About Territory Kitchen & Bar

1400 Welton Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Territory Kitchen & Bar adds a touch of Colorado to the Denver restaurant scene with locally sourced food in a rugged atmosphere. Dine on creative cuisine such as bison burger, rack of lamb and Colorado trout and experience the comfortable environment in an Adirondack chair, while sipping a local brew. Located steps from the Colorado Convention Center and the 16th Street Mall, Territory is a convenient stop whether in town for work or play.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 844-5555

Website:
http://www.territorydenver.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking at the Hilton Garden Inn Hotel when dining. Please present your valet ticket to the server for validation.

Executive Chef:
Brent Butterfield

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Territory Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.4

ambience

3.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

56% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Romantic (2)
See All
Happy Hour (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Historic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
53 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Met a friend for a happy hour get togeth ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Met a friend for a happy hour get together... Nice place for a casual drink or pre-drink before a downtown event. The appetizers were perfect as a happy hour vibe and also tasted great. Our server was attentive, kind and understood the meaning of a laid back happy our amid friends... certainly a place to return for another happy hour.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Place was nice. Our server was nice. Foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Place was nice. Our server was nice. Food was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Super friendly staff, very nice interior ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Super friendly staff, very nice interior, the food was yummy., and happy hour prices were on point

But overall the place was DIRTY, the floors were dirty my wine glass was dirty, The staff was so lax that often times we needed assistance and there was no one to help us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Typical hotel restaurant, with a mediocr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Typical hotel restaurant, with a mediocre menu, and even more mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Good happy hour food, service was okay. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Good happy hour food, service was okay. We were told which beverages were on happy hour and I ordered the house wine spritzer but server wasn't sure if they "had that". I explained what it was (house wine with club soda) and he brought me a glass of wine. Oh well. Then, he disappeared, so we weren't able to order anything else before happy hour was over. Then we were charged full price for the wine. Elk sliders were good and the street tacos were good. We were going to order the flatbread pizza on happy hour, but our server was MIA until after happy hour was over, so we didn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Needed dinner before an event and the 10 ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Needed dinner before an event and the 1000 pt bonus enticed me. The four of us were seated quickly. Drinks took 15 minutes. We asked for a food menu and was brought one to share among the four of us. 15 minutes passed and we were never asked what we wanted. Closed the tab with the bartender and went elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Just OK - server did not get our order c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Just OK - server did not get our order correct and we had to send back; admitted she did not know the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

This is the second time we had dinner he ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is the second time we had dinner here before concerts. They have a small bit interesting menu. Last time we had a burger and a chicken sandwich that were both very good. This time we had pizzas that were unique and tasty. Beer and wine selection is good. Staff is friendly. This becoming our favorite spot for a casual pre-concert bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Bartender was our server. He's super fas ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Bartender was our server. He's super fast. I don't drink. Nice. Efficient. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had made a reservation, which was comp ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I had made a reservation, which was completely unnecessary since we were the only ones in the whole restaurant. There were a few people in the bar. Even though I had made a reservation, there was no one to greet us. We waited awhile and when no one came, we walked in and found the table set for a larger group. Still, I was worried that they would not know to have a server come by, so I stood and tried to get the attention of people working in the kitchen. No one would look my way. After several minutes, a gal finally came out. After that the service was good, and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

This is a hotel breakfast place. The buf ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This is a hotel breakfast place. The buffet was big but service was slow if you didn't want the buffet. They forgot my meal though were good about keeping the coffee full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

I would not recommend this restaurant fo ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant for any of the above reasons. The food was marginal, the service unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Outstanding service.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The bison Ruben drew me in and it was qu ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The bison Ruben drew me in and it was quite good. The beer was nice and cold, but a bit pricey compared to other places in the area. The service by the bartender was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Nice work to the team

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Nice work to the team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The food was not very good & the service ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was not very good & the service was beyond dismal. Really stupendously bad waitress who had no idea what was on the menu, who ordered what, we had to continually ask & ask & ask for anything. I would recommend skipping this place. Also - their online menu is dramatically different from what is on the actual menu - and not for the better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Our server forgot drinks multiple times, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Our server forgot drinks multiple times, and didn't bring two guests their drinks for almost 20 minutes. The restaurant was not full and there appeared to be enough staff. Food came out at all different times. Food was mediocre. Very harsh lighting in the restaurant, almost like a cafeteria. Extremely loud. Not the best dining experience. There are many better places in Denver for a meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Ok, nothing special, good for lunch.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Ok, nothing special, good for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Nice atmosphere, great service. Definite ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice atmosphere, great service. Definitely feels more unique than just a hotel bar and restaurant. The picnic tables and people watching was great. Food was just okay....the sliders were dry and the Cesar salad was kind of blah. I would recommend going here for the just drinks and elsewhere to eat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Typical Hotel Restaurant rip off. Got gr ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Typical Hotel Restaurant rip off. Got great ratings but I don't know why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Service was very good. Food was average ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was very good. Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I suspect since it is in a hotel people ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I suspect since it is in a hotel people stay away, it was extremely quiet on a Thursday night. Food was OK, appetizers were better than the main entrees. One of us had a salad that did not taste right, but it might have been the dressing, no problems ensued. It has been rated best happy hour and I would probably agree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Seated quickly but I think our waitress ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Seated quickly but I think our waitress forgot she had just sat us. After 15 minutes she took our drink & food order. The ribs were tender but the sauce was just OK & applied very sparingly. The pizza was literally uncooked. The cheese wasn't even melted and we had to send it back to go thru the oven for another 20 minutes. This whole visit had is disappointed in the fact that paid employees could care so little in the quality or experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Good spot for dinner before show at Bellco Theater

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were surprised there weren't more people here on a Friday night! Maybe because it is not close to LoDo. It is a very pleasant atmosphere, and the location practically across the street from the Convention Center made it perfect for dinner before our concert at Bellco. The menu has a good variety of selections from appetizers to sandwiches to more upscale entrees. Our hamburgers were perfectly cooked, and the sweet potato fries were wonderful. Their beer and wine selection is quite good. We will go back next time we are in that area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Very convenient to DCPA and the conventi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very convenient to DCPA and the convention center. The food was really good and we were greeted and seated quickly. They extended their happy hour because so many reservations were running late due to bad traffic downtowns of that was a bonus. The only drawback was the service was slow and it didn't look like they were full or overwhelmed with tables. We had to ask for water refills twice and had to take the bill to the bar because the server didn't pick it up. Could've been an off night though - I'm definitely going to to give them another chance.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food is delicious - - once the waite ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The food is delicious - - once the waiter decides to come over and take your order anyway. We waited nearly an hour to have our orders taken and we had to keep asking for water. Our waiter seemed annoyed that we kept drinking it?? We were the only people in the restaurant and saw our waiter only a few times in the course of 2 hours. If the waitstaff were better, this restaurant would be 100% great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Disappointed

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We've eaten at Territory before and had great food and great service, but this experience was quite different. When we arrived at the restaurant, there was no clear host/hostess area, so we waited for several minutes near the front before finally approaching the bartender to let him know of our reservation and ask to be seated. The staff that night seemed to lack any leadership from management, as nobody seemed to know who was taking care of which tables. The bartender started with us, after which another gentleman who appeared to be the manager helped us. After that, a waitress approached us to see if we needed any help, and then another waiter stopped by and took care of us for the rest of the evening.

The tenderloin tips salad and herb crusted salmon were very good, but the Cobb salad was disappointing. It appeared to be a large mound of greens from a bag, with few toppings. Given the price point for the salad, it should have had better quality ingredients and more toppings.

As mentioned above, the service was a bit sporadic all evening. When our waiter delivered the food, he spilled dressing on the table and left it there for the duration of our meal. This is not a big deal, but it would have been nice not to have a splat of dressing drying on our table while we were eating.

We will likely give Territory another chance, though. Despite this experience, the food has been mostly very good, and it's clear to me that the staff wants to be helpful and provide good service; this was just an off night. The team needs a manager that will direct who is doing what, and also find a solution to the lack of a reception/hosting area. We watched at least 3 other parties of diners come into the dining room and walk around in search of someone to seat them, so this is something that needs to be addressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Our first experience here was so great w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our first experience here was so great we booked again. Unfortunately, the second time around was much less enjoyable. I had been dreaming about the Bourbon Bison Burger since I had it on our first visit. Hands down the best burger I ever had. But this time, it was overcooked (we asked for medium and it was very well done) and overall dry and tasteless. We were headed to a show so didn't have time to reorder. And even if we'd wanted to, our server went MIA most of the meal and we had to make requests more than once to other staff in her absence.

The wings and other food were still delicious and the drink specials still a great deal. But I'm not sure how soon we will be going back after the disappointing experience we had this time. Which is a shame because we really liked the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Nice and quick lunch in quiet central Denver.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Reservation through the opentable website worked perfectly.

The restaurant is perfect for a quick business lunch and located within only 5 minutes of the Denver convention center.

Nice food and good service reasonably priced.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic food, drinks and wait staff!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Fantastic food, drinks and wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely a hotel eatery. The decor wa ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Definitely a hotel eatery. The decor was very...utilitarian.

The wine list was very restricted but fairly priced.

Likewise the dinner menu was limited but attractively priced.

Not really the date night experience I was hoping for.

We each had the gluten-free pizza, and they were both pretty good. We enjoyed them.

The service was hot and cold. The wine server was good. The waiter seemed to not care to work there.

I'd return for an inexpensive business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Ok place for a quick bite downtown

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

The chairs were uncomfortable. The wine list was VERY limited and our red wine was delivered a bit on the warm side. The food was fine - nothing bad to say, just nothing great, either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Killer ribs

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The ribs were so tender and flavorful. My husband almost hurt himself eating them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quick and delicious

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

stopped in for dinner before a show at the Buell. They had a great menu (more than is shown online) and offer Gluten free alternatives for their flat-breads. The staff was friendly, attentive and prompt. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably fine for hotel guests.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We were there for restaurant week. The menu looked really good but didn't seem to be representative of the regular menu. The soup offering was good and the two people in our party said that the beef tip entree was good. The fish entree was overcooked. Both the fish and the beef tip entrees were nicely presented. The meatloaf entree arrived on a plate with a plopped down, side of mashed cauliflower and a little smear of sauce. The meatloaf looked like a hockey puck and tasted like a dried out burger with some jalapeno bits in it. Honestly, it looked like a cafeteria meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Sad to say...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Only 2 tables of customers. Our table had cold food for 2 meals, one meal was returned and exchanged. Disappointed. Staff was nice enough, but meals were very lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

surprisingly good food for being in a hotel!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband and I came here because we had a play at the DCPA to go to and this was close. We made it for happy hour and took advantage of some great prices on appetizers and drinks. We had a great dinner too. I had the green chile chicken sandwich which was blackened and served with roasted poblano peppers and cotija cheese with black beans and corn! YUM! SO good! And I got sweet potato fries to go with it...double yum!! My husband had the kale and quinoa salad with chicken added and loved it and he thought the mango infused balsamic vinegar dressing was great (and not too sweet!) We really enjoyed our meals! I got to even enjoy a bourbon Peach cobbler that was EXTREMELY delicious (I did HAVE to share this.) The only downside is that the menu is VERY meat centric and if you don't eat red meat (like us) the choices are much more limited. We obviously dealt with it but for us to come back often would be tough for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Likely won't be back

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We walked in and stood by the sign "Please wait to be seated" for over 2 minutes. Finally our waiter Bobby stopped talking to the bartender and came over and told us we could sit anywhere. The decor is lacking ambiance and reminded me of a Howard Johnson - but not in a good way. I will say the food was pretty decent. We had the hummus plate app and there was a lot of good stuff there. We also had burgers which were ok but only ok. Our server was very slow even though the place was less than half full. We waited more than 5 minutes after finishing our meal before Bobby stopped talking to the cook and came over to give us our tab. It wasn't a great way to start our date night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value4

Walking distance to DCTC and Civic Center

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Décor is basic but pleasant. Nice variety in the menu to meet multiple tastes in your group. Food was excellent. Nice separation from the Bar so that the sound level was comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Wide happy hour selection and desserts! Enjoyed our dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.