic food as always! Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food & great service! I will definitely go there again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food is very good, they have great sweet potato fries with dipping sauce.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 15, 2016

College graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great little spot in downtown Statesville. Food and service was excellent with a very diverse menu, something for everyone.
Stuffed bone in pork chop was good. Outdoor dinning when the warm weather returns.
And you can either work up an appetite or work off the meal and go rent a bike next door.
To coin a phrase " I'LL BE BACH

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Tasty, creative dishes. Prices are a little high, but the food and service are on point!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Loved Cafe 220. Our server was amazing and gave great suggestions. I would recommend the spinach artichoke dip. It was super spicy but tasted great. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We chose this restaurant because it had good ratings. The website stated "live music" on Fridays & Saturdays and open until 10:30 PM on Saturday. There was NO live music and they gave us signals that they were closing-up at 9:00 PM. When we mentioned the 10:30 closing time listed for Saturdays on the website, the reply was: "Oh yeah, we need to tell the manager to change that." There were 4 other occupied tables while we were there; not busy. We received slow, inattentive service and mediocre food. The rib-eye on their sandwich entrée was less than 1/4" thick with noticeable gristle. Entrée sizes appeared to be "lunch size" vs. dinner portion. We had to speak loudly to be heard over the sound system music. Overall, not worth the trip from Mooresville up to Statesville. There are many more, better restaurants in Mooresville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

What a find. Heading back up north after hurricane cleanup we found this gem on OpenTable, excellent food, wine, waitstaff, cannot wait to get back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Cozy atmosphere. Enjoyed the live intertainment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very delicious! This was my first dinner at 220, as I had had lunch there in the past. I love the menu, I love the beer and wine selections and the staff is awesome. We try our best to stop here when we're coming through on winery excursions! Highly, highly recommended! Please come out and support them and enjoy a perfectly prepared meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were there during restaurant week and chose the fixed price dinner. It was excellent and at $30 per person(including a glass of wine) it was well worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The 220 is my favorite place to eat. The food is very fresh and not heavy. The desserts are delightful! The manager is always smiling and is not too good to pitch in when needed
Prices are very reasonable. A friend of mine from NYC said The 220 was as good as the dining in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Had never been there before but went for dinner since it sounded promising. Food was just average and somewhat overpriced . Several groups were there which ramped up the noise level.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance. Lovely location in Statesville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 6, 2016

We were traveling with our two young grandsons. Although there wasn't a children's menu, our server helped us identify an appetizer and a side dish that composed a perfect dinner for them.
Our meals were excellent, as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2016

We stopped in during a Friday music event so the place was hopping. It was a bit loud inside but we were still able to carry on a conversation. The Thai beef salad was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2016

What a great find in the heart of downtown Statesville! The food was delicious, the waitress was attentive and friendly, our food arrived quickly and we were comfortable chatting and lingering over dessert without feeling pressured to leave. The decor in the restaurant is elegantly eclectic with a fun vibe. I would definitely come here again if in the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is my ultimate favorite restaurant in the Statesville area. The chief and service is top notch. The quaint atmosphere gives a feel of homestyle with romantic class. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2016

We were in town staying at the Clichy Inn Bed and Breakfast as a surprise birthday present. My wife and I were at 220 Cafe celebrating her birthday. The music was excellent, although difficult to hear at times because of noise from two large tables oblivious of the entertainment. The food was very good, but a little pricey. We would definitely recommend 220 Cafe to anyone spending an evening in downtown Statesville!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The 220 cafe atmosphere was quaint and lively . Nice lighting for evening dinning & live music that was good & could still conversate and hear one another. The server was very pleasant & was consciences to keep a item we left behind for a few days ! Wine selection good & good prices .
Our party had salmon , beef, chicken entrees - they were all tasty . The appetizer was a little pricy for the size but overall good. We live 1 hour away and routinely meet son in college at Charlotte at a halfway point . Will return to this restaurant !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.