About Terramae

120 East 10th Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Global cuisine in the heart of Chattanooga.

Terra Mae translates to “mother earth,” a name that perfectly captures the far‐flung inspiration for our five‐star fare. Our menu isn’t dictated by region or style; no spice is off limits, no dish too exotic. We’re restrained only by our imagination and our adventurous spirit, our favorite flavors and those we’ve yet to discover.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon. - Thur.: 5pm - 9pm | Fri. - Sat. 5pm - 10pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
10th & Columbia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 710-2925

Website:
http://www.terramaerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Different music piped into bar & dining areas

Catering:
Please inquire at the facility.

Parking Details:
Street parking and public lots are available. Valet will be coming shortly

Public Transit:
10th & Market

Executive Chef:
Shelley D. Cooper

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Terramae
  • Terramae
Terramae
Terramae

Terramae Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Brunch (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

An evening at Terra Mae must begin with ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

An evening at Terra Mae must begin with cocktails in the Matilda Midnight bar. It's an excellent way to get the evening started. Friendly bar staff and a bar stocked with a great selection of wine and unique spirits. We enjoyed some of their tequila and mescal.

Dinner was also excellent. Our table had a variety of the apps and entrees and everyone raved.

This is becoming one of my favorite places in Chattanooga.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited a number of Chattanooga ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have visited a number of Chattanooga restaurants and would place Terraemae close to the top. It has a more hip vibe than St. John's, and the food and service are as good as any place in town. I am pleased that another top-notch restaurant is now on the Chattanooga scene.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wanted to surprise my girlfriend with ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I wanted to surprise my girlfriend with a special date night while we were on vacation in Chattanooga The food, cocktails, and decor were outstanding. The staff made us feel special. Our waiter Travis was knowledgeable and attentive. One of the best dining experiences I've had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was outstanding...enjoyed all of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Service was outstanding...enjoyed all of the creative dishes from chef...totally delighted. Only recommended changes: don't sit a couple celebrating their anniversary in a mini table for 2 along the wall so closely surrounded by others and have host/hostess stop asking "is it just the 2 of you" or "how many are in your party" when we had a reservation for 2 (should have acknowledged us by name, thanked us for the rezzie and instead asked if we were here to celebrate anything special). Great chef! Great server(s)! Oh, and please add large olives and blue cheese so that I can have my fav martini next time. Surprised you had no cheese and only mini olives. Else offer an interesting alternative.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exciting food. Not your standard fare. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Exciting food. Not your standard fare. It was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The new restaurant decor is lovely. The ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The new restaurant decor is lovely. The intimate bar, charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

What a disappointment. We are new to th ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

What a disappointment. We are new to theater but have eaten at Terramae at least 3-4 times prior (all in 2016), and had a great experience at all other visits but this was very bad. Apparently there is a new chef - also possibly new manager? We had a reservation, but when we arrived, the hostess told us that Open Table really doesn't keep up with their availability. What?? It worked fine all other times plus at 50+ other restaurants where I've used it. But it requires the restaurant to keep their availability up to date. I suspect that's the problem now at Terramae. So we had to wait about 15-20 minutes after our reservation time, even though there were tables open (where we eventually sat). Then the service and food. Awful. Our waiter was inattentive, slow, MIA, unfriendly. It took much too long for him to check on us for food orders, and my husband and I both ran out of coffee, and sat with empty cups for at least 10 minutes. Then we had to flag him down and ask for coffee - he never checked or offered. The food took 45 minutes to arrive, but then it was cold and bland. I ordered the BLT croque madame. It was flat, skimpy on fillings, cold and tasteless. My husband ordered the eggs Benedict which were tiny, and he left still hungry. The $18 charcuterie plate was about $5 worth of food. My son ordered the burger which was the only tasty thing there but cold as well. We are fit healthy people - so I'm not asking for a huge volume of food per person. Just a normal serving. It was the worst experience dining in Chattanooga so far. We will not go back unless I hear there is a new manager and/or chef. It's a new level of disaster, to be avoided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

I can't say enough good things about our ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I can't say enough good things about our dining experience. My husband and I hadn't been to Terra Mae since the change in ownership. We've now been three times in less than 2 weeks. Everything from the food to the service to the ambiance was spot on.

We started with the Papaya and Prawn appetizer which was out of this world! The Prawn tasted as if it were pulled straight out of the Gulf moments before it was brought to the table. The combo of the Papaya, mint and peanuts was so unique and flavorful.

For our main dish, I chose the trout and my husband chose the scallops. Both of which were exceptional. Cooked to perfection while still maintaining all of the flavor. I wish I could offer some constructive criticism but I honestly would not change one single thing about either dish.

The best food in the world can't make up for poor service. Our server, Madison, was wonderful! She made our date night a truly delightful experience.

This is now one of our go-to restaurants. We've since told all of our friends to go and check it out. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The renovations look great. Service was ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The renovations look great. Service was friendly and fun. Sadly, the menu has completely changed and my favorites are no longer available. Terramae was once a brunch favorite, but I think the new menu has caused me to take it off that list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We stayed at The Dwell and dined at Terr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We stayed at The Dwell and dined at TerraMae to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Every dish we had was excellent, and our server was attentive but not annoying. This was our only time to TerraMae, but it appeared to be a popular date and special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is truly one of the best kept secre ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is truly one of the best kept secrets of Chattanooga. Food is the absolute best!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Innovative menu. Great drinks. Attentive ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Innovative menu. Great drinks. Attentive service. Alerted my 550 friends on Facebook. Loved the melon Gazpacho and the pork belly/crispy rice cakes entrée. Beautiful décor/easy parking.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant and hotel have been recently ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Restaurant and hotel have been recently remodeled. The space is beautiful and the brunch menu is, too. $4 bloody marys "with a little kick" were a great start. We also enjoyed the melon gazpacho, the plowman's platter, the croque madame, pork cheek benedict, waffles, and pancakes with duck. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for brunch and loved the atmosph ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for brunch and loved the atmosphere, the host was great, loved the art and decor. We were really unimpressed with the food and our waitress wasn't great. It was a slow day and our waitress was never around at the right times. I think I actually was wondering if she was just tuning out googling stuff on her phone in the kitchen, haha. She was also not personable or helpful. I ordered a blt gouda sandwich which sounds amazing, but it was nothing like what I expected and it was just not good at all. It also came with french fries which it doesn't say on the menu which I thought was a super weird thing to come as a side for brunch. We also brought my 3 year old there and they didn't have a kids menu (or at least our server didn't tell us about a kids menu) so we ordered him a couple sides which ended up costing as much as an adult meal. One of the items was biscuit and gravy and the gravy tasted like straight up pureed raw onions and was Awful. And we asked for preserves for the biscuit and the they said it was house made and that was flavorless and the worst I've ever had... I definitely don't consider myself a difficult to please but I was pretty let down by the food and waitress... I'd probably come back and give it another try. Maybe with lower expectations this time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Hands down, the best in Chattanooga! Foo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Hands down, the best in Chattanooga! Food was prepared and done perfectly . Will return often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The menu was not the same as advertised ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The menu was not the same as advertised on the website. A very limited bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is our fifth visit to TerraMae. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This is our fifth visit to TerraMae. The menu and ownership has changed several times just over the relatively brief period that we've been coming here (a year or so). Our first meal was outstanding but sadly it's been downhill since then until this last visit. The dining room has been really upgraded to a very beautiful space. And, the food has improved considerably -- my wife and I both had the Caprese Salad which was the tastiest one I've ever had. I then had salmon and my wife the trout -- both were quite delicious -- BUT like most restaurants in the South TerraMae suffers from portion overkill --" if one piece of salmon would make a nice satisfying meal let's pile on several more pieces." Go to the website for a Michelin starred restaurant and take a look at the portions served there -- the food WILL NOT be mounded up on the plate. Anyway, TerraMae has an improved menu, service and surroundings -- the chef just needs to realize that more is not better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

the menu is different with wonderful com ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

the menu is different with wonderful combinations of flavors and a real taste treat.

The filet was the most tender meat dish i have ever had and beautifully cooked and exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great new, retro decor ! Live the new m ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great new, retro decor ! Live the new menu. The food was excellent and the service has been exceptional for my last three visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service!! Will certai ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fantastic food and service!! Will certainly return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hardly know where to start. Food? Serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I hardly know where to start. Food? Service? Ambiance?

Food. You won't be disappointed here. We had a party of 20. Everyone seemed pleased to ecstatic with their dish. The presentation made each dish look like it came out of Food & Wine - all very Instagramy.

Service. Very professional. You almost didn't notice that they were there. They never mixed up who order what, re-filled coffee at just the right time, and many other small things so often missing in service today. They did bring out dishes as they were ready, so don't plan on being "polite" and waiting until every one is served.

Ambiance. High ceilings and marvelous interior design/decorating create a very enchanting space. Makes you feel that you are in for a special experience. The music seemed to be classic chamber the day we were there, thankfully making for low noise and easy conversation.

I didn't ask, but it looked like a couple of tables have privacy curtains (almost like Rod Steiger and Julie Christie having dinner in Dr. Zhivago). So if you want uber romantic, stop by before hand and talk to the manager.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent choice of meals. Beautiful roo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent choice of meals. Beautiful room. Service was friendly and excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My mom and I spent the weekend in Chattanooga for a quick getaway. I made a reservation here on a whim through OpenTable, so didn't really have any expectations. I absolutely loved all the decor - the wallpaper, the furniture, the paintings, the fixtures on the wall.... It was such a nice change from the standard cookie-cutter decor found in every other nice restaurant. I had the curried scallops for dinner and they were PERFECT. Not too heavy but still very filling and very flavorful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Surprising find.

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We are from out of town and were impressed with Terramae. The first course and the second courses were sized for two, especially the Tangine. A little noisy with other groups dining but a very nice place to dine otherwise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the Chef's Table and we though ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We sat at the Chef's Table and we thought there would be more interaction with the chef. Next time we will sit in the dining room and order from menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

TerraMae

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Thought the decor and service were excellent on the night we dined. The food was creative and well presented. Interesting tastes but a bit on the fussy side. Sometimes simpler is better. Very good for being reopened just recently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very disappointed with the lack of ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I was very disappointed with the lack of flavor. I felt like it should have been as tasty as Easy Bistro and St Johns but it definitely was not. The food lacked the pizzazz it should have for that quality of a restaurant. Beautiful atmosphere but very disappointing for the foodies that we are.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Tasty Dinner

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Great double date. Had every course. Averna at the end was a highlight. So was the rhubarb and candied ginger tart.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delish! The scallops were divine...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Delish! The scallops were divine...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Love the remodel!! Same great food in a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Love the remodel!! Same great food in an even better atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Experience

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my first time to the restaurant. The food and service were both fantastic. Food portions were on the small side vs. the price, but the quality/presentation were top notch. Great spot for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Quite a change

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

First visit to hotel and Terramae was two years ago. New owner has taken away the charm and feel of a good story. Fortunately the food is still wonderful even if the wine list is incredulously expensive and the redesign of the dining room is some weird combination of '50s drive in and bizarre funk. Charm has lost out to owner prerogative. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Very nice!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Very nice! It was our third visit to Terramae and the food has been excellent each time. The roasted beet salad was wonderful! The salmon was perfectly cooked. The New York Strip was very nice (although over-priced, in my opinion). The staff was very pleasant. We will definitely go back once it reopens.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food in a wonderful, eclectic ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Delicious food in a wonderful, eclectic atmosphere. Ask for Travis. Best server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice dinner

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

We had dinner with friends and had not eaten at Terra Mae in a long time. The menu used to offer an eclectic mix of southern variations and we always knew we would be treated to "something" different. We visited on a Thursday night and the menu offered variations to choose from, but no choices for that memorable dinner. I was ready for the grouper that was posted on their menu on line, but it was substituted by Red Snapper. I not a fan! I just could not find anything that popped out at me. Atlantic salmon, duck with bar B que sauce, pork chop, chicken, pasta and 2 steaks. I ended up ordering a small filet and that is most unusual for me, along with a beet salad. The beet salad was very small and not worth the $10.00 we were charged for the serving.

The steak was cooked perfectly and was delicious.

The wine by the glass list was too limiting. Out of all the wine categories they offer, each variety only offered one choice. They need to offer additional choices.

Service was slow getting started. No bread was offered. We did not order desert.

The dining rooms are lovely. We were there on a very cold night, so we asked if we could move our table away from all the glass. They were most accommodating.

It is always nice to have dinner with good friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great brunch

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

I would highly recommend Terramae. Great food and an excellent location. There is something for everyone and the service was excellent. The atmosphere is wonderful. We had brunch and it was perfect. The prices aren't too high and the wine list is excellent. A definite must if you want to try an intimate location with great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Beautiful Place

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Enjoyed some good appetizers, split some steak, and enjoyed a soupy... but flavorful creme brulee. The creme brulee was actually the best tasting creme brulee I've ever had, just had a soup-like texture.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the Best

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

This was our second visit to TerraMae. After our first visit I considered TerraMae to be the best restaurant in town -- and after the second visit I still think it's the best. The food is thoughtfully prepared and nicely presented -- nothing is overdone including portion sizes. I had the poached salmon served over barley with whole baby carrots, sugar snap peas and what appeared to be oyster mushrooms all in a nice broth -- with all the several flavors delicately preserved. My wife had the red snapper which is usually served over cooked greens and sweet potato puree -- my wife doesn't care for sweet potato so the kitchen accommodated her by substituting a variety of steamed vegetables -- she said the dish was just right. Once again TerraMae saved us a trip to Atlanta or Nashville to experience fine dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great night with good friends. We enjoye ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Great night with good friends. We enjoyed really good food in a lovely quiet atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terramae is a find!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We were visiting Chattanooga for the first time and had been told that Terramae has a great brunch so we reserved a table for 11:00 AM on a Sunday. It was very easy to locate and was walk-able from the hotel where we were staying downtown. The staff that greeted and waited on us were very friendly and accommodating. There had been a large wedding party staying in the hotel the night before so the staff were wrapping up things for them but that had no impact on our experience. We found the decor unique and interesting and the dining room had a lot of natural light. We ordered the omelet, eggs Benedict, and cast iron bread pudding and were very pleased with our choices, excellent taste and portion size. Prices were very reasonable and we felt very satisfied with our visit and will be back the next time we're in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.