About Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant

8293 Main Street
Ellicott City, MD 21043
View Larger Map

The Tersiguel family have been serving their unique version of French food for over 40 years. The menu at Tersiguel's is a combination of authentic French-style cooking and rustic country fare reminiscent of cuisine found in Tersiguel's original home of Brittany, France. Tersiguel's Cuisine is reflective of the seasons, with a garden that produces lettuces, herbs, vegetables, fruits and edible flowers. When the Garden is not producing Chef Michel Tersiguel will personally go and hand pick all fruit and vegetables at the whole sale market in Jessup, Maryland. Tersiguel's is quintessential French Country "from the farm to your plate" cooking. Chef Tersiguel describes his food as "French soul food". The Tersiguel family has operated one of the regions best restaurants for over 40 years and continues this tradition with annual ratings of "Best French Restaurant" from the Zagat and Baltimore Magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Mondays (CLOSED)

Cross Street:
Old Columbia Pike

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 465-4004

Website:
http://www.tersiguels.com/

Entertainment:
Tersiguel's is famous for their tableside preparation of crepes suzette and chateaubriand.

Parking Details:
We have public parking on the street, 2 hour parking limit during the daytime hours and unlimited after 6:00pm. Also behind the restaurant their is free parking lot of about 260 spaces. Ellicott City also has 6 other parking lots off of Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Michel Tersiguel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tersiguel's is known for their cooking classes with one hour demonstration by Chef Michel Tersiguel and followed by a 5 course lunch. Also featured are themed wine dinners where Chef Michel presents multiple inspired courses matched with exquisite wine selections.

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
blueberry sorbet
Gateau Au Fromage De Chevre
Crepe Suzette
Viande Du Marché
Saumon
Coffee Flambé
Salad Michele
Poisson du jour
Carrot Salad On Crouton
Panache de Dessert
Chocolate Mousse
Escargot

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Tue 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Tersiguel's offers six separate dinning rooms on three levels accommodating 150 guests. Tersiguel's offers several elegant banquet options for lunch and dinner. Menus are customized for each event.

Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
Romantic
Baltimore Suburbs
Special Occasion
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Ellicott City ›

Special Occasion (34)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Romantic (26)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Good for Groups (7)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unfortunately, this wonderful restaurant ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unfortunately, this wonderful restaurant was damaged the night before in the flood which destroyed the entire Main Street area of Ellicott City. As a result, Tersiguels shut down their OpenTable service. Since the restaurant was forced to close, I attempted to cancel that reservation and add a new one to Woodberry Kitchen. Unfortunately, with Tersiguels service down, I was unable to cancel the request and thus could not reserve at Woodberry. The bug in the app was frustrating

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of six just placed our orders ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our group of six just placed our orders when the storm hit, July 30, 2016. The sun room ceiling started to leak so they moved us to the second floor. As the flooding increased, they moved everyone to the second floor. (I don't believe the first floor was ever flooded, but the basement was full of water.) Nonetheless, the staff continued to serve dinner and our food, which was probably the last to come out of the kitchen, was delicious. Call it the high drama of the night, or just fantastic cooking, this was a meal to remember. What an amazing team at Tersiguel's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were there the night of the Ellicott ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were there the night of the Ellicott City Flash Flood. Made for an exciting night. Fortunately our car was not damaged. I'm sure this wonderful restaurant will be closed for some time, since the wine cellar was flooded and who know if there was any structural damage to the building. When they re-open, we'll be sure to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food. Great Service. They know ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic food. Great Service. They know what utensils is used for what, which is rare today.

We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, interesting specials, a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Delicious food, interesting specials, a bit too warm in the room even though they had a fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

This is a lovely lovely restaurant. Gre ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a lovely lovely restaurant. Great atmosphere. Service is outstanding; food is very good. Very expensive, especially the drinks. I will go back but will not order any alcohol. Menu is limited but exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was our 53rd anniversary. We are new ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was our 53rd anniversary. We are new to the area. About 2 years ago. Our first time. Service and staff, exceptional. Food very good. Presentation, very good.

We would definitely recommend . Charlie..superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always an elegant meal with the finest s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Always an elegant meal with the finest service and attention to detail. The halibut specials were superb and the entire evening a pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious and fun. Our ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Everything was delicious and fun. Our fish was served with herbs and vegetables from the chefs garden Always a treat to go and dine there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived early for our 12:30 Sunday br ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We arrived early for our 12:30 Sunday brunch reservation, but were immediately and warmly and cheerfully welcomed. Julie, who had answered the phone regarding parking was reassuring, mature, pleasant, and kind. The old building in which the restaurant is housed is full of history, atmosphere, and interest. Our table was in a delightful airy sun-filled room with healthy green plants along a window. Our waiter, Kam, was fun yet professional, friendly yet courteous, and filled our orders accurately. The occasion was the celebration of a birthday and we were left alone to quietly and discreetly open gifts. The food from the champagne cocktail through various hors d'oeuvres, salad, crepe, to an excellent cappuccino, was perfectly prepared, attractively presented, and delicious! It would be difficult to recommend Tersiguel's too highly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service! We love t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Exceptional food and service! We love this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was overpriced for the quality... N ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was overpriced for the quality... Not up to par compared to its competitors. Bread was amazing but sad to say it was better than the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Tersiguel's never disappoints! They're d ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Tersiguel's never disappoints! They're doing these specials lately that throwback to their 1975 menu, and they are amazing! Had the beef cheeks, a delicacy I had never tried before, and they were wonderful. Never had anything there that didn't make me swoon with culinary appreciation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined there for more than 20 yea ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have dined there for more than 20 years. It always offers excellent service and a wonderful menu in an enjoyable atmosphere. Charlie was our server this outing. He has never failed to be superb. He is a master. He understands relationships, he knows the food preparation, and his wine pairing choices are spot on. This is the goto restaurant for memorable life events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service, delicious food with s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful service, delicious food with several nice touches, we could not have had a better experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a bit off the beaten path, but w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is a bit off the beaten path, but well worth the trip. A lot of the produce comes from their garden nearby. The wine list is modest, but very well thought-out - one of the few places that offers a Muscadet by the glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is original, unique and delicio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food is original, unique and delicious. Service is top notch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to Tersiguels at least 4 times ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Have been to Tersiguels at least 4 times over the last two years, and I thought the food had improved noticeably with this visit. From a B+ to a clear A-.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Coquille St Jaques amazing as always. S ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Coquille St Jaques amazing as always. Special place tucked away in the heart of the historic district with great food and country ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I took my fiancé for her birthday dinner ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I took my fiancé for her birthday dinner and we went in with high hopes. The restaurant is set in historic Ellicott city and has a very intimate setting. The wine selection is very good with a focus on wines from all of the regions in France. The food was mediocre with the escargot being doused in garlic and oil and the overall dinner presentation being sloppy with food scattered over the plate and sauce poured over everything. The food itself wasn't horrible but I don't believe it was worth what I paid. The staff were very courteous but a bit chatty. If you have the cash I would recommend perhaps going for some cheese and wine but as for the main course, there are a few better options out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

As always, the food was excellent and th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always, the food was excellent and the service was very attentive. They are expensive, but that is what you expect from a restaurant of this caliber. They have a very low noise level, which we like, so you can carry on a conversation. If you are looking for a restaurant for a special occasion, Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant is the go to place in Howard County, Maryland

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Great meals and service. Good place for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great meals and service. Good place for a nice occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the most fantastic brunch for fat ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had the most fantastic brunch for father's day! The food is simple, yet elegant and the service is perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brussels sprout salad was very unpleasan ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Brussels sprout salad was very unpleasant. Poached eggs were untrimmed, dressing pooled in bottom of bowl, and quail was dry and tasted nasty.

Waitress served at her pace and when appetizers came and diner said that she would like more bread it took forever to get it and the waitress said "when asked if you wanted more you said no".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Waitress was grumpy. Food was so-so for ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Waitress was grumpy. Food was so-so for the price. Will not return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

AWESOME!!!!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

AWESOME!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always excellent and that's ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food is always excellent and that's the reason I decided to take my husband for his 40th birthday celebration! The service was slow and lackluster. Despite informing the waitstaff twice of time limitation of unable to spending the evening but just couple of hours, we were still ignored with slow to neglect compared to other tables in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

This is a great place. The food was exce ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is a great place. The food was excellent as well as the drinks. The service was amazing, I would definitely go back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fabulous French cooking

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Tersiguels, and had an exceptionally wonderful experience. Our reservations were for 6 PM, so things were pretty quiet. We both ordered specials, which were not only attractive, but simply delicious. The wait staff were very attentive without being intrusive. Tersiguels is our favorite restaurant, and we'll return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I ate at Tersiguel's French ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I ate at Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant while travelling in the area. The meal was not as good as it should have been because the service was handled poorly. The waitress seemed to prefer another table to ours. The menu at the restaurant was not the same as the one on the website which caused disappointment. On a different evening, things may have been better. That evening, we paid way too much for what we received.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Great, friendly, decadent and romantic all in one.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Magnificent in every aspect. We fully enjoyed our experience and will be returning without question! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. . The food and ambience were exceptional. A truly great find!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ellicott City Excellence

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Why go into Downtown Baltimore or Annapolis when you have the best restaurant in the area on Main Street in Ellicott City? Fabulous food, excellent wines, knowledgeable and personable serving staff, and the nicest restauranteur in the foodservice business. What's not to like?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, Great Time

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner on a Thursday night. Not crowded, not noisy. Tersiguals has brought back items from its 1975 menu and I had the pick of the night, veal tail (braised) in a wonderful sauce, sliced apples and spaetzle. It was truely excellent. Great restaurant for high end dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic but the food left a lot to be desired!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We went for our 25th anniversary, the maitre d was very accommodating, however our waitress was either very new or this level of dining was way out of her league. She really couldn't explain the specials, I know because I got one and it was awful!!, 1 softshell crab with garbage sauce was very disappointing!. Needless to say we will never be back, country French is one of our favorites but Tersiguel's resembles nothing like that!.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Old Friends Lunch

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

As always, Tersiguel's was outstanding. We had been trying to get together for some time and finally accomplished it. Two of us were old customers and the other had wanted to try it for some time (he'll be back with his wife). The Escargot were superb, service was beyond approach and friendly, and all courses were flawless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's always a pleasure to eat at Tersiguel's!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Drove down from the Philly area to take my aunt out to a special birthday lunch.

When I want something special, fresh from the garden, beautifully presented and in an elegant setting, I head for Tersiguel's.

The food is always fresh, delicious and of the best quality. The service is always friendly and attentive.

We enjoyed a glass of crisp, fruity and refreshing Vouvray , great home made bread (felt like I was back in France), savored the Country Pate and the the asparagus and leek salad, the Special Fish of the Day and a Frisee and Duck Confit Salad. Finished this lovely meal with coffee and expresso plus a special chocolate mousse birthday dessert and the yummy Passion Fruit/Blueberry Mille Feuille.

Merci Chef, merci equippe de Tersiguels!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We came as a party of 5 for brunch. Whe ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We came as a party of 5 for brunch. When we arrived we were greeted immediately and shown to our table. Our servers were always on hand but allowed us to go at our own pace. The food was delicious and our servers were very knowledgable in answering all of our menu questions. We had a lovely time and would recommend to anyone looking for a classic French restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday Dinner for Brenda

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Special occasions when we are in Maryland always take us here. My Daughter's birthday last year and this year my wife. We always order different things to taste and evaluate. The winner this time in the entre category was the Coquille St. Jacques

Pan seared day boat sea scallops accompanied by a corn & house made pancetta risotto with English pea coulis.

Also notable was the Filet Au Poivre

Grilled tenderloin of beef with a green peppercorn & red wine reduction accompanied by olive oil smashed potatoes.

Crème Brulee was just perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday Lunch

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I took my husband here for lunch for his birthday. He loved it. Our waiter Charlie was very attentive and made great recommendations. We loved the food. I would love to return one day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch was delicious had house omelet, p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Brunch was delicious had house omelet, pate, cheese plate. It was very good. Our server was wonderful.... I might be spelling it wrong....Kama I'm not sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.