Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Texas de Brazil - Birmingham

Texas de Brazil- Brazilian Steakhouse is carving a new experience in dining! The concept combines the cuisine of Southern Brazil with the spirit of Texas, for a dining experience unmatched anywhere else. Voted as one of “America’s Top Restaurants” by Zagat, Texas de Brazil features a dynamic menu of beef, lamb, pork, chicken and sausage all deliciously seasoned, cooked over an open flame and carved tableside by the Gauchos. The restaurant also features a 50-item, fresh gourmet salad area containing seasonal roasted vegetables, fresh artisan breads, charcuterie, imported cheeses, authentic Brazilian dishes and other specialties. Guests can conclude their dining experience with a decadent dessert or relax with tempting after-dinner drinks.

2301 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd North
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Brazilian Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Lunch on Fridays only: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
23rd St. North

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 588-8333

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with tableside service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and street parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Evandro Caregnato

Private Party Facilities:
Texas de Brazil has the perfect private and semi-private dining space to help make your special event unique and memorable. Each location is designed with an aesthetic that is apparent in all details, from lush and vibrant tropical floral arrangements and deep red walls to soaring ceilings enhanced with beautiful, rustic chandeliers and extravagant mirrors. Enriched with elements for all the senses, our amenities create an experience like no other and make Texas de Brazil a destination hot spot for all special occasions.

Texas de Brazil Birmingham features one private dining room & two patios. The Rio room seats up to 20 guests and the two patios can accommodate 40 & 65 guests respectively. Other resources, such as A/V equipment may also be available for rent. Please contact our knowledgeable event manager today to begin planning a remarkable event that is not soon to be forgotten

Private Party Contact:
Wesley Santiago, Event Manager: (205) 588-8333

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Texas de Brazil - Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (149)
Good for Anniversaries (139)
Good for a Date (132)
See All
Good for Birthdays (118)
Romantic (101)
Worth the Drive (94)
Good for Groups (80)
Fun (78)
Creative Cuisine (76)
Authentic (64)
Casual (48)
Business Meals (48)
Tasting Menu (45)
Notable Wine List (40)
Hot Spot (39)
Modern Decor (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Cozy (35)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Family Style (33)
Comfort Food (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Paleo Friendly (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Healthy (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Open Kitchen (22)
Kid-friendly (21)
People Watching (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Scenic View (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Great Beer (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Seasonal (6)
Spicy (6)
Historic (5)
Waterfront (5)
Vegan (4)
Live Music (4)
Private Room (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tapas (3)
Dancing (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1257 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service and food. Will be back for sure!! Great experience!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is great, as well as service. Always like the for selection .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything great as usual, but server(Michelle), not very friendly

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food loud area would be good place for large group dining not so for date if you want to talk quietly

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

We used to love this place but the last time we went, they sat us close to the front door/bathroom and the smell was horrible all night. It was raining so I don't know if it was the mats up front or the bathroom but it smelled like a zoo which made eating very unpleasant. The waitress was also not very good compared to other wait staff I've had here in the past. Very disappointed this time around.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was great, like always. Been to the Memphis locations multiple times and always felt like I got my money's worth eating there. The Birmingham location was disappointing on food taste. All the steaks tasted the same and didn't really have a good taste. My favorite meat is the filet wrapped with bacon but it just simply didn't taste good. All the servers were excellent and never left us without any food or drinks. I would go back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband's Favorite.. two thumbs up 👍🏻👍🏻 Great for a lot of occasions. Arrive hungry & leave stuffed. Great salad bar & soup.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Food and Service!!! We spent our anniversary here and was so worth it!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter Anthony really made this an awesome first time experience for us! The food was delicious too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time. The Gauchos were great and the food was magnificent... Especially the bacon-wrapped filet!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

The OpenTable Reservation process was easy and very convenient. The best I can say about eating at Texas de Brazil is we can check it off our "to do" list. Just a few of the negatives for future prospects from a table of 4 (we all agreed on these comments) - Tables are to close!!! Service was subpar (Waitress absent for long periods, Meat sever reaching across table & patrons plates to cut & serve meat, lukewarm water to drink and finally when wife asked for a medium well piece of meat 10 minutes later it arrived. You'll love the beef if you like rare because that's all we were offered on the sticks until we asked, their first response was to cut a 1/32 sliver off the side. Desserts only average, do not pay the cost.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The gauchos were great, serving hot food, asking questions. The waiter was the worst I have experienced. Before I got my salad he said, let me get you a meat plate and sides, i said ok, it didn't come. I had my salad and 15 minutes later I waved him down asked for the plate and sides, nothing. I saw the manager who got my plate and sides. Waiter came by once to fill my iced tea, took another 30 minutes to get a check. I don't recommend you go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was absolutely amazing! Probably the best ever. Our server was a little scattered and sometimes MIA. Unfortunately, it seems as if they hire some real "winners" as servers. Almost every time we go, the main server is awful. Still upset about the big deal made the last 3 times we have been there about using gift cards with the VIP cards. We get gift cards for Christmas from family around the country so we can enjoy without breaking the bank. We have used these the last 4 years multiple times and nothing was ever mentioned. Now, this year we have been questioned every time we have been there since March. Looks real good on their part when those at the tables around you are watching the fiasco being made by the "manager". I am just about fed up with them and may not go back after the VIP cards expire in September.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great place, and idea for a restaurant. The food was great, and workers were very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We were greeted promptly and seated right away. Our server's name was Jenna and she was great. Very attentive. The salad bar was good, but the lobster bisque was amazing. The meats come non-stop until you flip the card back over. All the meats were amazing. The only one I missed out on was the rib that is slowed cooked. Wish I had hung in there a bit longer. I could see if the restaurant was filled, that getting from the salad bar to your table can be an adventure. My only slight complaint was some of the meat had a bit too much salt. My stomach or my wallet could not eat her consistently. It is a great special occasion place to go. Enjoy!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is good but not like a real Brazilian churrascaria. Also, VERY, VERY expensive. $121.00 for 2 people. No alcoholic drinks and only one dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had a great meal the salad bar was great wish I had tried the soup but will go bake must have a big appetite to get your money worth.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was superb. The meat selection was very fast and effective. There was someone always asking to try a certain kind of meat. However, the waitress Anna ( I think that was her name) took 15 minutes to give us straws, 25 minutes to bring the bread, mashed potatoes, and fried bananas. Then I kept asking for a high chair which I put in the reservation and it arrived 10 minutes before we left. To make it all worse, our drinks were never refilled until after we finished eating. We tried many time to get our waitress's attention but she never came to check on us. We just felt unimportant to her.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I had heard about Brazilian steakhouses and always wanted to try one. We went for my son's 20th birthday and brought my daughter too. We were all very pleased with the choices and everything tasted delicious. Our servers were always prompt in assiting our needs.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everyone was so welcoming and easy to talk to. The food was so delicious! All the meats we ordered were sooo tender. Even the large asparagus on the salad bar was tender. Will definitely be going back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic, a super experience. Atmosphere was great. Food was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food good, of course, for meat lovers. Salad bar items really upscale and fresh. Bar and beverage service was a little slow.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Reservation was at 5:00pm, but could not be seated at 5pm because restaurant did not open until 5pm. Drinks and food were excellent. Floors were VERY slippery--not good for disabled or non-disabled patrons. Waitress was good when she visited/checked back; but check backs were few/not often. Seemed as though she was very knowledgable; however, it also seemed she had too many tables to service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food as usual was absolutely delicious and unique from any other restaurant you will ever go to!! The service excellent also!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I need info for VIP membership 205 332-2557 430 14th st s Birmingham al 35233

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We loved dining here. The tables are a bit scrunched together and our main waiter seemed to forget about us a couple of times. Other than that, it was an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Mother's Birthday

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great restaurant. We arrived well ahead of our reservation time and were seated anyway. The service was great. Never allowed us to run out of drinks but we're not hovering over the table either. The gauchos were right there with all the carved meat you could possibly eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fabulous as always! Worth every penny we spent there!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 4, 2017

excelle t food service the staff was awesome my freinds had never been there before and they were overwhelmed and will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great service food was delicious and staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about menu will return again. And will recommend to all my friends

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great food but really pricey. As much as my wife and I enjoyed it, this will be relegated to a "once every few years" restaurant at best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Can not beat the excellent attention to detail from the staff!! Love their style and grace!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Fun, Modern Decor, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fantastic food and service! We had our 3 year old with us and everyone, even the manager spoke to him as well! Love that!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Loved it. Everything was like butter. I will be back with my family this time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

If you're ever worried about spending money at a "nicer" restaurant, but not getting your fill, leave your notions at the door.

Texas de Brazil will give you all you can eat, and then some, but never feels like a buffet. The salad bar is stocked with a ton of items, including cold meats and cheeses. You can make a meal just off of it if you like. They also offer a Lobster bisque that is rich, creamy, and so good one bowl may not suffice.

The real fun starts afterwards, when you flip your card from red to green to start an endless supply of meats cooked in a blend of Brazilian spices. They have something for everyone, from filet and sirloin, to parmesan pork, to roasted lamb. Each one with a unique taste and flavor.

If you are still hungry afterwards, and that would be a stretch, the bevy of desserts are absolutely to die for.

Overall, this is a great place to have a wonderful meal, but not have the stuffy feel of other steakhouses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful anniversary dinner! Will go back. Enjoyed the food and drinks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was delicious. The salad bar is amazing. This was the 4th time my wife and I have been there. Each time we try to bring someone new with us. Everyone we bring falls in love with the place. The staff is very friendly. A very enjoyable place to eat.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Everything was good but the conpetitor (Fogo) I think has a better salad bar.
Our server Michelle was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.