About Texas de Brazil - Pittsburgh

240 W. Station Square Drive Suite D-1
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Texas de Brazil is carving out a new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American “Churrascaria” or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas. Treat yourself to our 50-60 item gourmet salad area including appetizers, fresh vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As your dining experience continues, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink or steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance that is Texas de Brazil.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Smithfield St Bridge

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 230-4004

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with table-side service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Texas de Brazil - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
3 More
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

special occasion (223)
good for groups (169)
fit for foodies (131)
See All
romantic (59)
hot spot (50)
notable wine list (39)
great for lunch (29)
neighborhood gem (26)
scenic view (25)
great for brunch (24)
kid-friendly (21)
late-night find (19)
great for outdoor dining (14)
vibrant bar scene (13)
Sort By:
Newest
826 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a great.a very fun experience!the se ...

Dined 3 days ago

Was a great.a very fun experience!the service was great.we will definitely .pretty pricey but we had coupon which made it worth it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I was not impressed with restaurant for ...

Dined 5 days ago

I was not impressed with restaurant for that amount of money for 3 . I will not be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The only thing that I thought was a litt ...

Dined 6 days ago

The only thing that I thought was a little odd - the hostess asked if we were there for a special occasion and when I said "yes" it was my husband's birthday - nothing else was said. Not even a Happy Birthday. Why ask if you really don't care. Other than that the food was very good, the service was great. Really enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food fantastic! I am a meat eater and th ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food fantastic! I am a meat eater and the meats were wonderfully delicious. My wife is not such a big meat eater. She ate some meat but LOVED the salad bar. You cater to all eaters! Great job and wonderful staff. They make sure your doing great! Only thing we found out was that since I told them it was my wife's birthday they did NOT mention that she could have a dessert free.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Be prepared to eat, the waiter excellent ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Be prepared to eat, the waiter excellent and worth the visit. Excellent place for the family.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed another evening at this Pitts ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We enjoyed another evening at this Pittsburgh location. The place was firing on all cylinders and was very satisfying in all categories. Looking forward to another dining experience soon. I know there is a spot for private comments, but please pass this review to the Pittsburgh location. Kevin and Mary Gibbons.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Texas de Brazil ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

My husband and I went to Texas de Brazil to celebrate our birthdays and the experience was incredible! The food and service were fantastic! We will definitely keep it in mind for other special occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our 4th or 5th time there. Onl ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our 4th or 5th time there. Only once was it just 2 of us, usually 5-6 people. Many times we had to find the gauchos, aka meat servers. This time it was rush rush rush. It was fathers day and we checked in almost an hour early to see our wait and we were seated immediately, which was fine. But the Gauchos never looked at our meat card. We were still on first course and they just kept coming and coming! Offered my vegetarian daughter meat several times. We weren't even done with our 1st course and the meat was flying on our plates (with our OK) with the second course. If you start refusing, they stop coming over, so we were afraid to refuse!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good! We went for Father's Day and ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good! We went for Father's Day and he was very impressed and can't wait to go back. This is great, because they gave all father's a certificate for a free future meal and I'll get to go again! I love the cheesy buns they give at the table and our server, Jay, was always quick to refill the basket for us! Get the Brazil Cheesecake (you'll need it to go!) because it is AMAZING!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Very disappointed in the food .over cook ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very disappointed in the food .over cooked very limited selection on the meats we kept havihaving to ask for a server.very disappointed ..

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique. We love it! Great food and serv ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Unique. We love it! Great food and service!!!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. Wonderful food an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful experience. Wonderful food and atmosphere

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a great experience and meal. I have ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great experience and meal. I have been to similar places in other cities, and this compared nicely. Would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really delicious and a different kind of ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Really delicious and a different kind of dining experience. Pretty pricey in my opinion. I prefer to visit only if a coupon or discount of some sort is involved.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

We were there the night before Father's ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We were there the night before Father's Day to celebrate the holiday with my family. We had a table of 4. Our waiter was great and the food was good. Excellent salad bar. The only problem we had was getting the carvers carrying the meat to our table. One carver with parmesean chicken kept coming to our table but the others focused on the big tables. We never saw some of the cuts of meats. My husband would have liked to try the sausage and the ribs. That was the only issue but it was a big issue. We paid just as much a person but we feel we did not get a fair selection because of the style of service. I would have rather it been set up like a meat buffet. At least we would have been able to get what we wanted to try. . We found it stressful trying to get the servers attention. We have been to another Texas De Brazil in Columbus where we had a larger group and we seemed to have no problem getting a carvers attention there. Very disappointed for the price. Would probably not come back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a unique dining experience, bu ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was a unique dining experience, but the noise level of the restaurant made it very difficult to talk with others at the table. Also, the meat servers tended to not pay attention to the cards, so we were constantly being asked if we wanted food (which some may see as a good thing, but was a bit annoying at times). The salad bar had a wide variety of options and unique foods to try and your appetite will definitely be satisfied. It was a fairly expensive meal, so I wouldn't recommend taking children unless they qualify for the $5 meal or are big eaters.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It is a lot of meat so be prepared to ea ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

It is a lot of meat so be prepared to eat! Good service and nice atmosphere. I bit over priced for how much a normal person can actually eat but still very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here 3 times and the serve ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We have been here 3 times and the serve and food were great everytime. Guaranteed to never leave hungry.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a most enjoyable experien ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We always have a most enjoyable experience at TDB! This time was no different. Delicious food and excellent service!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We enjoyed the experience. However we we ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We enjoyed the experience. However we were grateful that we had a gift card. We will not return due to the high price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My birthday was excellent! The waiter an ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

My birthday was excellent! The waiter and servers were pleasant , funny and attentive. The waiter helped us pick out an excellent wine selection . the food was delicious, timely and had a nice variety. The manager/owner was even nice enough to pay us a visit and check on us. We will definitely be returning. The only thing I would suggest is larger tables for all the food !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was unlike anything I had ever ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was unlike anything I had ever had, it's like a guys dream land if you were to have a last meal this would probably be my choice. Every type of meat you can think of and the salad bar was fully laid out, I was fully impressed and the servers made things fun as well. Will for sure come back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was fabulous! Really made o ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our waitress was fabulous! Really made our experience great!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience was great.... I will be b ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The experience was great.... I will be back alot more times one of my favorite restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very attentive server and management. Th ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Very attentive server and management. The quality of the salad bar and meats was top notch. Not inexpensive, but worth it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for special occasions and entertaining

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great place to take guests. The food is great and the service is very attentive. There is something for everyone on salad/hot food bar. We love it!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific service and food

Dined on June 4, 2016

I can't say enough about our experience at Texas de Brazil. The food was outstanding and the staff courteous to a fault. The cold food selection was a mix of things I had tried before and new items. The meats were hot, juicy, tasted amazing and were plentiful. We sat on the patio and were not neglected at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING!

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was more like an event than a dining experience! From the moment we entered until we left the staff was incredibly friendly, efficient, kind, funny and attentive. The greeter was pleasant, our server was phenomenal, the gentlemen with the skewers(I forget what they're called) were quick and efficient . The food... Plentiful, delicious, adventurous and delectable! We were at the restaurant for nearly three hours taking it all in, and in the end our server felt more like a new friend than wait staff. We are from out of town but travel to Pittsburgh periodically and we have definitely found ourselves a new place to eat. Looking forward to checking out the one closer to our home. Don't miss this! Make a reservation today!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The Name says it all

Dined on June 3, 2016

Authentic spelling for is Brasil. So it is Brasilian not Brazilian. That holds true for this restaurant in general. This is not an authentic Brasilian Churrascaria but an American Take on one. The Salad bar has very little Brasilian inspired dishes or Seafood like Oysters, Calamari Salad, Mussels, Ceviche. They have a dish called Pineapple Ceviche which should have been called Pineapple Carpicciao ( Thinly sliced Pineapple on a plate ? The Meat was OK it was seasoned well , The sides lacked Yucca the venerable Brasilian side dish, Instead they had Mashed potatoes??? Even Rice would have been a better choice. The Deserts Lacked any Brasilian offerings like Flan. The Caipirinha was basically Sprite with Vodka, It lacked any flavor close to Cachaca. The only thing close to Brasilian was our server Sergio He was from Paraguay, His wife was Brasilian. If you are looking for an authentic Brasilian Churrascaria look elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food was delish, our server, Joshua was ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Food was delish, our server, Joshua was attentive and very friendly. Only problem we encountered was when we asked for 1 specific meat, we had to ask multiple times before it was brought out, just as we were ready to finish up.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Time

Dined on May 30, 2016

Went to dinner with a group from work. Food and atmosphere was excellent as always. Will certainly plan another night out at Texas de Brazil in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Everyone's always so nice, we've been th ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Everyone's always so nice, we've been there twice and all the servers are always smelling. They make you feel welcome

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ahhhh-some

Dined on May 28, 2016

Brilliant food and experience! Lovely for date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was not as good as it usually is. ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was not as good as it usually is. Meat not as season or flavorful . And it was busy so really loud and meat server were rushing so you would say yes for a selection and they walk away.. Lol Hoping it just a bad night and not going downhill

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Although this was a 'meat-lovers' paradi ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Although this was a 'meat-lovers' paradise, (3) of the (6) in our party were vegetarians and the selection was abundant. The service was friendly, but EXTREMELY slow and not very attentive. The cost of meal was very PRICEY especially when 1/2 party ate only meat & the other 1/2 ate salad bar. The noise level was so great that it was difficult to have a conversation. It was NOT a relaxing meal for a celebration of birthdays. The ambience was lovely and the place very clean, but I would not recommend for reasons above.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good and good variety

Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was very good and good variety

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious. Awesome salad bar as well

Dined on May 22, 2016

Delicious. Awesome salad bar as well

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on May 21, 2016

Staff was super nice, meats were phenomenal! All were cooked perfectly and brought out the flavors well. Only slight downgrade for noise and it is pricey. It's all you can eat but filling. Try to leave room for dessert or take one home, they were also fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers were amazing! The food was i ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The servers were amazing! The food was incredible! I would love to go again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The experience was definitely an enjoyab ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The experience was definitely an enjoyable one. The service was great and the food was terrific. The salad bar was surprisingly fully featured with lots of great options. If you are a fan of grilled meats, I cannot imagine a better dining experience. The one criticism that might have is that if you looking for a more traditional dining experience, you might be put off by the constant interaction with servers and lack of traditional foods, so make sure you know how food is delivered and what is on the menu. Lastly, I would definitely recommend the cheesecake.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.