About Terravant Winery Restaurant

35 Industrial
Buellton, CA 93427
View Larger Map

Terravant Winery Restaurant features local organic ingredients paired with Central Coast wines. Established in 2009 as a tasting room and Tapas bar for the clients of the Terravant Wine Company, Avant strives to be a "local-centric" culinary destination offering food made with ingredients sourced from Santa Barbara County producers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Wine Tasting Every Day 11am - 9pm

Lunch

11am - 3 pm

Happy Hour Bar Tapas

Mon-Fri 3pm - 5 pm

Dinner

5pm - 9pm

Live Music Thur, Fri & Sat starting at 6pm

Cross Street:
State Route 246

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 686-4742

Website:
http://www.avantwines.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday - Saturday
6:00 - 9:00

Catering:
Contact us for more information

Parking Details:
Additional parking available on west end next to parking lot.
Accessible by city cabs. Wheelchair accessible by ramp and elevator

Private Party Facilities:
Terravant offers private dining accommodation in our Santa Rita Room.
The private dining room is available for groups of 8 to 18.
Reservations are required and prix fixe menu encouraged.

Private Party Contact:
Carol Johnson: 8056864742x225

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Industry Night every Wednesday - 40% off for wine industry employees.
Featured Winemaker events on the first and third Wednesday of every month.

Restaurant Photos

  • Terravant Winery Restaurant
Terravant Winery Restaurant

Terravant Winery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
California Central Coast
Great for Lunch
California Central Coast
Neighborhood Gem
California Central Coast
5 More
Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Fit for Foodies
Santa Ynez Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Ynez Valley
Special Occasion
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Buellton ›

Notable Wine List (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Scenic View (7)
Romantic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The new bar menu is wonderful, with many ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The new bar menu is wonderful, with many interesting choices when you're not ready for a full course meal. The wall of wine has a number of delicious choices to match whatever you're eating. The wait staff is extremely friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a local wine and foodie place, this ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

For a local wine and foodie place, this is a find. It's off the beaten track but that makes it fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The crab cakes had large chunks of crab ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The crab cakes had large chunks of crab meat, and had a little curry flavor. They were excelent. The Poppers were also delicious. The candied jalapeño was so unique. The wine wall is great for trying a variety of varietals without the commitment of a full glass. We went at 2:30pm, so it was pretty empty and the noise was non-existent. The dining room/bar was very sunny and clean. Would definitely recommend to friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Six of us celebrating my birthday on a S ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Six of us celebrating my birthday on a Sunday afternoon. Food was excellent, wine bar novel and fun, server, Sam, very attentive and helpful in food selection ... A very happy food/wine experience. A place to definitely put on your "to do" list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A wonderful selection on wines by the gl ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A wonderful selection on wines by the glass. Good Food. Love the beet salad. Music was a bit too loud for enjoyable conversation. Hard to find, but we saw it in the Menu Guide and persevered, It was well worth the effort.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to the Terravant Winery Res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have been to the Terravant Winery Restaurant before and really enjoyed it.

We were a little surprised by the new interior and also the menu. We were going here to enjoy the tapas/small plates we had in the past. The new menu had a lot less starters, and more entrees (typically after a full day wine tasting, we are not looking for a big meal!). But our server Cassandra explained they still had the "bar menu" which provided what we were looking for.

We had the:

- Zucchini Wrap (amazing)

- Burrata (also amazing)

- Garden and Watermelon Salads - fantastically fresh on both

- Fresh Market Flatbread pizza - outstanding!

We ended up with some leftover pizza, which worked out well for the next day out wine tasting.

The other interesting thing was, our friends when Saturday night and had the same experience. But they also enjoyed themselves once they got the "bar menu" with the starters. So, might be good to incorporate the bar menu / starters to the main menu again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server at lunch was warm and knowled ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our server at lunch was warm and knowledgeable about the menu and wine offerings. The ambiance was fabulous, and it was easy to access the wines for tasting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

“Surprising and fun!” We are local food ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

“Surprising and fun!”

We are local foodies and we had never been there yet. Glad we picked this restaurant Saturday night. The wine concept is such a wonderful idea, and fun! Our waitress was adorable and helpful. No problem with my gluten free diet, I had plenty to choose from the very nice menu. All the dishes we ordered were excellent. Oh! I almost forgot! The view is outstanding! Another enjoyable place to go in the Valley!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Super Quiet

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The restaurant was very quiet, we were the only ones there, the sign outside indicates Tapas, no tapas just a small plates menu with a limited number of items to choose from. The wine bar automatically changed prices after happy hour with no notice. This system had to be rebooted a couple times to work again. Inconvenient.

On the better end, they were dog friendly and the food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our dinner. Will be back when ba ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. Will be back when back in town

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience may have been different t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our experience may have been different than others since we had a very late lunch at 3:00 and the place was close to empty. The service was excellent and although we didn't come for the wine, the tasting option was fun too--good wine with happy hour prices. The poppers and bacon wrapped dates were to die for. The short rib Reuben was good but the side of tomato soup was the winner. This place would be fun for a group. Lots of tables and lots of options with both the food menu and the wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as it used to be

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Apparently the new owner changed the menu and the food was not as good as before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Nice place

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

You buy "tastes" of any of the 52 wines for anywhere from $1.10 to $3.50 and then you can buy a half or a full glass of what you like.

Good Selection of wines.

The food was great, especially the Flatbread "pizza" but we thought the Cheese Platter was a bit sparse and pricey for $25.

Still, overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Superb service and delectable cuisine. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Superb service and delectable cuisine. The wine selection is outstanding and self-service tasting is a unique experience. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ABSOLUTELY A FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We did the wine-blending experience and also ate lunch. What a FANTASTIC experience! From the start, we felt welcomed and appreciated. I did not know much about wine and I appreciate that they young man behind the counter was super easy-going and friendly about wine. He showed us what to do, came by occasionally and checked on us. We spent a wonderful couple of hours laughing and blending and eating. Our friend was very silly and we called him the Mad Chemist, he was mixing and swirling like a pro. We had such a wonderful time I definitely intend to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic lunch

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Five of us enjoyed a terrific lunch with wine and friendly, super service. Will be back OFTEN.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Experience

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything about our evening at Terravant was great. Food, service, wine & ambience was all excellent! We look forward to our next visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun time at a fun place

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We tried Terravant for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Live music added to the ambience of the evening. We'll definitely return, next time with friends who enjoy wine even more than we do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

no third strike

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been here twice now, first time it took forever to get our meals. this time, they were out of the entrée, bad description of the "Small Plates" and over cooked. At least 15 minutes between each time the waitress came by. became humorous. then we ordered dessert, they were out of one as well. then started closing up -chairs on the table while we were still there - 9:30 is late in Buellton I guess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Wine blending experience and lunch

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Came here for the wine blending experience and enjoyed a very yummy lunch along with it. Would highly recommend the charcuterie platter and the bacon wrapped dates. The wine list is quite extensive and would please any preference! Views of the mountains from the bar area are very pretty and service is great. Price point is reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and good food. Nice wine ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Great service and good food. Nice wine selection too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visit, found everything to be ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

First time visit, found everything to be exceptional! Love the vibe of the restaurant, the wine wall is a great way to sample a variety of wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Great food, but the chipolte dressing on the Caesar salad should be toned down a bit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was not the best, and the live m ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was not the best, and the live music was too loud. Food was good - pizza and salad.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great Environment but disappointing dinning

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

For our first time visiting the restaurant I was impressed with most of the experience other than the food. Considering the cost for a party of 2 for dinner and tasting was $116 the quality did not meet expectations. The Rib Eye Steak appeared to be cooked properly although ended up being a very tough cut, for one of the most expensive entrees it was very disappointing. The Scallops were on the small side and slightly over cooked as well. With that said we really enjoyed the huge wine selection, location, music and overall feel of the establishment. We do plan on going back with friends for the music and wine experience anyway.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Don't miss this place

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This was our second visit for lunch and we'll be returning soon. Love the fact that wines can be tasted in small to whole glass measures and allows for easy comparison tastings. While this is a great place to taste a number of wines, it's also a great place for food. Do not miss the scallops with lentils that were perfectly seared on a bed of tasty lentils. Italian pizza was very, very good with right amount of crisp and chew to the crust. And the farmers market green salad tasted like it was plucked from the garden minutes earlier with slices of baby carrots, beets and radishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great selection of wines and the spicy I ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Great selection of wines and the spicy Italian pizza is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Sameer, was great!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Our server, Sameer, was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience! Our server was friendl ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Great experience! Our server was friendly & helpful, the food was delicious & the live music was very enjoyable. We had yuppy crack, which lives up to it's name, an amazing pear prosciutto pizza, scallops & crab cakes. All were yummy. The scallops were served over lentils, which wasn't my favorite combo, but the scallops were cooked perfectly. We finished with cherry cobbler & it was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A hidden gem!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Terravant never fails to satisfy me! The service is impeccable, the food is so delicious, and the environment is so relaxed. Such a beautiful restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Touted as being another farm-to-fork, we ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Touted as being another farm-to-fork, we were a bit disappointed. The beef in two orders of Beef Brasato was nearly inedible (gristle and fat), a fact that was brought to our Server's attention. Also, we inquired twice about the advertised tour but were never able to connect with anyone to set it up. We're carping, for sure, but you'll find yourself comparing Terravant Restaurant with Industrial Eats - and there's no comparison.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Normally a fave...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Guess it was an off nite. Slow sour service can ruin the best food and atmosphere. Be careful Terravant, we normally love you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Food and wine were outstanding!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food and wine were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the food and would go here again!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Loved the food and would go here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was amazing.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 11, 2016

This was a special occasion, 3 birthdays together. I brought a cake and there was no question ask. The hostess took care of the details. Our table of 6 was perfect and great location for our little "party". Wine tasting was fun and special with the pouring of a new vintage (which we bought 2 bottles). The food was wonderful, as we just did an assortment of tastings. Delicious and really varied in flavors. We are local to this restaurant and will be returning often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waiter was awesome! Loved the live music ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Waiter was awesome! Loved the live music on Sat night. Terrific food. Tuna tartare was on point. Burrata pizza did not skimp on the burrata. Mahi Mahi was cooked to perfection. Asparagus that came w the fish was not so great but everything else made up for that tiny detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

While visiting Santa Ynez Valley, I did a little research into what restaurants were around the area. I saw the ad for Terravant and it looked like it would be a great place to try. I am so glad we did. The food was amazing, especially the beet salad. We also had the margarita pizza and it was amazing, too. I loved the wine card, which allowed me to try a taste, a half glass or full glass of wine, was great as well. The selection was large with cards describing each wine and what food they would pair with nicely. I highly recommend you try Terravant. It was a little hard to find at first as it's in an industrial area but well worth the visit. We did twice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Light birthday dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

I went here to celebrate my best friends birthday and had such a great time! From the servers, to the bartenders, the floor manager as well as the host- super friendly and welcoming.

So we got there around 7:45 they close at 9 and figured we would need to rush but that was not the case. The wine wall was amazing with very low prices - if you are doing the tastings. We ordered a pizza to share and just sat at the bar and relaxed. Super laid back vibe. Once we were done with dinner our server then surprised us with this really delicious ice cream/popcorn dish. No clue of the name but the flavors just blended well. Overall our experience was lovely. Great place to just hang out and catch up with a friend. The staff here are very friendly and accommodating. This is definitely a hidden gem. Thank you so much!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The yuppie poppers were terrific and the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

The yuppie poppers were terrific and the cesar salad good. The waiter was less than stellar. I asked for a second wine glass *three times* and never received it, and he hardly paid any attention to us. Won't sit at a table he serves again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We celebrated my mother's birthday. My f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

We celebrated my mother's birthday. My family loved the restaurant, food and wine. My mother said Avant is the best restaurant in the Santa Ynez Valley.Thank you to the staff for making this evening so memorable for my mother.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.