About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday : 11: 30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 11: 30 AM - 10: 00 PM
Sunday : 4 : 00 PM - 9 : 00 PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: 5054382877x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Notable Wine List (73)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Fit for Foodies (58)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Groups (12)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very good. The chef came ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very good. The chef came out personally to discuss the menu and make suggestions. The wait staff was also very helpful. Prices were reasonable and portions were a good size. It was a very pleasant meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely wonderful service. Quality o ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Absolutely wonderful service. Quality of the food is exceptional. Wine list is amazing. Our waitress made great wine recommendations and helped with food questions. We took good friends for their first time and they and we can't wait to return. Best of all, even though it was Wine and Chile time in Santa Fe, we were able to make reservations and enjoy a leisurely meal. Another note is seating allows guests to meet other guests and share stories. It was a very enjoyable evening. Nice to see the owners personally greeting guests and checking on all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pecan dessert was advertised with carame ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

pecan dessert was advertised with caramel ice cream--had white topping and was served cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Just an amazing experience. The staff, f ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Just an amazing experience. The staff, food...everything made it an enjoyable night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third visit and consistently very good f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Third visit and consistently very good food, service and atmosphere.

Will come again when back in SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our third time here. We live in AZ. L ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our third time here. We live in AZ. Love the atmosphere, great food, good service. Will always go when in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely great pork schnitzel! House m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Absolutely great pork schnitzel! House made corned beef to die for. Nice wine by the glass selection too. We're sold and we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a delicious dinner of high qualit ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had a delicious dinner of high quality, tasty, fresh and interesting food. Service is quite fast. The wine list is comprehensive. We enjoyed the food so much, we returned 3 nights later for a second excellent dinner. The beef brisket and watermelon salad are both memorable. Our neighboring table had the mezze platter and the fish fry. Both look fabulous. Next time...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a good dinner at TerraCotta. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a good dinner at TerraCotta. The poke starter was outstanding! Steer clear of the crab cakes...overcooked and meh. The service was wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing intimate cafe with varied afford ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing intimate cafe with varied affordable wine list. Great selection of tasty, delectable bruschettas. Crab cakes & roasted vegetables were a highlight of dining experience. Most important---staff was super friendly and professional. Wish we lived in Santa Fe as we'd be regulars.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous menu! Chef Kate is a kick! Wou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fabulous menu! Chef Kate is a kick! Would highly recommend this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great and the service is gre ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food is great and the service is great. This restaurant has become one of our favorites in Santa Fe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very pleasant lunch. Waitress was atten ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very pleasant lunch. Waitress was attentive. One member of our party found the meat to be cooked not to her liking and requested that it be cooked further, the waitress cheerfully returned it to the kitchen. When the plate was returned, the meat in question had been totally replaced with a new portion which was cooked to perfection. Parking near the restaurant is problematic, though not really their fault. It's just Santa Fe!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing food. The French Onion Sou ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Disappointing food. The French Onion Soup lacked flavor. The crab cake had a lot of filler in it and not much crab. The chicken breast totally lacked flavor considering it had supposedly been marinated. The wine was very good and stored at the correct temperature. The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great menu selections. Food was excelle ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great menu selections. Food was excellent, as it has been every time we've eaten there. Server attentiveness could have been a bit better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe and we are locals. The chef always has an interesting menu full of variety and great choices, while maintaining a few "standard items" we are always glad to revisit. The fish is extremely fresh and never overpowered by the sauce/seasoning... a real treat in land-locked New Mexico!

They also have the best wine list in Santa Fe! If you can't find a bottle of great wine at any price level here, you should probably be drinking beer! By the way, the beer list is practically nonexistent. If I had a wish it would be that they would add a few good local craft beers, but really, you come here for the food, and that's the way it should be.

In warm weather there are outdoor seating options. Inside can accommodate groups as well as several cozy tables for two or four. We love the handful of tables in front across from the bar. We've also enjoyed live music during the week, not every night, but a pleasure when they do.

I'm always surprised this restaurant isn't always packed. It should be!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was recommended by our c ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by our concierge. Outstanding service and creative menu. Our server, Emily went above and beyond to make sure the two of us had an outstanding dining experience. She was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the wine list and made great recommendations from the features page to compliment the food. The Sancerre and Salmon was perfect I highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I am 68 years old and was shoved in a co ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I am 68 years old and was shoved in a corner with a booth seat when table seats were available. Stayed until closing time when these tables were never occupied. Food mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food. Good service. Can't wait to ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Good food. Good service. Can't wait to try my next new favorite. Terra Cotta doesn't disappoint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

The hostess was a bit rude. The server ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The hostess was a bit rude. The server was lovely, but unfortunately, she did not make up for the dryness of the food or the prices.

This was mediocre at best, and I would not recommend this restaurant to my friends and family. As my father used to say, "the food was dryer than the stomach of a camel in a 2 week trek in the Sahara".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

One of my favorite places in Santa Fe! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

One of my favorite places in Santa Fe! Great menu and lots of options depending on your appetite. Wonderful ambience...love the southwestern atmosphere...great building...I could sit there for hours! Very nice staff as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good meal at a fair price. The ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a good meal at a fair price. The server was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We usually have at least one meal at thi ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We usually have at least one meal at this restaurant while we are visiting Santa Fe. This year was just ok and not as good as previous years. We will go back because it could have been an off night for them. Nice restaurant with good selection and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Everyone was very friendly. All 3 of the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everyone was very friendly. All 3 of the owners visited our table at one time or another to make sure we happy.

The menu had a good variety and everything the 4 of us had was outstanding. Will definitely return there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved it. The owner went above and be ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We loved it. The owner went above and beyond good customer service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a family group of five for drinks ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I took a family group of five for drinks and dinner. We were greeted warmly, led to a table directly beside the music which was quiet and unobtrusive, the perfect background for conversation. A waitress was with us instantly, knowledgeable regarding wine, menu, specials. We didn't have long to wait but we weren't rushed either -- there was a great rhythm to the entire experience. It was our first visit to TerraCotta and we will definitely be going back, separately and together.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, nice people. You must try t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food, nice people. You must try the Key Lime Pie!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We both had the beef tenderloin, and it ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We both had the beef tenderloin, and it was cooked perfect. Great service, great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Plus - My salad with salmon & mustard sa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Plus - My salad with salmon & mustard sauce was pretty good. Salmon cooked nicely, but too much sauce overwhelmed the fish.

Minus - My wife's chicken salad was bland, tasteless, poor in texture, almost inedible. This was not chicken on a salad, but cubed chicken salad.

Nice wine list and decent attentive service could not compensate for food quality.

Find a better option for your meal.

We did at La Posada's Julia - outdoors.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We both had soup and salad. The French o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We both had soup and salad. The French onion soup was unusual with the addition of tomatoes. They added an interesting fillip to an old favorite. The watermelon, kale and feta cheese salad was refreshing and had interesting textures. The shrimp salad was luscious and dense with shrimp. We will definitely go back the next we are in Santa Fe.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ritz crackers. That's the equivalent of ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Ritz crackers. That's the equivalent of what came with our cheese plate. To boot, our waitress told us she put the wine closer to us so we could self pour. She never checked in us at all. Or poured wine at all. We finally asked for bread with the cheese plate. They don't give French bread....only pillowy warm ciabatta bread. On request. When I bought up service and food disappointment issues with the OWNERS they said they'd fix things on the bill. We got $8 off and never saw the owners again. Super disappointing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Though we liked look of inside we sat ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Though we liked look of inside we sat outside. The server was very sweet and great. Happy hour was nice way to enjoy great wine for less, we appreciate that. The wine from Lodi was incredible, when she said "a rich, leather taste" myself and guest was sold. I had the flank steak, with veggies since I can not eat potatoes or rice, that was awesome. The kale watermelon salad I split with my husband was very good too, healthy and yummy meal. Not much parking though, we needed our car because we were off to Opera after dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bruschetta was a unique appetizer. C ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The bruschetta was a unique appetizer. Choice of four kinds. The one wine out of the list that we chose, they ran out of "the night before." They also ran out of the mozzarella. What? It's Italian. Make some more.

The menu was bland. Nothing special. Too many other great restaurants in Santa Fe to waste time at this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

This is currently my Santa Fe dinner fav ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is currently my Santa Fe dinner favorite due to wine list, attentive service, and quality food at a fair price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We are here last year and returned durin ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We are here last year and returned during our girls trip this year. The food was amazing and the service was spectacular. We had the salmon again and it was just as amazing as we remembered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arrived early for our reservation and a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Arrived early for our reservation and a table was ready for us. I could see the patio and enjoyed watching a group of 20 people celebrate a friend's birthday.

The food and wine selections were excellent and made it easy to order a meal that was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambiance, excellent service, , ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, excellent service, , good wine selection, food is okay, We recommend Terra Cotta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant, so it didn't oc ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We love this restaurant, so it didn't occur to us not to go over Spanish Market weekend. We were rather disappointed with the entire experience, starting with waiting 15 minutes to see our waitress before we could even order our wine. She had waited on us in the past, but this night she was completely overwhelmed and it took more than 30 minutes to finally order our meal. Again, we have been here often, so we know that this is a restaurant that knows how to make a good meal, but it wasn't on this night. We're chalking it up to being too busy and not being able to produce the quality meals we know they can make. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I had the Salade Nicoise. The tuna was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I had the Salade Nicoise. The tuna was great. The potatoes were roasted, rather than boiled, which I didn't care for. The green beans were so cold I thought they may have been slightly frozen, or had been on ice and a bit of ice was plated with them. I prefer a more traditional nicoise with boiled new potatoes and crisp, squeaky green beans. I can't recall whether or not there were tomatoes, so I guess if there were, they were unremarkable. I also had the fresh borscht, which the addition of a bit of chopped cukes in greek yogurt made very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

TerraCotta was probably my favorite meal ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

TerraCotta was probably my favorite meal out while visiting Santa Fe. They were having a particularly quiet night (Santa Fe was actually pretty quiet the entire week we were there) and we had the front area by the bar pretty much to ourselves. When we arrived (7:30 reservation, I believe) there was a guitarist playing...unfortunately he stopped at 8, so we didn't get to enjoy him for too long. For starters we had the bruschetta plate. You get to choose 4 of them for your $16 so we chose the fig, goat cheese, standard mozzarella and the artichoke. You get two slices of each (one large slice cut in half). It was a great appetizer for my husband and I. After eating that, I was not overly hungry and opted to get the Baltimore Crab Cakes. You can just get one...which was nice and large and thick. Along with the carrot slaw and veggies (I replaced the sweet potato fries), it was plenty to complete my meal and was absolutely delicious...lots of crab and little filler; cooked perfectly and the carrot slaw, something I had never had and now will try to recreate in my own kitchen!) was wonderful as a side. My husband had a special for the night -- a fish dish I can't recall but do remember he enjoyed it. No room for dessert for us...but the choices looked great. AND if you are watching your $$, they have a prix fixe menu with a few choices to give you a complete meal for $30/person... Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.