Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday : 11: 30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 11: 30 AM - 9: 00 PM
Sunday : 4 : 00 PM - 9 : 00 PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: (505) 438-2877

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (35)
Cozy (32)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Romantic (19)
Casual (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Healthy (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Authentic (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Historic (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tapas (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Live Music (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
650 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have our annual meeting here with close friends for dinner before Easter. Wine and food amazing! Meeting the chef and her business partner were an extra treat.

You will love it!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Very extensive and reasonably priced wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Ate there for dinner, for the 2nd time in a month or so. Barramundi was exquisite. Nice wine list. several smallish seating areas which makes it quiet (unless there is a rowdy table, but that hasn't happened to us yet). Open from lunch through evening, 7 day. So a perfect place to go for a mid-afternoon or on a day when other restaurants in the area are closed.
Great staff. Professional, knowledgeable and responsive.
Parking isn't great. After hours, we park in the DO NOT PARK areas of neighboring closed businesses, but theoretically, any one of those could tow you. Otherwise, not that much meter parking close by but a fair amount in a short-walk distance or public paid parking in a bit further walk distance.
Back the next day for the brisket panini. Was unfamiliar with brisket, but very flavorful with some chili bite. Good homemade chips (although not my favorites...that's personal and I am picky)
Great wine selection. Lots by the glass too.
We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The place is over rated and the service wasn't what we were expecting for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Wow. One of the best. Cozy atmosphere with friendly and attentive servers. Very nice about sharing courses. Great guitarist the night we went also. Even the red wine was properly chilled. We had the clam chowder, grilled pear salad, flank steak and carrot cake. Everything was tops with a nice presentation. Very impressive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Onion rings to start were delicious as usual. Rice flour batter makes them light and not greasy. Planked salmon was a generous portion grilled perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Food was fine--nothing was great or exceptionally tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 3, 2017

They had some really good types of tapas, just needed a few twists to make the recipes work better. Oysters Rockefeller had way too much spinach no decernible hollandaise and very dry. Grilled artichokes needed to be steamed longer and left with a larger heart. We had a red and white wine flight. Not great, but that was our fault. We could of had glasses of wine we knew we would enjoy. Loved the place, and the staff and the onion rings!! Will go again, many things to try.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very nice, cozy atmosphere, interesting menu with lots of variety and excellent service.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great happy hour prices for quality and varied wines, mouth-watering appetizers, and delicious and flavorful entrées. Very personable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Large portions. Good food. The monte cristo sandwich was Stuffed with meat. The cup of onion soup was a large portion of soup. The $6 wines before 6pm were a good deal. Great service by Falisha.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The food was great. The service was great. The wine was great. The value would have been great, except....

Our table was cramped. My partner and I played kneesies the whole time jockeying for space. We were not comfortable for one minute of our meal. There were better tables available when we arrived, and there were better tables available when we left. Perhaps in snooty Santa Fe, we didn't make the cut for the better table.

The ambience was tense, creepy, disturbing, lifeless, and unprofessional. It reminded me of my experiences in gay bars in Topeka, where owners and workers griped at each other as we customers tried to enjoy ourselves, their family squabbles fought publicly. Then, the owners/managers showed off with their friends at a big table while the waitstaff looked like they'd been beaten. It was a train wreck. The piece de resistance was a musician knocking down a chair while he was carting his gear past our table.

A memorable experience, but for all the wrong reasons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Exceptional wine choices, varied food menu, great dining atmosphere

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Our first time to this restaurant, were very pleasantly surprised. The wine list was extensive, with a lot of by-the-glass and half bottle options. We enjoyed the food very much--nothing fancy (which is a nice break from many restaurants), but excellent quality ingredients and preparation. We had the lamb kebab and shepherd's pie, both of which were excellent. Next time would love to try the bruschetta, which the table next to us had ordered--looked very appetizing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 19, 2017

If you like a) takes reservations, b) quiet, c) excellent food, and d) good value, then you will like Terra Cotta.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Chose this restaurant because of it's variety of menue items and it's location. It far surpassed our expectations. Warm greeting, service was above and beyond and the food was amazing. The fresh salmon was one of the best meals I have had anywhere. The chicken dish was also delicious, a unique version of fried chicken.. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It is always good. It's our "local"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always enjoyable. Love the ambiance. Service is great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Never could figure out where to park but who cares:) The food was to die for and the extensive sorted by price wine list with a variety of wine flights is my kinda place. We had a couple tapas style plates and split the price fixed menu. That left room for dessert so we could try EVERYTHING and it was all terrific. The onion rings that are listed as notable seemed to be in a tempura batter and were good. The roasted garlic and olive plate was a perfect pairing with the bread. The Unusual Wine flight was what was recommended and my least favorite was the Californian but the Australian Shiraz and Spanish Grenache were wonderful! Starter soup was good and the pork chop was our least favorite-seemed a bit tough but the greens and grits served with it were AHMAZING! For dessert, we had cappuccino and espresso with homemade caramel ice cream which was a perfect topping for the Bourbon Pecan Pie. It was of a rich consistency-almost brownie like and you could taste a hint of the Bourbon-devine! Our server and the bus staff were on top of everything and not intrusive. We should have gone there for lunch the next day:)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a great time visiting Terra Cotta Wine bistro. Very nice place great service and the food was excelllent.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

One of our favorites and the best southern fried chicken in Santa Fe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fabulous restaurant. Large portions. Great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

TerraCotta is always good! We love it! I recommend the restaurant to my friends that are new to Santa Fe or just coming to town to visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We love TerraCotta Bistro. From appetizers to entrees, they are always consistent. Service is good. Staff is friendly. Be sure to not miss the bread pudding.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We arrived at 5:50 for a 6 pm reservation and we're seated immediately. Unfortunately our waiter failed to take our wine order before 6 and thus missed happy hour. Seemed as if we were ignored on purpose for a few minutes so we'd have to pay more.
Food was well prepared and tasty. People at adjacent table were drunk and loud

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service was great. Very good food and great wine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent wine list, lots of options for people with different "ways of eating." Food was tasty and service excellent. Happy hour glasses of certain wine is a great deal until 6pm. Will go back!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We dined early before a performance and had a leisurely and very good meal with excellent service that kept us on our rather tight schedule. No feeling of being rushed, however! Our server was excellent and very friendly, attentive is a calm and personable way. The Restaurant Week menu was perfect for us. Three had the excellent, moist and tender Lamb Kebob and a delicious simple but interesting Greens Salad with fresh and sweet/tart citrusy vinaigrette. One of us had the Pork Schnitzel, better than the one we had recently in Vienna! The red cabbage was nicely flavored and a bit crunchy. Very good potatoes! The Happy Hour glasses of Grenach at $6 are a delightful bargain! Desserts: heavenly Bananas Foster Bread Pudding and Personal Skillet Chocolate Chip Cookie with Vanilla Ice Cream on top. Gooey and warm...lucious! We made it to our performance seats in time, feeling relaxed and satisfied. Will return...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our worst meal ever at TerraCotta. The lamb kabobs were tasteless: over cooked and dried out. They were served on top of what appeared to be pastry (?) but tasted like cardboard. Totally inedible and surrounded by some tasteless covered with a relatively tasteless sauce. A total disappointment.

Usually, their food is excellent. This was a total aberration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of my favorite, local places. This restaurant packs a lot of punch for its size. The food manages to be both familiar, and inventive, with a Southern slant that is combines the best of comfort food, with challenges to the palate.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

My wife and I dined out during Restaurant Week and found the menu offerings memorable and well prepared. Despite being very busy, the bartender who took care of us was excellent. Emily did a fantastic job helping us select wines to complement the cusine. We really appreciated her personalized service and hospitality.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 22, 2017

we enjoyed lunch at the terracotta wine bistro for restaurant week.
i enjoy german food, and the pork was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Really enjoyed the vibe of this place, and being able to park in front of the building. Was pleasantly surprised to walk in to a musician playing lightly on guitar! Super friendly staff, beautifully plated for, with a nice pace coming out of the kitchen. Wait staff gave recommendations on what to order...It was "Restaurant Week," and they had some special 3-course selections (with wine pairings, if you wanted). Other specials too, like the grass-fed ribeye with potatoes and vegetables. Highly recommend...Will return if in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was okay...nothing spectacular, I guess I would rate on the average side. Have been a few times and always get stuck in the back room. The dessert was nothing too exciting but the service was friendly and speedy....3.25 stars?

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Good food. Nice presentation. The atmosphere is enjoyable and pleasant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We visited Terra Cotta for the first time during Santa Fe Restaurant Week. What a delightful experience! The food was beautiful, creative and delicious, service was excellent, ambiance was superb. We're here on an extended visit and Terra Cotta has vaulted to the top of the list of my favorite restaurants. In a "foodie" town like Santa Fe, that takes a lot. We'll be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This was a weekday lunch for three friends during Restaurant Week. We were looking for a place that was not on our usual list of familiar places and that would be able to accommodate various diets. We were not disappointed. The ambiance was comfortable and attractive while still feeling 'special'. We each had different menu items and all were pleased. The food was scrumptious and evidenced high quality ingredients and the overall experience was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 20, 2017

very disappointed.. went for restaurant week 2017. Pork was dry, overcooked and was probably from the day before. Potatoes were dry and not good. Banana bread was mushy. Would not recommend and will never eat at this restaurant again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

It's been years since I was last at Terra Cotta, and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food, the service and the wine selection. We were seated immediately in the bar area at a table for two (it was a very busy night). Despite people coming in and out, the room was conversation friendly. Our service was exception with Shannon being attentive and knowledgeable (especially about wine). She recommended a dessert merlot that was exceptional. We didn't talk with the chef, but she is available to discuss dishes for those who may have questions. If there is a downside, it's the parking limitations, but my friend and I lucked out and found parking across the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fabulous birthday dinner with 6 guests. The service was fantastic! We had the cheese platter, the bruschetta and the Oysters Rockefeller for appetizers. I had the fried chicken with grits, others had the French onion soup, the salmon, and the lamb kebab. the catfish was good but the person having the catfish would have preferred to have it fried rather than steamed. The person who had the Brancini was pleased. The rolls were very delish!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.