About Terravant Winery Restaurant

35 Industrial
Buellton, CA 93427
View Larger Map

Terravant Winery Restaurant features local organic ingredients paired with Central Coast wines. Established in 2009 as a tasting room and Tapas bar for the clients of the Terravant Wine Company, Avant strives to be a "local-centric" culinary destination offering food made with ingredients sourced from Santa Barbara County producers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Wine Tasting Every Day 11am - 9pm

Lunch

11am - 3 pm

Wine Wednesdays - 3pm - 5 pm

Dinner

5pm - 9pm

Live Music Thur, Fri & Sat starting at 6pm

Cross Street:
State Route 246

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 686-4742

Website:
http://www.avantwines.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday - Saturday
6:00 - 9:00

Catering:
Contact us for more information

Parking Details:
Additional parking available on west end next to parking lot.
Accessible by city cabs. Wheelchair accessible by ramp and elevator

Executive Chef:
Owen Hanavan

Private Party Facilities:
Terravant offers private dining accommodation in our Santa Rita Room.
The private dining room is available for groups of 8 to 18.
Reservations are required and prix fixe menu encouraged.

Private Party Contact:
Vlad Stojanov: (805) 686-4742 ext. 225

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wednesdays - 30% off wines from 3-5 pm

Restaurant Photos

  • Terravant Winery Restaurant, Buellton, CA

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 11:00AM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 11:00AM - 10:00PM

Terravant Winery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (10)
Good for a Date (7)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Live Music (5)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Romantic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tapas (2)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wall of wine was great. Live music pleas ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined a day ago

Wall of wine was great. Live music pleasant, and the organic chicken and salmon wonderful. Dessert called The Chronic was surprisingly tasty. Quiet rainy Thurs nite but loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been three times since my friend i ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

We've been three times since my friend introduced me to it two weeks ago. Went for date night dinner and then took the in-laws when they came in to town. Hidden gem of the valley. You would not know there is an amazing restaurant at the end of this dead end street!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We visited on a whim, walking from downt ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We visited on a whim, walking from downtown. With no signage and very little lighting, we almost turned around. We are so glad we did not. Everything about dinner was exceptional. Our server was friendly, gracious and helpful. The food was perfect. And the wine choices, especially using the Wine Wall, were so good.

I have already reviewed on Yelp, and consider this the best meal I have had in months.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very yummy and great service. enjoyed t ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

very yummy and great service. enjoyed the wine wall.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Organic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terravant Winery Restaurant is located i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Terravant Winery Restaurant is located in an industrial district - but don't be scared away. The second story layout is different and fun. The unique wine dispensing system is a really fun bit of gimmickry but potentially expensive. The food was great and the service outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and a wine wall with self ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food and a wine wall with self service wine tasting - loved this!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, our experience was not go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Unfortunately, our experience was not good. The whole reason to visit this restaurant is to taste wine from the 'automatic' dispensers in the restaurant. All of the white wine dispensers were broken so we couldn't taste the wine as described in the ads.

The restaurant was out of many of the dishes, either the main ingredients or something needed for the dish (ie., avocado).

The server was marginal at best. Her attitude was less than accommodating and she needs more training

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

This is a hidden gem!! We had the best e ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This is a hidden gem!! We had the best experience here! From the gracious servers Zack and Kimberly, to the delicious food and do it yourself wine tasting . It was awesome! My husband and I talked about how wonderful everything was the entire time there. We highly recommend it and will definitely be back!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicely appointed room, friendly staff, d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Nicely appointed room, friendly staff, delicious food. It is a "find".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very pleased with the entire exper ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I was very pleased with the entire experience.

The wine wall was a lot of fun and the wines were quite good.

The food was excellent and reasonably priced.

I highly recommend checking it out.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great Beer, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really vast selection of wines by the ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 15, 2016

A really vast selection of wines by the glass from the wine wall(50+!).

The burger was fantastic, cooked medium rare as requested and as a bonus, apparently they make the tri-tip burger in house. Pretty cool.

Overall, the prices are more than reasonable, both for food and the wine. Skimmed over their beer selection, which was pretty interesting (multiple choices in each style).

Surprised they had nothing on draft, but the server said they will have some draft beer options soon.

Service was attentive, prompt and knowledgeable.

Plan on coming back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, a hidden gem. Worth th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love this place, a hidden gem. Worth the effort to fine this quietly tucked away superb restaurant in Buellton, California. The staff, Cassandra, so knowledgable, friendly and helpful. The Chef, AWESOME. From the bacon wrapped dates, beets and apple salad to the perfection of the temperature on the steak. Your creative menu is "foodie" worthy for any occasion or discriminating taste. Just that good!

A MUST experience.

Note: the history behind the restaurant and the wines, fascinating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Live Music, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wine pour should be a consistent 2oz 4oz ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 6, 2016

wine pour should be a consistent 2oz 4oz and 8oz from each machine

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We love this place and have been going t ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We love this place and have been going there for 4 years. We are a bit bummed that they have gone to a more fancy/expensive menu in the evenings. Not that the food isn't great!

We do like that they offer Pizza/burgers/mac& cheese if you ask for the Bar menu.

We miss the sliders, though:-(

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

An out of the way place to dine in Buel ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 22, 2016

An out of the way place to dine in Buelton. The food was fine but the service was quite slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Wine Machines for sampling were awesome! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wine Machines for sampling were awesome! Views into the winery -- small plates were good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best wine tasting experiences ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of the best wine tasting experiences I've ever had and certainly the most innovative. Their tapas is wonderful top!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite places to go. Food a ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of our favorite places to go. Food always tasty and leave full and happy. Of course the wine wall is a bonus too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Warm welcoming, Nice people, Cozy, Good ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Warm welcoming, Nice people, Cozy, Good food and Soft live music.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique wine tasting experience coupled w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Unique wine tasting experience coupled with excellent cuisine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The new bar menu is wonderful, with many ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The new bar menu is wonderful, with many interesting choices when you're not ready for a full course meal. The wall of wine has a number of delicious choices to match whatever you're eating. The wait staff is extremely friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a local wine and foodie place, this ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2016

For a local wine and foodie place, this is a find. It's off the beaten track but that makes it fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The crab cakes had large chunks of crab ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The crab cakes had large chunks of crab meat, and had a little curry flavor. They were excelent. The Poppers were also delicious. The candied jalapeño was so unique. The wine wall is great for trying a variety of varietals without the commitment of a full glass. We went at 2:30pm, so it was pretty empty and the noise was non-existent. The dining room/bar was very sunny and clean. Would definitely recommend to friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Six of us celebrating my birthday on a S ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Six of us celebrating my birthday on a Sunday afternoon. Food was excellent, wine bar novel and fun, server, Sam, very attentive and helpful in food selection ... A very happy food/wine experience. A place to definitely put on your "to do" list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A wonderful selection on wines by the gl ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2016

A wonderful selection on wines by the glass. Good Food. Love the beet salad. Music was a bit too loud for enjoyable conversation. Hard to find, but we saw it in the Menu Guide and persevered, It was well worth the effort.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to the Terravant Winery Res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have been to the Terravant Winery Restaurant before and really enjoyed it.

We were a little surprised by the new interior and also the menu. We were going here to enjoy the tapas/small plates we had in the past. The new menu had a lot less starters, and more entrees (typically after a full day wine tasting, we are not looking for a big meal!). But our server Cassandra explained they still had the "bar menu" which provided what we were looking for.

We had the:

  • Zucchini Wrap (amazing)

  • Burrata (also amazing)

  • Garden and Watermelon Salads - fantastically fresh on both

  • Fresh Market Flatbread pizza - outstanding!

We ended up with some leftover pizza, which worked out well for the next day out wine tasting.

The other interesting thing was, our friends when Saturday night and had the same experience. But they also enjoyed themselves once they got the "bar menu" with the starters. So, might be good to incorporate the bar menu / starters to the main menu again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server at lunch was warm and knowled ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our server at lunch was warm and knowledgeable about the menu and wine offerings. The ambiance was fabulous, and it was easy to access the wines for tasting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

“Surprising and fun!” We are local food ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 12, 2016

“Surprising and fun!”

We are local foodies and we had never been there yet. Glad we picked this restaurant Saturday night. The wine concept is such a wonderful idea, and fun! Our waitress was adorable and helpful. No problem with my gluten free diet, I had plenty to choose from the very nice menu. All the dishes we ordered were excellent. Oh! I almost forgot! The view is outstanding! Another enjoyable place to go in the Valley!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Super Quiet

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 6, 2016

The restaurant was very quiet, we were the only ones there, the sign outside indicates Tapas, no tapas just a small plates menu with a limited number of items to choose from. The wine bar automatically changed prices after happy hour with no notice. This system had to be rebooted a couple times to work again. Inconvenient.

On the better end, they were dog friendly and the food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our dinner. Will be back when ba ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. Will be back when back in town

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience may have been different t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our experience may have been different than others since we had a very late lunch at 3:00 and the place was close to empty. The service was excellent and although we didn't come for the wine, the tasting option was fun too--good wine with happy hour prices. The poppers and bacon wrapped dates were to die for. The short rib Reuben was good but the side of tomato soup was the winner. This place would be fun for a group. Lots of tables and lots of options with both the food menu and the wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as it used to be

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Apparently the new owner changed the menu and the food was not as good as before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Nice place

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2016

You buy "tastes" of any of the 52 wines for anywhere from $1.10 to $3.50 and then you can buy a half or a full glass of what you like.

Good Selection of wines.

The food was great, especially the Flatbread "pizza" but we thought the Cheese Platter was a bit sparse and pricey for $25.

Still, overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Superb service and delectable cuisine. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Superb service and delectable cuisine. The wine selection is outstanding and self-service tasting is a unique experience. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ABSOLUTELY A FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We did the wine-blending experience and also ate lunch. What a FANTASTIC experience! From the start, we felt welcomed and appreciated. I did not know much about wine and I appreciate that they young man behind the counter was super easy-going and friendly about wine. He showed us what to do, came by occasionally and checked on us. We spent a wonderful couple of hours laughing and blending and eating. Our friend was very silly and we called him the Mad Chemist, he was mixing and swirling like a pro. We had such a wonderful time I definitely intend to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic lunch

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Five of us enjoyed a terrific lunch with wine and friendly, super service. Will be back OFTEN.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Experience

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything about our evening at Terravant was great. Food, service, wine & ambience was all excellent! We look forward to our next visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun time at a fun place

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We tried Terravant for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Live music added to the ambience of the evening. We'll definitely return, next time with friends who enjoy wine even more than we do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

no third strike

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been here twice now, first time it took forever to get our meals. this time, they were out of the entrée, bad description of the "Small Plates" and over cooked. At least 15 minutes between each time the waitress came by. became humorous. then we ordered dessert, they were out of one as well. then started closing up -chairs on the table while we were still there - 9:30 is late in Buellton I guess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Wine blending experience and lunch

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Came here for the wine blending experience and enjoyed a very yummy lunch along with it. Would highly recommend the charcuterie platter and the bacon wrapped dates. The wine list is quite extensive and would please any preference! Views of the mountains from the bar area are very pretty and service is great. Price point is reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.