Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Terramae

Global cuisine in the heart of Chattanooga.

Terra Mae translates to “mother earth,” a name that perfectly captures the far‐flung inspiration for our five‐star fare. Our menu isn’t dictated by region or style; no spice is off limits, no dish too exotic. We’re restrained only by our imagination and our adventurous spirit, our favorite flavors and those we’ve yet to discover.

120 East 10th Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French / American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tue. - Thur.: 5pm - 9pm | Fri. - Sat. 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
10th & Columbia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 710-2925

Website:
http://www.terramaerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Different music piped into bar & dining areas

Catering:
Please inquire at the facility.

Parking Details:
Street parking and public lots are available. Valet will be coming shortly

Public Transit:
10th & Market

Executive Chef:
Hardin Cowan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Terramae Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Cozy (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Romantic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Historic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Inventive, tasty food. Beautiful setting, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Absolutely delicious dinner and outstanding service. This was our first time at Terramae, and we'll make it one of our regular spots.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

A gem near the Chattanooga Choo-choo and downtown. The food is exciting, inventive, and delicious! Love the clean, modern space. But don't read cold into that. It's really lovely! Don't be put off by the fact that it's in a hotel. The hotel is a small boutique, and the restaurant management is totally separate. Heard it was written up in Southern Living and Gardens & Guns. Don't miss out on this one. Service is excellent and attentive without being stuffy. 😍

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great. Travis was awesome. Food fabulous.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Delicious food - appropriate portions - great service - very quiet with an artsy upscale feel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We celebrated our 16th anniversary in Chattanooga and I am so thankful I found Terramae online. It was delicious and very nice. Will go back there if we're in Chattanooga again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Cozy restaurant tucked in the back of the Dwell Hotel. Funky retro decor is authentic and eye catching. Great varied menu. Bar next door serving terrific mixed cocktails. Service was attentive. Worth venturing to the Dwell Hotel

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Small venue dining. We have eaten at Terra Mae many times and have never been disappointed! The menu is small, portions are reasonable, and there are no bad choices. I opted for a salad and vegetable selection and had room for a delicious toffee whiskkey cake with roasted peach ice cream. It is a place where you can relax, enjoy your meal and quiet conversation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Had an amazing time! Great for lovers of art and all thing eccentric. They even paid for my birthday dessert! Thank you again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Being new to Chattanooga, I picked this restaurant via Open Table and it turned out to thoroughly validate its good reviews. Located in the trendy Dwell Hotel, the restaurant has a very nice relaxed ambience, quiet and highlighted by some interesting artwork and several vertical gardens hung on the walls. The wine list included a few unusual items. I selected a white blend dominated by Grenache Blanc; very refreshing for a warm spring afternoon. Had the monkfish and lobster combination for dinner, served in a flavorful sauce with accents of pan fried potatoes and fava beans. It was fantastic as well as being very reasonably priced. My wife had a steak which was also very good and complemented by interesting accompaniments and a flavorful sauce. Service was prompt and attentive. Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always a great meal and wonderful drinks. The mid-century modern style is lovely and authentic, and I should eat there more regularly. I have yet to have a negative experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very nice restaurant. I had a great meal here. The cocktails were innovative and potent! Food was nicely presented and the service was very good. I would return here next time I'm in Chattanooga.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

wow this place is amazing! Me and the hubs came for our five year anniversary, and let me just say, I wish we would have found it sooner! Completely obsessed with the midcentury modern decor and the food is incredible. Do yourself a favor and book a reservation. My favorite was the goat cheese and beet salad, and the tuna for entree. Yum! we will be back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Simply excellent food and service. Unusual use of spices was fantastic. Highly recommend

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wow! From the atmosphere; to the service and food it was excellence. Definitely for a romantic date night or just because you want to appreciate a wonderful meal. Our new favorite in Chattanooga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

enjoyed a nice meal with my son.
It was prom night and there was a sudden, severe storm which hit and caused some commotion when water leaked in, necessitating the re-arranging of some of the customers--not us.

In spite of these distractions, It was a nice experience; the service was good as was the food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was oustanding, the ambiance was perfectly lovely, and our server was the best! Worth the walk for the unique atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Nice restaurant with a modern touch. The service could have been a little more attentive though. Othewise the food was very good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Terra Mae is a fine dining establishment in the Dwell boutique hotel in the center of downtown Chattanooga. Formerly the Stonefort Inn, it was completely renovated and re-opened a year ago as Dwell, keeping the name of its restaurant, Terra Mae. Terra Mae was one of our favorite restaurants, but when it reopened with a very different menu, we were disappointed-- but things have changed dramatically for the better and on a friend's recommendation we tried it again. It is once more one of Chattanooga's best fine dining restaurants, from cocktails to desserts! We sampled from Course 1 and 2 appetizers/salads and had the herbed monk fish and lobster and the chef's special tuna entrees (Course 3), each as delicious and well prepared as the other. We couldn't resist dessert, a fitting conclusion to a perfect evening's meal. We'll be back!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It has now evolved completely away from the prior appalachian theme and its a winner...excellent meal...obviously, Chef is at top of his game right now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We went to Terra Mae before another event. I'd heard good things about the restaurant, and was hoping for a good experience. Unfortunately, it left much to be desired. I ordered duck, medium rare. It came out well done. This was confusing, because it was also pre-sliced when it came to the table, and it should have been clear to the kitchen and the server that it was not cooked correctly. I pointed out the temperature to our server, and she immediately apologized and said she would get it fixed. She offered to leave the plate on the table so I could eat around the duck, which I thought was nice, because we were in a hurry. Unfortunately, she came back two minutes later and told me the chef needed her to bring my plate back to the kitchen (I guess they didn't believe me?). Okay. I ordered another glass of wine and sat there awkwardly while my husband and our friends finished their dinners. Finally, after about 30 minutes, I caught our server as she was rushing by and asked her to tell the kitchen that we didn't have time to wait longer. At least they took the duck off the bill. They also sent another duck dinner with us - it came out when our check came back - , but since we had something to go to after dinner, it just sat in the car for several hours. My husband did end up giving me half of his tuna, which was pretty good, but not excellent. We will not be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything was outstanding except for the noise level. Hard surfaces bounced conversations around creating a cacophony of sound.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

While the style, design and ambiance are fantastic, the meal was hit or miss. The salad selections were outstanding, but the Tartar appetizer was nothing to exclaim over, and the Duck breast main was severely overcooked (we asked for medium rare) un-seared and flavorless. The drink selection in the dining room is different than the bar - both menus are available on either side of the hotel, and well worth sampling. The staff is super friendly, although our waitress was less helpful and certainly not interested in showcasing the best dishes on offer. Surprisingly, while we were very early for dinner - we arrived at 5 as they opened because we had an event at 6:30 - we were the only guests. I only hope they have more as the evening progresses, as this has the potential to be one of the best restaurants in Chattanooga.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Friends from Asheville NC were impressed. As usual, Travis was an attentive server.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wait staff was good but a tad slow with refills. Sort of oblivious to empty glasses and hard to wave them
Down for things.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

New owner and chef have not missed a beat. First time back under new regime. Incredible.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Can't go wrong here! Food is prepared wonderfully with a variety of options for every palette. Service is friendly, casual, and unassuming. Atmosphere is light and relaxed. Definitely a place for special occasions!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

No Need to Drive to ATL or BNA with TerraMae in CHA.
Best meal. Best service. Best Place for Date in South.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Both the service and food were fantastic. Good wine list, fun decor in a historic building. Will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A wonderful dining experience in a lovely setting!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We were in town for the Earth, Wind and Fire concert. Terremae was a pleasant surprise. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations. The food was fabulously delicious. They also have a great bar menu and a delightfully tasteful breakfast.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very impressive food, decor, and ambience. We were traveling thru Chattanooga and happened on this gem, via Google maps... :) a little pricey with smaller portions so don't go if you're an indulgent eater... like me. I ordered the duck and it was perfect! Tender,moist, fatty and rich. Balanced nicely w the roasted apples, chard, lentils, foie gras, and sage....

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First time here since the remodeling. This has been our fave restaurant whenever we visit Chattanooga, having a special place for us as our special spot for our anniversary dinner, and the update makes it all that much more special. Lovely ambiance, great decor, and above all else, a fantastic menu, make Terrra Máe special to us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Travis was a great waiter. We have out of town friends visiting in April. We will bring them to Terramae and ask for him when we make the reservation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Terrific upscale dining experience without many equals in the Chattanooga area. The decor is a quiet, sophisticated style. Menu choices are varied and distinctly different from typical restaurant selections. The our server, Hanna, and the rest of friendly staff knew their jobs well and performed very competently. Other diners seemed to enjoy their experiences as well.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food is wonderful and unique. Plan for an extended evening with time built in for savoring each course (and your company). My only complaint is that we had tickets for a post dinner event and 1.5 hours felt too rushed!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Vegan, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything was amazing inside of TerraMae! Food and service were excellent! Now, if you choose to go to Matilda for a drink be prepared that the staff did not have personality the night we were there and the possiblity you will be ignored. We went before and after dinner. The bartender before dinner was just flat out rude, the bartenders after dinner acknowledged us as we sat down then after 10 minutes of waiting for them to take our order we decided to leave. Will I attempt the bar again, yes. I am hoping it was an off night and the next visit will be more pleasant at the bar.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Exceptional food and service. Highly recommend this wonderful restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was awesome. Elk was superb and the duck with lentil fantastic. Groups around us were a little loud but otherwise great service and a good time.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were in Chattanooga for a weekend getaway, technically celebrating Valentines Day a little late so we wanted a nice restaurant for an intimate dinner. We were seated within 15 minutes of our arrival after stopping by the bar for a cocktail. (Check out the house specialty drinks, they are fantastic!)
The dining area is decorated very modern but understated and is quite cozy and comfortable. Our server nailed being attentive when needed but not hovering or being pushy, and service was excellent throughout the meal.
The food itself was fantastic! We had the prawn and papaya appetizer that was spicy but cooked perfectly. Dinner was lavender honey roasted duck breast for my date and the filet for me. Both the duck and the steak were cooked perfectly and the flavors used were balanced so well, one of the best meals I can remember. Dessert was just as good and saw us scraping the flourless chocolate cake remnants from the plates. I highly recommend TerraMae and will definitely be back to try the Black Bass.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.