About Terramae

120 East 10th Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Global cuisine in the heart of Chattanooga.

Terra Mae translates to “mother earth,” a name that perfectly captures the far‐flung inspiration for our five‐star fare. Our menu isn’t dictated by region or style; no spice is off limits, no dish too exotic. We’re restrained only by our imagination and our adventurous spirit, our favorite flavors and those we’ve yet to discover.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon. - Thur.: 5pm - 9pm | Fri. - Sat. 5pm - 10pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
10th & Columbia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 710-2925

Website:
http://www.terramaerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Different music piped into bar & dining areas

Catering:
Please inquire at the facility.

Parking Details:
Street parking and public lots are available. Valet will be coming shortly

Public Transit:
10th & Market

Executive Chef:
Shelley D. Cooper

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Terramae
  • Terramae
Terramae
Terramae

Terramae Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
6 More
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

fit for foodies (27)
special occasion (24)
romantic (19)
See All
neighborhood gem (11)
notable wine list (10)
good for groups (9)
great for brunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for brunch and loved the atmosph ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for brunch and loved the atmosphere, the host was great, loved the art and decor. We were really unimpressed with the food and our waitress wasn't great. It was a slow day and our waitress was never around at the right times. I think I actually was wondering if she was just tuning out googling stuff on her phone in the kitchen, haha. She was also not personable or helpful. I ordered a blt gouda sandwich which sounds amazing, but it was nothing like what I expected and it was just not good at all. It also came with french fries which it doesn't say on the menu which I thought was a super weird thing to come as a side for brunch. We also brought my 3 year old there and they didn't have a kids menu (or at least our server didn't tell us about a kids menu) so we ordered him a couple sides which ended up costing as much as an adult meal. One of the items was biscuit and gravy and the gravy tasted like straight up pureed raw onions and was Awful. And we asked for preserves for the biscuit and the they said it was house made and that was flavorless and the worst I've ever had... I definitely don't consider myself a difficult to please but I was pretty let down by the food and waitress... I'd probably come back and give it another try. Maybe with lower expectations this time.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Hands down, the best in Chattanooga! Foo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Hands down, the best in Chattanooga! Food was prepared and done perfectly . Will return often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The menu was not the same as advertised ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The menu was not the same as advertised on the website. A very limited bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is our fifth visit to TerraMae. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This is our fifth visit to TerraMae. The menu and ownership has changed several times just over the relatively brief period that we've been coming here (a year or so). Our first meal was outstanding but sadly it's been downhill since then until this last visit. The dining room has been really upgraded to a very beautiful space. And, the food has improved considerably -- my wife and I both had the Caprese Salad which was the tastiest one I've ever had. I then had salmon and my wife the trout -- both were quite delicious -- BUT like most restaurants in the South TerraMae suffers from portion overkill --" if one piece of salmon would make a nice satisfying meal let's pile on several more pieces." Go to the website for a Michelin starred restaurant and take a look at the portions served there -- the food WILL NOT be mounded up on the plate. Anyway, TerraMae has an improved menu, service and surroundings -- the chef just needs to realize that more is not better.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

the menu is different with wonderful com ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

the menu is different with wonderful combinations of flavors and a real taste treat.

The filet was the most tender meat dish i have ever had and beautifully cooked and exceptional.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great new, retro decor ! Live the new m ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great new, retro decor ! Live the new menu. The food was excellent and the service has been exceptional for my last three visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service!! Will certai ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fantastic food and service!! Will certainly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hardly know where to start. Food? Serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I hardly know where to start. Food? Service? Ambiance?

Food. You won't be disappointed here. We had a party of 20. Everyone seemed pleased to ecstatic with their dish. The presentation made each dish look like it came out of Food & Wine - all very Instagramy.

Service. Very professional. You almost didn't notice that they were there. They never mixed up who order what, re-filled coffee at just the right time, and many other small things so often missing in service today. They did bring out dishes as they were ready, so don't plan on being "polite" and waiting until every one is served.

Ambiance. High ceilings and marvelous interior design/decorating create a very enchanting space. Makes you feel that you are in for a special experience. The music seemed to be classic chamber the day we were there, thankfully making for low noise and easy conversation.

I didn't ask, but it looked like a couple of tables have privacy curtains (almost like Rod Steiger and Julie Christie having dinner in Dr. Zhivago). So if you want uber romantic, stop by before hand and talk to the manager.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent choice of meals. Beautiful roo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent choice of meals. Beautiful room. Service was friendly and excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My mom and I spent the weekend in Chattanooga for a quick getaway. I made a reservation here on a whim through OpenTable, so didn't really have any expectations. I absolutely loved all the decor - the wallpaper, the furniture, the paintings, the fixtures on the wall.... It was such a nice change from the standard cookie-cutter decor found in every other nice restaurant. I had the curried scallops for dinner and they were PERFECT. Not too heavy but still very filling and very flavorful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Surprising find.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We are from out of town and were impressed with Terramae. The first course and the second courses were sized for two, especially the Tangine. A little noisy with other groups dining but a very nice place to dine otherwise.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the Chef's Table and we though ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We sat at the Chef's Table and we thought there would be more interaction with the chef. Next time we will sit in the dining room and order from menu.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

TerraMae

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Thought the decor and service were excellent on the night we dined. The food was creative and well presented. Interesting tastes but a bit on the fussy side. Sometimes simpler is better. Very good for being reopened just recently.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very disappointed with the lack of ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I was very disappointed with the lack of flavor. I felt like it should have been as tasty as Easy Bistro and St Johns but it definitely was not. The food lacked the pizzazz it should have for that quality of a restaurant. Beautiful atmosphere but very disappointing for the foodies that we are.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Tasty Dinner

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Great double date. Had every course. Averna at the end was a highlight. So was the rhubarb and candied ginger tart.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delish! The scallops were divine...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Delish! The scallops were divine...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Love the remodel!! Same great food in a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Love the remodel!! Same great food in an even better atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Experience

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my first time to the restaurant. The food and service were both fantastic. Food portions were on the small side vs. the price, but the quality/presentation were top notch. Great spot for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Quite a change

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

First visit to hotel and Terramae was two years ago. New owner has taken away the charm and feel of a good story. Fortunately the food is still wonderful even if the wine list is incredulously expensive and the redesign of the dining room is some weird combination of '50s drive in and bizarre funk. Charm has lost out to owner prerogative. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Very nice!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Very nice! It was our third visit to Terramae and the food has been excellent each time. The roasted beet salad was wonderful! The salmon was perfectly cooked. The New York Strip was very nice (although over-priced, in my opinion). The staff was very pleasant. We will definitely go back once it reopens.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food in a wonderful, eclectic ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Delicious food in a wonderful, eclectic atmosphere. Ask for Travis. Best server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice dinner

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

We had dinner with friends and had not eaten at Terra Mae in a long time. The menu used to offer an eclectic mix of southern variations and we always knew we would be treated to "something" different. We visited on a Thursday night and the menu offered variations to choose from, but no choices for that memorable dinner. I was ready for the grouper that was posted on their menu on line, but it was substituted by Red Snapper. I not a fan! I just could not find anything that popped out at me. Atlantic salmon, duck with bar B que sauce, pork chop, chicken, pasta and 2 steaks. I ended up ordering a small filet and that is most unusual for me, along with a beet salad. The beet salad was very small and not worth the $10.00 we were charged for the serving.

The steak was cooked perfectly and was delicious.

The wine by the glass list was too limiting. Out of all the wine categories they offer, each variety only offered one choice. They need to offer additional choices.

Service was slow getting started. No bread was offered. We did not order desert.

The dining rooms are lovely. We were there on a very cold night, so we asked if we could move our table away from all the glass. They were most accommodating.

It is always nice to have dinner with good friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great brunch

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

I would highly recommend Terramae. Great food and an excellent location. There is something for everyone and the service was excellent. The atmosphere is wonderful. We had brunch and it was perfect. The prices aren't too high and the wine list is excellent. A definite must if you want to try an intimate location with great food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Beautiful Place

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Enjoyed some good appetizers, split some steak, and enjoyed a soupy... but flavorful creme brulee. The creme brulee was actually the best tasting creme brulee I've ever had, just had a soup-like texture.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the Best

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

This was our second visit to TerraMae. After our first visit I considered TerraMae to be the best restaurant in town -- and after the second visit I still think it's the best. The food is thoughtfully prepared and nicely presented -- nothing is overdone including portion sizes. I had the poached salmon served over barley with whole baby carrots, sugar snap peas and what appeared to be oyster mushrooms all in a nice broth -- with all the several flavors delicately preserved. My wife had the red snapper which is usually served over cooked greens and sweet potato puree -- my wife doesn't care for sweet potato so the kitchen accommodated her by substituting a variety of steamed vegetables -- she said the dish was just right. Once again TerraMae saved us a trip to Atlanta or Nashville to experience fine dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great night with good friends. We enjoye ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Great night with good friends. We enjoyed really good food in a lovely quiet atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terramae is a find!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We were visiting Chattanooga for the first time and had been told that Terramae has a great brunch so we reserved a table for 11:00 AM on a Sunday. It was very easy to locate and was walk-able from the hotel where we were staying downtown. The staff that greeted and waited on us were very friendly and accommodating. There had been a large wedding party staying in the hotel the night before so the staff were wrapping up things for them but that had no impact on our experience. We found the decor unique and interesting and the dining room had a lot of natural light. We ordered the omelet, eggs Benedict, and cast iron bread pudding and were very pleased with our choices, excellent taste and portion size. Prices were very reasonable and we felt very satisfied with our visit and will be back the next time we're in town!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience....Has even more potential

 
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The menu hasn't changed much since our last visit In 2015 despite a new chef...the food is still excellent (despite an oyster app served perplexingly on clam shells), but it is time for the new owner and chef to move on and put their own imprint on things. Our service was great and the ambiance continues to put this in the top tier of fine dining in Chattanooga...I have no doubt that things will evolve...however, to generate repeat business, the menu cannot remain static

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth Checking out

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

This was my favorite restaurant in Chattanooga until my last visit. The dessert menu had changed, my favorite things on the menu had been deleted. I'm hoping with expressing my concerns they will rectify this. They have new owners so hopefully things will not change to much.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Best in Town

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

To say TerraMae is the best restaurant in town is faint praise considering the town is Chattanooga -- home of greasy food and gigantic portions. That said, TerraMae is, indeed, a very good place to dine offering well thought-out dishes, nice presentations and attentive, knowledgeable service. I enjoyed the grouper served over sweet/sour spinach and a sweet potato puree. My wife had the scallops and said that they were perfectly cooked and delicious. All things considered we'd have to drive to Atlanta or Nashville to find an equal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Terrific

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

An incredible menu...our dishes were well prepared with flair and care. Nice bourbon list and an extensive selection of wines.

we will return. soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Quality

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was very good, and waitress was very knowledgeable about the dishes. Nice atmosphere. We didn't spend time at the bar, but talked to the bartender on the way out, and he was very friendly. The prices were very reasonable for the high quality of food. An enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was slow at first, unfriendly wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Service was slow at first, unfriendly waiter...seemed warm up by end of meal. My husbands filet was delicious but my grouper was over cooked. Was not as good as I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Unique atmosphere and delicious food!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Unique atmosphere and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

My husband and I have visited TerraMae several times and it's one of our favorite restaurants! Justin is a great bartender, Lara a great manager and the wait staff is awesome. Best bourbon line up around and the food is fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the whole experience!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

Everything was superb about our visit to Terra Mae except the fact that we had reservations and were sat at a 2 top right next to the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely Dining Experience

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

We bypassed Atlanta and took the long road home, this necessitated our stop in Chattanooga. Checking my trusty TripAdvisor, Terramae came up. And, I was able to reserve on a Sunday (worried about the church crowd) from the App. Thanks, Open Table.

We loved it, food was imaginative and fresh, beautifully presented and quite good. Liked the ambiance of Terramae and will stop in again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Chattanooga Fan

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Over all a very good experience . Helpful / friendly bar / wait staff....excellent appetizers and entrees. Dessert ( cake ) was dry and tasteless . This expense was deleted from the tab....looking forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

My husband booked this restaurant for our 21st anniversary and it was just great. The variety of plates offered to the presentation, inspired by the local seasonal foods offered makes this restaurant a top on my list of places to eat in Chattanooga.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Thanksgiving Meal!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Fabulous Thanksgiving Meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.