About Texas de Brazil - San Antonio

313 E. Houston St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Texas de Brazil is carving out a new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American “Churrascaria” or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas.
Treat yourself to our 50-60 item gourmet salad area including appetizers, fresh vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As your dining experience continues, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink or steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance that is Texas de Brazil.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Houston St. & Navarro St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 299-1600

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with tableside service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10, as well as self-parking in the Nix Parking Garage.

Executive Chef:
Evandro Caregnato

Private Party Facilities:
Texas de Brazil has the perfect private and semi-private dining space to help make your special event unique and memorable. Each location is designed with an aesthetic that is apparent in all details, from lush and vibrant tropical floral arrangements and deep red walls to soaring ceilings enhanced with beautiful, rustic chandeliers and extravagant mirrors. Enriched with elements for all the senses, our amenities create an experience like no other and make Texas de Brazil a destination hot spot for all occasions.

Texas de Brazil San Antonio features three private rooms. The Rio room seats up to 30 guests, the Texas Room seats up to 55 guests and the Brazil room can accommodate 55 guests comfortably. Other resources, such as A/V equipment may also be available for rent. Please contact our Knowledgeable event manager today too begin planning a remarkable event that is not soon to be forgotten!

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Palen: 2102991600x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brazilian Cheesecake
Salad/Hot Food Bar
Cheese Bread
Lamb Chop
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Sauteed Mushrooms
Caramelized Bananas
Picaña
Leg Of Lamb With Mint Jelly
Lobster Bisque
Panama Margarita
Caipirinha
Chicken Breast, Garlic Sirloin, Sausage
Lime Caiprinha
Meats & Blood Potatoes
Salad Bar Pickins
Salad Bar
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Flan
Creme Brulee
Flanksteak, Tenderloin, Sirloin
Chateaneuf Du Pape
Inside
Drink Menu
Steak Chicken Sausage And Mashed Potatos
Beef Ribs

Texas de Brazil - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
11 More
Best Value
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (105)
good for groups (73)
romantic (68)
See All
notable wine list (44)
fit for foodies (36)
great for lunch (15)
hot spot (15)
neighborhood gem (14)
kid-friendly (13)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding in every way. Amazing ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Simply outstanding in every way. Amazing service...amazing food...amazing experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Was our first time here, the hostess was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Was our first time here, the hostess was very knowledgeable, but spoke too fast, so we really had no clue what she was saying. Either way, we got the hang of it and had a great time. We didn't get a drink menus, so did a bit of a guessing game with what beers and spirits they had.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed the wine Angel, food was good, b ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Enjoyed the wine Angel, food was good, but not worthy of prices. Had a mistake on wine list and never offered a reduced price, wine was marked up 3 times over retail, which I find extreme. Price of wine we ordered was 185, a 2010, they brought a 2011 which I did not want, bring the 2010 and charged $70 over the 2011 price. Prices were mixed on menu, I understand making mistakes, but customers should not have to pay for their error. Our waiter Robert was very good and took good care of us, but probably will not go back because of wine pricing over all.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat Lovers Dream

Dined on June 2, 2016

Great salad bar and lots of meats of all different kinds

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caveman portions!

Dined on May 30, 2016

I absolutely LOVE this restaurant. The ambiance is romantic, lights are dim, candles on tables and beautiful floral arrangement towers over the salad buffet. The meats are sizzling. The handlers are fast and friendly. Napkins laid in your lap, drinks are STRONG and military discount is hefty. My only wish is for rib eye to be available. Otherwise the assortment is so great that I tend to forget that I wish there was rib eye. Love this place. My husband and I spend many date nights here without our children.. However children are present and receive discounted prices as well per their age. There is an acrobatic show behind glass in the wine cellar.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We always enjoy Texas de Brazil for their food and good selection of cocktails/wine list. I would the service wasnt as quick and attentive as it used to be. When it first opened it felt like you have your group of wait staff who constantly come to your table and provided you with all your needs whether changing your plate, picking off crumbs, filling up your glass, etc. Last two times we visited, I have noticed that they cut down on their wait staff and with the restaurant so busy there's a lot of demands for each table. The food is still excellent and I love the great choices. The Gauchos are very polite and alert all the time, so I do commend them for their services and courtesy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Never been to a Brazilian steakhouse before but had heard about them. It was the best dining experience we've ever had! Completely worth the price! Not something I could afford to do often, but if I was living in the area, it would be something we would gladly save up for as often as possible! The quality and flavor of every meat offered was outstanding! Can't wait to go again someday!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is delicious! Enough options are pr ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Food is delicious! Enough options are provided for non-meat lovers, and at half the price! Ambiance is intimate, customer service is top-notch (especially our server Christina), and the wall of wine is spectacular! They even gave us a complimentary dessert for our anniversary, and it was to die for! Would highly recommend checking it out for a romantic dinner or special occasion. I'm sure we'll be back when we visit the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Out of all the Brazilian BBQ restaurants ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Out of all the Brazilian BBQ restaurants in San Antonio, I've always rated TDB the best. I've always recommended TDB to everyone instead of the others. However, this night I was somewhat disappointed with everything. We were seated 25 minutes later than our reservation time. The hostess told us that they were still cleaning our table. I explained to my friends how dinner works before the first server came so they went to get their food. My favorite cut is the Pecanha, but the cuts weren't so great that night. The braised beef took care of the disappointment and I stuck with it the whole night. We weren't given the potatoes and banana for some time. Overall the food and dessert was great but not like my other experiences there. A few of my guest had to leave earlier and asked for their check but waited almost 30 minutes before they got up and asked for it. The servers forgot some of our drinks. I usually go here three times a year: Father's Day, my birthday, and maybe another time when I would bring new people to have dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best meal I have ever had a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was the best meal I have ever had at a restaurant! The 'salad' bar could have easily filled us up with the options but add all that meat and WOW! My family lived all the options a quick service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the caipirinhas

Dined on May 17, 2016

Try the caipirinhas

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelent food, the service is special. B ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excelent food, the service is special. Bilingual person. Great day and amazing restaurant...

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Prom

Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was excellent and the atmosphere was lovely. The swinging woman was an interesting idea. Only concern was the noise level pretty loud and we were only served about 3 meats in total (Bacon wrapped chicken, top sirloin, and a filet). I was certain to see more meats but was shocked by just those 3. Overall I recommend eating there, especially on a romantic night.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is excellent, the staff is awes ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food is excellent, the staff is awesome and it's a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always so Delicious !! Service i ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food is always so Delicious !! Service is always Great !!! Staff is excellent at making you feel important !!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and waitress. Hands do ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent service and waitress. Hands down the best restaurant I have ever been to.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Stuffed!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Good food, great service, stuffed! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Best salad bar ever! Go to this place on an empty stomach!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Meat lovers pardise

Dined on May 8, 2016

I very much enjoyed the selection of meats. There were some meats that did not appeal to me but I enjoyed trying them all. I will be more selective the next time we go. The bread was delicious and that is important to me. My wife does not eat much red meat and she chose to have just the salad bar. The choices were very good. She mentioned that she would have enjoyed some chicken or even a chicken salad as an option. We both enjoyed the key lime pie as our favorite dessert.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Brazillian Steakhouse ever!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was top notch, the salad bar scrumptious and the meat to die for. Will definitely go back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

Dined on May 7, 2016

This place has never disappointed, my wife and I love coming here. Watching the lady swinging from the swing in the wine room is very entertaining.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing!

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my first visit to this location and it was just what I expected, perfect. The food was great as was the dessert. Great customer serviceas well. Will definitely return and recommend to others!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Texas de Brazil

Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent as always. Great place to enjoy an early supper before the Majestic Theater shows.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic ann ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic anniversary dinner. The aerial wine artist was a great touch to the ambience. The salad bar items were so crisp and fresh. All meat selections were incredible and so tender. Although we would've appreciated a more attentive server (with drink refills), we will definitely be back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable

Dined on April 27, 2016

We had a terrific time, the service was ideal. The waitress was awesome. Could have beenbetter shrimp on the cold bar and two choices for soup but everything else was great...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and well-prepared food!

Dined on April 26, 2016

We've been to several Brazilian steakhouses, and this one holds its own. The service was excellent. I especially enjoyed the lobster bisque and the flank steak. My husband and I were treated to a complementary dessert in honor of our anniversary. On the wine list, I recommend their Malbec by the glass.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food for the perfect date night

Dined on April 22, 2016

Right place to eat with a time limit before the show.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant. Went for an annive ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Went for an anniversary dinner and it was very enjoyable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place! First timer.

Dined on April 17, 2016

From the moment we got there was nothing but greatness! Loved the fact that there was valet, they held my reservation for an additional 15mins because there was fiesta traffic. Hostesses were friendly and smiling, the waiter (wish I remembered his name) was very knowledgable about the food and meat and explained what to do and even suggested his favorites which was awesome! He asked which meat that we wanted more of and it promptly arrived, explained the dessert tray and brought out my bananas foster with a candle! Service, food, surroundings and again food was a 10! AWESOME!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only complaint

Dined on April 16, 2016

My only complaint would be that they did not have the lunch special. I'm from Ohio and in Easton the Texas De Brazil had a lunch time special for half the price. We had to wait to go until after 5:00pm

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful time. Our waitress Ar ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Our waitress Arlene was fantastic. The food kept coming, and we were able to stop and start as we wanted, big plus.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good service!!!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was a "just what we needed" type of night. The service was great the food was to die for! very happy we went to this location.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

little disappointed

Dined on April 14, 2016

My wife and I had been going for 3 years for our anniversary and every year they surprise with a dessert that say happy anniversary on the plate. This year was a little disappointing and they gave us one but at the last minute when we were already paying and put it in a to go box. I mean I guess that's how it changed this year but we were disappointed.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Birthday Celebration!

Dined on April 13, 2016

The service was top notch & the food was amazing! It's nice to see that pride in customer service still exists! The salad bar is amazing and the meat selection is neverending! We were celebrating a birthday and enjoying ourselves SO much, we had no idea a major thunder and hail storm was taking place outside. We can hardly wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service, great food. The only down ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great service, great food. The only downside is that it is extremely loud. For fine dining, I don't want to feel like I'm at a Chuck E. Cheese because of the noise level. They do have separate rooms from main dining area that are not as loud (although they are still above noise level that I would like), but sitting in the rooms makes you feel completely cut off from the food and entire experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A+++

Dined on April 8, 2016

Our waitress Arlene was amazing. Very attentive. Great dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really Cool Experience

Dined on April 8, 2016

This was my first time visiting a Brazilian Steakhouse, and it was actually pretty cool. The appetizer/salad bar has lost of great options, the service was awesome, and the meats were all really good. My tip would be to not fill up your plate in the appetizer/salad bar - sure, you'll want some salad and something to go with the meats; but, be sure to leave some room. Once you turn the little indicator from red to green expect a line of carvers to show up with various types of cuts, ranging from beef, to chicken, pork, lamb, meats with bacon... The service and ambience at the restaurant were great. If you happen to be a vegetarian, or had a decent meal earlier in the day, the cost might not be worth it. As for parking, the restaurant offers valet parking for $10; which is worth it considering how busy other lots in the area are - it is a major street though, so be sure you can drop off your car quickly and hop in before people start beeping.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere is great, service is always a ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Atmosphere is great, service is always amazing, food is delicious! Can't beat it

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice atmosphere and was very impressed.

Dined on April 7, 2016

salad bar great. Meat! What can I say!!! more than anyone would every need and cooked to perfection. Also you gave a great military discount. Thank You!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is simply incredible! You will ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food is simply incredible! You will be tempted to fill up on the salad bar (which is amazing), but use moderation. The gouchos that move between that tables serve the meat courses. There were ~15 different meats available. Pork, beef, lamb, and chicken were all available for us to try.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.