About Texas de Brazil - San Antonio

313 E. Houston St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Texas de Brazil is carving out a new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American “Churrascaria” or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas.
Treat yourself to our 50-60 item gourmet salad area including appetizers, fresh vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As your dining experience continues, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink or steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance that is Texas de Brazil.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Houston St. & Navarro St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 299-1600

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with tableside service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10, as well as self-parking in the Nix Parking Garage.

Executive Chef:
Evandro Caregnato

Private Party Facilities:
Texas de Brazil has the perfect private and semi-private dining space to help make your special event unique and memorable. Each location is designed with an aesthetic that is apparent in all details, from lush and vibrant tropical floral arrangements and deep red walls to soaring ceilings enhanced with beautiful, rustic chandeliers and extravagant mirrors. Enriched with elements for all the senses, our amenities create an experience like no other and make Texas de Brazil a destination hot spot for all occasions.

Texas de Brazil San Antonio features three private rooms. The Rio room seats up to 30 guests, the Texas Room seats up to 55 guests and the Brazil room can accommodate 55 guests comfortably. Other resources, such as A/V equipment may also be available for rent. Please contact our Knowledgeable event manager today too begin planning a remarkable event that is not soon to be forgotten!

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Texas de Brazil - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (86)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Good for a Date (62)
See All
Good for Birthdays (48)
Romantic (46)
Good for Groups (41)
Fun (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Notable Wine List (32)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Business Meals (29)
Authentic (24)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Paleo Friendly (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Casual (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Outstanding Value (16)
Cozy (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Family Style (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Great for Lunch (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Healthy (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Scenic View (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Private Room (6)
Great Beer (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Spicy (4)
Historic (4)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
790 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Worst waitress I can remember. Never stopped talking, told us her life story, her kids' life stories, her political views, why she did what she did, why we should listen to her, etc., etc., on and on, ad infinitum. And while one certainly likes a server to be attentive, she never left us alone for more than a minute or two. Constantly hovering, all while drowning us with her endless, incessantly drivel. We were there for my girlfriend's birthday and had her son dining with us. We all agree this woman ruined the evening. The food was wonderful, but I can't recommend this place for fear someone I know will get this horrendous waitress serving their table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous dinner and amazing service! Best we had in SA!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was awesome and relaxing atmosphere. Our waiter, can by at the right times and made sure we got the meat selection we wanted and kept the glasses full.

The food was excellent, as always. While my grandson dined on the lamb, I enjoyed the flank steak. It has a great spiciness to it that kept me wanting more. The salad bar also kept me heading back. It's minor, but the coffee was just lukewarm. The whole family even said on the way out it was there favorite restaurant KUDOS!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Great Beer, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Texas de Brazil is a great place for dining. The waiters are very nice and food is amazing. I would recommend anyone visiting San Antonio try it.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and food, outstanding place and a variety of options.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our 27th wedding Anniversary dining at Texas de Brazil (San Antonio). The food was delicious and the drinks were authentic and the dessert was to die for. It was the perfect setting for our special night. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Healthy, Casual, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 7 days ago

If your Lookin for a nice place to take your lady fellas I highly recommend this place I must say I am very impressed

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was awesome! Our waiter, Dennis came by at the right times and made sure we got the meat selection we wanted and kept the glasses full.

The food was excellent, as always. While my wife dined on the lamb, I enjoined the flank steak. It had a great spiciness to it that kept me wanting more. The salad bar also kept me heading back. My one complaint was they did not have the mushrooms there, which I love. It's minor, so it's not the thing to keep me away.

My wife even said on the way out that it was her new favorite restaurant. Kudos!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of the best experiences I've had in a long time great location great people great food overall will be going back soon

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place is amazing! Delicious food, amazing drinks, and excellent service!! We will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went to Texas de Brazil for Valentine's Day. It was a really nice for our night out. The food is always great and the service was awesome.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place! Husband and I both enjoy each time we go..

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and relaxing atmosphere. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my wife for Valentine's Day and we had an excellent time everything from the service to the food was fantastic.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Awesome experience. The whole staff from valet to waitstaff are there to make sure you have a great experience. The manager was overseeing the dining area. Very attentive. Deserts are a must.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We loved our experience again! However, we felt that the waitress was a little too pushy on buying the drink/shot after our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Not the place for a cheap meal. Expensive but perfect for special occasions. The food is FABULOUS! The best in meats and the salad bar is to die for! Very upscale. And they always have a delicious Lobster Bisque available. Love this place!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My fiance and I had a great experience dinning at Texas De Brazil. We were celebrating our anniversary and everyone was so happy and very attentive. When we ordered a desert they even wrote happy anniversary on the plate with 2 candles and we loved it. They even payed for our desert. I love Texas De Brazil, plus the food is amazing :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Texas de Brazil is , hands down, the BEST brazilian steakhouse I have ever been to. The food is amazing, the cuts of meat are just how you ask for them. The salad bar is well stocked and everything on there is delicious. It is an amazing place and truly worth the price. I suggest getting on their mailing list for BIG savings. I am a bit upset that their wine angel was not working that day due to malfunctioning equipment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for the experience with the Wine Angel but the cable was broken so we missed that experience which is great. Food was good, service was excellent but part of the cost in my opinion is for the entertainment and they didn't have that Saturday night so it was a disappointment since we had family from out out town.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding experience all around. The wait staff were fantastic, and the quality of food was significantly better than another similar place nearby.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our son-in-law calls this restaurant "a Meatatarian's delight," but he tends to forget the fabulous salad bar. Texas de Brazil is our favorite place to go for special occasions, even though it means a 150-mile drive each way! The salad bar is awesome, with a wide variety of uncommon and delicious offerings. The staff is extremely friendly, courteous, and accommodating. The meats are so very delicious - the beef offerings are always tender and flavorful. Treat yourself!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our 24 year wedding anniversary was memorable thanks to great food and a happy server!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was great! The people were great! Everything was great! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to my friends and family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The staff was prompt and courteous. Our waiter was knowledgable about the menu items and attentive to our needs. The hostess visited the table and asked if we were enjoying our evening. The food was delicious and the salad bar has a good selection of food to choose from.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was my first time eating here. I would definitely go back and take my whole family with me. Eddie was our server and he was very knowledgeable and friendly! Great food and great service!

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful Experience! Loved the huge variety at the Vege Salad Bar and the selections of beef and lamb.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Every time we come here to eat, the food and service is excellent. This time we went for a birthday celebration and they went out of their way to make it extra special.

Tags: Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good food & great service! Anthony took great care of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food, service was super, excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I was so impressed that I will never go to Fogo de Chao again! Not only was the salad bar and food amazing, there was a trapeze artist doing tricks the whole dinner. My husband is military so after dinner and two alcoholic drinks the total was $88, that's NOTHING for the meal and service we got. Also got a free dessert for our anniversary. I was so impressed, it's now my go to place for special dinners.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife Jackie took me for a belated birthday dinner. We had a wonderful experience! From the moment we arrived for the valet service, til the time we left, everything was on point! The Salad bar alone was phenomenal. The sides: fried bananas covered in butter, cinnamon and sugar, loaded mashed potatoes, and little cheesy rolls, we're great. The service was excellent! The meats....OMG! A carnivores dream! Make sure you show up hungry. Well worth the price!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fun experience for a special occasion. I recommend making reservations and using the valet service.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I absolutley love Texas De Brazil. I come to the one in Dallas at least once a month. But this location I received the filet cold twice. Please don't let this happen again to another customer. I will give 5 stars only because my job relies on surveys. And I know the feeling to have a bad survey.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food is good, if you're a medium rare type of person this is your place. Just the only issue is the waiters expect a high tip, regardless of their level of service. I had service once at this 8$ a plate restaurant where I noticed the server walking around with a coke ready to replenish mine at any time, vs here our waiter didn't get one till our second request. At this 8$ a plate restaurant the waiter went out of his way to call us by our first name, at Texas De Brazil our waiter seemed unhappy. Needless to say one got 200% tip while the other got 15%.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always an awesome experience, food is always hot and cooked to perfection and the staff is very friendly and attentive. Never a bad moment for us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

All of food meats were excellent and well seasoned.

Tags: Waterfront, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My wife and I dined here as part of restaurant week; exceptional food and service. The manager stopped by to check on the meal and service. In a word, Amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Everything about our experience at Texas de Brazil was excellent. But before I continue, I must say this restaurant is a direct rip off of Fogo de Chao, like an EXACT copy cat.

That said, it was excellent! The service was fantastic. Our waitress explained the different cuts of meats, had which cuts we wanted brought to the table, readily replaced our dirty dishes, and did some fantastic up-selling during our dessert course.

The meats were excellent! You know you come here for the meats right?? I prefer mine medium while my colleagues preferred medium rare and everyone was happy. The extensive salad bar had a lot of delicious options, and the wine list had a lot of depth as well.

Would absolutely visit again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Conveniently made reservations online, which were immediately confirmed via e-mail. Called ahead of time to ask for preferred seating area, off to the side to avoid passing traffic and was accommodated without any difficulty. Service was great, servers name was Arlene. Valet service was great, helped us out after closing hours. The food was amazing. Salad bar was outstanding, and the meats were worthy of the occasion. The lobster bisque was delicious. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food and service were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 23, 2017

So glad you brought back the banana dish. Very disappointed that you took away the mushrooms that you used to serve on the buffet. I always look forward to the mushrooms. I would love to see you bring that back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I loved it there. I want to visit again soon for a date night.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was great! We had a great time! We will most definitely be back!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Amazing!!! Staff very courteous, food, including salad bar, hands down delicious!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Service was excellent. Extremely organized. Food never ends - all you can eat. Food was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Everything was Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We have been in the past but feel the quality has declined. Food was not as we recalled. Will probably go again but not for a whild.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great evening as always. Good selection of tasty meats. Great service by waiter, meat servers and management. Will dine again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.