About Terramae

120 East 10th Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Global cuisine in the heart of Chattanooga.

Terra Mae translates to “mother earth,” a name that perfectly captures the far‐flung inspiration for our five‐star fare. Our menu isn’t dictated by region or style; no spice is off limits, no dish too exotic. We’re restrained only by our imagination and our adventurous spirit, our favorite flavors and those we’ve yet to discover.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French / American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon. - Thur.: 5pm - 9pm | Fri. - Sat. 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
10th & Columbia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 710-2925

Website:
http://www.terramaerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Different music piped into bar & dining areas

Catering:
Please inquire at the facility.

Parking Details:
Street parking and public lots are available. Valet will be coming shortly

Public Transit:
10th & Market

Executive Chef:
Shelley D. Cooper

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Terramae Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Romantic (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Modern Decor (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Cozy (10)
Business Meals (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Historic (6)
Healthy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fireplace (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesone hip, romantic, vintage retro amb ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesone hip, romantic, vintage retro ambience with wonderfully creative food! Definitely a place to try!

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second timer Will definitely be back ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 3 days ago

Second timer Will definitely be back for thirds

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for dinner. This is part of ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place for dinner. This is part of a cool little boutique hotel and Matilda Midnight is in the same building to have some great after dinner drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My girlfriend and I had a reservation fo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My girlfriend and I had a reservation for Valentine's Day. We were seated immediately and the flowers they offered were at our table, and my girlfriend loved them! We ordered a bottle of wine, 2 first courses, 2 entrees, and shared a dessert. The cheese plate was amazing; the baby moo was delicious. Our entrees were also perfect. I had the scallops and pork belly. The scallops were cooked perfectly, and the whole dish was just pure deliciousness. Finally we had the seasonal Creme brûlée, which was grapefruit and rosemary. We were hesitant, but our server said it was awesome and she was absolutely correct! It was a perfect meal! Our server was very nice and checked on us enough. It was our first visit to Terra Mae and she was very accommodating. The final check was a solid amount, but I planned on that already so I was not surprised. It was worth it for a lovely Valentine's Day dinner. We will definitely go back and tell our friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent professional waitstaff and fab ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent professional waitstaff and fabulous food. Perfect for special occasions. Ask for Travis!

Tags: Organic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a little slow, but received ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was a little slow, but received comp from manager to make up for it, and food was outstanding and worth the wait. Would recommend and go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I celebrated Valentine's ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I celebrated Valentine's Day here. It was romantic with delicious food! The restaurant is inside a boutique hotel with a trendy bar across the hall with delicious tapas.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We've been back several times now and NE ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've been back several times now and NEVER been disappointed! Great food, great service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Cozy, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Retro look was fantastic. Atmosphere ve ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Retro look was fantastic. Atmosphere very good. Food was very good. Only faults was noise as we were seated close to a large party that was trying to talk over a long table and the other thing is we were served the wrong year of wine for what we ordered. The bottle of wine was expensive and when I pointed it out there was no attempt to make things right. The only answer was we do not have the 2011 that is on the menu only a 2013, which was not listed on the menu and I was charged the full price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food, great service. This was o ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing food, great service. This was one of my favorite meals of all time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New ownership has revamped the layout an ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

New ownership has revamped the layout and the decor. The ambiance has suffered to a degree because of it. Instead of walking through the open, inviting bar to get to the dining area, the bar and dining areas are now separated. The bar area is dark and less inviting. Service is good in both, though. Music muted to a level that conversation is easy. All menu items seem to be about 10% overpriced. Still, the food is good. My wife had the salmon, which was done well. I had the duck, which was also done well. We enjoyed both. The crawfish etoufee and her salad were both delicious as well. Underwhelming dessert menu (WHAT HAPPENED TO THE BREAD PUDDING OPTION!!! Was the best dessert in the city and now not on the menu.) Not as enjoyable as it had been but still an option to add to your restaurant rotation as it offers some unique options.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Celebrating my daughter's birthday.

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Celebrating my daughter's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went in for a surprise birthday dinner f ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went in for a surprise birthday dinner for my boyfriend. The food was so perfect, and it was the best date idea! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely love this place. Mostly bec ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I absolutely love this place. Mostly because of the atmosphere. The food is really good, also very saucy and seasoned- which I am not used to- but good. The cocktail list is very good, but overall it's overpriced. $$$$ I save it for once a year.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Terrific meal as always. We always feel ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Terrific meal as always. We always feel like we have experienced special treatment when we eat here.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I are new to the Chattanooga ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My wife and I are new to the Chattanooga area and this is a great restaurant that we will definitely visit again in the future! I had the select cut filet and my wife had the wagyu short rib and both were remarkably good!

The environment and the service were also great! The service was courteous and prompt and the environment was really wonderful. Very modern feel but quiet enough to have a nice conversation during dinner.

We will absolutely be going back in the near future.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What happened? We used to save Terra Mae ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

What happened? We used to save Terra Mae for our most special dinners but will probably never go back after our meal on December 23rd. The decor inside used to feel cozy but now feels cold. Our party of 5 was seated directly inside the door of a room that had nobody else in it. I had scallops that were unremarkable and overly salty. We had a few appetizers that were small and just not exciting. Just cannot believe the change in this restaurant...RIP Terra Mae.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

We love Terra Mae! We came here for a b ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We love Terra Mae! We came here for a birthday celebration and the staff were so thoughtful - they made it a really special evening. The cocktails were tasty and the food was fabulous!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time in since new ownership. Dinne ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 17, 2016

First time in since new ownership. Dinner for two was a very nice evening. Creative menu and presentation. Valet parking is always nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Low key but top notch gourmet! Intimate ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Low key but top notch gourmet! Intimate and delicious. Even had our rehearsal dinner here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very nice meal at terramae the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We had a very nice meal at terramae the other evening. All of our food was delicious, and the space itself is really comfortable. Our server was good, although we'd have loved a little more detail and help when looking through the menus, both food and wine. And our wine glasses were never refilled by the server during dinner (we ordered a bottle). But we really like this restaurant and the staff is very pleasant. We definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

First visit under new ownership. The bar ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

First visit under new ownership. The bar area is much nicer. However the bartender and our server both had an attitude. Both myself and guest are local professionals. Our wives joined us. We eat at many comparable places in Chattanooga. The attitude of both the bartender and server were noticed by all 4 of us rather quickly. Outside of the service, the experience was great.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Always delicious and the ambiance is ama ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always delicious and the ambiance is amazing! It is one of my favorite restaurants in Chattanooga! I would recommend to everyone. Sunday brunch is also a wonderful experience! Never disappoints!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I had Sunday Brunch at Terr ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A friend and I had Sunday Brunch at Terra Mae. We started with the Ploughman's Bounty, a wonderful charcuterie tray with meat, cheeses, pickles, bread, mustard and jam. It was very good. We both ordered the pork cheek benedict which was delicious, but turned out to be short ribs. A great place for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent wait staff, no wait between co ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent wait staff, no wait between courses. Food was imaginative and delicious. A bit on the high side, price wise especially for Chattanooga, but as a special occasion it was worth it. Beautiful old building with a lot of history, comfortable seating and the music was a pleasant departure from the loud, upbeat sounds in many restaurants - love Frank, Dean et al.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite brunch place in Chattanooga - w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Favorite brunch place in Chattanooga - wait staff is attentive and knowledgeable; decor is light, fresh and welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, creative food & eclectic, vib ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent, creative food & eclectic, vibrant atmosphere

Large table near us became loud which was only negative

Incredible foodie restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We greatly enjoyed our experience at Ter ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our experience at Terra Mae. The food was unique and delicious! The cocktails were also fun. Would definitely recommend to someone who is looking for something different!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date and I recently visited Terramae ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My date and I recently visited Terramae for the first time and we were really quite pleased with the entire experience.

The atmosphere is top notch--expect modern, contemporary, and cosmopolitan. You feel as though you've stepped into a trendy boutique hotel or restaurant in a much larger city. Both the restaurant and the bar are well appointed with a style that compliments each side of the building well and I'm sure the hotel comports as well, although we did not see the rooms.

The service was excellent. We were pleased with the service and felt as though we were treated quite well.

And, most importantly, the food and drinks were delicious. Although the menu is priced near the top of what I would personally consider the higher end of the Chattanooga market, the menu is quite diverse for the Chattanooga area and offers some excellent choices (i.e. an excellent wasabi pea crusted salmon). All in all, although we expected a good experience, we were pleasantly surprised with how we felt as though we'd stepped into a very distinct and well-defined locale.

Will certainly return and would certainly recommend to friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had been looking forward for our third a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Had been looking forward for our third annual autumn visit to the "Appalachian bistro", but Terra Mae has changed its focus and its decor, if not its name. The look is mid-century with a touch of deco and a few hints of the old stone walls and dark wood floors from the previous incarnation. The food is contemporary and well-prepared but not especially memorable. It no longer has a unique angle as it did with "Appalachian bistro" cuisine. Sorry to see it change.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was amazing! Everyone enjoyed e ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was amazing! Everyone enjoyed every dish that we received. Took a little too long for any bread or appetizer to arrive but other than that, I will for sure come back! Food was perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome food! The menu is a ever changin ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Awesome food! The menu is a ever changing culinary masterpiece...

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Creative dishes, plated beautifully. Lov ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Creative dishes, plated beautifully. Loved the pork belly and cauliflower. Duck and short ribs were verrrrrry tasty. The beluga lentils that accompanied the duck may have been a teensy weensy bit "liquidy" but yummy none-the-less and there can never be too much foie gras for me. Our server was gracious with her suggestions and her knowledge of the menu. It was a lovely experience all-around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ATMOSPHERE, DECOR AND SERVICE ARE EXCELL ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

ATMOSPHERE, DECOR AND SERVICE ARE EXCELLENT. FOOD IS GREAT BUT THE PORTION SIZE IS A LITTLE SMALL. DEFINITELY A MUST GO TO IF YOU ARE IN CHATTANOOGA. HAS A GREAT BAR ALSO.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our fourth visit to Terrmae. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our fourth visit to Terrmae. The food and the ambiance, the service and the attention to customer is what brings us back. Our server (Madison) was top notch and always treats us very well. We'll be back again and again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent beets,pork belly , chocolate n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Excellent beets,pork belly , chocolate n

Cake. I didn't like pork belly appetizer,lentils,lemon bar dessert

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Waygu was tough--Prawn with Papaya - ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The Waygu was tough--Prawn with Papaya --better without the Papaya--salad--what salad? that was a salad? Your Scallops used to be better ---complaint was too peppery--good apple tart dessert-fair wine price

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

My first visit since they reopened and i ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My first visit since they reopened and it was delightful! So many good changes! They were very accommodating about everything we asked about, and the food was delicious! It looks lovely too, and the adjoining bar--Matilda Midnight--is a great find.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The redesign looks horrible and has ruin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The redesign looks horrible and has ruined the feel of Terramae. Prices have increased, but the food quality has declined. Not good for what was once the best restaurant in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

An evening at Terra Mae must begin with ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 17, 2016

An evening at Terra Mae must begin with cocktails in the Matilda Midnight bar. It's an excellent way to get the evening started. Friendly bar staff and a bar stocked with a great selection of wine and unique spirits. We enjoyed some of their tequila and mescal.

Dinner was also excellent. Our table had a variety of the apps and entrees and everyone raved.

This is becoming one of my favorite places in Chattanooga.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.