About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday : 11: 30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 11: 30 AM - 10: 00 PM
Sunday : 4 : 00 PM - 9 : 00 PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: 5054382877x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

notable wine list (75)
neighborhood gem (65)
fit for foodies (65)
See All
great for outdoor dining (44)
great for lunch (36)
special occasion (36)
romantic (32)
good for groups (10)
great for brunch (8)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took a chance selecting a restaurant onl ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 3 days ago

Took a chance selecting a restaurant online. Visiting Santa Fe for anniversary/opera. Were very pleased with TerraCotta Wine Bistro. As soon as my husband hears "bistro" he is hesitant, but he was thoroughly pleased with my selection.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good menu with a fixed price menu that w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good menu with a fixed price menu that was good. Opportunity to taste local wine. Tasty food, friendly service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

$6 wine a great value. There were a lot ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

$6 wine a great value. There were a lot of choices at that price. Had the Portobello plate. Excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the salads, shrimp salad and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We ordered the salads, shrimp salad and chicken salad. Both were very tasty. My shrimp salad was a little messy to eat, as the shrimp were placed in a scalloped dish, and I had to place it on the greens. It would have been nice to have it plated that way. Delicious just the same.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The best of upper middle price Santa Fe ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The best of upper middle price Santa Fe places. Our party ordered 4 entrees - all first rate. Place was quiet, seating comfortable. Service was uninspired, but certainly adequate. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

A wonderful meal for n Santa Fe. Crab c ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A wonderful meal for n Santa Fe. Crab cakes we great and the waffle fries that came with were divine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our lunch for six was delicious in every ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our lunch for six was delicious in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, attentive wait staff and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent food, attentive wait staff and good value. I had crab cakes and my wife had salmon. Both were excellent. I have been here in a large group and all had a great time. Definitely recommend this restaurant for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed this nice restaurant. Especiall ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Enjoyed this nice restaurant. Especially the service. Loved the colors in the decor

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service, food and a "welcome" feeli ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good service, food and a "welcome" feeling.

An excellent combination.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time there. A very pleasant su ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our first time there. A very pleasant surprise. Good food, good service, quiet guitarist added to the ambiance. Will be back again

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very pleasant lunch with guitarist in th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Very pleasant lunch with guitarist in the room. Had the crab cakes, which were not stuffed with filler, very good, and whatever everyone else had, they said it was delicious. Even our picky 12 year old was happy. Intimate atmosphere, attentive service, ideal for tweens and adults, but I think unruly children would be to disruptive to other patrons. Parking is challenging, but that's not uncommon for old-town Santa Fe.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside on the enclosed patio, wh ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We sat outside on the enclosed patio, where it was very quiet. Inside the restaurant, we've found that it can get loud when full, because of the antique pressed tin ceiling and other hard surfaces. As it turned out, on this Tuesday night, the inside wasn't full, and our favorite jazz guitarist, Pat Malone, was playing, so we missed out! The food was delicious as always -- although I think my waitress should have gently reminded me that my side salad was going to be the same as the salad under my perfectly medium rare flank steak. Happy hour wines (4-6) -- half price for every wine by the glass normally priced at $11 or less are a big draw for early dining! Still, four entrees, four half-price glasses of wine, one half salad, plus tax and tip came to $160 -- which seems high for two delicious and large orders of fish and chips, one shrimp over salad and one flank steak over salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server never put our entree orders i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our server never put our entree orders in, or the kitchen just forgot to prepare them. We waited an hour and forty minutes, by which time we had to go to make an event. Our entrees were given to us, free of charge, in to go boxes, for which we had to wait an additional five minutes. That night when I opened my box, the fried chicken was dry and burnt, totally inedible. Frankly, they should have given us our appetizers, salads and winne for free too - as our dinnerwith out of town friends was totally ruined and we went to our event hungry. Never, never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

We arrived early for our reservation, an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation, and were greeted warmly by the owner (?) / maitre d' (?). We had a nice little chat about the opera. As we were so early, the restaurant was nearly empty. However, our server seemed in a huge rush to get us out of there. It was supposed to be a special night out on our visit to Santa Fe, but we felt very rushed, and unable to linger over our wine. Not sure what the problem was. My 15-year-old daughter was, as always, well-behaved and polite. We were not loud, nor ill-dressed (very casual atmosphere). Puzzling.

The food was acceptable; nothing special, but not bad. The wine list was amazing, and my husband and I each had one nice glass of wine (since the server was in such a hurry to get us out of there, that was all we had time for).

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The food is always so incredible, creati ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is always so incredible, creative, fresh and delicious! The staff is always so helpful and makes you feel right at home. Also, the location is beautiful and inviting.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very cute restaurant and the food and wi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very cute restaurant and the food and wine was delicious! Loved the outdoor patio and beautiful colors.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice of Grouper for fish & chips ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great choice of Grouper for fish & chips, nice talking with the chef, wish we had been given choice of location, would have liked to see the patio

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Shrimp salad with mayonnaise dressing wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Shrimp salad with mayonnaise dressing was the only thing we'd come back for. Excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Had a great time sitting on the patio en ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Had a great time sitting on the patio enjoying fine food and wine. We'll be back many times during our stay.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we're in Santa Fe we make a p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Every time we're in Santa Fe we make a point of going to Terra Cotta. The food is great, there's a really huge wine list, service is excellent, and we always feel very well taken care of. The folks who work at Terra cotta seem to really enjoy their work!

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine there. Parking ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine there. Parking is a bit of a problem, but get creative and find a space. Well worth the effort!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Menu is varied and quite nice. Portions ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Menu is varied and quite nice. Portions were very adequate and neither too little nor too much. 4 of us had salmon salad, beef fillet, lamb kabob and briscutt. Every one of us loved our choices. Very extensive wine list, but be sure to ask what may not be currently available. Service was excellent. Indoor seating, and covered outdoors in agreeable weather - we were outdoors and were very comfortable. Definitely would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had only met someone for wine and apps ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I had only met someone for wine and apps once at Terra Cotta...and quite recently. But as soon as I did, I knew it was the place to take a VERY special out-of-town visitor for his belated birthday dinner. We were not disappointed. We lingered, taking in all of the elements, including delectable, melt-in-your-mouth fare. Rather than just "being waited on" we enjoyed our host's easy, gracious and friendly guidance through a meal she might have had prepared just for us, in her own kitchen. Beyond special, with the interior atmosphere of low-light and tasteful decor, it was romantic and intimate. As we walked in, we observed the plentiful garden of flowers and string lights that greeted us, with beautiful little tables for two on the long front porch. Next time, a table for two out front, weather permitting! Santa Fe is plumb with choices. But if you want something different? If you want something within walking distance of the Plaza and yet not in the more crowded usual path? Try this gem. Steps from the Georgia O'Keefe Museum, on Johnson Street, you will not regret it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We liked the comfortable decor. The fri ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We liked the comfortable decor. The friendliness of the staff was superb. Our server was extremely knowledgeable and provided outstanding service. The food, however, was mediocre and one of the meals had to be sent back as the oysters were bad. We probably will not return.

Sent from my iPad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I'm happy to have found this restaurant ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I'm happy to have found this restaurant on a recent visit. Creative menu with a Southern influence and an extensive list of wines. The server/bartender was friendly, knowledgeable and professional as she answered the many questions we had. She accommodated our dietary restrictions and made thoughtful recommendations. We sat in the bar area, which is charming although several guests walked in and out to the adjoining rooms that night. We visit Santa Fe several times during the summer months. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and great experience with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent food and great experience with the owner.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at this restaurant three times on ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We ate at this restaurant three times on a recent visit to Santa Fe. It is really a gem and could rapidly become one of our favorite restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Extensive wine list, including wines by the glass. They have an interesting varied menu, everything from appetizers and salads to delicious entrees. The service is fast and excellent. The planked salmon was our favorite, either as an entree or as a salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was pleasant find in San ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This restaurant was pleasant find in Santa Fe, thanks to trip advisor. Great food, great wine selection, and great value-especially relative to some of the other highly rated restaurants in town. Check it out- it will be on your list going forward.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner at the Terre Cotta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at the Terre Cotta wine bar very much. The quality of the food was excellent, the wine list was nicely done though the were out of the wine i selected. Our waiter was a a bit detached which might have been due to being busy or perhaps it was the end of a long day. I ordered the Salad Nicoise the menu listed roasted potatoes as an ingredient of the dish, when it arrived there were no potatoes. The tuna steak was beautifully cooked but the salad was a huge helping of spring greens with a tuna steak, green beans and a hard boiled egg. A bit of a let down considering how excellent the other items we had ordered were.

We will return the next time we visit Sante Fe, as the positives certainly over ruled the quirks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Well the restaurant, the menu and the wi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Well the restaurant, the menu and the wine list are all good, based on the price, the restaurant did not live up to my expectations. Our waitress was aloof at best, her wine recommendations were not very good and even though I asked for my steak to be med. rare to rare, I got a steak that was med. rare to medium. When you are paying low $30's for a steak, it should be cooked just like I asked. Also, with the bread (which was very good), they served what they claim was olive oil, which at best was some type of vegetable oil.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

My deconstructed wedge salad was a surpr ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My deconstructed wedge salad was a surprise, a pleasant one if you are not wedded to the concept of a wedge. In a way it summed up the rest of the meal, familiar platings, like fish and chips, where the "French fries" are round, waffle cut from fresh potatoes, lightly battered like the fish. Both were delicious but built each around a riff on the expected. Kinda fun. To bad our server was so serious, unlike th chef/owner (?) who visited our table who was engaged and entertaining.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The staff and the patio seating is pet f ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The staff and the patio seating is pet friendly, which is a big plus for us. My fish and spinach was perfectly prepared. The rice pilaf appeared to be Uncle Ben's, right out of the box. My husbands salad was prepared well although the shrimp was disappointing (frozen or Costco?).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

It was pricey, tuna appetizer was very g ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was pricey, tuna appetizer was very good, steak was overpriced and tasteless.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Dining at Terracotta was like visiting F ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Dining at Terracotta was like visiting France for the evening. The colorful roses in front are heavenly. The colorful interior is very cheerful and charming. The food was exquisite. We had the steak salad and the steak was cooked to perfection and the greens fresh from the farmers market. The wine list was comprehensive. The chef visited our table and was delightful. Always a treat to dine at Terracotta.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is s great restaurant anytime but p ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This is s great restaurant anytime but particularly special when the back patio is available for dinner. Quiet, charming and the same interesting and tasty food and perfect service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stopped in for a late afternoon snack ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We stopped in for a late afternoon snack on a Saturday. The wine list is magnificent. The menu is simple but perfect for the setting -- unfussy, easy, done with flair, care and a sense of fun. It's the kind of place where you pick your wine first and then find the perfect foods to complement them. Given the weather and the time of year we picked a rose from their beautiful long list and paired it with the crostini platter -- two pieces each of four kinds, picked from a list of eight options. I suppose the salmon was the favorite, but seriously it was hard to choose that one above the mozzarella or the BLT or the brie with port & fig jam. We overheard the folks at the table behind us telling Glenda that they stop in every time they're in Santa Fe. We'll certainly do the same. On a personal note -- I rely mostly on a wheelchair, but can walk unsteadily a bit with a cane. As I got up from the table, I eased past Chef Catie who was chatting with folks nearby. Seeing my wobbliness she gently and firmly grasped my arm and walked me to the door, chatting amiably as we went as if we did this all the time. Her manner (as was Glenda's when she greeted us on our way in) was a fine blend of caring and good humor. The restaurant these two have made is a perfect reflection of their personalities and a wonderful place to spend some time.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and wine list

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Great service and good food, coupled with a wonderful and lengthy wine list. We ate here twice on a recent Santa Fe visit and will go back next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably good and varied menu

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Terracotta is reliably good and has a varied menu with fair pricing for Santa Fe. Very nice sitting outside. Wait staff is pleasant, food is nicely prepared and portions are generous.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will be back!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Met friends here before a concert and had a great experience. Charming place, friendly staff, good food, lots of wine choices, reasonable price. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.