Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday : 11: 30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 11: 30 AM - 9: 00 PM
Sunday : 4 : 00 PM - 9 : 00 PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: (505) 438-2877

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (42)
Cozy (35)
Casual (34)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Special Occasion (22)
Healthy (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Authentic (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Live Music (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Historic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
686 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

The ambiance, service and food...all superb! The chef/owner introduced herself and we had a nice conversation. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

Very friendly staff, even cut a bouquet of roses for us to take home. Food was tasty and excellent menu options.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

Terracotta's food is very good, nicely served and fairly price. We've become regulars as the food is well prepared, the menu has many options and it's a pleasant setting. Highly recommended.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Terra Cotta was a wonderful find in Santa Fe. I highly recommend it. Excellent wine selection. Terrific food and wait staff.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 7, 2017

My first time dining here. Wife and I met friends. Kira is wonderful. She took good care of us and our friends. All was cooked as ordered and presented nicely and as evident by the plate cleaning we all liked our meals. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Music, solo guitarist, was relaxing and still allowed conversation. Nice ambiance. Good for date or just evening wine with snack. Extensive wines by the glass. Overall good experience and would dine here again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 5, 2017

One of our favorite Santa Fe restaurants - and that's saying a lot! Chef Catherine is so talented - turning fresh, local fare into delicious eats. But another reason I love this place is that they give SO MUCH back to their community. Just last night we attended a #Habitat for Humanity 'thank you' dinner for their Volunteers. Six donations, and the most generous was from #Terra Cotta Wine Bistro. Gotta love that combo. Go there!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great little place! When we went there was a guitar player which really set a great mood. The wine was great and the food was excellent. The pork tenderloin was cooked perfectly. Go. Enjoy!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We had three different meals and all were very good. We did have white wine and it wasn't very cold, though.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The food and service could not be better. Patrons are friendly also - we all loved talking about the food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was spot on and very tasty. Service was good. Our meal was a great value especially considering the quality and portion Of the food. Great wine selection. Excellent experience and will come back,

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Went twice for lunch. First time was not too busy and was great. Second time as busier and service and food quality suffered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Terracotta Wine Bistro is a quaint restaurant in Santa Fe with a European feel. The restaurant is very small, with two small indoor seating areas and two small outdoor areas. Inside is very warm, so outside is recommended. For our visit, we made reservations to sit outside on Open Table and were accommodated.

The food was okay but not wonderful. The mushroom and goat cheese bruschetta was good, as was the grilled pear and blue cheese. Presentation could have been better. The tortellini tasted store bought. The winner of the night was the salmon that was cooked perfectly as requested.

Service was friendly but missed some important details during our visit. First, one of the entrees was ordered without red peppers, something in which one of the patrons at the table was allergic. The waitress said this would not be a problem, but the order still came with red peppers, which caused an unsettling night after the meal. Second, our Open Table stated were we're celebrating a birthday. Nothing was mentioned by the waitress or staff of the celebration

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food and service. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 24, 2017

A local favorite going on many years, now. Quality of the food, the ambiance and the wine list are consistent and never disappoint. One of the very best options for a quiet, affordable meal in downtown Santa Fe.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Vegan, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We were delighted to find this superb Santa Fe restaurant after reading many reviews on Trip Advisor and talking to locals. The anniversary dinner was wonderful for the four of us -- wine list extensive and food (salmon) just delicious. Service was excellent and the guitar player in the other room played magnificently. We all agreed it was a special restaurant for a special dinner.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Phenomenal apple Gorgonzola pecan salad and crabcakes

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Quaint​ outside seating, gorgeous Flowers, good wine list, nice choice of small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had such a wonderful anniversary dinner here. Crab dip and bruschetta was delicious. Waitress knowledgeable on wine menu with great selection. Decent prices. Comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The Cheese Platter opener was just right for 4 to share. Lovely selection of cheeses hit the spot.
Entrees happily received by everyone who, by the well, polished off their food quite nicely.
Clearly multiple return visits in the future to sample all the great menu items are in the plan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We chose to come back after a wonderful experience the year before.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Wonderful food, service and great champagne too! Could not have found a better place to celebrate. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great place, friendly staff, nice guitarist playing. We stayed a little longer after our meal because the atmosphere was so pleasant. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We (family group of 7) enjoyed the wine bistro immensely. The servers were very attentive and the food was attractively presented and very tasty. We ordered the perfect appetizers to accompany our wine (a Mediterranean plate, cheese and meats, along with roasted Japanese peppers). Superb! Nice cozy ambiance. My salmon was cooked perfectly to my taste and the seasoning and side dishes went along with it very pleasingly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Lovely ambiance, extensive wine list, excellent service. Food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The owners are caring and wanting the best for your dining experience. Our server was fabulous. The bruschetta was not as good as I hoped but my husband's lamb was delicious. The wine list and wine was over the top. Would go back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very delightful dinner with fine food, service and atmosphere. Good wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We love to find hidden gems that perhaps just the locals know about and Terracotta fit that to a T! Delicious salad that was spot on with the super sweet baby tomatoes and dressing. My husband had the pork schnitzel which he loved. I had the lamb kabob which had all the Mediterranean flavor you might expect and seemed to be homemade naan even. We were sad we did not allow time for dessert since I am sure it would have been outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Lovely small restaurant off the main downtown area but close enough. Wonderful service. Does not get noisy. Took my friend for her birthday lunch and we chose the prix fixe meal. The salad was exquisite and the fish and chips were good. The carrot cake was more like a carrot muffin and had been heated in a microwave as the edges had that toughness that microwaving baked goods bring. It was only okay. However, the rest of the meal was good, the service excellent, the ambience lovely and free parking, albeit not much parking available and it's on a street perpendicular to the restaurant. That's downtown Santa Fe though .

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our reservation was welcomed with a smile and a promise to be at our service--AND our waitress (Kyra) was especially attentive without being obtrusive. She was very knowledgeable about the wine selections and helped each of us to step out of our comfort zone to try a different choice. Amazingly tasty wine and entrée without breaking the bank. Being able to actually have a conversation while a subdued classic guitar player presented lovely choices of music was a TREAT. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Beautiful setting. Great happy hour wine choices and prices. Loved the house salad and crab cake. Service was excellent and unobtrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Very quaint restaurant only a short walk from the Plaza.

Food was good. Loved the salad with pomegranate vinaigrette. Barramundi was cooked well but personally prefer without the crispy skin so will request it that way next time. Also loved their version of carrot cake. Served warm and not too sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always enjoy dinner at Terra Cotta. The wait staff is knowledgeable and helpful and food was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good wines by the glass
Onion rings delicious
Busy restaurant so make reservations
Frequented by locals
Friendly staff

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We had a marvelous afternoon lunch on a recent visit. The cozy bar was a perfect retreat from the unseasonal weather. We didn't want to leave! Great wine recommendations, informed and unpretentious service by the bartender, Emily. She appeared to be the only staff member there and did a fine job taking care of us. The onion soup is outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My book group friends were in Santa Fe for the weekend and everyone enjoyed their dinners at Terra Cotta. The menu was varied so everyone was satisfied, and it was a nice change from all of the New Mex cuisine we'd been eating. The service was attentive and on target even though we were a large party. The restaurant accommodated a last minute change in the reservation time with no problem.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was my second visit to Terra-cotta, and find the service to be consistently good and the ambiance lovely. Our food this time was not quite as good--the cheese grits in particular were not only unremarkable but cold on the plate, and the Pork Schnitzel really just seemed like a breaded boneless pork chop.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have our annual meeting here with close friends for dinner before Easter. Wine and food amazing! Meeting the chef and her business partner were an extra treat.

You will love it!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Very extensive and reasonably priced wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Ate there for dinner, for the 2nd time in a month or so. Barramundi was exquisite. Nice wine list. several smallish seating areas which makes it quiet (unless there is a rowdy table, but that hasn't happened to us yet). Open from lunch through evening, 7 day. So a perfect place to go for a mid-afternoon or on a day when other restaurants in the area are closed.
Great staff. Professional, knowledgeable and responsive.
Parking isn't great. After hours, we park in the DO NOT PARK areas of neighboring closed businesses, but theoretically, any one of those could tow you. Otherwise, not that much meter parking close by but a fair amount in a short-walk distance or public paid parking in a bit further walk distance.
Back the next day for the brisket panini. Was unfamiliar with brisket, but very flavorful with some chili bite. Good homemade chips (although not my favorites...that's personal and I am picky)
Great wine selection. Lots by the glass too.
We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The place is over rated and the service wasn't what we were expecting for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.