About Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant

8293 Main Street
Ellicott City, MD 21043
View Larger Map

The Tersiguel family have been serving their unique version of French food for over 40 years. The menu at Tersiguel's is a combination of authentic French-style cooking and rustic country fare reminiscent of cuisine found in Tersiguel's original home of Brittany, France. Tersiguel's Cuisine is reflective of the seasons, with a garden that produces lettuces, herbs, vegetables, fruits and edible flowers. When the Garden is not producing Chef Michel Tersiguel will personally go and hand pick all fruit and vegetables at the whole sale market in Jessup, Maryland. Tersiguel's is quintessential French Country "from the farm to your plate" cooking. Chef Tersiguel describes his food as "French soul food". The Tersiguel family has operated one of the regions best restaurants for over 40 years and continues this tradition with annual ratings of "Best French Restaurant" from the Zagat and Baltimore Magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Mondays (CLOSED)

Cross Street:
Old Columbia Pike

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 465-4004

Website:
http://www.tersiguels.com/

Entertainment:
Tersiguel's is famous for their tableside preparation of crepes suzette and chateaubriand.

Parking Details:
We have public parking on the street, 2 hour parking limit during the daytime hours and unlimited after 6:00pm. Also behind the restaurant their is free parking lot of about 260 spaces. Ellicott City also has 6 other parking lots off of Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Michel Tersiguel

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tersiguel's is known for their cooking classes with one hour demonstration by Chef Michel Tersiguel and followed by a 5 course lunch. Also featured are themed wine dinners where Chef Michel presents multiple inspired courses matched with exquisite wine selections.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Tue 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Tersiguel's offers six separate dinning rooms on three levels accommodating 150 guests. Tersiguel's offers several elegant banquet options for lunch and dinner. Menus are customized for each event.

Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
2 More
Romantic
Baltimore Suburbs
Special Occasion
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Ellicott City ›

special occasion (88)
romantic (74)
fit for foodies (64)
See All
notable wine list (46)
neighborhood gem (41)
great for brunch (37)
great for lunch (28)
good for groups (12)
scenic view (9)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old Friends Lunch

Dined 6 days ago

As always, Tersiguel's was outstanding. We had been trying to get together for some time and finally accomplished it. Two of us were old customers and the other had wanted to try it for some time (he'll be back with his wife). The Escargot were superb, service was beyond approach and friendly, and all courses were flawless.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's always a pleasure to eat at Tersiguel's!

Dined on May 24, 2016

Drove down from the Philly area to take my aunt out to a special birthday lunch. When I want something special, fresh from the garden, beautifully presented and in an elegant setting, I head for Tersiguel's. The food is always fresh, delicious and of the best quality. The service is always friendly and attentive. We enjoyed a glass of crisp, fruity and refreshing Vouvray , great home made bread (felt like I was back in France), savored the Country Pate and the the asparagus and leek salad, the Special Fish of the Day and a Frisee and Duck Confit Salad. Finished this lovely meal with coffee and expresso plus a special chocolate mousse birthday dessert and the yummy Passion Fruit/Blueberry Mille Feuille. Merci Chef, merci equippe de Tersiguels!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We came as a party of 5 for brunch. Whe ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We came as a party of 5 for brunch. When we arrived we were greeted immediately and shown to our table. Our servers were always on hand but allowed us to go at our own pace. The food was delicious and our servers were very knowledgable in answering all of our menu questions. We had a lovely time and would recommend to anyone looking for a classic French restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner for Brenda

Dined on May 20, 2016

Special occasions when we are in Maryland always take us here. My Daughter's birthday last year and this year my wife. We always order different things to taste and evaluate. The winner this time in the entre category was the Coquille St. Jacques Pan seared day boat sea scallops accompanied by a corn & house made pancetta risotto with English pea coulis. Also notable was the Filet Au Poivre Grilled tenderloin of beef with a green peppercorn & red wine reduction accompanied by olive oil smashed potatoes. Crème Brulee was just perfect.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Birthday Lunch

Dined on May 20, 2016

I took my husband here for lunch for his birthday. He loved it. Our waiter Charlie was very attentive and made great recommendations. We loved the food. I would love to return one day.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Brunch was delicious had house omelet, p ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Brunch was delicious had house omelet, pate, cheese plate. It was very good. Our server was wonderful.... I might be spelling it wrong....Kama I'm not sure.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service

Dined on May 14, 2016

Over the years we have been to Tersiguel's for many special occasions, and it never disappoints. The old home is beautiful, the food is delicious and the service friendly and knowledgeable. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good food and a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great French food, wh ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent service, great French food, what else can one ask for in a restaurant. Highly recommend for special occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

This was our third trip to Tersiguel’s r ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

This was our third trip to Tersiguel’s restaurant and I think it will be our last. In the past I thought the food and service were worth the price for a special occasion. This time I was very disappointed. I had hoped for much better. I’m surprised to see that this is still rated the #1 restaurant in Ellicott City. My wife and I came for dinner and drinks. After being seated, we ordered our drinks and waited several minutes for them to arrive. We had to ask our server for menus. My wife ordered the Veau Normande and I got one of the specials that night, fresh caught rock fish. My wife said the veal was burnt around the edges and tasteless. I travel a lot and I often tell waiters that I’m from Maryland and I am a seafood snob. I know what good seafood is and this was not good. It was tasteless. In fact, I have had better fish in places that are landlocked. Tersiguel’s offers a very romantic, and expensive, atmosphere for dining but that is the only good thing I can say about it. There are other restaurants in Ellicott City that offer much better food.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Charming restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went here for Mother's Day. it is set in Ellicott City, which is a lovely little place. The restaurant was charming and cozy. The food was up and down. it was a three course prix fixe. Beef was very good. the lamb was uneven, both in the butchering and in the flavor. the deserts were great, and the service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been going here for years and it's amazing every time.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We went for Mother's Day. The menu was f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day. The menu was fine and the service was very good. The bill was over $300 for 4 people; too expensive for me. We won't be back very soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Mother's Day, early dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We scheduled a Mother's Day dinner, because of their French/American inspired menu. Food was limited to several items per/appetizer, entree and desert, with a fixed price. Staff was very accommodating and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

OK dining, but expensive for what you get.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's day brunch. Nice atmosphere. The food was good, but not outstanding. Expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Good Food, Great Atmosphere and Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

The atmosphere here is great. It's an old house on main street converted into a quiet restaurant. I'd recommend brunch or an early dinner when there's still some natural light. The service is among the best in the area. The cuisine is French and it's prepared and presented very well, but for my taste many of the dishes are under-seasoned and lack salt.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Nice place but over priced. My martini was served warm and at these prices the drinks should be perfect.

food4
ambience4
service1
value5

Good food but pricey

Dined on May 7, 2016

Been here before, first time I could not rate excellent: wait person was snippy, arrogant. Coffee and ice tea were $5 each (no refill offered on ice tea). Definitely quite expensive for even once a month eating for supper.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Thanks -

Dined on May 7, 2016

It is surprising that more costly high-end restaurants enjoy far more press than Tersiguel's which by far has more consistent quality at a lower price. It is a very solid unpretentious, good quality restaurants. It does not performed four star pirouettes with its menu but it does not pretend to do so, then fall far short and then bamboozle/bluff the diner into believing that he/she just received quality to justify the outrageous price. Too many gourmet restaurants are variations on the Emperor with no clothes where one walks away intimidated, uncertain, disappointed and ultimately resentful. Tersiguel's reminds me of many very good French restaurants in France where the natives, in fact, eat (and they are rough critics). This is not damning with faint praise at all. Tersiguel's is wonderful where one can relax and enjoy good food. Hello Allison! (A very kind and patient server)

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff is very attentive

Dined on May 7, 2016

Not just our waitress Ellen, but all the others worked together as a team to make it a good experience.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great find in Ellicot City! Exceptional ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Great find in Ellicot City! Exceptional menu,waitstaff, and wine list

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Personal attention without hovering

Dined on May 1, 2016

The staff at Tersiguels have mastered the fine art of making guests feel special, cared for, and yet left alone enough not to feel hovered over. We celebrated a special birthday recently and could not have had a more pleasant place to have a family dinner. The maitre d gave us a choice of tables based on my request for a window view, and we ended up having the whole bar area to ourselves. The staff who waited on us were delightful and genuine in their desire to make us feel welcome and cared for. The courses appeared at a comfortable pace, without having to wait excessively or feeling rushed. French country food is rich and not heavily spiced, so it is not my absolute favorite cuisine, but all the dishes were fresh and prepared to our liking. Freshly baked crusty french bread was replenished throughout the meal to help in scooping up the delicious sauces. This place is all about the cozy atmosphere and old world romance, perfect for a special celebration.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My Tersiguel Experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

I visited Tersiguel's for the first time in my life, last Saturday. It was to be a celebration of my wife's birthday. I initially made the reservation online, for a party of two. I later decided to surprise my wife by inviting three favorite couples to join us. Tersiguels almost spoiled the surprise by later confirming the party of 8 reservation online. Not smart! We all had a magnificent evening. The service was outstanding. The drinks were good. I had ordered fresh catch of the day. The fish was cooked to perfection. However, the plate came with two vegetables: 2 stalks of asparagus (unlike the generous portions at the Prime Rib). For a $40 entrée, it would not be unreasonable to give the guest at least 4 or 5 stalks of asparagus. Asparagus is in-season and is not an expensive vegetable. The second vegetable was a mound of watered-down, tasteless yellow mashed potatoes. The potatoes that came on the appetizer plate with sausage had been fabulous, and the mashed potatoes were a big surprise. Overall, my wife and guests had a wonderful time and enjoyed this experience very much.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening

Dined on April 27, 2016

Chef Michel created a wonderful four course dinner for us. Everything was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unpretentious Fine Dining

Dined on April 24, 2016

I was a little nervous about bringing my spunky 8 month old to a place I perceived as being chichi. I could not have felt more welcome. Our waiter made sure to move things to help me read the menu while I held her. Many of the staff came over to smile and coo at her. The food was top-notch and the portions were generous. It is a charming and lovely spot for excellent French influenced dining.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a rare gem. . .

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Hadn't been back to Tersiguel's in at least 10-15 years as I had changed work assignments to Washington DC and it was just more convenient to eat down there. But what a mistake to have forgotten it! Came back this week to try Tersiguel's once again and there is no question -- it is still a rare gem in Ellicott City. The cuisine, wine, ambience and service were all magnificent. We learned of an 8-course tasting menu of which we were not aware, that was delicious, balanced, and even titillated our palates. The wine was truly amazing and we very much appreciated and enjoyed talking with the restaurant staff as they offered very thoughtful advice. As others have commented, the price was considerable, yet in our opinion, it was well deserved. If the quality and intimacy of your dining is the goal, Tersiguel's should rank towards the top of your list!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb dining experience!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our evening at Terciguel's was superb! The service, food and ambiance were all top notch! We only choose this restaraunt for special occasions because everything is a la carte and quite expensive! As long as you are prepared for that, you will enjoy every minute!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service!

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was one of the most delightful restaurants my wife and I experienced to celebrate our 30 years of marriage. The service and the food was all that and some that we'll go back again and again. This was a fine dining experience of a lifetime.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French country food at it's best!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Tersigals was highly recommended to us by a close friend as having wonderful French food! We chose have a family birthday dinner there. It was our 17 year old granddaughter's first introduction to fine dining. She was in seventh heaven! As she said the food was fabulous, but the special treatment by everyone from the greeting at reception to service to food presentation and ambience were all extra special. The four of us enjoyed our dining experience there tremendously.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

very consistent

Dined on March 22, 2016

delicious pate and entrees. Service was top notch. Flavors were wonderful, the passion fruit napoleon was an inventive twist.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! I had t ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! I had the special, rock fish and it was delicious.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wanted to love it, but left just liking it

Dined on March 19, 2016

I have dined here several times. I love the atmosphere and the service is usually top notch. I feel that the overall value is not quite there - the food was good, not great or fabulous, for the money we spent.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cant believe I waited so long to visit

Dined on March 19, 2016

After years of hearing how good this place is we decided to do a date night. Immediately upon stepping in the front door you are greeted by a friendly staff offering to take your coat and get you seated. Our waiter, Charlie, was the perfect mix of professional, guiding not overbearing, and friendly . The food here is amazing. Everything we had from the Oysters with yellowtail to the rack of lamb was done perfectly. We will be visiting again and again. Do yourself a favor and stop by this Ellicott City gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening out for our anniversary

Dined on March 18, 2016

We came to Tersiguel's on the recommendation of friend and it did not disappoint. The food and service were both top notch. It was a slow night at the restaurant and staff took that as an opportunity to really shine. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

You can always expect a lovely meal at Tersiguels, and we were not disappointed. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys French cooking. It is consistently excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Treasure

Dined on March 6, 2016

I have been to Tersiguel's several times over the past five years, and its charming atmosphere, delicious food, and great service never cease to be amazing. I'll admit to a bit of bias since I spent two years in France and fell in love with French cuisine. But my status as francophile does not mean I stand alone in my assessment of Tersiguel's. I have taken many family and friends there, and they have had nothing but compliments for that restaurant. One more thing I would like to say to any perspective diners: If you are looking for something informal, Tersiguel's is probably not for you. Theirs is a more formal dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Charming!

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Tersiguel's is well worth the trip from Baltimore. Not only is it charming, but so much more. Every detail of our visit was perfect, from the welcoming greeting of the m'aitre d' to the delicious cuisine, accompanied by the excellent service. I look forward to visiting Tersiguel's again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food - great service

Dined on March 5, 2016

We went for a late brunch - the ambiance was relaxing and the server was helpful and attentive. Loved the poutine Quebecois! The server made excellent wine recommendations. Was there a few weeks ago and had to return for more. Excellent choice for foodies!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Something delicious for everyone

Dined on March 3, 2016

All four of us ordered a difference appetizer and main course. No one was disappointed! The flavors and combinations of herbs, dressings, and sauces were superb! The wine selection was excellent and impressed our European and California guests. One of the best in Ellicott City - always friendly, always helpful, always satisfyingly yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Charlie took great care of us and made t ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Charlie took great care of us and made the night even more memorable. It is always great to have him as our waiter.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great ambiance

Dined on February 26, 2016

Good food and great service, however a bit expensive.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.