About Texas de Brazil - Pittsburgh

240 W. Station Square Drive Suite D-1
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Texas de Brazil is carving out a new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American “Churrascaria” or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas. Treat yourself to our 50-60 item gourmet salad area including appetizers, fresh vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As your dining experience continues, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink or steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance that is Texas de Brazil.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Smithfield St Bridge

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 230-4004

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with table-side service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Executive Chef:
Evandro Caregnato

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Texas de Brazil - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
3 More
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

Special Occasion (216)
Good for Groups (149)
Fit for Foodies (113)
See All
Romantic (64)
Notable Wine List (43)
Hot Spot (38)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for a Date (32)
Kid-friendly (23)
Scenic View (22)
Fun (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Authentic (17)
Waterfront (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Casual (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Family Style (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Seasonal (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Spicy (3)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
950 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent. The grilled meat ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent. The grilled meats were incredible. It is a little expensive, so is every other restaurant like this, but it's worth the treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome service and great food!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Was there for my birthday (received a co ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Was there for my birthday (received a coupon). Service was outstanding and the food was very good.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Went there for my ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful experience. Went there for my boyfriend's birthday. Food and service was excellent as always. Had a reservation and was taken right to our table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated past our reservation time,outragi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Seated past our reservation time,outragious wine prices,no music for such a themed place e,terrible waiting for used plates to be removed,too rushed,noisyawful desserts.salad bar had many very spicy choices,no lobster in bisque.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The atmosphere was beautiful, food was d ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The atmosphere was beautiful, food was delicious. Staff was very nice. Many options on the salad bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meat was on the salty side. The serv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

The meat was on the salty side. The servers with the meat were going around all the time to serve different meats. Unfortunately, even though we asked multiple times that we prefer medium instead of medium rare meat we got it only once (I'm not a big fan of blood in meat - it can be dangerous). That may have caused me a bit of a food poisoning the next day (no emergency room or anything, but a good amount of pain till everything was out of my body.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food, but should be excelente for t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Good food, but should be excelente for that price. From 1 to 10 maybe 8

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great place to have a special din ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

What a great place to have a special dinner. This is the only place my son (11) wants to go to for his birthday dinner. The lobster bisque is fantastic. The "salad" bar is a great selection of meats and cheeses, and other tasting selections. The thin pineapple with herbs is great. The meat is cooked to your likeing and if you want something "secial" they will bring it for you. Beef, lamb, chicken, pork, and sausage. As long as there is a green card showing they will ask if you would care for the meat that the sever has at the time. Great food, great time. Worth the price and the drive. We travel 4+ hours total to enjoy at least 2 times a year. Go and enjoy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal and the waiting staf ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed our meal and the waiting staff was very professional. Great Steak

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Once again we were not disappointed. Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Once again we were not disappointed. The service was excellent, food delicious and enjoyed our dinner immensely. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service this time was very slow. My husb ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service this time was very slow. My husband waited like 20 minutes for flank steak and sausage to be delivered.

The new management is not as good as the prior. Everything used to run much smoother!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Salad bar is an insult to the selection ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Salad bar is an insult to the selection offered to accompany the selection of meats offered in your dinner experience. Great selection of accompaniments to your dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

The food and atmosphere were amazing. Al ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and atmosphere were amazing. All of the staff were friendly, attentive, and extremely helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, but I thought the p ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was excellent, but I thought the price was a little high. But, you can eat all you want.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Myself and three friends went out to din ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Myself and three friends went out to dinner before a cruise on the Gateway Clipper.The food was fabulous! The staff were extremely attentive. I would recommend Texas De Brazil and I would go again with my friends!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were outstanding. Grea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Service and food were outstanding. Great place to go for any event.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always. This was the first ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent as always. This was the first time my friends have dined here and it's always fun to watch the reaction of the many friends we've brought for the first time. They were amazed at the whole experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service, very good food and a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent service, very good food and a great location for an after dinner walk with a great view of downtown Pittsburgh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere- great food-great exper ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great atmosphere- great food-great experience! Want to become regulars!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional hospitality; although, our w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Exceptional hospitality; although, our waitress was fairly new, she followed through for the most part or if she didn't have an answer she found out. There was a couple items spoken about prior to the serving of the meats that needed to be addressed after the fact but overall the environment was great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Texas de Brazil is awesome! The food is ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Texas de Brazil is awesome! The food is out of this world, the restaurant is beautiful, and the service was top notch. I'd recommend it to anyone. Worth every penny!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner we had a wonderful time . T ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great dinner we had a wonderful time . The service was great, the food was great, great bargain. Would definitely go again with friends

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The server was to lazy and the service w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The server was to lazy and the service wasn't what we expected

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Went in with the thought of just getting ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Went in with the thought of just getting the Salad bar, the waiter, heavily suggested the MEAT!

But we stuck to our guns on the salad bar, a bit pricey for salad, $25.... but very good.

Wait staff at that point seems to disappear, it is serve yourself, but an additional drink would not be bad. Used a Gift card for partial payment, with some cash......waited what seem like a very long time to get change..... and got stiffed by $5.00 .....maybe a math class would help!

His Five dollar mistake became part of his tip :(

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Meat, meat, more meat. Done to perfectio ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Meat, meat, more meat. Done to perfection and EXCELLENT quality of the various cuts. Salad and sides buffet are outstanding. Very noisy, but the food was sooooo good!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

7 of us had dinner, we asked for Medium ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

7 of us had dinner, we asked for Medium on the red meet. everything was raw.

chicken was raw. no compensation. Waiter never appeared for several minutes at a time.

order 3 desserts charged for 5. For the price, the service and quality of unprepared food. highly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

pricing and food was inconsistent to say ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

pricing and food was inconsistent to say the least...

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I went there for are anni ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I went there for are anniversary and everything was amazing! Sergio the meat server was wonderful. Brittany are waitress was also great. We deffently will be back time after time :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our first time to celebrate ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We went for our first time to celebrate our anniversary. Weren't entirely sure what to expect but definitely were not disappointed. Food was amazing and our server was great at explaining the process to us. We'll definitely be back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My friend and I LOVED IT! Everything wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

My friend and I LOVED IT! Everything was WONDERFUL!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent experience and a must visit ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

An excellent experience and a must visit. All the meats (and there are many to sample) were cooked to perfection and according to your liking. The salad bar is a meal in itself. Great atmosphere. Management was visible and courteous making sure that your experience was to the highest quality.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is too expensive to go often however ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

It is too expensive to go often however when given the chance to go it is a wonderful meal. I would recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Gaucho's are very efficient. The foo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The Gaucho's are very efficient. The food is always amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great time, we'd go more often ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It was a great time, we'd go more often if the salad bar was less expensive on its own! But it was great for our out of town guests that have never been. The food was delicious, the only time I've tried lamb and actually liked it!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times and always rave about the unique and delicious food and service, telling all of my friends to go there, even promoting on facebook. However, I was very disappointed on this last visit. My father had received a certificate for a free full dinner when we brought our family to Texas de Brazil for our Father's Day celebration. We didn't realize that in the VERY FINE PRINT at the bottom of the certificate there was a stipulation. Not only did we have to purchase meals to get the certificate, but a full course meal had to be purchased to redeem certificate as well. Even though we had purchased two salad areas only (which cost more than the required one full meal purchase) in addition to Dad's meal, the manager Davy was very rude to us and talked to us like we were trying to "get one over on him." He talked down to us and made us feel stupid. He was clearly irritated and not very understanding. He only gave us $25 off when we were promised an entire $45. I will never come here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Everything was great,we really enjoyed t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything was great,we really enjoyed the restaurant and will visit again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Bar service was unexpectedly disappointi ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Bar service was unexpectedly disappointing. First ordered a pitcher of sangria to find out they ran out of the wine they use in their sangria. Ordered 2 new individual drinks that cost near as much as a pitcher of sangria and took over 20 minutes to receive them. Aside from that our server was excellent as was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent service, friendly staff, out ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent service, friendly staff, outstanding food and selection. The lamb was my favorite. A nice place to go for a special occasion. Too expensive for regular dining. Should offer free refills for beverages. I was very disappointed with the desserts. Just average.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Salad bar was awesome! Dissapointing in ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Salad bar was awesome! Dissapointing in service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.