About Texas de Brazil - Memphis

150 Peabody Place
Suite 103
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Texas de Brazil is carving out a new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American “Churrascaria” or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas.
Treat yourself to our 50-60 item gourmet salad area including appetizers, fresh vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As your dining experience continues, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink or steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance that is Texas de Brazil.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
Union Ave and 2nd St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 526-7600

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with tableside service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Parking Details:
Recommended parking in Peabody Place parking garages can be validated by Texas de Brazil, restrictions may apply.

Executive Chef:
Evandro Caregnato

Private Party Facilities:
Texas de Brazil has the perfect private and semi-private dining space to help make your special event unique and memorable. Each location is designed with an aesthetic that is apparent in all details, from lush and vibrant tropical floral arrangements and deep red walls to soaring ceilings enhanced with beautiful, rustic chandeliers and extravagant mirrors. Enriched with elements for all the senses, our amenities create an experience like no other and make Texas de Brazil a destination hot spot for all special occasions.

Texas de Brazil Memphis features one private dining room. The Rio room seats up to 70 guests comfortably. Other resources, such as A/V equipment may also be available for rent. Please contact our knowledgeable event manager today to begin planning a remarkable event that is not soon to be forgotten.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Texas de Brazil - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
3 More
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Memphis ›

Special Occasion (156)
Good for Anniversaries (119)
Good for a Date (106)
See All
Good for Birthdays (102)
Romantic (98)
Worth the Drive (80)
Good for Groups (78)
Fun (50)
Business Meals (49)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Casual (39)
Notable Wine List (36)
Great for Lunch (36)
Family Style (35)
Hot Spot (33)
Authentic (32)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Tasting Menu (29)
Great for Brunch (26)
Kid-friendly (24)
Cozy (23)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Outstanding Value (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
People Watching (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Historic (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Waterfront (5)
Scenic View (5)
Healthy (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Organic (2)
Dancing (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

really good meal. Server Shawn was ama ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

really good meal. Server Shawn was amazingly observant. a pro.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a great experience. We loved the ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a great experience. We loved the ambiance, and the food. It was a Monday night and not very busy. Consequently, the "meat servers" , not having many tables to go to, kind of bombarded us with offers of meat. We like the system of "red coaster up: Want meat" and "Red Coaster down: don't want meat now"... and would prefer that they stick to that system. Otherwise everything was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I had high expectations for my 1st time ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

I had high expectations for my 1st time experience due to reviews, word of mouth, advertising and my on personal likes. The service was great and the different selections of meat kept coming. The salad bar was very appealing. Out of my experience the first thing that comes to mind is SALT! There were items on the bar that were overpowered with salt, like the salmon, bacon and large green olives. Some of the meats were overpowering with salt. The lamb chops where my favorite but I found them to taste better cooked medium well. I would of liked to have had a skewer of shrimp as a choice of meat & preferred a better choice of bread on the table.

The ladies restroom was not well kept at all, water flooded the floor in all stalls as tissue filled the toilets and was all over the floor.

If I decide again to travel 45 minutes to eat here I will ask for accommodations to my liking.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was great except we ask for l ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was great except we ask for lamb chops to come by the table and had to wait 20 minutes. The server came by 3 times to see if they came out. Each time she said I will get them out. We never got an apology or anything. All the food tastes great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

We really enjoyed our anniversary dinner ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 7 days ago

We really enjoyed our anniversary dinner at Texas de Brazil in Memphis. The food and service were both outstanding. Our waitress was the best. The restaurant is near all the action downtown. We went to Peabody afterwards for after dinner cocktails and listening to the piano music in their lobby.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic as always. Serer was exception ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic as always. Serer was exceptional and the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful for the most pa ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Everything was wonderful for the most part. The food was excellent. Our server was fantastic. Really, the only complaint I have was the lack of traditional sides. There is a salad bar, but there are not items like corn, green beans, baked potatoes, etc. on the bar. The different meats were fantastic, especially the bacon wrapped chicken. Go at lunch. It's cheaper.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, salads and sides massi ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great atmosphere, salads and sides massive selection, meats great variety, good place for business dinners and group of close friends! Not for the light eaters! Go with a large appetite, you will be happy😀

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had seven family members get together ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had seven family members get together for Thanksgiving, it was a fun time at Texas De Brazil.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the food,the lamb chop ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We really enjoyed the food,the lamb chops were excellent, beef tender. This was our first time dining with Texas de Brazil looking forward to our next visit

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Live Sports, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brandy alexander was awesome as well as ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Brandy alexander was awesome as well as the lobster bisque

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall wait: We were there right after ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Overall wait: We were there right after 11 AM for Thanksgiving so we were seated immediately but upon leaving the entrance was packed with people waiting to be seated. I think what people don't consider is this restaurant is all you can eat and people tend to linger because of that. You can't blame the hostesses, etc when people don't just eat and leave. Be prepared to just be patient or don't go there. Server wait and service: We waited a bit for our server but not extremely long and it was very busy but our drinks stayed filled ok. Food: Salad bar had a nice variety cheeses, olives, smoked salmon, shrimp cerviche, etc but not a lot of choices for the top of salads ie croutons, veggies, etc and only 4 salad dressing choices. Beef meats were excellent, tender and juicy. Pork tenderloin dry and very tough. Chicken was excellent, tasting like rotisserie chicken. Sausage taste good but spicy. Did not have lamb or ribs. At table veg/fruit: garlic mashed potatoes ok and bananas ok. Drinks: Be prepared if you drink soft drinks to pay for each one. Comes in tiny Coke bottles. We were stuffed so didn't have dessert but they looked good. Overall good experience and will go back. Be prepared for parking. Lot across the street will cost you minimum $8!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We went for my husbands birthday! And bo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for my husbands birthday! And boy, let me tell you they are amazing!! When we ordered dessert, the waitress Elizabeth took it upon herself to write 'Happy Birthday' on the plate and even stick a candle in his dessert and sung happy birthday with me!! It was good surprise because we didn't even ask for any special attention!! This was our 2nd time going and both times we had Elizabeth and she was amazing! Keep up the good work Texas de Brazil!!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Salad bar was ex ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food and service. Salad bar was excellent. Overall great place to eat in Memphis.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food amazing service. The staff wa ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great food amazing service. The staff was awesome and the food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint about this restaurant ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My only complaint about this restaurant is that I did not receive dining points for using the app to make a reservation. Whats up with that?!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a birthday coupon, so we went the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a birthday coupon, so we went there to celebrate. The price is reasonable, although desserts and drinks are more expensive... The meat was very good, we stuck with the beef cuts. The desserts were okay but nothing special. The caipirinha was very good as well! Overall a decent place to go for special occasions.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

As always, the food and service at the M ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always, the food and service at the Memphis location is awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet low key atmosphere, somewhat price ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Quiet low key atmosphere, somewhat pricey, food wasn't to my taste nor what I expected but if you're a straight meat lover this will be great dining for you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and experience was excellent! I ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food and experience was excellent! It was worth the time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! The smoked salmon on ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was great! The smoked salmon on the salad bar was wonderful! Would like to have had another choice or two for dressings. The lettuce on the salad bar ran out fast. It was put on what seemed like a platter and not a bowl. Ambiance was nice. The bathrooms could use a remodel though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I thought the food I ate was very good. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I thought the food I ate was very good. My wife and I both loved the food and atmosphere. I was only disappointed in one issue. I told the hostess and waiter my wife wanted steak that was well done. They both said they would accommodate her but never did. Pretty much paid $50 for a salad for her. She blew it off but I could tell she would have liked to have had a nice steak. We really did enjoy the salad bar.

Shawn

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was excellent, service was top knot ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was excellent, service was top knotch. Took my daughter there for her birthday and loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed the salad bar and the v ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I really enjoyed the salad bar and the variety of meats, I was uncomfortable upstairs because the air was on(it is cold outside) and I missed getting the lamb chops.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food quality was amazing, and the se ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food quality was amazing, and the service was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meats were great. There should be m ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The meats were great. There should be more on the salad bar such as fruits and more vegetables. Not everyone eats salads for the amount of money that is spent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great dining experience. Pricey but wo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great dining experience. Pricey but worth it. Loved the atmosphere. Will be back again.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent and the ambian ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The service was excellent and the ambiance fine. Unlike others I cannot complain about the quality of the meat or how it was cooked. I did have one cut of pork that was dry but otherwise the meat was succulent and juicy. However all the meat was seasoned with a rub that I found incredibly salty. Any mouthful that contained any rub was a torment. I trimmed and scraped and where I was able to get the rub off I found the meat delicious. On the few occasions I got an interior cut I was able to trim off the edges and really enjoy the meat. Unfortunately my table near the kitchen meant that I often go the first cut of the meat which meant the entire surface was covered with rub.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Best food anywhere. Great selection of m ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Best food anywhere. Great selection of meats. Wonderful salad bar. Would recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was all good but the service was no ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was all good but the service was not up to par. Drink orders mixed up a few times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

This was my first time of going to the r ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was my first time of going to the restaurant, which was for a veterans day special, and also as a date night for myself and my wife. The meats were excellent tasting to me, my wife's preference is well done, but seeing that most of the lamb and steaks were cooked to medium, my wife did not eat many of the meats offered, but I very much enjoyed the many different types that were offered, and she enjoyed the types that she did eat. My favorite was the flank steak, which had a delicious taste to it. Our server Elizabet, was an excellent server, our drinks were never empty, she explained everything completely and was very courtious and very knowledgable of the restaurant and how things operated. Me and my wife found the food and experience were well worth the price paid. I have done various other veterans day specials over many years, but this was the best one I have ever had. Thank you for a great date night/veterans day experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is far too salty to be enjoyabl ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food is far too salty to be enjoyable. I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Great food, good fun, excellent ambiance ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, good fun, excellent ambiance! Service was excellent even on a very busy night. The noise level however was off the charts. I couldn't hear my wife right next to me let alone the persons across the table. Still an excellent evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Horrible service. Unbelievable wait eve ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Horrible service. Unbelievable wait even though I had a reservation

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Terrible service. I had to get the mana ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Terrible service. I had to get the manager to refill our drinks 3 times. Not acceptable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We visited on Veterans day. They usuall ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We visited on Veterans day. They usually offer 20% off but increased it to 50% for the week.

Thanks. The food was good and plentiful. The ribs however were not brought around except once, at the end of the meal, and after asking the waiters several times.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Made a reservation for 6:00 PM 5 days in ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Made a reservation for 6:00 PM 5 days in advance. Arrived a few minutes early. Was handed a buzzer and waited over 1/2 an hour for a reserved table. Spoke with the manager and had nothing but an excuse of being busy. Waitress was ok. Not the best I have had there. Anti-social and bill was incorrect. Meat servers were not very cordial. When my wife asked one of them a question she got a very rude response. The evening was not a $233 experience . More like a $75 Texas Roadhouse meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

They put us in a table in the corner. Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 11, 2016

They put us in a table in the corner. This caused the meat guys to constantly skip is and caused our waiter to forget about us. I'm not sure if it was because I made the reservation on OpenTable or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Excellent food and service. This visit ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. This visit I asked for a light dessert recommendation and our server recommended the citrus creme brûlée. Heaven! Always love going to TdB for those special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience! Love it every time! ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Awesome experience! Love it every time! Live 2 hours away and worth the drive!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.