Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Terramae

Global cuisine in the heart of Chattanooga.

Terra Mae translates to “mother earth,” a name that perfectly captures the far‐flung inspiration for our five‐star fare. Our menu isn’t dictated by region or style; no spice is off limits, no dish too exotic. We’re restrained only by our imagination and our adventurous spirit, our favorite flavors and those we’ve yet to discover.

120 East 10th Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French / American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon. - Thur.: 5pm - 9pm | Fri. - Sat. 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
10th & Columbia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 710-2925

Website:
http://www.terramaerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Different music piped into bar & dining areas

Catering:
Please inquire at the facility.

Parking Details:
Street parking and public lots are available. Valet will be coming shortly

Public Transit:
10th & Market

Executive Chef:
Shelley D. Cooper

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Terramae Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Modern Decor (20)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Cozy (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Healthy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Authentic (4)
Historic (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great meal and wonderful drinks. The mid-century modern style is lovely and authentic, and I should eat there more regularly. I have yet to have a negative experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

wow this place is amazing! Me and the hubs came for our five year anniversary, and let me just say, I wish we would have found it sooner! Completely obsessed with the midcentury modern decor and the food is incredible. Do yourself a favor and book a reservation. My favorite was the goat cheese and beet salad, and the tuna for entree. Yum! we will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Simply excellent food and service. Unusual use of spices was fantastic. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wow! From the atmosphere; to the service and food it was excellence. Definitely for a romantic date night or just because you want to appreciate a wonderful meal. Our new favorite in Chattanooga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

enjoyed a nice meal with my son.
It was prom night and there was a sudden, severe storm which hit and caused some commotion when water leaked in, necessitating the re-arranging of some of the customers--not us.

In spite of these distractions, It was a nice experience; the service was good as was the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was oustanding, the ambiance was perfectly lovely, and our server was the best! Worth the walk for the unique atmosphere.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Nice restaurant with a modern touch. The service could have been a little more attentive though. Othewise the food was very good.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Terra Mae is a fine dining establishment in the Dwell boutique hotel in the center of downtown Chattanooga. Formerly the Stonefort Inn, it was completely renovated and re-opened a year ago as Dwell, keeping the name of its restaurant, Terra Mae. Terra Mae was one of our favorite restaurants, but when it reopened with a very different menu, we were disappointed-- but things have changed dramatically for the better and on a friend's recommendation we tried it again. It is once more one of Chattanooga's best fine dining restaurants, from cocktails to desserts! We sampled from Course 1 and 2 appetizers/salads and had the herbed monk fish and lobster and the chef's special tuna entrees (Course 3), each as delicious and well prepared as the other. We couldn't resist dessert, a fitting conclusion to a perfect evening's meal. We'll be back!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It has now evolved completely away from the prior appalachian theme and its a winner...excellent meal...obviously, Chef is at top of his game right now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We went to Terra Mae before another event. I'd heard good things about the restaurant, and was hoping for a good experience. Unfortunately, it left much to be desired. I ordered duck, medium rare. It came out well done. This was confusing, because it was also pre-sliced when it came to the table, and it should have been clear to the kitchen and the server that it was not cooked correctly. I pointed out the temperature to our server, and she immediately apologized and said she would get it fixed. She offered to leave the plate on the table so I could eat around the duck, which I thought was nice, because we were in a hurry. Unfortunately, she came back two minutes later and told me the chef needed her to bring my plate back to the kitchen (I guess they didn't believe me?). Okay. I ordered another glass of wine and sat there awkwardly while my husband and our friends finished their dinners. Finally, after about 30 minutes, I caught our server as she was rushing by and asked her to tell the kitchen that we didn't have time to wait longer. At least they took the duck off the bill. They also sent another duck dinner with us - it came out when our check came back - , but since we had something to go to after dinner, it just sat in the car for several hours. My husband did end up giving me half of his tuna, which was pretty good, but not excellent. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything was outstanding except for the noise level. Hard surfaces bounced conversations around creating a cacophony of sound.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

While the style, design and ambiance are fantastic, the meal was hit or miss. The salad selections were outstanding, but the Tartar appetizer was nothing to exclaim over, and the Duck breast main was severely overcooked (we asked for medium rare) un-seared and flavorless. The drink selection in the dining room is different than the bar - both menus are available on either side of the hotel, and well worth sampling. The staff is super friendly, although our waitress was less helpful and certainly not interested in showcasing the best dishes on offer. Surprisingly, while we were very early for dinner - we arrived at 5 as they opened because we had an event at 6:30 - we were the only guests. I only hope they have more as the evening progresses, as this has the potential to be one of the best restaurants in Chattanooga.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Friends from Asheville NC were impressed. As usual, Travis was an attentive server.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wait staff was good but a tad slow with refills. Sort of oblivious to empty glasses and hard to wave them
Down for things.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

New owner and chef have not missed a beat. First time back under new regime. Incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Can't go wrong here! Food is prepared wonderfully with a variety of options for every palette. Service is friendly, casual, and unassuming. Atmosphere is light and relaxed. Definitely a place for special occasions!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

No Need to Drive to ATL or BNA with TerraMae in CHA.
Best meal. Best service. Best Place for Date in South.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Both the service and food were fantastic. Good wine list, fun decor in a historic building. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A wonderful dining experience in a lovely setting!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We were in town for the Earth, Wind and Fire concert. Terremae was a pleasant surprise. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations. The food was fabulously delicious. They also have a great bar menu and a delightfully tasteful breakfast.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very impressive food, decor, and ambience. We were traveling thru Chattanooga and happened on this gem, via Google maps... :) a little pricey with smaller portions so don't go if you're an indulgent eater... like me. I ordered the duck and it was perfect! Tender,moist, fatty and rich. Balanced nicely w the roasted apples, chard, lentils, foie gras, and sage....

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First time here since the remodeling. This has been our fave restaurant whenever we visit Chattanooga, having a special place for us as our special spot for our anniversary dinner, and the update makes it all that much more special. Lovely ambiance, great decor, and above all else, a fantastic menu, make Terrra Máe special to us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Travis was a great waiter. We have out of town friends visiting in April. We will bring them to Terramae and ask for him when we make the reservation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Terrific upscale dining experience without many equals in the Chattanooga area. The decor is a quiet, sophisticated style. Menu choices are varied and distinctly different from typical restaurant selections. The our server, Hanna, and the rest of friendly staff knew their jobs well and performed very competently. Other diners seemed to enjoy their experiences as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food is wonderful and unique. Plan for an extended evening with time built in for savoring each course (and your company). My only complaint is that we had tickets for a post dinner event and 1.5 hours felt too rushed!

Tags: Fun, Vegan, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything was amazing inside of TerraMae! Food and service were excellent! Now, if you choose to go to Matilda for a drink be prepared that the staff did not have personality the night we were there and the possiblity you will be ignored. We went before and after dinner. The bartender before dinner was just flat out rude, the bartenders after dinner acknowledged us as we sat down then after 10 minutes of waiting for them to take our order we decided to leave. Will I attempt the bar again, yes. I am hoping it was an off night and the next visit will be more pleasant at the bar.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Exceptional food and service. Highly recommend this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was awesome. Elk was superb and the duck with lentil fantastic. Groups around us were a little loud but otherwise great service and a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were in Chattanooga for a weekend getaway, technically celebrating Valentines Day a little late so we wanted a nice restaurant for an intimate dinner. We were seated within 15 minutes of our arrival after stopping by the bar for a cocktail. (Check out the house specialty drinks, they are fantastic!)
The dining area is decorated very modern but understated and is quite cozy and comfortable. Our server nailed being attentive when needed but not hovering or being pushy, and service was excellent throughout the meal.
The food itself was fantastic! We had the prawn and papaya appetizer that was spicy but cooked perfectly. Dinner was lavender honey roasted duck breast for my date and the filet for me. Both the duck and the steak were cooked perfectly and the flavors used were balanced so well, one of the best meals I can remember. Dessert was just as good and saw us scraping the flourless chocolate cake remnants from the plates. I highly recommend TerraMae and will definitely be back to try the Black Bass.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Awesone hip, romantic, vintage retro ambience with wonderfully creative food! Definitely a place to try!

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Second timer Will definitely be back for thirds

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place for dinner. This is part of a cool little boutique hotel and Matilda Midnight is in the same building to have some great after dinner drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My girlfriend and I had a reservation for Valentine's Day. We were seated immediately and the flowers they offered were at our table, and my girlfriend loved them! We ordered a bottle of wine, 2 first courses, 2 entrees, and shared a dessert. The cheese plate was amazing; the baby moo was delicious. Our entrees were also perfect. I had the scallops and pork belly. The scallops were cooked perfectly, and the whole dish was just pure deliciousness. Finally we had the seasonal Creme brûlée, which was grapefruit and rosemary. We were hesitant, but our server said it was awesome and she was absolutely correct! It was a perfect meal! Our server was very nice and checked on us enough. It was our first visit to Terra Mae and she was very accommodating. The final check was a solid amount, but I planned on that already so I was not surprised. It was worth it for a lovely Valentine's Day dinner. We will definitely go back and tell our friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent professional waitstaff and fabulous food. Perfect for special occasions. Ask for Travis!

Tags: Organic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was a little slow, but received comp from manager to make up for it, and food was outstanding and worth the wait. Would recommend and go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I celebrated Valentine's Day here. It was romantic with delicious food! The restaurant is inside a boutique hotel with a trendy bar across the hall with delicious tapas.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've been back several times now and NEVER been disappointed! Great food, great service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Cozy, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Retro look was fantastic. Atmosphere very good. Food was very good. Only faults was noise as we were seated close to a large party that was trying to talk over a long table and the other thing is we were served the wrong year of wine for what we ordered. The bottle of wine was expensive and when I pointed it out there was no attempt to make things right. The only answer was we do not have the 2011 that is on the menu only a 2013, which was not listed on the menu and I was charged the full price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Perfect dinner for a sisters spa weekend. Delicious and pretty healthy. The drinks in the bar next door (same hotel location) were also an outstanding starter!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Really love this restaurant the food was out standing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.