About Texas de Brazil - San Antonio

313 E. Houston St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Texas de Brazil is carving out a new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American “Churrascaria” or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas.
Treat yourself to our 50-60 item gourmet salad area including appetizers, fresh vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As your dining experience continues, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink or steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance that is Texas de Brazil.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Houston St. & Navarro St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 299-1600

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with tableside service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10, as well as self-parking in the Nix Parking Garage.

Executive Chef:
Evandro Caregnato

Private Party Facilities:
Texas de Brazil has the perfect private and semi-private dining space to help make your special event unique and memorable. Each location is designed with an aesthetic that is apparent in all details, from lush and vibrant tropical floral arrangements and deep red walls to soaring ceilings enhanced with beautiful, rustic chandeliers and extravagant mirrors. Enriched with elements for all the senses, our amenities create an experience like no other and make Texas de Brazil a destination hot spot for all occasions.

Texas de Brazil San Antonio features three private rooms. The Rio room seats up to 30 guests, the Texas Room seats up to 55 guests and the Brazil room can accommodate 55 guests comfortably. Other resources, such as A/V equipment may also be available for rent. Please contact our Knowledgeable event manager today too begin planning a remarkable event that is not soon to be forgotten!

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brazilian Cheesecake
Salad/Hot Food Bar
Cheese Bread
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Lamb Chop
Caramelized Bananas
Sauteed Mushrooms
Picaña
Leg Of Lamb With Mint Jelly
Panama Margarita
Lobster Bisque
Caipirinha
Chicken Breast, Garlic Sirloin, Sausage
Lime Caiprinha
Meats & Blood Potatoes
Salad Bar Pickins
Salad Bar
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Flan
Creme Brulee
Flanksteak, Tenderloin, Sirloin
Chateaneuf Du Pape
Inside
Drink Menu
Steak Chicken Sausage And Mashed Potatos
Beef Ribs

Texas de Brazil - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
7 More
Best Value
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (92)
Romantic (60)
Good for Groups (47)
See All
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for a Date (23)
Business Meals (15)
Fun (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Authentic (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Family Style (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Private Room (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (2)
People Watching (2)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you want a casual and good food exper ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

If you want a casual and good food experience with quick turnaround then this should be good for you. The service was subpar since our sauces for the meats and sides were brought out right about when we were done. This is not a romantic or fine dining experience. It is a fun, good food and loud restaurant. Don't bother dressing up as most people just come in with shorts and flip flops. And if the place is full good luck going to the restroom as there are only 3 stalls so I spent 15 minutes waiting for the restroom. We will probably not go again but again it is good for non foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Ask for Eddie, best server in the world! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Ask for Eddie, best server in the world!!! Buy a whole cake too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time ever at a Brazili ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was my first time ever at a Brazilian restaurant and I was extremely impressed. The food was excellent, the service was friendly and the atmosphere was beautiful. Will definitely be back in the future.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Cozy, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Historic, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall it was a horrible experience and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall it was a horrible experience and we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My daughter graduated from BMT and we ce ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

My daughter graduated from BMT and we celebrated at your facility. This was definitely a highlight of our trip. Can't wait to return. Everything was delicious. Service was awesome.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first trip to Texas de Braz ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our first trip to Texas de Brazil and it definitely will not be our last. Jared was our waiter and he did a great job of explaining the process and answered any questions we had. The guys and gals with the skewers of meat were fast and visited our table frequently. I loved my first experience at Texas de Brazil and can't wait until I go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner that was a big hit. Gre ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Birthday dinner that was a big hit. Great service. We have been many times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I usually don't go to this location but ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I usually don't go to this location but mykids r in SanAntonio it just wasn't as good as ftworth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I love to come to Tejas! It has become o ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I love to come to Tejas! It has become our special occasion ( birthday, anniversary milestone) go to. The meat is top notch and the service is always spectacular.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great selection! Worth the price! Amazin ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great selection! Worth the price! Amazing service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great ambience , great food excellent lo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

great ambience , great food excellent location just a few blocks from riverwalk.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place, I also love the great ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I love this place, I also love the great customer service. The food is great!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great food. Great price ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great service.

Great food.

Great price.

Definitely going back.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had excellent service. The food was g ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had excellent service. The food was great! And the environment was neat and beautiful!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought our own bottle of wine, and t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We brought our own bottle of wine, and there was a problem with the cork (old wine). The manager was really helpful in opening the bottle and brought a great decanter to allow the wine to breath. Waitress was definitely on top of her game also. Food good. It's known for wonderful meat offerings...but I think my next visit will be confined to the salad bar, which is world class.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place to dine for those special oc ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great place to dine for those special occasions for great friends or that special someone! Bring your appetite and be ready to splurge! The wait staff is top-notch and the management gives the impression of being high- quality minded, yet down to earth and helpful if there is something that needs attention. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Fun, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Normally this is my favorite place to ea ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Normally this is my favorite place to eat. However, the last time I ate there was just not good. Our waitress was very nice but the food just wasn't. We were celebrating a late anniversary and my return from deployment. I had originally made plans for another Brazilian steakhouse but thought I would give my favorite place another chance. Twice in a row now it has been a let down and I am not sure I will be returning again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We savor our meals at Texas de Brazil be ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We savor our meals at Texas de Brazil because---as true carnivores---we LOVE the meat! That's not to say that the salad bar's delicious varieties are not equally appealing. In fact, every time I make the initial round of the smorgasbord I am tempted to limit my selections (if limits could even be conceived) to the broad array of salads, breads, cheeses, soups, and pastas . Alas! My self-discipline has not yet prevailed....

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful restaurant; my family tries to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful restaurant; my family tries to go once a month.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is always a great place to have a b ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is always a great place to have a business lunch, meet friends for a great drink before heading out to an event or even a great date night/ anniversary dinner. The ambience is fantastic, the drinks are tasty and the food selection and quality is to die for. I will continue to dine at Texas de Brazil!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is very nice. Look super elega ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The place is very nice. Look super elegant. We went to celebrate my sons birthday. We enjoyed the food, drinks and dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome but the service/wai ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was awesome but the service/waitstaff is getting w worse everytime we go

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Spent a relaxing evening out with friend ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Spent a relaxing evening out with friends - First Visit for all four of us. Enjoyed the salad bar with its many selections. Meats were all well seasoned (I liked the Bacon-Wrapped Filet Mignon most). Ended the meal with desserts and drinks. Very Nice Restaurant ...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food. But very loud. Could hear so ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food. But very loud. Could hear someone talking that was 1 seat away or across the table without raising our voices and feeling rediculous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for dinner or lunch. Friend ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great place for dinner or lunch. Friendly, attentive staff. Salad bar selection was top-notch. Food excellent. Enjoyable.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went here for my birthday so took my boy ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went here for my birthday so took my boyfriend for his birthday and he LOVED it. Says it was by far the best food he ever had. I agree! Will keep coming back I love this place! Worth the money spent!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent services and salad bar was fan ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent services and salad bar was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I LOVED everything about this restaurant ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I LOVED everything about this restaurant! The moment we walked in, it was low lighting but you could definitely see well. Everything was beautiful and the decorations were breathtaking. Then, we sit down, right next to this huge mirror. I loved it. The waiter was very kind and funny. He told us to help ourselves to the 'salad' bar. The reason I put ' ', is because it was not really a salad bar. Just a lot of little finger snacks. That's ok though, because I knew ahead of time that I needed to save room for the food. The food was AMAZING. I usually do not eat that much in one sitting, which is why we usually never go to these types of restaurants (why pay alot when I'm hardly going to eat anything). But when we went, it was restaurant week. So we were like "eh, why not". I'm so glad we picked here to go! I ate so much, the food was so good. Then we saw the lady swinging by the wine bottles. It was definitely a show. Over all, I would rate it 100 out 100 :)

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed it very much. Was really nice ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We enjoyed it very much. Was really nice to get the restraunt week discount.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our first visit to Texas de B ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We enjoyed our first visit to Texas de Brazil. Typical Churrascaria restaurant with good food and service. The Lobster bisque was tasty. The seasoned shrimp on the salad bar along with their version of potato salad were very nice as well. From the grill, the flank steak and the picanha were particularly good. The bacon wrapped chicken was overcooked and chewy, but one doesn't really visit this type of restaurant for the chicken. (maybe it was the luck of the draw on the piece I sampled?)

The only glitch we experienced was at the end of the meal when we ordered a couple of cappuccinos to accompany dessert. It took a long time to get them and when they were served they were not even lukewarm--almost cold. Sent them back and after another long wait, the server came back with two more cups put them down and said "Here. These are much better" and walked away. I would have thought she might wait and see if they were, in fact, better or at least check back after a couple of minutes. Neither happened and, in fact the new beverages were NOT much better--tepid at best. Definitely not hot. We then waited for what seemed like a very long time to get our check so that we could head out to the theater. I hate to say it, but this put a damper on an otherwise lovely dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and food were impeccable! Outst ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service and food were impeccable! Outstanding job by entire staff. Super clean and fresh food!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was searching for a great place to tak ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was searching for a great place to take my son, who just graduated from Basic Military Training at Lackland, and this place delivered! Our reservation was for 5 pm, which is when the restaurant opens, and the place was ready to go. Full salad bar, great ambiance, and more meat on a skewer than any human could possibly consume. Lots of variety, very tasty cuts, and award-winning service. With an already-reasonable flat price PLUS a 20% military discount, you will not find anything close in value. And it's right off the River Walk with valet parking less than a block away. I am already missing the juicy filet mignon and the outstanding banana cream pie I had for dessert. Make sure you show up hungry!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant but terrible waitstaff. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good restaurant but terrible waitstaff. Could get much better service from going to whataburger than I got going to TexasDeBrazil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Waitress and her very new assistant were ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Waitress and her very new assistant were great. He was training and she was an excellent teacher even as the evening got busier.

Very enjoyable dining experience . Want to come back.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated Culinaria Restaurant Week ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We celebrated Culinaria Restaurant Week here with another couple for an adult's only evening. The food and service were amazing, and the price was great for folks on a budget. This was awesome!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the meats where amazing! I love the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

All the meats where amazing! I love the selections of salad items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, excellent salad bar, outstan ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food, excellent salad bar, outstanding service. Only negative is no parking nearby. Valet parking is available for $10. Parking lots and meters may be found in walking distance.

It is a great choice for special occasions or just a great dining choice any day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed ourselves and could no ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We really enjoyed ourselves and could not have had a more attentive server.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good however we were p ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was very good however we were put in a side room with 2 large parties and it was quite loud I hoped this wouldn't happen when reserving a table . I also feel like we were checked on less there for sure

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was very disappointed. Minimal select ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I was very disappointed. Minimal selection of meats available to our party of 5. Most of us kept our green coaster flipped the whole time and yet we still had to flag down the guys walking around with the meat. Drinks were just ok. I've had a better experience at other Brazilian restaurants! Perhaps our late dinner lead to minimal selection of meat but that's no excuse since we all still paid full price. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.