About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday : 11: 30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 11: 30 AM - 10: 00 PM
Sunday : 4 : 00 PM - 9 : 00 PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: (505) 438-2877

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (25)
Good for a Date (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Romantic (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Authentic (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (7)
Historic (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Private Room (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

we enjoyed lunch at the terracotta wine bistro for restaurant week.

i enjoy german food, and the pork was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Really enjoyed the vibe of this place, and being able to park in front of the building. Was pleasantly surprised to walk in to a musician playing lightly on guitar! Super friendly staff, beautifully plated for, with a nice pace coming out of the kitchen. Wait staff gave recommendations on what to order...It was "Restaurant Week," and they had some special 3-course selections (with wine pairings, if you wanted). Other specials too, like the grass-fed ribeye with potatoes and vegetables. Highly recommend...Will return if in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was okay...nothing spectacular, I guess I would rate on the average side. Have been a few times and always get stuck in the back room. The dessert was nothing too exciting but the service was friendly and speedy....3.25 stars?

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food. Nice presentation. The atmosphere is enjoyable and pleasant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We visited Terra Cotta for the first time during Santa Fe Restaurant Week. What a delightful experience! The food was beautiful, creative and delicious, service was excellent, ambiance was superb. We're here on an extended visit and Terra Cotta has vaulted to the top of the list of my favorite restaurants. In a "foodie" town like Santa Fe, that takes a lot. We'll be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a weekday lunch for three friends during Restaurant Week. We were looking for a place that was not on our usual list of familiar places and that would be able to accommodate various diets. We were not disappointed. The ambiance was comfortable and attractive while still feeling 'special'. We each had different menu items and all were pleased. The food was scrumptious and evidenced high quality ingredients and the overall experience was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

very disappointed.. went for restaurant week 2017. Pork was dry, overcooked and was probably from the day before. Potatoes were dry and not good. Banana bread was mushy. Would not recommend and will never eat at this restaurant again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

It's been years since I was last at Terra Cotta, and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food, the service and the wine selection. We were seated immediately in the bar area at a table for two (it was a very busy night). Despite people coming in and out, the room was conversation friendly. Our service was exception with Shannon being attentive and knowledgeable (especially about wine). She recommended a dessert merlot that was exceptional. We didn't talk with the chef, but she is available to discuss dishes for those who may have questions. If there is a downside, it's the parking limitations, but my friend and I lucked out and found parking across the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fabulous birthday dinner with 6 guests. The service was fantastic! We had the cheese platter, the bruschetta and the Oysters Rockefeller for appetizers. I had the fried chicken with grits, others had the French onion soup, the salmon, and the lamb kebab. the catfish was good but the person having the catfish would have preferred to have it fried rather than steamed. The person who had the Brancini was pleased. The rolls were very delish!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

TerraCotta drew my attention because their prices seemed reasonable for bistros in Santa Fe, the food looked interesting, and the atmosphere seemed appropriate for a small gathering of old friends to share food and conversation. It met expectations on all accounts. It is a comfortable place for dinner in a place that is not too loud (even with a guitarist the night we went). The wait staff is outstanding. All drink options available, but the wine list is huge and one can find a nice glass or bottle in any price range. The food and the experience left us happy altogether. Highly recommended.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Perfection at its best! We can not say enough how much we love this restaurant. Service is impeccable. The food is superb and a wonderful wine list. The ambiance is quaint, cozy and lovely. A must when in Santa Fe!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Before 6pm they have a good selection of wines for only $6 per glass. Numerous choices of bruschetta that we enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Very good!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We've dined here on several occasions and positively LOVE this restaurant. One of our favorites in Santa Fe. The Schnitzel is out of this world, as is the Shephard's Pie - fantastic comfort food, and their $6 wine options before 6pm give us the extra reason to book a table here. I love the environment - the colors, the warmth of the staff and the exceptional cuisine. Five stars, each time we've been there.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I love this restaurant. Delicious brisket, great Ruben sandwich or fish and chips....or anything! Comfortable and quiet for a great lunch with a friend.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We like this place. Good planked salmon, good fried chicken. Nice wines by the glass.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our Server, Falasha (?) was wonderful and quite attentive...

Thank you all.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The quality of the food was disappointing. The meu is large and diverse. The ambiance is very good. The service is excellent. My Shepard's pie was microwave warmed, at least some it was cold and other parts hot. The soup was mediocre.

This was our second time at the restaurant. We will be back for a third try. The chicken on our visit was outstanding, a dish that is so often disappointing elsewhere . Next time I'm going to try the duck with caramelized onions; it does sound so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent menu with excellent prices! The fried chicken was the best I've tasted in decades, cooked from scratch (takes 25 minutes). It's menu is a combination of dishes you never find anymore, e.g., Shepards Pie, creative dishes, and some Julia Child recipes, all at excellent prices.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food caused our group to have a rare moment of silence as we savored the flavors. Yummmmm.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful New Years Eve dinner in Santa Fe, NM. Service, ambience, food all excellent. Would do it again.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was excellent and we loved the place! We were on vacation and just decided to try it and are so glad we did.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is a small cozy restaurant with delicious food and great wines for a reasonable price! The warm crab dip and oysters were fantastic as were our main dishes; sheperd's pie, lamb kebob, schnitzel and flank steak marinated in coffee and cola. We'll be back next time when we're in town :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great place and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We love TerraCotta Wine Bistro. My husband and I first visited in the summer of 2015 on our honeymoon and loved everything about TerraCotta. We were back in Santa Fe this December with my in-laws and were thrilled to get to go back. The food was outstanding as always and the service was great. I will always recommend eating here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great family dinner during our vacation. Excellent food, great wine and beer choices. Very friendly and helpful service.

Cozy little place. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Had a wonderful Christmas weekend dinner! When we arrived at 7:00, a couple of dishes were gone. But the staff was so courteous and apologetic, offering substitutes. Delicious Oysters Rockefeller and delightful bruschetta as appetizers. I had a delicious plank salmon dish. Above all, the ambience and staff courtesy were exceptional. A fun place for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This wasn't my best experience at TerraCotta due to some mix ups in our order but I have always enjoyed it in the past and will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A favorite but the service was only fair at this visit. Seems as if the server was new and perhaps the restaurant was understaffed. It was the Monday after Xmas. We had to repeat orders, and still not everything came out together. We had to remind her several times to bring one of our party her tea after the meal. We had a very good time and all the food was very delicious. It won't deter another visit, but it was disappointing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Historic, Quick Bite, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Wonderful Christmas dinner! Table was ready service was great and food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is a cute place & we have been there before for lunch or a light meal. However, they missed the mark for a Christmas Day Brunch. The salad was very good, but the mains were not. The lobster pot pie was lukewarm with a very watery, thin sauce. I sent it back ( they were very nice about it) and it did come back hot, but the lobster was rubbery. The pork chop was stuffed and was very overlooked and dry. The fixed price menu offered wine pairings for an additional $25 which we ordered. But when the wine came, it was 3 tiny carafes on a tray - approximately 4 oz. (this is their standard flight servings that we have had there before). Thus really didn't constitute a "wine pairing" as we have had in many other restaurants and was very overpriced.

We would return to this restaurant , but only for a light snack & a glass of wine which seems to be their real forte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Always outstanding food; have eaten here several times and have NEVER been disappointed! Have eaten at all of the top places in Santa Fe and this is certainly one that anyone should not miss while in Santa Fe.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Historic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Terra Cotta is one of our favorite restaurants-great food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were so happy to discover TerraCotta Wine Bistro on our recent vacation to Santa Fe. The welcoming atmosphere was wonderful, and the decor was representative of the style often sought after in Santa Fe; the staff was friendly. Several selections on the menu were tempting and it was difficult to make up our minds. Each dish we ordered was beautifully plated. The food was delicious and memorable. This restaurant should not be missed by any discerning diner. We can't wait to return again to Santa Fe. TerraCotta Wine Bistro will remain on our growing list of restaurants not to be missed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We popped in on a rainy evening. The food was fine and the service was great. The salad was over dressed but my husband loved his steak.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was a tremendous disappointment. My husband and I had the acorn squash lasagne. It was tasteless. They need a chef who knows spices. We won't be back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 19, 2016

What a great find. Cozy, great food, phenomenal wine list by price. a gem.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good comfort food and good service. We will definitely come back possibly for lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We have had dinner at terracotta a couple of times and the food has been great. Generally the services has been pretty attentive and professional.

On our most recent visit the owner/chef decided to visit our table. At first I thought it was another customer from a rowdy neighboring table. Clearly drunk, she made a number of lascivious comments to the males at the table (all accompanied by significant others) and continued with an incoherent and expletive laden rant. This made for an awkward end to an otherwise very nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent, friendly service. High quality food, beer, and wine. Very clean and inviting atmosphere. Very diverse menu....we plan on returning so we can try more of the many options. Excellent dessert menu too!

Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Love this restaurant. Food is excellent with lots if choices. Love the bruschetta - choice of 4 for $16. Onion rings are amazing. Share unless you want all of them. Friendly staff and good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Very good food! Everything we had we enjoyed which is rare and we had 4 different items. A must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our dinners were delicious and beautifully presented. However, the service was TERRIBLE! It took a ridiculous amount if time to be served. Then after waiting and waiting to get the check, we asked the owner for assistance. At this point, you'd think the owner would have recognized that the service was awful and offered to comp dessert. Nope, she didn't!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent service. Delicious food. Salmon and the pork dishes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A totally delightful and charming restaurant, with very good food and very good service. The menu offers a very nice selection. I can hardly wait to bring my sister here when she visits from California. This is going to become one of my favorite places for special dinners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great atmosphere, very nice people, outstanding food, and overall a wonderful dining experience. Thank you for a memorable evening! Steve & Kathy Belletire

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2016

At Terracotta I was looking for more than lunch—I was hoping to find a place to call my restaurant—a cozy cafe with menu items I could eat 3 or 4 times a week. On the cozy score there was nothing cozy about it since the room had not been heated at all. Perhaps I had too high expectations for the barbecue brisket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Nice place for a glass of wine and dinner before the Lensic shows. Good wine list. Nice live guitar.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Bruschetta selection prevented me from choosing no more than four out of eight angels. The pea soup was a glad moment to pause before the luscious salmon lying on aldente vegetables that were perfectly firm but soft. The wines wet my mouth as a guilty association in oral splendency.

Try for yourself.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Server recommended the plank salmon. It was overly seasoned with a mustard sauce that made the entire dish salty and unappetizing. It was served with a small portion of grilled vegetables that were lukewarm. The Bloody Mary salad was enjoyed by another member of our party.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.