Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Saturday: 11:30 AM - 9:00PM
Sunday : 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: (505) 438-2877

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (44)
Good for a Date (34)
Casual (34)
See All
Cozy (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Happy Hour (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Romantic (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Live Music (11)
Seasonal (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Authentic (9)
Fun (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Organic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Tapas (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Great spot for tapas inSanta Fe. Nice atmosphere, friendly owners, great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

I love the colorful ambiance, convenient location right off the Plaza, and amazingly varied and delicious food. The outdoor patio is quiet and shady, and the staff is delightfully friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

It was awesome fantastic atmosphere definitely worth it !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent ambience -- especially on patio. Food can be good, but is erratic. The meal I had last week was excellent; the same meal this week was over cooked -- not just one item -- two items. Maybe a different chef? It was early, so not busy -- so there's really no excuse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

We ordered from the prix fixe menu; portions were generous, and we especially enjoyed the house salad and the yogurt/fennel/pea cold soup special. The key lime pie was amazing! There is also an extensive wine list which offers a nice selection of wines by the glass.
Service was friendly, helpful, and efficient; although busy, the restaurant was quiet enough to
be able to carry on a pleasant conversation.
We have had both lunch and dinner here on several occasions; parking can be problematic during busy seasons of the year, but we have been able to find street parking within walking distance. There are also several nearby pay parking lots.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 4 days ago

It was mostly excellent, but the guitar was too loud for such a small place. It was hard to talk with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for casual dining experience. The food was well prepared and presented, and the atmosphere was laid back and enjoyable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Time to buy new place mats! The food was good, but I think the lack of convenient parking might delay our return

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Outstanding! The menu was creative and well matched. Our server, Emily, was friendly and knowledgeable. We will make this a regular when we visit Santa Fe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great place, highly recommended. I do wish they' d identify German wines by town and vinyard, as the assorted dealers mean nothing to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

After much research, decided to try this restaurant. We were seated right away (we had reservations). First off, noticed amazing looking meals being served around us. Decided on entree and salad. We were not disappointed however the sea bass serving was small. Great wine and dessert Would definitely recommend and return. Service was great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The service, wine and food were stellar. We chose a wine from the weekly offerings list. It was a French Bordeaux blend. Full-bodied and delicious. Had a delicious pear, bleu cheese and pear salad and the mussels in ale broth as appetizer. My husband loves mussels and he was very happy. We shared the lamb kebab. I would get that again in a minute. Lamb was so tender and tasty. The waiter was so friendly and efficient. We felt very well cared for.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

A little off the trail but a great diversion from the standard Mexican and Mexican/American fare that purmeates the historic Santa Fe scene.

Great wine selections and service was on the mark. Highly recommend for something different in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The mussels were incredible! The tuna and Salmon were very good. Service was excellent. Owner came by table and she's a hoot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent selection of wines by the glass. Nice outdoor area that is covered. Really delicious food as decent prices. Excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Lovely evening. We had a light meal and wine. Great wine selections.
Loved the live guitar music!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

A very-pleasant place. Food was quite good. Excellent wine list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Ate here for the first time with a friend before the opera. Enjoyed the wine list. Liked the eclectic menu. Our server was great. Will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Had a wonderful Tempranillo wine! The background music was nice but a little too loud. We had early reservations (4:00). It would've been nice if sandwiches were still available. (The cut-off time is 4:00.)

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Waitress seemed stressed out and short. That's all I have to say, food was good and served up hot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was outstanding and service was very pleasant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Healthy, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our go-to place for an exceptional wine list and great food. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wonderful menu with outstanding food beautifully prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Seared ahi tuna is beyond fabulous. Portions are generous. Piña Colada cake just plain yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was enjoyable. Dessert was delightful and guitarist was a very nice addition. Cozy atmosphere. Move large group table out of front dining room

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great find on a recent visit. The menu is eclectic so we went with the bartenders suggestion and opted for the summer prix-fixe menu. I'm glad we did. The brisket was smoky and delicious. My wife was equally pleased with the pork tenderloin medallions; moist, flavorful and nicely presented. Impressive wine list with a number of notable by the glass selections. Service by Emily was excellent. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Met friends at the restaurant after a concert. Soup special was fabulous and I loved my lamb kebobs. When we wanted to get a glass of wine to try before ordering a bottle, waitress gave us a taste then recommended a similar wine that was better and it was. Look forward to another opportunity to go their when visiting Santa Fe again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The first time I went here I loved it, but this time was so disappointing. The onion soup was cold and the Italian picnic was boring. The cheeses were cheap and lacked variety. The roasted garlic was cold and underdone. Service was good, but I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were attending a concert at the Lensic and picked this restaurant as it had good reviews and was within walking distance of the concert.

Both the service and the food were very, very good. They were very prompt in getting food to the table, and we found it delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Bruchetta was good, Big portions but the Food needs some work

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

One of our favorite Santa Fe restaurants! This time we attended a wine dinner - luscious foods paired with great wines - a fun experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I live in Santa Fe and took visiting family here for a nice evening meal. Great food and good service. My dish, the Euro-burger with truffles and brie, was amazing and cooked perfectly. All the salads were delightful and tasty with the right amount of dressing. The waitstaff was very friendly and responded happily to a few special diet requests. Great wine list. The dinning room has lovely intimate spaces including a back patio area. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 17, 2017

This restaurant keeps getting better. Last evening we had a superb dinner. The prix fixe (at $30) is a real bargain. Extensive wine list and a wide option of entrees, light fare and appetizer. Desserts are nothing special, but good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Went for dinner with friends. One vegetarian, one pescatarian among us. We all had a great meal and very nice wine selection. Great ambiance. Location is good- a bit outside of the plaza area so is quiet area with better parking options for evening dining. Staff is patient and courteous and very knowlegable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Nice atmosphere and good service, but the food was well below average. Entrees were uninspired and lacked any creativity or complexity. Overall they were bland and seemed "dated". My server was unable to come up with a nice full-bodied, fruit-forward red wine after 4 attempts. This is completely unacceptable for a "wine bar". Plus the wine was excessively overpriced. Dinner for two came out to $150 with tip, so I expected something much, much better. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Corn and crab dip was amazing. Salads were great. Seating was a bit cramped.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

convenient location, great food, excellent service, exceptional wine list- highly recommend! I will be back often.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This is the place to dine before attending the Santa Fe Opera (as we did), or another theatrical/musical/intellectual event in our interesting city. Four of us enjoyed a glass of wine (I love their Spanish Albariño). We dined on delicious salads (steak/bay seasoned shrimp) and had a comfortable and quiet corner table. Getting there at 5 meant we were the first ones and had superb and friendly service by Alana(?...sorry). Tables filled up as we left, in time for our prelude lecture at the Opera and a relaxed and beautiful evening, so magical in summer Santa Fe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Very comfortable, intimate atmosphere. Nice little outside covered porch for outdoor dining. Quiet for good conversation. Service a little inattentive on this visit.... I have always enjoyed the food. Large light menu choices as well as heartier fare.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Good service but mediocre food. Odd, herbal tasting onion soup. Bruschetta comprised of tomato sauce with melted cheese, no basil and couldn't taste any balsamico. Wedge salad came with salad dressing comprised of blue cheese mixed into mayonnaise. Overall, very disappointed with a restaurant that was rated so well. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.