About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday : 11: 30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 11: 30 AM - 10: 00 PM
Sunday : 4 : 00 PM - 9 : 00 PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: 5054382877x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Great for Lunch
Santa Fe / Mountains
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
2 More
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

neighborhood gem (57)
notable wine list (56)
fit for foodies (52)
See All
great for lunch (36)
special occasion (33)
romantic (33)
great for outdoor dining (13)
good for groups (8)
great for brunch (7)
hot spot (4)
 (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent lunch! The chicken salad was g ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent lunch! The chicken salad was great, as always, as were the bruschetta. Everything was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I got a last minute reservation for dinn ...

Dined 6 days ago

I got a last minute reservation for dinner while briefly in Santa Fe as a prelude to a trip to Colorado. Service and food were both excellent. I ate out on the patio; it was warm, quiet, and congenial. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We bring groups to Santa Fe and stumbled ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

We bring groups to Santa Fe and stumbled upon Terra Cotta on a scouting trip. We visited it every year and I'll pop in when I'm in town just for fun. The service and food are fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Perfect shared plate

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We stopped in for a glass of wine & appetizers before an event at the Museum of New Mexico. It was just perfect. We shared bruschetta wi blue cheese w pear , chicken liver, salmon with boursin, goat cheese w roasted garlic and tomato. Lovely to find all wine by the glass under $12 was only $6 before 6PM.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good value

Dined on May 21, 2016

While this restaurant may not be a gourmet's delight, the food is good but not great, it is a fun restaurant with a very friendly staff and colorful setting. And the prices are very reasonable. I'd definitely go back the next time I'm in Santa Fe.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Lettuce in the salads was limp, the flav ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Lettuce in the salads was limp, the flavor was not pleasing in the pear salad and the salmon salad was mediocre. Used to love this place. Not so sure now

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected gem -- great food and intrigu ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Unexpected gem -- great food and intriguing room arrangement of small rooms and bar. So quiet plus guitarist

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food at great value. Perfect for t ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Good food at great value. Perfect for two or small group. Friendly service and an evening to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Large portions at a reasonable price. De ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Large portions at a reasonable price. Delicious food. Interesting and friendly staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good eats, casual feel

Dined on May 13, 2016

Presentation of food was nice, lamb kebab very good (would have preferred basmati rice on the side) all in all flavorful. Atmosphere was a mix of business crowd, locals, and out of town people, cool spot for all.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner there on May 11. We arrive ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had dinner there on May 11. We arrived a few minutes before 6:00 p.m., just in time for the $6 per glass wine special. Great choices of wine; discovered a new Burgundy. One of us had the Imperial Shrimp Special and one had the filet of sole. Both were superb. We sat in the back room, which is less noisy than the front room because it seats fewer diners, and it has no big group tables. The background music throughout was from a live musician playing soft guitar. Our server was exceptional. Treated us like she had been waiting for us all day. Good conversalionalist, but only when asked about food or local scene. Will go back for sure. Oh, as is usual in Santa Fe, parking can be a challenge, but it's worth the effort.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is attentive without being i ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The service is attentive without being intrusive. This is our second time dining at Terra Cotta and we had the same waitress both times. She is delightful and very helpful with menu choices. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not worth it!

Dined on May 9, 2016

I ordered the pork schnitzel and it was tough and a bit thick for schnitzel. The red cabbage was good but for the price it was not worth it.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

What a cute place❣I would have loved to ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

What a cute place❣I would have loved to sit outside... Unfortunately the weather did not permit.. I loved the organic wine and the crab-filled shrimp❣Perfect place for wine tasting with the girls❣🍷🍷🍷

food2
ambience4
service4

Promise Margarine instead of Butter? Ine ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Promise Margarine instead of Butter? Inedible Bread? Tasteless Fish? Stale Dessert? No, Merci.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food and nice ambiance

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very good food and nice ambiance; one of the few places in Santa Fe which offers a varied menu with an excellent assortment of entrees at varying prices. Food is consistently good. Service is pleasant. Especially nice when the guitarist is playing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A real gem

Dined on May 7, 2016

We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The wait staff was excellent and the food was yummy

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good place for wine tasting

Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I selected this restaurant after walking by and reading their menu on the door. They were offering 1/2 price glasses of wine for the first hour they were open on a Sunday. They have an extensive selection of wines. They also have a very nice menu. Upon our arrival we were able to select from many available tables and enjoyed a seat in the corner. The décor of the restaurant is very appealing and I was very drawn to the original art work in the dining room. Our server was fabulous and gave us all the time we needed for enjoying wine and appetizers before ordering and bringing our entrees. Wonderful experience in Santa Fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Creative menu items

Dined on April 30, 2016

We found the TerraCotta to have interesting menu choices, an extensive wine list and a very amiable staff. We had good conversations with the hostess from France, the owner, Kathleen, and a local couple at the next table. The atmosphere seems to encourage conversation and interaction with other diners and the staff and we had a wonderful time as well as very good food. We could tell TerraCotta was a find because of the number of locals eating there.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great place! I always find somet ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Such a great place! I always find something new to try on the menu. Love it all.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Atmosphere charming - food a disappointment

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

My husband and I were excited by the reviews and the ambiance. Enjoyed the background guitar player. We found the food lackluster. I ordered the lamb kebab and found both the hummus and quinoa/pea side dishes absolutely flavorless. Heard them 86 one of the prix fixe desserts because another diner complained it was too dry. Come here to sample the wine, but save your dining dollars for another place.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Convenient, cozy, great wine selection, good food

Dined on April 18, 2016

What more can I say than what I covered in the title! I was looking for a decent restaurant for a business lunch, within walking distance of the Eldorado Hotel where my guests and I were attending a conference. The Terra Cotta Wine Bar was a home run - a quick walk (maybe 3-4 minutes), warm soup on a cold day, a surprisingly diverse menu and a great wine list. Quiet enough for a business lunch, small without feeling crowded. Special requests graciously accommodated. I would (and already have) recommended this place to friends and business associates.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great casual dinner

Dined on April 10, 2016

Needed a place close to the Symphony with reasonable prices. This was perfect. First the $6 before 6 o'clock wine was a treat with some really good choices. We loved the small plates to share with a delightful variety-something to please each of us. Very nice ambiance and service. We enjoyed every bite and every sip. Will definitely go again (in fact going to try lunch tomorrow.)

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

always solid

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

terracotta is such a gem. always cozy and welcoming. fantastic wine list ranging from the $20s and up. food has a fun southern twist with good seasonal specials. my fiance and i love coming here when we are in santa fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

OMG!!!!!

Dined on April 7, 2016

We have been to TC in past, lunches and a few dinners, so when I received an email with an announcement for their wine dinner, we decided to attend and also treat a friend for her birthday. We have always enjoyed the food there so we were prepared to, at the very least, have a good meal. It was, hands-down, by far, one of the best dinners we've ever had - EVER! Everything was superb. The vichyssoise was absolutely delicious. The second course of Cobia with snap peas was out of this world. The Duck - OMG! Succulent, tender, and paired perfectly with some kind of sauce. Five star all the way. Now add the wine with it all - the crew at Terra Cotta out did themselves. The wine selections were pitch perfect with each course. Spot on. One last rave on TC - the service was GREAT! Friendly and attentive, they were grace under fire as they cleared glassware and plates in preparation for the next course. While the seating was a bit tight, the company was worth it. Terra Cotta, kudos to the chef, servers and owners, and thank you for an absolutely wonderful meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. There was a ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. There was a extremely loud party in the next room. The staff were very kind (comped our drink) due to the loud and obnoxious party. Not the fault of the restaurant - they were very attentive!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always very good food. Reliable. Pleas ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Always very good food. Reliable. Pleasant atmosphere, enjoyable a great local restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All time favorite, varied menu offerings

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

A group of friends met before going to the ballet. The menu is perfect for such a group. Brushettas in about 8 or more variations are great for sharing. Also the mezze plate and the cheese plate. Excellent happy hour prices on glasses of wine before 6 pm. Always something for any taste and budget. Extensive wine list, too.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm new to Santa fe and had read such go ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I'm new to Santa fe and had read such good reviews on Terra Cotta that when I had a good friend visiting from Tucson, it was my first pick, It did not disappoint us - everything was fabulous. I will be back! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesomeness!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was great, service was great, the chef was funny and skilled! Had a wonderful Saturday evening dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and service knowledga ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Food was excellent and service knowledgable and gracious. Good wine list also. Lively guitarist on night we were there.

food2
ambience3
service4

We enjoyed this place very much last yea ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

We enjoyed this place very much last year but we're sorely disappointed this year. They were out of the wine we ordered, out of a entree we wished to have and the second selection we ordered, a grilled fish was dripping w grease. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was superb. Highly recommend the filet Mignon or flank steak. Excellent wine selection. The service was perfect as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Mediterranean style Chilean Sea Bass pre ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Mediterranean style Chilean Sea Bass preparation with roasted vegetables was outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great.

Dined on March 18, 2016

We were a group of 9.....great service, great food, great time.....separate checks, which was appreciated! Following lunch we walked to the O'Keefe museum......perfect afternoon.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great restaurant. We had a large table o ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Great restaurant. We had a large table of 8 with 3 kids and had s great time and great meal! Highly recommend it.

food3
ambience3
service2

Not our best experience at TerraCotta. ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Not our best experience at TerraCotta. We found the waiter Adam fairly annoying... way too talky, commenting on everything we ordered, slow on delivering water, had to be reminded to bring our appetizer which arrived after our salads and soups. Food was alright but not as good as previous visits. Makes us wonder if there's been a change in the kitchen.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Don't let the parking dissuade you

Dined on March 15, 2016

Despite the challenges involved in parking, the food is worth the effort. The Prix Fixe menu provided excellent fare at a VERY reasonable price. Of course, our guests could not resist the signature fried chicken, grits, and greens. Always fabulous. Always tempting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service3

Great wine list. Loved the bruschetta ap ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great wine list. Loved the bruschetta appetizer, but we were disappointed with the Fried Chicken with collard greens & grits, despite it being recommended by our server.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful evening

Dined on March 9, 2016

We were there on a Tuesday for no special reason other than we wanted to dine with a friend. As is our experience at TerraCotta, the service was surpassed only by the food. Plus there was a guitarist who was very talented and kept his music low so we could easily converse and still hear the music in the background.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.