About Texas de Brazil - Pittsburgh

240 W. Station Square Drive Suite D-1
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Texas de Brazil is carving out a new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American “Churrascaria” or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas. Treat yourself to our 50-60 item gourmet salad area including appetizers, fresh vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As your dining experience continues, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink or steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance that is Texas de Brazil.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Smithfield St Bridge

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 230-4004

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with table-side service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Executive Chef:
Evandro Caregnato

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Texas de Brazil - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
5 More
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

special occasion (223)
good for groups (164)
fit for foodies (132)
See All
romantic (63)
hot spot (49)
notable wine list (45)
neighborhood gem (28)
scenic view (25)
great for lunch (23)
great for brunch (21)
kid-friendly (21)
late-night find (16)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for outdoor dining (11)
Sort By:
Newest
857 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great service. Worth the pri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined a day ago

Great food, great service. Worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we visit a Texas de Brazil we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Every time we visit a Texas de Brazil we leave full and happy. This visit was the same. This was our first time at the Pittsburgh establishment and it didn't disappoint from the staff that greeted us to the bartender to the servers.

Excellent salad bar and the lobster bisque was delicious. Nice selection of meat entrees and the servers explained what they had and if it was medium rare, medium, etc.

This was the first visit for our guest. He couldn't stop thanking us for bringing him. I think Texas de Brazil has another life long customer.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 11th wedding ann ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating our 11th wedding anniversary and it was a great choice for a unique night out. We couldn't afford it on a regular basis, but very nice for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Texas de Brazil was my first and only ch ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Texas de Brazil was my first and only choice for my annual birthday celebration dinner. The food is spectacular here. I love the different items on the salad bar that you just don't get at any other restaurant - love the tabbulee!!! And the meats, oh my are they succulent. I have told many folks about this restaurant. Love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We stop here once a year and it never ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

We stop here once a year and it never dissapoints. Always perfect from your first step in the door till you leave happy and full. Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about this place. Don' ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Loved everything about this place. Don't know where to begin. The hostesses were super friendly and catered to what we needed. The waiter was awesome as well! He knew everything about the menu. Whenever we needed him he was just around the corner. The buffet line was great. Gigantic choices with tasty dishes. Remember to try the wine mushroom and the lobster bids soup!! Fantastic-O!!

The meats!!!! OMG! Never ending and each one had their own unique flavor. The waiter/butcher comes to your table with them. They range from rare to fully cooked. I recommend you choose small and eat slow cause there's plenty to come. We had to come back the next day cause it was so good!!

Make your reservations online to get your $25 coupon too.

I promise you won't be disappointed!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining was wonderful as we celebrate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The dining was wonderful as we celebrated our 15th Anniversary. The staff was attentive and welcoming. I would recommend this establishment for your special occasion. Thanks for helping us celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service, excellent food, and g ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic service, excellent food, and great atmosphere. My wife and I loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is outstanding, the service is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food is outstanding, the service is great, and delicious drinks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go hungry. The salad selections are fre ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Go hungry. The salad selections are fresh and tasty along with soup and hot sides, but the meats stole the show. Various beef/steaks, chicken pork and sausage. The house specialty beef was the specialty for a reason. It was very flavorful. We went early on a weeknight and there were very few tables to start. By the time we left the dining area was getting petty full. They do take reservations so if you are not an early diner I would recommend reserving a table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great unique dinning experience! Staff w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great unique dinning experience! Staff was amazing! Friendly informative and efficient!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good. Only issue was the head ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was good. Only issue was the head lady at the desk who sat me was not very personable.

She actually seemed frustrated and bothered.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Lived in Brazil for 28 years not the sam ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Lived in Brazil for 28 years not the same experience as in Brazil but ok too expensive! Should not be more than $30!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

They lost my reservation so 4 adults and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

They lost my reservation so 4 adults and 7-year-old and a baby stood by the check-in counter for 10 minutes. One of the two women said she found us and would have our table readied, but that turned out to be untrue as both of them continued to look for our reservation, the confirmation of which I had in my email on my phone. One of them finally said, "We trust you, so this way please." "Trust us??!!" When the waiter showed up and asked how I was, I let him know in no uncertain terms. Two male managers soon appeared, a few minutes apart and apologized profusely. Both left their cards. When I got the bill, it had been reduced by 20%, so they made a very nice effort to rectify the initial seating issue. We all loved the food and service from that point and I suspect the service is always that good and we will return. One word of caution: To make it a decent value, go hungry and eat slowly , otherwise you will end up filling up far too fast and turning down delicious items for which you had no room.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Salad bar really wasn't that great. Had ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Salad bar really wasn't that great. Had to sometimes wait for meat

Meat was good but oily.

Good place to see and do once but iI would not want to go often.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

This restaurant was excellent. I went to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant was excellent. I went to celebrate my significant others birthday. The food was excellent and we more than enjoyed trying all the different meats. The service was excellent and the servers were friendly. I after my experience in this restaurant I recommend it to multiple people I know. I can't wait to attend this restaurant again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were treated like royalty, starting w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were treated like royalty, starting with the kind hostess who seated us. The friendly restaurant manager, Jairo, was refreshingly authentic Brazilian ! Bcz I've recently lived in Brazil, that was a pleasant surprise ! I so enjoyed chatting with him in Portuguese for a few minutes. And the cuisine was delicious, as always. Our waitress, Cinda, was prompt & courteous. It was my bday & what a fabulous place to celebrate it. Well worth the 1.5 hrs drive from Sharon, PA to Pgh.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A very unique and memorable experience. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A very unique and memorable experience. It was our 15th wedding anniversary and as soon as we arrive there was a power failure in the area. Alarms we're blaring both inside and outside the restaurant and there were no lights. The staff was great - escorting us to the salad bar with flashlights. Eventually the alarms went off and since we were seated right next to the kitchen door, the staff was still above to serve us what meat was already prepared. They were terrific and we were served the full menu. By the end of our "candle lit" dinner we were the only ones left in the place. The manager comped us for one dinner and also my espresso and our desert. You guys are the best as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Meat was excellent, salad bar was excell ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Meat was excellent, salad bar was excellent, and waitstaff and staff very friendly. A lot of variety on saladbar which works well if you do not eat meat. Can do entire meal on just saladbar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and staff were AMAZING and v ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The service and staff were AMAZING and very professional

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable. Food quality wa ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service was impeccable. Food quality was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Salad area was c ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was excellent. Salad area was clean and full of great food. Service was great- Waiter was always attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was good, went your card is flip ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Service was good, went your card is flipped they should stop offering food. We were getting meat pushed as we were paying our checks.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food and service were both execellen ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food and service were both execellent. The server explained the unique items on the menu and compared them to more commonly know items along with recommendations accordingly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great! It's a bit pricey a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was great! It's a bit pricey and I definitely can go often but we had friends in town and wanted something different. The service was terrible. We waited 15 minutes for our check and then she came with the dessert tray. We said that we weren't interested in dessert and she rolled her eyes and said that she "HAD TO" show us the dessert tray. Then said "Is that ok with you" in a very condescending tone. We told her that she was being very rude, please bring us our checks. It was another 10mins before we got our checks. I've never been treated so badly by a waitress.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Flank steak is boss.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Flank steak is boss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Lamb was Fantastic, the beef superb, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Lamb was Fantastic, the beef superb, did not have anything that was bad. Some items are on the salty side but I found them very tasty.

Our server was on top of it impeccable.

The Gouchos the guys with the meat were great.

Go hungry! I was sad when I was stuffed had to take desert home.

We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious but our waitress was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was delicious but our waitress was absolutely horrible! Made the experience (first time go-er) really bad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Delicious! Make sure you are hungry when ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Delicious! Make sure you are hungry when you go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Joshua our waiter was excellent ! Never ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Joshua our waiter was excellent ! Never will forget him there

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Impeccable service, food was delecious. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Impeccable service, food was delecious. The salad bar alone was worth the trip.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Was a great.a very fun experience!the se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Was a great.a very fun experience!the service was great.we will definitely .pretty pricey but we had coupon which made it worth it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not impressed with restaurant for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was not impressed with restaurant for that amount of money for 3 . I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The only thing that I thought was a litt ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The only thing that I thought was a little odd - the hostess asked if we were there for a special occasion and when I said "yes" it was my husband's birthday - nothing else was said. Not even a Happy Birthday. Why ask if you really don't care. Other than that the food was very good, the service was great. Really enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food fantastic! I am a meat eater and th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food fantastic! I am a meat eater and the meats were wonderfully delicious. My wife is not such a big meat eater. She ate some meat but LOVED the salad bar. You cater to all eaters! Great job and wonderful staff. They make sure your doing great! Only thing we found out was that since I told them it was my wife's birthday they did NOT mention that she could have a dessert free.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Be prepared to eat, the waiter excellent ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Be prepared to eat, the waiter excellent and worth the visit.

Excellent place for the family.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed another evening at this Pitts ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We enjoyed another evening at this Pittsburgh location. The place was firing on all cylinders and was very satisfying in all categories. Looking forward to another dining experience soon. I know there is a spot for private comments, but please pass this review to the Pittsburgh location. Kevin and Mary Gibbons.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Texas de Brazil ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

My husband and I went to Texas de Brazil to celebrate our birthdays and the experience was incredible! The food and service were fantastic! We will definitely keep it in mind for other special occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 4th or 5th time there. Onl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our 4th or 5th time there. Only once was it just 2 of us, usually 5-6 people. Many times we had to find the gauchos, aka meat servers. This time it was rush rush rush. It was fathers day and we checked in almost an hour early to see our wait and we were seated immediately, which was fine. But the Gauchos never looked at our meat card. We were still on first course and they just kept coming and coming! Offered my vegetarian daughter meat several times. We weren't even done with our 1st course and the meat was flying on our plates (with our OK) with the second course. If you start refusing, they stop coming over, so we were afraid to refuse!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good! We went for Father's Day and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good! We went for Father's Day and he was very impressed and can't wait to go back. This is great, because they gave all father's a certificate for a free future meal and I'll get to go again! I love the cheesy buns they give at the table and our server, Jay, was always quick to refill the basket for us! Get the Brazil Cheesecake (you'll need it to go!) because it is AMAZING!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.