About Texas de Brazil - Birmingham

2301 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd North
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Texas de Brazil is carving out a new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American “Churrascaria” or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas.
Treat yourself to our 50-60 item gourmet salad area including appetizers, fresh vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As your dining experience continues, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink or steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance that is Texas de Brazil.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Lunch on Fridays only: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
23rd St. North

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 588-8333

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with tableside service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and street parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Evandro Caregnato

Private Party Facilities:
Texas de Brazil has the perfect private and semi-private dining space to help make your special event unique and memorable. Each location is designed with an aesthetic that is apparent in all details, from lush and vibrant tropical floral arrangements and deep red walls to soaring ceilings enhanced with beautiful, rustic chandeliers and extravagant mirrors. Enriched with elements for all the senses, our amenities create an experience like no other and make Texas de Brazil a destination hot spot for all special occasions.

Texas de Brazil Birmingham features one private dining room & two patios. The Rio room seats up to 20 guests and the two patios can accommodate 40 & 65 guests respectively. Other resources, such as A/V equipment may also be available for rent. Please contact our knowledgeable event manager today to begin planning a remarkable event that is not soon to be forgotten

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Texas de Brazil - Birmingham
  • Texas de Brazil - Birmingham
  • Texas de Brazil - Birmingham
  • Texas de Brazil - Birmingham
  • Texas de Brazil - Birmingham
Texas de Brazil - Birmingham
Texas de Brazil - Birmingham
Texas de Brazil - Birmingham
Texas de Brazil - Birmingham
Texas de Brazil - Birmingham

Texas de Brazil - Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Alabama
Special Occasion
Alabama
Most Booked
Alabama
9 More
Best Overall
Birmingham
Best Food
Birmingham
Best Service
Birmingham
Best Ambiance
Birmingham
Best Value
Birmingham
Fit for Foodies
Birmingham
Romantic
Birmingham
Special Occasion
Birmingham
Most Booked
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

Special Occasion (248)
Good for Groups (126)
Romantic (124)
See All
Fit for Foodies (107)
Hot Spot (56)
Notable Wine List (53)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Great for Lunch (39)
Late-night Find (22)
Kid-friendly (20)
Great for Brunch (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Scenic View (10)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
839 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I ate here before going to A ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I ate here before going to Avatar cirque on 8/20. As always i enjoyed my meal and i stick with the lamb and mignon!!!!! #meatandpotatoesmywholelife

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's an all you can eat steak house. Wha ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It's an all you can eat steak house. What more could you ask for!?

The service was great. When we sat down, we told our server that it was our anniversary. When he brought us our dessert at the end, they had written "Happy Anniversary" on the plate in sauce.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We came for our son's 17th birthday. Bes ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We came for our son's 17th birthday. Best decision! Great food, great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You need to go when they are busy, then ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

You need to go when they are busy, then they have a better variety of meats. We found out they cook limited amount of meat when low on reservations or customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We go to Texas De Brazil in every city w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We go to Texas De Brazil in every city we find one. We absolutely love it. The dining experience is always wonderful, as is the food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing experience, we fell in love with ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

amazing experience, we fell in love with this location. we had been urged to go several times and shamed ourselves for not having visited earlier. have ranted and raved about this restaurant to anyone who will listen. amazing food and great service minus the not so enthusiastic host staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is of an extremely high quality ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food is of an extremely high quality. There is no reason you should ever leave this place unhappy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to enjoy great food , espe ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A great place to enjoy great food , especially if you love steak. The best part for me is, I can bring my children, and they really enjoy the food even the salad bar. Our server was Orencle. Very attentive. He even remembered my children ordered drinks and type of meat they chose from previous visits. Please thank him for that. That made them feel very special.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Private Room, Late-night Find, Casual, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In our past experiences as long as our t ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

In our past experiences as long as our tokens were on the red side, we were not bothered by the Gauchos. However in this experience the Gauchos repeatedly came by with the meat even as we were seating after getting our initial salad bar. I'm not sure what changed.

Also once we were ready to start eating the meats I was asked repeatedly what I was waiting for, for 45 mins my reply was "lamb chops". I was told for 45 mins they would "be right out".

Finally I must have asked the correct staff member because lamb chops were brought to the table and as soon as the first Gaucho left with two empty racks a second Gaucho arrived.

Even though it took what seemed liked forever to get lamb chops the dinner was enjoyed by all. It gave our family more time to visit with each other.

Hopefully the problem with the tokens being red up, will be addressed before our next visit.

We have dined there about 10 times and this was the first time I have anything negative to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

My wife and I went here for a nice night ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and I went here for a nice night out. The food was excellent and the wait staff was very friendly. It was pretty pricy but we expected that before we walked in. My biggest complaint was the noise level; it is a large place that is completely open so everything seemed very loud. We could barely hear our server giving us "the rundown" since it was our first time there. Overall I would recommend it because the food outweighed the noise. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was excellent and very attent ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server was excellent and very attentive. However, the meat servers were very slow and many times never even came near our table. We had our cards clearly turned up green. My husband had to ask 2 different times to have the meat servers come to our table. Our dining experience lasted longer than usual only because we had to wait so long to be served. It almost felt like a progressive dinner. With all that said, the environment, the waitress and the other staff members were all very friendly and would seem to do anything for us. Luckily we were celebrating a special occasion and we were not in any hurry. We just found humor in the fact we had to wait in between the meet servers coming by. We totally enjoyed our night out. This was our 2nd visit to Texas de Brazil and won't be our last. Overall a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything about my experience at Texas ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything about my experience at Texas de Brazil was excellent. It's the only high-end steak house I've ever been to that I would say is worth the price. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I feel the service could have been bette ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I feel the service could have been better. We were only offered very few choices of meat and they happened to be the ones we did not like as much as the others.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was delicious and service was excel ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was delicious and service was excellent! Perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. Loved the free champagne toast, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a superb meal and friendly, attentiv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a superb meal and friendly, attentive service, as well as visits from the manager.

We were dropping my son off at University of Alabama and as his last dinner with the family, it was a real treat.

We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place! Always tasty and excell ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love this place! Always tasty and excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the people was fa ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was great and the people was fantastic everyone did a great job of making sure we had everything we needed and wanted thank you very much !!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire evening, food, drink, and ser ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The entire evening, food, drink, and service was Fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time to visit. Had some difficul ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

First time to visit. Had some difficulty understanding server. He spoke very fast and with an accent. Together we were able to make it out. Service was fast and the Food was excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone was very nice. Had a great wait ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everyone was very nice. Had a great waitress. Meat was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Seemed to be an issue with t ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food. Seemed to be an issue with the service being short staffed this particular evening, but the manager was very engaging and willing to do what he needed to do to keep everything running smoothly. Will definitely try again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience every time we have been ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great experience every time we have been. The food was amazing with a great selection to choose from. The wait staff and management were very friendly and made sure that we were taken very good care of. I have been with a larger group and my wife and I have been for a date night and both times we were very pleased with everything. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to someone else.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our first time to a Brazilian steak hous ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our first time to a Brazilian steak house definitely won't be our last. Everything was amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit and I can truly ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was my first visit and I can truly say that it's all about the customer's once you enter in the restaurant. It was a special occasion for my boyfriend's birthday. It was a great setting and the crew gave excellent service from the host all the way to the top managers, Which I believe was about 5 or 6 of them . The food was delicious and I didn't mind spending that amount for my boyfriend birthday you only live once. We will be going back. Thank You again for your Great Customer Service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first trip and though pretty ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was my first trip and though pretty good, I know much better places for the money and less. I enjoyed the experience and recommend everyone try it once, but I probably made my first and last trip. Service was over the top!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What a nice surprise Texas De Brazil was ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

What a nice surprise Texas De Brazil was! Having never been to a Brazilian steakhouse, it was definitely a treat and a very unique experience with very helpful staff, great drinks, and amazing food. 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place ! Kind staff!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great place ! Kind staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and all you care to eat. A li ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food and all you care to eat. A little pricey but good for special occasions

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service, food and drinks was outstan ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service, food and drinks was outstanding. The only problem we had was we has a gift certificate from where my husband and I got married and we had planned on using it. We gave the card to our server and then a manager came to our table and said there was no money on the gift card. I checked the card when we got home and it has $100.00 on it. Then I had to call and speak with corporate and get it figured out which in the end they replaced the 100.00 in my checking account. It was just very embarrassing to my husband and I for the manager to come to our table and tell us there was nothing on the card, which come to find out there was and it was operator error, which also caused us to use $100.00 we were not planning to.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was great. Family had a wonderfu ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Dinner was great. Family had a wonderful time. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars all the way!!!! Fantastic ser ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Five stars all the way!!!! Fantastic service, food, everything!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have not stopped telling everyone abo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have not stopped telling everyone about our wonderful experience at Texas De Brazil. It was everything we expected and more. The food and service was AMAZING, from the Host to the waitress to the servers. We drove from Millbrook and Tallassee AL to dine at Texas De Brazil (2hr one way) and it was so worth it. Our waitress was great she made us feel so special and was so attentive. We later learned she was also working the bar too!! You have done an exceptional job finding exceptional employees. We will be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time that my wife and ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is the second time that my wife and I have dined here. We loved it so much the first time, we decided that it would be a great place to take our mothers for the Mother's Dinner. They loved everything about it. They haven't stopped talking about it yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I was miserable. I've eaten at similar- ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I was miserable. I've eaten at similar-concept restaurants in other cities, and at the Texas de Brazil on Mass Ave in DC, and enjoyed them, but I did not enjoy dining at the one in Birmingham at all. Noise level was super-high, and tables were very close together, and I felt like a sardine in a can, ducking to avoid the men rushing about with carving knives held high for the meat. Bar service far too slow; waitress sweet and likable and well-meaning. Salad bar was ok, and my sisters enjoyed it, but not nearly so good as I remember the DC salad bar's being. It may be that when a restaurant is that loud and crowded and uncomfortable, nothing tastes good. Not a local crowd at all, as was reasonable for the touristy location; lots of shorts and tank tops on display. I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

We enjoyed everything about our meal. W ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We enjoyed everything about our meal. We usually do not spend anywhere near this much for just the two of us but since it was our anniversary we splurged. We knew it was expensive but not as expensive as it was. We would still recommend it to our friends for a special occasion though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dessert should be included in price, not ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Dessert should be included in price, not an additional charge

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had heard so much about this high end ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I had heard so much about this high end restaurant and the huge salad bar with over 50 items! My family and I came here for my birthday and boy was I dissappointed! The salad bar wasn't was I expected at all! Jason's Deli has more items and more filling. For this to be an upscale and pricey restaurant you should get a 3 course meal that consist of more than a bowl of mashed potatoes! I will not be visiting here again. Overall the service was ok but the food was not. I could have gone anywhere else and spent much less and had a meat and at least 2 to 3 sides plus a salad . Of course this is just my opinion.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The reservations we made were spot on th ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The reservations we made were spot on the time we were seated no unexpected wait and it was prime dinner hours, the bar was small but the drinks we ordered during our wait was balanced very well the bartender was professional and clean in appearance you could tell he was prideful in his profession however it was an inconvenience that our bar ticket couldn't carry over to our table, our wait staff was quick and attentive but not overbearing but extremely accurate to our requests specifically our cuts of meats, I was disappointed in the dress of some of my fellow patrons that may not be a coat and tie venue but definitely not sweat shorts and M&M jackets do realize that the facility is not to blame entirely for this but dresscode online did specify smart/ formal.....is it to much to ask the people of my town to wear slacks and a shirt with buttons on it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful food was great service best. p ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

wonderful food was great service best. price good for what you recieved

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time there. The food see ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was my first time there. The food seems authentic and you get plenty of it. I should have done a little research so I would have known it is basically all you can eat meat and salad bar buffet. I really enjoyed the experience. Oh yeah definitely make a reservation and plan to spend at least an hour there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.