About Terramae

120 East 10th Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Global cuisine in the heart of Chattanooga.

Terra Mae translates to “mother earth,” a name that perfectly captures the far‐flung inspiration for our five‐star fare. Our menu isn’t dictated by region or style; no spice is off limits, no dish too exotic. We’re restrained only by our imagination and our adventurous spirit, our favorite flavors and those we’ve yet to discover.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon. - Thur.: 5pm - 9pm | Fri. - Sat. 5pm - 10pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
10th & Columbia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 710-2925

Website:
http://www.terramaerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Different music piped into bar & dining areas

Catering:
Please inquire at the facility.

Parking Details:
Street parking and public lots are available. Valet will be coming shortly

Public Transit:
10th & Market

Executive Chef:
Shelley D. Cooper

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Terramae, Chattanooga, TN
  • Terramae, Chattanooga, TN
Terramae, Chattanooga, TN
Terramae, Chattanooga, TN

Terramae Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
2 More
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Modern Decor (16)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Romantic (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Historic (5)
Authentic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Business Meals (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First visit under new ownership. The bar ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

First visit under new ownership. The bar area is much nicer. However the bartender and our server both had an attitude. Both myself and guest are local professionals. Our wives joined us. We eat at many comparable places in Chattanooga. The attitude of both the bartender and server were noticed by all 4 of us rather quickly. Outside of the service, the experience was great.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Always delicious and the ambiance is ama ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Always delicious and the ambiance is amazing! It is one of my favorite restaurants in Chattanooga! I would recommend to everyone. Sunday brunch is also a wonderful experience! Never disappoints!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I had Sunday Brunch at Terr ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A friend and I had Sunday Brunch at Terra Mae. We started with the Ploughman's Bounty, a wonderful charcuterie tray with meat, cheeses, pickles, bread, mustard and jam. It was very good. We both ordered the pork cheek benedict which was delicious, but turned out to be short ribs. A great place for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent wait staff, no wait between co ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent wait staff, no wait between courses. Food was imaginative and delicious. A bit on the high side, price wise especially for Chattanooga, but as a special occasion it was worth it. Beautiful old building with a lot of history, comfortable seating and the music was a pleasant departure from the loud, upbeat sounds in many restaurants - love Frank, Dean et al.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite brunch place in Chattanooga - w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Favorite brunch place in Chattanooga - wait staff is attentive and knowledgeable; decor is light, fresh and welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, creative food & eclectic, vib ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent, creative food & eclectic, vibrant atmosphere

Large table near us became loud which was only negative

Incredible foodie restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We greatly enjoyed our experience at Ter ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our experience at Terra Mae. The food was unique and delicious! The cocktails were also fun. Would definitely recommend to someone who is looking for something different!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date and I recently visited Terramae ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My date and I recently visited Terramae for the first time and we were really quite pleased with the entire experience.

The atmosphere is top notch--expect modern, contemporary, and cosmopolitan. You feel as though you've stepped into a trendy boutique hotel or restaurant in a much larger city. Both the restaurant and the bar are well appointed with a style that compliments each side of the building well and I'm sure the hotel comports as well, although we did not see the rooms.

The service was excellent. We were pleased with the service and felt as though we were treated quite well.

And, most importantly, the food and drinks were delicious. Although the menu is priced near the top of what I would personally consider the higher end of the Chattanooga market, the menu is quite diverse for the Chattanooga area and offers some excellent choices (i.e. an excellent wasabi pea crusted salmon). All in all, although we expected a good experience, we were pleasantly surprised with how we felt as though we'd stepped into a very distinct and well-defined locale.

Will certainly return and would certainly recommend to friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had been looking forward for our third a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Had been looking forward for our third annual autumn visit to the "Appalachian bistro", but Terra Mae has changed its focus and its decor, if not its name. The look is mid-century with a touch of deco and a few hints of the old stone walls and dark wood floors from the previous incarnation. The food is contemporary and well-prepared but not especially memorable. It no longer has a unique angle as it did with "Appalachian bistro" cuisine. Sorry to see it change.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was amazing! Everyone enjoyed e ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was amazing! Everyone enjoyed every dish that we received. Took a little too long for any bread or appetizer to arrive but other than that, I will for sure come back! Food was perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome food! The menu is a ever changin ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Awesome food! The menu is a ever changing culinary masterpiece...

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Creative dishes, plated beautifully. Lov ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Creative dishes, plated beautifully. Loved the pork belly and cauliflower. Duck and short ribs were verrrrrry tasty. The beluga lentils that accompanied the duck may have been a teensy weensy bit "liquidy" but yummy none-the-less and there can never be too much foie gras for me. Our server was gracious with her suggestions and her knowledge of the menu. It was a lovely experience all-around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ATMOSPHERE, DECOR AND SERVICE ARE EXCELL ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

ATMOSPHERE, DECOR AND SERVICE ARE EXCELLENT. FOOD IS GREAT BUT THE PORTION SIZE IS A LITTLE SMALL. DEFINITELY A MUST GO TO IF YOU ARE IN CHATTANOOGA. HAS A GREAT BAR ALSO.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our fourth visit to Terrmae. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our fourth visit to Terrmae. The food and the ambiance, the service and the attention to customer is what brings us back. Our server (Madison) was top notch and always treats us very well. We'll be back again and again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent beets,pork belly , chocolate n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Excellent beets,pork belly , chocolate n

Cake. I didn't like pork belly appetizer,lentils,lemon bar dessert

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Waygu was tough--Prawn with Papaya - ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The Waygu was tough--Prawn with Papaya --better without the Papaya--salad--what salad? that was a salad? Your Scallops used to be better ---complaint was too peppery--good apple tart dessert-fair wine price

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

My first visit since they reopened and i ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My first visit since they reopened and it was delightful! So many good changes! They were very accommodating about everything we asked about, and the food was delicious! It looks lovely too, and the adjoining bar--Matilda Midnight--is a great find.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The redesign looks horrible and has ruin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The redesign looks horrible and has ruined the feel of Terramae. Prices have increased, but the food quality has declined. Not good for what was once the best restaurant in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

An evening at Terra Mae must begin with ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 17, 2016

An evening at Terra Mae must begin with cocktails in the Matilda Midnight bar. It's an excellent way to get the evening started. Friendly bar staff and a bar stocked with a great selection of wine and unique spirits. We enjoyed some of their tequila and mescal.

Dinner was also excellent. Our table had a variety of the apps and entrees and everyone raved.

This is becoming one of my favorite places in Chattanooga.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited a number of Chattanooga ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have visited a number of Chattanooga restaurants and would place Terraemae close to the top. It has a more hip vibe than St. John's, and the food and service are as good as any place in town. I am pleased that another top-notch restaurant is now on the Chattanooga scene.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wanted to surprise my girlfriend with ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I wanted to surprise my girlfriend with a special date night while we were on vacation in Chattanooga The food, cocktails, and decor were outstanding. The staff made us feel special. Our waiter Travis was knowledgeable and attentive. One of the best dining experiences I've had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was outstanding...enjoyed all of ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Service was outstanding...enjoyed all of the creative dishes from chef...totally delighted. Only recommended changes: don't sit a couple celebrating their anniversary in a mini table for 2 along the wall so closely surrounded by others and have host/hostess stop asking "is it just the 2 of you" or "how many are in your party" when we had a reservation for 2 (should have acknowledged us by name, thanked us for the rezzie and instead asked if we were here to celebrate anything special). Great chef! Great server(s)! Oh, and please add large olives and blue cheese so that I can have my fav martini next time. Surprised you had no cheese and only mini olives. Else offer an interesting alternative.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exciting food. Not your standard fare. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Exciting food. Not your standard fare. It was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The new restaurant decor is lovely. The ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The new restaurant decor is lovely. The intimate bar, charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

What a disappointment. We are new to th ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

What a disappointment. We are new to theater but have eaten at Terramae at least 3-4 times prior (all in 2016), and had a great experience at all other visits but this was very bad. Apparently there is a new chef - also possibly new manager? We had a reservation, but when we arrived, the hostess told us that Open Table really doesn't keep up with their availability. What?? It worked fine all other times plus at 50+ other restaurants where I've used it. But it requires the restaurant to keep their availability up to date. I suspect that's the problem now at Terramae. So we had to wait about 15-20 minutes after our reservation time, even though there were tables open (where we eventually sat). Then the service and food. Awful. Our waiter was inattentive, slow, MIA, unfriendly. It took much too long for him to check on us for food orders, and my husband and I both ran out of coffee, and sat with empty cups for at least 10 minutes. Then we had to flag him down and ask for coffee - he never checked or offered. The food took 45 minutes to arrive, but then it was cold and bland. I ordered the BLT croque madame. It was flat, skimpy on fillings, cold and tasteless. My husband ordered the eggs Benedict which were tiny, and he left still hungry. The $18 charcuterie plate was about $5 worth of food. My son ordered the burger which was the only tasty thing there but cold as well. We are fit healthy people - so I'm not asking for a huge volume of food per person. Just a normal serving. It was the worst experience dining in Chattanooga so far. We will not go back unless I hear there is a new manager and/or chef. It's a new level of disaster, to be avoided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

I can't say enough good things about our ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I can't say enough good things about our dining experience. My husband and I hadn't been to Terra Mae since the change in ownership. We've now been three times in less than 2 weeks. Everything from the food to the service to the ambiance was spot on.

We started with the Papaya and Prawn appetizer which was out of this world! The Prawn tasted as if it were pulled straight out of the Gulf moments before it was brought to the table. The combo of the Papaya, mint and peanuts was so unique and flavorful.

For our main dish, I chose the trout and my husband chose the scallops. Both of which were exceptional. Cooked to perfection while still maintaining all of the flavor. I wish I could offer some constructive criticism but I honestly would not change one single thing about either dish.

The best food in the world can't make up for poor service. Our server, Madison, was wonderful! She made our date night a truly delightful experience.

This is now one of our go-to restaurants. We've since told all of our friends to go and check it out. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The renovations look great. Service was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The renovations look great. Service was friendly and fun. Sadly, the menu has completely changed and my favorites are no longer available. Terramae was once a brunch favorite, but I think the new menu has caused me to take it off that list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We stayed at The Dwell and dined at Terr ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We stayed at The Dwell and dined at TerraMae to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Every dish we had was excellent, and our server was attentive but not annoying. This was our only time to TerraMae, but it appeared to be a popular date and special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is truly one of the best kept secre ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is truly one of the best kept secrets of Chattanooga. Food is the absolute best!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Innovative menu. Great drinks. Attentive ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Innovative menu. Great drinks. Attentive service. Alerted my 550 friends on Facebook. Loved the melon Gazpacho and the pork belly/crispy rice cakes entrée. Beautiful décor/easy parking.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant and hotel have been recently ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Restaurant and hotel have been recently remodeled. The space is beautiful and the brunch menu is, too. $4 bloody marys "with a little kick" were a great start. We also enjoyed the melon gazpacho, the plowman's platter, the croque madame, pork cheek benedict, waffles, and pancakes with duck. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for brunch and loved the atmosph ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for brunch and loved the atmosphere, the host was great, loved the art and decor. We were really unimpressed with the food and our waitress wasn't great. It was a slow day and our waitress was never around at the right times. I think I actually was wondering if she was just tuning out googling stuff on her phone in the kitchen, haha. She was also not personable or helpful. I ordered a blt gouda sandwich which sounds amazing, but it was nothing like what I expected and it was just not good at all. It also came with french fries which it doesn't say on the menu which I thought was a super weird thing to come as a side for brunch. We also brought my 3 year old there and they didn't have a kids menu (or at least our server didn't tell us about a kids menu) so we ordered him a couple sides which ended up costing as much as an adult meal. One of the items was biscuit and gravy and the gravy tasted like straight up pureed raw onions and was Awful. And we asked for preserves for the biscuit and the they said it was house made and that was flavorless and the worst I've ever had... I definitely don't consider myself a difficult to please but I was pretty let down by the food and waitress... I'd probably come back and give it another try. Maybe with lower expectations this time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Hands down, the best in Chattanooga! Foo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Hands down, the best in Chattanooga! Food was prepared and done perfectly . Will return often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The menu was not the same as advertised ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 7, 2016

The menu was not the same as advertised on the website. A very limited bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is our fifth visit to TerraMae. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2016

This is our fifth visit to TerraMae. The menu and ownership has changed several times just over the relatively brief period that we've been coming here (a year or so). Our first meal was outstanding but sadly it's been downhill since then until this last visit. The dining room has been really upgraded to a very beautiful space. And, the food has improved considerably -- my wife and I both had the Caprese Salad which was the tastiest one I've ever had. I then had salmon and my wife the trout -- both were quite delicious -- BUT like most restaurants in the South TerraMae suffers from portion overkill --" if one piece of salmon would make a nice satisfying meal let's pile on several more pieces." Go to the website for a Michelin starred restaurant and take a look at the portions served there -- the food WILL NOT be mounded up on the plate. Anyway, TerraMae has an improved menu, service and surroundings -- the chef just needs to realize that more is not better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

the menu is different with wonderful com ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 4, 2016

the menu is different with wonderful combinations of flavors and a real taste treat.

The filet was the most tender meat dish i have ever had and beautifully cooked and exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great new, retro decor ! Live the new m ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great new, retro decor ! Live the new menu. The food was excellent and the service has been exceptional for my last three visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service!! Will certai ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fantastic food and service!! Will certainly return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hardly know where to start. Food? Serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I hardly know where to start. Food? Service? Ambiance?

Food. You won't be disappointed here. We had a party of 20. Everyone seemed pleased to ecstatic with their dish. The presentation made each dish look like it came out of Food & Wine - all very Instagramy.

Service. Very professional. You almost didn't notice that they were there. They never mixed up who order what, re-filled coffee at just the right time, and many other small things so often missing in service today. They did bring out dishes as they were ready, so don't plan on being "polite" and waiting until every one is served.

Ambiance. High ceilings and marvelous interior design/decorating create a very enchanting space. Makes you feel that you are in for a special experience. The music seemed to be classic chamber the day we were there, thankfully making for low noise and easy conversation.

I didn't ask, but it looked like a couple of tables have privacy curtains (almost like Rod Steiger and Julie Christie having dinner in Dr. Zhivago). So if you want uber romantic, stop by before hand and talk to the manager.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent choice of meals. Beautiful roo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent choice of meals. Beautiful room. Service was friendly and excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.