About Texas de Brazil - Pittsburgh

Texas de Brazil is carving out a new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American “Churrascaria” or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas. Treat yourself to our 50-60 item gourmet salad area including appetizers, fresh vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As your dining experience continues, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink or steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance that is Texas de Brazil.

240 W. Station Square Drive Suite D-1
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday 11:00am- 2:30am
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Weekend Lunch: Saturday - Sunday 12:00pm - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
Smithfield St Bridge

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 230-4004

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with table-side service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Executive Chef:
Evandro Caregnato

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Texas de Brazil - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (145)
Good for Birthdays (98)
Good for Anniversaries (96)
See All
Good for a Date (89)
Creative Cuisine (85)
Fun (78)
Worth the Drive (71)
Good for Groups (67)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Authentic (51)
Romantic (49)
Casual (41)
Business Meals (38)
Tasting Menu (37)
Family Style (32)
Modern Decor (31)
Cozy (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Comfort Food (21)
Waterfront (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Outstanding Value (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Paleo Friendly (18)
People Watching (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Scenic View (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Healthy (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Seasonal (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Historic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Fireplace (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Vegan (4)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food and service. Executive Chef ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food and service. Executive Chef Sergio was at the salad bar and walked us through the options. He later visited us at our table to see how we were doing. Loved talking to him and the pride he took in his food and his staff in the kitchen who help to make it all possible. Sunday brunch is an incredible value. Chef Sergio made the most amazing soup I have ever tasted, jalapeño pepper soup. It was the perfect heat. Great service by Jamie as well. She was very pleasant and met our every need. Recommend this for any lunch or dinner!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Showed up early and was seated early. Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Showed up early and was seated early. The place was noisy but that was ok. The food bearers were excellent. The meats were very good - anyway u wanted them. Salad bar not as good as the one in Baltimore but acceptable. We will go again in the summer when we can take advantage of the perfect location in the Southside.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was a fun experience but very loud, a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

It was a fun experience but very loud, active atmosphere. Food was good, service was decent-- although the waiter gave a very much-rehearsed, impersonal and VERY fast hard to understand tutorial on how the whole process worked. I was looking for something a little more intimate and quiet and this was definitely not it. The meat that came around was very good though, and served with a friendly smile and on-demand (barely any waiting) as promised. The experience was too impersonal and factory-like or my taste though. Fun family experience, but It would be a little pricey for a whole family.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

My friends and I have dined at Texas de ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

My friends and I have dined at Texas de Brazil several times in the past and we have never been disappointed. We made the reservation for 1:30 and were not forced to wait for our reservation time to be seated and begin our experience. We were excited to learn about the new lunch hours and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was quite tasty and the service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was quite tasty and the service was Amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food from the meats to the eno ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food from the meats to the enormous salad bar- so many items to choose from with delicious choices each time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service. We went ther ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Amazing food and service. We went there for my son's report card because this is hi go to place as a 16 year old young man who likes to eat!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a good experience. The place was cro ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Was a good experience. The place was crowded, as it was last day for restaurant week. We were seated immediately, and, our waitress took time with us to explain how it worked, what she could recommend, etc. I'm happy we finally had the chance to go. Was definitely worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here. We weren't ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was our first time here. We weren't sure what to expect. We had a great time, food and service was excellent. We drove a distance, but well worth it. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and so many choices! Can' ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Delicious food and so many choices! Can't wait to come back

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very expensive, most of my friends could ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

very expensive, most of my friends could not afford. probably would not return due to cost.

Food was very good, but would spend my hard earned dollars elsewhere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was delicious. My only issues are t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was delicious. My only issues are the meats were a little under for my taste. I prefer medium well- well and I with there was something sweet on the salad bar. Maybe fresh fruits or somethimg like that but other than that I loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy this place however it wou ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I always enjoy this place however it would be nice if it was more spacious. I've been there with just 2 people to 6. This is the first time we had a table for 8. But I've seen groups bigger last night. Where they sat us was very uncomfortably cramped. The tables can be a bit more separated. We had to pass each other meet from the spit because the servers couldn't couldn't even squeeze by for everyone to grab it for themselves. Even the servers complained that they couldn't get by. It was an inconvenience to get up to get a plate from the salad bar because we either bumped the people sitting behind us or had to have our friends get up as well so we move in the chairs. Or maybe it was just our table area because we were next to a group of 12 that didn't have the same issue because they were in an open area where they were able to move freely. Suggestion: don't sit a group of people over 6 against a wall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this place it was so good never d ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I love this place it was so good never disappoints

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a reservation...they acknowledged th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Had a reservation...they acknowledged this, but seemed very confused. We were seated right inside the door on a really cold day. We asked to be moved, but with many empty tables, we could not move. Why make a reservation?

Service from waitress and gauchos was good.

VERY salty meat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The good was awesome and the service was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The good was awesome and the service was really good, I'm just not convinced it was with the price. Maybe just for really occasions. If you go for lunch and only drink water and don't get dessert, it's not too bad for the price. A place like this and you feel like you should do drinks though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

This was my boyfriend and I's first time ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was my boyfriend and I's first time here and it was amazing. Both the food and the service were outstanding and we will definitely be back soon! Really unique experience... Would highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meat, meat, and more meat! The hot ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great meat, meat, and more meat! The hot/ salad bar would satisfy anyone on its own. Expensive for sure, but you gotta have Brazilian at least yearly or they take your man card.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

bring your appetite, You will need it fo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

bring your appetite, You will need it for all the delicious meats available. The salad bar is packed with goodies too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Table only, no booth restaurant. Large s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Table only, no booth restaurant. Large salad bar style in middle of restaurant. Waiters walk around with sticks full of different types of meat. This was awesome. Meat was 10/10. They carve it off for you at your table. Salad bar very diverse. Not just salad and fixings. No free refills on soda, pricey but tasty cocktails, delicious dessert. Definitely pricey. Dinner for two amounted to over $150+ That said, would go back. Definitely have to try this if you live near Pittsburgh. In station square.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was awesome and the meat was abun ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Waiter was awesome and the meat was abundant. Delicious!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went during Restaurant week so our me ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We went during Restaurant week so our meals were a great value. Our servers - Autumn and her partner were excellent. The meat tenders were very attentive. Several needed to speak louder.. The meat was very good. The salad bar was inventive and well stocked.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I come frequently to this restaurant, th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I come frequently to this restaurant, this was the worst.There was not alot of meat coming around AT ALL.IT took us 2.5 hours just not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Excellent place to dine. Steak is fantas ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent place to dine. Steak is fantastic. Lobster bisque is amazing. Our server JUSTIN was awesome. Loved the salad bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was wonderful! They fed me so m ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was wonderful! They fed me so much that I actually had to tell them no more!! That was the first time that my wife and I ever at there and we will go back for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Overall great place. I think sometimes i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Overall great place. I think sometimes it gets a little hectic when there's multiple servers there with the different foods asking if your table wants some. Also were charged full price till we said we were there for restaurant week, then they changed the bill. I get they want to get as many full price meals as possible, by getting people who don't know it's restaurant week, but it feels awkward telling them yeah we're only there because of that.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This was my first time at a Brazilian st ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was my first time at a Brazilian style steakhouse, so I'm not sure if they are unique to all Brazilian steakhouses, or if they are all this amazing, or not. But, this place was great. Unbelievable food, great service, exceptional environment. I defiantly recommend this place.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time at Texas de Bra ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was our second time at Texas de Brazil and the food was great. We went for my fiance's birthday and both the hostess and waiter wished him a happy birthday. The waiter even wrote happy birthday and his name on the dessert which was both thoughtful and appreciated.

When we went it was Pittsburgh Restaurant week and the dinner is discounted to $35 and includes a dessert. When we received our bill it had the full price meal and the dessert as a separate charge. I told our waiter and he said that they would charge the full price unless you mentioned the special. He was happy to apply the discount to our bill, but that strategy left a bad taste in my mouth and will cause me to think twice when recommending to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First time we went everything was great. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

First time we went everything was great. Food was cooked just right. This time I'm pretty sure the meat was out on the floor being served for a while and to say the fillet was dry is an understatement. Also our server didn't come by very often and every time she came I had to ask her for more water and then she'd take forever to get it. Even with a $25 off coupon I feel like we really overpaid!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Was really a lot of fun! Must go w a gr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Was really a lot of fun! Must go w a group! Service was amazing. We never had to wait for anything! Everything was tasty and there was a lot of it!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Came here for restaurant week and had a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Came here for restaurant week and had a great meal! Met a couple of friends who had never been there. Server was very good...she got everything we needed and kept asking if we needed anything. Rayne, our server, kept the water filled and again was very attentive to anything we needed. The managers both checked in on us and we're very nice. The meat was delicious and having 3 different levels of cooking, medium rare, medium well and well done, we all got enough to eat. I have been there a few times and haven't really been disappointed. Tonight we all truly enjoyed ourselves. It was a very relaxing and fulfilling night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and I found the s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was very good and I found the salad bar and lobster bisque quite tasty. Overall I enjoyed the experience more than I expected I would. The only issue I had was that we waited for the bill since the waiter was busy while a number of employees that could have handled that task were chatting at the front desk.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a wonderful time celebrating a bi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a wonderful time celebrating a birthday at this lovely Pittsburgh Churrascaria. The seating was a little snug, but there were that many people here! Wonderful and Unique salad bar. We love the grilled meats and always leave feeling deeply, uncomfortably, full! The wait staff and the circling chefs are all very good at their jobs and are also very friendly and helpful. We've been to this restaurant twice in three weeks. While the price can be steep, the food is worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun, creative place to take friends. Gre ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fun, creative place to take friends. Great place to sample foods you'be never had before. A bit noisy and tight tables, so not easy to talk. A bit expensive, so be prepared to pay about $65 per person.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome time. Highly recommended. Autumn ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Awesome time. Highly recommended. Autumn was our waitress and she was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal at Texas de Brazil was enjoyabl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our meal at Texas de Brazil was enjoyable and delicious as usual. We consider ourselves foodies but we enjoy the experience of TDB as well as the food. My husband has travelled all over Latin America and he finds Texas de Brazil pretty authentic but with liberties taken, of course. It it is very kid friendly (we dined with our 2.5 year old) while also being a great special occasion place. Servers are always knowledgeable and helpful. The main downsides are that the restaurant is crowded so it is sometimes difficult to get to and from the buffet area and the restaurant is very loud.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

WOW! Had been anticipating my visit here ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

WOW! Had been anticipating my visit here for a while and it was definitely worth the wait.

Salad bar had a large variety of items but really, it's all about the meat here. Every piece of meat was amazing and the best I ever tasted. The Parmesan crusted pork and garlic picana were my favorites. Get dessert to go-- it's well worth the extra $8. Best cake I ever had!

I would request a table away from the door next time...we were freezing with all the people coming in and out.

Can't wait to go back here again...

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal as always at Texas de Brazil. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great meal as always at Texas de Brazil. Fantastic food and service staff. Managers very diligent making sure diners are taken care of.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, very expensive prices. I woul ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Good food, very expensive prices. I would recommend this restaurant for something new to try out, not a regular dining place.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

Wonderful service all around, Michael an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wonderful service all around, Michael and Chris were both great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.