Not bookable

This restaurant is temporarily offline. Please contact the restaurant directly or check back shortly for availability.

Terrasse Place D'Armes

3.7
26 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Canadian
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Scenic View
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

A breezy summertime hangout. Day or night, the rooftop of this century-old structure is a privileged perch. Enjoy towering views of Place d’Armes square and downtown while sipping a cool raspberry mojito.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Canadian, Bistro
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Every day : 11:30 a.m. to 11 p.m.*

Depending on the weather
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(438) 387-2489
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Lucas Hadengue
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
St-Jacques
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet service with Hotel Place d'Armes upon availability for 12$ for 2 1/2 hours.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Métro Place d'Armes
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment

Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Wine
What 26 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.7based on all time ratings
3.6
food
3.5
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on July 27, 2017

They don't actually take reservations, but it was fine. Pretty busy and a good location to have a cocktail or two. Food was average.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 6, 2017

Not a good service

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 5, 2017

Food is average at best and not cheap. But it is a very nice rooftop terrace... and one of the rare ones taking reservations.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2017

When we went to the restaurant, the people said they don't book and were unaware of our booking through Open Table. The people were good there for us and did accommodate us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2016

Beautiful view of downtown Montreal. Great rooftop terrace with attentive staff. We were there for happy hour only, but did have the cheese plate, which featured 4 tasty choices. Drinks were brought and refreshed quickly, and the atmosphere was great

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 6, 2016

3e expérience bien décevante cette fois-ci. Le service à la table n'était pas coordonné pour les 6 d'entre nous, la viande des burgers n'était pas assez cuite (la cuisson n'a pas été proposée par le serveur), le menu-midi ne laissait qu'une seule option végée (saumon et risotto).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2016

Great rooftop patio. Overall we enjoyed our experience but found that it took a long time to get our drinks. Our first course arrived before we got our first round

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2016

Superbe accueil par le personnel depuis le lobby jusqu'à la table, en passant par l'accueil à la terrasse. Personnel souriant et très accueillant. Dynamique aussi. Menu simple mais facile à choisir et service rapide. Très bonne qualité. Difficile de battre le rapport qualité / prix. Très bon choix de vins au verre. Merci à Sara!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 30, 2016

Nous sommes allés manger entre collègues un lundi midi, pensant que la terrasse ne serait pas trop achalandée et que le service serait rapide. Quelle déception! Notre réservation était à midi, mais nous avons reçu nos cocktails à 12h50, notre entrée à 13h et notre plat principal vers 13h20. La serveuse est venue nous voir plusieurs fois pour nous dire que les cocktails et les plats arriveraient bientôt, sans que ça n'accélère le service ! Décevant lorsqu'on considère qu'il y avait 4 choix d'entrées et 4 choix de plats principaux... Ça aurait dû sortir beaucoup plus vite des cuisines! Pour une table d'hôte à 20$ pour le lunch (sans compter le prix des cocktails!), je m'attendais à beaucoup mieux: des portions plus généreuses, assurément, mais surtout un service rapide pour accommoder les clients qui doivent retourner travailler en après-midi. Quitter le restaurant vers 13h55 en allant payer directement au comptoir, sans attendre la facture à notre table pour partir plus vite, ça ne cadre pas avec nos besoins de resto du midi... La terrasse est rayée sur notre liste de restaurants pour le lunch, malheureusement.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2016

Nice view. Nice place to hang out. They only had the first 4 items on the menu available at 2 pm. Mango mojito was good. Nice place to hangout for a drink or two. They should consider playing some music.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2016

The place was great and the food was delicious, but the floor shakes while waiters walk fast. (I booked online, but they said there was no reservation when I got there.)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 12, 2015

We came hoping for brunch, but only appetizers were being served. He had brunch downstairs at another restaurant in the same hotel. Great spot for drinks though! And possibly for dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 4, 2014

Location is great and you get a nice view of the city at night.
Downfall was the service. Took some time to get our meal. Drinks were not outstanding either, quite watered down. Food was good but french fries were under cooked.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 30, 2014

Was there on the weekend with a group of friends. Menu is limited, one thing on the menu wasnt available so choice from the limited menu became even smaller. Waitress was rude, impatient, the view was nice, minus all the spiders hanging at the back booth (which i never asked for a booth for 10 people) drinks are very expensive. Cheeseburger was good. I wouldnt go back, sad because of the potential...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 24, 2014

Location is great, but improvement required in regards to many aspects, including food, ambiance (not sophisticated enough, say compared to Milestone Dundas Square in Toronto), and that awful sewer smell coming from god knows where

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 11, 2014

Nous sommes arrivés vers 19h30, bel accueil. Notre table, malgré la réservation, était mal située : aucune vue et notre table était plus basse que celles autour de nous, nous nous sentions coincés.

Les pichets de sangria étaient délicieux et originaux. Heureusement, car nous avons attendu plus de 1h40 min pour recevoir nos plats. La nourriture est décevantes. De petites portions et un menu style snack. Frites maisons délicieuses par contre.

Je dois mentionner qu'il y a une odeur permanente de pourriture sur la terrasse. Peut-être dû au revêtement du plancher? ou aux bières renversées? Très désagréable.

Je ne remettrai jamais les pieds dans cet hôtel, et leurs restaurants à éviter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2014

The hotel is located right in front of Notre-Dame and the terrace view of the city + Notre-Dame was amazing. Had a wonderful time there. Food was delicious and service was great. Would definitely recommend it to people visiting Montreal.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 2, 2014

Pros:
View of Montreal down-town and old port is great
food is good
very young and energetic crowd
Skillful bartender
Cons:
Expensive
Small portion even for bar food
small spaces between table

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 11, 2014

Vue magnifique, musique un peu trop forte et service pas très rapide.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 5, 2014

Si vous souhaitez un souper en amoureux, arrivez tôt car nous, nous sommes arrivés à 21h45 et il était trop tard, la cuisine était fermée. On nous a servi un plateau de fromage pour nous accomoder mais nous sommes sortis avec une faim encore présente. Également, il y a de l'ambiance oui mais ce n'est pas adapté pour un tête à tête, nous l'avons vite compris. Musique beaucoup trop forte, gens qui crient autour.....
Bref, entre amis peut-être et pour un drink seulement mais pas en amoureux.
Par contre, la vue est super!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 2, 2014

Menu midi avec peu de choix, mais délicieux! Une entrée & un plat à bas prix, sur une magnifique terrasse qui offre une vue de montréal du haut des airs.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 23, 2014

I dined here with my boyfriend on our last night in Montreal. We decided to go at sunset which was the best idea for great views. For a Monday night the place was packed! I had a La Limonade to drink and my boyfriend had St. Ambroise Beer (local brew). We both had the salmon for dinner. While the salmon was moist and tasty, the accompanying salad was sub-par and I couldn't taste anything in it (apples nor fennel). The service was the worst. We had to ask for the dinner menu and the waitress took forever to bring our drinks. However, she was very quick at bringing our bill. When it came time to pay another waitress took our money; our waitress was no where to be found and really didn't deserve a tip.Still hungry,we went straight to Shwartz's

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2014

In a block crowed with generic patios, the courtyard at Terrasse Place D'Armes was a real find. A perfect place for a light lunch on a summer day, and smooth jazz in the backgroud. A real find.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2014

Good food, great music, amazing view. Would recommend to anyone.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 31, 2014

great terrace for drinks, a little pricey but expected for the area. They offer a "dinner" menu, but it is very limited and uninteresting. Best for the under 30 crowd

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 18, 2014

We booked a brunch reservation only to be told when we arrived that the restaurant did not serve brunch. We were sent to another restaurant in the hotel which was extremely loud and had absolutely terrible service!

Report
Helpful