About Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant

The Tersiguel family have been serving their unique version of French food for over 40 years. The menu at Tersiguel's is a combination of authentic French-style cooking and rustic country fare reminiscent of cuisine found in Tersiguel's original home of Brittany, France. Tersiguel's Cuisine is reflective of the seasons, with a garden that produces lettuces, herbs, vegetables, fruits and edible flowers. When the Garden is not producing Chef Michel Tersiguel will personally go and hand pick all fruit and vegetables at the whole sale market in Jessup, Maryland. Tersiguel's is quintessential French Country "from the farm to your plate" cooking. Chef Tersiguel describes his food as "French soul food". The Tersiguel family has operated one of the regions best restaurants for over 40 years and continues this tradition with annual ratings of "Best French Restaurant" from the Zagat and Baltimore Magazine.

8293 Main Street
Ellicott City, MD 21043
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday-Thursday 4pm - 9pm; Friday & Saturday 4pm-10pm
Mondays (CLOSED)

Cross Street:
Old Columbia Pike

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 465-4004

Website:
http://www.tersiguels.com/

Entertainment:
Tersiguel's is famous for their tableside preparation of crepes suzette and chateaubriand.

Parking Details:
We have public parking on the street, 2 hour parking limit during the daytime hours and unlimited after 6:00pm. Also behind the restaurant their is free parking lot of about 260 spaces. Ellicott City also has 6 other parking lots off of Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Michel Tersiguel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tersiguel's is known for their cooking classes with one hour demonstration by Chef Michel Tersiguel and followed by a 5 course lunch. Also featured are themed wine dinners where Chef Michel presents multiple inspired courses matched with exquisite wine selections.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Tue 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Tersiguel's offers six separate dinning rooms on three levels accommodating 150 guests. Tersiguel's offers several elegant banquet options for lunch and dinner. Menus are customized for each event.

Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Historic (18)
Authentic (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Private Room (6)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Fireplace (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome, inventive food, and the waiter, ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome, inventive food, and the waiter, Charlie, is knowledgeable and fun. The best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is great to see Tersiguel's back in b ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

It is great to see Tersiguel's back in business. The food remains excellent and the service impeccable. The menu is significantly shorter than before the Ellicott City flooding, but well worth the special occasion visit.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It had been a few years since I've been ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

It had been a few years since I've been to Tersiguels, but I'm happy that it did not disappoint. Food was wonderful, service was outstanding. Looking forward to going back soon...RT

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

food was good-I was very surprised that ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

food was good-I was very surprised that they would not have coffee, only espresso, for Sunday brunch at a French restaurant-i feel that an accommodation should have been made for a broken coffee maker. The dessert was no up to par for that type of restaurant-it seemed that an apple pastry would be appropriate for place and time but the apples were almost non-existent and the hazelnut accompaniment I can't really describe but it was overpowering. I love the idea of Tersiguel's and I had fun with my guests but was somewhat disappointed in the overall outcome.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Charlie is the best waiter. Very knowled ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Charlie is the best waiter. Very knowledgeable and sociable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We must've caught them on an off night. ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

We must've caught them on an off night. We've been to the restaurant on numerous occasions over the year and always enjoyed it. This time most dishes were quite bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My wife and I have been to this restaura ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I have been to this restaurant several times and have not been disappointed yet. There was a prefix menu (for New Year's Eve) and all courses were great. Service was a little harried but okay. It is certainly a pricey place, but in my opinion worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I just love the cozy, historic ambiance ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I just love the cozy, historic ambiance of this restaurant. Terrific, authentic French cuisine perfectly prepared and professionally presented. I consider this restaurant a special gem in Howard County, a true dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Although only one of us had realized pri ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Although only one of us had realized prior to our visit that there was only a special chef's tasting menu available for New year's Eve, we knew we were in capable hands after previous visits. The restaurant was crowded and quite warm, but service was efficient and friendly despite the bustle. Chef's tasting menu was outstanding; even the pickiest of our party liked nearly everything. Began with pear apertif, a light leek and potato soup, then scallops over risotto and a delicious sauce. The filet mignons were all perfectly medium rare and scrumptious. The palate-cleansing salad of celery, radicchio and fennel was not to everyone's taste, but appropriate. I just wish there had been more chocolate mousse; sigh. Delightful blend of flavors and textures which left us all satisfied but not stuffed, the way a meal should be.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was great, a little pricey, b ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was great, a little pricey, but I suppose that is to be expected for fancy French food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have eaten here before. We went for NY ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have eaten here before. We went for NYE to support at EC business. Bland soup. Not asked for beef temp. Tough cut. Indifferent service. Very mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Waiter forgot to bring us our salad befo ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Waiter forgot to bring us our salad before serving our dessert. We weren't offered coffee or tea with dessert and for $80 per person I think that should have been included. There were a lot of folks working that night, but they still forgot about us.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Fabulous service, exquisite food, extens ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fabulous service, exquisite food, extensive wine selection. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and it was the perfect place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tersiguel's is back and better than ever ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Tersiguel's is back and better than ever! Love the new menu with locally sourced food. The decor is fresh, too. The flood was a real tragedy, but they are back and better than ever!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was wonderful. My French teac ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

This place was wonderful. My French teacher recommended this place form me and I went with my family. It was very fancy and quiet and the service was great! The food was delicious and it was nice to try something new since I've never had French food before. I would definitely recommend this place and I certainly will go back soon! Thank you for the amazing experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening. Charming restaurant.

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful evening. Charming restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a group of 10 for Christmas Eve d ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a group of 10 for Christmas Eve dinner. We had our own room which was great. Servers were attentive and knowledgeable. We didn't realize that it was a set menu for the holiday but it was delicious. A fun evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thank you!!!

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Michele birthday lunch was outstanding t ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Michele birthday lunch was outstanding thank you chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Strange that there was no lunch menu wit ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Strange that there was no lunch menu with crepes and such but perhaps that was a brunch menu I am remembering from last year. The menu was for dinner even though it was noon so it was very expensive. Food was delicious. We didn't get the good fun waiter but he did make our cocktails. Our waiter was stoic. I am so glad that Tersiguel's is back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Beuf - Filet Mignon is wonderful - wine ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Beuf - Filet Mignon is wonderful - wine selection is very good. The building is lovely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent food and service. Great for sp ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

excellent food and service. Great for special occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My friend and I met for lunch, a yearly ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

My friend and I met for lunch, a yearly tradition at the restaurant. It met our expectations. I had pate, lamb, and lemon dessert. She had food gras, filet, and floating island. We split a small bottle of wine. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a nice restaurant -- not excepti ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is a nice restaurant -- not exceptional but very overpriced. We went for brunch and the entrees were good tasting but not worth the price charged. Service was ok -- not exceptional -- not overly friendly....felt like we should be honored to be there not that they were glad we were there. Don't think we'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

We had a lovely evening to celebrate my ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had a lovely evening to celebrate my birthday. The food and service were wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful night at Tersiguel's! Th ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Had a wonderful night at Tersiguel's! The duck and pumpkin polenta were perfectly prepared, and the service was fantastic. We arrived pretty close to closing time and stayed beyond closing time by over an hour, but we never felt rushed. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for an all-around fantastic dining experience.

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always loved Tersiguel's French ...

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

We have always loved Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant and are just thrilled that they are back in business, better than ever, after the flood.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding evening! We have. ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had an outstanding evening! We have. Even going there about twice per year for the Chef's Menu with wine pairings--expensive but worth it. It is no longer on the menu per se, but they have a way to pull it off. Quite a treat to be sure.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A nice meal, but did not compare favorab ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

A nice meal, but did not compare favorable to our last visit. Some menu changes left me cold, specifically the escargot preparation and the cold bread. I did not care for the escargot in parsley (I prefer the butter and garlic sauce), and I always loved the basket of warm bread, not bread served cold by the slice. The duck entree, however, was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed the evening, the food was ver ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

We enjoyed the evening, the food was very good, and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We have been dining here for many years ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have been dining here for many years and are thrilled that Tersiguel's has reopened after the flood. We have always loved the food and atmosphere but Saturday night was the best meal ever! And Charlie was awesome as usual! We will surely be back!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great but the entree serving ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food is great but the entree servings are very small and overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We have been waiting to try this restaur ...

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

We have been waiting to try this restaurant out for some time and were very excited when they reopened after the flood. We were greeted cheerfully as we entered and shown to a very nice table. At first the waiter was very attentive but after a while he seem to lose interest in our table and it was not busy at all. A few times our glasses were empty for some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I went to Tersiguel's "Frenc ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

My wife and I went to Tersiguel's "French Country" Restaurant with my sister and brother-in-law to celebrate a late Thanksgiving. I am very sorry to say that we were extremely disappointed! Previous visits (years ago) to this restaurant were very special with excellent food. Currently, we saw no evidence of French country cooking, our waitress was very unprofessional, and the food was overpriced and very disappointing. Some examples: when we asked for bread and butter, we were told that we could not have any until we ordered our meals, and when I asked why, we were told that customers get butter on the menus and the server plates which are not washed every time they are used. Two orders of Filet Mignon, both of poor quality, one ordered medium-well, and one ordered medium-rare, both arrived medium. The medium-well one was returned to an obviously dissatisfied waitress. My wife's medium-rare lamb chop was of poor quality, over cooked and almost inedible. I could give other examples...very disappointing and we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Outstanding!! My husband, adult daughter ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding!! My husband, adult daughter and I went for my birthday. We are planning to go back soon. The service was friendly and excellent. The food was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bus boy gave my wife the hard end piece ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Bus boy gave my wife the hard end piece of the french bread. To everyone, I have named him "butt boy". Other than that, a splendid experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing experience for thanksgiving dinn ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing experience for thanksgiving dinner. The 4 course dinner was exceptional and creative. Charlie was a delight to interact with and he made sure our evening was top notch! We had the pumpkin mouse with white chocolate in the edible chocolate shell for dessert. It was truly a work of art!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My father and I wanted a Thanksgiving me ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

My father and I wanted a Thanksgiving meal and we certainly got that. The soup, salad, and dessert where exactly what we have come to expect from the restaurant. The main course was Thanksgiving on one plate turkey,dressing, potatoes, and ham. We also had excellent wine choices by the glass.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first time, but our friends ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was our first time, but our friends have enjoyed Tersiguel's for years. We were immediately greeted at the door, and seated right away, The wait staff was very attentive. The menu was somewhat limited, but it was my understanding that they had just re-opened after completing major repairs due to the flooding in July. The escargot were the best I have had in the United States. My omelet was delicious, as was dessert. We will definitely be returning soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this place and after reopening a ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

We love this place and after reopening after the flood, they have a new fresh look and feel, but it still feels like Tersiguel's. They did a great job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.