Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Saturday: 11:30 AM - 9:00PM
Sunday : 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: (505) 438-2877

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (50)
Good for a Date (46)
Cozy (43)
See All
Casual (39)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fun (15)
Authentic (14)
Seasonal (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Healthy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Live Music (11)
Business Meals (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Tapas (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Organic (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
864 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We were a bit disappointed in the food, especially the fried chicken , which was overdone and dry. Our waitress was very good, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 16, 2018

This was my second visit and the chef did not disappoint. I had the fried chicken with collards and cheesy grits. The chicken was so succulent, I barely noticed the flavor of the crust which is usually my first thought. Don't know what the marinade was but it created an excellent flavor and tender, juicy chicken breast and wing. My husband had the tenderloin with vegetables. The beef was excellent and cooked just so. We shared the apple tart with cinnamon ice cream. What a delight! Did I mention that the wine offerings are extensive and they are ready with recommendations if you aren't sure what to order. All-in-all, it was a delightful way to celebrate our 25th anniversary!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Another tasty Mediterranean inspired meal at TerraCotta with attentive, friendly service and a kitchen able and willing to accommodate our peculiar dietary restrictions. Bravo!

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 14, 2018

The food and service were excellent! Nice atmosphere, but a little noisy, as every table was engaged in animate conversation. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 14, 2018

salmon slightly overcooked, had to get up and find waitress to order more water for the table, waitress excellent in helping select wine, waitress great with children, pork schnitzle average

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 14, 2018

A true gem just a short walk away from the busy plaza area of Santa Fe. Outstanding wine list--many by the glass--and a fabulous happy hour special before 6pm. Food is excellent, everything we've tried has been delicious. Atmosphere is cozy as the restaurant is inside an old home. Parking is a challenge, so be prepared. Worth the drive from ABQ!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Excellent perfectly prepared food as usual. Great diverse menu; prices are reasonable and wait staff attentive. Nights that Pat Malone is playing the guitar are great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Santa Fe abounds in great restaurants. This is not one of them. Unfortunately, every other restaurant in town was packed and we were hungry so we decided to try this one. I love oysters - both raw and cooked - but the oysters Rockefeller here were over-breaded, over-salted and had a fishy flavor. The plank salmon was covered in an unattractive dark brown mustard sauce which detracted from the salmon itself, which seemed to be of fairly good quality but the accompanying vegetables were inedible and the polenta had a cake like texture. The wine list is massive but not necessarily good and the server had very little knowledge of the wine or the food menus. We told the waiter we did not enjoy the oysters and they didn't even offer to comp the appetizer. Please do not waste your money at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 7, 2018

This restaurant is a hidden gem in Santa Fe offering some of the best cuisine in town. Their crab cakes follow a Baltimore recipe and are ‘to die for’ delicious. Their wine list in incredible and the menu covers a wide range of choices. Lunch is as. Good as dinner and the desserts are fantastic.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Great service and awesome food!!!! The gentleman playing guitar was great !!! We will return!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 3, 2018

We arrived and were warmly greeted, and shown to our choice of tables in the sunlit back room. Our waiter was enjoyable, informative, and attentive, once he learned that this was an annual friends' lunch - to be enjoyed with wine. We were VERY impressed with the extensive wine list, and the full, varied lunch and dessert menu. It was a most enjoyable time, and the food was excellent and plentiful too!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We were at Terra Cotta for New Year's Eve. Not all restaurants are able to pull off a special menu, and regular menu with a New Year's crowd, however, Terra Cotta served a near perfect meal for our 6 without a hitch. Every dish was delicious, although my husband's medium steak had some overly rare sections. I had the mushroom shepard's pie and it was a real treat, as well as a large dish. The wine selection as always has some gems. The service was very personable and efficient. We regularly visit this restaurant when we are in Santa Fe--for dinners, and for wine in the afternoon, so we were pleased it was the same lovely experience we have come to know. Overall, a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2018

The food is always thoughtfully prepared and substitutions are possible. Noisy front room but the back room is cozy.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2018

My husband and I had dinner there on New Year’s Eve. The food was outstanding and the service was Excellent. The chef made it a point to stop at all of the tables and converse. I would highly recommend this adorable place!!!!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Nice selection of wines. We had the crab cakes which were amazing. Love the atmosphere and nice wait staff. Highly recommend this place for a romantic date night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner at TerraCotta. The service was excellent. The lamb kabob was very good, and the wait staff was very sensitive to my wife's gluten allergy. It's a bit crowded but that's part of Santa Fe. Impressive wine list.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2017

The co-owner, LInda greeted us warmly upon our arrival, and made us feel so welcome, even though we were a few minutes late for our reservation, and arrived with one fewer guest than our reservation had been set for.
The menu has something for everyone, including lots of fun appetizers to share (or not), and everything was fresh, tasty and beautifully presented. We all enjoyed the relaxed vibe, great wine list and delicious food.
For those staying at the Eldorado Hotel and Spa,, the restaurant is just steps from the back door of the hotel.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Intimate atmosphere. Attentive service. Tasty menu. Excellent and affordable wine list. What more could you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Excellent, excellent food and drink menu. Flank steak was amazing. Dinner for three with two glasses of wine was around $90 before tip, so not a bargain by any means, but certainly worth a stop during your trip to Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great food, and great service. Parking can be difficult to find, but it's definitely worth the walk. Happy hour pricing on some wines before 6 pm. Nice variety of entrees, served in a cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Lovely cosy restaurant near the Plaza with excellent wine list as expected but also multiple options for dining. Guitar music was wonderful and entire experience was so nice that we will return on our next visit to Santa Fe.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Dinner was terrific. Service was good as always. Unfortunately the guitarist was a bit on the loud side. Building is just to small to accommodate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Always consistent, both the tasty menu offerings and the excellent and friendly service. Can't beat TerraCotta for a cozy, relaxing, great meal that is so affordable!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Cozy, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2017

We had Christmas dinner here, it was one of the few places open that night; and we had just flown in from Philadelphia. The staff was super-attentive and friendly. We felt very welcome.

As a person who works in the food service industry, it was very encouraging to hear the people in charge encouraging the staff to eat dinner before they left work that night. The staff themselves appeared happy to be there and working.

The prix-fixe menu was full of options for people with dietary restrictions. I was happy to with my dinner and loved my wine. I would definitely come back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Seek a better choice.
The prime rib was a tough rib eye steak disguised and disgusting !
Overpricing was their Christmas gift to me.............!

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2017

This was not our first time to Terracotta. We live in Santa Fe and find this to be a place where we can get good food for a great value. We have always been pleased with everything.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We had the crab and corn dip, beet salad and pork schnitzel. All VERY good. The atmosphere is lovely as well, and their wine list is impressive. This was the best dinner of our long weekend in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Had a lovely Christmas Eve dinner in this cozy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2017

After four years in Santa Fe, this is still our 'go to' restaurant. Great ambiance, fabulous food, lovely outdoor eating area, fantastic service, and a very welcoming vibe all around.
I would highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Delightful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 16, 2017

My husband and a friend went to TerraCotta Wine Bistro for dinner Friday evening. Two of us had the crab cake meal which was absolutely delicious! The crab cakes were just as tasty as the Maryland crab cakes back East. We all shared a piece of the Key Lime pie to finish off a great meal! Will definitely come back here again and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 14, 2017

We went to the TerraCotta Wine Bistro for a small wedding reception. We only had tapas and wine on this visit but, it was fabulous. The cheese plate was wonderful and the ambiance was perfect. I am looking forward to the next time I can go for a full dinner with my new husband.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Service was first class. Food was AMAZING! Incredible ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

liked the area. Its was are first time to the TerraCotta Wine Bistro, the wine list was great and we loved it.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Awesome as always; we especially enjoyed the shepherds pie and pot pie. Loved the house salad with pomegranate dressing. The service was impeccable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 5, 2017

I've dined here many times and it only seems to get better. A lovely experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Love Terra Cotta. Always consistently good food. Enjoy the seasonal prix fixe options. Lovely wine list without the typical rip-off Santa Fe prices. Chef is a stitch and wonderful at pairing wine with food.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Friendly and attentive service. Large food portions. Salmon plank was very tasty and when my husband didn't like his wine by the glass, it was agreeably replaced by a better choice of his. This is my standard "go-to" restaurant in Santa Fe.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great happy hour wines. Food is always well prepared and fresh.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Every time I am in town, never miss going to Terra Cotta Bistro. Just love it!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Healthy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.