About Texas de Brazil - Birmingham

2301 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd North
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Texas de Brazil is carving out a new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American “Churrascaria” or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas.
Treat yourself to our 50-60 item gourmet salad area including appetizers, fresh vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As your dining experience continues, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink or steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance that is Texas de Brazil.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Lunch on Fridays only: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
23rd St. North

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 588-8333

Website:
http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

Catering:
Texas de Brazil catering is perfect for your special event-whether you are hosting a wedding, graduation, business event or family get together. Let our skilled gauchos bring the Churrasco rotisserie to your event to cook and assist guests with food service. Our catering packages are available in a self-serve fashion as well as with tableside service. Restrictions may apply. Please inquire with the restaurant directly for a catering menu or additional info.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and street parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Evandro Caregnato

Private Party Facilities:
Texas de Brazil has the perfect private and semi-private dining space to help make your special event unique and memorable. Each location is designed with an aesthetic that is apparent in all details, from lush and vibrant tropical floral arrangements and deep red walls to soaring ceilings enhanced with beautiful, rustic chandeliers and extravagant mirrors. Enriched with elements for all the senses, our amenities create an experience like no other and make Texas de Brazil a destination hot spot for all special occasions.

Texas de Brazil Birmingham features one private dining room & two patios. The Rio room seats up to 20 guests and the two patios can accommodate 40 & 65 guests respectively. Other resources, such as A/V equipment may also be available for rent. Please contact our knowledgeable event manager today to begin planning a remarkable event that is not soon to be forgotten

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Texas de Brazil - Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (158)
Good for a Date (142)
Good for Anniversaries (137)
See All
Good for Birthdays (112)
Romantic (98)
Worth the Drive (94)
Creative Cuisine (78)
Fun (67)
Good for Groups (65)
Authentic (65)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Modern Decor (53)
Business Meals (43)
Cozy (43)
Notable Wine List (43)
Hot Spot (41)
Tasting Menu (40)
Casual (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Outstanding Value (30)
Family Style (28)
Bar Seating (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Open Kitchen (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
People Watching (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Healthy (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Scenic View (14)
Paleo Friendly (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Disabled Access (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Wood Oven (9)
Seasonal (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great Beer (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Spicy (4)
Live Music (4)
Private Room (4)
Historic (4)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

My daughter and I do our date nights here and the staff always remembers us. The manager and staff always welcome us and visit the table. Usually at places with this set up you aren't remembered but here we always feel like regulars. The best part is that my daughter (who is seven) is never ignored. I love that. Hey pay just as much attention to her as they do me. It makes her feel special! Our servers are always wonderful and the staff is always so attentive!! You can tell it's an environment that is both teamwork and guest oriented!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, great service, easy to get to location, worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

The only negative mark against this place was that the waiter became somewhat inattentive once it was time for the check, but the restaurant was very busy. He was otherwise great! The food was delicious and this was my first experience with a restaurant of this style (the staff come around with various meats and offer them to you so long as your token is flipped in such a way to indicate that you want more). The cocktails were well made (a bartender that actually muddles lime instead of sticking a wedge on the rim...how nice!), the soups were perfect and the meats were delicious!

This is a great place for groups or dates!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great as always. However, it was so loud I could only hear every other word our server said. Also, very dark. Both forgivable, but it took almost an hour to get the bill paid after we were finished. Manager also charged our gift card too much. ($200.00 - 98.XX = 98.XX???). We'll let you take a mulligan on this one.

MH

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was fantastic. Been many times always great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

The only shortcoming this place had was our main server. The most basic request (water, check, dessert menu) took over ten minutes each time. I ordered two beers and the server spilled both of them. Everything else was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service! Drinks where stronger than expected! A lot of food! This place is an excellent place to start an evening but definitely would not take someone on a first date, maybe second though.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall all a good experience. Some foods were not cooked to my taste. Should not charge for each softdrink refill. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

The service here was absolutely amazing. The food was fabulous. I loved it there. This will definitely be another special occasion date.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

best salad bar I have ever seen-service excellent-meat was outstanding

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

Was a great first experience. We will be back soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was delicious. The service was rushed and inattentive. Had to ask multiple times for side items and bread. Rushed through dinner, never asked if we wanted wine or a second cocktail.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

My birthday! The food was DELICIOUS the waitress just forgot to bring our garlic potatoes and bananas but the manager was very apologetic and discounted our bill 20%!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Texas de Brazil was a great dining experience the meat was cooked just right and all cuts were super tender the salad bar and sides were great also and desert but if you love beef cooked just right over and open pit you have to try it .

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Had a reservation for 5:45 since January. Didn't get seated until 6:05. Then had to wait for a waiter to see us for another 7 minutes then drinks took over 10 minutes to get. Not a great experience. Gentlemen bringing meat around were friendly and there as needed.

Had concert to attend so wasn't as relaxing as wanted dinner experience to be

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Not impressed. First time. Did not get offered a lot of different meats. Kept getting same meat cooked more. Asked for med rare. Only brought that in 4 different meats. Chicken wrapped in bacon dry. Ran out of rolls and water. Waiter was foreign Not good value for money. Only offered 9 types of meat and they kept coming around. Got water spilled on table by waiter. He did not clean up.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I took my husband for his birthday and we had a great time. The atmosphere was really nice and romantic. The food was great and so were the drinks. This is a really cool place to go for any occasion. I will definitely go again. My husband really enjoyed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I loved everything about my experience. The food, the drinks and the service were excellent. The best restaurant I have been to in Birmingham.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I really enjoyed my experience. It was my birthday. However, the next time I dine there I will only get the salad bar. It was too much food for me to eat. My man enjoyed the all you can eat feel. Because he loves to eat! We will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Enjoyed this meal very much. Hope to return again soon. Recommend highly

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Family night out

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always great never had a bad experience here. Has a outstanding salad bar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Oz was our server and he was amazing. Best dining experience ever!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's dinner with my wife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The receptionist was very accommodative and gave a good seat quickly

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I went here for Valentine's day. The food was excellent, the service was second to none. We were both extremely satisfied with the entire package. It can get pricey though, they tend to up sell their items and drinks don't show a price on the menu. If you aren't careful, you could easily spend over 200.00 for a party of 2, lime we did. I would still give this place 5 stars.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Accepting service. One of the few restaurants that still has a standard of social interaction of the waiting staff and clients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first time visiting and I was amazed. We were unaware of the buffet style dining but it was great! This is definitely one of our new date night spots.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always a great spot for that carnivore in your family!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It was terrible I will never be visiting there again the food was gross

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The waiter was robotic and not friendly. The seasoning tasted the same on each type of meat I ate, too salty overpowered the meat flavor.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

For the second time, we have made reservations at this location and not been seated at our reservation time. When we arrived a few minutes before our reservation, we were given a buzzer and a couple came in after us without a reservation and was seated before us. We were sat in a corner with no candle or light to see the wine menu. Even when our cards were green, we had to ask our server for carvers to come to our table. Our server was pleasant, but not from this location as he was flown in from another store for the holiday. It is extremely upsetting to plan a night out, make a reservation, not be seated before walk ins, and be violently ill the next day from possible food poisoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was great and the service was exceptional

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I always love taking first timers here. The meal and service were great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service so good that I forgot I was eating steak, chicken, lamb and everything on the menu with a cracked molar.

Tags: Healthy, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service, atmosphere, and food was fantastic. I took my wife for an early valentine's dinner and we were looking for something unique. A friend of mine recommended this place and described it to me so I made reservations and was not disappointed.

Also the salad bar was fantastic and the soup of the day was Lobster Bisque and it was probably the bees I have ever had.

Also the food coma was worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is by far the best restaurant in Birmingham. I've been to Flemings and Ruth Chris'. Texas de Brasil is the real deal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My first visit was more enjoyable and on point. This time around, the service was good, the food was good. However, it took a minute for the meats to start visiting our table, even with the card signaling to be served. And when the meats finally started coming, it was mostly the rare and medium-well options rather than the well-done that we requested. Otherwise, the experience was enjoyable. I like that they had comfortable seating for those who had to wait.

Tags: Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was really overcrowded but we want to go back when it's not so busy so we can try it again..

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome experience and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I loved the food the service and the experience. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The meat was very disappointing this time. Everything coming around was way under cook. When I left my stomach hurt so bad it felt like I had just ate a cow after it had just died. This is the one that the food bar was actually better than the meat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've always been told if you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all..............I have nothing more to add.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best restaurant I've eaten at. Quality is top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had reservation didn't have to wait, was seated as soon as we got there. That was a plus. And great food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time dining here for my husband, second dining experience for myself. Service was excellent first time a little less the second but overall a great dining experience. We celebrated an early Valentines Day.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The entire staff was wonderfully positive and helpful. The delicious and healthy food was amazing

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time visiting this restaurant. Took my wife there on a date. It was a little confusing at first on how it worked, but figured it out quick. It was a pleasant change from the usual dine in experience. This is the firest place where we didn't add A1 to the meat. It was awesome by itself!

Our server Jessica was supburb! We had a 25 dollar off coupon, and we just rolled it to her for her tip.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went there Friday night and literally had some of the best service I've ever received

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.