Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Saturday: 11:30 AM - 9:00PM
Sunday : 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: (505) 438-2877

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (48)
Good for a Date (35)
Creative Cuisine (31)
See All
Casual (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Romantic (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (12)
Healthy (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Live Music (10)
Seasonal (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Tapas (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Organic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
789 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

My husband and I were looking for a more eclectic restaurant than Santa Fe usually offers (spouse does not care for southwestern flavors/spices). We visited on a Saturday. I had made reservations via opentable and we were seated right at the entrance in what was a very long window booth with three tables fairly close to one another. The wait staff was attentive and helpful. The menu indicates that they do not provide bread or water except by request FYI. The menu offered a lot of variety and several vegetarian choices. My spouse got the chicken pot pie (prix fixe with soup and dessert) and I got a mustard salmon dish. The french onion soup was exceptional, and they brought him a bowl by request and did not charge extra. We both enjoyed our entrees, I will say I thought mine was more "special" than his, with a delicious mustard sauce and grilled polenta. Both of us cleaned our plates, with portions generous but not insanely huge. The one slight disappointment was the dessert of apple tart, which was described as warm but came straight from the refrigerator. It was good, but not remarkable.

One note about seating. We were exhausted after a day in Taos and were fairly quiet. The seating was rather close together and we could clearly hear conversations from the table next to ours AND the table next to them. They were interesting people (isn't everyone in santa fe?) and while we enjoyed the guilty pleasure of overhearing their light, impersonal conversations about travel, it might not be the place to sit if you want to talk personal or private business. The other rooms seemed to have more spaced apart seating.

The food was delicious and more reasonable than many of the other places we went. While I'm sure it is known for its huge wine list, we didn't partake so I can't comment on that.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Went to this restaurant for the second time and was just as special as last year. Had barramundi and it was terrific. Great service and good wine suggestions. Also they have all price points with wine sorted by price points

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We were on vacation in Santa Fe and found this wonderful restaurant on the internet. Could not have been more perfect. If you get there before 6pm they have a happy hour that lets you select from a list of many many great wines by the glass for just 6$ a glass.

It has the best wine selection we had seen from our trip through the Southwest. And that should not take away from the food that was creative and delicious .

A lovely gem of a bistro across the street from Georgia O’Keeffe Museum in Santa Fe.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

In a nutshell, this dining experience was as close to perfect as any that I have experienced. The only down side was my choice in tables! The menu was creative and our meals were properly prepared and delivered. The wine list was well done and reasonably priced. Service was pleasant, attentive but not overbearing. Thank you Terra Cotta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 17, 2017

We had a lunch and a dinner here while we were in Santa Fe. Both times were wonderful! Excellent food and service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Our server was great, the food was terrific, and to our surprise there was a wonderful musician there who plays guitar and sings on Tuesdays and Thursdays! We celebrated our anniversary and it couldn’t have been more special!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This was my second visit to Terra Cotta. I returned because of the wonderful food, extensive wine list, and the atmosphere of cozy dining in an old home. I had the fire-roasted red pepper stuffed with quinoa, carrots, and chickpeas, and topped with preserved lemon coulis, served with roasted vegetables. I will be back again on a future visit to Santa Fe.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

We were looking forward to this dinner based on other reviews and we were not disappointed. Good food, great wine selections. It was quiet enough for table conversation. A real pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Terra Cotta was recommended by a friend and it didn't disappoint. Out of the way spot in Santa Fe that seemed to be mostly locals. Great wine list and interesting menu. We will be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We chose this place for the wine, food and ambiance. We wanted a nice meal and the ability to have a conversation and this was perfect. Great wine list, delicious food, excellent service. An enjoyable night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were on vacation in Santa FE, NM and looking for a menu that offered meat and vegan options and assorted salads with wine options in the mix. Our dishes, fish entree and New Mexican flank steak on a field of greens were "requisimo." We were so impressed that we chose to dine again on our last day in SF;-). We will return and the proprietors, Catherine and Glenda will welcome U with their southwest charm!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We were seated at a table in the front room by the bar. Very tight and not so comfortable. Waitress was very nice, as were the owners. Food was fair.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Good food, beautiful presentation, great desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 5, 2017

From the moment we walked in the service was perfect. Food was delicious. Great place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had a fantastic meal and got to bask in the attention of the proprietresses who regularly check in on you with genuine concern and lively conversation as to making sure your total experience at Terra Cotta is exceptional. It was and has always been... Exceptional. Cheers!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Excellent food. We where in Santa Fe for 6 days and had dinner here three of the nights.
Customer service level great. Met the owner and chef they came out and mingled with the tables.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Our monthly ladies luncheon was here and we all liked it a lot. Great wait staff, great wine and food. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was excellent. Service great. The owner took time to stop by table and talk with us about the food. Going back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Great find in a secluded spot in Santa Fe. Generous portions of delicious food. Encyclopedic wine menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Had a Marvelous meal! The experience was made better because of the large $6 special for many of the wines! We do not live in Santa Fe, but would definitely visit again during a future visit... Do yourself a favor and give these folks a try!!

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

My sisters and I had both a lunch and, because that was such a pleasant experience, dinner at Terra Cotta. The food is fresh and tasty and the wine list is terrific. I had the grilled salmon with country style mustard and it was perfectly prepared and a generous serving. Very nice restaurant and a bit off the busy, beaten path in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great pork schnitzel and pork loin. Watermelon salad was shareable for a starter. Fabulous wine selection.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great get together in Santa Fe
- great food
- great atmosphere
Book reservation

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Location, food, service and ambience was great! Just thought the meal was overpriced. Ordered the lamb and, although,delicious, very small portion for $22 . I felt I could get the same portion or more at a Greek diner for a lot less. Cost of a glass of wine in Santa Fe is ridiculously overpriced. Enjoyed eating outside in covered patio. The classical guitarist playing inside was a great touch: wish we could have heard him better sitting outside. Key lime pie delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We loved this place! The owner chef was especially friendly and the food was excellent. Not one of those 50 page menus but the evening's choices were diverse and creative. A foodie destination where you might see a star! We will return the next time we are in Santa Fe.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Delicious, clean, well-prepared food. Everything we all had was great. Very good service.Very nice decor. Real Baltimore crab-cakes, authentically prepared. Chef is experienced and cares about the food she cooks.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We arrived before 6pm so we got the 1/2 price wine special for any wines $11 and under. The food tasted great as well as the wine! They have a really cute covered outdoor patio. Service was friendly and prompt. I would definitely recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was our second trip to TerraCotta Wine Bistro and we love it! The vibe is homey and romantic and the food is delicious. We live in Denver but travel often to Santa Fe and will try to make a stop here one of our traditions. We met the chef/owner and she was great. She talked to us about the history of the building, the ghosts of Santa Fe and her journey to this business. We always feel welcomed, the wine list is inspiring and the staff is courteous, knowledgeable and warm. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My husband and I had dinner here our first night in town. It's across the street from the G. O'Keefe Museum. We sat in the back patio area where there was smooth jazz playing and a nice enclosed courtyard feel. I had cold corn/red pepper soup (excellent), pork tenderloin and key lime pie; my husband had the casa salad with pomegrante dressing (the best I've ever had), ratatouille(sp) and key lime pie. Service was great...food delicious, and a nice ambiance and introduction to town. It's a few blocks from the Plaza, so not too far to walk to from anywhere near the Plaza.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Overall, Terra Cotta did not disappoint. Service was great, the food was good and the wine list was impressive. Maybe a bit pricey, but it's downtown Santa Fe and I know the rents are ridiculous. I will surely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

LOVED our experience at TerraCotta Wine Bistro! Wonderful, friendly staff...met Katherine the owner. Katherine is invested 150%. She delivered our meal, filled us in on some of her background and was a gracious host. BEST French Onion Soup! Great fresh food, great presentation, great menu and priced just right!!! Great location, just busy enough! Extensive wine list. Can't wait to go back! Hidden gem💓

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This occasion was a full five star for us. The food was superb and our service was excellent. We will definitely return soon. We live in a city with many restaurants and some very good ones but this meal was one of the best we have had in quite a while.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The bruschetta are excellent, as are the seasonal crab cakes !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 27, 2017

It was our first visit to Terra Cotta. We were having an early "pre-concert" dinner. What drew me to the restaurant was the Schnitzel on the menu. Hard to find Schnitzel on anybody's menu in New Mexico. We were seated immediately in a pleasant room off an atrium, were well-attended by the waitress, she was very knowledgeable about the winelist, and the food was very very good. I had my schnitzel, with homemade red cabbage and potato salad - we were in an out in plenty of time for the show. An excellent find. We will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Nice and good food. We enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Service was excellent. Pacing great. The split of appetizers was very well done. We sat on the patio under a large tent. Cocktails were hearty and well presented. Simple fare well presented

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Wonderful food, nice wine list, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Very nice place. Excellent wine-by-the-glass selection. The crab and corn dip was to die for!! I will be back...

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 21, 2017

TerraCotta surpassed my expectations. It was our first time here, even though we live in Santa Fe. The food was excellent, the presentation was fabulous and we just loved the atmosphere. We are already trying to find a time to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great spot for tapas inSanta Fe. Nice atmosphere, friendly owners, great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.