About Texas de Brazil - San Antonio

313 E. Houston St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Texas de Brazil is carving out a new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American “Churrascaria” or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas.
Treat yourself to our 50-60 item gourmet salad area including appetizers, fresh vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As your dining experience continues, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink or steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance that is Texas de Brazil.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Houston St. & Navarro St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 299-1600

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with tableside service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10, as well as self-parking in the Nix Parking Garage.

Executive Chef:
Evandro Caregnato

Private Party Facilities:
Texas de Brazil has the perfect private and semi-private dining space to help make your special event unique and memorable. Each location is designed with an aesthetic that is apparent in all details, from lush and vibrant tropical floral arrangements and deep red walls to soaring ceilings enhanced with beautiful, rustic chandeliers and extravagant mirrors. Enriched with elements for all the senses, our amenities create an experience like no other and make Texas de Brazil a destination hot spot for all occasions.

Texas de Brazil San Antonio features three private rooms. The Rio room seats up to 30 guests, the Texas Room seats up to 55 guests and the Brazil room can accommodate 55 guests comfortably. Other resources, such as A/V equipment may also be available for rent. Please contact our Knowledgeable event manager today too begin planning a remarkable event that is not soon to be forgotten!

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brazilian Cheesecake
Salad/Hot Food Bar
Cheese Bread
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Lamb Chop
Caramelized Bananas
Sauteed Mushrooms
Picaña
Leg Of Lamb With Mint Jelly
Panama Margarita
Lobster Bisque
Caipirinha
Chicken Breast, Garlic Sirloin, Sausage
Lime Caiprinha
Meats & Blood Potatoes
Salad Bar Pickins
Salad Bar
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Flan
Creme Brulee
Flanksteak, Tenderloin, Sirloin
Chateaneuf Du Pape
Inside
Drink Menu
Steak Chicken Sausage And Mashed Potatos
Beef Ribs

Texas de Brazil - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
12 More
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (83)
Romantic (61)
Good for Groups (47)
See All
Notable Wine List (31)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

All the meats where amazing! I love the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

All the meats where amazing! I love the selections of salad items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, excellent salad bar, outstan ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, excellent salad bar, outstanding service. Only negative is no parking nearby. Valet parking is available for $10. Parking lots and meters may be found in walking distance.

It is a great choice for special occasions or just a great dining choice any day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed ourselves and could no ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We really enjoyed ourselves and could not have had a more attentive server.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good however we were p ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was very good however we were put in a side room with 2 large parties and it was quite loud I hoped this wouldn't happen when reserving a table . I also feel like we were checked on less there for sure

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was very disappointed. Minimal select ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I was very disappointed. Minimal selection of meats available to our party of 5. Most of us kept our green coaster flipped the whole time and yet we still had to flag down the guys walking around with the meat. Drinks were just ok. I've had a better experience at other Brazilian restaurants! Perhaps our late dinner lead to minimal selection of meat but that's no excuse since we all still paid full price. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Come hungry. No question about that. Eve ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Come hungry. No question about that. Even vegetarians will love the incredible salad bar even if they are missing out on the best meat around. It's all fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was the biggest surprise I've had d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was the biggest surprise I've had dining in a good while. So worth the price! Great variety of food/cheese/salads on the salad bar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always. My only complaint ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food as always. My only complaint is this is my second time there and after your meal the time it takes to get your check is forever. You need to flag someone down and demand your check. I hate that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server went out of her way to make o ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our server went out of her way to make our evening special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time experience here, have been to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

First time experience here, have been to similar places but this one so far takes the cake. Would return again, our server was amazing. I can't remember her name. But she was from Las Vegas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding! I was there for ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was outstanding! I was there for my birthday with a large party of 10 (the maximum) which I had made reservations for on OpenTable. We had an unexpected extra person in our group, but we only had to wait a few additional minutes to have the table set up to accommodate the change. The waitstaff took time to explain the details of menu and different types of meat. The salad and soup bar was so well stocked. I had some delicious spicy shrimp and a superb salad. My husband had lobster bisque. Everyone commented on how good their salads were. I'm sure there was much more in the salad bar but I was saving my appetite for the different types of steak. I was not disappointed. The garlic picayune, the ribeye, the bacon-wrapped filet mignon, lamp chop. I can't even remember the rest because it just kept coming till my belly was stuffed!!!

To top it off I even had a choice of several different desserts- I chose carrot cake. So delicious!

My family and friends were all impressed and equally stuffed! The only thing I was a little disappointed by was that I didn't get to see the person swinging up to get our wine (since we were in a different room). I noticed it was where larger tables were placed. Next time I'm going to make sure I'm in the main dining area.

Other than that we had a great dining experience and will be definitely returning for a major event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This evening was the most enjoyable we h ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This evening was the most enjoyable we have had in a while. The food was outstanding and the service was impeccable. This is a great restaurant for special occasions and for groups. We had a great time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience! Food was d ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent dining experience! Food was delicious. If you go away hungry, it's your own fault!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was horribly salty. our wait st ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

the food was horribly salty. our wait staff had to be hunted down to get a bottle of wine. they turned the lights on in the middle of our meal and we felt like we were at mcdonalds

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Went here for my son's birthday. Had a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Went here for my son's birthday. Had a great time. Wait staff was very polite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not much variety in the meat selection. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Not much variety in the meat selection. We tried three items and only ate one (flank steak) since the others were not very good. We ended up having to get up to get our own plates so that we could start the meal. At $45. A plate, perhaps one could have been brought to us. We have gone to other Brazilian steakhouses in the San Antonio area and have had much better experiences. It's not that it was bad. Just not that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Awesomes service. Everyone was so attent ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awesomes service. Everyone was so attentive. Terrific food and ambiance. Looking forward to the next opportunity to go again!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food. Fantastic ambiance. Love ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fantastic food. Fantastic ambiance. Lovely service. Our waiter forgot about us for a little while but he did a great job at the beginning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent choice for an evening dinner. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent choice for an evening dinner. Service was great. Hostess was very attentive. The meats were delicious and you could have them cooked the way you wanted (mr, mw, m, etc.). We had a good evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Texas de Brazil is always deli ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Dinner at Texas de Brazil is always delicious, but takes a lot of consideration on how you'd like to feel after your meal. It takes some willpower to turn that card to red from green and call it quits because the food (especially picanha and flank steak), but the further you go the heavier you're going to feel walking away from that table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Texas de Brazil to celebrate ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went to Texas de Brazil to celebrate our family visiting. The salad bar was great along with the potatoes and fried bananas at the table. Loved the beef ribs! Service to our table was outstanding, and we received a 20% military discount and a free desert for our anniversary. It is costly and a real treat for our family. Only bummer was the wine lady wasn't performing while we were there due to some issues with the harness. It is a great place to go for a special occasion or get together when you are hungry and want some great meat and atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way to loud. Your competition in town h ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Way to loud. Your competition in town has similar dining rooms but not near as loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wait staff was knowledgable and just awe ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wait staff was knowledgable and just awesome! Delicious food, drinks, and excellent service! Worth every penny!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prefer this place over the other two Bra ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Prefer this place over the other two Brazilian places in town. Very professional and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I go to Texas de Brazil regularly. I lik ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I go to Texas de Brazil regularly. I like the ambiance and the salad bar. The meats are good too, but they are too salty most times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service and delicious food as expe ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great service and delicious food as expected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner, very attentive staff, ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Wonderful dinner, very attentive staff, great location. This place is fantastic on all points.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Food , Salad bar is amazing Can' ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Awesome Food , Salad bar is amazing Can't wait till next visit .. Don't eat anything all day , you will need a appetite to indulge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stopped by Texas de Brazil on a whim wit ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Stopped by Texas de Brazil on a whim with my husband and was wowed by the service and food selection. Christin gave us a background and thorough explanation of the restaurant and was spot on when suggesting drinks which we were more than eager to try. After having such a great experience we decided to try the other similar restaurant down the street (Fogo de Chao) to compare. Needless to say, we were disappointed by the service there and will definitely be returning to Texas de Brazil from here on out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early dinner and received exce ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had an early dinner and received exceptional service and the meat was great as always. With the salad bar.

Already planning another trip back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great great service and incredible food. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great great service and incredible food. My favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a great time . salad bar was extreme ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had a great time . salad bar was extremely excellent , many choices . Meats were carved at your table . One of the best places we ate at in a long time .

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I waited 7 months while deployed thinkin ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I waited 7 months while deployed thinking about this. The food was good but sent ahead a note saying it was for anniversary. Our server didn't ask us if we were celebrating anything special and didn't even really want to speak to us. Food was good except garlic fillet was really tough. No alcatra but that was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Awesome as usual Sushi was kind of nasty ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Awesome as usual

Sushi was kind of nasty but everything else was excellent, best dining experience in San Antonio.

Something for everyone, great first date restaurant !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten at The Texas de Brazil in ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We have eaten at The Texas de Brazil in Dallas and really enjoyed the restaurant in San Antonio as well! Parking is a little troublesome, but $10 valet service is well worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has been the second time i have eat ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This has been the second time i have eaten there and the service and food is always amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was to loud & to busy as we sat near ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was to loud & to busy as we sat near the door to the kitchen. Just to much commotion. I'm sure it's much nicer when seated away from the kitchen area or away from the front entrance. Other than that the rest was absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome service and great food.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Awesome service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to my 21rst birthday and as alwa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went to my 21rst birthday and as always we had an amazing time, and the food was delicious. They gave my husband and I a champagne toast to help celebrate my birthday. I love Texas de Brazil!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and even more amazing salad ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Amazing food and even more amazing salad bar. One of our favorite places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.