About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday : 11: 30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 11: 30 AM - 10: 00 PM
Sunday : 4 : 00 PM - 9 : 00 PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: 5054382877x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

~ OPEN CHRISTMAS EVE ALL DAY ~
Open all day from 11: 30 am to 10 pm.
Serving the regular menu all day, with additional Christmas Specials in the evening after 5 pm : Veal Short Ribs in Ginger Snap Brandy Sauce and Lobster Pot Pie in Creamy Saffron Sherry veloute. Reservations necessary.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

We will be open Christmas Day from 12:00 to 7:00 pm.
Serving a 3 course Prix Fixe Dinner. $ 50 /Adult - $ 25 /Child
Choice of soup or salad ~ Choice of 4 Entrees ~ Choice of 3 Desserts ~ Reservations strongly recommended, especially large parties. Merry Christmas !

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

OPEN NEW YEAR'S EVE DAY, ALL day from 11 : 30 AM to 9:00 PM.
Serving the regular menu all day and evening, adding a Special N.Y's Eve Prix Fixe Menu after 5 PM : Rib Eye in a Peppercorn Demi-Glaze and Broiled Lobster Tails. Reservations strongly recommended. ~ CLOSED ON JANUARY 1St ~

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
New Mexico
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Notable Wine List (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Cozy (15)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Casual (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Authentic (6)
Romantic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Live Music (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
575 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our dinners were delicious and beautiful ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Our dinners were delicious and beautifully presented. However, the service was TERRIBLE! It took a ridiculous amount if time to be served. Then after waiting and waiting to get the check, we asked the owner for assistance. At this point, you'd think the owner would have recognized that the service was awful and offered to comp dessert. Nope, she didn't!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Excellent service. Delicious food. Salmo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service. Delicious food. Salmon and the pork dishes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A totally delightful and charming restau ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A totally delightful and charming restaurant, with very good food and very good service. The menu offers a very nice selection. I can hardly wait to bring my sister here when she visits from California. This is going to become one of my favorite places for special dinners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, very nice people, outs ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great atmosphere, very nice people, outstanding food, and overall a wonderful dining experience. Thank you for a memorable evening! Steve & Kathy Belletire

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At Terracotta I was looking for more tha ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2016

At Terracotta I was looking for more than lunch—I was hoping to find a place to call my restaurant—a cozy cafe with menu items I could eat 3 or 4 times a week. On the cozy score there was nothing cozy about it since the room had not been heated at all. Perhaps I had too high expectations for the barbecue brisket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Nice place for a glass of wine and dinne ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Nice place for a glass of wine and dinner before the Lensic shows. Good wine list. Nice live guitar.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Bruschetta selection prevented me from c ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Bruschetta selection prevented me from choosing no more than four out of eight angels. The pea soup was a glad moment to pause before the luscious salmon lying on aldente vegetables that were perfectly firm but soft. The wines wet my mouth as a guilty association in oral splendency.

Try for yourself.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server recommended the plank salmon. It ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Server recommended the plank salmon. It was overly seasoned with a mustard sauce that made the entire dish salty and unappetizing. It was served with a small portion of grilled vegetables that were lukewarm. The Bloody Mary salad was enjoyed by another member of our party.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent food and friendly service! Our ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent food and friendly service! Our server had extensive knowledge of wine, and recommended perfect pairings - we had an awesome time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful spot near the old part of Sant ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful spot near the old part of Santa Fe. Great wine selection and fantastic food! This is a small, cozy place, and the staff are extremely friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I like that they have smaller servings o ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I like that they have smaller servings of some menu items. They were out of the wine we wanted but suggested a good substitute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was quite good. Service was excelle ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food was quite good. Service was excellent. Nice live music and ambience.

Tags: Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined at the Terra Cotta Restaurant w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We dined at the Terra Cotta Restaurant while on a week visit to Santa Fe. It is located in an old house near the Georgia O'Keefe museum. We were seated in a small quiet room. We started with a delicious pear and blue cheese salad and a bottle of a Washington state semillon. The fish special that night was branzino, excellently prepared and seasoned. Only disappointment was the carrot cake. Came as a muffin with a little cream cheese frosting and quite dry. But the delicious branzino made up for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Another nice visit to Terracotta. I get ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Another nice visit to Terracotta. I get the French onion soup followed by the wedge salad. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Menu for all appetites, so good for loca ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Menu for all appetites, so good for local favs and chef elegant meals. Wine menu perfect and recommended food was spot on. Would go back for more. Service excellent host was very pleasant and happy to see us. Perfect night in Santa Fe. Corned beef was perfection and salmon salad was large cooked right too.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with choice,will et there a ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Very pleased with choice,will et there agin next time in Sant Fe

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a neat, completely different dini ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

It was a neat, completely different dining experience in Santa Fe! Will definitely go back on our next trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have made it a point to go to TCWB wh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We have made it a point to go to TCWB when passing through Santa Fe and again on this trip the staff and the food were excellent. The planked salmon is nicely finished and the kitchen provides a large portion. The rice blend is ideal with the salmon. The beef tenderloin likewise was prepared just as ordered and the roasted potatoes are a simple yet great enhancement. The wine list always offers a wide selection by the glass and at reasonable pricing. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. When I ordered a glass of vermentino, the server responded by naming the vineyard. That's knowing the wine list.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to this restaurant and it was great ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Went to this restaurant and it was great. Food , service, caring ownership and all on an old adobe house. I will definitely go again on my next trip to Santa Fe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went to TerraCotta Wine Bi ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I went to TerraCotta Wine Bistro after a busy day of exploring Santa Fe. We sat outside on their lovely, albeit narrow, front patio. We were quickly greeted by our waitress who handed us menus and the wine list encyclopedia.

Their wine list is EXTENSIVE and the bottles are very well organized by price - twenties, thirties, forties, etc. Nice! If you know you don't want to spend more than a certain amount on wine you can just peruse the appropriate price page. We had a lovely bottle of Spanish red for $28!

We ordered off of the prix fixe menu which gave us each a three course dinner for $30. My wife had the salad, chicken paprikash, and bourbon pecan pie à la mode; I ordered the soup, pork schnitzel, and pear tart.

When we were finished with our dinner one of the owners came over to ask about our experience and we ended up having a very pleasant conversation with her. She really seemed to care about us and our experience.

The food was expertly prepared, nicely presented, and the flavors were distinctive without being overpowering. This was our third trip to Santa Fe and of the nine restaurants at which we have eaten, this one is at the top of our list.

The only negative comment I have is that there is NO parking, at all, at the bistro. You have to park on the street or at a neighbor business.

That being said, we would gladly park a mile away and walk to eat at TerrCotta Wine Bistro again!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the worst experience we had in ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Probably the worst experience we had in Santa Fe. The staff was not knowledgeable about many things - she couldn't tell us a correct place to park our car on the street or recommend us a place to park that didn't require permit parking. She recommended a wine which was "ok" but described it as a rosé and it was not. She told us to sit anywhere but then took about ten minutes to come over and to greet us and give us water. We specifically asked for gluten free bread on one of our dishes and we didn't get it. She never came back to check on us so we couldn't even tell her that she forgot the chips. After not having seen her since she first dropped off the meal, I had to go find her to see where she was and ask her for the check. At that time I asked if my meal was supposed to come with the side it says on the menu since I added on the soup. I asked that she just charge me correctly for the substitute and she said it was too late. Being from the restaurant business that's a blatant lie. It's never too late to modify a check especially if a card hasn't been swiped yet. Finally negotiated to have her bring me chips on the road. Additionally the bar needs to be cleaned more since there was an aggressive amount of fruit flies. It's also quite disturbing to see new take out containers in the bathroom, unwrapped from the plastic. Pretty sure that's a health safety violation. I do not recommend this place to dine.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

This restaurant met all our expectations ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

This restaurant met all our expectations. The wine list is very extensive and there are some very reasonable options. Wines are grouped on pages of $20+, $30+, etc. The food was excellent with a varied menu that is not the typical Santa Fe fare. The atmosphere was very comfortable and conversation was possible as the noise level was very tolerable. We loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess didn't "get" that we were the pa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Hostess didn't "get" that we were the party with the reservation, despite my telling her that we were. The waiter then came and moved us. I hope this will not be considered a no show against me. Poor communication on their part. We would have preferred the reserved table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Always good food, service, friendly owne ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Always good food, service, friendly owners, and excellent value. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

This is one of our favorite places in Sa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is one of our favorite places in Santa Fe. Great food, great service, great people!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Unfortunately we were seated in the very ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Unfortunately we were seated in the very small bar area about 12 inches away from a very lively group - who had their very non-service dog with them that kept wandering all over the restaurant. The table was very loud and we were not able to have a conversation until they left. I think if we had been in the main dining room we might have had a more pleasant dining experience. The hostess (also our server) sat us there even though there were tables available in the main dining room, which we thought was very inconsiderate. I don't even remember what I ate, although the wine list was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We have dined at Terracotta a number of ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We have dined at Terracotta a number of times and they just keep getting better. The value for the money is outstanding! The food is very very good and very consistent. Don't miss this great local establishment!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was very good. The chef came ou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The food was very good. The chef came out personally to discuss the menu and make suggestions. The wait staff was also very helpful. Prices were reasonable and portions were a good size. It was a very pleasant meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely wonderful service. Quality o ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Absolutely wonderful service. Quality of the food is exceptional. Wine list is amazing. Our waitress made great wine recommendations and helped with food questions. We took good friends for their first time and they and we can't wait to return. Best of all, even though it was Wine and Chile time in Santa Fe, we were able to make reservations and enjoy a leisurely meal. Another note is seating allows guests to meet other guests and share stories. It was a very enjoyable evening. Nice to see the owners personally greeting guests and checking on all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pecan dessert was advertised with carame ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 23, 2016

pecan dessert was advertised with caramel ice cream--had white topping and was served cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Ate here during the Wine and Chili Festi ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Ate here during the Wine and Chili Festival. Place went beyond expectations. Food and wine pairings were excellent and bartender offered some tastings of ports.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just an amazing experience. The staff, f ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Just an amazing experience. The staff, food...everything made it an enjoyable night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third visit and consistently very good f ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Third visit and consistently very good food, service and atmosphere.

Will come again when back in SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our third time here. We live in AZ. L ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our third time here. We live in AZ. Love the atmosphere, great food, good service. Will always go when in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely great pork schnitzel! House m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Absolutely great pork schnitzel! House made corned beef to die for. Nice wine by the glass selection too. We're sold and we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a delicious dinner of high qualit ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had a delicious dinner of high quality, tasty, fresh and interesting food. Service is quite fast. The wine list is comprehensive. We enjoyed the food so much, we returned 3 nights later for a second excellent dinner. The beef brisket and watermelon salad are both memorable. Our neighboring table had the mezze platter and the fish fry. Both look fabulous. Next time...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a good dinner at TerraCotta. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a good dinner at TerraCotta. The poke starter was outstanding! Steer clear of the crab cakes...overcooked and meh. The service was wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing intimate cafe with varied afford ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing intimate cafe with varied affordable wine list. Great selection of tasty, delectable bruschettas. Crab cakes & roasted vegetables were a highlight of dining experience. Most important---staff was super friendly and professional. Wish we lived in Santa Fe as we'd be regulars.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous menu! Chef Kate is a kick! Wou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fabulous menu! Chef Kate is a kick! Would highly recommend this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great and the service is gre ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food is great and the service is great. This restaurant has become one of our favorites in Santa Fe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.