About Texas de Brazil - Pittsburgh

240 W. Station Square Drive Suite D-1
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Texas de Brazil is carving out a new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American “Churrascaria” or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas. Treat yourself to our 50-60 item gourmet salad area including appetizers, fresh vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As your dining experience continues, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink or steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance that is Texas de Brazil.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Smithfield St Bridge

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 230-4004

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with table-side service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Texas de Brazil - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
1 More
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

special occasion (245)
good for groups (184)
fit for foodies (144)
See All
romantic (85)
hot spot (64)
notable wine list (50)
great for lunch (34)
neighborhood gem (32)
great for brunch (28)
scenic view (28)
kid-friendly (25)
late-night find (25)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for outdoor dining (10)
 (7)
 (6)
 (5)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
793 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Everyone's always so nice, we've been th ...

Dined 3 days ago

Everyone's always so nice, we've been there twice and all the servers are always smelling. They make you feel welcome

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ahhhh-some

Dined 3 days ago

Brilliant food and experience! Lovely for date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was not as good as it usually is. ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was not as good as it usually is. Meat not as season or flavorful . And it was busy so really loud and meat server were rushing so you would say yes for a selection and they walk away.. Lol Hoping it just a bad night and not going downhill

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good and good variety

Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good and good variety

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious. Awesome salad bar as well

Dined on May 22, 2016

Delicious. Awesome salad bar as well

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on May 21, 2016

Staff was super nice, meats were phenomenal! All were cooked perfectly and brought out the flavors well. Only slight downgrade for noise and it is pricey. It's all you can eat but filling. Try to leave room for dessert or take one home, they were also fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers were amazing! The food was i ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The servers were amazing! The food was incredible! I would love to go again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The experience was definitely an enjoyab ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The experience was definitely an enjoyable one. The service was great and the food was terrific. The salad bar was surprisingly fully featured with lots of great options. If you are a fan of grilled meats, I cannot imagine a better dining experience. The one criticism that might have is that if you looking for a more traditional dining experience, you might be put off by the constant interaction with servers and lack of traditional foods, so make sure you know how food is delivered and what is on the menu. Lastly, I would definitely recommend the cheesecake.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

When you come here it is all about 'the ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

When you come here it is all about 'the meats' even though they have a very nice soup and salad bar and wonderful desserts. The only disappointment there was the lobster bisque which could have been mistaken for a creamy tomato soup had there not been a sign identifying it. Most of the meats were very good, though some beef cuts were indistinguishable from one another. Unfortunately, we were unable to get through all the different kinds (you can only eat so much) so a return trip may be necessary! All in all an enjoyable meal.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

Texas de Brazil is high on class, and reasonable on the wallet. At $40/plate it's not the cheapest meal in town, but it's the best $40 you'll ever spend on a plate. Dozens of friendly waiters bring around fresh-cooked meat and cut it for you, right off the spit. Various steaks, beef ribs, lamb, chicken, and more, all seasoned to perfection. To cleanse the pallet, the chef serves up fried bananas and thick, creamy, garlic mashed potatoes that are practically a meal unto themselves. Add to this a variety of top shelf wines and an energetic bar to pass the time while you wait for your table, and Texas de Brazil offers an exquisite and unique dining experience. Highly recommended for couples or small groups/business meals. Hungry teens might also find themselves at home here, but larger families may want to steer clear as the cost can add up quickly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was very happy with Texas de Brazil . ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I was very happy with Texas de Brazil . A week before I could not get reservations until late . Instead of looking to go elsewhere, I waited a week to go here. It was worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, great for group dinin ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent service, great for group dining, must be a meat lover. Long dinners great for talking and catching up with friends. Would go again

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for mothers day and we had a time! Excellent and food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food, consistent in ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service, great food, consistent in Columbus and Pittsburgh! We had a party of seven who were satisfied with their choice of salad bar and/or meat smorgasboard. The service was great from the young lady who escorted my 87-year-old Mom to her seat, to the accomodation made for Mom's upset stomach (it wasn't the food). We spent a couple of leisurely hours there, an enjoyable time for all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Very disappointing

Dined on May 7, 2016

The website stated this was an exceptional dining experience. The restaurant was very crowded and noisy. Food was overpriced and all the meat tasted the same.

food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Poor service

Dined on May 7, 2016

New server didnt have a firm grasp of how the restaurant operated. My card was flipped over to green and waited 12 plus minutes on beef swords. I stated I didn't want a dessert, she brought one out anyway then ask me to please take it I agreed then I was charged for it. I can honestly say I was still hungry when I left because we were tired of waiting for the food servers to come to our table😠!!!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing meal - highly recommend.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Amazing meal - highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was out of this world!!! Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves great food a true foodie someone who appreciates fine dining at its best without the giant price tag

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

Dined on May 6, 2016

The service is excellent and the food is delicious. It's a little pricey but you definitely get what you pay for. We were celebrating a birthday and stayed for almost 3 hours. We never felt rushed, in fact it was just the opposite! Our server, Alec, was very helpful and friendly. The Brazilian sangria was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Perfect Thursday Celebration

Dined on May 5, 2016

Our family often choose Texas de Brazil for special get togethers, and it never fails to please. The salad bar is extensive and loaded with wonderful treats and tidbits of deliciousness, and the meats are all amazing. Service is impeccable and we are never disappointed. By the time we walk to our car, we've already decided the next great reason to eat there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Excellent food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dining experience!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went for my husbands birthday and took our kids - 10 and 12. We all TOTALLY enjoyed Texas de Brazil and will go back again for another special event. The salad bar shouldn't be called a salad bar because it is an amazing layout of food - not just lettuce! There was nothing we had that we didn't like. The waiters with the meat were prompt, courteous and came back around at the end of the meal to make sure we were satisfied. They even asked us if they could bring over the person who had our favorite item for one more round. The bananas were amazing! I would go back in a second. I think it would be a fun place to take clients as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delish, yet disapointed

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were celebrating my 40th birthday and enjoyed a delicious dinner! I was disappointed though that they didn't offer me a dessert or drink on them.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Talk about a food fest! The salad bar a ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Talk about a food fest! The salad bar alone is awesome. So many delicious items to pick from, great variety. The way the meats are served is an experience in it self. All done just the way you would like them. Great food, good time! Would and will definitely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant never disappoints

Dined on May 1, 2016

My family and i have been to the restaurant several times, and we have never had a bad experience. The food is outstanding, and the service is always the best. Even when we have a guest with us that prefers their food cooked to a particular temperature, they are happy to accomodate. This has become our favorite restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service, good food selections

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good service, good food selections,very happy with dinner

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Lobster bisque and salad bar excellent. ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Lobster bisque and salad bar excellent. Meat less so this day

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit and it was awesome

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our waiter Alec was above and beyond greatness, all of our favorites were on the salad bar, and Every meat was done to perfection,I imagine heaven to have a Texas de Brazil!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressed

Dined on April 30, 2016

Brought my husband (who's a meat & potatoes kind of guy) to this restaurant as it was recommended by a friend months ago. It was perfect. It is expensive but worth every penny! The service was great. The manager visited our table to ensure that our expectations were met. I would say they went above & beyond to meet our expectations as my husband & I were having a non-traditional celebration in which I was presenting a gift to him. The staff at this location made this a truly special moment for us. We will be back, with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For Meat Lovers - Lots of Meat Lovers

Dined on April 29, 2016

Very nice place. I would not call it romantic. Rather open floor plan with a large and very good salad bar - lots of choices there for many tastes. Vegetarians could go here but probably only if you are with an avid meat eater. A different dining experience as you do not order, they bring the meat to your table and carve you off what you want. Beef, Lamb, Pork, Chicken. It all comes to you and you decide what and how much you want. The service was very good. Our waiter checked in just often enough and would make sure a meat server would appear if you were looking for a certain type of meat for the first time or second. Very rich cuts so bring an appetite and strong constitution if you want to get the most out of it. Also did not know that fried bananas will cleanse your palate. Really worked between types of meat so you can taste it all fully. Highly recommend doing that in between. Great evening, one price for all.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Noise and Space Issues

Dined on April 23, 2016

I did enjoy my meal at the restaurant but i did not care for the noise level whatsoever. I am 26 years old and had to ask our waiter to repeat himself multiple times. Also, 3 times during my meal, another waiter passing by smacked into my chair due to the tight seating. One of those times, my drink spilt all over my outfit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining

Dined on April 19, 2016

was and food more expected. Will dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Ask About Drink & Dessert Prices

Dined on April 19, 2016

I Enjoyed Everthing about the restaurant but the bill. Just 2 things I visited this place in Aruba years ago and everything was included and it was about $50 per person. Didnt know I was being charged $5 for a Mango Lemonade and the waiter came and adked if I would like a refill I said yes and got charged $10 . And desserts were about $9 each. I came expecting to spend $100 and spent $135 plus tip....Wouldve like to have known about additional charge in advance....Otherwise Great Place to Eat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT PLACE, EVEN GREATER FOOD!

Dined on April 17, 2016

If you like to eat great food and never want to leave a place wanting for more, this is your place to eat! One suggestion though, be prepared to loosen your belt at least two notches by the end of the meal!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was exc.carvers were the greatest!

Dined on April 11, 2016

We go here for special occasions, it was our 29th wedding anniversary. Everyone wished us a Happy Anniversary. It's a little pricey but for a special occasion it is wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was good! Will go there again ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Everything was good! Will go there again!:)

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service and a relaxing pace.

Dined on April 10, 2016

The restaurant was clean and open. The salad bar was amazing! The selection were wide and very delicious!! It was not too noisy which made it easy to talk. Management was present and checked in on us twice to ensure we were happy with food and service. The waiter was very hospitable and enjoyable. There is one price, to make it worth while bring your appetite and pace yourself. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So much food!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have been to the restaurant on several occasions and it never disappoints. Everything is cooked to perfection. Come with a huge appetite and a group of friends for a fun time!

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Outstanding Service

Dined on April 9, 2016

Although the food was not quite near our expectations for the price. The service was outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining Experience

Dined on April 8, 2016

Texas de Brazil is truly a dining experience. The salad bar is tremendous. The service was excellent with no question or request unanswered. The manager greeting was unexpected but very thoughtful. The meats were super and never-ending. We had an excellent time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.