About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday : 11: 30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 11: 30 AM - 10: 00 PM
Sunday : 4 : 00 PM - 9 : 00 PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: 5054382877x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
2 More
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

notable wine list (58)
fit for foodies (53)
neighborhood gem (53)
See All
special occasion (32)
great for lunch (30)
romantic (29)
great for outdoor dining (25)
good for groups (9)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at this restaurant three times on ...

Dined 3 days ago

We ate at this restaurant three times on a recent visit to Santa Fe. It is really a gem and could rapidly become one of our favorite restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Extensive wine list, including wines by the glass. They have an interesting varied menu, everything from appetizers and salads to delicious entrees. The service is fast and excellent. The planked salmon was our favorite, either as an entree or as a salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant was pleasant find in San ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant was pleasant find in Santa Fe, thanks to trip advisor. Great food, great wine selection, and great value-especially relative to some of the other highly rated restaurants in town. Check it out- it will be on your list going forward.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We enjoyed our dinner at the Terre Cotta ...

Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner at the Terre Cotta wine bar very much. The quality of the food was excellent, the wine list was nicely done though the were out of the wine i selected. Our waiter was a a bit detached which might have been due to being busy or perhaps it was the end of a long day. I ordered the Salad Nicoise the menu listed roasted potatoes as an ingredient of the dish, when it arrived there were no potatoes. The tuna steak was beautifully cooked but the salad was a huge helping of spring greens with a tuna steak, green beans and a hard boiled egg. A bit of a let down considering how excellent the other items we had ordered were. We will return the next time we visit Sante Fe, as the positives certainly over ruled the quirks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Well the restaurant, the menu and the wi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Well the restaurant, the menu and the wine list are all good, based on the price, the restaurant did not live up to my expectations. Our waitress was aloof at best, her wine recommendations were not very good and even though I asked for my steak to be med. rare to rare, I got a steak that was med. rare to medium. When you are paying low $30's for a steak, it should be cooked just like I asked. Also, with the bread (which was very good), they served what they claim was olive oil, which at best was some type of vegetable oil.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My deconstructed wedge salad was a surpr ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My deconstructed wedge salad was a surprise, a pleasant one if you are not wedded to the concept of a wedge. In a way it summed up the rest of the meal, familiar platings, like fish and chips, where the "French fries" are round, waffle cut from fresh potatoes, lightly battered like the fish. Both were delicious but built each around a riff on the expected. Kinda fun. To bad our server was so serious, unlike th chef/owner (?) who visited our table who was engaged and entertaining.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff and the patio seating is pet f ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The staff and the patio seating is pet friendly, which is a big plus for us. My fish and spinach was perfectly prepared. The rice pilaf appeared to be Uncle Ben's, right out of the box. My husbands salad was prepared well although the shrimp was disappointing (frozen or Costco?).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

It was pricey, tuna appetizer was very g ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

It was pricey, tuna appetizer was very good, steak was overpriced and tasteless.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Terracotta was like visiting F ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Dining at Terracotta was like visiting France for the evening. The colorful roses in front are heavenly. The colorful interior is very cheerful and charming. The food was exquisite. We had the steak salad and the steak was cooked to perfection and the greens fresh from the farmers market. The wine list was comprehensive. The chef visited our table and was delightful. Always a treat to dine at Terracotta.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is s great restaurant anytime but p ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This is s great restaurant anytime but particularly special when the back patio is available for dinner. Quiet, charming and the same interesting and tasty food and perfect service.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped in for a late afternoon snack ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We stopped in for a late afternoon snack on a Saturday. The wine list is magnificent. The menu is simple but perfect for the setting -- unfussy, easy, done with flair, care and a sense of fun. It's the kind of place where you pick your wine first and then find the perfect foods to complement them. Given the weather and the time of year we picked a rose from their beautiful long list and paired it with the crostini platter -- two pieces each of four kinds, picked from a list of eight options. I suppose the salmon was the favorite, but seriously it was hard to choose that one above the mozzarella or the BLT or the brie with port & fig jam. We overheard the folks at the table behind us telling Glenda that they stop in every time they're in Santa Fe. We'll certainly do the same. On a personal note -- I rely mostly on a wheelchair, but can walk unsteadily a bit with a cane. As I got up from the table, I eased past Chef Catie who was chatting with folks nearby. Seeing my wobbliness she gently and firmly grasped my arm and walked me to the door, chatting amiably as we went as if we did this all the time. Her manner (as was Glenda's when she greeted us on our way in) was a fine blend of caring and good humor. The restaurant these two have made is a perfect reflection of their personalities and a wonderful place to spend some time.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and wine list

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great service and good food, coupled with a wonderful and lengthy wine list. We ate here twice on a recent Santa Fe visit and will go back next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably good and varied menu

Dined on June 4, 2016

Terracotta is reliably good and has a varied menu with fair pricing for Santa Fe. Very nice sitting outside. Wait staff is pleasant, food is nicely prepared and portions are generous.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will be back!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Met friends here before a concert and had a great experience. Charming place, friendly staff, good food, lots of wine choices, reasonable price. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dinner and Wine w/ Friends

Dined on May 30, 2016

We were in Santa Fe with another couple for the long weekend. After being disappointed the night before we were hoping for a great experience... and not disappointed. The menu was terrific and wine list varied with many reasonably priced choices. The setting was very relaxed and not the noisy fast paced places we seem to end up in where having a conversation is next to impossible. We will return and highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Fun find in Santa Fe

Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent and interesting wine list, and a good assortment of both small plates and main dishes. Its definitely a place for people who like to share food - so go for it! The wine list is diverse, and conveniently broken down by price point and type of wine. If you are looking for something outside the typical Southwestern fare, its a charming spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Early Dinner

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had an early dinner and arrived before our reservation. We asked where we should park and we were directed to the block over in spaces with their name on them. They welcomed our early arrival and we were promptly seated. We came with our 7o. While it's not a not-kid friendly there is no menu for kiddos and no pasta (the easy go-to for us). The menu selections were nice and the wine list was even nicer. The list was broken down into groups of $20 bottles, $30, $40 and so on. I appreciated that. Our server Anda was lovely and the wine and food were delicious. We were a party of 4 1/2 (the kiddo!). Tables are VERY close together and I don't blame them but sliding between your table and the next puts one very close to another's dinner and you really need to say something like "good evening", "would you like to dance" or something. A little awkward but our "neighbors" were friendly. I hope you enjoy this place also! Close to everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent lunch! The chicken salad was g ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent lunch! The chicken salad was great, as always, as were the bruschetta. Everything was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I got a last minute reservation for dinn ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

I got a last minute reservation for dinner while briefly in Santa Fe as a prelude to a trip to Colorado. Service and food were both excellent. I ate out on the patio; it was warm, quiet, and congenial. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We bring groups to Santa Fe and stumbled ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

We bring groups to Santa Fe and stumbled upon Terra Cotta on a scouting trip. We visited it every year and I'll pop in when I'm in town just for fun. The service and food are fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Perfect shared plate

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We stopped in for a glass of wine & appetizers before an event at the Museum of New Mexico. It was just perfect. We shared bruschetta wi blue cheese w pear , chicken liver, salmon with boursin, goat cheese w roasted garlic and tomato. Lovely to find all wine by the glass under $12 was only $6 before 6PM.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good value

Dined on May 21, 2016

While this restaurant may not be a gourmet's delight, the food is good but not great, it is a fun restaurant with a very friendly staff and colorful setting. And the prices are very reasonable. I'd definitely go back the next time I'm in Santa Fe.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Lettuce in the salads was limp, the flav ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Lettuce in the salads was limp, the flavor was not pleasing in the pear salad and the salmon salad was mediocre. Used to love this place. Not so sure now

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected gem -- great food and intrigu ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Unexpected gem -- great food and intriguing room arrangement of small rooms and bar. So quiet plus guitarist

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food at great value. Perfect for t ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Good food at great value. Perfect for two or small group. Friendly service and an evening to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Large portions at a reasonable price. De ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Large portions at a reasonable price. Delicious food. Interesting and friendly staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good eats, casual feel

Dined on May 13, 2016

Presentation of food was nice, lamb kebab very good (would have preferred basmati rice on the side) all in all flavorful. Atmosphere was a mix of business crowd, locals, and out of town people, cool spot for all.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner there on May 11. We arrive ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had dinner there on May 11. We arrived a few minutes before 6:00 p.m., just in time for the $6 per glass wine special. Great choices of wine; discovered a new Burgundy. One of us had the Imperial Shrimp Special and one had the filet of sole. Both were superb. We sat in the back room, which is less noisy than the front room because it seats fewer diners, and it has no big group tables. The background music throughout was from a live musician playing soft guitar. Our server was exceptional. Treated us like she had been waiting for us all day. Good conversalionalist, but only when asked about food or local scene. Will go back for sure. Oh, as is usual in Santa Fe, parking can be a challenge, but it's worth the effort.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is attentive without being i ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The service is attentive without being intrusive. This is our second time dining at Terra Cotta and we had the same waitress both times. She is delightful and very helpful with menu choices. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not worth it!

Dined on May 9, 2016

I ordered the pork schnitzel and it was tough and a bit thick for schnitzel. The red cabbage was good but for the price it was not worth it.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

What a cute place❣I would have loved to ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

What a cute place❣I would have loved to sit outside... Unfortunately the weather did not permit.. I loved the organic wine and the crab-filled shrimp❣Perfect place for wine tasting with the girls❣🍷🍷🍷

food2
ambience4
service4

Promise Margarine instead of Butter? Ine ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Promise Margarine instead of Butter? Inedible Bread? Tasteless Fish? Stale Dessert? No, Merci.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food and nice ambiance

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very good food and nice ambiance; one of the few places in Santa Fe which offers a varied menu with an excellent assortment of entrees at varying prices. Food is consistently good. Service is pleasant. Especially nice when the guitarist is playing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A real gem

Dined on May 7, 2016

We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The wait staff was excellent and the food was yummy

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good place for wine tasting

Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I selected this restaurant after walking by and reading their menu on the door. They were offering 1/2 price glasses of wine for the first hour they were open on a Sunday. They have an extensive selection of wines. They also have a very nice menu. Upon our arrival we were able to select from many available tables and enjoyed a seat in the corner. The décor of the restaurant is very appealing and I was very drawn to the original art work in the dining room. Our server was fabulous and gave us all the time we needed for enjoying wine and appetizers before ordering and bringing our entrees. Wonderful experience in Santa Fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Creative menu items

Dined on April 30, 2016

We found the TerraCotta to have interesting menu choices, an extensive wine list and a very amiable staff. We had good conversations with the hostess from France, the owner, Kathleen, and a local couple at the next table. The atmosphere seems to encourage conversation and interaction with other diners and the staff and we had a wonderful time as well as very good food. We could tell TerraCotta was a find because of the number of locals eating there.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great place! I always find somet ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Such a great place! I always find something new to try on the menu. Love it all.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Atmosphere charming - food a disappointment

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

My husband and I were excited by the reviews and the ambiance. Enjoyed the background guitar player. We found the food lackluster. I ordered the lamb kebab and found both the hummus and quinoa/pea side dishes absolutely flavorless. Heard them 86 one of the prix fixe desserts because another diner complained it was too dry. Come here to sample the wine, but save your dining dollars for another place.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Convenient, cozy, great wine selection, good food

Dined on April 18, 2016

What more can I say than what I covered in the title! I was looking for a decent restaurant for a business lunch, within walking distance of the Eldorado Hotel where my guests and I were attending a conference. The Terra Cotta Wine Bar was a home run - a quick walk (maybe 3-4 minutes), warm soup on a cold day, a surprisingly diverse menu and a great wine list. Quiet enough for a business lunch, small without feeling crowded. Special requests graciously accommodated. I would (and already have) recommended this place to friends and business associates.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great casual dinner

Dined on April 10, 2016

Needed a place close to the Symphony with reasonable prices. This was perfect. First the $6 before 6 o'clock wine was a treat with some really good choices. We loved the small plates to share with a delightful variety-something to please each of us. Very nice ambiance and service. We enjoyed every bite and every sip. Will definitely go again (in fact going to try lunch tomorrow.)

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

always solid

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

terracotta is such a gem. always cozy and welcoming. fantastic wine list ranging from the $20s and up. food has a fun southern twist with good seasonal specials. my fiance and i love coming here when we are in santa fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.