About Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant

8293 Main Street
Ellicott City, MD 21043
View Larger Map

The Tersiguel family have been serving their unique version of French food for over 40 years. The menu at Tersiguel's is a combination of authentic French-style cooking and rustic country fare reminiscent of cuisine found in Tersiguel's original home of Brittany, France. Tersiguel's Cuisine is reflective of the seasons, with a garden that produces lettuces, herbs, vegetables, fruits and edible flowers. When the Garden is not producing Chef Michel Tersiguel will personally go and hand pick all fruit and vegetables at the whole sale market in Jessup, Maryland. Tersiguel's is quintessential French Country "from the farm to your plate" cooking. Chef Tersiguel describes his food as "French soul food". The Tersiguel family has operated one of the regions best restaurants for over 40 years and continues this tradition with annual ratings of "Best French Restaurant" from the Zagat and Baltimore Magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday-Thursday 4pm - 9pm; Friday & Saturday 4pm-10pm
Mondays (CLOSED)

Cross Street:
Old Columbia Pike

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 465-4004

Website:
http://www.tersiguels.com/

Entertainment:
Tersiguel's is famous for their tableside preparation of crepes suzette and chateaubriand.

Parking Details:
We have public parking on the street, 2 hour parking limit during the daytime hours and unlimited after 6:00pm. Also behind the restaurant their is free parking lot of about 260 spaces. Ellicott City also has 6 other parking lots off of Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Michel Tersiguel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tersiguel's is known for their cooking classes with one hour demonstration by Chef Michel Tersiguel and followed by a 5 course lunch. Also featured are themed wine dinners where Chef Michel presents multiple inspired courses matched with exquisite wine selections.

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD
blueberry sorbet - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD
Gateau Au Fromage De Chevre - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD
Crepe Suzette - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD
Viande Du Marché - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD
Saumon - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD
Coffee Flambé - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD
Salad Michele - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD
Poisson du jour - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD
Carrot Salad On Crouton - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD
Panache de Dessert - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD
Chocolate Mousse - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD
Escargot - Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant, Ellicott City, MD

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Tue 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Tersiguel's offers six separate dinning rooms on three levels accommodating 150 guests. Tersiguel's offers several elegant banquet options for lunch and dinner. Menus are customized for each event.

Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Service
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
6 More
Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Food
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Service
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Special Occasion
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Ellicott City ›

Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (18)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Historic (11)
Authentic (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1543 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed the evening, the food was ver ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed the evening, the food was very good, and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We have been dining here for many years ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

We have been dining here for many years and are thrilled that Tersiguel's has reopened after the flood. We have always loved the food and atmosphere but Saturday night was the best meal ever! And Charlie was awesome as usual! We will surely be back!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great but the entree serving ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food is great but the entree servings are very small and overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We have been waiting to try this restaur ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We have been waiting to try this restaurant out for some time and were very excited when they reopened after the flood. We were greeted cheerfully as we entered and shown to a very nice table. At first the waiter was very attentive but after a while he seem to lose interest in our table and it was not busy at all. A few times our glasses were empty for some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I went to Tersiguel's "Frenc ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My wife and I went to Tersiguel's "French Country" Restaurant with my sister and brother-in-law to celebrate a late Thanksgiving. I am very sorry to say that we were extremely disappointed! Previous visits (years ago) to this restaurant were very special with excellent food. Currently, we saw no evidence of French country cooking, our waitress was very unprofessional, and the food was overpriced and very disappointing. Some examples: when we asked for bread and butter, we were told that we could not have any until we ordered our meals, and when I asked why, we were told that customers get butter on the menus and the server plates which are not washed every time they are used. Two orders of Filet Mignon, both of poor quality, one ordered medium-well, and one ordered medium-rare, both arrived medium. The medium-well one was returned to an obviously dissatisfied waitress. My wife's medium-rare lamb chop was of poor quality, over cooked and almost inedible. I could give other examples...very disappointing and we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Outstanding!! My husband, adult daughter ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding!! My husband, adult daughter and I went for my birthday. We are planning to go back soon. The service was friendly and excellent. The food was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bus boy gave my wife the hard end piece ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Bus boy gave my wife the hard end piece of the french bread. To everyone, I have named him "butt boy". Other than that, a splendid experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing experience for thanksgiving dinn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing experience for thanksgiving dinner. The 4 course dinner was exceptional and creative. Charlie was a delight to interact with and he made sure our evening was top notch! We had the pumpkin mouse with white chocolate in the edible chocolate shell for dessert. It was truly a work of art!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My father and I wanted a Thanksgiving me ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My father and I wanted a Thanksgiving meal and we certainly got that. The soup, salad, and dessert where exactly what we have come to expect from the restaurant. The main course was Thanksgiving on one plate turkey,dressing, potatoes, and ham. We also had excellent wine choices by the glass.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first time, but our friends ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was our first time, but our friends have enjoyed Tersiguel's for years. We were immediately greeted at the door, and seated right away, The wait staff was very attentive. The menu was somewhat limited, but it was my understanding that they had just re-opened after completing major repairs due to the flooding in July. The escargot were the best I have had in the United States. My omelet was delicious, as was dessert. We will definitely be returning soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this place and after reopening a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We love this place and after reopening after the flood, they have a new fresh look and feel, but it still feels like Tersiguel's. They did a great job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special occasion. Perfect place to celeb ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Special occasion. Perfect place to celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I loved this place the last time we visi ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I loved this place the last time we visited. This time, however, the service was not up to the where it was last time. It was a rather cold experience, overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The restaurant is cozy and charming, the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The restaurant is cozy and charming, the food is excellent, and the wait staff is both attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service by Charlie ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great food and great service by Charlie (Consummate professional at his trade)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time at Tersuguel's! ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Tersuguel's! The food was delicious, and the service first-rate!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, we thoroughly enjoyed our exp ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

As usual, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Tersiguals. Outstanding food, ambiance and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Their re-opening is a happy occasion! E ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Their re-opening is a happy occasion! Excellent food and service in a relaxing atmosphere. A mainstay of Ellicott City and Howard County. (The lamb was great).

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Noise level was quite high for an upscal ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Noise level was quite high for an upscale restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is delicious! Love the atmosphe ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food is delicious! Love the atmosphere the freshness of the ingredients and of course, the service!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to dinner to celebrate our 44th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We went to dinner to celebrate our 44th anniversary and to celebrate the re-opening of Tersiguel's. The appetizers were delicious and spot on. The entree menu was so wonderful we had a time deciding what to have. My husband had lamb and I had beef. Both entrees were delicious. We did not have dessert because of lack of tummy space so I don't know anything about them. We will have to save room the next time we go because there will definitely be a next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tersiguel's is recently re-opened after ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Tersiguel's is recently re-opened after the Ellicott City Flood of August 2016, and they have done a remarkable job of restoring this historic building. The menu is amazing - we enjoyed escargot and froie gras for our appetizers, and duck confit for our entree. If possible leave room for dessert! Tersiguel's scores top marks for the quality of it's food and service: first class all the way. The perfect place for a special occasion! We missed them while they were closed - hurry back now that they are re-opened!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

so great to see Tersiguels reopened ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

so great to see Tersiguels reopened great food as always in a subtlely refurbished dining room outstanding evening

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So, so happy that Tersiguel's has reopen ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

So, so happy that Tersiguel's has reopened and wishing them all the best. My Sunday brunch was fabulous, as always.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just as wonderful as ever. They've just ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Just as wonderful as ever. They've just reopened after the Main Street flood with a slightly smaller menu but the food is still fantastic and the service as friendly and warm as before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tersiguel's has reopened better than eve ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Tersiguel's has reopened better than ever. The entire restaurant has a new fresh look and the new cooked to order menu is now concise and still provides a full variety of dishes to satisfy most tastes. The service, as always, was pleasant and professional provided by a staff that obviously love their work.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad to see Tersiguel's open after the f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Glad to see Tersiguel's open after the flooding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant. Every dish we got ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Every dish we got was amazing and rich in flavor. Service was outstanding and you can't beat the historic location and house the restaurant resides in. Definitely in our top 10 favorite restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great to have Tersiguel's open again aft ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great to have Tersiguel's open again after the Ellicott City flood. The entire interior has been redone, which brings this beloved spot up to date. The menu has also been revamped, with only a few appetizers held over. That allows Chef Michel to adapt his menu frequently for seasonal cuisine, which he had been doing with specials in the past. We had Charlie serving us, so of course, everything was impeccable, but the assisting wait staff is still a bit green. Our bus boy, for instance, needs to know that, "Are you still working on that?" is -- while used far too frequently -- not appropriate for this type of restaurant, and that when a diner places silverware in one of several positions on the plate, the question becomes totally unnecessary! Charlie was training as he went the other night which was, by the way, the first night Tersiguel's was open for the general public.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Tersiguel's just re-opened tonight (10/2 ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Tersiguel's just re-opened tonight (10/26) after the devastating Ellicott City flood in July. Everything is clean and fresh -a new beginning. Fresh paint, newly refinished floors, new draperies and a wonderful new refreshed and smaller menu - all this breaths new life into Tersiguel's. The food was superb! We commend Michel and his wife Angie for all the tenacious hard work to getting Tersiguel's not just back on its feet - but alive and rejuvenated in so many ways. We are happy for them and happy for us. Our favorite restaurant is back! Make your reservations now, you won't regret it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately, this wonderful restaurant ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unfortunately, this wonderful restaurant was damaged the night before in the flood which destroyed the entire Main Street area of Ellicott City. As a result, Tersiguels shut down their OpenTable service. Since the restaurant was forced to close, I attempted to cancel that reservation and add a new one to Woodberry Kitchen. Unfortunately, with Tersiguels service down, I was unable to cancel the request and thus could not reserve at Woodberry. The bug in the app was frustrating

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of six just placed our orders ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our group of six just placed our orders when the storm hit, July 30, 2016. The sun room ceiling started to leak so they moved us to the second floor. As the flooding increased, they moved everyone to the second floor. (I don't believe the first floor was ever flooded, but the basement was full of water.) Nonetheless, the staff continued to serve dinner and our food, which was probably the last to come out of the kitchen, was delicious. Call it the high drama of the night, or just fantastic cooking, this was a meal to remember. What an amazing team at Tersiguel's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were there the night of the Ellicott ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were there the night of the Ellicott City Flash Flood. Made for an exciting night. Fortunately our car was not damaged. I'm sure this wonderful restaurant will be closed for some time, since the wine cellar was flooded and who know if there was any structural damage to the building. When they re-open, we'll be sure to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food. Great Service. They know ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic food. Great Service. They know what utensils is used for what, which is rare today.

We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, interesting specials, a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Delicious food, interesting specials, a bit too warm in the room even though they had a fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

This is a lovely lovely restaurant. Gre ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a lovely lovely restaurant. Great atmosphere. Service is outstanding; food is very good. Very expensive, especially the drinks. I will go back but will not order any alcohol. Menu is limited but exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was our 53rd anniversary. We are new ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was our 53rd anniversary. We are new to the area. About 2 years ago. Our first time. Service and staff, exceptional. Food very good. Presentation, very good.

We would definitely recommend . Charlie..superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always an elegant meal with the finest s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Always an elegant meal with the finest service and attention to detail. The halibut specials were superb and the entire evening a pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious and fun. Our ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Everything was delicious and fun. Our fish was served with herbs and vegetables from the chefs garden Always a treat to go and dine there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived early for our 12:30 Sunday br ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We arrived early for our 12:30 Sunday brunch reservation, but were immediately and warmly and cheerfully welcomed. Julie, who had answered the phone regarding parking was reassuring, mature, pleasant, and kind. The old building in which the restaurant is housed is full of history, atmosphere, and interest. Our table was in a delightful airy sun-filled room with healthy green plants along a window. Our waiter, Kam, was fun yet professional, friendly yet courteous, and filled our orders accurately. The occasion was the celebration of a birthday and we were left alone to quietly and discreetly open gifts. The food from the champagne cocktail through various hors d'oeuvres, salad, crepe, to an excellent cappuccino, was perfectly prepared, attractively presented, and delicious! It would be difficult to recommend Tersiguel's too highly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.