About Terramae

120 East 10th Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Global cuisine in the heart of Chattanooga.

Terra Mae translates to “mother earth,” a name that perfectly captures the far‐flung inspiration for our five‐star fare. Our menu isn’t dictated by region or style; no spice is off limits, no dish too exotic. We’re restrained only by our imagination and our adventurous spirit, our favorite flavors and those we’ve yet to discover.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon. - Thur.: 5pm - 9pm | Fri. - Sat. 5pm - 10pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
10th & Columbia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 710-2925

Website:
http://www.terramaerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Different music piped into bar & dining areas

Catering:
Please inquire at the facility.

Parking Details:
Street parking and public lots are available. Valet will be coming shortly

Public Transit:
10th & Market

Executive Chef:
Shelley D. Cooper

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Terramae
  • Terramae
Terramae
Terramae

Terramae Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
10 More
Fit for Foodies
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

fit for foodies (22)
special occasion (19)
romantic (15)
See All
notable wine list (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
good for groups (6)
great for brunch (6)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I hardly know where to start. Food? Serv ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I hardly know where to start. Food? Service? Ambiance? Food. You won't be disappointed here. We had a party of 20. Everyone seemed pleased to ecstatic with their dish. The presentation made each dish look like it came out of Food & Wine - all very Instagramy. Service. Very professional. You almost didn't notice that they were there. They never mixed up who order what, re-filled coffee at just the right time, and many other small things so often missing in service today. They did bring out dishes as they were ready, so don't plan on being "polite" and waiting until every one is served. Ambiance. High ceilings and marvelous interior design/decorating create a very enchanting space. Makes you feel that you are in for a special experience. The music seemed to be classic chamber the day we were there, thankfully making for low noise and easy conversation. I didn't ask, but it looked like a couple of tables have privacy curtains (almost like Rod Steiger and Julie Christie having dinner in Dr. Zhivago). So if you want uber romantic, stop by before hand and talk to the manager.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent choice of meals. Beautiful roo ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent choice of meals. Beautiful room. Service was friendly and excellent

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful!

Dined on May 28, 2016

My mom and I spent the weekend in Chattanooga for a quick getaway. I made a reservation here on a whim through OpenTable, so didn't really have any expectations. I absolutely loved all the decor - the wallpaper, the furniture, the paintings, the fixtures on the wall.... It was such a nice change from the standard cookie-cutter decor found in every other nice restaurant. I had the curried scallops for dinner and they were PERFECT. Not too heavy but still very filling and very flavorful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprising find.

Dined on May 18, 2016

We are from out of town and were impressed with Terramae. The first course and the second courses were sized for two, especially the Tangine. A little noisy with other groups dining but a very nice place to dine otherwise.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We sat at the Chef's Table and we though ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We sat at the Chef's Table and we thought there would be more interaction with the chef. Next time we will sit in the dining room and order from menu.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

TerraMae

Dined on May 14, 2016

Thought the decor and service were excellent on the night we dined. The food was creative and well presented. Interesting tastes but a bit on the fussy side. Sometimes simpler is better. Very good for being reopened just recently.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I was very disappointed with the lack of ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I was very disappointed with the lack of flavor. I felt like it should have been as tasty as Easy Bistro and St Johns but it definitely was not. The food lacked the pizzazz it should have for that quality of a restaurant. Beautiful atmosphere but very disappointing for the foodies that we are.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty Dinner

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great double date. Had every course. Averna at the end was a highlight. So was the rhubarb and candied ginger tart.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Delish! The scallops were divine...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Delish! The scallops were divine...

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the remodel!! Same great food in a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Love the remodel!! Same great food in an even better atmosphere!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my first time to the restaurant. The food and service were both fantastic. Food portions were on the small side vs. the price, but the quality/presentation were top notch. Great spot for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Quite a change

Dined on May 3, 2016

First visit to hotel and Terramae was two years ago. New owner has taken away the charm and feel of a good story. Fortunately the food is still wonderful even if the wine list is incredulously expensive and the redesign of the dining room is some weird combination of '50s drive in and bizarre funk. Charm has lost out to owner prerogative. Sad.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Very nice! It was our third visit to Terramae and the food has been excellent each time. The roasted beet salad was wonderful! The salmon was perfectly cooked. The New York Strip was very nice (although over-priced, in my opinion). The staff was very pleasant. We will definitely go back once it reopens.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food in a wonderful, eclectic ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Delicious food in a wonderful, eclectic atmosphere. Ask for Travis. Best server!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice dinner

Dined on February 11, 2016

We had dinner with friends and had not eaten at Terra Mae in a long time. The menu used to offer an eclectic mix of southern variations and we always knew we would be treated to "something" different. We visited on a Thursday night and the menu offered variations to choose from, but no choices for that memorable dinner. I was ready for the grouper that was posted on their menu on line, but it was substituted by Red Snapper. I not a fan! I just could not find anything that popped out at me. Atlantic salmon, duck with bar B que sauce, pork chop, chicken, pasta and 2 steaks. I ended up ordering a small filet and that is most unusual for me, along with a beet salad. The beet salad was very small and not worth the $10.00 we were charged for the serving. The steak was cooked perfectly and was delicious. The wine by the glass list was too limiting. Out of all the wine categories they offer, each variety only offered one choice. They need to offer additional choices. Service was slow getting started. No bread was offered. We did not order desert. The dining rooms are lovely. We were there on a very cold night, so we asked if we could move our table away from all the glass. They were most accommodating. It is always nice to have dinner with good friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch

Dined on February 7, 2016

I would highly recommend Terramae. Great food and an excellent location. There is something for everyone and the service was excellent. The atmosphere is wonderful. We had brunch and it was perfect. The prices aren't too high and the wine list is excellent. A definite must if you want to try an intimate location with great food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Beautiful Place

Dined on February 6, 2016

Enjoyed some good appetizers, split some steak, and enjoyed a soupy... but flavorful creme brulee. The creme brulee was actually the best tasting creme brulee I've ever had, just had a soup-like texture.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still the Best

Dined on February 4, 2016

This was our second visit to TerraMae. After our first visit I considered TerraMae to be the best restaurant in town -- and after the second visit I still think it's the best. The food is thoughtfully prepared and nicely presented -- nothing is overdone including portion sizes. I had the poached salmon served over barley with whole baby carrots, sugar snap peas and what appeared to be oyster mushrooms all in a nice broth -- with all the several flavors delicately preserved. My wife had the red snapper which is usually served over cooked greens and sweet potato puree -- my wife doesn't care for sweet potato so the kitchen accommodated her by substituting a variety of steamed vegetables -- she said the dish was just right. Once again TerraMae saved us a trip to Atlanta or Nashville to experience fine dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great night with good friends. We enjoye ...

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

Great night with good friends. We enjoyed really good food in a lovely quiet atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terramae is a find!

Dined on January 31, 2016

We were visiting Chattanooga for the first time and had been told that Terramae has a great brunch so we reserved a table for 11:00 AM on a Sunday. It was very easy to locate and was walk-able from the hotel where we were staying downtown. The staff that greeted and waited on us were very friendly and accommodating. There had been a large wedding party staying in the hotel the night before so the staff were wrapping up things for them but that had no impact on our experience. We found the decor unique and interesting and the dining room had a lot of natural light. We ordered the omelet, eggs Benedict, and cast iron bread pudding and were very pleased with our choices, excellent taste and portion size. Prices were very reasonable and we felt very satisfied with our visit and will be back the next time we're in town!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience....Has even more potential

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

The menu hasn't changed much since our last visit In 2015 despite a new chef...the food is still excellent (despite an oyster app served perplexingly on clam shells), but it is time for the new owner and chef to move on and put their own imprint on things. Our service was great and the ambiance continues to put this in the top tier of fine dining in Chattanooga...I have no doubt that things will evolve...however, to generate repeat business, the menu cannot remain static

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Worth Checking out

Dined on January 23, 2016

This was my favorite restaurant in Chattanooga until my last visit. The dessert menu had changed, my favorite things on the menu had been deleted. I'm hoping with expressing my concerns they will rectify this. They have new owners so hopefully things will not change to much.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Best in Town

Dined on January 21, 2016

To say TerraMae is the best restaurant in town is faint praise considering the town is Chattanooga -- home of greasy food and gigantic portions. That said, TerraMae is, indeed, a very good place to dine offering well thought-out dishes, nice presentations and attentive, knowledgeable service. I enjoyed the grouper served over sweet/sour spinach and a sweet potato puree. My wife had the scallops and said that they were perfectly cooked and delicious. All things considered we'd have to drive to Atlanta or Nashville to find an equal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific

Dined on January 21, 2016

An incredible menu...our dishes were well prepared with flair and care. Nice bourbon list and an extensive selection of wines. we will return. soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Quality

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was very good, and waitress was very knowledgeable about the dishes. Nice atmosphere. We didn't spend time at the bar, but talked to the bartender on the way out, and he was very friendly. The prices were very reasonable for the high quality of food. An enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was slow at first, unfriendly wa ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

Service was slow at first, unfriendly waiter...seemed warm up by end of meal. My husbands filet was delicious but my grouper was over cooked. Was not as good as I expected.

food5
ambience5
service5

Unique atmosphere and delicious food!

Dined on December 31, 2015

Unique atmosphere and delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening!

Dined on December 20, 2015

My husband and I have visited TerraMae several times and it's one of our favorite restaurants! Justin is a great bartender, Lara a great manager and the wait staff is awesome. Best bourbon line up around and the food is fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the whole experience!

Dined on December 17, 2015

Everything was superb about our visit to Terra Mae except the fact that we had reservations and were sat at a 2 top right next to the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely Dining Experience

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

We bypassed Atlanta and took the long road home, this necessitated our stop in Chattanooga. Checking my trusty TripAdvisor, Terramae came up. And, I was able to reserve on a Sunday (worried about the church crowd) from the App. Thanks, Open Table. We loved it, food was imaginative and fresh, beautifully presented and quite good. Liked the ambiance of Terramae and will stop in again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Chattanooga Fan

Dined on December 5, 2015

Over all a very good experience . Helpful / friendly bar / wait staff....excellent appetizers and entrees. Dessert ( cake ) was dry and tasteless . This expense was deleted from the tab....looking forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on November 28, 2015

My husband booked this restaurant for our 21st anniversary and it was just great. The variety of plates offered to the presentation, inspired by the local seasonal foods offered makes this restaurant a top on my list of places to eat in Chattanooga.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous Thanksgiving Meal!

Dined on November 26, 2015

Fabulous Thanksgiving Meal!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience in Chattanooga!

Dined on November 20, 2015

Ok, I'll admit that I haven't tried EVERY other restaurant in Chattanooga, but I've tried quite a few and this is my favorite and I really can't imagine any other restaurant topping it in overall experience. The food at Easy Bistro and at the Flying Squirrel is on par with this (though I'd still say TerraMae had the best), but when you add in total experience - TerraMae had a more comfortable atmosphere and is much quieter that either of the others I mentioned.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice Local Find for Dinner

Dined on November 20, 2015

Was recommended by a business contact as I was staying at the Stone Fort Inn next door. The food was very well done, the service was excellent (thanks Emma). Everyone was attentive and the scallops were delicious!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Southern Dining

Dined on November 14, 2015

Well done: Interesting appetizers, a nice variety of entrees, and excellent desserts made this a nice experience. Would have preferred an affordable Bordeaux, but would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Great special occasions

Dined on November 11, 2015

Extremely good food each time we have eaten here. All beautifully presented & very tasty. I think they could work on the desserts a little more...not a great selection and pretty mundane.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

Really good, but...

Dined on November 8, 2015

Always enjoy the menu, but terribly disappointed when 2 of the main dishes were sold out. Saturday, 8:30 reservation should have primary dishes in abundance. Staff was helpful and accommodating by allowing our party to mix and match side dishes to at least get a meal that we'd look forward to. Tasty!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Gerat food as always ...! Service was ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Gerat food as always ...! Service was amazing

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

Dined on November 7, 2015

Awesome. Found the restaurant last minute and it was an excellent find.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.