About TerraCotta Wine Bistro

304 Johnson Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

TerraCotta Wine Bistro is a smart casual food and wine restaurant located in the historic district of downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, in a charming 19th century adobe building near the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and the Downtown Plaza. Our unique Santa Fe restaurant features globally-inspired food, wine and beer, utilizing local and regional foods. At Terracotta Wine Bistro we pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients, in creative combinations that change seasonally. The ambiance is inviting, informal, up-beat, and just plain fun- great for intimate or large gatherings. Best of all, we are moderately priced.

Our varied menu features both large and smaller portions of daily entrees that encourage guests to sample and share a number of dishes.

TerraCotta Happy Hour continues all day long, with over 60 wine by the glass options available for $6 every day until 6pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday : 11: 30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 11: 30 AM - 10: 00 PM
Sunday : 4 : 00 PM - 9 : 00 PM

Cross Street:
Chapelle Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1166

Website:
http://www.terracottawinebistro.com/

Catering:
We are affiliated with Peas ‘n' Pod Catering, Santa Fe's premiere off premise, full service catering company. Peas 'n' Pod has been creating memorable events in Santa Fe since 1996.

Parking Details:
There are several public parking lots just a block or two stroll from the restaurant. Off street parking around the restaurant is available in the evenings.

Executive Chef:
Catherine O'Brien

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining that can seat up to 20 guests. The entire restaurant can be booked for private events with sufficient notice.

Private Party Contact:
Glenda Griswold: 5054382877x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our e-mail list to learn about our wine dinners and special events. We are happy to customize wine tastings for large or intimate groups and private parties.

TerraCotta Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Notable Wine List (79)
Fit for Foodies (65)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (31)
Great for Lunch (26)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I am 68 years old and was shoved in a co ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

I am 68 years old and was shoved in a corner with a booth seat when table seats were available. Stayed until closing time when these tables were never occupied. Food mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food. Good service. Can't wait to ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good food. Good service. Can't wait to try my next new favorite. Terra Cotta doesn't disappoint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

The hostess was a bit rude. The server ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The hostess was a bit rude. The server was lovely, but unfortunately, she did not make up for the dryness of the food or the prices.

This was mediocre at best, and I would not recommend this restaurant to my friends and family. As my father used to say, "the food was dryer than the stomach of a camel in a 2 week trek in the Sahara".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

One of my favorite places in Santa Fe! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

One of my favorite places in Santa Fe! Great menu and lots of options depending on your appetite. Wonderful ambience...love the southwestern atmosphere...great building...I could sit there for hours! Very nice staff as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good meal at a fair price. The ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a good meal at a fair price. The server was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We usually have at least one meal at thi ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We usually have at least one meal at this restaurant while we are visiting Santa Fe. This year was just ok and not as good as previous years. We will go back because it could have been an off night for them. Nice restaurant with good selection and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Everyone was very friendly. All 3 of the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everyone was very friendly. All 3 of the owners visited our table at one time or another to make sure we happy.

The menu had a good variety and everything the 4 of us had was outstanding. Will definitely return there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved it. The owner went above and be ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We loved it. The owner went above and beyond good customer service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a family group of five for drinks ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I took a family group of five for drinks and dinner. We were greeted warmly, led to a table directly beside the music which was quiet and unobtrusive, the perfect background for conversation. A waitress was with us instantly, knowledgeable regarding wine, menu, specials. We didn't have long to wait but we weren't rushed either -- there was a great rhythm to the entire experience. It was our first visit to TerraCotta and we will definitely be going back, separately and together.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, nice people. You must try t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food, nice people. You must try the Key Lime Pie!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We both had the beef tenderloin, and it ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We both had the beef tenderloin, and it was cooked perfect. Great service, great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Plus - My salad with salmon & mustard sa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Plus - My salad with salmon & mustard sauce was pretty good. Salmon cooked nicely, but too much sauce overwhelmed the fish.

Minus - My wife's chicken salad was bland, tasteless, poor in texture, almost inedible. This was not chicken on a salad, but cubed chicken salad.

Nice wine list and decent attentive service could not compensate for food quality.

Find a better option for your meal.

We did at La Posada's Julia - outdoors.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We both had soup and salad. The French o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We both had soup and salad. The French onion soup was unusual with the addition of tomatoes. They added an interesting fillip to an old favorite. The watermelon, kale and feta cheese salad was refreshing and had interesting textures. The shrimp salad was luscious and dense with shrimp. We will definitely go back the next we are in Santa Fe.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ritz crackers. That's the equivalent of ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Ritz crackers. That's the equivalent of what came with our cheese plate. To boot, our waitress told us she put the wine closer to us so we could self pour. She never checked in us at all. Or poured wine at all. We finally asked for bread with the cheese plate. They don't give French bread....only pillowy warm ciabatta bread. On request. When I bought up service and food disappointment issues with the OWNERS they said they'd fix things on the bill. We got $8 off and never saw the owners again. Super disappointing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Though we liked look of inside we sat ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Though we liked look of inside we sat outside. The server was very sweet and great. Happy hour was nice way to enjoy great wine for less, we appreciate that. The wine from Lodi was incredible, when she said "a rich, leather taste" myself and guest was sold. I had the flank steak, with veggies since I can not eat potatoes or rice, that was awesome. The kale watermelon salad I split with my husband was very good too, healthy and yummy meal. Not much parking though, we needed our car because we were off to Opera after dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bruschetta was a unique appetizer. C ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The bruschetta was a unique appetizer. Choice of four kinds. The one wine out of the list that we chose, they ran out of "the night before." They also ran out of the mozzarella. What? It's Italian. Make some more.

The menu was bland. Nothing special. Too many other great restaurants in Santa Fe to waste time at this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

This is currently my Santa Fe dinner fav ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is currently my Santa Fe dinner favorite due to wine list, attentive service, and quality food at a fair price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We are here last year and returned durin ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We are here last year and returned during our girls trip this year. The food was amazing and the service was spectacular. We had the salmon again and it was just as amazing as we remembered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arrived early for our reservation and a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Arrived early for our reservation and a table was ready for us. I could see the patio and enjoyed watching a group of 20 people celebrate a friend's birthday.

The food and wine selections were excellent and made it easy to order a meal that was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambiance, excellent service, , ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, excellent service, , good wine selection, food is okay, We recommend Terra Cotta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant, so it didn't oc ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We love this restaurant, so it didn't occur to us not to go over Spanish Market weekend. We were rather disappointed with the entire experience, starting with waiting 15 minutes to see our waitress before we could even order our wine. She had waited on us in the past, but this night she was completely overwhelmed and it took more than 30 minutes to finally order our meal. Again, we have been here often, so we know that this is a restaurant that knows how to make a good meal, but it wasn't on this night. We're chalking it up to being too busy and not being able to produce the quality meals we know they can make. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I had the Salade Nicoise. The tuna was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I had the Salade Nicoise. The tuna was great. The potatoes were roasted, rather than boiled, which I didn't care for. The green beans were so cold I thought they may have been slightly frozen, or had been on ice and a bit of ice was plated with them. I prefer a more traditional nicoise with boiled new potatoes and crisp, squeaky green beans. I can't recall whether or not there were tomatoes, so I guess if there were, they were unremarkable. I also had the fresh borscht, which the addition of a bit of chopped cukes in greek yogurt made very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

TerraCotta was probably my favorite meal ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

TerraCotta was probably my favorite meal out while visiting Santa Fe. They were having a particularly quiet night (Santa Fe was actually pretty quiet the entire week we were there) and we had the front area by the bar pretty much to ourselves. When we arrived (7:30 reservation, I believe) there was a guitarist playing...unfortunately he stopped at 8, so we didn't get to enjoy him for too long. For starters we had the bruschetta plate. You get to choose 4 of them for your $16 so we chose the fig, goat cheese, standard mozzarella and the artichoke. You get two slices of each (one large slice cut in half). It was a great appetizer for my husband and I. After eating that, I was not overly hungry and opted to get the Baltimore Crab Cakes. You can just get one...which was nice and large and thick. Along with the carrot slaw and veggies (I replaced the sweet potato fries), it was plenty to complete my meal and was absolutely delicious...lots of crab and little filler; cooked perfectly and the carrot slaw, something I had never had and now will try to recreate in my own kitchen!) was wonderful as a side. My husband had a special for the night -- a fish dish I can't recall but do remember he enjoyed it. No room for dessert for us...but the choices looked great. AND if you are watching your $$, they have a prix fixe menu with a few choices to give you a complete meal for $30/person... Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Terra Cotta. Go before every event ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Love Terra Cotta. Go before every event at the nearby Lensic Theater. The wine special before 6pm is brilliant. Food is always wonderful. Great value for the money.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food. Good menu. Good wines. T ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent food. Good menu. Good wines. The service was a little rough around the edges. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

This was a great find - we loved our mea ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This was a great find - we loved our meal and service. Also the "$6 before 6" is a bargain - any wine on the list normally $11. or less is only $6. before 6pm, which was a pleasant surprise. We loved it and highly recommend - we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant appears to be in an older res ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Restaurant appears to be in an older residence with tables fairly close together. Rooms are cozy. We did not go outside due to heat. Food is well prepared and above average with an excellent selection and well priced. Extensive wine list, varied . Friendly service. It was the 2nd best meal we'd had in 10 days of travel cross country. We would go back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

My meal was excellent, took a little tim ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

My meal was excellent, took a little time to get but the owner came out an apologized, I was not in a hurry, so no big deal. The owner shook my hand and thanked me for coming. Nice touch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We are TerraCotta Wine Bistro regulars a ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We are TerraCotta Wine Bistro regulars and we have experienced consistent excellence.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a perfect casual dining experie ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was a perfect casual dining experience, and a great wine list to boot! The special soup was quite delicious (chilled tomato tarragon). Other than the usual parking hassle in Santa Fe, it was a great find!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Took a chance selecting a restaurant onl ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Took a chance selecting a restaurant online. Visiting Santa Fe for anniversary/opera. Were very pleased with TerraCotta Wine Bistro. As soon as my husband hears "bistro" he is hesitant, but he was thoroughly pleased with my selection.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good menu with a fixed price menu that w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Good menu with a fixed price menu that was good. Opportunity to taste local wine. Tasty food, friendly service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

$6 wine a great value. There were a lot ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

$6 wine a great value. There were a lot of choices at that price. Had the Portobello plate. Excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the salads, shrimp salad and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We ordered the salads, shrimp salad and chicken salad. Both were very tasty. My shrimp salad was a little messy to eat, as the shrimp were placed in a scalloped dish, and I had to place it on the greens. It would have been nice to have it plated that way. Delicious just the same.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The best of upper middle price Santa Fe ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The best of upper middle price Santa Fe places. Our party ordered 4 entrees - all first rate. Place was quiet, seating comfortable. Service was uninspired, but certainly adequate. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

A wonderful meal for n Santa Fe. Crab c ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A wonderful meal for n Santa Fe. Crab cakes we great and the waffle fries that came with were divine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our lunch for six was delicious in every ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our lunch for six was delicious in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, attentive wait staff and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent food, attentive wait staff and good value. I had crab cakes and my wife had salmon. Both were excellent. I have been here in a large group and all had a great time. Definitely recommend this restaurant for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed this nice restaurant. Especiall ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Enjoyed this nice restaurant. Especially the service. Loved the colors in the decor

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service, food and a "welcome" feeli ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good service, food and a "welcome" feeling.

An excellent combination.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.