Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday : 11: 30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 11: 30 AM - 9: 00 PM
Sunday : 4 : 00 PM - 9 : 00 PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: (505) 438-2877

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (34)
Cozy (34)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Casual (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Healthy (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Authentic (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (8)
Live Music (8)
Historic (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Fun (5)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Organic (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Phenomenal apple Gorgonzola pecan salad and crabcakes

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Quaint​ outside seating, gorgeous Flowers, good wine list, nice choice of small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

We had such a wonderful anniversary dinner here. Crab dip and bruschetta was delicious. Waitress knowledgeable on wine menu with great selection. Decent prices. Comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

The Cheese Platter opener was just right for 4 to share. Lovely selection of cheeses hit the spot.
Entrees happily received by everyone who, by the well, polished off their food quite nicely.
Clearly multiple return visits in the future to sample all the great menu items are in the plan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

We chose to come back after a wonderful experience the year before.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great place, friendly staff, nice guitarist playing. We stayed a little longer after our meal because the atmosphere was so pleasant. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We (family group of 7) enjoyed the wine bistro immensely. The servers were very attentive and the food was attractively presented and very tasty. We ordered the perfect appetizers to accompany our wine (a Mediterranean plate, cheese and meats, along with roasted Japanese peppers). Superb! Nice cozy ambiance. My salmon was cooked perfectly to my taste and the seasoning and side dishes went along with it very pleasingly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Lovely ambiance, extensive wine list, excellent service. Food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The owners are caring and wanting the best for your dining experience. Our server was fabulous. The bruschetta was not as good as I hoped but my husband's lamb was delicious. The wine list and wine was over the top. Would go back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very delightful dinner with fine food, service and atmosphere. Good wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We love to find hidden gems that perhaps just the locals know about and Terracotta fit that to a T! Delicious salad that was spot on with the super sweet baby tomatoes and dressing. My husband had the pork schnitzel which he loved. I had the lamb kabob which had all the Mediterranean flavor you might expect and seemed to be homemade naan even. We were sad we did not allow time for dessert since I am sure it would have been outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Lovely small restaurant off the main downtown area but close enough. Wonderful service. Does not get noisy. Took my friend for her birthday lunch and we chose the prix fixe meal. The salad was exquisite and the fish and chips were good. The carrot cake was more like a carrot muffin and had been heated in a microwave as the edges had that toughness that microwaving baked goods bring. It was only okay. However, the rest of the meal was good, the service excellent, the ambience lovely and free parking, albeit not much parking available and it's on a street perpendicular to the restaurant. That's downtown Santa Fe though .

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our reservation was welcomed with a smile and a promise to be at our service--AND our waitress (Kyra) was especially attentive without being obtrusive. She was very knowledgeable about the wine selections and helped each of us to step out of our comfort zone to try a different choice. Amazingly tasty wine and entrée without breaking the bank. Being able to actually have a conversation while a subdued classic guitar player presented lovely choices of music was a TREAT. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Beautiful setting. Great happy hour wine choices and prices. Loved the house salad and crab cake. Service was excellent and unobtrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Very quaint restaurant only a short walk from the Plaza.

Food was good. Loved the salad with pomegranate vinaigrette. Barramundi was cooked well but personally prefer without the crispy skin so will request it that way next time. Also loved their version of carrot cake. Served warm and not too sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always enjoy dinner at Terra Cotta. The wait staff is knowledgeable and helpful and food was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good wines by the glass
Onion rings delicious
Busy restaurant so make reservations
Frequented by locals
Friendly staff

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We had a marvelous afternoon lunch on a recent visit. The cozy bar was a perfect retreat from the unseasonal weather. We didn't want to leave! Great wine recommendations, informed and unpretentious service by the bartender, Emily. She appeared to be the only staff member there and did a fine job taking care of us. The onion soup is outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My book group friends were in Santa Fe for the weekend and everyone enjoyed their dinners at Terra Cotta. The menu was varied so everyone was satisfied, and it was a nice change from all of the New Mex cuisine we'd been eating. The service was attentive and on target even though we were a large party. The restaurant accommodated a last minute change in the reservation time with no problem.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was my second visit to Terra-cotta, and find the service to be consistently good and the ambiance lovely. Our food this time was not quite as good--the cheese grits in particular were not only unremarkable but cold on the plate, and the Pork Schnitzel really just seemed like a breaded boneless pork chop.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have our annual meeting here with close friends for dinner before Easter. Wine and food amazing! Meeting the chef and her business partner were an extra treat.

You will love it!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Very extensive and reasonably priced wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Ate there for dinner, for the 2nd time in a month or so. Barramundi was exquisite. Nice wine list. several smallish seating areas which makes it quiet (unless there is a rowdy table, but that hasn't happened to us yet). Open from lunch through evening, 7 day. So a perfect place to go for a mid-afternoon or on a day when other restaurants in the area are closed.
Great staff. Professional, knowledgeable and responsive.
Parking isn't great. After hours, we park in the DO NOT PARK areas of neighboring closed businesses, but theoretically, any one of those could tow you. Otherwise, not that much meter parking close by but a fair amount in a short-walk distance or public paid parking in a bit further walk distance.
Back the next day for the brisket panini. Was unfamiliar with brisket, but very flavorful with some chili bite. Good homemade chips (although not my favorites...that's personal and I am picky)
Great wine selection. Lots by the glass too.
We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The place is over rated and the service wasn't what we were expecting for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Wow. One of the best. Cozy atmosphere with friendly and attentive servers. Very nice about sharing courses. Great guitarist the night we went also. Even the red wine was properly chilled. We had the clam chowder, grilled pear salad, flank steak and carrot cake. Everything was tops with a nice presentation. Very impressive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Onion rings to start were delicious as usual. Rice flour batter makes them light and not greasy. Planked salmon was a generous portion grilled perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Food was fine--nothing was great or exceptionally tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 3, 2017

They had some really good types of tapas, just needed a few twists to make the recipes work better. Oysters Rockefeller had way too much spinach no decernible hollandaise and very dry. Grilled artichokes needed to be steamed longer and left with a larger heart. We had a red and white wine flight. Not great, but that was our fault. We could of had glasses of wine we knew we would enjoy. Loved the place, and the staff and the onion rings!! Will go again, many things to try.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very nice, cozy atmosphere, interesting menu with lots of variety and excellent service.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great happy hour prices for quality and varied wines, mouth-watering appetizers, and delicious and flavorful entrées. Very personable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Large portions. Good food. The monte cristo sandwich was Stuffed with meat. The cup of onion soup was a large portion of soup. The $6 wines before 6pm were a good deal. Great service by Falisha.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The food was great. The service was great. The wine was great. The value would have been great, except....

Our table was cramped. My partner and I played kneesies the whole time jockeying for space. We were not comfortable for one minute of our meal. There were better tables available when we arrived, and there were better tables available when we left. Perhaps in snooty Santa Fe, we didn't make the cut for the better table.

The ambience was tense, creepy, disturbing, lifeless, and unprofessional. It reminded me of my experiences in gay bars in Topeka, where owners and workers griped at each other as we customers tried to enjoy ourselves, their family squabbles fought publicly. Then, the owners/managers showed off with their friends at a big table while the waitstaff looked like they'd been beaten. It was a train wreck. The piece de resistance was a musician knocking down a chair while he was carting his gear past our table.

A memorable experience, but for all the wrong reasons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Exceptional wine choices, varied food menu, great dining atmosphere

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Our first time to this restaurant, were very pleasantly surprised. The wine list was extensive, with a lot of by-the-glass and half bottle options. We enjoyed the food very much--nothing fancy (which is a nice break from many restaurants), but excellent quality ingredients and preparation. We had the lamb kebab and shepherd's pie, both of which were excellent. Next time would love to try the bruschetta, which the table next to us had ordered--looked very appetizing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 19, 2017

If you like a) takes reservations, b) quiet, c) excellent food, and d) good value, then you will like Terra Cotta.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Chose this restaurant because of it's variety of menue items and it's location. It far surpassed our expectations. Warm greeting, service was above and beyond and the food was amazing. The fresh salmon was one of the best meals I have had anywhere. The chicken dish was also delicious, a unique version of fried chicken.. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It is always good. It's our "local"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always enjoyable. Love the ambiance. Service is great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Never could figure out where to park but who cares:) The food was to die for and the extensive sorted by price wine list with a variety of wine flights is my kinda place. We had a couple tapas style plates and split the price fixed menu. That left room for dessert so we could try EVERYTHING and it was all terrific. The onion rings that are listed as notable seemed to be in a tempura batter and were good. The roasted garlic and olive plate was a perfect pairing with the bread. The Unusual Wine flight was what was recommended and my least favorite was the Californian but the Australian Shiraz and Spanish Grenache were wonderful! Starter soup was good and the pork chop was our least favorite-seemed a bit tough but the greens and grits served with it were AHMAZING! For dessert, we had cappuccino and espresso with homemade caramel ice cream which was a perfect topping for the Bourbon Pecan Pie. It was of a rich consistency-almost brownie like and you could taste a hint of the Bourbon-devine! Our server and the bus staff were on top of everything and not intrusive. We should have gone there for lunch the next day:)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a great time visiting Terra Cotta Wine bistro. Very nice place great service and the food was excelllent.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.